Read saint kateri tekakwitha reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all saint kateri tekakwitha reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Interesting look into St Kateri's life. It vividly explains the culture and the various points of view of the French and the Mohawks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Professor Greer's book is not a hagiography; he shows the historical period the saint was born into. I found it to be an perfect book about Kateri and the people who knew her, Jesuits and Iroquois alike. Most interesting are the drawings by the Jesuits showing life at Canawagha. The author also goes into the early period of devotion to Kateri. I am especially satisfied that the publishers used the true portrait of the saint on the cover, not a saccharine illlustration. Amazing book, looking forward to reading his others!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    This gem of a book approaches all of its topics with deep humanity and keen intelligence. Some of Greer's conclusions will inevitably be controversial, given the topic matter. But having read tons of academic history books on natives and Europeans, I know of only a few that unfold with such wisdom and scholarly maturity. Latest point -- my college students love this book as well.

    0  


    Add your opinion on saint kateri tekakwitha or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    I was hoping that I would like this book. After all, it is about one of my favorite saints - a long time before she was canonized. While I know that this book allows the historical context of the era in which it was written, I am sorry to say that I do not like it. The author chooses to take a patronizing and condescending tone. Other reviewers are right when they say that the author brings her does not talk about some of the reasons she became a saint. Kateri - and yes, I am calling her Kateri, not "Catherine", a name which I had never heard used until this book - had an awesome devotion to the Eucharist. She walked to Mass every day despite the weather. She served others, Christian and non-Christian alike. She is a shining example of a amazing Christian for every age. Why couldn't the author focus on what matters?Honestly, it was a book that I had to read for class. Otherwise, I think I want I wouldn't have gotten it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Greer's book is a fascinating dual biography of Catherine Tekakwitha, a 17th century Mohawk woman, and Claude Chauchetiére, the French Jesuit who knew her and became her hagiographer. It functions as a microhistory, using the encounter of Tekakwitha and Chauchetiére as a window into the processes of conversion and colonialism in Fresh France. It stands out in its creative use of source material, fine-grained ysis, and clear and concise writing.Unlike other reviewers, I do not view Greer's attempt to humanize Tekakwitha - to situate her life in the time, place, and culture in which she lived - as an effort to challenge modern devotion to her. She can be understood as a historical figure, whose life (including her conversion and devotion to Christianity) was shaped by both strong impersonal forces and individual decisions, beliefs, and relationships, *and* as a Saint revered by millions around the globe.I cannot recommend the book enough for anyone hoping to learn more about the Mohawk Saint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    This is not a biography of the humble young Mohawk woman whose courage, holiness, faith, and purity earned her (as thousands who know and love her truly believe) that put in Heaven. This book, in the author's own paraphrased words, is meant to "bring Tekakwitha down from heaven." (And it is part of a gloomy trend to do just that - to as much as one can to bring one's topic down.) And, thankfully, despite over two hundred pages of trying, he has not succeeded in dragging her ere are people who were primarily historic figures and those whose lives are mainly of religious significance. Blessed Kateri (or Catherine, as the author prefers to call her) Tekakwitha was very clearly the latter. But this book approaches her from the former point of view, making her a postmortem pawn in the Jesuit's missionary work among the natives in Canada. The mystical and the supernatural (from a religious view) are ignored. The author seems even unwillingly to use the title of "Blessed" in reference to one point, the author even seems - in a very subtle method - to imply the Kateri and her closest mate (Marie-Therese Tegaiaguenta)were lovers. If, as he writes, there is "no reason to think they were lovers," why mention it at all? What does it serve?The author dwells on each and any discrepancy in the original accounts by the two missionaries who knew Kateri during the latest years of her life. (Even the Bible - in all its different famous translations - has its discrepancies.) Any story of any person, any acc of any happening is bound to have differences when told by two various witnesses. That alone is not enough reason to discount the differences.His grim portrait of Kateri in no method accounts for the amazing numbers of people (not only Native Americans, but from around the world) who have a profound love for this holy young woman.I can speak from my own experiences and observations that she has had a amazing impact even on people who knew small or nothing of her.Historians may search this book of interest, but for those who have a devotion to this unbelievable saint-to-be, there is small to recommend it.On a private level, I have been studying the life of Blessed Kateri for a number of years. My private collection contains nearly a hundred works of literature on her. These range from reprints of the original biographies by Fathers Chauchetiere and Cholonec to fluffy, sentimentalized (to the point of being quite ridiculous) books for young readers.I am also the creator of the web website mentioned on page 241 of this fresh book. I work for and look forward to the day when she is finally declared a saint.I pre-ordered this book a lot of months ago and read it with an begin mind as I am always eager for fresh info on her life. For me, it was a dull read (the narrative flow seems uneven) with left me unimpressed (not with Catherine Tekakwitha) and with a very unpleasant taste.Historians, cultural anthropologists, and the politically correct may search something of interest in this dry and dreary book, but for those who have a devotion to this unbelievable saint-to-be, there is small to recommend it.(I gave it one star because there is no lesser option and, well, my website was mentioned in the Notes to Chapter 9. I suppose I owe it something.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Possibly the best book I’ve read on the era. More than a biography — yet a amazing one — the book is about the broader culture and missionizing. It is a book *about* religion, but not a book *of* religion, as some negative reviewers here seem to have wanted it to be. It is history, and scholarship, and it treats faith seriously and with respect. It draws on the tools of scholarly evidence, and it is beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekakwitha and the Jesuits []  2020-1-19 23:19

