Read popularity in the peer system reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all popularity in the peer system reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    After all the hype the book has received, for me to still think it surpassed expectations would take a miracle. So it is 4 stars in my ver of that rating system where that means I do not regret that I spent time with it at all (and 5 stars is “must read, paradigm change” stuff).Well written with memorable stories and anecdotes to anchor the concepts conveyed and to remember those by.A few deep insights on nature of various types of content, for example sports, and how various business models have to be built for both various content and various “conduits”. Conclusions about Fb he makes validate my choice of FB as the basic put where I choose to “waste my time”.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    I really enjoyed this. The author is an perfect storyteller, with a amazing eye for an intriguing historical tale. I won't spoil it for you, but the most useful insight provided is the explanation of what really happens when an idea "goes viral." It's not at all what most people think, and when Thompson explains it, it makes excellent sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    A lot of amazing info in this book about why we are attracted to certain things, and how we are manipulated into buying products, etc. Fareed Zakaria recommended this book on his show, so I took his word for it and bought it. I think it's the best book on this topic that I've ever read. I highly recommend it, and if you have impressionable teenagers, I recommend you give them a copy.

    0  


    Add your opinion on popularity in the peer system or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    The main question discussed in this book is: what are the patterns of successful books, songs, applications etc.? The "scientific" method to research such a question is to yze a representative sample of successful and unsuccessful cases, in order to search the features that exist in the successful cases and does not exist in the unsuccessful ones. This book however yzes successful cases only. It points at some features that are found in a lot of hits, but ignores the chance that these features characterize a lot of flops as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    I read for enjoyment and to learn. Hit Makers happy both of these. It is a fascinating examination and ysis of why some works of art, songs, films or other elements of culture catch on and others do not. Is the Mona Lisa the most popular painting in the globe because it is the best? How does one even determine “the best” when subjective judgment is the root of determination?Mr. Thompson’s book is well-written and engaging from beginning to end. His versatility with his topic in both breadth and depth is astonishing, as he discusses subjects from lullabies of Brahms to the songs of Adele and Taylor Swift and from the art of Monet to the films of George Lucas. There is even a section on the rise and fall of the “laugh track” in tv comedy. He also considers the economics of art and how it is undergoing heavy disintermediation and restructuring. Former gatekeepers such as TV networks, newspapers, bookstores, museums, and record publishers have been cirvented as fresh means of reaching audiences evolve. He examines how Fifty Shades of Grey and Pokémon became cultural phenomenon. It is clear that luck plays a role, but there is also far more to finding an audience than to getting a lucky break. There are patterns to some forms of art that attract an audience. One is abbreviated MAYA – Most Advanced Yet Acceptable. He also dispels the myth of “going viral”, as few successes can attribute their popularity strictly to word of mouth e book has scores of interesting stories about famous culture. I particularly enjoyed the story of how Rock Around the Clock became a hit song after failing in its initial release, and the rhetorical flourishes that speechwriters use to capture an audience's is is truly an necessary book for our times. Each day we attempt to sip from a firehose of info and entertainment arriving on our TVs, computers and intelligent phones. Trying to discern what is worth our time and what to ignore is a challenge we all face. I felt more enlightened after reading Hit Makers. I do suggest you read the book on a Kindle, as I was frequently checking the definition of one minor quibble is I would have liked a final chapter to summarize the different ideas covered in the earlier chapters. The book is so rich in content, it would have benefited from an encapsulation of the various reasons for popularity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    I bought this book because it was already popular, a behavior predicted early in the book itself. Having said that, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s well written, witty, very energetic, and thoroughly researched. I’d share it on my Twitter feed if I had more than eight followers. (The amazing news from Thompson is that I’m not alone.)The question of what [email protected]#$%!dom can be esoteric to the point of incomprehension when the psycho-sociologists wrestle with it, or dry as burnt toast when the statisticians do. Thompson, however, addresses the question anecdotally, using facts and figures to fill in the blanks. The effect makes for very relatable a agenarian who lived in China for much of the latest decade I have to admit that some of his cultural references were totally lost on me, but that’s certainly not the author’s fault. We learn at a lot of levels concurrently and this book taught me a lot.I particularly liked the section devoted to the debunking of the myth that anything really goes viral on the Internet. It makes sense. Far better to be mates with Kim Kardashian, if you wish to be famous, than it is to think you’re going to come up with the world’s cleverest meme.And someone finally gave us the full story on the historic success of Fifty Shades of Grey, although he kept to the marketing problems and wisely didn’t test to discover the deeper problem of why that content was so enthusiastically received. And, yes, I did read it. As a devout reader I felt I had to, given its wonderful success. That, too, was predicted by Thompson.If you are trying to shop yourself as an artist or author Hit Makers is a must read plus. It’s filled with cash quotes. Here’s one: “Publicly, people often talk about issues. Privately, they talk about schedules. Publicly, they deploy strategic emotions. Privately, they tend to share little troubles. Publicly, they wish to be interesting. Privately, they wish to be understood.”Following the laws of Pareto, authors typically spend most of their time on the first and latest paragraphs of a book. Between those bookends, some books begin powerful and lose steam. Others pick up momentum as they go. This one follows the latter trajectory and is well worth the reader’s investment and patience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    Interesting read and it certainly had some insights. Worth the effort for anyone marketing/selling products that need to stand out in a globe of competitive and related items, i.e., books, music, movies, etc. Could have benefited from tighter editing; the book tends to ramble a bit, never seems to show a definitive approach to maximizing one's chances of having a hit. Granted, it's a soft and squishy target but the author would have done well to bring his discoveries together into a "best practices approach" to maximizing the chances of success.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    Fascinating book; makes you not only stop and think, but understand what really shapes and determines what becomes popular, and what does not. The book is full of stories of some of the most popular cultural icons, inventions, and creations, and their rise or decline in popularity. The book makes you start to see and understand more about things that you search popular, or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    One of the most engaging books I have read. The book is about the physiology of hits and the economics of media (and putting it like that may sound boring), but it is anything but boring. Mr. Thompson has a bonus for weaving in some awesome stories from various arena’s of the globe to illustrate his idea of the science behind hit-making. This book pulls you into the stories behind it all. A amazing read for anyone interested in taking a deeper look into the things that surround us in culture and society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction []  2020-1-16 14:43

