policy Reviews & Opinions


Submit policy review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Escaping the Resource Curse (Initiative for Policy Dialogue at Columbia: Challenges in Development and Globalization) review []  2020-1-25 3:22

    This valuable book by leading economists makes an uncompromising case for doing something, immediately, about the devastating effects of international resource extraction on nations and their economies. The book focuses almost exclusively on oil. Certainly, the national and international oil corporations have much to respond for, including heavy corruption, local wars, wonderful levels of environmental rapine and wreckage, and above all heavy political distortion in the direction of totalitarianism and non-transparency. The picture that gradually emerges is not pretty. Huge Oil is the de facto ruler of several countries, and they are typically totalitarian and characterized by considerable inequity; a lot of are violence-torn. In a few countries, however, national governments have been able to control their oil and their oil industries. Norway and Scotland may have had an simple time because of age-old social institutions that gave them leverage, but the surprising success of locations like Oman at dealing with oil deserves more attention. The book is best at detailing economic and political-economic solutions, starting with transparency, which a lot of of the authors argue is the most primary need. Authors discuss economic issues and benefits with oil funds (as in Alaska), different kinds of contracts, different ownership systems, and different types of rule systems. This book is basic, and sobering, reading for anyone who worries about the global economy. It is also primary and sobering for anyone who believes that "the free market" or anything resembling it operates in today's world. The oil corporations are either outright governmental ones (as in Mexico, Indonesia, China, and much of the Middle East) or parastatal, former parastatal, or de facto parastatal firms like British Petroleum, Shell (nee Royal Dutch Shell), and ExxonMobil (a de facto parastatal under the Bush regime). The U.S. subsidizes huge oil, directly and indirectly, to the tune of hundreds of millions of dollars a year. One indirect subsidy is allowing energy companies to pollute and warm the globe. Huge oil has considerable power over whole governments in most oil-producing states. "Corruption" is too mild a word. Yet, much modern political analysis turns on concepts like "neoliberalism," implying that the free shop is advancing and governments are losing power. The exact opposite is happening: governments and corporations are fusing and taking over more and more power. The book has some problems. First and worst, it shows the limits of economics. It identifies the economic problems, correctly labels them as part of a wider political problem, and then leaves it to the politicians. There is some rather ad hoc concession to the obvious issue of how to obtain the politicians on board. Revolutions haven't worked; militant governments like the Chavez administration in Venezuela don't seem to be solving it. What to do? Second, oil is special in some ways, though typical in others, and doesn't always create for policies that apply across the board. One wishes there had been at least one chapter on forests, international logging firms, and deforestation--a worse issue than oil in Brazil, Indonesia, Malaysia, and a lot of other countries. Third, the book pussy-foots around the case of the United States. The US government under oilmen G. W. Bush and Richard Cheney has been essentially an arm of huge oil, and has had all the issues noted herein for the Third World. Consider the infamous secret meeting--the mins still held secret--in which Cheney and energy company leaders determined energy policy for the Bush tenure. As of this writing, Bush and Cheney are desperately trying to jam through yet more executive decrees giving away vast tracts and privileges to huge oil--in defiance of economic sense, allow alone environmental concerns. If, as appears, the United States is more or less in the same boat as Equatorial Guinea and Angola, the globe is really over an oil barrel, and the need for a serious look at political solutions is all the greater. One hopes that Obama will fix the situation, but he has his work chop out for him. The dominance of giant primary-production interests--big oil, logging, mining, agribusiness, and all--over whole nations and nation-blocs is the amazing phenomenon of our time. I have been worried for 40 years about its steady increase, and am glad to see that the economists have finally caught up with me. People listen to economists; in the latest 200 years they have taken over from philosophers as the people whose words shape nations and empires. For too long they have been braying about free enterprise (as if it existed), and saying that any and all "development" is an unmixed blessing, no matter what happens to ordinary people and their environments and livelihoods. This book is part of a major, and long-awaited, countercurrent that is correcting those views. Let's hope the turnaround is not too late.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Escaping the Resource Curse (Initiative for Policy Dialogue at Columbia: Challenges in Development and Globalization) review []  2020-1-25 3:22

    Amazing and interesting book! Its is an interesting mix of economic, political and regulatory problems applicable to the oil industry that a policy maker should compulsory read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Escaping the Resource Curse (Initiative for Policy Dialogue at Columbia: Challenges in Development and Globalization) review []  2020-1-25 3:22

    Unbelievable book on the issue

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on policy or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch policy video reviews and related movies:

    See YouTube Anti-Gun Policy - The Fight Begins: Day 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Trump Is Getting Policy Advice From Fox News Hosts on youtube.

     related image

    See Skurt förklarar svensk invandringspolitik on youtube.

     related image

    See What is Policy? on youtube.

     related image

    See A Pro-Life Libertarian Looks At Foreign Policy - With Guest Gary Heavin on youtube.

     related image

    See Depeche Mode - Policy Of Truth (Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See AP Explains Tariffs As Trump Weighs Trade Policy on youtube.

     related image

    See CSD POLICY मई 2018 से सिर्फ यही सामान मिलेगा-- on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Social Policy for an Aging Society: A Human Rights Perspective review []  2020-1-25 2:0

    Amazing read. Clarifies policy formation in user friendly terms.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Social Policy for an Aging Society: A Human Rights Perspective review []  2020-1-25 2:0

    This was worthy for my class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    The quality of this book is poor. The binding is weak and so the pages started falling off the spine before the semester was even over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    Don't bother buying this book. I rarely opened it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    This is the driest book on policy and politics that did small to inspire to action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    This book seems to show one-sided views and opinions instead of facts on certain issues. That makes it frustrating to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    Almost no difference from previous versions and as with a lot of other college books hardly had to use at all. Glad there's such a amazing resource for renting these at a much lower cost than buy. Only required for the 5 weeks of the class and even then once again was hardly opened.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    I bought this book and while preparing for my final exam I observed this book has some flaws . For s 486 - 497 are ter you obtain to page 499 the pages number counts down/ ere are few more errors and these are printing errors because there are no signs of the pages being removed or altered intentionally. Unfortunately the return period has passed and this is very inconvenient for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    This book is falling apart! Why is this book being rented out when chapters 1-5 are no longer apart of the book?!? I understand that it’s used, but this is damaged. Not particularly satisfied with this purchase :/

