Read renaissance of the celtic harp reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all renaissance of the celtic harp reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    I love harp melody and I had this CD before but it got broken so I was so excited to search this one again. Unbelievable Music.

    0  


    Add your opinion on renaissance of the celtic harp or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    Both soothing and invigorating, this is a lush, rich and varied compilation of selections from some of the best harp players and composers in the business! No matter how a lot of times I place this recording on, listening to it is always a treat; because the harps and musical styles featured are so varied, it seems that there's always something new. The artists playing on this recording are many: Dennis Doyle, Thomas Loefke, Kim Robertson, Sylvia Woods, Derek Bell, Ani Williams, Julia Haines, Judith Pintar, and quite a number of harp duos: Laurie Riley and Michael MacBean, Sileas, Sedrenn, Katie LaRaye Waldren and Candace Kreitlow, Northern Lights, Alison Heymann and Alison Kinnaird, and Andy Rigby with Riley Lee. Styles range from traditional Celtic to modern and jazz, North and South American, Fresh Age, and even Japanese, featuring both solo and ensemble harp playing, as well as harp duets and pairings with other instruments such as shakuhachi and hammered dulcimer. I passed on buying this CD several years ago in a bookstore after reading a review that said all those harps on one recording were "cloying". Recently, after coming across it again, I decided to give it a possibility and I'm very glad I did; it's become one of the favorites in my collection! Certainly, if you don't like the sound of harp music, you shouldn't this or any other harp CD. But if you do, this one is a top pick! You won't be disappointed. Also recommended with equal enthusiasm are "Harpestry: A Contemporary Collection" and "Celtic Harpestry: A Contemporary Collection", both from Imaginary Street Records.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    This cd is amazing because not only are there some amazing musicians who play on it, but it's got a small bit of everything: classical and Celtic. I play the Celtic harp but hope someday to "graduate" to the pedal harp. This cd is a amazing inspiration and well done. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys harp music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    I recieved the CD in perfect condition and my daughter has played it daily since her birthday on June 9th and enjoys it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    The wonderful artistry and beauty in this album gives the harp a fresh sound, reclaiming for this marvelous instrument, too often relegated to the background, a position in the limelight it rightfully deserves.I'd heard before the harp used in folkloric Mexican, Peruvian and Celtic music, and there are some of these foreign accents brought into this mix. As the title suggests, much of the melody has undeniable Celtic strains, but, with the artful addition of other foreign flavors, the sound made by these artists is new, fresh, vital, full of crystal and overall impression is awe at the talent brought together into a single CD. Every single selection is so attractive that it's difficult, almost unfair, to single out any one piece. I'll just say that Spring, the latest selection, a hauntingly beautiful, magical combination of Japanese bamboo flute and Southamerican harp, is truly worth waiting for. What a value!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    I bought this CD out of curiosity while visiting Wherehouse Melody recently. I'd heard other amazing recordings by Narada, especially of Celtic music, but had yet to see or hear a recording strictly of harp music. Having heard and purchased both "Harpestry" and "Celtic Harpestry" by Imaginary Street Records, I was looking forward to measuring this album versus them.I must say, I'm astonished. If anything, this album has just as much class and beauty as, and even more panache than, the Imaginary Street recordings (which is saying a lot) -- not surprising, since a lot of of the same artists perform on this recording. (I know or or have heard of most of them through our common membership in the International Society of Folk Harpers and Craftsmen; they are among the most renowned harpers in the world.) The dozens of moods and attitudes (and even of spiritualities) on this recording ought to supply something for everyone; and unlike some albums of this genre, each artist is given but one selection to play, ensuring that as a lot of artists as possible obtain to all means, obtain this album. Restfulness it certainly has (after all, this is harp music); but there is also amazing vigor, *joie de vivre*, moodiness and even mystery here. It's amazing to know that the bardic and prophetic art of harping is alive and well in this modern, electronic, guitar-driven age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    Very amazing condition, thank you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    This is a really fine collection of different harp players. Aside from Ani Williams far-too-New Agey contribution, all of the tracks on here are very interesting and provide a wide dozens of styles and approaches. A very amazing sampler to expose yourself to players you may not have heard before. Most of the harps on here are not pedal harps, contrary to the images on the CD. If you are interested in finding out about different celtic/lever harp players, this is a highly recommded CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    I required a harp CD, and this album filled the gap nicely. There are a lot of uplifting thoughtful lighthearted and sweet tones here. Some tracks create you feel like you wish to do an Irish jig. Others are more subdued. It has a nice blend of content. If you are in the shop for a harp CD, check this one out. I am satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Faces Of The Harp: Celtic & Contemporary []  2020-1-23 3:17

    I love to play this as I'm doing something in my room or working on the computer. It stimulates my creativity huge time. The songs are quite catchy. I love that it gives me right balance of relaxed yet very awake and aware, and plain happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    Amazing soothing Celtic Harp! Love it! No quick tempo or upbeat tunes to break your meditative state.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    Patrick Ball is 'top of the line' in playing the traditional Celtic (Irish) harp. This CD is filled with delightful melody which is a joy to hear. It is a must for those who are serious about Celtic harp music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    If you only one Celtic harp CD in your life, allow this be the one! Ball is an amazingly talented harpist, and his melody is heavenly from the first to latest song. Perfect for background or just to make a sparkling and pleasant atmosphere. You'll wish to obtain more of his CDs, there are several. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    Peaceful melody to spin yarn by. Amazing purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    A really nice performance of some O'Carolan pieces. Sound quality is excellent, and the melody seems to really sparkle!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    Special sound of specially crafted celtic harp emitting a sweet metallic sound that conjures up scenes of medieval castles and banquets. selection of ancient Irish aires

