Read quiet about it reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all quiet about it reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    love it [ohio court case search]  2020-8-28 0:32
    [email protected]

    full article cook county criminal case find inquiry navigate to this web-site Source franklin county case find king county district court case find alabama case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    OK, perhaps a small better than a 3, but definitely not a 4.If you are just starting to investigate Alison Krauss, pick any album but this one. You will be delighted by them ost In This House is the only song here with the powerful impact you expect from Alison Krauss, a slow, easy ballad with careful harmonies that frame the lyrics just so, and send chills down your ntrast that with the song that really represents the album, It Wouldn't Have Created Any Difference. You might expect that she would transform this ballad somehow from a pop radio hit to something, well, transcendent. But it is simply a nice remake of the ere are no poor songs on the album, and her voice is as fine as ever, but the material she has chosen to work with just doesn't shine. Much of it is some distance removed from the country and bluegrass that she normally soars with, and perhaps I sense the difference in instrumentation.I recently went back to I've Got That Old Feeling, and I can beautiful much quote you the entire set of song titles. That is a memorable album, and I can't even decide on my favorites. But this album is forgettable. I'm sorry, I'm not trying some kind of take-off on the album title, it is just the best method to say it. This album will never be an old mate like the others.But read the other reviews as well, because they may present you a side of this album I just don't see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    Krauss is a amazing blue grass singer. This CD is probably the most representative of her vocal talent. She has this down home, folksy kind of a voice that every man can identify with the girl next door! Of course the band behind her is legendary. Amazing selections and 'Forget About It' clearly establishes itself is one of the classics now - a real American melody genre and a real American pop icon!

    0  


    Add your opinion on quiet about it or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    I adore Alison Krauss's voice. Her melody is exquisite and this album is no exception. All the tracks are great, although, unlike a lot of of the reviewers, I'm not a huge fan of Forget About It. My favorite is It Wouldn't Have Created Any Difference. I go around singing this tune (it pops into my head without even listening to the CD) all the time. The songs on this album are so heartrending. Maybe, Ghost in this House, and Stay are perfect also. Maybe has the best harmonies, but It Wouldn't Have Created Any Difference has the best words. Overall the album is excellent. Amazing for a sleepy Saturday afternoon. Buy it, you won't be sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    I can't believe that a CD featuring Alison Krauss and a ver of Union Station that contains Jerry Douglas merits only two , I don't care whether Alison Krauss, with or without Union Station, sticks to bluegrass music. My most beloved recordings contain CDs, tapes, and LPs by The Seldom Scene, Miles Davis, Glenn Yarbrough, The Emerson String Quartet, and Mitsuko Uchida. Style is not the problem here.I do care, however, whether Alison Krauss records amazing songs. I care whether her recordings display the energy in singing and fiddling that she can bring to a tune. I care whether there's any dozens in the programming of the tunes on a CD.I found very small of any of that here. Alison is both the producer and the performer, so she has to bear full blame for selecting nothing but slow- to mid-tempo tunes, produced with multi-layer strings and vocals. She must know the importance of dozens in assembling a program, but she ignores its importance here. And when you come right down to it, there isn't a single truly outstanding song here. The majority of them just aren't very amazing at all.I've been an Alison Krauss fan since _Too Late to Cry_ back in the 1980s, and I'm sorely disappointed in this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    Allow me start by saying that my tastes run almost exclusively to classical music, from Bach, Handel, Mozart, Beethoven through the elegant turn-of-the-century French masterpieces of Faure, Debussy, Ravel and the Spaniards Albeniz, Falla, Granados, and Turina, to the 20th century works of Stravinsky, Rachmaninov, Satie, Poulenc, Milhaud, Koechlin, etc.: attractive works produced by musical geniuses with years of rigorous practical and theoretical training. As a rule, the works of modern musicians do not appeal to me, do not touch me inside, do not draw me in. Alison Krauss is the exception, and this CD demonstrates once again the a lot of talents of this wonderfully-gifted, pure-voiced singer: her ability to select achingly attractive melodies, to arrange them perfectly, and to sing them with a sweet and gentle vulnerability that has no pretense or artifice. From the softly swaying "Stay," the cathartic "Forget About It, " the silky smooth '80ish ballad "It Wouldn't Have Created Any Difference," the beautifully Beatlesque "Maybe," the sweetly plaintive "Empty Hearts," the touching paternal tribute of "Never Got Off the Ground," the ethereal "Ghost In This House," the achingly attractive "That Kind of Love," this release is full of exceptional songs that demonstate Alision's penchant for continuous growth and evolution as a superb musical artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    I remember with almost equal disappointment when Linda Ronstadt abandoned her folk rock roots and started singing torch songs. It was amazing for the torchy crowd, but disappointing for those of us who remember the Stone Ponies with some it is with this recent Alison Krauss CD. Too a lot of jazz chords, too a lot of "strings" and not enough fiddles. And unlike Linda Ronstadt's record, these aren't even particularly amazing songs. Just average. Everything from the photography on the cover to the arrangements is just too self-consciously crossover.Unfortunately for those of us whom Alison amazed with her bluegrass albums, this will probably be a amazing seller and encourge her to do more of the same. That leaves Lynn Morris and Claire Lynch to listen to, and I recommend the recent from both of them more highly than this fresh one from Alison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    Alison Krauss is always a pleasure to listen to. Some call her melody progressive bluegrass, some call it country, while others refer to it as pop. I think it is simply some of the best melody being recorded anywhere. "Forget About It" is another unbelievable recording. Songs like "It Don't Matter Now" and "It Wouldn't Have Created Any Difference" are fantastic. She does a nice job with the old Shenandoah song "Ghost In This House". Dolly Parton and Lyle Lovett sing harmony vocals on "Dreaming My Dreams With You", a beautiful, but sad song. This recording is highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    Bottom-Line: The quiet beauty and dignity of "Forget About It" will create one forget all about the ugly without for the beauty within its eleven spite the fact that Alison Krauss hasn't the vocal range and talent of most in Country & Western/Blue Grass, she has managed to become the voice of the latter. Her voice is lithe, but with a charm and genuine cadence that is hard to resist; hence her success, mostly with her band Union Station. But in 1999 Alison once again struck out on her own and released the self produced "Forget About It", her fourth solo is her style Krauss has stayed away from the lavishly produced, pseudo-C&W Pop that so marks other female artists in her adopted genre and instead remains fairly close to her Bluegrass roots despite the contribution of notable Pop icon Michael McDonald. He is more than balanced out by contributions by noted country songwriter Hugh Prestwood, who penned my favorite track on the CD Ghost In This House in which Alison gives her angelic alto voice full rein."Forget About It" is a quiet and intimate affair that invites the listener to come sit by the fire and reflect with Alison on life and love. Despite the lack of a moniker on the album jacket, all of Alison's Union Station band-mates appear on the CD. Other contributors contain Matt Rollings (piano), Jim Keltner (drums), Sam Bush (mandolin) as well as the Cox Family singers, Lyle Lovett, Dolly Parton, and Suzanne Cox on harmonizing e effect is an album layered in rich harmonies and an inspired hushed sound that navigates a sonically pleasing course between traditional bluegrass and contemporary country-pop. Krauss is never far from her fiddle and Jerry Douglas's Dobro and together they make and sound Union Station fans will be all too familiar with.If there is one weakness on "Forget About It", its Krauss's diminutive voice that often drops to small more than a whisper. One some of the early tracks on the album, this is very disconcerting as Alison's voice all but disappears, eclipsed but the superb instrumentation. But there are exceptions, the most noteworthy being the aforementioned track No. 7 Ghost In This House, wherein Alison's voice takes center scene in a stirring, emotive song about lost me of the tracks from this CD created it onto Alison Krauss & Union Station's 2-album live CD released in 2002, most notably track No. 1 Stay, track No. 2 Forget About It, track No. 4 Maybe, and track No. 7. With the exception of the latest track, Alison breathed more live into them live than she did on the studio release. This is rare and perhaps speaks to her unwashed/unpolished/un-tweaked vocal ability.Taken as a whole "Forget About It" is far from forgettable and might be just what the (music) doctor ordered after a rushed day in a globe increasingly filled with nothing but harshness and ugly. The quiet beauty and dignity of "Forget About It" will create one forget all about the ugly without for the beauty within its eleven tracks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    No bluegrass here. And not an album to play at a party. On this album, Alison shows that she can not only sing, but can also take charge of her own musical destiny (as producer). This is not an album that you simply listen to. It is an album that you "feel". Not a "happy" or upbeat album, but so darn "I am not alone with my rotten love life" comforting that you will not be able to stop listening to it. Her harmonies on "It Wouldn't Have Created Any Difference" (my private favorite) and "Maybe" are absolutely hypnotic. Kind of reminiscent of Wilson Phillips. "Ghost In This House" WILL earn Alison a Grammy. An exceptional album for an underated singer and now, producer. Buy it, then listen to it late at night with the headphones on... alone. You will never have more satisfaction feeling sorry for your past "relationships gone bad".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forget About It []  2020-1-23 3:8