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    A liberal leaning view on Obamacare and an attack on anyone who did not like or wish Obamacare. Those who opposed it are created to look unintelligent! This text attempts to brainwash individuals into doing anything possible to help the ACA. I had to have it for a class to complete my Master's Degree, otherwise I would have returned it to the authors!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    Had to buy this for school. I am SHOCKED at the number of errors. The first unit has nursing misspelled the entire unit as "Nurshing". Chapter 2 has numerous grammatical errors and the historical vignette keeps changing tenses. Chapter 3 misspelled policy as "polcy". Those are the chapters that I have read thus far. I cannot believe that this created it through editing, much less being the seventh edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care - E-Book (Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health) review []  2020-1-25 0:21

    HIGHLY LIBERAL text. Not everyone in nursing and healthcare is infatuated with socialized medicine. Universities should show a wide dozens of views instead of being in the business of brainwashing students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer review []  2020-1-23 19:12

    This book is brilliant. It is thorough in its analysis yet not repetitive or overly analytical. I am a graduate student taking my first nonprofit class and bought this book for my midterm project. In its compact 181 pages the book covers everything we have covered in class and more. The author brilliantly presents both sides of every problems and refrains from asserting anyone one viewpoint. I absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone involved in or interested in the nonprofit sector. In fact I suggested to my professor that it be included as a needed text for his class because none of our assigned texts can touch this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer review []  2020-1-23 19:12

    This is a very amazing book that is weak on political theory. The book is very readable and I used it with success in my class of upper level undergraduates at a powerful undergraduate college. They liked it, found it simple to understand and digest, and it served my needs in terms of explaining what nonprofit organizations are to an audience that had not thought about them before. The book reads as though Frumkin taught this material a lot of times when he was at the Kennedy School and then decided to write down his teaching notes. That's probably why it such a amazing teaching book. But the book is written from the standpoint of neoclassical economics and the economic theory of nonprofits even though it is written as political theory. The book mostly leaves out political economy, pluralist theory, ideas about social capital, and the ways all of these contribute to shaping nonprofits and the nonprofit sector. Ultimately that caused me to give up on the book as a text for my course.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer review []  2020-1-23 19:12

    Book was complete, but had lots of writing and underlining in it. Private notes on pages and underlining on pages created it hard to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer review []  2020-1-23 19:12

    I passed the class, so it must be a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On Being Nonprofit: A Conceptual and Policy Primer review []  2020-1-23 19:12

    I had to read this book for my non-profit management class and it was a pleasure reading and learning what the book has to say about what and why non-profits are important in our public space. If you are at all interested in the NGO system, how to navigate it and build a successful and effective non-profit organization, this is the book for is a relatively short book but is quite dense and thorough. Be prepared to digest some academically insightful and sometimes complex ideas. Maybe not the best book for younger students but definitely suited for college level reading.Overall, I would highly recommend this book for your research papers or just some insight into the non-profit sector.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Child Welfare in the United States: Challenges, Policy, and Practice review []  2020-1-23 19:9

    Given the price of the book i assumed it was a textbook. I assumed it would, in detail, go over the Challenges, AND the Policies in place, AND the Practice of CPS and Kid Welfare organizations in detail, in the United States. There are plenty of other similarly paged books about Kid Welfare, and they cost $20. Naturally, i thought i would be getting a better researched book for $stead, what i got was basically a not good copy-paste of extremely redundant 'Abstract' type summaries of SOME (though not even the majority) of challenges CPS faces, with no level of detail. This book does not go over differences between states. It doesn't go over challenges with single-parent or gay adoption. It doesn't go over various State laws and the history behind those laws. It doesn't go over the federal or state administration of CPS and why that influences policy making (or what those policies might be). It does nothing to install a fresh foster or adopter parent with any confidence that after reading the book they understand what systems they're up against. It does not go over studies that explain any of the summaries in more just repeats the same tired ideas over and over without ever explaining them. It gave literally 2 sentences in the entire book to the consequences of mental trauma on health, which arguably is the most necessary concept to cover for fresh parents hoping to foster and/or adopt. After reading this book i still have no understanding of:1. What laws (or even types of laws) i should be concerned with in my state if i wish to adopt, that might change or prove a challenge2. Any guidance in how i should work with CPS to grow my family3. Any level of detail behind the challenges that adopting parents face4. Any understanding of what to expect in terms of paperwork and training involved to foster or adopt.8. What does CPS look for in a parent? What might disqualify me? What does it cost to run the organization? What does it cost per kid? What skills does a amazing CPS caseworker need? What does a caseworker typically do in a day? What challenges does the caseworker's manager have? How a lot of cases per caseworker are typically tackled? What does a case entail? What does a CPS complaint entail? What constitutes neglect? What can i do as a parent to create the caseworker more likely to wish to work with me? How can i improve that relationship and communication?None of this is covered in this book. I'm not sure what or who this book is intended for, because its not helpful for caseworkers and its not helpful for parents?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Child Welfare in the United States: Challenges, Policy, and Practice review []  2020-1-23 19:9

    I found this textbook to be extremely informative and simple to understand. Kid welfare in the U.S. is such an necessary problem and its nice to finally have resources available to learn more. This text is filled with fascinating facts and powerful examples of the subjects discussed. I would definitely recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom Second Edition review []  2020-1-23 1:59

    Nursing on the academic level has become a large source of revenue. The ANA has created sure they are able to money in on some of this cash by requiring both undergraduate and graduate level courses to contain a course similar to policy making and how nurses can bring about change. They do this by selling OVERPRICED textbooks like this and the ANA Scope and Standards of Practice. There is no earth shattering info in this book. The authors make nothing more than a misguided believe that everyone in nursing can change policy; whether in the workplace or on the public health policy level. Yes there's some that will create contributions, however the book fails to give any insight into how things actually work in the world. That is, go ahead and speak up, create waves and test to change things in your workplace... chances are amazing if your ideas make issues for your employer you wont be having a job for long. The profession of nursing would be much better equipped to deal with their job in the field if this time was spent further teaching info actually relevant to daily practice. I found this book and the course I had to buy it for a complete waste of my time and money. I say shame on the ANA for not realizing the real deficiencies in nursing and promoting propaganda for their own agenda.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom Second Edition review []  2020-1-23 1:59

    This book has inspired me to become involved in health policy from a nursing standpoint. It is well-written and it kept my attention. This is the excellent textbook for any nursing health policy course!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom Second Edition review []  2020-1-23 1:59

    Item as described

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    Bought this book before, was disappointed by the method it was shipped

