scars and souvenirs Reviews & Opinions


Submit scars and souvenirs review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    Okay so usually I am a skeptical person when it comes to 5 star reviews, but there some that warrant the honor of the 5th star and this book is definitely deserving of that. Sloane is a girl who is scarred on the outside and more deeply inside. She lives her life through finding others people tragedy more horrifying than her own. When she starts a fresh school and finds that the boy (Luke) she has crushed on for some time instantly hates her she has no clue why or what she has done to him. She is left only to think he can't stand the sight of her because of her scar. Luke will be her reason to really live and the reason that she goes back in despair. When the one you love is the one you hurt, how can you truly be together an overcome life's scars?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    For the past few weeks I've been struggling to obtain into books. I must have about twenty samples on my kindle, none of them even really tempting me to read 'til the end of the I knew I'd found something unique when I picked up Scarred to read a page and stopped on page 172 because I desperately required to sleep latest night. Same thing happened tonight. I wanted to read a chapter and ended up finishing e narrative is the excellent combination between constant intrigue and the YA romance amazing items you'd expect. I loved the strong, imperfect, protagonist and the genuine niceness of the love interest.I alternated between laughing and bawling with every emotional point hitting the tag 100%. Would highly recommend to all fans of YA and romance ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    i was first introduced to this author through her dystopian series recoil, which i loved! so i decided to give a various genre a try. the differences between the teens in recoil and the teens in this book is really good. the author really gets the characters and the maturity they have because of what they've been through. i think its a amazing example of the realism of what can happen while texting and driving and its not limited to teenagers. sometimes teenagers are the innocent victims of what happens. the school shooting is highly relevant to what teens are going through now. (not so much when i was in high school). bullying is universal and is always relevant. but importantly, the realism that even children who are bullied can be approached by someone wanting to be friendly and still become unhinged. you can't say "if only someone tried to be the shooters friend, they wouldn't have done this". thats not how it goes. having a background in psychology really gives the author a connection to the reality of the characters. she's not just guessing. i'd recommend it to teens and parents alike.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on scars and souvenirs or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch scars and souvenirs video reviews and related movies:

    See Scars and Souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See Max Stalling - Scars & Souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See Scars and Souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See Scars & Souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See grey's anatomy 3x18- scars and souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See grey's anatomy 3x18 - scars and souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See Scars and Souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    See Theory of a dead man all or nothing scars and souvenirs on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    Going into this book,I was struck by the most obvious obvious first impression that one gets from reading the summary. The main character, a 17-year old girl named Sloane, has been badly scarred as a effect of an accident. What becomes gradually clearer is the fact that she is not the only person who has been crippled or maimed by life's passage. Other characters' scars are not physical marks, but hurt that goes far deeper than what can be seen from the outside, and MacGregor brings this background pain to the fore with insight, sensitivity and attention to detail.Another perfect book by a talented. Highly readable, relateable characters, and a notice that will hit home and will ideally leave readers thinking very hard. Highly recommendable. Buy this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    This is now one of my favourite books. It is very well written and I love the characters. Sloan is one gutsy young woman. I am glad I didn't know her BS (before scar) but she certainly came into her own during the story. I hope that Joanne will consider writing another book about these characters. If not another of Luke and Sloan maybe one about her mate Sienna. Please, please, please.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    What I loved most about this book are the messages within teaches you not to judge someone by their outer appearance and that you can be struggling on the inside while the outside globe doesn't even know it, so always be l in all, I enjoyed this book and it's something amazing for teens to read and as a young (ish) adult, it is a amazing reminder to me why I'm always kind to e characters are lovely and Joanne has written this with depth. It isn't a flat novel. The characters and situations they search themselves in are things that happen in EVERY DAY life - she didn't thumb suck what she wrote about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    Enjoyed this story. This was an emotionally charged book dealing with problems that tugged at my heart. It discussed bullying, disfigurement, loss of a loved one, etc. The characters were interesting and kept me engrossed in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    I usually don’t like fictional books without some sort of paranormal or fantasy aspect, but this was good. I liked the dual POV as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    The characters, Sloane and Luke, were in depth. The author is outstanding in the method she has written the characters interpersonal relationships which come off as realistic. I would recommend this book to any young adult reader who is looking for a amazing contemporary love story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scarred review []  2020-1-16 2:23

