Read rajiv gandhi and me reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all rajiv gandhi and me reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    Highly interesting and informative book about the life of this well known, but not well understood globe figure. I reviewed this book for my non-fiction book club and they were captivated for an hour. This book is content rich it is best read in its entirety. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    Gandhi spent his lifetime working to see India an independent nation freed from Britain who occupied it. At times it seemed independence looked imminent and then political jealousy would intervene and the agreements would collapse. Gandhi practiced fasting, a sort of adult tantrum, to sway his followers to submission, he did finally see his lifelong mission to see India an independent nation before he was murdered at age 78.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    Most of us know Gandhi as a saintly figure revered the globe over, but this fascinating book artfully shows how a shy, innocent son of a local Indian government official became a relentless South African lawyer defending his countrymen in a hostile foreign land before finally developing into the deeply spiritual leader who returned home to combat oppression in rprises abounded for me.Did you know that this apostle of nonviolence tried (unsuccessfully) to recruit Indians to join the British troops during Globe Battle I? Or that his illiterate wife Kasturbai became a revered figure in her own right for joining his crusade for freedom and died in Gandhi’s arms when both were in prison?In this book, you’ll discover, as I did, how Gandhi became one of the most remarkable, complex leaders in globe history.

    0  


    Add your opinion on rajiv gandhi and me or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    Loved filling all the blanks on this man's life. Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    Very informative book about a globe popular man, and I'm glad I read it, but boy, was I horrified at how he treated his not good wife and children. He comes off as a true jerk in that department.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    A amazing more detail about his life and history of fighting oppression. It certainly presents a more humanly and flawed person than the character we have glimpses of in history. Not that any of that means he is not a amazing man in history who changed the people he came into contact with. I was surprised that he was so active in South Africa and one learns of his prejudices that over time time change. He like all amazing people had his flaws but we must never forget the major contribution that they created not only where they lived and worked but also to a lot of others in history such as Martin Luther King. I like to human version, it makes my understanding of heroes much more more flawed and human. Thank God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    A amazing summary of the life of this magnificent human being. A small light on Gandhi from a philosophical point of vies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    RecommendedGandhi didn’t do a very amazing job balancing the demands of work with those of his family, creating true strains in his marriage to his wife and his four sons, particularly the oldest who grew up to accuse him of neglect. He also wrestled with the biases of his upbringing in the rigid Hindu caste system – saying more than once that native black Africans were inferior beings – and he seemed at different times both controlled by a repulsed by his feelings of spite those shortcomings, Gandhi truly changed the world, not only leading India out from under the thumb of colonial rule, but demonstrating how a violent globe can be ultimately disarmed through peaceful acts of civil disobedience, a lesson place to amazing use by Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King Jr., and other transformational leaders. Gandhi was ultimately so unselfish and devoted to the cause of freedom that he place his life on the line countless times until he was killed at the age of 78 by an assassin. Some of us allow our flaws obtain the better of us. Gandhi never did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    This book about happenings that transpired long ago feels oddly topical today.Politicians in colonial South Africa, for example, used the same arguments we hear today about why outsiders should be feared – that immigrants will spoil things for the white majority (Gandhi began his career as a lawyer in South Africa defending Indian immigrants).As British rule of India came to an end in the 1940s, tensions between Hindus and Muslims exploded into violence – not unlike what happened between @#$%!e and Sunni Muslims in Iraq when Saddam Hussein was driven from power.And the non-violent approach that Gandhi advocated seemed just as nonsensical to a lot of people back then as it does today, when tyrants in locations like Syria and Russia answer to uprisings with is well-written book makes it clear why Gandhi’s inspirational notice of hope – delivered during grim times for an oppressed people – is more urgent today than ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi [Book]  2018-2-27 18:0

    Very informative. Flows well without getting bogged down in minutea. Solid biography. Highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    had me going [leeclerk org search court cases]  2020-8-25 10:13
    [email protected]

    more about the author why not check here north las vegas case find case find maryland court of unique appeals oakland county case find cook county circuit court case find More tips Visit This Link