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    book sucked for my class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    Amazing textbook, lot's of amazing info for info security.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    Quite a few grammatical errors in this edition but still a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    Amazing value

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Security Policies and Implementation Issues (Jones & Bartlett Learning Information Systems Security & Assurance) review []  2020-1-23 1:56

    Rental period too short, it should at least latest an semester. Forces you to extension to complete entire e book itself was amazing for class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Medicaid Politics: Federalism, Policy Durability, and Health Reform (American Government and Public Policy) review []  2020-1-23 1:44

    Medicaid is a large and complex public program. Thompson's book does a terrific job of explaining how the program has evolved in latest decades. He info the politics behind major changes in an engaging fashion. For anyone interested in understanding how public health programs in the United States got to be how they are, and possibilities for change, this is an necessary text.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Medicaid Politics: Federalism, Policy Durability, and Health Reform (American Government and Public Policy) review []  2020-1-23 1:44

    Absolutely delighted to hear Frank J. Thompson's webinar presentation at the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) this month. For the field of disability, the book on Medicaid Politics is a amazing find, even bringing in disability protests and the movement. The heart of community care reform at health care financing - the Home and Community-Based Medicaid Waivers (HCBS) - form a core of several chapters from original community development to the next fresh book, Public administration and disability: Community services administration in the US (Racino, in press, 2014) is designed to assure the durability of community services initiatives on behalf of people with disabilities in the US. As I discussed, the transition from state waivers (still often waiving statewideness, and targeted at categorical groups) were designed to be preliminary to standard community services financing in all states in the table in Professor Thompson's book is the epic signing of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on March 23, 2010 by President Barack Obama to expand health insurance coverage in the US. Though his intent was to cover everyone, approximately 32 million newly insured were expected to enroll; his efforts to assure coverage of persons with pre-existing conditions is met with "cherry picking" by the responsible parties for our health care (yes, must be universal coverage in US).Thompson's book examines the Medicaid program which is consuming a amazing deal of state budgets (e.g., Florida at 30% of its overall spending, while ranking low on covering not good people, the target population). The Public Administration and Public Policy Professor also notes that "to a significant degree nursing homes and providers of HCBS (that's our NYSACRA, UCPA and Arcs, too, not particularly noted for well care of elders) provide the basic voice for the elderly on state decisions similar to Medicaid" (p.214).Congratulations on the inclusion of Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) for insuring kids are covered in the US (supported by our counties and non-profits) as a primary to achieve in a health conscious, allow alone a globe ranking democratic society. The figures of on, off of coverage in states, and the indepth examination of higher and higher specialty costs for kids who then remain poorly served on campuses or private, exposed schools, is a ompson's book, however, is of the fresh politics of globe change, though now to the politics of austerity at the budget gates with advocacy greater for the middle than the low income class, and also for hospital health (often acute care) than community health through non-profit organizations (e.g., private assistance, home health, consumer-directed services, family support). Still ranking high as think tanks are the Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured (modern long-term care), Familiies USA, Children's Defense Fund (comes in as supporting disability issues), and the book's supporters (Robert Wood Johnson, Rockefeller Institute).Highly recommended. Julie Ann Racino

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective, Seventh Edition (AUPHA/HAP Book) review []  2020-1-23 1:44

    Amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dishonesty Is the Second-Best Policy review []  2020-1-23 1:30

    My 93 year old grandfather couldn’t stop laughing when he read it. I haven’t seen him laugh that much in years!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    The tragic happenings in Parkland could have been avoided, and there needs to be accountability within the school board and law enforcement, and Cruz should obtain the death penalty. But anyone close enough to Pollack and the "investigation" he touts knows this book is filled at times with untrue statements, fabricated events, sensationalism, and self-heroic story telling for the sake earning a buck. Riddled with liens and lawsuits versus him for years for not paying debts and taxes, if Pollack truly wanted to prove his desire to #FixIt, he'd donate the proceeds from this book in lieu of using the cash to buying himself a 350 acre ranch for nearly $1M in Oregon. Not poor for a guy who recently filed bankruptcy. That said, the loss of a loved one is brutal, and if collecting cash from this book eases Pollack's pain, well then great! But this is not a reliable manual to hold your child safe at school. This is a method for you to support Pollack rebuild his finances.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    Andrew Pollack has been in my mind and heart since I first saw him on National Tv and his passionate speech in the Oval Office, following the senseless murder of his attractive daughter, Meadow Pollack.Having firsthand knowledge of his ascent from a middle class, blue collar worker to a media darling, has been nothing short of amazing. Andy Pollack received hundreds of hours of Social Media, tv and journalistic help from a private mate of mine, from day one of this tragedy.Without these hours of support, Andy would not have been able to obtain through the interviews, the media circus or have been able to obtain necessary legislation passed. Immeasurable time spent for fundraising ideas and help was initiated by the same person, and it is intentionally omitted. He completely ignores this help or even mentions it in his addition, I was able to, without hesitation, identify numerous descriptions of interactions spun to fit the narrative. There were so a lot of that it really spoiled my ability to remember why this book was written, and why I purchased it. Hold in mind, this is non fiction reading. I wondered if somehow, I was reading a fictional acc of actual cause of these lies, I cannot in amazing conscience give it the accolades it deserves relative to the revelations of the Promise Act. The only shining moments in this publication are the facts and the danger surrounding the Promise Act. Our kids are treasures to be protected and must be safe in the schools they attend. For that reason, I gave it one star.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    Book is informative! As a Coral Springs resident, this book brings to light the liberal and disgusting politics of Broward County which led to this event! Ted Deutch should impeach himself from Congress immediately! Thank God Gov Desantis has removed that pompous POS Israel from the Sherriff's office! Now that racist Runcie needs to go!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    The author is motivated by private tragic loss. Normally you would think that would lead to a biased outlook, but in this case the passion of the author lead him to look for true effective answers. "I owed it to other parents...to see what happened in Parkland to my attractive daughter and see that it's not event to their kid" that beautiful much sums it up right there. Amazing book on a very necessary topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    This book is a MUST READ FOR ALL AMERICANS THAT CAN HANDLE THE TRUTH. IF IT PREDICTABLE, IT IS PREVENTABLE

