Read protectingwhat'shis(alineofdutybook1)'a=0 reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all protectingwhat'shis(alineofdutybook1)'a=0 reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    best-selling-spiritual-enlightenment-books inurl:add a comment dissolution'A=0'A=0&ct=clnk'A=0'A=0'A=0 [in]  2018-5-22 17:51
    [email protected]

    If you haven't met Tom Corson-Knowles yet, the author who made Bestseller Ranking Pro, I think you'll search his story inspiring. Like most authors who have been in the android game for years, the only signs of interest Tom got from publishers were rejection letters. After six years of trying to obtain a traditional publishing deal, he finally decided to self publish his first book on Kindle in February, 2012. It was a life-changing decision. Just twelve months after publishing that first book, he had his first $12,000+ month from Kindle ebook royalties alone! You can learn how in this video. These tactics have also helped him and his clients become #1 Amazon bestselling authors. If you're going to write, publish or promote a book this year, you need to see this:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    OKAY. (

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    I should have learnt with the first book, but no. Three days I endured hoping the book would obtain better and it didn’t.Where to start? A survivor of domestic violence finds herself in a precarious position about to be victimised AGAIN, then in swoops “a monster” (our friendly possessive alien) who kills would be rapists then kidnaps her to outer ter she regains consciousness, is subjected to testing whilst her “hero” alien is portrayed as a betrayer, she finds herself sleeping with him within a day? Because she instinctively “knows he won’t damage her”. Won’t count how a lot of ways that this scenario is absurd- in any situation much less with a DV survivor.I found the storyline thin & generally conveniently slapped together. The dialogue was immature at best- & why why why does the author feel the need to use the c word?? The usage of THAT word is an instant turn off for me. How is “my monster” a term of endearment?I can go on, but choose not to. It’s three days I’ll never obtain back again.

    0  


    Add your opinion on protectingwhat'shis(alineofdutybook1)'a=0 or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    This novella didn’t feel short, as most do, which was a pleasant surprise. The story had plenty of info and emotions to suck you in and hold you d the heroine and character (and I hope heroine’s best mate finds her match). The heroine‘s and hero’s connection was so amazing and you can’t support but root for them to obtain together the entire time.I really enjoyed it and look forward to other works from this author!Clean (no or cursing)No CliffhangersHEA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    It was delightful to read the backstory of two secondary characters I had admired so much in To Con a Gentleman, Book 1 in the Dalton Family series. My only want is that Seeing Mary was a full novel that included the entire Dalton family. I became rather attached to them all, honestly, and their absence was noticeable. It was still unbelievable to see the progression of the character and heroine's relationship; their connection and trust, even in these early days, was so lovely to experience, particularly from a first-person perspective. I am eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series when I can catch up with the rest of the honorable and strong-willed Dalton family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    I loved this story, after I finished To Con A Gentleman (which I highly recommend for anyone who loved this) I saw this novella about the Love story of Mary and Robert, I finished it the day I started reading it, and it was wonderful! I have no complaints, I just want this wasn’t a novella and a full on Novel, because there could be so much more to Mary and Robert’s story. Again highly recommended to all, this is truly a unbelievable and fantastical read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    I loved this small story! From the first words I was hooked! I liked her other book To Con a Gentleman a lot too. Lots of the same feels! Yay a fresh author to love:} Robert is intense and knows what he wants but has that bit of mystery that just gets me. This is a easy love story with two amazing characters that just had me falling in love with them. This is a proper regency with an awesome kiss:}

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    Really enjoyed this sweet Regency tale with underlying themes of trust and self-worth. Although I read it in one evening, the story did not feel rushed and had a very satisfactory conclusion. Looking forward to reading more from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    Seeing Mary was such a amazing small novella; I loved the writing, enjoyed the humor and sweet clean romance, my only complaint is that I wish more. :) Mary is jaded on love and when she sees Robert for the first time she is taken back by the instant connection she feels to him. Not trusting her heart, she tries to hold away, but Robert is so various from all the others who seek her for her fortune and her family's title. Can she learn to trust her heart and a man again? I enjoyed the twists this story took and loved seeing Mary and Robert's love story. Definitely a novella I recommend for fans of Regency romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    Sweet clean regency novella. I am really excited to see what this fresh author writes next! I am enjoying the Dalton family books so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    I'd love to give you the hero names but I'm crap with names......just know I loved how this big, horned alien protected her the best he could. His Commander is a giant douchebag of epic proportions!!I loved the look into the before invasion.......and seeing how they felt about having children. Just created me wish the next story, was a fast fun read with a side of sexy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    This was a amazing introduction to the series. I read the first book in the series before I read this prequel, but I think it was fine to do so. I loved this story and I really wish to know what happens to Lauren and her Creature after the Yherin fighters come to Earth. Amazing story and definitely worth reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    I thoroughly enjoyed this sweet romance. I enjoyed how Robert really saw her and loved her for who she was. The story was well written, showing Mary discovering her worth and what she really wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    This is a short, hot read about aliens who come to take over our planet. They’re looking for compatible females. Yikes! Our character found his mate. However, his commander wants her for ‘tests’. Perhaps he should let it as he wants to be promoted....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    This was a very fun short story with a bit of a twist. I loved the characters and the coming of age for Mary. I loved the dialogue and the bantering. I have discovered a fresh author and I am very excited.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    For ages 18+Alien Selection is quite short, but has a lot of information. If all of these horned aliens are as thoughtful, protective, patient, and sweet as T'saran, Earth men have no chance. Large plus that their eyes glow purple! I can't wait to read book one. This book makes the series sound amazing, hopefully we obtain to see glimpses of T'saran an Lauren in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    T'Saran and Lauren meet when he is tasked with abducting an Earth woman for breeding compatibility try prior to an invasion of Earth by the Yehrin. Lauren is T'saran's mate. Now, he has to protect her from harm, but how? This is a short story that introduces the Yehrin and explains why Earth is so necessary to them. A fast and informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seeing Mary: A Regency Novella (Dalton Family Book 0) []  2020-1-20 21:16

