Read red sea peril reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all red sea peril reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    Not only does this documentation give you "true grit" .You will obtain a real impression of what life was like for a merchant seaman of that day and age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    Anyone who was aware of the happening at the time can recall the different aspects of the events. Like so a lot of things in the press they were in those days a short lived news item and as such no in depth interviews were available at the time ame and as such not a lot of since. I bought this book after a discussion with mates in my local bar and although I contributed very small to the discussion I do remember the happening and the newpaper pictures of Carlsen on Flying Enterprise even though I was only 7 years old, in fact I was the one who raised the even in the a lot of problems were raised in the discussion I wanted to investigate further. I came across this book and as I read it found it to be very informative in a documentary style it filled in a lot of the gaps and did not move to quickly through happenings and Delaney did well to explain happenings and backgrounds I though he did however tease out happenings towards the end. While explaining a lot of background and consequences of happenings he did leave the door begin for the conspiracy theorists to continue different avenues of all I enjoyed the book both from a learing aspect and second from a tale at sea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    My Granddaddy was a close mate of Captain Carlson, always (by request) bringing "The Flying Enterprise" (and later, the "Flying Enterprise II") into dock at Newport News docks (Yes- Granddaddy was a "Harbor Captain") . While some have stated that the entire episode was a "publicity stunt", Captain Carlson was simply doing his DUTY- protecting the property entrusted to him by his employer.EXCELLENT story, of a forgotten time in American history, when MEN (and Women) actually stood by "their word".

    0  


    Add your opinion on red sea peril or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    This is a marvelous acc of a real story with amazing significance for the author. The sea, with its intensity and power has always been a divider of men and boys. In this tale of the FLYING ENTERPRISE, Captain Carlsen reveals the best in human mental strength and fortitude - something we all may hope we would also demonstrate under extreme duress. The book is riveting and leaves no question unanswered. Highly recommend this excellently written tale of a quiet hero.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    The author was about eight years old as this tale of sheer, uncorrupted courage and seamanship unfolded in the seas off the English Channel. I was nine and just 6 years later joined my first ship. However Delaney was a landlocked Irish child with small connection to the sea, other than a kindly teasing Grandfather who, as an ex-stevedore, escorted Frank around the docks to see ships and seamen. I was born on an island in the Thames estuary in a family and a community of seafarers, Naval Officers and Marine Engineers. But he was as equally fascinated, obsessed and impressed with the unfolding drama to which we all eavesdropped, by courtesy of the BBC radio reports, presented in among the twice everyday Shipping Forecast and News. As was beautiful much the whole of Britain at the ptain Kurt Carlsen declined to join his rescued squad and passengers and elected to fulfill what he saw as his easy duty to stand-by his wrecked vessel until he could bring it safely to port ... or she sunk. He was of that "Great Generation" mold and the vicious storms, in 1952, occurred while we were still on rationing for primary foodstuffs after WWII. His examples of sheer seamanship and professional ethics offered a character and an honorable courage to respect, without the bloodshed of our wartime heroes, and a `role model' that could more easily be adopted as it was in an zone of skills and an environment to which a lot of of us could directly laney's book is well crafted, tells the tale in a straightforward chronological structure and does not avoid the different technicalities and terminology of the sea, the accident, the rescues attempts and the sad, frustrating but nearly inevitable end. It is in fact the ending, of his book, that creates a problem. He seems unable to allow the story conclude and having identified a genuine character then explores the nowadays almost equally inevitable need to pull him down. The introduction of the author's own troubled relationships with his father, the usual muck-racking and questioning of the motivation for Captain Carlsen's easy courage do not add to the book's worth and detract from the value the author crafts in recounting this hero's story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    It's a good, credible read, well structured and lucidly laney describes complicated rescue scenarios with the skill of someone very close to the subject. His reverence and admiration for the struggling ship's captain, Kurt Carlsen, is both obvious and well is not, however, one of those books I am likely to read again and again--it's just not that entertaining. Perhaps, the author's dedication to keeping it real, cost the story in the drama department, as we share in the protracted efforts to save the "S.S. Flying Enterprise".Aptly named, the words "Simple Professionalism" also describe the captain and a lot of other key characters in this real story.I'm glad I read this one!RayB

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    Captain Kurt Carlsen became, in 1951, for a few weeks at least - the most popular man in the world. After getting his squad and passengers off his freighter and to safety in the worst storm of the century (or - to be accurate, the convergence of a number of storms), he stayed on board his cracked and crippled ship, believing he could arrange for it to be ferried to a safe harbor. Abandoning his boat was a failure he couldn't create himself accept, though conditions couldn't have been less on his side. His courage and his strength hit a chord with a post-WW2 culture, and became the items of everyday newsreels- capturing media attention on both sides of the Atlantic. His Fresh York ticker tape parade was the biggest since Mac Arthur's. But he wouldn't take for doing what he believed was simply a captain's e man and the ship and the storms and the home-story that guided his decisions is the items of this book. The description of life on the deck the night the storm hit - is worth the of admission e American Library Association named it as one of the top books of the year -- and yet very few people know it exists. I urge you - search it - read it - share it and tell your friends. It's a beaut.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    Loved it. Mr. Delaney does a amazing job with telling how this incident inspired people around the globe and himself

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Simple Courage: A True Story of Peril on the Sea []  2020-7-23 18:41