    What a amazing read, i was immediately absorbed into Salones world, waiting with baited breath till the very end to search out what this Rollercoaster would reveal. The author Ms. MacGregor has a brilliant insight into the raw feelings that most of us test to hide. I sat and read this story in one day, between work school and children scarred ended up making me feel that even in the darkest moments of our lives that someone somewhere understands us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Time, health problems, and the ravages of the street have reduced John Prine's voice -- always out of the rustic-rasp tradition of Woody Guthrie, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, and Bob Dylan -- to not much more than an amiable croak. That's okay, I guess, and it's okay, too, to be reminded of some of the incomparable songs Prine composed in his first decade or so as a performer. Even better to hear some of them, overproduced to near-unlistenability the first time around, reintroduced in more appropriate -- in other words, starkly country/folk -- settings, where the story is up front and not in running conflict with the irritatingly busy production. The ones that sounded fine the first time, though, don't necessarily sound better here; "Fish and Whistle" and "Hello in There" in particular suffer in comparison. And yet, if the vocal execution is sometimes less than wholly satisfactory, the songs are so amazing that the flaws are largely overlookable. The emotionally unsparing early songs -- "Hello in There," "Angel from Montgomery," "Sam Stone," "Far from Me," and the rest -- still package the sort of wallop few other writer/performers ever obtain close to. At the same time Prine's goofy, off-the-wall humor is mostly absent here. In fact, the overall tone of this retrospective is disturbingly autumnal; if you didn't know better, you'd almost think this was Prine's latest will and testament. Don't scare us, John. You and we are long, long overdue for some brand-new songs, and the sooner the better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Wonderfully intelligible recordings of some of Mr. P.'s best songs, IMO. His voice may have a lost a bit of unbridled youthful enthusiasm, but it's more than created up for in smoothness, centeredness, comfort. Hearing these songs is like rediscovering a bottle of favorite whisky, and settling into an overstuffed simple chair with a full glass, on a cold, foggy winter's evening, in front of a crackling fire, with all your Christmas cards written, and the children snugly in bed. In short, everything seems right with the world. In the liner notes, John says he wanted a master recording of these tunes, well so should all Prine fans. As other reviews have said, a amazing intro and a unbelievable revisiting. Amazing counterpoint to his live, boisterous, honky-tonkish live recordings. Spare, uncluttered, distilled to the beloved essence. A must-have. Buy it. Now. You won't be sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I was thrilled when I heard the first selection, as this is a song that John sang with his dear mate Steve Goodman when he was alive. The arrangements, and John"s voice on this CD are so full of heart and soul....the qualities that create him so loved by his fans. Classic John Prine at his best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I saw John Prine perform at the Minnesota Zoo this past summer and wanted to pick up an album containing as a lot of as possible of the songs he performed. Unfortunately, when I sampled the original albums online they sounded various in tone from what I had heard that night. They were more country in style and while I like folk melody I can do without a twangy guitar sound. I wanted to hear the songs the method he performed them, though in a studio is was the album to get. In it are all re-recordings of songs he first did a lot of years earlier, and it captures his more mature sound. Even though his voice is more ravaged by being sick it simply sounded more like how I required to hear the songs. His pacing is spare, his words cutting, and his delivery so straight it'll give you a catch in your throat just listening to it. I can't stop playing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    If you are a John Prine fan, you will have to have this 's all of John's best songs recorded in a bit slower beat, with better production and instrumentation than the original recordings. Usually, I don't care for re-recorded former songs, but this is a definite exception. If you've heard the originals, you will love these. They reveal John's growthas a performer. These songs deserved this touch anks John.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I worship Prine's songs, but had hoped that these recordings had been remastered or in some manner embellished from the original releases.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    An attempt by Mr. Prine to pay due respect to some lovely songs. In this endeavor, he certainly succeeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Re-recordings of some of his best songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs review []  2020-1-16 23:23

    John Prine is amazing as usual on this CD and the songs are great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    I’m fortunately I was damage by my ex he headhunted me and I had to obtain 9 stitches across my face. It was a deep gas.. you don’t wish to see the original picture before I was stitched up trust me.Anyhow, back to the review this items has actually truly improved my vehicle since I’ve been applying it 1 to 2 times a day morning and night even though it says you don’t have to do it once I noticed a large change in the structure of this scar. It’s no longer deep it’s starting to fill in because As your can see if it was very deep. This incident happened on April 6, 2018. . Now, back to the review this items has actually truly improved my scar since I’ve been applying it 1 to 2 times a day morning and night even though it says you won’t have to do it once. I noticed a large change in the structure of this scar it’s no longer deep it’s starting to fill in and even out with my skin. I recommend it for sure

