Read rio de janeiro reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all rio de janeiro reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Rio de Janeiro (Travel Guide) []  2020-11-25 21:57

    Does not provide ANY useful information. Looks amazing as a paperweight +1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    As expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    As advertised.

    0  


    Add your opinion on rio de janeiro or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    This is the first Jazz album I ever heard and was responsible for getting me into that genre. Just really enjoyable music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    My wife and I swear by these guides. The info is incredibly valuable and it's worth the price if only for the pocket map. I would recommend these to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    Herbie Mann was a hip cat and he went were the melody took him. In the mid sixties it took him and his flute to Brazil to embrace the samba sounds. This is a twofer from Collectibles; the original albums were released on Atlantic about a year apart. His recording with vocalist Tamiko Jones [email protected]#$%!s of the day, notably, the title tune (A Man and A Woman) from the French movie of the same name. The other album is Mann's recording with Tom Jobim. A lot of of Jobim's tunes have been recorded by a whole host of artists, but in this set, it is Jobim singing and Mann playing. A unbelievable CD, especially for those who love classic bossa nova.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    it's true early Herbie Mann. I prefer his mid-sixties and later items when he got interpreted pop, rhythm and blues, and soul music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    Very familiar with the DK "Top 10" travel books....they're excellent for day stops from cruise ships, or 2 or 3 day trips to a certain town where time is very limited and you just wish to hit the "must see'' locations. Little enough to carry with you in your back pocket, comprehensive enough to give you what you need to know in a nutshell. Colorful, concise, with amazing tip on each location.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    Very pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    Well organized book with all the Rio must know. The essential Brazilian phrases in the back were very helpful. Recommend to anyone traveling there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    When I was small my Mom use to listen to a station that had Bossa Nova style of music. There was this one song - A Man & A Woman - that I remembered, but didn't know which song it was. After much research on Youtube & Google I realized it was the ver from Herbie Mann! I bought the whole CD for that one song! I am looking forward to hearing the other ones as well. Sorry it's not much of a review. I mainly bought this cd for the 1 song and am soooo satisfied to have found it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    For fans of melodic Flute Jazz, it doesn't obtain much better than this. A true treat and you will listen to it a lot of times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    Huge Jazz/Bossanova fan. Double treat here. The Rio vinyl I had as a teenager(I lifted it from my father's collection) but believe it or not I never heard the other one 'til now. Where were you all my life? Well,like an old girlfriend once told me " I was always here,you were just looking in other places",a life lesson. Amazing pair of albums!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    This guide, like every "Eyewitness Guide" is always top quality. It doesn't just tell you the rote facts like nearly every other guide. It provides interesting details, such as, exact names of for shoes, etc.. Nice pictures, helpful fold-out maps, and the true low-down on things such as matters of private safety in Rio, what to expect, manners, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    purchased for upcoming trip. very informative and helpful. DK is our go to source for travel books both locally ( US ) and international

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    I found this very useful during my trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Rio de Janeiro (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-1-31 1:3

    Amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    I am trying to back-fill my Herbie Mann collection - and this is a amazing find. The transfer was done very for the melody - it's Herbie Mann. Some very cool melody with an international flavor to it. And on these two, you obtain some amazing vocals from Tamiko Jones, Antonio Carlos Job and Joao e price is amazing - so if you are a Mann fan or just in the shop for some relaxing music, you can't go wrong here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mann & A Woman / Recorded in Rio De Janeiro []  2020-11-28 18:41

    Herbie Mann is the greatest jazz flutist ever....great stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DMB Live Trax Vol. 19: Vivo Rio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 9/30/08 []  2020-1-22 2:7