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    I love this cd of Irish harp music. It has a peaceful and calming result when you listen to it. It goes very well with a cup of tea and a fire in the fireplace on a cold winter day. Ah . . . relaxation at its best!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    Very attractive and love the uplifting bright quality of Patrick's harp performance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    I've purchased a lot of CD's by harpists, and specifically, harpists playing Celtic melody by Turlough O'Carolan and I truly feel that Patrick Ball is one of the best "interpreters" of this music. He plays with such commitment and yet there is a sweet softness that prevails. I've had the pleasure of seeing him perform live and if you are a person who loves Celtic harp melody and you have an opportunity to see him, I couldn't recommend him more highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. I: The Music of Turlough O'Carolan []  2020-1-18 22:47

    Beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of the Harp []  2020-1-16 23:50

    Attractive peacefilled music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    This album has been one of my favorites since I was a little child. My family wore out our casette and had to wait for technology to catch up so we could make batter to a lvia Woods (who was the 1980 All Ireland Harp Champion) is a talented harp player as well as a composer. She has also written numerous books on harp intruction and harp melody that are uniformally e suite tells a fairy tale story about the power of the harp. Sylvia's compositions range from spritely to is abum inspired me to play the harp, using Sylvia's books (of course!). However, I highly recommend this album to anyone who enjoys celtic, world, or fresh age music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    Being a lover of Celtic harp, I bought this CD on the basis of all the supportive and glowing reviews. I found it a whole lot less magical than Charles Guard's "Avenging and Bright." In fact, I think it would appeal more as kid's music. I would have enjoyed it much more without the annoying whistling (which completely ruined the possibility this CD would ever be played again, at least by me), because the harp was lovely. The CD, on the whole, felt a small too upbeat a la "Leprechaun-skips-through-the-garden" and not really at all the Celtic mystical experience it was touted to be, at least for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    I keep this album to be one of the most magical and transportive suites of melody composed. You must hear it to understand and to be transported into the land of Fairie. Extraordinary; other-worldly...I hold praying that Sylvia Woods will release another of its kind for the balm and restoration of my spirit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    Not really my cup of tea. Ms Woods is a skilled harpist, and has written some perfect how-to books on playing harp. Others may really like this album of her original compositions, but it just didn't do it for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    Very attractive and relaxing. Amazing for meditation or just listening to. Replaced my old 33 album since it's hard to search a working stereo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of the Harp []  2020-1-16 23:50

    I purchased this CD when in Port Townsend, WA recently. David Michael was performing a Celtic Harp concert on the ferry from Pt. Townsend to Whidbey Island. I loved the melody so much I bought Heart of the Harp. A mate bought another of his CDs, and we each play ours constantly. It's the most relaxing melody ever. If you are not familiar with the Celtic Harp, it has a various sound than the standard harp you might be used to. I strongly recommend this CD, and my massage therapist tells me it is her most requested background melody by her clients. I also search it to be attractive dinner music. Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    I had the amazing fortune to this CD a lot of years ago. I listened to it over and over, and it transported me to a magical place. I realized after listening to this CD that I had always wanted to learn to play the harp!I contacted Sylvia Woods, the composer and muscial genious who created this CD, and asked if I might possibly obtain a harp and learn to play from her! She agreed to support me, and so began a unbelievable friendship that I treasure, and I am now an amateur harpist.I consider Sylvia one of the finest harpers and teachers on this planet. She has done more to encourage the revival of the Celtic harp as an instrument than anyone else in the world. Her shop in Los Angeles, Sylvia Woods Harp Center, helps a lot of folks like me, who always wanted to play a harp but don't know how to obtain is album has lifted my spirits for over 15 years. Its awesome to me how the musical phrases from various parts of the suite have come to me in dreams, uplifted me during health crises.....I would say its my favorite Celtic harp album of all I have.....and I have e greatest bonus of all was that I got to see Sylvia Woods perform the Suite live, and tell the story of the Harp of Braniswhiere. Definitely a five star rating!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    I had this on vinyl. It's amazing to have it in a digital format!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Harp of Brandiswhiere []  2020-2-2 5:18

    Listening to this unbelievable CD always transports me! It evokes rich, magical images. It is hauntingly attractive with lush and insteresting instrumentation. Sometimes I like to just have it playing quietly in the background... but my favorite thing ever was to have it playing loudly on my vehicle stereo system as I drove through forests in the Pacific Northwest. Magical things were sure to happen!!Who but Sylvia Woods could have thought to write an entire suite for Celtic Harp! What a treat!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp Music of Carolan and Others for Solo Guitar []  2019-12-17 21:14

    Nicely arranged pieces for classic guitarists with a amazing bit of variety. I'm very much enjoying playing from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp Music of Carolan and Others for Solo Guitar []  2019-12-17 21:14

    Perfect collection of intermediate level pieces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp Music of Carolan and Others for Solo Guitar []  2019-12-17 21:14

    A virtual treasure trove of Celtic melody arranged for finger style guitar. Very accessible and interesting pieces. A must for any one interested in a more classical approach to Celtic finger style guitar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp Music of Carolan and Others for Solo Guitar []  2019-12-17 21:14

    Love this book. There is something for everyone, and at every nda

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    The melody of Patrick Ball is special in that it is played on the wire-strung Irish harp. The notes ring in a method that regular harp notes do not. This album is intimate and soothing but that is not to say it is for sleeping. For any aficiando of Celtic music, it is full of moving melodies and counterpoint. Most of the songs a purely harp but are very full-sounding. Listen to the sound samples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp Music of Carolan and Others for Solo Guitar []  2019-12-17 21:14

    Amazing book ,I stayed away from Celtic guitar melody because most of the tunes are in Dadgad and I didn't wish to learn a fresh tuning, this book is unbelievable I can learn attractive a tunes without the hassle to learn the Dadgad, thanks Glenn amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp Music of Carolan and Others for Solo Guitar []  2019-12-17 21:14

