Read rick steves european easter reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all rick steves european easter reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    "Rick Steve's European Christmas" is a very captivating dvd to watch. The following are some of the locations and facts that are covered in "Rick Steve's European Christmas":London, England: Trafalgar Square and Somerset HouseDrobak, Norway: December 13th Holiday of Santa LuciaOslo, Norway: Norwegian Girls ChoirParis France: Best Dressed Tree ExhibitBurgundy, France: The tradition of a winter picnic in the woods was renberg,Germany: Rick provided informative info of Martin Luther's legacy in this lzburg, Austria: The Christmas Carol "Silent Night" originated in me and Tuscany Italy: Info was featured on how this zone makes the history of Christmas relatable in a modern method in Italy.Switzerland: Scenes were shown of the attractive Alps area, and of Rick and his family joyfully mingling with some of the local families living in Switzerland. I also found the Christmas melody and vocals used throughout the showing to be very beautiful. A lot of of the countries that were visited showed groups of people singing Christmas carols together (which I thought is a nice addition to the theme of this dvd). All of the countries that were featured in this dvd for European Christmas traditions were unbelievable to watch. However, the two countries that really captured my attention the most for visiting Europe during the Christmas season are Germany and Austria. I love music, and the fact that it plays a major part of Germany's Christmas traditions was something that I found interesting (the well known Germany composers:Bach,Beethoven, and Mozart were briefly mentioned). The feature of Austria also stood out for me because my husband's grandmother is from Vienna, and I also found it fascinating that the well known song that is "Silent Night" originated here. This dvd is certainly worth obtaining if you intend to visit any part of Western Europe during the Christmas season and/or you are interested in knowing about European Christmas traditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    I sent my parents "Rick Steves' European Christmas" DVD, recently, just to bring in the Christmas cheer, once again. My mother said, "It was so nice and very informative. Thank you so much, again. We've learned how various countries celebrate Christmas. Dad and I really enjoyed it. The choir was especially nice, just beautiful."My parents loved the entire show. When I asked my dad his thoughts. He said, "We've seen it before! ... But it was nice to see, again." He's so honest. And that is amazing to ey really like Rick Steves' programs a lot. They watch his shows, all the time, when he comes on r the most part, they love all the DVDs that I send home. And this definitely was one of their favorites by far! Something to have fun anytime of the year, again and again. And one thing that I will point out: My conversation with my parents — after they watched the holiday unique — was filled with a lot of joy and happiness. They reflected back to some very satisfied times. That's most important: To walk away from a present with a amazing feeling in your heart. That's worth millions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Want you could go to Europe for Christmas? Well, this DVD is the next best thing to an exotic holiday, and there are no crowds at the airport, traffic jams or surly clerks. This DVD is filled with glorious scenery, historical landmarks, attractive choral melody and sights most of us could not arrange no matter how huge our travel budget. Thankfully, Rick Steve's manages to cajole families to share their holiday so the viewer can witness how Christmas is actually celebrated by true people in each of the featured countries -- England, Germany, France, Italy, Norway and ere are so a lot of memorable scenes, but a favorite is Steve's and his family visiting mates in the Swiss Alps. They ski and sled in breathtaking scenery and then stop at a hut to warm up and have fun a rich cheese fondue. It is then after dark, and they return home skiing by candlelight. The extras contain Midnight Mass in Rome by the Pope and extra choral music. This DVD is a special treasure. It is filled with attractive sights and sounds and it improves with repeated watching and it is worth every penny.

