Read residential construction academy hvac reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all residential construction academy hvac reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    In 5 years, I'll be an amazing plumber. Right now, I know zero. This is exactly the book 5 year in the future me would send back to Today-me. Amazing pictures. Clear explanations. Simple to understand. Want I could search answers to the try questions, but you'll know 'em when you know 'em.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    Very glad to have this. Arrived early and had info that will enable me to better do my job. Perfect condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    amazing comprehensive book

    0  


    Add your opinion on residential construction academy hvac or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    I passed my midterm 😆

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    Fairly solid plumbing course for a beginning tradesman. Amazing diagrams. Author has much experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    My expectations were exceeded. This id a very detailed book about plumbing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    it was for college program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy []  2021-1-1 20:21

    Amazing textbook for this course at our college. Plain, easy to understand, amazing graphics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Plumbing []  2020-1-14 18:57

    I used this book to support me design and install the plumbing for my fresh home. I've been in the house six months and have not had any leaks, blockages, or other plumbing issues (knock on wood). Any questions? :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: House Wiring []  2020-1-21 19:42

    It was a school book for electrical class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: House Wiring []  2020-1-21 19:42

    Perfect book at least for a learning apprentice. It is well layout with lot of clear, easy to illustrations and simple to understand. I recommend it for those starting the electrical trade

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Carpentry (MindTap Course List) []  2019-12-24 19:42

    An perfect carpentry textbook/reference I bought the etextbook and it displays perfectly on my tablet. Due to the huge number of iIllustrations it really needs at least a 9.5 to 10 inch smartphone with at least a 1080p display to avoid zooming and side scrolling so the full page is displayed (as is the case with most textbooks) but the content is perfect and it has fairly comprehensive coverage residential carpentry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Masonry, Brick and Block Construction []  2021-2-16 20:16

    Fairly thorough book. A begin off informer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Masonry, Brick and Block Construction []  2021-2-16 20:16

    Amazing quality as usual!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Masonry, Brick and Block Construction []  2021-2-16 20:16

    Amazing book to increase your knowledge

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Academy: Masonry, Brick and Block Construction []  2021-2-16 20:16

    This book is a unbelievable technical manual and reference tutorial for masonry. Inside is a wealth of knowledge regarding everything from brick and block laying techniques, tools and equipment, to the basics. Along with this, the book is filled with full color images and diagrams depicting different examples. If you are interested in masonry, this book is a must have for your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trane Residential HVAC WiFi [App]  2020-5-30 13:9

    Won't run, keeps stopping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trane Residential HVAC WiFi [App]  2020-5-30 13:9

    Odd sign up process and then shady third party email that isnt from Trane to reg thermostats

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Residential Construction []  2019-12-24 19:41

    I'm a structural engineer who works in residential construction - and this book is definitely a "Fundamentals" level general, the book is good. It is geared towards a 101-level introductory class at a community college or trade school. It has some amazing background info on the process of residential construction and a small bit about each of the trades. It does use some outdated terms based on the current "codes," but they are the terms widely used in the is book is for: someone taking an introductory level class or just someone who wants to know a small more about residential construction in is book is NOT for: a homeowner looking for info on how to complete a renovation or construction project. It's not for someone looking for the most up-to-date info on construction or industry information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Estimating for Residential Construction []  2020-12-25 20:19

    Ok book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Residential Construction []  2019-12-24 19:41