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Very clearly written. Fischer actually spent time with Gandhi and describes his interactions with him. That gives more power to the book's portrait of the man. He gives a balanced picture. I learned a lot even though I had read a lot of other books and articles about Gandhi. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    amassing person ,we need a person of this caliber in today's world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Gandhi; His Life and Notice for the Globe by Louis Fischer was a well formulated and relatively comprehensive biography on the life, and times of Mahatma Gandhi. The book also explained a amazing deal of the political turmoil that Gandhi found himself ...forever foundering in.A amazing and spiritual man no doubt. Shades of a contemporary Jesus, Buddha, and Mother Teresa all rolled into one. A amazing spiritual icon but one who struggled to overcome those nasty small demons (i.e.: jealousy, anger, lust etc.), that affect all of mankind.He trained the "Tiger" to overcome the "Lion" by non-violent civil disobedience. Ironically, "non-violence" spawns "real violence" and the results are...sadly the was not England that killed Gandhi, but the same "Tiger" (India) that he had nurtured from it's captivity to it's independence.A very amazing and informative book for anyone trying to understand India and those who lived it's history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Amazing condition, suits me for my college class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    This takes us to Gandhi'ss life and you can sense thed beginnings of his non-violence. It's a phenomenal trip from his life from the beginnings to his tragic end. Highly readable!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Purchased this book for grad school and I really enjoyed reading this book! Gandhi was a amazing man!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Inspiring and hopeful !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what google did to me [york county civil case search]  2020-8-24 19:43
    [email protected]

    san diego county superior court case find obtain more click here to search out more henderson justice court case find king county court case find mo case net litigant find the this article

