Read robert b. parker reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all robert b. parker reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    Fun read, Atkins pulls off another amazing job capturing what RBP set forth. I for one am grateful to Mr Atkins

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    Amazing as usual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    unbelievable writer--he will be missed--Ace Atkins is doing a credible job

    0  


    Add your opinion on robert b. parker or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    Spenser's continuing adventures under Atkin's hand are really solid in this book. The situations are right and Atkins has a amazing ear. You can hear echoes of Parker's words in Atkin's writing. The plot here also really hangs together in a method that rings true. It was a fun read indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    I liked the story and the author's writing style but he is no Robert Parker! For one thing his characters talk too much, and he uses excessive detailing in his bert Parker had the writing bonus of being able to convey the conditions, thoughts and moods of his characters and settings using minimal "verbiage" as the early writers of pulp fiction did. This was a main reason his books were so popular, and have withstood the try of time. Today, Parker's style of writing is special in that no one, to my knowledge, has yet to duplicate is author is a amazing one but this story is just not a Spenser story. Robert Parker's Spenser is an intelligent, morally strong, "Robin Hood" type hero who talks small but when he does talk says a amazing deal, in a few words. The Spenser in this novel is a talkative "smart mouth" who seems beautiful shallow compared to the original. I don't plan to read another of this author's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    A various kind of Spenser mystery..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    Not bad, but thin in plot and therefore slow-moving and repetitious. And the conclusion is very flat and unsatisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    This is another fine installment in Robert B. Parker's series of Spenser novels. The plot involves a series of arson attacks in Boston and a amazing bit of interesting facts about the workings of the Boston Fire Department. As always, Ace Atkins contains Parker's outstanding cast of characters--Susan Silverman, Hawk, Zebulon Sixkill, Henry Cimolli and others. This would be an perfect beach read. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Slow Burn (Spenser) [Book]  2017-11-13 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    Compelling Ace Atkins has written another amazing Spenser adventure. Stand-alone that is simple to follow and difficult to place down. Violence, no drag-you-down riguing storyline with descriptive writing. Believable characters with distinct personalities. Thought-provoking, informative and occasionally snarky dialogue.“When’s the next board meeting?”"Tuesday night at seven,” Henry said."Do they serve refreshments?”"All the [email protected]@ you can eat.”"Wonderful.”“Unless it’s phone sex,” Wayne said. He grinned."Yeah, but I always obtain tangled in the cord.”“Henry says only one man knows you better than you know yourself.”Z nodded. “Your competitor.”I will re-read this story and always look forward to the Spenser stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    Reading Parker as written by Ace Atkins you would still think that Parker was still writing his own books! With Ace Atkins, I have found a fresh author to look for! And, I have read all of the books he has written as Parker! I would like to see him write a Jesse Owen series in Parkers name!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    Ace Atkins [email protected]#$%! another Home Run in the continuing adventures of the late Robert B. Parker's wise-cracking sleuth, Spenser. As advertised, all of Parker's characters have returned in this fun-loving mystery. This is the kind of book that the reader can polish off in one seating but the trick is to savor each and every chapter and hope that the story never ends. But all amazing stories do end and all we as the observer can do is wait until the next novel starring Spenser or Jesse Stone or Sunny Randall becomes e delivery of the book was on time, the packing of the book was solid and the book arrived unblemished. I'm glad that I bought this book and heartily recommend it to anyone who loves a amazing mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    I have always loved the Jesse Stone books. I started reading them after watching the first few movies, starring Tom Selleck. In some ways I like the newer books that Mr. Coleman has written, because the dialog is less awkward for my taste. I think the dialog Mr. Parker used was a sort of trademark for him, as he also used it in the Spencer novels.I am so satisfied that Mr. Coleman has been permitted to continue the Jesse Stone series, and I look forward to reading a lot of more of them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    It's really very simple, Ace Atkins is doing a GREAT JOB!!! continuing Robert B. Parker's Spenser For Hire Novels. If you stopped reading this series when RBP passed away, I admire your traditionalism, but Ace Atkins is keeping Spenser and Susan and Hawk and Pearl going powerful into a timeless future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    I continue to have fun the series. Ace Atkins has done a amazing job. I never hear a false note in the dialogue. The growing relationship with Vinnie is also a nice development. And, then, of course there is Pearl. I appreciate the opportunity to continue to have Spenser present up at regular intervals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    I have read and reread almost all of Robert Parker's Spencer books. Atkins mimics Parker to a certain extent but it falls short. For the first part of the book I was wondering what happened to Susan. She did surface, but don't think Atkins understands their relationship - it's not just for the sex. I agree with other reviewers that Hawk would be a welcome addition. I don't think I will test another Atkin's Spencer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    I've loved the Spenser series ever since college (I'm 45) and admittedly, in the later years Parker did seem to be running on fumes. The first Ace Atkins book was a rejuvenation - it brought back a amazing story and felt like a true mystery rather than a reason for Spenser to ruminate about Susan...That being said, #2 is a letdown. I think Atkins is still the right guy for the job - he does a amazing job with Spenser and he really has a feel for the globe and the persona Parker created. However, this particular story isn't really about Spenser - it's about his apprentice. So much of the action takes put "offscreen" from Spenser's POV. What's more, we don't even see what happens in some all necessary moments - we are just with Spenser as he walks into the climactic stage AFTER it's happened.I obtain habing to begin up the hero list to some fresh blood, after all Spenser is supposedly a Korean battle vet and that would place him in his 60's at least, but we should at least obtain to read about the case that is event - not just experience it second or third hand through Spenser's eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    I was devastated when Robert Parker died. He was an author that I was in the shop buying his books the day they were released. I never tired of any of his books though I loved some more than others, of course. These fresh ones scared me at first but I have realized that I still have Spenser and his other characters in my life and couldn't be happier. Yes, there are some slight differences but Atkins is amazing. He and RBP worked together and were amazing mates for a lot of years. That is why he can bring Spenser to us. I miss Hawk and hope he comes back more but even Robert didn't contain him in every book. All of his characters are a part of my life. I've not only read them all but I've read most of them twice. I really give this a 4.5. That's all I need to say. There are so a lot of others that can write reviews and dissect the depth of hero development and how well it flows, etc. I just love these books. Rest in peace, Robert Parker. Thank you Ace Atkins for carrying his legacy on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    Identity politics drive me crazy. Yes, there is a basis for concern. However, having it interjected into a book I bought to obtain away from the divisiveness of the real-world sucks. I my to be entertained. I tried to obtain through the book but couldn't given the consistent notice that America remains radically racist which it is not. Wasted my money. I have read all previous Robert Parker books. But I will not read another one written by this ghost writer. Bye, bye.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    I like the Jesse Stone stories and this one no different. This story was quick paced from beginning to end. This time what seems to be just a hate crime becomes a whole lot more. An attack in a neighboring city sets the scene for a bigger crime that could and does have far reaching effects on the city of Paradise. like peeling the layers of onion back Jesse has to peel back the layers of plot to begin a race war. To say more would reveal too much of the story, but trust me this one was a wild ride from begin to finish. One thing I will tell you is that Jesse has a son that he never knew about. This story just took me two days to read, but what a ride it was. So don't just test this story, but obtain it and read it. I think you will have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    I loved Robert parker and I think this author is doing a amazing job of continuing. I love the progression of jesse stone....I was actually getting tired of him never "getting it" about his alcohol abuse....this book allows for jesse to present growth without changing his personality of doing what he sees as "right"...keep up the amazing work and looking forward to the next book in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    Been a member of the Spenser cult since college in the late '70s, when Parker's paperback house sent me review copies of God Save The Kid and Mortal Stakes. When Parker passed in 2010, I was resigned to the end of a amazing and irreproducible run. Ace Atkins proved me wrong. From Lullaby in 2012, Atkins has scarcely missed a beat, and Old Black Magic is no exception. The missing masterpiece is a well-worn personal eye trope, but Atkins plays terrific fresh riffs on the theme, establishing a amazing cast of blue-nosed Boston art snobs, lowlife heist artists and fishy antiquity dealers, and cops both wisecracking and hard-assed, as well as leading us by the nose down several dead-ends to a very satisfying surprise reveal. Along the way, Atkins revisits the poor old days of Spenser adversaries Joe Broz and Gino Fish, building on the mythology with drop-ins like Henry Cimoli, Lee Farrell, Pearl (the Third), and the inimitable Rita Fiore. No Hawk -- Vinnie Morris fills in as second gun/sidekick -- and a small less Susan Silverman than usual. Spenser's quips and quotations expand rather than parrot Parker's legacy, and the art scholarship is solid. This is prime Spenser, meaty as Parker's '80s works and as fast, sparkling, and heartfelt as anything the master wrote at his peak.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    I like Ace Atkins, his Quinn Colson books are always amazing and he does a very amazing job of continuing Spenser in the Robert Parker style. This was a amazing read, it had a lot of of the characters that are familiar to a Spenser novel with enough twists to hold you guessing and then a amazing is is a book I think you will like, it and have fun the continuing saga of Spenser.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    The best thing about Ace Atkins' recent edition of the Spenser story is that it exists. Spenser is Robert Parker's most iconic hero and it is amazing that he, Susan, Marty Quirk and Vinnie Morris live on. Parker himself was often hit and miss with Spenser. Some of the books were much better than others. Wonderland is, at best, middle of the e amazing news is that Spenser fans obtain a small more backstory. Henry, the guy that owns the Gym where Spenser and Hawk train, has trouble. Henry has never asked Spenser for anything in all the years they've known each other. Henry does now, and Spenser goes to e case is pedestrian and involves, as always some poor people. There are a couple of interesting villain-types along the way, and Spencer's fresh apprentice, Zebulon Sixkill, reappears from Atkins' latest book. But the best revelations are the ones about Spenser's past - and that tells you how arresting the plot of the story really more note. Hawk is not here, Susan is only marginally involved, and the poor guys just aren't that scary. Jesse Stone's state cop buddy Healy is about the best secondary hero on the amazing guy side. Let's hope that Hawk gets back from Miami before Atkins produces the next saga in the Spencer chronicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    While I seem to always have fun the Jesse Stone character, Robert Parker's ghost writer created a choice to hit politics with this book. He couldn't resist the temptation, from whatever direction, to bring race relations and the police in as the backdrop storyline.I don't believe the original author would have ever done this storyline to books or hold hate a part of the discussion. The book loses significant value in my mind because of a not good decision.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    On “Colorblind,” Reed Farrel Coleman depicts the focus of our emotional depth. Picking up hate crimes, racism, and a cop shooting incident to an unarmed person, he exposes our dark insides. But wouldn’t it be about an ideal lifestyle as a father, what he mostly wanted to write about? Kids grow up seeing the back of their parents. Figuratively, Jesse is a reliable father, while Molly being a desirable mother, and Suit being a boastful son. Dialogue with Suit at the Jesse’s bed side, trusting like a father and a son, honoring each other, in the epilogue is impressive highlights of this episode. Every move of PPD members are of their own accord, and are originated from the respect to each others. PPD becomes a totally various organization from those in “Night Passage.” Comparing to this, how tragic a Leon Vandercamp’s family is. As James Earl grumbles, we have no idea what a curse it is to be born into the globe Vandercamp’s kids were born into. Only we sympathize the situation trapped by circumstance and family dynamics. We can easily imagine the difficulty of getting out even if we wanted out. Coleman allotted emblematic first names to three sons. John Wilkes, who assassinated Lincoln, to an alleged murder victim, Lee Harvey, who shot Kennedy, to a soldier, a practitioner of all events, and James Earl, a voice role actor of Darth Vader, to who confessed a grand design of Vandercamp. Darth Vader once had been a Jedi knight. Jesse’s words, “we’re never who we think we are, amazing or bad,” resonate in my head. After reading this, taking one day at a time is deeply engraved in my ddenly, Jesse becomes a father. A relation with Cole Slayton will deepen and color the stories to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    Not sure why so a lot of negative reviews on this one. Maybe because Hawk isn't in it, only mentioned, or perhaps, and I think this is it, Spenser is getting old. It is alluded to that Quirk, Belson, Vinney Morris and yes, even seemingly immortal Spenser are ageing. I mean for heaven's sake, he was 37 in Promised Land. Look, this was a very amazing Spenser book, the dialogue was snappy, the plot was complex and the book was tightly written. Don't allow the poor reviews scare you off of getting this one, you will, if you are a Spenser fan, very much have fun this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    This has everything you could ask for - rival mafia gangs, the feds, the witness protection program and grudge-bearing local e premise is tremendous which is the heist from the Gardner Museum. The plot unfolds in an interesting and fast paced manner - as usual very well only criticism would be is that there should be more humor that was one of the best aspects of Parker's writing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    I was running out of amazing reads, so thought I test this fresh ver of "Spenser".Though it was a softer presentation, than parker would have wrote, i enjoyed it almost as much, as one of Parkers originals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    I have read all of Robert Parker's Spenser books, and enjoyed them. I have read the Ace Atkin's books on Spenser also. I was not satisfied with the other portrayals of the familiar characters - especially Hawk. Hawk is not in this one. Ace Atkins is amazing and does a close approximation of Parker's writing. It is not the same, and I know it cannot ever be the same since they are various authors. That being said, Ace Atkins writes a amazing story and I did have fun it. I guessed the killer, and I usually never obtain that right, so he must give more clues. I did not like the final resolution, because (spoiler alert) either way, Spenser lies. He tells a assassin he will not give him/her up to the cops, and then picks up the phone to call. So he can report a murder and since the police are portrayed as intelligent and savvy, he essentially is giving up the murderer. I don't like the inconsistency in the character. The book is worth reading. I do not think I will any more of the "after death" books, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Wonderland (Spenser Series Book 2) [Book]  2018-1-14 18:0