    FUNDAMENTALS OF RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION 4th ed. by Allen, Thallon, and Schryer is a 733-page hardcover book on the practical aspects of architecture and mechanical engineering, and civil engineering, as it applies to residential homes. During the past 40 years, I have read a lot of books intended for the novice as well as for seasoned PhD-level scientists, on subjects such as circuit diagrams, mechanical engineering, and chemistry. The book will be a amazing asset for people like me, who write patent applications on mechanical devices. Also, this book will be a excellent asset for people wanting employment in hardware stores and lumber yards. Of course, the book will likely be revered by any person intending to enter the building profession as a blue-collar worker, as well as any person intending to earn a college degree in architecture or is book by Allen, Thallon, and Schryer, which is a like an encyclopedia written for the novice, is one of the very best-written technical books that I've ever encountered. The authors NEVER talk down to the reader. The writing STAYS ON TOPIC. There is not one ounce of journalistic fluff. The photos, diagrams, and graphs are nicely integrated with the text. There is not one mathematical diagram, which contributes to the book's readability for TAILS OF ONE OF THE CHAPTERS (Concrete, Ch. 7). To jump right into the topic matter, the chapter on CONCRETE (pages 179-198) has 20 photos, which contain Hariana's Villa (palace built in the years AD125-135), a cross-section of concrete showing embedded stones, an industrial rotary kiln, a image of air-entrained concrete (bubbles are 1/100th inch wide), and pumping concrete into a framework with aid of a hand-held vibrator. Chapter 7 also has eleven schematic diagrams, e.g., a picture of a hollow metal cone used to try how a stack of wet concrete is able to stand up when unsupported (slump test), a graph showing compressive strengths over 180 days when concrete is kept moist the entire time (highest strength) or when allowed to air-dry starting from day one (results in lowest strength), and a cross-section diagram of steel bar-reinforced concrete showing "stirrups" that carry "diagonal tension" near the ends of the concrete beam, and bottom steel bars to carry "tensile forces."Regarding the accompanying text, we read that wet concrete should be kept moving and agitated in different directions, to prevent solids from aggregating, "the course aggregate works its method to the top of the form, and the water and cement paste rise to the top." Regarding reinforcement, we read that concrete and steel stick together well and that they both expand and contract equivalently with temperature, "If the two materials had grossly various coefficients of thermal expansion, a reinforced concrete structure would tear itself apart during the cycle of temperature variation . . if concrete did not adhere to steel, a very various and more expensive configuration would be necessary."GLOSSARY. Pages 703-726 provide definitions of terms, such as "airtight dry wall approach," "alternating current," "coped connection," "fly ash," and "paneling." As you can see, the GLOSSARY contains the most primitive of terms ("alternating current") as well as advanced terms that most people have never heard ("coped connection").CHAPTERS. There are 28 chapters, including, Ch.5. Wood and Wood Products, Ch.6 Masonry, Ch.7 Concrete, Ch.8 Rough Website Work, Ch.9 Foundations, Ch.10 Floor and Wall Framing, Ch.11 Roof Framing . . . Ch.15 Plumbing, Ch.16 Heating and Cooling, Ch.17 Fireplaces and Stoves, Ch.18 Electrical Wiring, Ch.19 Thermal Insulation . . . Ch.23 Panelized and Prefabricated Construction.OTHER HIGHLIGHTS. Other highlights that caught my eye, while thumbing through this captivating and very well-written book, contain page 11, which shows assembly of prefabricated houses using a crane (4 photos). Pages 17-23 talk about building codes and permits. Page 34 has a histogram showing plummeting costs of solar electricity from years 1977-2013. Pages 100-103 describe tree growth and we see attractive pen and ink diagrams renditions of light microscopic pictures of the "cell structure" of softwood and of hardwood. Page 102 teaches which kinds of trees are used for framing, molding, floors, and shingles (makes amazing subject for a party android game among architects). Pages 108-110 talk about lumber defects and lumber grading, and we learn 4 types of distortions (crook, cup, bow, and twist) (also, an interesting subject for a party android game for architects and builders). Pages 119-122 discuss plywood, and we read that "veneers for structural panels are rotary sliced . . . each log is rotated in a huge lathe versus a stationary knife . . . a machine spreads glue onto the veneers as they are laid atop one another." Pages 128-134 teach nails, screws, lag screws, bolts, plates, staples, and anchors.MINOR GLITCH. All of the photographs present the topic matter in proper perspective, as do most of the line-drawings (FIGS. 8.12 and 9.14 are fine). But FIGS. 10.21, 10.40, 15.18, and 21.13 ignore perspective. Oh well, I guess that I am a bit too picky.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Estimating for Residential Construction []  2020-12-25 20:19

    Doesn't work with Samsung note smartphone 10.1 Kindle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Residential Construction []  2019-12-24 19:41

    A very useful book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Residential Construction []  2019-12-24 19:41

    This is an perfect and encompassing book on residential construction. I have the 2nd edition of this book and this fresh 4th edition updates it to more modern materials and fresh methods. There are still a lot of the original images and texts, but there are fresh ones in the right places. I have always found this book to be a trustworthy and informative reference for all the fundamentals. It is well written in a concise and understandable method with pertinent illustrations to expand on the text. Worthy of a spot on every builder's, contractor's and remodeler's bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Estimating for Residential Construction []  2020-12-25 20:19

