Read royal london reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all royal london reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    Amazing album! BUT!I haven't seen any reviews of the actual hard copy of the CD and there are some problems to be aware of. I bought the CD because it has Badge and Sitting On Top Of The Globe in the song listing and you also obtain a free "Auto Rip" of the CD. So thinking that I am going to obtain the free download of ALL the songs listed on the CD I was rather surprised and disappointed when it actually turned out to be the MP3 ver of the album, no Badge, No Sitting On Top Of The World. Ok not earth shattering I guess but then when the CD arrives Sitting On Top Of The Globe is not on it , but the same gift track of Sleepy Time Time (Alternate)that is on the MP3 version. Really?!I realize it is probably the record companies doing this but Amazon should change their track listing for the CD eliminating Sitting On Top Of The World, and should also state that the digital download is the MP3 ver that is listed and NOT the CD ver that is Listed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    half speed Stan Rickter pressing.....3 ller sound and packaging for 23.99. This is NOT on colourful vinyl thank goodness but rather a Dutch import pressing by MOR.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    The unexpected Cream reunion in 2005 was only the second time that the trio had performed together in 37 years, the previous occasion had been in 1993 when Cream were inducted into the Hall of Fame. The performance went well, but there were no further moves to appear together, until Clapton initiated the process by sounding out the others in 2004. Expectations were high, almost impossibly high, given the legendary reputation of the group. However, as they explained in the interview on the DVD edition of the concert, it was not simply a replica of the melody they had made four decades ago. Sensibly, they didn't test to recreate the music, no longer were they a power trio, using stacks of amps and playing at a blistering pace, whose virtuosity meant that they were improvising almost continuously. (The first example this had happened in rock/blues, although there are precedents in jazz-The Bill Evans Trio with Scott La Faro and Paul Motion.) Instead of the power trio whose members appeared to be competing with each other, a more mellow group appeared; one that was more cohesive and unified because they weren't in competition. In these concerts, you can hear them listening and responding to each other,playing in a more mature and refined style. The highlights are the slow blues: 'Sleepy Time Time', Willie Dixon's 'Spoonful', and T. Bone Walker's 'Stormy Monday'. 'We're Going Wrong' is superior to the original on 'Disraeli Gears' and Capton's playing in particular is more incisive. The only song missing is 'Tales of Brave Ulysses', which did appear then they played in Fresh York. Clapton's playing has developed and Bruce's vocals are still evocative, although some of the soaring heights he once reached are no longer within reach. His fluid, dynamic bass runs are still to the fore, while Baker's propulsive style has been paired down to its essentials, hampered possibly by arthritis, but still mightily effective. Bruce has said he would like the three to reform to work on a studio album, and if touring is out of the question, this may be the best opportunity for the another reform. There's no reason why three improvising musicians of this caliber can't produce memorable music. A few originals, some blues standards, the potential is enormous. They should produce more melody together, more often, and not confine themselves to revisiting the past is a mouthwatering prospect.