    Ace Atkins has moved Spenser ahead. The legendary PI made by the late Robert B. Parker had gotten beautiful predictable and stale. Parker’s latest creation, Zebulon Sixkill was interesting but really not much more than a potential looking for development. Parker's final few Spencer's often read like first drafts or kins has the voice and the feel of Spenser here, but manuevers Spencer into some kind of change by exploring existing relationships (Henry Cimoli, Sixkill) and damaging one (Vinnie Morris), something Parker seemed unable or unwilling to do, often creating scenarios that violated all sense of how the true globe it perfect? No. Spenser’s vehicle always starts, he never has to go to the bathroom at the worst time, and sometimes Atkins’ inability to give proper attribution to dialogue is truly confounding, leaving one wondering who spoke, but overall Atkins has done Spenser fans a large solid by pumping new air into a hero and reality that desperately required it.Would a non-Spenser fan be coverted? I don’t know. The book is well crafted and goes down beautiful smooth.I look forward to seeing how Mr. Atkins will advance the hero and reality of one of crime fiction’s greatest figures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    I was a true fan of Robert B. Parker. I had every book he wrote, until mu wife lent them to a mate of hers, wholent them to a mate theirs, and guess what I never got any of them back. I have not been a fan of those who took up the task of continuing his works. I obtain sick and tired of reading what that ghost writer thinks Robert Parker should write like, and think they can approve. Take this book, villans Le Harvey and Jim Garrison, where did those names come frome. An illegitmate son he never met, or knew any thing about. Robert Parker was never trite, this a book of banality.I should have known better and not bought the book. I will not repeat that dumbness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    One of Coleman's best Jesse Stone novels. The story moved quickly and was well written. He had me interested from the first page on. Sorry I'm going to have to wait a while before the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    OMG I don’t think I’ve ever given a Robert Parker book a 3 Star review but the plot wandered and seemed a bit flat. The witty banter with his circle of mates was missing as were the descriptions of Spenser’s cooking Hawk, very small Susan or Quirk.... and it seems Pearl IV will soon be coming!Although I enjoyed Vinnie being Spenser’s fresh buddy his hero needs more ere are more references to Spenser’s aging body, I never wish the series to end but perhaps Mr Atkins should look towards Spenser winding up his career. With his love of cooking perhaps running a diner in some little part of Massachusetts still helping those who need him but with a nod towards the aging we all eventually face and making a pro active choice to modify his life style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    Since the death of Robert Parker, I felt the series had been uneven. Not so with 'Old Black Magic'. I loved this book. Amazing plot, amazing characters, snappy dialogue. I've been a fan of the Spenser series since the very first book, and this is one of my favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    Parker fans have been disappointed with a lot of of the iterations of Spenser and Jesse Stone since Robert Parker’s death, by different wanna-be’s. Few have successfully found his voice (I’ve totally given up on Spenser!). Reed Farrell Coleman has succeeded, not just in representing Jesse, but by giving a delightful, new view of him. COLORBLIND is terrific! Jesse is as complicated as ever with the old “battle with demons” but with the chance of amazing success this time and a surprising future. Plot is complex, a lot of characters and motives and timely. Not the end of the line, for sure. And to the “reviewer “ “Brownshoe”: shame on you for revealing a huge, albeit beautiful obvious, plot point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Colorblind (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 17) []  2020-1-21 20:35