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    This is one of the best biographies I've ever read, in part because of the enormous charisma of the topic and in equal part because of the obvious respect and affection with which he is treated by his biographer, Louis Fischer. Gandhi's life and notice can be a life-changing experience for one willing to think about his find for Truth, and his unwillingness to compromise even in the face of seemingly insurmountable opposition.When I decided to read up on Ghandi's life, I was confronted with a lot of a lot of volumes. I didn't know which to choose, so I bought several, in hopes that at least one would be a amazing choice. I needn't have worried. This particular volume is little and thin, and I selected it in part because of its size - a thicker volume on a man I knew nothing about would have been too intimidating for a first exposure. What a unbelievable surprise! Fischer's story of Gandhi's life was engaging from the first few paragraphs and riveting through Gandhi's latest scher does not yze very much - this is not a history of Gandhi's influence on India and the wider world; rather, it is the private story of a man who touched lives. Mohandas Gandhi is presented in the context of his globe rather than Gandhi's globe being presented in the context of him. To me, that creates a more approachable man, one whose life can be emulated, not just revered. This is a must-read with the potential to become a must-do, or at least a must-think. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    I've read several books about Gandhi. Ever since that amazing film came out so adequately portrayed by Ben Kingsley in 1982, this man has captured my love and respect. The book gives much historical information, an simple read and grasps the soul of this man better than any other I've read. Gandhi was so much more of a human being than we may have thought about him. That is, he was not only outstanding in every way, but also very human in his thoughts.During his lifetime he was seen as a funny small man who wore small clothing. The globe DID create fun of him, including globe leaders like Winston Churchill. I remember the newsreels when I was a child, and the audience laughed when Gandhi was pictured, including me.But as I grew older and matured (??), the film "Gandhi" to which I previously referred, changed my entire photo of this special person. And I have read much about him since, but this small book gave info about him that no other did, private and only criticism is that it is a very small(the original paperback type)book with little print yet I was able to read and have fun it properly because it was so is book convinced me that Mahatma Gandhi was not only a amazing man and spiritual leader but is among the few in this globe that we can call a saint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World (Signet Classics) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Brilliant book...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    I got an perfect preview in the history of the country and am now in a position to appreciate the uniqueness and the challenges that it faces. The book is fairly detailed and chronicles all the major happenings that have unfolded in past 68 years of its independence. I think the authors been fairly objective in most locations as is evident from the style of writing. Would definitely recommend the book for every Indian to read and for every non-Indian who is interested in knowing the history and the show situation of India.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    A modern history of India in one book? Yep, homeboy pulled it off. Wish to know more about modern Indian history than most Indians? Well, here is your chance. Will you finish the book? I hope so. I found it a rewarding and surprisingly smooth read. Thanks for meeting the challenge, Ramachandra!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    This is the book I had been waiting for most of my adult life, but never knew it had already come into existence a few years back. Somehow, all my life all I could remember about reading "Indian" history was the ancient glory that India was, the dynamic multicultural land it became during the middle times of the amazing Mughals, and the emaciated mess it became under the later British imperialism. Real to what Guha mentions, "Indian" historical studies somehow stopped their narratives at the stroke of midnight of August 15, 1947.But, what happened thereafter from 1947 to the late 80s? Despite being an educated and enlightened citizen of my country, I was unaware, admittedly. Until I read this work of extraordinary scholarly is books touches upon so a lot of various aspects that the newly made state of "India" had to undergo and suffer. While the more well known north Indian and Bengal specific problems (namely, the ills of partition between India and Pakistan on Punjab, and the mess between East Pakistan and Bengal) are usually talked of in the context of the immediate aftermath of Independence and partition, numerous other (and dare I say equally important, if not more) problems like the ceding of north-eastern States into the Indian republic, the demands of people based on linguistic identities across the country, and the problem of independence of Kashmir, amongst a lot of others, are brilliantly retold in Guha's magnificently succinct and clear ha is unabashedly a Gandhian, a Marxist and a Nehruvian. This amazing book is no doubt influenced from that particular orientation. But, in all fairness, Guha has done a commendable job of being as objective as humanly possible. After all, all "history" is what the historian says. If you ever wished to know how the fleeting and fluid concept of "Bharat" metamorphosed into a coherent and distinct republic called "India", which incidentally at the time of independence consisted of roughly 530 distinct, independent and separate princely states, your journey stops here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    Born versus a background of privation and civil war, divided along lines of caste, class, language and religion, independent India emerged, somehow, as a united and democratic country. This remarkable book tells the full story--the pain and the struggle, the humiliations and the glories--of the world's biggest and least likely democracy.Ramachandra Guha writes compellingly of the myriad protests and conflicts that have peppered the history of free India. But he writes also of the factors and processes that have kept the country together (and kept it democratic), defying numerous prophets of doom who believed that its poverty and heterogeneity would force India to break up or come under autocratic rule. Once the Western globe looked upon India with a mixture of pity and contempt; now it looks upon India with fear and ing between history and biography, this story of modern India is peopled with extraordinary characters. Guha gives new insights on the lives and public careers of those long-serving prime ministers Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi. There are vivid sketches of the major "provincial" leaders whose province was as huge as a European country: the Kashmiri rebel turned ruler Sheikh Abdullah; the Tamil movie actor turned politician M. G. Rama-chandran; the Naga secessionist leader Angami Zapu Phizo; the sot activist Jayaprakash Narayan. But the book also writes with feeling and sensitivity about lesser known (though not necessarily less important) Indians--peasants, tribals, women, workers and musicians.Well researched and nicely written, India After Gandhi is at once a magisterial acc of India's rebirth and the work of a thoughful and reflective scholar at the height of his powers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    Apart from being among the best Indian historians by a long shot, Mr Guha is also eminently readable one. That makes this a fun experience as well!As Mr. Guha mentions right in the beginning, for some inexplicable reason, 'History', as most Indians know it, effectively ends