Read practical parallel rendering reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all practical parallel rendering reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    I was thoroughly impressed by Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 by Jason Zink. Microsoft’s Direct3D API is certainly not for beginners, and neither is this book. But, at the same time, the author does a amazing job of explaining the material in a method that is approachable. The book assumes you are already comfortable with C++, and doesn’t keep your hand with the syntax. This is great, since you really should have an understanding of C++ before jumping into 3D graphics programming. It’s also not the kind of book that expects you to type in long pages of example code into your computer. In fact, there are not really any complete examples listed in the book at all. Instead the author chooses to highlight specific API calls and explain how various techniques can be implemented using the is is in stark contrast to the latest DirectX 11 book I read by Frank Luna. Luna’s text was great, don’t obtain me wrong. But it was very focused on producing functional demos to showcase certain effects (like shadow mapping or ambient occlusion). Instead Zink chooses to go totally knee-deep into the API itself and, as a reader, I came away much more confident that I understood the material. Just as an example, early on in the book there is a 100 page chapter just on resources. Most other guides would briefly present how to make a buffer, and then move on other stuff. Not here. In fact, the next 200 pages of the book is just about how the pipeline works. It’s really great, and rare to search such n’t be fooled, there is certainly code in these pages, and there are a few examples. The book covers some subjects like deferred rendering, multi-threaded graphics, dynamic tessellation, and physics. What I liked about the examples is that only the bare minimum amount of code was shown. Just enough to understand the key concepts without getting bogged down with boiler-plate code. It also created reading along much nicer, without having to feel like you need to obtain up every 5 mins and type something in on a PC. Plus, the source code for the examples, and the author’s engine, are available for free online. So no need to type either thing I really enjoyed was the discussion on DirectCompute and on compute shaders. There are hardly any books covering DirectCompute, so it’s amazing to see so much zone dedicated to the API. I am very interested in using this in my own engine, though it’s difficult to search info on the topic. Practical Rendering and Computation contains several chapters using compute shaders, for example to do photo processing (blur). There was also a amazing amount of zone given for tessellation. So if you are at all interested in these specific topics, it’s beautiful much a no-brainer to obtain this other thing. Angry props to Jason Zink for being available to the community. You’ll search him on the forums, even helping out newbies with their 3D questions. Much l-in-all, this was quite an eye-opening read. I mean, after reading the Luna book and doing some online tutorials, I thought I knew about DirectX 11. Well, I knew something. But this book went much further than what I had previously seen on the topic. I would even recommend reading this *before* Frank Luna’s book, as I think that would flow a small better. Obtain the foundation solid, and then begin learning how to code specific effects. Anyway, this book comes highly recommended by me if you are attempting to learn Direct3D.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    Too much theory with not much practical guidelines. Extremmely hard to learn from the beginning. But excelent as a library reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    Amazing book, one of the classics - if you're into low-level rendering than its a must-have.

