Read pro perl debugging reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all pro perl debugging reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl Mortgage [App]  2018-10-10 13:9

    Login button does not work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl Mortgage [App]  2018-10-10 13:9

    Couldn't obtain it to launch....uninstalled

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl Mortgage [App]  2018-10-10 13:9

    Login button doesn't work.

    0  


    Add your opinion on pro perl debugging or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Embedded Microprocessor Systems []  2020-1-31 3:51

    One thing I really like about this book is that the author contains a lot of of his experiences debugging issues in the true world. Only a few textbooks include these interesting and informative vignettes, but I think they are incredibly helpful in driving a point home. (They also create a textbook a lot more interesting!)He emphasizes a few gems that we're are guilty of at one time or another...."don't ignore symptoms!" Sometimes those symptoms seem to have NOTHING to do with the issue at hand! He contains several sources of error with examples that are often overlooked - things as obvious as boundary conditions and timing errors. While it is simple for an instructor or colleague to say, "did you check the boundary conditions?," really understanding all the permutations of functional testing is often me of the specific info is a small dated, but that doesn't invalidate the usefulness of a lot of debugging techniques that transcend advances in the technology sa Simone, If I Only Changed the Software, Why is the Phone on Fire?: Embedded Debugging Methods Revealed: Technical Mysteries for Engineers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Embedded Microprocessor Systems []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Having being inolved in debugging embedded systems from a hardware and perspective for a number of years, I found it amusing that someone else out there shared my Ball has a amazing logical approach to fault finding and these techniques can be learnt saving years of 'doing it the hard way'.As for Mr. Ball's attitude towards marketing\management, well I found it amusing and unless you are very lucky, always show to some extent in the workplace.I would strongly recommend buying this book as hardware and are so closely similar in an embedded system that coverage of both disciplines in extremely valuable.Learning about the stunts that Management can pull is generally not covered outside of a Dilbert strip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    This is a very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    very amazing tips. it is always amazing to have insider info from Microsoft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    The author of this book is obviously an experienced programmer who is very familiar with both the sorts of issues that people are likely to encounter that they will need to debug and also an in depth knowledge of how Windows works. This combination makes the book more than just a reference to how the debugger works, it makes it a practical tutorial to how to debug true globe e book is a practical tutorial that allows you to test things out for yourself and the book then explains what it all means. It uses clear examples of the types of situations likely to arise in the true globe and shows you how to best utilise the debugger to resolve those types of e book concludes with a section on testing your programs performance and a quickstart tutorial to debugging in the appendix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Prompt delivery and amazing content. Recommend if you are involved with troubleshooting Windows operating systems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Inside Windows Debugging is the recent book on in-depth debugging and tracing tactics written by an author with an inside look into core techniques of Windows; some of which he worked on directly.With all the recent programming languages and integrated development environments aimed at making writing applications more accessible, creating applications has never been easier than today. Unfortunately, creating an app is only one part of the equation, getting it to work correctly is the other - usually much harder - part. This book focuses on exactly that harder part; identifying, tracing and resolving bugs in your app as well as preventing them in the first y still think of debugging as an activity after a app has been finished and users begin to experience problems that require investigation. This, however, is far from the truth these days since a lot of development idioms such as test-driven development (TDD) actually promote debugging during development e book is divided into three parts, the first providing a bit of background about the evolution and architecture of Windows, the Windows Developer Interface as well as the Microsoft Developer Tools. The second part introduces the basics of debugging, how the Windows debuggers actually work and debugging your app after a crash (postmortem) before moving to more advanced techniques such as scripting the debugger, debugging the WOW64 environment, code analysis tools, debugging system internals as well as looking at common debugging scenarios. The third part introduces tactics to trace and analyze app behavior using various mechanism and tools such as the Happening Tracing for Windows (ETW) and the accompanying Windows Performance Analysis Tool (Xperf). Finally, two appendices provide a fast begin on how to use the WinDbg debugger to accomplish both user-mode and kernel-mode debugging is book is not aimed at the novice developer by any means since a general understanding of C++ and/or C# as well as the Win32 platform and/or the .NET framework is required. The author does provide an perfect job by introducing primary concepts prior to moving to more advanced subjects so that nobody really should obtain lost while moving from chapter to chapter. By not just preaching the theories but also presenting real-world debugging scenarios, the author also manages to provide developers with methods and tools they immediately can use in their everyday routine.I have always been a fan of most books coming from Microsoft Press and this one is no exception: a wealth of info using an inside look into the underlying mechanics and paired with an engaging writing style makes for another book every serious developer should have on his/her shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    Had to learn Perl for a project at work. Picked this up along with Programming Perl. It's simple to follow, covers all the basics well, and has a modest sense of humor. For the purpose of getting fast exposure from authors in the know, this seems the better option than The Camel, but I imagine this is not comprehensive if you're trying to become a dedicated Perl programmer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    I re-bought this book a few times. I learned PERL back in the horse & buggy days. I have taught 3 of my kids PERL utilizing this book to obtain them started. Very helpful, to the point, amazing examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    It has a lot of amazing examples. You should already be comfortable with Perl syntax or you won't understand them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    It's a guide. David takes you through the various "data munging" tasks ( record oriented data ? binary data ? fixed-width data ? XML ? ) and shows you his proper ways of dealing with them ( or, at least, thinking about them ). It's not an encyclopedia of "data munging", the book is 300 pages and a lot of of them ( too many, may be ) are detailed descriptions of useful CPAN modules ( which I wasn't reading as careful as the rest of the book, since POD was always enough ), so it covers only a usual data processing tasks letting you to go deeper by yourself for more advanced topics. After you'll [email protected]#$%! much less "data sources" will scare you - the solutions and references are I said, it may be amazing for data-processing beginners, but Perl experts will hardly search lot's of fresh info in it.P.S. I trust him and therefore follow his tips in every script I begin to think of ( especially the one about "UNIX filter model" ).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    As a DBA, I bought this book to enhance my data manipulation skills with Perl but I found so much more in this compact book. David Cross provides a lot of perfect code examples and explanations for common, non-database data manipulation tasks. For example: working on delimited and fixed-width text files and managing complex data structures in perl with array and hash refs. David has perfect communications skills as his examples and explanations taught me much about Perl that I did not previously understand completely. I also found the Chapter 4 on regular expressions to be one of the best and most concise. The only downside of this book is that I [email protected]#$%! had more pages to read! Regardless, it's a must-have perl book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    The author presents Perl in a thorough, well organized fashion,always reinforcing the use of the primary tools ...scalars,arrays,hashes, regular expressions,loops and subroutines,parsing data banks,relational databases,perl modules,program design and so on.He presents clearly ,giving a lot of examples of true life biological problems. It assumes small if any programming background, although a knowledge of C and Unix would be very helpful. This is definitely a must for anyone learning Perl for molecular biology. 5 stars ++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    Dave Cross's fresh book, published by Manning, which means it has a figure from an old tutorial to native dress of the peoples of the globe on the cover instead of some kind of animal, tells everything you need to know about using Perl for what it is most suited for: manipulating ting with the source/filter/sink theory of data manipulation and demonstrating every hint and technique with clear and efficient examples, without severe digressions into mythological whimsy, this book would create an perfect second text on the Perl language, or a suitable first for someone who is amazing with programming y of the techniques contained in it are of "trade secret" quality; they are the sort of write-the-number-of-gallons-of-paint-it-took-to-paint- the-room-on-the-back-of-the-light-switch-cover practices that until now had to be learned or happened upon by every programmer, alone, or by example, rather than in the context of a coherent e theoretical side, in which "munging" is defined and most activity is described in terms of it, is clear enough that the book might be an interesting read for management, to respond the question "Just what is it about Perl that makes those who use it regularly so confoundedly fanatical?"If you've ever been mystified by a Perl wizard who found it easier to export the records from the fancy GUI database into a comma delimited text file and then sort and display the data with mysterious small programs rather than use the GUI's native report generator, and wish to search out why, or if you would like to become such a person yourself, or if you already are such a person but would like to obtain better at it, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    Used for learning fresh job. Given away after no longer needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    If you haven't programmed in perl before, this book is excellent for learning. It also teaches very low level bioinformatics skills that'd probably support an undergraduate obtain their next internship. I was clueless to perl, and programming for that matter, when I got this book a long time ago. I painfully flipped each page from front to back, because it 'is' a technical book, and absorbed everything as much as possible. This book set me off in a direction that I never imagined. Although we're on the brink of ver six of the language, this book will do you right in any aspect of computer programming. For a 'beginner' looking to obtain into any language, this book is for you. It's painful, but test and take the time to really learn the info the book presents. It not only teaches you perl, but gives you a peek into the numerous databases and resources that exist as well as a terrific job of teaching you how to use regular expressions. In the end, you'll have the foundation to become whatever kind of perl programmer you desire. If you're looking into bioinformatics, or a bioinformatician looking to learn, I recommend this book as well as 'Programming Perl', 'Mastering Perl for Bioinformatics', and 'BLAST'. 