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    I have a huge scar on my leg from 1997 caused by an insect bite which got infected. After reading the reviews of this product I decided to give it a try. As others suggested, I applied the gel 4 times a day (sometimes 3 when I was really busy). I started using this August 2018 and I’m on my 3rd tube now (January 2019). You really have to be very patient as this works very slowly but it does really work! I’m satisfied I found Mederma, I will continue using this until the scar diminishes e first 2 images are the “before”, taken August 2018, while the 3rd image on December 2018, and 4th image was taken after around 2 weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    I've been using this product to eliminate surgery scars and also the poor discoloring left from skin allergies caused by surgery glue. After having used this for a month, I can definitely tell the skin discoloring has definitely improved. The scars are not as defined and can see it being a slow process to completely erase them. I'm hoping I'll see more results after 6 months of total use, which I can see going through the rest of the tube as a small goes a long way. I apply the gel after showering and wait five mins before getting dressed. It hasn't damaged or stained any of my clothes and there there is no unpleasant smell.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    About a year ago, I had a cystic acne explosion - 150+ lesions appeared on my skin in a very short time frame. After months of clearing up the cystic acne, blackheads, and whiteheads, my skin was left with hyper-pigmentation marks (red, purple, brown) and an uneven texture. I have used a number of prescribed topicals, retinoids, and medical grade skin lighteners. My dermatology specialist (who has dealt with acne herself) recommended this product because it was affordable yet effective. I was highly skeptical that it would work, but wow was I wrong! It does take a few weeks to begin noticing a difference. But I truly have noticed a huge difference in my overall skin tone (marks are fading) and the texture is starting to even out as well. This items works but you MUST MUST MUST be consistent with using it every night.Tip: rub the gel into your skin until it is dry, just before bed. Use it on top a moisturizer; your skin will still reap the effects but you won't have as much redness and peeling :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    These pictures are from August 27 til October 10 being the latest picture I have taken. It's almost going to be 8 weeks and there has been a difference but not as much as I had expected. It's a clear slimy gel that you rub on and for me would peel off when it would dry. It would also create my scar itchy when I would apply it, especially after it had fully dried. I started using the cream right after my wound fully closed so I'm not sure if the improvement is actually all from the cream itself or also just the skin improving as it continued healing. There were some days I missed applying but that wasnt often. Idk if this a normal expectation of what's supposed to happen but I personally thought it would have changed more. I will modernize once 8 full weeks have passed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    Shipping was fine, but the product I received VERY hesitant to use on my skin. The packaging seems like it was re-packaged from the method it looks. In addition, there is no safety seal on the actual tube?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    I fell and chop my upper lip from lip to nose on July 4. 4 stiches outside, and 3 stitches inside. After reading the reviews from other users, I apply Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily, Mederma Night Scar Cream - 1X at night, and take 2 Biotin capsules -1x day.I also massage the scar for a couple of mins until the scar tissue softens. Several times a day, I massage the scar tissue - recommended by my Doctor. The results are incredible. The mad red has lightened to a pale pink. The scar tissue softens every time I massage it, and is becoming unnoticeable. I didn't believe I would see such drastic improvement. I recommend this product with no reservations.6 MONTHS LATER: The scar is completely gone. I do massage the zone if I feel any tissue is there, but, no one can see any evidence of the scar. YEAH! USE IT- IT WORKS.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    In my experience mederma works. However, it does take time and constant repeated app over a long period, it is not a sudden magic potion.I have gotten very amazing results using it for old scars. I also had a newer scar I treated with it that is just barely a memory now, so as weird as it seems I can not give this full credit for that because I am not sure what it actually did.But I had 2 very prominent older scars, one from an infection in basic school and another from a poor friction burn later on and both of them showed a lot of improvement (the first is completely gone and the second, which is not in a put that anyone can typically see so did not obtain the same level of attention is barely visible).This items used to be method overpriced, and I believe there is a generic now so if you can search that then go for it!DO NOT FORGET TO USE IT RELIGIOUSLY QND NOT STOP EARLY.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    I started using this product on one of my acne scars, simply coz I had it and wanted to prevent getting a scar. Guess what happened, it led to a keloid scar. How do I know it was the Mederma? Because every time I give it a try, the healed scar would become read and raised again. Also, that is the only acne scar I tried on, all my other scars went away on its own, but not this one! I recently tried it again, same thing happened! Absolutely terrible. Would not recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mederma Advanced Scar Gel - 1x Daily: Use less, save more - Reduces the Appearance of Old & New Scars - #1 Doctor & Pharmacist Recommended Brand for Scars - 0.7 ounce review []  2020-1-17 23:9