    0  


    Add your opinion on practical parallel rendering or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    This book starts out by covering the DX11 pipeline, resources, and associated DX11-specific features like multi-threaded rendering and tesselation in a method that's simple to understand. It then provides a number of concrete examples covering different rendering subjects that specifically eschew the simple. Instead, they are well-explained implementations covering locations such as deferred rendering, tesselation-based terrain rendering, vertex skinning, and GPU particles, to name a few. If you're interested in any of the advanced subjects the book covers, it pays for itself here as the combination of amazing explanation and implementation can be hard to te the examples are implemented using the Hieroglyph3 engine available on Codeplex and I found this to work quite well. The engine structure maps closely enough to DX11 constructs that you're not fighting abstractions to see them clearly, yet streamlines them enough that you don't feel like you're missing the forest for the trees of API-related minutia. Indeed, I found the engine itself interesting enough that I would have purchased the book based soley on that te finally the book does not advertise "beginning" in the title, and is not the only resource you'll wish for learning the fundamentals. This is a amazing thing however because amazing books along those lines already exist and the pages are best spent elsewhere. I've personally used this book in conjunction with titles like "Introduction to 3D Android game Programming with DirectX 10" and "Real-Time Rendering", and found them to complement each other nicely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    I picked this book up to bring myself up to speed with Direct3D. My previous experience with low-level D3D (as opposed to engine-level) was 10 years is a well written book (not without an occasional error or grammatical issue), the authors appear to know their stuff, it covers several subjects at a reasonably thorough level, and is worth the read if you're looking for a DX11 may search it tiresome to read from cover to cover, but there are several sections that are simple to read on their own (and worth it).I liked the coverage on the shader pipeline, resources, multi-threaded rendering, and deferred te: approximately the first half of the book describes DX11 features, capabilities, and "workings", while the second half focuses more on how you might use the features to implement rendering is isn't a standalone book for knowing everything about D3D11, but D3D is heavy and I search this is an acceptable introduction and worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    With it having been several years since I latest worked with Direct3D (DX9), I wanted a book as a refresher in the DirectX method of doing things when I decided to return to computer graphics. What I got, was largely actical rendering is by no means a not good book. It authors are Microsoft DirectX Most Valuable Professionals. This means the material presented is accurate and well written, but it fails on too a lot of fronts to be considered great. The first half of the book is dedicated to explaining the Direct3D 11 Pipeline or at least it tries to. What you obtain is ultimately a regurgitation of the freely available DX doentation. The authors do small to actually explain the behind the scenes workings and I have a feeling if it is your first foray into DX you will be quickly lost. The one bit of explanation they routinely throw at you is through the use of photos to explain concepts. This sounds perfect until you realize what it really means. You obtain photos like a cube with six exploded sides demonstrating a cube map (which is sadly one of the better images) and my private favorite, an photo of a sphere in three various positions to demonstrate translations. This examples may sound petty, but if you read this book you will constantly roll your eyes at the ridiculousness of these listings. Code listings for the book's first half are no better. They are literally ripped from Microsoft's doentation and dumped on the page in an unremarkable e book improves in it's second half with more concrete examples of the concepts. They are actually interesting reads and very well explained compared to the first half. Unfortunately, here is where the book's largest issue comes in. The authors have elected to use Jason Zink's Hieroglyph 3 engine as the basis for all of their examples. While I'm certain Mr. Zink's engine is of a high quality, it is a large mistake. The justification for it's use is so we as readers are not bogged down in minutia when it comes to initializing Direct3D and Win32. In practice, it fails to let us experience in initializing Direct3D. This is a fairly necessary component of using the API and it's dismissal is absurd. You will be forced to return to the doentation of the DXSDK in order to search anything of use, unless you wish to be locked into the Hieroglyph engine. The largest issue with authors using their own engines is in the changes that occur over time. Including raw DX and Win32 code allows future use even through subsequent DXSDK changes with a minimal of rewriting. The Hieroglyph engine is already changing from the ver when the book was published just a few short months ago. Nowhere is this more apparent than in the books appendix stating that the Boost libraries are needed for building the engine. On the engines homepage, this dependency has already been removed. This isn't a huge deal for now, but does speak to the rate at which libraries tend to change overtime. It is entirely possible in the future the engine will have changed so much it's usefulness will suffer. Because of the use of the Hieroglpyh engine, all of the examples focus on shader code and leave everything else up to the engine itself. This is not particularly useful when you wish to learn how to code in D3D11 from the ground up.While the authors have presented a few useful chapters, the book fails to deliver consistently. If you are looking for anything other than a few shader code examples of trendy topics, you will have to look elsewhere. I recommend picking up Frank D. Luna's Direct3D 10 book to learn the fundamentals of DX programming. Afterward the Direct3D 11 doentation will be more than sufficient at highlighting the differences in the older and newer APIs. If you wish the examples this book offers, I would suggest a GPU pro or ShaderX book as they are considerably heavier on content and will provide a lot of more examples than this book provides. Again, it is not a poor book and if I were looking for strict doentation this would be high on my list. It's weakness however is in striking a balance between doentation like theory and cohesive examples of implementation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    I really wanted to like it. It has some amazing content and I like what it tries to achieve. But I have to admit I am quite disappointed by it.1) horrendous qualityBy print quality this is the worst book I ever purchased in the latest years. And I have bought a ton of books.Mine seems to have print mistakes on the cover and the pages that would create sense to have colourful syntax are barely readable because they chose to do greyscale prints.2) contentsome goodies here and there and it has a amazing introduction, but also quite missing a thread or consistent through all the chapters. It feels like chapters stitched together and none of the authors had a holistic vision about this book. There is also quite some repetition and a lot of almost copied content from the official doentation / is not worth the steep price. Sadly it is still one of the better D3D books out there :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    After playing with Direct3D 11 for a while and being a convert from D3D9 I was still getting a bit of headaches. As it often turns out, the issue was between a keyboard and a chair. In my case the doentation provided by Microsoft, as well-done as it is, couldn't respond completely the very primary question - How to code modern graphics with this API using ALL its features. Then I found this book and it did the job. It filled the gaps in the whole picture. What I like the best is the amount of effort spent on freshly-introduced elements of D3D11. All in all, authors created it clear they wish a reader to obtain to know API so well so that he could implement any idea on its own. Of course, it's not one book that makes you a master, that's practice. However one has to begin somewhere. When you are looking for a well-paced guided walk through foundations that's the book I I hope to see a part 2 of this book starting where this one ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    I have only read the first 76 pages of this book thus far and have skimmed through the rest of it. I must say, this is the best book that I have seen on Direct3D. Whether you are just getting started with Direct3D (and have C++ programming experience) or if you are a very experienced implementer of D3D does not matter as this book will be a amazing fit for both types of audiences. It's well worth the cash and will be a companion on my desk for as long as D3D 11 remains a viable API in the industry. I highly recommend this book. It's a must have tool for anyone seriously developing wtih this API.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 []  2019-12-24 19:51