'BLAST' is fairly simple to breeze through and does a amazing job of explaining everything you would need to know. 'Mastering Perl...' picks up where this book left off, and 'Programming Perl' is one of the best buys I ever made, in regards to perl. I know these are all O REILLY books, but they're probably the best source for perl books out there. I'm not pitching their books either. Lastly, if you have the time I recommend you crunch on through 'CGI Programming with Perl'. Although the book is a bit out of date, it's definitely another 'piece' of the puzzle for someone to become a LAMP programmer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    I liked this book because I had very small background in programming (aside from a semester of C++ a long time ago) and it wasn't too overwhelming. The excercies were amazing and the programming was explained fairly well.I did a lot of bio-informatic work (lineplots, blasts, etc). The book was amazing for teaching programming that would be useful for these applications, and not a lot of other miscellaneous programming, that i would never really need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Since most of the core/kernel elements of Windows haven't changed since NT in the late 80's, most of the "new" items is in the form of API's. Soulami assumes a primary working knowledge of C/C++ or C#, but doesn't begin at such a high level that you obtain lost in either the debugger or the tracer. This book is REALLY up to date on windows, and will catch you up even if you are still working on an NT apters include: 1. How to develop for Windows 2. Getting started (debugging for fun and profit section) 3. How debuggers work (pretty primary but very complete, covers both User and Kernel modes) 4. Postmortem Debugging (JIT vs. dump techniques. Goes much deeper than the day to day systems engineer will usually go) 5. Beyond the Basics (the true meat of the book-- awesome-- data vs. code breakpoints, scripts, etc.) 6. Code analysis tools (fair to C/++ and sharp, with a lot of actual/not just pseudo/ code examples that are well thought out and RUN); 7. Expert Debugging Tricks (we finally obtain to the fun and profit piece-- a lot of techniques that are effective but unusual, and probably wouldn't be attempted by the usual coder without this book's support on avoiding potholes); 8 and 9 are a whole collection of very cool "scenarios" covering all the NIGHTMARES made by threads and multiprocessors such as race conditions, deadlocks, stack/heap and access problems, etc. These two chapters are worth the of the whole book; 10 gets into the console subsystem and concludes this ction two (about 120 pages) switches themes with three chapters about Xperf. In short, if you test to run traces as you develop your using just ETW (event tracing for Windows), you'll soon obtain overwhelmed and give it up. This means you're losing one of the best "secret sauces" of the Windows 7 SDK (a method to integrate what's already been perfected, instead of reinventing every wheel, with proven code connected with an already debugged ETW web). The method to tap into that secret sauce IS e two perfect appendices give user and kernel debug fast begin examples that create this book as much as a reference and guide as a step by step learning yond debugging, there is a LOT of info on how to develop superior USING the debugger, not for debugging, but for analysis, code vs. operating system, security, and development cycle problems like static vs. runtime analysis. Any amazing or prospective windows developer will benefit from this wealth of info. This is over 500 pages PACKED with wisdom and experience, well worth the as a career enhancer or builder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Amazing reference for windbg or amazing for people getting started in Reverse engineering. I would for sure suggest this for people fresh to this subject and veteran Reverse engineers for a reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    There is nothing in this book that is surprising it covers the usual things, stack tracing, heap corruption etc.,.The obvious things are covered, but I hoped for more detail 'inside' debugging for windowsIt could also do with a better explanation for how a process is place together, the info is all there, but scattered around the place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    I have already programmed Perl for years, but decided to spend a few days' time re-reading the recent (5th) edition. I had previously learned Perl by reading the 1st or 2nd edition. This time around, I learned a few things that I neglected before. That is the amazing part.I have fun the humor of the authors (in the same vein as Larry's Programming Perl). Humor makes the learning more pleasant. However, the incessant reference of the Flintstone is unbearable for a non-fan.I want that the book were less wordy so that it can cover more in 300 pages, and that it would cover such fundamental concept as Unicode (good help since 5.8, while this book covers 5.10) in this day and age of globalized software/Internet environment.I also want the book would give Win32 a bit more weight and be less opinion of the book may not reflect that of a total beginner, but if I place myself in the shoe of someone fresh to Perl but with a small bit of programming experience, I'd rate the Llama book to be a rather amazing one. At least, the writing and the English is good, which cannot be said of most technical programming books of today. Overall, I would definitely recommend it to anybody fresh to Perl (but not to programming) as the first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    This is an perfect book for someone wanting to learn Perl who already has some exposure to programming in general. I really like the answers in the back for times I'm stuck on a problem. I have a beginners book for C programming that does not have the answers. When I'm stuck in this book, I'm out of luck. I have both the Kindle and paperback versions of Perl book. I will usually read the material on the Kindle and when it comes to doing the problems, reach for the paperback because it is easier to flip back through the pages looking for information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    For folks who are fresh to PERL this is a amazing book to learn the language. The presentation is simple to understand and illustrations support us grasp the concepts faster. There are exercises at the end of each chapter which helps in getting to do hands-on programming. I would have liked more exercises in some of the chapters. It would have been better if there were questions / challenges spread along the chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    This is by far one of the best technical books I've read on any programming language. The writing gets you interested in the subject and there is a amazing of explanation if you wish it, but it's also simple to avoid when you don't. The book is organized well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    David Cross shows us how to use Perl for "munging" data--"...storing info in databases, extracting it from files, reorganizing rows and columns, converting to and from bizarre formats, summarizing documents, tracking data in true time, creating statistics, doing back-up and recovery, merging and splitting data streams, logging and checkpointing computations." His book is full of techniques for transforming data from dumps into e book is written for programmers or analysts who transform data as a regular part of their jobs. It assumes a beginning knowledge of Perl programming, as one might gain from reading Learning Perl. Part I introduces data munging as a recurring important evil and points out aspects of Perl that recommend it for this task. Part II surveys various types of unstructured and semi-structured data formats and suggests Perl-based tactics for working with them. PART III examines the limitations of easy data formats and discusses parsing tactics and specific techniques for working with HTML, XML and other hierarchical data structures. PART IV extracts some useful lessons from the previous chapters and suggests sources for extra study. The organization is logical and simple to oss has written a well-designed book with helpful examples and insights. The accompanying book web website and author web website provide downloadable code and other resources. This book is of course most useful to those working in Perl. But a lot of general concepts and tactics have transferred well to data munging tasks I have done in of Perl's mottos is: "There's more than one method to do it." A dozens of ways are illustrated and explained in this book. Note that it is over ten years old and does not contain the recent evolutions of the Perl language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    I was perusing the shelves at my local bookstore, when this title jumped out and grabbed me. Not only is it a special and interesting title (Something uncommon for computer books), but it is also the most succinct description of my job, and of Perl for that matter, that I have ever seen.I am an avid reader, and in the interest of furthering my career most of my reading is work related. Normally, it takes me more than a month to read a book, though I am in the process of reading a half dozen or so at a time. I finished this book in less than a week. I couldn't place it e thing that is so amazing about this book, is that it delves into the heart of what Perl does best (And was designed to do). Nine out of ten (more like ninety-nine out of one-hundred) jobs in Perl involve taking some sort of raw data, munging it, and spitting it out to some other process. This book is about doing that, a lot of of the various forms that that can take, and some of the a lot of techniques that perl (and a pragmatic approach) create available to do that.While I hesitate to say that this is the best Perl book I've ever read (It's got some amazing competition), I can say that there is no app of Perl that I am aware of where this book and the principles it explores would not be of value. In my opinion this book belongs on every serious Perl programmer's bookshelf right next to the "Camel" and the "Cookbook".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    I have a MS degree in Bioinformatics and I bought this book to support me learn Perl for my job. During my training at the University, I wasn't taught Perl, because most programs assumed Perl would have become obsolete. The truth is that a lot of jobs still list Perl as a desired skill. This book was a small too simple for me, because of my background, but I think it is a amazing begin for the newbie in Bioinformatics who wants to learn to program. It is definitely a very practical tool for learning how to develop practical Bioinformatics solutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    i have study and apply info and Bioinformatic perls is very informative straight to the point well place together must obtain for basic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    A Programmers toolset is important, and what's more necessary is knowning how to use the toolset. Windows Debugging, and debugging in general was not something that I every learned in school. The windows Debugger is strong but some complain there is a learning curve to it. The author takes you through very practical true globe problems, with accompanying examples to teach the reader how to not only use Windows debugging tools mainly windbg, but also to teach the reader how to debug.Overall perfect book, well worth adding to the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 16:56

