Read rick steves france reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all rick steves france reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    How can you write and publish a travel tutorial to France and leave out Marseille? The second biggest town in France?!? We’re doing a summer trip to Paris and Mareseille (Cassis, and Aix-en-Provence) and aside from Paris none of our other destinations obtain even a mention. There is a section on Provence but it doesn’t venture south of Avignon. Sadly this book is a fail for our trip planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    Whenever we go to a fresh country in Europe, we always a book about it from Rick Steves collection. I just purchased his book about France and it is full of info and hints that other tour books don't have. It has been most helpful in planning our tour. You can't go wrong with Rick Steves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    This a GREAT book! I've been a fan of the Rick Steves series of books, and this one holds true. Informative, well written and comprehensive. Does it have EVERY town in France? No. It would have to be 3 times the size for that. It's still exactly what you need for your trip to France.

    0  


    Add your opinion on rick steves france or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    France is so beautiful! When I received Rick Steves travel book I was very disappointed that the pictures were in black and white and not amazing e info is amazing but the pictures and maps don't support with the research.I went to return and was going to be charged $5.99 for shipping. The book @#$%!t going to by these types of books on Amazon, heading to Barns and Noble today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    This was our first time using Rick Steve's products for France and Germany and we won't be using him again. If you travel to the locations he has discussed in his book and follow his itineraries, you're fine. If you venture outside his set itineraries, there is zero information. We fortunately had an older Michelin book for backup and it was interesting to compare the two books. The history and explanations are much more thorough in Michelin. What is supposed to be a light-hearted touch in Rick Steves was off putting and an opionion that added nothing....the zone could have been used for more information. Stuff rating as less necessary in RS, were often rated much higher in Michelin....hmmmm. The recommended tour of the Louvre was totally lacking. In addition, you need to reference several town maps to obtain the same info Lonely Planet would present on one map. Just not a fan....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    We are driving across France in six weeks on our trip driving from Spain to Denmark. I have bought a few travel books for the trip and didn't wish to another so about a month ago I checked this book out from the library. I place small tabs in the locations where I wanted to copy the information. After about 50 tabs I gave up and bought the book. I have used a lot of travel books and this one is a amazing one. It is well laid out and simple to read. The hard part is deciding what not to see!I've also downloaded the Rick Steves application and have learned so much about French culture, sites, and cuisine from them. I'd love a bit more history in the book but I love history probably more than the average is simple to search the beginning and end of each section with the gray block at the edge of the page that holds the name of the city/region. He lists websites on a 3 star system (in the form of triangles) from "Don't miss" to "Worthwhile if you can create it". I've been to some of these websites before and don't entirely agree with him but it is a amazing starting point and a valuable feature.I also appreciate the hotels and restaurants sections. I have learned over the years to plan the itinerary for the entire day, including restaurants, supermarkets and shopping, for the most stress-free traveling. You can ALWAYS decide on something else (which we do regularly) but it is not fun spending all of your down time looking for where you are going to eat or pick up meal next. I like to see a lot when I travel and planning out the restaurants to fit in our itinerary saves a lot of time and headaches. His suggestions in his book "Europe through the back door" had me completely changing the format of my itineraries and they are so much more useful now.What this book is not is that is doesn't have attractive color images and it doesn't cover every town in France. I don't expect either of those things in a travel book. It has amazing black and white maps and self-guided walking tours a lot of of which mirror the ones that he on his audible app. I love his idea about ripping up the book and taking just what you need. I'm going to do that and bind it.I definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    Twenty years ago, I sat at a table in a hotel on the Rue Cler in Paris with Steve Smith. Then Rick Steves came in! We were already traveling independently using their tutorial to France. This duo went on to make a major travel business. This book shows how: intelligent content; amazing maps; selective sites, fine writing. My wife and I have used one or another edition of this book to plan and to inform our travels. I just had to this 'one more time!' My Kindle Edition had no issues with Paris. Rick and Steve do not cover Marseillais. I say, search another tutorial if you wish to concentrate your time there. My take has always been: look at Rick Steves and Steve Smith first. Fill in with Dorling Kindersley and Fodors and Frommers and with specialist maps...and with whaterve literary and cultural sources suit your tastes. The best tours of France begin here!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    Unbelievable unuseful book. A must-have for any trip to France. I want that he would’ve place in a small more info of the southwestern France.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    Rick Steves books are perfect but the shipment that Amazon is sending out is missing pages. The first book I received contained the opening introduction pages 1-32. Then it jumps to page 81- no table of contents and no intro to Paris. Then you obtain to page 128 and it starts over with pages 81-128 again. I returned and re-ordered, thinking it was a fluke. Received the 2nd one yesterday and it has the exact same problem. Guess I'm headed to Barnes and Noble.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2019 []  2020-1-31 0:11