    I've been trying to this book for some time. It's been on my Want List for Years ! It was always too expensive. Now I finally have it and I am enjoying it. What a story of courage and persistence !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    This book has a bit of everything. A attractive love story. A story about God and the unseen world. A love story that broke my heart at the end. What began as a fairy tale romance, with letters signed, “Your slave, Malik” ended when the author just could not, no matter how hard she tried, conform to what her husband and the Saudi culture wanted her to be. In the end, it was impossible and she had to save herself. Her life in Jeddah- sometimes reads like a fairy tale and sometimes like a prison. In some parts I thought, “Oh, I'd love to live there!” and in others I thought, how I would never wish to live there and how brave Sylvia was to go and test and adhere to all of the strict rules of the Saudi culture. The ending broke my heart. The end of the attractive love story between Sylvia and Malik, and also Mama Johara. Sylvia looking at her and seeing the orphan/co-wife/female who was deprived of an education, but whom she'd grown to love and who loved her. This book also had funny parts that had me laughing out loud as I read and the author painted a visual in my head of Eucalyptus trees and the Red Sea and the painted ceiling in her salon – the night sky, blue with gold stars and a chandelier. I wish to sit in that salon! I also feel like I know the characters after reading this book. Small Yousef, who was ostracized and abused as a kid because he had a Western mother, when all he wanted was to fit in and be identified as a Saudi. I wonder how they are doing – Ann and Sylvia's brother Steven and not good Rita, who was place on house arrest by her husband. Malik's daughter Jasmine and even spoiled small Miyaz. There were a lot of layers to this book and to these characters, who are not characters but true people. Small Miyaz was in a lot of ways a holy terror but, it is heartbreaking when you read why he was so difficult and why he was so spoiled. I loved the story of Sylvia and Malik, but besides them, there was also the older Yousef and Johara, and that he said to her, “When I die, I wish my head here,” indicating her shoulder, when she was upset that he had taken two other wives. I'm trying not to give too a lot of spoilers but the ending to their love story was attractive and heartbreaking as well. So a lot of layers to this book and so a lot of layers to the people in the book! I love that no one is amazing and no one is bad-- the author shows us that people are just people- trying their best, doing everything they know to do – whether right or wrong. One thing is certain though, the women in Saudi Arabia are powerful women! This is a book I will certainly read again and recommend to mates and family. It's a book that you're sort of sad when you obtain to the end. You hate it when you obtain to the end but you're glad you've read a book that created you feel that way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    ​The Red Sea Bride by Sylvia Fowler was an interesting book that gave the reader a window into a culture very various from their own, and in particular, focused on how that culture treats women. Fowler, a young American woman, was placed in a situation in which she was totally unprepared for, and the book tells about how she managed to adapt, assimilate, and go forward, even often finding little moments of happiness in spite of extreme restrictions.​There were a lot of interesting characters in the book, including Sylvia's own family and also her husband Malik's family. Nobody was perfect. Each was kind of quirky, and all had an impact on Sylvia. I liked most the stories about Malik's grandmother, who was a powerful independent woman. Though married and a mother at an extremely young age, she found a method to have power and rise above her status of just being a "woman" through buying true estate.​Sylvia told a lot of of the stories with humor, especially when she was pointing out how absurd the cultural restrictions were on women. What I really liked was how she distinguished between and created clear that the issue was not with Islam, but with the Saudi culture instituted by the men in the government. She always created clear her respect for her religion, and at the same time, her disappointment in her husband for not being more courageous in standing up for her.​The book was about a culture where women had small to no power. Yet, scenes from the women's party and the grandmother's life showed that no matter how hard things become, you cannot hold a amazing woman down! The format of the book, written in short small segments, created it very readable too. Overall I would encourage anyone who is begin to learning about other cultures to read The Red Sea Bride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    Starting the book I did not know what to expect except it was a story of a woman who converted to Islam and married a Saudi man. This book was much more than that. It was like other readers said here a love story, a tragic story, a story of hope. It gives insight into a whole various world. I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    Throughout the book The Red Sea Bride the author affords us a rich, colourful description of Grandmother Zainab, the matriarch of her then-husband’s family. Grandmother Zainab is described as a kind, independent, and smart woman who welcomed the author, Sylvia Fowler, into her guild without hesitation. Having had the pleasure of meeting Sylvia, I would be remiss to overlook the striking similarities between her and the beloved Grandmother Zainab, not only in kindness but also in intelligence, compassion, hospitality, and love of life. It would not be unfounded to describe both women as being whip-smart. Sylvia’s intelligence can be witnessed through her attractive style of bringing Grandmother Zainab’s fierce capacities to light. Sylvia describes Grandmother Zainab as being fully aware that she herself was remarkable. I am confident that the author, when pausing to reflect on the journey she has taken through the course of her life, must secretly know that she is remarkable as well. Likewise, both Sylvia and Grandmother Zainab were compassionate, devoted mothers to their young children. Grandmother Zainab lived through the heartbreaking, unjust ordeal of having her daughter taken from her with no recourse. I can ascertain from reading various passages from The Red Sea Bride that Sylvia’s greatest priority was protecting her sons, especially sweet Yousef. The difficulty of watching their kids suffer and being powerless to remedy their pain was something both women had the misfortune of enduring. Although there has never been a romantic relationship in history that has been identical to another, both women had the experience of being married more than once. Grandmother Zainab outlived all six of her husbands, some who left her through the finality of death, the rest through divorce. Though remarriage is frowned upon in a lot of cultures, it is unfair to imply that anyone should remain in an unhappy marriage where they are not honored by their partner. I applaud each of these women, for having the strength to continue on with their lives after the dissolution of their marriages and for finding fresh partners to share their days with. Grandmother Zainab is described as possessing the skills of entertainment, as she sang, danced, and told stories to her grandchildren. Although Sylvia’s audience may be different, she similarly possesses the knack for storytelling and is bold and captivating with her words, both penned and orated. While there were deep similarities between the two women, their paths also aligned in seemingly insignificant ways. It was entertaining that even the author’s husband Malik commented that she reminded him of his grandmother when he would inhale the aromas of the herbs that Sylvia would simmer and decoct for medicinal purposes As the similarities between Sylvia and Grandmother Zainab are considered, it is wise to recognize that every individual who is brought forth into this globe sets out on a special story all her own. It was by an extraordinary series of happenings that these two women (who were more alike than perhaps even they understood at the time) shared a few figurative chapters of their lives. They should each be admired for their tenacity in chasing down what they desired throughout their lives and for maneuvering around the challenges they encountered. Though the culture they shared openly oppressed the female gender and left the women to fend for themselves in a lot of aspects, they were relentless in seizing every available opportunity presented to exert their independence. By acquiring their own sources of income in a male-dominated culture that frowned upon them even walking outside without a chaperone, they demonstrated the cleverness possessed by women determined to live life as brazenly as possible, regardless of the situation. Throughout The Red Sea Bride, Sylvia honors Grandmother Zainab with her vivid recollections. It is obvious that she holds her memories of Grandmother Zainab very dear to her to heart; perhaps because her soul subconsciously recognized a kindred spirit in the handsome woman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    I was able to see the scenes in this story unfolding in my head. Descriptive, insightful and a truly mesmerizing tale. At various times I was laughing and crying reading this heart touching story of one woman's journey through love, loss and private exploration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    To the ends of the earth for love! As a woman from Sri Lanka who came halfway around the globe to search real love, The Red Sea Bride attracted me because Sylvia Fowler did the same thing, but she left the USA, where I came, to follow love to Jeddah, a Saudi town nicknamed "The Red Sea Bride." Her story created me realize that love is still the most strong force on earth!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    I truly enjoyed this book!! This book seriously was so awesome. It had a bit of everything amazing and sad that any story should have! I stayed up till 11 at night because I didn’t wish to stop reading. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a amazing story in their life and because the story feels so real. To the person who had me this book: you are truly an awesome person! I felt so connected to you and This book allowed me to really understand who you are, and I admire you for all that you’ve endured and become.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    This book is amazing. I fell both in love and in a trance for a town I’ve never heard of before, if experiences I’ve never done, and of a culture I’m unfamiliar with. Sylvia is an extremely talented writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    This was a unbelievable read and attractive story; the author takes you through the journey of her life. It begins with a few tugs of the heart, creating an instant connection to Sylvia. Being in an American in a fresh land with unfair society for women, we obtain a glimpse of a cultural gap between the two nations. Sylvia goes from a put where she can walk around freely and drive to the shop on her own, to put where she is basically a prisoner to the laws of men. This reading gave me a greater understanding of Saudi culture and Islam, something that was surprising to me was that abayas and turhas were not a requirement of Islam teaching but a creation of a male dominated society. Sylvia was able to make a narration that is able to captivate the reader, once I started reading I required to know more about Sylvia’s story, admittedly almost coming to tears at her losses and suffering and cheering for her successes. It is such a attractive story that I would read again and would highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Red Sea Bride []  2020-7-1 19:22

    absolutely attractive ♡ This book tugged at each emotion simultaneously from Love to Anger and Fear. I could not stop turning the pages! Please read this book and educate yourself on the a lot of trials and tribulations that women experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    i-Boating:Persian Gulf&Red Sea [App]  2019-10-11 13:41

    Very detailed apart from some locations that are blurred and don't look to have downloaded correctly or, are not allowed by some oil field companies out of Abudhabi and Dubai and some other areas. Otherwise, very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    i-Boating:Persian Gulf&Red Sea [App]  2019-10-11 13:41

    Dose this application is working without data and network signal lost or should have network? I bought it and I hope that working only under GPS satellite without data network .. otherwise will be useless for me because no network signal on the sea. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    i-Boating:Persian Gulf&Red Sea [App]  2019-10-11 13:41

    Suggesting that to add persian gulfs charts also , by then this will be useful for so a lot of users .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    i-Boating:Persian Gulf&Red Sea [App]  2019-10-11 13:41