    A book about a saint by an unbeliever, no matter what a amazing researcher he is,is bound to miss some of the most necessary elements there and that is exactly where this book falls short. Allan Greer doesn't understand Catholic thinking, despite his being very convinced he does. He bends over absolutely backwards to test to ascribe a mundane or base motive for everything everyone did (that might otherwise be considered holy or virtuous or even just commendable). e.g.: "Writing for a French audience, Chauchetiere gives the impression that Tekakwitha played the part of the selfless and humble servant, fetching meals for the men of her household. Yet her dispensing duties could be interpreted quite differently. Among the Mohawks, meal was under the control of women, and so the gesture of serving may well have contained an element of asserting female power over male appetites." p. 43 The premise of the book is promising and the history well researched but if you are looking for a book to support you understand the real motivation behind the actions of these saintly people, this is not it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    I've been reading Sarah Dessen's novels for years. In fact, I think I'm to the point that there isn't a single book of hers I haven't ssen's book tend to follow a fairly related narrative template, and Saint Anything was no exception. However, even though she tends to use the same sort of progression, there's always something special to each and every book she writes. Not to mention, I love that she always manages to tie a fresh book back to a previous one (even if it's just a reference to an old character, in passing).Right off the bat, I liked the idea that the main hero wasn't so much in the limelight as other protagonists have been in her stories. Even more various was the fact that there was so much trouble, at the heart of the story, coming from a sibling. While usually there's at least some sort of connection to a brother or sister, it's usually not the root of the underlining problem; it's just another situation that is handled as the story goes on. I liked that the problem of her brother's arrest, and what happened before and after, was weaved throughout the st importantly though is what my favorite part of the whole novel was. Usually, the cliche of Dessen's novels is the girl meets a guy, guy sets her on a fresh path, changes her world, girl and guy fall in love, fall apart, then end up satisfied together. Saint Anything took a roundabout method to obtain there; instead, she meets Layla first, who becomes her best friend, and then slowly leads her to everything else. It was certainly a breath of new air. Overall, I felt like the book focused more, for a change, on friendships and family than the romance, unlike most of her other works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    "Cauchon: If you dare do what this woman has done - set your country above the holy Catholic Church - you shall go to the fire with her."So speaks a more engaging, complex executioner of the legendary young soldier place forth by Bernard Shaw in "Saint Joan." Even if the Bi place Joan to death for political reasons he likely believed that her execution was just. The Catholic Church's issues with Joan lingered for nearly 500 years. Her active assertion of nationalism as a holy endeavor intuited by her own judgment undermined the Catholic church's political authority, and yes, presaged the Reformation, even if Joan was not a Protestant (Shaw labels her "anti clerical").And she willingly asserted a non-traditional feminine role (soldiering and politicking), which by its nature needed non-traditional feminine behavior and dress. Reviewers who say that Joan wore armor to hold from being raped are half right, since Joan's soldiering included such hazards, like being wounded. But she thrived in it too. In fact, I agree with Shaw that the voices spurring her on were Joan's own subconcious, but that is another debate...Those who are skeptical of Shaw's ideas would do well to consider the year of her Canonization: 1920. It's no accident that a year after the Amazing War, in which the world's powers successfully mobilized versus each other in the name of Nationalism (the churches providing prayers and getting out of the way), Catholicism threw up its hands and recognized the genius of the French teenager. This too as women had been called on in help roles like nurses and ambulance drivers, and were being enfranchised by their European and American e play itself is typical Shaw - bright, smart, very worthwhile. None of the play's acts goes on too long. None is weak, except for Act III on the eve of the war of Orleans, but Shaw is Shaw and seems embarassed by the warlike bluster. Joan herself, as others have observed, often speaks in lines that are taken directly from the trial transcripts. When she doesn'@#$%!& usually to give her a flash of wit that rarely seems contrived. This is Joan for grown-ups. And it is Joan for the 21st century: post-modern, the old sentiments place so reccomended: Regine Pernoud's books. If you need to hear what a pretty, chaste, tear-provoking, goody goody of a girl Joan was buy Tag Twain (I myself donated that volume to the public library when I was 17).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    A must read for those interested in the life of Joan of Arc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    Remarkable play. Not only for its worth but relevance. Brilliant and funny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    Unbelievable book to introduce kids to the roots of St. Valentine's Day. Perhaps qualifies as historical fiction, but well based on facts known. We have used the book to remind the kids that Christians originally spent St. Valentine's Day in prayer for martyrs - not for sending love notes and chocolates. They also have fun looking for glimpses of modern day Valentine traditions: notes, flowers, kindness. The mosaic illustrations are attractive reminders of the ancient Rome in which Valentine lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    Love, love, love this album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    She is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Saint []  2021-4-6 22:38

    This was very amazing book I love these 2 this author writes amazing storys

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    I have all of Dessen's books up to this point, so I was incredibly excited for this one. I wasn't particularly happy with the main character, Sydney--I have always enjoyed Dessen's ability to create her seemingly weak characters strong, to search themselves and their ability to speak up for themselves (a la Just Listen), but she just didn't manage to do that with Sydney. I found her incredibly irritating for most of the book. I rather want she had fleshed out her side characters more--Mac and his family were so much more intriguing than the main hero and her family. I also felt like nothing ever got resolved between Sydney and, well, anyone, but most notably her parents.Overall, Saint Anything fell a small short of some of her other works, but as always it was an enjoyable read (Dessen's style of writing has always been one of my favorites). Typically with her novels, I walk away with something meaningful to mull over, some sort of lesson and piece of myself that I can reflect on, but this one was just a straight-forward read with no takeaways. Still, I definitely recommend adding it to your Dessen collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    The mosaic style of the illustrations casts the mind back to yesteryear even without reading the story. For those who know and love the tale of St Valentine, who was historically a martyr of the early Church in Rome, this book presents a primary overview of his story for young readers without upsetting them with the info of the harsh reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    Gave to my son for Valentine's Day! It is a amazing holiday but know he knows why he is celebrating! We liked it so much we got the book on Saint Patrick too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    I was interested in this book because of my love of Valentines Day and the lore of the begin of the saint Feast Day. I was pleasantly surprised by the attractive illustrations that look like mosaics. I am so glad a quality religious subject comes in a fun and child friendly package.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    I was re-introduced to St. Joan by the National Theatre Live broadcast of a modern dress production from London's Donmar Playhouse. Rereading the book after a lot of years reminded me of Shaw's genius. It's a fast, fun, thought-provoking read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    This album is gorgeous. Sara has evolved and grown over the years and it shows in this album. Saint Honesty, Fire, Orpheus, and Wicked Love are my favorites but all of them are special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    Attractive in every way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Saint []  2021-4-6 22:38