    0  


    Add your opinion on royal london or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    First heard some of these live versions on Melody Choice cable television and knew it had to go into the collection. A must for any Cream, Eric, Jack or Ginger fan. Really liked Clapton's alternate solo from White Room after listening to the original solo for 50 years which is still very good. Gotta obtain this one!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    beautiful good, but not a goto album for me. Cream were for a short time the best live rock band that had ever been, and they are one of my favorite bands for workouts where energy is needed. Bootlegs like Detroit Grande Ballroom confirm. But the chemistry was unstable and its not really rekindled here because by 2005 Clapton just can't be shrunk to an equal in a 3 piece band. Its not his fault. The others need him for the money. Its a amazing song book, its played well, especially deserted cities, sleepy time, we're going wrong. But Cream were in their day young bucks performing cheerful upbeat "blues" mixed with polished, technically advanced psychedelic pop. Their point of pride was that they were better players than everybody else. They reveled in it. They can't really shake this primary optimism out of the melody once they begin playing it. I fond it immensely energizing. By 2005 (37 years!) they have been through enough of life that a lot of of their 1960s arrangements just don't fit the players. They have to play the songs differently. Its not their fault. But then I feel older too, and that isn't what i'm looking for from Cream.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    The story so far: 5 stars isn't r anyone who listens to this and says (like some misguided reviewers here) "It's not the same" or "The tempos are all wrong" or anything along the lines of "Those were the days" -- you need to obtain your hands on the DVD and listen to the interviews with Bruce, Clapton, and e could have done this with the full complement of whiz-bang they used back in the day, plus all kinds of modern electronics to emulate the massive post-production work of the studio albums. Clapton could have come out with a Les Paul and a bank of Marshalls, they could've had Yo-Yo Ma do the cello parts on "Deserted Cities of the Heart".They decided to do it as themselves, as they are and work now, using the tools they use now. No backing musicians. No effects, not even a wah-wah pedal in evidence. Just three musicians standing up there playing straight etty gutsy for a bunch of old geezers who haven't played together in more years than most of the people reviewing this CD have been ping about the accuracy of the renditions is simply idiotic: it's like complaining that Clapton didn't overdub himself on the ver of "Outside Woman Blues" on the fresh CD. Well, of course he didn't, nitwit! That was what you call a "studio effect", and there is no method to do that live without trickery.And carping about the more leisurely pace of some of the songs ignores two things about the original performances. Cream were not playing *with* each other, but *against* each other: the effect was bristling with energy, but they didn't sound so much like a band as a competition. And frankly, some of the melody suffered from being driven at 220 volts when it was really intended for ese performances are by mature artists who are actually... listening to each other, playing with and off each other. Every aspect of the performance -- vocals, pacing, musicianship -- is more relaxed, but what it's given up in methedrine intensity it's more than gained in depth, nuance, and sten to the 22-year-old Clapton singing "Outside Woman Blues", like a church choirboy, on "Disraeli Gears". Now listen to the vocal on the fresh CD. No comparison: that sweet small choirboy voice was just wrong for that song. Same thing for Bruce: his voice is almost as attractive as it was back then, but it's gained depth, and his vocals are more nuanced and sound like they're being experienced, not just n't obtain me wrong: the ver of "White Room" on "Wheels of Fire" will never be surpassed: the fluidity of the guitar line in the third verse is heartbreakingly beautiful. But the fresh ver stands on its y this experiment: suspend expectations, and just listen to these songs as though hearing them for the first time. Evaluate them on their own terms, without thinking "It's Cream" or "These are three *old* geezers." This is a fabulous band, masterful musicianship, amazing songs, regardless of whether they're 22 or 62. This is not a re-recording of "Disraeli Gears" -- it's a whole fresh W, anyone who dismisses this as being commercially-motivated: it was Clapton's idea, and he's doin' OK financially. He had to talk Baker into it. Part of the motivation, if you can believe Clapton, was that he missed playing this way; part of it, if you believe Baker, was that Bruce's latest serious illness got them thinking "If not now, maybe never".Aside from any other aspect of this reunion, it is unbelievable to see three musicians who were famously dysfunctional personally looking like they're finally enjoying playing together. To me, and to anyone who's been with Cream since the beginning, this alone would give the reunion value, even if it hadn't produced a amazing CD and an even better DVD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    CD2 was nowhere to be found. Jewel box was missing the 2CD holder. CD1 was loose inside the jewel box, so this appears to have been deliberate

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    Hard to believe that Disraeli Gears was the very 1st album I bought and to hear these songs from the late 60's performed by the original 3 and sound like it was just like back then amazed me..still does even improvs that add to its flavor. A must if you were ever a Cream fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    My favorite band! They reunited and sound just like they did in 68. Amazing tunes, not a dud on this. Even Toad makes the grade! A classic thru and thru.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Royal Albert Hall London May 2-3-5-6 2005 []  2020-12-16 21:56