    I first heard this artist on NPR. She was singing “Ghost in the house” which is on this album. I fell in love with her voice. This is one of my favorite albums ever. I have fun listening every song on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I really loved this book, though I would definitely recommend it for 12+ for maturity. Can't wait for the sequel!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    The track list is off by one starting with Sgt. Fester. It would be nice to see this is is one of the all time greatest scratch and bass albums ever. If you like this, check out 'This Is How It Should Be Done' and 'and the Royal Posse'

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    Took me back huge time. I remember when I had there cassette.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    My daughter was so involved in the story, she begged me to buy the second book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    It was a amazing read. I would totally recommend it for teens 12 and above. An awesome page turner. Hope you like it too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    A very creative book and an outrageous author! I never doubted that Sarah Mlynowski would write a poor book. Simply a must-read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    This is for me the best bass album of all times. This album (tape at the time I heard it) was it. My mates were trying to obtain me to listen to bass melody and the first one I heard was Magic Mike first one (when he had the geri curl) and I was like obtain this crap out of my face (the weak rapping turned me off) then I believe I heard some techmaster peb, if there is any type of melody that I hate it is that techno eurotrash stuff. en I saw my boys listening to a tape on headphones at the library and they were like Bobby listen to this one. And it was feel the bass 3. And when he broke out with that first extended bass boom I threw the headphones off and I was like in utter disbelief, everybody was like man I told you. I listened to the that song like 5 times that day, freaking amazing. There were 2 other songs on here that just kills almost all other bass tracks (I think amazon has them mislabeled here). Do you Like Bass (awesome, they have it listed as Class in Session) and Slow Draggin (brings back memories of me Colin and Joe frontin' in Colin's dad vehicle 1am with a huge old vehicle phone, amazon lists this song as Exile Via Freestyle).Quad force/captain quad are the only ones that come close to magic mike, not that I have heard everything, but most other items was to techno, too much rapping, and too much bass try type songs. I just like when they took bass created a amazing beat off it, threw in some cymbals, and maybe a piano or horn tune and allow it flow.Unfortunatley, the bass era didn't latest long and Magic Mike tried to hold up, but he couldn't do it. He required to collaborate with a famous rapper at the time or something, because all the rappers he had or the raps he did himself suuuuucccckkkeeeddd. Most of the times he concentrated to much on the booty shakin stufff, but a few of his raps come to mind that were good. There was Lower than dynamite (MC Madness), Sweet Georgia Bound (T Isaam), and Breakfast in Bed (T Isaam). And a song a lot of Bassheads may not of heard "I obtain the Powell" on the T Isaam album Southern Hospitality another of Magic's best.Once Quad Force is available via ITunes I will be buying all the bass songs that I once loved and lost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    If you think flu shots are safe, think again! When a group of teens develop ESP after getting their flu shots at school, hilarity ensues. What I particularly liked was how the author wove segments of the plural 1st person POV ("we") into the narration while successfully managing to retain the individualism of each character. Secrets? No such thing. Gossip? Totally unnecessary. Don't Even Think About It is wildly entertainment and totally engaging. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Don't believe the negativo reviews, this is fun and funny and actually it has a lot of depth as well. I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I loved this book so much! That is all I have to say. It had everything you would expect in an amazing book. Aaaahhhh!!! In love!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    Absolutely love this cd. The Bass & scratching are just perfect. Highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    I THINK THIS CD IS A CLASSIC.I PREVIOUSLY OWN THIS CD AND LOST IT AND WAS HIGHLY UPSET.WITH TRACKS LIKE "FEEL THE BASSIII&MURDER IN THE FIRST DEGREE" IT'S A WONDER HOW PEOPLE CAN MAINTAIN THEIR SOUNDSYSTEM.WHEN I FIRST HEARD THIS CD I WAS LIKE DAM I GOTTA GET BIGGER SPEAKERS TO HOLD ALL THAT CAUSE I KNEW IF I DIDN'T THOSE SPEAKERS WAS IS CD ALWAYS TURNED HEADS WHERE EVER YOU WENT WHETHER YOU WERE DRIVING DOWN THE BLOCK OR AT A HOUSE PARTY PEOPLE ALWAYS ASKED WHO THE HELL WAS THAT? OVERALL I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CD TO ALL THOSE WHO LIKE QUAD & DON'T MIND NEW SPEAKERS EVERY 2-3 ACE!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    The homeroom class of 10B is getting their flu vaccinations, but in a strange side affect they can hear each other's thoughts! Afterwords drama ensues. The blurb on the book cover reads "Secrets, scandals, and ESP" and that describes this book is is a fun read. It's really entertaining, and it just flies by quickly! At first the narration style is awkward reading, but soon enough I got used to it. Overall this is a just a light read to take your mind off things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    If I was to describe this book I would only say one word and that is funny. The book was really funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    I remember bumping this staedily back in 91-92 this is the shiznit mike is one of hip hop's most underrated dj's and him and mc madness paved the method for trick daddy, and trina every chop on here has the popular miami booty bass sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Even Think About It []  2020-1-14 19:32

    grandschild's

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ain't No Doubt About It []  2020-8-31 19:11

    Had to own this album again, Had it on tape when it first came out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    This is a book for everyone, straight, , and anyone in between. Like her videos, Hannah does a amazing job at educating people and exposing us to fresh things while still being entertaining and enthusiastic.I would even go as far as to recommend this book be place in schools and offices all over the world. Well done, Hannah

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    I especially loved the essays by Nina St. Pierre, Erin Khar, and Reema Zaman. Amazing collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Utterly relatable and thought-provoking. So a lot of voices and stories from so a lot of walks of life illuminate what appears to be a painfully common thread through the lives of women all over the world: how our righteous anger , and especially our discomfitting expression thereof, is out of line with the societal profile to which we've been assigned, and therefore unacceptable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Each essay in this anthology speaks to the power of women’s anger, why we have been taught to fear it, and how we can claim it. I’m gifting this book to women in my life eager to name and work with their anger— and to the men in our lives who should reckon with it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    I bought this for my 14 year old daughter. We have begin communication about and ity. I've read Girls and and I'm just starting Boys and . I'm a middle school teacher and have a sense of what's going on in the young teenage circles, what they know, and the info they lack. I like a lot about this book, but feel it gives too much permission for promiscuity based on the young author's opinion which is not what most parents would share with their 14 year olds. On that reason alone, I feel the book is better targeted towards 18+. At 14 years old, the girls need a bit more info about how to create choices and realize that being ly active to hold someone else satisfied or interested is not the reason to become ly active. I want that part, which is quite small, was not in the book, and then I'd give the book a much higher review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Conclusion, Don't Worry About It [Book]  2018-4-3 18:2