    Having been through the fingerstyle guitar renaissance that blossomed in the 90's I have brought a lot of books of Celtic inspired music, most of which have been in altered tunings. Glenn Weiser took a various approach. Classically trained as a guitarist, he made arrangements that reflect his background: these are in standard tuning or dropped-D tuning (ie, 6th string tuned down a step) and they have more going on for the thumb to do than most arrangements. The altered tunings arrangements in most other books obtain old because they use a few drone strings for bass. Weisner takes the bass part seriously and introduces lots of moving bass lines and counterpoint. I love playing it. Over all they are pleasing to play and relatively simple IF you are an experienced fingerstylist or a classical guitarist. They are very straight forward and rely heavily on primary chord shapes such as G C and D in first position. (Though most songs create forays into the upper frets). They actually sound better than almost any other arrangments I can think of and they are very friendly to play. You also don't have to devote a month to learning a piece--they are so intuitive and "guitaristic" that you can learn them quickly. You will search that I have reviewed several of Weiser's books. They are all great, but I feel this is the very best one among all of them. TABS included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    I already had one CD by Patrick Ball, and wanted to build my collection. This music, played on a brass strung Celtic harp, is at once relaxing and energizing. I place it on my computer at work, and when the day is particularly stressful, I turn on the CD, and within mins my mood improves, and my concentration increases. It's also amazing for driving-makes being stuck in traffic much less painful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    I've been a fan of Patrick Ball for years and was delighted to hear of a fresh release. Upon first listening to Fair Play I was reminded of why. The sound of his harp and the expertise he brings to it create me glad I'm on the same planet with this unbelievable musician.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    Patrick Ball is renowned for his playing of the Celtic (Irish) harp. He is superior in every way. The melody is a joy to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    I've seen Patrick in concert twice. What a gift! I had the opportunity to talk with him after the latest present I saw. a very kind gentleman and very approachable. I don't care for the story telling but he is a MASTER of the Celtic harp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    More than twenty years ago, I was working on an organic farm and one of the other workers had a tape of Patrick Ball's first album. The melody captured me and eventually led me to build a wire-strung harp of my own and learn to play it, although I never became very amazing at trick's melody is unlike any other you'll ever hear for two reasons. The first is the harp. There are only a handful of people alive today who can play the wire-strung Celtic harp well: Patrick Ball, Ann Heymann, and a couple of others who are even less well known. The harp is strung with brass wires that have a tremendous sustain and clarity, often likened to bells. If the harpist does not damp notes, they ring on and on, causing a cacaphony of sound that drowns the music. On average, I search that I have to damp about two-thirds of the notes I strike; I'm not sure about Patrick's arrangements. Damping has to be done at precisely the right time, and noiselessly, to be inconspicuous (although you can hear it easily if you're a harpist yourself; after learning to play, I heard much more depth in Patrick's recordings). This makes the instrument a lot of times harder to play than a gut- or nylon-strung harp, which is why it was estimated in the seventeenth century that it needed at least seven years of study to become proficient. But the work is well worth it. Letting a note continue to ring creates implicit harmonies and extra complexity -- listening deeply to a piece is kind of a musical "reading between the lines." There is nothing like it on e second reason that Patrick's melody is in a category all its own is the musicianship. His arrangements are extraordinary. This is not the jaunty dime-a-dozen fare that has soured you on the Celtic genre, nor is it Fresh Age plunk-a-plinking. Patrick knows how to blend the musicality of each song perfectly with the instrument. He is like Miles Davis in that he plays all the notes that the melody needs, and not a note more. His playing is delicate, with a complexity that springs both from the instrument's characteristics, and his own thoughtfulness. The fact that the instrument's voice is so clear makes it possible for him to strike notes very softly, but yet create them audible clearly over stronger notes; thus, there is a tremendous dynamic range, with gentle melodic lines weaving in and out of each other, complementing each other but not interfering. Patrick's playing and arrangements are understated yet complete. He lets the melody speak for itself. The effect is that nothing could ever speak more cannot understand the beauty, grace, and power of this recording by listening to the samples. You need a quiet room and a really amazing stereo or a set of high-quality headphones. Did I mention that Patrick's recordings are an audiophile's dream? I played one of them for my uncle, who runs an audiophile business for billionaire clients, and he was astonished (and so was I!) at the recording. The instrument sounded like it was in the room with us. We both fell silent and listened for several songs without speaking. My uncle is a rock-and-roll guitarist, and I think it took him by surprise that a brass-strung harp could keep him like trick's recordings are all masterpieces, but I would say that over time he has become more mature and sophisticated in both his playing and his arrangements. His latest recordings are more subtle and nuanced than his first, although listening to it still takes me back to the fields where I first heard it in the Farm Use pickup truck we drove around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fair Play (Celtic Harp) []  2020-1-31 9:56

    Patrick Ball is fabulous harpist .Saw him years ago in Lancaster Pennsylvania.He is a WONDER FUL story teller. Was thrilled to search him again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil [App]  2019-4-19 13:48

    I was looking for the android game like this for the goddamn eternity! Thanks devs, you've created my leisure

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil [App]  2019-4-19 13:48

    Hidden object, puzzles and minigames - this android game has everything I am looking for in games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil [App]  2019-4-19 13:48

    Cool android game everyone must play

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil [App]  2019-4-19 13:48

    I do have fun this android game a lot. The plot is twisted and the graphics are stunning. I am so hyped for this release!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florence, Italy: Birthplace of the Renaissance | Children's Renaissance History []  2020-1-20 19:20

    Given the topic matter, we had hoped the content would not be a reflection of the publisher's d to say it contained only headline/soundbites that the 8 year old could gotten from a fast google search. Didn't learn anything from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Daily Life of a Renaissance Child | Children's Renaissance History []  2020-1-16 2:8

    Not much info. I don't recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Found it useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    This work is particularly interesting because it has such a wide dozens of amazing authors writing sections that aren't too long or overly wordy. The stories are interesting and give the reader a general, wide-spread view of the time. I don't remember one badly written or uninteresting article in this book. As a result, I recommend it as a amazing introduction to the time period. Certainly, it has its limitations with regard to detailed research but it is amazing for what it is. Enjoy, history addicts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    I enjoyed The History of the Renaissance. The author provided some insights that were fresh to me. A very interesting period in history and this book did a nice job uncovering the Renaissance