around independence i.e. 1947. The period after has been strangely ignored, though it is critical to understand the complex mosaic that is India. And that is the single most necessary reason to read this book!A word of caution though: This is a tome and took me a while to obtain through though it was an absorbing & fascinating tale all the method through! So much has happened over the past 6 decades that any attempt to rush through would have been a true shame!Thank you Mr Guha! I only regret not getting to it sooner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    I love his work on "Gandhi before India" and this is his second installment but on Indian democracy (read - not on Gandhi, his forte).Guha attempts to respond very necessary questions on why democracy survives in India while there have been multiple coupes in Pakistan, tragic civil battles in Sri Lanka and unsuccesful attempts to hold democracy intact after independence in Nepal/Burma/African countries and some intresting discussions on social fault lines on US which dont exists in India (Hispanic versus White/others).Reading this book and others (e.g. Nehru: The Invention Of India - [email protected]#$%!haroor) I am now able to appreciate the monumental task which lied ahead of triumvirate of Indian Independence struggle (read again .. no Gandhi here) of integrating ~545 princely states into one nation, setting up IAS/ICS to conduct first free and fair elections (1951) and finally writing a truly secular and inclusive Constitution for protecting lowest strata of indian society (ScheduleTribes/Castes) at that time. The arguments, discussions went in during that constituent assembly are also well doented in this book with amazing rationale.He has place amazing arguments to convince you that the triumvirate (- Nehru, Patel & Ambedkar) lived long enough after India's independence to finish the most necessary tasks while other countries it didnt happened so democracy is books highlights the struggle a newly born nation had to go through to update not only in economic sense (5 year plan for agriculture/industry) but also bringing in revolutionary bills in parliaments (Hindu Marriage Act) to hold pushing society for equal rights for every citizen. Amazing data and references are show in this book which ends up making this book a bulky one but worth also goes into info on the usual hot buttons in political history - rise and fall of Indira Gandhi, all battles with neighbours (Pakistan/China), pogroms (1984, 2002), Kashmir problem, Babri Majid demolition, Mandal Commision and even economic liberation steps taken by politicians in 1990s. Perhaps most enjoyable parts of the book will be the commentary observed on most necessary politicians during that time because these action/reactions by most necessary people in power provides you a window into the thought process in their head which you otherwise never observe in noisy newpaper headlines :)This book actually tells you why a single language/culture/religion is not *the* only method a modern nation can survive ! The western concept of *mono* language/religion as the most essential ingredient for the survival of a nation theory is debunked successfully dian democracy is a case study, and its thriving despite its flaws and this book will provide you with one :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    Guha has articulated all the major happenings and people in Indian politics since independence. For most part his writing and description of happenings is unbiased. I am writing this review after about 1 year of reading this book and I can say a lot of info is still there in my head thanks to the simplistic and yet gripping tone of Guha's writing. I'd this book should be considered as a surface sweep of Indian politics and sort of gives you the table of contents. After reading you can choose for your self which set of happenings you would like to go deeper. Political history needs time and patience to grasp in. One reading of this might not suffice a lot people. You will have to read more books related to this one to revisit a lot of major happenings in Indian politics. Various perspectives to happenings helps make a more clearer and detailed picture of events, after all we are dealing with history here and memory is nothing but a private expression of ones own senses.I'd say this book is for anyone who wants to know about Inidan political history. But please do not consider your self an expert on politics after this 900 page book. Politics when described in books is void of violence, tears , emotions and most importantly truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    This book is a amazing read. Author has done justice to India's fabric by not taking any sides - Hindu/ Muslim, Centre/ State, Hindi/ Tamil, Congress/ BJP, India/ Pakistan. His ver of India's latest history reads like he could overcome his prejudice (or maybe he does not have many). He is written it very sensibly as if he were trying not to offend everyone.History is a tricky subject. Plenty of authors out there who write it colored. Ram has side-stepped that temptation. He uses detail and yet does not. It's a long book but a very simple read at the same time.I would especially recommend this book for Indians because we are taught something else in our classrooms. We need a balanced view more than anyone else because our State is trying to teach us a very badly coloured ver of history and our Politico/ bureaucrats hold on tweaking our history every year. My history book (too sot, bit honest) was nothing like my parents' (mostly British view of India's history) or my daughter's (too soft and yet Nationalist).It does not mean Ram's book is a poor read for non-Indians. Just that there are no snake charmers/ sadhus/ magic in this book. This book is not for virtual tourists or any kind of fanatics. Also not for businessmen looking for a reason to justify investment into or out of India. If someone were looking for one source of Indian history 1945 onwards, this is a amazing source. Lot's of amazing historians out there but hardly anyone has taken the problem to place it in one volume. I think its a very amazing read for young Indians plus anyone else in the globe who knows a small about India and wants to know more.Taking one star away just because Ram is too balanced. He refrains from plain-speak. I guess it's mostly because he is an Indian living in India and he has to deal with the consequences of what he writes. Maybe he did not wish to anger too a lot of people. Living amongst emotional people in a weak state does not support I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    Most Indians, view India's history as a period before 1947, independence struggle or mainly latest 1000 years of kingly rule. So unless you are an avid news reader or prepared for IAS (Indian Administrative Services) exam, chances are that post 1947 period is largely viewed as contemporary period where three battles with Pakistan and one with China are the only main ter independence in 1947, a fragile India was largely predicted to disintegrate within 20 years. However, India with all its complexities has proven the globe wrong, and has come a long way. So it is the happenings and characters after independence that have largely defined the story of a modern, democratic and secular is is a story of all ups and down since 1947.I have to mention here that, a lot of people in their reviews have been critical of Guha's largely positive portrayalof Nehru-Gandhi family. This is a matter of debate and long discussion but it does not change the fact that Nehru-Gandhi family has had a lasting impact on the direction taken by independent India and its democracy. Just a glance at our western neighbor immediately illustrates the point, as to what could have happened. So one cannot write history of independent India without portrayal of Nehru-Gandhi avo !!! Ramachandra Guha. Bravo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India After Gandhi Revised and Updated Edition: The History of the World's Largest Democracy []  2020-2-4 23:44