    I really enjoyed this book because it's so full of positivity and feels as if Lauren Graham is speaking with the reader in her easygoing, fun, relatable way. It's a book geared toward graduates and hopefuls, but I feel it speaks to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    Absolutely AMAZING book riddled with extremely necessary answers to questions I’d been asking myself my entire life. The book is divided into sections, and it’s stated right off the begin that you don’t have to read it in order. I would recommend this to any human being on planet earth with even the smallest questions about anything similar to and relationships because Hannah Witton is SURELY to respond your questions. ♥️♥️♥️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    I absolutely loved this book!It felt like being on a series of journeys with fresh sisters I never knew I had. Each essay taking me to a put I may or may not be terribly familiar with but regardless of my own connection to the place, she comes from and takes me to, I'm grateful that this woman, story teller, is sharing it with me. The main takeaway for me was a deeper feeling of empathy and sisterhood for all the sisters out there and our connection to each other regardless of where we came from, how we got here. The essays come from a very diverse group of women: each with experiences and wisdom to share through their beautiful, heat-felt writing. Highly recommend and will be reading again in the not very distant future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Indispensable. Insightful. This collection of well-edited essays of fierce feminist voices shows women unflinchingly and unapologetically unpacking their anger and unleashing their rage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    What a attractive book filled with attractive essays from awesome women. I absolutely loved this book, it’s a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    A vital collection of essays about anger from women who are honest and raw in their writing. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    A attractive and thought provoking collection of strong, unapologetic voices - vital reading for all women!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    This book spoke to my heart. The diverse selection of contributors offered a multitude of viewpoints and perspectives about female anger. Instead of showing anger as something to be ashamed of, these writers suggest that anger is the touchstone for transformation. I know I feel motivated! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    If we’re completely honest with ourselves, health classes in the United States are a mess. There are no set requirements for curriculum at the federal or state level, which leads to wild variations in the health education children receive—while students in Fresh York State may be watching graphic slideshows on STDs, students in Indiana may be watching videos with powerful “abstinence only” messages. The lack of continuity in info being provided to American children is alarming, and it can lead to serious problems in their adult lives.Enter Hannah Witton, British YouTuber and educator. Her debut book, “Doing It! Let’s Talk About ”, is a comprehensive tutorial to , relationships, and a number of other subjects in between.And it is precisely the sort of book adolescent Americans ought to be reading.Engaging, sensitive, and thoughtful, Witton’s book addresses not only the ins and outs of , its benefits, and its risks, but also focuses in on more specific subjects of significant modern importance, like consent (and, along with it, rape and abusive relationships), explanations of various identities in the LGBTQ+ community and private narratives from some of its members, and the concept of body photo within our heavily digitized-publicized-criticized world. In the fresh American edition of the book, Witton incorporates statistics specific to the United States in order to provide her readers across the pond with a more personally relevant reading experience.“Doing It!” allows for readers to learn about a wide dozens of topics in a non-judgmental, pro-fact manner, thus enabling them to create their own informed decisions when it comes to how they conduct themselves within their own lives and in their interactions with others. Rather than being at the mercy of their school districts, young American readers in particular will gain enough of an overview of the topics that may not be covered in their health classes to approach their real-life encounters with more openmindedness and with greater is book could not have created its method to the United States at a better time. While a lot of are enjoying more freedom in the method they lead their lives than ever before, we are also in the middle of an era of amazing national uncertainty, fear, anger, and misunderstanding. Although Witton is not an American, the publication of “Doing It!” was timely for readers in both her country and ours. Her charm and natural tendency toward kindness is palpable throughout the work, and it is an attitude that deserves recognition– to have that sort of voice be a source of guidance for adolescents in this day and age is invaluable.Overall, I give “Doing It!” by Hannah Witton 4.5/5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    I'd recommend this book whole-heartedly for any teens curious about ity and health. Each subject discussed does so in a non-judgmental method that acknowledges the pleasures of and not just the "dangers." Inclusive of LGBTQIA+ identities, and seeks out stories from those that identify that method to address the subjects that Hannah doesn't have private experience with. And a large gift point for how this book addresses consent and healthy relationships!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    Amazing read and very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    This book is amazing for anyone and I love it. I couldn't wait for it to come out in US stores, so I decided to buy it on Amazon and I'm so satisfied I did. 1000% recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    No issues or issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn It Down: Women Writing about Anger []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Anyone who reads this collection of essays on women's anger is bound to search at least one that resonates with them.Women are not permitted their anger. It makes them unattractive. It makes them @#$%!y. It makes them... difficult. Women who are difficult are wrong, but so are women who are easy.Women are mad because their pain and illness is dismissed. They are mad because if they don't resist rape and assault hard enough, their passivity is deemed consent. But they know that resistance can mean escalation, leading to greater injury and ese are the stories you'll search in Burn it Down. I thought I'd read it in little doses, over time, but I found it entirely bingeable and powered through it over a week.I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. #BurnItDown #NetGalley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    Good, primary ed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doing It: Let's Talk About ... []  2020-2-6 22:52

    Super amazing read from a totally amazing YouTuber! I’ve loved Hannah Witton’s channel and her content on YouTube. This book is just as amazing as her channel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    google it now and you will be at best site for transaltion [Teacher]  2021-1-11 9:32
    [email protected]

    my opinion is to create it part of everyday practive to obtain leran from the bests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    I cant see why anyone would rate this Melody less than 5 Stars. Sounds Excellent, very entertaining. I guess because I am a melody lover and Audiophile and I have the playback equipment (stereo) , I can really listen to this and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    One word describes it best: uninspired. It's as if they painted the word "Quiet" all over the walls of the recording studio. I think there's only one song where Wayne Shorter sounds inspired. Even he sounds like he's just been to the dentist and the haven't worn off yet. On the positive side: it's amazing background melody when you have no intention of listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    This is an amazingly attractive album, as already stated in the other reviews below. I only would like to add that the beauty also comes from the delicate drumming of both Bill Stewart and Duduka Da Fonseca (the latest one is featured on three of the more bossa nova oriented tracks) and the brilliant bass figures of Steve Swallow. They supply Sco with the excellent rhythmical foundation for this album that begs for repeated listenings. Even non-Sco lovers should love this album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    One of Scofield's most unexpected and sublime albums, probably not noticed nearly enough... superb arrangements, more melodic than most of his work, soulful... a total gem, for Scofiled fans and otherwise. Listen to it five times, and you'll understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    This album is an exquisite small gem, which seamlessly bridges Jazz and Classical. To my ears it is one piece of melody with 8 or 9 movements, (Steve Sallow wrote the latest piece on the album.) In the liner notes John writes that he worked several months on the compositions and arrangements, which in my opinion are inseparable. The heads and solos flow together so smoothly as to be almost indistinguishable from each other, with their long arching melodies weaving a tapestry from beginning to end which is lovely and captivating. I invariably search the melodies stuck in my head hours, or sometimes even days after hearing them. For me, Steve Sallow's solo on "After the Fact" is magnificent, his command in the upper registers being so impressive and his line so melodic that when he finally dives down into the lower register the listener may be caught off guard by the surprise that he is listening to a bass solo. The arrangements and instrumentations, which coax lovely textures from the group at times hearken back to the French school. Some of the movements at times bring to mind Darius Milhoud's "Le Creation Du Monde", which is somewhat ironic, being that the French masters Milhoud, Ravel and Debussy were highly influenced by Jazz, and so we come full circle with the their influence on Mr. Scofield. For me however, the most astounding and unbelievable aspect of this melody is that the distinction between the written arrangements and the improvisations is blurred to such an extent that they become one, and in their own method transcend some of the limitations of both mediums. If you are in the mood for a relaxing and undulating melodic journey, then I can't imagine not enjoying this music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    A mate of mine bought this CD for me, and I was doubly underwhelmed, first because I already owned it, and second because I had listened to it once and wasn't wild about it. But courtesy seemed to require listening to it again, so I did, and I thought, "Hmm, interesting." After a few weeks, I tried it again: "Hmm, quite interesting."You see where I'm heading with this. It takes a while to obtain this music. It doesn't reach out and grab you; you have to come to it. (In spite of the title, it's not really suitable as background music; it requires focus.)Where do the rewards of repeated listening lie? For me, in two things. First, there's Sco's always-interesting soloing. Like Miles at his best, Sco seems almost incapable of playing a cliche. (His sound does take some getting used to here, since he sticks exclusively to nylon string; that's a bit of a hurdle for those of us who dig the slightly-distorted tone he gets on electric.) Second, there are the horn arrangements, which effect in some really interesting textures. I've always dug Sco's horn arrangements; check out the album he did with Bill Frisell on Blue Note ("Grace Under Pressure," I think it was called).Bottom line: I'm selling one copy and hanging on to the other!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    As with all amazing music, repeated listening unearths fresh pleasures. Scofield has always been a masterful player and composer--with Quiet he proves an inspired arranger as well. Exquisite music and harmony pour out of every track with subtle and precise horn arrangements that add the dynamics to create each selection a rich and bountiful feast. Reminiscent of Gil Evans yes, but married to a distinctive guitar style and compositional perspective that accomplishes something new and deeply moving. Close your eyes and listen to this one--it is the soundtrack to a sensual and colourful globe of heartfelt substance and soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    This was some kind of dream come real for John Scofield. He penned these inspired arrangements with a bit of Gil Evans influence (partly in terms of instrumentation) and then had the eminent Wayne Shorter as featured soloist (even if the latter was overdubbed, which worked out just fine). While he's at it, he performs on acoustic guitar!As Nate Chinen pointed out on NPR, the album has been widely embraced and justly 's somewhat unfortunate other reviewers were moved to submit negative reviews -- one calls it uninspired and another says it doesn't work; both couldn't be further from the truth (it's their ears that don't work). While this record must have been challenging for them, and may not be immediately accessible to other listeners, the album rewards repeated listens, especially given its considerable subtlety. It's not that it is "quiet" per se, but the method the harmony is voiced within this special ensemble has a strong result on tension and release, which is amplified by the masterful e ensemble, by the way, recorded live in the studio (except for Shorter, as noted), includes: bassist Steve Swallow, either Bill Stewart or Duduka Da Fonseca on drums, Randy Brecker, mostly on flugelhorn (some trumpet), John Clark & Fred Griffen on French horns, Lawrence Feldman and Charles ow on alto flute, tenor sax (and the latter on English horn), Roger Rosenberg on bass clarinet, and Howard Johnson on tuba and baritone saxophone. That's a distinguished lineup you only search in Fresh York. While most of the guys had worked together in different contexts, this is another studio job where they create it sound like they're a band that's been around. monstrating further aspects of Scofield's range, this is an necessary piece within a amazing body of work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    this cd has taken me by surprise. i think it's my favorite sco cd. and i've heard it all. from blue matter to the überjam stuff. but this one is soooo beautiful. it has some awesome compositional aspects to it. the charts he writes for the instruments sounds like a maria schneider meets tom harrell combo....but still being total sco. i strongly suggest this cd. it has really taken me aback and i think that other sco fans should experience it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet []  2020-1-18 23:27