    Unfortunately, on x64 Windows versions a lot of exercises doesn't behave as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    This book, written by Perlmonk ([...]) David Cross, is an excellent, simple to read, and simple to follow tutorial into what Perl does best: Data Munging. For those who don't know, Munging Data means taking data from one format and putting it into another. Perl excels at this, and the author shows you the how and the e author gives you enough information, and background to begin working with the more advanced Perl functions like map, grep, pack, unpack, etc. It is possible to write Perl without ever having to use these modules, but David Cross shows you how they are more effective, more powerful. This book will expand your Perl vocabulary by leaps and bounds.I know that some people would say that the book is too thin, and it is thinner than a lot of computer books today, but the thickness of a book does not determine it's merit. Effective Perl Programming by Joseph Hall and Randal Schwartz is often cited as one of the best Perl books ever and it's thinner than this one.If you are a junior to intermediate level programmer, and you wish to improve your Perl skills, pick up this book. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    This book isn't about arcane corners of Perl theory. It's about how to write Perl programs that perform the "simple" task of converting data from one format to ed to obtain every headline from an RSS feed? Or report the three users with the most processes running, as listed by `ps`? Or extract the first paragraph from each of a thousand HTML files? Or create a .tsv file based on all the "From:" and "Subject:" lines in your mailbox file? If those sorts of tasks sound familiar to you, then this is the book you've been looking for. It has working code for doing these sorts of things, involving lots of various common kinds of tech book standards, this book is short (300 pages), but it's clear and direct and to the point -- no bloat here. Every page tells you something you need to know, with useful examples for every idea that it explains.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    This is a very amazing book for beginners; it tutorials the reader from the most basics steps in Perl to a medium 's funny and simple of understand. If you would like to archive a high level in Perl is necesarity to have other adtional books like Perl in a nutshell or related one; but this is excellent to begin learning this programing language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    Very amazing book starting with the basics and moving up to more advanced topics. I don't use Perl that much any more, but at the time I got this book, I required to learn it quickly, and this helped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    I bought this book knowing nothing about Perl. I'm not sorry I bought it, but it didn't obtain me very s:- clear descriptions of how to do a lot of of the very primary things you need to do- explains regexes beautiful well to the uninitiated (I do still look up how to do some regex things in it)Cons:- not very deep, you'll exhaust it quicklyAt this point I rarely look back at this book even as a reference. It was a stepping stone that I've now left behind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    i search this book is an perfect intoudction for one of the most intersting topic..The book is so simple to read if you know the elementary of molecular biology and begining introudction about perl. I do recommed this book to begin with if you interested about programming for bioinformatics. You will be able to build easy bioinformatics programmes after reading this book as well as you will be able to understand easily how the commerically avaliable bioinformatics programs are working.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    The quintessential Perl activity is data processing, particularly in a Unix environment, where output is piped into a script from some other program, transformed, and spat out again. A lot of people's first encounter with Perl will probably be in this task. David Cross's book shows how to do this with the minimum of fuss and the maximum of flexibility. It's not a Perl guide however, so you will need some primary knowledge of Perl, having read The Llama is enough. There is an appendix of 'essential Perl' to refresh your memory if you're a bit e book begins by revising some of those primary Perl practices that come in handy for scripting, e.g. command line options, regular expressions and sorting. The second part of the book with parsing fairly easy data: traditional fixed-width record data (e.g. the column-based items that you often search as the output of old Fortran and C programs), unstructured data (e.g. doing word counts on text files), and formats such as CSV, PNG and MP3. This is the strongest section of the book, and includes lots of useful hands-on e third part of the book with more modern forms of data files, in the shape of XML. Parsing HTML also gets a chapter to itself, after the author usefully demonstrates the limitations of any easy solution (e.g. using regexes), which provides beautiful powerful evidence in favour of the standard 'don't test it yourself, use a CPAN module' argument. The XML chapter itself covers the XML::Parser module in reasonable detail. However, there are now a lot of more XML parsers in Perl out there, and XML::Parser is probably no longer the best solution (Grant McClean's Perl XML FAQ on the net has a amazing overview of the options). Excluding the seemingly obligatory 'here's a bunch of books and www services to learn more' chapter, the latest proper chapter is on parsing, and the Rec::Descent module, and it's a very amazing gentle introduction.If you're not working in a command line environment, there's not a whole lot here you're going to need. Equally, if you've been doing this sort of thing for a while, there's not much here that will be fresh to you, not all the topics are explored in any amazing depth. And some of it (particularly the XML chapter) is a bit outdated and superficial, so I would knock off a star from my rating if you're more interested in the XML/HTML chapters.But for the simpler tasks, e.g. parsing column based data, this is recommended. You're shown all the handy tricks you need such as piping, taking input from standard in as well as files, slurping paragraphs etc. My 4-star rating applies if this sounds like what you need: it's a clear, short and to-the-point book, which is definitely taking with you on your first journey into data munging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Munging with Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    After reading this book I rewrote a beautiful heavy postscript pasrsing and munging system that I was having a lot of problem with and felt like I did it the _right_ way. If you follow the author through his examples and actually read the book (which I was able to read almost straight through) I think that you will search yourself with a more long-view approach. And I think that makes this book valuable. And admit it, every time you read throgh a regex chapter you obtain a small more in the old noggin...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Perl, 5th Edition []  2020-2-1 12:33