    an perfect treatise on India post independence. this is a must read for every Indian - especially the youngsters. Personally, there are few aspects that I don't agree with author - for instance, he quotes articles which holds JP Narayanan as party responsible for emergency. However, a topic as wide and as complex as India's 4-decade history, Guha does a tremendous job! history will remember his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mahatma Gandhi (French Edition) []  2020-2-3 21:55

    This is a reprint of the original 1924 edition with a fresh introduction. The popular French novelist Romain Rolland, a pacifist himself, wrote this biography to introduce Gandhi, who was previously unknown, to Europe. The book sold 100,000 copies in the first year and by 1926 was in its 50th edition. The prose is simple to read, even lyrical with a simplified story. Gandhi is presented as a Christ like figure and the biography takes the reader to 1922. Gandhi was assassinated in 1948.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Killed Gandhi []  2020-2-4 16:32

    Very honest account. It’s necessary for us to know all sides of the story to allow go of the prejudices we may subconsciously hold. However, killing can never ever be justified and this needs to be emphasized in this era more than any other. I want we all can think openly, live and allow live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Killed Gandhi []  2020-2-4 16:32

    Amazing book , gives a various perspective on Gandhi's assassination

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    The best of the best apps. I love it, its a very unbelievable piece if work. Huge ups

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    I love this quote,its support to develop self esteem

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    power packed life lessons in a nutshell. amazing !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    It has the best quotes ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Although i am a South African Indian,or African Indian and born in 1956 also cant trace family in India ,but i do know the history of Gandhis teachings in south africa ,hes a amazing man

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Perfect and intellectual quotes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    It's Always very Enlightening!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    I love and my life changes every day

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Pure wisdom and love from Mr Gandhi

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Wonderfull, how amazing this man was, an inspiration to our globe

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Wow is useful and makes me to remember the Horn.,King and Father of the Nation,ndhi

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    We need to walk with Mahatma Gandhi to save our nation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Gr8,non comprising conviction to non violence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Unbelievable and enlightening for one's budden in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    awesome brain that should latest forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    very amazing fool for the soul thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    the quotes are edifying and educating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    very amazing quitoes and soul searching

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Gandhi? []  2020-2-2 12:54

    Me and my children love the "Who Was" and "Who Is" and "What Was" Collection. It's a amazing method for children to learn about influential people like from our past and show in a fun way. Working towards getting the entire set, already have 38. Who ever thought of this idea and wrote these is simply Brilliant!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Before India []  2020-1-18 20:28

    What an interesting title. It's the "before" that at once catches the eye. While India and Gandhi are inextricably linked, this book derives its principal interest from how South Africa prepared Gandhi for his future role. As Jon Stewart remarked right away when he introduced author Ramachandra Guha on his show, Gandhi is truly a "global" figure in the highest sense of the phrase even in this era of mass celebrities where he stands taller than beautiful much everyone else to date. Indeed, whatever may be the future of humanity, and, however and whoever writes it, Gandhi will always be an essential player in that account. In simple, clear, enthusiastic prose Guha charts the evolution of Gandhi from a modest young lawyer with unremarkable speaking skills, one who had yet to search his true métier, to someone who became self-charged with a mission of fighting injustice in his own special and now immediately, famously, recognizable way. In time to come, he was able to keep the attention of millions when he spoke. From what I gather reading this book, in the second half of the nineteenth century, racism in South Africa was raw and unspeakably vile. How on earth a shy young man coming from a subcontinent away, ostensibly to practice law on behalf of a little Indian community in its diaspora, stepped up to a large challenge involving the very foundations of justice as applicable to all (if it is to be just) while still maintaining decency, dignity, kindliness vis-a-vis the aggressive Boers and British is nothing short of revolutionary - in the best sense of that word. The thing is Guha (if I understand correctly) suggests that nothing in Gandhi's background probably predisposed him naturally to war the wars that he met/chose. As the book points out, the "trader caste" from which Gandhi originated were just the kind of folks who abhorred rocking the boat. Profits rather than a desire for justice probably controlled their raison d'être. Guha's challenge is to present how from such a conservative seed bed arose this innovative "warrior" of the spirit and I believe this book does that very well. One critical facet that emerges from the book is that Gandhi possessed not only an abundance of "moral"/ethical courage but, surprisingly, a amazing deal of "physical" courage as well despite his apparent lack of physical prowess. Thus it is that Gandhi will always stand for me as the excellent antidote to the largest bullies of his age. In researching source materials for this book, Guha took advantage of newly arrived access to archives from post-apartheid South Africa. That was a amazing move on his part. I leave with the perception that the greatest of persons are not necessarily born that way. Like the rest of us they too have to swim versus the current to create something of themselves. But unlike most of us, time and cirtance evoke an amazing, out of scale, and yet benevolent response from them. Read, you have nothing to lose and much to admire!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Before India []  2020-1-18 20:28