    Always have Loved Rick Steves's traveling guidebooks for over 15 years. Never leave home without having several his books in is thorough and comprehensive. Provides confident traveling in Europe! I highly recommend his books and television (or YouTube) shows! They’re both simply fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves France 2020 (Rick Steves Travel Guide) []  2020-2-4 15:42

    Ah, to travel vicariously, courtesy of Rick Steves! I do have fun reading through these books and imagining potential adventures. This brand fresh edition (out November 2019) is updated to reflect things such as the fire and closure of Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. It covers Paris in detail, as well as other regions, major cities, and tourist spots throughout France, plus general travel tip that encompasses everything from primary French phrases to what plug converters to buy. Several fold out maps are included in the e book is right about 1200 pages and squeezes a lot in there. I did search myself craving more info on Globe Battle I sites, though I realize that time in history isn't quite so famous these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Best of France (Rick Steves Travel Guide) []  2020-9-23 20:29

    I will never travel to Europe due to finances but I have fun perusing the a lot of books by Rick Steves on the different countries and cities he has visited during his forty years of travel. France is a attractive country and this attractive book is well worth your time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Steves has kept this concise, but with enough info a traveler can see why one should go to this region, and what the most necessary sights are. Comments and suggestions about local customs and what to eat and drink will support the traveler maximize enjoyment while there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Not poor for a short book. Found a lot online too. Nice to bring for a group trip so others can read up as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Absolutely perfect book, jam packed with interesting facts as well as recommendations on where to stay, eat, and what to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    I use to love rick steves but this trip i felt like every recommended tapas bar was filled with american tourists, it really took away from experiencing the local life. I ended up skipping the recommendations and heading to locations filled with locals. Still love the books to use as tutorials for touring museums etc and tricks in saving time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Amazing information, but pictures and presentation are a small weak.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    It provided the info I wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    This book needs an update... particularly for the www service links. Even the modernize page does not work. This should be an simple fix on the www service to link the old link to a fresh one. It makes me wonder what else is not up-to-date. While I wait to actually go on my tour, I ordered from the Rick Steve's store. That "store" was not helpful and the item I received was not what I ordered. This is not a amazing begin to the first time on a Rick Steve's tour. Very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Stevens in this small book is concentrating on the most touristed coastal locations on Basque (northern Spain). Not much on the more mountainess smaller villages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Amazing guidebook fir my first trip to the Basque Country. I have fun the approach in Rick Steves’ guidebooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Basque Country: Spain & France []  2020-12-6 19:11

    Sweet small travel guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Venice (Rick Steves Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 5:0

    There is absolutely no better tutorial for Venice than Rick Steves. In this newly updated ver there are fresh restaurant reviews and updated town walks. Choose this if your dreaming or planning of a Venice vacation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    This application its so cool... I [email protected]#$%! had more tours

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Amazing info for travelers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    A Must have for your Europe visit! We used this for our latest Italy trip. The application has the main attractions of Rome,Florence and Venice and is an perfect method to obtain an introduction to each put as well as obtain the necessary details. I want we had known about it during our earlier visits to Europe. Informative, fun and saves $$ wasted on audio guides/tours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    The application crashes unexpectedly, sound is sometimes choppy and skips couple of seconds. The map is not interactive. Narrators are trying too hard to be funny, but are, instead, beautiful cringy. Narration is skewed and full of speculations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    Awesome audio tutorial that we've been using in our trip through Rome. Much better than the ones at the sites. The Vatican Museums would have been a waste without Rick's amazing commentary

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    What a brilliant resource! These tutorials were unbelievable for us around Rome, and we must have saved a little fortune. The only change I'd like to see would be the ability to shop the audio on an SD card, for those phones short on internal storage, but that's minor...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    This application is done thoroughly and professionally by Rick Steve's and his local tutorials for the zone being discussed. It provides insight into the zone that you cannot obtain from a typical guidebook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Audio Europe ™ [App]  2019-2-20 13:37

    I don't know what if do without this app... I've used it for various cities... The Rome tour is very complete... I hope he keeps expanding it... Recommended 100%

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Florence []  2020-1-16 12:18

    Amazing book! A lot of helpful hints! Connects you to Rick Steve's museum app, which is simple to understand! And...worth the for the enclosed map alone! Best map of Florence!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Florence []  2020-1-16 12:18