    Love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Saint []  2021-4-6 22:38

    Saint was willing to do whatever he required to love and protect Amara. He just required her to give him a chance. Fast read that ends in a HEA. Can't wait to read Scamp's story!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    ~4.5/5It should be no surprise that I loved this book. I went in knowing that I would, with no doubt of it being amazing. I’ve loved all of Dessen’s books at this point, and she can do no is is one of the first books that took me like a week to read, though. Usually they’re done in a day, but sadly work got in my way, over and over is is about Sydney, who’s always felt invisible, especially next to her older brother. He’s always the center of attention, even when he got in trouble. And then he did something really bad, and suddenly Sydney’s getting more attention. She changes schools, distances herself from her friends, and stumbles upon some fresh ones.I liked Sydney. I understood her struggle, why she gave into her parents so much and why she wanted to war them, and why she chose to war when she did. I understood her feelings of guilt and anger, and I really liked when she finally found people who really saw her and liked her.Her parents were really frustrating, ignoring her and then trying to decide everything for her. It drove me insane the method her mother acted about what her brother did, but I liked how he finally did something about it, and how that allow him and Sydney form a relationship again. They frustrated me so much, but especially because I understand it and know how realistic that is. They’re complex characters, and they did what they thought they should. Then there’s Ames, who is creepy and won’t leave, and finally gets what he deserves, thankfully.I loved the Chatham’s, and her fresh friends. They’re definitely a Dessen-made family. Sydney found a very amazing mate there, Layla, and she also found Mac, who is so sweet. He’s quiet and observant, and he sees Sydney. He’s exactly what Sydney needs, and I really enjoyed their friendship and then romance as it grew. I liked how it was subtle and slow, but apparent and then so necessary to them both.I love the balance that Dessen creates. There’s friendship, there’s family struggles and attention, there’s romance, there’s finding out who you really are among all these things.I don’t know if this one stands out the most of her books, as I definitely have favorites, but it’s definitely worth it, and it will be one I’ll re-read. I loved it, like I love all of her books. And I will be waiting eagerly for her next one.[More of my reviews are available on my blog, Geeky Reading, to which there's a link on my profile.]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    Grade: BPassive good-girl Sydney has always been in her older brother's shadow, even more so now that he's in prison. When she meets siblings Layla and Mac, and their family embraces her, she finally feels like people see her as Sydney, rather than Peyton's sister. Her relationship with her fresh mates might be in jeopardy when she starts falling for Mac and Peyton's creepy mate starts making her increasingly uncomfortable, everything just might fall apart.I've only read one other Sarah Dessen book, and I disliked it, so I was wary about SAINT ANYTHING, but pleasantly surprised to like it as much as I did. Narrator Sydney was a a bit too passive and boring, but I could easily see how her family shaped her to be the method she was. I was most bothered that she didn't tell her parents about Ames's creepiness, or that Layla didn't suggest going to her own mother for advice. I guess it's hard when the inappropriate behavior is as subtle as his. I thought the secondary characters were mostly more interesting than ssen dialogue and prose felt simple and natural, and I'll probably check out more of her books in the EMES: family, friendship, juvenile justice, siblings,SAINT ANYTHING is a story about the adjustment a teen and her family go through to her brother's incarceration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    Absolutely loved this book. I read a lot of Sarah Dessen and I have to say that this created my top 3 (The Truth About Forever and Along for the Ride are the other two). Sydney was relatable and so simple to like and empathize for. She wasn't stupid and didn't create you shake your head thinking, why would you even do that? Or 'why aren't you doing/saying something?' She's believable. Yet she's various and she's got her faults, but you can understand her and her various decisions. Dessen did a amazing job with the MC.And the love story - love, love Mac. You don't obtain bombarded with him (but we seldom do when it comes to Dessen and her male leads). Instead, his presence is always justified, and you obtain just enough of him to understand why Sydney does begin to fall for him. And then you yourself fall for him, e family situation is one that I really loved in this book. It was really well done in my opinion, with just the right amount of frustrating actions from everyone to create you really care about the story and its characters.Would I recommend this? Yes, yes, DEFINITELY YES.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    This book is by no means religious. I was disappointed that there was only one line mentioning that Saint Valentine was a priest. The story also ended very abruptly. I realize it was written for kids and is unpleasant that this holy man was killed, but he is a martyr. We teach kids from a young age that Christ was place to death, so it makes sense that a lot of of His followers were also. Especially now, with Christians all over the globe being persecuted and executed for their faith, mentioning his martyrism would be appropriate. I bought for my 6 yr old Goddaughter, still waiting to hear if she enjoyed the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    Reading Level: 5.4*SPOILER ALERT*Valentine is a doctor who works for whatever his patient can afford which sometimes is nothing at all. However, he hides a dark secret: instead of following the Pope, he is a Priest of the Christian faith. One day, a jailer brings his blind daughter to him for assistance. Valentine refuses payment as he cannot guarantee that his treatment will work. His faith ultimately leads to his death when the Emperor orders that Christians be executed. The jailer comes to visit and says there is nothing he can do to help. He sends a letter home with him to his daughter that simply reads "from your Valentine" along with a Crocus. The kid can see the flower for the first time and realizes she is cured. A historical note at the end of the story info the reason behind Valentine's death, his rise to Sainthood, and how the holiday came to OpinionI am always leery of religious materials in the classroom but the religious aspect was more of a side note relating to the reason for his death rather than an emphasize of the book. The tile mosaic pictures are interesting and colorful. Due to its length, the book can be read in its entirety very quickly. 'I like lots of info and would have liked to see more in the story. I think this is a amazing read-aloud story for 1-3 graders; the vocabulary is too difficult for them to read on their own. When I read this with my 4&5 graders, they thought the story was merely okay. We used cut-up paint chips (free from Home Depot, etc) to make mosaic valentine pictures that came out cute as an extension to the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    at his comic best for his final masterpiece. Joan was burned at the stake, by the Church as a Heretic, and 400 years later declared a Saint by the same Church. Not only an entertaining History lesson, but a brilliant acc of the teenage Saint. Shaw's Ironic Irish take on the Trial is priceless. He takes on Christianity with a clear and playful eye. If you liked Pygmalian (My Fair Lady) you will love this play. Very readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    Shaw's keen understanding of French Patriotism as illustrated in Joan of Arc story transcends borders, cultures, languages and skin colors. The legacy of Joan's heroism, her vision and her love of humanity and her country still haunts both Western and Eastern civilizations in each individual's effort to fulfill his "duties" in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    So calming