    This book is very helpful for leaning Perl with some programming background. The explanation is clear, come with exercises at the end of each chapter, and have answers at the end of the book. Examples in the book are quite accurate, has very small error. I spent about two weeks studied it, and feel I have learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    Finally someone has written a beginning book on PERL for biologists, and has also done an perfect job of doing so. This book assumes no prior programming experience, and therefore suits the biologist who needs to concentrate on using computers to solve biological problems, and not have to become a computer scientist in the process. PERL can be a very cryptic language, but it is also extremely concise, and PERL programmers frequently and rightfully boast about their "one-liners" that accomplish complicated tasks with only one line of nce it is addressed to readers with no programming experience, the author introduces some elementary concepts of programming in the first three chapters. These contain what text editor to use, how to install PERL, how run PERL programs, and other relevant elementary e author then gets down to writing a program to shop a DNA sequence in chapter 4. Very basic, it merely reads in a string and prints it out, but serves to begin readers on their method to developing more useful programs. Later a program for the transcription of DNA to RNA is given, which illustrates nicely the binding, substitution and trace operators. Block diagrams are used here, and throughout the book, to illustrate primary PERL operators. The author shows in detail how to read protein sequence data from a file and how to use it in a PERL program. The reader is also introduced to the most ubiquitous data structure in all of computing: the array. Already the reader gets a taste of the power of PERL to manipulate arrays, using operations such as 'unshift', 'push', 'splice', e next chapter introduces conditional statements in PERL, as a warm-up for the discussion on finding motifs in sequences. The reader can see why PERL is the language of choice in bioinformatics, with its ability to search substrings or patterns in strings. Things do become more cryptic in the discussion of regular expressions, but the reader can obtain through it with some effort. Interesting programs are given for determining the frequency of nce the programs have become more complicated to this point, a discussion of subroutines follows in the next chapter. And, for the same reason, the reader is introduced to debugging in PERL in this chapter also. The greater the complexity of the program, the harder it becomes to avoid making mistakes, and even more difficult to search them. The very necessary concepts of pass by value vs pass be reference are discussed briefly in this chapter.Random number generators, so necessary in any consideration of mutations, are discussed in chapter 7. It is shown, via some straightforward programs, how to select a random zone in DNA and mutate it with some other nucleotide. In addition, the author shows how to use random numbers to generate DNA sequences and mutate them in to study the result of mutations over e next chapter is the most interesting in the book, for it shows how PERL can be used to simulate how the genetic code directs the translation of DNA into protein, the hash data structure being used extensively for this purpose. The author shows how to read DNA from files in FASTA format, and discusses in detail reading frames. He gives a useful subroutine to translate reading e author returns to regular expressions in chapter 9, wherein they are used as 'wildcards' to find for a particular string in a collection of strings. In addition, the range operator is used to search restriction sites. Regular expressions are also used in the next chapter to manipulate GenBank 'flat files'. The author does however give URLs for more sophisticated bioinformatics software. This is followed in chapter 11 by a discussion of the use of PERL to work with files in the Protein Data Bank. Recursion, one of the most strong techniques in programming, is introduced apter 12 covers the Primary Local Alignment Find Tool (BLAST), wherein readers obtain a taste of the field of computational biology. This extremely famous pack is used to search similarity between a given sequence and a library of known sequences. The author does discuss some of the primary rudiments of string matching and homology, and encourages the reader to consult the BLAST documentation for further details. In addition, the author briefly discusses the Bioperl project in this chapter, and shows the reader how to run some elementary computations using is book definitely is a timely one and it will serve the needs of biologists who need to get some programming expertise in PERL. There are helpful exercises at the end of each chapter that serve to solidify the understanding of the concepts introduced in the chapter. After a thorough study of it, readers will be well-equipped to use PERL in bioinformatics. With more mathematical background, readers after finishing it will be able to enter the exciting field of computational biology, a field that is exploding, and one in which will require imaginative programming skill in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    This is a unbelievable book for the beginners. This was actually a textbook for our first bioinformatics class. This book helped me lot and was able to learn programming. It was simple to begin and follow. Examples in the book are simple to understand and text explanation obviously helped to understand the concept. Recommended for those who are beginners in perl and bioinformatics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beginning Perl for Bioinformatics []  2020-5-19 18:28