    If you wish to come a Cost Estimator in profession, this is amazing to start with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Estimating for Residential Construction []  2020-12-25 20:19

    No surprises, it was everything it was supposed to be!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Residential Construction []  2019-12-24 19:41

    Dozens of detail and well place together

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Estimating for Residential Construction []  2020-12-25 20:19

    Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Residential Construction []  2019-12-24 19:41

     As I mention in my video, I first read the first or second edition of this book ... and it's only gotten bigger and better. This is not a coffee table book and it's not a project book. It's a genuine textbook on residential construction from little to larger scale video goes through much of what I love about this book. It's certainly not 100% comprehensive in every specific zone (like wiring or masonry), but it's a amazing e photos are easy but very illustrative. When my wife and I were building our house, I relied heavily on a lot of sections in that earlier edition ... in particularly, draining and roofing system design illustrations in this book were valuable to us.Written by a squad of experiences faculty and builders, this is a very strong textbook / reference guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Estimating for Residential Construction []  2020-12-25 20:19

    Estimating concept

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    I bought this book to obtain an idea of how to properly frame my basement. It is very detailed, but gives more a broad overlook into framing EVERYTHING in a house from the ground up. This might have been an overkill for my intended purpose, but that's my fault. This book is most likely amazing for someone who works in the framing trade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    The book is in excellent conditions!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Performance Guidelines, Contractor Reference []  2020-2-5 19:44

    This is my favorite book for teaching our non-profit General Contractor classes. Customers do not understand building tolerances when it comes to installing natural products. Natural means it is cracked, moves, swells, and shifts. Even the extremely high-end products have expansion gaps and issues. High end can also be very fragile and require dozens of additional framing and e main issue is Cheap products. They always have huge issues. It is so hard for customers to understand that cheap is cheap for a is is definitely a reference book for pros but a amazing support for contractors. From a customers point of view, it can seem like they are being taken advantage of but they are not. It is the method construction stomers can place a ton of pressure on fresh guys to create their products excellent when it is impossible. If we built them without gaps the first time it rained the doors would pop out of the walls and cabients would pop off the nnifer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    It was too primary for me because I'm a professional bookkeeper. I was looking for more info that could support me with my current clients.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    Very amazing textbook for a class. Simple to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    This book is supposed to come with the second part ! That’s why I buy ! One for write text with 140 huge print that I got it ! And the second one should be with plan, I didn’t obtain that ! It’s not fair !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    here in Finland we have been using Graham's work as a textbook in our continuing education construction management programs, as well as trade schools. It offers a full spectrum of discussion on the nuances of the industry that translates well across various countries. The book still has lots to say, even thought it was written in 2006.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    Don't know if it was supposed to come with the book as well but mine did not come with it. Only the prints. I wish to know if im missing the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    Just received and it looks like all the drawings were included. I bought new, that may have created a difference compared to other reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    Unbelievable read on essential knowledge required for home construction. Whether you are overseeing your own home construction or need the trade knowledge for you own work this book is a amazing source of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    Ez to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    This is a amazing book for a non accountant--I do the bookkeeping for my husband's construction business and it has helped me alot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    Despite some "ist" references to everyone being female in this book, it certainly provided me with the info I was looking for in a format that was easily managed and a amazing read. Since I am not an accounting type, I think Emma really met the challenge when she wrote a book that I found simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    Let's just say our international Construction business is booming in Jamaica $$$

