Read records truly is my middle name reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all records truly is my middle name reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    This emotional tale follows Rose, a woman who grew up in a commune, desperate to escape to a more traditional life. She learns her family's secrets along the method until the moment she faces the choice to continue her independent family life, or return to what is left of her community. Rose finds the answers to the questions that have plagued her through heartache, love and loss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    It is amazing to see this author return to us. It is even better to see that there is hope of more to come. Let's hope ere are likely few my age that have not read Alice In Wonderland. I know it exists, but I just never have read it. Should I? Maybe but I am too old to is is a very enjoyable and well written piece of work. There was a slight burp in a misplaced letter, but it was simple to obtain past it. I have hope for the future Just remember, at my age, I hope that comes sooner than s I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    A delightful reimagining of the history of young Queen Victoria.I am a large fan of royals throughout history and this book is a amazing addition to that genre. Worsley paints a very clear picture of a sassy, impetuous young queen and her closest confidante Miss V. Most of the book focuses on the two girls quite early on in their lives, when they are about 11 to 14. For this reason, the book felt more aimed toward a middle grade audience. It was quite slow going for a while but also felt quite believable. Worsley had actually convinced me that this was the actual history of Queen Victoria and I was waiting for the twist. Worsley has done an impeccable job with intertwining actual history with fiction so that fake happenings were were created that much more believable. She paints a unbelievable picture with her setting descriptions. I was easily able to imagine the layout of Kensington Palace and anywhere else the girls e twist at the end was a worthwhile payoff. I would love to see more from Worsley in the vein of a sequel or novella following up after where My Name is Victoria leaves off.I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone with a bent for historical fiction, especially that of the British monarchy. Be prepared for a slow slug through the first half until it picks up pace, but definitely give it a chance.

    0  


    Add your opinion on records truly is my middle name or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    I went in not knowing much about this book except that it was about Queen Victoria's childhood. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book! You couldn't support but feel poor for Princess Victoria and Miss V Conroy. I found Miss V a much more enjoyable hero than I did Victoria, but that was probably the point. Miss V conducted herself as you would expect a person of noble blood to act whereas Victoria didn't act that method at all. Overall, I enjoyed learning more about the Queen's childhood, and I loved the ending of the book. This is a must read for fans of Queen Victoria.I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    I am a large fan of Nancy E. Turner's "These is my Words". This is the closest she's come to recapturing that magic of character, time and place, although she doesn't quite succeed. Once again we follow the voice of a young girl through her maturity. Nancy does this so seamlessly you don't realize how the narrator grows through the zone of reading. It's deliciously big, and I loved all the detail of the first two thirds. Then things started to obtain rushed. It felt as if an editor must have said, "Nancy, you've got to finish because we can't have a volume two!". While I thoroughly enjoyed immersing myself in this historical fantasy romance (what else to call it) there were times the coincidences with actual historical figures seemed a bit forced and the romance a small too "Highlander". But I still couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    I can understand why it took so long for Nancy E. Turner to produce another book. Her research in colonial North America is impeccable, from Quebec French to Protestant colonials, with a dash of pirates before plunging into the American Revolution and making it real. Could not place this book down. Once again Turner's talent for inhabiting a powerful female character's mind and life keeps the story moving in a believable way. Her ability to make love scenes without erotica which ring real and still could be acceptable reads for younger girls is a rare talent. Her characters develop over time, and there are a lot of of them to hold track of. A map of her travels and a family tree could have enhanced the inner covers of this monumental book. Nancy E. Turner writes memorable literature with the impact of a Gone With the Wind or a Forever Amber. Sweeping, well-researched, historically sound, and worth the price. Nancy, I hope you are already working on another book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    Review of My Name Is LeonHot Toasty Rag, April 6, 2019From the first few pages of this extraordinarily written novel, I was hooked. Since I’m renowned for my lack of interest in children, that speaks very highly of Kit de Waal’s writing style. She’s written a book for an adult audience entirely from a child’s perspective, and it’s engaging and e protagonist is Leon, a young black boy in England, whose mother is so incompetent and disinterested, she loses custody of her children. Leon is thrown into foster care, along with his infant half-brother whom he loves dearly and feels duty-bound to care for. While Leon’s brother is deemed adoptable because of his skin color and age, Leon is looked at as a lost cause. The boys are separated, and Leon has to adjust to a completely fresh globe he has no control over and doesn’t understand. It’s a brilliant concept, and one that could have gone horribly wrong had it not been so carefully crafted and treated with kindness. The story is painfully realistic, and characters who could have been turned into evil stereotypes are given e book does take a surprising turn by introducing a political English environment, so be prepared if you decide to read this book that a huge chunk of the novel seems incongruous with Leon’s relationships within the foster care system. I wasn’t prepared, and it wasn’t until I’d finished the book and read a question-and-answer section with the author that I understood why she included it. I still enjoyed the family and foster sections much better, and but there are probably a lot of other readers who would understand the connection sooner than I did and therefore wouldn’t mind it. Deep-feeling readers who see characters becoming true will have fun this book, since even I came to believe Leon was a true boy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    Very amazing story about a kid in foster care. It is a amazing story, by which I mean that the things that happen to Leon in Foster Care are primarily amazing and I think that is not the typical experience of a foster care child. But it is well written and Leon survives the system which is heartening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    I read the description and was reluctant to read on this day, having had experiences on both sides of adoption. I was having a day that required uplifting! Started a sample earlier today and finished the book. I was so engaged by Leon and his story. Awesome hero definition I could hear and see them all. Love and sadness and just true life, I couldnt place it aside, and yes the realness was uplifting and thought provoking through the voice of a child.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    This book is HUGE & a must have. My absolute favorite Prince photographer book to date. Attractive pictures captured by a photographer who GOT Prince. Thank You Randee for these pictures of our attractive Prince.💜