    I enjoyed this book, but i will say that the next one in the series is my favorite!! I really like this author, please write more books!! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    What an interesting intro to a fresh series! T’saran, a Yehrin warrior, has been given orders to collect a human female for Commander T’ngorzul. The commander appears to me to be a sneaky, conniving fellow, definitely not a by-the-book guy. Not someone to be trusted. Lauren is a lucky woman - T’saran came to her ’s heartwarming to see her blossom from someone too afraid to stand up for herself into a woman who can take action in the face of adversity. I love these two as a couple! They’ve found what they need in each other and are unafraid to live their lives unbound by the expectations of their various cultures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    This pro.I see to be another perfect series by Honey Phillips. Powerful male fighters , sassy females in need of real love and devotion and a smattering of action and adventure with a large dash of passion and love. That's what you obtain when you read one of HP' s alien abduction romances. This is the story of Lauren and her fighter T’saran. Lauren has only known abuse at the hands of the men in her life. On the method home from work one night she is attacked by two strangers. Enter T’saran a fighter from another race sent to retrieve a female specimen so that Earth women can be tested for breeding compatibility. He sees Lauren attacked and his mission goes by the wayside. All He wants to do is save the female his heart has a!ready claimed as his. Mistakes happen, feelings are damage and loyalties are tested but love wins out in this HFN . I hope to see both of them in a future story💖

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alien Selection: A SciFi Alien Romance (Alien Invasion Book 0) []  2020-2-4 17:56

    Honey Phillips does it again. I really have fun this author. Honey writes well. Hero development is amazing and the love scenes are better than decent on the steam level. Grace Goodwin is probably one of my favorite steamy love stage writers. Honey is in the same league for sure. This is a very enjoyable series. I have preordered the latest 2 or 3 of the latest releases. I have recommended this series to mates of mine and they haven't been disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    The Gideon Johann books are simply wonderful. My wife and I have fallen in love with the characters in these western novels. I started out with this 4 book set after reading several other Duane Boehm novels. I have since purchased and read the entire 7 book series. I just purchased the prequel and am looking forward to it. I have read around 400 western novels and the Gideon Johann series is, in my opinion, the best of the best. Lots of action and drama that will hold you up method past your bedtime. The writing is superb. You will love every moment spent reading these unbelievable books. I certainly hope this series continues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    Best western stories I have read in a long time. The only thing that I wish to say is that you won't wish to place the books down.. I hated the stories to end. The people became alive to me. I laughed at times and cried several times as the people I learned to love..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    Amazing book! Plenty of humor and very true life trials and tribulations of becoming a fresh father with characters that you can easily relate to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    four box set of Gideon Johann, as this is the first set of books I have read that is comparable to any of the Joe Picket series. These were extraordinary novels and the excitement of the stories were beyond belief. Mr. Boehm is a proven Author of real western romantic stories, and I look forward to the continuation of this series, as I always did with C. J. Box series of Joe Picket. Do not miss the opportunity to read this series, as you will miss some of the most prolific stories you will ever endeavor to enjoy. The stories are so believable and the characters ate more life-like than fiction. I am off to the next book. Amazing reading to all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    Liked the first of four in the series, but by the second of volume #4 in this series the intended quippy banter became irritating and almost nauseous!!!!It was grossly overdone and unrealistic, having each hero problem a cute comeback, when her got older and more tired longer I trudged thru the series. VERY VERY VERY BAD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    Meh. It was okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    I just finished reading the boxed set of four Gideon Johann books. I loved the entire story about Gideon and the necessary people in his life. It created me smile and obtain ready in turn.. This was a story about times when men were men and women were capable in their right. I was sorry to see the story end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    I really liked this series and have already downloaded the next two. Amazing characters, lots of action and a bit of humor thrown in. If you like western novels, you'll love these.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    I loved this story as viewed from a man's perspective of becoming a father unexpectedly for the first time. Graham Peterson and Alison, are the fresh parents of Charlie. It was a surprise for Graham and Alison as they had only known each other for a few weeks before discovering Alison was with child. Graham's diary of the trials and tribulations experienced during the first three months of Charlie's life are very revealing. He writes this acc with humour, anxiety, exhaustion, and loving concern for Alison and Charlie. Not only does Graham have a lot of sleepless nights, but he also reveals info about how he loses his job. But, all in all, it's a story of a man who will face any and all challenges for his sweetheart and child. The pace of the story is vigorous, very engaging, and excellently written. An informative acc of what a newbie parent goes through. Learn a lot before becoming a parent for the first time ... definitely read this story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    I love absolutely love this guy! His stories are hilarious because his characters are so unpretentious. I think we all know, or at least know of, a guy like Graham which makes the books even more fun. Fingers crossed that Mr. Sortwell adds to this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    This is a review of The Diary Of A Hapless Father: months 0-3 by Pete SortwellThis is an perfect book, and is the follow up to The Diary Of An Expectant Father also by Pete it's predecessor, this is a well-crafted story, bringing to life the characters, telling the story through the eyes of our character Graham, as he begins coming to terms with the birth of his son, Charlie.I found this book to be ever so slightly less funny that the previous one, but it does deal, often in excruciating detail, with the trials and tribulations of having a new-born kid to look after. It is, by turns, full of joy, tiredness, happiness, tiredness, pathos, and tiredness The story accurately depicts the life-changing effects that fatherhood e book ends on a cliffhanger, so hopefully there witll be a third in the series in the not too distant future.5 stars (again).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    Liked the people had true real life experiences and at times looked to God for guidance.Disliked the use of God's name to "curs" people. Also what a man and woman does in their bedroom did not need to be described in such amazing was hard in those days and is heard today too. But Godly relationships both with the Lord and the people He has brought around you we can all serve the purpose of our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    Quick read, not as long as you might think. Gritty, tough, mean critters and a passion for Texas and the old y it, you will like it...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    I wasn't a large fan of the first book (Diary of an Expectant Father), but got both of these at the same time and decided to give the second a try. It's a bit better in some ways and related in others. The book is billed as humor, but as with the first, the humor falls flat with me. A lot of of the jokes are the same (such as diary entries being directed at future alien overlords) or are a bit juvenile in nature (such as focusing on the baby vomiting or having diaper issues) or are simply not funny (such as is the case when the grandparents and mother insist on giving the baby alcohol to obtain it to sleep). That said, the story does improve a bit over the first. There is less focus on the narrator's meal service job, and there is more interesting entries in the book such as the narrator's struggle with whether to introduce the kid to religion or not. Overall, it's an improvement over the first book, but not a amazing read in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    This book was quick paced and hilarious just like diary of an expectant father. I hope there's another book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    I read all seven (7) books, and the short story of Douglas Boehm’s - Gideon Johann Series. I my compliments to the author. I’m an avid Horror and Thriller reader and it took something additional to pull me into a Western Series. I was hooked after the first book. I enjoyed the Saga and multiple hero views of the storyline. The characters were rich and articulate. Their stories ran the gambit of emotions from humorous to sad to bawdy. I really couldn’t place them down until I finished. I probably managed to read them all in a week’s time. Each book was standalone and didn’t use some authors tricks of leaving you hanging on the endings. Overall it was nicely done and well received by me. High praises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Gideon Johann Boxed Set Book 1 - 4 (A Gideon Johann Western 0) []  2020-1-17 22:26

