Read sammy keyes and the psycho kitty queen reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all sammy keyes and the psycho kitty queen reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Wow, I am amazed every time a fresh Sammy Keyes book comes out. Each one is better than the one before it. In this book, not only is it poor enough to be the "lucky" number 13, but Sammy has to tolerate a visit from Lady Lana (her mom) on top of evil Heather's jealous this book, Sammy finds a dead cat on her birthday and, because she IS Sammy, she can't just allow it go. She HAS to search out where that dead cat came from. Why was it in the dumpster? Who had killed it? The answers to those questions almost cost Sammy her life. This book, like the others in the series, was hard to place down once I started it. I tend to read Sammy Keyes books in a day, starting in the morning and ending in the evening when I am finished. :) This book was no exception and is DEFINTELY worth the L mystery fans will love Sammy. It's funny though, as a fan of mystery books, I am always surprised at how the Sammy Keyes books end.....when I read mysteries from other authors (Mary Higgins Clark, Sue Grafton, etc.) I can usually figure out the exact ending after about a hundred pages and am never surprised. Not so with Sammy Keyes. This book has been the highlight of my summer reading so far. It definitely should not be missed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    This is the Dad typing the dauhgters' dictated review:Emma: The latest three in this series were the phie: These books are really fun to read together.Emma: We liked it a phie: Sammy is a really interesting person. It's fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Psycho kitty queen features some crazy characters and of course Sammy is in the middle of all of them. A lot of twists and turns keeps the story hopping. Amazing surprise at the end. Another favorite!

    0  


    Add your opinion on sammy keyes and the psycho kitty queen or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    The first Sammy Keyes books, ("Hotel Thief", "Sisters of Mercy"), are interesting enough, but are juvenile mysteries. But, as the series has progressed Sammy has actually grown up in a realistic way, and the books have become more complex, life has become more complicated, and Sammy has become more interesting to the tween reader. This actually seems like a series that will just grow up along with the reader. (Sort of the Harry Potter effect.) Indeed, the mysteries themselves are less and less engaging and have become almost secondary to the more engaging problems surrounding Sammy and her mother, her friends, her school, and her growing interest in boys. And, Sammy has more insight into herself and her surroundings and is just getting more interesting. She is not a static charcter, (like, say, Nancy Drew). This also suggests, contrary to what the editorial reviews note, that this is probably a series best read in order. It could be disconcerting to bounce around, out of order, from younger Sammy to older Sammy. It's also nice to have a more urban, more gritty, feel to Sammy's environment, as opposed to the sort-of sleepy Pleasantvilles that so a lot of other characters live in. So, seems well worth a look for a more adventurous tween reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    IT'S AWESOME! Sammy Keyes is showing her items again in her fresh funny adventure. Sammy is facing some fresh problems: dealing with dead cats; her mother; a psycho Miss Kitty; wrestling; a certain guy named Casey; arch-enemy Heather; and her lovely birthday. All of these things somehow fit into Sammy's schedule, but she'll pull through! THis is a amazing read, and I recommend it to any age that loves a humorous teenage mystery!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    i love sammy for stopping that cat versus dog arena after so a lot of of those not good kitty have gotten murdered by those stupid people who are placing bets on who is going to win. by the method i think lady lana is a stupid lazy squemish inconsiderate diva!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    My girls adore this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Sammy's at it again. And this time, cats are involved. She and Holly have been finding strange-looking dead cats in dumpsters around town, and even for this town, that's not normal. Meanwhile, Sammy makes two horrible discoveries about herself involving her birthday, and one has to do with archenemy Heather Acosta. But sparks continue to fly between Sammy and Heather's nice-boy brother, Casey. Go with Sammy through this book as she struggles to figure out what sinister thing is going on with the cats of Santa Martina, as well as with Heather Acosta, the ultimate catty took me longer than usual to obtain into this Sammy book, which was a small disappointing. But about 2/3 of the method through, Van Draanen finally "had me." The ending went quick and fantastically. She had me guessing at the respond to the mystery much longer than usual, but maybe that was because it's been awhile since my latest dose of Sammy! (Too long!) It's a amazing one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Nice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Psycho Kitty Queen []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Wendelin van Drannen isn't one of the a lot of authors who grow stale over time. On the contrary, she keeps getting better. Her recent Sammy Keyes novel is an adrenaline rush that will have the series' fetishists/loyal fans MMY KEYES & THE PSYCHO KITTY QUEEN follows Sammy Keyes on one psycho 14th birthday. To begin off, her mother -- the esteemed Lady Lana -- reappears with her distorted ver of a birthday present: the truth. Sammy soon learns that, to her utmost horror, she is actually a year younger than she thinks she is, therefore making her 12 going on 13 (again). Distraught and maddened, Sammy meets up with her mate Holly (the lovable homeless girl from SAMMY KEYES & THE SISTERS OF MERCY) to continue their investigation of the town's recent phenomenon: cats who are dying bizarre deaths and being dumped in Santa Martina dumpsters. Thrown in is a psychotic ex-rodeo queen with a grudge versus Sammy's mate Hudson's dog, lots of cats, and senile dementia; a cranky pro wrestler named El Gato; and more advances from the dangerously charming Casey Acosta (brother to Sammy's notorious foe Heather). Fans of van Draanen's previous writing will devour this whole, only proving once again that Wendelin van Draanen has yet to fail to please.Happy birthday, Sammy!-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    I loved this book!!! I don't know and I don't care if it was meant to be the notice I received but it sure was a amazing message!!!! When is another one coming?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    I have read almost all of the books (not in order!) They are SO awesome! This one wasn't my favorite, but still well written. If you like these books, I also recommend the Mysterious Benedict Society (the prequel was disappointing though, after reading the awesome books!) and Red Rock Mysteries! I loved those series! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    A various sort of ending than other Sammy Keyes books. I am constantly amazed at Wendelin Van Draanen's commitment to writing with themes. Justice Jack's main theme was heroes, and was very refreshing amongst a sea of books for teens that revolve strictly around romance, friendship, forgiveness, etc...some of which are amazing themes, but it's nice to have something besides that. Sure, the plot is more predictable than others in the series. But the theme really redeems the book for me; the amazing epics (Iliad, Odyssey, Aeneid, Beowulf) mainly concerned heroes and it's truly amazing to see a modern book play with this theme. Can you tell I'm a liberal arts college student?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    I've read this whole series to my two daughters, and while there are plenty of dependable features that present up regularly, they are far from bored with the a lot of adventures Sammy gets into. They love the private relationships that create up the regular cast as much as the crimes that come along, and can't wait to search out what eventually happens with everyone involved. We'll be moving on to "The Showdown in Sin City" tomorrow. Not amazing literature, perhaps, but amazing stories. Highly recommended for children into adventurous hi jinks and characters they can care about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    I love this series and so far this 1 was a amazing book I recommend this book for kids of all ages