    The whole present is awesome but starts off with a rocking Bartender and just keeps going from there. Hits all the more modern bases with the right mix of older favorites. Shows how Dave and company are one of the best live bands... in fact it's almost impossible for me to listen to his studio albums anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    Ruy Castro's slim volume on Rio de Janeiro provides the casual reader a compelling portrait of that most intriguing of cities. Providing a rapid history of the town from the first Portuguese explorers to the celebrations of the dawn of the 21st century, he tells the tale of a town that has at times been the height of fashion, that has provided the globe with at least its share of memorable film scenes, more than its requisite portion of compelling rhythms, and a plentiful supply of legends, scandalous and emingly influenced by the flaneur approach to writing on cities (though not adopting the majority of that form's conventions) and with the long memory that comes of living in and loving a town for his whole natural life, Castro gives plentiful insight into a genteel experience of the city. He tells how Rio rose over its first few centuries, and then fell into the same morose situation that afflicted so a lot of metropolises through the Cold Battle years, a conflation of the effects of over-exposure that turned an exciting, exclusive experience like early Copacobana into the bity of over-exposure, and a structuralist approach to cities that sucked them of life. Alongside the allusions to a lot of a scandalous encounter, there are nods to the less glamorous aspects of Rio's underbelly, but the favelas, the trade and Brazil's notorious crimeworld are skipped over with only the scantest of spite the vivid picture he draws, for all the talk of hypnotic rhythms, the book never quite grips the reader or imparts the carnival spirit on which its first half is almost entirely focussed. It may be that that detachment is telling of a divorce that has taken put between the Rio of legend and the Rio as experienced by a man who has lived through the city's awkward middle years and is still trying to work out a put in a fresh age, but it results in a less engaging book than one might hope this town would inspire. As a fast read, Rio is worth a look, but its not quite the mesmerising experience readers may be looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    Reviewed by Jim PlattsI congratulate Juliana Barbassa, the author of the impressive book about Rio de Janeiro, a attractive town and host to a lot of Globe events. The book presents the significant issues Rio has due to its growth and the unfulfilled political promises for improvements in the town to accommodate this growth. The book is particularly necessary at this time when the Globe will be watching the Olympics and Paralympics later this year in e book focuses on the dark realities that exist in Rio, affecting especially the lives of the more than one million of its six million citizens who live in the 1000 hillside favelas or shanty communities around the city. These realities included gang violence, lack of environmental cleanup and community infrastructure, air pollution, prostitution, and moving people out of favelas for necessary urban projects such as the Olympics. After working as an AP journalist in the U.S., in 2010, the Brazilian born Ms. Barbassa moved to her native town Rio where she investigated these realities continuing as an AP e book is well written with a lot of info about her investigations, making it quick flowing and a fascinating read. It reminded me of my own experiences having visited Rio a lot of times since my days as a Peace Corps Volunteer in the 1960s in Brazil, including Carnival, and, most recently, the Globe Cup with my Barbassa discusses the lack of follow through by political leaders on a lot of commitments created for living improvements, especially for the not good in the favelas. As an AP journalist, she met with key individuals seeking to understand the issues and what these persons are doing to solve these problems. One huge example of an unfulfilled commitment was cleaning up and stopping the dumping of sewage into Guanabara Bay. This commitment helped Brazil victory its bid for the Olympics and it would benefit the well being of the residents, but will not likely be met. Another major example was the loss of credibility of the government when it failed to provide the emergency help promised to the towns of Nova Friburgo, Petrópolis, and Teresópolis. In 2011, these towns in the mountains outside of Rio suffered mudslides caused by massive rains that wiped out a lot of homes and left 1,000 people dead, including some who were never nce Rio's globe popular Carnival, with its fabulous creativity, was not covered in the book, I am curious what Carnaval's impacts are on the town and its citizens. Perhaps Ms. Barbassa could write a sequel to this book that discusses these impacts, and how the Olympics affected Rio and Brazil, including the impressions of the attendees. Such a follow-on book could also provide a progress report on solving the issues she describes in her very outstanding first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    Castro is a fair writer, presenting an honest view of the city. I've never been, so I cannot base this on my own experiences. The book presents a small bit of everything which seems to be central to Rio: the nightlife, Carnival, the cuisine and, most importantly for me, the history. The issue with little books such as this one, which in a standard layout would maybe top 130 pages, is that the writer is prohibited from straying from the main path of introducing the town to the reader. I would say this book is the equivalent of spending two days in a major town - seeing the major sights, creating opinions and generalizations without really getting to know any citizen or neighborhood too well. However, the book did succeed in what I took as its major goal: to obtain the reader to go to Rio. Brazil is now definitely near the top of my travel list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    Ruy Castro's chronicle of Rio takes you through the city's centuries long history to where it is today: the marvelous city. Castro has amazing wit and humor and has knack for telling a story. Perfect fast read before visiting Rio before the Carnival.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    A delightful piece of reportage from one of the most stunning, frustrating, and complicated cities in the Americas. Barbassa artfully takes the reader through a rollicking ride of prostitutes, crocodiles, tycoons, crappy apartment buildings, the Globe Cup fiasco and calls into question the dominant narratives of Rio's resurrection into a globe class city. A must read for anyone that wants to know what is event in Rio as it prepares again for another blast from the IOC.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    My first (and to date, last) visit to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil was in February 2008 for Carnaval. It was a magical time and I was enthralled by this beachside city. I still have some amazing memories of the "Cidade Maravilhosa" even today. So I was glad when I discovered 'Dancing With The Devil in the Town of God' and to read more about this town and how it has changed since my visit there almost a decade ago. This book was a welcome addition to my library. This book weaves a rich tapestry of Rio de Janeiro today. What I presumed was a book purely about Rio's politics turned out to be anything but. Ms. Barbassa invites you to delve into Rio's history, its decades of corruption and it's struggles and joys in hosting the Globe Cup and the Olympics. There are stories contained in this book that range in tone from tragic to pure adoration, as the author recounts a lot of anecdotes from her own childhood memories of Rio to her more latest experiences living there as an adult. Her interviews with different "Cariocas" (a term used for the residents of Rio de Janeiro) shed some light on everything from politics to human rights and environmentalism, helping the reader to understand the joys and trials that face not only Rio's population, but also Brazil as a e author doesn't attempt to cast down Rio or Brazil in a poor or a amazing light, but on how all the forces and happenings that led up to the show have helped how the globe sees Brazil on an international level. An open-minded and welcoming country in a lot of ways, but also a country plagued by such tragedies as the violence brought forth because of the and gang wars. The author paints a vivid photo of Rio's past and show in a method that moves you and makes you think. As someone who has been there, and reading about its issues like pollution and crime, I hope all the best for this city, as well as for the nation of Brazil as a whole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    Kids are taught early on in their education not to judge a book by its cover. The same principle should not be applied when judging this book. It definitely requires further investigation. Where is the Town of God? First impressions would suggest Rome with St Augustin's writings supporting this. However a fast look at the sub-title shows that in this case the Town of God is Rio De Janeiro. Who is dancing with the devil? Could it be the dealers, all levels of government or the people(Cariocas) themselves? It is more likely to contain of all of them.Juliana Barbassa was born in Rio, but spent a amazing deal of her life in other parts of the world. Dancing With The Devil In The Town Of God is more than a book about the 2014 Globe Cup and the forthcoming 2016 Olympic Games. It gives an acc of how Brazil and Rio dealt with its dictatorship, then the booming economic times that gave the country legitimate impetus to bid for the two largest global sporting events. Barbassa, using private experiences, does not only paint a positive picture of her town and country, but she also describes the major problems and issues that a town such as Rio needs to deal with in order to manage the vast differences of personalities that inhabit her city. In all of this, she manages the interplay of Rio preparing for and managing the organisation of the Globe Cup and the is is a really amazing read as it paints a clear picture of life in Rio de Janeiro and Brazil, warts and all. To the outsider who is not aware of Brazilian culture it may feel somewhat intimidating. On further inspection it can be revealed that Cariocas take all of the chaos in their stride and just go on with their lives. After all, if one is dancing with the devil, where else would one do this but in the town of God?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    I've always wanted to see Rio. Unfortunatly the fabled town is an ecological disaster according to this extremely well written exposes too small concern or follow through as the enviornment of this put becomes more futrid and saddend me to think of this attractive put dispoiled.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jet Set Travel Guide to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 2013 []  2020-1-19 21:23