    Who doesn't like "Cream?" We had not listened to this version- we heard part of it on the radio, so we decided to obtain the CD. It is so wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    Jesus Jones has gone almost purely rock-and-roll on this album, but unfortunately have performed terribly. On past albums like "Perverse" and "Doubt," the offered us an artistic, melodic rock and roll sound also, but intertwined with cool sound effects and often danceability. This album just doesn't "rock" at all -- It sounds like weak pretty-boy rock. Previously, their work had an artistic appeal that created them special among the bands, but these songs don't compare. There best album is definitely "Perverse," so this album is not for those fresh to Jesus Jones. This album is not recommened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    It has always amazed me how Jesus Jones dropped off the top of the album charts soon after the release of 'Real, Real, Real'. The newest cuts tend to fuel my amazement, but left me looking for the huge hit that would support to propel them back to the lofty heights where this band is cd is full of songs that please the listening palette, and by all means are much more engrossing to listen to than most other drivel currently dominating the charts. The first three tracks, 'Message', 'Stranger', and 'Rocket Ships of La Jolla', will have you thinking that they are at their best. Also, they seemed to stick the best tracks in a bookend style, because the latest 2 tracks ('Nowhere Slow' and 'In The Face of All This') are beautiful well done also.Speaking of the middle of the album however, there are a few songs ('A-Team', 'Half Up The Hill', and 'Getaway Car') that just seem like filler instead of real album tracks...more b-sides than amazing music.I would still recommend this album to anyone. Whether you are looking for a WELcome change from the ordinary or a refreshing fresh blast of songs from a amazing band, this is a ticket out of today's musical mediocrity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    Since it seems to be a 4-year wait between albums these days for Jesus Jones it can obtain tricky being a fan, but when I got this CD in the mail yesterday-- back to the old logo, old style liner notes with commentary from Mike Edwards, attractive graphic design-style art instead of that weird kiddy coloring of the latest album Already... what a iefly, this is an album that features Jesus Jones as a rock and roll band, first and foremost, which is not something you could really say about the usual one-man-band-and-a-producer style of old. The other major sound to the album comes from UK garage/ 2-step, which I suppose makes this the first 2-step/ rock crossover album. It's also kind of a dirty and grimy album, mostly about vehicles and bicycles and nights on the town. Here's a track run-down:1. Message-- Foo Warriors esque and non-dance-- very un-Jesus Jones-like, but tough and meaty.2. Stranger-- very fast, almost straight rock n' roll that reminds me a bit of oldie "Never Enough."3. Rocket Ships of La Jolla-- a favourite-- garage in the verse, rock in the chorus, apparently about seeing California as some kind of fantasy landscape.4. Asleep on the Motorway-- a re-worked [email protected]#$%!rack that has a lovely pop piano.5. Hello Neon-- another instant favourite, maximizing the rock / 2-step crossover. Goofy laughing samples abound.6. A-Team-- confusing, lo-fi deal that I haven't given a chance.7. Half Up the Hill-- Jesus Jones + nu metal? The concept sounds foreign but here we have it, and it redeems the whole genre.8. Princess of My Heart-- one sort of droning sound and a soft, high pitched acoustic guitar, lovely.9. Getaway Car-- the only nod to the Eastern sounds of previous Jesus Jones tracks, this doesn't have a lot of rock elements but a concise, goofy story to match the clipped, goofy vocoded voices. Like a humourous ver of Radiohead's "Packt Like Sardines..."10. To Obtain There-- almost standard sample-rock that is simply a amazing song about perseverance.11. Nowhere Slow-- more quick paced rock and roll the method everyone used to wish it, with more nods to 2-step.12. In the Face of All This-- strangely mentions a plane crash and Afghanistan, which may have or may not have been added to the final recording, as this record was released in late buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    Most of the reviews I write are for bands I've loved for a long time, like Jesus Jones, but the content of the CD is usually more of the same and the review is really preaching to the choir. This time that is not the case. In this album Jesus Jones has continued to expand stylistically but even more so than in their latest album. Mike Edwards still uses the same sampling and tech hooks that got him into melody in the first put but not nearly as much on this album as in albums past. The album sounds more like genuine rock 'n' roll than any other JJ album. The only non-positive thought I had about this as I listened to it is that some of thes songs vary from one style to another so much that unless you are very eclectic there will almost surely be at least one song on the album you won't like that. At the very least though that can be expected on almost every album. After listening to this album I realize that I found it worth the cash only because I'm such a long time fan. If you're a die hard fan of their earlier items you might not care for this one, if you hated their earlier items this might be the time to listen to them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    The latest JJ album 'Already' was unbelievable but sadly hardly anyone bought it ( I'm not even sure if it was released in the USA).'London' is equally amazing but also a small different.'Already' was a poppy commercial record by JJ standards, 'London' has had a lot of the electronic elements in the bands melody stripped away, they are still there but they have definitely gone for a rockier sound this time.Having said that, this is not a straight forward rock record, a couple of the tracks have rhythm tracks that are heavily influenced by the drum and bass/garage sound that has been going on in England over the latest couple of years. One thing that really stands out on 'London' as some other reviewers have mentioned, is Mike Edwards voice, his voice is in really amazing form .Please go buy a copy for everyone you know ( even your Gran ! ) and support to prove there is some justice in the globe !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    This album, released in August of 2001, is a much awaited upbeat shift in the lyrical pondering that Jesus Jones is known for. Rather than a totally grim evaluation of humanity's spiritual tendencies which seemed to color most of their previous album, 'Already', 'London' seems to be a sort of lightening up for them. Not like they are avoiding necessary issues, but rather, that they are ocassionally more OK with just putting out some good, solid, entertaining and fun dance tracks as well. Hopefully this a sign of even better things to come in future albums from digital rock Electronica pioneers Jesus Jones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London []  2020-1-23 3:21