    I bought this book to make a working knowledge of programming, especially in the light of bioinformatics (I'm a biology grad student). I have no prior programming experience but this book is extremely simple to follow and I feel as if I am actually learning how to use each of the commands in a method to make my own programs. I have yet to completely obtain through the book, but from what I have been through I highly recommend this book to any who are interested in gaining an understanding of this science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    I do agree that this book is a must for anyone developing with the perl DBI. This book has shown me that it is an incredibly flexible module and created me think twice about recommending PHP when dealing with db functions. It covers everything from setting up the module to ODBC and SQL manipulation. There are also a lot of things that are not mentioned in the documentation in here. I was frustrated with the lack of examples when it came to database manipulation though. It was not the purpose of this book to cover these locations in depth but to only spend a paragraph on things like the SQL JOIN functions is kind of dissapointing...anybody hear a book idea there?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    I'm biassed; I'm the basic author of the DBD::Informix module. And I bought my copy of the e Cheetah Book has a lot of useful info in it. Obviously, it describes the core DBI functionality very clearly, but it also includes a lot of info that was not previously available in a form comparable to what is in the book. For example, the extensive Appendix B, which lists a lot of info about each of the different drivers, is very useful and informative indeed. The info is not yet available elsewhere in this format, and you'd have to all the drivers to be able to obtain all the info in one place. The tutorial to using the DBI Proxy Server is invaluable. The non-DBI database info in Chapter 2 is interesting; it shows how diverse the Perl modules are. And the comparison with Win32::ODBC is ere is info in the main text which has not been documented before, such as the "use DBI qw(:sql_types);" -- that isn't in Appendix A (the DBI Specification), either, but that oversight will no doubt be fixed so that it is in 'perldoc DBI' by the time DBI 1.14 is available on is book does not attempt to teach you the rudiments of Perl, and nor should it. It does not teach everything about SQL, and nor should it. It doesn't teach you about every possible use of DBI, and it shouldn't test to do that either. It is a pity that the use of DBI with the Apache web server and mod_perl is not covered at all, but even that would be difficult to do sensibly. Half the effort would be in explaining how to handle HTML and CGI and not in using DBI per se. Nevertheless, should there be a second edition, this is something that should be covered in outline, even if not in complete detail.If you have any intention of working with DBI, either as a regular user or as a driver writer, you need this book. It is clear and pleasant to read. Having the DBI specification printed in book format is worth the of the book alone; the rest of the material is also very valuable.Go, Buy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    It isn't perfect book and is an old text, but there aren't a lot of texts about this topic and this book fill these space.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    The database-oriented view of programming has become increasingly popular, and it is of amazing importance for all serious programmers to understand how to use their favorite language to manipulate the database systems. With the dozens of database systems out there, it can be a true challenge to learn what there is to know. For the Perl programmer, however, there is this book on the matter, and it will probably be all you'll need to obtain started working with database programming in no time. Other reviewers have stated that this is a regurgitation of the docs. This is partially true. But the docs are very bland, and this book presents the info in a much more informative, and simple to read manner. With it, you can start programming the DBI within a week (a day if you already know SQL and skip the chapter on the Berkley DB system). Recommended for anyone interested in learning how to use Databases with Perl. If you already know the DBI, the book wont be of much help, maybe as a reference, but I'd only pick it up if you don't know it, or are still inexperienced at it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    This book explained a number of debugging techniques, but most importantly it explained when and why to use each e instructions were sufficient for me to obtain started, without too much detail to slog through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I like this book so much that I've given copies of it to my close friends. The Developer's Tutorial to Debugging is a unbelievable small book. This book focuses on the general subject of debugging C and C++ code; however, much of what is said can be useful for other programming languages (e.g. ObjectiveC or C#). Although others have written books on debugging, this book really got to the heart of the matter for me. The focus of the book is development, but since modern digital design is really design also, I feel this book should prove equally useful to those doing hardware design also. Of course my specialty, Electronic System-Level design using SystemC, fits of the things I like is that the book is not overly long, and each section has a nice summary of key concepts at the end. I also like that it covers subjects for debugging code without debug info and provides tactics for trying to finding hard to repeat bugs. They also point out how debug tools can affect the bug, which brings up the "Heisen bug".Chapter 2, A Systematic Approach to Debugging is the most necessary chapter of the book. If you don't read anything else, read this chapter...twice. Viewing debug as a process is very important, and I think any engineer, whether hardware or software, will benefit from this insight. We apply rigorous processes to most everything we do in engineering until we obtain to this. I cannot recall the number of times I've seen engineers pull up a waveform or dive into GDB before they've really considered where the problems are. What usually follows are hours of wasted forays until they stumble on the problem. Follow the systematic approach shown in this book and you will obtain to the root of the issue much quicker. This chapter covers both tactic and provides a classification system for bsequent chapters provide insights into specific locations and provide valuable hints and approaches to recognizing and solving issues in this area. After reading Chapter 2, you don't have to read the book sequentially, but can go directly to any area. I recommend reading chapter 11, which will support you to write code that is easier to debug. The table of contents is a amazing method to look at this book. In the following, I have added my own comments following a hypen (-) after the chapter titles. 1. You Write Software You Have Bugs - even Hello Globe has bugs 2. A Systematic Approach to Debugging - Golden Rules and a must read for all engineers 3. Getting to the Root - Source Code Debuggers 4. Fixing Memory Issues - finding memory leaks and poor pointer issues 5. Profiling Memory Use 6. Solving Performance Issues 7. Debugging Parallel Programs - a subject not often dealt with in other books 8. Finding Environment and Compiler Issues 9. Dealing with Linking Issues 10. Advanced Debugging 11. Writing Debuggable Code - this is invaluable and should be needed reading 12. How Static Checking Can Support - finding bugs before you execute a line of code! 13. SummaryA. Debugger Commands - a short list of key GDB and Visual Studio commandsB. Access to tools - an perfect list of tools you might not be familiar withBecause debugging is an ageless subject and because this book looks beyond specific tools, I feel this book will continue to be useful for a lot of years to summary, I highly recommend this book for developers, verification engineers and system-level designers using SystemC (or any standard programming language). RTL designers might not benefit quite as much, but chapter 2 is worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    It's strange that the author says he wants to teach non-programmers both programming skills and Perl knowledge, yet he introduces regular expressions, which are some of the most complicated programming concepts even to advanced people, very early in the book. There is very small in the book to motivate someone who's never programmed before, as she will surely be intimated from the very beginning by code examples, pseudo-code listings, and uses of (absent explanations of) concepts completely alien to her.On the other hand, if the reader already knows something about programming (e.g., what regular expressions are!), and just wants an simple method to obtain started on Perl, she could benefit from the example-led style of Johnson. The point to hold in mind is, this is not a book for learning programming, but a book for learning Perl. As a Perl intro book, it is more relaxed than, say, "Sam's teach yourself Perl in 24 hours" and less boring than, say, "Learning Perl." I just want the code examples were explained more clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    I am happy to recommend this book. As another reviewer wrote, I have also read Learning Perl and looked through Programming Perl, but while I was able to learn a fair amount from them, I kept feeling a bit lost when it came to things like how exactly do I use regexes and the types of data structures etc. I took a programming course in Pascal and Fortran too long ago (21 years), I think. At any rate, this book helped me feel a lot more confident with Perl - how to use CPAN, the abundant Perl documentation etc. I don't think that it would be the best book for a first-time programmer without an instructor, but if you have the stamina and perserverance to learn on your own, then this book is a must. Further, the book reads well. In addition, all errata in the first edition can be found at the publishers website, and are generally minor corrections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl Resource Kit Win32 Edition []  2020-1-31 3:49