    Thankful for the greatest application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    One of the first punk bands. Also the first punk band with a powerful female musician. They created some amazing singles as well as this album that is worth checking out for those who like punk with a melody.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    WAS EXPECTING A CLASSIC BUT SONGS MEDIOCRE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Item arrived as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Another 70s Punk classic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    This is a very amazing early punk rock album, including "Bored teenagers" and "Gary Gilmore's eyes". I like it a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    One of the best albums of punk rock and the 70s as a whole. Few punk bands have managed to create such catchy yet still punk songs as this British ensemble. TV Smith was a real punk frontman, equally adept at writing songs and singing them. And like all amazing punk bands, the Adverts can have a sense of humor if they want, albiet a very dark one, as shown by the classic and contorversial single "Gary Gilmore's Eyes". That isn't the only classic included on this album. It's no wonder why the Adverts were amoung the most famous punk bands of the time. They knew how to reach out to their audience without becoming angsty. "One Chord Wonders" and "Bored Teenagers" perfectly present this. You may wish to track down some live Adverts items also, because they manage to improve on the already amazing standards. As much of an essential as "Damned Damned Damned" or "Singles Going Steady".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    this first effort of the band is amazing (not all tracks) and is part of the punk history. I have to say TV Smith is an perfect singer and frontman, without him this album just deserve 2 is edition shows the complete "crossing the red sea with the Adverts" + some singles of the era and a live performance. the live tracks aren't so amazing because the sound is poor, sounds too far! however, it's for free! the best tracks: gary gilmore's eyes, amazing british mistake, safety in numbers, fresh chuch (the best), quickstep. some songs are too dark for my likes but the album still good.just it, is part of the classic punk history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Awesome. Thank You!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    The Adverts released one excellent punk album, and another that wasn't very good. Then they broke up."Crossing The Red Sea With The Adverts" has always been one of my favorite albums of early British punk, and comes very close to matching the classic debuts of the Pistols, Clash, and Stranglers. It's that good. This is the remastered "ultimate edition", with singles and "live" l their best singles are accounted for here: "One Chord Wonders", "Bored Teenagers", "Gary Gilmore's Eyes", and "No Time To Be 21". As much as I love these, my favorites are the less heralded album tracks "Bombsite Boy" and "Great British Mistake". Every song is good, but these 2 are I was confused when their follow-up album "Cast Of Thousands" didn't even have one amazing song. I had to Thousands again recently because it comes with a amazing disc of all their "live" appearances on John Peel's radio show. This CD is the same sought-after collectable previously called "The Wonders Don't Care".They were an energetic and smart foursome - T.V. Smith was a amazing frontman and guitarist, and bassist Gaye Advert (later his wife) was one of the first girls to establish a punk "look". They toured a lot and opened for groups like the Damned and Generation X, but didn't achieve their level of acclaim. After disbanding, T.V. (Tim) Smith formed the Explorers, and still makes solo appearances. I stopped keeping up with him, so I don't know if he's good.But I know at one time he was terrific, and "Crossing The Red Sea" proves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crossing the Red Sea (Ultimate Edition) []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Bored Teenager. Exasperated Buyer From Too A lot of Reissues...is more like it. Personally The British Fresh Wave excited me silly - as did The Adverts and their easy in-your-face power. It helped that one of them was fanciable too (beneath all that eye make-up). And although I don't normally obtain a rash at reissues that cavalierly alter the original artwork - this small 2011 CD peach does enough to reignite that 40-years passed passion.History first. As fans will already know - since its February 1978 vinyl debut on England's Bright Records - "Crossing The Red Sea With The Adverts" has been topic to a dizzying amount of reissues on both LP and CD (I'm sure I've missed a few problems in the explanations below). But I feel this is one of the best editions of it yet (and it’s one of Punk’s real LP winners) - so lets have at it...UK released 12 September 2011 (reissued January 2017) - "Crossing The Red Sea With The Adverts" by THE ADVERTS on Fire Records FIRECD 143 (Barcode 809236114327) is an 'Expanded Edition' CD Reissue with 12 Gift Tracks and plays out as follows (69:38 minutes):1. One Chord Wonders2. Board Teenagers3. Fresh Church4. On The Roof5. Newboys6. Gary Gilmore's Eyes7. Bombsite Boy8. No Time To Be 219. Safety In Numbers10. Fresh Day Dawning11. Drowning Men12. On Wheels13. Amazing British MistakeThe original February 1978 British LP on Bright Records BRL 201 had only sequence it from this CD use Tracks 1 to 5 and Track 7 for Side 1 and Tracks 8, 9, 11, 12 and 13 for Side was re-issued October 1981 as a 12-Track LP on Butt Records ALSO 002 with "Gary Gilmore's Eyes" tagged onto the end of Side at 12-track ver was again re-issued in December 1988 on Butt Records BUL February 1997, Essential of Castle Communications re-issued the album as a 13-track CD on Essential ESMCD451 featuring two additional songs recorded at the same sessions as the original eleven - "New Day Dawning" and a US Shop re-recorded "Gary Gilmore's Eyes". These were incorporated into the track run - now totalling 13. It is this 1997 CD configuration that's used by Fire Records in their 2011 (Bonus Tracks):14. One Chord Wonders15. Quickstep16. Gary Gilmore's Eyes17. Bored Teenagers18. Safety In Numbers19. We Who WaitLIVE (Bonus Tracks):20. On Wheels21. Newboys22. Fresh Church23. Gary Gilmore's Eyes24. Drowning Men25. No Time To Be 21Tracks 20 to 25 were recorded at London's Roundhouse in 1978 and are Previously UnreleasedTHE ADVERTS were:TV SMITH - VocalsHOWARD PICKUP - GuitarsGAYE ADVERT - BassLAURIE DRIVER - DrumsThe first thing that hits home is the gatefold card sleeve with TV Smith on front instead of the 'Land Of Milk and Honey' Billboard that was used on the original British LP - that's been relegated (just the Billboard sign) to an inner card holding the CD with the album's title on the other side. The gatefold inner shows Guitarist Howard Pickup and Drummer Laurie Driver while the rear sleeve shows the gorgeous Gaye Advert - Punk's lady pin-up and the band's Bassist. 'The Eyes Have It' is the logo on the CD. The 20-page sepia-feel booklet features fresh liner notes from DAVE THOMPSON - lyrics to the songs - Adverts buttons on the latest page and an explanation by TV Smith of the 'Ultimate Edition' CD reissue (13-tracks, singles, live material etc). It turns out that the six Previously Unheard live cuts come from a gig at London's Roundhouse in early 1978, probably only two months after the release of the album. Smith admits that the tape had remained lost for years until a house move revealed its battered existence (skin heads created the gig unbearable). And so duly baked (to protect the oxide), restored and processed - we can now just about hear what the Adverts were like as they literally faced the uglier side of Punk - ludicrous violence and adversity. Electrifying stuff...The Damned played three and The Adverts played one - come to their gigs and you could hear all four chords! (as the flyers used to say). "One Chord Wonder" is a storming opener - "...we don't give a damn!" chanted as guitars cut their method to the finish line. Released in August 1977 - "Bored Teenagers" was originally the B-side of "Gary Gilmore's Eyes" as issued on Anchor Records ANC 1043 (Tracks 16 and 17 in the Gift Material) - here the album ver is more polished (if I can describe it that way) whereas the Larry Wallis-produced single had an energy I loved. "New Church" always felt American Fresh Wave to me whilst TV and his friends obtain loose "On The Roof". People humour the "Newboys" while Smith obsesses over a killer's latest want in "Gary Gilmore's Eyes" - surely one of Punk's amazing singles with an impossibly hooky chorus (did those Apache drums at the beginning)."No Time To Be 21" is the 'smash your windows in' anger of a lost generation - outcasts - while both "On Wheels" and "Great British Mistake" bring the album to a cool finish. The session outtake "New Day Dawns" was to be a B-side and it's a 'prepare to lose' and 'don't screw it up' thrasher - well worthy of anything on the album. As the live tracks kick in with "On Wheels" - the crowd's chants are pushed to the background - the sound is amazing rather than amazing - bootleg really with "Gary Gilmore's Eyes" wabbling on the chorus - a shame because the playing is firey. Within seconds they begin into "Drowning Men" and the same with "No Time To Be 21" - Punking it to a determined end - not allowing the crowd to dominate. "That's it! Bye bye!" and it's over."...People versus things and not each other..." The Adverts snarled on "Great British Mistake". It's not excellent by any means and it's a crying shame that the excitement of the live items isn't in better fidelity - but what we do obtain here is a amazing reminder of a cracking debut...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    amazing android game it's cool and amazing job amd add fresh vehicle .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    love you 😘😘❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    This is the second installment in Irene Hannon’s “Code of Honor” series and it does not disappoint. In classic form she has combined heart-stopping suspense with a sweet romance that has the reader on the edge of their seat and rooting for Kristin and Luke. This book is full of twists and turns that hold you tragedy strikes more than one person connected to Kristin’s fair trade will she become a victim? When Luke is assigned to the case he has no idea that he’s about to see the woman who recently sparked his interest for the first time after losing his wife three years ago. Will he be able to hold her safe and can he hold it professional?Although this book is part of a series it can be read as a stand-alone novel though I highly recommend reading all three books to obtain the story of each of the three mates who created vows as kids to do amazing in the world. Book three will be coming soon. I can’t wait to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Very enjoyable. A couple slow spots but then a very enjoyable read and listen. This narrator did an impressive job. This is an author I return to time and time again. Hold writing and I’ll hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It's amazing to have more canon lore about Naboo, my fave planet in the GFFA. This book, even more than Queen's Shadow, created me feel like I really knew Padmé. It was cool to see how the different handmaidens came together, and how both Padmé and Quarsh Panaka had a hand in that. Sabé is the most fascinating of them, in my view, and it was rather ingenious how a girl who was "best at being second-best" became the most necessary handmaiden and Padmé's closest e latest third or so of the book intersects with The Phantom Menace. We see some happenings from the movie from a various perspective, while others are fresh additions that support flesh out the l in all, an engaging read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Hidden Peril (Code of Honor #2) is a excellent example of why Irene Hannon is an award winning author in the romantic suspense category. From the start, Hidden Peril will grab your attention and hold it to the latest page. Hannon’s plot is on point and very believable. It could happen anytime in true life. Her background research is obvious as the a lot of info of certain things are described. (I would explain more but I don’t wish to contain spoilers.) Her characters are realistic, believable and you would wish them to be your friends. The villains are as evil as they come. An example of that is when main hero Kristin Dane had this thought, “Until she found herself looking into the face of hell.” Her addition of romance is added at the right time and always done in a tasteful manner. I was provided an ARC of this book by the Publisher and NetGalley. The opinions expressed here are completely my own and without influence. I have preordered a copy of this book for my own private library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    A amazing story, thrilling and intense. Just the right amount of romance . This story was as enjoyable as the first in this series. Looking forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    this android game is trash,ads after every level,most of them unskippable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    ELas