    Rick Steeves provides self-touring info in detail. The info helps you decide where you wish to spend your time. He has suggestions for a short and a longer stay in Florence. The removable map is detailed and invaluable to the visitor. His style is informal and fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Sicily []  2020-1-16 12:27

    I absolutely love Rick Steves tutorial books. The info he gives regarding train travel, where to stay, things to do, safety tips, etc are perfect. He can certainly support plan a trip from beginning to end. I’m so glad he finally wrote a Sicily tutorial book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Sicily []  2020-1-16 12:27

    Over the past ten years of travelling in Europe, primarily in Italy, Rick Steves has never steered us wrong. A "Goto Bible" for travelers, including his walking tours and podcasts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Reykjavík []  2020-1-16 13:37

    Just enough information. It was nice to learn what we required to know without having to read hundreds of pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Reykjavík []  2020-1-16 13:37

    If you like Rick Steves (and my spouse and I do), then y'all will like this too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Lisbon []  2020-1-17 23:57

    Can’t go wrong with Rick Steves. He gives you amazing info on what you should do while visiting Europe. Amazing suggestions on what is necessary and how to plan your visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Lisbon []  2020-1-17 23:57

    Loved this and used his walking tour plus the downloaded talking guide. Will look for every trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Berlin []  2020-1-17 23:58

    Bought this as a bonus for my husband. He is having a amazing time planning his trip using this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Paris []  2020-1-11 19:40

    Perfect Paris tutorial broken down by districts, in a smaller format. I also own the 2016 Rick Steve's Paris book. The two work together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Paris []  2020-1-11 19:40

    This pocket tutorial was quite helpful. The map in the back is the best part, but the practical suggestions for navigating Paris were very helpful. Online tickets are very nice and more convenient. Less waiting in line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Iceland []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Back in 2014, Rick said on his www service that he wouldn't be publishing an Iceland guide, and he recommended Lonely Planet's tutorial instead, but I guess that the to be created off Icelandic tourism lured him into changing his mind. I've been a Rick Steves devotee since I was about 7, and I just won't visit any European destination without Rick as my guide. "Rick says..." is usually the first thing I say about every site, restaurant, hotel, etc., and my devotion to his guidebooks once provoked my travel buddy into tossing the Spain guidebook off the top of a castle in usual, Rick served up matter-of-fact information with the appropriate amount of detail and solid recommendations. I will say, though, that this was the first time that I had a Rick Steves tutorial that didn't give me info on everywhere I might have wanted to go in a country. I suppose it makes sense, since most travelers either stay in/around Reykjavik or do the Ring Road, but the fact that there was no info at all on the Icelandic highlands or on reindeer, for example, was surprising. Maybe in subsequent editions? Also, Rick is just clearly not a large Iceland fan; he was more dismissive of much more of the country than in any other guidebook I've read, frequently calling restaurants, museums, or entire towns "uninspired" or "skippable." Finally, either I've gotten more adventurous (and am not in Rick's target demographic) or Rick is showing his age: a lot of "short hikes" were fast walks on flat, paved trails, and the writing was downright disdainful when discussing festivals that included drunken revelry and the like. Still, it was a useful tutorial to the country as a whole, and his Reykjavik town walk was characteristically great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Iceland []  2020-1-11 19:44

    This book literally created my trip 1000x better. Rick had one key piece of advice..."use airBNB". I wouldn't have occurred to me, and I never used it before this trip...but Iceland's population is like 90% tourist during the summer and the few hotel rooms are super-over-priced and not worth it (except a few). Rick did a amazing job of providing prioritized itineraries and so forth. Really helped me to plan a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Iceland. This book was much more helpful than all the other things I could find, because Rick allows for things that are must-see, not-so-must-see, and in between. The writing was well done and it was simple to read, but I could also bring the book out onto the road, with a few bookmarks, and it was handy. Probably the best tourist book I've purchased in latest years...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Great Britain []  2020-1-11 19:44