    John Scofield typically plays with smaller ensembles yet for "Quite" [edit: oops, that should read "Quiet" as noted in the comments to this review, but I will leave my error so as not to invalidate the comment]---which is an acoustic set---he goes versus the norm and instead of paring down, he expands the pool, drawing upon a dozens of sidemen, notably including Wayne Shorter playing tenor sax, Steve Swallow on bass, and Randy Brecker adding trumpet. Drums, French horns, woodwinds, tuba, bass clarinet, and baritone sax round out the sound on different e CD starts with two terrific tracks, After the Fact and Tullie, before it begins to fade, and to some degree, meanders during Away with Words. Mr. Scofield and company shine on the two subsequent tracks, Keep that Thought and Door #3, but I search the rest of the CD a bit repetitive and formulaic in comparison to the opening tracks. Nothing here sounds forced nor, on the other hand, does it sound Scofield is a fearless musical explorer and I'm glad he branches out in so a lot of directions. "Quiet" is neither my favorite nor least favorite of his a lot of CDs but it does offer a various experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    Some very amazing insights handicapped by an incredibly ponderous and overly verbose writing style. Desperately in need of an editor powerful enough to chop off all of the ramblings and extraneous facts. I am sure that the writer is very clever and well read, I don't need him straining to prove these bonuses in every so, overly states the pureness of science with a lack of humility, a tendency to self-righteousness, and a general distaste for much of social science (the word "studies" seems to be a swear word in his vocabulary). Spends far too much time attacking his academic colleagues, with the odd straw man thrown in for amazing measure. Not enough on the strong within society that are at play when challenged by scientific findings, including such things as companies not publishing negative results as well as climate and evolution is generally the best method that we have found to approximating reality and making sense of the true world, of which I accept exists. But it does have its shortcomings, and is not simply an unbiased "search for the truth." This reality, and critiques of science, has been misinterpreted and misused by those that have a issue when scientific findings clash with their assumptions and beliefs. Not a reason to throw away the whole uld have been a amazing book with a amazing editor, and a dash of humility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    I debated whether to give this two or three stars, and went with three only because I'm sympathetic to its message. The climate deniers, anti-vaxxers and flat earth movement are proof enough for me that there is rising resistance to science that's beautiful alarming. This is necessary stuff. But the book is only ok. For one thing, it's unfocused. There are long stretches -- and entire chapters -- that aren't about the battle on science at all, but about science history, generally, as well as some musings on economics. When it does discover the interests and factions that are hostile to science, it's fine but not really much more detailed or informative than much shorter articles that I've read on the subject. It isn't particularly efficient about delivering its message. Also, the latest couple of chapters -- which posit a "solution" to the battle -- were dishearteningly conclusory. His recipe for the cure is basically activism and organization -- but that's already event and has been for decades, even while the issue has gotten worse. There are a few interesting ideas here and there, and the book means well, but I'm not convinced it was worth my time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    Mr. Otto should be awarded a Pulitzer for his writing and a Nobel for his efforts at restoring sense, reason and science to their rightful place.His research and ysis is bang on the cash and his unraveling and revealing of the different entities at odds with fact based science in our society today is deeply insightful – and e only caveat or exception to his thesis I would draw into question, is his over generalization or characterization of the 'Baby Boomer' generation as being jaded or traumatized from growing up with the constant threat of nuclear battle looming over us (I turned 60 in January).I had to question (and laugh at) the reported findings in the January 1981 problem of the Bulletin of Atomic Scientists that suggested “...the trauma of unending fear and the need for hypervigilance could have psychological or neurological impacts on the developing baby boom generation...”.Quite the contrary. None of my peers (that I know of) ever suffered psychologically from the ridiculous and futile “duck and cover” exercise we frequently underwent and in fact, a lot of from my era grew up warmly embracing science in all its manifestations. We were in awe of the Apollo zone program. Additionally, a lot of went into science and engineering careers as a effect thereof (retired IT guy myself).Nonetheless, 'cherry picking' or 'throwing the baby out with the bath water' over one easy discrepancy would be unproductive, unwarranted and perform a disservice to this masterful book.When taken in it's entirety, this book should be needed reading for everyone, everywhere – regardless of age, race, social, religious or political stripe, etc.. Outstanding!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    Being very interested in science myself, I couldn’t wait to read this book. Shawn Otto highlights some serious problems concerning science today. He helped found the ScienceDebate www service which encourages presidential debate on necessary questions of science and lists the original top 14 questions facing America in the first chapter. We see that by 2008 several anti-science views had become entrenched in the Republican Party concerning reproductive medicine, evolution, and climate science. He notes that making science subordinate to authoritarian ideology occurred in cultures in the past, and those societies collapsed. We see less reporting on science in U.S. newspapers; newspapers had ninety-five sections in 1989, but just nineteen in 2012. By late 2010, ninety-four of one hundred newly elected Republicans denied current climate science concerning global warming. By 2012, antiscientific rhetoric had become normalized in U.S. the author notes, science “takes nothing on faith, science is inherently antiauthoritarian, and a amazing equalizer of political power. That is why it is under attack.” Otto gives us the history of science going back in time to the 1600s when American was first settled by the Europeans. We learn the role science played in the protestant reformation, and the contributions by the “Islamic keepers of science.” More recently, we see the distrust of science that formed during the development of the atomic and hydrogen bombs, the cold war, and the cloistered nature of scientists in the mid-twentieth century. Otto makes an necessary point at this point: “Democracy is, as we know, rooted in science, knowledge, and the biology of natural law. But most of our elected leaders have not had significant training in science, or, more importantly, in how the foundational ideas of modern law and democracy relate to, and grew out of, science.” And this is a issue today. We can see the public’s perception of science slide in latest years: by 1999 about 47 percent of Americans agreed that scientific achievements were very important, by 2009 the figure dropped to 27 percent. In 1994, Congress eliminated funding for the Office of Technology Assessment as part of a budget-cutting package. To add insult to injury congressional staffers turned to lobbyists and the Internet for science info – rt II delves into the history of modern science politics. A shocking revelation to me was that after Einstein won the Nobel Prize in 1921, right-wing relativity deniers were on the rise – really! The concluding chapter in this section covers the vaccine scare, Polio misinformation, and the rise of yellow and gonzo journalism – all interesting Part III, the author elaborates on what he calls the three-front battle on science. The first major front in the battle is the “identity-politics or postmodernist front, waged by academics and the press.” This part got a bit philosophical for me and was somewhat intellectually dense. Postmodernists apparently view all of science as a sort of public-relations campaign by the elite and that truth is subjective, not objective. The second front is an ideological one. Here we have the attack on evolution via creationism, the vaccine controversy, and the -education controversy. The author describes a third front in the war: the industrial battle on science. From Rachel Carson’s environmental concerns through the decades long war by industry versus climate science, Otto presents a very compelling acc about this aspect of the battle on science. I found this section very interesting and shocking at the same time. It is wonderful what efforts and extent some will go to in order to protect their selfish interests. It is in this section that the author presents a “seven scene way of cloaking rhetorical arguments in the language of science legitimacy in order to influence public perception and result a desired policy objective.” After reading this, it is no wonder that people are truly confused on scientific issues. The denial engine is incredible. One huge subject of discussion in the book is climate science denial. Here the author lists the top ten climate-denial talking points, and goes on to show a wealth of info on this the concluding chapters, Otto explains over several chapters what needs to be done to victory this war. In chapter twelve, he presents fourteen war plans that need to be implemented in order to do this.I have thoroughly enjoyed this brief tour “of the vast intellectual, ideological, and economic battle on science.