    The book is devoted to Direct3D and provides usable examples for using D3D in real-time rendering!It can not be used as tutorial, so if you wish to program Direct3D 11.2 use:1. VS 2013 3D templates2. DirectX book from Frank Luna3. This book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    I bought this book to use with my adult coloring books, and I am so glad I did. It briefly talks about supplies that are readily available and cheap, most of which I had never heard of in relation to coloring. I'm excited to test some. But my favorite part is this books simplicity. She teaches an result on two to give steps, using Prismacolor Premier colourful pencils, AND the sharpness of the pencil to be used. There are a lot of techniques that depend on a dull pencil. She teaches in steps, with pictures. These are not crazy complicated, and the results are outstanding. The first one I tried was copper, and after practicing in my "practice coloring book", I began doing it successfully. I bout this book in the Kindle format, which is excellent for me, as I can easily go to th table of contents and search the result that I am looking for. This is truly one of the best books of coloring techniques that I own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    I had hoped to recommend this book to my Youtube subscribers, but I found it poorly written, lacking any sort of detail, and the images are very blown out color wise. You should have used an editor as the grammar is very not good and there are a lot of mistakes. The font used is very little and doesn't fill the instruction area. So much more could have been written. I will be returning this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    She covers all these textures quickly and efficiently, and I appreciated her examples of various fabrics like burlap vs. satin. It is a practical tutorial to use when faced with a fresh texture to represent. If you are fresh to colourful pencil, you would be better served by another book --- but as a reference to grab when you're not sure how to approach something ---- this is a useful fast guide. Hold in mind that nothing is extremely detailed and she uses only Prismacolor pencils and doesn't layer that much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    I have recently started using colourful pencils not just for adult coloring books, but also in my mixed media work. This book has been a android game changer! It is laid out very nicely with tools and tricks for artists in the front, and then by section for animal fur, skin, plants etc. Each texture detail spells out in 4 primary steps how to achieve realism, and the colourful pictures and pencil color suggestions are great!And just like that- Bammm! I’m a better artist!! For someone like me that cannot afford to take multiple art classes, this book is perfect. It’s a amazing course bundled up in one simple to follow reference book. I have had it only a short time, but search myself using it a lot. One nice thing about this book is the refresher course on color theory, and how something like obtaining a deeper red color is not necessarily done by just layering on more red.I think this book is a very valuable tool for anyone that likes working with colourful pencils and thanks to Denise for sharing her knowledge with the rest of us!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    This book is jam packed with photographic and descriptive step-by-step instructions to make every possible coloured pencil techniques one could r a beginner to Colourec Pencil, this one single book will teach them the components that create up almost everything and anything they could desire to paint/draw with CP. I thought I was fairly well versed with CP and doing beautiful well with my art, but page after page I realized how much I haven’t learned and am so excited to obtain out the supplies and play with these.I highly recommend this book for all, except perhaps, the masters of CP artistry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    This is a amazing small book, but it could have been better. The main reason I gave it five stars is because most of the books out there do not have a how to do page by subjects. The pictures are amazing but would have liked to see drawings ( step by step), especially on eyes and lips etc. on all ethic people besides white people. After all there are a lot of people out there in the globe : Black, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, etc. What you use to color a white person in coloring wouldn't be the same on a black person. It was just what I was looking for in the other three books I bought. My only dilemma is that I [email protected]#$%! had more pages on the subject. The subjects are on how to color: people, smooth skin, aged skin, straight, wavy, curly hair etc. Basically only one page per topic. And you know it takes more than one page perhaps that's why the book is little in size as well. There are a lot of subjects broken down by sections like animals and insects, fabric and textiles , glass,stone, ceramics, wood and metal, meal and beverage, and metimes a drawing is better than a picture when your trying to learn how to color; especially in a coloring book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

     I am an adult colorist. I have no desire to be a globe class pencil artist going for photo-realistic images, I just wanted my pages to look more real. This is the book for that. It's not a full course on how to be an artist, you simply look up what you're trying to color and there are the steps and colors to use and how to go about it. I'm a beginner with pencils and the results are not foolproof, some will take practice before you obtain them right. But I saw an improvement in what I was doing from the very first one I tried. I have tried long cat fur, terracotta, cat eyes, flower petals, wrought iron and palm fronds. All created my work look better than it had though none of my first attempts were as amazing as the e author uses Prismacolor Premier pencils by name and color, not number. I use these pencils so it was no issue for me, but if you're using any other brand you will have an issue. The book offers no color chart to compare Prismacolors to any other brand so you'll be left googling color shades. It seems to me they could have added a color chart or a comparison chart to create the book more accessible to ere are some stuff in the book that I don't like and have found better guides on You Tube, such as bubbles, which are brown in this book...? Soft bark seems a bit off as well. Some things that I would consider necessary are not covered at all, such as green leaves (red fall leaves are). The only skin color covered is white. But there is enough here to greatly improve my coloring skills with practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    Absolutely unbelievable book!! Step by step drawings for someone like me who I consider a beginner even though I have done a few colourful pencil drawings. I have so much to learn. She divides the book up into sections like skin, animals, hair etc...then further subdivided into things like straight hair, curly hair etc.. she then divides the lesson into how to do each of these sublessons with written instructions along with pictures. The whole book is set up like a instructional manual and that's what I love about it. When I am done going through it I should be able to do a colourful pencil drawing of most things!! Its not a large book so its not overwhelming. It can be carried with you wherever you go. I highly recommend it to not just the beginner but to every colourful pencil artist out there just looking for a amazing review of your skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    Perfect book!The writing is concise, very informative, and simple to understand. The color coded sections create it so simple to search the desired texture, and each of the 101 illustrated step-by-steps are simple to understand and follow. I already know this is quickly going to become one off my favorite color pencil resources. I’ve already tried several of the guides and excited to do more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Textures in Colored Pencil: Practical step-by-step drawing techniques for rendering a variety of surfaces & textures []  2020-1-22 0:23