    0  


    Add your opinion on rick steves european easter or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Move over, Charlie Brown! This is now my fresh favorite Christmas special! I happened upon it on PBS latest year and immediately found it on Amazon and ordered it. I watched it again when it arrived, and then again this past Christmas. I had started to lose my joy of Christmas over the years, and Rick Steves has helped reverse that with this awesome special. The melody and traditions of European Christmas have influenced American Christmas immensely (well...at least the American Christmas I remember as a kid - not the PC "Happy Holidays" drivel that's so prevalent these days), so it was nice to see those traditions in their contexts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    I loved reading Rick Steves' European Christmas. It was so interesting to read how people in Europe celebrate the holidays and the traditions of each of the countries that Rick Steves' visited. I have seen the dvd a lot of times throughout the years, but it was nice to just read the stories and the book included a lot of traditional holiday recipes. I enjoyed it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    First, allow me say that this book may be a bit smaller than you think it is. I was expecting a larger coffee table style book, and it is smaller. However, it created up for this in content. It explains the story of Christmas, along with an explanation for where "XMas" first came from, which as you will read does not take the Christ out of Christmas. I appreciated the history of all the various historical and mythical figures that eventually turned into the Santa Claus that we all know in North America. That was just the first few chapters! The rest of the book takes us into various cultures to see how they celebrate the Holiday Season and their special traditions that are passed down throughout generations. Overall, it is a very informative book, and a nice on to hold on the table to read a chapter or two when you feel like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    It's February and I'm still loving meandering through the descriptions of Christmas in western Europe. (a relaxing read!) Truly, although Christmas is a niche topic, Steves helps us to understand the culturally various ways various "tribes" experience and interpret the same thing. Certainly very timely when we think about the current political upheaval going on in America and globally.And bottom line? Just a super interesting book! I've already purchased a couple more copies to give as bonuses next December.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    I very much enjoyed seeing the various celebrations of Christmas across Europe. It was interesting to me that the traditions and melody that touched my heart most were also part of my European heritage. I had not realized how much of what my family does, and the traditions that I love are not actually "American", but part of my European roots. Nicely done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Rick Steves' European ChristmasI watched this on PBS with my mom and then ordered it for her birthday. I've enjoyed almost every Rick Steeves present that I've watched, and this was no exception. He's an experienced traveler and tour guide, and he puts that expertise to amazing use here by showing how people celebrate Christmas round the world. Every nation and tribe and group of people has its own special method of celebrating this majestic holiday, and this video shows but a few. I was fascinated by all the different traditions and would have fun spending Christmas abroad one day. But for those of us unable to travel, this is a amazing method to see the globe from cause there are so few cultures represented here (7, I think), I'd like to see a few more of these featuring other countries and groups of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Rick Steves' fresh edition of his classic European Christmas book will be a hit with his fans and an eye-opener for those not familiar with his work. It takes the reader on a journey across Europe to reveal the food, decorations, songs, and celebrations of its a lot of countries. The book is lavishly and beautifully illustrated and contains all of the European Christmas traditions from his earlier work, both the book and the PBS special. Also included are recipes and quirky tidbits such as Santa Claus' family tree--for true ! I gave three copies to people unfamiliar with Rick's fine work and all were amazed and delighted. This book will create a unbelievable bonus and would be a fine addition to your family's own Christmas traditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    I waited to review the tutorial until I returned from our cruise. For the most part, the information was spot-on EXCEPT FOR ST. PETERSBURG.I cannot imagine spending $250 on visa costs and enduring endless hassles with the language, taxis, ticket lines, visit this port on your own for two days. After researching on Cruise Critic and Trip Advisor and speaking with mates we went with an individual tour company (SPB in our case) that zipped us around Petersburg (as much as one can be zipped around this town in the summer), bought all our tickets for us so that we avoided ticket lines and provided lunch, a driver and an English speaking guideThis tour was in a 16 passenger van so that the driver was able to drop us right in front of the sights in St. Petersburg (unlike cruise based excursions which use buses that cannot drop you close to a lot of sights. We also did not have to wait for 50 other people to use the bathroom) The charge for this @#$%!350 pp including all hints not the $600 that Rick Steves two days, we visited Peterhof, Catherine's Palace, the Hermitage, Peter and Paul Fortress, St. Isaacs, Church on Spilled Blood, Nevsky Prospect, visited a subway and took a canal boat ride on the Neva. (The Rasputin visit that Rick Steves pans as hokey was my husband's favorite part of our two-day tour.) On our own, we would have knocked off two or three of these sights that happened to be within the city.Other than the glaring failure of the St. Petersburg chapter, this book is very useful to the do-it-yourselfer and following the suggestions will for the book a lot of times over. We are a couple in our late sixties and had no issue whatsoever in navigating these ports. Everyone speaks English and we had much better experiences than our table-mates who used the ship excursions and frequently never got off the buses.We are not even huge fans of Rick Steves and frequently roll our eyes at his insistence that everyone carry a backpack and that somehow one can fit everything into a carry-on including a sports coat and dress shoes for "formal night."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    I used this for my Baltic cruise this past June to Copenhagen, Tallin, St. Petersburg, Helsinki, Stockholm, Warnemunde, and Kiel. It was reLly fun seeing lots of other tourists touring around with this book too!I recommended ripping out the pages you need for a particular port and then stapling them together before you go. I didn't staple them and they quickly got out of and the I wasted time on the road finding the section I wanted to be at. I am glad I didn't carry the book.I found the walking tour of Tallin especially helpful. I used it to sightsee on my own in Copenhagen, Helsinki, Tallin, and Stockholm. It saved me and time deciding what to do. I also found that rereading sections of the book, after I had seen the websites was helpful. You just need time to absorb everything. Since I was on guided tours in St Petersbug--I read about what I saw after the fact. Might have helped to read before hand--but just so tired from all the amazing sightseeing.I did not search the book as helpful for my Germany stops--used Cruise Critic online for that.Worth the purchase. Also helpful with hints for preparing the cruise. One hint on packing-- bring a pair of jeans. I brought slacks but found in mid June that jeans would have been more helpful and warm at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    The single best travel tool we brought with us on our Baltic Sea cruise. Used it to study up on each port and create a plan plus an alternate plan for each day. The book is designed so you can take a box cutter or X-Acto to slice apart each section. Do that! I used a strip of clear packing tape on the spine to create sure it held together. Then you can carry each section into port for ready reference and it's little enough to fold and place in a pocket. We used almost all of his walking tours and they were so much fun. We'd stop at different points of interest and I'd read the descriptions to my husband. It was a really unbelievable method to experience these ports on foot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Some stuff in the book are outdated, so this is due for a refresher. We traveled in July 2017. We are seasoned travelers, but these itineraries are aggressive given the limited time in port. We finally opted to hire personal tutorials for some cities as it was going to cause too much stress to test to navigate on our own. We did have fun reading Rick's commentary on the locations to visit and practical info provided. It is a amazing reference book for what can't be missed in the cruise ports, so still recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    I'm doing a Baltic Cruise in the fall and this book is perfect. Amazing suggestions on what to bring and what to do. Best of all, lots of hints specifically to cruising! Also loved the suggestion of tearing out just the sections that relate to the ports you'll see and package those pages in your carry-on. Then toss them as you leave each port!