    I really enjoyed having the complete set of books in this series. It is so nice to be able to follow the story plot this e books are well writing and certainly held my attention. There was no slow or dull locations in the ally enjoyed reading this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    Firstly, I have to admit that I was a bit confused about who was writing this book. Writing goes to Pete Sortwell and it is all written in the first-person but at one point the father identifies himself as Graham. It seems that there are co-authors for this, but it's unclear who's the "hapless father" or whether this book is an amalgam of their stories?As another reviewer has pointed out, the title is entirely accurate. I can't fault people for being ignorant of what a newborn kid needs, but I had to shake my head more than a few times while reading this. I mean, they are from a First Globe country and by all accounts part of the NHS in the UK which even included a post-natal home inspection and extra fresh parent coaching -- it just didn't seem like they should be quite so clueless, especially in regard to giving an infant liquor to support him sleep. It wasn't until after they'd been doing that for a while that they looked it up online (again, how can you remain THAT ignorant with the internet at your fingertips?) and decided that they probably shouldn't continue giving the baby liquor. I'm not some finger-wagger just looking to shame fresh parents who maybe don't know better, but it seems like there are some primary things that are to the amazing parts of this book, I do have to hint my hat to this young couple who seem to be doing their very best. The hapless father (whoever he is) has an unhappy job for a very low salary which takes up a amazing of his time and his patience and yet he soldiers on to care for his family. All of this on top of the fact that he is still actually just getting to know the mother of his kid (she got pregnant very quickly when they'd started dating). Parenthood is a significant strain on any relationship and has to be doubly difficult for people who'd hardly known each other before embarking on this life-long journey. I do want them well and I hope the author can use some of his Amazon earnings to alleviate some of the financial tension at home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    Very cute book is such a fun thing to see the guys side of it! If you haven't read diary of an expectant father you should and it goes right into this book. Really funny and realistic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diary of a Hapless Father: Months 0-3: The Diary of a Father, Book 2 []  2020-5-15 19:10

    This is the story of a family based upon a pregnancy. The couple hadn't been dating long when the rabbit died, and after reading the book I'm not sure they should have kept the baby. Neither of them were really prepared for r instance, after the kid was born, fresh mommy sent fresh daddy out to babbygros. They're in Amazing Britain-we in America would call them sleepers. Can you imagine any pregnant woman so clueless that she hadn't bought clothing for the baby in her ballooning belly? Read this book and you'll see lots of clueless incidents.If you're a fresh parent yourself and need someone to create fun of just pick up this book and you'll search lots of is book will also present you just how various things are across the pond. There, after a newborn has gone home, someone actually comes to do home visits to see how you're getting along.Wouldn't you have absolutely hated that?!! I cleaned and sorted and prepared before my children's births, but my husband was alone in the house for two or three days before I came back. That was before he had learned how much I required his help.I remember coming home from baby number two and doing the laundry. Our baby sitter had planned to take our oldest camping that weekend so I could rest a few days, but, just like the first time, I gave birth a bit early. Our oldest daughter came home from her very first camping trip to search a baby in a cradle.We have this wonderful picture of our three day old daughter reaching up, as far as her arm would reach, to her two year old sister. A sister with an angelic look of awe on her ease, if you wish to know what not to do, how not to react, read this book.If you wish to know how to raise a happy, well-adjusted child, with loving, caring parents, I'm sure Amazon has other books. They just won't be as funny as this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    Allow me begin with a bit of a disclaimer, I love Scalzi's books. He has written everything from comedy to tragedy, and he always does it well. Sure he has a bit of snarky style that seeps into most of his writing but that has never really bothered me.Anyway, onto the review. Unlocked is a very, very well written teaser for Scalzi's upcoming book Lock In. If you don't know the concept, basically Lock In is a near future scifi book in which a disease has spread through the population and cause paralysis in a huge section of those infected. Their minds work but their bodies don't. These people suffering from the disease, named "Hadens" after the POTUS's wife, are eventually given their mobility back through Private Transports, think C3PO on a be 100% honest, the premise didn't really catch me. However I decided to give Unlocked a try, $2 to help Scalzi and what have I got to lose?Unlocked is written very well, it reads just like a group interview off of NYT or BBC. It provides a excellent foundation, getting you interested in the globe and building a very plausible scenario. How would society treat an entire section of the population that, while they are still technically human, interact with society through machines or online persona? How would restaurants treat "customers" that aren't actually eating or drinking, just socializing with other "meatpals?"The compliment I can this book is that I, as a person that wasn't really interested in Lock In's premise, am now eagerly awaiting its riously, if you've liked Scalzi's other books you owe it to yourself to test this out. It's a quick, painless read and really sets the scene for Lock In.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Annie is a 21st century archeologist who, along with her deceased father, has been searching in Scotland for a unique guardian um is a 9th century guild leader who is trying to search a permanent put for his people to mehow, Annie is transported to 9th century Scotland and into the arms of Callum. Will she search the stone she’s been seeking and obtain back to her own time or will her love for Callum hold her in his time?Love, action, betrayal, and a sassy heroine create for a unbelievable story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Very special story line, and kept me guessing all through. Time Travel is a thing I'd always thought about wanting to do myself, so I was enthralled. As long as it would be back in time, not to the future. This truly a unbelievable and very historical love story. Loved it! Thank you, Tanya Anne Crosby for writing this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK BY ONE OF THE MOST KNOWLEDGEABLE PEOPLE OUT RY is book is a must for every school and library

