Read public health research methods reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all public health research methods reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Health Research Methods []  2020-1-21 20:14

    I am happy with earlier delivery than what I expected to. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Health Research Methods []  2020-1-21 20:14

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Health Research Methods []  2020-1-21 20:14

    This book is soooo terribly dull. I know that research methods is not the most exciting of topics, but come on! The chapters are somehow extremely lengthy, dense, and vague all at the same time.

    0  


    Add your opinion on public health research methods or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Health Research Methods []  2020-1-21 20:14

    Love all of the books by Guest and this is another amazing find! It is a must have for your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Health Research Methods []  2020-1-21 20:14

    The book has in depth information, it is just dry, and long. But the info is very useful when studying research methods, and learning about how to develop one's own research project. I still give it a four because the material is valuable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    I spent the additional to this book and obtain the required access code. Received today and there is no access code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Hate research but this book broke down subjects and process in digestible, understandable pieces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Complete waste of money, useless info that you can obtain with google for free. Got through the class without it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    This is a decent textbook. There's not a lot of "fluff" where the authors use unnecessary words to create the text sound more necessary than it is. This book gets right to the point and summarizes well. I will be keeping this book after I complete the class as it is a amazing tutorial on research methods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Book was perfect. Also received a 3 package of glass screen protectors and not sure what phone it goes to. Very odd as I didnt them. Only the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Product arrived nicely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Useful (and required) for my Research Methods class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    The book is very damaged in not good condition. Not as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Research Methods []  2020-1-28 23:36

    Why is this book so expensive??? It’s amazing quality as expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    amazing quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    This book is needed for a current research methods class in my master's program. However, the writing is very engaging and thought-provoking. It is not as dry and dull as I had expected. This book will be very helpful resource for my nonprofit management career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    I've never loved a textbook, but this one is written as if Dr. Johnson is speaking to you. She's very clear in her descriptions. There are ample examples and each chapter ends with discussion questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    Meets the expectations for my courses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    Amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    Amazing book. Breaks down methods in layman's terms, minimizes jargon, and makes it very applicable to policy making.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    This text, Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition, was a needed for a Master's Degree class at Eastern Kentucky University. My Guy is currently working toward his Master's Degree in Public Administration.He said that the reading is massive and intense, but has its interesting points. The class this was purchased for includes a lot of work regarding statistical analysis. He said that it is like having an extra math class combined with the aspects of research. Just this week he said, "Hooray for quantitative and qualitative statistical analysis graduate classes. I'm so excited. Minus the "hooray" and the "excited" ... and even the "I'm" or "so" parts."There is a amazing amount of info provided in this text. It is definitely not a "light" or simple read, but it will be beneficial in the long run. There is a tremendous amount of work that goes into obtaining a Master's Degree. He is just glad to have the tools available to be successful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    Right edition, cheaper than through the school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    Its a amazing book, beautiful simple to read but there is still some bulk in there that doesn't seem to be necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods for Public Administrators: Third Edition []  2020-9-15 18:37

    Fabulous!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    it's a stats book, decent to understand, but a lot of errors that were not caught in editing, some that affected the learning of critical concepts. the book cover was nearly chop off the book, so I had to remove the scotch tape someone used and replace it with packing tape to hold the book from falling completely apart during the semester. otherwise the book was in decent shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    I am using this book for an online stats course. I have to say, and a lot of classmates agree, that this is not an simple textbook to understand. Everyone knows that with most online courses, you need to teach yourself thru reading. This DOES NOT create it easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    As far as receiving the book. It is in amazing condition. Almost fresh like condition. Would recommend this seller highly. High Quality product and Quality price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Perfect condition. Very happy with order. thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods []  2020-8-16 18:41

    Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods is your standard textbook for students studying Public Health - it has 15 chapters that cover subjects such as how to collect and analyze data, compose and execute surveys and questionnaires, the methodology behind putting together a sample study, and the proper methods to use for info gathering. Each chapter begins with an brief overview of the subject followed by different subtopics and conclusions. Tables and diagrams, all in black and white, provide illustrations. There is also a useful glossary at the end of the book and student readers also have access to an online companion website, which is a nice plus.Overall this is a well-organized if unimaginatively written book that is the standard for a lot of courses in Public Health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    TOO MANY is book has enough errors to one's tuition. I'm just not sure of content being studied because it might be "right" now, and wrong after instructor's review. I also want the explanations were done for EXCEL not SPSS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Covers the important topics, but lacks sufficient examples demonstrating the primary concepts in each chapter. When introducing fresh concepts, tends to cover too a lot of edge cases (eg delving into all the assumptions and tests for such assumptions that must be met to use a certain technique such as regression) as opposed to starting with simplified cases and then covering more complex cases. Also, a lot of examples assume one has SPSS software. The kindle ver does not have page numbers corresponding to the printed version, which makes things difficult for students using this ver as professors often give assignments to read certain pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    This is not a review of the seller, but the book itself. It was a requirement for my course. I absolutely dread chapters in this book. Figures are seemingly created up at some points, drawn in from previous chapters but no explanation of why they are used or where they were retrieved from. All of my cohort reports the same complaints. I attempt to use youtube guides and the Green and Salkind text rather than this if possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Informatics Research Methods: Principles and Practice []  2020-8-3 19:25

    Yes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods []  2020-8-16 18:41

    This book provides a amazing overall tutorial for health research methods and is designed for college students in this field. The book does not go into much detail about statistical analysis, allowing it to focus more on study design, data collection, and other aspects of conducting research. If you are a student in the health sciences or someone doing public health survey data collection this book could be helpful. This would typically be the type of text book assigned for a college course. I found this book to be well organized and practical, doing a amazing job of covering all key aspects of health research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    I have not found much use for this text book, but it’s a amazing review of undergrad statistics. Math is either black or white, either you know it or you don’t. So if math is not your powerful point, this book might be some use to you in the long run.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    As far as receiving the book. It is in amazing condition. Almost fresh like condition. Would recommend this seller highly. High Quality product and Quality price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    This is not a review of the seller, but the book itself. It was a requirement for my course. I absolutely dread chapters in this book. Figures are seemingly created up at some points, drawn in from previous chapters but no explanation of why they are used or where they were retrieved from. All of my cohort reports the same complaints. I attempt to use youtube guides and the Green and Salkind text rather than this if possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Informatics Research Methods: Principles and Practice []  2020-8-3 19:25

    As advertised. No complaints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    it's a stats book, decent to understand, but a lot of errors that were not caught in editing, some that affected the learning of critical concepts. the book cover was nearly chop off the book, so I had to remove the scotch tape someone used and replace it with packing tape to hold the book from falling completely apart during the semester. otherwise the book was in decent shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I have not found much use for this text book, but it’s a amazing review of undergrad statistics. Math is either black or white, either you know it or you don’t. So if math is not your powerful point, this book might be some use to you in the long run.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    TOO MANY is book has enough errors to one's tuition. I'm just not sure of content being studied because it might be "right" now, and wrong after instructor's review. I also want the explanations were done for EXCEL not SPSS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods []  2020-8-16 18:41

