Read repetition nineteen reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all repetition nineteen reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    Wow! What insight into the minds of those who are so relentlessly victimized that they finally snap and become victimizers. I've worked with adult clients who say, based on their own experiences of being constantly bullied throughout school, that the victims of mass school shootings deserve it. I don't agree, of course, but I understand the rage. Having worked in the public school system, I can guarantee you that the preferred way of dealing with bullying is to ignore it. We cannot allow this continue. Bullying destroys the self-esteem of people for many, a lot of years, if not a lifetime. I was bullied throughout elementary school and, thank God, my parents moved so I could obtain a new begin where I was accepted and even enjoyed a certain level of popularity ... so it isn't always the "victim's fault" that they are picked on. If your kid is bullied and your school won't deal with it, (1) turn them into their superintendent, (2) turn them into your state's education agency, (3) insist that the district let your kid to change schools, (4) if you must, move, (5) arrange for QUALITY home school, (6) pay for personal school, (7) obtain your kid counseling with a counselor who enjoys playing with younger children or talking to older children and teens, but DO SOMETHING because school bullying causes lifelong self-esteem problems that affect academic success, careers, and whether or not your kid becomes a bully or marries one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    As a parent, I think this should be needed reading in high school. Forget Lord of the Flies - this book does a much better job at demonstrating the complexities of bullying and dynamics of breaking in a manner that might actually support begin eyes and prevent children from just "going along with the gang".. My son's high school is focusing on preventing bullying and I noticed my son getting a small sucked under with all the assemblies and talk. I decided this could fit the bill for his needed reading and prove to be more helpful. It has opened a lot of doors for us in communication, observation and re-evaluation of friendships..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    I first read 1984 for a high school English class almost 20 years ago, I was immediately drawn to Orwell's writing style. For every bit of dialog, there is MUCH more narration, but the narration is engrossing and intriguing. I love when Orwell uses long sentences with parallel phrasing, and he describes in detail a society that is frighteningly much like our own-- a crushingly intrusive government that uses constant and inescapable surveillance paired with a steady stream of falsehoods marketed as truth that caters to the 1% (the Inner Party) while the lower castes (the Outer Party and the Proles) suffer in poverty and neglect. If you're like me and love a amazing bleak novel that explores the primary depravity of man (other favorites of mine are Brave Fresh Globe and Lord of the Flies), read 1984. Don't forget to give Animal Farm a test as well; it covers very related themes using talking barnyard animals, but it's an easier read. Better read this book quickly because Huge Brother Is Watching You.