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    This book is exciting. It includes emotion and thought, adventure and politics, and the finest of Star battles traditions; of uprising and heroes. It is the story of a queen, and the story of a woman, and the story of all those who lived around her. and it is the story of who she was.Everyone should read it, and everyone should search some enjoyment in it, for there is much to enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    I love the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    "Hidden Peril," book #2 in Irene Hannon's Men of Valor series is another fast-paced, intense read! First of all, be sure to read book #1 in this series, "Dangerous Illusions," first as you are introduced to the main hero Kristin and her childhood mates in that and they all play roles in this one. Kristin loves her and the role that she plays with helping the world, this is part of the pact that she and mates created years back. However, when Kristin's employee is shot and killed in the and then a customer is killed, Kristin begins to believe that there is something sinister going on. Detective Luke Carter is fresh to the area's force, but not fresh to the job as he has experience in the field and recognizes signs that there is much more to the initial picture that is presented and he feels that Kristin may be in danger herself. This causes him even more concern as he realizes that he is losing his heart to this istin and Luke met at Trish and Colin's wedding, right at this begin of this book and I loved how this interaction set the scene for what was to come, as well as building upon the bond between the three characters, and how the fresh people in their lives are being worked into these friendships as well. I cannot wait for book #3 to see even more of this! There are so a lot of pieces to this story, so a lot of layers, as Kristin is dealing with unresolved problems from her childhood involving her family, and although it takes a terrifying incident to see changes in these relationships, it was very well-written and I love that even after so a lot of years, there can be a change as evidenced with Kristin and her parents. Luke had suffered so much heartache and he has been living his life, not feeling ready to love again or capable, but yet there comes a time, a time that is God's timing and His will that he is ready for a relationship and he was able to meet Kristin and then have much more contact with her due to the case. It is scary how true life this book is, as there are terrorist attacks and plans that we hear so much about and that is the globe that we currently live in. However, this should not cause our faith to be shattered or to live in fear, and not follow our hearts; these characters are all such inspiring examples of this and this is a unbelievable romantic suspense book that should not be missed!*Thanks to the Revell Reads Program for the complimentary copy of this book.*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Perfect read. This story has powerful characters and a powerful storyline filled with suspense throughout, intrigue, mystery, faith and a lot of twists and turns. It has a unbelievable love story too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    Billed as a prequel to Queen's Shadow, this second book in the series is simply a delight. We are treated to the creation, part by Captain Panaka, part by Padmé Amidala herself, of the group of handmaidens that will accompany the Queen of Naboo and serve as her bodyguards, assistants and even friends.Each of the handmaidens gets a backstory, personalities developed and in such a method that the plot moves forward easily and smoothly. The story starts a week before the election, slowly building until it intersects with the happenings of Episode I: The Phantom Menace, but focused on the stories of the handmaidens, not so much a retelling of the movie but a complement. In fact, it enhances the story of the movie so much that I wonder why this took so long to be written.Of course not all revolves around Padmé and the handmaidens, we obtain little glimpses of Palpatine, Maul and other necessary characters, but again, well interspersed with the main story. The best praise I can give to this novel is that it created me wish to watch Episode I in a lot of previous cases, don't be fooled by the "junior" description, this is a unbelievable novel that does not shy away from sensitive topics... I can guarantee there will be a stage that will create you deeply l in all, one of the best novels of late. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    As the headline says I'm a HUGE prequel fan so my opinions are going to be mostly high for this novel.I read It In about a day!!Is It the best Star Battles novel I've ever read?Well no,It definitely has some flaws..Mostly the Phantom Menace bits they are ALL over the put and there's huge gaps but I've watched that film a lot over the years so I obviously wasn't confused,It was just very odd the method the happenings were scattered about and uality was to huge of a focus In this book.And though It's interesting to have certain aspects of being a teenage girl Included It just didn't feel like Star ere's also some words that again don't feel like Star Battles mixed e best parts about the book for me was:Maul's brief appearances (huge Maul fan!)And also Quarsh Panaka he was just Interesting and kinda funny In how Padme and her hand maidens were always driving him a small crazy and seeing him assemble her hand maidens was Interesting also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    This book created me cry more than the first one. It also makes me wish to re-read that one. This was a look into the handmaidens that I didn't expect and found so thrilling. It's really a marvel, this book makes me wish a film just about the handmaidens, or a Disney + show

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    Hate it. Android game is beautiful fun and addictive but the godamn ads... I mean ads pop up while I'm in the middle of the game. Greedy snakes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    super android game it was ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Luke Carter and Kristin Dane create a casual acquaintance at a wedding on Saturday. On Monday, Luke a detective, is called to investigate a homicide that happened at -- Kristin's Fair Trade store. There is immediate chemistry but both test to [email protected]#$%! off. He because he is still grieving the death of his wife Jenny and she because he is (still) wearing a wedding ring. As the investigation progresses, the two become close. As the investigation becomes dangerous, they become even closer. The premise of using Kristin's Fair Trade shop to commit some serious international crimes is very intriguing. There are also a few sub plots that are interesting as well. I loved not only the suspense but the sweet growing relationship between Luke and though this is book 2 in the Code of Honor series, it can be read as a standalone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Another unbelievable book by a unbelievable author. Suspense, intrigue and romance create this book perfect. Intricately woven twists create this an amazing read! Can't wait to hear Rick's story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    I have read ALL of the canon books and this is by far one of the worst. There are heavy sections of the story that are missing. The author depends on the reader having new memory of the happenings in the phantom menace (episode 1). The book jumps around with heavy holes in it and the story is disjoined at best. There is a whole undertone of things that don't matter. Who cares that some of the handmaidens were into each other? There is while section revolving around one of them starting their period. Sure that can all be inferred because they are human females and thats life, but it does nothing to progress the story or the star battles universe as a whole. I forced myself through this book. If you are a casual star battles fan, skip this book.I gave the book 2 stars because the cover art is amazing, and darth maul has a VERY little part in the book and speaks (one sentence).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    As a huge fan of EK Johnston's previous book, Queen's Shadow, I was really excited for this one to come out. It is essentially a deep dive into the Episode 1 handmaidens: how they were recruited, their special talents and personalities, and how they operated. This was very cool to see, and it definitely adds to the depth of the Star Battles e timeline overlaps significantly with Episode 1. In fact the latest 30 percent or so of the book seems like a collection of Episode 1 deleted scenes. As a large Episode 1 fan - it was the first Star Battles film that came out in my lifetime, and it was the first I saw in theaters - this was not a issue for me, but I could see someone who doesn't have the Episode 1 plot memorized having some issues figuring out what is going on because there are huge sections of the Episode 1 plot that are alluded to but not explained.I felt like the handmaidens personalities were a small odd given their ages. It seems like the book in general was written at a fairly low grade level (significantly lower than Queen's Shadow it seemed to me), but their personalities seemed older than the 12-14 year olds they were supposed to be. Perhaps this is because Naboo is essentially a globe of kid prodigies, but for me this was a barrier to humanizing them.I have problem deciding whether to give 3 or 4 stars. I'm glad this book was written, and I did have fun it a lot. But I also think the quality of the writing is not on par with the author's other works, and I felt like most of the Episode 1 overlap was unnecessary because we already have the movie. I think it would have been better to devote those pages of this already short book to more handmaiden adventures and developing each of their personalities and motivations further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    So to have E.K. Johnston expand and delve deeper into Padmé's story is truly a blessing to this Star Battles fan. Not only do we learn about Padmé, but also her loyal and brave Handmaidens, especially Sabé. Their sisterhood is so refreshing and something you rarely see in the Star Battles universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    I rarely see types of android game like this to be addicting and have replay value but this one actually suprized me a lot! Hold updating please! I enjoyed this android game a lot! The android game needs an endless mode or a specific type of challenge (like train or vehicles only, etc) otherwise the android game is amazing! 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    worst android game ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    لعبه روعه روعه روعه 😍😍😍🌹🌹

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Peril Road [App]  2019-7-28 21:40