    There isn't much fancy about "Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods" by Frederick J. Kviz. It doesn't have one color image and the text is strictly in the realm of black, white or a shade in between the two. That said, the text is very straightforward, perhaps even a bit dry; yet, it is simple to follow and everything is described in an understandable manner. The layout is clean in that it doesn't have a clutter on the page so there is small to distract or detract from the info presentation. There were a few times when I wasn't sure on the 'integration' angle but that was only a few times. It is a book that will work well in a classroom setting but also amazing as a reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    I just finished a graduate level statistics course that needed this textbook. I received a 99% in the course, but this book did nothing to support me. The chapters begin out okay in the beginning, defining terms and stating how to obtain where you wish to go. It rapidly deteriorates from there, and begins explaining further in depth with complicated phrases and terms beyond my limited comprehension. It also only explains how to calculate things utilizing a computer program, telling you how to enter the numbers and it will calculate it for you. I don't have the program it speaks of. I passed this course on google and a prayer. Thanks for nothing Munro.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    Statistics is difficult, and I have used a lot of other books, but this is one of the easier ones to use and understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    Statistics is difficult, and I have used a lot of other books, but this is one of the easier ones to use and understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    Covers the important topics, but lacks sufficient examples demonstrating the primary concepts in each chapter. When introducing fresh concepts, tends to cover too a lot of edge cases (eg delving into all the assumptions and tests for such assumptions that must be met to use a certain technique such as regression) as opposed to starting with simplified cases and then covering more complex cases. Also, a lot of examples assume one has SPSS software. The kindle ver does not have page numbers corresponding to the printed version, which makes things difficult for students using this ver as professors often give assignments to read certain pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro’s Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-1-27 23:23

    Perfect condition. Very happy with order. thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I just finished a graduate level statistics course that needed this textbook. I received a 99% in the course, but this book did nothing to support me. The chapters begin out okay in the beginning, defining terms and stating how to obtain where you wish to go. It rapidly deteriorates from there, and begins explaining further in depth with complicated phrases and terms beyond my limited comprehension. It also only explains how to calculate things utilizing a computer program, telling you how to enter the numbers and it will calculate it for you. I don't have the program it speaks of. I passed this course on google and a prayer. Thanks for nothing Munro.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research []  2020-7-7 19:57

    I am using this book for an online stats course. I have to say, and a lot of classmates agree, that this is not an simple textbook to understand. Everyone knows that with most online courses, you need to teach yourself thru reading. This DOES NOT create it easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Informatics Research Methods: Principles and Practice []  2020-8-3 19:25

    A amazing book for people in Medical Informtion field. Just for reff-it can be purchased under 100$ from publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conducting Health Research: Principles, Process, and Methods []  2020-8-16 18:41

    Professor Kviz has authored an immensely satisfying text elucidating both the principles and tactics for the planning, implementation and assessment of health sciences research. Wonderfully illustrated, this volume has an engaging authorial vision that is both concise (in getting to all the relevant points efficiently) and comprehensive (in its breath of coverage.) THIS text is the one that is going to become the standard in its field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    Returned all 3 books to ups may 14 and being charged a late fee on 2 of them. Not a satisfied camper and will not from them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    Perfect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    Perfect !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    This book is really helpful when you are a student who has to do research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    The rent was and beautiful quick, and the book was in amazing condition. It was a amazing book to read for the national board. Create sure you understand the quizlet if you know what I mean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    a requirement at a amazing deal, rental instead of a purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dental Public Health and Research (4th Edition) []  2020-1-27 0:26

    This book is poorly edited. Spelling and grammatical errors are abundant in this text, which is ironic considering that chapter 20 is devoted to ensuring that research is based on reputable, well written sources. It was hard for me to complete a chapter knowing that it was possible that some of the info was incorrect. I am hoping that my professor does not choose another text from this author next semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Research Methods in Public and Nonprofit Organizations []  2020-1-21 21:36