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    Rick Steves is an awesome resource even with the omnipresent power of the internet and I always take one of his guidebooks with me for European trips. It was no various for a Baltic Cruise (Copenhagen, Warnemunde, Tallinn, St. Petersburg, Helsinki, and Stockholm) and I read through the information on the ports a month before my trip and also familiarized myself again the day before we reached the port. His knowledge is so informative for an independent traveler like myself who doesn't like to do cruise excursions and I was able to solely use the guidebook to figure out the public transportation system and obtain from one museum to DE NOTE: For St. Petersburg where you need to book an excursion to obtain off the boat, we booked the 2-day Grand Tour with Alla Tours and I HIGHLY recommend them. They place you in a 14-person group in a comfortable air-conditioned van and we visited the Hermitage, Spilled Blood Cathedral, Peterhof Palace, St. Petersburg metro, a Neva River cruise, Yousof Palace (where Rasputin was murdered), Peter and Paul Fortress & Cathedral (where all the Romanov tsars are buried), Catherine's Palace (with Amber Room), and St. Issac's Cathedral. It was the best value and 50% of what the cruise company charge for their excursion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    We are such large fan of Rick Steve’s unfortunately this book was a disappointment. We used Ricks Mediterranean cruise book and immediately became a fan, however this Baltic book does not contain audio walking tours that match the book. Therefore, we had to carry the sections of the book with us as we toured the individual cities, instead of wearing a head set and simply listening to Ricks walk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    I required the most necessary information to plan for our cruise ports next year and as usual, Rick Steves has the best guide! He lays everything out so it makes sense, is simple to follow and simple to decide what to do, when, and how. Instead of going to numerous www services for weeks or months and trying to obtain the gist of what to do, sorting 'real' reviews from sponsored or fake ones, I can trust Rick to have the best information for the excellent trip. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    overall the book was somewhat helpful, but did not give info about the port nyasham which is a port used for Stockholm. Info on getting to SDtockholm from the port about 45 miles away would have been very condly, more info about Porvoo, an excursion from Helsinki would have been helpful, I feel like I wastyed my day going there, and it offered very little. Lastly, I was shocked to search hotels in Copenhagen had no safes, telephones, or wake up calls. I was told to "stay in a four or five star hotel if that's what I wanted". what happens in an emergency with no phone in the room? Didn't feel comfortable leaving valuables in the room and front desk didn't have a safe either, so spending three days walking around Copenhagen with all my valuables with me did not sit well. I used several famous hotels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    This book is absolutly needed reading for anyone going on a Baltic cruise. I just returned from a 11 day cruise on the Princess Regal. Before leaving I chop up the book, yes, really did section it by town and rebound each section with massive duty packing tape. I numbered each in the I would be visiting. I added a sheet of the "can't miss" sights so I wouldn't. Took each day's "book" in my backpack as I created my method through city. Ricks walking tours we amazing as well as his meal recommendations. But the true benefit is reading and planning method before my trip so I was able to book tours and pre tickets for transportation and individual sights. I would of wasted so must of my limited time if I didn't use this book. Thanks Rick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    This book was a bible for a Northern European Cruise. It had all the info on what to see (given limited time) at all the ports of call. Also amazing instructions logistically on how to obtain to and from the cruise ship to the cities. I'm actually surprised such a niche book even exists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    We purchased this book just in time for a 15 day Baltic cruise, and we used it everywhere we went (except Klaipeda, Lithuania, not in the book and a very little place). We had torn the book apart (as the author suggests) to make individual packets for each port. For each town there is info about how to create your method from where your ship is berthed into the heart of the e short walking tours of Helsinki and Copenhagen were great! We saw things we might otherwise have missed. The restaurant suggestions that we followed led us to awesome fare - Rock Fort in Bruges - and a restaurant called something like "Grandmother's Place" in Tallinn - and Zetor in I think Helsinki.If you are thinking of visiting these cities this is an essential guide. You will save money. You will search better meal and more interesting sights. I trust you will be amazed and happy by the quantity and quality of the information.(I don't usually go so ga-ga over a travel guide. Believe me that this one is exceptional.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    The Baltic Countries were a cinch to visit with Rick Steves' book while on a cruise. His hints helped us plan whether we needed/wanted to take a ship sponsored tour or go our own way. A large support was knowing when we required to take a shuttle into a town from the port or if we could walk. Without his insights certain cities, e.g. Stockholm, Copenhagen and Helsinki appeared to be shorter walks than they are in reality, saving us additional walking and giving more time to explore.We also used his ideas for walking tours in Talinn, Helsinki, Stockholm and Copenhagen. His thoughts on sights to see, meal to test also gave us the info that saved us time looking for them on our eat book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    We just completed a 12 day Baltic cruise. Followed his walking tour every step in Tallinn, Estonia. Every step, every turn was spot on. I read his commentary on upcoming destinations the night before and was always prepared for the best choices. Best guidebook ever. Gear job, guys. PS: I saw a lot of others with the same book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    I always Rick Steves' book about wherever I am planning to travel. Lots of amazing general info as well as detailed descriptions of where and how to obtain around, sightsee, eat, and shop. This book is just what I required for a Scandanavian cruise as it describes cruise port cities, not the whole country. It includes instructions for cutting it apart into very little books, one for each port city, so there is no need to bring the whole thing....only those cities you will actually visit. I can't comment on the usefullness of the info in this particular book yet, as my trip is next week, but all previous Rick Steve books have proved invaluable when sightseeing otherwide unguided. There are also chapters about choosing, booking, packing for, and boarding a cruise ship if you haven't done that before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    IMHO...Rick Steves' books are a must for my husband and I when we travel. He really provides the info, maps, suggestions, and critical items a traveler needs, especially today. We have used RS books since 1993. I have yet to take a cruise, this is a very helpful book, especially for cruise newbies like us. I like that he tells you which ports you can handle yourself and which to sign up for an excursion. I would also suggest to obtain his books for the cities/areas you will visit, then tear the sections out that you need to chop the wait down. I also suggest to read it before you go...it is too late when you are there because you are trying to obtain the most out of your trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    Was not 100% accurate or inclusive, but it was still a very useful book to have! We relied on it a lot during a Northern European Cruise and overall liked it a lot. A few notes:-We went to Ijmuiden (The Netherlands - port not included in book, just Amsterdam)-Tallinn, walking tour was perfect!