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boyfriend Booked: A Grimm Tale of Smoky Vale Novella (Grimm Tales of Smoky Vale Book 0) []  2020-2-4 18:12

    Can't wait for their longer book to come out. Love the half opponent to lovers theme. Hope there are more books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    I love John Scalzi's Old Man's Battle series but for some reason wasn't able to obtain into "Android Dreams" although I may obtain back to it at some point. So while I noticed "Lock In" when it came out, I wasn't in any rush to obtain it. Sounded too much like "Outbreak" and other epidemic thrillers. But I stumbled across "Unlocked" this morning and since I'm under the weather, feeling sorry for myself and it was only two dollars, I went ahead and picked it up. Amazing choice!Set 25 years after the emergence of the virus that caused the epidemic resulting in Haden's (Locked In) Syndrome, the novella is structured as a collection of short reminiscences by a lot of of those who dealt with the original outbreak and its results. It was surprising to me how engrossing it was given the format and the subject. (Don't know why- it is Scalzi after all...) This was powerful enough as a standalone read that as I was reading I thought "Well I'm enjoying this so much I don't really need to revisit it all with the novel length `Lock In'." Boy, am I lucky that they included the first chapter of "Lock In" "Lock In" is NOT covering the same story as "Unlocked" but a continuation taking put (apparently) somewhere in that 25 years in the future setting. I'm very glad that I read "Unlocked" first- I was able to immediately recognize the main hero and obtain immersed in that the dilemma, I almost never that much for a kindle book. The latest one that was worth it to me was Andy Weir's "The Martian" and what are the odds of striking gold again. So am I going to breakdown and obtain "Lock In" or not? Hmmm.Oh who am I kidding? Of course I am. "Unlocked" was that good. I never could eat just one potato chip...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    This was a brilliant book. At first, I had started reading Lock In (published Aug. '14), before knowing that this novella was out (published a few month prior in May '14). Lock In was a bit confusing for me so I surfed the internet a bit to research and found out about Unlocked. I immediately dropped Lock In and dove into this, finishing it in one sitting. Beside the much required clarity on the condition and the evolution of the threeps, the private accounts were skillfully lzi's writing continues to impress, and it flows like a running river. I especially liked the diverse range of people and pov's portrayed, from politicians, physicians, researchers, patients, and so on, with each having a distinctive voice for the reader to reflect upon.I enjoyed the government funding bit and the enterprises that emerged from it, won't obtain into much info not to spoil the edless to say, highly recommended novella and looking forward to Lock In and Head On.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    Very cute story! Finally getting the person you've crushed on for years is so sweet. Excellent story for young women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    This is a fun fast read. I liked the history between Liam and Cassie it makes for a more in depth relationship especially when the story is shorter. I loved the fun dialogue between the two. I enjoyed every page of this book and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloodline Sorcery: A Young Adult Urban Fantasy Academy Novel (Bloodline Academy Book 0) []  2020-1-25 0:13

    A very amazing story. I really liked Sophie and Max grew on me too although we didn't obtain to really know him as well. ****possible spoilers*** i thought this was going to have a small romance and while Sophie found Max very handsome and was a but attracted their relationship only went as far as friends. She also found one of the Nephilim very beautiful also although she didn't obtain to know him in the book. Maybe she will have a romance later but as of now she has finally created a mate who may possibly someday evolve into more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disciplina Positiva Para Crianças de 0 a 3 Anos (Portuguese Edition) []  2020-1-10 18:40

    Ótima introdução para displina positiva.Exemplos marcantes são muito úteis para a prática diária.Útil para compreensão do desenvolvimento infantil.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloodline Sorcery: A Young Adult Urban Fantasy Academy Novel (Bloodline Academy Book 0) []  2020-1-25 0:13