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    What a attractive book about the one and only PRINCE. I was amazed by all the attractive photographs captured by Randee St. Nicholas. Thank you Randee for putting this book together. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    Stacy writes about her father in laws accident and the awesome courage both he and his wife had to live a full life despite a lot of obstacles. Stacy is an awesome story teller and I look forward to reading her future books. Highly Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    I was finally able to purchase this book. As soon as I started reading, I was so captured by the story that I didn't wish to stop reading. I have been uplifted by the story of Bryan. Hi is an inspiration. I loved his attitude toward the trials that were placed in his life. He was able hold going no matter what happened and create the best of each situation. Stacy did an perfect job of keeping me in the story. I was able to feel what Bryan and his family went through at each scene of their lives. It is a well written book that I will recommend to all readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    I love this cd I already have it with 14 tracks but I wanted the longer ver with three additional tracks, I am a large fan of Joe...I have most of his cds. love his songs!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    I loved this book until the latest page. How are we supposed to give 4 or 5 stars to a book with no ending and no sequel? It should be stated up front that you will be upset with the ending (or lack thereof ). Wasted hours spent reading this book with no conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    Overall, I found this book to be quite disappointing. I was initially drawn to the intriguing premise and found the novel the be well written. The author also succeeds in creating flushed out, generally agreeable protagonists. The novel began to lose me with the slow, drawn out start. The exposition and rising action makes up ninety percent of the book. The climax and falling action come and go quickly. Not to mention the lack of any sort of resolution, but more on that later. The author spends a amazing deal of time, with unnecessary attention to detail, spelling out the a lot of past trials and tribulations of the male protagonist. So much so, that the suspense, romance, and intrigue of the “present” day story is lost. What small excitement is left for the current protagonists is again dwindled by the aforementioned pacing issues. The final nail in the coffin is the book’s obvious and desperate attempts at being revelatory. You cannot read a page without some line about the deeper meaning of life and all its mysteries being shouted in your face. While I expected a romance with a touch of historical fiction, it felt like a thinly veiled attempt at preaching a tired and cliche life philosophy. At the end of the novel, I was incredibly disappointed. Not only was I aggravated by the preachings of the novel, but the plot and the characters I begrudgingly rooted found no resolution. It felt as though I had suffered through the prolixious novel for nothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    This book spent too much time on previous lives and I felt like he was stalking his "true love". How do you fall so totally in love when you see someone for about 2 mins before she dies in a fire. I pushed through it but was extremely disappointed in the book not having an ending. Sorry I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    I love to read inspirational real stories. This story is based on the author's father in law. The story is amazing. Some people give up on life when they are paralyzed. Bryan had an uphill war but he never gave up. I feel like I can handle hardy things too after reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    I received my book on Tuesday. I had a busy day scheduled. I opened the book to sample a few photographs but created the mistake of reading Randee St. Nicholas' words accompanying the photos. I place the rest of my evening on keep and devoured the poignant stories and anecdotes Randee shared of a twenty-five year collaboration. I learned to appreciate Prince and Randee far beyond the surface photos of a photogenic icon and a talented photographer. This book is a journey and revelation. If you admire or even love Prince the artist, obtain this book and explore Prince the human being. I admired him immensely as a consummate maker of music. Now I realize he was all that and so much more. The small guy was large in every way. Randee St. Nicholas reveals the intimate without diminishing the mystique!! Brilliant!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    Unbelievable with unbelievable pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    Alexa Kingaard has written an intricately crafted, compelling novel that will hold the reader turning pages. One theme is to be careful what you want for as events, fortunes, and misfortunes of life double back upon our main hero Rose. These cause her to rethink a lot of of her earliest e story follows the life of Rose, who grows up in a hippy commune in Washington State. Her parents, “Glory” and “River,” had chosen their names and lifestyle, dropping out of mainstream life in the 1970s. Despite a easy pastoral existence with cozy Sunday dinners featuring homegrown produce, commune neighbors, “Aunt” Fern, “Uncle” Jacob, and Mom’s delicious homemade biscuits, Rose is bored. She has had enough of wearing clothes from second-hand stores. She longs to escape to the town and become acquainted with the huge world, new ideas, and some materialistic aspects of se begins her quest early by convincing her parents to allow her and commune cousin Destiny go to the local public school. They are joined by Destiny’s visiting cousin, Andrew. It doesn’t take long for Rose to develop a crush on Andrew, who is a bit older than the two girls. Unfortunately, her love is unrequited. Later, Rose attends college at the University of San Francisco—as it turns out, her mother’s alma mater. She meets the love of her life at a beach bonfire, who reconnects Rose—for better and for worse—to the past she is trying to day while visiting her maternal grandmother in San Francisco, she sees in an old image album a picture taken at her mother’s eighteenth birthday. An photo in the picture reignited suspicions Rose has kept to herself for years about her relationship to close family se spends her middle years in mainstream society as a wife, mother, interior designer, and seeker of the truth about the family “secret.” Will she search the answers she thinks she needs to quell her anxieties? If she does, what will she do with the information? What can she learn about her attitudes towards her parents and their lifestyle? Can commune living have benefits she never realized as a child?I recommend My Name is Rose to readers who like historical fiction with a bit of romance and a twist of mystery. And if you’ve ever wondered what to do with an necessary secret, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    A well written book.. Engaging and hard to place down. A totally enjoyable experience and leaves the reader wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    It was great, nice twists and turns instead of evil ones. Clearly more is coming, can't wait!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I would like to know what happens to him or her and when is the next part of the story is going to be continued