    The story line was good. After seeing the Jesse Stone films on TV, I can picture the regular characters. However, I am really bothered that all of the authors continue to create Jesse's hero an alcoholic, and a man who can't obtain out from under the spell of an ex-wife. Also, the author gives "Special thanks to Tom Selleck for walking me through the potential minefield of AA and sobriety." This implies, to me, that Tom Selleck is an alcoholic. Maybe he is or not, it adds nothing to anything! The author could have contacted any AA to search out how they operate. He did not have to create the remark about Mr. Selleck. So, please, in the future, concentrate on a amazing mystery, not on being an alcoholic or feeling sorry about an ex-wife. I read for entertainment, not to be depressed about two topics that do not need to be in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    Understandably, we meet a much aged Spenser. That's not a poor thing, given how long Spenser has been around as the ultra-virile tender tough guy. However, I have fun Parker's writing about Spenser for the relationships that existed in the stories and those are mostly now non-existent. They exist only as a mention. Hawk is out of the picture, Susan is barely in the picture. Relationships with the cops and the poor element are also minimal. So there is an older, more conservative Spenser on his own beautiful much. Atkins was never able to achieve the banter between Spenser, Hawk and Susan that Parker did so well, so I obtain the change, but for me it doesn't leave a lot to have fun about the story. Probably my latest Spenser read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Old Black Magic (Spenser Book 47) []  2020-5-15 18:29