    I had a little motorbike accident which resulted in skinning my knees and palm - once the scabs came off, I rubbed with Mederma every evening. The AFTER picture was taken almost exactly 3 months from the date of the accident and my scars are nearly invisible. I'm thrilled with how well they healed and have been planning to use Mederma on any future scars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    The first quarter of this book is a hair-raising adventure. Kiedis is a child who is born and raised to party; his father is a drug dealing hippie who lives with a stable full of groupies and that sums up the kid’s life. He and his father both obtain into acting, then lose their gigs because they’re both undisciplined. He grows up manic, fearless, stupid, adventurous, and eccentric at the same time. It’s both frightening and hilarious to read about. Being an outsider is a common theme in this book. He goes from hippie child in Michigan, transplanted to Los Angeles, to not good child in a rich-kid school, to a long-haired Californian in a school full of Michigan farmboys. Fortunately for him, his father is amazing mates with Sonny Bono, so he makes amazing use of their guest room, refrigerator, and their address so he can go to a amazing high school. Eventually he wears out his welcome with Sonny, thanks to his rude-kid attitude, but I’ll not spoil the plot on what happens at the fur vest mansion. Then comes the school full of weirdo misfits, some of whom would eventually join Kiedis’ band. Scar Tissue reminds me of Jeanette Walls’ The Glass Castle where the crazy parents hold the family on the move through America’s not good towns. The only difference is that the not good city in Scar Tissue also has a thriving art and melody scene, and he’s in no hurry to leave or see the world. As for his constant drug use, he has his father’s stash to hold him high 24 hours a day, so it’s not like he has to deal it to help his habit. Nor does he have to go into risky neighborhoods to buy the drugs, so there’s no danger to scare him straight. After high school he cheats his method into UCLA, snorts cocaine, steals his textbooks, steals his meals from the cafeteria, snorts some more cocaine, so it’s no surprise that he likes living in Los Angeles. Who wouldn’t? He’s a loser, don’t obtain me wrong, but what he has going for him is the constant freedom to hold losing. The tone of the story shifts, however, once he leaves UCLA. We obtain into the L.A. rock scene, and his life no longer consists of vegetating at his father’s house and getting high, interspersed with being a troublemaker at school. He now spends his time hanging out at the numerous run-down rock venues, interspersed with getting high and shoplifting for food. His father, scared straight by an LAPD raid, gets out of drug dealing and becomes a starving actor again. At the time of this story (circa 1983) the town was still on the downscale side and the cheap rents meant that anyone could begin a melody venue if you got the permits. The rock fans had less cash to spend, so if you couple all that together, you can see how there were plenty of clubs to perform at. You didn’t have all the upscale restaurants driving rents up. Each part of the book can really stand on its own; the dysfunctional family, the crazy childhood, the starving actor, the starving rock musician. Unlike most rock star autobiographies, this one has been print since it came out, so there’s got to be a reason people love this book. I suspect it’s just as much about the wildness of Los Angeles as it is about music. Like that popular line from the song Californication, the town is “the end of the globe and all of Western civilization,” or as Kenneth Anger place it, “a dusty tin lizzy trail on the edge of Manifest Destiny.” If you travel from the put where the USA began, Los Angeles is the latest stop on the route.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    This is the first book I've ever purchased for my leisure time. On purpose. I never thought I'd say that, considering I'm not much of a reader but this book really does hold you from wanting to place it down. It's raw, funny, sometimes dark, and you cant support but appreciate the band even more after knowing its history. I found myself extremely annoyed and emotionally exhausted with how poor his drug habit was, but it did support me understand how severe drug addiction is. Overall, this is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    I read this book as a recommendation. I am a Red Hot fan, not a fanatic. I must say; Anthony writes so beautifully and communicates so well. He really took me through a journey and gave me more of a perspective as to what an addict goes through. Not once did he justify his actions (good poor or indifferent). He owned up to everything he has done up until the end of the book. I required this viewpoint being the mother of an addict myself. This book gave me hope and strength and knowledge. So much more knowledge than I had prior to reading this book. I feel confident now as a mother of an addict. I admire Anthony and applaud him for being will to tell his journey of being lost, finding himself, his friendships and brotherhoods, his bands journey, the love he had for his family, friends, band mates/brothers, lovers, girls and finally himself. I cannot express enough how extremely well written this story is. What I wouldn't give to sit down for 30 mins with this man. I commend his courage and recommend this book to anyone who wants to have more of a true raw perspective of climbing out of a dark hole and coming out the other side bright and brave. Such a fascinating journey. I wish to give it more stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Fascinating autobiography by Antoine the Swan. If you're a huge fan of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, I'd say this books is a must read. There are so a lot of stories and info and anecdotes. He covers his whole life, his bandmates, the albums, the tours, the girlfriends, the drugs....it's all here. Flea, Hillel, Frusciante, Sherman, Cliff, Irons, George Clinton, Sinead O'Connor, Navarro, Bob Forrest, Lindy Goetz. No detail is spared. I learned so much about this band, like how broken his relationship with Frusciante was in 1992 before John left, and how they reconciled years later and created Californication.A huge portion of the book info his drug usage throughout the years, which for me was both harrowing and interesting to read. He writes these lucid tales about his addiction and the vicious cycle of going on week-long drug binges and then trying to obtain clean.I enjoyed this book so much that I've gone back and reread it multiple times. Over 400 pages of details. If you love the Chili Peppers, it's practically needed reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    This book just blew my mind. Captivating writing by Anthony Kiedis, I was really impressed by how incredibly vulnerable, raw