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    if you have fun Lucy Worsly doentary's then you will have fun her books. there is a young feeling about her writing. this is the second book by her that i have brought and i look forward to buying more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    This is a fictional acc of Queen Victoria's childhood and the other girl named Victoria who was her companion. This book portrays the method Victoria was treated under Sir John Conroy's Kensington System. Victoria was kept in Kensington Palace under an extremely restrictive kind of security and deplorable conditions. The story is written from the perspective of Sir John's daughter Victoria and follows their experiences from age ten through age eighteen when Victoria becomes the Queen of England. Can the girls outwit the cruel and power hungry Sir John?I enjoyed this book overall. It was a special take on Victoria's childhood. It's so sad to think that she may have been treated so cruelly by Sir John Conroy. Most of the story was believable to me until the very end of the book, from the time they met Prince Albert until the end of the book. That plot twist was unexpected and improbable. Other than that, I really enjoyed reading about the girls' relationship and the method they fought Sir John's policies. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction. I believe this book would be amazing for middle grade and high school students.I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley. A positive review was not required, and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    An engaging read told from the point of view of Leon an eight year old boy who we meet as he visits his mother in hospital as she has given birth to his fresh brother Jake. Leon adores his mother and his brother and as his home life is chaotic he believes he can look after them both , but as things go from poor to worse he has to ask for support which changes his life forever. The child’s voice comes across very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    Well written kid's voice. Leon's father was black, but his baby brother had a white father, and thus is more adoptable, after their mother has a breakdown.Sweet tie into the allotment (the public garden), and how growing things helps the is hard, and life is unfair, and it all seems to be poor for Leon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    As happenings kept unfolding in this story I couldn't support but think there were too a lot of things that went on in this ladies life to the point that it was ridiculous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    I owned his cd in past and was satisfied to obtain it again! I don't recall what happened to my first one but won't allow this copy obtain away! Joe is a amazing singer with amazing voice , and you can listen to this without skipping a song. Its that good! I will be ordering more Joe cds in near future! I am and have always been a fan from the start! If you love the melody of Joe obtain this asap for your collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    Amazing Album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    For those that have just gotten done reading this book and have come to the reviews looking for answers: Yes, that was the end. No, there is no sequel. r those that are considering picking up this book: Do it. But don’t expect resolution at the end because you’re not going to obtain it. I like to believe that a book that provokes an emotional response is a book worth reading.I just finished this book and I feel vulnerable..maybe even a bit raw. A shot of tequila was definitely had.I don’t think this book is about resolution, but more so understanding. So if you’re ok going into a book knowing that you won’t search a traditional ending- go for it. If not, go watch a Hallmark film and live a peaceful life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    I would have easily given this book five stars had it provided any resolution. It did not. The concepts and characters are complex, the writing is thoughtful and well paced, but a book that has no conclusive ending is, TO ME, worse than no book at all. Authors are usually writers who appreciate story-telling, and understand how invested readers become in compelling stories and characters. I'm not sure what happened here. I've read in other locations that this was intended to be a series but the publisher nixed it. That doesn't hold the author from honoring her readers by writing it and self-publishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Ten-year-old Resolute Talbot's privileged life on a Jamaican plantation abruptly ends in 1729 when pirates slay her parents and take the kids as slaves. Suddenly, Resolute, her 15-year-old brother August and 20-year-old sister Patience are hostages on a ship, sailing for some unknown parated from her siblings, Resolute finds herself the slave of a family who works her day and night. It's almost a relief when Indians raid the village, taking everyone hostage and selling them to a French Catholic religious community.While the nuns are kinder than her previous captors, Resolute can never forget the hard truth...they are still her captors. She is worked hard in the fields and in the weavers' barn, knowing she is not allowed to leave the day Resolute's possibility comes along and she and her sister create their daring escape. Yet amidst her jubilation at finally being free, Resolute finds she's paid quite the price...she is now alone, in the unfamiliar globe of Lexington, rough years of hard work and perseverance, Resolute, her husband and family manage to create a amazing living for themselves. But rumbles of discontent are show as early as the 1760s, as the British government begins to increase their taxing and oppression of the American colonies. What role will Resolute take in fighting back?It's clear that Turner did a tremendous amount of research about life in the 1700s, yet her writing style still keeps the modern audience in mind. Just as with her previous books, Turner creates realistic three-dimensional characters to which any reader can and will relate. Readers will be intrigued by the headstrong Resolute, unable to stop reading until her story is concluded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    If I could be an author and write a masterpiece, it would be this. Amazing. A story of a life well lived, in a time when our country was just beginning. A war for liberty. Oh , to be a part of it. What a amazing character, Resolute. Thank you, Nancy Turner, for a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    Where to begin with all the emotions this unbelievable book conjures up in me.I remember being a teen, and thinking how much better things would be when I was this book Rose thinks leaving her lifelong home will bring her a lot of ways it does, but in the end like so a lot of of us we come full circle, and realize that home is exactly what we needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    As well as a heartwarming story. Family life at it's best reality...all the characters were MAIN characters. Also necessary to me: a amazing ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    First off, I would STRONGLY suggest the Author of this effort be completely and thoroughly reviewed and quite possibly edited and updated. It tends to be confusing and some of the characters need to be reviewed/revised (ie., The cheerleader Kia who has a boyfriend Brian. Kia is also called Mia) reducing the confusion. Just a suggestion but may passages tend to lead to confusion due to grammatical and punctuation ybe some extra study of sentence structure, paragraph structure, and overall writing structure would do this effort a globe of good; going from a so so mediocre effort to a really amazing effort! Amazing plot and effective progression to a conclusion would also be improved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    Book is badly formatted with paragraph breaks occurring mid-sentence. One of the main character's name changes and then changes back. Words are used improperly (conversion is not a synonym for conversation).The story is about a boy who identifies as male. However, he is very feminine, so all those around him insist he needs to identify as female, which I found offputting.With the support of a doctor who violates HIPAA, the boy receives "proof" that he can only be female. The boy decides he identifies as...well, after reading of his tribulation, we do not know, as the the book ends abruptly with the implication that another book is to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    I received a free E-Arc from rst things first, I loved this book. Okay, I loved 90% of this book. It was a thoroughly enjoyable novel, a fascinating insight into the early years of Princess Victoria and an exceptionally well-researched novel. If anyone has read the Lady Grace Mysteries set in the first Elizabethan England I would recommend this story to e first half of the story follows the exploits of the young Princess and her mate Miss V. at the age of about 11. This part of the story is long and detailed, but that's no poor thing because the second half of the novel is somewhat faster paced and follows the two girls between the ages of about 16 and e author manages to portray the opponent of the story, Miss V's father, Sir John Conroy, in both a sympathetic and a cruel way, highlighting his meanness and ambitions for his future, while also showing him as an almost loving father to his daughter, Miss V. It is only near the end of the novel that his ambitious nature makes it almost impossible to like the man incess Victoria's mother is a shadowy hero who is hardly ever seen, and it's the nurse and the governess who populate the majority of the story, along with their dog, Dash, and not good old Princess Sophia, at least until near the end of the story when a few German princes create an appearance. And it was from here on that I disliked the story. I genuinely can appreciate the author's intentions in making some changes to the accepted story, but the more I think about them, the more I think that it's just a reach too far to expect the reader to accept the changes. Almost like Alison Weir with her fictional books on Elizabeth I, I found the changes to undermine my own, previous, appreciation of the 'historical personage' and it went too much versus what I was expecting to be simple to accept and quite frankly, it annoyed me a ill, if I can forget that, I must applaud the author for this attempt to portray the early years of Princess Victoria. This is a fascinating and enjoyable acc and I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    Some pictures of Prince are nice but a lot of are grainy / blurry / dark. It's an okay book. The book was damaged when it was being place in the box for shipping. It wasn't place in bubble wrap either and it should have been. Debating on whether to hold it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    Wow! Absolutely gorgeous hard cover book filled with awesome pictures! The book was much bigger and heavier than I was expecting! Must buy for fans! Perfect work Randee!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    I can't say enough amazing things about this book. Based on the life of the author's father-in-law, she has approached the story with integrity, love, sincerity, and skill. I recommend this book to anyone who might be having trials in their own life, feeling sorry for themselves, or enjoys a story of a winning spirit versus impossible odds. This book and this man will be an inspiration to all who read llowing a life changing accident, Bryan Carroll refuses to give up. With his zest for life, a can do spirit, and wife and family who love and help him, he turns the hand he's been dealt into a successful life. Not without trials and disappointment, but each time there is a setback he and his wife pick themselves up and move on. Amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    This is the third book that I've read by Stacy Lynn Carroll, and I really have fun her writing. My favorite book by Stacy Carroll is The Year I Dated the Internet, but I really enjoyed this novel that was based on a real story. I also listened to the audiobook, and I loved the narrator! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    Bryan is a remarkable individual who handles his private catastrophic injury of a broken neck, with patience, grace and dignity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Tryst []  2020-7-26 21:5