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    I love Irene Hannon's romantic suspense novels. She always has well developed characters who continue to grow throughout the course of the story. Hidden Peril is no different. A widower, Luke, meets an intriguing woman, Kristin, at a colleague's wedding - a wedding he didn't wish to attend since his grief was still too close to the surface. Quick forward a couple of days and Kristin's business is now the stage of a murder and the detective on the case is ... Luke. Turns out this was more than a easy murder and the twists and turns in the story line kept coming, as did a growing relationship between Kristin and Luke, one complicated by his continued involvement in solving the crime. Ms. Hannon also routinely brings back characters from previous series, so I was nice to catch up with previous heroes. Hidden Peril is the second of three books starring close mates Colin (Dangerous Illusions), Kristin, and Rick. I'm looking forward to reading Rick's book next year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden Peril []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Another perfect thriller by Irene Hannon! This book is filled with suspense, thrills, and romance. The story quickly draws you in from the beginning with Father Michael. The storyline could have easily been taken from today’s headlines and Ms. Hannon does a unbelievable job exploring it without giving anything away.I loved getting to know Kristin better and to catch up with the Treehouse Gang. Those three quickly capture your heart. The addition of Luke was perfect. His storyline is heartbreaking and it was encouraging to see him grow and change throughout the book. Looking forward to Rick’s story in book 3!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    It seems like every SW book this author writes gets progressively worse. Ahsoka was by far her best SW novel and since then the quality of her SW books can be compared to going downhill in a freight train. Queen's Shadow was almost unbearable, but this book is far worse. Lucasfilm and Del Rey have finite stories they release every year, yet they waste resources on content no one asked for. There's so much possible amazing SW content to write about, but no, Del Rey and Lucasfilm give us books about Padme's dresses. Allow me break it to you: no one cares about Padme's dresses or apparently how Padme was bisexual with Sabe (see reference in Queen's Shadow). Or at least the minority of fans who may care aren't financially worth pandering to and are probably Reylos. If you're going to publish books, at least publish books that have stories that appeal to the majority of fans. And please.. for the love of Obi Wan's Force ghost.. hold Pablo "Hotdoglo" away from SW publishing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen's Peril []  2020-6-24 19:7