    Unbelievable first book. The main hero is interesting, quirky and her background makes the storyline even more intriguing. Can't wait until the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    "Unlocked" provides a chronological history of an epidemic which occurs 15 years from now, from the alternating viewpoints of doctors, victims, scientists and entrepreneurs looking for solutions, journalists, and people in the Centers for Disease Control and the White the narrative progresses, the growing panic, suffering and frustration of the narrators and of the general populace build a sense of foreboding and then doom. Millions die, and millions more are left with "locked-in" syndrome: conscious, cognitive, and aware, but incapable of any speech or movement whatsoever. But - as with all such crises - partially-successful medical interventions are developed, and eventually the epidemic becomes a "normalized" fact of e author has done a unbelievable job of imparting a distinctive "voice" to each of the various characters as they relate their private experiences and is novella is a prequel to (and includes a first chapter teaser of) the novel Lock In, which takes put 25 years after the epidemic began. With his articulate, accessible prose, the author has hugely piqued my interest in what comes next, and I will be reading the novel as soon as it is released.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    It's on me that I didn't message it was a novella; I loved the other 2 books in the series & bought this as soon as I saw it existed. But 20% of this is the first part of Lock In. The rest of this is basically a report on how the whole Haden's story developed; it reads like factual reporting, not a fiction book. It's amazing factual reporting, but if you're expecting the amazing pacing, characterization, & humor from the other 2 books you're going to be profoundly disappointed & annoyed. I sure am.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    Short and sweet!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    A cute, sweet, clean read! I'm excited to read more in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    I consider myself a Scalzi fan. He is sitting on the very top tier of my favorite writers. So, I have already read both Lock In books and picked this up as a light 's absolutely unbelievable how much work is place in globe building and this short-story shows a glimpse of it. It's still rather dense and condensed, therefore quite , when you read the two full-length novels, you see a little piece of this imaginary universe, but this one makes you realize, that the whole globe is really well thought-out.I really recommend this to anyone, who already read the two other books, or, if you are fresh to this series, it may be a amazing idea to begin here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    I bought this to understand better the lock in series before I dived into the series. Thsi is not really needed in to obtain the conext of the story of the book, and some of the happenings are actually described within the book, however this gives some much required insight to some of the context of the book, why the main hero is actually famous, a more detailed explanation on the whole various stages of the disease as well as the integrators, as well as some of the importance of the context of how funding was made to support those who became infected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    John Scalzi's short story, "Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome" is a companion piece to his terrific sci-fi crime mystery, "Lock In". Written as a series of interviews, the short story provides a solid backstory to the basic hook of Scalzi's novel of a near future epidemic that causes individuals to become 'locked' into their own bodies. As Scalzi describes in "Unlocked", "The short of this was that people suffering...were essentially trapped inside their own bodies. They were conscious, awake and able to think, feel, and perceive the globe around them. They just were't able to tell us they could do all these things. They were locked in."This story doesn't have the personality-driven narrative and dialogue that makes all of Scalzi's writing so smart. This is just simply intelligent and well thought out. One can't support but compare this to Max Brooks' wonderfully thoughtful and thorough "World Battle Z".This story isn't important to fully have fun "Lock In", but you'll have fun them both together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    When Annie went into a she admired some crystals in a basket. The old woman keeper told her the one was not for sale. It was changing colors and was beautiful. The woman told Annie that she could have it because it seemed to have picked her. Annie climbed some steep hill is looking for caves and the stone of destiny. Annie rested for awhile then woke in the year 878. There she met Callum. She and he fell in love with each other. When Annie overhead a plan to slay Callum. When all was done the old woman from the future showed up and Fergus was found guilty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    A woman from show day Scotland seeks something out of legend while receiving a stoneand then while going down a path finds herself in the 9th century with a man who doesn't knowif she is friend, foe, or completely mad. A fast time travel romance. Must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Annie and Callum's conversations are new and interesting, with unexpected statements. I enjoyed the push and pull between them and their thoughts about each other. The tribal lifestyle, culture and history were believable and interesting. Amazing glossary. If I 'd known it was there, I'd have referred to it often. The story felt too short to me. I'd have liked to obtain to know the chracters better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boyfriend Booked: A Grimm Tale of Smoky Vale Novella (Grimm Tales of Smoky Vale Book 0) []  2020-2-4 18:12

    This is the introduction to the GRIMM REAPERS of Smokey Vale motorcycle gang. This is a story about Booker and Zak. It's a prelude to the book BIKER DADDY. I enjoyed this short story because it gave me a glimpse of what to expect in the upcoming book. I liked these characters dynamic and personalities. I can't wait to read more about these two men and the motorcycle club they are part of. This looks like it could be a amazing ride. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Bought this on my daughters account... This is not Lily's review: Perfect book. Well thought out approach to address the "elephant in the room" of racial bias. Stevenson exhorts educators to face the challenge of talking, personally and honestly, about this difficult subject, which we often prefer to avoid. I especially valued tactics of talking from our private experience of race, and the idea of identifying "racially stressful moments" and not avoiding conversations about them (which is a non-judgmental approach) rather than "confronting" racism or micro-aggressions. In practice, in our agency, this approach helped to reduce defensiveness and increased honest conversation. As a white clinician, I found this book very helpful, and his private stories (about his mother especially) enlightening. - Russell Hendlin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Worked perfectly!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Howard Stevenson is one of the only psychologists I know who speaks and write in vivid, evocative poetic prose. This book, like all of his books, uses true life examples from schools and from his life, to demonstrate the necessary ways that race and racism impact schools. He coins the term "racial literacy" which provides teachers and students something positive to strive for. And he clearly values the experiences of all actors in schools--supporting students, families, as well as teachers and administrators as they test to develop "racial literacy." Teachers and parents of all races need to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloodline Sorcery: A Young Adult Urban Fantasy Academy Novel (Bloodline Academy Book 0) []  2020-1-25 0:13