-St. Petersberg (visas/private tours were much easier to obtain than book suggested). Still very useful here.-Helsinki - very useful-Stockholm - great. Hints on meal in particular were very useful. Prices quoted (for hop on, hop off, e.g.) were much too low in the book.-Copenhagen - walking tour was great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    We purchased this resource before our Baltic Cruise. We dissected the book as suggested so as only to bring along the 50% or so that was relevant to our situation. At the port of Warnemunde Rick Steves was especially helpful in supporting our decision to visit Rostock and avoid the long train ride to and from Berlin. Otherwise, most of the detailed arrangements for tours etc. were guided by the cruise company, not the Rick Steves Book. Where the book is really helpful is in providing a record of the countless things that we saw in the different ports. Yes, we listened to the perfect tour guides, yes we took lots of pictures, but no we did not take notes! The Rick Steves book provides the background to support us prepare a tour scrapbook afterwards. Very amazing maps, text, sketches, etc. to jog our memory. Yes, you can a nice glossy tour book at each stop, but with so a lot of tour ports and museums this approach would fill a whole suitcase. The condensed Rick Steves resource does the job much more efficiently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    Based on the description, "Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports" was not what I expected. This 1000+ page book is printed on thin, newsprint-type paper. The different port towns are described in detail, but there is small info about towns or excursions that most cruise ships offer. While this book is packed with information, it is not for those who cruise because they are not extremely adventurous - it is for those who like to discover where they dock and seek nothing outside that town.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    Covers most ports in typical Rick Steve’s fashion. We have purchased a lot of of these in the past for our tours of Italy, Ireland and France and search Rick Steve’s guidebooks and podcasts to be an perfect addition to our travels, making sure we see the best websites and save while doing so. Minus one star for missing Visby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Rick Steves has really designed this book for maximum utility for a person going on a Baltic cruise. He spends a lot of time weighing the pros and cons of different tactics (touring by yourself, touring via ship shore excursion, touring via separately arranged tour). He hits info on all the key decisions one needs to create - from which cruise line will suit you to whether to obtain a Russian visa or not for St. Petersburg. I would definitely recommend reading the front part of the book prior to booking your cruise. Based on his advice, we avoided some long lines for museums by buying tickets in advance on line. He even have designed the book to be chop to pieces, so you only need to bring along a "mini-book" with pages relevant for that port of call. Really well thought out and valuable advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    The general info about cruising is very amazing (with the possible exception of the minimal amount of clothing recommended. Also amazing was support with deciding whether to take a ship's excursion or test to book with a local company. Unfortunately, some of the info about this problem for the Norwegian ports wasn't very accurate concerning what was doable and available. Apparently much has changed in terms of availability. That said, this book provides an perfect overview of the ports. A fresh edition is supposed to come out shortly, and perhaps updates will correct some of the inaccuracies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Unbelievable book! I'll post an updated review after our Baltic Sea Cruise but thus far I have nothing but positive comments about this book. Simple to read, designed to be sectioned so you don't have to carry the entire book on each outing, amazing hints and provided amazing information for us to create decisions regarding activities at each port we visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    We purchased Northern European Cruise Ports and two other Rick Steves' travel books for an upcoming vacation based on his reputation in the travel industry. The info is quite detailed; it is like being on an actual tour with Rick Steves. These books are helping us determine what we can easily do as self-guided tours that won't tax our physical limitations and when we might wish to utilize commercial excursions. If you are planning a self-guided tour, the info will obtain you started on planning the logistics and costs associated with transportation, where to stay, where to eat; as well as info and helpful hints on the websites and activities you might wish to contain in your travel plans. He contains history and interesting trivia as e books are worth the price, even if you are only an armchair traveler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    Very happy with the cruise port guide. Appreciated that it focused on the port and immediate zone and what you could actually accomplish in a short port visit. Information re transport from ship docking zone to town center was most helpful. Walking tours were well organized and reasonable in duration, allowing you to see major points without wasting time but also not rushing through a checklist.I did use Steves' suggestion to tear the book apart and carry only the pertinent pages - cuts down on weight and volume. I used a little bull-dog clip to keep section together but have simple access for flipping though while on the is was 3rd edition (Apr 2015) so information was up to date.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    I bought this book for our Baltic cruise, and loved it! We prefer not to sign up for excursions where you're stuck with a large group of people and undoubtedly waste a chunk of time at souvenir tourist traps. This book was excellent for exploring the cities on our own! Our cruise departed from Copenhagen & went to Stockholm, Tallinn, St. Petersburg, & Helsinki. Due to Russia's visa requirements, it's mandatory to book a tour for St. Petersburg, so we booked with SPB Tours and enjoyed being in a little group versus the large cruise ship excursion groups. For Copenhagen, I'd highly recommend buying a ticket & reserving a time for Rosenborg Castle. We arrived when they opened at 10:00 on a Sunday, waited in line for 15 min, but had to wait another 45 minute to enter the castle. We could've avoided the wait & maximized our time by booking online. We did each of the Town Walks that Rick has of each port and loved them! An audio tutorial for these walks would be amazing (like the ones he has for Paris, Rome, etc.), but since he doesn't have them for Scandinavia, I recommend buying the kindle ver of this book, so you can have it all on your phone instead of carrying a book everywhere. In Helsinki, he contains Suomenlinna Fortress, and I highly recommend taking a boat to this island Fortress and exploring it. After doing his Town Walk of Helsinki, I wasn't too impressed with the town itself, but this island created up for it. Overall, this book is excellent for those who like to discover on their own and not be stuck on an excursion with a huge tourist group. I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    We took a 15 day Baltic cruise and bought this tutorial to support with our planning and for use each day when cruising. We are experienced cruisers but required some guidance with such a long trip quickly hopping from town to city. Almost all the info we required was in this guidebook. I would recommend it to everyone. Be sure to use it before embarking as a lot of of these ports are working ports far from the interesting parts of the town and the port and transportation info will support in deciding whether or not to take excursions or do it on your own. The book is designed to be torn into individual town tutorials which can be very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-8 19:30