    This is a amazing guide! I have followed these guys on their web website for a lot of years and they are in the know of things to see and do. They have been to these locations and I trust their tip and recommendations. I like the method the tutorial is laid out and it is not to cluttered like some tutorial books are. After reading it, I was ready to package my bags!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    I love books like these over a typical guidebook when preparing for a trip to a fresh place. This book did not disappoint and I am now even more excited for my trip to Rio!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    brilliant small book. too poor the author has become a fascist in his old age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    Castro seems to work beautiful hard at sounding like a true writer. The effect is a lot of over-thought poeticisms, overstatements and generalizations for the sake of the book and at the expense of a true look at Rio. Crudely crafted and flippant at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    That is the question you will be asking yourself after reading this timely book. Juliana Barbassa is a wonderfully insightful tutorial to contemporary Rio - as a Brazilian journalist who spent most of her life living abroad before moving back to Brazil as an adult, she brings an outsider's perspective married with an insider's understanding of the Brazilian people and culture. Although Barbassas is a journalist and this is a nonfiction book, it feels a bit like a memoir; she is a hero in the story as she explores the town and tries to understand the root of its a lot of challenges. The book is created up of chapters that focus on different aspects of life in Rio as it develops and confronts its future, particularly in the context of preparing for the Olympics: environment, town planning, public security, transportation, public health... All these subjects are approached as private stories as Barbassa gets to know the scientists, favela residents, prostitutes, police officers, and others who create up the incredibly varied population of Rio. By the end of the book, several things are clear: Rio is an enormously exciting and booming city, while at the same time being beset by a growing and seemingly insurmountable set of deep and complex challenges, a lot of of them of politicians' own devising due to corruption or lack of proper attention. But what is also clear is the spirit of the Cariocas (Rio residents), which shines through and makes one believe that despite the apparent impending disasters approaching on a lot of fronts, Rio will somehow survive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    “Dancing with the Devil in the Town of God,” by Juliana BarbassaBook ReviewAugust 5, 2016By George FulmoreThis book will give one insight into Rio je Janeiro. It’s written by a journalist who was born in Brazil, then moved several times, but retained her fluency in Portuguese. She returned to Rio as a journalist to work for the AP before the Globe Cup in 2014, then stays afterward to continue her insights leading up to the Olympic rhaps her ultimate insight comes near the end of the book when she says that having the Brazilian soccer squad humiliated in the Globe Cup by a German squad in the semi-finals stripped the ars of the Brazilian façade, that being that samba, soccer and Carnival were enough to sustain the nation’s photo in the world. But, now, with much of that gone, it would be time for discussions on what was failing in Brazil and how the country could move on.But the bulk of the book is a series of themes, built from locations of expertise and true experiences of the author living and writing in Rio. She reviews the economic hard times of the 1980s in Brazil, and tells us that in 1982, Brazil was, essentially, broke. This was followed by the economic boom that happened in the first decade the fresh century and even during the period of the Amazing Recession in the U.S. Brazilian banks had done better than those in the U.S., plus China was buying raw materials from Brazil to continue its ere are several chapters on the gangs and the favelas and the pacification of such by the police and armed forces. She also tells us of the wonderful red tape involved with leasing an apartment in Rio. And she recaps the info of the not good land movements and loses of life in locations outside of Rio in 2011, when there was a period of very massive me of the author’s greatest insights are to tell us of the failings of Brazilian government services, such as preventing pollution in the rivers and a building a sensible method to obtain rid of trash. She tells us that littering is a national issue and that traffic and transportation can be a ere is a chapter about the LGBT community in Rio. Technically, prostitution is legal in Rio, but it is fraught with danger. Historically, the police have been corrupt. But to its credit, Rio created amazing strides to reverse the spread of AIDs when it was rampant in the the summer of 2013, there were riots in the roads protesting the method the government was spending cash on the coming Globe Cup and Olympics. A police crackdown was e book is not a sequential look at Brazilian history. It is not even a complete look at its a lot of social aspects. For example, there is nothing about the racial strife and complications in Brazil. There is small about the melody or about the Samba Clubs. And no mention of Copacabana Beach on Fresh Years’ e strength of the book is that it fills in historical info for those of us who have some background knowledge of Rio. And, it is a timely read now with the Olympics in town. I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    Chocked full of interesting, informative, comic, and heartbreaking tales from the hot mess that is Rio de Janeiro, this book is a must-read for anyone interested in understanding the Marvelous City. Barbassa is an perfect storyteller and the weaving of her own journey with the rapid changes Rio is undergoing gives a pulse that so a lot of others studies of Brazil lack. Her perfect writing enlivens the hard facts about a town struggling to live up to its potential. A amazing source for those living in Rio and trying to create sense of past, show and future of the city, but also an essential book for anyone with a passing interest in Rio and Brazil. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll cry some more, you'll cringe at the sections dealing with sewage, but you'll be satisfied you read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    Rio is every carioca's a real lover of the city, I was amazed by Ruy Castro's profound and inspired view of Rio. He makes this book as interesting for someone just looking for a travel tutorial as for the most serious and passionate student of the city's is more than just a attractive accident of geography and history. This one put that, so stubbornly and yet, so rightfully calls itself "the unbelievable city", like a being greater than its buildings, streets, beaches and mountains, is a major hero of our is is no trivial book about Rio. Ruy Castro writes, in a good-humored and elegant style, a tutorial to the carioca soul: a fresh, original and colourful view of the town and the people that create it the best put to live in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    Here is a rich panorama of a town of legendary beauty and its even grittier underside. As someone who lives in Brazil and knows Rio, I learned much about how the town got to be the method it is, and how it's evolving now, as it prepares to host the Olympics in 2016—from the history of the city's gangs to the woeful state of its water system. There's a fascinating tension here between the city's hopes for itself and troubled attempts to realize those hopes, and by weaving in her own family history, the author makes the stakes of the city's transformation personal, too. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink []  2020-8-27 19:11