    I am biased. I love this band and wait impatiently for thier records. That said, London is a non traditional album by Jesus Jones. The singer, Mike Edwards, is in real form but much of the techno wizardry has been srtipped away. Not to say that samples are all gone but the guitars peer through the mix much more clearly. The sounds of live drums also present the garage rock sound that jesus jones opposed durring thier early ninties success. LONDON IS A KEEPER. BUY THIS RECORD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Absolutely amazing application that i use constantly. best use is it can tell you what carriage to be in to line up with an exit or a connection so you're not battling hundreds of people!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    The best London underground map out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    In other words, this is a tube map that doesn't work on the tube. I'm fairly sure it used to until recently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    I use it every time I'm in London never allow me down yet. Would be to know which side to exit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    I've been using this application for ages and there's nothing not to like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    This application is OK, but the routing options are a bit confusing. Mxdata tube map pro is a far better application for London Underground

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Application is very fast, reliable and works amazing offline. I especially like the ability to know which vehicle on the train to obtain on... Saves a lot of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Love that it tells u where closest station exit is at destination station.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Recent modernize well no longer install on my galaxy note. Shame - was great Used to be great. Speed working 6th August

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Use this application whenever I am in london. It's spot on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Why the updated icon, this isn't iOS 7..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Amazing application and very well used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Amazing application helped me obtain everywhere :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Just downloaded ver. 2.1.1, 're GPS bug fix on Samsung Galaxy S111 which now takes longer to determine where the nearest station is, which was instantaneous on previous ver.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Probably best application but this latest week my live depature boards has stopped working. Is this just me? I use this often

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Works great. Route plane with real-time updated info from tfl at the touch of a button

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Journal []  2020-1-19 22:4

    Boswell is one of the amazing figures of English literature and raised the private journal to the status of literature. In this journal, he begins as a young man prior to his meeting Samuel Johnson. We watch him grappling with himself, watch him moving through British society as he tries to search a direction for himself. He loves the theater, loves popular men, wants to be popular himself. It is fascinating to see how modern this 18th century son of a severe Scottish laird is in his ability to reveal himself without restraint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In London []  2020-1-16 22:52

    My copy of "B.B. King In London" does not include any liner notes, so I don't know the info of who played on which track, but the label does list 28 various musicians that played on this CD. Of course, they all did not play on each track, but there was quite a pool to choose from in recording each of the 9 songs. It seems someone wanted a amazing number of names to support sell the music. I like B.B., so I don't need any added "celebrities" to convince me to buy his music. There are two instrumentals allowing B.B to jam with the London crew. On the others, B.B. is in amazing voice. The standout songs for me are: "Blue Shadows Falling", "Ghetto Woman", and "Ain't Nobody Home". That latest one I have on a 45 rpm single bought a lot of years ago and was a major reason for buying this CD--to have it on a quality pressing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Calling []  2020-1-18 23:45

    I don't think we need another review of London Calling after 30 years, but I did wish to comment on the Blu-Spec CD.On my mid-grade system, and to my ears, it does sound marginally better than any other CD of London Calling I have heard since 1986. There is extra clarity to the recordings with some extra depth and (perhaps) emphasized bass. It IS mastered loud, so don't expect an 80's-type digital mastering, and create sure your volume control is handy!I do not think that anyone who has experience with well-mastered SACDs or DVD-Audio discs will think this sounds better than either format, but since this seminal title is not available on either of those, this is the best 44.1/16 we s, these discs are pricey, and while I wouldn't rush out to replace my 1,000+ CDs with Blu-Spec, London Calling is my favorite album of all time, and I can live with the price for this version. Highly Recommended, but only if you really love the title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Horrible app. Lots of items does simply not work. Very slow and full of bugs. No casting support. Amazing content, but sadly it seems like Brian got a application developer from Fiverr to create this giant piece of garbage. Use YouTube or the website, this application is a waste of your time. Hope you do something about this Brian. You have so much potential and a working application would support you reach a larger audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Won't even download properly..... Brian love the pod casts you do, amazing guests but your media platforms are terrible. When I log on online it throws me out every 10 mins and your application won't download! These issues happen on android, Microsoft and apple programs, no matter what I do I am unable to fully have fun the amazing casts you have recorded. Can I suggest putting full episodes on YouTube rather than causing you fans to obtain halfway through an episode before forcing them to revert to a platform that won't work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Slowest application in the world. takes hours to load 30 seconds worth of video at a time on a 3 hr video