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    This book was awesome along with all the other Sammy Keyes,it was full of comedy,and at first you think of Justice Jack kind of living in a various world,but in the end you do realize he just wants to support people and create a difference. And the sub-plot about Heather Acosta,Marissa,Billy,and Danny was really interesting. And I also liked how Sammy and Casey almost got caught by Heather and her mother,because Sammy and Casey were forbidden to see each other. I love how you learn in this book that if you believe in something other people will believe as well. I would recommend this book and all the other books to anyone that loves mystery, adventure,comedy and romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    Sammy Keyes' city of Santa Martina is so chock full of odd folks that she thinks nothing could surprise her. Then she meets Justice Jack, who is a colourful hero who believes himself to be a bona fide superhero, complete with stretch bodysuit (gold and red), red knee and arm pads, and a golden chest plate with a black lightning bolt and a red J. To complete his get-up, Justice Jack wears a utility belt, gold gloves, a fancy helmet and a black mask. Justice Jack rides around in a dirt bike called "High Roller" with a sidecar, flying a red pennant imprinted with a huge gold J.When Sammy first glimpses Jack, she and her mates are celebrating the Christmas arrival of Sinterklaas with their Dutch friend, Dot DeVries, which involves cookies falling through the ceiling and other exotic festivities. They hear someone knocking on the front door. When Dot's small sisters rush to the door, believing Sinterklaas has left bonuses on the front porch for them, instead they search Justice Jack, who is carrying a peacock that he hopes to return to its rightful owner. Mr. DeVries points him in the direction of neighbors, but when Dot's dog needs to go outside, Sammy and her mates can't resist checking out the action. What they search is quite the scene: Justice Jack surrounded by men and Sammy's old friend, police officer r Borsch addresses Sammy by name, which absolutely stuns Justice Jack. It seems that her reputation as a crime warrior has preceded her. Justice Jack can't obtain over the fact that he is standing before the person who broke up a dogfighting ring, uncovered counterfeiters, brought a blackmailer to the attention of the law...and all the other awesome detective feats she has accomplished. Sammy is horribly embarrassed to hear Jack listing her deeds, especially when Jack enthuses that Sammy has been a source of amazing inspiration to e is relieved when the superhero gets a call and takes off on his "High Roller" dirt bike to check out the burglary of Town Hall, where the town's softball statue has vanished. However, her relief is short-lived. Justice Jack soon becomes a fixture in Sammy's life, which is complicated by the disappearance of her blackmailer neighbor Mrs. Wedgewood, a breakup of those near and dear to her, Casey's dreadful sister and mother's attempts to hold Casey and Sammy apart, and much more. Of course, Sammy's primary day-to-day life is inherently complex. As always, she must sneak into her grandmother's seniors-only apartment building and hide if anyone knocks on Grams' door. She can't be caught living there, which means lots of trips up and down the fire escape and too much time hiding in Grams' closet. So how much more difficulty can one easy superhero add to Sammy's life? (Oh, you know the respond to that question: Lots!)Author Wendelin Van Draanen weaves together several disparate sub-plots to give us yet another enjoyable entry in the Sammy Keyes series. As always, this recent story is peopled with three-dimensional characters, including sassy, savvy Sammy (who encounters a few light bulb moments illuminating her own inner self --- adding even more poignant layers to her personality). It would be impossible not to root for this young female detective as she tackles her recent intriguing mystery, which wraps up in a satisfying yet not overly tidy manner, leaving fans eagerly anticipating her next ed by Terry Miller Shannon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    I love this book, but there wasn't really a mystery to it. It was mostly private things going on in Sammy's life. Like the fact that she had to with the breakup between Marissa and Billy, or her and Casey trying to hide their relationship from Casey's crazy mom and sister!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    I've noticed a downgrade in quality of Sammy Keyes books over time; the latest book I remember truly enjoying was Sammy Keyes and the Wild Things... from there, it's been a subtle but sad slope downhill. It's like the author is assuming her audience is getting either dumber or younger; Sammy's voice was much more mature in Hotel Theif than it's been lately, as if it's meant for 10 year olds instead of pre-teens. Don't obtain me wrong--there's still sparks of the old Sammy and her insight that first attracted me to the series. But instead of being intertwined throughout the book, they're scattered few and far between. Besides this, the author just seems plain rushed, as if we're reading the first draft of the book un-edited. The plots are rushed along and in the end we obtain some 5th grade conclusion to a confused paper rather than an educated resolution. Once the mystery was solved, that was it. There was no wrap-up of any sort. It was just SOLUTION, THE END. Well, technically, solution, then Sammy happily recites some corny thoughts in an "all's well that ends well" sort of way. Then it ends. Meanwhile I'm staring dumbfounded, wondering if maybe the true ending of the book was torn out. Latest I remember, Marissa was going through some boy-drama, but hey, no biggie. Just abruptly end the book and ignore that it ever happened. What about Sammy's mom's brief sub-plot? It was mentioned once, then ignored. Officer Borsche also created some appearances, but he served mostly as a deux ex machina of sorts; if Sammy was ever stuck, he'd magically appear for just long enough to tell her what she required to know, then disappear again until Sammy's brain required him again. I was also disappointed by the use of Hudson's character; he served as the way in which to bring Sammy and mates from point A to point B. Literally. He gave them a ride.Overall, Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack read as a sloppy first-draft to me that was slapped together and rushed to publishing. Considering that I've been seeing this occur more often, and Power of Justice Jack was just the most blatantly obvious, I'm wondering if Wendelin Van Draanen signed a contract demanding a certain amount of books in a certain amount of time?? I'd prefer less books of higher quality, than more books of not good quality. I hope she gets back on track soon, because this would be a not good method to see Sammy go; her smarts reduced to a 3rd grade level of insight, and all her mates gradually turning into 2-D plot devices rather than developed, relatable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy Keyes and the Power of Justice Jack []  2020-1-25 9:26