    As a fresh CP artist learning how to draw, I think this book is valuable. The book is chalked with step by step illustrations, and refers to suggested colors to use which is helpful for a beginner. Laid out well and very simple to read/follow. If I had to give it star rating out of 5, it would be a 5+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    This is, by far, one of the most thorough books I've read on computer graphics. It has a amazing overview of a lot of various subjects similar to real-time rendering, from lighting models to collision detection, and all the math that is involved. Create no mistake, there is a lot of math in this book. I will be honest, on some pages with dense equations my eyes glazed over somewhat. But it is amazing to have the equations to refer back to, and there are ample references given if you wish to search out e thing to realize is that there is not a whole lot of code in this book. Sometimes pseudo-code will be giving, to illustrate an algorithm, but there is not items you can just copy and paste. If you are working on a 3D engine, this book should certainly be in your library, but you will need more to finish the job. So look to combine this book with one on your API of choice (OpenGL or DirectX) and another book that focuses on the architecture (I liked Android game Engine Architecture by Jason Gregory).All in all I think it was a amazing read, and I feel a lot more comfortable with the primary concepts of rendering after reading the book. If you are in the field, or looking to obtain into the field, this is basically needed reading. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    This book is my son's fresh bible. He can't stop talking about it! 3rd year in college as Digital Media Major - I believe he has learned more from this one book then a lot of others combined! Appears to be worth every penny I paid for it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    I recommend this book for any aspiring lighting artists. This book covers a wide range of subjects and concepts. It is NOT specific to Maya, 3DS Max or any other 3D modelling software. Instead, it focuses on the foundations of lighting and rendering and elaborates on commonly used techniques to achieve attractive renders. If you do buy this book, check out the site/forum run by Jeremy Birn that provides downloadable files for practice, contests, and help from an online community. Buy the book, visit the website, obtain inspired!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    This is my favorite 3D graphics book by a wide margin. The writing is clear, concise and quite up-to-date (assuming you have the most latest edition). Every page includes concise, unobtrusive references to 1200 perfect sources of info (books, articles, links). For example, if you see [987] in the text, just search entry [987] in the appendix to search the name of a book, article, link or PDF with more information.What's best about this text is how well chosen and written are the topics. Their intention is always to describe the best up-to-date techniques to implement solutions to every aspect of real-time 3D graphics, with only enough general or historical discussion of each subject to provide a foundation to understand the current state-of-the-art. This is simply the excellent practical approach. Their complementary www service is an absolute gold mine of references and advice.If I could only buy one general book on 3D graphics, this would definitely be it. It is a excellent complement to special-purpose books on specific APIs (OpenGL or DirectX) or GPU shading languages (GLSL or CG or HLSL) that describe the specific graphics environment and software tools you need to implement your 3D applications. If your choice is OpenGL/GLSL, then "Realtime Rendering" is the excellent complement to the OpenGL SuperBible (4th~5th edition) and the OpenGL Shading Language (3rd edition).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    As others have said in their reviews, this is a very amazing update. Birn's experience over the latest few years, especially at Pixar have given us even more to learn from. I've been lighting in android games CG for 10 years and have learned fresh insights into various working methods and techniques from this e author does a amazing job of making the book non-software specific and gives a lot of jumping off points for further research. The largest omission is a lack of coverage of video game/real-time lighting techniques. While a lot of these skills can be carried over, most of the techniques in the book focus on shot-based ankfully, the written content of the book is of high a quality as the techniques described within. All too often CG tech books are poorly written and edited. This one does not suffer due to the amount of effort and skill place into it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    If your an expert you might wish to skip this one a lot of what is talked about is planing and general theory for none lighting, rendering and compositing people! I'm a rigger and a lot of what I learned here was beautiful primary and already understood. That said it's still a amazing book to refresh you understanding of lighting and rendering!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    Bought as gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    Perfect book outlining different techniques used in professional interactive graphics applications. I've used it as a resource for several projects. There aren't allot of straightforward implementations given, but the descriptions are often amazing enough to lead you to a more in-depth resource. It is amazing for learning the general principles however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    In a globe of software-specific manuals, Jeremy Birn's "Digital Lighting and Rendering" is refreshingly software-ambiguous. Birn begins by reviewing traditional lighting and then delves into the globe of digital lighting with amazing detail. Birn deftly avoids providing instructions for one specific software suite (although his screenshots appear to have been captured from Maya), and is greatly successful in exploring principles that apply to any major 3-D modeling and animation suite. As an avid Blender user, I found the book very useful in providing guidance for everything from easy lighting setups to more complicated lighting setups. Birn also spends a amazing deal of time addressing digital lighting e book is a must have for several reasons:1. Rather than addressing "how-to" scenarios for one specific software suite, the book begins with the fundamental problem of "why", and provides solid principles that can be addressed in a practical manner by users of every major software package.2. Detailed colourful images fill the book from cover to cover, providing the reader with practical examples for every situation addressed in the book.3. Every chapter ends with a review and practical exercises for the reader to complete to gain experience in the subject covered. Additionally, by visiting , readers can download extra scenes to light.4. Cameras and texturing, while not necessarily falling into the lighting category, are covered in detail in the book. Birn provides hints such as texture map baking and other solutions designed to reduce render time while maintaining a scene's complexity.5. Common errors or difficulties are reproduced and explained in is book, without a question, is a must-have for anyone serious about entering the globe of 3-D design and animation. 6 stars out of 5!