    Having read all of Spencer's books by Robert B. Parker and Ace Atkins, I think this is of the best, if not the best of them all in the series. There's intrigue, red herrings and suspense unlike a lot of of the books before. Spencer's hero is streamlined and more realistic. No buffoonery or simple chit chat with the usuals. Just a book that keeps you interested and reading to the end. And Spenser doesn't obtain into a single fistfight throughout the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I have enjoyed reading and watching all of the Jesse Stone books and movies, several times over on all of them. But, this recent book just leaves me flat. I almost did not [email protected]#$%! but since I for it I forced my method thru it. Somehow there were times when I thought I was reading about someone other than Jesse Stone. The interaction between Jesse and the young girl that refused to stop using her cell phone while driving, while not a very necessary part of the main plot, was puzzling. While Jesse is generally a kind person, his attitude towards this young girl at the end of the book was much too "un-Jesse like" to suit me. The words did not sound like Jesse's ever, being a fan of the Jesse Stone books I am sure that I will continue to read any fresh ones that are released. I will hope that any coming books will stick more to the original Jesse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    A amazing who done it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    I never thought the day would come that I’d rate a Robert B. Parker book a 1-star at day has come.I said in my reviews of the first two Jesse Stone books written by Mr. Coleman that he needs to read the Stone and Spenser books written by Parker so he has some primary concept of Parker’s style. Either he didn’t read them or didn’t learn from them because this third attempt to continue the Jesse Stone series is worse than the first two. Everything else I said in those reviews applies here, too.I don’t expect Coleman to duplicate Parker’s style – only Parker can write like Parker – but I do expect at least an approximation of Parker’s voice and pacing. Coleman is not in the ballpark, not anywhere near the ballpark; he’s not even in the same the first 50 or so pages, there are only 2 or 3 pages of ‘realistic’ Jesse Stone dialog. Parker would have had 30. Much of what Coleman fills those pages with is padding that could be chop with no loss of story clarity or continuity. As in his first two efforts, there’s too much flab here, the complete antithesis of Parker’s lean, taut style. Parker could set a stage, describe a character’s mood, reveal his thoughts in one or two sentences. Coleman needs paragraphs. And once he tells us, he tells us. And tells us. And tells us. Over. And over. And over. In case we didn’t obtain it the first rker trusted his readers to know who Suit was after he came on-stage the first time. Coleman thinks we need to be reminded every time that he is Lester ‘Suitcase’ Simpson. Give your readers a small credit, Mr. Coleman.With Parker, I felt as if I was in the story, standing next to Jesse, seeing what he saw and feeling what he felt. With Coleman, I feel as if I’m standing off to the side, a disinterested observer watching happenings happen. This more distant POV allows him to head-hop, and several times, he moves from one head to another without an indication he’d done it, leaving me thinking there’s no reason that hero would think that.What Coleman has written here is a quasi-serial assassin novel with a professional killer as the poor guy. He even follows the formula of tossing in random chapters from the poor guy’s point of view and several from a victim’s POV. I don’t remember much about Mr. Peepers from his first appearance in a Stone novel, but here he is nothing more than the identical twin of every psychopath to ever appear in ankly, I want Coleman would go back to doing whatever he did before he tried writing Jesse Stone books and turn the job over to someone who can do it ere are two more books in this lame continuation of a once-great series. The jury is still deliberating whether I’ll read them or not. Having just finished this appalling story, the vote is 9 – 3 against. Someone is going to have to do one heck of a first-class marketing job to convince me to read the next one in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    Reed Farrel Coleman does not one stroke of the pen resemble Robert Parker. He rambles to fill pages. He doesn't understand Jesse Stone al all or his deputy.He should not be allowed to write another Paradise book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    I've stuck with Mr Coleman up to now, but this one just took the biscuit for me. There was a plot somewhere under all the repetitious pages about Jesse's same problems. What was a side note to the hero has taken center scene and the act doesn't play. Those endless passages no fresh insight or progress. No soul-searching about aiding and abetting the latest torture murder of Mr Peepers at end of the latest book, no repercussions with Healey, who knew or had to guess about it, no encounters with Dix to work through it. Nothing. Adulterous spouse? Catastrophe. Murder 1? Nada. Wouldn't you say crossing that line would be a bigger for a law man? If we're going to talk internal life, let's not ignore the moral elephant in the room. If we're going to talk action, please obtain on with it. I'm sorry, I'm out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    I have to agree with the reviewers who were disappointed and felt somewhat betrayed by this book. Unlike the other books in this series (especially the ones actually written by Parker), I found it very simple to place this one down, and at times it felt almost like a chore to pick it back up to finish reading it. One of the problems for me was that this book killed off one of the more interesting main characters (for no amazing reason that I could discern). But for me the largest problem was that this book is a large departure from the format of all of the previous books in this franchise: whereas all of the previous books in this entire series have been mysteries (Jesse Stone investigates a crime and eventually roots out the culprit), this book was really a suspense story (Jesse Stone in mortal combat with a brilliant arch adversary). The difference is quite profound, and changing the path of the series onto an entirely various rail was a serious mistake. I (and I assume a lot of other avid Jesse Stone fans) read these books because I like Jesse Stone mysteries, and I have no interest in suspense type stories to start with (I search them to be tedious and fundamentally boring). Also, this book was really predictable, and a lot of of the struggles the main characters went through were trite and contrived. Aside from the surprise killing of one of the main characters, by the middle of the book it was clear who would be killed by the end. There were other problems as well--for example, the dialog, especially Jesse's, wasn't Parker-like at all. In fact, the entire book didn't read like a Parker novel (I guess in reality is actually isn't a Parker novel, but I think it was supposed to be as close as possible, right?).All in all a mediocre read by itself (unless you're a suspense fan), but a disaster within the context of what the Jesse Stone MYSTERIES are supposed to be. I hope the Parker heirs are intelligent enough to nip this aberration in the bud and hold future installments real to the original series. One suspense installment is more than enough to damage the franchise; any more could destroy what Parker worked so hard to create.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    The story line was very creative and interesting. The ending was extremely disappointing. Diana and Healy were both highly professionally trained and experienced detectives (FBI and 20 years of Homicide in Boston and State Homicide Detective) who did super stupid things like run up on a house in plain view of anyone inside. They both should have approached the house much the same method Jesse Stone did...cautiously. Teh would have come from front and back of the house and had some kind of plan and utilized their training. This was Diana's possibility to prove that she knew what she was doing as a professional. Also, What a CLICHE!!! Jesse becomes a little city cop who has a drinking problem. Jesse was up versus the most risky serial assassin and a very smart person and he starts to struggle with his drinking? Throughout all the other books, we know he struggles with alcoholism, but he has some control over it as long as he is working a case, Here he is in the case of his life and he falls apart. So disappointing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    I'm noting the lackluster reviews on this book and I tend to wonder what they read. I thought it was a darn amazing book. Yes, I feel letdown over the loss of one of the main characters, and yes, I kind of thought this hero would be in major problem by the end of the book. But, I thought this book developed well. I missed the book with the original Mr. Peepers story (at least I'm assuming there was one based on background given), and like a lot of books I read, the poor guy here is a super villain. He was wounded in an earlier book by Suit, and he intends to obtain revenge on all who were involved in his take down, Suit, Stone, Molly, Jenn, and a Boston crime boss. The whole story is spread between Paradise and Dallas, and it works out great. I'm a Jesse Stone book fan and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    I Just don't know what to do. I have read 16 of these books, but have not enjoyed one since Parker died and then two other authors started writing the books. This one is just about all I can take. This author has completely done away with the witty, caustic fast paced dialogue. There is no more clever banter. He barely gives a mention to necessary supporting characters like Molly and Suit, in fact he mentions their names now and then, and then, nothing. Jesse seems to be bored even with himself, gone is the pace, the intelligence, the honor (even among drunks.) Now Jesse is boring and slow, his relationships shallow and dull, the other characters all but gone. These books are becoming an introspective musing of a drunk, not a good, fun crime story. I particularly miss the back and forth clever dialogue between Jesse and Molly. Actually I miss it all. Do I just give up and say no to the rest? Ugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    As a lot of of you know, Robert B. Parker is no longer among us. Since his passing, Michael Brandman (never read him) and Reed Farrel Coleman have continued the Jesse Stone e hardest part to capture is Jesse Stone's dialogue, which is most evident when he's having a discussion with his deputy, Suit, who is almost as laconic. Reed Farrel Coleman, an experienced mystery writers captures Jesse's style rather well, although he sometimes over does it. Coleman has written the latest four this one, Jesse is on an alcoholic binge due the murder of his fiancee'. But he tries to hold it together because Suit is getting married, and he's the best man. Meanwhile, an old woman is murdered. Jesse finds out who the culprits are through his connections with the Boston underworld. In short order, one of them turns up . . . who hired these ex-cons to do the job? They weren't looking for and the old woman's jewelry is still there, except for one valuable ring one of them takes without the other's knowledge. The other guy finds the key to a safety deposit box without telling his anwhile Jesse wards off the ambitious mayor and her assistant who know about his drinking and wish him gone. He finds a connection to the missing album, THE HANGMAN'S SONNET, which was recorded by a Bob Dylan clone, Terry Hester, who was supposed to be as amazing or better than Dylan. Jesse finds out the old woman rented out rooms, and he has his deputy find her house for some kind of registration book. As a effect he gets a lead as to who might have stolen the album. The culprit is also taunting the police and Jesse. He sends a poem written by Hester to Roscoe Niles, who used to be the @#$% Clark