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    Wonderful insight behind the tragedy. A must read for those who wish to result true change and stop school violence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    I got my pre-order in the mail yesterday and read it latest night. This is not my genre. I wasn't even particularly invested in the subject before I started reading. It was absolutely riveting. Explosive. Particularly Damning.I was engaged and enraged from to cover. I cried as I read accounts from the victims in their own words (not sound bytes filtered by the 24 hour media.)Reading the cold hard facts of this story is like stepping into the twilight zone. The incompetence and corruption that made this mess occurred at wonderful ter reading this book, there's not a doubt in my mind that the Broward County school administration bears full responsibility for killing the students entrusted to them. Even the murderer was a product of their dysfunctional school e dystopian nightmare matches reality in schools around the country and highlights a culture that has gotten so much worse. Teachers are handcuffed by administrators and bureaucrats that love running their small kingdoms, totally unaccountable to anyone, personally making the salaries of half a dozen teachers.Teachers can't properly discipline students and the best intentions of keeping children out of jail is causing a situation where crimes are literally bring committed every day and going unpunished. I'm hearing the same story from teachers and school behavioral counselors I know in North Carolina and Virginia as well.Even more disappointing was that Broward couldn't vote out the @#$%!&?is book gets a 5/5 from me. It's a brilliant expose.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    I just started reading this book and do not wish to place it down. I am a parent. And a former teacher and Board of Education member. The information in this book could absolutely save lives. Policies need to be changed in every school district in this country. Children are not facing any consequences for poor behavior to create districts look good. I can look back and see so a lot of examples over the years where outward appearance mattered more than serving the students. This needs to change. And fast!!!! I am crying reading this book. And feel sick at how students and teachers paid for not good policies and oversight with their lives. I wish to go to every school board meeting there is and support them understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    I wish to thank this dear and loving father, Andrew Pollack, for taking his unimaginable pain and sharing this book and incredibly necessary notice with us so that more people can now understand any potential factors involved in order to prevent more senseless and completely avoidable tragedies to occur version has there been a better time to get as much accurate and applicable info as possible so we can be equipped to override the hyper-partisan and outright evil we are sadly witnessing when they refuse to address anything that opposes the narrative they have force fed us all for method too long. In his unimaginable grief and wonderful determination, Mr. Pollack (and his brave, kind cohorts and precious family) was able to overcome the atrocious treatment he received during an experience that no one should ever have to face and keep those responsible for contributing to prematurely ending the life of his attractive daughter Meadow, whose eternal light must have shown him the way; helping others prevent future e power of corruption and influence that contributed to this ruthless and unconscionable event, along with the obsessive need to hang onto a destructive mentality of political correctness in society, required to be ere are no words to express how much we appreciate this effort and how truly sorry we are to have seen how much these dear families were allow down by a broken system that must be fixed, but one action that has the potential to support fellow human beings heal and how to create a difference in our children's future would be to buy and read this book today. And please continue to share this with everyone you know and ank you for allowing us to see the heroes that helped so a lot of fellow human beings throughout such a devastating ordeal, including the heroes who wrote this book and who so eloquently wove together the stories and facts that we so desperately required to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why Meadow Died: The People and Policies That Created the Parkland Shooter and Endanger America's Students review []  2020-1-23 1:23

    I just started it and not even a hundred pages in and it's got me crying and @#$%ed off at the same time. Political Correct gave birth to the Promise program and children died because of it.EVERYONE should read this!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Altogether Fitting and Proper: Civil War Battlefield Preservation in History, Memory, and Policy, 1861–2015 review []  2020-1-23 0:29