    0  


    Add your opinion on repetition nineteen or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    I'm beautiful shocked that parents had a issue with this book being assigned to high school students. It's completely relevant to today's youth. What's surprising about the attempt to ban this book was that parents had a issue with the scenes, not the violence. Sure, a child shoots other children and that's no issue but even the mere mention of ly active high school students sends parents into a fit? Grow up. There are much larger problems in this book, as in life, and doesn't always have to be the first thing on everyone's mind. Come on adults--let's set a better example of our kids. Read this book to remember what high school was like and see it through your kid's eyes. Talk to them about bullying, and about , instead of trying to ban a book that can easily begin the conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    This is one of the first books I have read more than once. I first read "1984" in 1985 and now for the second time in 2018. The book has remained the same, but both the globe and I have not. I cannot start to convey how genuinely frightening this book is. I am a lover of famous science fiction and am astounded by Orwell's ability to be more compelling, entertaining and engrossing than authors with the benefit of light sabers, phasers and every young person who has been assigned this book, know that you are reading a literary work of art. A lot of of you will understand and appreciate it, but if you love literature, please create a mental note to read this again when you are older. Youth brings with it eternal hope, boundless optimism and of course, hormones, so you will search yourself rebelling versus the pessimism of the book itself - you will effectively be Winston raging versus the machine, hoping, searching, questing for a method out. In short, you will cheat.But when you obtain older, have a family, lose loved ones and see some of your dreams unfulfilled - when you witness entire nations and races of peoples born, live and die in brutal squalor - when you reflect on the technological advances created over the decades and gaze, with mouth agape, at how a people can be less advanced, less informed and less enlightened, not despite these innovations, but BECAUSE of them, then you will read 1984 as it was meant to be read...not as a dark, dystopian globe you enter when you begin the book, but a beautifully brutal warning that, even as you read it, is prophetically coming real around you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    The first time I read 1984 I was 15 or so. It had a profound impact on me, but I see now how poorly I understood it.I'm nearly 60 now, and just finished my second trip through the Ministry of greatest thought was that this was not a political book as I thought the first time through. It's a book on how to live with a secret. A secret so troubling that society would shun you, hate you, despise you, if ever your secret is revealed.I am not , but I think I can understand the feelings of learning to deal with the fact that society thinks you are different, maybe even wrong. How everything you do you are convinced will allow your secret be known. How you build your life around hiding ypur secret, while also yearning for it to be known. Never being able to relax. Never being able to trust. Always living in fear.And once your secret is out, the impact, the transformation it makes in your life, how you basically lose who you are. Well, at least in Winston's case.1984 helped me better understand the turmoil, the hell, that we place people who are considered various t at all what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    Over 70 years ago Orwell predicted exactly what is event in the USA today. His brilliant instincts for our future were uncanny. Our country is under assault right now (& has been) by “Big Brother” - ie. communism. Every thought is controlled from all media to removal of our history & heritage to absolute destruction of our laws & erasing of our true history. This was needed reading when I was in HS in 1968 & it should be again today. Do yourself a favor & read this before Amazon takes it off their list of books. I doubt they’ll publish this review. Let’s see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    Ordered this book for a 9th grade class reading project. Was not satisfied when we got to page 148 and discovered that pages 149-180 were missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    I've read this novel twice. Once a few years ago and again recently for a book club. This novel is timely and very well written.I am in my late 60's and glad that my childrearing days are well behind me. Parenting is very challenging, especially the teenage years. Although people always look to the parents when a kid exhibits antisocial & troublesome behaviors but while the parents may be the basic caregivers the kid comes in contact with a lot of people who support shape their personalities. This book examines every aspect of Peter's life experiences and leaves us to decide which influences contributed to his attitudes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    A judge's daughter is show during and survives a school shooting. The shooter is known for a number of years by both the Judge and her daughter, who was also the shooter's mate of a lot of years Earlier, the Judge had banned the friendship when she found the children playing with a gun belonging to the father of the future shooter. Still the friendship continued in secret until the daughter fell in with the famous crowd in high school. Yet with all this history, the Judge doesn't see a issue with presiding over the shooter's trial! The Judge also seems to have conveniently forgotten that she personally knows and was at one time quite friendly with the shooter's mother, aka the Judge's nurse/midwife! If this highly unlikely scenario is not reason enough to dislike this book, the very unlikable characters should cinch the deal for you. How I disliked the selfish Judge, her bratty daughter, all of the daughter's friends, the shooter, his lawyer...you name it. I threw in the towel at 78% skipping the not so surprising twist near the end which I learned from another reviewer. As for the editing, " She stared up at the sky that CLUNG so low." To what was the sky clinging? Did the writer mean to say the sky HUNG so low? Don't obtain me started on a highly educated woman in a respected profession trying to pass off burned lasagne as "barbequed lasagne". PUHLEEZE! Not good read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Based on George Orwell's dystopian novel from the 1940s, the film was produced in the very year that Orwell had set it, 1984. Horrified by the latest atrocities by the Germans and Russians, and fearing that England and America might take a related turn, Orwell had painted a frightening portrait of the ultimate dictatorship, and the film faithfully followed him. Some of the info were: (1) Continual surveillance, in this case carried out by cameras hidden inside tv sets. (2) Decaying infrastructure and shoddy merchandise produced by the Party's monopoly of the economy. (3) A political language, NewSpeak, full of euphemisms and code words for the government's activities. (4) A brutal law-enforcement system in which being suspected even of disloyal THOUGHTS can bring barbaric punishment. The film stars John Damage as the beaten rebel, Susanna Hamilton as his mistress, and Richard Burton as the government official on whom they pin their hopes (like Orwell himself, Burton was fatally ill during the production and died before the movie's release)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    This has to be one of the thickest books on my shelf but I read it in a couple of days. Couldn’t place it down. Jodi takes a shot at a true life headline story and manages to pull her audience into this strong thought provoking scenario which makes you second guess yourself and question your judgement. She brings front and center, an problem (school shooting) relevant in our society today. She makes you empathize with the villain. And she teaches you a strong lesson, that there’s more to a story beyond its headlines. I couldn’t place the book down until i read the latest line. She conjures human emotion like no other author. She motivates you to step outside your preconceived notions and judge things, people, situations, for what they really are. You should read this book as a parent, as a teen, as an adult or as an educator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    Being a retired teacher, I was drawn to this story. (I also really have enjoyed reading a lot of Jodi Picoult stories). Too a lot of kids are bullied in today's world. Too a lot of kids test to hide their soft, quiet personalities just to test and blend in with those who bully others. Jodi describes the globe those "picked on kids" live in and she does it with her emotionally charged writing style. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    1984 is a thrilling classic novel by George Orwell that brings readers into a dystopian society where citizens know “Big brother is watching you.” (Orwell 2) The book follows Winston Smith as he secretly denounces the all-powerful government, Huge Brother, and decides to live a daring life of scandals and secrets. As expected, Huge Brother catches Winston, and tortures him ruthlessly until he is a shell of his former self. Although the storyline itself is exhilarating enough to create readers wish to turn the next page, it’s really the larger notice that makes this read so worthwhile: extreme political philosophies, like Huge Brothers’ totalitarianism, are no good. I will admit at times I felt I didn’t even like Winston, like when he first saw Julia, his lover, and told her “I hated the sight of you...I wanted to rape you and then murder you afterwards.” which shows misogyny in the most unsettling way, and when he kept dismally repeating that “there was no escape” from death because of his love affair (Orwell 120, 152). Regardless of whether or not the characters are relatable, the book definitely serves as a cautionary tail to all those who have scanned it pages. This book has a lot of horrifying elements and scenes, such as telescreens, the things constantly watching people even in their own homes. Newspeak, Huge Brother’s official language, is also very unsettling, as the government controls what people say and think without them realizing it, because the words to think poor thoughts do not even exist. However, limited language and stalking screens are nothing compared to the poor dehumanization that Huge Brother inflicts on those who don’t agree with them. When brought to room 101 in the Ministry of Love (how ironic of a name), Smith was subjected to “the worst thing in the world,” as O'Brien recalled, almost killing Winston using his worst fear (Orwell 283). This turned Winston into what seemed like an animal with rabies, and after this punishment (in which he was spared death because he betrayed his lover Julia) he was never the rhaps, though, the scariest thing about this novel was that I didn’t search it all that scary. A lot of things Orwell brilliantly predicted are a reality now, like cameras in the pockets of nearly every person in a developed country that could potentially “see” and “hear” everything. Phones like the iPhone not only have fingerprints (for touch identification) but now are starting to delve into the globe of facial recognition, and no one truly knows for sure where this info goes. We see far worse things than Winston saw in the Ministry of Love by simply turning on the news. Nations like North Korea have complete control over their citizens, and the saddest part is, these citizens are too shielded from reality to even know that there is something wrong with the method they are treated. People also have the tendency to blindly trust whatever the media says, which could just be another method us people are manipulated every day. It makes me wonder, is 2+2 really 4… or, because numbers are a concept made by man, could it really equal 5?-LB

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    This book is impossible to read. The file is corrupted and all kinds of strange characters obscure words. It is infuriating to test to contact Amazon's customer service. Amazon keeps you going in circles and there is no phone number for getting help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    The constant errors, words joined together, paragraphs split with a wrong page number, the book title or the free www service right in the middle. I was not able to have fun reading this at all, I got 7% through before I could not take it anymore. 1984 is amazing but this ver is just unreadable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    Missing 25 pages. I am confused how this happened. Instead, 25 pages from a previous section of the book were copied over 25 pages later in the book...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    This is not my usual book to read. We chose it in book club, but I loved it. Amazing writing and really created me think about how we treat each other as human beings. Also gave me more empathy for the troubled and bullied children out there. Cried for the latest 3 or 4 chapters. It is truly a heart wrenching story (situation) for all those involved. I certainly re-evaluated some of my opinions of people and reminded me not to judge others when I don't know all the facts. This was a book I could not place down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    First, I need to say that while I am well into this novel, I have not yet completed it. I am thoroughly enjoying this book. It is a page turner and just the kind of diversion I like to support wind down after a long day at work--thoughtful but not taxing. But as a criminal defense attorney, a couple of things really irked me, although maybe things here in California, are very various from Fresh England. Perhaps you shouldn't read further as I may reveal certain spoilers, though they are may only be necessary to an attorney. First: When I go to court for an arraignment, I am immediately given Discovery from the prosecutor. Later, I may request supplemental discovery, even feel the need to do it by formal letter, but it is NEVER needed that I must formally request discovery in a letter. So that bothered me. Second, there is no method a Judge would not have to recuse herself at the outset in the situation presented here. And I can't imagine any Judge worthy of the title would hesitate to do so. Third: In the situation presented here it is inconceivable that a criminal defense attorney would not motion for a change of venue. (However, I did say, I haven't completed the book . . . though it seems like things are proceeding without such a motion). Other than those things that took me out of the story, I am enjoying it. I think the depiction of the relationship of the daughter to her boyfriend is spot on. That kind of boyfriend: popular, seductive and controlling is just the kind of poor news relationship that so a lot of teenage girls search hard to resist and harder to obtain out of. It is interesting that the only hero I am sympathetic to is the accused (trying not to reveal any spoiler)--so that is a testament to the author's talent. And perhaps b/c of that I don't search the protagonist or her daughter sympathetic. Nor do I search the parents of the accused sympathetic. I do like the Detective. I recommend this for hours of interesting diversion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Minutes: A novel []  2020-1-25 19:13