    READ THE TRIGGER WARNING!!!!!!If you read this book, then you read Love Lost Her Way. You know that both of these books are not for the light hearted. Especially this ystan Browne is not a hero.He’s a creature of the worst kind but he’s also a victim.Julie Anne Addicott took this story that I’m sure was difficult to write and place Tryst’s psychotic thoughts into attractive is book has so much depth and feeling to so take breaks when you need to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    This is a heart-wrenching story of a young boy who goes into the foster system, never to obtain out. Along with Leon is his baby brother Jake, but Jake is a white baby and is adopted quickly while Leon is stuck in the system. Leon has to leave behind his favorite toys, his mentally challenged mother, his grandmother and the only home he has known. He goes into a globe of ladies who seem to like him okay, but do they really love him? He sets out on a quest to search Jake again and to take care of him as he did when Jake was a young infant. This seems to be a realistic look at the foster care system and at kids who wish to escape but can’t. It also portrays, in the background, the upcoming wedding of Princess Diana to Prince Charles and the racial tensions of the early 1980’s.DisclaimerDisclosure of Material Connection: I own a hard copy of this book, purchased from Amazon. I was not needed to write a positive review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    Not the kind of story I would typically read, was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this. Very compelling and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    This album is a amazing one and Joe does an amazing job on all of his songs in this album and he makes every song his own with his amazing R & B style. If you wish some amazing melody by a amazing artist especially Rhythm and blues, This is the album for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    5✨“Love demands everything, they say, but my love demands only this; that no matter what happens or how long it takes, you’ll hold faith in me, you’ll remember who we are, and you’ll never feel despair.”This will go down as one of my all time favorite reads.Daniel & Lucy are a pair that are unforgettable. This is a love story that transcends time. Isn’t true, lasting, unforgettable love all any of us ever want?I loved the idea of our souls remembering who we were in past lives and finding the ones we loved the most no matter the is was a book that I wanted so badly to devour all in one sitting, but I only allowed myself to indulge small chapters a day because it bonuses you with fresh ways of thinking, alluring thoughts on life after death... or life after life maybe Daniel would rather say.I recommend this book to everyone with my whole entire heart! Read this book! You won’t be sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    To have loved and lost is hard enough, but to go through it over and over for centuries would be more than painful. However, Daniel shouldn't repeat a pattern that has proven unsuccessful in the past, especially since he remembers everything. I wanted to yell that he was doing it again, and create him stop! Especially in light of Lucy's untold secret. But he was thinking of the greater good, and how can you argue with that. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is [App]  2019-5-8 13:7

    This application allows me to remember people's faces, never again falling victim to that awkward scenario of forgetting someone's name.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    Alexa Kingaard truly draws you into the story of Rose! It was a book about a young girl's life growing up in the 60's in a commune somewhere in the Pacific Northwest. The story is simple, yet draws you into the hero and her desire to become part of the REAL globe she never experienced as a young girl. I literally did not wish to place the book down! I hated to see it come to an end! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    I'm not into reading romance novels. I'm not sure this even classifies as one. It's just a amazing tale about a woman who grew up on a commune and rebels. She makes a life of her own and discovers some secrets she deserves to uncover. I really enjoyed it, and it was a quick read. In fact, I couldn't place it down. just as Rose goes on a journey to explore some truths about her past, the reader goes right along with her, anxious for an answer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    An intriguing and heartfelt story with twists and turns I didn’t expect. Ms. Kingaard writes with a flow that carries the reader effortlessly. I will be looking for more books by her in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    The story and most of the language is good...apart from the occasional grammar problems and using the wrong pronouns and name here and there. So in short the books suffer from not good editing. Oh yeah forgot the most annoying thing and that is the frequent line brakes that cut up paragraphs..If you can oversee those problems I think that the story is generally ok, and I actually like much of the dialog and quick switching of is a bit of a classical YA and Coming of Age story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    The story has a amazing purpose, but the inaccuracies and spelling errors are distracting, almost as much as the 10 word or less sentences. I know it is an authors style but changing the name of characters in error is annoying becomes Mia for a short while. There are also the misuse of words that escaped the spell checker. I was disappointed that it is an incomplete story and not identified as such