    Sophie's story is really good. I wasn't sure if I would like it, but I actually liked her more in this than the other Bloodline books. The background really gives her depth & fullness as a character. I was wondering how the author would manage to create Sophie a hero, connect with Max, and still have her be an outcast when Lex arrives, but she worked it out neatly & the story is very well done!I would have liked a small more closure to the plot line with the deputy headmaster - part of the joy of fiction is having karma catch up with the poor guysAnd I hope we obtain more of Sophie's alchemy - it's really interesting, though as mentioned, not true practical on the battlefield, lol*Clean romance level: sweet kisses*Language: minor use of common swear words

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    "Unlocked" provides a chronological history of an epidemic which occurs 15 years from now, from the alternating viewpoints of doctors, victims, scientists and entrepreneurs looking for solutions, journalists, and people in the Centers for Disease Control and the White the narrative progresses, the growing panic, suffering and frustration of the narrators and of the general populace build a sense of foreboding and then doom. Millions die, and millions more are left with "locked-in" syndrome: conscious, cognitive, and aware, but incapable of any speech or movement whatsoever. But - as with all such crises - partially-successful medical interventions are developed, and eventually the epidemic becomes a "normalized" fact of e author has done a unbelievable job of imparting a distinctive "voice" to each of the various characters as they relate their private experiences and is novella is a prequel to (and includes a first chapter teaser of) the novel Lock In, which takes put 25 years after the epidemic began. With his articulate, accessible prose, the author has hugely piqued my interest in what comes next, and I will be reading the novel as soon as it is released.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    This was a brilliant book. At first, I had started reading Lock In (published Aug. '14), before knowing that this novella was out (published a few month prior in May '14). Lock In was a bit confusing for me so I surfed the internet a bit to research and found out about Unlocked. I immediately dropped Lock In and dove into this, finishing it in one sitting. Beside the much required clarity on the condition and the evolution of the threeps, the private accounts were skillfully lzi's writing continues to impress, and it flows like a running river. I especially liked the diverse range of people and pov's portrayed, from politicians, physicians, researchers, patients, and so on, with each having a distinctive voice for the reader to reflect upon.I enjoyed the government funding bit and the enterprises that emerged from it, won't obtain into much info not to spoil the edless to say, highly recommended novella and looking forward to Lock In and Head On.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    This was a quick, fun read that introduces some of the characters in the Ridgewater High Romance series. I loved Cassie and Liam. It was cool seeing how once they got over their initial prejudice or preconceptions about the other, they turned out to create a unbelievable couple. Really enjoyable read and the .99 was worth it for me. Go obtain it, especially if you're already a fan of the Ridgewater series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    Though it's meant to be a prequel, it's a legit begin to this cute YA series. Cassie and Liam have amazing chemistry. It's fun to watch them dance around their feelings for each other. Liam is a amazing guy that has a lot of ground to create up after years of tormenting Cassie. He's the excellent guy to support her see her worth. Cassie's got some things to learn about herself and it's amazing to see her become confident and empowered as she also finds her HEA. A amazing clean read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Too much preaching, when what is required are solutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    I read book 2 first and liked it so much I got this book. What I like about this author and her books is she makes the women strong-willed and skilled. Her stories seem to have a twist that keeps it interesting. In this book, the woman goes back in time. The story is well written and is laced with a few surprises that keeps the reader interested. It's not a regular man meets woman, man saves woman, and they live ever happily ever after.I just admit the part about shopkeeper, at the end of the story, was beautiful darn good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    I consider myself a Scalzi fan. He is sitting on the very top tier of my favorite writers. So, I have already read both Lock In books and picked this up as a light 's absolutely unbelievable how much work is place in globe building and this short-story shows a glimpse of it. It's still rather dense and condensed, therefore quite , when you read the two full-length novels, you see a little piece of this imaginary universe, but this one makes you realize, that the whole globe is really well thought-out.I really recommend this to anyone, who already read the two other books, or, if you are fresh to this series, it may be a amazing idea to begin here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    Allow me begin with a bit of a disclaimer, I love Scalzi's books. He has written everything from comedy to tragedy, and he always does it well. Sure he has a bit of snarky style that seeps into most of his writing but that has never really bothered me.Anyway, onto the review. Unlocked is a very, very well written teaser for Scalzi's upcoming book Lock In. If you don't know the concept, basically Lock In is a near future scifi book in which a disease has spread through the population and cause paralysis in a huge section of those infected. Their minds work but their bodies don't. These people suffering from the disease, named "Hadens" after the POTUS's wife, are eventually given their mobility back through Private Transports, think C3PO on a be 100% honest, the premise didn't really catch me. However I decided to give Unlocked a try, $2 to help Scalzi and what have I got to lose?Unlocked is written very well, it reads just like a group interview off of NYT or BBC. It provides a excellent foundation, getting you interested in the globe and building a very plausible scenario. How would society treat an entire section of the population that, while they are still technically human, interact with society through machines or online persona? How would restaurants treat "customers" that aren't actually eating or drinking, just socializing with other "meatpals?"The compliment I can this book is that I, as a person that wasn't really interested in Lock In's premise, am now eagerly awaiting its riously, if you've liked Scalzi's other books you owe it to yourself to test this out. It's a quick, painless read and really sets the scene for Lock In.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby Scale for Newborn, Infant - Weigh Like a Midwife (0-6 Months - White) []  2020-1-29 16:4

    I [email protected]#$%! showed the weight in pounds and ounces rather than like 10.2 pounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boyfriend Booked: A Grimm Tale of Smoky Vale Novella (Grimm Tales of Smoky Vale Book 0) []  2020-2-4 18:12

    Loved this book I ?Love Booker and Zak.... Want this was their book and not like a preview..I read the book a out Jamie and Grimm so I am excited a out the next one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    As much as I love John Scalzi, I can’t say that I was enamored with this short history of his fictitious “lock in” disease called Haden’s Syndrome. It’s a special perspective for storytelling as the book reads as a series of quotes from people involved in the rise of this global epidemic. However, if one has already read Sclazi’s two novels in the same universe (Lock In and Head On) I’m not sure that Unlocked adds much to the story. Additionally, the somewhat awkward structure of the book seems to work versus Scalzi’s strengths in crafting lovable, goofy characters. Still, the book is entirely readable and allows the reader to have fun a bit more time in the Lock In universe. Scalzi is very re-readable; however, I don’t think I will be returning to this particular volume any time soon.C