    This book brought me back to my school years, when I was singled out and bullied. Also, trying to search a method with the in crowd. I would recommend reading this to all, since each one of us can probably remember what it was like being in school trying to fit is book makes you think about what could happen when bullying goes to far; as it did for the main character. I do not condone the actions taken by the main hero in this book, but it does create you wonder if this could indeed happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Eighty-Four [1984] []  2020-8-10 19:4

    I read this in high school (I'm 72 now) and at that time it was a prediction of things to come. In some ways it's beautiful close. It is interesting that people are reading it more now because of the current situation. I think that if they are alarmed by this book they should test "It Can't Happen Here."Another worthwhile book is "A Nation of Sheep" by William J. Lederer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    This book is definitely one of the best books I've read on starting up on recurve archery. In fact, if you're strictly interested in Olympic recurve, this is probably the best book to begin up with. It goes over equipment, maintenance, tuning, primary form, structuring your practices, setting goals, mental management. It touches upon so a lot of aspects on the sport of archery, favoring breadth with just the right amount of depth, to obtain a beginning/intermediate archer like me in the right direction.I especially appreciated the chapter on fine-tuning. I think this is what a lot of other beginner books lack but here the author covers the process with perfect detail and organization.I purchased the kindle ver and found it to be great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    Very interesting book., where the basics/intermediate techniques for setting up the BOW are well explained

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    Very informative book, with a clear and concise text

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    Wordings as used added with a lot of drawings and photographs create this book simple to read. I benefit from extra insight and hints the writer gives. I especially like how he addresses about two competing recommended stances, ie, square and open.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    The book goes through wide range of subjects from mental trending to bow tuning. Of course with all things in the middle like shooting sequence. I do enjoyed reading it and I'll use for reference in the future. Do recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    Mr. Needham does an perfect job of introducing the technology, equipment, setup and primary techniques required to obtain anyone started with Olympic Archery. He even goes so far as to describe the methods important to make one's own bow string (something I've not really considered before now). The chapters on setup and tuning are extremely useful as some of the material available online can be confusing to the novice.Overall I would rate this book a must buy for anyone looking to take up the sport or has already had a primary introduction at a club and is now looking to purchase their first bow and advance to a more competent level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    I buy every book I can search on archery and I have learned something fresh from each one. I especially love the detailed guidance in this book on fine tuning a bow. the author is also British and his perspective and terminology is just a small bit various from that used by authors from the USA. a various perspective equates to a new approach. I think the title says it all but the author painstakingly explores all the variables that can impact your shot. don't miss this one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Archery: The Art of Repetition []  2020-7-15 18:54

    Best book I have ever read on archery with an eye for every detail (if you're shooting recurve). Lots of illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    This is an perfect scene adaptation of the novel. Much better than the film. A play within a play structure that manages to hold much of the novels language intact, defines the ideals of the novel and drives a story. I honestly was surprised how amazing of an adaptation the play turned out to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    Really neat adaptation of an all-time classic novel that remains disturbingly relevant today

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    This is a FRAUD. When I searched for 1984 to purchase the book for my Kindle it came up as one of the top find results. *I* thought "Oberon" was the publisher or something. Just look at the other reviews. LOOK how a lot of people are buying THIS instead of the book they wanted!Amazon needs to FIX this listing so it's clearer this is NOT THE BOOK. Fix it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    I'm absolutely in LOVE with the Stephanie Plum series....Started out years ago reading these and have been hooked ever since. I obtain really excited when a fresh one is released cause I know I'm going to laugh and cry right along with all these characters. l look froward to all the hi-jinks and drama Stephanie, Lula, Ranger, Joe and (my favorite)Grandma Mazur gets into....I love reading books that draw me into the story and with all the crazy characters in this series I almost feel like it's my family.With each fresh book Stephanie Plum bounty hunter extraordinaire(sic) brings in the the laughter with Grandma Mazur addiction to funeral viewings, the groans of pain when trying to apprehend a fresh bounty with the ever expanding Lula. And in the just who will Stephanie end up with???? Joe, the hot cop from her past, Ranger the even hotter bounty hunter, or Rex her ever show and always there for her, hamster???? Guess you'll just have to read them and see, you wont be sorry....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    Used as teaching tool with creative writing students. simple to read and really opens their minds to the process of translation and what it really means to move between languages. Fascinating method to learn about the writing process and how we use language and expressions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    Wonderful dozens of stories and e standouts to me are The segment by Genevieve Valentine which left me wanting to know more about the globe she ter The Cure by Carrie Ryan created me consider what choice I would union by Susan Beth Pfeffer was awesome and kept me glued to the pages till the ality Girl by Richard Bowes,Wow!!Fake Plastic Trees by Caitlin R Keiman was special and left me wanting to know more about the globe she created.Faint Heart by Sarah Rees Brennan was a frightening globe led by Won't Feel A Thing by Garth Nix was intriguing and touching.I love anthologies and never fail to search fresh authors to enjoy.But this collection was awesome and I enjoyed most of the stories.I highly recommend this book to any fan of the dystopian and apocalyptic genres.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    young adult audience