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Saint []  2021-4-6 22:38

    You are going to love Saint and Amara!This story was so sweet and hot at the same time! It's a short read and well written. It features a hot guy name Saint who is a blue collar worker who works as a steel worker. He has been obsessed with Amara for a long time, watching her every move. Saint doesn't know why, but he loves watching her teach students ice skating. He dreams of a family of his own with Amara and believes that she will be his to take care of!Amara is an ice skater teacher. She loves kids, and keeps to herself. She has a father who is not a very nice man, and would jeopardize any relationship Amara has or anyone she loves. This makes for a lonely life to live and keeps Amara int gets the opportunity to interact with Amara, and falls head over heels in love with Amara. Saint convinces Amara that he will protect Amara with his whole being and so fourth. This relationship is quick paced with drama and action!Loved Amara and Saint and can't wait for the next book by Aria Cole & River West!5 - stars all the way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    After reading books I normally write my reviews right away so I don't forget anything. But with this one I had to wait a few days and sort my feelings out on paper before I turned this review in. It wasn't really what I was expecting, but I say that in the most pleasant method possible. Since I've heard so much about Sarah Dessen being the queen of contemporary romance, I was expecting the swoons to be over the moon. Unfortunately, the romance was swoony, but it wasn't all that I was expecting. What was awesome though, was the realistic nature this story was written."I was used to being invisible. People rarely saw me and if they did, they never saw me, and if they did, they never looked close. I wasn't shiny and charming like my brother, stunning and graceful like my mother, or intelligent and dynamic like my friends, That's the thing though. You always think you wish to be noticed. Until you are."pg. 3 (e-ARC) Parents will always say they don't ignore you, they just tend to support the kid that may need them more. (But in this case, Sydney's parents were no different. All they were focused on was Peyton and all his mess ups. But as those mess ups obtain worse and worse, there's nothing else they can do but allow the law handle it. Even then, Sydney isn't the one they're looking at. Until she is. And by then, things are already out of control."Across the courtyard, someone laughed. Two girls in field hockey uniforms passed by, one on the phone, the other opening a piece of gum. Happy, normal lives going on in happy, normal ways, in a globe that was anything but. Once you realized this, experienced something that created it crystal clear you couldn't forget it. Like a face. Or a name. However you first learn that truth, once it's with you, i never really goes away."pg. 75 (e-ARC) I've only read That Summer by Dessen and that one wasn't too impressing. So when I read "...is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?" I knew it would be good. The romance wasn't really there and at first I was upset about that because I've heard so much about Dessen's swoony boys and it didn't obtain swoony till super late in the book. But someone told me that Dessen's books are normally about family and other relationships and it created me appreciate the book even more. And as it turns out, that makes a lot more sense because the realism in this book was surreal. It looks like she's become the fresh Queen of Realistic Fiction. From the food, to the friendships, to the romance, it felt like a film and not a book."I would have loved to know how it felt, just once, to have something fall apart and see options instead of endings."pg. 245 (e-ARC) The romance in this one was ok, but not the best. Mac has his swoony moments, but he won't be one I write home about. But that was because this book focused more on Sydney as a character. Her friendship with the people from both schools, the relationship between her and her family, and latest but not least, the relationship between her and her brother. Having not read a lot of books where the main hero and her various relationships are the main focus, it was a very welcome change."Funny how the globe works. You don't obtain the something you really covet, but then the universe provides unexpected compensation."pg. 389 (e-ARC) Latest but not least, the writing in this one was what MADE this book for me. After reading Dessen's very first book and then reading her most recent, I was able to see the difference of her writing styles from the beginning to the most recent. And I can clearly see the difference. Everything in this felt so descriptive and created me feel all the emotions that Sydney felt as if I were her. I was pleasantly surprised to see it wasn't as MG-ish as the first. I can't wait to see what else she has in store."You obtain used to people being a certain way; you depend on it. And when they surprise you, for better or worse, it can shake you to your core."pg. 407 (e-ARC) This book is the the twelfth book by Sarah Dessen but only the second of hers I've read. This one book alone has changed my view on her. It created me wish to read everything else by her. If they're all filled with the swoony times, cool families and friendships, and all the realism, like this one, there is about 100% possibility that I will read them all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    Saint Anything, by Sarah Dessen, is written from the point of view of the main character, teenager Sydney, who feels invisible. Her brother, once considered the “star” of the family, is in prison after a drunk driving accident. Everyone knows everyone in Smalltown America, so Sydney feels she is in the spotlight… people are not kind to r some young people, the only method to survive is to be the “good child.” Lest any reader think that she is to blame for this state of mind, I suggest that parents read about what happens when they don’t know how to handle a issue AND refuse or do not even think about getting help. We readers know right away that Ames is trouble, that Dad never contradicts Julie (Mom), that Julie tries to mother her kids by hovering over them. When Sydney makes a huge mistake in judgment, Julie punishes her daughter severely, does not listen, and continues to spend her time planning visits with the imprisoned Peyton, who does not wish her to come..We know what it’s like to search another adult – an aunt or mate – who understands and does not judge us. Fortunately, Sydney finds a family where she’s a welcome visitor, amazing friend, helper. A few mates understand renting is not about hanging on, but about – small by small – letting go. We wonder why Sydney seems to have excellent self-control, and never spouts out her anger at the parents. This is the 21st century, and teenagers talk back. We wish Sydney to be powerful, to do something brave and bold. We need to read and see. I will be checking out more of Sarah Dessen’s fine YA fiction, and recommend that young adults and parents read this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    I like that this book gives an overview of who St Valentine was, the milieu in which he lived, and how the tradition of exchanging valentines began. It is not too simplistic, but neither is it too deep or massive for a very young audience. The illustrations did not particularly excite me - I read it aloud to 20 homeschooled kids ages 2-9 and the art did not seem to excite them much either! I would have appreciated a more explicit emphasis on the holiness of the man! Sabuda concentrates on St Valentine's profession as a doctor - the fact that he was a priest is downplayed and his prayer life is as well. I have been doing some on-the-spot editing as I read aloud to my 4 kids to place a small more emphasis on his priesthood and sanctity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    Everything about this book was good. It should be noted that George Bernard Shaw was not a very amazing person. Look him up. It should also be noted that about 31 percent of the book is Shaw writing about Joan or Arc herself and is not actually part of the play. Otherwise, this is an wonderful book and I highly reccomend it to anyonee that loves plays and classic books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    ...their prefaces. The reason I bought this one is that it HAS the preface to "Androcles and the Lion," Shaw's staggering masterpiece on Christianity. Just TRY finding this in any ver available fresh in the U.S. Not a chance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    The lyrics, the melody, the voice, PERFECTION! it's ironic that she concentrated on the performance instead of the perfection of the album, which ended up PERFECT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Saint []  2021-4-6 22:38