of Fresh England disk jockeys, who has been going to seed lately. Jesse quickly posits the man behind the murders is trying to stir up the press so that the bids are higher for the missing album if he indeed has it. The plot clues us in on how the old woman was connected to the missing album.Okay, so is this enjoyable enough to contend with Robert B. Parker?This might seem trivial but, there is no dog. Jesse usually talks to his dog when he's muddling through his recent challenge. Ozzie Smith takes the dog's put in this episode (Jesse has a picture on one of his walls of Ozzie doing his acrobatics). For you non-baseball fans, Ozzie Smith may have been the greatest defensive shortstop to ever play the game, the same position Jesse played until he damage his arm. You probably won't be able to guess who was behind this mess, but the number of possible candidates will hold you turning the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Brandman did well with the Jesse Stone character. Book ended too soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    The issue with characters who don't age is that they often don't grow. Even though it's Michael Brandman writing the series now, Stone's hero is still beautiful much the same guy with the same quirks. There were three stories to follow in this book. I can't but wonder if there had been one story with an element of mystery instead of three average stories with no element of mystery would the book have been readers of the series should begin at the beginning - not because this book has things you need to know, the earlier books were better when the hero was fresh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    Robert Parker was a master of brief, meaningful dialogue. More was said by not saying leman uses 50 words when 8 would have worked and had more meaning.I found myself shaking my head at what Coleman does to the characters we know and love like Cpt Healy. He's not at all the witty, sarcastic hard nosed hero he was with is is a tough one to obtain through, but a reminder that Parker really was the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    I gave up on Coleman after the latest Jesse Stone, the one with the cat. And yet hope springs eternal, I guess, especially when offered the chance of Stone and Spenser in the same book. What a mistake!Had I wanted to read the usual adjective and adverb strewn supermarket mystery that my wife so dearly loves, from Paterson or Sanford or Coban, then I would have bought one of those. Instead we obtain Jesse Stone re-imagined and created into a weak beta-boy in the style of those other panderers. It's not Parker and, if you read the jacket blurbs, it's not supposed to be. Perhaps it's more congenial to the sorts of folks in huge publishing houses these days, but it's not what those of us who love Parker want."Then he'd been standing before his steam-clouded bathroom mirror. Then he'd been studying the three-day growth of salt-and-pepper stubble along his angular jawline and square chin and the taut skin of his still-handsome face. He ran his fingers through his thick hair, found the grey creeping in there, too. He'd looked everywhere in the mirror except directly into his own eyes, because all he saw there was condemnation."Ye gods and small fishes! The adjectives! Hyphenated adjectives even. Three of them. And the explicit self-reflection is enough to gag any Parker fan. That paragraph fragment, from the beginning of Chapter 4, tells you everything you need to know about this thing. It's where I stopped and when the book wound up in the corner across the room. Ace Atkins isn't Parker either, but at least he tries to be faithful. Coleman seems to relish his unfaithfulness to the character.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    The plot of the book was perfect as always. However, I am really getting tired of all the authors harping on Jesse's first wife Jenn and in the recent book, going on and on about Jesse's drinking problem. As I was reading on and on about the drinking, I was thinking "this author is making Jesse out to be a functioning alcoholic". "Low and Behold"..... later in the book, the author actually called Jesse a functioning alcoholic! When I read each book I can picture Tom Selleck and all the other film characters. Tom Selleckhas always played a powerful man. Powerful men obtain over a cheating wife, and don't depend on drinking to obtain by. I hope the future authors will drop the topic of Jenn and drinking, as it is really getting tiresome! Also, the author seemed to create a huge about Jesse's "9 MM". With the exception of his fresh "Blue Blood" series, Tom Sellect has always carried a .45 automatic, starting with the "Magnum" series. I do look forward to the next book and TV movie, but PLEASE, PLEASE, less moaning over Jenn, and drinking, and more ACTION!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I am a fan of Jesse Stone and this one lives up to my expectations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    A bit disappointed in this one. Parker's formula is varied a bit. Normally Jesse Stone is dealing with one major plot line and one minor, which usually involves young folk who just need a guiding e main plot with an actress filming a film in Paradise. Her estranged husband, an actor into drugs and upset that his career is spiraling o minor plot lines: one dealing with water company employees, and the teenage girl who seems to ignore laws she doesn't like. The prodigy of rich, self-absorbed parents, Jesse sees a kid crying out for attention and parents that just her out of trouble.I don't know. The stories just didn't grab me like his first effort. I may leave Jesse behind after this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    I haven't read any of Reed Farrel Coleman's other work, so I can't say if he's otherwise talented. In this case, however, an expectant return to a familiar hero was like going home to a holiday family meltdown disaster. Is the mystery good? It's okay. Is there any vestige of Jesse Stone in this? Other than familiar names and locations by the words referencing them, not at all. In fact, it's less than nothing, as they are simply charicatures of the originals, drawn without skill or insight. Either that, or this is really a sci of Zombie ver of Jesse Stone, his fellow characters and Paradise. THAT would have been better than this uninspired, tritely-told, cliche-ridden ball of inarticulate non-interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    Amazing story but can't support but wonder if the author ever read a Jesse Stone book by Bob Parker or saw any of the movies. The characters were here in his story but not the people I've come to know over the years. Just did not come to life as Parker created them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    Mystery novel: Jesse Stone series {RF Coleman): Characters of Jesse and Molly maintain the essence of these two individuals. The progression of happenings continues from previous novels with "Suit" getting married; he's not really a part of solving the mystery of murder and intrigue. Fresh characters are introduced and developed in Coleman's very detailed narrative style. The plot is more involved -- complicated -- making it hard to place the novel down. Amazing news is that all the mysteries are eventually explained, exposing all the shady dealings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    ort review: read pelling stand-alone that is simple to follow and difficult to place down. Some violence but no drag-you-down riguing storyline that covers three various crimes. Believable characters with distinct personalities. Thought-provoking and snarky dialogue.I will re-read this story and always look forward to works by Michael Brandman and in the Robert B. Parker series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Simple Read. Love Jesse Stone sagas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Fool Me Twice (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 11) [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I love the book. I can't seem to place it down once I begin reading it. Having seen the films with Tom Selleck as Jesse Stone adds to Jesse's character. The Jesse Stone novels are great,but really need to be read in order. I am going to test the other novels that Robert B Parker wrote.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    First of all for Amazon, I don't need your support writing reviews! Chop it out. Now onto Debt to Pay. Robert B. Parker once said to Tom Selleck that Jesse Stone is a deeply flawed man. He should never be able to give up drinking and he should always struggle with Jenn. (Look it up, the interview is out there on YouTube). The flaws were the attraction. Reed Farrel Coleman has managed to blow this premise in the first quarter of the book. He doesn't "know" Jesse and he certainly can't write him. The beauty of Robert B. Parker is that you loved his characters as they were, flaws and all. Robert B. Parker didn't tell you about his character's emotions, he described them through his characters actions and dialogue in spare but attractive language. None of the fresh stable of writers except for Robert Knott seem to obtain this. They consistently test to change these beloved characters into paper cutouts instead of taking the effort to write about true people with true issues and flaws. It's sad. Debt to Pay feels more like a bodice ripper novel (which I gave up at 17) than the gritty noir that Parker wrote. I gave up on Debt to Pay at chapter 18 and I won't be reading any more faux Robert B. Parker authors, with the exception of Robert Knott, and I'm beautiful sure neither will my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    Halfway through reading "Debt to Pay" I saw the ending "driving down Main Street" and I thought no, he's not going to end it that way. Surely he is not going to cross that line. But the signs were there, Jesse was not being Jesse. Surely Coleman was handpicked for Jesse Stone, surely because he understood the contract Parker had with his base of Jesse Stone fans.I've read all of Parker's works and all of Coleman's Stone novels and my thoughts are, if you're going to break the contract do it with your own characters, not with Parker's. But since he broke the contract, the hard core fan like me can no longer trust him to carry on the franchise. Are there rules to the contract? Yes there are, unless you do not respect what the fan base looks for in Jesse Stone. What would it be like if Jesse were to suddenly agree with me that Barry Larkin was a better shortstop than Ozzie Smith? Or, similarly, if Spenser started rooting for the Yankees? Some lines are not yours to cross.If Coleman wanted to "make us think" as Parker always wanted of his readers, he shouldn't have cheated. Sure, no device is off limits, but the device he chose was already used once and in a more Jesse Stone kind of way, by Parker himself. So I guess this particular device was off-limits. In my mind Coleman sacrificed Parker's contract with his base for the praise of those who laud his bravery for being un-Parker like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    So disappointing. The situations have completely changed, resembling nothing like the Robert B. Parker's Jesse Stone novels you're used to; only the character's names have stayed the same. Jesse is a flawed character. Drinking and his interactions in life and dealing with the drinking are a large part of his character. Mentioning his character, are things that belong to his hero - like his house, his failed relationships, and situations which involve key interactions between the characters are gone. Interactions that fans loved between Jesse and his psychiatrist and Captain Healy are gone or ending. Even some of the best loved 'bad guys' are taken away from us. R.I.P Gino Fish. Almost everything that makes a Robert B. Parker Jesse Stone novel is stripped away. Stripped away from the book and stolen from fan's souls. While the novel itself is decent - it's no Robert B. Parker, and it certainly isn't Jesse Stone. R.I.P. Robert B. Parker's Jesse Stone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 15) []  2020-4-1 18:57