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    We have been accustomed to assign dates and definitions to historic happenings like wars, geographic discoveries, etc. In the case of the Renaissance period such an attempt is somewhat elusive. On the whole we might describe this renaissance movement as one of an amorphous nature. We know that, in general, it was a natural awakening which appeared first in Italy with emphasis on poetry and literature. In broad terms, the whole movement stretched from the 13th century to the 17th (with some historians insisting that we are still in it!) during which period it encompassed almost all elements of our life from art and science to technology and an effort to cast some light on this seemingly elusive phenomenon, the author gathered a vast collection of articles, reports and anecdotes (no less than 40) covering miscellaneous cultural and political issues. Did this really support the reader gain a better understanding of this period. Well, some were pertinent like the following: "Beginning and Progress of the Renaissance", "The Splendor of Renaissance Art Under Michelangelo", "Luther Begins the Reformation in Germany". But, unfortunately, the huge majority were either irrelevant or just tangential. The following sample illustrates the point: "African Slavery in America", "The Black Death Ravages Europe" and "Conquests of Timur the Tarar". (We must hold in mind that we are dealing with the renaissance in Europe}. In general, however, the author attempts to cover most aspects of life including literature, art, politics, astronomy etc.... and present how they developed and prospered during this period and how they influenced public and personal lives. There is one major omission, however, the art of classical music. Not even one article or reference is created to it. So much was developed and improved in this art during this period starting with the Gregorian Chants, to counter point , to polyphony into harmony and musical variations. Considering the importance of this type of melody and its later development into concertos, symphonies and choral music, not to mention the role it played in opera and ballet, it is sad to have it completely ignored. Like painting and other arts classical melody has always brought considerable feelings of relaxation and peace of mind to millions of people though the centuries since its growth during the Renaissance .Reading about the Renaissance period one wonders what created it so vital in the history of Europe. Why this "awakening" or "rebirth" took put has not been reasonably explained or understood. Suffice it to attribute this to a natural phenomenon or a reaction to a dull and depressed period of the Middle Ages. But the sudden growth and maturing of its different elements can be attributed to a group of geniuses supported by ambitious leaders and thinkers. If we have to mention some of the top names who dominated the phenomenal growth in the period the list would have to contain the following: Petrarch, Dante, Boccaccio, for their work in poetry and literature; Copernicus and Galileo for correcting our understanding of the solar system; Luther for his religious reforms; Lorenzo de Medici for his extensive help of the arts and Michelangelo for raising the art of sculpture and painting to supreme, unrivalled ing about Michelangelo, there is a short anecdote about his statue of David which acquired universal acclaim as a piece of unparalleled art. Paraphrased in modern language (by this reviewer) this anecdote would read as follows: Admirer: Mr. Michelangelo, how could you take a large, raw block of granite and turn it into this attractive statue of David??!! Michelangelo: It is not really that hard. You see, David was already inside the granite block. All I had to do was to remove all the additional items around him so people could have a look at sound so easy !!Fuad R. Qubein

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    I enjoyed much of this book and it certainly seemed to cover most aspects of the renaissance. I would have liked to have seen an introduction and perhaps a brief comment from Burkhardt on each of the texts he included. I also would have liked a fast summary on each of the authors and what their particular expertise was; certainly some of the texts were written by those with a biased viewpoint, i have no problem with that as history is, it seems, always written with a bias in some method or other. I would also question the title, this is not a History of the Renaissance but a collection of selected works covering the renaissance period. In this alone i am disappointed as i was expecting some sort of continuum that placed the different happenings in perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    No home should be without it. This work constitutes part of the intellectual inventory of any educated individual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    This book is so well written I congratulate the author on his prose and clear historical analysis suitable for young and old to understand the awakening of the age of thinking. The ramifications of what he nominates as the undefined beginning of the Renaissance has been given substance and has travelled to this day from what had been an epoch of submission and bigotry. The author is himself the product of the thinking process engendered by the Renaissance, the rebirth of human life from the chains of solitude bursting into the begin to explore the beauty of sharing knowledge in all its glory. The renaissance was not simply the sequel of a period of authoritarian leadership taking full advantage of the cloth to mobilize the masses into serfdom, superstition and fear. It was, as its name so aptly describes its antithesis. It is as though the globe was reborn with a fresh enlightenment, lost at the beginning of time when light was first made as in the Book of Genesis and corruption followed. This work by Jacob Burkhard is a classical example of the sort of scholarship needed in these times incontradistinction to the writers of history too often confused by deceptions, misinterpretations, and on occasion deliberate error to twist and distort the real ethos of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    This is a complete history of the Renaissance. Most people think in terms of visual art when you mention the Renaissance, but so much history happened during that period when the Old Globe was being turned over on it's head and embracing fresh ideas and discovering the fresh world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Marvelous for an art lover and collector of art books among others

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The History of the Renaissance (Illustrated) []  2020-2-6 19:27

    A general view of the Renaissance going not too deeply into a lot of interesting topics in Europe and the whole world. A very amazing introduction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopiques Vol. 11 - The Harp Of King David []  2020-4-27 18:40

    Totally happy on the delivery and packaging. For old Ethiopian melody lovers, this is melody is the best in its kind. The lyric and harp is a classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopiques Vol. 11 - The Harp Of King David []  2020-4-27 18:40

    As well described by another reviewer as "low, buzzy and warm" this soothing sound is special and sticks in your consciouness. It's subtle and satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopiques Vol. 11 - The Harp Of King David []  2020-4-27 18:40

    'The Harp of King David' from Alemu Aga is unlike any other recording I have heard. The sensation of lying alone beneath a sky saturated with stars, eyes closed, with the original psalmist whispering in your ear accompanied by an instrument so unfamiliar as to transport you into the realm of sleep. All this for the of a CD; what a unbelievable globe I live in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopiques Vol. 11 - The Harp Of King David []  2020-4-27 18:40