    The first 3 chapters of this book were amazing and got me hooked (particularly about industrial design with Raymond Loewy and speech-writing with Jon Favreau). However, the first 3 chapters beautiful much said it all. I particularly enjoyed chapter 2 on Raymond Loewy, his story was really fascinating, and I do want that the author had devoted even more pages to this popular industrial designer (likely this chapter appealed to me because of the engineering aspect--yes, that "familiarity" or “aha” moment). The rest of the chapters were beautiful much a rehash and overemphasis on concepts already introduced in the first 3 ound chapter 3 though, the book started to be less interesting (except for the part on speechwriting).The other reviewers who mentioned that the book seemed to heavily emphasize on the melody industry were right. The book had a mix of too much detail/minutiae devoted to people in the melody industry and certain songs (certain paragraphs would be listing song after song after song). And then the book would sometimes have stories that just didn't have enough detail (see paragraphs below). I would’ve actually liked to hear more about Savan Kotecha! And I’m not a melody person, but it sounded like that his story had an interesting beginning, and we just didn’t obtain to read the complete story. It almost appeared that the book was created up of a collection of the author's notes taken on interviews that he had with a ever, most of the topics—save for the first two chapters—are severely lacking in critical ysis. That I would have been fine with—since some authors prefer not to influence the readers—but then at least show the full info of each story that is being told so that the readers may decide for themselves how to yze the situation. But this story appeared to be trying to do too a lot of things at once, instead of focusing on being amazing at a couple of the ESPN example the author gave in his book, he should focus on trying to be very amazing at a couple things than trying to hit a bunch of various industries. My suggestion for the author would be to refocus his attention on the two locations that he emphasized heavily on—namely, screenwriting, songwriting, and news media (my private preference would have been an emphasis on engineering and science, but the author’s coverage of the entertainment and news media industries makes it seem like he’s more comfortable with those areas).I was very interested in the chapter concerning why certain books are a hit—like Fifty Shades of Grey—and I loved the part dedicated to John Snow on epidemiology with regards to ogizing “viral” outbreaks with popularity/broadcasting. But again, the examples seemed to be lacking in sufficient detail to tie it cleanly in with what might’ve caused that “viral” popularity. We can only rely on the author’s assessment of the situation to provide any sort of guidance on that; but readers are not provided with enough data to determine whether his assessment appears to be fairly accurate or not.Another example: why mention that Microsoft hires the most anthropologists behind the government, and then not even mention about how those anthropologists are used in Microsoft’s research? Again, an unfinished storyline.And as a side note, I really did not like the interludes. They were just not that interesting at all, and added almost nothing of value to the book (though the interlude on how teenagers’ brains are really hardwired differently, which explains why their judgment is bad, was an interesting note).Overall, the book seemed to be a collection of unfinished thoughts and storylines, or some stories that just dragged on too long, or just didn’t provide enough research data for the reader to be able to create some type of independent ysis from it. It’s a shame, because the author appeared to have spent a lot of time interviewing people and doing a fair amount of research, but just couldn’t quite figure out how to place all the pieces together into a cohesive ysis or writing. A amazing effort, and the first 3 chapters were worth reading, but the rest of the chapters were a small too drawn out to explain easy concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    It gives you a lighthearted feeling and makes you feel likea younger ver of yourself. An Adventure to search yourselfin searching for lost parts of your childhood. A sort of Magicaltrip to land far away!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    This is a unbelievable Halloween song, but I listen to it often just because it's that good. Starts out calm, amazing to whistle along with, and then turns chaotic. You can envision a whole stage in your head when listening to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Feedback in the Classroom: Empowering Students to Be the Experts []  2021-4-6 20:23