    After spending a lot of hours investigating excursion options for our Baltic ocean cruise, I discovered this book at the library. After only a couple of hours, I had gained so a lot of insights that I immediately ordered the book. Like other Rick Steve's books, you know how to create the most of your time in every city. You have a very clear picture of historical sites, the culture and recommended walking adventures. This is a must have book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-10 19:48

    This book was extremely helpful both during our cruise and afterwards when we did a land tour of Copenhagen, Belgium and Amsterdam. I did as suggested and tore sections out of the book to carry with husband and I successfully toured 4 ports on our own and used a personal tour company for St Petersburg and Berlin. Just in Stockholm did we use a ship tour.I recommend going online to see what has been updated since the book was written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Northern European Cruise Ports []  2020-1-16 12:30

    Rick Steves is so practical and points out locations you wouldn't know about or see on ship tours. We have used his books for previous trips, and bought this for an upcoming Baltic cruise. We take a ship tour once in a while, but usually like to research an zone and do our own thing. Of course he has do-it-yourself walking tours, eating suggestions, etc., but he has some information specific to cruising that's really good. The one point that jumped out at us was his reminder that the time you have in a port can be quite a bit less than the time between arrival and departure because of customs clearance, disembarking, etc. which can reduce your time in port by 2-3 hours. The book covers most of the cruise ports (wish he had included Rotterdam) and is amazing if you wish to have a preview of ship tour areas or make a tour for yourself. Actually, it is not just for cruises, but could be useful for anyone traveling to the cities included in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Venice (Rick Steves Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 5:0

    There is absolutely no better tutorial for Venice than Rick Steves. In this newly updated ver there are fresh restaurant reviews and updated town walks. Choose this if your dreaming or planning of a Venice vacation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Mixed results so far. Amazing in most websites in Florence. Really enjoyed the walking tour of Rennaisance Florence. As of late October 2018, the Uffizi tour was worthless. Not Rick's fault, the exhibits had moved, but regardless of fault, I recommend not relying on this for the Uffizi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    I used this application to listen to audio tours while on my trip.. It was simple to use and the audio tours were wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Enjoyed using the application when we visited Rome. We downloaded the tours and did everything at our own pace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    love it. the commentary on my trip to italy was the excellent mix of humor and information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Interesting and informative content as always. But there should be much more regular and current content. A lot is from 2011-2015. The apps also doesn't automatically play your playlist, you have to manual choose each podcast. This isn't usefully while on a long drive, for example.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    I love travelling and for my trips to Europe I always take Rick Steves with me. Useful tips, nice stories of the locations I wish to visit, silly jokes. Thank you for sharing them all with me and my family. Greetings from Costa Rica!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Maps and pictures of the places, amazing information, amazing voice, No ads, all for free... The best audio tutorial for Rome! Only the information in the tray stays on my Samsung a3 till I reset it, no huge for me...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Used this application for a tour of Rome and loved everything about it. Amazing commentary and I loved the little small jokes. The only thing that the application lacking is a skip ahead 5 sec. If you add that it is simply perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    My favorite for self guided audio tours in so a lot of European cities, with do a lot of interesting tidbits and fun facts. Just grand. Cons: sometimes crashes, sometimes camera interferes with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Rick Steves' audio tutorials were a delight to listen to. I've explored most of Europe with him as a tutorial and was never once disappointed. Highly recommended, better than any tutorial available on site.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Paris []  2020-1-11 19:40

    Amazing fresh edition. There is a nice small French phrases page which I want I had discovered first, not half method through our trip. Word to the wise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Paris []  2020-1-11 19:40

    Well worth the info contained therein. It helped prioritize locations and things to see in Paris!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Iceland []  2020-1-11 19:44

    It's amazing having a fresh Rick Steves book to supplement the meager Iceland travel book offerings! Before I received it, I read Lonely Planet Iceland which was great. However, Rick Steves definitely delivers with his down-to-earth, "opinionated" travel writing. He doesn't hesitate to tell you what's worthwhile and what's not, which is valuable for a trendy tourist destination like Iceland. He also has various tip than Lonely Planet on the highlights of the country, ranging from which broad regions to prioritize, down to specific sights. You may agree or disagree, but it's amazing to have another trusted opinion when researching your trip. I also like his description of street trips, including directions, scenic routes, suggested stops, locations to eat, etc. The book is organized very well. I suspect this will be the book that earns a put in my suitcase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Iceland []  2020-1-11 19:44

    I have high expectations for anything Rick Steves puts his name on, so I was quite surprised at the omissions in this book. The Westfjords and other locations (I can't remember which) are completely missing from this book. The table of contents is not listed on amazon or even on his website, so I had no method of knowing. Also, considering Lonely Planet's Iceland is as an e-book for Prime members, it seems completely unnecessary to own this inferior guide. I returned mine after a few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Great Britain []  2020-1-11 19:44