    Is it possible to say about a musician's work that it doesn't even sound like music, and mean it as the highest compliment? I haven't practiced meditation, but to me it feels as though the ancient-sounding harp and almost whispered vocals take me directly to a rare state of mind. Hypnotic, intimate, and somehow reassuring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopiques Vol. 11 - The Harp Of King David []  2020-4-27 18:40

    This disc is special in the Ethiopiques series and might not appeal to performers with more Western influences like Alemayehu Eshete or Mahmoud Ahmed. It's a totally amazing experience of a various kind, though. The harp Alemu Aga plays sounds nothing like the Western orchestral instrument: it's low, buzzy, and very warm sounding, more like a cross between a bass and a bassoon. The vocals are low and whispery, closely following (or followed by) the harp. It really sounds like nothing else I can think of. The tracks sound very much like one another; there are no evident hooks or riffs, but the effect is never boring. This CD and Joanna Newsom's The Milk-Eyed Mender, in very various ways, have really opened my eyes to the possibilities of the harp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    This is an absolute wounderful CD. Ms Fletcher has brought the harp to fresh hights of excellency. I am an RNC in a level 3 neonatal intensive care unit(NICU) with very sick and premature infants. I brought this CD to play softly in the NICU for the infants. The parents, the staff and the babies love it. Crying babies are soothed, parents are comforted and relaxed upon entering the room where the melody is played softly. In some cases I have seen small heart rates steady and labored breathing be come easier upon hearing this CD played softly. I am going to one for my home. All parents of newborns should have this cd for themselves and the baby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    Harp melody is very soothing by nature. This CD is very nice and certainly well played! I'm enjoying it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    This man is amazing. I met him in at The Mates Meeting. He is a marvelous storyteller. SPELLBINDING. I lost his melody when I moved. So grateful to have it back in my life again. HE PLAYS LIKE AN ANGEL. His instrument a wire strung Celtic harp. Love you Patrick your playing soothes my SOUL.GOD BLESS! !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    For his second album, Ball chose a selection of familiar and less familiar tunes from the British Isles, ranging from contemporary compositions in the folk manner to traditional Irish and Welsh melodies and British folk ballads. Although some of the material suffers from over-familiarity, the performances are always impassioned, and the wire-strung harp gives the tunes a fresh lease on life: you'll feel you never REALLY heard "Greensleeves" before! I tend to prefer the O'Carolan tunes, for which Ball seems to have a natural affinity. (I was once listening to this tape on a Walkman while doing my laundry, and found myself dancing around the laundromat to "John O'Connor," to the astonishment of the other patrons.) But, all in all, the album is a pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Unbelievable CD!! Highly Recommend ItEllen Arseneault

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Patrick Ball, renowned Celtic harp player, has filled this CD with wonderful, soothing music. I would highly recommend anything he has produced to those who have fun the pleasure of melody produced on the Celtic harp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    This is absolutley one of my favorite cds! Unfortunately, someone else is now enjoying it. Since it is such a favorite, it is most always in my cd changer in the car. We traded that car in latest year and forgot to obtain the cds out! We called the dealer the next day and he said there weren't any cds in the changer. Someone got a amazing on some perfect music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Enchanting melody that makes you feel like your in ancient Irland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    I love these trunks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    I had this on a cassette and loved it. Now I love it all over again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Celtic Harp, Vol. 2: From A Distant Time []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Attractive ethereal music---Patrick Ball at his finest. Very relaxing and amazing meal for the soul. Brings me back to a past life when things were slower and people had depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    The reason I purchased this CD is that my stepdaughter was recently in the hospital on a ventilator and heavily sedated. A volunteer came in with a harp and began playing for her. Her heart monitor began to present an effective decrease in her heart rate when the harpist began playing. The nurses all said that this kind of melody is very therapeutic. So I decided that I would search some harp melody for her when she returned home from the hospital. She absolutely loves it and uses it to go to sleep. My husband and I do, too. So soothing ... and amazing for the soul as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    This is lovely. My husband was dying and expressed a love for harp music. This played as he spent his only day in bed when he was surrounded by loving family and friends. He loved hearing it during this precious time. Paulette