    I lived in Rio from 1963 to 1987. Ms. Barbassa captures the Rio - and Brasilian - idiom and life style with unbelievable metaphor. I am not like she, Brasilian born, but I am brasileiro de coracao e espirito. Her writing took me back to the town and coutntry I loved, love, and will love forever, despite all the failings that she describes so eloquently. Her love of her native coutnry - and town - just pours out in her writing, no matter how critical. If you wish to visit my 'cidade mararvilhosa' without the expense of airfare, hotel, meals, etc., read this book. Congratulations, Ms. Juliana, voce acertou o alvo na mosca! Would that I could write as you do! Obrigado pela viagem devlota a minha juventude e ao meu lar tao querido! Me ajudou matar as saudades que por tantos anos pertubaram esta coracao tao velha!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    Those who loved Castro's book about Bossa Nova, might search his book about Rio a bit thin. No photos, less info and not a lot of anecdotes from the latest decade. Still "Carnival under Fire" offered interesting knowledge about Rio's fascinating history. And Ruy Castro knows how to write.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    The town has an eclectic past that comes to life in Castro's virtual historic tour of the latest 500 years

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio de Janeiro: A City on Fire (Writer and the City) []  2020-7-6 19:19

    I first read Ruy Castro's 'Bossa Nova' and wanted more! Then I found this book, and loved it. I also went on to read Ruy Castro's next book (translated into English) Garrincha which is about a Futebol star. I am not into soccer but I loved the book.I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    A decent book, but I expected better considering the stellar reputations of the authors and illustrators. Despite my criticism, this is still the best field tutorial to use for birds within the geographical zone it covers. It's not too big, and simple to carry around in a little backpack or waist pack. Text, maps, and illustrations are all on the same spread, and overall they are of amazing to perfect e main problem with this book is that the authors chose to reuse illustrations from previous works without adding enough fresh ones. Some birds only have head shots, which looks really weird on these pages. Also, a number of species only present the adult male, when the females and in some cases the immatures look completely different. Examples: Black-faced Tanager only shows the head of the adult, with no immature (which look totally different). Green-chinned Euphonia only shows the male - no female is shown, despite the fact that the female that is far harder to identify. Four out of the six Drymophila antbirds do not present the female - disappointing considering this is one of the most characteristic genera of the region. Two of the cowbirds only present heads, which again just looks wrong.A minor complaint is with the range maps. They tend to present the historical range of the bird, not the current range. Due to habitat loss and other factors, the show range of a lot of species in the Atlantic Rainforest is much much smaller and more fragmented than the range maps suggest. While the text tends to clarify this somewhat, the maps can still lead an observer to believe that some species are show in a zone when in reality they likely no longer occur. Example: Three-toed Jacamar is mapped almost throughout the region, when in reality it is currently only known from rather few, scattered areas and probably doesn't occur in the western part of its mapped range.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    A marvellous book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    If you are interested in more than just a collection of recipes, this book is for your! The author gives a sweeping introduction to the geography, history, culture and foods of South America. I'm embarrassed to admit I know very small about this continent, so really enjoyed the introduction. Highly recommended to anyone who likes to know more about the origins of their recipes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    Book was as seller stated. Well packaged for shipping. Would buy again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    This was a amazing deal, the book was a amazing price, and it is in the condition they said it would be. The recipes look interesting too; no images but I'm an experienced cook, after fifty years of cooking I should hope so...Anyway I will definitely order more from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    This book is very helpful for identifying the birds in southeastern Brazil (São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Minas Gerais, Espírito Santo etc). I like that the book contains a brief introduction to Brazil and its different habitats. The illustrations are well done and the descriptions are helpful. They even contain the Portuguese common name of each species, which I found to be useful and accurate when speaking with non-english speakers. The back of the book contains an index by species names in both english and portuguese which is useful for quickly finding the right page. When I bird I often use the Merlin application to aid in identification, especially when trying to identify a bird based on song, but I prefer this book when comparing related species on sight. It has been invaluable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    This is a unbelievable cookbook written over 15 years with accolades from Charlie Trotter. It has won a lot of awards as the best South American cookbook ever. There is history of different regions and the recipes are simple to follow and organized perfectly. It is not a picture recipe book but that is not important in Maria’s complete explanations. A real treasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    Attractive book in the same Wildlife Conservation Society series with the Birds of Brazil: Pant and Cerrado of Central Brazil. The series is published by the Cornell University Press. The authors are top notch and the illustrations are outstanding. The species range maps are next to the species description for ease of reference. English, Latin, and Portuguese names are provided and indexed. The main drawback for someone wanting to use this as a field tutorial is its size: 432 glossy pages, just a bit smaller than the huge Sibley Tutorial to Birds. On the other hand, it is smaller than Ber van Perlo's perfect and comprehensive Field Tutorial to the Birds of Brazil (Oxford University Press), and the illustrations are larger. The alternatives contain Tomas Sigrist's 2 volume field tutorial (one volume with illustrations and the other with text), which is a amazing reference but less handy (it has text in both Portuguese and English, which takes extra space), and the Princeton University Press Illustrated Checklist volumes for South America, which divide the continent by region, which may work for you if you will be in just one region of this very huge country. (Brazil is larger than the continental US and there are a lot of various habitat regions.) Also a consideration, the Princeton tutorials are a handy size, but the range maps are at the back of the book, separated from the species entries and pictures. In addition, there are individual tutorials for SE Brazil, for example, a very nicely produced book by Honkala and Niiranen A Birdwatching Tutorial to South-east Brazil, which has images of the species and extensive info on the best birding websites in the states of Rio de Janeiro, Minas Gerais, Espirito Santo, and Sao Paulo (mainly in the Mato Atlantico) and what you might search there. In Brazil you can buy Develey and Endrigo's Aves da Grande Sao Paulo that has short species descriptions in Portuguese and covers Sao Paulo state, including Intervales. In short, there are now several perfect references