    As described. Amazing quality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    I can't even say that this is the worst behavioral health textbook I have read! This is the single WORST textbook in ANY field that I have ever come across. It's written like a collection of essays written by students with no defined beginning, middle, or end. There are no subsections, bullet points, bolded words, or a usable index. There is no method to search any info in this textbook. No subject is discussed in its entirety anywhere. You have to look for pieces of info throughout the entire thing and even then, you'll probably not search what you were looking for. I have always enjoyed reading my textbooks before classes or to prepare for exams but this textbook frustrates and infuriates me to the point where I CANNOT hold trying to do that. I just have to admit that it's a hopeless book and hope for the best in my class without it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    This book is dry and difficult to read. It pulls far too much info together at a time, without fully explaining anything. The excessive use of citations, "science-speak", and run-on sentences is distracting. If you don't have an extensive background in behavior theory or have not spent years reading scholarly journals, you will struggle with this book. This is not an appropriate choice for first year grad students. Disaster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    It is written using APA and the driest use of the English language I've ever seen. The APA is annoying because half of it is just in text citations every other sentence. Why would anyone wish to topic students to this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    It got me through my class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    If you plan a career in public health, this is the kind of useful and comprehensive textbook that you'll wish to hold rather than selling, and refer to it from time to time. It is worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    Not a fan of the book though. It is a bit difficult to digest without supplemental information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    Online resources like Boston University Public health resource is better at explaining the theories than this book. This book uses a lot of words to test and obtain at the constructs. It just never hits the mark. It fails to explain any e paragraph structure showing evidence-based research and then trails off without explaining how the example relates to the theory construct. In other words, it builds up to a point then never delivers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    Book arrived as described and on time. My rating is for the content of the book itself. I search the format confusing with the excessive use of APA citing, but I do understand the reasoning for doing this. The content is simple to understand, but not very engaging. I search myself struggling to obtain through each chapter. I had to this book for a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    This is one of the worst textbooks I've ever seen, largely because of choices created in the formatting and typesetting of the book. The quality of the text is not good to start with as noted by other reviewers, and the book refers repeatedly to its own prior editions which I clearly don't have access to. It is frequently longwinded in describing what might be created relatively concise and to the point. Unfortunately, whatever substance there is in this book that I might learn from is buried hopelessly in pages that have little margins, never use bullet points or lists, and rarely use effective tables or other data visualizations. The choice to cite all authors of referenced theories and studies makes most paragraphs nearly unreadable, and buries salient points in a jumble of parenthetical references.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Behavior: Theory, Research, and Practice (Jossey-Bass Public Health) []  2020-1-20 0:4

    Amazing product prompt delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Kinesiology and the Health Sciences []  2020-2-4 9:42

    I am very happy with my books amazing quality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health []  2020-7-23 19:33

    Very simple to follow descriptions of relative and latest community based participatory research evaluations. Really helped my understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality and Health Research: Methods, Measurements, Statistics, and Resources []  2020-8-19 18:55

    This is an perfect text for those individuals doing there dissertation on a spiritual matter. Very simple read and extremely readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health []  2020-7-23 19:33

    A go to for every CBPR practitioner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Kinesiology and the Health Sciences []  2020-2-4 9:42

    My book has stuff underlines in pen.I thought I purchased his book brand new.I’m very upset.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality and Health Research: Methods, Measurements, Statistics, and Resources []  2020-8-19 18:55

    It has the info on statistics and methodology specific for R/S research. An indispensable book in the medicine and allied health science library. It would be unbelievable if it could be available in Spanish, where this fresh field is practically unknown in the spanish speaking countries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Kinesiology and the Health Sciences []  2020-2-4 9:42

    Very simple to digest. Book is an simple read compare to other types of book which cover the same topic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health []  2020-7-23 19:33

    Very interesting read and a nice compliment to a course focusing on CBPR methods or grant-writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality and Health Research: Methods, Measurements, Statistics, and Resources []  2020-8-19 18:55

    It is complete and embraces essential elements of the process of researching. I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Kinesiology and the Health Sciences []  2020-2-4 9:42

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health []  2020-7-23 19:33

    I appreciate the breadth of expertise of the authors and the fact that they also bring in co-authors from each community being described. Nice attention to walking the talk. I applaud the careful attention to racial justice and the call for people engaged in CBPR to do training in racial justice to build their cross cultural fluency.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality and Health Research: Methods, Measurements, Statistics, and Resources []  2020-8-19 18:55

    Nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Methods for Community-Based Participatory Research for Health []  2020-7-23 19:33

    There is a lot of info in this book. However, another reviewer suggested there were example surveys which was the basic factor for me. Well, to say I was disappointed is an understatement. There is really nothing in this book you cannot easily search online, and the "surveys" are just basic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality and Health Research: Methods, Measurements, Statistics, and Resources []  2020-8-19 18:55

    An perfect tutorial to those who are interested in knowing the intricate structure of how to do research on the intersection of spirituality and health. Dr. Koenig outlines steps from the notion to do the work to the final aspect of how to secure funding for a broad study involving numerous venues and years of follow up. Worthy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Measurement in Health Behavior: Methods for Research and Evaluation []  2020-9-2 18:45

    Amazing read. Useful in understanding psychometric properties of instruments and instrument development

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    The book "Bending Science" discusses how scientists have now become advocates for a particular cause as opposed to a "search for the truth". While the book mainly uses examples on the corporate side, the same is real on the non-corporate side, i.e. health studies. Each of the tools at the disposal of a scientist (statistics, experimental results) can be used or misused. It could be best summarized by the point that who pays for the research expects to obtain the results it wants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    When I took Professor McGarity's administrative law class at the University of Texas many, a lot of years ago, the lectures were notable chiefly as brief intermissions where I could doze off in the semi-comfortable chairs of the law school. The fault was hardly his. An perfect lecturer and acknowledged expert in administrative law, my narcolepsy had more to do with juggling school, work, a young marriage and a younger essor McGarity has teamed up with Wendy Wagner, another UT law prof who may one day wrest away the mantle of regulatory guru from McGarity himself. These two brilliant writers have unleashed a tour de force that exposes, in the powerfully understated title "Bent Science," how industry has corrupted the science upon which public health policy is ey could have titled it "Rape of Science," "Scruples be Damned," or "Money Can Buy You Science," but no title would equal the impact of this balanced, thoughtful, footnoted, politic, and academic sledgehammer of a book. Though the authors go out of their method to avoid using the word corrupt, no possible reading of their extensive survey can lead to any other conclusion. Industry has purchased the governmental regulatory process by vitiating the very process of science itself. This has had tremendous implications for people poisoned by toxic substances like asbestos, resulting terminal illnesses like om their careful introduction, where they lay out the issue and explain exactly what bent science means, to the final chapters where they provide practical (and a few idealistic) solutions in tandem with exhortations to optimism, this hard hitting book covers every sleazy corporate trick in the rporations are to subvert the scientific process without fear of penalty, they have endless resources to fabricate research that always draws the right conclusions, they hide unfavorable science, pervert amazing research into "junk" by sophisticated namecalling, they bully and intimidate honest scientists, they convene sham groups to tout dishonest results, they manipulate public perceptions through PR campaigns, and--the one thing these two fine lawyers neglected to say--they blame it all on is book is a fine complement to "Doubt is Their Product: How Industry's Assault on Science Threatens Your Health" by David Michaels. Professors McGarity and Wagner have created a meaningful and readable contribution to the mountain of evidence that corporate behavior has ceased running roughshod over the public and is now simply running amok. Over everything. The authors' notice that change is needed, badly, comes at an opportune time. What we need is change, let's see, change we can, hmmm, believe in? Change we can believe in!Might not be a poor idea for a political slogan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    As adveretised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    Whether it's asbestos, cigarettes, vioxx, or global warming, the same pattern of profit over truth, obfuscation over reality keeps re-emerging its ugly head in society. In the end, the truth usually wins out, almost always with a massive cost in human lives. But making is more necessary than someone ELSE'S life isn't it? Occurring concurrently with the very REAL threat of global warming is the very REAL threat of electromagnetic pollution. As much as I loved this book for its expose on the techniques used to distort, deny and dismiss dangers, I am hoping for an expanded revised edition covering the threat of EMR in much more detail. This global profit center experimenting with all our lives will be remembered with disgust, when we realize that this technology could have been achieved much more safely. Sure, it would have cost and time to achieve safety, but those are two things are apparently more necessary than our lives if our "free" shop society was truly being honest with itself. So we continue to go merrily on our method while there is a ticking time bomb in our midst that is nibbling it method through our DNA.