    It is said the one doing the talking is the one doing the why should the teacher be the only one providing all the feedback in the classroom? Starr Sackstein's fresh book Peer Feedback in the Classroom helps teachers teach students to become experts at providing peer-to-peer r is the author of Hacking Assessment and teaches journalism and English in Fresh York. She has developed a system where students review one another’s writing, challenging one another to write more effectively. She is adamant about student agency and her practical descriptions present how she facilitates this agency in her though she writes from the perspective of a journalism teacher, her tactics can be easily implemented in other topic areas. As an English teacher and high school golf coach, I see how I can apply her work to both my classroom and my team. Her suggestions are not just applicable to writing, but to any content zone where the teacher wants to empower students to take control of their learning and help one another's growth. Teachers can easily adapt peer feedback to their own e backbone of Starr’s system lies in the creation of experts roles. Each student is enabled to be an expert on a specific aspect such as textual support, transitions, or coherence. Any aspect of student work can be turned into an expert role. Starr describes how to arrange the class, establish roles, prepare students to take on those roles, and handle any challenges that may arise. After reading her book, I am excited to see how empowering experts will transform my class, allowing learners to help themselves and one e book is laden with testimonies from Starr’s students sharing their experiences with peer feedback. These voices attest to the importance of peer feedback in producing quality work. Student Barbara Kasomenakis describes the impact of student experts on her writing:I have been brought out of my comfort location multiple times and forced to take on roles unfamiliar to me... However, this challenge is what caused my writing to evolve. I have noticed that I now take on a lot of aspects of a text and qualify my arguments instead of being cemented in one mode of ter reading this book, I feel I can support my students become interdependent writers who can draw on the insight of their peers and encourage one another’s er Feedback in the Classroom can support students take more responsibility for their work, allowing the teacher to facilitate student-centered learning that is relational and empowering. This is a book I will hold on my desk and refer to throughout the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Just getting used to classical melody forms. This is a amazing put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Ambience for your Halloween tune collection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Quality sound download.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Feedback in the Classroom: Empowering Students to Be the Experts []  2021-4-6 20:23

    No one book will solve all the classroom "problems." This book does not lead to the one respond that will explain away all the woes teachers face when assessing student work. It does, however, tutorial you to fresh ways of how to make classroom culture informed on feedback and peer review. These two things are what I've been seeking to redesign my classroom culture as I am fed up with being the sole proprietor for student improvement. This mindset creates students into lazy writers and thinkers because all they're waiting on is my judgment of their work. That is not how the adult globe works! The working globe is based on peer feedback, criticism, and problem-solving for problems we are not even aware of yet. This book aids in rethinking your classroom culture and provides practical tip and steps on how to enact peer review and move the teacher from the position of omnipotent (which is not possible anyway) to a mentor. Think of it this way: have you learned more from a teacher standing in front of the classroom lecturing or from someone who mentored you into problem-solving and critical thinking? That is what the author of this book is challenging her readers to consider, which is why I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Classic combat melody for dungeons and dragons. Works well with old globe of darkness as well. Want I had the rest of the suite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46: In the Hall of the Mountain King []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Did its job. Got the download I wanted. Very amazing performance. Probably the best ver on Amazon. Highly recommended. Very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peer Feedback in the Classroom: Empowering Students to Be the Experts []  2021-4-6 20:23

    Starr Sackstein in a true leader in the field. All schools should have her books in their professional development libraries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teachers Bringing Out the Best in Teachers: A Guide to Peer Consultation for Administrators and Teachers []  2020-12-29 20:4

    This was a amazing pick-up! Amazing ideas for teacher leadership by two research-centric scholars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teachers Bringing Out the Best in Teachers: A Guide to Peer Consultation for Administrators and Teachers []  2020-12-29 20:4

    A disappointing read and reference

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rowman & Littlefield Guide for Peer Tutors (Theory & Practice for Peer Tutors and Learning Center Professionals) []  2020-12-18 20:10

    Accessible, thought-provoking, and comprehensive. This tutorial provides the reader (and the tutor) with the contextual foundation and practical tools to engage with tutoring. I feel better prepared and excited to continue the work I do at my college’s writing center. So glad I have my own copy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Discover Peer Gynt, a Nordic fairy tale in music ! [App]  2020-3-31 13:10

    Nice application with attractive graphics and amazing music, of course. Android games and stories can be interesting for children, e.g. melody instrument information is fine but it would be more exciting if they could be heard as they appear in Peer Gynt instead as melody samples. It's also beautiful hard to search out how to obtain the menu appear. Otherwise, it's still a nice application with a amazing purpose for sure. 😊👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Banishing Bullying Behavior: Transforming the Culture of Peer Abuse []  2020-12-28 20:4

    Everyone who cares about children and bullying in schools should read all of Suellen Fried's books. She is amazing...she even helps men in prison with her programs. I really learned a lot about bullying and how to combat this horrible behavior. I would love to do what Ms. Fried is doing--going into schools and teaching children and faculty how to fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Banishing Bullying Behavior: Transforming the Culture of Peer Abuse []  2020-12-28 20:4

    The more you read about Bullying in schools, the sooner you will wish to discover this book with your family. There is only being involved in the kid now to prevent what happened in schools in the years past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Banishing Bullying Behavior: Transforming the Culture of Peer Abuse []  2020-12-28 20:4