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    Probably the best comprehensive introduction to computer graphics if you already have a small exposure to computer graphics. It talks about the theories behind most of the features that you will see in a android game engine or 3d software (unity, blender). If you have taken a 101 on unity or blender, this is the book to support you understand what is going on N'T obtain the kindle version, it is just pdf photos (table of content links don't work, page takes up only half of the phone screen, cannot zoom in)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    This book is a amazing collection of almost current practical rendering ry primary theories/ideas for android game engine, basis for android game client programming as well as the important knowledge for understanding DirectX and OpenGL, in short, almost all stuffs of graphical rendering subjects are covered by this book.I think of that this book consists of three major parts by three various coauthors.(But the consistency of the entire book content is kept well; the similar problems in various sections/chapters are referred/linked with each other exactly.)It covers,BASIC SUFF AND LIGHT (Basic Vector Calculus, Primary Optical Science) Primary logical tools for graphics - Matrix, Projection, Terminologies, Primary graphics concepts - Aliasing, Morphing, Sensor, Color, Texture, Characteristics of light - Spectrum of Light, Irradiance, Reflection/Refraction, DERING TECHNIQUE (More Artificial Technique) Illumination, Shading, Mapping, Effects, Bill boarding, Fogging, Silhouette, Cartoon-Rendering, OMETRY AND PERFORMANCE Line, Surface, Culling, LOD, Zone Partitioning, Collision, Performance, GPU Pipeline, cites a lot of references on graphics/rendering/shader books, mathematics, journals, treaties and articles on the both side of online and offline.But the subjects/content of each section are written in brief and clear method to understand them due to that this book tries to avoid using complex formulae or commending to find/read the original references to obtain more info for those kind of formulae, this book focuses on the major flow of how the techniques are derived and applied ain, it is very helpful to people who wish to obtain a stout understanding for rendering rongly Similar Books with this;Physically Based Rendering : From Theory to Implementation (The Morgan Kaufmann Series in Interactive 3D Technology) (The Interactive 3d Technology Series),ShaderX6: Advanced Rendering,3D Android game Engine Design, Second Edition: A Practical Approach to Real-Time Computer Graphics (The Morgan Kaufmann Series in Interactive 3D Technology),Real-Time Collision Detection (The Morgan Kaufmann Series in Interactive 3-D Technology)Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    My daughter is a 3D Animation major senior. I bought this book for her when she was a sophomore? She LOVES it - she's still making use of it. It's the sort of book she will always hold and e says it's a MUST buy for anyone who works in the CG industry. Jeremy Birns explains WHY you need to light a certain method instead of just telling you what to do. He'll tell you the amazing and poor of lighting certain ways. Also, it's applicable to any software pack since it's the general why's and wherefore's of lighting. Even if he gets specific about a certain software, what he says can be applied ere are lots and lots of images. It doesn't read like a textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    When I bought this book, I was a 3D modeling newbie. I still am, but I am now a much better informed newbie. Info about lighting and rendering is accessible and thorough. Technical where it needs to be but also full of true globe examples and illustrative images. The author does a unbelievable job of explaining alternatives available in current modeling, animation, and rendering applications for the experienced, or budding 3D modeler to create smart decisions about how to best light a stage (based on the particular needs of the project) and solid info about how those lighting decisions impact rendering.I read this book concurrent to a self-guided education of Blender (a popular, begin source 3D design & animation package). This book is application-neutral and has gone a long method to helping me understand all of the settings and terminology in that application.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    This book is very informative in the zone of working with 3D scenes and covers all the necessary aspects of lighting them. I would highly recommend it to others, especially dedicated hobbyists like myself.I use Blender, Carrara, Daz3d, Hexagon and Bryce, as they are either free or very inexpensive. I like using various software and even composite scenes together with photo. I am not an expert in the field but I have learned a lot about realistic lighting and it helps being a photographer by trade. Photography and 3d graphics work well together as far as I'm concerned. You can apply knowledge learned to both is book is software non-specific and it really covers a lot of ground in respect to understanding a lot of concepts like lighting design, types of lights, shadows, global illumination, composition, colors, textures, rendering, etc... (and so much more! )I was also impressed that it included some concepts from a photographer's perspective as well. The production pipeline section really helped and I like how this book ing this book feels like it was meant for me. If you have fun photography and also creating 3d scenes, I would say that this should be in your library. I am self taught in image / video and 3d graphics ( about 5 years )and I understand all the terminology and concepts but this really takes me to a higher level without being too far over my head or too simplistic.I reserve the 5 star rating for stuff I search to be of amazing value. I must inform prospective buyers of this item that I did buy this "used in amazing condition".The "new" price is probably worth it but you can save dozens by getting it used. I think it was around 18 or so shipped. To me, that is an wonderful value.I hope this review helps you. I really love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    The view of lighting in this book is for the android game maker. Looking at objects as they do gives the photographer an appreciation for what contouring and relitive intensity and conrasting of colors does to perception of the image. UnReal appears real: True appears UnReal in our photography. Have learned a lot from this book I recommend it highly. Examples excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    I chose this book because I wanted something that skips over the very basics, since I had already learned those while developing my own easy 3D android game is book covers much more advanced subjects such as Global Illumination and culling techniques, as well as offering a lot of detailed info about subtle issues, such as little but necessary differences between texture is book isn't a programming tutorial either - since it's past the primary level, it assumes the reader is familiar enough with his graphics programming environment to be able to implement the described techniques without needing step-by-step also comes with an insane number of references to other books and papers, which is of tremendous value. The associated www service is also kept up-to-date and has an active blog maintained by the authors: isn't a book for beginners, but once you're past the basics, I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    Amazing book, it goes over as much rendering as humans know. If you wish to know how to render something and it has been done before 2009, it's in the book. It gives a really amazing description of just about everything, I was satisfied to see how it has a section to go over the GPU architecture, and uses the Playstation 3 and XBox 360 as examples. Goes in amazing depth, you're able to implement items out of the book even though it doesn't give you code (just pseudo code). It goes over ray tracing techniques, intersections, optimization, and advanced techniques, which I was also satisfied about in a real-time book. Since getting the book, I stay updated on the blog and all the info on [...]. I have to say this book is a must have if you're into rendering!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering []  2020-1-31 3:24