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    Every bit as provocative and disturbing as an adaptation of George Orwell’s magnum opus ought to ’s relatively faithful to the book- keeping Winston’s narrative alive, while building on the themes to create it more ences of the London premiere found it disorienting and graphic... and rightfully so! The plot can be hard to hold up with unless you’re somewhat familiar with the story. There are also a couple scenes that would be hard to watch, allow alone stage. It would be a fun challenge for a director.Duncan Macmillan’s adaptation of 1984 left me chilled to the bone. I could not recommend more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    How is the story narrated? It's a play :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    Should be needed reading for anyone interested in poetry in another language. It's simple to search articles/reviews that compare two or three translations. Weinberger compares >20 various versions of a single Classic Chinese poem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    I usually don't like at least half of the stories in an anthology. I still read them because even a few amazing short stories are worth is book is different. I loved almost every one, and there were a few fresh authors that I am going to have to begin reading.When a book is listed as YA, I am leery. I should have known better. The authors I knew (e.g. Ryan, Emshwiller, Pfeffer, Gould, Jemisin, for a few) should have alerted me. The quality of writing was very, very good. I wish more. This was not your typical YA with a whiny teen that you wish to smack, this was a set of grown up stories, even if they had young people in is is a amazing book for those who read any kind of post-apocalyptic or dystopian sci fi. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    Amazing book. This was exactly what my brother wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    Stephanie gets caught up in one of Ranger's adventures as a man from Ranger's old service unit is out to slay him and another old service buddy who is getting married. Since Ranger hires her to cover his back at the wedding, Stephanie becomes a target for the vengeful killer. Add that to a missing FTA that Vinnie has a five million dollar bond tied up in and Vinnie is screaming at her to search him pronto. However, he disappeared from the hospital after an emergency appendectomy, and then shortly afterward another FTA that Vinnie bonded disappears into thin air too. No lack of explosions in this Plum novel. You will read it beautiful quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    I've read 1 through 19 plus the three "between the numbers" Stephanie Plum books; meaning, I have read 22 Stephanie Plum novels. I always laugh so hard I can't catch my breath, tears run down my face. Not so with this one. Other than a few guffaws (and I do mean "a few"), I rarely laughed. It just wasn't ter having read the first few chapters, I suspected Janet Evanovich used a ghost writer this time. The pace was rushed. The descriptions of the main characters were all off. Even the characters themselves were "off." From the beginning, I questioned that Evanovich wrote this. Here are some examples:Stephanie has described Grandma Mazur in previous novels, but she's never said anything mean about her. In this one, when Grandma Mazur said " but I don't look my age," Stephanie told readers that "Grandma looks 90." That's not in keeping with Stephanie's character.Ranger has always been described as being from Cuba. In "Notorious," we are told he is a Latino. (Yes, I know. But why suddenly use a various term than she's used in all previous novels? And "Cuba" and "Cubano" evoke various photos for me that "Latino" does. One is very specific; the other much broader.)Stephanie has always referred to Ranger's mysterious past. This time, she tells us that he is former Unique Forces. (I suppose it was pertinent to the plot.)Stephanie's descriptions of her relationships with both Ranger and Morelli, as well as they method she describes them, is just "off."And when has Stephanie ever worried about her weight? She always says she's blessed with unbelievable metabolism that she can eat fried chicken, donuts and pizza and not gain weight. Throughout "Notorious" she worried about her weight. And she kept nagging Lula to not eat this or that, to test to lose weight. Totally out of the norm.I did not go see "One for the Money" when it was in theatres because, other than cousin Vinny the bail bondsman, I thought the film was horribly miscast and I didn't wish it to ruin the books for me. Nothing versus Kathryn Heigl, but she is NOT Stephanie Plum. (I would have considered Jennifer Esposito or Paulie Perrette.) One boring evening, I watched "One for the Money" on pay-for-view. As I suspected, it was horribly mis-cast (Does Debbie Reynolds look 90?) and has perhaps ruined the books for me because, as I read through this, I wondered if all those things have been consistent for so long were now being written with specific actors in readers I'll say: This is the worst of the 22 Stephanie Plum novels. Borrow it from the library; don't pay to buy Janet Evanovich I'll say: If you wrote this with someone else, be like James Patterson and clearly place that on the cover of the Hollywood: If you do another book, re-cast!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    Evanovich phoned this one in. The funny parts were not very funny, the romantic parts were not romantic - except for a brief stage with Ranger in a church, the scary parts are not scary and the suspense not ere are two independent story lines, one centered on an ex-special forces guy out for revenge versus Ranger and the other story line has Joe and Stephanie searching for two fugitives who disappear from a local hospital. Neither story line is worth the price of the book. The Joe vs. Ranger thing continues, with no resolution in e bones were there to have an perfect book but it was just not complete. Perhaps Evanovich is too busy with her two other series to place any true effort into any one of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    I've read every Stephanie Plum book, most of them more than once. The first twelve books or so of this series were excellent... laugh out loud funny, and you really got to know the characters. It's gone downhill since then. There are still funny moments, but as so a lot of others have said, it's not the same at all. There were amazing moments in #19, but it's definitely not on par with earlier books. Stephanie needs to create some choices. While the wacky adventures are fun, there's only so a lot of times the vehicle can blow up before it's old hat. I feel like I need to see the series through to the end, but... are we done yet?Janet Evanovich: Please create number 20 the latest Plum book. Create it perfect and go out with a flourish. Steph and the others deserve that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    Timely and scary, this play was terrific. A true page turner. I would definitely wish to check out this play should it ever be performed anywhere remotely close to where I live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    A very interesting book for translators!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    I suppose I have to be the grinch who points out that Weinberger has no basis for his self-indulgent (and copious) judgments because he can't read the original poem and doesn't know anything about its context. So you wind up learning a lot more about Weinberger than Wang Wei. And that's not how translation is supposed to work. When people call this book "a masterful introduction to translation" and what not, I simply have to laugh: you can't translate a language that you don't command.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    I was unsure about a YA short story collection, but liked the premise and thought I'd give the book a try. Well, I was quite pleasantly surprised at the maturity and quality of the stories - and the wide range of approaches in interpreting the theme of 'After.' The editors, as well as the writers of course, are to be commended.While just a few entries left me cold, and most left me satisfied, only one haunts me, and that is "Blood Drive" by Jeffrey Ford. Terrifyingly timely in light of latest events, it should be needed reading for everyone involved in decidng how to protect our schools in light of the Sandy Hook shootings.Would definitely recommend this for the target YA audience, but would also not hesitate to recommend it to the adult audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    A small young for me but some interesting concepts. I liked the various visions of the future. I'll read this again. That's the beauty of short stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    It helps to have read to book before reading or seeing the play, to message a lot of of the subtle references to happenings in the book that the play doesn't have opportunity to fully develop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    I brought it for class textbook,But it don't have page number so I have a issue when I test to read together with paper book ease fix this problem