for birders chasing the close to 1900 species in Brazil, but there is still a need for little field guides, or even an application of this series of books. I just purchased the Nature Tutorials Oxford application for iOS based on van Perlo's Field Tutorial to the Birds of Brazil. It cost $14.99, which is very reasonable. Have not used the application much yet, but it has bird songs and images in addition to the info in the Oxford field guide. One oddity of the application is that you can enlarge the images only by spreading your fingers and holding--if you take your fingers off the screen the image shrinks back to normal size. The enlarged images are sharp, so you can see the ear marks of a hummingbird, for instance. Would be nice to have the option of double-tapping the image for a static enlargement that reduces when you tap it again, a common application feature. Since my first birding trip to Brazil in 2009 the references have gotten quite a bit better and more diverse. I look forward to the remaining volumes of this 5 volume project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    This was a bonus and they loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    I have LOTS of cookbooks, and I cook all the time. At this point, it's rare that a cookbook isn't 2/3 variations on recipes I have in other cookbooks, I don't mind, it's just what happens when you have that a lot of cookbooks, and actually read and use them...This book has all kinds of fresh recipes, and although I haven't tried a lot of of them, they all look like they will work and be delicious. It's the same ingredients, but place together in various ways, with one or two fresh parings... I am so glad I bought the book, would recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    I recently took this book out on loan from my local libary, but love it so much, I'm going to buy a copy for myself. I am half-Colombian and grew up in Fresh York where South American cuisine, particularly Colombian, was plentiful (from homecooked, family meals to countless restaurants in Queens). I've been living in California for ten years and often long for an authentic sancocho, platanos, arepas, empanadas, aji piques, etc, but have never had any luck. Now, with these recipes and the wonderfully informative glossary of South American ingredients - and where to obtain them - I can create the meals I love so much myself and explore so a lot of others. I especially enjoyed the brief history of the South American cuisine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    Perfect recipes, bought it Amazon used "very good" condition and it arrived as new. Amazing range of recipes from South American countries. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    This book is method more than just the very best cook book of Latin American food...it's a short history of South America. From the time I opened it, I could not stop reading until I got to the end of the South America background information. I am from Venezuela and loved ALL the recipes. The lack of pictures is not a huge deal at all, because the words are totally descriptive. Now that I have this book, I don't see the need for any other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    An perfect birding field tutorial for the Atlantic Forest region of Brazil. The bird drawings are MUCH better than those in the van Perlo guide, and the written info and maps are better as well. However, there are unfortunate shortcomings that could have been easily fixed. I couldn't give the book more than 4 stars for three reasons: 1) ALL field tutorials should have a "quick reference page" inside the front or back cover to let for quickly finding species in the book; nowadays, the best field tutorials have this feature, and to not contain one is a huge oversight and very inconvenient when using the guide; 2) Within the written info for each species, there should be bold headings for each info type such as description, range, calls, frequency, etc.; and 3) For an extended trip across Brazil, a person will have to bring a number of these field tutorials to cover the country; condensing the drawings and info to let for a single, albeit larger, field tutorial might have been a better method to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    amazing book, nice artwork and very amazing descriptions of birds and habitats in the Atlantic forests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    THE GOOD: This is the second volume in a planned five volume series of regional field tutorials that will, collectively, cover all of Brazil. It is a amazing solution to the dilemma existing for comprehensive single-country field tutorials with respect to the a lot of species-rich South American countries: either they are too huge and massive for field use because they have to cover so a lot of species, or they give abbreviated species accounts, often lack range maps, and use little illustrations with twenty or more species crammed together on a single page. With the regional tutorial approach, you can have the best of both worlds: tutorials that are light enough to carry in the field and which have fully informative species accounts and large, high-quality is tutorial follows the same format, has the same high-quality text and illustrations, and huge range maps, as the first tutorial in the series, covering the Pant and Cerrado. There is also a nice introductory section reviewing the habitats of the region, and highlighting conservation concerns. It is a small heavier since it covers 200 more species (927 in all), but still a nice weight for field use.Once the series is complete, these should be better than any of the existing field tutorials to the birds of Brazil, both in terms of portability and depth of E BAD: Nevertheless, there is some room for improvement.–First, the tutorials lack any fast index to the birds; all field tutorials become much more useful with such indices, and every field tutorial needs one. Serious birders make their own where they must; but that is a time-consuming task that should be the responsibility of field tutorial authors.–Second, the species accounts are admirable in containing a lot of info by field tutorial standards. However, unlike other guides, there are no bold headings within the species accounts, e.g. habitat, distribution, behavior, voice, etc., that support the reader quickly locate the info he or she is looking for. Given the length of some of the accounts, this would have definitely been helpful.--Third, illustrations of passerine plumages is unhelpfully sparse in places. Almost no juvenile passerine plumages are illustrated, and only male or female plumages are illustrated in some cases, even when the plumages are quite distinct. In other cases, only the head of the bird is illustrated in a distinct plumage. These limitations are a effect of trying to economize by borrowing all the passerine illustrations from Ridgely & Tudor’s "Field Tutorial to the Songbirds of South America". That book is similarly limited in terms of plumage illustrations. Hence, serious birders may wish to supplement this tutorial with other books, e.g. the van Perlo guide, which at least has more male and female plumages illustrated.–Finally, the tutorial mostly follows IOC nomenclature and taxonomy. SACC/AOU taxonomy is more widely followed among birders in the Western Hemisphere. Given the authors choice to use IOC, they should at least prominently display alternative SACC names. Instead, if these are mentioned at all, they are buried at the very end of the textual RORS/OMISSIONS: Long-tufted Screech-Owl, which can be found in southeastern Brazil, e.g. at Intervales State Park, is not covered in the guide. Festive Coquette is listed as a Brazilian endemic even though it ranges throughout much of western South America, including Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    Muy buena guía. Atractivas ilustraciones