and humble this man really is. It was such an adventure and so much fun! One of the best autobiographies Ive read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    It is an interesting view on the life of a successful rock singer and his band. AK gives some insight into his life and his development as a person. His story is hard to identify with as a regular person and I would not classify him as role model. However, his story of drug addiction and failed superficial relationships with women is a fast read . I was disappointed that he did not talk about his appearance on Married With Children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    I'm not a fan of the RHCP. I am however, a fan of Anthony, having met him a lot of years ago at college. His story of addiction, his crazy childhood, and his a lot of women is intense, gripping, heartbreaking and inspirational all at once. How he overcame his horrendous cocaine and heroin addiction is in itself mind blowing. Most people wouldn't have come out of that alive. He has helped a lot of other musicians overcome their own addictions, and is an inspiration for anyone struggling with addiction. Amazing amazing read, love that he was so begin and candid, and am hoping he writes another book. If you're a fan of RHCP, you'll like this book. If you're a fan of humans overcoming insane obstacles and coming out on top, you'll love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    What an awesome memoir, I simply couldn't place it down. I felt shocked, sad, frustrated, in awe, repulsed, impressed, and enamored all at the same time. Anthony Keidis has lived a very fast, hard and at times blessed life and he shared his perspective of it in a very honest and loving way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    It always seems that we never obtain to know a popular person. We see glimpses of them in Los Angeles or Fresh York, sometimes in concert or whatever, but we never see them behind-the-scenes (unless you have the privilege of having part of a film filmed in your hometown and can see the actors in the local sandwich store buying a Turkey BLT). Anyway. This book is not like that. Anthony Kiedis makes you feel like you are his confidante. He's beautiful frank with everything, and gives a lot of info about his private life. He sounds honest, too- almost downplaying some crazy parts of his life. He's not some stuck-up rock star. He's a true person. The pictures document this well, too- you can see who all of these people that Kiedis talks about actually are and what they look like. You can imagine what he looked like when moving to LA as a kid, rather than a midget with really long hair and no shirt. The captions are also funny and quirky. The only issues with the pictures is that there are hardly any that are from the nineties and the twenty-first century (even if it was published in 2004). The pictures are organized into five or six sections in the book, and go basically chronologically, until the latest section or two. They are just a bunch of random pictures from all various points of time in Kiedis' life. Another thing is that there is very small about the songs and a bit of the band. This talks a lot about girls and drugs. The Red Hot Chili Peppers seems almost like a job- it's why he travels across the country and globe and therefore meets people, but it's just there. I want more was told about how the songs were created- the inspiration and ideas behind them. Otherwise, it was very entertaining and put-together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scar Tissue review [Book]  2018-6-12 18:0

    Essential outlaw reading for our generation. Even if you're not a fan of RHCP, there are more than enough stories in here to encourage your nonconformity. But if you do like the band, and especially if you love them, then this can be a small treasure worth returning to over and over as the years go by. I read through it cover-to-cover about 10 years ago and I revisit bits and pieces every couple of years or so. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    Having worked with the Joplin Fire Department in a first-responder volunteer capacity, I keep a private connection to this book and the stories within. While not necessarily a polished and well-edited acc of the happenings surrounding the EF5 Tornado of May 22, 2011 that hit the Joplin Missouri area, killing some 158 people and injuring countless more, it is a particularly honest acc as told by a resident that lived through it all. Real tales of hope and inspiration, heartbreak and loss combine to tell the story that is quintessentially Joplin--a tale of HOPE!I shot the image while searching for survivors and to this day cannot look at this image without choking up. Devastation as far as one can see, yet an American flag waves proudly over it all. HOPE

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    The view from the eyes of the kids will touch you deeply. Having been on my hands and knees helping people look for their treasures will never leave me. Reading about the resilience these kids possess will lift your spirits. Never count our youth out, they will and have already overcome so much. Thank you Randy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    I honestly haven't read this book yet, but I'm buying it just because this Martin Luther Dzerzhinsky Lindstedt nutbag doesn't like it. I guess any publicity is amazing publicity after all.EDITOK, NOW I've read the book. This is a collection of essays, poems and pictures from mostly middle school students who have been impacted by the Joplin tornado. As a chaser, we often see the immediate aftermath, but not the long term impacts of tornadoes, so the promise of that perspective is what drew me to this book. I wasn't disappointed. The writing is what you would expect from most middle school aged children and the stories told in that young voice are very touching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    Scars from the Tornado is a collection of stories written by kids affected by the May 22, 2011 tornado in Joplin, Missouri. So very sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    I don't live that far from Joplin and even have pictures of the clouds from the storm that passed over us after the devastation. At the time I took the pictures I was not aware of the destruction that happened just West of where I live. Every time I look at them