    We are generally more familiar with Gandhi's efforts to free India from British rule in the early 1900's. This book covers his early life and, mostly, his time in South Africa. I was not familiar at all with the 20 years he spent in South Africa. He organized efforts to help Indians and other Asians living there to be accepted and respected as fellow humans with rights. The book is well-doented and, to be honest, a bit long, portraying this portion of Gandhi's life (roughly 1893-1913). It shows the development of passive resistance and the growth of Gandhi from lawyer to civil servant. Without his experience in South Africa, he would not have been as likely to be successful in India. The book discusses his powerful religious beliefs, vegetarian beliefs, folk medicine, along with his political and social efforts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Before India []  2020-1-18 20:28

    As a long time fan of the writer and having picked up this book in Berkeley, I was happy to read that the book was born in Ram Guha's mind when teaching a course on Gandhi at Berkeley in 1998. The title of this book is not just a play on words after his popular book India After Gandhi, it truly is 550 pages of the largely unknown story of Gandhi starting at birth (1869) and before returning to India after 20 years in South Africa (1894-1914).With a rigor that only Ram Guha is capable of, he arduously reconstructs the story of Gandhi's first 45 years from contemporary records of his years in Porbandar, Rajkot, Bombay, London, Durban and Johannesburg. While earlier works are a collection of writings by Gandhi or secondary works thereof, this book also referred letters written by others to Gandhi, papers of Gandhi's mates and associates in South Africa, records of governments of India, South Africa and England, and archived newspapers and publications of the time. It is a miracle that all these sources were stitched so perfectly in chronology and diligently edited to re-create a deeply private story spanning his early childhood, relationship with his parents, relationship with Muslim mates from school and then abroad, relationships with his wife and children, relationships with Christians, Jews and Parsis in his life in London and South Africa, besides Hindus from various states, speaking various languages and from various socio-economic conditions. For a pious Indian bania, his work with women was far ahead of his time as an upper-caste Hindu male in the 19th century, you can see his globe view shift after finding himself among an oppressed minority in South Africa, discovering the power of his moral hero and values, evolving into a leader of the Asiatics (including Chinese), while inspiring white South Africans alike, successfully experimenting with the ideas of passive resistance and satyagraha in the face of powerful colonial leadership, before returning to India as "Mahatma" and contributing to the freedom struggle in a decisive method with the same ideas. As an Indian, especially as an immigrant, I could relate to the power of these foundation years - more than half his life - in shaping a personality that we know to be the legend who is practically immortal with what he stands for. Some of the most unknown stories of one of the most famous men on the planet. You must read it and obtain inspired with ideas that remain as relevant as ever in the 21st century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Before India []  2020-1-18 20:28

    This wonderful piece of research, written in clear prose, gives a fascinating insight into the man, his family, and his time, and is a must read for anyone who is interested in the history of India and South Africa. Gandhi's wide-ranging interests, his ability to inspire and unite, his very human frailties and quirks,the awesome people he surrounded himself with, all spring to life on these pages. Equally fascinating is the in-built racism and class-consciousness of every facet of society, from Jan Smuts, the British administration locally and overseas, to Gandhi himself. It makes one marvel how South Africa ever reached 1994. If I have one criticism of the book, it is the author's seeming acceptance of Gandhi's racism. Inevitably, one must compare Gandhi and Mandela, and come to the conclusion that in this instance at least, Mandela was the better man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Truly and and awesome ways of peace for all times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    The quotes are an education in escalation or in continuety.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    His inspiring words always pushes me to do amazing things