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife Conservation Society Birds of Brazil: The Atlantic Forest of Southeast Brazil, including São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro (WCS Birds of Brazil Field Guides) (Volume 2) []  2020-6-23 19:16

    Amazing product quality, quick delivering speed. Amazing product quality, quick delivering speed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    This book has so a lot of things - historical info, private anecdotes, meal facts and authentic recipes. There are a lot of recipes worth trying. From easy to more involved, there is a wide dozens that showcases the flavors of the region. For someone fresh to South American culture and cooking this book is a excellent choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes []  2020-12-6 20:3

    This has a really comprehensive introduction which explains Latin American regional differences in cooking based on the locally available resources and on the merging of preparation methods of old globe and fresh globe populations. The introduction alone is worth the price of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    If I would have smelled this before ordering...probably would not have purchased. I expected from the description it would smell related to a delicious smelling suntan lotion. It smells weirdly like cookies...which isn't the worst but not at all what I expected. People are asking what I'm wearing and saying it smells amazing which is small consolation since I really don't care for the smell personally. Also super overpriced for a body splash...man, am I too much of sucker for hype. Not terrible, but nothing special. I'd call this a decent $10-12 body splash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    Love this scent for my favorite summer go-to-scent. It evokes summer, the beach, and balmy nights all in one fragrance. It doesn't have much staying power, but I've learned to layer and even mixed some of my "Sol de Janeiro Glow Oils" in with at least half of the fragrance as a nice method to have some subtle shimmer/glow along with the fragrance. This also alleviates the mess of applying and having it all over your hands and gives more control when applying the "glow". It works, test it. For those that have tried the oil and it makes the fragrance linger a lot longer, giving it more staying power.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    This fragrance is absolutely heavenly. I've been eyeing it for a few months after hearing several YouTuber's praise the scent, and I totally understand the hype. This fragrance is deliciously sweet, and not in an overbearing method like Aquolina's Pink Sugar, but a blend of creamy vanilla, nutty, with a tip of musk. Definitely a more mature take on a sweet smelling mist. With that said, the lasting power isn't amazing as it's a body mist as oppose to an EDT or EDP, but the sillage is! I can still smell this on my hoodie, and everyone around me can obtain a amazing whiff of it too! I can say it easily lasts longer than any B&BW or VS mists I own, so that's also a plus.If you're curious if this scent is worth the price, I was too. I took the plunge knowing I wanted something different, but had to know if it was worth the price and praise. And personally, I think it is. The size of this mist is huge. At 8.1 fl oz, I know this mist will latest me a long while; and I'll always feel amazing wearing it, it brings a lot of compliments. The bottle is larger than my other thing I wanted to mention was the reason I held off on purchasing this was not because of the price, but because several reviewers have mentioned this smells somewhat like sunscreen, and I couldn't support but to disagree on that front. Brazilian Crush is definitely more of a "Summery" fragrance, but I can't support but to think that slight tip of musk makes this deeper. Needless to say, I'm not disappointed and I would definitely repurchase in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    So much bigger than I expected. Love the smell. So so good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    This will be the latest time I trust other peoples opinion on a scent. I had read on fb all these comments about how awesome this items smells. I'm not sure how I'd describe the smell. Maybe baby powder mixed with your grandmothers perfume from 1940... I'm extremely disappointed and will probably be up all night hating myself for wasting $20. The only thing amazing about it is it's not very strong. And almost feels like an oil but not gross. Other than that it's pure $#!+.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    This smells so good. I am very picky when it comes to scents and perfume. I am not a professional at describing scents....but I would say it smells like an expenaive beach vacation without smelling like you're wearing a bottle of sunblock as perfume. I imagine this is what the Ritz smells like. I've only found one other ("not a perfume") that is tolerable to wear. This items is so good. I will definitely repurchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    I bought this versus my better judgment . I already had another bottle that I bought from Sephora and I adored. The Sephora bottle was running out and I bought this to take advantage of prime shipping. As soon as I sprayed it I could tell it was not the same. To be fair I smelled both bottles for comparison and the Amazon bottle smells like almost straight up alcohol. Like burn your nose kind. The original Brazillian Crush is a sweet summery vanilla smell. The bottle I received looked very legit but the product was in no method the same. Do yourself a favor and just buy from a reliable source and not a random third party through Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    Giving this one star is generous. I was looking for a little travel sized body spray and I really wanted to love this scent. However, the smell is like a cheap tore body mist/spray. There is nothing tropical or unique about it. What a waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    This cannot be authentic this smells like some cheap vanilla spray you buy at Walmart and unfortunately it's sticks for a long time gave me a headache as soon as I sprayed it. Nothing like what it's supposed to be warned do not buy from this person