    This is a thorough, practical handbook to not only support readers understand the origins of bullying behaviors, but provide practical methods for dealing with situations in different settings when it occurs. Examples of how to show the anti-bullying notice to groups of kids are given, to support them understand the impact and destructive consequences of these behaviors. All types of bullying are covered: verbal, physical, emotional, , and cyber-bullying. The authors have extensive academic credentials and experience working with kids in a dozens of educational settings. It is a strong and informative tutorial which should be read by parents, all levels of school personnel, in fact anyone who works in a setting where kids are present.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    "Let your Geek Flag" fly!!! I have thoroughly enjoyed this book - Alexandra Robbins does an awesome job (as usual)!I am an educator of 26 years and a high school assistant principal. The info I have gotten from this book has certainly helped me to look at my student population in a totally, fresh light. Not only does Robbins examine the labels that students assign themselves and others and the hurt it causes but "The Geeks" also looks at the method that the faculty that educates them treat students and each other. I had never thought of the method that faculty groups mirror the groups of so, it was an eye opener to think that the influence of the media has caused "mean girls" to be mean, as a method of protecting themselves. We often misunderstand and think that they mistreat other children because they have fun it. The fact is that a lot of of these young ladies don't have fun it at all but the influence of shows such as "Gossip Girl" and "90210," create it "cool" to be mistreat others. It is hard to believe that a lot of students who are viewed as being a part of the "Popular Crowd" are truly miserable but lack the courage to leave for fear of anks again to Alexandra Robbins for a unbelievable read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    "The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School" by Alexanda Robbins is a amazing and badly required book for today's teens. It covers a year of high school in which Robbins follows the lives of seven people as they deal with the atmosphere and social interactions in the school. There are twists and turns in their lives and six of them are prominently outside of the social hierarchy that is commonplace in a lot of high schools today. They have interests and ideas that are not readily accepted by a lot of of their peers and their resistance to conformity is extremely commendable. As I was among their "non-group" myself in high school I automatically wanted to give this book five stars because it illuminated their plight. I did not for the following reasons:1)I found the narrative in some respects is too focused on success and while it may be real that a lot of "Quirky" people are highly valued after high school, Robbins conveniently does not fully address the fact that all of those that conformed in high school are still in one's life after. (There is one section that touches on this but I can't really address it for spoilers sake.) Should outsiders value themselves because they can be successful later in life? or is there value in being an outsider in and of itself? If an outsider is not extremely successful does this mean their quirkiness isn't worth it?2) The book is not a study of either the sociology of the high school or its culture. This is perfectly fine, but the method the author refers to sociological studies to explain phenomena might lead readers to think it is. If you wish such a study try Freaks, Geeks, and Cool Kids by Murray Milner Jr. I enjoyed the references but I just want the author had more clearly presented their put in the ill the stories in the book were very engaging and the overall book is a worthwhile read for anyone interested in high school or if they have ever felt like they were an outsider!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    I have two young kids who are nowhere near high school age. But considering both their parents were "kids on the fringe", there is a beautiful powerful possibility neither of them will become part of the mainstream crowd when they hit their teens. And we're ok with that because, as this book so eloquently points out, the less famous children are typically the ones who have the most success as adults. This is a truism I've seen over and over again in my own life and with my adult peers. Think about it...how a lot of of the famous children at your high school ended up leading fascinating and fulfilling lives? Perhaps a few...but, if your experience is anything like my own, not many. Why is this? As "The Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth" points out, the traits that create a child stand out from the crowd during high school are precisely what allows them to thrive when they hit the college years and is book reads, in parts, like a YA novel -- which will create it appealing to teens as well as their parents. But there's just enough legitimate psychological studies and jargon to hold the grown-ups happy. It also has some surprises, one in particular which should be very interesting for any educators who are reading this book (I'm not going to spoil it for you!). What I particularly loved is how Robbins provides some concrete steps we can all take to support "fringe" children navigate the high school experience without losing their souls or motivation. I also really enjoyed getting to know each "case study" and was excited to search I can track their continued development via the book's Fb page. One of the bigger surprises for me is that personal schools (single or otherwise) with a uniform policy have no less possibility of growing cliques and bullies than public schools. Yeah, I know this items goes on any put where teens gather in mass quantities...but I'd assumed some personal schools, especially those with smaller class sizes, would have better luck working with children and breaking down the social BS than their public counterparts. Apparently not.If you know (or are) a child who doesn't easily fit in with the famous crowd (or any crowd, for that matter)...PLEASE read this book. It's highly likely you will search yourself in these pages...and even if you don't, you'll search yourself rooting for each of these young men and women to create it through high school and transform into the fabulous adults I know they will be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    In her social doentary, Alexandra Robbins plunges into the treacherous waters of high schools across the country to tell the stories of six fringe students and one fringe teacher. She calls them by the labels we've all come to know and sometimes loathe: loner, famous @#$%!, nerd, fresh girl, weird girl, gamer, and band geek. What makes the book work is how the reader quickly gets caught up in each of these outsiders' separate soap operas. Robbins is adept at including the characters' thoughts, dialogue, and actions, giving it the feel of a novel splintered into seven e organization of the book is a bit haphazard, with Robbins going willy-nilly from one hero to the next, taking time outs here and there for pop psychology and looks at "studies" fresh and old. The purpose of this "science" is to present group dynamics and human behavior -- the how and the why to cruelty in school cafeterias and hallways. The arrangement can be discombobulating at times, but the story lines carry the day.I especially like how Robbins included one teacher's story here to present how cliques and nasty android games do NOT always disappear with age. In fact, there are "popular" teachers, too, who would much rather hang out with other famous teachers and ignore the nerdier ones. You'd think these behaviors would look transparently pitiful at the advanced ages of these teachers, but Robbins shows that you'd have to think again. Some people never learn, alas, though, in this book, a lot of the children do. It is, in that sense and in the final ysis, a hopeful book. You'll search yourself cheering for these guys and girls, who should but probably do not take comfort in the fact that they have odds-on advantages to become successful in life after school -- and for the exact same reasons they were teased and ostracized in school. God loves irony, after all, making the Biblical title especially apt....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth and the author's Quirk Theory are are at the top of my list of "things every parent and educator must know."The writing is engaging and the characters held my interest from the start. The book is well researched and citations are simple to follow for the detail oriented reader. But the text of the book is so delicious I could not place it o problems are of unique interest to me: first, what are the coping tactics that "geeks" successfully use to survive high school with their creativity and brilliance in tact; secondly, why are "popular" people so mean?I found perfect info on both e latest research connecting "perceived popularity" to aggression was especially enlightening. In other words "treat me like I am famous or your life will be ruined" has replaced genuine popularity. The section on seratonin and "popularity" inspired me to google other seratonin research. I read that 80% of the body's seratonin is in the digestive tract and relates to meal satisfaction versus meal scarcity. It is primitive items and yet pop psychology has glorified serotonin as a mood enhancer. Studies (Geeks Shall Inherit writes it up beautifully) correlate high seratonin levels with high "popularity". The main serotonin-induced personality traits are: conformity, preoccupation with grooming and lack of me of the most surprising sidebars in this book come from former - usually older - "populars" who describe the cruel things they did to other students in high school and now, looking back, say with regret "I can't believe I did that."Read this book. Then donate it to a school library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    This book should be mandatory reading for all high school students and parents. It takes an insightful look at the labels high schoolers assign to themselves and others. It helps to present how "geeks" who don't fit in as easily are often the individuals who eventually accomplish amazing things with their lives! The author helps us to look at the universal struggles teens and young adults face and offers a new perspective in how to deal with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:21