    I don't know if this book is for you if you are looking for 100% coding examples, but if that's what you're looking for you're probably not interested in Real-Time rendering far as the concepts go though it takes the ideas down to a very solid level of original use for this book was as a textbook over 2 years a go, but I still pull it out to this day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    All Artist should read this book, just because it explains how light works (mainly from a 3d modeling side of things) which helps with anything you need to render/make realistic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting And Rendering []  2020-12-5 19:31

    Before reading this book, lighting was my least favorite aspect of computer animation. Too a lot of hours spent playing with sliders and settings I did not understand. Knowing your render looks bad, but not knowing how to fix it was very frustrating. If you don't know the difference between ray tracing shadows and depth map shadows; if mental ray scares you then this book is for you. It not only explains what each are, it tells you the difference and better yet, if they are even worth the render time in specific scenarios. There are so a lot of small cheats and tricks to improve renders; some that never occurred to me beforehand: like making objects lights themselves, or using negative lights to make shadows. Now, for those who wish a step by step guide where one is given exact numbers and settings to duplicate, be warned, this is not that type of book. But there is no doubt, a read through of this book will lead to dramatically improved renders and a knowledge that can carry over outside of MAYA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blender Eevee Rendering Engine: Fundamentals []  2020-2-1 11:28

    Useless information. There is zero info on how to set up a render, how to apply and or make materials. I feel scammed, it is that bad. It gives defintions and that's it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    I'd love to own this book because the content looks amazing. But I am about to return my second copy after returning the h books I've received have had pages just fall out. The pages seems like they're not even bound. The attached picture depicts the quality of the first book received. I opened to the physically based shading section only to have the page slide out. It seems like every 15 pages or so has a loose page that will fall out. I suspect the entire inventory of books have this yourself a favor, don't bother buying a hard copy of the 4th edition. If you've already ordered a copy, check around page 301 for loose pages.edit: I am changing my review from 1 begin to what it is now. After reading a amazing portion of this book, the content really is amazing. It is such a shame that the hard copy is flawed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    I had hoped that the latest positive reviews posted here meant that the binding problems had been resolved. Unfortunately, that is not the case, at least for me. Based upon the description posted back in October on the Real-Time Rendering blog, this is a second printing (it's well over 2-1/8" thick - see the attached image of the spine). Thus far I've had 3 pages fall out after leafing through the first chapter, including a page in the table of contents and the first page of Chapter 1. I have hundreds of books, and I've never had this experience before with any book. To have this issue with a reference book like this is shocking, especially coming from CRC, whose books I've had access to since my childhood. I'm bitterly, bitterly disappointed because I had been eagerly looking forward to this book for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    A book about graphics cannot have this not good paper quality and photo printing. Terribly grainy and low resolution sometimes create it difficult to actually see what the photo or diagram is trying to showcase. A disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    Not good print quality for such an necessary book. Shame on greedy publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blender Eevee Rendering Engine: Fundamentals []  2020-2-1 11:28