    Woah this book was hot! Saint is one possessive alpha. He spots Amara giving ice skating lessons from his apartment and tries to create a point of watching her. One day Amara is almost kidnapped and Saint turns all alpha defending her versus 4 various goons. Amara is on the run from her mob boss father and while she feels attracted to Saint she doesn’t wish to drag him into her drama. When her dads goons test to break into Amara’s house she calls Saint for support and all bets are off and he’s not only going to claim his girl but hold her safe too. Overall a amazing book but did feel like I was lost at times especially with the introduction of the sisters in the epilogue. However, still a amazing read!I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    Audio recordings of plays are usually done with various actors reading the roles as in a radio play. This is the first time I have listened to a play being read by only one reader. It is not at all the same experience, but better than one might expect. The reader uses a neutral American accent for the French characters, but a slightly British one to differentiate the English characters. There was a recording on Caedmon of the play with Siobhan McKenna repeating her popular performance, but it is not available. (Some libraries still have it on vinyl, but that doesn't support me pass the time while commuting.)Shaw's play is intriguing, coming as it did so soon after Joan's canonization and Ireland's battle for independence ("France for the French"), but there is no denying that is rather untheatrical, save for the climactic scene. Joan confesses to her supposed sins to save her life, but then withdraws the confession, choosing execution and martydom. I had never realized how much Arthur Miller owed to Shaw; I was reminded of the stage in The Crucible when John Proctor confesses to a lie and then recants, preferring an honorable death. These scenes are both based on historical events, of course, but the resemblance in the method they are dramatized is striking nonetheless. Here's a potential trivia topic: How a lot of plays and films can you think of that use the device of a false confession followed by an even more dramatic retraction?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan []  2020-1-27 22:7

    Amazing edition with very huge text. The less than 4 dollar price was also a plus. I also received it the day after it was printed! This is not the penguin classics version, it is the GBS books edition. It is a small tricky to search but a much better value in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    The hardcover ver of this book has a few lines about the author on the inside cover. I search it interesting that this is a book about a Catholic saint meanwhile the author flaunts his lifestyle on the inside cover. The writing and illustrations are great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    We used this book in our homeschool as part of Valentine's Day study. The illustrations are beautiful! The story is age appropriate for 2nd grade and under (Valentine's execution is simply alluded to, it's up to the parent how detailed to obtain into that). Also amazing if you're Catholic or Protestant...no mention of canonization in the story itself, so it's up to the parents to go in depth on that issue. Nicely done for a broad audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Valentine []  2020-1-29 17:38

    Well done,art work is capturing. Amazing introduction to St. V. MY only want is that it told a more complete story of his works ie., his refusal to obey the law that banned anyone from contracting marriage. His steadfast willingness to place himself in harms method so that fresh families through holy matrimony might be formed. Seems particularly relevant for today. However, I think anytime you can search a book that makes a saint "real" to kids you've found a keeper and this book does that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    SPOILER ALERT TOWARDS THE END!!!!!!!!!!!!!Was looking forward to diving into this novel over the summer while on vacation. Usually Sarah Dessen novels are beautiful good, but this one I actually found myself pushing through just because I bought it and didn't wish to waste the cash spent. Overall, I think the characters were flat, the plot also lacked depth, and I kept turning the pages waiting for SOMETHING to happen, but it never really did until the end, and once it did, I wasn't sure what to create of it, as neither did the author, it seems. In stories lacking any true meaningful action and happenings throughout, you would think time would be spent building the characters, but instead what it was was a lot of filler. It's as if Ms. Dessen just wanted to make another book, and out this came, without any time or care place into the storyline. Also, being a YA novel, I would have liked to see the protagonist with a louder voice and a greater sense of agency. assault was almost minimized in favor of a plot line favoring a budding romance. Not a amazing notice to send to young readers, in my opinion. Overall, I won't be buying anymore of Dessen's books in the future, but if one were sitting on a coffee table at a doctor's office, I'd probably pick it up to slay time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    *4.5 stars*This was my first Dessen novel and it won't be my last. I love how she wove: first love, genuine friendships, finding yourself and family issues all in one book. This has such amazing lessons about family, choices, mates and deciding where you stand which teens need today. The pacing felt excellent and this reminded me of summer all over again. If you're not sure where to begin with Dessen's books, I would begin here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anything [Book]  2017-11-25 18:1