    the Perls CD is cool if you wish to go into bioinformatic the service was nice well conditions received cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    This book does a amazing job of teaching "how to program" to a person with small or no experience in programming. I think it is one of the better books for green programmers. I also like the thorough explanations that teach the concepts of programming "step by step" rather than rattling off lots of code with weak explanations. This book also does a amazing job in not assuming you speak "computerese" by explaining a lot of terms commonly used like "scalar", "lists", "interpolation", etc. This book was a amazing stepping stone for me to be able to obtain into the meatier O'Reilly 's a couple of extracts: "Programming is about solving problems...Computers are mindless devices capable only of doing what they are told...When a way for solving a issue is reduced to a series of simple, repeatable instructions, we call that set of instructions an algorithm.""...scalar variable, meaning it can only keep a single value.""If you think of a variable as a storage bin with a name and an address, then you can think of a reference as a forwarding address. When you shop a reference to another variable in a scalar variable, you are not storing that variable's value, but the address where its value is stored."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    I tried "Learning Perl" by Randal Schwarz and got bored after about 5 chapters ; too a lot of cutesy references to 60's cartoons and not enough relevant info. So I turned to this book and finally started learning Perl. The author doesn't assume you have any programming experience at all ; hence the title. A person who has never programmed before could probably obtain through this book( but not without some effort) but they will be well rewarded.What is really perfect is that the author has a home page where you can post questions, concerns, whatever and he will answer within 24 hours (almost always) with clear, concise answers. For others who come from other languages and need to learn Perl quickly, this is an perfect guide and they will be up to speed in no time. I had to learn Perl quickly for a project I was on at work - within 2 weeks after starting this book I was well on the method to writing scripts using regular expressions. This book should be thought of as an initial stepping stone on the path to Perl knowledge , so its not as encyclopedic as say the popular Camel book(Programming Perl). After going through this book, doing the exercises, reading and posting on the authors website, you will be very well prepared for more advanced subjects in Perl. After this book, I picked up "Object Oriented Perl" by Damian Conway (from same publishing company) and I had no issue at all thanks to the fine intro this book provided me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    Allow me explain ...I have no programming background other than the fact that I've picked up and tried reading several books on the topic of programming in Perl. (I do know HTML and I am a www service developer. I just thought I would tell you this so you would realize where I might be coming from.)I have purchased most of the books on the shop that relate to getting started as a fresh programmer using Perl. Everything from 'Learn Perl in 24 Hours' .. to the Camel books (which are amazing for refenece purposes), etc. And if you've tried them, and felt frustrated, allow me explain what created this book various for rst of all, this book is not written 'perfectly' clear. But then ... I haven't found one that is. But, what makes this book unique is the and accessibility of the AUTHOR to each of the readers who the book. The author, Andrew Johnson, is everything you could wish in a teacher and coach.With that being said, ... learning to program is not easy. (So, expect to work hard, read a lot, and practice writing code.) And, if you had your preference, you'd probably rather be in a classroom where you could ask questions of your teacher everytime you didn't understand something that was going AT IS WHAT MAKES THIS BOOK (or should I say TUTORIAL SYSTEM for learning Perl) THE BEST!Andrew Johnson acts like your teacher and private coach. He does an perfect job of laying out the info in the book ... as if you were in a classroom. Then, as you read through each chapter ... you will (and allow me repeat ... YOU WILL) have questions.I must say, I go to his online forum often, where I can ask anything I wish (relating to the book) that I have a question on. And the answers I obtain back from him are not fast 'tidbits'. His answers are extremely helpful and written in plain english. JUST LIKE A GOOD TEACHER SHOULD BE!I can't recommend the book ... AND HIS ASSISTANCE enough! It is absolutely the 'BEST' manner in which to learn PROGRAMMING WITH PERL - from the ground level up!For about $35 ... you obtain the book and a TEACHER/COACH to ask questions of. What more could you want?I am already on chapter 5 and getting more out of this book than all the others I read d luck,Gary M. Gordon Certified Web Developer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    I agree with the statement that this book is a amazing intermediate step between the Llama (Learning Perl) and the Camel (Programming Perl). It is written in a very various style than the O'Reilly, and I am sure I will search myself using both. The O'Reilly is amazing for fast reference on syntax but Johnson goes into more depth, in a more narrative style, on how to *use* Perl in true development situations. It is a amazing book to read cover to cover - it is less than 350 pages - because it teaches Perl through building a story from beginning to ... well, it's begin ended. For smart beginners, it doesn't just teach programming in Perl but also concepts of planning a program and using best practices, including documentation. For programmers experienced with other languages (which is where I fit), it teaches Perl by weaving it into a "story" that we already know well, so it's simple to follow along with the flow and - surprise! - by the end, you know e only criticism I would have is that, because of the narrative style, the book does not facilitate simple reference, and the index is poor, so if you need to search a nice piece of code you remember reading, you might have to dig a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    There are an enormous amount of self-taught programmers that program with perl, especially in the locations of system administration and web development. If you are one of these people you must read this book.When I bought this book I considered myself a capable intermediate level perl and javascript programmer. I had read a number of O'Reilly books including Learning Perl and Programming Perl, and use as references the Perl Cookbook and Perl in a Nutshell. I had realised that the slowing of my progress in learning more advanced perl was due to my lack of understanding of general programming principles, so I was looking for a book that could (gently) teach me this in the context of using perl.Elements of Programming With Perl was the book I really needed, and I don't think there is another book out there that meets the same need.If you are a self taught perl programmer, you should read this book, if not for your own sake, for the sake of the other people that have to with your code after you!I won't test and say that the book is excellent because it's not, but it is excellent, and one of a also provides a amazing introduction to object-oriented perl, and an ideal primer before moving on to the other Manning publication Object Oriented Perl by Damian Conway (which I also recommend).Have fun programming perl :-)(b.t.w. take no message of the Amazon review, it completely takes the book out of context, the other reviews testify to the book's quality. Amazing book, thanks Andrew!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    Anyone who has worked with DBI has heard of these authors. However, this is not just a reprint of existing documentation. There is a lot of fresh material here. Every type of database from flat files to networked relational servers is covered. Strengths and weaknesses of each are considered.Anyone who works with data of any kind will search much meal for thought here. Amazing job, Tim and Alligator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    This is a amazing DBI reference for experienced perl programmers. The authors give you a amazing street map in the introduction so that you can search what you need to accomplish your task.I required to interface to an existing database so I skipped chapter 2 on alternative persistent storage mechanisms.Having prior experience with SQL, I also skipped chapter apters 4-6 are where the majority of people are going to search useful information. There you will search amazing explanations on connecting to databases, executing SQL statements, and some advanced features such as binding variables. The authors give a amazing treatment of the different ways to execute queries with performance apter 7 is only useful if you are working on a Windows platform. My database is on Solaris so this wasn't something that I I said, though, what's there is good, but I there is definitely something missing. I required to be able to call Oracle stored procedures as well as executing easy SQL queries. It would be nice to contain some examples of calling stored procedures using the major vendors: Oracle, Informix, Sybase, etc. This info is hard to come by on the web. There are subtleties in using inout parameters in stored procedure calls that require some additional work in perl. You have to size variables huge enough to shop the biggest value that is in the database. Since perl handles all string sizes dynamically, I used sprintf to force the strings to be huge enough before calling the stored procedure. I don't know if you would run into these problems with outher databases, but it would be amazing to have this info with the rest of this text. That would create this fine book complete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    this is a solid book that's been required for a long time. it's a amazing introductory text for perl programmers on how databases work, and how to use the dbi to access them. i'm one of a lot of who has spent hour after hour bashing my head versus the dbi. of everything i've developed in perl, database interactivity and the dbi specifically has had by far the steepest learning curve. what i would have given to have this book six months ago. even though it comes after my painful experience, though, i've already found info in this book i hadn't gleaned elsewhere that will support me immediately in projects i'm working on. the chapter on dbish alone is worth the of the book to me. i'm also glad to see a very detailed breakdown by major dbd drivers. my most significant issues were sussing out the specifics of dbd::informix; even with the generous support of jonathan leffler, i had a hard time figuring out some of what's clearly stated here. the one thing this book is missing is a detailed explanation of installing the dbi. addressing the primary problems for each major driver would probably easily double the size of the book, but this info is some of the hardest to learn on your own. since the book is targeted at perl programmers, it would be valuable to contain the rdbms-specific info about installing the drivers that perl programmers are unlikely to have experience with. this info would also be crucial in easing communication with the different sysadmins and dba's whose support will likely be required to obtain any perl-database project off the ground. i'd like to see an expanded second edition, or perhaps an advanced title, to expand on this complex topic. it would be nice to see an explanation focused for db developers and dbas on how to use perl for their work. kudos to alligator descartes and tim bunce for an perfect book that makes the dbi more accessible. once i got a rudimentary understanding of the dbi under my belt, i was quickly able to demonstrate perl's power for database connectivity in my work environment. by easing the initial learning curve, descartes and bunce are helping perl prove its reputation as an easy-to-use, strong programming language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    this book provides a amazing tutorial on how to Programming. If you are a Not good Programming, reading this book will give you a lot of practical methods of improving that. We often times search If you lack confidence and just don’t know how to begin a Programming, this book is a amazing help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    Amazing for beginners, I always recommend these small books because I feel they support me to obtain the Ruby language to sink into my brain the more I read and practice the exercises. Amazing to add to other Ruby learning books and material. It is a fast read and has easy practice examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    This is no exaggeration. An accurate description of this book is: "The author's philosophies about coding, if he knew anything about coding, which he does not." The author intersperses Ruby code with Java code; in fact, there is more Java code than Ruby code in this book. Do not this book if you wish to learn Ruby. There are much better Ruby books available on Amazon, such as "The Ruby Programming Language" by David Flanagan and Yukihiro Matsumoto, and "Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby" by Sandi Metz. I see this book has a lot of 4- and 5-star reviews; I suspect these were all for. I could go on, but I won't waste my time or yours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    I've recently started studying programming and I'm glad to have found this book. It explains everything in easy terms. There are a lot of examples. It also provides detailed instructions. It's an simple begin I must say. If you're a beginner too, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    This book can be fairly exhaustive in detailing langauge specifics; no doubt this will turn some readers off. The issue with other books is that they often avoid detail at the expense of clarity. For my money, this book makes learning the minutae needed for competent programming that much easier, by being so complete and well-organized. There's no need for readers of this book to turn to any sort of "supplementary text," as is so often the case with less well thought-out is book is quite long and simply one of the finest development books ever written. The style, the length, the scope, and the structure are all absolutely perfect. The balance creates a reading experience that seemingly opens a channel to your brain and feeds the info in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    I have to admit that I am a complete newbie when it comes to programming. In any case, thisbook was just what I required to obtain a better understanding of programming in general and the RubyLanguage specifically. The book quickly explains why the Ruby Language is worth spending time is a famous programming language with the advantage of closely resembling true spoken is means Ruby is not only easy but very flexible as well.While Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook might be too primary for someone with a amazing of exprience,I really appreciated that the book gave a clear background of the language and step-by-step directions for itsuse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I like the book because most of my computer courses taught very small about debugging and how to use a development environment like Microsoft Visual Studion. This book does an perfect job at explaining debugging which is essential to doing a amazing job at programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Technical information is perfect and concise. But all controls except moving one page forward or backward do not work on Paperwhite. Recommend you the book instead of ebook. The book will be excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    'Elements of Programming with Perl' by Andrew Johnson is simply the best introductory Perl book on the market. It is patient in pace and rich in content. Concepts are introduced and explained in error code. Diagrams are effectively utilized to reinforce understanding.Having read Larry Wall's 'Programming Perl' and Tom Christiansen's 'Learning Perl' I was already acquainted with the primary constructs of the language. However as Perl is my first programming language I lacked the skills important to write effective reusable programs. 'Elements of Programming with Perl' early on presented the process of program design, and reinforced amazing design practice through well-organized code examples presented throughout all of the topical chapters.Each chapter builds on & reinforces subjects presented in previous chapters. I often found myself reading about a function I had been introduced to elsewhere, and upon following the book's example code finally discovering it's practical potency. As an example, prior to reading this book I had been capable of sorting lists of hostnames by domain only by inefficiently using a regular expression to copy the domain & pre-pend it to the beginning of the hostname. Then using the default 'sort' function followed by a loop to discard the pre-pended domain. Now I can tailor the sort function to serve my needs efficiently replacing that tangle of code with just three e book is well written with few wasted words and unlike most other authors this one understands & makes an effort to teach users of Active State Perl on Windows platforms as well as those using MacPerl. There are no sections or examples exclusive to is refreshing to work through and use examples that are not devoted to system administrative tasks. The chapter on module use demonstrates fetching web pages through code that retrieves stock quote and trade volume info and then graphically charts the data. How much more practical & timely can an example be?The author makes himself available online, responds to questions, patiently reviews code and politely makes tool bag now full, my understanding thorough I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    This book is hard to read; it's like the author is trying to write an instruction manual in undeciperable code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I thought this was a amazing overall book on debugging. The kindle ver has some quirks with spacing but is okay