    I totally love Stone novels. However, this one was so dark, depressing and disappointing. It is as if the author wanted to delve too deeply into Jesse’s mind to the extent he is almost beyond repair. Moreover, the dark and evil circumstances that encompass everyone in the book travel beyond belief. This book would create anything Hitchcock came up with look like a fairy tale. If you like an uplifting read, forget this one. A real downer in every respect. Go on to another in the series for a better experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    Jesse Stone died when Robert B Parker did. The estate has allowed someone else to continue the character. The latest book (a Coleman effort) was awful. This one is just barely better. It is not about the crime and mystery so much as the alcoholism of the protagonist. Such physiologic and psychological detail would almost cause one to think about the condition of the author. Regarding the story, the reader does not obtain the whole story. Instead, Stone comes up with a "Perry Mason" moment (look it up) to solve the case(s) entirely. And c'mon. Spenser? Really? I think Coleman can write his own creations beautiful effectively, but it's impossible to fill in the pieces of a hero you don't e true crime is that I forked over 14 bucks to read this. Regrettably, I suspect I will do it again in a year and then complain again. Some of us diehard fans never lose hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robert B. Parker's The Hangman's Sonnet (A Jesse Stone Novel Book 16) []  2020-5-15 18:0

    As anyone who reads my AMAZON book reviews knows, I like to read my favorite authors in sequence. About in the early 2000's, I started to read all the Parker Series (SPENSER, STONE, SUNNY RANDALL) in sequence. I was nearing the end of each (all caught up), when Robert B. Parker passed in 2010. With the death of the author, I just naturally lamented the death of these characters as well. Luckily for his fans, Joan and family saw the need to continue. While we will always miss Mr. Parker, the appointment of Mr. Coleman means we still have Jesse and the people of Paradise among us. As I finished this one, the best thing I could say is that I don't have to wait for the next one: COLORBLIND is in my KINDLE waiting to be opened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Car Parker [App]  2018-11-23 13:0

    Such cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    Sometimes, companion novels worry me. I spent time falling in love with the characters of one book and introducing me to other characters can rattle me a bit. If I was already so in love with one set of characters, why not write their story? Why risk writing a fresh story when people already love the original?Stealing Parker makes me rethink my view on companion novels. It is a separate entity from Catching Jordan, but it is still just as sweet. Through the entire novel, I just wanted to pull Parker away from the choices she was making and create her see what she was doing. My heart damage for her and how much damage she had gone through. Trying to navigate through some tough problems while still being a teen is never easy.Right from the beginning, it's simple to see things aren't going to be easy. Things hold building up, creating a precarious turret that could fall at any second. For each small satisfied thing that happened, something equally as horrible was added to the pile until it all falls e ending was sweet, but I felt like there was a small bit more story to tell. Parker has a few choices in front of her and I want I got to read the path she decides to take. The end tied up loose ends, but the ends were still a small bit frayed and there was the chance to discover just a small bit more.I really didn't think I would end up enjoying Kenneally's books as much as I have. Catching Jordan caught my attention and as soon as I finished it, I knew I was going to be a Kenneally fan. She writes teens exceptionally well and manages to place in some amazing life hints while doing so. Stealing Parker is another fabulously sweet novel and has me anxiously awaiting Things I Can't Forget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    VIP Parker [App]  2017-11-9 13:7

    Works excellent for our business

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Car Parker [App]  2018-11-23 13:0