    We have most of Rick Steve's books for Europe and he never disappoints. I got the newest one for Amazing Britain mainly for the updated and opening times - he complies them all in one put so I don't have to find out information on each zone or hotel separately. I got this one on my kindle so I didn't have to carry a book on my travels. There isn't much fresh information in this edition from previous ones, except updated and times, etc. but that is what I needed. I do want Rick would begin adding more fresh locations for those of us who have seen the usual places, but that would probably be another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Ireland 2019 []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Will be traveling to Ireland and was expecting a comprehensive tutorial from Rich Steves. However, that is not the case. For example, he does not mention Sligo, County Sligo. Will continue to do much of our research via the internet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Venice []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Simple to use, lots of helpful and practical info (like if/how to hint and how to use public transportation) and not boring and dry like so a lot of travel books. Little size makes it simple to carry with you and refer to throughout your trip. I bought one of these for each town we visited and loved it! A amazing travel companion!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Venice []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Amazing pocket tutorial to some of the ins and outs of Venice. Informative ways to skip the lines and opt out of some less informative tours. Amazing for locations to eat and people watch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Normandy []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Hits the high points of mainly the WWII Operation Overlord landings and monuments. Much less coverage of show day Normandy. Beyond WWII history, nothing about the capital, Caen, and zero about the lovely town of Deauville. Amazing book, but should be entitled "Normandy WWII History and Monuments".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket London []  2020-1-11 19:45

    Mr. Rick Steves I really hope you read this review! But I bought 3 of your books and it created our 1 year anniversary trip the absolute best!!! I loved the restaurants and hints you gave! Buy the book just for your own private concierge and you’ll obtain an awesome ROI. We didn’t even know the Louvre would be on the first Sunday of the month until we read it and that of itself created the books essentially free! Even with google maps-you can’t quite figure out what is closest to you or create a “route” of action so the map on the book was awesome to have. This was my second time to several of these cities, but I hadn’t been in 10 years and everything was different. I loved it so much!!!So, to the necessary information. The books are little and create sure to the current ver so the recommendations are relevant. The book is organized well with some opening hints in the introduction. It will rank best things to see and I agree with the rankings. Maybe read this before you obtain to the city. Then it goes into a tour of the town or other tours of museums and such. I downloaded the audio book app, but my husband and I enjoyed just skimming it and we’re trying to be less attached to our phone. The tour section gave Amazing information and background on what you’re seeing. My favorite is that he gives the history of the city!!! Very amazing refresher if you’re trying to remember which HBO/showtime series were when and where in the cities (like the Tudors)! Jk but still helpful. We for a few tours so we didn’t have to mess with paying for transportation and making our own itinerary because we had limited time (and the means). But reading Rick Steves’ tours have us a base to better have fun our tours. Then it touches on some sights. Same amazing info. Next is sleeping, I want I had bought the boom before we planned hotels-we thought we did amazing research but we obviously didn’t on a few occasions. Then it goes to eating. FANTASTIC RECOMMENDATIONS with useful info to pick what you want. They are listed by what zone of city you are in which is very helpful. *Rick- I would like you to rank local cuisine foods with your triangle system as well. And I think you need to contain “nightlife/bars/pubs/happy hours” which he kind of does but it is not a separate section/color by area. And a list of famous local drinks, breweries, etc. I know that won’t appeal to everyone, but I would have liked some expert tip on those things. Latest are practicalities which was an perfect resource. Helps with transport and just general things you should know. And it has some common phrases in each language-definite life saver! And then you obtain and EXCELLENT fold out is little and light weight (maybe the size of an 8x5 photo). Simple to fit in a back package pocket (it even fit in my coat pocket). Amazing size font and simple to use as a resource. You’d be crazy not to this for your trip because it will off.Rick-if you’re ever up for a vacation together I bet you would be a blast!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket London []  2020-1-11 19:45

    Went to town of London for one week and felt I should take along a travel book. Thought there would be plenty of amazing ones given the Olympics this past summer, but was somewhat disappointed. Tried this book and found it very helpful (and I saw other tourists with it as well). I love that it was compact and not too massive so we could throw it in our daypack and be off. There is so much to do in the city, this helped us prioritize our interests. If we weren't sure about an attraction, we checked what Rick said. (Three triangles and we went!), although we went other locations off of his walking tours based on our interests. The only disagreement I had with his two triangle recommendations - we went to a play at the World theater. My husband, not a Shakespeare fan, thought it was the best thing we did all week long, and for only 5 pounds/ticket (we were groundlings to experience it fully). [email protected]#$%! would have had a small more about shopping (because that's my thing) but it did give me a amazing begin in the Oxford/Regent St areas, and a small more about restaurants (but nothing that TripAdvisor couldn't support us with). The pull out map in the back was our favorite feature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Athens []  2020-1-11 19:45

    Helpful for latest Athens trip. Create sure to also obtain Ricks podcasts for guided tours that are very helpful and supplement the information in the book. Love his phrase “many piles of choice historical rubble” (or something like that) in reference to the Stoa of Attalos site. Those who have visited archeological website know what he means, but his audio tours support create sense of the rubble. Amazing value little guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Athens []  2020-1-11 19:45

    Loyal reader of Rick Steves books for 30 years. Always saves me and provides special info. As an independent traveler, I often supplement Steves with another guidebook with more pictures, but Rick Steves is always 100% indispensable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Athens []  2020-1-11 19:45

    Excellent for my upcoming trip. Had amazing maps and simple to follow walking instructions. Looking for to my visit to Athens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Athens []  2020-1-11 19:45

    This tutorial definitely assisted us on our Athens and Islands tour.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Prague []  2020-1-10 19:44

    I'm completely ADD and this small pocket book reads like a history book more than a break down of what to see. I can't obtain by the 5th page without zoning out it's so boring. I was hoping more for lists of the top websites to see by neighborhood with info on those websites and suggested itineraries, how to obtain around, top foods to eat, etc. Buy something else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Prague []  2020-1-10 19:44

    I took this on my trip to Prague and it was very cool to have this! I only got a possibility to do part of the walking tour in Old City Square, but even just doing that I learned so much about the town. I saw a building where Albert Einstein spoke and a theater where Mozart performed, to name a couple of cool things. I think this was just as amazing if not better than having a tour tutorial because you can go at your own pace and it has all the info you need to learn about the history of the town. I would highly recommend this to anyone going to Prague. Oh - and it has a map of Prague in it which I thought was super helpful. Obtain this if you are going!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2019 []  2020-1-10 19:47