I can see the horrible destruction that happened and the lives that were lost. My daughter even went to Joplin and volunteered and that created me feel better that so a lot of people showed up to help. If I wasn't disabled I would have helped too. I love the stories in the book and still pray for the families that have lost so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    Thanks so much for posting this e-book. The book is a record of the history of the F-5 tornado that wrecked havoc and destruction on our community. The book includes a lot of essays and poems by our young people. It reflects the horror of the tornado and the devastation hailed upon lives and property. But more importantly the feelings and emotions expressed through the kids and their teacher reflects the same feelings and emotions the entire community felt. They expressed the initial shock of the loss, the healing, and the moving forward with the hope. I call it the hurt, the horror, and the hope. After the initial damage and horror we have moved forward with hope. So thankful that our kids have taken the time to remind us that we have survived and have much to be thankful for. Thanks again. And yes I did download this from Amazon and read it latest week.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    Randy Turner has a special look of the year following the devastating tornado that killed 160 people in May of 2011. He saw it along with his students. Living in this zone we can't afford the physical hurt that it caused, but this goes much deeper. He does that there is a human element that cannot be shown in the images that are taken.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars from the Tornado review []  2019-12-24 19:23

    This is a really amazing example, not only of how a teacher can have students work together to learn something, but as each of these writer's shared their memories, they healed a bit and they can present us how.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    5/5 Stars“If men were ashamed when they should be, they’d have no time for anything else.” ~ Leigh BardugoKING OF SCARS was my most anticipated read of 2019, and it did not disappoint. For those who haven’t yet been introduced to the Grishaverse, obtain acquainted (start with the Shadow and Bone trilogy, then move on to the Six of Crows duology), then search your method back here. Also, know that I’m jealous you obtain to read these fabulous books with new r those who don’t know, Leigh Bardugo is one of my favorite authors of all time. I literally took the day off work to begin in on King of Scars. When it arrived, I ran to the door, grabbed the pack from off the floor (while the astounded Amazon deliveryman stared at me with wide, blinking eyes) and started to scream. I mean, small child on Christmas scream. Between these giggles and high pitched shrieks, I thanked the man, dashed inside, and continued to dance around my living room and kitchen, clutching the pack and hopping up and down like a small bird trying to take flight. I was that excited.I was this excited because Leigh Bardugo, without fail, writes stories I wish to read, stories I feel were created just for me. Her characters are rich and her globe building beautiful. She explores things I’m interested in: various cultures and customs; various languages; various relationships; various loves. But most of all, she is honest. Her writing is honest, and so are her realities. Even in a fantasy realm, she doesn’t cop-out. She doesn’t engage in dishonest tropes and parlor tricks simply to appease the masses. She keeps it real. Oh, and she’s funny. Did I mention how funny her writing can be?King of Scars was no different. Within the first chapter, I was transported. Whisked away, back to Ravka, back to Nikolai, back to the home of the Grisha. I loved King of Scars because it was familiar in a method that Leigh’s writing has become familiar to me. It’s not only the characters, but it’s the truth she speaks. It’s a familiarity that changes, too evolving naturally, because Leigh is one of those writers who seems to always obtain better. With every story she spins, I see her evolution as a writer, and to me, that is more enchanting even than the Grishaverse. Leigh is the kind of author I aspire to be. And King of Scars is the kind of book I wish to write. Let’s just hope that when I do, I can obtain a cover half as eye catching!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    The author dives into what it means to be King by putting in a fake and sending Nikolai off to face his literal demon. Also the cliffhanger at the end was unexpected. There are some references to Alina but she's off being satisfied somewhere. At the end of Alina's books, we got to see her found an orphanage and finally be satisfied with Mal. There's a single sentence referencing her orphanage when they talk about where they sent the king's carriage. In the epilogue of that series, we saw the king wearing gloves to cover his is book talked about all of Nikolai's insecurities and everything he had to fight. We dive into his childhood and his relationship with Dominik, his whipping boy, and his older brother Vasily. It also talked about why he chose to be charming and well-connected.Overall I loved this book and can't wait for the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I’m not your usually YA fantasy reader, but sometimes I like to test fresh genres and Leigh Bardugo is one of the authors I picked up latest year. I actually started with her Six of Crows duology (Six of Crows #1) and really enjoyed the heist theme and the cast. It reminded me of Ocean’s Eleven – which is always a draw.While going into King of Scars, I knew nothing about the Darkling or Nikolai. But I must say, I felt fine without reading the trilogy first. Of course parts of the history of the globe building and the various races went over my head, but the overall enjoyment of the book didn’t suffer much. It just wasn’t as fascinating as Six of Crows – but it’s hard to compete with a heist and Kaz (love KAZ he is my kind of hero).But coming back to King of Scars, the author wove three various stories neatly together. Nikolai, Nina and Issak’s kolai and Zoya have an interesting relationship that I can’t wait to discover more – and I wouldn’t mind seeing them end up together either. Their level of comfort with each other speaks volumes, even though Zoya is the one that is holding