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    i thought i would of been able to viee the episodes from the application but that's not available. only the courses and programs that are there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    No find option. It frustrates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Can't see the contents! Love LR, but your application sucks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    its to slow buffer and buffer I don't have time for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Application does nothing but prompt users to enrol in courses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    horrible application no video only enroll courses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    There is only work. No episodes 😔

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    No episodes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    This application is just garbage. It poorly load web views. It is slow. Not reactive. It has pop ups like in the 90s. Go figure out how to login? Now there is a huge button in the menu to logout, which doesn't do much. I am a member of the tribe and I still have a huge button to join the tribe everywhere! My 2 cents: go to there www service and register to have access to the content, imo better no application than this very poorly done one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    Trash 🗑️🚫

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Prep []  2020-5-18 18:41

    Such a amazing read, I can’t wait for the second book! It’s the excellent light-hearted young adult romance with plenty of fun. Jillian is awesome at her descriptions and visuals - I always feel like I know the characters of her books SO well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Prep []  2020-5-18 18:41

    Jillian Dodd always does YA really well with her own flair and London Prep is no different. Mallory James is a foreign exchange student sent to the UK by her parents for three weeks. She is housed by a UK family whose son, Noah, also attends Kensington is book centres around her first week, where Mallory catches the attention of Harry, who just happens to be best mates with Noah and they also have another best mate called, e first week is eventful and Jillian Dodd covers a tough topic in this book as well as bringing together all the drama you would expect from a personal school. This has Keatyn Chronicles vibes, but with less drama and less llory is a powerful character, and she needs to be to keep her own with these guys. At the moment there are two true front runners for her affections and I know whose squad I am currently rooting for. I am worried about the three week time span, so am hoping that Mallory loves her time in the UK so much that it is is doesn't end with a cliffhanger but will leave you wanting more as the boys create their moves. Who will Mallory end up with?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary London []  2020-6-11 19:27

    As author Anthony Trevelyan says of Literary London: “A pungent sense of the capital on every terary London is an incredibly beautiful book with a scraper board cover design, engraved with authors and literary highlights of London, all in stunning black and white, and touches of blue for the river, and ochre in the title (and we rather niftily pick up the ochre theme at the British Library in London for our photo!).The research for this book must have been staggering. It charts the early days of literature from Chaucer, through Shakespeare to the modern day, all with a twist of insight, quirkiness and humour. This is quite a seminal book of literary London. It is punctuated with drawings and small maps and at the end of each chapter there are key addresses and recommended reading so you can look up the locations and people mentioned, and read the books listed for e general starting point is Chaucer. The Tabard Inn, which no long exists on Borough High Street, was the assembly point for his Pilgrims setting out on their adventures. The Tabard was in its day close to the George Inn (now owned by the National Trust) which is highlighted because it is the one remaining galleried structure in London, typical of the 17th century, where one can still obtain a flavour of the the times of Shakespeare, who naturally gets a amazing mention in the book. The George Inn is still a working pub today, and justifiably it is a amazing lure for e narrative smoothly moves forward and it is quite striking how the Amazing Fire of London on 2nd September 1666 (which has just recently been marked in the capital) caused such devastation, described by different chroniclers of the time, how the not good fire was very much part of the fabric of literary London of the time. This is followed by chapters full of more amazing names right up to the modern arming nuggets of the lives of the amazing and amazing have been selected throughout to add a true human dimension to what is essentially a chronicle of writers in the city. There is Pepys showering a maid with amorous intent in St Dunstan’s Church, and culinary ruminations on a kickshaw (a dish so changed by the cookery that it can scarcely be known), JM Barry writing in Bayswater about the Barrys, whose house was actually in Bloomsbury. And so it continues: Raymond Chandler, Joe Orton, Byron, Shelley, Lenin, Agatha Christie, Dorian Grey, the list never really e book is divided into sections, so it simple to dip in and out and read at leisure, and just soak up a particular period or theme.Whilst in the capital myself I was struck by how a lot of locations were of note and having read this book, it created me look around the town in a slightly fresh and various way…..Walking down Marchmont Road I visualised the odd ménage a trois between Lytton Strachey, Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf of the Bloomsbury Group (who were generally very free with their amorous liaisons). As I walked through Gordon Square I thought of Virginia Woolf, cited as belittling her neighbour Katherine Mansfield whilst they lived on that square. However, that was nothing compared to George Bernard Shaw and H G Wells when they decided to lock horns. I was really struck by how undermining the culture of the literati at that time was, scoring points at the expense of others and royally sticking the verbal knife into competitors and friends, just to obtain the upper hand. But then I reflected, is it much various today in politics today? Prime Minister’s Questions? Clinton vs Trump? It’s not an beautiful method of being, and am baffled that people still do it. But I digress…“Drinking and literature in London have always gone together” and as such El Vino in Fleet Road is described as an institution enjoyed by G K Chesterton (whose Father Brown series is set around London); and Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese has been a draw for several centuries (however, no-one ever seems to mention that this esteemed institution was once a brothel as well, and the only reason I know about that is because I have read an academic paper on the unbelievable wall tiles that were discovered there demonstrating in relief (no pun intended) the different positions available to clients).Not of course forgetting Paddington Bear who trotted around London and longed to be an assistant in Fortnum and Mason’s Marmalade Department (unfortunately that department doesn’t exist in true life, although the “Home of the Hamper” on Piccadilly certainly does very much exist).Literary London is an interesting and eclectic read that beautifully brings together the rich heritage of London writing life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London 1986 []  2020-7-5 19:54