    "The Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth" will be a eye opener/oh s***! moment book for a lot of people. This is because it addresses the old question of why K12 education sucks so much (for some people), what the deal is with the freakin rigged social hierarchy and bullies and why in the true globe the former losers become winners (and vice versa).Robbins was moved to write the book after seeing the effects of bullying on youth (in worst cases leading to suicide or school shootings) and also seeing how the tables turned after school (with life often getting better for school outsiders). She claims that parents often tell their children it gets better but they don't tell them why that is the case. That is where "The Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth" comes to rescue and she presents her main idea of "Quirk Theroy" comes to play to explain why.Quirk Theory, according to Robbins, is the idea that a lot of of the differences that cause a student to be excluded in school are the same traits or real-world skills that others will value, love, respect, or search compelling about that person in adulthood and outside of the school setting. So basically while these traits damage a student and their social status in the closed of, conformist school culture they often lead them to amazing things outside of said environment. Meanwhile the traits that create people famous have quite the opposite result as the drift of into the background while the outsiders thrive in the true roughout the book Robbins follows various students (who for the most part are considered outsiders) in their struggles in school. Along with that she show her ideas and research on the in's and out's of quirk theory, outsiders, popularity, clique warfare, exclusion and e only true shortcomings I found where that the book is a bit long and I also want that she spent more time on the ideas/life lessons of the book rather than the private accounts of the people. Also of course the theory is not 100% true. There's famous people who become heavy successful and non famous people who don't but those people are outliers and overall what Robbins says is real most of the time.Overall I enjoyed the book and all the method through it light bubles were going off in my head. Like "that's why that happnend" and "that's why things are the method they are". Most importantly the book really acted a as light at the end of the tunnel for me, and likely a lot of others. A lot of people, especially those that are different, endured rough childhoods because of the method our schools are set up and even just becasuse humans are natural conformist/anti outsider social creatures. Knowing that their isn't actually anything wrong with you, actually quite the opposite their is a lot of things right with you, gives people a much required breath of new air and confidence is book was one of the most imporant books I ever read in my life, quite literally helped save my life and really helped me obtain that inner self confidence and self worth that helped me relize my full potential. I want I had read this in kindergarten, my life would have gotten better a lot sooner. In fact every kid should have to read this book.I would recommend you check out the short paradoy video "It Doesn't Obtain Better" which speaks to the core concept in this book. Also the article "Why Nerds Are Unpopular" is a amazing read.5/5 Stars! Buy it, you won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    My high school class really liked this book -- lots of meal for thought and lots of conversational fodder. I liked that the author gave each of the children she "followed" for a year a challenge mid-year to support them break out of the frustrating dynamics they found themselves in. She recognized -- correctly -- that while the misconceptions that others had of them were often not their fault, they were still the only ones with the power to change those perceptions. Most of them did, so that the book was ultimately hopeful and empowering rather than remaining mired in gloom and disgust at how badly children can treat each other! It was also helpful as a teacher to be reminded of the ways that we teachers sometimes feed rather than disrupt the unwholesome and unfair social dynamics that plague may schools.Overall, this book was accessible to my better readers, and interesting to most of them, even those who struggled with the vocabulary. I recommend it beautiful highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    I initially picked up this book in belief that I could relate to its theory and ysis, but found that I enjoyed Robbins' case studies much more. It seems almost like a novel, representing the minds of 7 special characters that encompass what Robbins calls "cafeteria fringe". The mind and personality of each person is carefully described, giving me, as a reader, deep insight on their emotional response to exclusion(or inclusion, in one study's case).It surprised me, to be honest. I'm a guy that's intimate with the idea of exclusion, but I didn't expect the level of hate and rejection that exists in these characters' lives. Throughout the book, the characters confront problems like racism, breakups, homophobia, finance and more, all facets that contribute to their segregation from social cliques. Their stories are simple to sympathize with and rewarding to search out what happens to them in the end. The book would have been a definite buy even if it didn't have the psychological ysis that it ever, the overall theory of the book was disappointing. Robbins presents her "quirk theory" as what she came up with to explain how outsiders have success past high school. I didn't buy it. It felt to me like Robbins was more focused on finding something shocking and satisfying instead of explaining that popularity isn't the key to success. In short, the parts where Robbins doesn't test to completely interpret popularity is where I feel the book is most sincere. I also thought that Robbins didn't do her part in showing the positive aspects of conformity. Individualism is great, but not when you're forcing it.Overall, "The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth" was a worthwhile read with a amazing message. Acceptance is the main virtue to be taken from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth: Popularity, Quirk Theory, and Why Outsiders Thrive After High School []  2019-12-18 20:22