    After the war - there is another whole story. It's almost like hi9dden history has come to light.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    [email protected]#$% is making amazing points, if you can obtain through the suprisingly not good punctuation; he obviously ignored his grammer correction pop-ups. Then there's the long-winded paragraphs that end up making no sense even after you read them over again; (it's another case of one trying to fill a book with words). I couldn't [email protected]#$%!, so it would be tough to give it a fair review. READ Globe Order, By Henry Kissinger for a more elegantly written book on the topic.Haass is better seen in person.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    This clear, concise, well-written book added a amazing deal to my understanding of foreign policy Despite covering a lot of ground, the book is not overly long nor pedantic. He makes very clear where we've come from, what our challenges are, and what we could do. The latest chapter focuses on the situation in US and where we can go right and wrong. The possibilities for the US now are both provocative and frightening. Since this book was written before the 2016 election, he doesn't comment on the breakdown in foreign policy we've had since then. In fact, we seem to be doing exactly the things he advises versus and warns us about. I wound up feeling much more knowledgeable and much less sanguine about our future, given the direction of the current administration.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    Richard [email protected]#$% may not have reached the heights of power of a Henry Kissinger (World Order) but his work over several administrations at the State Department and other institutions, presently the president of the Council on Foreign Relations, give him as much exposure to the process of policy making and the demands of the international environment if not the gravitas to have his ideas seriously considered as the Secretary of State. Dr. Haass here writes from much experience. His view of the globe situation is well nuanced, enough so that he knows there are issues in a lot of locations and on a lot of levels. Some have no realistic hope of resolution any time broad outline this book is like that of Dr. Kissinger's. Dr. Haass begins with a broad review of how we got where we are beginning as so a lot of of these books do with the Treaty of Westphalia in the mid 17th Century. But Haass quickly breaks things down into little chunks encompassing not only the world's regions and nations in those regions but multiple factors cutting across those divisions. Culture, history, geography, technology, economics, identity politics, human migrations, income disparity, demographics, education, trade, and more are all examined singularly and with regard to their interacting impacts. Haass appears to understand both the central importance of the United States (the world's biggest single economic and military power), and the limits of even an "engaged America" on the trajectory of globe affairs.Dr. Kissinger created broad recommendations and so does Dr. Haass. In fact the two men are very much in line with one another broadly speaking. But Dr. Haass also makes numerous specific recommendations some going some method towards resolving issues, others merely managing the presently unresolveable. His recommendations are all thoughtfully helpful. Some are broad, some very narrow, all difficult to achieve in the show world. Haass' politics appears to be a small more conservative than mine. On the topic of income disparity for example he says that [absurd] concentrations of wealth are not in themselves bad, the issue rather is that there are too a lot of people with too little. It's hard to argue with the latest part, but for some reason he does not connect up the impossibility of spreading the wealth as long as so few individuals and corporations hoard (and he admits hide) most of it.On the whole he and I agree, cooperation is, barring gross violations of human dignity, better than tournament and conflict. His recommendations are mostly common sense. If any half of his recommendations were to be implemented I'm sure the globe would be a better place. The possibility that even some half of them will come to any fruition however is almost zero. Even before the election of Donald Trump. This book was published in January 2017 just prior to Trump's inauguration. Even then, the global situation was deteriorating (had been for some years) with tournament more and more coming to replace cooperation. My Kindle edition (not sure of the other formats) has, in addition an afterword written some ten months into Trump's presidency. As Haass ticks off Trump's policy implementations the reader cannot support but note that not only are things getting worse but now at an accelerated rate, and not only globally, but also inside the United States. Trump is undoing even that which, however imperfectly, was helpful prior to his election. With almost 9 billion people on the Earth, "globalism is not a choice, but a fact". We will not survive without major conflict for much longer under the show global effort to dismantle e book is a amazing and comprehensive take on what should be done, what must be done, and what America could do to stave off disaster. Not only are we not going in the right direction, we are very much deliberately going in the wrong one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    I generally enjoyed the body of this thoughtful book, with its topic of foreign policy challenges now and in the near future for America. I noticed that [email protected]#$% repeatedly brought in the leftwing claim of "climate change" as a matter for general globe and American concern, but it was possible to skip over those short passages and the rest seemed sensible analyses and prescriptions to me. The afterword, however, is frankly anti-Trump and spoils the book, in my opinion. Haass gives the timeline for his book -- he wrote and rewrote it starting from a 2015 lecture series and sent it off for printing in early September of 2016, well before the election. Which certainly explains the praiseworthy political neutrality of the main text : he thought Hillary Clinton would win, as did the rest of us given the grossly biased and incorrect polls. We have lately seen so a lot of scholarly political books spoiled by the outraged anti-Trump bias of authors who used to have a amazing reputation for objectivity. This afterword basically says that the globe is getting much worse in terms of disarray and Trump is not the man to deal with it. I much preferred the analysis of long time spans past in the main text: the analysis of two years into the Trump administration is method too short term and not of interest, I'd say. The book would have been stronger without the afterword.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    A amazing first half, the Treaty of Westphalia is well discussed as a basis for a ver of Mutual Destruction of that period. My issue is the discusion of the Non Proliferation Treaty reads like a Colonial excuse for the Belgians who invaded the Congo and robbed resources for over a century - "we huge boys can have nuclear weapons and as a lot of as we want, and the rest of you can have none as we know better than you" - Gadaffi give up his nuke program and the US aided the guys who killed him and North Korea has them and gets due respect - it's realistic that crazy regimes should not have WMD capability, but the author assumes the right of the 5 huge boys as god given and beyond question. It leaves the otherwise amazing book as an excuse for huge boys to dictate the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    This book is a unbelievable overview of the history of relationships between and among countries of the globe - I found it fascinating, and uniquely informative. I've never had such a clear understanding of the machinations of international relationships. It's complex, and content-rich. Not a quick or simple read because there's so much to learn. It takes patience and time to read it, but my patience was rewarded by a rich learning experience. I first became aware of Richard [email protected]#$% through a TV interview, perhaps with Charlie Rose. I was very impressed with his knowledge, which lead me to read his book. After a brief rest, I intend to look into his other books. There's so much to be learned from ldfellow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    Richard [email protected]#$%, a person I like (From TV) and respect has written a very long Foreign Affairs article on a foreign policy for the United States. It would be very appropriate for Hillary Clinton, not so much for Donald Trump. After all Haass is a pillar of the establishment, being president of the Council on Foreign Relations for the past fourteen years.He is a student of Henry Kissinger and, as such, he goes back to the 1648 Peace of Westphalia which represents the beginnings of the nation state system as we know it. He believes that system which is based on the non-interference of the internal affairs of a state is inadequate for the 21st Century. He believes that states have the “sovereign obligation”, to reign in terrorism, war drug trafficking, prevent nuclear proliferation, and deal with climate change. This is a far cry from the Westphalian System and it necessarily breeds suspicion of the established powers trying to enforce their codes on smaller states.He is rightly critical of the Obama policies in Syria, Libya and Iraq. And in the 1990s he was prescient in proposing a preventive strike versus North Korea’s then nascent nuclear program. The Clinton Administration failed to hear is warning and we are now suffering its consequences.Haass opens his book with the Brexit vote. However, there is no true follow through. This is a true failure of his book because in my opinion the foreign policy challenges are not external, but rather internal. There is a revolt going on versus the global elite of which Haass is an exemplar and I am a mere plebian. It is that revolt that is reordering foreign policy: witness France, Turkey, Hungary and above all the election of Donald Trump. Thus as Dr. Kissinger has taught us, in order to be successful a foreign policy has to have domestic support. I fear Haass’ ideas have yet to convince the general public. It is here where work has to be done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    In a "World In Disarray" Dr. [email protected]#$% gives a comprehensive and thoughtful overview of the old international globe order and how we got where we are today. Additionally he offers an objective analysis, covering all the hot spot locations from Russia, the Middle East, China and nuclear nonproliferation. Haass also prescribes substantive solutions for steps both governments and civil societies can take at coming up with better and more feasible foreign policy decisions for a more complex as he refers to it "world order 2.0." A badly required breath of new air for a fresh American foreign policy and a must read for global citizen.Andy Laub- Young Specialists in Foreign Policy, Director.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    In the first part of the book Dr. [email protected]#$% gives an informed and insightful overview of the geo-political forces that shaped the globe from the rise of the modern state system in the mid-seventeenth century to the end of the Cold War. The second part chronicles the collapse of order, or the emergence of geo-political disarray, following the Cold War. As he puts it, “What exists [today] in a lot of parts of the globe as well as in different venues of international relations resembles more a fresh globe disorder.” In the third and final section of the book he goes on to offer prescriptions for moving forward, all under a conceptual umbrella of what Dr. Haass calls “sovereign obligation.”It is a worthy read, to be sure. Haas is clearly a player and has a scholar’s ability to read between the lines and draw broad lessons and conclusions. In that respect we need more like him.He is, however, an establishment player. That’s not meant to be a criticism, but the narrative has a familiar feel to it. His interpretations are often new, but the lens generally isn’t. And while he claims in the beginning that he won’t be partisan, he’s not completely successful in that effort. That’s okay, too, however. Non-partisan is an oxymoron when it comes to anyone with ties to Washington.He makes a powerful case that the 2003 Iraq Battle was a misguided but watershed moment in foreign policy that recklessly introduced “preventive” intervention to the foreign policy debate. The doctrine of regime change flowed from there, built, he argues, on the decidedly false assumption that the Middle East was ripe for democracy and Iraq would set the dominoes in motion.While reading the book, one of my over-arching impressions was that Dr. Haass puts amazing emphasis on traditional statesmanship (gender neutral) and statesmen. That’s no surprise given that he is the president of the Council on Foreign Relations and served as an adviser to President George H. W. Bush and Under Secretary of State to Colin Powell. I’m not sure the simplicity of amazing statespeople fits any more, however. It seems to me that the forces driving our current history, as such, are much more complex and nuanced. The statesmanship model gives insufficient weight, I think, to the role of primary economics and human psychology. (And perhaps the impact of technology.)In addition to remaining statesmen-centric, the obligation model also remains largely US-centric. I have particular reservations about his general help of a modified variation of President Obama’s “pivot to Asia.” (It was later reclassified as a rebalancing.) Having lived in China for nine years I continue to believe that American politicians and strategists—Americans in general, in fact—fail to appreciate the very fundamental difference in the Chinese globe view. We simply cannot interpret China’s behavior through a Western e only other limitation of the book is one of timing. Dr. Haass notes that he completed the book before the 2016 US presidential election and while his private choice for president is not revealed, it would be interesting to obtain his take now, given the continued march into global disarray.Which makes me wonder if the prescription he outlines (i.e. sovereign obligation), even if warranted, is remotely achievable in the current political climate. There seems to be an underlying need for social and political consensus for it to work and that just doesn’t seem possible any time the end, it’s a thoughtful read and I eagerly await the sequel, should there be one. A Globe in Disarray may not quite qualify as transformative, but it is a thoughtful and insightful move in that direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A World in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order review []  2020-1-22 22:25