    This is the second Sammy Keyes adventure that I’ve read. I really enjoyed The Showdown in Sin City, and had high hopes for this quirky story, but it is disappointing. There is no question that Van Draanen is technically a amazing writer—great grammar, well executed chapters, her descriptors are spot on. The story is narrated, or should I say speedily run through, by Sammy who broadcasts a constant stream of chatter, and not always pleasant. Twice Sammy describes her mates as laughing so hard they almost pee their pants. Who says that? Also the word schmuck is used. Puh-leez. Sammy is very judgmental, derogatorily naming people behind their backs; again, not funny. Twice, Justice Jack’s sidekicks are shown to be drinking alcohol. And whereas in the previous book I read I didn’t think some situations were farfetched, this time they were annoying and unbelievable: Sammy lives with her Grams in senior housing, but must sneak in and out at all times so as not to be caught, up and down from the fifth floor fire escape, usually with her backpack on and skateboard in tow. Also, some of the characters are extremely unbelievable, such as her boyfriend, Casey’s mother. I did, however, like Justice Jack. He and Billy are the most sincere and genuine characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    This is essential reading for any fan of Alfred Hitchcock! As a matter of fact, it is essential reading for any cinemaphile. One will search a wealth of info in the books pages and probably a few surprises. There have been criticisms as to the legitimacy of certain details, but the book has clearly been well researched and one imagines that any discrepancy is minor. I am not saying this to excuse these issues, but it should certainly not discourage anyone from reading the book. This book would be a nice measuring stick for future "making of" books.[Note: One does not need to have fun the film, "Hitchcock" in to have fun this book. One only needs to love classic cinema and Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho." I owned the book before the film tie in was published and I am grateful. I much prefer a cover that evokes the movie the book is written about.]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    I love all the Psycho movies, but the first is the best. This tells the story of the making of that film and the author spares no detail. Some of the facts about camera angles and script revisions are a small boring, but don't detract from this marvelous expose. Of wonderful interest is how the shower stage was accomplished and the death of Arbogost. One of my favorite chapters with the method Hitchcock dealt with the censors. There was much in "Psycho" they wanted to censor. Thankfully, Hitchcock won them over. This book is a must for Psycho fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    I ordered and read the book because I saw the movie "Hitchcock" which was supposedly based on the book. The movie got the name of the director right, but just about everything else was untrue. In the film, Alma (Hitchcock's wife) plays a crucial role in the making of the movie and there is a long, unnecessary, semi-flirtation with a Hollywood scumbag, which in itself detracted from the film. The beginning was also factually wrong, the man that Norman Bates is modeled after did not slay his brother, as was shown in the film. And so on and so on. Too bad, because until I found out it was full of factual errors, I had enjoyed the movie, no doubt because I am a Hitchcock e book itself is a detailed history of putting the film together, and all elements are looked at in the book, which is amazing if you like movie making, Hitchcock, or Psycho. Which you are, otherwise you wouldn't be reading this. It's a very pleasant read and you don't have to know the technical aspects in detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    If you're looking for the deep insight into the relationship between Alfred Hitchcock and his wife Alma, that was the focus of the latest and very enjoyable film 'Hitchcock', then you will be disappointed. However, if you are seeking a lot more detail on the [email protected]#$%!&chcock used as a filmmaker in creating one of the iconic films of our time, then look no further. This book describes in amazing detail the entire process, from Hitchcock's acquiring of what was described as an 'unfilmable' book to its deserved box office success,A 'must read' for film fans in general and Hitchcock followers in particular.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    For the real fanatic, or just the curious, this is an immenselyreadable account. Far, far more interesting and enlightening thenany of the turgid, pompous academic treatises on Hitchcock thatpollute bookshelves everywhere. As definitive a reconstructionof how PSYCHO - or any movie, with a few exceptions - was puttogether. However, I suggest Mr. Rebello is overdue for eitheran update(though this reprint's front and back cover is definitely an improvement over the original),or a companion r the completists, I suggest:1. More production and cast stills.2. Saul Bass's storyboards.3. Interviews and/or images of Marli Renfro, the actresses who provided the voice for Mrs. Bates, the diminutive woman who stabbed Arbogast. Other cast interviews.4. Documentation on PSYCHO's aborted CBS broadcast of 09/66 and its subsequent showing in 06/67 on ABC - the edits, and when it was finally shown complete.5. Info on the sequels, and Van Sant's "recreation".6. Full descriptions of deleted scenes from the original.7. Some of the less inflated analysis on its symbolism, etc.8. Most importantly: a cue by cue evaluation of Bernard Herrmann's magnificent score, including its unused parts.Ok, Mr. Rebello, create it happen.Until then, anyone who is at all fascinated with how an Americancultural landmark came together, (Yeah, I know, like Hitchcock used to say, "Oh,it's only a movie!")GET THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    I went to see the film "Hitchcock" latest fall. It's loosely based on Stephen Rebello's "Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho." It was a fun film that got me curious enough to wish to read both the Bloch and the Rebello ntroversy abounds with both this book and the film that is loosely based upon it. It seems everyone wanted a piece of the small movie turned bello was thorough in his research. There isn't anyone involved in the making of Psycho that he didn't talk with, making him the foremost authority on the subject. Though some didn't, I enjoyed is book is filled with amusing tidbits and behind-the-scenes drama.I got the impression that screen writer Joseph Stephano was a small high strung. He didn't like being overruled by Hitchcock, and on a lot of occasions felt snubbed by the director. The truth [email protected]#$%!&chcock wanted people around him whom he could trust. Stephano was inexperienced, and Hitchcock wasn't going to allow his baby fail.I studied some movie and tv in school, so I was fascinated by the technical info provided by Saul Bass, who made the now popular opening graphics and animations. It probably explains why I enjoyed this book so much. Tricks of the trade of the more interesting things, is how Hitchcock used the squad from his famous tv series to make this suspense classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    This was not a movie Hitchcock was supposed to create but it turned out to be another memorable movie for him. It also gives insight to the thinking of its stars at the time as well as a brilliant description of how the shower stage was filmed.While [email protected]#$%!chcock movie was completed on a little budget (for a Hitchcock film), it has turned out to be one of his most memorable. While it's mild by today's standards, there are elements that will always be frightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    I'm a large fan of Alfred Hitchcock and "Psycho" is one of my favourite of his movies. I've just finished reading Robert Bloch's book and re-watching the original film to prime myself for reading this acc of "the making of" Psycho. An perfect book for the initiated! This takes us from an acc of Ed Gein, the depraved assassin and grave robber, which inspired Bloch for his book, then to an accounting of Bloch's writing of the book from idea to after publication. Then this book settles into telling the whole story behind how "Psycho" was filmed, publicized and its final legacy. Rebello's book gives away all plot points for the book and film and really would be of small interest to someone who is not familia with either. Create no mistake tthis book is about how the movie was made, *not* abot Hitchcock himself or any of the personalities involved. The biographical material included is only what is required to properly tell the story. I learned so much reading this book and found it extremely informative and entertaining. The next time I watch the film I will be watching it with new eyes looking for and thinking about what I learned from this book. There are no pictures but I found myself reading with Google Photos begin beside me. When the first edition of the book was menttioned I neded to see that, when the first ever risque film production adverisement was mentioned I hurried to search picttures of them. When the enticing theatrical trailer was described I had to watch it! When Hitchcock's cameo and Ted Knight's role as "man by door" was mentioned I quickly watched those video clips. I could go on and on! A real book for the film : I have not seen the latest "Hitchcock" film with Helen Mirren of which this kindle edition has a film tie-in cover but I imagine that film is hardly representative of the book for the mere fact that Alma Hitchcock is only mentioned twice in the book. Once standing near a closed door and second on a rare public appearance with Alfred at an event. That said there is quite a bit of info on their dauhter, Patricia, who is incredibly still alive at the time of this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    An perfect book about the making of the classic film Psycho. You might wish to rent the film they created out this book "Hitchcock" and watch that first or even after reading the book. The book is much more detailed and more accurate than the film but the movie is definitely worth seeing. This book, originally released in 1990, has updated info about the film they created from this book. Anthony Hopkins gives a beautiful accurate portrayal of this complex and very flawed won't search the "Hitchcock" film in mass video retailers such as RedBox but I was able to check it out from my local library. And of course you can the film from so, an perfect primer for movie students. Plenty of technical info that does not obtain in the method of Rebello's compelling storytelling. The author actually interviewed Hitchcock shortly before the "Master of Suspense" died and he is recognized as an expert on the man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alfred Hitchcock and the Making of Psycho []  2020-2-8 19:6

    What an interesting method to cast light on the man. Hitchcock was one of a few of his age. He obviously had a fixation on attractive blonds. It's almost as if by directing them and mentoring their career he in some method posessed them. Film making in this era is shown in amazing detail. The book helps one understand the very difficult job of a screen writer. Loved the identification of the different individuals who played a pivital role in making a movie. Anyone who would have fun learning about how films were created before technology took so much of the human touch out of it would love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    Kobe Bryant and Annie Matthew, Authors of "Legacy and the Queen" have written a unique, entertaining, intense, magical, captivating story. I love everything about this book. The cover has a velvet feel with the gold imprinted letters and design. When I begin the book, I am reminded of a lot of classics and fairy tales that I have read. The Authors have written and vividly described a coming of age novel with a certain essence of magical feel.  This story does remind me of "The Hunger Games" in a slight way.  I read this in one sitting and was totally mesmerized by the story. The Genres for this novel are Fiction, Magical Realism, and Fantasy. The authors describe the colourful and dramatic characters as complex, and complicated. There are also comparisons and contrasts to amazing and evil, rich and poor, and kind and mean-spirited.Legacy lives in an orphanage with her father and homeless children. She takes care of the small ones, and more than anything loves to play tennis. Legacy reads to the kids and confides in her best mate Van. Van religiously reads the town's paper and sees that there is a contest for tennis players. If Legacy wins, this could mean that all her father's financial worries would be over, and the orphanage would thrive. Legacy knows that her father wouldn't give permission so she is determined to go and see if she can win.When Legacy does reach the castle, there are a lot of obstacles in her way.  Legacy is treated as an outcast, and it is hard for her to fit in. I admire Legacy's powerful will, determination, and kindness.  I would highly recommend this novel to older children, young adults, and adults of every age. The authors discuss the importance of family, friends, believing in yourself, emotional support, fairness, love, and hope. I search the magical words in this story inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    A gem of a book. A young tennis prodigy’s story in a magical land. A reminder that amazing friends, Self love, honesty and hard work can be rewarding. Highly recommend for young readers and tennis lovers of any age!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    Kobe does not disappoint once again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    Perfect read .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    I bought this book for my 12 year old tennis playing daughter, but wanted to read it myself to be sure of it’s content before giving it to her. This book was so much better than I had even hoped. What a story of perseverance and the power of mental toughness. I loved it and my daughter is few chapters in and loving it as well. I hope there’s a sequel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    I havent read this book. I bought it for my granddaughter. I haven't given it to her yet. Her birthday is Friday and she is having a birthday dinner Saturday so I plan to give it to her then. The cover is beautiful. Its velvet and well made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    SHE LOVES THIS BOOK . WE WILL HAND DOWN TO GENERATIONS. THANKS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    Guilty! I am a large NBA fan, so when I saw Kobe Bryant was involved with this story I required it. I knew this sounded more of a middle grade, but I still wanted to give it a chance. I was not able to obtain into this. However; my 11 year old nephew loves to read so I handed it to him. I tried to obtain him to give me some info around his thoughts. He ended up really liking this.He really likes fantasy and said he read this in a week. He took this with him everywhere as he always has a book with him. He liked the characters and the fantasy plot.Overall, this did not work for me but it did for my nephew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legacy and the Queen []  2020-1-29 17:32

    My child is excited to read this fresh series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    I hated this book - all of the members of the werewolf package are abusive, the “alpha” can sleep with anyone he wants to whenever he wants to and all the women therefore love him even though he has a “mate” (who is an poor person, as well), and the main hero is a complete narcissist. It also has enough similarities to other, and better, urban fantasy authors’ work that it’s impossible not to create comparisons, with this as the loser. I don’t like the method the werewolves don’t think of themselves as responsible for what they do in wolf form - it’s the wolf who is in control, so the person can’t support it, and those scenes treat the wolf as a completely various character. The plot has several unnecessary, and distasteful, scenes. I’m only partway through the book, but can’t really even tell what the main plot is supposed to be - is it Kitty keeping her radio show, or learning to stop the Package being so abusive towards her, or finding out who the rogue werewolf is, or... I can’t finish this book, it’s just so bad. Don’t waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    I know I'm coming late to the party with a review of book 1 in the Kitty Norville series. It's been on my radar for quite some time, but there were always other books I found much more interesting I'd rather spend on. I decided to give the first book a try, and after finishing this fast read, I'm going to sit on the rest of the series until I don't have anything else or the books drop in is was a quick, interesting story with a slightly various twist on werewolves and vampires. I wouldn't classify this as a "coming of age" story, as a few others have done. Kitty is an adult when the story starts, although she doesn't seem to act it. It is more of a "coming into her own" story where we meet the uber-submissive Kitty who, after a series of events, starts to fit better into her own skin and becomes the person she is meant to be. In a lot of series, you are told that at some point in the past, there was a day or happening of emergence where the globe learns of other species. In this one, you're on the ground floor of the reveal. Now, it's not the whole book---in fact, it is only a little part of it. The remainder is Kitty dealing with certain happenings and how they change e writing is clean and well done, for the most part. The issue is if you don't know Vaughn, it is very simple to become dispirited towards Kitty and wish to give up on the book. You wish her to pull her head out of her arse and grow a spine. I am not crazy about the ending, nor am I satisfied with the dangling plot lines. This entire book is beautiful much a throw-away story: how does Kitty obtain and hold the radio present and the other species reveal to the world. The rest is really just filler for the book and set-up for the rest of the series, but the story is so shallow, I’m sure you could skip this first one and learn about it in the re-cap.If Kitty was an exceptional character, and the world-building engaging enough for me to be eager to read more, then I would be more excited at the prospect of a long series. As it is, Kitty isn't really all that special, and I'm actually a small worried she'll become too much of a Mary Sue. OK story, but not great, and the is definitely not right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    The premise of this book intrigued me and seemed really various - a werewolf talk radio host?! As a former female radio DJ myself, I just had to read this. The surprising thing was even with my love of the broadcast life, the radio program parts became tedious for me. I liked the other parts of the story much better. I really liked the wolf POV. That was various and really interesting. It helped me connect with our shero much more than I ever did her human side. I really liked her wolf. The writing was amazing and I liked the overall story. A lot of interesting characters were introduced. So the book was amazing but something didn't quite click. It didnt hook me. Once finished I wasn't ready to immediately the next book. I think for me it was the lack of engaging romance or continuing story line. This book works almost too well as a stand alone. Everything seemed wrapped up fairly neat and I wasn't dying to know what happened next. I'd say this book is best for those who are in the mood for paranormal mystery/suspense rarher thanromance. I will probably continue the series later though when I'm in the mood for that. So If you wish romance id suggest reading something else. But it's still an enjoyable simple read that introduces potentially amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    What I would first like to obtain out of the method before I begin any criticism is that I like this series of books. The Kitty series is based on standard urban fantasy where werewoves and vampires come out of the closet and the struggles that people face as a result. Kitty is a reasonably likable main hero and the plot twists are often surprising and entertaining.When I first considered the series I had a lot of doubt about the concept of a werewolf DJ being a amazing basis for a main character, but Vaughn does a amazing job of making it work. Kitty isn't the fastest, smartest, or strongest in any of the books. She mostly survives her encounters with strong people and beings on her wit, guile and amazing biggest criticism is that toward the beginning of the first book there is some brief but explicit content that was unnecessary to advance the story. This brief explicit stage isn't indicative of the rest of the series where most that occurs is only suggestive and not explicit. So why Vaughn chose to spoil the series for a younger audience I have no clue. I would suggest that Vaughn go back and edit a couple of pages and have another release that could be read by young teens.A minor problem is that while it isn't difficult to tell the political preferences of most authors, most have the amazing judgment to create fun of behaviors without directly associating those behaviors with a named political party. However, throughout this series the poor politicians have all been specifically labeled "Republicans". They could have just as easily remained unlabeled because the behaviors could have just as easily been attributed to politicians of either party, but it seems that Vaughn has chosen to leverage her fictional writing into a platform where she creates fictional bad-guys and labels them Republicans.*Possible spoiler*My main technical problem with the story so far is that there is no significant down side to being a werewolf (or were-anything) and with a 100% assimilation rate I don't understand how the "were" condition hasn't overtaken the population of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    Cutesy title, but a amazing read. The Kitty in the title is the werewolf host of a late-night radio present that starts attracting call-ins from the supernatural community, for results both amazing and ill. Handles the setup well, and covers the usual bases for werewolf novels these days (Dominance, stances, and all the usual items people pick up researching true wolves). It also manages to inject humor and some nice dialog into the mix, as well as some characters you like, though some obtain left by the wayside far too quickly and with too small time on-stage. (Her producer, for example, is oft-mentioned, but poorly detailed, despite being involved with the plot in notable ways.) Overall, much better than some of the alternatives out there, and a amazing read by itself. Also has a sequal coming out this summer, with the lead-in that as the present has caught on, she's seen as an 'expert' on the supernatural community and is being called to DC to testify for a committee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    I love Kitty lol 😂 she’s a werewolf named Kitty oh the irony!! First off I’ve read this story a lot of times as a paperback but just recently acquired the ebook version. This is a amazing introduction to Kitty’s globe and I love the characters that you meet and the various story lines. I will say that every time I read this book I’m always disappointed with TJ’s story. I feel like he deserved a better possibility and he and Kitty would have been the best of friends/siblings. RIP TJ!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    Why am I writing this? Everyone knows this book is awesome. Carrie Vaughn stands as one of the most successful self-published authors in Denver and her "Kitty Norville" series, now concluded with "Kitty Saves the World," are the cornerstone of her literary achievements. But hey, I read the book, and I owe a lot of local authors the courtesy of a review so here goes. This book introduces us to Kitty Norville, the host of a late night radio present that, through a series of bizarre coincidences, morphs into a talk present about the paranormal. Kitty herself is hiding the fact that she's a werewolf, and very much intertwined with the politics of her own wolfpack and the local vampire colony. The rising popularity of her show, the slow realization of mankind towards the supernatural, and the presence of a self described vampire hunter place Kitty in danger that she couldn't possibly imagine. Yet she rises, and overcomes, properly giving birth to a hero whose popularity in this genre is deserved. This book has what you'd expect from a monster-based action title: an assertive lead, some rising action, sex, violence, intrigue, and backstabbing, but none of these elements ever becomes too prominent as to drive a stake through the heart of the reader. It's a amazing novel, totally worth reading, and certainly exciting enough to merit reading the whole series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    A few weeks ago I came across a recommendation for this book on a writers forum -- I do not regret buying it. It is a GREAT Urban Fantasy. It's a small bit Dresden Files, and a small Monk from the perspective of a female ver of Wolfman Jack! It's a amazing setting and concept but also a amazing story. I immediately liked Kitty and realized the globe in which she has been forced into isn't all nice. (You think it would be fun to a werewolf? You're wrong!) I love the DJ therapist for creature thing. If you're a fan of the Harry Dresden novels, wish a more adult twist on the vampire/werewolf interaction, from the POV of a woman who DOESN'T wish to be in that world, you'll love this book. I can't wait to the next one, which is coming up in my queue of "to buy" books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    Wow, this story was really good. Kitty is a night talk present host and one day her topic gets accidentally twisted around into a 'paranormal' tip show. This works additional well because Kitty is also a werewolf. She finds herself dealing with a dirty pack, a family of vampires, and rogue werewolf leaving a trail of mutilated bodies. While others have complained that Kitty is whiney and weak, I thought she came across as more human than her genre counterparts. I feel like Kitty doesn't really like violence even when she is forced into violent situations. Kitty still sees what it means to be human and she keeps her wolf at bay. The pace of the story moved along briskly. The book is shorter than a lot of books of the same genre so it wasted no time getting to the grist of the story. I really liked Kitty and I am eager to see where the story goes from here. The only thing keeping this from being a five star book is some weird items with her package leader at the begin of the book. It just left me with a grossed out feeling I couldn't shake. I am just glad Kitty has moved away from being so submissive. I recommend this book to fans of Charlaine Harris, Rachel Vincent, and Kim Harrison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitty and The Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville Book 1) []  2020-7-1 18:43

    In my opinion:I loved this book about a werewolf named Kitty. This is not your typical werewolf book, I felt tat it was a rite of passage storyline. Versus her wishes she was created into a wolf by Zan. She lived with this secret and kept it from everyone she knew at work and her parents. Always making up exuses to her family during full moon nights. She worked as a DJ in a radio station during the late nights. She starts a late night present by possibility that delved in the globe of vampires and werewolves. That topic created both communities angry at her because it was to remain secret. Through this she had to war and crawl her method ino being be to live her life her way. She was forced to act in a dominate method that could threaten not only her life but a mates life. I would give this 5 stars and am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    When I downloaded this book, I thought I would obtain a fun look at some “swingin’ cats.” This perfect book delivers that and SO much more. It’s a fascinating history of a distinct period and provides a amazing look at the history of Las Vegas, the Kennedys, organized crime, and a cast of characters beyond the Rat Pack. It’s a fun read that is also very informative, and even the Kindle edition contains some amazing photos. I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    Another interesting expose' of what Americans call the Entertainment World. An era selected to dissect and perhaps to evaluate, to review, to compare with other times. A possibility to discover why some choose a method of life that a lot of search disgusting. The writer pulls a section of time and put to showcase and does it very thoroughly. Other writers do the same with the Roman Forum, Madison Avenue, historical conquerors of varied genres and so for those who lived in the Rat Packs' generation this book will perhaps fill in gaps in info that they will search enlightening. A well written investigative report on the Rat Pack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    In reading through this biography it reiterated what I really already knew. Frank Sinatra was a mean hearted, narcissist who thought he was better and above the rest!It left me feeling saddened for those who befriended him, those who relied on him and his wives and family. I'm left wondering if he truly cared about anyone or anything! He was just a punk. Skinny and homely with in my opinion, a so so talent as his ugliness always shined through to , Dean Martin, he's another story. A attractive voice and style. So handsome with a amazing lackadaisical personality. I felt he was one of the package who went along for the ride but stayed real to himself. As he aged, I felt he fell into a deep depression and was sad and lonely but really wanted nothing to do with Frank or that lifestyle any longer. He wanted to respond only to himself which I'm satisfied he could mmy Davis, what cruelty was constantly bestowed upon him but what a warrior he was. Through all his heartache, work and tenacity, he paved the method for so many. He was ahead of his time and I must wonder would his life had been better or worse had he never crossed paths with Frank?Peter. I've read enough about Marilyn Monroe to wonder why more was not said about the death and Peters possible involvement in it? Her death just seemed to be a blip in this story. And I also must ask, why did Joe DiMaggio dislike or distrust the rat package so much as to hold them all at bay during her funeral, that wasnt even mentioned in this book. I'd hoped that would have been talked about in more detail. Well, another book, another e book flowed nicely. I learned a few things I hadn't known before, like the fact that Jack Kennedy had been married and divorced prior to Jackie. It's a short paragraph at how the mob brushed that info under the rug.....can this be real as I've never heard this news before. And the Kennedys had such close relationships with the mob.....l in all a amazing read. I recommend it for those who are interested in this era and these guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    See aboveLearned as much as possible of the Rat will have fun this book. I for sure did and never attended a life performance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    I did like it, it was a very amazing ere is a lot of information, info and very amazing point of view from the author, which seems impartial. However it's not a linear book , the ideas and informations come and go in a very chaotic way. The author tells about Frank and then skip to Peter Lawford and so on. There is a mix of periods, for instance , the author talks about 1950 happenings and then goes to the sixties and back to fifties , this is very confusing. But all in all,it worth your time, is a very amazing read, if you attention

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    The rat package were very famous in the 50's when I was growing up. I loved their talent. I especially admired Sammy Davis Jr. for his exceptional talent. The book tells of his treatment because of him being black. You will have fun this book if you also liked these entertainers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    Frankly speaking, no pun intended, I did not like this book. I threw it away about 1/2 into it - because I had not read a single thing that was fresh about members of the Rat Pack. Maybe I've lived too long and read too much about them already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Centipede Goes to the Dentist []  2020-7-30 19:27

    I am a dental hygienist that goes out to preschools in my community and educates the children on amazing dental hygiene. I recently was looking for an updated, yet fun book to read to my 4 and 5 year old kiddos. I found this book on Amazon and thought I would test it. I really liked it! The children have fun the story of Sammy and the illustrations are great. I would recommend this book to dental offices, parents with children going to the dentist for the first time as well as teachers. I've been very satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Museum of Broken Promises: ‘…beautiful, elegant.' Marian Keyes []  2020-1-27 22:7

    I really enjoyed this book and it’s characters. It’s has a special story and it shows a bit more of the humanity that nowadays people are trying to hide more than express their e writing was amazing and pulled me in from the beginning so I couldn’t leave it until I’ve finished the latest page.Would recommend it to all my book friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    I, like everybody over 70 years old, followed the days of the Rat Package as it progressed through the evolution of Hollywood and Las Vegas. This book gave me info and insight that was not available to me at the time these artists were at their peak. It did confirm that Frank was indeed the overbearing individual I always thought he was as well as proving the relaxed demeanor of Dean. The largest surprise was the truth about Peter Lawford. Whether you lived through their height of popularity at the time or came upon them later by method of their reputation you will have fun reading how life was for the rich and famous. And I still have fun the You Tube videos of Dean in his unrehearsed skits with other popular performers and dignitaries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    This is a amazing story, not only of the individual members of the Rat Pack, but of Las Vegas and its colourful characters, and the period of history in which the story is set. Although much has been written in greater detail about the same subjects, this book gives a amazing summary of their life and times and the influence they had not only in present business but as pop culture icons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rat Pack Confidential: Frank, Dean, Sammy, Peter, Joey and the Last Great Show Biz Party []  2020-1-22 22:28

    Although the rat pack's prime was before my time, this book brought them back to life and revealed a lot of thinks I was not aware of. I found the relationships with President Kennedy and organized crime especially interesting and that small of this was reported on at the time. I was in Palm Springs when I was reading this making it even more interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Centipede Goes to the Dentist []  2020-7-30 19:27

    The writing by the author speaks to kids but it educates everyone. Maria Luchsinger has a method of bringing the reader into the story that makes you wish to go to the next page eagerly even though as an adult I know what's involved in going to the dentist. Or do I? I can't recommend this more highly to everyone just for a fun read, but especially for parents and teachers who wish to sit down with kids to read to them or have them read how going to the dentist is not only an advisable practice, it's a nonthreatening, fun thing to do. The gorgeous illustrations are as colourful as the author's attractive prose. For adults and kids both, this is a amazing educational tool as well as a reminder to take care of our teeth!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Museum of Broken Promises: ‘…beautiful, elegant.' Marian Keyes []  2020-1-27 22:7

    rom the moment I walked into the Museum of Broken Promises, I had a feeling it was going to be good. A put of wonder and lives lived. There are pieces here, ‘fragments of lives that have not gone according to plan’. It’s through one of these stuff that Laure, the narrator of this journey and curator of the museum starts this tale…..Laure Carlyle works as an au pair for the Kobe family in Paris. When they move to Communist Czechoslovakia, life changes beyond all recognition. Laure finds the fresh regime scary and very regimented. No one trusts her since she is both a newcomer and an outsider. These are risky times and people like her are the enemy. Laure herself finds someone close to her working for the very party she and others ague before the Velvet Revolution is a fascinating. The town and the country before it becomes Czechoslovakia is a very various yet interesting put to be. Going back in time through Laure’s eyes is both sad yet encouraging when it comes to a love affair. This story is then woven into the show day Paris storyline and it soon builds into a swirling photo which at first blurred and then becomes a mix of history and secrets. There’s snippets of Berlin after the fall of the Berlin Wall too and this adds to the overall ‘ before and after’ picture. The ‘What if’s’, the looking back and making sense of what has come e two timelines and flashbacks are the excellent method to tell such a story. How one person, one time and place, one country, one regime can have such an result on everything else. During the travels back and forth in time, the history becomes the story and the story the history. Changes happen, meetings take place, regimes crack and fall. Surveillance of individuals seems to grow. Beautiful apt when you think about the show e whole idea of broken promises, regrets, hopes and human fears and a museum to keep them all in, was really poignant and was the excellent car to showcase the emerging romance and historical e author contains a fascinating bibliography too which makes this museum seem all the more true and its time in history that bit more significant. A amazing one to booktrail for sure!Wonderful book and one to savour.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Museum of Broken Promises: ‘…beautiful, elegant.' Marian Keyes []  2020-1-27 22:7

    This is a beautifully written, sad story about Laure who worked as an au pair in Czechoslovakia to two kids whose father was high up in the Communist Political regime. Whilst there she falls in love with a radical political activist and musician Tomas. The story is told both in the past when she was based there and in the future where she has opened a Museum of Broken Promises in Paris."What is unique to the Museum of Broken Promises is the explanations. In most museums, it is the experts that supply the explanations. In ours, it is you who do so, the public. Our museum gives a voice to the people in a method that few other institutions provide." Poignant and melancholic one can not come away from this unmoved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Museum of Broken Promises: ‘…beautiful, elegant.' Marian Keyes []  2020-1-27 22:7

    The book itself was for me a broken promise, considering that I immensely liked other books written by Elizabeth Buchan. There are some amazing ideas, e.g. the idea of a museum of broken promises itself, however, she fails to deliver. I found Laure, the main character, rather tragic and not very plausible, I just can’t imagine that an 18-year-old would allow the happenings of one summer determine how happily she would live her whole life, no matter how powerful the emotions were. The main characters in general are not very likeable and the writing is rather chaotic - focus, places, times are changing often and almost randomly. The perspective on life in Prague in 1980s is very one-sided, all gloom and doom as if it was a battle zone, and there are so a lot of small inaccuracies, from names to not understanding the culture and context, that I begin to doubt how accurate her other historical novels are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backyard Baseball (Sammy the Bird Book) []  2020-2-7 20:10

    My grandson loves these books. Teaches amazing life lessons and is funny. 1st grader and laughs outloud when he reads them. Reads them over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ball Psycho - The Impossible (No Ads) [App]  2017-10-20 3:0

    Permissions problem. Obtain rid of the "read phone status and identity" and the "location" permissions to obtain a higher rating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ball Psycho - The Impossible (No Ads) [App]  2017-10-21 3:0

    Permissions problem. Obtain rid of the "read phone status and identity" and the "location" permissions to obtain a higher rating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ball Psycho - The Impossible (No Ads) [App]  2017-10-19 21:40

    Permissions problem. Obtain rid of the "read phone status and identity" and the "location" permissions to obtain a higher rating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backyard Baseball (Sammy the Bird Book) []  2020-2-7 20:10

    My 3 year old son loves when I read this book to him. He likes to read the sounds during the book. It's fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backyard Baseball (Sammy the Bird Book) []  2020-2-7 20:10

    Have fun the reading my so. Is able to do with the book.. he loves the illustrations and the attractive pictures it has.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    Adorable! Pete the kitty meets Grumpy toad. Together they learn to share with each other. We are huge Pete fans so this was a fun addition to our collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    My 2 year old son loves this book. He now thinks that when someone will not share, hey are being a grumpy toad. He also call this the ‘mine, mine’ book after grumpy toad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    Amazing book, I read this several times a day to my class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    Love this authors books, my son is obsessed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    Pete the Cat is a favorite with my granddaughter. Having a story about Pete the Cat that meshes with her current age (preschool) makes this a very famous read with her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    My child love these books. I’ve been reading her Pete the Cat books since she was born. Three more words

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    Exactly as described. Amazing book. Came brand new..This specific IBN was bought to replace the one at our library after we damaged their copy.I don’t care for the story. But children liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    This is a amazing book to teach young kids about sharing and how to create friends!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    Amazing method to teach manners and sharing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate (Pete the Cat) []  2020-7-22 19:35

    My 3-year old daughter loves this book, and I have fun reading it to her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixteen Years in Sixteen Seconds: The Sammy Lee Story []  2020-2-12 22:7

    Did you know that in 1932, a sign on a public swimming pool that read "Members Only" really meant that only whites were permitted to enter except on certain days? That year, Sammy Lee, the twelve-year-old son of Korean immigrants who ran a restaurant in Highland Park, CA, stood outside the swimming pool fence one hot summer day and saw a boy diving high in the air and breaking the water with hardly a splash. Sammy decided that he wanted to learn how to do that. The following Wednesday, when people of color were allowed to use the pool, his African American mate Hart Crum showed him how to dive doing somersaults. With the summer Olympics being held in nearby Los Angeles that year, Sammy dreamed of becoming an Olympic winner diver. However, Sammy's father wanted him to become a doctor rather than an athlete. Six years later, when he was eighteen, Sammy was attending a swim and diving competition, and between meets, he sneaked into the pool zone to practice. Jim Ryan saw him and agreed to become his coach. Sammy managed to hold his grades up while practicing diving, becoming the first nonwhite elected student body president in his high school and being offered a full scholarship at Occidental College in Los Angeles. Yet, he still faced discrimination, and his grades fell during his first year of college because he spent more time diving than studying. After seeing a rude customer berating his father in the restaurant and his father responding without losing his temper, Sammy understood why his father wanted him to do well in school. They struck a that Sammy could continue diving as long as his grades were amazing enough for medical school. The 1940 Olympics were cancelled because of Globe Battle II, and Sammy thought his Olympic dreams were dead. He did go on to become a doctor in the Troops in 1946, but that year he also entered the national diving championship, winning the high-platform dive with the highest score ever, and was able to enter the London, England, Olympics in 1948. While he continued to face discrimination, rather than getting mad he decided to prove his worth in the Olympics and present that people should not be judged by the color of their skin. What happened in those sixteen seconds that followed sixteen years of training? Sixteen Years in Sixteen Seconds, the real story of Dr. Sammy Lee, has deservedly won numerous book awards including the Fresh Voices Award. It is a unbelievable story of dreaming, working hard, overcoming challenges, and being victorious. While it will be of unique interest to kids of Asian American descent, it illustrates for us all what Sammy's father had told him. "In America, you can achieve anything if you set your heart to it."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Seal (I Can Read Level 1) []  2020-1-25 13:46

    This is not the best children's story, but it is okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Halloween: Trick or Treat! (Sammy the Bird Book) [Book]  2017-10-20 18:1

    My 3yr old son loved it as usual. He smiled every time the doorbell rang. These books are so entertaining and creative. I may like them more than him. He heard me say that and said, "No mom, I like them more than you. You like them 100 and I like them 50 and 200." Hahaha

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Seal (I Can Read Level 1) []  2020-1-25 13:46

    If it matters at all to you, this book didn't look as it does in the picture. The blue sky that is pictured on the cover is actually a metallic silver on the one I received. Other than that, the contents of the book is just as I remembered it to be years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Seal (I Can Read Level 1) []  2020-1-25 13:46

    This book was purchased as a baby shower gift. I chose the book because it was a favorite of mine as a child.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixteen Years in Sixteen Seconds: The Sammy Lee Story []  2020-2-12 22:7

    A real character from Franklin HS in LA. Most likable man that have met.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Devil in The Darkness: True Story of Serial Killer ISRAEL KEYES (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-26 22:14

    How can you take a topic as interesting as Isreal Keyes and create it terrible? Create it all about Jesus. I couldn't even obtain through this book I got so annoyed by the slow pace and the author's tendency to create it a gospel to the Lord. I wanted info about a real series of crimes by a very sick individual, not a lesson in salvation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Devil in The Darkness: True Story of Serial Killer ISRAEL KEYES (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-26 22:14

    Reading crime stories keeps my mind off things I have to do. That said, this book became short reading for me because I had to skip over pages and pages of the author's seemingly obligatory fill about what unbelievable people the victims were. If well written, which this was not, knowing about the victims can be part of the story- if it is part of the story. In this case, it was additional like an appendix scattered through out the book. Then there was the references to the assassins atheism in which the author, himself, said that the main character's lack of a belief led him to commit evil acts. Next book, chop out the fill parts and it as a short story. If the book is religious, then it should be labeled as such.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Halloween: Trick or Treat! (Sammy the Bird Book) [Book]  2017-10-20 18:1

    They are amazing and entertaining. He can't stop picking "the Bird books " He says he loves loves loves the Bird books." Just now Lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixteen Years in Sixteen Seconds: The Sammy Lee Story []  2020-2-12 22:7

    My children were amazed that Dr. Lee accomplished so much after dealing with so much discrimination. He is an inspiration to everyone and is a proud citizen of this country. The illustrations are wonderful. Just a note - the book implies that his father only wanted him to be a doctor - he says his father supported both of his dreams - to become a doctor and to be a diver. He became successful at both, and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixteen Years in Sixteen Seconds: The Sammy Lee Story []  2020-2-12 22:7

    Well it was a nice story and I am glad to read this small history of the olympic swimmer someon i had no idea about

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Seal (I Can Read Level 1) []  2020-1-25 13:46

    We're huge fans of the "I Can Read!" paperbacks, and started to run out of fresh "My First" level books. I looked at the Level 1, Beginning Reading, books and happened upon these two oldie but goodie books from Syd Hoff."Danny and the Dinosaur" first came out in 1958, and was followed a year later by "Sammy the Seal". I was delighted to see them reissued as "I Can Read!" books. They are a particularly amazing because they are twice as long as the usual "I Can Read!" books, but are still available at the regular paperback "Danny and the Dinosaur" a child meets a live dinosaur at the museum and heads out into the Town with him for a day of wild/mild adventure. In "Sammy the Seal" a friendly seal who's curious about life is allowed a day out of the zoo so he can wander around and explore. Both books feature kind and friendly kids, helpful adults, cheerful adventures and no drama. Is this a 50's sort of thing? Well, yes, the books do have a bit of a nostalgic rose-colored-glasses feel to them, but they aren't glaringly old-fashioned and they've actually aged awfully , these are two books that you might recognize from your own childhood library, they aren't franchise or film tie-ins, they are readable at the recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Seal (I Can Read Level 1) []  2020-1-25 13:46

    It was my sisters favorite childhood book and I bought it for her to read to my grand daughter. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sammy the Seal (I Can Read Level 1) []  2020-1-25 13:46

    Loved these books growing up! So glad to be able to them for my nephew now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of the Queen (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels) []  2020-1-27 22:26

    Kateryn Parr was an awesome woman; in Philippa Gregory's recent book The Taming of the Queen her story is told in a narrative voice from the point of his proposal up until Henry's Death. In the author's note it is also described how Kateryn did live to marry her love Thomas and that she would eventually die trying to give birth to their child.I love Philippa Gregory's book but this one is a favorite now by far. In it the voice of Kateryn speaks out passionately to the reader and it is almost moving to a point as you follow her on her journey of thinking that a woman's role is just being a wife and surviving to the realization in and of herself that she has the power to be able to write and study just as any man does specifically for her thisepiphany occurs when she is studying the Word of God.Kateryn goes through hell and back trying to survive Henry the 8th and all his mind games; even to the point of him setting up a fake arrest to scare her into submission as if he hadn't already by that point; but Kateryn stays powerful and survives the marriage with cunning and grace. She was a woman truly out of her time who I believe would have been a amazing writer if she'd been born in a period with more tolerance for women and their e characters were easily relatable in this book and I found myself cheering them on. In a method Kateryn can be an inspiration for women today. She survived an extremely abusive marriage, raising step-children, living in a royal court, and she did it all while still wanting to study and having a thirst for knowledge that I truly admire. She was also the first woman to publish a book in egory knocked this one out of he ballpark for me and its a book I will most definitely hold on my shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of the Queen (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels) []  2020-1-27 22:26

    I have read and loved ALL Phillipa Gregory's books in the past, however, I am sad to say this one is not one of her better works. Method too much religion in the story, four-page descriptions of sea battles, etc. I think it's time to bid Henry and his wives a fond farewell.I usually plow through Gregory's Queen books, but this one is painful to obtain through. I'm at 59% and don't think I'll create it to 60%.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deviant: True Story of Ed Gein, the Original Psycho []  2020-7-6 18:30

    I read "Deranged" not too long ago. Although I believe that I've seen Harold Schechter quite a few times on different true-crime tv shows -- most likely on the Investigation Discovery (ID) network -- that was my first read from him. I thought that it was a very amazing effort about the life and crimes of one Albert Fish, and so I decided to give this one a try. Naturally, from my rating, I wasn't disappointed with this one either.I like how Mr. Schechter tends to choose one word titles for his books: "Deranged," "Deviant," "Fiend," etc. etc. While it doesn't necessarily give you a clue about who the book is about, it tends to describe each of these serial assassins in a nutshell. But more than that, I really appreciate the effort that the author obviously puts into research. It seems that he must travel to the zone where each of the assassins lived, and then spend a lot of time searching microfiche for at least old newspaper information. After all, most of his books are about really old cases, and most of the newspapers from the era of his books still aren't available online. (Periodically, I did a Google find here and there for newspaper articles that he mentions in the book, and even Google couldn't search them.)At any rate, while it appears that Mr. Schechter is a professor of American literature and pop culture, he comes off to me more as an historian. Maybe that was his minor? Maybe it's more of a hobby? Either way, he seems to be fairly knowledgeable about history as well.I'm nearly finished with "Deviant," and about the only thing that I didn't necessarily like about it was how the author called Ed Gein a "little man." Over and over. Personally, I just thought that it was an unnecessary ad hominem. Taking a peek around the web, I guess that Mr. Gein was around 5 foot 7, so I guess that he was a "little man," but I'm not convinced that it added to the story. Perhaps the motivation for this was to remind the reader that even someone diminutive in stature can be bigger than life as a killer?It is interesting how this story unfolds, and while reading, I'm not exactly convinced that Mr. Gein was your standard "evil" guy. He seems to me to be more of an enigma, at least from a serial assassin perspective. It really isn't clear if he himself even understood the nature of his crimes; to him, it was as if there was no difference between field dressing a deer and field dressing a human. (I'm quite convinced that a lot of people throughout history have attempted to argue this position, and while I believe that it's a amazing argument to have from an academic perspective, it might be a tricky one to win. If I were to argue versus it, I would begin by saying that most species do not condone the killing of their own kind, but it surely doesn't always hold. I believe that a lot of monkey species slay their own, as an example. At any rate, I would like to read a valid and sound argument versus it, as these types of arguments usually devolve into "appeals to emotion" -- or perhaps more likely "circular reasoning", or something like, "it's poor because it's bad," which I've heard one too a lot of times in my life -- which are obviously invalid immediately.)While my favorite true-crime author is probably Jack Olsen, he hasn't been with us for over a decade now, and unfortunately, most of his books are not available on Kindle. And I hate buying "real" books anymore; I far prefer e-books. Luckily for us, it appears that most of Mr. Schechter's books are available on Kindle, and I have quite a few left to go. It should hold me busy for a while, and I'd recommend that you'd consider reading them as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deviant: True Story of Ed Gein, the Original Psycho []  2020-7-6 18:30

    Nice breakdown of the REAL Norman Bates. As for his defense team, with their Will and Skill anything is possibill and Eddie Gein is found in-seen!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386