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    A nice set of additions (the "with More") to the original edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    Nineteen stories of well known authors and their look at the after effects of the world's end. The stories were covered a wide range of emotions from the terror to the hopeful. Every story is well done and I have looked to add some authors to my reading list. stories have you thinking about THE END. But, not in the usual way. They are very insightful and enjoyable readig.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    Read this in college and loved every story had to buy a second copy to share with others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    I took a few years off after 18 came out. I got sick of the seeming flatline as far as hero development. This book sadly didn't support the characters grow up. and from reviews i've read the following books are the same. the will they wont they with morelli and stephanie has gotten very old. either they love eachother and wish to settle down or they dont and need to move on. even in the books it has to be about ten years by now and stephanie [email protected]#$%!&ing her 40s. While I personally love the thing with ranger that has gotten old too. something needs to give so these characters can grow up and move on. Obviously at this point in true life one or all three of them would have realized it was never going to work out and moved on. as far as the case goes, eh, its the same old same old. but i have fun the antics. not as enjoyable as the antics used to be but maybe its because when i was 15-26 my mind set was various and my mind was developing and i felt the characters were growing with me. I will probably read the other books but, i'm not going to pay for them. this is likely the latest one i'll ever pay for. I do tend to wonder though, is Janet even still writing these books or has a ghost writer taken over, or has she just gotten lazy with it? Its not that the style of writing changed, it just hasnt really developed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    I just finished reading this novel, still laughing and high on the story, and then I read a load of one-star reviews! Really? I'm wondering if they read the same book that I did. No kidding, I laughed out loud all of the method through it, and the blurb at the end had me digging out the next one, ready to have "a small taste" before bedtime. The gripe that irked me the most was the folks who grumbled because Stephanie and Joe and Ranger weren't older and more mature! Does Dagwood Bumsted change his hairstyle? Do his children turn fifty on him? Are Mickey and Minnie in wheelchairs? I'm gonna grow old and die, but my fictional characters will (thank God!) live on to entertain readers not yet born, and they too will laugh out loud and love Ranger and Joe Morelli, and be hard pressed to choose between them, just like Stephanie. And I wouldn't have it any other way.Jgtimm

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    Let's see. First off, I don't expect too much out of these novels. They're fun and playful. And typically, really fast reads. But there are a few things that I've come to expect from them, and the main thing I expect is laughing out loud. I was slightly disappointed with Explosive Eighteen, and still left wanting with Notorious Nineteen. There were a few moments at the very tale-end of Notorious Nineteen that had me smiling because they were funny, but not giggling or chuckling and definitely not belly laughing that I've gotten from Janet Evanovich before. So that was a minor allow down.I will say that modern day references in a book is a slight pet peeve of mine. One is okay, but almost any more than that and it just becomes too much. In this case, I loved the GOT reference, but when she moved into Pinterest and Largest Loser references, it just became too so, as anyone who reads these books knows, there isn't much advance in the storyline that spans all of the books--the relationship Stephanie has with these two incredibly hot guys, Ranger and Morelli. So that's always a bit disappointing. Whenever there is movement, I jump for joy. Notorious Nineteen, and the latest two other books at least, held promise of movement and change ahead, but have yet to deliver on this this point, I truly think I'd be happy with Stephanie choosing either guy. The point is, and I think most everyone feels this way, just finally choose one. PLEASE! I completely understand the strategy of denying the audience what they wish in order to maintain interest, but twenty-ish books is a lot of dangling the prize in front of our faces. And at some point, too much of a amazing thing is no longer a amazing n't obtain me wrong, I'm not fed up with these books exactly, but the frustration is starting to build some. Too much more of the indecision, and I will be fed up cause I can't support but share some of my favorite quotes from Lula...(*these are probably paraphrases since I listen to the audiobook, it's not like I have a transcript)."I've got peep toe shoes on and my huge toe could look like a snack."Stephanie - "He's a small gassy. "Lula - "Yeah, we all relate to that.""I might even be getting diarrhea too."(Ok...so you need to know the context for most of these to be funny, but trust me, they were.)Notorious Nineteen gets 3 stars from me. Have you read Notorious Nineteen? If so, what did you think? Allow me know![...] - Somewhere Only We Know

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    This is the play, NOT the book. So don't buy it and then give it a not good rating, when it clearly states it's a of the best plays I've seen, thoroughly enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    1984 (Nineteen Eighty-Four) (Oberon Modern Plays) []  2020-2-5 0:46

    1984 is a unbelievable classic book written by George Orwell. This is a script to a play, an adaptation based on the book 1984. I enjoyed this play immensely, and highly recommend it. However, I would suggest to read the book first.1984

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    The original book -- 19 Ways of Looking at Wang Wei is a classic -- and perhaps the finest available introduction to Chinese poetry, the Chinese language, and the issue of translating Chinese into English. Anyone interested in Chinese poetry must read it. It's short and profound. That said, this book extends the first by adding 20 extra translations of Wang Wei's poem. The extra translations and Weinberger's commentary are interesting, but don't really add much to the primary book. You must read one ver or the other. If you've never read it, you might as well read the recent version. If you've already read the first, then reading the second is of minor importance, but still a pleasure

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    Everyone interested in translating or even just in language learning hears that there are multiple ways to interpret a text. This book takes this to a brilliant extreme, by re-interpreting a single poem in 19 ways, from phonetic, to literal, to the most free-form imaginable. What it really demonstrates is that there is no "right" translation - translation depends on what your purposes are, who your audience is, and what you are trying to [email protected]#$%!&?hink everyone interesting in translation or even just in language learning should read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei []  2020-6-21 18:22

    I have studied the Chinese language for four decades. I studied it in University. I studied abroad. And I studied it as a hobby. I think that the author does a very amazing job in describing how difficult it is to translate Chinese poetry. This particular poem is probably even harder to translate then a lot of others. There are 19 translations of this poem in the book. This author goes out of his method to dismantle and attack every translation. I wonder what fluidity and command he has of the Chinese language. I would think very little. I was very disappointed with his approach because it was destructive and not constructive. While I understand that some of the translations take poetic license that is the nature of the beast in translating poetry. Frankly I was appalled by the tone of this author and his condescending approach as to the efforts of the translators while trying hard to portray himself as some grand expert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    I found the entire book interesting and enjoyable. Some of the stories weren't my cup of tea but while I realize these are "short stories" I loved that most of them were a peek into the world; a slice of life, if you will. There were no true satisfied endings and there were very few concrete outcomes...just what the characters went through to survive or fix an problem with no end to the oppression of the globe order in sight. I heard the Audible audio book narrated by Stephanie Willis and I thought SHE did a 5 star job. I listen to a lot of audio books and I believe this is a GREAT narrator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After (Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia) []  2020-7-7 19:18