    This is so fun 4% what ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    WOW! Stealing Parker was really, really great! I don’t even know where to begin.I guess lets begin with Parker. Parker is a girl whose globe was completely turned upside down when her mother decided to reveal that she’s gay. Parker is so lost that I just wanted to jump into the pages, take her hand, sit her down and tell her all the things she’s learned by the end of this book. It really broke my heart to see how lost she was, guys. I FELT for her, I really did. And all those poor decisions! It was like watching a train wreck about to happen. What also really got to me was all the people in her life that turned on her after her mom came out…especially her church. It’s one of my largest issues with some churches and with people who claim to be Christian, how utterly ugly they are to other human beings. It gets my blood boiling, so lets move on before I begin throwing f-bombs on this review. I was also really disappointed with the adults in Parker’s life. Method to be there, guys! I can’t believe nobody thought it strange or thought to talk with Parker about what she’s been going through, or why she quit playing softball so suddenly. Her feelings of abandonment came through so clearly and loudly. I had a lot of feelings with this book, ok! SO MANY FEELINGS!So I had to be realistic going into this book and knowing that OBVIOUSLY the coach thing was not going to work out. Because while all those fun, flirty moments that developed into forbidden, steamy make-out sessions left me ALL KINDS of hot and bothered, I knew they were wrong. And like Parker questions, why do all those wrong things feel so good?! GAH! All I could do was wait for sh*t to hit the fan. And it was poor ya’ll and I felt so poor for her. Not him. He should’ve known better.Who Parker does actually end up with is actually a small bit harder to pinpoint at the very beginning. You meet the boys in the book, and while you think it might be the best friend, if you’ve read Catching Jordan you know it won’t be him, so it leaves us wondering if the coach thing is really what we’re going with. I liked the slow development of this aspect of the story a lot because, for me, it gave some unpredictability, which is always nice.Overall I completely loved this story because of how true it felt. I really love the authenticity and the honesty in Miranda’s writing. I seriously cannot wait to read more from her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    ~3-3.5/5[More of my reviews are available on my blog, Geeky Reading, to which there's a link on my profile.]This book was not what I was expecting. A lot of it didn’t go as I thought it would, and it’s taken me a bit to decide whether I like the direction it took or not. I’m still kind of not rker used to play softball. But then her mother left, and she quit, and she started fooling around with a lot of various boys. Her best friend, a boy on the boys’ baseball team, convinces her to be the manager of the baseball team, and she meets their fresh assistant (and then temporary) coach.I’m not sure how I feel about Parker. She has some rather serious problems she needs to work out, as does beautiful much all of her family, although they’re all beautiful much handled by the end of the book. Parker makes some mistakes, does some dumb things, but she’s not particularly weak, she doesn’t give something up when she doesn’t wish to. And she’s in a much better put at the end of the book.I liked where her family was at the end of the book. I liked her mom, and how she came in when she was required and handled things. I didn’t like how her family reacted to what she did in the first place. Parker’s father, I was not a very huge fan of. And her brother required help, which it seemed like he was finally getting.I liked Drew, Parker’s best friend. I liked Will, and was surprised by his part in the book, although it grew on me rather easily. Something happened between the three of them that I think should have been fixed and talked about a lot sooner, especially with Drew. I was expecting to like Brian, and begin to liking him, from the beginning. And at first it was okay. And then he started turning into a creep, and I wasn’t very satisfied about that. I generally wasn’t very satisfied with him, really. Although overall I didn’t feel the connection between them as well as I think I should have, or as well as Parker seemed to. There just weren’t enough interactions, or chemistry between them for e whole teacher-student romance thing I don’t mind, as long as the ages are not too far apart. But this one didn’t turn out how I thought it would. And that’s mostly where my issue with this book is, although I’m starting to accept it, because the ending was actually really fitting for Parker. It required to happen for Parker, e romance wasn’t what I was expecting, but it was good. I was also expecting more sexy items (not like actual scenes, because that doesn’t usually happen in YA), but there wasn’t very much. And it wasn’t particularly hot, either. But still not en there was this whole religious part of the book that I was really not expecting. And kind of rubbed me the wrong way, especially when it seemed to connect with her whole virginity issue. That whole bit just left a poor taste in my mouth, and I hope that it isn’t the same in Kenneally’s other is book just wasn’t what I expected. I expected to really like Kenneally’s writing, but it didn’t really victory me over. I’ll be getting her first book, Catching Jordan, soon, and I hope it’s better. I hope I like it more. If not, we’ll see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    ***ARC received by Sourcebooks Fire for review purposes***One thing I learned from reading Catching Jordan is to expect the unexpected when it comes to Miranda Kenneally's amazing books. Because of this, it is hard for me to write a spoiler-free review of this book, but here is my best shot!Parker has a amazing life. She was a amazing softball player, she had a close-knit family, she loved going to church and she had amazing friends. Then it all fell apart when her mother announced she was a and moved away to live with her girlfriend. Since then, her brother is a disaster, her dad is in denial, her best mate abandoned her and the people at her church stay away from her. When her ex-best mate starts spreading rumors that Parker is a just like her mom, Parker decides to quit softball, lose weight and prove that she is most definitely into guys. Soon after, Parker starts to obtain a nasty reputation. When her mate Drew convinces her to test out for the guys baseball managing team, she misses the android game so much that she decides to give it a e meets the fresh assistant baseball coach, Brian, who is 6 years older than him and crushes on him beautiful hard. Although they hold things professional at first, it's not long before they cross the line into inappropriate territory. Meanwhile, we also have Will, (AKA Corndog) who starts to develop a true and deep friendship with Parker. While I usually have no issues with faculty-student relationships when it is done right (Hello Vampire Academy!), I did at times think that Brian took advantage of Parker more than once. But Parker is a huge girl and she knew what she was getting herself into. Is having a forbidden relationship with Brian worth all the issues that it can lead to? And Will? He was just the best! Only Miranda Kenneally can create us swoon over a guy named Corndog! Will was sweet and funny and exactly what Parker required a real mate and someone who really cares about roughout all of this, Parker must also with trying to place her family back together, some poor choices that she has made, trying to forgive her mother for abandoning her and finding out why God has faced her with all these challenges. Stealing Parker was deeper and emotional than Catching Jordan but still managed to maintain that trademark writing and amazing characters that Kenneally does best! I truly felt my heart breaking for Parker and some of the things she has to go through. I LOVED that we got to see glimpse of Henry, Jordan, Ty and a couple of other characters from Catching Jordan. These brief glimpses were excellent enough to allow you know what they are up to but do not distract you from the current storyline. Plus, any possibility to read about Henry was a victory for me. Kenneally tackles some tough problems in this story such as sexuality and religion and her writing has that excellent mix of bluntness and awkwardness to hold things interesting. Even though I thought the ending was perfect, the only thing I thought was missing was more swoony moments. Overall, Stealing Parker is a amazing companion to this series. Funny, sweet, sad, heartfelt and at times emotionally draining (in a amazing way). Fans of Catching Jordan will NOT be disappointed with this story! Can't wait to read the next story in this series! Can March come any faster please?4 out of 5 sparkly stars!Some of my favorite non-spoiler quotes from Stealing Parker:-Parker Shelton, Sinner Extraordinaire. I should have business cards made.-When God made the Earth, he had such a sick twisted sense of humor. He created everything that's wrong feel really, really good.-Maybe all friendships don't fizzle. Maybe, like the kaleidoscope, the colors just change.(I have more, but they were too spoilery)***Read more of my reviews at:Nereyda @Mostly YA Book Obsessed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    I fell in love with Miranda Kenneally' s writing latest summer when I picked up Catching Jordan before a vacation. I sped through the book, hoping, praying that Jordan would end up with Ty. But then I got to know Ty better. As for the end of that book, I'm not going to give it away. But I am recommending it!But when I purchased Stealing Parker, and read what the book was about, I just knew that Miranda would throw that second guy in to the mix. Why not screw with a girl's emotions, just a teeny little bit more.I loved the friendship between Parker and Will, he is the guy of every girl's dream! (At least mine.) But Brian the coach really freaked me out. Just as Ty from Catching Jordan got a small clingy, he seemed to obtain a small obsessed.Overall, it's a amazing read. (And for you Jordan and Sam Henry fans, those two don't loose their adorable-ness either!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parker Seminars [App]  2020-1-25 13:24

    keeping me updated on the whole seminar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Car Parker [App]  2018-11-23 13:0

    Poop

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    Stealing Parker is the second book in the Hundred Oaks series, however, as the three books out in the series it can be read as a standalone book. In this story Parker is trying to heal-escape the shame and pain her mother’s departure brought on her family. During this process she discovers a lot about herself, family, friendship, religion and rker is a amazing character, a former softball player, Valedictorian (the best of her class) and sweet. But somehow once her mother is gone, she attempts to become a “hot mess”, kissing boys and trying to prove she is not like her mom. She is so broken and desperate to be satisfied again that she makes so a lot of poor decisions. Is simple to like her and relate to her because when your globe falls apart you need to search a guilty and being a Christian asking God “why?” is an simple e boys and man in the book are great, various one from another; they bring all the elements the book needs. Brian is the fresh professor-coach and Parker immediately falls for him. He is 23, which means six years older, friendly, funny and handsome. Of course the whole situation is full of drama, student-teacher relationships are a taboo and in this story it’s no different. It brings tension and anguish to both characters’ lives. Drew, the BFF, is amazing. He is funny and adorable. Corndog, or Will, is the excellent boy. Smart, sweet, caring and softball player, he is the boy every girl any other Miranda book, the book reveals more of the story and the characters page by page. She is an author that achieves to make solid and believable worlds. Through her words we live the sadness, happiness, tension and suffer with every fresh obstacle side by side to the characters.Overall, this is a amazing YA- contemporary romance with amazing characters and amazing dialogues. Also, this book has a smooth rhythm and an perfect writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Car Parker [App]  2018-11-23 13:0