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SOL DE JANEIRO Brazilian Crush Body Fragrance Mist 90ml []  2021-2-3 20:12

    So, if you like sweeter scents but dont wish to smell like a Bath & Body Works teenager, this is for you!It's a amazing balance of subtly sweet and comforting without smelling cheap or overly candy/fruity.I was on the fence but trusted the previous reviews and took the plunge. I'm glad I did. This one is going into my regular scent rotation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Noche Del Rio de la Plata []  2020-1-18 22:44

    I love Natalia Oreiro I wantto meet her I love her I love her. PLease come to Ýzmir in Turkey. Ýzmir is the most attractive put in turkey. come I love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    viaje al rio de la plata y paraguay (Spanish Edition) []  2020-7-17 20:42

    Envío súper rápido. Un libro inédito que contiene información muy valiosa del proceso de invasion de América.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Awesome application A+++ Highly Recommend works now OnePlus 6t

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Would be nice if you could view/download statements instead of having to go online for them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Amazing service at the Harlingen branch on Stuart Put exit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio 2 []  2020-1-25 21:39

    All perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio 2 []  2020-1-25 21:39

    Well in all honesty, I wanted to seriously not watch this, I search the voice actor for the main bird to be annoying and I do not know why the main voice actor in all of his films is very very irritating and annoying in all of his movies, the whiny 'loser' guy who gets the girl or gets his act together in the end. But it is not for 'adults' I guess to watch this, my children enjoyed it, even though my oldest was annoyed. So for children to watch then it would be five stars but since I tend to watch everything they watch to create sure it is a amazing moral story etc, then I give it three stars. The moral of the story, save the rain forest, this film did its part in pointing out the importance of preserving nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    John Wayne's back in the saddle and the globe is okay. Demonstrating that director Howard Hawks isn't at all averse to lifting from his own material, this film is the second remake of RIO BRAVO (after EL DORADO), and, let's not child ourselves, it's the least ver of all three flicks and the looser adaptation. It's not to say that RIO LOBO isn't a solid western, because it is. The story opens during the latest days of the Civil War, as a gang of Confederate soldiers commit a daring train heist and create off with the Union Army's payroll. It's not their first time doing this. Union Troops Colonel Cord McNally (John Wayne) nabs the thieving Confederate leader, Captain Pierre Cordona (Jorge Rivero), and yet somehow a friendship is struck up. No hard feelings, then, especially when the battle ends soon aitors within the Union Troops had been feeding vital info to Captain Cordona, and it's these traitors for whom an incensed Colonel McNally is really gunning. The story picks up some time later as McNally, Cordona, and a spunky girl (Jennifer O'Neill) seeking retribution for her murdered mate converge at Rio Lobo, Texas. There, rough John Wayne justice awaits the Union traitors and the town's crooked sheriff and gotta love John Wayne's half-startled, half-exasperated double takes. He comes off as this still very capable man who is constantly bemused by those around him. It's a powerful tip that your romantic leading man days are firmly in the rear view mirror when a y, young Jennifer O'Neill opts to share your sleeping blankets - instead of, say, the younger Rivero's - because, as she remarks: "Well, you're older. You're comfortable." The sub-text being: "And you're too old to test any hanky panky." 1970 finds John Wayne at his twilight, long past being spry. The "comfortable" line becomes a running gag in the film.And yet, even at this stage, the Duke still had what it takes to sell a convincing action sequence. He never did lose that commanding screen presence. Jorge Rivero makes a amazing second banana, playing the dashing French-Mexican Confederate Captain. Jack Elam has the colourful Walter Brennan cranky old-timer role, and, by the way, I wouldn't be caught dead in a staring contest with Jack Elam. RIO LOBO also benefits from featuring three lovely actresses. Sherry Lansing has a near topless scene, and, for a Rated G flick, this stage is beautiful steamy. And "steamy" is an adjective one rarely bandies about in a John Wayne movie (maybe THE QUIET MAN). Anyway, RIO LOBO is an all too familiar oater. Jorge Rivero does fine, but the movie suffers some from not having Dean Martin or Robert Mitchum (or, for that matter, Ricky Nelson or James Caan) in supporting roles. In my opinion, John Wayne may have taught himself to become a amazing actor, but he'd always been a amazing reactor. As such, he requires a certain caliber of stars to react to for him to really shine. As it is, RIO LOBO is watchable for having the Duke in it, even as aged and physically hampered (read: sick as a dog) and "comfortable" as he's gotten. Just now, I labeled RIO LOBO an "all too familiar oater." But sometimes what we need is the familiarity that only comfort meal or your favorite chair or a John Wayne picture can deliver. 3.5 out of 5 stars for this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    OK, it's not the best western ever produced. It's more of a full color movie in the style of the old Republic westerns of the 30s and 40s. What it does have is a beautiful quick moving story line, stage stealing hero actors, and very beautiful melody (except for Jack Elam's mouth harp...).Rio Lobo begins with probably the most original opening sequence in a movie. The solo guitarist plays a attractive tune, while we watch his fingers from in front of and from inside the guitar. Totally cool and absolutely amazing. Sometimes, I watch the film just to see this hn Wayne is moving from leading man with love interest to lovable old coot. Jorge Rivera takes over as the hunk. This is early in his acting career and very early in his English, but he's a doll to look at and OBTW, he does an outstanding leap over a fence. Christopher Mitchum looks very much like his father, and the chemistry between him and Wayne is related to that of his father and Wayne (see Bob in El Dorado and Chris later in Huge Jake).This was Jennifer O'Neill's fourth movie, and it shows. But Wayne was popular for introducing fresh actors, even when it was clear they required practice. Must have been because of the method Wayne himself was mentored in the 30s by John Ford, et. al. Watch his early work and see his own erry Lansing was y and later vengeful. In the latter role, she, too, chewed up the scenery. She could have had a respectable acting career, but chose to shatter the film mogul glass ceiling instead, and more power to en there are the stage stealers. David Huddleston can steal one just by being in it. Victor French is both scary and a coward simultaneously, a hard combination, but he can certainly pull it off. Hank Worden only had one scene, but he's as neat as ever. And finally, Jack Elam was a scenery chewing, crazy eyed loonie, with some of the funniest lines in the whole , it's not the best, but I like it. It will always be in my private film stash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    I am a lifetime John Wayne fan but to be honest this was probably the worst film I’ve ever seen him and not to mention the fact that Jennifer O’Neil cannot ACTto save her life. Don’t waste your money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    Will have fun this amazing films along with others in John Wayne library