    This was a fun book. I like this author's writing style in that it is very readable and simple to understand.I liked the people she interviewed and was genuinely interested in knowing what happened to them after the conclusion of the book. I liked how the book was encouraging to those who consider themselves 'outsiders' in high school that it's amazing to be different. I would to have read a small more about conformity in high school but I understand that isn't the focus of the book. I wish a follow up. I wish to see if her conclusion-outsiders have the qualities business look for- was accurate. Sequel please!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    tadalafil cost in canada [ from canada]  2021-3-30 12:18
    [email protected]

    addiction treatment services hair loss concealer canadian

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Teen Popularity Handbook: Make Friends, Get Dates, And Become Bully-Proof []  2020-1-18 19:49

    I had my own war with popularity as a teen so was somewhat torn when I ran across this book. I do have a teen now and wish him to be confident and satisfied so I gave it a read. This is actually a unbelievable tutorial to confidence and self-esteem for your teenager that I would highly recommend. Written in a method that should be very readable for teens, it takes a look at various social skills that are required to create fresh mates and become a leader in a high school environment. The book also addresses such things as social media and bullying very well. A recommended read for any teen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Teen Popularity Handbook: Make Friends, Get Dates, And Become Bully-Proof []  2020-1-18 19:49

    This book offers a lot of tip that has been offered to adults for years, but in a method that is simple to teens to relate to. My 14-year-old daughter read this to support her deal with issues she was having with friends, She said there were some references she didn't obtain and thought it would appeal to a guy a small more, but it still gave her practical tip she could use. It seems to have helped because she hasn't had issues with her mates since she read it. I would recommend this book for any teen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Teen Popularity Handbook: Make Friends, Get Dates, And Become Bully-Proof []  2020-1-18 19:49

    Even though I am not a teenager, I found this book interesting, and will recommend it for my teen relatives. The book is basically a 280 page handbook similar to helping teens achieve something they desperately want: popularity. While every teen seems to wish popularity, very few books or resources exist to support them achieve at is the main point of this book, that any teen can learn the social skills to be more popular. While a lot of teens think you’re either born famous or you aren’t, this book proves me of the hints involve changing a person’s thoughts. For example, the book provides techniques to deal with anxiety, become more outgoing, and become more begin to interacting with fresh people. One whole chapter is dedicated to reading and changing body language, to be able to understand others better, and also change your body language to appear more confident, relaxed, and begin to a ere are primary grooming and fashion hints too, so that a teen can look his or her best. There are also chapters devoted to approaching fresh people, getting to know them, and getting their contact info or social media information. The hints are grounded in scientific studies similar to popularity, and even adults can e book is fun and informative. The style is very relaxed and flows smoothly. While some of the hints are a small more advanced, the authors explain things in a method teens can understand.What struck me about this book is how positive it is. It is about giving teens the skills to welcome everybody into their circle of friends. This is not about how to be a jerk to be popular. In fact, the hints are designed to support shy and insecure teens resist bullying (there is even a lengthy appendix similar to preventing bullying).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Teen Popularity Handbook: Make Friends, Get Dates, And Become Bully-Proof []  2020-1-18 19:49

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Teen Popularity Handbook: Make Friends, Get Dates, And Become Bully-Proof []  2020-1-18 19:49

    I didn't particularly have fun the inauthentic advice/vibe the author gives off. But I am and have always been secure, confident, and brave beyond what is normal. I was born self-assured and bully proof. My daughter.....not so much. This is amazing info for her, even if it's not what I would go by. She received it Christmas Eve and hasn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Teen Popularity Handbook: Make Friends, Get Dates, And Become Bully-Proof []  2020-1-18 19:49

    love these flip flopsI need arches and these fit the bill. Sandy Reef flip flops are the bests in comfort, price and quality. They save my knees!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cheapest sildenafil tablets in india [OActuAme]  2021-3-6 21:35
    [email protected]

    cant ejaculate individual health insurance plans second messenger generic europe - que es el condon - without subscription sildenafil 20 mg dosage for ed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    in canadian pharmacies nniw [ pharmacy bxaw]  2020-10-16 13:32
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy- canada pharmacies highest rated canadian pharmacies canadian pharmacies generic online canadian online pharmacy pharmacy canadian pharcharmy canadian-pharcharmy- internet pharmacy pharmacy buy generic canadian pharmacy canada pharmacy buy from canada pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    lasix online pharmacy in Cleveland [buying lasix without prescription]  2020-9-17 5:15
    [email protected]