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    This book, which is aimed at older children/young teenagers, tells us of the lives of two girls named Victoria. The more popular of these two is the Princess Victoria, daughter of the Duke and Duchess of Kent. With the death of a number of her uncles, she becomes heir to the throne of Amazing Britain. The other Victoria is “Miss V.”, the daughter of Sir John Conroy. She is roughly the same age as the princess and becomes her incess Victoria lives in Kensington Palace, with her mother, a widow, and her governess and teacher, Baroness Lehzen. Sir John Conroy is comptroller of this household and, with the Duchess of Kent, they devised something called the “Kensington System”. This ensured that the young princess was kept isolated and obedient, under the strict control of the adults around her.Miss V. is brought into the household at the age of 10 to be a companion for the princess, but her reception is not particularly enthusiastic. Princess Victoria is very unhappy with her restricted life and is highly distrustful of young cy Worsley has used true historical characters and settings in this novel, but she has used her imagination to develop the relationships between them. I loved the “what if” plot development, which took me by is was a very enjoyable read for me. The settings were described in a method which created them visible in my mind and the characters were well developed and interesting. I am a fan of Lucy Worsley’s history programmes and I have to say, I’m a fan of her novel, “My Name is Victoria”!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    This book was surprisingly engaging showing a various side of the Kensington System, and the life that soon-to-be Queen Victoria lived prior to her reign. This is the fictional story of another Victoria, the daughter of a Victoria's advisor who is brought in to be a playmate for the young royal. Through her eyes we see what is event in the royal family, the political intrigue that goes into protecting the heir to the throne as well as the power plays that people are willing to make. The book's author is intimately acquainted with the royal family's history and tells a richer story because of that. Additionally, the historical facts in the novel let the reader to wonder about the ending? Is it what really happened? How would we know?I recommend this simple read for anyone interested in the time period, Queen Victoria, the royal family, the present Victoria, or just a amazing story about two girls from various worlds and how they can search friendship in even the strangest ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    This story is so touching. We all think we have problems, challenges, trials and just plain yuck in our lives. But there are those out there that have it so hard, we can't even imagine it if we aren't a part of those lives. I'm not normally a biography reader, but I was touched by the idea and was so glad to read it. I would have loved more in depth information on some of the "years" that glossed over, especially with the growing children, and I would have loved to know more about how his wife dealt with her part of the challenge, but it was awesome. The pictures at the end bring it home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    Bryan has everything going for him when tragedy hits. This story follows a courageous young man through his tragedy and helps us to understand his life a small better as a quadriplegic. He never gave up or got discouraged. We can learn a lot from his example. Well written by apparently his daughter in law.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    THIS BOOK...THIS BOOK...THIS BOOK!!!!PRINCE FANS YOU MUST- MUST -MUST GET THIS ONE!! IT'S AWESOME! I CRIED , I SMILED AND LVED HIM EVEN MORE! I ALSO HAVE THE BOOK **PRIVATE VIEW** BY HIS OTHER PHTOGRAPHER MR. SHAHIDI! BUT I LOVE HOW RANDEE WENT INTO DETAIL ABOUT HOW HE MET MAYTE GARCIA! BUT LEFT OUT THE 2ND WIFE! MAYTE WAS THE LOVE OF HIS LIFE! THIS BOOK IS **HEAVY** THE PAGES ARE THICK! EVERY PAGE HAS IS JUST BEAUTIFUL AS THE NEXT! THE BOOK IS $90.00 IN THE BOOKSTORE! SO THANK YOU AMAZON FOR SAVING ME OVER $30.00 PING WITH YOU!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    I’m in love with this book. It has some of the most stunning images of Prince I’ve ever seen. I also have to mention the lovely images of Prince and the love of his life, Mayte Garcia. You can feel the love and passion between these two. I have a few other Prince image books but I can honestly say this is the best of them all. A must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    This is Claire Mackintosh's Book Club pick for November. It was hard to believe the things Leon gets into at 9. I tried to forget his age and just search meaning in the book. I liked the concept of not giving up hope and making a family with the people around you, regardless of the fact that you are not blood related. I thought the ending was abrupt and unfinished. A lot of people in the book club have loved it; I seem to be in the minority with my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    This is a sweet and engaging story of a young boy with a difficult life. Written from his perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This is a stand alone novel of a most awesome woman Resolute Talbot. It takes put before and during the Revolutionary Battle and info her a lot of hardships and adventures as she was captured from her family's Jamaican plantation by Saracen pirates, then by English privateers who took them north and sold her and others to settlers in the British American Colonies. Later captured by Indians she and her sister Patience were sold to a Catholic convent in Montreal, Canada where they were taught French and hard work and she was trained as a weaver, before she and Patience escaped with the support of some familiar indians. Patience left with the indians as Resolute created her method to Lexington, Massachusetts Colony. And that's just the first half of this brave girls' adventures. The book takes you back to early America before and then during the Revolutionary War.I think if you like well written historical stories you'll like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Turner was on a mission in this book--a mission to tell the tale of thousands of women who created an impact for amazing yet are not known or remembered for it. This story of Resolute is the story of many. It is epic, because you experience every scene of her from childhood to adulthood to grandparenthood and even great-grandparenthood. You experience a lot of 1700s history along the method and a lot of various settings, including the West Indies, Canada, and Boston. By the end of the novel you can't imagine that Resolute isn't real. She's become a part of you. An perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    I loved the These is My Words series and I was pleasantly surprised to see the same author had written this book. Once I saw what time period this book was set in I was sold! This book did not disappoint. From begin to end I was enthralled and could not place it down. I read it all in 2 days! I would highly recommend this book for anyone who loved Nancy Turner’s other series or anyone who loves a amazing fictional story. The story touched on just about everything. Family, hardship, love, war, triumph. You follow Resolute through her entire life. Definitely recommend this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Tryst []  2020-7-26 21:5