    Queen's Peril by E. K. Johnston is the follow-up to the acclaimed Queen's Shadow, although a prequel. Queen's Peril starts when Padme (Naberrie) Amidala is elected Queen of Naboo and finishes with the end of Episode I: The Phantom Menace. While QP was a quick, entertaining read (Padme, the handmaidens, and Naboo are my satisfied place,) I felt that it lacked the ingenuity and originality of QS. We already know from QS how Padme and the handmaidens utilize and leverage create up and fashion design for deception, functionality, and self-defense, however in QP we learn which handmaidens develop these methods and how (even though we kind of already knew.) We see Panaka observe and recruit the handmaidens in brief asides between chapters, but I would have liked to delve deeper into each of their backgrounds and family histories because perhaps with the exception of Sabe, the other handmaidens are not that fleshed out.While it was fun to pick out Episode I easter eggs, about 65-70% through the book, the plot begins to overlap with The Phantom Menace, albeit from the perspectives of the handmaidens. However, not much fresh info is divuleged through this plot choice. In terms of originality, I would have also like to see how Padme ran her campaign and the challenges she faced among the media and career politicians as a young woman running to become Queen. I would have even preferred a fresh Clone Battles tale focusing on a Padme and handmaidens-only mission.Overall, QP is quick and fun, but falls short of the originality of QS and is essentially a rehash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    I borrowed this book from the library while on a trip out of town. I found myself laughing aloud right from the very beginning, and even stopped to share a few lines with my curious travelling companions. Peterson's writing is rich and deeply meaningful ~ broken up by moments of roaring laughter. When I arrived home, I immediately purchased a copy of the book for my very own--to put on the shelf right alongside the classics, such as C.S. Lewis's Narnia tales. See ~ it's not just a children's book! My kids BEGGED me to read it to them, so I obliged.Each night, they would beg for just ONE more chapter. This book revolutionized our nightly read-aloud time! I used to have a youngster who would rather go to sleep at night than have a story read to him. NOT ANYMORE. Now my older kids (ages 10 and 7) cannot wait for story time. This book, by far, is their FAVORITE BOOK. EVER WRITTEN. That said--the book is not for the faint of heart. I have a sensitive 7 year old and I was afraid this book would be too "scary" for him. I allow him decide. The epic tale of amazing vs. evil and the adventure of it all won him over. Peterson has a method of doing far as what age this book is appropriate for? I would say it depends on the child, but for a rule of thumb I would keep off until the kid has a firm grasp on true vs. make-believe. I have not read this to my kindergartner b/c he would be half expecting an troops of fangs to invade our neighborhood. I suggest buying the book (oh, do I ever!!!) and letting your sensitive kids decide for themselves as you tackle a chapter or two. You WILL end up reading it eventually. You MUST! So grab a copy and read it yourself, and tuck it on the shelf until you think the small ones are our house, we share all kinds of "inside jokes" similar to Peterson's books. It's become a treasure that we all carry a piece of in our hearts. A family language, of sorts. Despite the fact that our local library carries the series ~ we've purchased each book as we go along. They are part of our family now, and I look forward to the day my kids pass these titles down to their own families! A sweet heritage. Thank you to the author, Andrew Peterson, for putting such beauty into the globe that we can all belly-up to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    I wish my children to read this series. I thought this book was whimsical and fun. I originally read through a sample on Amazon, then I decided not to read the book because it sounded method too "silly" for me to take seriously. I really didn't understand how a amazing story could be full of silliness ("fangs of dang", "toothy cows," seriously?). If our generation is waiting on the next J.R.R. Tolkien, we'll have to hold waiting I thought. Then in a moment of boredom (probably because I ran out of books by ND Wilson to read), I picked this one up from the library. I finished it in a day because I couldn't place it down. Then I forgot to request book 2. Ok, I admit that even though the fangs and the cows were all a bit too silly for me, I did like the story after all. But for some reason I wasn't in a [email protected]#$%!&?hought I requested it. Then when I did request it, there was a wait list. After an agonizing month of waiting, I finally got the second book (North! Or Be Eaten). I was very careful not to begin that second book until I knew I could have some undisturbed reading time...I know my weakness for fiction, and amazing fiction means that housework doesn't obtain done (at least nothing but the most critical things). The second book is also full of the same whimsy and silliness, but it is roaring with action and adventure and builds mightily on the foundation that was laid in this first book. Reading the second book gave every detail presented in the first book a magnified importance. When I completed the second book, and began to obtain a grasp for the major themes of the series, I understood that these themes are exactly what my kids desperately need right now as they slog (sometimes slug, literally) their method through their childhoods. I determined that I would go back to the library, obtain the first book, and demand it as needed summer reading for all my readers. Only...there is a wait list. Seriously? The book is 9 years old! How is there a wait list? Do we only have one copy in our vast library system? Oh for the love! Thanks Amazon for easily and affordably remedying my problem. My fresh summer goal: read aloud this first book, then--if things go *just right*--we will read the second book while on a camping trip, because that setting couldn't be more perfect. I can't remember if I requested book 3 from the library, but if not, we will obtain there together as a family eventually. My takeaway--while the book is silly and whimsical on the surface, it also has deep themes to consider. I don't know what Tolkien would say, but I'm willing to bet CS Lewis would love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    Amazing Begin to a amazing series!!!Okay, i read every night to my boys (almost every night anyway). When it comes to books that are fun to read, funny and give a possibility for me to give moral insights and teachable moments, nothing matches this series.Andrew Peterson is a Christian recording artist. He is under the radar for the most part, since he singer/song writer and more chill in singer than "jump up and down concert-y." But he is a legit talent. Check out his Chirstamsn stuff. But his talent, I think, is best in writing.He says he would read the chapters to his children and scratch the content if they fell asleep. I believe it, my boys are constantly asking for "one more chapter" when we read e style of the book is more daily than magical but it's magical. The magic is seen more as the story goes on with healing water and untold fun items (not spoil anything) that comes out as they story e three Igiby's live in a little city that only gets visits once a year for the Dragon Day festival. The city is really held captive by these lizard men, that drip poison from their fangs. Until something happens. From there the journey of the family clinging together is full of fun. You are the edge ofyour seat, laugh at Andrew's wit and allow wondering why are these Jewels from the mysterious Anniera causing so much trouble.Podo the one legged Pirate (who for me sounds Irish but apparently Peterson thinks has an Oxford brogue) is very funny. The children are likable and full of sibling mischief and joy. Peet the Sock man, Oscar and Nia fill out the cast versus the villan called Gnag the Nameless and his Fangs from e fourth and final book is due out soon due to the immensely successful KickStarter campaign. The final installment will have Andrew Peterson himself reading and some really fun art work. Definitely a amazing read and a family favorite in my house.Enjoy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    I read a lot of fiction to my children, and a lot of fantasy in particular; some of it quite decent, some rather shabby. Of course we are fans of the Narnia Chronicles and the Lord of the Rings, but what could compare to those? When Dr. Sonju recommended Andrew Peterson’s 4-Volume fantasy series Wingfeather Saga (and allow us borrow his copies) latest year, I assumed it would be of the decent variety; but frankly, I was not prepared. On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness is the first book in the series (followed by North! Or Be Eaten; The Creature in the Hollows and The Warden and the Wolf King, which won the 2014 Globe Magazine, Children’s Book of the Year award).The Dark Sea of Darkness. The intentional redundancy struck me as beautiful funny, but it’s really funny. It’s my kind of funny; a bit dry at times, but witty and clever. Within a few pages, I felt like Peterson, my kids and I had a few inside jokes together. We are also introduced to the central characters, the Igiby family of the land of Skree, Glipwood Township: Grandpa Podo Helmer, an aging swashbuckler, rough around the edges, but adoring of his grandchildren; his daughter Nia Igiby, a attractive widow; and her three kids Janner, Tink and Leeli (and Leeli’s small dog Nugget). Though you might be tempted to see them as caricatures at the outset, each with their special bonuses and foibles, it’s only because you don’t know them well enough yet. Throughout the series, these characters unfold in believable complexity and we are introduced to a much larger cast of equally compelling characters, amazing and ill (and somewhere in between). We are also introduced to the villains of this series, Gnag the Nameless (Did you catch that? It’s funny.), who rules the greater part of Peterson’s fantasy-world (Aerwiar, another joke, you’ll understand when you read) and his reptilian servant-soldiers, the Fangs of Dang. And there are the dragons…A amazing mystery surrounds the entire series and a lot of questions arise that are only really answered much later. I wish to avoid giving anything away. If the books possess any weakness, it might be that there are stretches where the Igibys “wander in the wilderness” (literally and figuratively) and you really wish them to arrive in the Promised Land, but it’s worth it. This too is a amazing human theme (and a biblical one, obviously). Suffice it to say that, in addition to humor, there is amazing adventure, skirmishes and battles, quest and exploration (like a lot of of the recognized “classics”). There is much to keep one’s attention, but there is also much to talk about. There is terrifying evil and brilliant goodness, jealousy and generosity, betrayal and loyalty, cowardice and courage, incipient selfishness as well as self-sacrifice. Heroes and heroines in classic literature often have fatal flaws. In Peterson’s fantastical series, weak characters are found to possess wonderful powers. Beloved characters are found to have monstrous secrets, evil characters are found to be heart-broken and sometimes creatures are found to possess heart-rending goodness. This is what I was least prepared for: the heart-rending, the occasional choking back of tears for the beauty and truth conveyed in these stories, the moments when I had to risk the catch in my throat and hold reading because I desperately wish my kids to know the truths these stories tell.“Is this a “Christian” fantasy series then? Like Narnia?” I might argue that any work which tells the truth about humanity (an aspect of my third tag of the “classics”) must be “Christian” in some sense and Peterson is a Christian, but it’s not like Narnia. Besides the fact that Peterson’s writing style is entirely various from that of C.S. Lewis, his globe does not overlap with ours. Aslan and Jesus both exist in some sense in the Chronicles of Narnia. Peterson’s series isn’t like that. “Well, there’s the whole good-versus-evil theme right?” Yes, but it’s so much more complex than that and I tend to think good-versus-evil is a weaker basis on which to call something Christian than “truth about humanity.” “But you said there’s self-sacrifice, so there’s a Christ-figure like Aslan and what-not?” Yes, there is both redemption and self-sacrifice, but while Lewis clearly tries to tell the story of the cross in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Peterson’s story doesn’t obtain there as quickly, nor does it test to be an allegory of the Gospels in the same direct sense. I think if I had to explain why Christians should read these books, it’s because they are really good, and because they possess the emotional and relational content of the Gospel. In other words, these stories could only emerge from the imagination and heart of someone who understood the globe through the Gospel. The “deep magic” that works in Narnia in some sense must also be working in the land of Aerwiar. Prepare yourself; or maybe don’t. Tolle lege!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    I am going to review, not only this book, but the entire series (no spoilers, don’t worry) here. This is the only one I purchased, since after reading it and lending it to my 82 year old father, he immediately purchased the rest of the series. This book is marketed to middle readers and YA, yet is equally enjoyed by all ages.Let me begin here: do not be dissuaded by the silly names of monsters and people in this book. This is not a silly book. The Wingfeather saga is an epic adventure, a Chronicles of Narnia for a fresh generation. This is a coming-of-age tale filled with all the best you can hope for in a tale of adventure: fierce battles, frightening creatures, family bonds, sibling frustrations, love, sacrifice, mercy, and ultimately, hope. It is also a story of betrayal, of pride, and of the heart-rending consequences of living for self.Each book in this saga becomes stronger than the last. The four books comprise one continuous story, with each one picking up immediately where the previous book ends. The final book, The Warden and the Wolf King, is the strongest of them erson weaves a tale of a fallen creation in need of redemption, of ruined hearts crying out to the Maker for healing. I cried huge ugly tears at the end of the series. It was hard, yet attractive and right. These books will move you and live on in you for years to come. They will change you. They deserve a put next to C.S. Lewis, and Tolkien on your shelves. Yes, they are that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    I have been blessed with 8 kids and the oldest is 11. We are followers of Jesus. My aim is to search amazing literature for my kids to read because excellence is a reflection of the God we serve. All four books in this series are simply amazing! They remind me of CS Lewis in that there are so a lot of parallels from the book to our Christian walk that it is incredibly encouraging. The stories in the series are engaging! Book 1 is needed reading for my homeschool 6th grade students. My 11 year old finished it in days and then read through the subsequent three books in a couple of weeks. He is now re-reading them. I enjoyed the books as much as he did! That is the other nod to CS Lewis - children's literature that is gratifying for adults also!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    Starts a bit slow and ends with a flourish. How about a book that is wholesome and well written? (My wife calls the series: Highly original, deeply meaningful, laced with bits of zany humor, doesn't shy away from true grief, yet maintains hope) This is it. My son and wife have been reading through the series out loud and I'm following behind reading it myself. My 10 year old (who reads at an eighth grade level) just loves this series. I mean absolutely adores it. I have to field questions every day about how I'm doing on my reading, what I think about scenes. and etc. I think he thinks less of me for not liking it quite as much as he does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    This is a battle story. A compelling, intriguing, sometimes quirky but deeply moral battle story. This is the kind of story that helps us believe that we could stand and be counted if called upon to do so. This is a story that feeds the imagination and stretches the soul and it is a attractive testimony to the power of family. It is a very amazing story to have in our moral tting into the early pages is more than a bit disorienting. Like Middle Earth, we have humans and other monsters cohabiting in a battle torn land. Unlike Middle Earth, the names are goofy and seem like a long series of intelligent jokes. It was enormously helpful for me to know that Mr. Peterson intended this to be the "vastness of Lord of the Rings" with the "whimsey of the Princess Bride". I tend to prefer more serious hero sketches but once I allowed myself to obtain into the style, I found that it actually works really well."Oh, yes, the people of Skree were quite free, as long as they were in their homes by midnight. And as long as they bore no weapons, and they didn’t complain when their fellow Skreeans were occasionally taken away across the sea, never to be seen again. But other than the cruel Fangs and the constant threat of death and torture, there wasn’t much to fear in Skree."It is clear from the introduction that we have an oppressed people who are living a shadow of true life. We know right away that this is a story about amazing vs evil and that the characters we are about to fall in love with are e first portion of the book uses humor and quirkiness to reveal this tension. Like any amazing epic, this home setting is peppered with questions about identity, purpose and intention. The characters are sketched with the promise that they will be filled in as we go - but that they themselves still have much to learn about their history and how that will reveal their future. It is a very amazing setup and the layers are pulled back e quirkiness dissipates when the character struggle begins to emerge. We still have weird names and strange monsters with goofy tendencies, but those become servants of the text instead of the focus once the kids are in jail.What I found particularly rewarding about this text is that is does not keep back on the need for people to behave in heroic ways even when it may cost them everything. There aren't a lot of saves or simple outs. This is a dark and risky culture battle and it requires character, love, faith and hope to e family context is gorgeous. It is so authentic. All of the normal family wars are show but they are met with love and loyalty and faith. Faith in each other and in The Maker and His providence.An perfect first book in a series that I can't wait to unpack.I would rate the intensity of this book as being on par with the early Harry Potter books or The Hobbit. More intense and mildly violent than Narnia or The Green Ember but just as moral, wholesome and heroic. In fact, there are a number of things in the text which remind me of the HP books. There is no witchcraft or wizardry but there are mythical monsters who are otherworldly and there are some questions about one hero who was human and is now somehow altered. Classic fantasy type of The Green Ember, a fresh book with an old soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree" is actually a subtitle of the book. The Igiby kids must overcome amazing danger in to explore who they really are and where the lost jewels are as well as why their mother and grandfather are risking their lives for these tes: This book reads like a classic, or maybe more like a reference book. The author makes all these amazing footnotes referencing other things of his imagination. He explains history and culture and uses imaginary references as his sources for these! It makes the book feel true even though it's filled with fanciful elements! This book is fun, exciting, and even thought provoking! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree. (The Wingfeather Saga Book 1) []  2020-2-12 19:3