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    This review is part of a series I'm doing on harp CDs born of my hunt for the excellent harp-only CD for not only general enjoyment, but particularly for relaxation. The first CD I reviewed for this series is recommended, though not as highly for relaxation purposes, and can be found here New York Harp Ensemble: Works By Albinoni, Bach, Beethoven, Boccherini, Mozart, Marcello, Pachelbel, Gretry, Scarlatti, and Albrechtsberger. While I do not want to make redundancy as both reviews are meant as part of a comparative set, I will repeat that my quest for the excellent harp CD was spurred by hearing some background melody online featuring harp that I can only describe as ethereal and subsequently noticing one of two roaming harp soloists, who basically go door-to-door offering brief performances to patients at the hospital where I work. These happenings led me to recognize the intrinsic calming powers of harp music, as I realized that my heart rate rate had considerably slowed with both events.Why do I hold qualifying my statements with, "harp-only," and, "solely harp?" Well, initially I asked my resident expert in all things musical, my brother, for assistance in finding some harp music. Generously, he bought me a copy of Handel: Harp Concertos, which is apparently a quintessential piece of a lot of a harp afficianados' collections. Though I highly recommend that CD, too, it is a collection of pieces that feature harp, but, being a collection of concertos, the melody contains accompaniment by other instruments (flute, oboe, violin, bass, and others) to the point that it sounds orchestral and thus did not suit my preferences as well as some that I've subsequently found on my own at The Customercentric Marketplace (Amazon).After my review of the NYHE CD, I was asked by another customer if the melody was suitable for meditation. She had astutely picked up my description of that melody as quite lively rather than peaceful. She also helped me to see that meditation suitability is an perfect measure to gauge the relaxation potential of a collection of pieces. Though initially, I found the question difficult to answer, as I do not personally use melody during meditation, I was indebted to her for inciting me to listen to the melody with a particular ear that would enable me to better relate the peaceful nature (or lack thereof) to another erefore, in this series where I compare 4 Harp CDs (Handel: Harp Concertos,New York Harp Ensemble: Works By Albinoni, Bach, Beethoven, Boccherini, Mozart, Marcello, Pachelbel, Gretry, Scarlatti, and Albrechtsberger,Healing from the harp, and The Tranquil Harp: Improvisations for Relaxation, Meditation, Integration) my comparative criteria will contain : enjoyment attained (how pleasing are they, all other factors aside), peacefulness, Meditate-ability as a measure of the relaxation factor, and finally that ethereal quality that can be found in some, but not all Harp-only CDs, and in my mind is precluded by instrumental accompaniment as in Concertos. The reader can assume that the melody is well performed and that the sound engineers have done their duties well for any CD that I review, as I will only mention failings in those regards. If it's not mentioned, it is more than adequate.Healing from the harp is a harp only CD that features a single soloist, though I must admit that with a talented harpist it can be difficult to tell if one is hearing a single instrument or a few. I thought I heard just Sally Fletcher, but I did verify that to be real by consulting the liner notes. The total play time is just short of 1 hour (6 seconds short, to be exact). The melody is very pleasing, and in some respects is created more enjoyable by the fact that a lot of of the selections are familiar to most. Among them are several private favorites, such as Awesome Grace, Pachelbel's Canon in D, Over the Rainbow, and What a Unbelievable World. The melody is also extremely peaceful, and less lively (stimulating) than New York Harp Ensemble: Works By Albinoni, Bach, Beethoven, Boccherini, Mozart, Marcello, Pachelbel, Gretry, Scarlatti, and Albrechtsberger or Handel: Harp Concertos. I think it lends well to meditation, but is not THE excellent CD for that as the familiarity of the selections could cause erefore, I think this is THE excellent pleasing, ethereal, harp-only CD for general listening and background melody for chores or work. This CD will likely lend well to meditation for one who is experienced in the practice and routinely uses melody for such, as it is not overly stimulating, but could be distracting to a novice music-listening meditator as a lot of of the pieces are familiar enough to induce the anticipation of the next phrase. I highly recommend this CD to lighten the mood and soothe the soul.______________________________________________________________Comparative Rating of this CD on the Scale Detailed AbovePleasure Factor . . . . . . . . . . . . . .5/5Peacefulness . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4/5Meditation Suitability . . . . . . . . . .4/5Ethereal Quality . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5/5Performance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .5/5Sound Engineering . . . . . . . . . . . 5/5______________________________________________________________

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    I want I'd had this 7 years ago. I would have place it in a portable CD player and place the earphones on my dad. He died of cancer, and I think this would have relaxed him and quieted his pain a small at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    This DVD is the whole family's favorite! Harp melody is a true treasure - even our cats sit near the player and listen to it (nice and calm!)- what an awesome effect!Contents and performance are absolutely unbelievable - all time favorites, such as "Under the Rainbow", "What a Unbelievable World", "Holy Night" and other gems - brightens up the spirit while vibration of the harp strings works on one's mind and nerve system. Quality of the DVD is amazing as well. In the whole, I am very satisfied with this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    I don't really like the strange riffs that are heard at the beginning of each song. They do not in anyway fit the melody itself. I do like the sound of the playing, but I would have preferred it if the songs were iocre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    This attractive recording provides such listening pleasure. Sally Fletcher plays the harp exquisitely in a mixed program of popular, classical, and original selections in skillful arrangements with elegant flourishes and embellishments. The audio quality of the recording is crystal clear, and there is a sense of immediacy, presence, and warmth to the sound. This is the first CD by Sally Fletcher that I have purchased, and I think it is the best one. The brief samples that you can hear on Amazon. com do not even come close to revealing the beauty of the pieces played in their entirety on the recording. I also bought Wedding Magic and Angels Awakening. While there are some lovely pieces in the other CDs, they do not come close to the brilliance of the Healing from the Harp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Healing from the Harp []  2020-2-2 1:18

    When I listened to the harp melody performed by Roslyn M. Wilkins during the Sunday branch at Queen Mary (Long Beach, CA), I thought I have to search related on CD so could listen in the car. This collection of songs is great! Want to have more of the same kind. Pity there is no recording by Roslyn M. Wilkins...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Beginning of the Renaissance - History Book for Kids 9-12 | Children's Renaissance Books []  2020-1-20 19:29