    This small eBook really clears your mind to go through all the steps required to produce unbelievable renders! Obtain it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    This is a review of the physical quality of the book, not the content. The content is excellent, but sadly the quality of the book is awful. This is a major disappointment as the 3rd edition was very nice. This 4th edition is created of thin cheap paper that could easily be torn with a careless page turn. The picture print quality is very bad, extremely grainy. I have seriously seen better printing from 20 year old inkjets. I've attached some comparison pictures from the 3rd and 4th edition as well as some particularly poor examples from just the 4th so you can decide for yourself. Personally I'm returning my copy and will avoid CRC Press in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    The text is perfectly readable, the pages arent any easier to tear than an ordinary book. This isn't like a cheap bible created of rice paper, if you wish the content the print quality is perfectly acceptable and it wont hold you from learning the material.Edit:All the above I maintain is true. However, about 40 pages or so in, pages started falling with small to no pressure. I don't mind crappy pictures, but pages falling out is a serious impediment, since I like to read books on the subway/when I'm walking or generally out and 's really a shame because so far the book has been very interesting and a amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    I am puzzled as to why this book has received such negative reviews. Most of the disappointment has been directed at the print quality of the text. Some of the photos are slightly lower resolution than what you may search elsewhere and the pages are thin, but the book is nearly 1200 pages and the photo quality is perfectly fine. The text is clear and photos serve their purpose. I have verified that I have received the first printing, so unless there were some major variations in the printing process, all I can say is that the dissatisfaction with the book is at least a small hyperbolic.If you are on the fence about buying this book because of the negative reviews, I would urge you to reconsider. This is the book to buy if you are looking for an all-in-one source to learn about real-time graphics. If you are a android game developer, software engineer, or just looking to learn more about this subject, you need to buy this book. It's the foundational text of the field. This edition in particular is very up-to-date, with large additions over the previous edition including several chapters on real-time ray-tracing, volumetric rendering, and modern GPU architecture.If you were like me and were uncertain about the book because of the print quality, I can say for myself that I have found these claims to be greatly exaggerated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    Horrible print quality and very thin paper, the goldfish cover would be better than this generic star battles 's a shame because this is the best book for realtime rendering. If the ebook has color photos I rather buy it and print it myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    The content of this series is top notch. If you wish to learn anything about realtime graphics and rendering form basics to advanced topics, you can't go without one of these ever, as other reviewers have noted, the 4th addition of Realtime Rendering is a joke in terms of print quality. After reading other reviews, I didn't think it would be that bad, but it literally does not compare to the 3rd edition I have sitting on my shelf. Really, it doesn't compare to ANY OTHER TECHNICAL BOOK I've bought in the latest decade. Photos are grainy and low resolution, color accuracy is poor, the TEXT IS NOT CLEAR (come on!), and the paper is so thin that just lightly turning pages can easily tear it. Compared to the previous edition which I've owned for years, I doubt this book will stand up to just a single read through. And when you place the two side by side and begin up to related pages, its just depressing.I mean, seriously, I have a lot of other books by CRC Press and they're usually top quality. I don't know why this one is so astronomically s unfortunate I have to give this book a 1 star review, I really have relied a lot on this series throughout my career as a professional software developer. But this book is absolutely not worth $89 + tax. If you wish one of these, consider the 3rd edition. If you need the recent info, perhaps test the e ver for half price. I may hold mine since I already have it and I'm reading through it. But at its current price and quality, I cannot recommend anyone else bother with this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Real-Time Rendering, Fourth Edition []  2020-6-25 19:15

    I originally had this book in 3rd edition. I was a small worried when I saw the comments earlier but fortunately the batch I got (this October) doesn't have the print quality mentioned before yet (I also haven't gone through the entire book). Needless to say, this book is essential for anyone who wants to learn computer graphics. I haven't done a comparison between the 3rd and this edition but the chapters I've read all touch on the recent topics. I'm very satisfied with the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physically Based Rendering: From Theory to Implementation []  2020-4-14 18:22

    Beautiful good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rendering Unto Caesar: Was Jesus a Sot? []  2020-1-21 23:7