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    I've been programming as part of my job for a lot of years and this book expanded my horizons, must read for any systems NOTE:[soapbox] Kindle ver is OK for this book if you are reading cover to cover but it shows the usual artifacts of an automatic conversion without a human editor reviewing the output and fixing things like chapter headings typeset in the same font/size as the body text. IMO kindle is generally worthless for textbooks, technical manuals and references because of its naive implementation and lack of features including syntax high-lighting, linking words to glossaries, complete navigational interface, scrolling text one line at a time (to align an photo with its caption on the same page for instance), inline mathematics that respect background colors and alignments, and a full text / full notes boolean find that [email protected]#$%!s for individual review. [/soapbox]Languages: C/C++ centric (all examples), most of this book applies to ALL imperative languages.Operating System: It is UNIX centric but contains info for MS Visual Studio.Full Disclosure:I don't even know what VS looks like, The only time I ever use windows is fixing it for a friend, so my opinion could be worthless on Visual Studio, but the info is there. I use Macs but don't program with XCode so I can't give you any information on that specifically at my experience Debugging is both an intuitive art (gained by years of experience working on true machines with true code) and a very demanding science (making observations, taking notes, well-formed hypotheses, careful testing one step at a time) My favorite quip is in section 2.1 where it mentions a issue solution way suggested by R. Feynman: "Write down the problem, think very hard, write down the answer." which is of course an "always true" statement. What this book does is support you to understand how to identify the issue so you can write it down (understand it) and then expands on the "think very hard" clause and makes numerous suggestions of how to go about that (solve it). This leads us to another statement of Feynman: 'The key to solving any issue is in looking at the issue in such a method that the solution becomes obvious.' If you obtain the depth of that statement, allow me say: this book is that SO:Gives a guide on GDB using a subset of commands to obtain you started with GDB - This guide assumes you are learning GDB - not basics of debugging, machine organization and memory cludes an extensive listing of up-to-date development tools, build tools, and testing several insights on debugging library code. (The part I required most! - very amazing stuff)Up-to-date Bibliography references as late as 2009, all refs are in 21st cludes a xref between primary GDB commands and Visual Studio debugging commands. (Appendix A)This book has increased my skill level and enhanced my understanding of debugging - perfect work by T. Grötker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Developer's Guide to Debugging: 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    Screenshots using Netscape browser... Some of the functions are outdated, but at least they give me a starting point to begin googling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    The only moan I have is that it didn't come out e where I work asked me to cost a project using Perl as the back end for a T1 feed into an Oracle DB. They wanted to know if they could a pack to do this. After a small research, I fell over the DBI. They were amazed at the "cost", and delighted with the speed.I finally got the book about a week ago. Lo and behold, it also covered flat files. A huge part of this shop's income comes from a custom doc library, flat files exported from a lot of various DBs. So not only did the book aid with optimising the script I'd already written for the Oracle interface, but it's going to create all our lives easier for the next release of their commercial e book is extremely well-written. (In a past life, I was a tech writer. Nothing worse than a badly written techie book.)The flow is well thought out. Not being a DB meister, the first few chapters were extremely helpful. In my case (and I'm sure, a lot of others as well), I had to obtain up on DBs in a huge hurry. With the Cheetah book, I was able to do e examples given are concise, simple to follow, and they _work_. The latter point is invaluable.I would recommend this book to anyone who uses Perl and the DBI.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming the Perl Dbi: Database Programming With Perl []  2020-1-23 2:29

    This book is slim. About 1/3 is a DBI reference, which you can obtain from the distribution. About 1/5 of the book (in the beginning), it describes Berkeley's dbm (and thus why DBI is necessary). So, what we have left is mere 130 pages to describe DBI features. The author uses these pages to explain only very easy things like: How to connect to the database, and execut very easy queries like "SELECT name FROM employee", obtain the effect set, and so forth. The book never describes more complex true globe problems, such as how you would execute stored procedures (for example, in Oracle, PL/SQL packages) obtain the effect back through arguments, and other intricate problems. If you wish to learn the very fundamentals of how to connect, execute, and obtain the results for very easy SQL queries, this book will support you. But then you can visit web websites that such things. If you wish to solve true globe issues using DBI, this book NOTHING !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    This book gives a practically amazing overview of Ruby programming for a beginner such as me. I am fresh to programming and I had bit knowledge about this kind of programming. By reading his book I have understood some necessary things to know about programming. This is my first time dealing with Ruby programming and this comprehensive tutorial was just perfect. The discussion of each chapter is laid out in a structured and detailed manner. I think I gather a amazing understanding by reading it. I definitely recommend this book for beginners. Large thanks to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    I found out about Ruby when I was looking through notice boards and forums and trying to search recommendations about underrated but very useful programming languages. Ruby came up a lot in those searches.I am teaching myself different programming languages for quite some time with mixed results. When you are self-educated, huge part of success is definitely the quality of your source. I'm satisfied to say that this book has helped me tremendously with e book is very well organized and written, the author doesn't rush you through anything and it has a nice pace to it. About half of the book are examples and that is where you will learn the most, is isn't just for beginners, I would say that it can be very useful for more experienced in Ruby too. Anybody can refresh their knowledge and brush up on Ruby with this book. I really like it, recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    Four or five other reviewers said this book "fills the gaps" between the O'Reilly books (Learning Perl & Programming Perl). I agree, but I had no idea what that meant until I bought the book. So here is what that means in practical terms. If you're like me, you know enough Perl to obtain the job done. You learned what you needed. But there may be things you never picked up, and this book will give you a lot of version learned about modules? Or worse, do you just place "use CGI" in your code without knowing what it means or how you could expand on it? Chapters 14 and 16 explain about modules, how to obtain them from CPAN, how to make your own, etc. Have you always thought the perlfaq was too obscure and heavy to use easily? The faqgrep tool on page 49 will demystify it. Have you been looping through your arrays, trying to search matches with a regex (or worse, a string comparison)? That always seemed okay to me. But using the grep and chaining functions for arrays (in chapter 12) is more clever, and reduces loops to "that old brute-force way I once used" in some e bottom line is this book is very meat-and-potatoes practical. It will create your daily work with Perl better, because you'll understand a lot of things that no one explained to all of us self-taught Perl programmers. And you may finally feel like someone clued you in to some of the better Perl tricks and is isn't getting 5 stars from me for only two reasons. First, the index is missing a lot of items that I know is there, so I end up leafing back through the pages looking for a familiar spot. And second, there isn't any discussion of the Perl DBI -- not that I need it, but I was hoping there would be some insight and hints for that, since all the other items was so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Programming with Perl []  2020-2-1 12:33