    I ordered to read on our kindle, but after I ordered it and tried to begin it on my kindle - it says it's unavailable for because it's not compatible with my device. We have several types of kindles plus kindle apps on other devices and my Amazon acc shows this as not compatible with any of my devices. I'm not sure what device it would be compatible with then? Right under the product picture it says "read on any device" and shows kindles, phones, and tablets. It's frustrating to for something but then not have access to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Of all the books that have hit the shelves lately concerning the growth of the church, this book by Guinness is one of the better ones. He is not special in raising alarm at the condition of the church in the modern globe in relation to the times in which we live. At the same time, he does not belabor the point, instead Guinness insists that now is the time for reflection as well as action. Part of the issue in the latest few decades has been too much action, without much reflection which has exhausted much of the church in America and the West. Guinness says in one section that "faithfulness and orthodoxy need never be frantic." Wise words indeed. Especially in light of the developing narrative in the press that seems to attempt to group all orthodox believers, Christian, Muslim, or any other, into one fanatical group that needs to be watched inness isn't all caution and warnings. He brings to the table of a plan in three parts. 1. Prepare the Global South - He points out most of the real growth in the Kingdom is occurring in third globe premodern regions, and one thing the churches in the West can do is support these churches prepare for the onslaughts of modernity. 2. Victory back the West - Guinness means what he says. He points out that this is one of the jobs of the Church. We can't simply abandon what appears to be a thoroughly secular Europe, but instead a concentrated effort to bring a "third mission" to the west needs to be launched. 3. Contributing to the Human Future - Long has been the struggle in Europe and America between what it means to be in the globe but not of it. Guinness points out that the effects of modernity are too severe for the Church to continue with such back biting arguments. An effort needs to be undertaken that will place the Church back into its God given job of caretaking the globe and the inhabitants.Another amazing book from one of the top thinkers and writers in the Church today. Well worth the time to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    I've been thinking, blogging and worrying about where the current social chaos and ignorance of history was taking us. It didn't begin in 2016. Guinness tracks his study through The Renaissance and WW II and the Cold War--battles with Nazi ideology and Communism.I am using the book as a large resource for a digital class-conversation. It has been a stimuli for private understanding and how I work on culture. Os Guinness is from the third branch of the Guinness tree. Beer brewers. politicians and landscape carving evangelical thinkers, pastors, evangelists. I don't drink beer, but a bottle of Guinness sits on my desk to remind me of the heritage of this name.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Os Guinness, author, historian, philosopher, speaker, and cultural critic has been sounding the alarm of the West’s cultural and ethical decline in general and Christianity’s wayward heading and declining cultural influence specifically for decades now. The question then, now more than ever as we are living through a heavy shifting moral revolution away from the Judeo-Christian worldview is this: Is this the final sunset of Christianity and its influence in the West?In Renaissance, Guinness reminds us that this isn’t the first time in the history of the West where Christianity seemed on the brink of destruction. Quoting G.K. Chesteron, Guinness points out, “At least five times the Faith has to all appearances gone to the dogs. In each of these five cases, it was the dog that died (p. 14).”Guinness shows that Christianity has and can rise from the ashes to once again shape and influence western civilization through the arts, sciences, and the public square. Not all is lost, but there is a warning to be heeded and a path to once again be followed by all those who call themselves e warning is that the vast majority of Christians in the West today live lives that mirror the passions, pursuits, sins and idols of the non-believing secular society in which they live. Here there is a call to repentance, followed by a path to e path, according to Guinness, is easy yet profound… It is the person and teachings of Jesus. As followers of Christ, we must return to Him and follow an age when Christians and churches are trying to by relevant by any means possible, Guinness reminds us that our relevance is found not in our hip programs, music, clothes, etc… But in the truth of the gospel. As Christians we are to be “against the world, for the world.” We are to press back on those locations of encroaching cultural darkness with the light of truth and the grace and love of e list of my highlighted quotes from this book is as long as any book I’ve read so far this year. While I don’t agree with every single one of Guinness’ conclusion, I would highly encourage followers of Christ to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    My heart is often weighed down by the "darkness" of our time. I read Renaissance hoping that by it my faith would be strengthened, and that I would gain a deeper understanding and perspective about the clashes and wars that rage in our globe today - culturally (primarily), politically, internationally, etc. - from a biblical truth and reasoning point of view. This book certainly met my hopes. Renaissance not only sets forth a carefully constructed examination of relevant truths we can know and keep on to, but it is also done in a lucid, organized and readable " a - b - c ", " 1 - 2 - 3" fashion. The reader always knows exactly what point is being discussed, and what its significance is to the subject at hand. The author never rambles or strays off course from his focus and purpose. Mr Guinness draws from the sweep of history, the Bible, and the writings of others to show a very accessible and understandable examination of a complex, massive and challenging topic. The points of discussion are more centered on what we need to know and understand, rather than on what we can "do" on a practical level of outward actions. Some may see this as a weakness in the book, but I believe it's the ideas and truths that reside in our hearts and minds that gives shape to our outward actions; one following the other. I believe Mr. Guiness builds a solid foundation of knowledge from which the reader can draw insight for applying and living out gospel centered truth in the world, at this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Another classic from the pen of Os Guinness. He has become one of my all-time favorite authors. His scholarship coalesces with his tact, concern for the church and vision for the future to produce much required wisdom for our current spiritual, intellectual and social malaise. If we can truly search the method out of our deepening folly, both as evangelicals and a wider culture, I believe we will look back on the prophetic insight of his body of work as an invaluable influence on our return.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    This was my first reading of Os Guinness though I have been familiar with his name from my previous books I have read. I search his style conversational and simple to follow, but possessing a depth that is missing from a lot of of his theological aissance explores the uncertain nature of culture and civilization through the unchanging lens of Christ, the Word of God, and inescapable power of the Spirit. The discussion has less to do with culture and civilization proper and more to do with the special role of a steadfast people of God standing in the midst if an ever-changing world. Unlike a lot of books on the same topic, Guinness's work is not a call back to a nonexistent "golden era" of Christianity. It is a call for constant renewal in the light of God's Word and in the life-changing shadow of Jesus' resurrection.I recommend this book for anyone interested in the relationship between Christianity and culture through the ages. The book is also a thoughtful piece that can call Christians to reflect upon their p!ace in the society in we we currently live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shepherdess of Siena: A Novel of Renaissance Tuscany []  2020-1-26 21:52

    If you, like me, loved the stories of Marguerite Henry when you were a child, or you love them now, still, you will love this "grown-up" Marguerite Henry-like story - I think of it as the grown-up ver of "Gaudenzia, Pride of the Palio". If you love reading historical fiction, this book is right up your reading alley, ry well-told story of Renaissance Florence and her opponent Siena, and the popular Sienese horse race, the Palio. But this time the rider is a young girl. It does not end with the race, but with a story told through the Medici family intrigues and intrigues in the Renaissance Catholic church, as much detail. Amazing history AND fiction. Amazing description of the places!Maybe you'll obtain out your old copy of Gaudenzia, like me, and read it just one more time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shepherdess of Siena: A Novel of Renaissance Tuscany []  2020-1-26 21:52