(If non-ionizing radiation inhibits DNA repair, doesn't that basically have the same result as damaging it directly?) So if the author wants to follow up, look at the works of Devra Davis, Samuel Milhelm, David O. Becker, Magda Havas, Neil Cherry and others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    This book argues that science institutions are under attack - tons of sophisticated tactics from outcome-oriented interests (seeking a specific effect favoring their product, process, etc.) are used to co-opt the science that informs public health and environmental policy. Further, policy-makers can no longer expect the scientific community to detect and filter out the distortions without assistance from the legal system. The bulk of the book is then taken up with specific examples of the abuses it is concerned e first meaningful evidence of bending science in the legal globe comes from the early 1900s when asbestos, tobacco, pharmaceutical, and pesticide manufacturers tried to control the poor news about their products. Suppression of industry-sponsored research and occasional harassment of independent scientists were the basic methods; in other settings manufacturers simply avoided research regarding hazards, leaving the burden to individual victims. The eventual results were fresh regulatory agencies (FDA and EPA) and requirements.Outcome-oriented proponents then manufactured uncertainty about implications of well-conducted scientific studies via attacks on every min aspect of every cited study used by experts - aimed at undermining the scientific reliability of their overall conclusions and often allowing their exclusion from court trials. Next outcome advocates than moved on to get legislation from 2000 - 2004 giving related advantages dealing with regulatory timates of the cumulative costs of regulatory requirements are often at least somewhat based on production lost due to particular products or wastes being banned (overstated). Regulatory agencies react slower than courts - eg. asbestos production had largely halted due to lawsuits prior to regulatory aintiff attorneys are also guilty at times - eg. biased assembly-line diagnoses of silicosis and fen-phen diet users. Claims of saccharin carcinogenicity originally halted its approval - twenty years later researchers showed the issue was limited to laboratory rats. Government agencies (AEC/DOE, USDA, NOAA, and FDA) have also been found to bend science for their own purposes.Policy-relevant research is not that interesting to most scientists - the subjects are frequently unoriginal and usually contested by advocates. The effect is a lack of professional oversight in some areas. Absent clear evidence of fraud, the law does small to penalize parties producing unreliable science for use in regulation and thods used to bias tests contain manipulating the control dosage for medications (keep low), the length of time that negative observations are tested for (keep short), doing a not good job of counting the number 'exposed' (eg. contain unexposed office workers to lower any negative impact findings), forged data, misinterpreting results (eg. 'seeing' that naproxen lowered the risk of heart attacks vs. Vioxx, instead of the fact that Vioxx raised the risk of heart attacks vs. placebos), selective reporting of only favorable results. Attacks on results not liked contain allegations of wrong statistical tests (obscures and delays), and other contentions of inappropriate procedure. Other approaches contain filing charges of scientific misconduct versus those presenting disliked material, and blocking future funding for their work, and selective assembling of expert panels (example cited involving former Secretary Thompson). Finally, impressive-sounding think tanks have also been funded to oppose studies disliked by industry, often with former politicians as leaders and public-interest-sounding names (eg. 'Citizens for . . .).The authors contend that correcting these issues requires forcing poor behavior out in the open. A lot of scientific journals already require disclosures of conflicts of interest and data sharing to let others to verify results published. Regulators and courts should do likewise. Congress should also limit the discretion used in reporting adverse outcomes. Probably the most likely-to-succeed suggestion is to emphasize science-blind actions (eg. reduce pollution X%, without attempting to scientifically justify the specific level). The authors also believe the media should address more attention to exposing the extent bent science exists and the hurt tom Line: "Bent Science" highlights an necessary issue in today's efforts at policy-making and litigation. Unfortunately, the issue is not limited to the 'hard sciences' - economic and social policies and litigation are also impacted in the same manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    Amazing book, written very clearly. It was simple to search the resources the authors cite throughout the book. It's very informative and eye opening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    Written in 2008, the corruption of science described within is still happening, worse than ever. The one category of pharmaceutical product -- or rather biological product -- not mentioned in this book is the worst of them all for all the manipulative techniques described--and thanks to Congress giving liability protection to most of this category of biologicals in 1986--they hurt far more, within any true oversight. I recommend readers follow up this book with the newly released book HPV VACCINE ON TRIAL by Holland, Rosenberg, and Iorio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    It's an incredibly thorough report of a depressing reality and I think I understand why no one has written a review yet. Whoever has read this may feel dejected about its revelation that people with the power to hide or distort scientific findings that would probably turn consumers versus their money-making products are willing and able to destroy the most honest scientists and subvert the least honest ones. People with this power may be corporate policy setters of risky products, their lawyers, the scientists they are able to subvert into science-bending endeavors, and a lot of others ... including personnel in government agencies, which further contains one I've long suspected ... the National Institute of Health. That agency appears to have created efforts to correct the issue that I call the "we gotta do what will satisfy the pharmaceutical guys" but I'm not sure such efforts will work permanently there ... or anywhere else. Obsessive drive for materialistic acquisition has blotted out concern for other humans' welfare in so a lot of of our strong people, whether they be entrepreneurs, scientists, legal wizards, politicians, or whatever. I'm finding myself doubting the likelihood of behavioral reform among the corruptible people described in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bending Science: How Special Interests Corrupt Public Health Research []  2020-6-24 19:42