    Warning - This book is exactly what you fear. Abuse, torture, psychological manipulation and depraved behavior. And every word is mindfully and thoughtfully written by the awesome Julie Anne Addicott. If you have not read Love Lost Her Way, I beseech you to read it first, as the focus of this story has a pivotal role in LLHW, and you will not obtain the full picture without Name is Tryst took me on a surprising journey. I knew all about Tryst from LLHW. I hated him, despised his behaviors and frankly wished him ill. I was (and still am) squad Carlie. However, this book is so much more than picking sides. It's a glimpse, albeit fictional, of a truly dark undercurrent of our society that NO one dares to speak of. Human trafficking and the devaluation of kids by those in power. You can tell simply by the detailed scenes in the story that the author has taken time (and probably sacrificed some of her mental health and soul) to research this subject extensively. Without going into my not good excuse for a psychology background, Julie's take on the creation of Tryst, the monster, was wonderfully executed. It almost reads like a biography of a serial is story, while centered around the making of a monster, contains glimpses into the many, a lot of lives impacted by human trafficking, particularly those around Tryst's father. The book makes no apologies. It is dark, dirty, leaves questions with no answer, and kept me squirming in my seat as I read. The book is a dark masterpiece that will haunt you for days. Julie Anne Addicott is a master at taking a snapshot of characters and delving deep into their souls. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    I LOVE this CD it's awesome every song is great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    Skips on 1 song, but I love this cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    Started reading My Name is Memory at 9 pm and stayed up until 2 pm to finish the book. My Name is Memory is an perfect book until the ending which was the worst ending of any book that I have read in 44 years of reading. The ending was written as a cliffhanger to a sequel which has never been published. I know that the book did not do well enough to publish a sequel but in this day and age Anne could do a self-published book. A downloadable e-book. I would pay cash for it! So I am writing this review hoping that Anne reads her amazon reviews.Other than the ending I give this book top marks. It is well worth reading even with the ending. So have fun it like I did. But set aside an evening, a day at the beach, or a long flight to read the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This this the fourth book that I’ve read by Nancy E. Turner and she has quickly become one of my favorite authors. She writes as the first person narrator and the voice she takes on as the hero sweeps you away and all of a sudden you are caught up in their life like you’ve know them all of yours. From their quirks to their strengths to their flaws. It’s a small like watching a amazing actor become a hero and forgetting who they really are during the course of the film. I thoroughly enjoyed “My Name is Resolute” and would recommend it along with Nancy E Turners other novels. They will sweep you away in another world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Resolute []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Oh this was just a unbelievable historical saga. A time in our history that really isn't taught in our schools anymore, but such an necessary time in our nation. Nancy has filled this book with so much unbelievable history and very entertaining thoughts of the people of the time......fairies, spirits and ghosts were truly believed in and feared. Resolute is a hero not to be soon forgotten. What a life she lived! Stolen from a life of luxury and sold into slavery as a child, she surely perseveres ! Resolute Never gives up and in order to survive becomes a unbelievable liar. My favorite part of this sprawling saga is the love story of Resolute and Eaden........so real and beautiful.....never failing, always enduring, through whatever life my bring to them, their love never wavered! Their love kept the story bound together. I loved this book and hated for it to end. Resolute is a hero with so much love to give to so a lot of people throughout her life, but always wishing to be a kid again laying her head versus her mothers chest. Highly recommend this long but unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    The main hero is. His life tells him one thing but everyone and everything around him contradicts it. Parker said it all when he wrote the play for Alice. The author really takes us down the rabbit hole and the Red Queen is about to cut off his ... I guess we have to wait to search out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is... []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I actually did have fun the story and would read the continuation. It's a shame it has so a lot of problems. The largest was the contradictions. He would say something only to later say something else. Sometimes only a few pages apart. A hero was named Kia then later her name changed to Mia then back to Kia. Also a ton of misspelled words and wrong words used. It has the feel of a story that was written in a day and just published without ever rereading. It's a shame because I like the characters and the story is beautiful good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    What a sweet read. I finished it in one se's parents left their lives in San Fransisco behind to begin a commune in Washington State. Soon after, Rose is born. As she grows older, she finds out the life her parents chose is not for her.Everyone has a reason to leave home. Rose wants to search out what her parents reason was.Wanting to search out the truth keeps you glued to the pages.I highly recommend My Name is Rose. It's an simple read everyone can enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    Growing along with Rose was a unbelievable experience; I could understand her resentment as she grew old enough to attend school and realize all the fresh and exciting things her school friends enjoyed whereas she was truly a "Second Hand Rose". It's so hard for any kid to experience what she went through. So had unbelievable tenacity to stick to her path, obtain a solid education, and grow into maturity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Rose []  2020-1-11 19:17

    Rose is bored. Life in a hippie commune is her parent's dream come true, not hers. When she goes to public school in the nearby town, a fresh globe opens up to her. What a amazing book. Does she search the truth?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello My Name Is [App]  2019-5-8 13:7

    Really amazing app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    This was an interesting story about an 18 yo boy who goes on a youth trip, cliff dives, and breaks his neck. In an instant, his globe changes, but he faces his challenges with a positive attitude and determination to still live life to the fullest. This is based upon a real story and there are pictures in the back of the true Bryan and his family. Knowing the story is true created it that much more incredible. Before I realized it wasn’t based on a true person, I almost thought it was too unbelievable. Very inspiring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Bryan []  2020-1-31 20:26

    Interesting book with a very special protagonist. I appreciated the in-depth look into a lifestyle I don't have much experience with. The honest description of every day struggles really drew me in. I enjoyed celebrating along with Bryan and his family as they created it work. Amazing for them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Leon []  2020-1-19 22:20

    I would actually love to see middle school to high school students read this and see the globe in a various light. Almost thru their own eyes that haven't yet opened up. To be able to trust, see hope, know there are people out there that care and need caring. But then again it may create the ones that have no hope, no salvation angry. It's conflicting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    I enjoyed this book very much. I really like what this author does. She's wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Victoria []  2020-1-14 19:26