    buy lasix in Greece lasix price comparison cheap lasix in Puerto Rico buy lasix in Germany where to buy lasix in Japan online how to buy lasix in Miami cheap lasix in Spain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my case in gov search [broward county civil case search]  2020-9-3 1:23
    [email protected]

    see post miami dade criminal case find brazoria county case find website here her comment is here search more his comment is here kcoj case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Omaha online can u buy lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to buy lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to buy lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    buy lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to buy lasix in Portland purchase lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to buy lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Albuquerque [where to buy lasix in UK online]  2020-9-17 13:34
    [email protected]

    best price for lasix in Poland top 5 best locations to buy lasix in United States where to buy generic lasix where to purchase lasix in Japan top 9 best locations to buy lasix in Israel buy lasix online with prescription lasix online pharmacy in Oklahoma cheap lasix in Indianapolis buy lasix in Portland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada cheap lasix in Omaha where to purchase lasix in Austria where to buy lasix in Detroit where to purchase lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to purchase lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in San Diego [where to purchase lasix in Charlotte]  2020-9-13 14:26
    [email protected]

    united healthcare lasix best price for lasix in Buffalo where to buy lasix in Cincinnati online how to buy lasix in San Diego where to purchase lasix in Sweden where to buy lasix in Tulsa buy lasix fedex shipping

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to buy lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to buy lasix in Tucson online best method to search cheap lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to purchase lasix in Austria best price for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to purchase lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to buy lasix in Los Angeles where to purchase lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to buy lasix in Greece online best price for lasix in United Kingdom best price for lasix in Austin best price for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of tablets in india [ without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online discount sales Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Portland [best price for lasix in New York]  2020-9-14 1:55
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Sweden buy lasix in San Francisco where to buy lasix in Baltimore online cheap lasix 40mg cheap lasix in San Antonio top 7 best locations to buy lasix in Hungary top 9 best locations to buy lasix in Netherlands purchase lasix from Saudi Arabia buy lasix online from Washington buy furosemide

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can buy lasix buying lasix in canada how to buy lasix in Norway best price for lasix in Long Beach where to purchase lasix in Washington how can i buy lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Czech Republic where is better to purchase lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to buy lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    International Law in the U.S. Legal System []  2020-1-17 22:1

    Had everything I required for my International Law class that allowed me to pass my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    International Law in the U.S. Legal System []  2020-1-17 22:1

    Amazing overview on this topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    click this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    truelane from the hartford [True lane]  2021-4-1 14:46
    [email protected]

    I rode in my daughter's vehicle for a 6 hour round trip. Real lane never asked if I was the driver. I amassed a pile of violations just sitting in a seat. What goes?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    levitra over the counter [buy vardenafil from india]  2021-4-9 17:8
    [email protected]

    common bowel issues hair loss and thinning levitra over the counter generic vardenafil india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    purchase lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to buy lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to buy lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here click this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy - india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy in canadian pharmacies

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy buy from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to buy lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to purchase lasix in France lasix online india lasix price per where to purchase lasix in Buffalo where to purchase lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    levitra over the counter [levitra over the counter]  2021-4-10 1:31
    [email protected]

    natural cure for arthritis what type of disease is arthritis vardenafil canadian pharmacy levitra singapore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    cheap lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to buy lasix in Indianapolis best price for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to buy lasix in Detroit where to buy lasix online buy canadian lasix online buy lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to buy lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo purchase lasix from Portugal where to buy lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to buy lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    Absolutely love the book. Simple read, with light humour and gives in depth understanding to what is event with your kid during the middle school age.I found the practical tip and actual phrases or words to say very helpful. Sometimes books give a general idea, but its hard to figure out how to apply or what that looks like. However, Dr. Leman was very amazing at being specific. I would reccomend this book to anyone with tween children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    I'm a huge fan of Kevin Leman's works, and so I jumped on this one as soon as I saw it. This is the first parenting book of his that I've read, and it certainly lived up to the high standards of his other books. Leman, a psychologist, writes about the middle school years from the seasoned perspective of a father of five grown children. But he also writes of current problems that middle school students face in a globe overrun with technology and loosening moral standards. The book discusses the psychological result that so a lot of changes at one time have on kids of this age. It explains why your sweet small kid has now become unpredictable and confusing to you as a parent. More importantly, it tells you how to handle frustrating (maddening, blood-pressure-raising) situations in a method that will leave your relationship with your middle schooler intact on the other side. This book is full of practical tip that you'll be able to use quickly. If you're the parent of a middle school student, odds are that you'll be using tip found in this book within 12 hours of reading it. It's not wishy-washy like some parenting books are. It gets right down to the nitty gritty and gives you concrete solutions that leave your kid feeling respected while you retain your authority as a parent. Leman is respected in the Christian community, but this book really doesn't mention his faith more than a couple of times. It's a resource that all parents will be able to use. It's a light read - Leman's style is quite humorous and you will laugh out loud - but it's full of such solid tip that it's really a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courage to Be Yourself: True Stories by Teens About Cliques, Conflicts, and Overcoming Peer Pressure []  2020-1-17 23:47