    I was a huge fan of Steves but frankly his popularity has gone to his head and I regret spending the on this book. I just returned from Itlay and used his book extensively. I no longer trust his restaurant recommendations. Too often I was disappointed with his choices. I wonder if he or his reviewers obtain meals that are prepared differently for them than the rest of us. I think that maybe the issue is that so a lot of readers go to the same locations that they overwhelm the kitchens and staffs. I was also disappointed with most of his hotel recommendations. They just didn't satisfy. I feel he has a bias versus better hotels. He does OK with descriptions of the major websites and his recommendations were usually on the money. He does warn you about the crowds and he doesn't exagerate. Be forewarned. Based on this I will probably not another one of his guidebooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Norway []  2020-1-10 19:48

    My wife and I will be taking a cruise to Norway this summer and I purchased this book to support give us some background on Norway and to check out the ports of call and all the local locations to see and visit. Amazing book, I have always enjoyed his books and infomration, I think this may be the 4th or 5th book of his, always a amazing read and I likes the highlights he presents

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Norway []  2020-1-10 19:48

    I expected the ebook to be a convenient method to take a tutorial on my travels but really you should just a true book;maybe someone elses book. The maps in the ebook come in small; sometimes as little as a postage stamp; completely useless. Finding info in the book takes 3 times as long as in a paper book if you can search what you are looking for at all. The index is worthless. I really expected better from Rick Steves but he obviously didn't give any thought to the ebook. His writing style is always engaging but just not worth it. It is an inconvenient, shoddy product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Norway []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Both versions were a small out of date with pricing, but that's to be expected with any publication like this. Having purchased both the Kindle and the paper versions, I have to say that I prefer the bound copy. It is easier to reference on the fly, the maps and other diagrams are easier to read, and the book actually fits into a wider dozens of bags/bookpack pockets than my Kindle. Some people may turn up their noses at the idea of a tourist book, but I really appreciate the value that Rick Steves brings to these books. I can count on them for far more than where to go or what to see, including info on local customs (do's and don'ts), and even the mundane "where to search a pharmacy." Highly recommend not just this book, but any of his books when traveling to a destination for the first time (and the second...).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Eastern Europe []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Amazing weight. Fairly amazing information. Does not have an appendix to go look up certain information in fast hurry. Liked the walk around tours. Liked the historical info but not as much as I hoped. Largest thing that they did talk about to some extent was tipping! I’m from USA and was amazing starting help, but would love it to be boiled down into a fast look chart for most common activities. It’s what we encountered the most over there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Eastern Europe []  2020-1-10 19:48

    It’s exactly what I was expecting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scotland []  2020-1-10 19:49

    We just got back from a week in Scotland, three days in Edinburgh and the rest in the Highlands (Glencoe). Rick's book was invaluable. Our travelling style fits Rick's: we like to walk around cities, we like to be independent, and we are frugal. With a Rick Steves book, you don't need tours, and you don't really need guides. In Edinburgh, we found our lodging through AirBnB, but Rick's listings for Glencoe B&Bs were helpful. Rick's sections on the history of Scotland were amazing to read. His tip throughout is extremely practical.We followed Rick's tip and just tore out the sections of the book that covered where we are going. Now that we are home, we place the book back together, and will hold it for what will hopefully be another trip to Scotland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Barcelona []  2020-1-10 19:50

    Have depended on Rick Steves tutorials in the past. This Barcelona pocket tutorial is very disappointing. The tutorial is totally focused on the top tourist attractions. There is small or no info on other locations or attractions, e.g., the Gracia neighborhood, Sant Pau Recinte. The pull out map is very limited in zone covered and, in parts, print is so little as to be unreadable. Much better information available online with small effort. Really, this tutorial was a waste of time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Barcelona []  2020-1-10 19:50

    Nothing by God things to say about the travel guide

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Portugal []  2020-1-10 19:50

    I dislike the very thin paper and that it is mostly on black and white pages, (I prefer colors on illustrations), anyway, this book is very useful, practical and it come in a very handy size, excellent to carry it around👍🏼. This is my four book of this writer, and definitely I will continue buying these reference books for my future European trips.Rick Steves brand are amazing reference books, when traveling👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Portugal []  2020-1-10 19:50

    An perfect source of material on Portugal - some of the audios are a bit dated. Portugal is changing quick and it would be nice to have a more current modernize of the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    How can you write and publish a travel tutorial to France and leave out Marseille? The second biggest town in France?!? We’re doing a summer trip to Paris and Mareseille (Cassis, and Aix-en-Provence) and aside from Paris none of our other destinations obtain even a mention. There is a section on Provence but it doesn’t venture south of Avignon. Sadly this book is a fail for our trip planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    Whenever we go to a fresh country in Europe, we always a book about it from Rick Steves collection. I just purchased his book about France and it is full of info and hints that other tour books don't have. It has been most helpful in planning our tour. You can't go wrong with Rick Steves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    This a GREAT book! I've been a fan of the Rick Steves series of books, and this one holds true. Informative, well written and comprehensive. Does it have EVERY town in France? No. It would have to be 3 times the size for that. It's still exactly what you need for your trip to France.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Germany 2018 []  2020-2-1 6:41

    Just got back from Germany. Used the book extensively on Kindle. Best reference for on-the-fly need to know stuff. Easily searchable. We were able to easily plan everyday activities at the latest minute. Info is concise, accurate (pricing can be off - but that's expected) and covers the necessary topics in an simple to read and digest format. For a lot of areas there are audio walking tours that can be downloaded from the Rick Steves www service and used with a downloadable Application for iPhone and Android. Obtain the Application and use the audio tours! Worked amazing for us. We all listened to the tour on our own phones (using blue-tooth headphones is the best solution). I will definitely pick up his books for other locations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Germany 2018 []  2020-2-1 6:41