    I absolutely loved Sarah Dessen's Saint Anything. I have been reading her for 10 years now, and I have to say this is one of my favorites (top is The Truth About Forever). Recently I was getting tired of her books because they seem to be all the same. This is similar, but has its own style and story. Love it!! Honestly, as soon as I finished it, I restarted it and read it again. It was that good!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Saint [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    This is not really a “The Saint” film as far as I am concerned. It has very small resemblance to the Simon Templar that we got to know in the TV-series starring Roger Moore in the lead role. I have not read the books so I do not know how well the film actually relates to the books but I have to say that I was a small disappointed to see a Simon Templar that was not really…him. I have never really been a large fan of Val Kilmer and I do not really think he is the best match for the role. But then, as I wrote, I really do not see this as a Simon Templar film anyway so. Elisabeth Shue is totally wonderful as a scientist. I know they had to pick someone reasonably good-looking to satisfy the script but still, she just doesn’t chop it as a scientist. The Russians are giving a much better performance. I quite liked both the Tretiak characters. That is not to say that this is a poor film though. You just have to forget about the references to The Saint and Simon Templar. The latter is not very difficult since he really do not call himself Simon Templar in most of the film anyway. What this film is though is a fairly decent light entertainment about a skilled high stakes thief with a troubled childhood. I say light entertainment because the plot is really not much more than you would expect from a TV-series pilot. There are some fun action, some fun infiltration, disguises, a bit of high-tech etc. Just a mixture of some “fun stuff” making you @#$%!&ay that was not too bad” at the end of the movie. Oh, one more thing, I know that Simon Templar used to drive a Volvo P1800 but quite frankly, that was the only cool vehicle that Volvo have ever made. Since the film was so far from what I consider to be Simon Templar it is a true bummer that they had to choose that modern Volvo crap for him to drive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Honesty []  2021-3-12 20:21

    Also enjoyed "Fire"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Savage Saint []  2021-4-6 22:38

    Don't know why there is so a lot of high ratings for this. Maybe it's just not my cup of tea. The story was not believable at all. You have a heroine whose father is the head of the mafia and so strong that she can't go anywhere in the town without her father knowing or being safe from him or his goons. If that is the case when she left home, why did she stay in the same city? I mean she had the cash to live on her own in a very pricey town without working. So the logical thing in my opinion would be to leave the town and move out of at was the first wonderful part of the story the second part would be how the Character took care of the "threat" aka heroine's father. (Which he only took care of the problem temporarily.) Seriously that whole situation didn't create sense to me at all. If her father is as strong as the heroine states than her father wouldn't have cared that he is being filmed. If her father ruled the city, again like heroine claims, he could've found the hero's mate and dealt with it. If not supposedly the police and some other government people work for her father and could've created it all go away or pin it on someone sides the storyline not making sense, again in my opinion, I didn't feel like the character and heroine had a true spark. The story was so rushed that there was no development or proper chemistry between the two l in all, the storyline was blah and the characters were blah. It's a shame cause I've read a lot of this author's books and this just doesn't seem to be up to par like some of her others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vicious (Sinners of Saint) [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Loved this book. Vicious is a total jerk for this first part of the book and I was wondering how on earth can this broken guy redeem himself but rest assured he does. He makes you fall in love with his darkness and also see he has a heart. Emilia/Pink/Help as she is called is probably one of my favorite heroines. She was genuine, honest, loyal and didn't take Vicious's crap. The chemistry between these two was off the charts. The love making scenes were totally hot. This is the first book I have read by this author but will most definitely not be my last.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vicious (Sinners of Saint) [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Usually when I anticipate a book as much as this one I worry it won't live up to my expectations, but this one was method more than I expected! Vicious is the epitome of love to hate and hate to love! He's cruel, unforgiving almost heartless, but deep down he's exactly what you wish your man to be! Em and Vic have a relationship like no other and it's as awesome as it is heartbreaking. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would indeed. Fabulous job LJ, you top yourself with every book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bane (Sinners of Saint) [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    “You don’t need a prince, princess. You need a sword.”Broken. Destroyed. Empty. Void of life. That was what was left of Jesse Carter. A night. An act so evil it left behind a ghost of what she used to be...until ne had his own demons. But when given an offer to fulfill a dream, he took it. Small did he know, that Jesse would change everything. He created a deal with the devil, but his soul wasn’t for is story is EVERYTHING. This book and these characters consumed me. The slow-burn was y as hell. Jesse was powerful even when she felt weak. Bane was the strength she required to draw on to start to heal and live again. In the end, she saved t ready to fall in love with your next book boyfriend because BANE was incredible. A must read with some surprises I never saw ways remember, “The Queen is more strong than the King.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bane (Sinners of Saint) [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    "The globe seemed painfully mundane while wrapped up in Roman Protsenko's exceptional orbit. Like he was bigger than the put he was born in."Sigh, Bane..... A force seemingly sent by the gods (and possibly crafted by them too) sent to do a job and brought to his knees by a broken, timid, recluse (or is she?) The fire in them both held me captivated, the backstory crushing my heart all over the place, created my feels go haywire, but in real Shen fashion place a phoenix-like resurrection that had me turning pages as if my life depended on though rooted in deceit, these two had a deep connection that couldn't be denied. The slow burn, the fight, the banter intoxicated me like a line of tequila shots...feels so good, but you know problem is coming your way. And it did, and I evil giggled all over the put when the most unlikely duo in Todos Los Santos teamed up to right the wrongs, and wow, the wrongs were crazy!!"My eyes on hers. Green on Blue. Tough on soft. A dirty liar on the purest, kindest girl I ever knew."Bane might secretly be my most favorite, only because he was rough around the edges and gave not one singular you know what about anyone or anything, well, until Jesse, and THAT is what glued me to this story. The sweetness, the hotness, the angst, the emotions were all magnified ten-fold because no one had ever roped Bane in....those are always my absolute favorite, hands down!! One of my top reads of the year (they always are, lol) but seriously, I'm sad to see it end, but the journey with all of these characters was a massively unforgettable ride!!"We were no longer friends. Or enemies. Or two lonely skies-one empty and starless like me, one full of lights. One hidden by walls, and the other by ink and beard. We'd just be free to be."~~~Erika, Book Haven Book Blog