back the most, which makes her being so secretive even more interesting. Zoya’s growth throughout the book was maybe the most extensive of all. I can’t wait to see what else she is capable of doing. And the possibilities of Nikolai are immense as well, in the end all is open, and I’m interested in what’s to na, after the ending of Crooked Kingdom, is on a journey of closure. And unknowingly starting her own quest, that will or will not come to completion in the next book. I understand why the author gave Nina the opportunity for closure, it just wasn’t a favorite part of the story. But the danger that she is getting into in the next book, has me wanting to read more.I liked how all three stories wove through the book, without really connecting, but still moving the storyline forward. The author certainly knows how to write a well written book, but she also has no problem killing people if it suits her storyline. Again, I’m reminded that getting invested with her characters is not the smartest or healthiest l in all King of Scars was slower, and more related with the first trilogy than the action pact Six of Crows. I wasn't wowed by it, but I wasn't bored by it either, it was just ok. The excitement that I felt for Six of Crows and its incredibly charismatic leader Kaz was missing - and it was felt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    If you have already read any of Leigh Bardugo’s other Grishaverse novels, novellas, or short stories, you already know to expect gorgeous writing, compelling characters, tropes stood on their heads, and plot twists springing out on you from totally unexpected directions. If you haven‘t, what are you waiting for? “King of Scars” is a worthy addition to the Grishaverse, and will leave you impatient for the next work in the duology. The book is written to stand on its own, and it can certainly do so. That said, your appreciation of it will be much deeper if you have read the back story presented in the original trilogy, and the “Six of Crows” duology which came next. Frankly, I’ve never read a work by Bardugo that didn’t leave me wanting more, or warrant multiple re-reads. This one, for reasons that go back to the initial trilogy, left me downright giddy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Leigh's The Shadow and Bone was one of the first books/series I've red after quite a lengthy furlough. At that point, it has been few years since I've picked up or red a book, and Leigh's knack for storytelling had me hooked from the start. Later on, reading Six of Crows only confirmed her brilliance. The Language of Thorns is the only book in Grisha Verse I haven't red yet, but it's somewhere on my tbr pile, and I really do plan to obtain to it. When she, then, announced that she was writing another duology, this time focusing on Nikolai ( one of my favorite characters) I couldn't have been happier.What I didn't expect was King of freaking Scars. I am actually left speechless. I am still freaking out about that ending!!!! Did that really happen???? It happened. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. You guys are in for the ride of your life. You don't see this coming. It's just so much awesomeness!!!!!! AaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhOk, on the serious note (still freaking out by the way) this one is best understood if you read The Shadow and Bone trilogy, and you might wish to give Six of Crows duology a go to cause this one kinda spoils it. Bit man on man is it good. Can not wait for the next one!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Book: King of ScarsAuthor: Leigh BardugoRating: 5 Out of 5 StarsLet me begin out by saying that King of Scars was my top pick book of 2019 and it was not a letdown. I have been super excited about this book since Leigh announced that she was returning to the Grisha world. I know there are a lot of mixed reviews out there about this one, but I really enjoyed , allow me just be honest. If you were expecting something as action packed as Six of Crows, then you are going to be disappointed. No, this is not as tightly plotted as Six of Crows nor is it really in the same realm. It is more like the Grisha Trilogy than anything. Yes, there is action and well written characters, but it really doesn’t have the same vibe as Six of Crows. Before I go on, you really must have read the Grisha Trilogy before reading King of Scars.I have always really enjoyed Nikolai’s characters. I did feel like that in the Grisha Trilogy that he really didn’t obtain a huge possibility to grow and here he does. I know that a lot of people are complaining about his banter and charm not always being present, but it happens. It’s called hero development. Characters are like people and they are supposed to change. It’s still Nikolai, but he’s just dealing with some stuff. If you have read the Grisha Trilogy, then you know what I’m talking about.I really enjoyed Nina’s storyline, almost more than Nikolai. If you don’t know who Nina is, then you need to read Six of Crows. I felt like in King of Scars, she really got her possibility to shine. I don’t know if others feel the same way, but it almost felt like in Six of Crows that she was kind of shoved aside. I don’t know if anyone else felt that way. Here, we obtain to see some serious girl power from her.Zoya, I really don’t know about her. She is actually one of the few characters in this series that I really don’t care about. It’s not that she’s a poorly written hero or anything, it’s just that I really haven’t been able to connect with her like I have with the , that ending! Where did that come from? Okay, the ending to this book rates right up there with Harry Potter. I was so shocked when Leigh ended the book that way. I need book two now! She simply cannot leave us hanging like that. (Don’t ruin the book for anyone, please. Spoilers are not cool.)So anyway, yeah, this book was worth buying. I cannot wait for book two.