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    If you know Jack Jezzro, you know this won't disappoint. Exceptional performances all around that are too often eat atmospheric or thinking melody that instantly transports you to South America. I mean, not really... but in your MIND it does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    amazing to hear amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    This was my first CD of Jack Jezzro and it won't be my last! This CD is outstanding with just the right amount of Latin beat--which I normally don't purchase, but Jezzro seems to not overdo the Latin theme, just enough to create it very amazing listening, especially if you are familiar with the songs. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    Just my style and tempo! A grouping of memorable tunes done in a light style, unbelievable for evening dinner party melody - Thanks for sending it along promptly and it arrived in amazing shape

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    I prefer the CD "Brazilian Nights."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Perfect Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio 2 []  2020-1-25 21:39

    My daughter absolutely loves the film Rio so we decided to obtain this one also. She loves it just as much!!! We've watched it over and over!! It is a cute movie! Just like the first Rio- this film is very colourful and involves a lot of fun songs!! Even our baby enjoys this one! I would recommend this film to anyone, especially if children are involved!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    GREAT ACTION MOVIE!!! It's John Wayne and his regular costars. What more can be said???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    amazing and simple

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Love the bank. Love the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Bank [App]  2019-2-20 13:8

    Love this application obtain to see my Ballance at all time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio 2 []  2020-1-25 21:39

    This beautifully colourful and harmonious film picks up with Blu and squad in part 2. They search Jewel's family and have multiple plot lines: Blu intigrating into the tribe, Nigel's revenge, Carnaval in the Amazon, and devastion in the rain forest nation. I like how the environmental notice is clear and balanced, not overdone. Everything smoothly sifts from one part to the next. I will watch this over and over again just to hear Bruno Mars say, "Polly wish a cracker? Polly wish a cracker? No! No more crackers!! I hate crackers!!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio 2 []  2020-1-25 21:39

    This is a perfect film for the entire family. The 3D is AWSOME !!!! Its a very amazing film & very entertaining & enjoyable for children of all ages from 1 - 100. I think it was as amazing if not better than the first RIO & I thought that one was a unbelievable film as well. Also with perfect 3D. I will have fun rewatching this film over & over. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    2 Stars for this Western genre movie, which takes put right at the end of the Civil War....2 Stars for aging and ailing John Wayne who was not convincing in his role of a US Calvary colonel....2 Stars for Cover Girl model Jennifer O'Neill who was far from convincing in her leading lady role....1 Star for director Howard Hawks in his latest movie....I am a huge John Wayne film fan. But this was not a amazing movie....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Lobo []  2020-1-25 21:44

    I have grow up on John Wayne film because my mom she had it poor for him and the western life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    Okay as background music, or better still randomly mixed up with something else but guitar to provide a bit of life and variety. It certainly won't intrude on the conversation, that's for s so non-intrusive, and so low key that the arrangements can become a bit brain-numbing if listened to just by itself. After a very short while all the tunes start to sound the exactly same, ...probably because they are. Warning: DO NOT LISTEN TO WHILE DRIVING!No where near as amazing as some of the very old Tommy Garret 50 Guitars stuff.His "50 Guitars go Latin" is as elegant as a well-mixed margarita, ...this collection here is more accurately described as pre-packaged reconstituted "Brazilian" (well sort of!)tunes place through the thing to really hate here, .....just bland/beige really.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rio Nights []  2020-10-4 19:45

    Luv this CD, excellent dinner melody and amazing for entertaining with mates over for tails, chill-lax-in music, simply lovely! I am really enjoying this CD!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386