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Patrick Day Frames [App]  2018-3-17 21:10

    Suck's!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis Public Schools [App]  2019-12-18 21:10

    Please modernize so it's 40 megs can be moved to sd card!!! I am across road this Spring from Elementary School for price of four figure mortgage and 2 bits of 8 everyday tax (aka QUARTER [DOLLAR] TO OWN BRICK HOME!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not Always a Saint []  2020-1-18 21:8

    This is a book I have eagerly awaited since I turned the final page of Not Quite a Wife, and I am satisfied to report that it exceeded my expectations. Putney has indicated in the past that she finds the alpha/beta tags unsatisfactory, preferring to describe her heroes as “warrior poets.” Nevertheless, I suspect most readers will see Daniel as a beta hero. Regardless of labels, he is a rare hero, complex and likeable with a powerful sense of honor, a compassionate heart, and a clear vocation in the fullest sense of that word. He is a amazing and decent man, but he is a far cry from the stereotypical pallid saint. He is a fully dimensional hero with fears and regrets and as much passion as piety.Having fallen for Daniel in Laurel and Kirkland’s book, I was particularly interested to see what kind of heroine Putney would give him. Jessie is as unusual in her method as Daniel is in his. A attractive woman whose beauty for most of her life has led to abuse and exploitation, she has small sense of her own worth. Despite having been a victim, she has developed surprising strength and is fierce in her determination to protect her daughter. Beginning with some of her earliest books, Putney has integrated social problems into her stories in interesting and realistic ways. She does so once again in this book by using Jessie’s situation to present how vulnerable women were physically, psychologically, and legally in a globe that saw them as the property of males.If you like historical romance that combines character-driven stories with intense action and historical accuracy, I highly recommend this book. I never miss an MJP book, and I loved seeing characters from earlier Lost Lords books appear in this one. I was especially happy to see Lady Agnes again. (I’d love to know more of her history.) But I think Not Always a Saint can be read as a standalone, although reading it after at least Not Quite a Wife likely provides a richer reading experience.I have thoroughly enjoyed the Lost Lords series and was sorry to learn that this book, the seventh Lost Lords book, marks the official end of the series. However, I am delighted that MJP’s fresh series, Rogues Redeemed, is a spinoff from the Lost Lords. Will Masterson, half-brother of Damian Mackenzie (hero of Nowhere Near Respectable, Lost Lords #3) will be the character of Once a Soldier, the first book in the fresh series. Look for it in 2016. For readers like me who are intrigued by Gordon, Lady Agnes’s one failure and a minor but significant hero in Not Always a Saint, I have it on the best authority that we will see more of him in the fresh series. The first book is not yet available for pre-order, but I’m already hooked on the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Not Always a Saint []  2020-1-18 21:8

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was well written, it had a steady pace right to the end, some heated love scenes, action, adventure, a amazing cast of secondary characters (that stayed secondary) and some warped villains - it had it all!Daniel was an outstanding hero. He is smart, handsome, giving, brave and very, very understanding. Jessie is a amazing heroine, but I thought she was a bit selfish. I believe she loves Daniel - but I felt like she used him at the beginning.Daniel was the shining star of this book in my opinion. The book is worth reading, simply because he is in it.I would recommend this book and I hope that Gordon is the character of the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yves Saint Laurent []  2020-1-16 5:50

    I got this book for my wife and i’m reading it! This book is laid out really well and it does an perfect job at capturing the work and impact of Yves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yves Saint Laurent []  2020-1-16 5:50

    excelente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Luke’s 24/7 [App]  2019-1-30 13:35

    The application is unusable, will not allow you confirm appointments but is more than satisfied to charge you a fee each time you test to obtain back in only land you in a put where you're stuck & unable to proceed. Fields don't answer to clicks until multiple tries. This application needs a LOT of work. Don't waste your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    stuck updating data at 9/37

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    Below Average 2.5 star

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    I really love this game. But a bit dissapointed in the story line. It suppose to be the Asgard chapter after the Sanctuary Chapter instead of the Poseidon Chapter. I hope Bandai can fix this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    Not bad. Android game play is bit boring, but as a manga fan i'm not tired to see those saints moves again and again 😄

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    10x gasha with 3* guaranteed hero but end up only cosmo with not even 1 character. This happen twice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    been playing till level 72 than stuck on modernize for a week.. can u fix this?... losing my everyday login bonuses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SAINT SEIYA COSMO FANTASY [App]  2019-2-1 13:23

    overall fun game, but a bit tedious at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Patrick's Day Wallpapers [App]  2019-3-19 13:45

    I Like St. Patrick's Day Wallpapers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Patrick's Day Wallpapers [App]  2019-3-19 13:45

    Does not work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    College of Saint Rose [App]  2019-5-25 13:8

    This application installed a virus on my phone, I had to pay $400 to a hacker to regain control of my accounts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis University [App]  2019-7-5 21:8

    bobybhai

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis University [App]  2019-7-5 21:8