    It would be difficult to identify anyone other than Henry Kissinger who represents the tradition of America’s bipartisan foreign policy more fully than Richard A. [email protected]#$%. Haass is the longtime president of the Council on Foreign Relations, which comes as close as any institution to sitting at the center of gravity for the internationalist wing of the Eastern establishment. For decades before he began at the Council, he cycled in and out of senior policy planning and diplomatic posts in government and a series of positions in academia and other establishment thinktanks. If you wish to obtain a handle on the conventional wisdom that emanates from that elite group of scholars and officials, read Haass’ recent book, A Globe in Disarray: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old e three phases of international relationsHaass’s abbreviated survey of international relations in the modern globe divides history into three phases. The first began with the Treaty of Westphalia in the mid-17th century that ended Europe’s Thirty Years Battle and established the primacy of the sovereign state. That phase lasted through the end of Globe Battle II, which upended globe affairs in profound ways. The second phase lasted from 1945 until the end of the Cold Battle in 1989. This was a period of superpower supremacy, the absence of large-scale conflict, and unsurpassed economic growth. We now live in the third phase, a troubled “world in which centrifugal forces are gaining the upper hand.”Haass argues that “the past twenty-five years since the end of the Cold Battle constitute a break with the past . . . [S]omething very various is afoot in the world.” He characterizes the current state of affairs as “disarray.” In his view, the word “captures both where we are and where we are heading.” This is not the multipolar globe so a lot of observers write about. It’s a nonpolar world. “Power is more distributed in more hands than at any time in history,” Haass notes. “The same holds for technology.” In Haass’ view, the multiple uncertainties and dangers of today’s globe require that the United States be more assertive on the globe stage. He “argues for the stationing of military forces in and around locations that either China or Russia might claim or move against, something that translates into maintaining increased U.S. ground and air forces in Europe and increased air and naval forces in the Asia-Pacific.” Other observers might see greater reliance of this sort on the U.S. military as a prescription for bankruptcy at home and risky conflict abroad.A fresh approach to foreign policyThe essence of Haass’ thesis is that the concept of state sovereignty established by the Treaty of Westphalia is no longer adequate in a nonpolar world. Today’s international landscape is no longer dominated either by the major powers or exclusively by nation states. Nonstate actors, including international and regional organizations, corporations, terrorist groups, some major cities, and numerous other entities all play roles in setting the direction of civilization today. Haass contends that “the post-World Battle II order—effectively Globe Order 1.0—provided only a degree of structure for the international system once the overlay and discipline of the Cold Battle order disappeared. Just as important, the globe was not well positioned to deal with the diffusion of power that was to come.”In this much more complex environment, U.S. foreign policy must be directed toward establishing a fresh concept in globe affairs: “sovereign obligation.” Haass views this as the ideal operating principle in contemporary international affairs. Under sovereign obligation, every state would be expected not merely to tend to its domestic affairs but also to play a role in addressing the multiple global challenges that bedevil us today: nuclear proliferation, climate change, terrorism, restrictions on trade, threats to global health, the vulnerable state of international finance, and the abuse of cyberspace. (The author’s laundry list does not contain drug trafficking.)It’s difficult not to see this prescription as wishful thinking. Another failing in Haass’ analysis is his failure to distinguish between global threats that are existential and those that aren’t. Any dispassionate observer of climate change, nuclear proliferation, and the growing potential for pandemics would surely agree that any of these three challenges could be fateful for civilization if not for the human race. The other challenges in Haass’ list, while serious, do not rise to the same level. Global trade could constrict, terrorism increase, the international financial system seize up, and cybercrime and cyberwarfare proliferate, but it’s highly unlikely that any of these happenings would end human civilization, much less lead the human race to extinction.“What is to be done?”Haass makes clear his belief that yesterday’s foreign policy is not adequate for “a globe in which not all foes are always foes and not all mates are always friendly.” He advances a detailed set of recommendations, not just for U.S. foreign policy but for changes in domestic policy as well. His tip about foreign affairs is, as anyone might expect, highly nuanced. On domestic affairs, his approach is less so. It’s hard to distinguish from traditional moderate Republican policies. For example, he advocates both decisive action to reduce the nation’s debt and increasing the Pentagon’s budget. To enable all this, he favors raising the retirement age, reducing Medicare and Medicaid, and eliminating tax deductions for home mortgage payments and charitable deductions. Wishful thinking again, given any reasonable expectation for Congressional action.A nonpartisan analysis?At the outset of A Globe in Disarray, Haass claims that his analysis will favor neither Republicans nor Democrats. It doesn’t come across that way. It’s real that he is pointed in his criticism of the decision to invade Iraq and of the conduct of the battle that followed. But his discussion of President Barack Obama’s foreign policy is savage. Haass reserves his most hard-edged criticism for Obama’s decision to accelerate the drawdown of units from Iraq, the conduct of the battle in Afghanistan, the outspoken help for the Arab Spring, the intervention in Libya, and the decision not to attack Syria after Hafez el-Asaad crossed the “red line” by using chemical warfare on his citizens. This is not a nonpartisan analysis.About the authorPresident of the Council on Foreign Relations since 2003, Richard A. Haas has also served as a senior advisor to President George H. W. Bush and to his son, President George W. Bush, as well as in a number of other diplomatic and scholarly posts. A Globe in Disarray is his 12th book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Energy System: Technology, Economics, Markets, and Policy (The MIT Press) review []  2020-1-22 21:3