    I did the walks in Berlin, Munich and Dresden. The Rick Steves application has the Berlin and Munich walks in audio format. Really amazing stuff. The book is worth the cost just for the Berlin transit map which I found much easier to understand compared to the overly busy official map from local time moves on some restaurants had closed and tended to have gone up at most museums. Everything in Germany is being rebuilt, built or remodeled. For example the Munich Alte Pinakothek was undergoing extensive renovations and most of it was not available to view. No fault of the book just an fyi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Germany 2018 []  2020-2-1 6:41

    Rick Steeves is an expert on Germany! We followed this tutorial and we had the best vacation. The subjects about each zone are accurate and the hints on locations to visit, trains, boats and castles are well described and helpful. Described self walking tours were simple to follow and very interesting. Very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Budapest []  2020-1-19 21:19

    I love to travel and when I travel, I love to have a plan. I have read a lot of various travel tutorials and blogs over the years but I always end up buying Risk Steves travel tutorials for myself and friends. I trust and value his opinion. If he suggests that a tourist attraction is the best, I'm going and if he indicates that something can be skipped if there isn't enough time, well I trust that too. His book provides the full scope of what to expect, hints and tricks and in addition to the main attractions, he shares non touristy bits as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Budapest []  2020-1-19 21:19

    Amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Budapest []  2020-1-19 21:19

    Amazing guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Vienna []  2020-1-19 21:20

    I’m excited to use this book for our upcoming trip. We have used a couple of Rick Steve’s travel books before and decided to this one too! Not excited about how it arrived. It makes me very sad to see my brand fresh book damaged as it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Vienna []  2020-1-19 21:20

    As our Christmas trip covered only Vienna this was a excellent book for our use. Compact with amazing descriptions of the sights in the old town and in the surrounding area, all accessible by bus, metro and tram. A amazing summary of the need to know info for tourists included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Stockholm []  2020-1-26 23:0

    Item arrived quickly and was as described!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Paris 2019 []  2020-1-23 0:55

    The other reviews complaining of thin pages are silly. You can read the pages just fine. Given a trade off of thin pages versus the weight of heavier paper stock, I would opt for the weight consideration any day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2018 []  2020-1-23 0:58

    As usual, what is covered is very well done.Unfortunately, no coverage of Sicily or the east coast of Italy below Venice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Switzerland []  2020-1-23 0:59

    My wife and I love Rick Steves guidebooks. We one for each country we're visiting. Rather than $20 for the most latest edition, I half that for a 2 year old edition (they tend to be updated every two years).Rick did European tours for years and his guidebooks have the tourist in mind (at least those of us from the baby-boom generation - my 30ish year old son just reads online information and doesn't care about the books.(All of) Rick Steves' travel videos are available online at YouTube and at his website. You can obtain a feel for the man and, thus, for his style (and books) by viewing those.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Switzerland []  2020-1-23 0:59

    How a lot of years have we been depending on Rick Steves for accurate and comprehensive travel info? A couple of dozen at the least! It's a natural thought to obtain whichever Rick Steves book for wherever we've decided to travel. Picking up his recent tutorial to Switzerland was a intelligent choice. Not just for locations to visit, but for background, history, travel tips, currency, customs, food, lodging and more! We appreciate the guidance and will stick with Rick when making future travel plans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Lisbon []  2020-1-17 23:57

    This is the first of his snapshot town tutorials that I have purchased. The book arrived very quickly and was just what I required to plan a short time first visit to Lisbon. It is just as reliable as other Rick Steves travel guides. The book is lightweight enough to be carried with you, unlike his other country books that you must tear apart (I do that too) to take along. Since this was my only stop in Portugal, it was perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Berlin []  2020-1-17 23:57

    I like Rick's opinionated and focused take on European cities. He organizes perfect walks with maps and navigation help, though we've often had problem reserving his preferred hotels. Organized mostly by neighborhood so you can search hotels, sights, and food. Unfortunately, the publisher has chosen to disable the copying of even short (2 word) excerpts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Berlin []  2020-1-17 23:58

    Best guidebook there is. Simple to follow and simple to search things. Gift is that he has a audio application companion!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Berlin []  2020-1-17 23:58

    Lots of amazing info in this book! Particularly liked the the day-by-day recommended tourist ideas based on how a lot of days your staying. Also the self guided walks are super. Rick recommends a lot of Museums in this book, and I emphasize maybe going to the Neus museum only if your not museum people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Dubrovnik []  2020-1-17 23:59

    I read this book before traveling to Dubrovnik for 5 days, and I frequently referred to it as I set out to explore; my copy is now dog-eared and worn. I felt prepared and well informed about decisions I would create while in Croatia, due to the info I gleaned from the book. I ate at several of the recommended restaurants, and honestly, I would not have even FOUND a couple of those locations without having read about them. I had a drink at the Buza bar on the outside wall/cliffs, and once again, I would have had no clue it was there, if I hadn't read it here. I swam in the sea at the "beach" zone (cement and boulders just outside the walls), another "hidden" place, that I learned about from this book. I followed the recommendation to hire a personal tutorial for a more focused tour, something that added a amazing to my Dubrovnic experience. I decided to forgo visiting Montenegro, Bosnia, or any of the nearby islands after reading about what those venues have to offer. The info provided on those destinations was very useful in informing my decision, because in to have fun seeing those locations as well, I would have felt rushed and doubt I would have been able to be immersed in the experiences. In conclusion, I'm extremely satisfied with the book, as it was extremely informative and influenced me to create decisions that helped me accomplish my goals for this visit.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386