    I recently got a job at a telecoms company because of my experience with linux. I have no experience whatsoever in programming and they knew that and I was encouraged to learn Perl.I bought this book after reading a lot of reviews on it both amazing and bad. It was the poor reviews that told me this was the excellent book for a beginner. I like to think of myself as a person who likes to understand why I do things rather than just doing something because thats how it has always been done. This book did that for ecise explanations of Perl style, syntax and regular expressions more experienced programmers take for granted were a welcome sight. Even though there isn't really a right or wrong method in perl this book teaches you the right method to do things along with the full explanations I needed to understand why I was doing something one method and not the e exercises following the chapters are challenging but not daunting. They let you to use the knowledge you've learned in the previous chapters, even if at first it seems impossible, but to quote the author, "Programming is a matter of practice."I recommend this to all who are fresh to programming in general and want to create Perl their first language. Now all I need is a book on C programming that does the same this one is doing for s, I have not read this book completely, yet I have done 3 useful scripts for work and I'm awesome myself. Perl is making my life and my co-workers' much easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl Resource Kit Win32 Edition []  2020-1-31 3:49

    The Perl Utilities Guide, and Programming with Perl Modules books are very good. However, the reference to the modules is simply the perldoc pages neatly bound. The is very good, and ActiveState continues to help it, so it was a amazing investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    This is a amazing beginners Ruby programming book. This book will obtain you started on the right path to learning Ruby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ruby: Programming, Master's Handbook: A TRUE Beginner's Guide! Problem Solving, Code, Data Science, Data Structures & Algorithms (Code like a PRO in ... web design, tech, perl, ajax, swift, python,) []  2020-2-1 12:14

    Still reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Game History: A Critical Lexicon (Game Histories) []  2020-2-1 12:27

    And yet, for all the scholars and practitioners involved, they still incorrectly claim VCS Adventure was released in 1978 when it was 1980.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    Cool approach it takes you step by step until you obtain the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Debugging Game History: A Critical Lexicon (Game Histories) []  2020-2-1 12:27

    Grab a pipe, don your finest robe and settle into an simple chair, a studious expression on your face and Debugging Android game History perched in your lap. This is a scholarly work, examining in detail the globe of video android game nomenclature, including the contextual meaning of such terms as “adventure,” “character,” “console,” “controller,” “platform,” “role-play” and ‘walkthrough.”There’s even a chapter on “fun,” in which android game designer Raph Koster (Ultima Online) defines the word as a “form of mastery and comprehension of patterns.” If you’re tired of mindless, expletive-laden YouTube videos and need a small more erudition in your gaming life, check out this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Addiction: Debugging the Very Modern Problem of Digital Overload [Book]  2018-2-20 18:1

    Although interesting to me it had a lot of flaws and yet pointed out what man is capable of doing, particularly when they can do it namelessly on the Internet and with anonymity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    I started with the first this the second one of the series i am loving excel and love the idea i am learning to program with macros. The author take everything step by step and explain everything in the must easy way. ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    Simple to understand steps create debug a breeze

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    Too short chapters. Turns out to be more expensive in the long run.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    Second in a series, I found it very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    Thumbs up. Read my review here: [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Windows Debugging: Inside Windows Debugging_p1 (Developer Reference) []  2020-2-2 17:1

    This book is awesome. It will become your bible for windows debugging, and covers both theoretical aspects such as how the kernel & userland fit together in Windows, info on how 64 bit & 32 bit cohabit etc, and real-world expertise on debugging tactics for remote, local, and virtual machine scenarios. If you are programming or supporting Windows apps & servers, then you wish this book. For novices, if you've not debugged an NT BSOD yet then this will give you enough understanding and straightforward hints to do so yourself, and for experts, if you don't learn something fresh from this book I'd be very surprised. The kindle edition is simple to read most of the time (on my large-screen DX), and at 500+ pages there's a lot of amazing material to work through. I'll say it again: Awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    An perfect and simple to follow explanation with amazing examples

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Excel Macros: Debugging (Book 2 of Mastering Excel Macros) []  2020-2-4 17:17

    amazing follow up

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Perl: Unmatched power for text processing and scripting []  2020-2-1 12:32

    Everyone has to have "the Camel book"! A amazing method to learn PERL in depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl One-Liners: 130 Programs That Get Things Done []  2020-2-2 17:7

    I've been a Perl programmer for a lot of years but often forget how strong and useful one-liners can be. The author's light and humorous style is a amazing introduction to the power and productivity of Perl one-liners. A amazing book for beginners and seasoned programmers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Perl One-Liners: 130 Programs That Get Things Done []  2020-2-2 17:7

    Full Disclosure: I received a review copy of this bookI'm primarily a backend web programmer. I test to write in an object-oriented method with test-driven development practices, with each object having a well-defined purpose. I do this primarily in Perl, a language that causes a lot of developers to obtain a twitch. The reason is that Perl has an old reputation as being messy line noise. Part of the reason for that reputation is because of the one-liner obfuscation android games that used to be quite when I first heard of this book, I was naturally inclined to avoid it. In a way, it's perpetuating an aspect of Perl that's best left as part of history. Besides, as a web developer, what did this book have to me?What I found was that one-liners a various perspective, and it's a useful perspective to have. Converting a text document to double-spaced lines isn't a issue I have every day, but maybe I will at some point. When that or one of the a lot of other issues this book addresses comes up, I'll have something within simple rhaps more importantly than any specific issue is the attitude that programming in this fashion doesn't have to be inscrutable. Every one-liner here comes with a detailed explanation, and a lot of come with alternative solutions with their own explanations. If we can document our concise solution in less zone than a more "well-developed" solution would take, what's the problem?Donald Knuth had attempted a system called "Literate Programming", where documentation and code are carefully interleaved. Jon Bentley, writer of the Programming Pearls column in Communications of the ACM, challenged Knuth to write a Literate Program for the following problem: read a file of text, determine the n most frequently used words, and print out a sorted list of those words along with their uth wrote a 10-page program. Bentley then turned around and wrote a 6-command shell pipeline to do the same thing, which also happened to miss a few bugs that Knuth had stumbled over. The entire shell script and its documentation fit on a post-it note.*One-liners can look like inscrutable line noise. But if we can otherwise document them in a succinct way, does it really matter?That's what this book does: provides solid explanations for extremely concise code. No matter what you do in Perl or your skill level, there's something in here for everyone.* See: [...]

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386