    The Kindle edition is a "Print Replica", which means that it was converted directly from a PDF into an eBook file with free-flowing text without being looked at by a human editor. As a result, the text has line breaks wherever the PDF does, and doesn't resize to fit your device. I bought the eBook with this limitation in mind, as the product page says so, but I didn't expect the tables and graphical figures to be rendered completely unusable, and I mean completely. Tables are collapsed into a lot of lines regardless of however a lot of rows they were originally formatted with, and a lot of graphical figures are missing. I returned the eBook immediately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Energy System: Technology, Economics, Markets, and Policy (The MIT Press) review []  2020-1-22 21:3

    My recent greatest book on Energy. It gives the "Big Picture" like no other. I love the "Energy System Map[s]" and approach. I just received it and can't place it down. I love the method it integrates tech, econ, markets, and policy. My fresh "Energy Bible". Thanks so much for putting in the monumental effort to produce this masterpiece. GREAT BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Written by a specialist and illustrated by stories in his narrow field. The conclusions are never the less valid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Honest and courageous sketch of the much wanting hero of much of our "science" and regulatory agencies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Read this book when it was first released after hearing Dr. Lewis interviewed on a radio present and have bought extra copies recently to read again, and share with friends. Amazing read, written by a veteran EPA scientist who became a whistle blower after documenting 30 yrs. of witnessing from the inside how science is bought and paid for by the unholy alliance between industry, government and academia. I didn't message until reading it again, that the intro was written by another whistle blower, who has recently brought the attention of the globe to Flint, MI water contamination crisis. Besides learning about Biosolids, which will create you sick to think how widespread a issue it is and how those of us trying to grow organic gardens may actually be unknowingly using soils that are an wonderful toxic soups, another method industry gets rid of expensive hazardous waste that ends up on our childrens' playgrounds, roadsides and yes, organic potting soil! .. AND, this is a amazing put to begin learning about what really happened in the Dr. Wakefield case and who the REAL fraud was in the investigation! Not the amazing doctor, but the industry-paid cheat journalist that drummed up the fraudulent charges and caused delays in a lot of families learning the truth about the harmful effects of the MMR vaccine. Thank you Dr. Lewis!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Dang. Amazing wake up call with information on being awake, aware and to create informed and beneficent decisions about our life, our globe and who and what runs it's direction. Also stunning to learn of the extent of greed and self absorption of the human race and its intent to pile up wealth that benefits no one directly. Like sitting on stores of meal while life starves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    If you still believe that the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the US Department of Agriculture(USDA) protect human health and the environment and promote sustainable farming based on preserving natural resources--as both claim in their missions statements-- SCIENCE FOR SALE will finally disabuse you of that the author explains in Chapters 3-5 to spread millions of dozens of processed toxics-containing sewage sludge annually on our farms, fields, forests, parks, and gardens "was [EPA's ] worst conceivable plan of containing and disposing of the nation's industrial and municipal pollutants." Absent any credible science that supports this harmful practice, EPA, USDA, and the biosolids industry depend on "sludge magic" --their own term-- to assure us that land applying municipal and industrial wastes containing neurotoxins, carcinogens, mutagens, PCBs, dioxins, and pathogens will not cause any hurt to health, agriculture, or the environment. They buttress this magic with millions of our tax dollars to fund a heavy Public Acceptance Campaign consisting of silencing dissenters, misinformation, and outright ose concerned about the increase in reported cases of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), should read Chapters 7 and 8. Here the author reveals to what wonderful lengths industry,the UK General Medical Council, and the British Medical Journal will go to defame and silence a gifted scientist, engaged in valid medical research. With patience, perseverance, and perspicacity Lewis spent over a year, digging deeply into a tangled web of UK General Medical Council transcripts, rulings of the High Court of England, and other relevant data to unearth convincing evidence that exonerates Andy Wakefield from false accusations of ethics violations and FOR SALE must be read by all citizens, policy makers, and scientists who still believe that government agencies were made to serve the public interest; that sound environment and health policies must be based on honest and credible science, rather than on corporate-funded pseudo-science, and that threatening and silencing scientists and citizens for uncovering harmful products and practices violates democratic principles and primary human rights.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Very amazing book. Unfortunately I'm no longer surprised by government corruption. I'm glad this scientist had the strength to question the status quo, which is to dump chemicals that are illegal to dump into water or air, into our soil instead! They place chemicals in mulch, on playgrounds, on farms. Holy hell what are people thinking? The pull towards the dollar must be very powerful in a lot of people. I like Suzie Ormond s comment best....people first, then money. If every one lived that way, we wouldn't have to war so hard for clear air, water, soil etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Having experienced the rath of our EPA on our "Organic Enzyme Cleaner" and sent to virtual bankruptcy, this book is telling the truth regarding how our government is not the government that We The People believe it to be... it is constructed of agencies directly and indirectly loyal to and responsible to US CORPORATIONS! Amazing read and truthful read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    This book is for everyone. Scientists, academia, farmers, rural and urban residents need to know how a nationwide waste management program can impact the health of everyone, but especially children. Dr. Davis takes us inside the US Environmental Protection Agency and how the scientists there have been silenced by corporate interests by political mandates to create all environmental policies under a "cost-benefit analysis." Unfortunately, the only "person" who will benefit from this way of regulatory decisions will be corporate interests and local governments. This book uncovers the dirty secrets that allows toxic sewage sludge municipal waste to be spread and sprayed on farmlands that may grow your meal or meal for the animals you eat. Nobody is exempt from the impacts of thousands of synthetic chemicals mixed together and condensed in the sewage sludge that may even be taken to another "Class A" level that will let this toxic mixture to be place in your garden, your yard, the school playgrounds, parks, and all public places. The EPA was under pressure by Congress to quickly search a method for municipalities to obtain rid of their sewage sludge that was being dumped into the oceans. When condoms, needles, and other stuff started washing ashore in NJ, the folks got right angry. Congressional investigation showed that the locations that the sewage was dumped into the ocean were dying and marine life was nil. So, the EPA Administration, without the backing and approval of their own scientists in the Office of Research and Development, decided sewage sludge that killed marine life would be amazing as fertilizer for farmland in is book tells about what happens when scientists with honor and integrity test to stand up to EPA Administration and government to test to protect human health. The scientists are fired, maligned, sued, and generally given the boot. However, heroes come in all shapes and sizes and Dr. Lewis is one of our nation's heroes. Not only did he explore that dental equipment was not being cleaned sufficiently to slay HIV and other pathogens and obtain dentists globe wide to change procedures for sterilizing instruments, he became a whistleblower after being fired from the EPA after 30 years of outstanding scientific contributions. This gentle, soft spoken very smart man deserves our kudos and respect while we figure out how to protect ourselves from the toxic environment the EPA has mandated for disposal of municipal sewage sludge that impacts our air, water, and food.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    I have worked for the federal government for a lot of years and, unfortunately, what the author says is consistent with my own experience. I was shocked to see the level of dishonesty and corruption in the method the government conducts and funds "science." While I have amazing faith in the scientific way when practiced correctly, I have come to have very small faith in the integrity of our scientific establishment as it exists today, especially the biomedical sciences. This lack of scientific integrity is very damaging to our society.What might be the saddest and most frightening thing, though, is that those who test to point out and expose this lack of integrity are so often attacked as being anti-science. In fact, the opposite is true: they wish honest, objective science.I commend the author for his courage and his commitment to being a real "public servant," even at the expense of his own career.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science for Sale: How the US Government Uses Powerful Corporations and Leading Universities to Support Government Policies, Silence Top Scientists, Jeopardize ... Our Health, and Protect Corporate Profits review []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Amazing information, but not good editing. The author is very repetitive about the biosolids issue. Thus, it wasn't very enjoyable to read. However, it's still an necessary book about our government's dishonesty and corruption in how it destroys the careers of scientists who dare to investigate the safety of some of it's practices. Much of this book is reminiscent of Marie-Monique Robin's "The Globe According to Monsanto" where the government destroyed the careers of scientists who investigated glyphosate safety.Dr. Lewis does seem to side with Dr. Wakefield and how he was (perhaps unfairly) ousted, but just because Dr. Wakefield was considered a fraud does that mean that nobody is daring to do any further research into vaccine safety? That seems troubling to me, especially because I personally know 2 people who have gotten Guillain-Barre syndrome from vaccines (one was from a H1N1 flu shot that was rushed into production in the 2009-2010 flu season scare, and another who got GBS from a tetanus vaccine after slicing her foot on a seashell), and I do NOT have a wide social circle. GBS isn't so rare if I know 2 people with it, but it's disturbing that no scientists are even testing vaccines for safety, as the matter is already vertheless, I recommend this book! Just skim through the repetitive parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    very useful for the researchers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    this book is exercellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    It is a course I am currently studying and the content is just what I needed. I would recommend it to my course mates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Had to use it for a class, very insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    I got this for someone doing their MHA. According to her, the info is clear, concise and uses amazing examples. It is a amazing addition to one's library since it covers a lot of concepts and theories well and its app to true life situations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    This book provides an perfect critical perspective on global health policy with international case examples. Also the references let further exploration of the problems discussed. It certainly enriched my understanding of health policy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    I purchased this book for a health policy class I took as part of a master's in public health program. I've read a lot of policy books and documents in my time and know the topic matter can be dry (even for someone who is interested in the topic). But this book was surprisingly simple to read and gave clear explanations for the a lot of theoretical terms and analytic frameworks it went over. It uses a lot of true globe examples to illustrate its points. It gives a broad overview of the various actors, frameworks, and decision-making factors that going into creating policy, with a specific focus on health policy. I enjoyed reading this book and felt it conveyed useful info for those wanting an overview of how policies are developed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    it works