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    It's on me that I didn't message it was a novella; I loved the other 2 books in the series & bought this as soon as I saw it existed. But 20% of this is the first part of Lock In. The rest of this is basically a report on how the whole Haden's story developed; it reads like factual reporting, not a fiction book. It's amazing factual reporting, but if you're expecting the amazing pacing, characterization, & humor from the other 2 books you're going to be profoundly disappointed & annoyed. I sure am.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bloodline Sorcery: A Young Adult Urban Fantasy Academy Novel (Bloodline Academy Book 0) []  2020-1-25 0:13

    It was a amazing read. I enjoyed the powerful female lead. There wasn’t much romance, but I hope to read a follow up story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Tanya Anne Crosby is an artist who has the ability to weave a attractive tale. Once Upon a Highland Legend will capture your imagination from page one to "the end". "Have you ever wondered what it would be like to go back in time? Ms. Crosby gives you a possibility while reading her magical story. This story is a attractive romance exciting, humorous, and full of Ancient Magic! I could not place it down! Thank you Tanya Anne Crosby for your Awesome Talent in taking this reader on a journey through time to lands far away through time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    This well-written and researched time-travel Highland romance sends scientific-minded Anna back to the 800's with a unique crystal to solve a mystery of a lost Scottish guild and a hidden stone. A short and intense novella, Anna only has a certain time before finding her method home in the show when her travel crystal disappears. Callum, a Highlander, who discovered her, soon forms an attachment protecting her during her captivity by the guild until Beira comes for a on her future. Interesting, especially for history buffs, who have fun facts surrounded by mystery and romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    Cassie and Liam were likeable and their back and forth banter and antics was really fun. Lots of feels while reading this story. Perfect addition (and now intro) to the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    It was a really amazing book to read. I really enjoyed reading it and read it all at one time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    Bought this for my teenage daughter. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    We have history of racism in America, therefore we have racism in America. All of our social structures have roots in white (male) supremacy, including our schools. What we need is for all aspiring and current educators to become racially literate; developing a lens of the method race and racial tensions are layered within the power dynamics of schools and daily interactions. Excellent pairing to Glenn Singleton’s “Courageous Conversations about Race”.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Amazing examples on workable relevant solutions for K-12 students, administrators and teachers. The author reveals much required tactics to cope with racial stress!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Arrived ahead of time and exactly as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    If you are a human being then you must read this book. Especially during these Trumpian times. Howard Stevenson is a modern-day prophet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    As much as I love John Scalzi, I can’t say that I was enamored with this short history of his fictitious “lock in” disease called Haden’s Syndrome. It’s a special perspective for storytelling as the book reads as a series of quotes from people involved in the rise of this global epidemic. However, if one has already read Sclazi’s two novels in the same universe (Lock In and Head On) I’m not sure that Unlocked adds much to the story. Additionally, the somewhat awkward structure of the book seems to work versus Scalzi’s strengths in crafting lovable, goofy characters. Still, the book is entirely readable and allows the reader to have fun a bit more time in the Lock In universe. Scalzi is very re-readable; however, I don’t think I will be returning to this particular volume any time soon.C

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    John Scalzi's short story, "Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome" is a companion piece to his terrific sci-fi crime mystery, "Lock In". Written as a series of interviews, the short story provides a solid backstory to the basic hook of Scalzi's novel of a near future epidemic that causes individuals to become 'locked' into their own bodies. As Scalzi describes in "Unlocked", "The short of this was that people suffering...were essentially trapped inside their own bodies. They were conscious, awake and able to think, feel, and perceive the globe around them. They just were't able to tell us they could do all these things. They were locked in."This story doesn't have the personality-driven narrative and dialogue that makes all of Scalzi's writing so smart. This is just simply intelligent and well thought out. One can't support but compare this to Max Brooks' wonderfully thoughtful and thorough "World Battle Z".This story isn't important to fully have fun "Lock In", but you'll have fun them both together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Annie has been struggling to search her put in the world, so when her passion for history whisks her away to Medieval Scotland she can't believe her eyes. All her life she has dreamed of forgotten people and locations and now she is about to obtain the adventure of a ortly after being transported to the past, Annie meets Callum, a handsome young Highland chieftain who seeks a put for his guild to call home. They must work together to protect a sacred stone and save the guild from those that seek to assassinate the chieftain. Can Annie support change the course of history and victory Callum's heart? Or will their time together be over before it has barely begun?Once Upon a Highland Legend is part of the Guardians of the Stone series and is a time-travel romance filled with action, betrayal, and of course a gorgeous Scotsman. If historical love stories are your jam, then you will fall in love with this short story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once Upon a Highland Legend (Guardians of the Stone Book 0) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    The story line is an simple one to fall in love with! Is it not any history buff's fantasy to time travel and fall in love? Super entertaining, very hard to place down.. It's a fast read and sets you up very nicely for the rest of the books.. Of course, I read this one latest which was beautiful cool because I already had an understanding of what was going on. I think I'll read the entire series again. It's that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    I bought this to understand better the lock in series before I dived into the series. Thsi is not really needed in to obtain the conext of the story of the book, and some of the happenings are actually described within the book, however this gives some much required insight to some of the context of the book, why the main hero is actually famous, a more detailed explanation on the whole various stages of the disease as well as the integrators, as well as some of the importance of the context of how funding was made to support those who became infected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-4-1 19:57