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    As an Architect, having just read one of the worst, most ignorant and cynical accounts of what it is an architect does and how an architect is engaged in the construction process, I have to give it low marks. Despite the author's a lot of insistings that a amazing relationship with an architect is important, his actual portrayal of an architect is guaranteed to poison the well and lead to foul relationships. If you wish to know how an architect see the construction process, read the "The Architect's Handbook Of Professional Practice". This guy doesn't obtain it.If the rest of the book is of such a cynical nature, I won't be back to make batter the one star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    A must obtain and helpful book that never loses its value. This book can support you understand everything you need to about construction and is a helpful reminder if you forget something just reread the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    This book is amazing at teaching how a house has to be place together from the foundation to the roof. Very informative about everything involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    Myself:Absolutely no knowledge of accounting.I Like numbers and ly Employed at:Small construction companyMy Goal:Learn accounting. Set up new, project related, accounting system. Be bookkeeper using is was the best book that I found as an intro to construction accounting.Has what a textbook needs, and without being written by a teaching board for the dumbest child in the ve Stars for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    The book was fine, but clearly aimed at the non-accountant. As a CPA that was fresh to the construction industry, I was looking for something that would support with locations special to the field. This book is more of an introduction to accounting for contractors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    A complete look at the accounting of the residential construction business. From set up to operations. I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    If you're in the project management or project controls industry, I highly recommend picking up a copy of Derek Graham's book. The detail and coverage of the subject is so complete I'm a bit amazed. Derek place the time in to footnote all of his research so you're also a complete list of other locations to go for more info. It's worth the investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    If you are a residential remodeler, preferably a high-end remodeler, (I think that Mr. Graham will agree with me here) this book is a amazing tutorial to the quality conscious remodeler. This book is not about accounting rather it is about what a amazing remodeler and his squad should do and should have been doing all along. Buy a amazing accounting book, marketing book and buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    The book is very vague on some aspects of building and has method too much unnecessary jargon that makes thing very confusing. 90% of this book is outdated and is not up to code standard, so gain the knowledge in steps but don’t memorize any numbers or you may search yourself in trouble. Do not recommend for an apprentice carpenter, might be amazing for college course

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    great!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    I did not keep both products I orderedThese two books are paired one is text the other is plans and go together for the class I should have received a second pair just like this but did notYou can see in the picture that one is the text and one is the drawing for the classThey obtain purchased as a packageIt was not inspected correctly and repackaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    Worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    This book is moderately helpful, but very poorly written. The author continually refers to trades businesses in the same way: "builders, remodelers and developers." The topic of every other sentence is "builders, remodelers and developers." How about some other ways to refer to this type of business?It is the "5th Edition," but neglects to correct or modernize errors and references. The author refers to "Appendix D" when she means "Appendix E." My favorite typo is on page 92: "...the more options the managers have to create correct mistakes and change course..." It's always necessary to "make correct mistakes."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    Well written and simple to understand but a bit on the simplistic side for anyone who has been working in the industry for an extended length of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    This book was a amazing "textbook" style college lesson plan. If you are a amazing disciplined focused student, then this book is for you. If you are FAIRLY fresh to construction WITH JUST ENOUGH EXPERIENCE and ambition to take this book and use it as a base for research, GREAT! This book is for you. However, if you are looking for a reference book of "how TO" based on subject with easy-to-read pictures, summaries, etc....then this book may not be for you. This is more of a launching, "Intro to Residential Construction projects level class. :Information was amazing and served it's purpose for me. Much of the direction of the book was in the method of the business side and mentality of it all. Less of the How-to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    I like this author because he approaches subjects from all aspects: contractor, architect, and client. He does this by employing easy and insightful language that gives one a rare glimpse into the puzzling globe of residential construction projects. Because he uses anecdotes to color discussions, the book reads as very private and non-bookish - though he is clearly well-rounded. Would like to see more by him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Construction Performance Guidelines, Contractor Reference []  2020-2-5 19:44

    Complete waste of cash unless you need it as a reference for mediating or arbitrating a dispute with a builder/remodeler. The standard are obviously written by the home builder's industry to protect their industry. For example, p. 77, ..."gaps between mitered edges in trim and molding should not exceed 1/8 inch." Really, 1/8 inch gap in mitered joints? P. 17, "the interior face of wood-framed walls should be no more than 3/8 inch out of plumb in any vertical measurement." I can do much better than that and I'm not a professional. The wire-bound book is not worth more than a few bucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Residential Framing: A Homebuilder's Construction Guide []  2020-1-22 1:44

    I required this book as reference throughout one of my college courses and it did the trick; I recommend this book especially if its required for a course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    I ordered the fresh ver and did not keep the prints just the text. Having to return will probably have to buy from school book shop to avoid this issue. Luckily I have some time till I need this material. Dry disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    I bought this textbook expecting I would keep the huge prints and the activity textbook, however I only received the huge prints. I typically don’t write reviews, but there was no attempt to fix my situation by the seller. I’d look elsewhere for the textbooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Print Reading for Construction: Residential and Commercial []  2020-1-30 22:56