    I really love this series, but I have to admit the first book was a bit hard to obtain through. It moved slowly, and it wasn't until around 2/3 of the method through that I really got interested in what was happening. The books that come after are wonderful, pace and all, but this one got a slow start. Still, you obtain all the background and foundation for the series that you need I suppose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    I love Red Heart yarn and use it for all of my projects. I am a very experienced crocheter. I have been at it for over 50 years and have created tons of afghans and baby blankets, all with Red Heart yarn.I bought 6 skeins of this yarn. Because I was trying to create a blanket for a young child, I decided to create two blankets. What you see in the images is the product of 3 skeins. 6 skeins would cover a double bed very nicely, using the pattern I went with (meaning just that easy back and forth).I bought this yarn because I thought it was pretty. I was not disappointed. I'm going to more in other colors to create more child e I on Amazon compares VERY favorably to the same item at reviewer complained that the end product was not soft. Test a larger hook.Another complained about knots in the yarn. It happens. Just hold an eye out.Another complained about a discoloration. This is extremely rare, but it happens. Just hold an eye on your project as you work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    This yarn was simple to work with. The color was and beachy. The afghan I created was a bonus and the recipient is thrilled with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    This yarn is attractive variegated colors and is and simple to work with. I created it into a lap quilt for a mate who loves these colors and it turned out lovely. I had never used this brand of yarn before but surely will again in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    Truly enjoyed the read of this experience. Would recommend for a light read and cultural insight. Fascinating concept, well presented. Condition of book as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    "Khat ... also known as qat, gat, chat, and miraa ... is a flowering plant native to tropical East Africa and the Arabian Peninsula... Khat includes the alkaloid cathinone, an amphetamine-like stimulant which causes excitement and euphoria... Traditionally, khat has been used as a socializing drug, and this is still very much the case in Yemen where khat-chewing is predominantly, although not exclusively, a male habit... Khat consumption induces mild euphoria and excitement. Individuals become very talkative under the influence of the drug and may appear to be unrealistic and emotionally unstable. Khat can induce manic behaviors and hyperactivity... A latest British study found khat to be much less risky than tobacco or alcohol." - from WikipediaPeripatetic scribblers wander to such obvious destinations as Italy, France, Greece, China, India, Australia, the Amazon, or Alaska, then write a book to tell the rest of us vegetables all about it. Here in MOTORING WITH MOHAMMED, accomplished travel writer Eric Hansen immerses the reader in North Yemen. (Where, you say?) North Yemen squatted next to the Red Sea just to the south of southwest Saudi Arabia, and joined with South Yemen in 1990 to become the Republic of Yemen.Hansen's narrative is served up in two parts. Well, three, actually. The first takes put in 1978 when, after a 7-year period of wandering in other backwaters, the author is shipwrecked in the yacht "Clea", on which he was part of a five-person crew, on the uninhabited North Yemen island of Uqban. The first four chapters describe this experience, during which, for safekeeping, he buried on the island the wrapped journals of his previous adventures. The problem is, he forgot to take them along when he and his companions were eventually rescued after fourteen e book's second part - thirteen chapters - takes put during a ten-week period a decade later when Hansen returns to North Yemen to retrieve his cached journals. Unbeknownst to him, however, is that Uqban Island lay in a security location virtually inaccessible to foreigners. This fact becomes frustratingly clear as he unsuccessfully conspires with local support to cross the twenty miles of water separating the mainland from the island. Meanwhile, he cools his heels exploring, and falling in love with, much of the rest of the country. It's this developing love affair with North Yemen that's the basis for most of MOTORING WITH MOHAMMED.Whether he's tiptoeing across a precarious slope in the interior mountains, or witnessing the execution of a murderer, or participating in a communal qat chew, or sweating in a bathhouse, or feasting on stewed sheep's heads, Eric has a talent for observing the info that enrich the subsequent tale:"There is a trick to cracking begin the skulls. You put the thumb of one hand in an eye socket (with the eyeball still intact), and span the skull and grip the roof of the mouth with the fingers. The other hand grasps the lower jaw. A sharp twisting motion is accompanied by a sickening snap and a popping sound. When done properly, the slippery skull and jawbone come away in two pieces. Then you prise begin the cranium." (Happily, this passage refers to the feast, not the execution.)As the eighteenth and latest chapter reveals, the author created the fortuitous acquaintance of the Yemeni ambassador to the United States at a Washington, D.C. image exhibit of his nation's architecture eight months after the former returned to America sans journals. In the Middle East especially, it's all about whom you know. Thus, five months after that, Eric, shovel in hand, is sloshing through the Yemeni surf to a "fishing boat that smelled of rancid shark oil and pureed dates", which, Allah willing, can convey him and an agent of the National Security Police across the sea to Uqban. Truly, as the title of this chapter implies, "It was written."I shall most certainly never create it to Yemen. Yes, researching "San'a", the capital of Yemen, on the Web does almost compel me to visit on a whim. But, being married, my own happy-go-lucky journeying days are over. Besides, Yemen seems at times to be, um, a bit too raw. But, through Hansen's eyes and wonderfully evocative prose, I'm taken there in fine style, and that's what a five-star travel essay is all about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    Eric the author went to Yeman in the 1970s and has a lot of adventures, meal happenings and experiences with the people of the country. Hansen is a travel author who takes you on an interesting trip to locations we probably will never go to, so it is a vicarious experience through the printed page. Test it, you'll like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    An entertaining travel adventure novel/memoir. This would have been given 5 stars except for the authors penchant for getting a bit wordy in describing happenings scenes to the point of boredom. After a bit I just skimmed those when I saw those paragraphs coming. Other then that a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    this was a amazing value...and I was very satisfied with the subtle transition from shade to shade...beautiful colors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    I really like to use Red Heart yarns and I gave this 5 Stars, but from this point forward I will be more aware of what can go wrong. It is not uncommon to have a factory knot in the skein somewhere. This project had a knot in a skein and I just crocheted on through it. I did not message that the knot was dirty and it was on the pale blue part of the yarn. The afghan was almost complete before I did message the dirty knot. I have not tried to wash out the dirt yet, but I hope it is not grease from the spinning machine as that will probably not come out.. From now on when I run across a knot I will chop it out and retie the yarn myself. I was disappointed with Red Heart this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    Very simple to work with. Crochets up nicely and the color is very appealing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    Eric the author went to Yeman in the 1970s and has a lot of adventures, meal happenings and experiences with the people of the country. Hansen is a travel author who takes you on an interesting trip to locations we probably will never go to, so it is a vicarious experience through the printed page. Test it, you'll like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    Best of all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Through The Red Sea: A Path to Private Care []  2020-1-27 0:26