    Lawrence was one of my favorite teachers in college back in the early 80's. Loved his classes then and was glad to read this short small book that seems to indicate he is a follower of Christ. As a pastor I found this helpful as there are some Christians who think Som is harmless and even biblical. This small book will set them straight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rendering Unto Caesar: Was Jesus a Sot? []  2020-1-21 23:7

    The book shows brilliant insight to rebuke the idea of some sots who attempt to validate their already debunked idealogy by distorting the idea lied in the Fresh Testament.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilgamesh: A New Rendering in English Verse []  2020-8-31 18:32

    Translating poetry is a tricky thing. Some people maintain that it can't be done. I would say that the translator can set himself three possible goals. First, he can test to make a "trot," a plain, "literal" translation where every word of the original is explained. See Nabokov's "Eugene Onegin" for an example of this. Second, he can test "simply" to translate it, to give his reader a amazing idea of what is there on the page, the mood, and so forth. LOTS of translators do ird, and most elusive, most difficult, is to make a work of literary art IN ENGLISH (or whatever the target language is). Hopefully this third goal will automatically contain all the most necessary elements of "mere translation." But, if the translator succeeeds, he will have made an independent work of art which will then take on a life of its own. The most popular example of this would probably be FitzGerald's "Ruba'iyat of Omar Khayyam," probably better described as a fantasy and variations on themes of Omar Khayyam. Alexander Pope's translation of Homer's "Iliad" surely has legs, still in print after all these years.David Ferry has attempted the third goal in his translation of "Gilgamesh," and to my mind he succeeds. The effect is a moving and attractive work of literary art, and I predict a very long life for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilgamesh: A New Rendering in English Verse []  2020-8-31 18:32

    Had to obtain for school but it was very interesting. I have fun history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting & Rendering (Voices That Matter) []  2020-12-3 19:20

    obtain if you can. amazing book. explains rendering and lighting in easy terms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Lighting & Rendering (Voices That Matter) []  2020-12-3 19:20

    This book was a recommended material for my class, I picked it up for the same reason I am taking the lighting and rendering class I am in.(I am not good at lighting and rendering) This book has hands down saved me like 30 times it is my go to resource anytime I am stuck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Lines []  2020-1-11 20:16

    Andy Irvine is a unbelievable and creative musician. All his albums have something fresh to offer, and this album is no exception. His playing on different instruments is superb, and his singing just sounds genuine. A real voice of Ireland. Am not too familiar with @#$% Gaughan, but I liked his work on this album. The two musicians works well together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Lines []  2020-1-11 20:16

    He's Scottish by the way

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Lives []  2020-1-11 20:20

    Another amazing CD by Dave will not be disappointed with this e same amazing melody and vocals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Dreams []  2020-1-18 23:4

    Love this album. The songstress' haunting voice and ethereal melodies seem to transport me to another realm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Dreams []  2020-1-18 23:4

    I want I had found this melody decades ago...so so wonderful!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    bull shirt. it can stop on its method & also notifications are vosible even when u have read the messages. lets take watsapp for example. while on fb it processes 4 a long tym and never works. i would recommend that you should not wast your tym with this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    after adding the application you wish to clone, it doesn't open, an ad runs instead and when the ad finishes this application closes. tried several times same result. do not download waste of time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing feature for parallel i like it i am very satisfied 2nd what's up application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Very stupid application do not download

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    I can't see it where isit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    bht i fazol application whatsup begin ni ho rha

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    I wish to use it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    miss you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Poor application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Excel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Very nice 💕

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Perfect Application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    execellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Journeys []  2020-9-18 18:53

    An perfect method for my 8 year old to gain insight into WWII in Europe. Anne Frank is the standard, but this takes the topic to the next level by enabling empathy and understanding of both sides of this not good time through the eyes of kids she could relate with. This book is truly a bonus for anyone that would like to prepare their kids with an understanding of what human beings are capable of doing to each other and how the not good governments can evolve without being challenged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Journeys []  2020-9-18 18:53

    Anyone who has ever had the poison of hatred and apathy enter their mind towards another person needs to read this book! One day we will all stand before the Almighty and give an acc of how we treated our fellow human beings, especially the one's that He considers "The Apple of His eye"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parallel Journeys []  2020-9-18 18:53

    The only WW2 book I ever read was " diary of anne frank".... which is amazing for the point of view that it was, but this storyline is incredible...reading side by side the lives of a boy and girl caught up in all that.... I really liked getting a possibility to be exposed to the boy's tale of growing up under the Nazi influence, I would normally of never read a book if it was just about him and Nazi youth etc, not my interest...I was more interested in the girls story of life in prison camps, but when they are place together it makes for a page turning read...I just cannot obtain over how she went from prison camps to American junior high school ! She is an awesome person to function normally in society... and the boy...I sympathize with him, that's all he was taught....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    I can't use the application because of adds?! Don't download this application please

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Worst application second to second advertising

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    vest application u don't install this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    it's really amazing I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing apps for 2nd what'sapp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    Thanks veer into

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    not working properly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    nothanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    🔊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Parallel [App]  2019-10-9 21:38

    amazing

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386