    The book was missing pages so it was hard to follow along especially when the pages missing was the questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    The book is very appropriately titled, and thus and accurate description of its contents and usage. They should have mentioned, though, that the book is also an official publication of the professional association that governs construction (NAHB).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Accounting & Financial Management for Residential Construction []  2020-12-30 20:16

    Very unevenly written. The author spends an entire chapter on debits versus credits and later spends 2 sentences on capitalizing e book also has an extensive chart of accounts for the industry but not much explanation of roll ups and consolidation.Overall I was disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Managing Residential Construction Projects: Strategies and Solutions []  2021-1-21 20:12

    I recently picked up Graham's book, as my little business was growing rapidly, I wanted to obtain some background on standard operating procedures, and industry best practices. I have found the book to be really helpful for establishing primary guidelines of practice, as well as lots of anecdotal sections that were actually fun to read.I recommend this book to anyone involved in a residential building contract, as there is something to be learned by owner, design professional, and builder alike. I also follow Graham's posts on LinkedIn, which I search to be very relevant and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    I’ve bought 3 for my superintendents

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    This is a beautiful amazing book, but lacks easy details. The author assumes you are already a framer, or at least that you have a amazing bit of knowledge on the craft. For instance, there isn't any instruction on fabricating the corners for walls properly. This would be important in order to be able to hang the drywall. He tells you how to lay out the tool storage in a framing van. Really? People can't figure that out on their own? He talks about "crowning" studs. but stops there. Nowhere does he mention how to do this. If you are handy with tools but need to know how to frame up a easy structure, I'd obtain the Ortho book instead. It's more geared toward the non-professional, once-in-a-while framer like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    While this is a solid book, I would not call it a "complete" book of framing. It basically covers the principles of building a fresh house from the perspective of someone working on or leading a professional construction team. For the average person who is perhaps looking to do a remodel or some retrofit work, this book doesn't cover a lot of scenarios. There is some very specific items like how to package up your truck and organize a construction website which will be of use to only a limited audience, but nothing, for example, on framing an interior wall in an existing structure. I thought it would cover more scenarios so as a effect was a bit disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    I do not believe This is the book for a DIY-er or even someone just beginning to learn the trade. In essence, the author does a fine job of laying out all the "whats" of framing but rarely talks about the "whys" of framing. The problem for me begins on the first couple of pages -- there's maybe half a page given to explaining a load-bearing wall, mostly just a diagram, a couple of sentences to go along with it "and that's it. I still have no idea how I would identify a load bearing wall and be able to explain WHY it's a load-bearing wall. It gets better ... later in the first chapter there's two pages full of pictures of common framer's tools, but absolutely no discussion on what to look for when selecting your own tools. Do we really need a picture of a measuring tape? Or an extension cord? If the picture of a tool belt had not been included, I'd be framing right now wearing a purple ere's also a section on deciphering lumber panels on page 12 of the second edition. All the author does here is label each part of the lumber panel and move on to the next topic. For example, it would have been nice to have a discussion on the the moisture content (S-GRN, S-DRY, MC-15) as it relates to fresh construction or remodeling work, when to use which moisture content, etc. But I guess I'm supposed to already know this.I gave it three stars because my viewpoint is only one valid viewpoint; others, probably seasoned framers, may actually search the content in this book helpful. As for the DIY-er who wants to learn the whys and be able to reason about framing construction, this book falls dreadfully short.If only Rex Cauldwell, the author of "Wiring a House" were a framer and had written this book ... this book is better off as a encyclopedia for framing contractors, as it includes 100+ pages on how to run a framing crew.I'll modernize my review with a suitable recommendation for a beginner DIY framing book once I have found one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    About half method through. Referenced a lot of things this ameture didnt know. The book puts on terms that I can understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    Amazing book that I reference a lot for being able to look over plans and check on construction work being done by others, caught my contractor lying about short changing the method things are done and got his work flagged by inspectors until it was corrected. Hashelp with my own small projects as well and gave me a much better understanding into the framing world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    I required something to support me with estimating work. I use this book to support with the technical aspect of my little construction company.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction Sixth Edition []  2021-3-5 19:46