    Through The Red Sea is an indespensible tutorial on the path to personal care in the dental practice. It is a book that is both inspirational and practical. Most importantly these patient-centered tactics work! I highly reccomend this book for individual dentists or for dental squads seeking to support their patients explore and move forward with more complete care.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    Every since learning of this book I have been looking forward to read it simply because it involved traveling in Yemen, a country that has a long and interesting history and is a put that is not accessible to much of the world's citizens currently. Having had the opportunity to visit Sana'a, Yemen for a week in 2009, and knowing that it was a rare and special experience that I will not have again for a long time, I have become interested in what the country is like outside of Sana'a. Reading the news lately, it really seems like it is the "wild west" out there. I can only imagine what it is truly ic Hansen's book reveals so much of the culture of life in Yemen in the late 20th century, and I am truly grateful to him for this bonus of wisdom. Plus, what an adventure. He went through a lot of unbelievable travel dreams that a lot of of us have thought of, but in reality they are probably just as risky or even more so than what happened to Hansen during his first trip to Yemen. I still focus on his description of the beauty of living in solitude after the shipwreck with his companions and, for a certain time, being from the constraints and expectations of the outside world. How a lot of of us have not dreamed of spending some time on a deserted island?What also resonated with me was the basis of his return to Yemen ten years after the shipwreck. Ever since reading "Into the Wild", I learned of the possible utility of burying valuables and coming back for them later. This was beneficial and successful for McCandless, but for Hansen it turned in to a adventure that by necessity gained him access to the colourful spectrum of Yemeni culture that could only be experienced by a "Westerner" years ago, and even then it was fraught with is was the second book I have read by Hansen and I am truly impressed and fulfilled by the method he creates the narrative. This book is a attractive and brilliantly special journey and it was awesome to experience it through his eyes, ears and spirit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    I read this book 6 years ago. It created me laugh and really appreciate the author and his adventures.I shall read it again. It's one I saved just for that purpose.I really recommend this book for anyone interested in the Yemeni culture or just for the appreciation of this author's wit and writing skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    This skein is huge! Much larger than I was expecting, which was nice. The colors are attractive although I guess I was thinking it would be a small bit of medium blue, then a small dark, and a small light and so on and so on. But it was a LOT of medium and then a LOT of dark. I created a hat which I have pictured here and I never even got to the light color. The hat turned out nice, but I was thinking it would be more of a mixture throughout. And I had to take a star away because this yarn is not at all. It is rough and actually feels more like string than yarn. It was simple enough to work with, but it literally felt like a piece of string with dried paint on it. Surprisingly, the hat isn't stiff and it is quite comfortable, but I would never create a blanket with this. Very beautiful though and I have a lot left, so maybe I will create a bag or a couple more hats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    Every since learning of this book I have been looking forward to read it simply because it involved traveling in Yemen, a country that has a long and interesting history and is a put that is not accessible to much of the world's citizens currently. Having had the opportunity to visit Sana'a, Yemen for a week in 2009, and knowing that it was a rare and special experience that I will not have again for a long time, I have become interested in what the country is like outside of Sana'a. Reading the news lately, it really seems like it is the "wild west" out there. I can only imagine what it is truly ic Hansen's book reveals so much of the culture of life in Yemen in the late 20th century, and I am truly grateful to him for this bonus of wisdom. Plus, what an adventure. He went through a lot of unbelievable travel dreams that a lot of of us have thought of, but in reality they are probably just as risky or even more so than what happened to Hansen during his first trip to Yemen. I still focus on his description of the beauty of living in solitude after the shipwreck with his companions and, for a certain time, being from the constraints and expectations of the outside world. How a lot of of us have not dreamed of spending some time on a deserted island?What also resonated with me was the basis of his return to Yemen ten years after the shipwreck. Ever since reading "Into the Wild", I learned of the possible utility of burying valuables and coming back for them later. This was beneficial and successful for McCandless, but for Hansen it turned in to a adventure that by necessity gained him access to the colourful spectrum of Yemeni culture that could only be experienced by a "Westerner" years ago, and even then it was fraught with is was the second book I have read by Hansen and I am truly impressed and fulfilled by the method he creates the narrative. This book is a attractive and brilliantly special journey and it was awesome to experience it through his eyes, ears and spirit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    I second the views of several reviewers that this is one of the best travel books they've ever read. Hansen takes us through Yemen as if we were riding (or sailing) with him. I never gave much thought to or knew much about Yemen but, thanks to Hansen, I have a fresh and positive view of it. His willingness to obtain out and experience a lot of facets of this country enriches his descriptions. His amazing humor and sensitivity to its people are gratifying. But this is more than just a travelogue. Hansen's quest for his buried notebooks is a compelling story in itself. That plot and this venue combine to create this an irresistible and meritorious book. I look forward to reading more from this intrepid and gifted writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    oh, what a read! I want things were so easy today. Eric had a amazing adventure. I will think of his story whenever I smoke my Midwakh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    I second the views of several reviewers that this is one of the best travel books they've ever read. Hansen takes us through Yemen as if we were riding (or sailing) with him. I never gave much thought to or knew much about Yemen but, thanks to Hansen, I have a fresh and positive view of it. His willingness to obtain out and experience a lot of facets of this country enriches his descriptions. His amazing humor and sensitivity to its people are gratifying. But this is more than just a travelogue. Hansen's quest for his buried notebooks is a compelling story in itself. That plot and this venue combine to create this an irresistible and meritorious book. I look forward to reading more from this intrepid and gifted writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring With Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-7-6 19:42

    This is a gem of a travel book. I didn't think a book set in Yemen would be this interesting or entertaining. I was pleasantly surprised by the author's adventures and his attention to detail on his journey. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Red Heart Super Saver Ombre Yarn 10 oz SEA Coral []  2020-1-25 7:44

    I really like this Red Heart ombre yarn for the method it smoothly changes colors and easily comes out of the skein from the center with no knots. My only issue with it is the color which looks like medium blue on the page, but is actually white to icy blue and then pale blue ombre. I was hoping for a darker blue that was more of a sky blue color. I am keeping it because I can use it in my charity projects, but I won't use it for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    "Khat ... also known as qat, gat, chat, and miraa ... is a flowering plant native to tropical East Africa and the Arabian Peninsula... Khat includes the alkaloid cathinone, an amphetamine-like stimulant which causes excitement and euphoria... Traditionally, khat has been used as a socializing drug, and this is still very much the case in Yemen where khat-chewing is predominantly, although not exclusively, a male habit... Khat consumption induces mild euphoria and excitement. Individuals become very talkative under the influence of the drug and may appear to be unrealistic and emotionally unstable. Khat can induce manic behaviors and hyperactivity... A latest British study found khat to be much less risky than tobacco or alcohol." - from WikipediaPeripatetic scribblers wander to such obvious destinations as Italy, France, Greece, China, India, Australia, the Amazon, or Alaska, then write a book to tell the rest of us vegetables all about it. Here in MOTORING WITH MOHAMMED, accomplished travel writer Eric Hansen immerses the reader in North Yemen. (Where, you say?) North Yemen squatted next to the Red Sea just to the south of southwest Saudi Arabia, and joined with South Yemen in 1990 to become the Republic of Yemen.Hansen's narrative is served up in two parts. Well, three, actually. The first takes put in 1978 when, after a 7-year period of wandering in other backwaters, the author is shipwrecked in the yacht "Clea", on which he was part of a five-person crew, on the uninhabited North Yemen island of Uqban. The first four chapters describe this experience, during which, for safekeeping, he buried on the island the wrapped journals of his previous adventures. The problem is, he forgot to take them along when he and his companions were eventually rescued after fourteen e book's second part - thirteen chapters - takes put during a ten-week period a decade later when Hansen returns to North Yemen to retrieve his cached journals. Unbeknownst to him, however, is that Uqban Island lay in a security location virtually inaccessible to foreigners. This fact becomes frustratingly clear as he unsuccessfully conspires with local support to cross the twenty miles of water separating the mainland from the island. Meanwhile, he cools his heels exploring, and falling in love with, much of the rest of the country. It's this developing love affair with North Yemen that's the basis for most of MOTORING WITH MOHAMMED.Whether he's tiptoeing across a precarious slope in the interior mountains, or witnessing the execution of a murderer, or participating in a communal qat chew, or sweating in a bathhouse, or feasting on stewed sheep's heads, Eric has a talent for observing the info that enrich the subsequent tale:"There is a trick to cracking begin the skulls. You put the thumb of one hand in an eye socket (with the eyeball still intact), and span the skull and grip the roof of the mouth with the fingers. The other hand grasps the lower jaw. A sharp twisting motion is accompanied by a sickening snap and a popping sound. When done properly, the slippery skull and jawbone come away in two pieces. Then you prise begin the cranium." (Happily, this passage refers to the feast, not the execution.)As the eighteenth and latest chapter reveals, the author created the fortuitous acquaintance of the Yemeni ambassador to the United States at a Washington, D.C. image exhibit of his nation's architecture eight months after the former returned to America sans journals. In the Middle East especially, it's all about whom you know. Thus, five months after that, Eric, shovel in hand, is sloshing through the Yemeni surf to a "fishing boat that smelled of rancid shark oil and pureed dates", which, Allah willing, can convey him and an agent of the National Security Police across the sea to Uqban. Truly, as the title of this chapter implies, "It was written."I shall most certainly never create it to Yemen. Yes, researching "San'a", the capital of Yemen, on the Web does almost compel me to visit on a whim. But, being married, my own happy-go-lucky journeying days are over. Besides, Yemen seems at times to be, um, a bit too raw. But, through Hansen's eyes and wonderfully evocative prose, I'm taken there in fine style, and that's what a five-star travel essay is all about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to Yemen and the Red Sea []  2020-1-25 18:38

    The author has written an engaging, entertaining, beautifully discriptive book of Yemen. I visited Sana'a about 15 years ago and his book really hits the mark. I particularly have fun how Mr. Hansen captures the culture and attitudes of the Yemen. He knows that that that culture is 180 degrees from Western culture and he treats Yemeni religion, customs and attitudes with respect and openness - yet does not patronize as do a lot of other travel books.His writing is witting, self-deprecating and honest - completely enjoyable.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386