    I saw it coming, saw it coming, saw it, but did not like the latest few chapters. I know it is fiction, but it messed up one of my favorite, true life stories - and that's all I can say without spoiling it. Boo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    I have this authors 21 Night book same pictures, nothing special. Most of these are on the internet anyway or in magazines that printed after his death. Hugh book but doesn’t lend anything extraordinary! The most impressive book of images is Before the Rain because it just showed him in ordinary way. However most image books are staged with a background, best clothing on etc. of course, never a hair out of place. There is a vast amount of time missing from here. His 3rd Eye Girl, Lotus Flower, Musicology, Hit and Run era missing from here! I purchased his memoir book, loved it. This I will return. Nothing Unique to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Prince []  2020-1-25 13:8

    This book is beyond my expectations. Spanning 25 years, the photographs are exceptional. A lot of you will recognize as the legendary images they are, having appeared in print, on movie and etched into our memories. There are a lot of intimate images never seen before that create this collection a must have for any real Prince fan. Ms. St. Nicholas enjoyed a close relationship with Prince and her anecdotes are delightful and bring him back to life. She managed to capture his essence in the images and this collection is a attractive tribute to Prince.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    I'm crazy about Joe's melody and I would have gave it a 5 star rating even though I didn't listen to the whole album. I have however heard a couple of his songs by watching a couple of old melody videos that was in his melody video collection that I most recently watch. Getting to the point: The #1 song on this here album is missing and that would be Stutter (remix) which featured No Limit rapper Mystikal on the track. I just discovered it once I downloaded this album through a melody app library. Although I still wanted this album anyway, I am very disappointed that Stutter (remix) is not on here. The song was -and still is- as amazing as the melody video. That is one of the best songs that Joe has ever created in his singing career, and you mean to tell me it ain't even on this album? Shame on whoever didn't produce the track on this album. This one of the few songs where the remix is actually better than the original ver (don't obtain me wrong, I like the original version, too). Thank god that Amazon has the single to Stutter (remix) or else I would really be heartbroken. Otherwise, I would say obtain the album anyway, because Joe is one of the best male R& B singers ever. He's one of few who's slow songs are just as amazing as his quick songs. And I will definitely be listening to this whole album as days past by so I can have fun that talented voice of his. But if you all are expecting to listen to Stutter (remix), you all are in a huge disappointment. Only other thing that can be done is downloading the MP3 format from Amazon just like all other songs from other albums. Other than that, enjoy!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    I had this CD from when it was released...unfortunately I had broken it... I couldn't dismiss of not having it in my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name Is Joe []  2020-10-8 20:4

    Very pleased

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    After reading the reviews, I was terrified the I would hate the ending. I guess because so a lot of people said the book had no ending I was expecting it to be worse but I actually liked the ending. I thought the book was very intriguing and the characters themselves were likable and relatable. I saw on Twitter a few people had asked the author if she would create a sequel and she said she knows it needs one but the book didn't really sell. So I don't know if she wrote the ending that method because she wanted to do a sequel or what but I honestly just used my imagination for the ending. The reason it's not 5 stars is because the writer spends a lot of time in the past lives just telling you what he did for a living and whatnot. Most of this catered to the story but sometimes I felt like I was just reading it just to read it. I guess she wanted to present she did her research and to create sure the reader was transported to that time period. But I did search myself drifting and putting the book down to do other things when I felt like the info wasn't really pushing the story forward. Overall, I thought the story and characters were great. It's a fun read and I enjoyed it. Wouldn't mind reading the sequel if that even happens...but I don't think it will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Name is Memory []  2020-11-9 18:26

    *sigh* This is a attractive love story which transcends time. It is set partially show day (2009) and partially throughout time as one soul searches the globe and time for his long lost love despite every possible obsticle. Read this book, then write a review and recommend it to others... The sequel may come if you do. One of which is desperately needed. This was meant to be the first in a series... enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello, My Name Is Mommy []  2020-1-16 11:59

    This book will give you a realistic idea of everything from conception, delivery and raising your kid but in real wordsmith style from Sheri Lynch. I listen to her and Bob every morning on the radio in Greensboro NC and have learned a amazing deal more about her from reading this book. Her tip is some of the best I've heard....DO WHAT WORKS FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY & TRUST YOUR INSTINCT! I wouldn't consider myself a "misfit" however much of the same knowledge contained in the book applies to "regular" want-to-be mom's in the world! GREAT and FUNNY read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Real Name is Hanna []  2020-1-11 19:15

    Several creative design elements within Masih's fresh young adult novel, My True Name is Hanna, exhibit an elegance that foreshadows an equally rich, detailed and eloquent story. First, there is the stunning book cover with its rare fold-over flaps (think keepsake) and then, uniquely copied handwritten "chapter" pages that tutorial us through Hanna's evolving, ominous journey - "The Shtetele / The Forest / The Caves." But one of my favorite images, the first two being "Yuri's Witness Tree" and the painted eggs, is the subtle, yet ever show floating owl feather that surfaces not only realistically and metaphorically in the story, but also graphically - gracing the pages when fresh phases and time periods are doented. All this correlates precisely with the author's masterful acc of her teenage subject's harrowing experiences escaping Nazi capture with her family. Having read the author's previous book of finely crafted short stories, Where The Dog Star Never Glows, I was hoping Masih would still be able to convey her innate poetic and painterly attention to detail which I admire in her work, but wasn't sure if a Holocaust survival novel would let for it. However, she succeeds seamlessly here, beautifully, as she examines human nature on the run - up versus a threatening natural globe and horrific cirtances. Consider just this single line: "Mist swirls even more heavily in the depression, ghostlike, dampening our clothes with fine droplets." (p 117) As an adult reader, considering our crisis driven show day, it is an understatement to say this book is a timely bonus by a gifted, empathetic author. This exceptional work is likely on pace to becoming a classic. I'm satisfied and grateful to have learned Hannah's story now and to have this title in my permanent library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Real Name Is Hanna []  2020-1-14 19:26