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    If there's really a battle out out there (and it seems like there is, according to this book's title), then who is the enemy? And is this book the kind of weapon that will conquer that opponent and victory the war? Or is this book even a weapon? Perhaps it is propaganda designed to rally the troops? Maybe it's both? Despite Mr. Ott's bold invocation of the amazing old metaphor of war, these questions are not easily a collection of facts and history, that is to say, "Dear reader: this is the situation we're in and how we got here," I give this book five stars. As a work of persuasion, i.e., "So here's what we ought to do about it," I of the things I admire most about this book is its author's sincere and virtuous motivation; Lawrence Otto really wants to change things, and for the better. He even suggests this on the cover of the book. I earnestly hope that The Battle On Science does change things for the better. But in a globe of tweet-length attention spans, a nearly omnipresent digital environment sucking our attention in every which method and insidious echo chambers in both mainstream and personal social media, I don't think Mr. Otto's book will succeed.. unless he edits it. I don't think it's the right weapon for the battle he says he's fighting.Upfront, in case you don't care to read anymore: This book is a very amazing resource, loaded with years and years of learning, solid facts and amazing ideas (not all of which I agree with). It is astonishingly hard on postmodernism, identity politics and the anti-science and irrationalist movements of the left. But it is far too long, and neglects the readers who need the most attention. Kurt Andersen's Fantasyland is related in a lot of respects, and also unfortunately falls into this I wish to discuss something about this book that concerns me, particularly in respect to the author's own explicitly stated and (laudable) pragmatic goals. Mr. Otto's argument is that, in order to continue prospering and ultimately survive, science needs be more effectively incorporated into our democratic policymaking. Without amazing science to inform our policies, a lot of of them will fail, and so will we, our society, and so on. That seems reasonable and clear to me. But when trying to use words to achieve true political ends, there's another aspect of persuasion, beyond the soundness of one's argument, and it has to do with the audience. Sadly, The Battle On Science seems either not to have identified its audience or to have forgotten who its audience is. Maybe it hasn't. This is just my opinion. But my bet would be that it does not persuade the audience who most needs to be persuaded. So if its purpose is to change readers' minds (the ones whose "anti-science" collective decision-making is sending our democracy and the globe to hell), then it needs to persuade them. Who knows, maybe it will support those people's more science-minded mates to argue with them in science's favor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    Otto brilliantly and entertainingly weaves the links between scientific exploration, aesthetics, equality and democracy into a critique of the marginalization of science in public discourse and policy making, and its implications for the future of our democratic experiment and the planet. As an economist and former legislator, I could not recommend it more e book’s arguments extend well beyond the attack on science, to the diminished role more generally of research, knowledge, critical thinking, and expertise in political leadership and policy making. Otto then provides hope and a path forward by outlining specific actions that can be undertaken by the education, journalism, legal, religious, business, policy and foreign policy communities to turn this around.A must read for anyone interested in the critical question Otto closes with: whether “we, the people, remain well enough informed to be trusted with our own government?” And certainly for those who think public policy outcomes, especially when they impact the very viability of our existence on the planet, should be by guided by research, not faith and opinion. One would hope that contains most all of us – those who help the anti-authoritarian vision of our founding fathers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    The Battle on Science is a must read book for scientists and anyone even remotely interested in science or policy or politics or decision-making or life. Yes, that means e book is actually much more than the title suggests. Shawn Otto (one of the founders of ) delves deep into the history of science, but also in the psychological, sociological, political, educational, and religious histories and their interactions with science. He points out that the early leaders of this nation were promoters of science. George Washington said "There is nothing which can better deserve our patronage than the promotion of Science and Literature." Jefferson heavily promoted science during his presidency and noted as he was leaving office that "Science is my passion, politics my duty." Amazing Republicans presidents such as Abraham Lincoln, Teddy Roosevelt, and William McKinley all emphasized the importance of science and technology. The author notes that Republicans were once the party of progressive optimism and tolerance, of environmentalism and finance, of rationalism and national parks. Only recently have Republicans turned versus science. [But Democrats have their anti-science as well, which he discusses]The reasons for this turn toward antiscience are discussed in amazing detail. Otto digs into the history of religious intolerance for science that contradicts scripture, most notably by the excommunication of Galileo (who, ironically, was devoutly religious), but also with a lot of other examples ranging through history to today. He examines the interplay of antiscience and "freedom," including how fear of annihilation from Cold War/nuclear weapons led to the "live for today" attitude of the 1960s. But not just nihilism, this constant stress and attachment to the "military-industrial complex" caused a suspicion of science.Further, the book delves into the turn towards postmodernism, which denied the existence of objective truth, claiming that all "truth" is subjectively in the eye of the beholder and that your opinion (often, ignorance) is as amazing as decades of scientific fact. This postmodernist believe severely damages education, where no longer are students expected to learn from aculated facts but how they "feel" about reality. The media promotes this subjectivism, combined with the need to make controversy to garner ratings, as well as promote "false balance." All of these erode citizen confidence in science for no reason other than to assuage their fears of the o also takes a closer look at the "three-front battle on science" from identity politics, ideology, and industry. All three provide substantial and substantive background and ysis and should be read closely. The third, "The Industrial Battle on Science," is extensive and examines the long and fruitful tactics of industries (often working in tandem with religion and media) to deny established science and delay or eliminate any policy action. We saw this for decades as the tobacco industry denied smoking causes cancer, and today as fossil fuel and libertarian lobbyists deny man-made climate change, as well as a lot of other examples. Otto doents in detail the strategies used by denier lobbyists and their hired spokespeople; even quoting from their own tactic materials. He shows also how companies like Exxon and the Koch companies shifted from paying directly to denier front groups to slipping the cash in through "dark money" cars like Donors Trust and Donors Capital e final three chapters look at "winning the war" in the sense of how do scientists and others war versus the misinformation of identity politics, ideologies, and industrial disinformation campaigns. In short, it isn't easy. Otto discusses how to engage in conversations in ways people can relate to. He also proposes a series of 14 "battle plans" to communicate science and overcome denial. The plans start with something as easy as "doing something;" getting out there and trying to communicate. They continue with specific actions like creating a science advisory organization, pushing for science debates, using science advisors more effectively, and reaching out to religious, educational, and political leaders to support them understand the importance of science and its role in policy making. Otto also suggests that scientists need to war back versus the harassment, disinformation, and private attacks of denial l of this can obtain rather intense. The book is dense in both info and thought. Otto has done tremendous research in a wide range of science and sociological history to develop the wonderful insights he displays in this book. I highly recommend that all scientists read it, but I also highly recommend everyone who has an interest in honest discussion and policy making to read it. Finally, every responsible American citizen should read it as it helps place into context our role as citizens in this democracy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    The Battle on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About ItThe Battle on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It by Shawn Lawrence OttoMy rating: 4 of 5 starsA must read for anyone who wants to understand the current political climate. The hostility aimed at scientists gets worse each year as our society continues to slip. Otto provides a history of the tensions between science and civilization and its three main adversaries of the moment: religious zealots, corporate PR machines determined to discredit global warming, and some post-modern academics who dismiss science as "just another way" of looking at the world. As Otto points, science differs from other fields because it relies on overwhelming evidence to help itself, using experiments to confirm their conclusions. The amount of anti-intellectual nonsense out there is overwhelming, people willingly working versus the future. At the same time, Otto calls out his fellow scientists to engage better with the public. My only criticism is that the book gets repetitive at times, but still though provoking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    Regardless of one's political or ideological persuasion, there are things in this book that will force uncomfortable self-examination. Nobody, no group, comes out looking amazing in a large-scale, catastrophic cultural backlash versus the idea that there is such a thing as objective is is not an simple book, or a pleasant one. It is grim, it is far-reaching, and it is capable of provoking distress and anxiety on almost every page. In addition, some have criticized Shawn Otto for an opaque writing style with a "word salad" of polysyllabic scientific and philosophical terms, but I would contend that he's simply declining to pander or condescend. And he couldn't do otherwise, because pandering to the famous appetite for self-validating infotainment is one of the hallmarks of the decline of respect for l your friends, tell your enemies. Everyone should read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War on Science: Who's Waging It, Why It Matters, What We Can Do About It []  2020-1-22 22:24