    Very well written;captivating story; amazing to the latest page!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Call it what you want. Renaissance. Revival. Healing of a heavy scale. We need it here in the west. Through self sufficiency and "relevance" our churches have grown sterile. Through comfort and distractions we Christians have forgotten what is at stake and have therefore taken our eye off the ball. A sharp rise in the religious "nones," a reversal of the moral compass, the explosion of the gender revolution, and the lack of power in our churches and in our lives--all collectively show: We need inness's book Renaissance looks to hope to the church in the Modern age, and while he has been a severe critic of the modern church in other works (such as the "The Latest Christian on Earth"), "Renaissance" is strangely optimistic. Why? How could there be hope in a time like this you ask? Guinness says, "Let there be no wavering in our answer. Such is the power of the gospel that the church can be revived, reformed and restored to be a renewing power in the globe again." Guinness's hope rests not in the power of mankind, the genius of leaders, or the laws of the land--but on the promise of Jesus Christ that "I will build my church and the gates of hell will not stand versus it!"Guinness goes on to say that our hope is not naïve. “With the glory of the resurrection at the center of our faith, and the long story of the church’s decline and renewal behind us, it is on cliché but a conviction that the darkest hour is just before the dawn.” We do not serve a powerless God, rather we serve the God who puts flesh on dry bones, who brings to life those formerly dead in trespasses and sins, and who transforms kids of wrath to adopted sons. This is the God we serve, and with such a God going before us, we can only be full of hope no matter how bleak the circumstances ke no mistake Christ will build his church, but He will do it in His method and not in ours. In perhaps my favorite chapter entitled "The Dynamics of the Kingdom" Guinness reminds us: “The kingdom of God is an upside-down, back to front, inside out kingdom that stuns our expectations and blasts us out of our ruts and our prejudices. Above all, it rebukes our pride and the bubbles of our pretensions.” We can look to no human savior or to no foolproof method. God alone holds the keys to revival and we would do well to follow wherever He everything else I have read of Guinness up to this point "Renaissance" does not disappoint. I do think he spends a small to much ink defending the Christianity's effects on civilization (chapter 4) as it distracted me from the broader topic, but nevertheless this is a amazing read from one of my favorite authors. I highly recommend "Renaissance" to everyone, especially Christians who search themselves discouraged and searching for hope in these turbulent times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Perfect review of the state of our times and the church's role in being in the globe and not of the world. Guinness makes the point that the church must vigilantly guard its ability to critique itself. Also, at the same time it must hold a healthy distance with the structures of this globe so that it can rightly critique them. We are to be involved in the public square but our involvement will always have an element of correction and critique in it. When we as the church too closely identify with a nation or a political party we can fall short of the essential critical role we have. When the church has historically been at an apparent apex in acceptability in its surrounding culture, it at the same time often fallen short of critiquing itself, with the effect that its witness in the globe has been tarnished. God works through our obedience, and when we do what are supposed to do as the church, then no matter how dark the times, God works his unbelievable purposes. Often the darkest times in history have been followed by times of renewal: Guinness uses the term renaissance in its generic sense for this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Well written treatise with much thought-provoking material. Something we really need in our modern churches! What we wish is all the God meant the Gospel to be in the lives and experience of men and women today. Principles that are universal and create sense wherever you are, and whoever you are reaching out to with truth and love. Challenges the "status quo" without being condescending, critical, or mean. So tired of hearing religious people ranting at one another: speak the truth in love or be quiet!! The Globe is to know we are His disciples because of the love we manifest towards each other. Most of the rants I hear are devoid of love, concern, or kindness, and sound more like the rants of the Scribes and Pharisees of Jesus' time. Their jealousy and hypocrisy, coupled with their self-righteous contempt for others, brought the strongest rebukes of our Lord and Savior! He plainly taught, even with all their knowledge, that they neither knew God or His power, teaching instead their own traditions. "Woe unto you" as the King James Bible states it. And He warned that the manner in which we judge others, is how we shall be judged. Also that a lot of will say "Lord, Lord!" but He will reply, "I never knew you, you workers of iniquity!" Makes me think twice about attacking ministries that are actually in the forefront and helping a lot of people. Amazing Book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Renaissance: The Power of the Gospel However Dark the Times []  2020-1-22 22:46

    Os Guinness has amazing reverence for the Lord and His 's simple for the believer to become discouraged these days seeing how dark the times are and the general direction of the world. Guiness makes it clear that the Gospel is what changes the individual and society. It cuts through the haze and changes the hearts of man. While we may worry about the future of the globe it's necessary to take note that the Gospel is what can truly make change in our dark society. Not political parties, not rhetoric, but the Gospel. It spread through Rome, the dark ages, and the fresh world. It's our responsibility to recognize its power and embrace it for God's glory while leaving the worrysome info in the hands of the Lord.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shepherdess of Siena: A Novel of Renaissance Tuscany []  2020-1-26 21:52

    I bought this book with some apprehension, as I read another book of Linda Lafferty, House of Báthory, a historical nonsense, full of serious errors, with zero research on part of the author, as concerned geographical locations and historical facts. But the title interested me and I gave it a try. This book is much better researched and depicts a amazing portrait of the Siena in Renaissance times, its popular Palio and the life there and surrounding towns. For all this I would give the book 4 stars. But as for the main character, the shepherd girl, transformed into an expert horsewoman and Palio competitor, I must criticize the fact that I could never hold track of her age. She is only an ignorant 7 years old girl, but is able to perform a mouth to nose CPR, saving a fresh born foal, where well trained vets have failed. Also at that age her aunt accuses her of being a whore, as she goes aroundon the fields with a boy who teaches her to ride, somewhat iabsurd to accuse such a young and innocent girl. At the same time she appears as a 13 years old girl, without any transition and then she seems to be 7 years old again. For this inconsistency (which is repeated in several chapters) I would decrease one star. Otherwise the story is interesting and if one accepts te strange fluctuations in age, the book is worthwhile reading.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386