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    I love to understand &fallow Gandhian method of administration in rural India please obtain me quotes on Swadeshi motto ,village industries,village Swaraj, the law and the lawyer,upliftment of women, women ture,animal husbandry, panchayat Raj & corruption.we inspired by the amazing words! His untiring relationship with Grameena Bahrath, specially his concern for Swadeshi goods please support me to obtain any literature and quotes on Khadi. May I expect early reply?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Amazing Application meaningful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    You can never have enough wisdom and devotion to the growth of the the mankind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    I loved itbit gives me the view to the beauty of life and belief

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    This application has only a few of the quotes that GANDHIJI gave😒

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Inspirational. Words of wisdom. Amazing for the mind & soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    These are the thoughts of a genuine lover of Humanity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Gandhi is powerful & inspiring but some long quotes cannot scroll to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    uplift the spirit and entreches the fundamentals of humanity and humility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    my favorite mentor and under-rated human alongside of my God and King Jesus Christ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    it was a fyn exprience to learn from such quotations that are educative and inspirational

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Quotes are so inspirational indeed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Room for improvement

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    I just love it. No explanation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    very inspiring and educative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    LOVE THIS, LOVE HIM

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    helpful for wisdom

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    best of the best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Gandhi? []  2020-2-2 12:54

    Amazing addition to my collection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Gandhi? []  2020-2-2 12:54

    Bought for my 4th grader. Simple read, very informative. I may have enjoyed it more than him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Gandhi? []  2020-2-2 12:54

    We like the series at our school and added it to our collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Killed Gandhi []  2020-2-4 16:32

    Amazing book that everyone interested in indian history should read. NG thoughts are captured well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Before India []  2020-1-18 20:28

    Almost about 100 years passed since Gandhi left South Africa. Unlike presenting the South African chapter of Gandhi's life as merely a prelude to his later life as a Mahatma in India -- like most history has presented us his life until now in a teleological method -- the author, Guha, explores this part of Gandhi's life as formative; as one which created a not so successful barrister into a 'Father of a Nation.'Rather than rely on Gandhi's own writings of his life the author bases the story largely from writings about him; to him; of him. I loved the method -- lucid, straight, and, yes, chronological -- way the author used to convey this story.We do not need the author to pepper and spice up Gandhi's life and to his credit the author doesn't. Gandhi's life itself is an inspiration to all. The author succeeds in presenting the unembellished story; and the inspiration we derive is striking and unmistakable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Before India []  2020-1-18 20:28

    Gandhi came of age in South Africa as a lawyer defending Indians there and confronted the racism, codified in their laws. His strategies developed by trial and error where he learned not to resist evil, turned into a strong weapon, in his hands. Tolstoy was a major influence in his development and they did correspond. This bio fleshes out his a lot of mates that helped and worshiped him. By the Time he left South Africa and returned to India he was already a demigod and he played that role well. This story ends with his leaving South Africa, but it is clear that there will be hell to pay from England's point of view. I can't wait to read the sequel and how they will lose India, as well they should have. I learned so much from this book and you will too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Killed Gandhi []  2020-2-4 16:32

    It is very unfortunate that as citizens of India we do not obtain the opportunity to listen to the other side. Indian history was written by Congress and therefore there is no room given to anything that is versus them. Current day politics is still on the same lines. Minority appeasement should stop for a just society to emerge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Killed Gandhi []  2020-2-4 16:32

    Because without rating app is not allowing to proceed further. Because without rating app is not allowing to proceed further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Gandhi? []  2020-2-2 12:54

    Who Was Gandhi? is a nice overview of his life aimed at children. It explains things in easy terms and contains plenty of illustrations. I highly recommend it for children learning about Gandhi and Indian independence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Gandhi? []  2020-2-2 12:54

    My 8 year old loves these books. Amazing series in general. Well written and educates kids in an simple to comprehend manor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Ads cover end of most quotes. Disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    No doubt his Quotes are pure wisdom. I love them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    All the quotes mean something and inspires everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    the quotes are quite thought provoking

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Calming quotes that suites the soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    very useful to all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    I always wanted to learn more about the late Gandhi an his concepts; concerning humanity..!?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Very Educational to trust 1's future expiriences to be more wise of reading them...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    These qoutes are perfect and l what men need to know how to live a easy life that can shake the globe .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    Peaceful and submissive to God

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gandhi Quotes - Daily Quotes [App]  2020-2-1 13:48

    From these quotes I learn how life is in this society!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386