    This is a must have for any Talk Talk fan. Unfortunately, only eight tracks from the concert but this is Talk Talk at their finest - live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Concert []  2020-11-24 19:59

    Betty Buckley just has one of the best Broadway voices there is. She can belt out a ballad like no other and when she introduces a fresh song, it remains hers forever. The BBC Huge Band is a unbelievable accompaniment to that awesome voice. When she sings Surabaya Johnny, she spins it in such a various direction, that its not like the same song at all that Bette Midler h are unbelievable in their own way. You cannot possibly not be moved by Memory or Send In the Clowns. Judy Collins rendition is also wonderful, buy Betty nails it. I loved this CD and highly recommend it. If the quality of the voice and the emotion behind it matters, you will love it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Concert []  2020-11-24 19:59

    I bought this for this one song but was pleasantly surprised by some of the other songs included. The only reason I gave it a 4 star is some of the songs I am not familiar with and the ver of Over You (from Tender Mercies) could be longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Superb application for someone like me who is in London only 3 or 4 times a year

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    So useful to have up to date info

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    I especially like the Min Map which shows journey times from your chosen station. So amazing I bough this ad free version!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Northern line Tottenham Court Street station needs to relink back to Central Line!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Used to be great, now I can't search departure boards

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    jubilee line doesn't stop at Bond str until early December, not only the application doesn't know that, I couldn't search any method of selecting an alternative route so i used the application as a picture of the underground map.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    ... Currently Gloucester Street via Piccadilly Line is not stopping until December 2014. Your map states that it is, please hold this amazing application up to date!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    The map needs updating - the bakerloo line now stops at embankment again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Love the 'extras' such as time between stations. Also very helpful to have updates on how well the tubes are running, and advance message of weekend closures. Well worth installing. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    London Underground Application Disappeared From My Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone ''But Now It's Back'' And Working Great, Apart From That Fact That There Is No Method To Re-Download It, Very Disappointing! By Truth Raider

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Had this years

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Amazing job lu

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Really useful app! I particularly love the feature that tells you which carriage to obtain on to interchange or exit each station quickly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Best one on the shop its top quality extremely helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Min map and exit information especially useful. For those trying to search the exit info, look under information for any station. Really hope they will let inclusion of national rail map too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    Amazing app! Any shortcuts you make for it will delete themselves on reset though, which is a small irritating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    3 stars. Use it lots, especially as an simple method to obtain weekend closures info. Its the best. HOWEVER, ICON KEEPS DISAPPEARING. Please fix this if possible. Galaxy s2

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Underground [App]  2019-9-22 13:43

    I've used this on other platforms too, still amazing on Android. Eeloable AMD accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Unfolds []  2020-1-8 19:31

    Amazing detail and very helpful in getting around London!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Calling []  2020-1-18 23:45

    Amazing album, obviously. More importantly, amazing seller. Quality product delivered quickly. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Prep []  2020-5-18 18:41