    this book is an unfocused, redundant mess. Like it was written over a weekend by an undergrad or pair of undergrads who didn't communicate and filled pages with generalizations to meet a word count without researching the topic. There are several vignettes, e.g. the one about asbestos, where the 'years' of litigation, case presentation, etc, aren't even mentioned. This book should be rife with citations, but isn't; see above. If you're truly interested in the subject, read 'Doubt is Their Product' by David Micheals (OSHA director, citations in every chapter), and/or 'Our Stolen Future' by Tracey is POS was so maddeningly banal I left it on a plane after nearly gauging my eyes out, being @#$%ed it was the only thing I had to read.I normally don't trash writers because I can't fathom the effort it takes to obtain a work together and then take the giant leap of putting it out in public for all to comment on, but there was absolutely NO effort created here and this very expensive sham does a disservice to writers, to scientists, and to concerned citizenry everywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods and Statistics for Public and Nonprofit Administrators: A Practical Guide []  2020-8-21 18:52

    Book is simple to read and makes sense. Not like a lot of other text books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods and Statistics for Public and Nonprofit Administrators: A Practical Guide []  2020-8-21 18:52

    The book does a amazing job of explaining difficult subjects in a clear way, which is amazing for students who have never studied these things before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods and Statistics for Public and Nonprofit Administrators: A Practical Guide []  2020-8-21 18:52

    I was dreading my research methods class, but this book was actually very helpful. Each chapter starts out with continuing stories of 3 various public administrators that support the reader understand why each principle is important. I felt like the text explained concepts in a beautiful simple, simple to understand way. At least easier than other textbooks I've read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Education []  2019-12-18 20:44

    It is an interesting resource to have on your shelf and I feel as though the authors did a nice job on the revision; however, I would have liked a more in-depth decision of general quantitative methods before going into specifics. Most of the info could be found online in articles if you know where to look, but for a beginning researcher/early graduate student, I think it could be very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research Methods []  2020-1-15 23:3

    Amazing book

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386