    I've had tons of Rick Steves guidebooks over the years - Italy, Spain, France, etc. - but this one is disappointing doesn't contain some of the locations that I'm planning on visiting this trip - such as Malvern, Shropshire, Dorset.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Great Britain []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Rick Steves always provides dependable, accurate info with perfect recommendations; he has yet to steer me wrong and I've been following his tip for years. While this volume has been helpful in planning an upcoming trip to the U.K., there are a few things I search it lacking. I am planning a trip that will occur in December and January, and am disappointed in the limited info on winter events, activities and things to do. He steers readers to his www service for winter travel information, but there was very small to be found there, too. Another shortcoming is minimal info on youth hostels; he mentions 5 in London, but none elsewhere. As I am planning this trip for my college-age daughters, hostels are the preferred type of accommodations. Also, there are only 48 color images in the entire book and 12 of those are generic shots of people or food. I want there were a few more color images of the top attractions and destinations. I have found quite a bit of useful info in the book, but was not able to complete the travel plans without supplementing with a amazing of internet searching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Great Britain []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Shouldn't have bought this book. I've enjoyed RS's books on other trips, but unless you know exactly where you're going in the UK, and those locations happen to be covered in this book, another one. Or two books, like I'm going to end of doing. I was hoping this book would support me decide where to go on my trip. Thought it did, then I started reading on forums about other locations that a lot of (if not most) people prefer to the selected regions of this book. Wish to go go Cornwall? Not here. Northumberland? Absent. Yorkshire and the dales? Oops, sorry again. Very disappointingly limited.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Ireland 2019 []  2020-1-11 19:44

    It's not a European adventure without a hardcopy of Rick Steves in your backpack. His books are like bringing your dad on vacation - if your dad had really amazing tip and knew how to give walking tours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Ireland 2019 []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Rick Steves (with co-authors and contributors) writes page-turner travel tutorials that I read cover-to-cover. They’re substantial books, filled with text and perfect maps (including a pull-out). Don’t obtain them for the photos, which are scattered, low-resolution black-and-whites, not much bigger than postage-stamps, and not captioned. This Ireland tutorial contains Northern Ireland, and it’s so informational about history, culture and sights that I came away primed not only to travel but, in the meantime, to better appreciate some of the Irish fiction and nonfiction awaiting me on my shelves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Venice []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Rick Steves has packed a lot of info into this pocket tutorial to Venice. It has helped me plan an upcoming trip to the Italian city. Thanks to this book, I know that I don't wish to additional for a canal/lagoon view. I also can narrow my find range for where I wish to stay and eat. Also helpful: how to obtain from the airport to the city; what to see/know about the sights; why I might wish to hire a gondolier and how to do so; and hints to skip the lines. The pocket map will probably go everywhere with me since I won't activate my phone's data while in e book is little enough to package and even carry with me as I sightsee. Despite its size, it includes color photographs and enlarged maps of the zone in question.-- Debbie Lee Wesselmann

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Venice []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Excellent size tutorial for a few days in Venice! Helpful info and tours of both info on the roads and squares, as well as interior tours of locations like the Doge’s Palace. I honestly feel we would not have enjoyed our trip as much without this book! We also booked a bnb recommended here and had a simply attractive stay. So amazing to be able to learn more info about the remarkable history of Venice. Don’t hesitate — this, read it, bring it, carry it with you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Normandy []  2020-1-11 19:44

    One little useless 5" x7" pencil sketch schematic map of the TGV train. The description of "helpful maps" is referring to maps of the tourist destinations but not street maps, train or bus maps, or maps of hub cities/towns. Includes chapter excerpts from the France book about Rouen, Honfleur, D-Day Beaches, Caen, and Mont St.-Michel. So if you are only going to those Tourist Destinations and don't wish to bring the Rick Steves France book it might be useful. I was hoping to search travel guidance special to Normandy. Best ways to obtain around. Information about travel around the Pays d'Auge and other little towns. Driving routes in Normandy. Nothing about any of that. And the Practicalities section is just an excerpt from the France book- nothing specific to Normandy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Normandy []  2020-1-11 19:44

    It had everything I wanted to see in Normandy. The lesser things you were told only to see if you had additional time. The touring of the American Memorial Cemetery had info on which method to begin when you arrived. Some of the surrounding little villages and towns had amazing information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Normandy []  2020-1-11 19:44

    we just got back from Normandy and Rick Steves book was invaluable and created for a very moving experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Normandy []  2020-1-11 19:44

    Book arrived on time and in excellent fresh condition. I search the Rick Steves books to be reliable and have fun the info that is provided. This book is little and will be amazing for travel. It covers locations to stay and eat as well as attractions with a bit of background on history and local area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket London []  2020-1-11 19:45

    Amazing book and very comprehensive!!! Covers all of the amazing websites and nuances. The map is invaluable! Follow his recommendations!A few notes: tipping: some locations automatically add 12.5%, some do not . Didn’t see tip for tipping hotel staff (maids). Left on counter daily. Not taken. Also, some restaurants and pubs charge upon ordering. Some wait till after (running a tab).Again amazing book!!!Couple of extra notes: Ice seems in short supply! Drinks (soft) seemed to be served at about 50 degrees F or 10 or so C. Just something to latest thought...lots of smokers if that bothers you. A lot of restaurants and pubs let smoking in outdoor seating. Just a heads upCheers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket London []  2020-1-11 19:45