    I've been a scientist for 20 years, and I figured the author would create some amazing points. There are amazing points to be made, but the book is so poorly written that the reader can't search them. Without a discussion on the limits of science, the author fails to reassure the reader that there is hope, only repeating "science is good". The Death of Expertise is a amazing book, so create sure to read that one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perfect Vehicle: What It Is About Motorcycles []  2019-12-23 20:15

    Amazing book for those who love motorcycles. Very well written. A somewhat related book, also by a female rider is "Motorcycles I've Loved" by Lily Brooks-Balton. However I preferred the writing style of Holbrook-Pierson. As other reviews have mentioned, I would have given this book 5 stars if it was not for the chapter dedicated to Moto Guzzi bikes (it just felt out of place). Regardless, if you have a deep passion for motorcycles, this book is well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What To Do About It []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Amazing book with a lot of aspects of the coming water issue that I was not aware of. Uplifting note that there are possible solutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Improve Your Marriage Without Talking About It []  2020-1-6 18:41

    After two years of marriage counselling with a leading counselor in our zone and almost a year of therapy with a highly recommended therapist, I was ready to just hang it up and deal with the eventual divorce. Though we love each other deeply, there was a large chasm between us that seemed impossible to bridge. It was as if we were speaking in various languages. Hour after hour I sat in the counselling/therapy sessions and the harder I tried to "listen", the more distant and broken I felt. We went over and over the same problems with no one offering any true possible resolution. I just could not understand why she could not "hear me", my points were valid and reasonable, logical and concise, just as I am sure she felt hers were, but no matter how I approached and re-approached any given problem from various angles, the results were the same: I left each session in emotional turmoil, feeling manipulated, coerced, ignored, used, and felt worse most of the time than before we went in. I know/knew our particular "issues" are very common in marriage, but "talking" about them just created them all the more blatantly painful. Worst of all, nothing we tried was even remotely "fixing" anything. I was at the point I that I was fed up. I sure wasn't going to "cave in" to her demands for what I felt were even more changes to my behavior or even further concessions from me. It was painfully obvious that she was in a put where she refused to budge on anything. Our life went from "pretty good" to "gone". Every session seemed to just create the situation worse. The problems we had were now openly on the table but resolution was no where in sight. So now we were aware of the problems, but no solutions were in sight. Don't obtain me wrong, counseling and therapy weren't entirely a "bust". Because of the time we spent there, I learned a whole lot about "my part" in our marital issues and probably never would have found this book without experiencing the private growth I needed. I willingly began to work on "me" and stopped focusing on "her". In this regard, the counselling and therapy was "great" for identifying our issues, my issues, and eventually pinpointing a probable cause for our " meltdown". But my repeated gut reaction was that we kept going in the same old circles, never quite getting to "what" was causing it and "what" we might do to heal our marriage. As a man, if something broken I wish to know what it is, why it broke, what it was that broke it, what I need to do to fix it, and then get the proper tools and materials to do my best to repair it. If I caused it to break, then I will learn what not to do the next time, or at least the time after that. I also know that if I am really upset, mad, angry, frustrated, that it is useless for me to even attempt the repair until I can calm down and regain my focus. I could not see why it was so hard for spets in this field to tutorial us in the right direction. Yes, they helped me understand a lot of of the parts involved that were in disrepair and sometimes pointed me in the right direction to fix each part, but damn, where were the instructions we required to place the "whole" thing back together and tell us what was broken and how it got that method in the first place? We were both living in misery. I was lost for answers despite hundreds of hours of reading and researching, working a 12 step program, diligently attending the counseling sessions while spending thousands of dollars, and though I was gaining newfound perspectives on "me", I, we, could not search a method that would place "us" back together again. I went to my own personal psychologist, she went to a psychotherapist for EMDR therapy, I became involved with a amazing codependency program in our zone specifially for me, and she continued in her 12 step codependency program. We both began reading book after book, each one amazing at describing the "what", but never adequately addressing the "why", and more importantly, "why" what we were doing wasn't bringing us any closer to having any hope all of ever resolving our "issues", of making our marriage loving and compassionate like it once was. And then... what I now consider to be a miracle, happened. On one of my so far futile quests for answers, I stumbled across this book. The title intrigued me, so I dug a small deeper. Research on this book indicated it had perfect reviews by some of the other prominent writers in this field. The few negative reviews of note were written by a few marriage counselors in what I now feel were vain attempts to justify their stereotypical approaches, which simply were not working for me, for "us". (This book even explains why the mainstream approach to helping couples with relationship issues will almost NEVER work for a man.) Steven Stosny and Patricia Love approached our marital breakdown from a perspective NO ONE had fully place together for me, for us. Yes, I was familiar with every term they use, even a few of the concepts, but this book FINALLY provided us both with the reasons WHY what we were doing wasn't working and probably never would work. Both Steven and Patricia were well-schooled in the traditional approaches to relationship counseling, but guess what? After years and years of using the standard approaches and either failing, or having "less than optimal" success, they decided to uproot the system and test and figure out WHY it wasn't working. The effect of their efforts is an astoundingly various method of looking at marriage, relationships, the differences in the method men and women process things, and the differences in our emotional makeup. (John Gray grasped parts of this in his "Mars and Venus" books) In the end, our "issues" aren't the problem, at least they aren't at the root of the problem, they are more like "symptoms" from deeper underlying causes which, until this book, remained an unidentifiable mystery to me, to us. If your marriage feels broken, unrepairable, damaged beyond hope, I urge you to read this book. All the pieces of our indecipherable martital issues puzzle which I felt were written in hieroglyphics, were suddenly were comprehendable. Finally, someone had made a basket which would keep all our "issues", private problems, and did so in a logical straighforward manner, explaining EXACTLY what was going on. For me, as a man, even more importantly, they explained "WHY" it was event and provided understandable reasons for it. If you have looked for answers as diligently as I have, felt you have truly done your best, taken every step you could think of to place your marriage back together, and like me, still found yourself going in circles, spiralling hopelessly down an eddy of despair, read this book. If your partner is as flustered about your marriage as you are and just as committed to making it work as you are, the approach brought forth in this book will change your lives. I have no motivation for writing this review, I had never heard of Steven Stosny or Patricia Love. It is extremely rare for me to take the time to review any product, no matter how good. For me to take the time to do this, a product or concept has to be life-altering, absolutely phenomenal. I felt I owed it to any other couple out there that may be going through the pain and misery I have. I am not exaggerating anything with regard to what I have learned from this book, am still learning from this book and everyday applying to our relationship. I simply felt compelled to write this review because I know how miserable a failing marriage can be. For the first time in years I feel true hope and firmly believe that our marriage is on the mend. My wife and I are reading and rereading this book off the same iPad, at the same time. No, our problems are not yet resolved, we haven't even tried at this point. But the weight that those problems place on both of us is gone. We now know the basis from which our issues stemmed aren't so much the "issues" themselves, but more in the why and how they became so magnanimous in the first place. We weren't connected anymore and our attempts at "talking through it" just created it all worse. Thankfully, we have been given a method to work through things with love and compassion, because we are finally "connected" again, and understand the basic reasons we lost this connection and just couldn't obtain it back. My hope and prayer for anyone reading this review is that you too search the comfort and solace, peace and serenity, that the info in this book will provide you. And that you are finally able to "reconnect" with the one you love.... and stay that ace, DougU4

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Improve Your Marriage Without Talking About It []  2020-1-6 18:41

    This book gives both points of view. And the point of the book isn't to not talk at all. Contrary to the negative reviews. This book is about walking the walk, love beyond words if you will. How to present your love in daily actions not words in a method that your partner will understand. And No it is not about giving into either. The method the authors explains how men answer to women and how women answer to men is interesting. I have to say the author was right about how and why I answer they method I do. It is a true eye opener for me. I learned a lot about myself. Also I hate to read and I could place this book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What to do About it []  2019-12-29 18:38

    Glennon has a compelling writing style that makes me want he had been my professor in college. We think of water shortages as either very local or a western desert issue (why did they build there again?). Glennon brings home that water supply-- access to safe reliable drinking water-- is a national issue, a national problem, and a national victim of short-sighted policy. The healthier our rivers, the healthier our supply-- the more sustainable our use, the more cost-effective it will be. So small of our planet is new water, and solutions such as desalination have such high economic and environmental costs (have YOU thought about what happens to the condensed salt that is removed?), we need to focus on how the re-frame our use of freshwater in a method that ensures the show and the future. Glennon presents the problems and the solutions in a method that is accessible to everyone who needs water-- and those who cannot speak up for their own needs who live in the trees, the ground, and the streams around us. This is a terrific follow on to his first book and a more useful read in the ways in which it addresses solutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What to do About it []  2019-12-29 18:38

    Very interesting and informative book. Readable and full of amazing important water insights. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in water.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Feminist Lie: It Was Never About Equality []  2020-1-27 20:50

    I was really surprised, this is not a woman bashing book. The author gives examples of how modern feminism uses fear strategies to keep women in perpetual victimhood and encourages girls to engage in a lifestyle they will likely regret once they mature beyond clubbing and hook-up culture. He makes a compelling case using original quotes, peer-reviewed studies, legal cases, and first-person narratives. I’ve come away with a broader understanding of how rights and privileges for women evolved in the US. The author clearly cares about women and men and wants a society in which both can be satisfied together.I would recommend this book to Moms, Dads, and children older than 16.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Feminist Lie: It Was Never About Equality []  2020-1-27 20:50