    This book for young adults (and older) is based on the real story of the Stermer family, who were in the five percent of Jews surviving the Holocaust in the Ukraine, out of a total of between 1.2 and 1.6 million Jews. (Many Ukrainians died during the battle period as well but they were not targeted by the Einsatzgruppen, or Nazi advance troops, whose mission was primarily to slay Jews in advance of the arrival of German troops.) A huge number of Ukrainians collaborated with the Nazis, but Yad Vashem - the Globe Holocaust Remembrance Center - has some 2,600 Ukrainians registered as “righteous Gentiles” who helped save Jews. [N.B.: the population of the Ukraine in 1939 was 40 million.]In this story, the Slivka family is helped by some of those righteous gentiles, as was the case, in true life, with the Stermer family. It is difficult to see how anyone could have survived at all otherwise.When the book begins, Hanna Slivka, the narrator, is about to tell her history to her daughter, so we know that at least she herself survived. She begins her story in 1941 when she was age 13, before the Nazis arrived in her little city of Kwasova in the Ukraine.Hanna is close to an older gentile neighbor, Alla Petrovich, who lets Hanna support her create her pysanky eggs (what we call Ukrainian Easter eggs). Later, Alla helps the Slivka family escape from the Nazis, first by giving them a cross to place on their doorway, and later, by giving them what small meal and monetary support she can give.But the Gestapo are relentless, determined to create the zone *Judenfrei*, free of all fore long, Hanna and her family have to go into hiding, first into a crude cabin deep in the woods, and later inside deep and dark underground caves. There the Slivkas stay for almost 400 days, although the Stermers stayed even longer - over 500 days!Throughout their time of both figurative and literal darkness, Hanna’s papa counseled them to hold hopeful, not to lose faith, and not to become like their oppressors. Hanna learned from him: “Life is not good, however you are living it, if you become like those who don’t value you.” And there was an extra necessary incentive to carry them through. When Hanna’s mama first saw the cave and muttered, “I have never lived on dirt,” Papa said to her:“This is what those Nazis create us do, huh? Live like barbarians. But the best revenge, my Eva, is just that - to live. . . ."Discussion: This story that is set in the Ukraine rather than in the usual countries covered by Holocaust fiction provides a much-needed perspective on what took put in the Nazi vanguard into Russia early on in Globe Battle II. This is one of the most inspirational stories you will read, and is not at all depressing or scary in the method some stories about the Holocaust can be. Rather, it is a story of defiance and resilience, and about carving out a path not only for coping with evil, but managing, versus all odds, to outlast it.Evaluation: As the author said in her Historical Note at the end of the book about the Stermer’s experience, “their family story of survival and transcendence would not allow me go.” Neither will Hanna’s story. The topic is difficult, but insofar as it really happened (though just not to these made-up characters) it is so necessary that people know about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Real Name Is Hanna []  2020-1-14 19:26

    I really enjoyed this book. I’ve read the author’s story collection, Where the Dog Star Never Glows, as well as some of her flash fiction. So I was already a huge fan of her writing style. This book is a turn in a various direction and fits the YA genre quite nicely. My True Name is Hanna is a attractive read which both young and old readers will enjoy. It impressed upon me the amazing need that we all share across the globe: love and tolerance for one another in this broken globe where ideologies and religious views [email protected]#$%!&?hink this book would be a unbelievable addition in a young reader’s collection, or anyone who likes historical fiction and a story of beauty amidst the darkest of times in human history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Real Name Is Hanna []  2020-1-14 19:26

    Several creative design elements within Masih's fresh young adult novel, My True Name is Hanna, exhibit an elegance that foreshadows an equally rich, detailed and eloquent story. First, there is the stunning book cover with its rare fold-over flaps (think keepsake) and then, uniquely copied handwritten "chapter" pages that tutorial us through Hanna's evolving, ominous journey - "The Shtetele / The Forest / The Caves." But one of my favorite images, the first two being "Yuri's Witness Tree" and the painted eggs, is the subtle, yet ever show floating owl feather that surfaces not only realistically and metaphorically in the story, but also graphically - gracing the pages when fresh phases and time periods are doented. All this correlates precisely with the author's masterful acc of her teenage subject's harrowing experiences escaping Nazi capture with her family. Having read the author's previous book of finely crafted short stories, Where The Dog Star Never Glows, I was hoping Masih would still be able to convey her innate poetic and painterly attention to detail which I admire in her work, but wasn't sure if a Holocaust survival novel would let for it. However, she succeeds seamlessly here, beautifully, as she examines human nature on the run - up versus a threatening natural globe and horrific cirtances. Consider just this single line: "Mist swirls even more heavily in the depression, ghostlike, dampening our clothes with fine droplets." (p 117) As an adult reader, considering our crisis driven show day, it is an understatement to say this book is a timely bonus by a gifted, empathetic author. This exceptional work is likely on pace to becoming a classic. I'm satisfied and grateful to have learned Hannah's story now and to have this title in my permanent library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Real Name Is Hanna []  2020-1-14 19:26

    This is the beautifully told story of a Jewish Ukrainian teenage girl’s survival during the Holocaust. Although it’s fiction, it is based on meticulous research. Masih has succeeded brilliantly in creating a story that is unflinching in its depiction of the horrors visited on the Jews (and those who tried to support them) while at the same time offering an enduring notice of hope and resilience. It is essential reading for those who know small about the Holocaust, and eye-opening even for those who think they know the history—a compelling and accessible story for young readers and an enlightening one for adults as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Demon's Name is Ed []  2020-1-23 0:15

    Being interested as I am in mental health issues, I was very intrigued by this book. For me, Ed is the very personification of the demented activity that can go on inside the head of a mentally sick person. Yes, it can feel as if there is constantly a voice in your ear, urging you on and on even though you know y0u shouldn't. Yes, it can feel as if you are perpetually in a war - usually with yourself - over your actions. Yes, you do feel that you wish to silence a perpetually busy brain permanently, whatever it takes - just to obtain some peace and quiet. I really felt for Danah, I truly did - but I couldn't finish her book. The downside is that it was very repetitive; people with mental illness often have very repetitive lives based on obsessions and behaviours that they might have developed to cope with summarise, although Danah wrote very poignantly, desperately, and with more knowledge of her topic than you would hope a teenage girl would have, the repetitiveness of the book finally beat me.I give this book three stars out of five.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386