    I always combine my tutorial books with some Tripadvisor suggestions for activities and hotels. With that said, this tutorial book was simple to use to search some very amazing activities for our London visit. I was very satisfied that it included a nice Underground map, which we used a lot. The book really is very little and light and simple to carry around with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Athens []  2020-1-11 19:45

    We had a amazing time strolling Athens on the recommended walk in this book. Amazing investment. Paid it forward by leaving it in the room of our airbnb.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Prague []  2020-1-10 19:44

    I used these tutorials all through Prague, much better than taking those guided walking tours with 50 people. I got to learn just as much (maybe more) at my own pace. It's a little size so i could tuck it into a pocket. My only quibble is that when you begin and close it enough pages begin falling out, so it could use a better binding glue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2019 []  2020-1-10 19:47

    This book was difficult to follow. Sections didn’t contain a map key to present were they are located in the country. Sicily and Sardinia aren’t even mentioned in the book. Very few color pictures. I was really disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2019 []  2020-1-10 19:47

    A warning about the 2019 edition: pages 77-124 (all part of the section on Venice)are missing, while pages 29-76 are printed twice. This is obviously a printing error. Not sure how a lot of copies are affected, but given that Venice is part of our itinerary, this is a significant problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Norway []  2020-1-10 19:48

    I normally like Rick Steves' travel books. I am trying to piece together a trip to Norway next year and enjoyed parts of the book. He does a amazing job certain villages and cities and heavily weighs Oslo and Bergen. The usual stroll here, eat there. However, we are hikers and I didn't search the book very useful for planning a circle tour. From Tripadvisor reviews it appears that Norway in a Nutshell is oversold. I also wish to do the trip using public transportation and the book is better if one plans to rent a car. I was also surprised that Steves did not cover the Hardanger Fjord region which appears to be one of the most famous tourist regions according to TripAdivsor reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Norway []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Excellent book to take on my cruise through yhe fjords. Gave me a fast overview of locations to visit, things to see in the ports we disembarked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Eastern Europe []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Planning a solo spring 2020 trip to Eastern Europe so RS gave me some amazing e best features: **maps/ walking tour of cities/ Eastern Europe at a Glance using symbols to present MUST SEE/ IF TIME. I will remove sections for cities I plan to visit to save on zone since the tutorial has 1,000 paper thin pages!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Eastern Europe []  2020-1-10 19:48

    Used this book on my trip to Central Europe. I have researched a lot of various travel books and search Rick Steves to be the most thorough. All the recommendations in this book were accurate and extremely helpful. Excellent to use when planning and while on the trip. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scotland []  2020-1-10 19:49

    Thanks to Rick's thoroughly researched travel experiences this book logically will enhance our trip to Scotland this May. He has walking tours, driving tours, even a application to use while abroad. I eagerly waited for this recent 2018 edition, and it is not disappointing. He brings history in nooks and crannies into modern enjoyment while website seeing. He has itineraries for not only the main land, but the islands too! He gave us an exemplary trip to Ireland this past September, using his Ireland book. Now to Scotland!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scotland []  2020-1-10 19:49

    Mine starts at page 47 and then repeats 48-96. Looks like a amazing book and Amazon staff have been amazing but it’s a pain to have to exchange it. Have always loved every Rick Steve’s book I have ever owned and sure this will be no various once I obtain the first 46 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Barcelona []  2020-1-10 19:50

    The packing list is great. Paying in Euros hint was smart. Used this book to plan major travel points based on the days we spent in Barcelona. Excellent size! We did obtain some guided tours that picked us up from our hotel. Jammed a lot of sights in during our short stay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Barcelona []  2020-1-10 19:50

    RICK Steve’s always comes through

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Portugal []  2020-1-10 19:50

    I wish to love Rick's books so much. I really do. They're so well written, and what they DO cover is covered with the utmost professionalism and useful insight. You even learn some things. Rick really wants you to LIVE the culture when you travel, and the passion for this kind of travel is evident to all of his 's the items that he DOESN'T cover that always leaves me just a small bit disappointed. Granted, he makes it clear that his tutorials are intended to be selective, and are not intended to be catch-all country handbooks. But I always a Rick Steves Tutorial knowing that he's going to hit all the high points, but every now and then he misses something this case it's the Palacio de Mafra. Nobody, absolutely nobody is going to travel to Portugal and miss this extraordinary palace. From its gorgeous library to its Basilica church (with six heavy pipe organs) to its shear scale, this is a must see on any itinerary. Distance? 40km from Lisbon. It's like suggesting that someone go to Paris and skip Versailles. Rick's book makes no mention of it, e rest of the book is excellent. The best, actually. If we only had Rick's wisdom applied to this extraordinary place, we'd have a excellent Portugal guidebook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Portugal []  2020-1-10 19:50