    What a amazing adventure! I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I have to say thank you to Jillian Dodd (author) and the publisher for allowing me to join their early readers. I am an avid fan of books that let me to step outside of my own background. I live in the U.S. and this book is based in London. I attended public school and this story takes put in what appears to be a personal school. It is amazing to read a book that takes the reader out of their comfort location and does a amazing job of showing them a various pont-of-view. I considered going to personal school but, I wanted to stay with my friends. That was no longer a choice when I went to high school but, even with various types of school the same problems pop up like not wanting to do sports. I was voted the most non-dressing student in gym class as I always had an excuse for why I couldn't participate, well until I was forced to participate. I do relate to Mallory quite a bit.Another striking thing about London Prep is seeing that students that go to personal school and that live in London have the same problems in their family lives as U.S. students. It is interesting that despite how divergent our country's paths were some things are quite similar. Mallory did point out how various some things were also. I can attest to the amazing coffee in London as I found one as soon as I arrived for a visit a few years ago and created it my home away from hotel. Since it was directly across from the Victoria and Albert Museum, there was some amazing people watching to be done Prep is a funny book at the same time that it can be heartbreaking. It is hard to understand sometimes why adults don't always consider their actions and sometimes it is the case that families see everything as family business. But, when does something supersede or become more necessary than keeping things secret within a family? London Prep successfully highlights home situations that students have everywhere. For example, it is hard for a student to concentrate on school work and socializing when they don't have meal to eat at home, a family member is sick, or any number of trying family situations. London Prep provides amazing characters who are well-written and that the reader can relate to regardless of age differences. It is the begin of a amazing series and I really look forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Prep []  2020-5-18 18:41

    I absolutely loved London Prep, the first book in a fresh series. Jillian Dodd has a special method of telling a story. I have been a large fan since I read That Boy. She quickly became a must read author for llory lives in Fresh York and loves her life there. When her parents inform her, she’s going to London for three weeks in a student exchange program she isn’t happy. Her host family has a son her age. She has a hard time figuring out Noah, he goes from hot to cold. When he is nice to Mallory, she likes ah has two best friends, Harry and Mohammad. Noah didn’t know that Harry and Mallory had met the first day she arrived. Noah isn’t sure how he feels about the close relationship Mallory is forming with his friends. He is worried she will come between them. The only issue is Mallory has chemistry with both Harry and ter the ending of this book I can’t wait to search out what is going to happen with Mallory and this fresh group of friends. This was the excellent YA read full of drama and hot boys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary London []  2020-6-11 19:27

    I found the book full of interesting tidbits and atmospheric descriptions which created me wish to return to London to visit the locations mentioned where the old writers drank and argued, schemed and entertained, and most importantly, shared with others all that London has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In London []  2020-1-16 22:52

    Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London 1986 []  2020-7-5 19:54

    First, create no mistake Talk Talk is a top contender for my favorite melody groups to have ever existed. Their debut album holds small interest to me because of it's dated synth sounds and pop covering. Their remainder of recordings to me got better and better until the final Laughing Stock album which is a timeless, deep and ethereal is London 1986 concert took put on thier final tour between the Colour of Spring and Sprit of Eden albums. While Colour of Spring is another 5 star album this live album reveals a whole various breath of life and risk that actuly makes the studio recordings sound comparably boxed e power and impact of Give it up here is simply unbelievable and Does Caroline Know flows with an openess of life that the studio ver pales in comparison to, it's like live we're hearing what these songs really sound like. (BTW- Onetime Peter Gabrial bandmate and ace-guitarist david Rhodes plays the e-bow (a sort of magnetic guitar pick) guitar leads on the previously mentioned two st, if not all the drums/percussion is done live (not programmed)with a few exceptions. Most of the playing is done with taste and restraint. Tag Hollis' vocals are imperfect, vulnerable, moving and give me earantly there was a video of this concert that was released in Italy back in it's day but nowhere else. I've seen the Give it Up video chop from this present and it's great. The audience is ever show and are part of the show, the acoustics of the mid-sized Hammersmith Odeon ring beautifully and play a part in the performance itself. The recording is more raw and true rather than polished or is present is top of my list for historic concerts that I want I could go back in time and e live album for me brings these already amazing songs into an honest, begin s? well, sometimes you can hear the edits between songs (out of sequence)and I want this was longer and released as the whole concert! I'm guessing this disc covers about half of the show.Excellent, if you already love and appreciate the It's my Life and Colour of Spring albums then this live album will give you an even better appreciation for the songs and a whole fresh aural vantage rk Hollis is a real artist with depth, integrity and the need to move forward, hence we will probobly never see a real Talk Talk concert ever come to take put in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Exceptional. I am grateful brian took the advice, so manny had given.with making sure the application reflects his energy and goals. The application now functions well the ui is a lot tighter and more refined. The functions work as expected. Overall the layout has been place back together in a more fashionable manner. Congrats brian and the dev team. You really have out done yourself once again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    I love Brian and London true it's just I dunno what's wrong with the application I've logged in using facebook there and when I go to episodes or anything it's not calling the function dev will need to have a look bit of messed up code somewhere