    I need some clearer descriptions because this should have come with both the prints AND the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction Sixth Edition []  2021-3-5 19:46

    I thought i was buying the book but it was only the prints. no where does it indicate that it was the prints that were to be sent. So im screwed for the first test

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction Sixth Edition []  2021-3-5 19:46

    Just wanted to allow people know that this came shrinkwrapped with the text and the prints together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    Amazing reference for a contractor or home owner who wants to do it right. Simple to read, lots of pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    Perfect book but needs the code book for reference

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    So this book is not for the starter per se, but it's not meant to be hard to understand. The fact that it has plenty of examples and drawings will support you a lot. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    This is a tutorial on how to frame, nothing on how to design a framing project. Literally how to cut, plumb, and nail wood. The content could easily be reduced to a small, 50 page pamphlet, instead it has giant margins, giant pictures, unnecessary fluff, and large blank locations at the ends of chapters. Useless to anyone but a novice framer with a full set of blueprints, don't pay more than 3-5$.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    I own several Dewalt tools, and they are all great. This book lacks an index, which means looking through a lot of pages if you wish a specific code detail. Even then it may refer you to something outside of their book by code number only no - link, etc. In one case a table showed the data, but there was no key to explain it. There could be a lot more pics showing examples of correct stuff and or way(s) to build - all sections included. This book was the code modernize to replace my "The Visual Handbook of Building and Remodeling" by Charlie Wing, 2009 (see my review). I still use 2009 book which is great, but I create sure I am still in compliance, i.e. any code changes to that part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    Very informational. Glad I got this while remodeling my home and upgrading everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction Sixth Edition []  2021-3-5 19:46

    I thought I was ordering the book. This is only the blue prints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    This text was prepared by DeWalt and Cengage. The collaboration results in a very readable text with perfect illustrations. I am not an experienced builder, so bought this book to support me evaluate the quotes I received received from contractors for a major home improvement project. Reading this book alone may not create you a journeyman trade person, but the book will support you stay on track to do a project correctly, or to obtain a sense whether work you contract out is of amazing quality.Over all, this book is a amazing value for the cash and a handy reference for do-it-yourself home owner or an owner evaluating contracts for home improvements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    I got my residential contractor license at the beginning of 2019. Although I would like to think I'm beautiful up to date on codes, there's no method to memorize ALL this stuff. So I bought this for my own peace of mind, to double check myself on designs, blueprints, etc.Well worth the cash to KNOW I'm code or better, as they say.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    Amazing reference book. Highly recommend for the general contractor or DIYer that loves to do all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    Amazing book, very knowledgeable. I required to sharpen up on my framing and code standards, this was perfect. If I was reading this from a completely fresh to carpentry perspective, I think I could easily grasp the concept and place it into action from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    This book gave me a amazing refresher on code items I had forgotten, as well as latest changes. You’ll still need a code book for any kind of project requiring inspection, but this covers the huge stuff. It’s well organized so simple to use as a reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    Amazing all around code reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction Sixth Edition []  2021-3-5 19:46

    I purchased this well before the beginning of the semester. One problem, I only received the prints. No textbook! I did not realize this until well after the return window. The textbook and prints should be packaged together, but that was not the case. The prints are almost useless without the textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Printreading for Residential and Light Commercial Construction Sixth Edition []  2021-3-5 19:46

    Needed for college course of Construction Management. Amazing info for the beginner level. I am more experienced and it was a breeze. You just have to obtain your feet wet and gain the knowledge through experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2018 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2019-12-23 20:34

    amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    Another really amazing book for beginners on framing. It helps them SEE all the parts and shows very helpful diagrams and explanations. It may seem too "oversimplified" for the master-carpenter, who has been framing for 30 years, but I think this is a amazing book for someone with no experience. Also amazing to obtain to support teach apprentice carpenters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction []  2020-7-17 21:9

    I learned so much with this book, it is incredibly detailed. I feel confident in all the components of framing a home after this book. Pictures and descriptions were just great, even for a beginner. Definitely worth a read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DEWALT 2015 Residential Construction Codes: Complete Handbook (DEWALT Series) []  2021-1-1 20:20

    Amazing read for the beginner tech person looking to under some construction and inspectors guidance. I really wish to take my time reading this and don’t regret it at all.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386