    Very handy, well written So that everyone can search the best options in tailed maps, pictures..It's the first time I got Rick Steves tutorials and I love it. My upcoming trip will be excellent due to the abundnce of options and info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Portugal []  2020-1-10 19:50

    I have been watching Rick’s travel shows, and reading his tutorials for around fifteen years. His ratings and insider hints valuable snd intrresting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Switzerland []  2019-12-29 18:43

    Before examining this book, I was worried about planning a trip to Switzerland. I had concerns about expenses, rail passes, the Alps and what to contain and what to omit. After all, we did not have unlimited time or money. After reading selected chapters of Rick's Switzerland, I had our trip planned and my mind was at ease. What a relief! For example, I was thinking of going to both the Oberland and Zermatt. Rick convinced me that the Oberland trumped Zermatt. Thank you, Rick. But Rick has his limits. He had nothing about the cool flea shop in Zurich which I found in another book. The morale of the story is obtain Rick, but don't rely completely on his picks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Croatia & Slovenia []  2019-12-26 19:8

    I bought this book after using Rick Steves' Italy tutorial which was beautiful amazing and helped us explore at least one gem that wasn't covered anywhere else. However, this tutorial was quite a disappointment, it completely ignores entire regions, like Zadar in Croatia while not being very useful in others. The only locations where I found it useful was in Split and the comparison it does between Skocjan and Postojna caves in Slovenia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Croatia & Slovenia []  2019-12-26 19:8

    I think Rick Steves tutorial books are the best!!! My husband and I have been using them since we were both in college and 15 years later we're still using them!!! We're trying to decide if we wish to go to Croatia this summer so I purchased the tutorial book and am so impressed by all of the useful information!!! This is the only tutorial book you will ever need!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' European Christmas []  2019-12-26 19:9

    "Rick Steve's European Christmas" is a very captivating dvd to watch. The following are some of the locations and facts that are covered in "Rick Steve's European Christmas":London, England: Trafalgar Square and Somerset HouseDrobak, Norway: December 13th Holiday of Santa LuciaOslo, Norway: Norwegian Girls ChoirParis France: Best Dressed Tree ExhibitBurgundy, France: The tradition of a winter picnic in the woods was renberg,Germany: Rick provided informative info of Martin Luther's legacy in this lzburg, Austria: The Christmas Carol "Silent Night" originated in me and Tuscany Italy: Info was featured on how this zone makes the history of Christmas relatable in a modern method in Italy.Switzerland: Scenes were shown of the attractive Alps area, and of Rick and his family joyfully mingling with some of the local families living in Switzerland. I also found the Christmas melody and vocals used throughout the showing to be very beautiful. A lot of of the countries that were visited showed groups of people singing Christmas carols together (which I thought is a nice addition to the theme of this dvd). All of the countries that were featured in this dvd for European Christmas traditions were unbelievable to watch. However, the two countries that really captured my attention the most for visiting Europe during the Christmas season are Germany and Austria. I love music, and the fact that it plays a major part of Germany's Christmas traditions was something that I found interesting (the well known Germany composers:Bach,Beethoven, and Mozart were briefly mentioned). The feature of Austria also stood out for me because my husband's grandmother is from Vienna, and I also found it fascinating that the well known song that is "Silent Night" originated here. This dvd is certainly worth obtaining if you intend to visit any part of Western Europe during the Christmas season and/or you are interested in knowing about European Christmas traditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavia []  2020-1-8 19:31

    Everything Rick Steves releases is beneficial to anyone planning to travel on their own. Using his books even allows those who wish to go on tours to see what SHOULD be seen on a tour. Simply a amazing source of information for all travelers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Scandinavia []  2020-1-8 19:31

    Love his info and the ability to access his updates but want I had done this as a Kindle rather than in print Much more practical for the traveler on the move

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Amsterdam []  2020-1-4 21:5

    This guidebook was so valuable on our latest trip to Amsterdam. Written in a nice conversational tone, I read it cover to cover before we left, and it was in my backpack the entire trip. Lots of amazing tips. The laminated map was great! I have always been a DK fan, but this book has won me over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Amsterdam []  2020-1-4 21:5