    Decent The home screen UI is passable, but the fresh UI for viewing grades is horrendous. Please go back to the previous versions way of displaying classes and grades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis University [App]  2019-7-5 21:8

    P.O.S Application The shuttle estimated times are so off it's less of an estimate and more of a throwing a dart at a clock in the dark blindfolded. I waited at the Georgetown Loop while the application said "3 minutes" for 35 minutes. Garbage app

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    Within a few miniutes I was bored. I'm 41. Sections are too wordy for 5 year old and interaction is not enough. Don't think this will keep basic attention. Bible application for children is method better

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    I love this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    My children love it! The parent application is nice too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    This is a really amazing game. We work on telling the story of salvation and this application provides a various method of telling some of the stories and reinforces the concepts. Its amazing to know that my children can play something wholesome and educational when i feel the need to give them my phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    Awesome. Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    IM A 19 YEAR OLD WHO DOWNLOADED THIS AS A JOKE BUT IT IS HONESTLY THE MOST FUN APP EVER INVENTED NOTHING COMES CLOSE ANGRY BIRDS DOESNT HAVE ANYTHING ON THIS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Saint Adventures [App]  2019-9-21 13:27

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan (Clydesdale Classics) []  2020-2-2 20:45

    Everything about this book was good. It should be noted that George Bernard Shaw was not a very amazing person. Look him up. It should also be noted that about 31 percent of the book is Shaw writing about Joan or Arc herself and is not actually part of the play. Otherwise, this is an wonderful book and I highly reccomend it to anyonee that loves plays and classic books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Joan (Clydesdale Classics) []  2020-2-2 20:45

    Amazing edition with very huge text. The less than 4 dollar price was also a plus. I also received it the day after it was printed! This is not the penguin classics version, it is the GBS books edition. It is a small tricky to search but a much better value in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yves Saint Laurent Accessories []  2020-4-8 18:49

    Worthwhile addition to a collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yves Saint Laurent Accessories []  2020-4-8 18:49

    Beautifully designed, love the smaller scale of this book - very modern.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Saint (Kindle Single) []  2020-1-21 22:54

    In this well-written small book, Oliver Brody spares nothing in his portrayal of James Otis. By the end, and actually well before, the reader knows exactly what Otis is all about. But what's refreshing is that this warts-and-all portrait of Otis is consistently refracted through the author's equally unsparing observation of himself. A amazing read, and a work of self-criticism that, while rationaliizing nothing, is infused with unusual generosity of spirit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Augustine: Philosopher and Saint []  2020-1-20 21:10

    Amazing introductory course for Augustine. I didn't know very much about Augustine so suitable course for a beginner. Professor presents material in a satisfactory manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Augustine: Philosopher and Saint []  2020-1-20 21:10

    I wanted a CD version, but received the tape version. That did not seem clearly marked in the purchasing zone of Amazon. All purchases I created that day were CDs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint-Saens: Danse Macabre []  2020-1-23 2:42

    This is the only current problem I know of which show-cases all of Saint-Saens tone poems, along with a couple of violin present stoppers gorgeously played by Kyung Wha Chung. Aside from the "Danse macabre" which has been played to death, Dutoit conducts a delectable "Le rouet d'Omphale" [Omphale's Spinning Wheel], and an exciting "Phaeton" - who takes over the Sun God's Chariot to disasterous results. The programme also contains "La juenesse d'Hercule" [The Youth of Hercules] where we search that growing up is a hard thing to do. Sumptuous playing from the Philharmonic Orchestra makes this a amazing library addition, falling into the "Music for Fun" category. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint-Saens: Danse Macabre []  2020-1-23 2:42

    Love this music. Some of the pieces where fresh to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Anthony Messenger []  2020-2-7 21:23

    On my second problem already. I share this with my mother-in-law and she loves it as much as I do. This magazine seems to have a feminine side to most of the articles and maybe that is their target audience; but I search plenty of amazing things in there too and I'm an older guy who became a Catholic convert over 15 years ago. This was a amazing price for one year, but I'm not sure I would renew for $40 a year if that's what they wish come next year. Guess I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Bernadette of Lourdes []  2020-1-25 21:30

    This doentary does not talk about the Spring in Lourdes. Insead it spends all of it’s time espousing the narrators opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Armored Saint []  2020-1-26 23:48

    The Armored Saint was my first dip into Myke Cole’s work and I have to say, this has been one of my favorite reads of the year. It is the hauntingly raw and gritty story of Heloise, a young girl that witnesses and is topic to the injustices of the land’s ruthless and domineering religious institution, the Order. After being forced to participate in a “Knitting”, a ritual to rid a neighboring village of its corrupt magic, and seeing the sheer amount of needless collateral damage, she decides to oppose what she believes is a greater risk to the people - the Order is tale is brutal and vivid and one of brazen defiance, with a profound sense of hope, regardless of how dark thing may seem. The author has superbly crafted our heroine, Heloise, who, in my opinion, is one of the finest and most well-rounded female protagonists to ever grace the pages of any fantasy book. As the story progresses, her agony and contempt for the current state of the globe is unmistakable, and her relentless drive to right the wrongs is a treat to observe. We are allowed to experience the globe as she sees it with achingly attractive detail as Cole refuses to keep anything back. This small novella packs quite a punch in such a little amount of pages - a two-hundred page adrenaline rush that doesn’t dissipate until the very end. I loved this story and cannot wait for more. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis Zoo [App]  2020-6-10 13:39

    Needs 2 b begin take the govern off

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis Zoo [App]  2020-6-10 13:39

    Map is useless and the application drains battery in the background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis Zoo [App]  2020-6-10 13:39

    I Loved It!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saint Louis Zoo [App]  2020-6-10 13:39

    Map is very primary and difficult to actually use. You should be able to zoom in and see more detail of paths and buildings. Maybe add a feature to map a route (Pay feature for additional income?).

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386