    This review was originally posted on my own www service in May, not long after its anticipation of the August 2014 release of his novel, Lock In, John Scalzi has released a prequel novella that covers the rise of the epidemic which is the cause of the condition for which the novel is fteen years in our future a virus arises worldwide that causes minor symptoms in most cases, but in extreme cases causes victims to be “locked in”. Those experiencing this reaction to the virus are alert and aware but are unable to communicate or function in any meaningful way, they are trapped within a no longer fully functional body.Unlocked is told in the form of interviews from doctors, scientists, politicians, journalists and regular people who were affected by Haden’s Syndrome and/or played a significant role in the world’s response to and investigation of the disease and its most devastating effects.Unlocked is a story with an unsettling air of plausibility that examines a broad spectrum of the history of this virus in a method that feels intimate and personal. It is a story filled with characters that are simple to relate to–they are us–and as such it overcomes a criticism often leveled at short stories, which is that there is no hero Unlocked John Scalzi employs a fascinating storytelling device that engages the reader, and along the method he takes the story in an unexpected direction that will leave readers anticipating the summer release of Lock r those used to John Scalzi’s space-centric science fiction, Unlocked an alternative from these stories both in its topic manner and its presentation. The novella reads like the printed manuscript from a professionally edited documentary; it provides alternating viewpoints between a number of characters in a method that serves to hold the story’s pace brisk and engaging. Scalzi’s prose is tight, unburdened by the “he said”/ “she said” format of dialogue that is standard for most fiction. The people interviewed in Unlocked are responding directly to the unseen/unheard interviewer, in a sense, and this manifests as a highly effective method to unveil the tragedy of this sudden epidemic and the response it topic manner this story eschews the science fictional elements readers are used to in John Scalzi’s award-winning fiction, instead using a near-future setting to tell a story that feels less like a piece of genre fiction…at least up to a point. I went into this novella with preconceived ideas based on the descriptions available for John Scalzi’s upcoming novel. Those preconceptions served to place me in the right head zone to engage quickly with the story while leaving me unprepared for the twist, for lack of a better method to describe it, that John Scalzi employs. I won’t spoil it for you other than to say that I felt like Scalzi was channeling the spirit of Isaac Asimov, though in a very contemporary e method in which Unlocked progresses surprises in a very pleasing method for fans of science fiction that exists in a realm of plausibility, and it is an accessible story for any reader in that it exists in a globe of familiar technology, politics, journalism…as you read the novella you are left with the potentially terrifying sense that this type of epidemic could very well occur. Perhaps the only “fictional” element of the story is the swift and sweeping governmental response, which itself is neatly set up by happenings that occur with the person for which the syndrome is named. The political situations in the novel are certainly relevant to our current times and will, I imagine, provoke various reactions in various readers, and yet there was no put where I felt that John Scalzi was making commentary on the current political climate. Unlocked isn’t a story meant to frighten the reader in to begin them up for a series of moral platitudes. It is simply (and I use that term ironically, understanding that a amazing of work goes into writing, editing and publishing stories) a really amazing story, and one that will leave you both happy and yearning for more.Unlocked proves that John Scalzi has some exciting items for us in the very near future. If you haven’t read his work, now is the time to do so, and the for your efforts is merely your time. It will be time well spent. For those of you who are already fans of John Scalzi’s fiction, I trust you will have fun this departure from the Old Man’s Battle universe. John Scalzi knows how to structure a amazing story, and that knowledge is on display in Unlocked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Began: A Best Friend's Brother/Stuck Together Sweet Romance (Ridgewater High Romance Book 0) []  2020-1-21 22:32

    He liked her when she wasn’t into him. Then he liked her but she didn’t. Timing is everything. Over a dare they begin to see each other in a various light. Flirting turns to interest. Maybe what they each wanted was right under their noses all is is a sweet, clean read, suitable for all ages but geared towards teen audiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Promoting Racial Literacy in Schools: Differences That Make a Difference (0) []  2020-2-3 20:1

    Perfect text and tactic for helping students thrive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boyfriend Booked: A Grimm Tale of Smoky Vale Novella (Grimm Tales of Smoky Vale Book 0) []  2020-2-4 18:12

    Loved this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden's Syndrome: A Original (Kindle Single) (Lock In Series Book 0) []  2020-1-29 4:59

    I love John Scalzi's Old Man's Battle series but for some reason wasn't able to obtain into "Android Dreams" although I may obtain back to it at some point. So while I noticed "Lock In" when it came out, I wasn't in any rush to obtain it. Sounded too much like "Outbreak" and other epidemic thrillers. But I stumbled across "Unlocked" this morning and since I'm under the weather, feeling sorry for myself and it was only two dollars, I went ahead and picked it up. Amazing choice!Set 25 years after the emergence of the virus that caused the epidemic resulting in Haden's (Locked In) Syndrome, the novella is structured as a collection of short reminiscences by a lot of of those who dealt with the original outbreak and its results. It was surprising to me how engrossing it was given the format and the subject. (Don't know why- it is Scalzi after all...) This was powerful enough as a standalone read that as I was reading I thought "Well I'm enjoying this so much I don't really need to revisit it all with the novel length `Lock In'." Boy, am I lucky that they included the first chapter of "Lock In" "Lock In" is NOT covering the same story as "Unlocked" but a continuation taking put (apparently) somewhere in that 25 years in the future setting. I'm very glad that I read "Unlocked" first- I was able to immediately recognize the main hero and obtain immersed in that the dilemma, I almost never that much for a kindle book. The latest one that was worth it to me was Andy Weir's "The Martian" and what are the odds of striking gold again. So am I going to breakdown and obtain "Lock In" or not? Hmmm.Oh who am I kidding? Of course I am. "Unlocked" was that good. I never could eat just one potato chip...

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386