    Amazing book to have in Amsterdam

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Amsterdam []  2020-1-4 21:5

    Overall, the book was very amazing for info on Amsterdam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves England []  2020-1-4 21:5

    This book is informative and accurate. We tried some of the suggested tours and some we found on our own, and found Rick to be right every time. I highly suggest this book, you can trust the tip and save a lot of headache by trying to do things on your own, starting from scratch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves England []  2020-1-4 21:5

    Doesn't contain a pullout map like older versions once did

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves England []  2020-1-4 21:5

    I like Rick Steves BUT....Going to England and visiting East Anglia, which I don't know. There was NOT a word about the entire eastern portion of the country! One wd think that Cambridge was the easternmost edge of the country!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Germany 2019 []  2020-1-4 21:5

    Steves’ books have helped me carefully plan our European trips for a lot of years. I pull his recommendations and add them to a general timeline, print it and carry it in my crossbody travelbag. This keeps us on track, but not so rigid as to not create the trip enjoyable. We also his audio tours on our iPhones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Barcelona []  2020-1-4 21:5

    Not good book. The copy is SUPER SMALL, all crammed on cheap, thin paper (making it hard to thumb through while you're on the go). There are very few photos. There are a lot of other travel tutorials out there with simple to read pages, lovely color images and descriptions BUT THIS BOOK LACKS THOSE NICE FEATURES. Don't waste your money. His videos are much more practical, and free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Barcelona []  2020-1-4 21:5

    As always, Rick’s tutorials are fantastic! He never leads you astray. We never travel in Europe without one of these tutorial books. My only little critique is that he only covers restaurants in particular neighborhoods, and could expand his coverage. Otherwise, this was an amazingly useful guide, up to his usual very high standards!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Rome []  2020-1-4 21:6

    We have numerous e-books and hardcover tutorial books from Rick Steves and have been totally happy with them. When I opened this one, I was shocked at the quality. The book includes excerpts taken from his Italy guidebook, however the description should state that it's like a not good quality photocopy with faint, hard to read text and with black and white photos. Not what I expected from the online description and reviews. My review is for Snapshot Amalfi Coast, NOT Pocket Rome. Amazon has posted the wrong picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Paris 2019 []  2020-1-23 0:55

    I purchased the Kindle ver and it is unbelievable like all of Rick Steves other guides! We're going to Paris next year and I checked several various tutorials at my library (they didn't have Rick Steves available) but the method the tutorials were presented was just a mass of confusion and I couldn't figure out how to plan my time there. Finally I just purchased Rick's tutorial and after reading and taking notes cover to cover, I now have a clear plan for our 5-day Paris trip. He lays out everything so it makes sense and planning is a breeze. Thank you Rick Steves!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Paris 2019 []  2020-1-23 0:55

    I love Rick Steves, don't obtain me wrong; all his tip and info is spot-on, but these "high traffic destinations" have outlived their attraction. Paris, a magnificent town still, but so overrun, I will never ever go back! We even went during the offseason - still. EVERYTHING was overrun and packed with 3 million of your closest friends. Getting into Versailles? Don't even think about it. With the museum's pass, the line was still 1.5 km long, even 30 min. before it opened. Horrible would be an understatement. Also, Paris' metro is filthy. You can save a lot of using them, but man, you better have a gallon of hand sanitizer in your milar with other cities, i.e. Rothenburg, Berlin, Hamburg; but do not despair, Europe does not consist of a handful of towns listed in some tour book. Au contraire, mesdames et messieurs! There are ubiquitous towns and cities to discover, sometimes also called B-cities. Take the time and research the different locations in all countries and you'll search even better experiences that also will cost far less than these overpriced and overcrowded places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2018 []  2020-1-23 0:58

    The only book you need. This thing is a life saver. That said - When we were in Rome, I had been reading it when casually Rick mentions that almost all of the museums are closed Mondays - This is HUGE info and I really [email protected]#$%! was emphasized early on. We could have moved things around and spent monday in a lazy coastal city and that method had 3 days of sight seeing in Rome. This almost happened to us in Florence too. It was frustrating to see it thrown in as an afterthought, as a casual aside. Also, twice we were warned of heavy lines during the time of year we were there (August - Duomo and Vatican Museum) and we walked in without any lines - fortunately we took our chances and did not unnecessary premiums to skip (non existent) lines but it was an instance were the info was so - in Cinque Terre he info all these trails but warns they 'may be closed'. Sure enough, they were definitely closed and had been for years. Maybe he puts it there in case you intend to ignore the closures and walk around and do the trail as it is, but it was a small frustrating to have all this info on things that nobody has been able to do legally for ill - we went w a very lose android game plan and this book was the thing that kept everything together and chop through a lot of nonsense and grey areas. I won't travel to Europe without a Rick Steves companion tutorial again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2018 []  2020-1-23 0:58