    I love all books that have Ellen Datlow involved. This had some very amazing stories in it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    The issue I have with Stephanie Plum is that she is still incompetent as a bounty hunter. She is supposed to have Ranger's back, but leaves her gun at home, doesn't even think about it. I miss some of the old quirky characters she used to have in her stories. She doesn't seem to grow as a character. And more often than not, it's Ranger who bails her out or comes to her rescue, rather than Morrelli. She still eats fried chicken, donuts, cake, pizza, everything fattening, and stays skinny. Not very believable. Want I could do that.I like the humor, but it's not enough to carry the story. I've grown kind of discouraged with this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Notorious Nineteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel []  2020-8-14 18:0

    The nineteenth edition in the Stephanie Plum series---I look forward to the the annual publication of at least one edition. Ms Evanovich has had me laughing for years at the witty adventures of her gal, Stephanie. Sometimes though of late I wonder if my funny bone has taken a wrong turn or if Ms Evanovich is a bit tired of her funny bond agent. Maybe that just happens after a long 's still a amazing read and if you are not familiar with this series, you should at least read one or two of the Plum editions for your own pleasure if nothing else. Stephanie Plum is an accidental bond agent, who does not like carrying a weapon and she has a propensity for attracting vehicle bombers. Her sidekick is the well endowed (everywhere) Lulu who used to be a 'Ho' and wears bright colourful spandex and high heels. Their favorite quick meal is Cluck in a Bucket. Stephanie's Grandma Mazur is a hilarious old woman who says anything and everything and wants desperately to be a part of Stephanie's Posse. In this edition she goes undercover at the hospital to support locate a missing patient that abscounded with millions from the old folks home and skipped out on his bail. Her gun is bigger than Stephanie' addition to the missing skip, Lulu and Stephanie apprehend a skip after disrobing to enter and disrupting at a nude beach. Stephanie makes off with a Tiki in order to lure another skip to search her so she can maybe (NOT) apprehend him. As if all this isn't enough, Stephanie is somehow recruited to be the matron of honor for a bride she just met through Ranger. Ranger and the groom have both received death threats and Stephanie is hired to protect Ranger.....yeah, right!Ranger is the Hot Cuban Security Co. owning bondsman who has taught Stephanie a lot...both in apprehension and well other things. He has also rescued her from a lot of a risky criminal and in her efforts to hold from walking, (furnishing rides when her vehicles burn). Detective Morelli, (Joe) is her on again/off again Italian boyfriend. And all of this originates from Trenton, Fresh Jersey.I love this series. Janet has created characters come to life in the pages of these books and it feels like I know them personally.....don't I just wish! Her stories are favorites and a fast read and something to look forward to each ch as I sometimes feel I've hit a rut in the road, I will always love Stephanie and friends! A lot of of these stories have caused hilarious outbursts of laughter at the oddest times and places. So do yourself a favor and have fun a Plum mystery for yourself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    Sometimes what we really need is info distilled down to its purest form. This small book does just that. It simplifies and concentrates some essential principles of working out to the point that there is no excuse, no reason to no apply them. Short, to the point, and effective. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    This is an amazing book because it's short and to the point. It has lots of pictures and few words just the method I like it. No droning on about energy systems and snake oil, and stair masters, and bicep curls. Just obtain off your butt and workout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    I like this book for a beginner. Primary instructions to begin an effective weight training program but also highlights the importance of a dozens of exercise when deciding what exercises to do. Pat describes himself as a fitness minimalist and strives to deliver maximum results in minimum time? He delivers in the book. As a side note, I hope readers visit Pat's web website listed in the books for more information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    OK book. The title explains the contents very well. More of a long magazine article in Kindle format. Is it worth a dollar? Maybe not, but hey it's only a buck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    In this newest ebook and beautiful much everything he does, Pat cuts through the crap to obtain to what really makes people fit: primary movements, hard work, commitment and fun. He consistently gives clear explanations of how to tackle the building blocks of fitness without ever taking himself too seriously. Proud to consider myself a fan, and always look forward to whatever he comes up with next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    Pat is no nonsense kinda guy when it comes to fitness and eating healthy. You won't obtain an items you don't need. What you will obtain is in shape. If you are looking for a fresh direction with fitness, one that isn't full of fluff you don't need, and you are ready to take the right steps in eating healthy, then Pat Flynn is your man. Buy his books. Read them. Then follow the routines. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    Simple, to-the-point facts. When I need a small reminder, I can pull it up and revisit for motivation. I finished reading before I finished brushing my teeth, which translates to ~ I read it!~ it's not in my TBR folder!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    Is this book worth a dollar? I thought so. Will it change your life? Probably not. But here's why I bought it - because we need more Pat Flynns in this space. One of the best fitness articles I ever read on the internet was written by Pat Flynn, titled something like 'How to obtain to 8% body fat and stay there'. Just google it. It created me laugh out loud and gave me encouragement, and when I'm feeling down about my fitness progress (or lack there of) or suffering from paralysis from ysis, I return to it, and laugh again and obtain back to it. So for that, here's my e other thing I have fun about Pat is that he doesn't waste your time. In a globe of social media mania and fast fixes, he advocates simple, consistent, hard work - what an odd concept to search here's to you Pat. If you write a longer book, and I'll buy that one too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    A no-nonsense fast read that reminds you what working out really is. It's not about doing as a lot of reps as you can on a Nautilus machine. It's about focusing on the two things you need to in order to gain muscle and look and feel better physically. Hold these principles in mind and you'll be on your way. The drawings are darn awesome, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Repetition and Resistance: A Short Book on Working Out []  2020-1-21 22:56

    I have had the pleasure of utilizing Pat's tip for a number of years now. I have his other kettle bell book as well and it's fantastic. This is short and sweet but both helpful and amazing training advice. I recommend all of his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Great Teachers Do Differently: Nineteen Things That Matter Most []  2020-8-16 18:23

    Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    I first read 1984 for a high school English class almost 20 years ago, I was immediately drawn to Orwell's writing style. For every bit of dialog, there is MUCH more narration, but the narration is engrossing and intriguing. I love when Orwell uses long sentences with parallel phrasing, and he describes in detail a society that is frighteningly much like our own-- a crushingly intrusive government that uses constant and inescapable surveillance paired with a steady stream of falsehoods marketed as truth that caters to the 1% (the Inner Party) while the lower castes (the Outer Party and the Proles) suffer in poverty and neglect. If you're like me and love a amazing bleak novel that explores the primary depravity of man (other favorites of mine are Brave Fresh Globe and Lord of the Flies), read 1984. Don't forget to give Animal Farm a test as well; it covers very related themes using talking barnyard animals, but it's an easier read. Better read this book quickly because Huge Brother Is Watching You.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    1984 is a thrilling classic novel by George Orwell that brings readers into a dystopian society where citizens know “Big brother is watching you.” (Orwell 2) The book follows Winston Smith as he secretly denounces the all-powerful government, Huge Brother, and decides to live a daring life of scandals and secrets. As expected, Huge Brother catches Winston, and tortures him ruthlessly until he is a shell of his former self. Although the storyline itself is exhilarating enough to create readers wish to turn the next page, it’s really the larger notice that makes this read so worthwhile: extreme political philosophies, like Huge Brothers’ totalitarianism, are no good. I will admit at times I felt I didn’t even like Winston, like when he first saw Julia, his lover, and told her “I hated the sight of you...I wanted to rape you and then murder you afterwards.” which shows misogyny in the most unsettling way, and when he kept dismally repeating that “there was no escape” from death because of his love affair (Orwell 120, 152). Regardless of whether or not the characters are relatable, the book definitely serves as a cautionary tail to all those who have scanned it pages. This book has a lot of horrifying elements and scenes, such as telescreens, the things constantly watching people even in their own homes. Newspeak, Huge Brother’s official language, is also very unsettling, as the government controls what people say and think without them realizing it, because the words to think poor thoughts do not even exist. However, limited language and stalking screens are nothing compared to the poor dehumanization that Huge Brother inflicts on those who don’t agree with them. When brought to room 101 in the Ministry of Love (how ironic of a name), Smith was subjected to “the worst thing in the world,” as O'Brien recalled, almost killing Winston using his worst fear (Orwell 283). This turned Winston into what seemed like an animal with rabies, and after this punishment (in which he was spared death because he betrayed his lover Julia) he was never the rhaps, though, the scariest thing about this novel was that I didn’t search it all that scary. A lot of things Orwell brilliantly predicted are a reality now, like cameras in the pockets of nearly every person in a developed country that could potentially “see” and “hear” everything. Phones like the iPhone not only have fingerprints (for touch identification) but now are starting to delve into the globe of facial recognition, and no one truly knows for sure where this info goes. We see far worse things than Winston saw in the Ministry of Love by simply turning on the news. Nations like North Korea have complete control over their citizens, and the saddest part is, these citizens are too shielded from reality to even know that there is something wrong with the method they are treated. People also have the tendency to blindly trust whatever the media says, which could just be another method us people are manipulated every day. It makes me wonder, is 2+2 really 4… or, because numbers are a concept made by man, could it really equal 5?-LB

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    Ordered this book for a 9th grade class reading project. Was not satisfied when we got to page 148 and discovered that pages 149-180 were missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    In the 1960's I first read this book. It has been a guiding reminder through these years of how fragile freedom and democracy can be and of how necessary it is to be vigilant and aware of trends that may destroy them! (2017)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    I read this in high school (I'm 72 now) and at that time it was a prediction of things to come. In some ways it's beautiful close. It is interesting that people are reading it more now because of the current situation. I think that if they are alarmed by this book they should test "It Can't Happen Here."Another worthwhile book is "A Nation of Sheep" by William J. Lederer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    The constant errors, words joined together, paragraphs split with a wrong page number, the book title or the free www service right in the middle. I was not able to have fun reading this at all, I got 7% through before I could not take it anymore. 1984 is amazing but this ver is just unreadable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    This is one of the first books I have read more than once. I first read "1984" in 1985 and now for the second time in 2018. The book has remained the same, but both the globe and I have not. I cannot start to convey how genuinely frightening this book is. I am a lover of famous science fiction and am astounded by Orwell's ability to be more compelling, entertaining and engrossing than authors with the benefit of light sabers, phasers and every young person who has been assigned this book, know that you are reading a literary work of art. A lot of of you will understand and appreciate it, but if you love literature, please create a mental note to read this again when you are older. Youth brings with it eternal hope, boundless optimism and of course, hormones, so you will search yourself rebelling versus the pessimism of the book itself - you will effectively be Winston raging versus the machine, hoping, searching, questing for a method out. In short, you will cheat.But when you obtain older, have a family, lose loved ones and see some of your dreams unfulfilled - when you witness entire nations and races of peoples born, live and die in brutal squalor - when you reflect on the technological advances created over the decades and gaze, with mouth agape, at how a people can be less advanced, less informed and less enlightened, not despite these innovations, but BECAUSE of them, then you will read 1984 as it was meant to be read...not as a dark, dystopian globe you enter when you begin the book, but a beautifully brutal warning that, even as you read it, is prophetically coming real around you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    This book is impossible to read. The file is corrupted and all kinds of strange characters obscure words. It is infuriating to test to contact Amazon's customer service. Amazon keeps you going in circles and there is no phone number for getting help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    Missing 25 pages. I am confused how this happened. Instead, 25 pages from a previous section of the book were copied over 25 pages later in the book...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penguin Readers Level 7: Nineteen Eighty-Four (ELT Graded Reader) []  2020-7-4 19:5

    The first time I read 1984 I was 15 or so. It had a profound impact on me, but I see now how poorly I understood it.I'm nearly 60 now, and just finished my second trip through the Ministry of greatest thought was that this was not a political book as I thought the first time through. It's a book on how to live with a secret. A secret so troubling that society would shun you, hate you, despise you, if ever your secret is revealed.I am not , but I think I can understand the feelings of learning to deal with the fact that society thinks you are different, maybe even wrong. How everything you do you are convinced will allow your secret be known. How you build your life around hiding ypur secret, while also yearning for it to be known. Never being able to relax. Never being able to trust. Always living in fear.And once your secret is out, the impact, the transformation it makes in your life, how you basically lose who you are. Well, at least in Winston's case.1984 helped me better understand the turmoil, the hell, that we place people who are considered various t at all what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    I loved this collection of short stories revolving around Jane Yellowrock's world! Finally, all of the short stories in one book in the same format for simple reference and casual reading! The stories are written from Jane's perspective as well as other characters from the books and really add insight to the background of the books o fresh novellas for this book especially, and I loved them both! "Bound No More" shows Jane's mate Molly and her daughter Angelina coming over to stay at "Aunt Jane's " house for a few days, bringing along with the visit some growing pain problems from a small girl with very huge magics. There is a surprise about Molly, and they are all treated by an unfriendly visit by a young arcenciel who is trying to steal one of Jane's magical artifacts. Lots of action, and time suspension intercession!Cat War has Jane and her security squad (the Younger brothers) being sent back to the bayou to revisit the community she initially got settled by having a witch and vamp couple married. She's been called there again by the vamps to support straighten out an problem evolving from the couple's various natures. While there, Jane discovers there's been a fresh magical artifact brought to light that is adding to the tension. Fun Jane action and dialogue!Let's just say that after reading it, I'd buy it all over again because I liked the stories that much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    I am a Jane Yellowrock addict. Faith Hunter's novels are always tightly written with a twisty plot. These stories are amazing additions to flesh out the globe of Jane Yellowrock. Also the time line at the front is very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Nineteen Thirty-Four Edition Of Ziegfeld Follies: A Live, In-Performance Recording []  2020-1-23 3:42