    This was an perfect read and well worth my time. It was so dense that I actually had to read in intervals. While most of the content was not foreign to me, the specific presentation and structure of Lewis's premises and argument was refreshingly is well worth your time, even if there are grammar, style, and usage errors on almost every page. This could stand another round of editing and a reprint, but only because it deserves to be bullet proof, and I know people will ignore the arguments as long as there is simple items to cherry pick like grammar and sentence structure.9/10 because of the typographical errors. Pick it up. Begin chewing on some red.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Condominium Living, Is it for You?: It's About People []  2020-1-24 21:26

    If you are wondering what it would be like to live in a condominium ,this short but succinct booklet would give you a heads up on what to expect.. Gaspar and Janet Scaturro are experienced condominium owners and have managed condominiums for a lot of years. They give us an insider’s look at what it is like to live in a condo community vs living in a personal house. We also learn about how the management company and the home owners association support to manage and support to run the daily functions and the nuts and bolts of the building. What is the level of authority that governs the various groups when something needs to be done in the building or projects need to be contracted to maintain the building. All the info are discussed in an orderly and logical manner. If you are considering buying into a condominium community you should definitely consult with this very informative book about the inside working of the condominium community.Janet and Gaspar also talk about the human connection and the pros and cons of living in such proximity to your neighbors. Janet discusses her own experience living in her own condo unit. She likes to stress the human connection and the emotional benefits of condo living and Gaspar spees in the technical and the procedural processes of managing a condominium building. It seems that you should really understand both aspects of condo living before making your decision to purchase a unit in the building.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Get Fat: And What to Do About It []  2020-1-23 1:29

    It is not often that a book has a major impact on my life but "Why We Obtain Fat" has caused a revolution in my house. My wife and I started following the guidance in the book in September 2015 - now in May 2016 we are down nearly 100 lbs! We are never hungry and eat until we are full every meal. We consider this book somewhat of a 'miracle' as it has not only been effective but had several positive side effects such as increased physical energy, reduced pain (particularly a issue for me with my joints and skin), and neither of us has been sick since September (we're not totally sure this is from the book, but we're definitely feeling more robust).Everyone should read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What's It All About?: Philosophy & the Meaning of Life []  2020-6-23 18:31

    This is a amazing book for a reader who is not an expert of philosophy. One hears a lot of answers/maxims/directives/mottos when one asks about life's purpose. And on the surface a lot of these answers sound logical. Baggini digs deeper behind these answers and yzes in what ways a particular motto/directive makes sense and in what ways it does not. Baggini stresses the point that a lot of the easy mottos that are thrown around e.g "sieze the day", "always strive towards your goals", "just test to be happy", "helping others is the greatest virtue" could mean various things to various people. And some of the inferences that could be drawn from these mottos just do not create sense. Hence one should be careful about latching on to catch phrases like these without fully understanding what it ggini does not pre-suppose any deep philosophical knowledge on the part of the readers. So, he explains any philosophical concepts that he brings up. In this way, the book is also a amazing introduction to philosophy. As other reviewers and even Baggini himself have mentioned, Baggini provides no clearcut prescription but a framework which can be used to live a meaningful and purposeful life. Baggini discusses and identifies a number of components of the purposeful life, but it is up to the readers to work out the specifics and to bring it to fruition. I search this approach very hopeful and motivating although I can understand that it can also feel r someone who is already well versed in philosophy, this book might not be a satisfying read. Baggini does not spend more than a couple of pages (small pages and huge print!) on any of the philosophical concepts/theories that he introduces. But for the layperson looking to read her first book on the meaning/purpose of life, this book is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What's It All About?: Philosophy & the Meaning of Life []  2020-6-23 18:31

    This is an quick paced overview of different philosophies that takes a fun approach to debunking a lot of of the accepted purposes for our existance. If you majored in philosophy, this one will be a bit simplistic, but for the rest of us, it makes for an simple comparison of the different "isms". No, it doesn't really give us the definative answer(s), but amazing meal for thought. Does give short shrift to Fresh Age and Eastern religions due to the author's admitted lack of knowledge in these areas, but still well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perfect Vehicle: What It Is About Motorcycles []  2019-12-23 20:15

    Am currently reading this book after finishing Revved! by Stuart A. Kirk. I was sold on Melissa's writing style after reading this foreward she wrote for Revved!: |_ Riding is Mutable. Infinite, if you wish to obtain poetic. It is change itself: every second the landscape is rearranged just for you; every second takes you that much deeper into a future quickly becoming past. Changed chemically, until you come out the other side, remade. _| That is the writing style you'll experience when reading Melissa's "The Excellent Vehicle: What it is About Motorcycles".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Perfect Vehicle: What It Is About Motorcycles []  2019-12-23 20:15

    If you ride motorcycles a lot, you'll really have fun this book. The writer loves her Moto Guzzi and rides it daily. She admirably describes the attraction of motorcycling and the comradeship among riders. It's well written and enjoyable to read. I recommend it to my motorcycle brothers and sisters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What to do About it []  2019-12-29 18:38

    I read the Audible ver of this book supplemented by the Kindle ver where I place highlights and notes. found this book after viewing the equally thought provoking doentary "Last Call at the Oasis". The water crisis as described by Robert Glennon is complex. The book does a amazing job of describing it and highlighting that in most cases, it isn't caused by a single issue but rather is a effect of the interconnection of multiple causes (in other words, it looks at the entire system and how it is failing). The solutions are equally thorny and again Robert provides a amazing overview of the pros and cons of different solutions to give a very balanced understanding of the issues. It closes with a list of individual action stuff that we can each consider and (at least partially) act on so that we can support to begin addressing the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What to do About it []  2019-12-29 18:38

    This is an simple to read perfect book on the water crisis in the US. I was astounded by the attitude expressed by Las Vegas in justifying their ridiculous consumption of water to the detrement of surrounding locations and those "downstream from them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What To Do About It []  2019-12-8 18:53

    I read the Audible ver of this book supplemented by the Kindle ver where I place highlights and notes. found this book after viewing the equally thought provoking doentary "Last Call at the Oasis". The water crisis as described by Robert Glennon is complex. The book does a amazing job of describing it and highlighting that in most cases, it isn't caused by a single issue but rather is a effect of the interconnection of multiple causes (in other words, it looks at the entire system and how it is failing). The solutions are equally thorny and again Robert provides a amazing overview of the pros and cons of different solutions to give a very balanced understanding of the issues. It closes with a list of individual action stuff that we can each consider and (at least partially) act on so that we can support to begin addressing the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What To Do About It []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This book is very readable and has an necessary message. We saw the speaker latest night and he confirmed all the info in the book...things haven't changed. The book has amazing examples and some possible solutions. We all need to pay attention to our water crisis. Worth the read even if it makes one feel guilty!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What To Do About It []  2019-12-8 18:53

    I was looking for a book that could support me become a part of a water-saving movement from the ground up, so to speak. But this book is indeed so well-researched in regards to the huge picture of the water crisis, that it left me feeling quite miniscule and powerless. Yes, there is Vegas and there are large land, water and farming deals being created by entities so out of reach and so much more strong than us...but what can we do about it?I found it interesting the author admitted that he didn't take navy showers -- that is, to turn off the shower between rinses, as they must to save water on a ship. That seems to sum up where the author is coming from, or isn't coming from. I know my water-saving techniques around the house don't really amount to a hill of beans, but what about "be the change you wish to see in the world"? Maybe all we need as a species is for each of us to become that straw on the camel's back -- to push that cultural tipping point and turn things around for our future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Improve Your Marriage Without Talking About It []  2020-1-6 18:41

    While it's still to be determined whether this book will support save my marriage, I can say beyond a shadow of a doubt it has given a whole fresh perspective. This books read like my whole entire 14 year relationship (9 years married). It has given understanding about what's going on and how to go about fixing. Most importantly it's not telling me to act more like a woman... where I think a lot of of these types of books miss the mark.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Improve Your Marriage Without Talking About It []  2020-1-6 18:41