    This collection of moving stories about teens in their own words are really effective discussion starters in classrooms or circles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    Must read for parents of tweens and young teens - so much amazing information! I read this as a library book and liked it so much I bought my own copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    Unbelievable method to parent adolescences with love and humor with out losing boundaries and your mind. Love this book.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    Absolutely brilliant book - totally down to earth, realistic, up to date with current times, and with helpful insights and suggestions - like: don't react, instead - respond.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courage to Be Yourself: True Stories by Teens About Cliques, Conflicts, and Overcoming Peer Pressure []  2020-1-17 23:47

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    as a parent of 2, the book lets me know whats going on with my middle schoolers, not only in school but also what they are thinking about and the stresses they deal with. not done with the book yet, but so far its a amazing read. And the best part is that its not a boring book to read but one that's well written and the words flow making reading much easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    An perfect read for parents with kids in tweens on up. Read this since we have a fresh middle schooler. SO helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courage to Be Yourself: True Stories by Teens About Cliques, Conflicts, and Overcoming Peer Pressure []  2020-1-17 23:47

    bOOK FOR THE UMW book study for 2017

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    Love this book! It has been so helpful. I am now not as stressed over some things as I was before the book. Explains so a lot about the middle school years and the drama that reigns during those years. Thank you Dr Leman you have saved me a lot of grey hairs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    Amazing Book. Amazing solid ideas. Helped us turn the tables and regain the upper hand. Stopping their poor behavior is as simple as walking away from it. There is a bit more to it, however it is that easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Middle School: Helping Your Child through the Peer Pressure, Awkward Moments & Emotional Drama []  2019-12-18 20:21

    I have not read this book. I purchased two of these for my kids who will have middle schoolers next year. I have read numerous books by Dr. Leman and love his humor and common sense approach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I have it on my phone & what I like about it is the extra security you can apply to it. But the one aggravating problem it has is having to update my password because it for whatever reason it doesn't recognize my present password []  2021-2-21 21:2
    [email protected]

    I appreciate the additional security that the application provides with the phone and so much more the application offers. The application needs some fixing & perhaps updating as well. From the thumbs down I've seen in the reviews This Summit Credit Union Customer knows that it's time for the amazing application to be greater. I wish to give much thanks to developers of the cardnav application for doing a amazing job &I know they can do a greater job of tuning it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    I would give this book no stars if that were possible. This book certainly shows what progress we've created socially since the book was published. All the main speaking roles are given to small boys. How would a small girl feel reading this book? Indeed, small boys reading this book today will have damaging stereotypes about male and female roles taught to them, as well as whatever small science this book contains. There are plenty of better books out there - for both small boys and small girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    This was a bonus for our grand kids. Their mom says "The Magic School Bus" is a famous series on TV, which I didn't know. The book has apparently been a huge hit because of the familiar characters and storyline, and also because of their interest in the solar system! If you like this one, there are others in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    Amazing book with a ton of info. Got it for my 3 year old because he loves zone items and some of it is a small much for him but he loves reading through the story itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    We are huge fans of the Magic School Bus series. These books are packed full of information. It's not a book you'll sit and obtain all the method though at once though. I take that back, maybe with an older kid you could. Our 3 year old doesn't sit for the whole book but we have fun a few pages at a time. Each page has loads to read and discuss. Pictures are fun too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    Quality soundtrack and pictures. My son continues to have fun this audio book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    Bought for my six year old who loves the present (both old and new). I was so excited when a mate reminded me that there are Magic school Bus books! My son love reading but science is without a doubt his favorite topic and he’s been into zone for as long as I can remember! Having this book has been fun and there are facts and tidbits the present doesn’t contain so it’s like a whole fresh adventure for him! I swear I am going to buy all these books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    A fun story that follows the first episode of the first season of MSB beautiful closely, but the additional factual information/dialogue in the margins create it hard to read to ages 4-6 (especially if they suspect you're leaving something out!). It might be more enjoyable for ages 9-10, who can benefit from that information and can read at their leisure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    I search myself enjoying the Magic School Bus series more than my kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hey Neighbor - Peer to Peer rentals [App]  2019-4-11 13:15

    This application will be invaluable once it gets enough exposure and everyone starts using it. Think offerup, letgo, or 5miles, but with a focus on renting & sharing stuff instead of buying & selling. All with the intent of building stronger communities & neighborly relations through a shared economy. The convenience this application offers for peer to peer rentals is amazing in its own right; the potential it has to create a positive impact on local communities makes it that much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    My first and still favorite Magic School Bus book! It goes planet to planet (including Pluto) sharing your weight on this planet, and many, many, more interesting facts about each and where it is in our solar system. A must-have for all children's home libraries! A gem for fostering a love of science!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic School Bus Lost In The Solar System []  2020-1-16 9:10

    I love the Magic School Bus books and so do my children. I work as a Preschool teacher and the content is excellent for them to learn how things work, etc. They love the field trips and they love to see how the class gets out of their binds. This story takes them into outer zone and throughout the solar system. As always, Ms Frizzle doesn't disappoint. My class gives it an A++!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Awesome-Awful Popularity Plan []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I got this book for my 11 year old who listens to Seth Rudetsky on the radio all the time and is a huge fan. She loves his books and is looking forward to more. She tells me that reading the books she can hear his voice talking which, if you've ever listened to his shows you will know what she means. He is hilarious!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386