    My apologies to :I'm basically just going to reiterate what the latest reviewer said, but it should be said again. This recording may look cool, especially to the theater buff, on the outside, being the first known "live" recording of a show-and a Ziegfeld Follies starring Fanny Brice (The comedienne-singer famously portrayed by Barbra Streisand in "Funny Girl") at that, but the recording quality is so poor that it just isn't worth it. This isn't even the actual Broadway version; it's a 1935 touring edition with some Braodway cast members (Including singer Jane Froman) replaced by others and several songs cut. Not only that, but the complete show, though apparently it was all recorded, isn't even represented! The liner notes claim the comedy sketches (Including Brice's first "Baby Snooks" routine), apparently all played upstage and away from the microphone, sounded so poor that they were unreleasable. The "Snooks" sketch couldn't have sounded worse than Brice's "Countess Dubinsky" number which is inflicted on us here. I don't know much about the info of recordings and things, but I really wonder if this wasn't a bootleg (The CD cover even says it was never intended to be released) that some historian found, got all excited about, and attempted to release as a legitimate CD based on its historical value alone. Well, sometimes historical value just isn't enough. The show's got Brice and the standard "I Like the Likes of You," and even a finale (Apparently also various from the BRoadway finale), in which Brice and the cast reprise old "Follies" favorites like "Shine On Harvest Moon," "A PRetty Girl Is Like a Melody," and BRice's "Rose of Washington Square," but at best you'll just barely be able to create out what they're all saying and singing, and only if you turn the volume of your CD player method up. Beautiful much NO ONE, regardless of knowledge or tolerance of sound quality in recordings, is going to be able to take this, so please, don't bother unless you feel you must beef up your cast album collection. I played it once and probably will never play it again. I ask you not to go so far as to buy so you can play it once. Just skip it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    It's amazing to have all these stories in the same volume, even if it's not quite every Jane story to date. Two of these stories were completely fresh to me (chasing all the Jane stories down is challenging!) and they were as outstanding as the rest. I was glad to read/re-read them all. The two fresh novellas were wowsers! More and more backstory is revealed on lots of the characters. Angie Baby is beginning to be a true issue witch. Eli has a source in the Vatican. The arcenciels are far more strong than anyone guessed. Jane's collection of artifacts is on the rise. Question for the future: how is she going to hold all those things safe and secure from all the supernats who wish them?!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    The latest story in this book is really Hunter writes some vivid prose. On rereading the stories I had read before I realize just how soulful her depictions of nature are as well as revisiting her vibrant ere is a lot of action and adventure in Jane's globe and that had stopped me from noticing just how well written these stories are. The characters create sense and they have life. The action is congruent with the personalities. Since the stories let us into the view point of various characters, we obtain to see just how well built they are, their actions and the story arc function together. This seems so obvious and yet it is rare. And Jane the action character is three dimensional and struggles to search the right path even in her duel existence with e latest story begins with a visit from Janes mate Molly, and her precocious daughter Angie. When one of Jane's artifacts attracts a magical monster it become clear that young Angie's magic is developing too quick for her judgement or her parents to control. The method the characters deal with this terrifying situation illuminates just how thoughtful these action tales can sequentially, the stories build a globe that sheds light on our own. Beautiful cool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    More tales from Jane's world! All of the short stories previously published, plus two fresh ones. The The Jane Yellowrock books are my favorite series, and this is a amazing addition. It's nice to have all the stories in one book, ad the two fresh stories don't disappoint. I loved Bound No More. Angie baby is a powerful, headstrong small witch, and luckily for her parents Jane is there in this story is rein her in and give her some very sound advice. I don't envy Molly and Evan when she becomes a teenager!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    I have read most of these stories, but I was so satisfied to visit them again! It was nice to have them in order, too! I love Jane Yellowrock, her world, and all (well, a lot) of the side characters- there are so a lot of that grab your attention. That's why I love the short stories, you obtain to delve into histories and obtain more in-depth information on folks. You will not be disappointed with this book of stories, even if you've read some of them before. Read the Jane Yellowrock series if you haven't, though. (Skinwalker is the first in the series). These will be a lot more meaningful that way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Nineteen Thirty-Four Edition Of Ziegfeld Follies: A Live, In-Performance Recording []  2020-1-23 3:42

    amazing price quick service

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Nineteen Thirty-Four Edition Of Ziegfeld Follies: A Live, In-Performance Recording []  2020-1-23 3:42

    Allow me start by saying that, contrary to an earlier reviewer's opinion, the fact that this is the oldest known live present recording more than makes this CD worthwhile; it makes it a priceless doent of Broadway at being said, the CD reissue does have its flaws. In the interest of historical preservation/presentation, the ENTIRE existing recording should have been included (regardless of "quality"). This could have been accomplished by making it a two disc set. Admittedly, this would have pushed up the price, but realistically, this set is like the "Music from the Fresh York Stage: 1890-1920" albums--no one but serious theatre buffs are even going to be interested anyway.Whatever its flaws, the people at AEI must be commended for undertaking the project to start with. We can only hope that someday the original discs will be rediscovered (the CD transfer was created from og tapes copied from the discs years ago), or if not, that a fresh edition will be released containing all existing end, as a collector of vintage recordings, I can say that I enjoyed the CD immensely (even in its incomplete form) and would heartily recommend it to anyone interested in vintage musical theatre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Nineteen Thirty-Four Edition Of Ziegfeld Follies: A Live, In-Performance Recording []  2020-1-23 3:42

    Two stars for historical value only. The recording quality of this disc is horrendous, despite restoration, and is for die-hard theater buffs ONLY, virtually unlistenable for everyone else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories from the World of Jane Yellowrock []  2020-7-17 19:17

    Even though I had already read most of these stories, they were all very amazing to read. They are arranged chronologically, so all together, they give a amazing overview of the lives of Jane Yellowrock, her friends, employers and enemies. Some of the stories refer back to happenings that happened in the novels, so I would say that this book would be better for those already familiar with the series. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's important to have read the novels, but if this is your introduction to Jane, just accept that every once in while, there will be something you don't quite understand. I did not think this was worse than some stand alone short works, so don't ignore this book just because the series is fresh to r long time readers, I'd say don't miss this one. Some of the older stories are more strong now that we know what was being foreshadowed. Not all the stories are from Jane's POV. I particularly liked the view into Bruiser's thoughts.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386