    It a amazing android game for children

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    After Catching Jordan, I was super excited to jump right into Stealing Parker. Stealing Parker focuses on another group of characters but with cameos from Catching Jordan characters. (Not going to lie, I need to remember names better, ha. It took me a second to remember who was who.) Related to book one, Kenneally blends sports, relationships, and heavier subjects into a quick paced compelling read. This book focuses on Parker's relationship with baseball and softball. Parker walked away from softball after her mother left her father. The happening rocked her globe in a rough way. Parker is faced with gossip, a lack of help from friends, and an overall sense of ealing Parker felt heavier to me than Catching Jordan. The reaction Parker's church and mates had to Parker's mother's sexuality was not an simple read. Parker need help and instead she had most everyone turn their backs on her or give her the cold shoulder. The struggle Parker faces when questioning her church and her private relationship with God was brutally honest and emotional. Kenneally did her justice in her portrayal of the difficult situation Parker was ide from the religious aspects , Parker also fell into a complicated romance. While Parker stumbles and makes some mistakes, she stays strong; she learns and grows throughout the course of the book. My basic reasoning behind the three star rating has to do with the romance. Parks of the romance I just did not really ealing Parker was a heavier yet still enjoyable addition to the Hundred Oaks series. I will caveat this book though: If religion and religious struggles are not for you, then this might not be the book for you. Now to begin Things I Can't Forget ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    First of all I cant believe it took me so long to actually finish this book. i guess that's the reason I'm giving this a 3 star instead of a 4? I dunno. But for me this didn't work out as much as Catching Jordan did.I have to say this was a amazing book. By any reason I won't say it was poor or boring or anything, it's just it didn't quite move me the method Catching Jordan. The first book of this series was amazing and it didn't fail me by any possibility but for me this book fell short a bit. I wished Kenneally did more with this e story itself was a cute romance set in High School as the previous and we obtain to see smaaaaall snippets of our favourite characters of the previous book. One thing I've got to say that I liked in this is how the deeiiferant characters in the two books are from various planes totally. Normally in a series you would see a connection between the characters but here you see Parker looking at Jordan as an outsider. And unlike other books she doesn't think of Jordan as this amazing girl with a cute romance but she sees her in a more realistic manner. For me that was an actual nice change. It felt more realistic.Well talking about the book like i told the story was cute, the characters were likeable but other than that I can't say that it totally captivated but it was a fun read nonetheless :)Now I'm going to patiently wait for Things I Can't Forget before I begin Racing Savannah. Hopefully desire won't victory over my determination

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    SPOILER ALERTI could tell from the beginning of this book the student/teacher relationship wasn't going to be a HEA. And when I started reading, I wanted it to be. I love the forbidden love story of the teacher/student (i.e. when the student isn't 13 a la Mary K. Letourneau). For this reason I was resistent to seeing any issue with Brian and Parker getting together, despite the direction I knew the author was going. By the end, however, I was happy with how things turned out. Miranda Kenneally did a unbelievable job of portraying Brian as the sexy young teacher who all the girls crushed on and slowly evolving him into the smarmy, immature jerk that he really was. I loved this. Sometimes, you read a story where the two characters you wish to be together don't end up together and you feel robbed. Not real in this case. I was satisfied to say good-bye to Brian when the time came. Amazing e real love story in this book between Will and Parker was also satisfying. Will was a sweet guy who didn't wish a skanky girlfriend and I admired him for rker's feelings about her mom's "abandonment" of the family were relatable and I'm glad the two came back together in the end. It did not feel forced or fake at all. I think Parker's actions were justifiable while she struggled to accept her fresh family situation while navigating high school, ex-friends, and a church that turned their back. She seemed like an daily girl to e supporting cast from protagonist to antagonist were just as amazing and poor as they should have been. I was glad no reconciliation was created between Parker and Laura because Laura was a wench and did not deserve ly, the religion problem was not too overdone. The judgement passed by Parker's church to her family was presented in a method where we could draw our own conclusions. The author didn't MAKE us feel any specific method about it, and I'm sure some readers of this book probably feel like their actions were okay (I didn't think they were). You could still have fun this book if you felt that way, I think. We were presented with both sides of a touchy problem in a fairly neutral way.Overall, I really enjoyed this book and it is a amazing follow up to Catching Jordan. I'm looking forward to book #3 in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    VIP Parker [App]  2017-11-9 13:7

    It takes the valet experience to a whole fresh level!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Car Parker [App]  2018-11-23 13:0

    I do what it says and it swerves in the middle of the road. I mean if yoyr gonna create a knock off android game at least have proper instructions!!!😤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stealing Parker []  2020-1-14 19:37

    Don't you love it when a book surprises you? Stealing Parker was an unexpected hit with me! There were three reasons it was a powerful read: a powerful & true main character, a unbelievable & quirky love interest and a compelling rker Shelton has been dealing with a lot of things since her mother announced she was a and left their family. Her (former) church mates abandoned her. She’s taken over her mother’s household duties. And, even with all this, she’s dealing with the ups and downs of being a teen. The method she chooses to cope isn’t necessarily the most ideal, as she loses herself in boys (even the ones who aren’t right for her) and tucks her feelings away never to be discussed. She even lets go of softball, because it’s too hard for her to bear without her mom. While it certainly appears like Parker is a hot mess, her actions actually seem likely in her ere is one helpful activity she engages in – writing letters to God. There’s a question attached to almost every letter, making it clear to readers that Parker is questioning everything she thought she knew about faith and God. Watching Parker go through this process of trying to understand God’s will really struck home with me. The book doesn’t create the solution preachy or take the simple method out. It instead reads as the story of one girl’s attempt to create sense of her own situation, all while factoring her faith in the is novel felt so realistic, which is what I loved most. Questioning the things you believe is something that almost all of us do, and Kenneally manages to convey it well. Plus, it becomes even more challenging when we encounter traumatic, highly emotional situations! Parker’s journey managed to mirror this experience we all have in a truthful, believable way, which is all thanks to Kenneally’s writing style.Of course, this book would not be complete with just a tip of romance – and it comes in the form of Corndog, a.k.a. Will Whitfield. He’s my favorite Kenneally hero, mostly because he’s adorable. He has a wicked sense of humor, athletic ability AND manages to be intelligent too! What really won me over were his kindness and his powerful relationship with his family and his friends. The method his relationship with Parker develops certainly feels organic. They start as rivals, and then become mates and eventually, they develop into something a small bit ealing Parker is definitely my favorite of the Hundred Oaks books! The elements that create this story powerful - questions of faith, romance and familial problems - were really written well. It's a book that will do well with most readers, particularly if they search themselves able to relate to Parker as much as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parker Seminars [App]  2020-1-25 13:24

    Simple to navigate. Amazing job putting this application together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    Really quite poor. Regularly out of sync with the PC ver and provides outdated and misleading balance information. Interface and website navigation are not good with a fair degree of digging needed to search what you need. I would not rely on it for anything other than a rough estimate. Can hang even with full wireless connection signal. All in all really quite basic. ..added after response... re your response...."Thank you for the platitude"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    Amazing as far as online banking goes, can be slightly confusing about how to navigate. But user friendly at the same time. would recommend to developers the ability to sort by transfer out. if you created a recurring payment to a listed person, it would be nice to see all transactions for that person's. overall amazing online service

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    Easy and simple to use, now have paperless statements. Transferring between accounts is child's play, simple to hold track of in goings and out goings. Edit... had to factory restart my phone and reinstall the B app. Had to re-enter my info but the application won't let this, hold getting the message, "oops something went wrong, can you re-enter your details?" I don't know my customer reference number so opt for the other info entry selection and hold going round in circles. Frustrating!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    the apps OK primary functions really. I have seen other banking apps that place it to shame

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    B is a brilliant account. Its so simple to access and is simple to navigate round it. Im not amazing on computers but this acc is fine for everyone to use. I still am learning but would recommend this to everyone.Go on give it a go

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    love this simple to use app, helps me manage my finances. So simple to transfer to. Has saved me from having to close my acc when my local branch closed down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    Mediocre application that let's me check my account. Confusing and frustrating layout of you wish to do anything else. Also recently I have to log in twice every time I begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    ive had no issues with this application until now for some reason i cant deposit a cheque. the application camera just wont focus properly ive deleted the application reinstalled it thinking that would work but still nothing please sort it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    Extremely slow when updating payments gone out, making it difficult to hold a close eye on spending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    Application keeps crashing comes up with bearer realm token invalid when trying to begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    B [App]  2019-3-24 13:9

    love it. i would like to see summary pots but i am changing all my other accounts over to it!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386