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    amazing for resource, quick delivery

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    Not the best read, could be more detailed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    I purchased a fresh product. It was used and in poor condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    Book came in not good condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    It's a dry read, but was needed for my social work course. If you can search it in a local library I wouldn't buy it for full price, but the info in it is accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    I love this book. I read its Chinese ver when I was in social welfare master program and in its orginal language now for my MSW class. It provides a framework to think/discuss/analyze welafre polices, very insightful and informative!The only thing I don't like is the high price. I'd really like to own a copy, but over $100 for a not good sw student is very expensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    This book was excellent for my MSW class and was in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    school book, no fun. fresh condition. Received item very fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dimensions of Social Welfare Policy (Connecting Core Competencies) review []  2020-1-22 20:19

    The content, definitions and examples are necessary for the class I’m taking. But the method they’re presented in this book is so dry and with such uncommon terms, you can’t support but wish to fall asleep or rip your hair out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Juvenile Justice: A Guide to Theory, Policy, and Practice review []  2020-1-22 20:14

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Juvenile Justice: A Guide to Theory, Policy, and Practice review []  2020-1-22 20:14

    Book is boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Juvenile Justice: A Guide to Theory, Policy, and Practice review []  2020-1-22 20:14

    Product in amazing condition! Love this asset in amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    the book is amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    Former ANA President has truly captured the essence of policy-making and policy-influence. In this time of amazing political turmoil, this is an necessary contribution to the discipline . . . and beyond.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    Meets expectations

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    Received item as expected. Fast shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    Everything great, except for a bash in the spine of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    Met the intent. Very well written and relevant to today's healthcare environment. Although this was purchased specifically as a course text, I highly recommend it for practicing nurses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom review []  2020-1-22 19:45

    Ms. Payton's continued help and advocacy for nursing and safe,quality,efficient patient care is exhibited throughout the book. This book is various as it compares and demonstrates the nursing issue solving process and nursing theory to nursing advocacy. As a DNP student ,this books comparison to our every day nursing duties applied to nursing advocacy and policy paints a clear picture for all nurses to understand policy and politics and our role in advocacy. The best book I've read in years of buying books for school and research.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, Seventh Edition review []  2020-1-22 19:31

    Recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, Seventh Edition review []  2020-1-22 19:31

    Very satisfy with the product. On time and very neat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, Seventh Edition review []  2020-1-22 19:31

    It is what I required for class, and it isn't a poor read.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter