Read scars and souvenirs reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all scars and souvenirs reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I was thrilled when I heard the first selection, as this is a song that John sang with his dear mate Steve Goodman when he was alive. The arrangements, and John"s voice on this CD are so full of heart and soul....the qualities that create him so loved by his fans. Classic John Prine at his best!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I saw John Prine perform at the Minnesota Zoo this past summer and wanted to pick up an album containing as a lot of as possible of the songs he performed. Unfortunately, when I sampled the original albums online they sounded various in tone from what I had heard that night. They were more country in style and while I like folk melody I can do without a twangy guitar sound. I wanted to hear the songs the method he performed them, though in a studio is was the album to get. In it are all re-recordings of songs he first did a lot of years earlier, and it captures his more mature sound. Even though his voice is more ravaged by being sick it simply sounded more like how I required to hear the songs. His pacing is spare, his words cutting, and his delivery so straight it'll give you a catch in your throat just listening to it. I can't stop playing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Wonderfully intelligible recordings of some of Mr. P.'s best songs, IMO. His voice may have a lost a bit of unbridled youthful enthusiasm, but it's more than created up for in smoothness, centeredness, comfort. Hearing these songs is like rediscovering a bottle of favorite whisky, and settling into an overstuffed simple chair with a full glass, on a cold, foggy winter's evening, in front of a crackling fire, with all your Christmas cards written, and the children snugly in bed. In short, everything seems right with the world. In the liner notes, John says he wanted a master recording of these tunes, well so should all Prine fans. As other reviews have said, a amazing intro and a unbelievable revisiting. Amazing counterpoint to his live, boisterous, honky-tonkish live recordings. Spare, uncluttered, distilled to the beloved essence. A must-have. Buy it. Now. You won't be sorry!

    0  


    Add your opinion on scars and souvenirs or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    An attempt by Mr. Prine to due respect to some lovely songs. In this endeavor, he certainly succeeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Time, health problems, and the ravages of the street have reduced John Prine's voice -- always out of the rustic-rasp tradition of Woody Guthrie, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, and Bob Dylan -- to not much more than an amiable croak. That's okay, I guess, and it's okay, too, to be reminded of some of the incomparable songs Prine composed in his first decade or so as a performer. Even better to hear some of them, overproduced to near-unlistenability the first time around, reintroduced in more appropriate -- in other words, starkly country/folk -- settings, where the story is up front and not in running conflict with the irritatingly busy production. The ones that sounded fine the first time, though, don't necessarily sound better here; "Fish and Whistle" and "Hello in There" in particular suffer in comparison. And yet, if the vocal execution is sometimes less than wholly satisfactory, the songs are so amazing that the flaws are largely overlookable. The emotionally unsparing early songs -- "Hello in There," "Angel from Montgomery," "Sam Stone," "Far from Me," and the rest -- still package the sort of wallop few other writer/performers ever obtain close to. At the same time Prine's goofy, off-the-wall humor is mostly absent here. In fact, the overall tone of this retrospective is disturbingly autumnal; if you didn't know better, you'd almost think this was Prine's latest will and testament. Don't scare us, John. You and we are long, long overdue for some brand-new songs, and the sooner the better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Re-recordings of some of his best songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    John Prine is amazing as usual on this CD and the songs are great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    If you are a John Prine fan, you will have to have this 's all of John's best songs recorded in a bit slower beat, with better production and instrumentation than the original recordings. Usually, I don't care for re-recorded former songs, but this is a definite exception. If you've heard the originals, you will love these. They reveal John's growthas a performer. These songs deserved this touch anks John.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I worship Prine's songs, but had hoped that these recordings had been remastered or in some manner embellished from the original releases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    is book is heavy--it covers massive subjects and has a lot of information. The brokenness's that have been covered in this book, the acts of violence versus women across the world, it feels like a lot to think about. I appreciate that Storkey does not leave us with the info she's compiled but with a reminder of the hope that Christ bears and the hope that is being wrung out of movements for change.I appreciate that she has taken the time to process through all of the info she has and has brought it together for others to read and, maybe for the first time, understand some of the things that are event throughout the world.I received a complementary copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    As I read this beautifully written memoir, it was like having my own sense of loss affirmed by someone who truly understands. When a landscape we love and are intimate with (whether it's splendid mountains and valleys or our own backyard), is destroyed by the freakishness of our changing climate, it hurts. It changes us. We stop trusting nature. We feel stress. Maybe we obtain sick. We need to recover. Patricia Prijatel's beautifully written acc of the burn scars on "her" mountain and on herself is a must read if you care about climate change. It's well researched and informative, quick paced and vivid. And perhaps surprisingly, in locations it's laugh-out-loud r book clubs, BURN SCARS is a timely, discussable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    In Burn Scars, Patricia Prijatel and her husband race to escape a devastating forest fire threatening their hand-crafted cabin in the family's Colorado mountain paradise. They survive the flames, but the people, animals, forest and plants are forever scared. Here is a vividly detailed, intensely private sharing of love, loss, grief, and fear that the Colorado fire and its struggle to heal is a microcosm of endangered planet Earth. Rosemarie O'Connor

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    Some books just break you. They tear down your neatly compartmentalised perspectives and opinions. They “burst your bubble”, so to speak, causing the cultural and self-induced anaesthesia’s to be flushed out of your system; leaving you aware of a reality that you had never wanted to see me books need to break us. As Franz Kafka once wrote, “If the book we’re reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for?”Elaine Storkey’s recent book, *Scars Across Humanity*, certainly does this.And it’s a much required blow -- the violence versus women has perpetuated on for far too long. Charting us through the problems of female genital mutilation, selective abortion and infanticide, rape, trafficking and domestic violence (to name only a few of the subjects this book describes), *Scars Across Humanity* clearly diagnoses the pandemic of violence that is taking put towards women, in some form, on every continent of our is isn’t merely a book about dry statistics -- this is a book about stories, human lives, and the demeaning, destructive, discriminating and dehumanising value that is ascribed to ’ll be shaken when you read this book. It’s terrifying in a lot of ways. Some of the accounts are raw and brutal. But they need to be told, the lid needs to be lifted. The victims of this pandemic have been extremely courageous to stand up and share their stories; the least you can do is read them! The spread of this deepening, patriarchal inflicted scar needs to be stopped, and that can’t happen whilst a lot of of us are in denial of its existence.*Scars Across Humanity* is a strong thrust in the direction of justice and inequality. By a long shot, this the most necessary book I’ve read in the past year – maybe my ease read this book, and tell others to read it too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    A moving meditation on our connection to the land, and a potent wake up call to the devastating effects of climate change.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    Her book will raise your blood pressure and stoke your sense of outrage. But it will also sharpen your perception of what is event around you, just out of ear shot or out of eye sight. Wife, mother, scholar, author, speaker, journalist, tireless advocate for the marginalized as president of Tearfund and cofounder of Restored: Elaine Storkey compiles a sturdy dossier on violence versus women and girls across the globe in her 288 page paperback, "Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Versus Women". On the one hand it is easily readable no matter your skill level; on the other hand it is hard to read if you have a heart!"Scars Across Humanity" is a studious report on the ways nations and societies assault and violate their women and girls. Storkey takes whole chapters to meticulously describe the universality of specific forms of violence. After asserting that gender-specific violence is a global pandemic, she then takes eight chapters to work over different manifestations of female-focused coercion. Abortions that target female fetuses and infanticide of girls; genital mutilation; early, enforced marriages; honor killings; domestic abuse; trafficking and prostituting; and violence in war. Each topic gets its own chapter thoroughly researched and rigorously e author then takes on theories of gender-based violence. She examines sociobiology's and evolutionary psychology's explanations, and exposes their inadequacies. Storkey also gets into Marxist/Socialist forms of feminism, showing where these are unsatisfactory. The author kindly grapples with Islam, pointing out the ways it has been misused to fuel gender-based violence, and registers ways that Islamic feminists are making inroads from within. Finally, she presents a chapter on Christianity and gender which I thoroughly enjoyed, and appreciated.I found two locations that gave me some concern. To begin, the author seems obsessed with "patriarchy" throughout the book. She lays all of these evils at the feet of patriarchal societies, patriarchal traditions, patriarchal power, patriarchal authority, patriarchal cultures, ad infinitum. But, as far as I could see, it was never defined. There is a load of ideological baggage encumbering that word, but it means various things to various groups. As it stands, the book leaves the reader with a poor taste for "patriarchy" so that if they ever heard it used they would immediately think poor things (in a kind of Pavlovian way). I really did search this unhelpful.Further, Storkey is a Westerner, as am I, and it hit me that some of her analysis showed a smidgen of Western snobbery. For example, while describing the badness of "early and enforced marriages" for girls, she targets Niger, where "a staggering 75 per cent of all girls marry under 18, and 33 per cent under 15" (50). That statement strikes me as culturally and chronologically condescending. It wasn't that long ago our very own grandparents and great-grandparents married at those ages. No doubt there were social pressures that pushed this, but there was also a shorter lifespan that inspired urgency. Now that Americans and other Westerners live, on average, well into their 70s, we can (and are) postponing marriage to later years. So I checked it out with a easy Google search, and Globe Bank says the average lifespan in Niger in 2015 (when the UK ver of this book was originally published) was 53 and rising (other sources gave slightly various lifespans, but all were 60 and below). Though there may be other social expectations and cultural perceptions at work in Niger, but shorter lifespans are surely giving some sense of urgency as well. I'm not sure that earlier marriages are proof positive of gender-abuse.But neither of these concerns takes away from the value of the book, in my eyes. This is an necessary read for all. It is eye-opening and heartbreaking. "Scars Across Humanity" needs to be picked up and poured over be men and women, politicians and pastors, academics and medics. I highly recommend the thanks to IVP Academic for sending the book used for this review. There were no strings attached. The conclusions and concerns herein are my own, and freely given.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    This book won a and I understand why. Brilliantly researched and well written it opens up our eyes to problems women encounter across the world. It is compassionate and calls us to action. In highlighting injustice it also hope

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    I've known Pat for a long time, and though I'd heard her talk about the mountain, I didn't know the whole story. This is strong stuff—thoughtful, engaging, entertaining, candid and deeply personal. When she got done telling about the fire, there was still a lot of book left, and I wondered where she would go from there. It turned out that the aftermath is really where the story starts. And it ended up becoming a more private story for me than I could have imagined. It's funny how and when books come to you. I started reading this one shortly before my parents both had unexpected health crises , and finished reading it shortly after they died within days of each other. That created the latest chapters of the book, about PTSD and the emotional impact of the fire, the flooding, the bear, and Pat's and Joe's health problems, even more meaningful for me. I'm sure I'll be carrying some emotional burn scars for a while, maybe permanently, as I obtain used to a fresh normal in my life. But I take heart in the method Pat, Joe, their neighbors—and the mountain itself—have survived, coped and experienced locations of regrowth, despite the traumas they've been through. This is very inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    This memoir opened my eyes to the urgency of combatting global warming with dramatic change--for the sake of our wildernesses and our humanity. I highly recommend this strong book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    Working with people who have experienced a lot of of the subjects written, I found this to be a amazing resource to learn more personally and for others who are desiring to learn more as well. Highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    Chapter 1, titled "A Global Pandemic" begins with a quote from Nicole Kidman: "One in three women may suffer from abuse and violence in her lifetime. This is an appalling human rights violation, yet it remains one of the invisible and under-recognized pandemics of our time." The book is packed full of statistics and stories and is a call to action. The violence as she documents throughout the book is justified by cultural norms and thus too often not condemned by heads of state. Why has not this global pandemic become a rallying cry like that of Apartheid in South Africa. It's a amazing book that ought to be in the backpacks of high school and college students and in briefcases around the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    I started reading a library copy of this book and stopped about 1/4 of the method in. This is by far the best book I have seen on this topic. I realized that I HAD to a copy so that I could highlight and notate in it along the way. This book is well-researched, well-written, covers the broad range of relevant subjects in depth and is packed with info and info I have not found in other sources. (I work in this field, so am quite well read on this topic.) This is the "Half the Sky" equivalent on Violence Versus Women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    John Burroughs said we go to nature to be soothed and healed and to have our senses place in order. For Prijatel, that put of nurture is a “friendly small cabin” built by her family on 200 acres in a meadow beneath a mountain in the East Spanish Peaks in Colorado. It is a put to escape from the noise of the world, a retreat into healing, a time suspended with a view of the mountain from the deck, where it is “so quiet we can hear the grass rustle in the wind on the other side of the meadow.”Until July 19, 2013, a day that began for Prijatel and her husband with a walk under a sky that was “a crystal clear, cloudless Colorado blue. We feel safe, sheltered and comforted.” That evening, while her husband was fixing supper, everything changed when Prijatel got a phone call from a neighbor with the news that there was a fire at the scout camp about a mile away.“Big?” I ask. “Yes.” “We need to leave?” Please, please say no. “Yes.”This is the story of immediate alarm, the hasty preparations, a fast retreat and the anxiety of waiting in a safe put to hear whether their cabin and those of their family members and other neighbors had survived and the shock of the devastation to the mountain when they are able to return. It is about what happens when the locations that gave us solace and healing are themselves injured: the environment, the burned out trees, the denuded mountain and ensuing flooding, the course of the river, the destruction of the sentimental small bridge, and the fresh threat from bears as the intersection of people and wildlife is the aftermath of the fire, Prijatel’s sleep is invaded by panic attacks and fresh fears, invasive species threaten to take over the meadow, various trees start to grow in put of the pines, and bears looking for fresh meal sources become a threat to the security of the cabin. When Prijatel, her husband and other residents of the remote meadow start the work of clearing, planting and rebuilding, it becomes a partnership of healing with the environment, an example of the inescapable mutuality of the health of people and their landscape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    This is a attractive book. The author has infused the opening chapters with descriptions of this land and its people she so loves. But there is a clear sense of suspenseful foreboding for a catastrophe that you know is coming. Her descriptions of the fire and the response of the human beings who are affected by it gain weight the farther we obtain from the happening itself. Far from going back to normal, she chronicles the work of the people to prevent land erosion, how difficult and sometimes impossible it is, and the emotional toll it takes. What grows in the wake of the fire is not a regeneration of what was there before but in some cases harmful plant life that will change the landscape forever. We watch human emotions as they deny, accept, grieve and test to move on. What we learn in the process of reading this book is how precious our earth is and, in taking it for granted, how much we have endangered it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    "Burn Scars" tells the real private story of a Colorado family’s love for the land and the mountains. They enjoyed a unbelievable life near the East Spanish Peak. Then fire erupted. They fled for their lives. Courageous firefighters saved most of the homes but the trauma lasts to this day. Prijatel talks about the private grief. She tells the impact of fire, wind and flood on the plants and animals. She describes the increasing danger. Each year spawns higher temperatures and dryer forests. Each year sees more and bigger fires. Her well researched story flows easily. Read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    The author did an extraordinary job of giving us a private acc of climate grief and educating us. Very readable, relatable and touching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Across Humanity: Understanding and Overcoming Violence Against Women []  2020-2-6 20:1

    This book was not simple to read but it was important for me to finish. Elaine Storkey has given us a powerful, compelling, and incredibly convicting chronicle of the violence women face across the globe. Not only does Storkey present us that women suffer domestic violence, rape, and oppression stemming from gender-based power differentials, but also presents clear and compelling evidence that women are also harmed through practices like selective abortion, prostitution, and kid marriage. Further, Storkey tells the stories of women who have suffered as a effect of female genital mutilation (FGM), at times referred to as "female circumcision," and info the horrors that have taken put as a effect of the cultural practice of "honor" killings, where women are acted upon violently for supposedly bringing "shame" upon their family. Storkey's study is filled with data that shows violence is widespread and indeed terrible, but she also further argues that violence versus women is more prevalent than the numbers suggest. She shows this is indeed a global humanitarian crisis that we cannot orkey finishes her acc with an analysis of religion and the role it plays in violence versus women. She shows both how religious traditions can be violent and repressive toward females, but also how religious texts and traditions can be used to liberate and to honor women. Her final chapter is dedicated to Christianity and is is a valuable, profitable book as well as an perfect academic study that calls all of us to action, to advocate for the health and well being of women who are our neighbors not only in our communities, but globally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burn Scars: A Memoir of the Land and Its Loss []  2020-7-29 18:55

    This is a unbelievable story of the private impact climate change is having. It is often simple to overlook the long term and private effects of forest fire. Burn Scars brings you up close and private with this natural disaster from the heart of someone whose love of the Earth and its bonuses are fierce.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    This is about a story and history of Ukraine before and after WWII,the story of the country,the story of people who got caught up in this struggle between Russia and Germany trying to control Ukraine. The people of this country suffered so much war,so much lost of life but believed in what they were fighting for,to be of both these countries and still to this day fighting! You have characters that you meet who were part of this struggle just to be able to survive every day,the concentration camps,the ones who resisted and fought back. It's gets very complex and complicated if you don't attention to who belongs to who,but there is a tutorial that you can refer to that helps. The characters you will fall in love with,these people are real,it's this author's family going back to her amazing grandparents,you will fall in love with and cry over the wins and losses of the family! It's a very much amazing read with so much well researched history! The struggles are still going on today All they wanted was to be to be a Democratic country that no one will allow them be!! A very much read and emotion story so be prepared to experience the method they were All treated!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    From the chaos of battle comes the story of the author's family (fictionalized) . A story that should be told about the mayhem of war, about fratricide Ukrainian versus Ukrainian. In my reading I have not encountered a lot of accounts of WW2 and how it impacted the Ukraine. It is an necessary history lesson that I feel not a lot of have been taught. I would like to read more about the lives of this author's family and how they survived German and Soviet occupation of their homeland. I received an advanced copy and these are my own thoughts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle Scars []  2020-1-30 19:43

    I experienced mixed emotions over this book. I Must say, this man deserves for he's doing and his story is inspirational and Honest and it's an simple read. This man has a series on NETFLIX called , * Inside the True Narcos". I enjoyed it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    In Souvenirs from Kiev, the author writes in the forward:“In the end, it is clear that on top of having the pieces, one must understand that it is not a puzzle; it is a kaleidoscope, and the craft of a storyteller is to provide the color and the patterns; the experience.”In this collection of six short stories, Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger has done just that. She’s provided a kaleidoscope that collages together the pieces of the past with the creation of fictional characters based on her a lot of interviews with people and family from this time in history. With the artistry of her words she has taken me closer to the horrors of WWII than I’ve ever gotten before. This journey through the Ukraine she transports us to is through the hearts of the people. Though they are fictional characters, they have jumped off the page and come alive to me as I’ve stepped through the roads and villages of the Ukraine with though my heart breaks as I see the horrific happenings of WWII replay before my eyes, I still hold reading from tale to tale, entranced as I see the lives – the heart and character, the hopes and dreams - of the Ukrainian people in the tales.I highly recommend Souvenirs from Kiev. In these six tales, Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger proves that she is a master storyteller.I received an advance copy of Souvenirs from Kiev in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    This is a moving and heart wrenching acc of the people of the Ukraine during WWII when Hitler sent his troops into their land. Six stories from various points of view. Each hero is unique, interesting and complex. There is so much history and detailed descriptions that will move you and create your heart ache for the people and how they suffered. I wonder how they endured such horror and managed to survive. Be prepared to read this book nonstop as I did. I received an advanced reader's copy for my honest review. I am so honored that I got the opportunity to read and review this amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    I loved Souvenirs From Ukraine. Six people telling their story picking it up where the other left off. Masterful! I had a various attitude toward Ukraine during WW2 being completely Nazified. After reading this my attitude changed. What a unbelievable eye opener!!! Anyone interested in WW2 and what went on in specific countries would be well served to read this book. I received this as an ARC to provide a review. Even if I didn’t obtain it for free.. I would definitely it. Just an amazing compendium of stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle Scars []  2020-1-30 19:43

    While writing of ones experience is cathartic, this book seems targeted at others who are also suffering the psychological effects of a lifetime of combat. Foxy is a amazing bloke who writes well and has given us a glimpse into his extraordinary life. This is not a book about life as a RM or an SBS operator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle Scars []  2020-1-30 19:43

    Not what I thought it was going to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    By the impression Souvenirs from Kiev created on me, I would compare this book to The Painted Bird by Jerzy Kosinski. Disturbing in their descriptions of the brutality experienced in war, mesmerizing in its literary expressions, authentic as a chronicle told in the voices of six various people—some in first person, some in third, some in past, some in present, but always moving the reader forward through the history of the war—from 1942 to the end. And each hero is somehow connected to the last; each hero picks up where the other one left off, moving from the east in Kiev and Kharkiv, to ending in Bavaria, Germany in a displaced persons camp. The author’s mastery in language is meant for writing stories like these. Her craft is simply was an emotional read for me. I connected with the main characters and felt as though they were telling their stories to me personally. I empathized with their sufferings, cringed about some situations they ended up in, got goose bumps at unexpected acts of kindness, and thrilled (the latest story) at the satisfied ending at least for one particular family, who after years of being immersed in the horror that is war--including time in a German labor camp-- are able to once again recognize there is always—at some level—goodness to be found. It is a powerful notice of hope; a powerful notice of reuniting on a human scale. I will not reveal any more info as not to spoil your pleasure in discovering what awaits you in these six stories, inspired by the author’s relatives’ private accounts. I would highly recommend this book to everyone who is interested in battle stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    Souvenirs from Kiev;is the saddest book i have e cruelty and betrayal, from one human to another left me in shock.I had to hold reminding myself this is a fiction book, based to info that had been told to the author.I have no doubt it happened as ease be ready for a late night, with tissues.I was given a book, in return for a review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    I received an ARC copy of this collection of short stories from Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger and publisher Inktreks. Thank you both for sharing your hard work with me. I have read this novel of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this work. I am happy to recommend Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger to mates and family. She writes a story with heart and soul in every chapter. Now I must read her Reschen Valley Series.I had only a vague idea that the people of Ukraine were so affected by WWII so early on. This book brings to us that time, those choices or lack thereof, the uncompromising horror of it all on the families, ordinary people, with the war lines still so far to the east. People who watched their life, their history for a lot of generations wilt and burn before their eyes. People who thought the Germans would support them escape the oppression of the Russians already suffered for ybe the best part of this novel is the trailing chapters giving life to Lucyk-Berger's immersion in family memories and intense research of the topics involved. These stories break your heart. The closing info makes you mad for those left out of the history books. And anxiety when you see the cycle of oppression repeating in this day and age. Until you read something like this you forget that the Russians and Poles and Germans battled so intensely even before the first shot fired in what we acknowledge as WWII. Our vision of that battle is contained, for the most part, in the battle that WE fought. Half the globe battled for years before Americans became physically involved. These stories are a blueprint for what is event again in Ukraine and beyond. We cannot with a amazing conscious look away again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    Even though this is fiction, it is based on facts that the author received from family and mates and others. People are supposed to be civilized, but in reading this read, you search out that they can be cruel and inhuman. The author has done a amazing job with descriptions of putting life into words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Battle Scars []  2020-1-30 19:43

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs from Kiev: Ukraine and Ukrainians in WWII (A Collection of Short Stories) []  2020-2-4 7:54

    I really enjoyed reading the stories of the author's relatives that lived through the occupations of Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union during WWII. I never knew much about what happened in that country during the battle and these stories brought it all to life. I liked the historical background of the country at the end as well as the real histories of the author's relatives. I received an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Even as an avid Black Metal fan, I found this record to be one of the most remarkably artistic records I've heard. The imagination and thoughtfulness behind each of the songs is something I really appreciate, and this album delivers just that. Each song is calm and serene, a very amazing album for any occasion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    The Lennon Sisters should be in the hall of fame with this CD. These are classic songs and they have classic voices with a style that is patent to themselves. You will have fun this stroll down memory lane.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    When I was a young lad and listened to these attractive voices on the Lawrence Welk Show, I never really truly appreciated the quality of what I heard. Now as an elder, and as a choral fan, I must tell you that you will rarely hear anything more attractive than the voices of these sisters in harmony. Some of the solo work is a small less perfect, but when they sing as a group, I challenge anyone to search a better, sweeter, more seamless vocal sound. Their best work is in the older ballads featured prominently in this collection. This is exquisite music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    a bit too but amazing still

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Released in 2007, Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde (Memories of Another World) place (the one piece and originally black metal band) Alcest on the map in the metal community. Only six songs and about 41 minutes, Alcest perfected what was done on their 2005 EP, Le Secret. Achingly beautiful melodies and vocals glitter the whole entire album from begin to finish. Main band member, Neige, sings like a light gust of wind over the gorgeous guitar melodies. Every once in a while he'll present his teeth when the riffs obtain blackened. But overall, things stay fairly calm throughout. Fans who have listened to his albums from 2010 and 2012 but haven't heard this should definitely check it out since it is one of the, if not the, definitive album for this style of metal. All of the songs are standouts, especially the closing song Tir Non Og, which features quiet percussion, acoustic guitar and dreamy vocals with piano drifting in and out while towards the end a string section fades into the s- Excellent from begin to finish. Amazing ideas never overstay their welcome or obtain boring. Perfectly balanced between shoegaze and amazing ns- None.Overall- One of the best metal (related) albums from 2007, if not the best (along with the releases by Pig Destroyer, Deathspell Omega, Dillinger Escape Plan, Caina and High on Fire).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    The record sleeve of this reissue is amazing. The record sound is amazing. The record though is warped. The needle on my turntable is comparable to a skateboard at a skate park.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Amazing album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Attractive recordings, I can almost imaging my mom listening to them with me. Amazing nostalgia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Recently bought this CD and have enjoyed it tremendously. Any song by The Lennon Sisters is a amazing song--they create them their own--and the selections on this CD are very amazing ones. As usual, they do a amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Highly recommend this CD to those who love amazing harmony and amazing songs. Youwill not be disappointed in any way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Muy buena presentación

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    First thing first: yes, this IS an awesome release.An updating,if you will,of the "shoegazing" genre that more-or-less peaked in the late 1990's. One of my private favorites of the latest several years,for ems the French are REALLY shining in melody and movies these days,this release is further proof of that with that out of the way, I felt I required to comment on the "Black Metal" aspects of this release I hold hearing from different sources - this is as close to Black Metal as,say,Jesus and Mary Chain! "Loveless"-era My Bloody Valentine is more METAL than this!! Please dont take this as an attempt to detract one from purchasing,as this is GREAT music.Just know what you ARENT getting yourself into!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Alcest is basically a one man band, with drummer Winterhalter on drums. Niege is the star of this show, though, and has mesmerized rock fans with four fabulous albums of beauty, the first three the more metallic, shades of black metal, and latest year's superb "Shelter" ditching the screaming and black metal influences altogether for one of the year's greatest albums. "Souvenirs" is the first Alcest album, and while it has grinding guitars, the music quotient is higher, and Niege sings throughout, his silky voice an instrument unto itself. He is also a master of melody, creating passages of timeless beauty and richness that guarantee that none of his albums need go stale. My wife and I even like the fact he sings in French, as the most melodious of languages fits the melody perfectly. Indeed, one doesn't even care what the lyrics are, enjoying instead a voice as an instrument. "Souvenirs" is brilliant, and shows all the magic Niege would record in the future. I hate the term "shoegaze", and for that matter hate the over labeling all bands and artists have to endure. This is simply introspective, soulful music, massive enough for metal fans but simultaneously attractive for others who wouldn't ordinarily like the heavier sections. I can't wait for the follow up to "Shelter", and I'm glad CD's are in binary code because if Alcest was on vinyl, I'd wear them out in short order. For those who are sick of melody that doesn't touch the listener any more, or sick of the blandness that permeates so much pop melody out there, Alcest is a unbelievable respite. I can't recommend "Souvenirs" or any Alcest CD highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Attractive edition (I have the 10th. Anniversary vinyl version).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Regardless what genre of melody you are into, this is well composed, attractive music. Very hard to come by album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Excellent harmony

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    ecellent cd worth it to have it in one's coolection original recordins and vry amazing sound....................just excellent....................it is very nice cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Our Souvenirs []  2020-1-23 3:23

    WHEN I WAS GROWING UP IN THE 50'S AND 60'S THERE WAS NOT AS MUCH PEER PRESSURE AS NOW, BUT YOU JUST COULD NOT TELL CERTAIN PEOPLE WHAT YOU DID LIKE. MAKE SENSE? WELL FOR INSTANCE, IT WAS CONSIDERED RATHER GEEKY TO ADMIT YOU WATCHED LAWRENCE WELK.BUT WHAT IF YOU WANTED TO SEE THE LENNON SISTERS? AFTER ALL, THEY WERE ALL BEAUTIFUL AND COULD HARMONIZE EY WERE LIKE THE FORBIDDEN SIRENS! THEY DID A GREAT RENDITION OF "SAD MOVIES MAKE ME CRY" BUT YET CROSS-OVER COUNTRY SINGER SUE THOMPSON'S VERSION MANAGED TO GET ALL THE AIR-PLAY, NO DOUBT BECAUSE SHE WASN'T PART OF LAWRENCE WELK! THEY WERE ABLE TO HARMONIZE SONGS LIKE "YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A BABY TO CRY" BUT THE RADIO STATIONS WOULN'T PLAY THEM. HOW SILLY AND PREJUDICIAL.ANYHOW I AM SOOO GLAD THAT THEY HAVE THIS C.D.OUT AND THAT NOW I DON'T GIVE A HOOT CUZ I'M GONNA PLAY IT ANYWAYS.WELL FOLKS JUDGE FOR ME, THESE GALS HAD GREAT VOICES AND THIS IS A VERY GOOD FACT THEY'VE NEVER SOUNDED BETTER!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SINGAPORE Travel Guide: Outdoor Adventures, Historical and Cultural Sights, Eat & Drink, Advice of Local people, Hostels, Souvenirs (100 Must-Do!) []  2020-1-16 13:8

    Careful list of Singapore's points of interest. Concise and simple to read. Valuable explanation of meal choices. [email protected]#$%! were longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    This book promises to tell about the behind the scenes stories of Saturday Night Live, and it delivers, talking about the people, and characters a lot of of us love. The book also goes beyond that, telling a very human, and relatable story about a man, a dream and what happens before, during, and after that dream is the book, which is told in a story, not chronological (how a lot of of us relate our lives in a linear fashion) Chris Kattan opens up about his childhood. He lived on a remote fire street with his Mother and Step Father during the week, an existence which is isolated and ironic. (Read the book) On weekends he spent time with his Father and best mate in LA, watching old movies, and live comedy shows. With Kip King as his Dad, how could Chris Kattan not become enamoured of old style comedy? His desire and quest to be in the Groundlings, LA's most prestigious comedy club, of which his Father was a founding member, and on SNL is e stories about SNL are entertaining, and mostly funny. What else would you expect? Mango, Peepers, The Roxbury guys, and a lot of other favorites are all there, but Chris Kattan does not stop there. He talks about his insecurities, his experiences, his relationships, trials, and pains. The book is very human. Mr. Kattan shows a amazing of courage telling about things a lot of of us would test to hide, some of which he did hide for far too long.I recommend this book for not only fans of SNL, and comedy, and laughing, but anyone who has ever felt insecure, vulnerable, isolated, loved, in pain, triumphant, or just human.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    So excited about this book! It arrived today and I've already read a few chapters. There are color images in the middle of the book too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    I enjoyed this book. It gives you a glimpse of how SNL works behind the scenes. Plus his private struggles reminds us that we are human, no matter how talented we are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    Chris Kattan was my favourite part of SNL when I would stay up past my ten-year-old bedtime back in '97 to watch him bop his head to "What Is Love" or mumble incoherently to a confused audience. I truly thought that he, and not Will Ferrell, was going to be that generation's breakout star. And as a huge fan of both SNL and of behind-the-scenes pop culture items in general, I was intrigued to obtain his take on his tenure working for that late-night institution. But what I got was far more heartbreaking than I ris Kattan was someone who spent seven years being unsure of himself and of his put on the show, and his tales of fighting a never ending uphill battle, losing some of his closest friendships, and literally breaking his back for the program are fascinating and eye-opening without ever sinking into maudlin self-pity. Frank discussions of the pain, addictions, and depression that he suffered are interspersed with hilarious anecdotes of him stressing over an impending hangout with Tom Cruise, being mistaken for Jimmy Fallon by Bono, and having Ben Stiller awkwardly test to kick him out of his e chapters on his childhood also achieved the unexpected feat of being just as interesting as his time in Studio 8H, chock full of hours spent watching classic comedy from the Golden Age of Hollywood, hanging out backstage at Groundlings shows in LA, and meditating on an isolated California mountain with Carlos Castaneda. He's very frank and honest about both the positive and negative aspects of his relationship with his father, too, and that kind of honesty is on display throughout the entire book.Highly recommended for anyone who has ever enjoyed Chris Kattan's work. You'll root for him throughout his entire life, even when he's acknowledging how badly he's screwed something up and explicitly asking you not to. You'll wish to have a beer with him and tell him how amazing he is. And, let's face it, you'll probably end up on YouTube revisiting his best SNL sketches when you're done. Go nuts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    Baby, Don't Damage Me is a amazing autobiography that gives the reader an inside view of all that's Hollywood. Chris tells it like it is with humility that is rare and looks inside himself to create sense of the amazing and the poor of fame, love, and comedy. His stories kept me entertained and anyone who loves biographies and reading about celebrities will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

     Many people are probably rushing out to this book out of curiosity as to what transpired to cause Chris' injury. Chris does cover his injury which he describes as excruciatingly painful; however, he also covers his emotional pain as ris is an indomitable spirit, meaning he has soul that cannot be beat and doesn't give up even through the darkest of times when life seems unbearable. More than the common ups and downs. A lot of could not have endured physically and emotionally all that he endured. Yet through all of this, he has become stronger and ready for the next chapter of his life where ever that may take him.I'm sure you are all wondering, "Sarah!" "Why don't you review the book?" I am reviewing it the best method I know how, by describing the man who wrote the book."Baby Don't Damage Me" is an perfect journey that Chris takes us on. You will wish to laugh, cry, and yell with him.If you haven't bought the book yet, please do. By several copies to give to your mates and relatives. This book will inspire you to become a better more forgiving person as it has to me.We need a book like this now especially for these sad, unsettling ris! Thank you so much for sharing with us your satisfied times and sad times. I want you much success because like a sweet lady said, "Chris is back..."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    I have only read two thirds of this book and I have to tell you, I was hooked from the beginning. I loved Chris on SNL, The Middle and, of course, Night at the Roxbury and the stories (personal and professional) will blow your mind. He has a method of ending a paragraph with one sentence that has created me laugh out loud repeatedly. (When you obtain to his step-mother in the garage or how his boss at the film theater gave him the keys to lock up, you will know what I am talking about!) When I was on page 38, I emailed my sister in Long Beach (who has done comedy) and told her she HAD to obtain his book. I love autobiographies/memoirs and this is the best one I have read and I have read MANY. I am finishing the "Below the Belt" chapter now and literally am taking a break right now to do this review because the story is insane (and quite timely, I might add). I have flagged pages in this book for things I wish to Google. (I am beautiful bummed that the Mr. Peepers skits with Katie Holmes and Charlize Theron are nowhere to be found lol.) Do yourself a favor and Google Jim Carrey's Roxbury skit! I had not seen it in years and Iaughed so hard, I almost peed in my pants!! Yes, there are some sad stories, but you can see how those situations helped to shape him into the person he is. I remember hearing years ago that he had damage his neck, but did not know much more at that time and that created me sad because his physical comedy is hysterical. If you are a fan of funny, GET THIS BOOK! He clearly has a bonus and absolutely does know how to create something out of nothing (you will understand that when you read the book). He is strong, resilient and as always, HYSTERICAL!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    I loved reading about Chris Kattan's life. I had always been a fan. He goes into quite a bit of detail about the going's on at SNL which is very interesting. He's very honest about his working relationships with all the cast members, his background at the Groundlings and of course his unfortunate accident on the set of SNL and the aftermath. Definitely a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    I kept reading all the method to the end, it was like trying to figure out what that poor smell in the refrigerator is coming from. It was coming from Chris Kattan the whole time. He's one of the most self centered people I've ever encountered but the awesome things is that he sincerely believes he's a nice guy and can't understand why most people don't like fore reading this book I was neutral on Kattan. I thought he was an ok comedian and didn't have any I interest in him as a person. After reading this book, I know I'd never have fun his company in person.I found nothing funny or even amusing in his story. Not much interesting behind the scenes information from SNL. It was mostly just a list of who he felt was mean to him and how they treated him so badly.I did not have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baby, Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live []  2020-1-26 22:9

    I really enjoyed this book. It was hard to place down, I kept sneaking a peak at it at work. I'm glad I read out on my kindle, because I kept looking up the video snippets Chris Kattan would recommend, and I would test to search his old SNL skits (you can search some on YouTube.) So it was nearly interactive. I finished the book hoping to see him in something in the near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets In Our Scars []  2020-1-22 21:40

    I'm not often surprised by romance novels. After reading so many, the tropes and cliches tend to bleed together and while it's fun and comforting, it's also predictable. There is nothing predictable about Rebecca Trogner's Secrets In Our Scars.Daisy Aldridge steps through the wrong door and a close call drags up trauma she thought long buried. She's rescued by a man who seems larger than life. His muscles certainly support boost the illusion. Daisy is instantly tongue-tied with her rescuer and shocked to search him absolutely smitten with her. From the beginning, this novel drew me in with its witticisms (which only a Southerner can truly appreciate), it's fully fleshed out characters and clever pacing. Trogner weaves subtle mystery throughout Daisy's encounters with Roy, while making their romance crets In Our Scars plays out like a real Southern Gothic but holds its cards close. You'll need to read between the lines and prepare to devour this book until the mysteries around Daisy's life are revealed. The notice of love no matter the internal scars we carry was heart-rending. Beautifuly done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets In Our Scars []  2020-1-22 21:40

    When at first you begin reading you think it’s quite a cute romance. Daisy is rescued from drunken actor by a handsome mammoth of a man who somehow makes you her feel like a normal woman for first at’s how Roy Blackwood met Daisy Aldridge met for the first time. Daisy has no self-confidence, and is very nervous around men. Daisy has no idea why Roy wants to date not be fooled as things heat up, all the secrets begin to pop up, when Daisy can’t take much more Roy is with her every step of the is is a love story with plenty of action in and out of bed. This book blew me away, it was so various from what I was expecting. So give it a go and be surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raspberry Colored Scars []  2020-1-23 0:14

    Such a beautifully written story that handles trauma and healing in a method that makes you feel connected to the author. Whether you are dealing with a difficult situation in your own life or are helping others navigate one in theirs, this story will support you to understand that you are never alone. Truly an wonderful and touching read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Raspberry Colored Scars []  2020-1-23 0:14

    Elisabeth Foster has managed to do something very important. She's walked us through her pain and taken us on a journey to healing that comes from sharing her voice and confronting her pain. There's a generosity of spirit and rare vulnerability that permeates her accessible prose. I teach creative writing workshops for female victims of violence, and other marginalized voices that are too often silenced. I'll use this book as a teaching tool and give it as a bonus to any young woman. What a attractive and heartfelt read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scars Keeper []  2020-2-11 18:53

    First off I have to say this was a unbelievable book, well written and with helpful information. Avery came from a well off family so as a teen she was pre-judged. Labels place on teens and judged by them. What the children and other adults didn't know was the pressure her father and mother place on her to do and be her best, plus the inappropriate behavior of a teacher to her. She hid her copping mechanism of her problem thoughts by cutting, she hid it from everyone. She never expected when she was about to hurt herself to be interrupted by her neighbor Hayden. He has his own troubled pass he is hiding from but he is the only one that really sees Avery pain. These two become each other's saving grace and with Haydens support he shows Avery she is worthy and stronger then she thinks. When all seems to be getting better Hayden's pass comes back to tear them apart. Can Avery ever feel whole again with Hayden leaving. I so hope we obtain to see more of these two in another story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scars Keeper []  2020-2-11 18:53

    I loved almost everything . Avery and Hayden were really destined to be. To think that coming from a home with 2 doctor's for parents and to be treated like that was terrible. Then for said doctor's to not message Avery had issues is also a question. The method Hayden handled Avery and his various idea's to stop the cutting was a real sign how compassionate and loving he was. This book was like it was written for specific people. Thank you for this book. Now I wish to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Scars []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I’m not your usually YA fantasy reader, but sometimes I like to test fresh genres and Leigh Bardugo is one of the authors I picked up latest year. I actually started with her Six of Crows duology (Six of Crows #1) and really enjoyed the heist theme and the cast. It reminded me of Ocean’s Eleven – which is always a draw.While going into King of Scars, I knew nothing about the Darkling or Nikolai. But I must say, I felt fine without reading the trilogy first. Of course parts of the history of the globe building and the various races went over my head, but the overall enjoyment of the book didn’t suffer much. It just wasn’t as fascinating as Six of Crows – but it’s hard to compete with a heist and Kaz (love KAZ he is my kind of hero).But coming back to King of Scars, the author wove three various stories neatly together. Nikolai, Nina and Issak’s kolai and Zoya have an interesting relationship that I can’t wait to discover more – and I wouldn’t mind seeing them end up together either. Their level of comfort with each other speaks volumes, even though Zoya is the one that is holding back the most, which makes her being so secretive even more interesting. Zoya’s growth throughout the book was maybe the most extensive of all. I can’t wait to see what else she is capable of doing. And the possibilities of Nikolai are immense as well, in the end all is open, and I’m interested in what’s to na, after the ending of Crooked Kingdom, is on a journey of closure. And unknowingly starting her own quest, that will or will not come to completion in the next book. I understand why the author gave Nina the opportunity for closure, it just wasn’t a favorite part of the story. But the danger that she is getting into in the next book, has me wanting to read more.I liked how all three stories wove through the book, without really connecting, but still moving the storyline forward. The author certainly knows how to write a well written book, but she also has no problem killing people if it suits her storyline. Again, I’m reminded that getting invested with her characters is not the smartest or healthiest l in all King of Scars was slower, and more related with the first trilogy than the action pact Six of Crows. I wasn't wowed by it, but I wasn't bored by it either, it was just ok. The excitement that I felt for Six of Crows and its incredibly charismatic leader Kaz was missing - and it was felt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Scars []  2020-1-14 19:24

    King Of Scars released yesterday and I've already devoured it. I love the Grishaverse and had such high hopes for this book. I'm thrilled that it exceeded all of my expectations!You could probably read it as a standalone but there are so a lot of backstories that come into play that I highly recommend you begin with the original Shadow & Bone trilogy followed by the Six Of Crows duology. It will create a for a much richer reading ere are no words for how much I loved this book and I can't wait for the sequel!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars from the Tornado []  2019-12-24 19:23

    Thanks so much for posting this e-book. The book is a record of the history of the F-5 tornado that wrecked havoc and destruction on our community. The book includes a lot of essays and poems by our young people. It reflects the horror of the tornado and the devastation hailed upon lives and property. But more importantly the feelings and emotions expressed through the kids and their teacher reflects the same feelings and emotions the entire community felt. They expressed the initial shock of the loss, the healing, and the moving forward with the hope. I call it the hurt, the horror, and the hope. After the initial damage and horror we have moved forward with hope. So thankful that our kids have taken the time to remind us that we have survived and have much to be thankful for. Thanks again. And yes I did this from Amazon and read it latest week.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Scars []  2020-1-14 19:24

    The author dives into what it means to be King by putting in a fake and sending Nikolai off to face his literal demon. Also the cliffhanger at the end was unexpected. There are some references to Alina but she's off being satisfied somewhere. At the end of Alina's books, we got to see her found an orphanage and finally be satisfied with Mal. There's a single sentence referencing her orphanage when they talk about where they sent the king's carriage. In the epilogue of that series, we saw the king wearing gloves to cover his is book talked about all of Nikolai's insecurities and everything he had to fight. We dive into his childhood and his relationship with Dominik, his whipping boy, and his older brother Vasily. It also talked about why he chose to be charming and well-connected.Overall I loved this book and can't wait for the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Scars []  2020-1-14 19:24

    In the begin of a fresh duology, Bardugo gives us four major plots to follow - Nikolai's struggle to rid himself of his monster, Zoya's anger toward her past and The Darkling, Nina's mission deep in opponent territory, and sweet Isaak who is caught up in everything. The first half especially had me turning the pages. Seeing Zoya's growth as a peripheral hero to main with a full backstory was amazing! As a character, she wears so much protective emotional armor as a fresh cult forms around The Darkling, and she lets it all out in lightning and storms. Paralleled with Nina's struggle to save fellow Grisha from witch-hunters highlights how women obtain swept aside because of strong men. (Alina's being forced into a weapon, Genya with everything she suffered from the former king, Baghra's blindness, the social structure in Fjerda, etc.). These are women who wish their narratives back.Which was what makes the second part of KoS hard to reconcile with for a number of spoiler-filled ill: Bardugo's writing style evens the rating to four stars from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars from the Tornado []  2019-12-24 19:23

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets In Our Scars []  2020-1-22 21:40

    Reviewed on behalf of 3 Degrees of Fiction Book BlogRebecca Trogner brings the best of two worlds in Secrets in Our Scars. One min I'm busting out laughing from one of the a lot of funny lines and the next the temperature has risen from how steamy the stage has gotten. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the more I got into it, the more intrigued I became to obtain the answers everyone is seeking.I really loved the various dynamics of these characters. Daisy Aldridge was left on a doorstep and raised by two sisters and husband, all three of them of various race from Daisy. Always loved and provided for but still wanted to know her biological parents, which became a complete mystery in itself. Daisy's best friend, Vincent, is ridiculously rich but not obnoxious about it. He's also completely out and I love that not one person had a harsh thing to say about that. The little city of Middleburg has seen it all and still is very accepting of its add in Roy Blackwood, very secretive but extremely well known in the community. Richer than the entire planet, which still amazes me his job brings in that much money, and always surrounded by his "people". He quickly takes a liking to Daisy, despite being older, and goes full out to create his intentions clear. I do give to Daisy for not falling at Roy's feet like every other female. She stands by her independence and always makes it known she doesn't need to be bought. Their relationship is a sweet one, though it did move quick at times, but you could tell they were created for each munication, though, was not the name of the android game with Daisy and Roy. More often than not you would think Daisy was much younger than 21 when something didn't go her way. Instead of talking it out there was only stubbornness, doing something specifically to @#$% Roy off. He also didn't support matters with his demanding ways without any explanation whatsoever. But on the bright side their arguments were over in a blink of an eye so that offset the ridiculousness of the situation in the first place. Despite this being a standalone I am really hoping for something more. There are a lot of things left unsaid and I'm too curious to not wish a continuation, especially for Proctor who definitely grew on me. A well written story, even when dealing with some massive topics, Secrets in Our Scars was a amazing read and entertaining til the very end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets In Our Scars []  2020-1-22 21:40

    A solid 3 1/2 stars. This is the first book I’ve read from this author. With a bit more polish, this book could have been a solid 4–4 1-2 e storyline was intriguing enough to hold me reading, but it lagged at e hero building is fairly good. Though Roy’s hero fell a bit short.Overall a amazing read & would definitely read another book from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made of Scars []  2020-2-2 5:55

    I have fun various types of melody and this was a must have for my collection. If you like this genre of melody you will have fun this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scars Keeper []  2020-2-11 18:53

    Self harming is one of the worst things you can do to yourself because the pain only leaves temporarily. For Avery, her harming was caused by her parents that were too hard on her, felling like she didn’t fit the box they wanted her in, a boyfriend who wanted her but didn’t really know her intimately, & a teacher who should have had her best interest at heart but instead only wanted in her pants & chose to do despicable things to test to accomplish his goals. Hayden cannot see another person die though so their relationship starts with him saving her & then truly getting to know her. Through this she is gets to see the true him as well. You should always have at least one person who truly cares for you & can see past your walls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Scars []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Leigh's The Shadow and Bone was one of the first books/series I've red after quite a lengthy furlough. At that point, it has been few years since I've picked up or red a book, and Leigh's knack for storytelling had me hooked from the start. Later on, reading Six of Crows only confirmed her brilliance. The Language of Thorns is the only book in Grisha Verse I haven't red yet, but it's somewhere on my tbr pile, and I really do plan to obtain to it. When she, then, announced that she was writing another duology, this time focusing on Nikolai ( one of my favorite characters) I couldn't have been happier.What I didn't expect was King of freaking Scars. I am actually left speechless. I am still freaking out about that ending!!!! Did that really happen???? It happened. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. You guys are in for the ride of your life. You don't see this coming. It's just so much awesomeness!!!!!! AaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhOk, on the serious note (still freaking out by the way) this one is best understood if you read The Shadow and Bone trilogy, and you might wish to give Six of Crows duology a go to cause this one kinda spoils it. Bit man on man is it good. Can not wait for the next one!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Scars []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I have been so hyped for this book ever since I first caught wind of it. Nikolai was not my favorite hero in the Grisha Trilogy, but I did love him and I was very excited to see how his story played out! In case you didn't already know, I am OBSESSED with the original trilogy, but didn't much care for Six of Crows. It felt too different, but King of Scars is a nice blend of the two and it was awesome to be back in Ravka! I'm going to test really hard to hold this coherent, but no rst, it's necessary to point out that, although this is marketed as Nikolai's book, the title is literally Nikolai, and the synopsis is 100% Nikolai, this is not really his book. There is so much more going on here, most obviously that about half the chapters are from Nina's perspective. As I said, I didn't love the Six of Crows duology, but I didn't dislike Nina here. Although I would have been just fine with it if her chapters were left out completely, I do think it was a nice method to bring together the two , let's obtain to Nikolai. He is the prince/privateer we all remember, but a small more grown up. To me, Nikolai was obviously a bit more mature than he was in the trilogy and I loved seeing this side of him. Of course, he still has the snark and remains full of himself. His journey in this book revolves around purging the darkness place in him by the Darkling and it is a long and fascinating one. I loved his struggle with the demon inside him and the complexity it brought to his character. I also loved his banter with Zoya, who I found myself loving even more than I already did! I definitely ship the two of them.Speaking of shipping, there was not much romance in this book and that surprised me. While not every book needs romance, a Grisha book without anyone to swoon over didn't feel quite right. As I said, I loved Nikolai and Zoya together, so hopefully we obtain some of that in book two! It also seems possible that there will be a fresh Nina romance, but I won't say anything else to avoid largest question about King of Scars was whether or not the Darkling would be back. While it seemed a small impossible, we all know what that word means in the Grishaverse. Here's what I'll say about that: This book does a really amazing job of solidifying that the Darkling was a BIG BAD. I'll come right out and say he will always be my problematic fave. But there was a LOT of focus on how not good he was in this book and I assume it may have something to do with how a lot of readers loved him despite his being kind of awful. I still love you can see, the story is quite complex. There are multiple points of view and two to three main storylines event at any one time. I enjoyed the entire book, but there were most definitely points where it dragged, especially the chapters with Nikolai and his crew. His story should be the most interesting, but there was quite a bit of walking and talking and sitting. At 528 pages, this is a huge book and I did love it, but it could probably have been whittled down a e only other thing I'll say is THAT ENDING blew me away and took this book from four stars to five in a page! I am going to be throwing one long fit between now and when book two is finally published because I cannot wait to see what happens next. I'll admit, this book was a small various than I expected, but Leigh Bardugo knows how to write a amazing story and I can't wait to read the next chapter!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made of Scars []  2020-2-2 5:55

    This is a really high energy song that always makes me feel better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made of Scars []  2020-2-2 5:55

    I am a song writer, cancer and begin heart surgery survivor. After looking at all the scars on my torso, I thought to myself, you are created of scars", and realized that created a amazing song title. Then I found this song. It's got a assassin riff and amazing lyrics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars Set In Stone []  2020-1-22 19:22

    I think this is Shenaia Lucas' best collection since For The Broken. Her voice is more clear than ever and she is willing to say everything she needs to say. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets In Our Scars []  2020-1-22 21:40

    This is one emotional story, if not because of the romance then because of the characters’ backstories. They both have issues, one is more affected by them than the other, and they both wish to move forward. However, only one is willing to place the past behind completely.Ok, just a small bit of what we have here: Roy meets Daisy “thanks” to an unfortunate event. He is the one that saves her and with that, they have a spark. From here on his intentions are clear and strong. However, her fears are stronger. Daisy’s trauma is deeper than they both could have imagined and Roy has to war not only his demons, but also hers. Is a war versus the past one that can be won?Roy and Daisy have such strong backstories. I was captivated by how well the author has captured their emotions and their fears. It is a story that touches you from the first pages. At first, we see the couple grow closer and closer and then the story focuses more on Daisy and her intentions to reconnect with her parents. I loved it so so much!While our characters have their own flaws, I loved how they balanced each other throughout the chapters. Where she is insecure, he is her powerful arm. I must admit that here and there I felt the actions or the dialogue a small bit forced, it does small to affect my judgment .Again, I feel the need to state the obvious: this is a book that will affect you on a lot of levels. There are a lot of triggers here for abuse, but there is also a amazing help system in Roy. Loved it, recommend it! 4 out of 5 stars 🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets In Our Scars []  2020-1-22 21:40

    This was a amazing story. I am an avid reader and usually don't read anything new. I wait for others to rate before reading. I took a possibility on this book and found out to be quite the gem. I would recommend this book. There is romance with a hot dominant, but very loving make. And a slightly broken girl. There are some twist and turns you won't see coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars from the Tornado []  2019-12-24 19:23

    The view from the eyes of the kids will touch you deeply. Having been on my hands and knees helping people look for their treasures will never leave me. Reading about the resilience these kids possess will lift your spirits. Never count our youth out, they will and have already overcome so much. Thank you Randy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars from the Tornado []  2019-12-24 19:23

    Scars from the Tornado is a collection of stories written by kids affected by the May 22, 2011 tornado in Joplin, Missouri. So very sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scars from the Tornado []  2019-12-24 19:23

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scars Keeper []  2020-2-11 18:53

    I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this is book is an absolute gem! The book maybe fiction, but the storyline can be similar to true-life situations and you will wish to hold reading to search out what happened. I loved the characters of Aiden and Hayden. Aiden came from an educated and well-to-do family who had high standards for their daughter. As a teenager, Aiden is having a lot of stress in school with her teacher’s reprehensible behavior, her parent’s expectations, and with her boyfriend. She cuts herself to cope with the stress she is dealing with. When she tries to kill herself, Hayden stops her and this begins their relationship. Hayden has problems of his own and secrets that he is hiding, but he is the only one that can support Aiden. This is such an awesome story with so much depth that you may feel sad, confused, appalled, and even euphoric. The scenes are well written, fast-paced and flow smoothly from one stage to the next with romance while the powerful charismatic characters draw readers in and refuse to allow go. There is something so amazing about reading a amazing book, and this book was awesome! The book will pique your interest and draw you in from the beginning to the very end. So do yourself a favor and this book, you will not be disappointed.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386