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    There should be offline feature to download and play later ob this apo as well as play later when we left off

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Have fun the videos on YouTube but the application doesn't work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    this is simply a giant advert for selling stuff. do not download if you think you can just click on items abd watch it. its obvious now why its rated at 2.5 and falling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Could not log in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Amazing Content Brian!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    Took to long after down LOADED...uninstalled

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    useless

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    Love what's it has to offer. Hate how it's offered. True poor app. Everything from logging in to watching is true painand time wasting. Love to donate or buy this application of the trial ver is good. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    Best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:38

    Inspirational

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Journal []  2020-1-19 22:4

    It's rather fascinating to look at London from such an intimate perspective, but I got true tired of being in Boswell's head after a few months (of his entries).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Journal []  2020-1-19 22:4

    Prior to 1950, Boswell was known to us primarily as the biographer of Samuel Johnson and, to a lesser extent, for his acc of his 1773 trip (with Johnson) titled A JOURNAL OF A TOUR TO THE HEBRIDES. But in 1950, a number of his journals were discovered and subsequently published by Yale and McGraw-Hill, under the following titles:--BOSWELL'S LONDON JOURNAL, 1762-1763--BOSWELL IN HOLLAND, 1763-1764--BOSWELL ON THE GRAND TOUR : GERMANY AND SWITZERLAND, 1764--BOSWELL ON THE GRAND TOUR: ITALY, CORSICA, AND FRANCE, 1765-1766--BOSWELL IN SEARCH OF A WIFE, 1766-1769--BOSWELL FOR THE DEFENCE, 1769-1774--BOSWELL: THE OMINOUS YEARS, 1774-1776--BOSWELL IN EXTREMES, 1776-1778--BOSWELL, LORD OF AUCHINLECK, 1778-1782--BOSWELL: APPLAUD OF THE JURY, 1782-1785--BOSWELL: THE ENGLISH EXPERIMENT, 1885-1789--BOSWELL, THE GREAT BIOGRAPHER, 1789-1795Taken in their entirety, these journals are a special and revealing portrait of a man and his times. No single volume among them, however, can do justice to the fullness or vivacity of this truly remarkable individual. Intelligent, witty and charming, he could at times also be puritanical, ambitious, and a hypochondriac -- and even, yes, a libertine. In other words, in toto, Boswell comes across as a real, true-to-life, complex, flesh-and-blood person, warts and erefore, BOSWELL'S LONDON JOURNAL is but the hint of the revelatory iceburg, so to speak, but it is representative of those that follow. Very readable, frank, and open, it serves as a window to the daily life of a man of Boswell's social standing in the mid-1700's. It is, perhaps, somewhat reminiscent of Samuel Pepy's DIARY, written a century earlier (and only later discovered); it's a classic work some readers may want to consider and compare to this one. Speaking of comparisons, my introduction to this book was for a high school English assignment (a amazing a lot of years ago); I was to read, compare, and contrast BOSWELL'S LONDON JOURNAL to Daniel Defoe's faux JOURNAL OF THE PLAGUE YEAR. I enjoyed both books, but especially Boswell's, so much so that I subsequently sought and read as a lot of of the other Boswell journals as I was able to obtain. (Alas, I'm still 3 shy, though I did read a lengthy, summary volume of them.) Not everyone may be so captivated by this book, but those interested in 18th century London or in James Boswell should at least give it a try. You will likely be pleasantly : A less expensive ebook edition is available in a Dover Thrift edition, and a very afforable, used, hardcover copy can probably be purchased online or in a used bookstore (remember them?).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Concert []  2020-11-24 19:59

    I love Betty Buckley when she Focuses on Broadway Compositions. To me this Album is Bettyat her Best. The Magnificent Assortment, The accompanying Orchestra of the Highest ty was Starring in SUNSET BOULEVARD at London's West End when she gave this Performance. You can tell how Happy, Thrilled and On Top of the Globe she was. This Albumhas everything a Lover of what True Broadway Performance is. The Best Betty Buckley album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Concert []  2020-11-24 19:59

    The very best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Concert []  2020-11-24 19:59

    Amazing CD quick shipping *****

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Can't obtain the application to work at all. Was hoping to search a method to cast your films to a screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    London Real [App]  2020-4-7 21:37

    Would love a Cast option... I love LondonReal!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386