    I've never written a review for Amazon before. I have read a ton of relationship books in an attempt to create my marriage better. I got really frustrated because they don't seem to describe what's going on in my marriage and their techniques don't seem to have lasting effects. I loved this book because it seemed to obtain to the root of the issues rather than discussing how to mitigate the symptoms. If nothing else seems to work, please reading this book. After 15 years, I finally have hope that I understand what's going on from my wife's perspective. Here are the things I've learned:1. My fear of failure is my wife's fear of isolation, deprivation or harm.2. When my wife says she wants me to tell her my feelings, she really wants me to validate her feelings. This was an a-ha moment.3. My damage feelings are signals that my wife also has damage feelings.4. I can be completely right rationally and be completely wrong emotionally.5. My wife might see my need to protect her as trying to control her.6. I become what I practice. My previous interactions with everyone I've ever met imbue my current interactions with my wife.7. When I stay real to my core values, the outcome is never bad.8. Connect (think about a good, close time we had together) and be in approach mode before I talk.9. My wife responds to my motivations and not my goals and intentions.10. When I am mad with wife, I re-connect by valuing my core values.11. Positive emotions raise our mood a little. Negative emotions drop our mood a lot.12. Issues can be resolved when we both validate that each other's fear, desire and perspective is right. Each perspective is one side of the same problem. We must express deep heart-felt remorse which makes us emotionally vulnerable. We must repair our relationship by changing our behavior. Without changing our behavior we will not be forgiven nor will we forgive ourselves.13. When I feel defensive, I should answer to my wife's underlying vulnerability and *then* disagree with the accusation.14. Compassion is power. If compassion is available whenever needed, it's rarely needed.15. Emotions either positive or negative build momentum through the day.16. Intimate connection is based on shared values and not shared interests.17. The secret of feeling closer when together is to feel closer when apart.18. The deepest form of damage comes from hurting someone I love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Get Fat: And What to Do About It []  2020-1-23 1:29

    15 lbs lost in 2 weeks, 3.5 years ago. Low carb! No hunger, effortless maintenance. Dozens of energy. This book is so awesome it removes the cliche out of life changing. Cause it truly is! Cause I banged my head versus the wall of “eat less, exercise more” for 5 years with no results. And when I say I did I mean it — biked 16 m perday and went to the gym! Watched my portions. Nada!All I had to do this entire time is chop out the bread the rice and stupid tasteless starches!! That’s it! Really?!!! I am so mad at public health officials!! And nobody told me that earlier. Told that to all of us whose obesity has been rising since the 60s! All they did is take the pyramid and place it into a circle plate. Next they place it in a square and they call this informing the public!!And wait no hunger? Damn!Yep no hunger. 2 weeks, lost the 15 at was 3.5 years ago people.Effortless! Love it. Not going is book explains why low carb high fat (yes high fat! I said it. Read the book! Fat doesn’t create you fat and no it doesn’t clog your arteries) is the method of eating for e book could have done more on implemention on this method of eating. There’s only a meal list at the end. Super helpful but still. There are groups on facebook that help learning this method of eating. My fave is Reversing Diabetes where lots of people hang out for weight loss (cause those two are caused by the same thing, as the book says). As we begin we all have questions “the weight is dropping too fast. Are my scales broken?! Is this safe?” “Dehydrated with all this weight loss? What do I do?” “But how about my cholesterol” although that’s answered in the book. “Recipes pls”, “what do I eat for breakfast”I would have appreciated an Annex with 4 weeks of menus. Images of portions. Explanation of fat to protein ratios. Adjustment to ketosis and what to do. Just to obtain folks going.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Feminist Lie: It Was Never About Equality []  2020-1-27 20:50

    This book gives a powerful definition of Gynocentrism, Entryism, Propaganda, and Misandry. Then explains how each is integral to is book gives the strongest strategies feminists use to avoid addressing any problem brought up versus them and avoid addressing men's issue.1) They change the topic by bringing something else up. 2)They personally attack the whoever brings up the issue. 3) They use false comparisons. 4) They reframe men's issue/rights into misogyny. 5)They make public scenes 6)They manipulate entire en gives a lot of of the problems those strategies are used to deflect, avoid, and cover up.Feminist paint a picture of themselves being powerful independent women, who've overcome patriarchy. But their pattern is to either search a sugar daddy, welfare, or corporate sponsor to subsidize their efforts. Then deny the help and claim they did all themselves.Feminists have publicly admitted they wish to destroy the nuclear family. They believe no woman should have to deny herself any opportunities because of responsibility to her kids and that being a housewife is an illegitimate le privilege, Rape Culture, Male Only Domestic Violence, and the Wage Gap have long since been debunked. But Feminists cling to these. Their entire ideology would unravel if the public accepted the truth about those.Feminists use colleges and civil courts as rape tribunals. These tribunals deny men the right to an attorney, remain silent, a jury, and to confront their accuser. In such tribunals there isn't a criminal or objective investigation. Men are considered guilty simply by the accusation. These tribunals destroy men's careers or boys education. Feminists target men and boys, not even caring if the woman/girl in question says it was consensual herself. Those tribunals are an Courts work much the same way. Any accusation of wife or kid abuse is considered true, without any witness or proof. Guilty by accusation alone. Because of false abuse claims during divorce, Men lose their reputation, most of their assets and money, their wife, and their is gives vivid examples of how False Accusations and/or the Family Courts destroy Men Completely. Men's lives are ruined to the point of sum up: This book shows how Feminists have destroyed Family, Due Process, Privacy, Freedom of Speech, and Inalienable Rights. And that Feminism's claim to an ideology about equality is a Complete and Utter Lie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Feminist Lie: It Was Never About Equality []  2020-1-27 20:50

    While reading through "The Feminist Lie" I myself, was fairly aware to a lesser degree of the facts presented in the book. Despite this however, when reading the quotes from different feminists, sourced facts, and the accounts of the true happenings that have happened to people as a effect of feminism in society, I often found myself having to place down the book and take a break from reading due to an internal outrage swelling from what is contained in this e tone of the book is that of a person speaking to you that expresses his emotions and feelings to you in his words alongside the facts and sources, that it smoothly flows along. I bring this up because for some people(namely those of an opposing viewpoint), they could search themselves getting hung up over the method he chooses obtain a point across, yet they'd be hard pressed to acutally be able to refute any of the actual point e only true cons I can think of are some spelling and grammar errors I've spotted through my read, and that some thin-skinned individuals may obtain upset with how the author speaks at times. Most people should be aware of what the word/phrasing is supposed to be, and that this is his first written work as well.While I currently have the book digitally at this time, if it is possible for a patch or revision to tidy up the aforementioned spelling/grammar errors I happened to spot before I eventually order my physical print copy, that'd be awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Feminist Lie: It Was Never About Equality []  2020-1-27 20:50

    This seems to be a screed again feminism. Although the promo talks about "peer reviewed" this is more in the style of, say, Ann Coulter, than a serious piece of scholarship. All movements have, especially at the beginning, extremists who promote exaggerated ideas. This would be real of movements promoting civil rights, rights, states' rights, women's rights, etc. The case this author makes versus feminism is really a rant, not a well thought out criticism. Buying this is a waste of money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What's It All About?: Philosophy & the Meaning of Life []  2020-6-23 18:31

    Baggini is to be complimented for writing a book that, more than most, will obtain readers thinking about the questionable basis of their understanding of the meaning of life. By trade, he is a skilled logician, and will create a lot of uncomfortable about their previous assumptions. However, in a lot of cases, he falls into the same trap. For instance, his too-quick dismissal of the world's religions as containing small validity about the meaning of life because they disagree with each other is silly. There are certain moral principles, for instance, that are quite universal, such as the Golden Rule. He argues that altruistic behavior may not be unselfish because it usually makes the doer happier, so there is his reward. Yes, altruistic behavior does not necessarily require that we must in parallel be no more satisfied in performing it. This book is filled with non sequitor examples, so reader beware. You will be stimulated, but maybe also frustrated by the twists and turns in the author's thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What's It All About?: Philosophy & the Meaning of Life []  2020-6-23 18:31

    Julian Baggini begins with a blast, but ends a small lackluster. The first-two chapters examine what if, or why should, the existence/non-existence of God create a difference into determining the meaning of life. The remaining chapters evaluate "other" claims some people often create as to what they search "meaningful" in their lives. The "bottom line" is that living itself, for its own sake, is what truly the only thing that gives life meaning, and that all the other ascriptions are, at best, some of the reasons that build into "life lived."I'm not the least bit surprised that a modern ytic philosophy like Baggini ultimately finds refuge in the thought of Jean-Paul Sartre, because only existentialism has asked the "big" questions that philosophy is suppose to respond in the past 800 years. There are a lot of perfect works that create Sartre more accessible than his horrid "Being and Nothingness," with "Existentialism and Humanism" topping the list. Robert Solomon is another modern ytic philosopher drawn to the existentialist mode, and his readings always produce perfect fruit.If one wants a fast discounting of all the traditional answers given to the question, this book fills that need. But for a more evaluative understanding, seek either Sartre or Solomon. Overall, a amazing read, but the tedium starts to gestate after the fifth chapter.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386