    I like the info and recommendations for buying tickets and avoiding long lines at the museums, churches, etc. we wish to see. We will be traveling to Italy in 2019 and this book has a ton of amazing info for the cities we will be visiting. There are very detailed maps tp support you navigate to see all the amazing sites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Italy 2018 []  2020-1-23 0:58

    Super informative, we use Rick Steves books for every Europe trip! This book especially had really helpful maps that we used a lot of times, not just for our own orientation but also for finding bathrooms, amazing restaurants, and the necessary sights. Rick Steve’s covers everything from what you should do, eat and stay, and the best hints for buying tickets ahead of time. The whole 10 days we were in Italy, we only waited in one, 20 min line for a tourist spot. Every other attraction, we breezed past the hour-long plus lines and got in immediately with our booked ahead reservations. Got on our hotels with Rick Steves discount codes, found amazing restaurants and utilized the metro and train systems, all thanks to Rick Steves. We wanted to limit our international phone use while abroad to chop costs, and Rick Steves can respond any question you might have, in put of google. Everything. I mean EVERYTHING you need to know about planning a trip- is in this book. It’s separated into amazing sections, and even has maps included. My dad introduced me to the Bible that is Rick Steves on a trip in 2015, and now it’s the first I create when planning a Europe trip! Thanks Rick Steves!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Switzerland []  2020-1-23 0:59

    I'm a fan of Rick Steves' "Back Door" travel philosophy, but I was surprised at how selective this tutorial is.When you a Rick Steves' guide, you know you're going to obtain well refined content that has been organized and prioritized to let for an authentic travel experience. Some locations will be included and some won't. Rick does not intend to create his books encyclopedic or entirely comprehensive in their coverage, but his choice of areas (or, rather, his exclusion of locations) in this book can leave a traveler scratching his most the entire western part of the country, and particularly areas on Lake Geneva, are ignored. Basel and Geneva are completely absent. The French-speaking part of the country is very poorly represented.His selection of Alpine villages is also a bit odd, choosing to contain Murten and Zermatt which, though lovely, are so little that they can only accommodate a very little number of tourists at any given time. Authentic? Certainly. Practical? Feasible? Questionable. And Rick falling for the touristy glitz of mountain resorts like St. Moritz seems very, well, un-Steves-like! His chapter on scenic rail journeys is good, and certainly represents are high quality attraction that should not be certainly obtain Rick's signature selectivity in this guide, but if his tastes aren't compatible with yours you may search this tutorial lacking in coverage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves' Switzerland []  2020-1-23 0:59

    All of Rick Steves' material helps me have a more interesting and less stressful trip. I think Switzerland was one of the first countries Rick started going to, so he has a unique love for its mountains and valleys. I esp. appreciated the info about Zuerich. Although the city is off the traditional tourist map, its sights are well worth the ong other qualities, Rick's maps are useful and simple to read. They're hand-drawn, which makes them more user-friendly.I always travel to Europe with one of Rick's books in hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Budapest []  2020-1-19 21:19

    We are to travel there soon and always like to check Rick’s recommendations before we travel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Vienna []  2020-1-19 21:20

    I don’t know what I would have done without Rick Steve’s map of Vienna, contained in the back of this little book. While the book may be small, Vienna is vast and most maps available locally are too little to read. This map is huge and easily readable. The Viennese underground is easily navigatable; not so their tram system, of which there are apparently no maps available. This doesn’t have the tram system, but the Metro underground - and is primary for getting around Vienna.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Pocket Vienna []  2020-1-19 21:20

    This was an perfect tutorial and I am beautiful sure I did just about everything in it! The suggestion to ride the Tram around the Ring was perfect and the first thing I did. Helped me obtain my bearings for the rest of the week. Little and simple to carry with you in a little purse and a nice fold up map included too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Snapshot Stockholm []  2020-1-26 23:0

    This book is simple to use, simple to understand, and the recommendations for activities and restaurants were on point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rick Steves Istanbul []  2020-1-20 19:37

    Very in depth review of Istanbul - gives very amazing detail on local customs, what to do in a short period of time, practical shopping tips. Unfortunately with the latest unrest, had to cancel our vacation. Hopefully can assess its accuracy one of these days

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386