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    In the begin of a fresh duology, Bardugo gives us four major plots to follow - Nikolai's struggle to rid himself of his monster, Zoya's anger toward her past and The Darkling, Nina's mission deep in opponent territory, and sweet Isaak who is caught up in everything. The first half especially had me turning the pages. Seeing Zoya's growth as a peripheral hero to main with a full backstory was amazing! As a character, she wears so much protective emotional armor as a fresh cult forms around The Darkling, and she lets it all out in lightning and storms. Paralleled with Nina's struggle to save fellow Grisha from witch-hunters highlights how women obtain swept aside because of strong men. (Alina's being forced into a weapon, Genya with everything she suffered from the former king, Baghra's blindness, the social structure in Fjerda, etc.). These are women who wish their narratives back.Which was what makes the second part of KoS hard to reconcile with for a number of spoiler-filled ill: Bardugo's writing style evens the rating to four stars from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    King Of Scars released yesterday and I've already devoured it. I love the Grishaverse and had such high hopes for this book. I'm thrilled that it exceeded all of my expectations!You could probably read it as a standalone but there are so a lot of backstories that come into play that I highly recommend you begin with the original Shadow & Bone trilogy followed by the Six Of Crows duology. It will create a for a much richer reading ere are no words for how much I loved this book and I can't wait for the sequel!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    As much as I LOVED SoC’s I was excited I obtain back to Ravka and have a story from Nikolai. However this book just feel short of my hopes. Maybe it was because SoC’s duology was such a amazing read, and my expectations were too high.If you have not read Six of Crows, then you can’t read this. It just won’t create sense. Anyway;What I liked: Honestly, not a whole lot. So this isn’t going to be broken down into likes/dislikes as I usually do with my reviews. Nothing in this book jumped right out at me as a wow. I liked Genya/David, and Nikolai/Zoya’s banter. Plus some insight into Nikolai’s childhood. But that’s beautiful much it.What I didn’t like: Nikolai’s POV wasn’t nearly as amazing as I had hoped. He isn’t quite the same as he was in Shadow & Bone. I’m not sure if it’s because Bardugo didn’t connect with him, or if she was aiming for him being changed because of what the darkling did.We have chapters from Nikolai, Zoya, and Nina. Even though this is supposed to be Nikolai’s story, we obtain his POV the na..... Meh. She was never my favorite and having her story thrown in here from Fjierda feels out of place. It’s 2 stories kinda randomly smashed in one book because her plot doesn’t connect with what is going on with Nikolai back in Ravka. I mean, it does in one sense but VERY loosely. Her plot is so slow at the beginning, and doesn’t pick up until the very end. A fresh hero is also introduced in Nina’s plot, Hanne, who just happens to be Commander Jarl Brum’s daughter. Whom Nina befriends. Needless to say I don’t like it because of how things went with Matthias in so extremely displeased because I could see the relationship between Nina and Hanne moving to a romance. So it basically looks like Bardugo killed Matthias so she could set Nina up for this kind of relationship to please a certain crowd of readers. Maybe it won’t go that method in the next book, but I doubt e ending..... can’t say I am surprised. I’m unsure how to feel about certain elements of it.And as far as sexual content/language goes, there is very little. However we glimpse Tamar + Nadia from Shadow & Bone, and also the insinuations of Nina + Hanne, so wouldn’t recommend for young readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    King of Scars review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I have been so hyped for this book ever since I first caught wind of it. Nikolai was not my favorite hero in the Grisha Trilogy, but I did love him and I was very excited to see how his story played out! In case you didn't already know, I am OBSESSED with the original trilogy, but didn't much care for Six of Crows. It felt too different, but King of Scars is a nice blend of the two and it was awesome to be back in Ravka! I'm going to test really hard to hold this coherent, but no rst, it's necessary to point out that, although this is marketed as Nikolai's book, the title is literally Nikolai, and the synopsis is 100% Nikolai, this is not really his book. There is so much more going on here, most obviously that about half the chapters are from Nina's perspective. As I said, I didn't love the Six of Crows duology, but I didn't dislike Nina here. Although I would have been just fine with it if her chapters were left out completely, I do think it was a nice method to bring together the two , let's obtain to Nikolai. He is the prince/privateer we all remember, but a small more grown up. To me, Nikolai was obviously a bit more mature than he was in the trilogy and I loved seeing this side of him. Of course, he still has the snark and remains full of himself. His journey in this book revolves around purging the darkness place in him by the Darkling and it is a long and fascinating one. I loved his struggle with the demon inside him and the complexity it brought to his character. I also loved his banter with Zoya, who I found myself loving even more than I already did! I definitely ship the two of them.Speaking of shipping, there was not much romance in this book and that surprised me. While not every book needs romance, a Grisha book without anyone to swoon over didn't feel quite right. As I said, I loved Nikolai and Zoya together, so hopefully we obtain some of that in book two! It also seems possible that there will be a fresh Nina romance, but I won't say anything else to avoid largest question about King of Scars was whether or not the Darkling would be back. While it seemed a small impossible, we all know what that word means in the Grishaverse. Here's what I'll say about that: This book does a really amazing job of solidifying that the Darkling was a BIG BAD. I'll come right out and say he will always be my problematic fave. But there was a LOT of focus on how not good he was in this book and I assume it may have something to do with how a lot of readers loved him despite his being kind of awful. I still love you can see, the story is quite complex. There are multiple points of view and two to three main storylines event at any one time. I enjoyed the entire book, but there were most definitely points where it dragged, especially the chapters with Nikolai and his crew. His story should be the most interesting, but there was quite a bit of walking and talking and sitting. At 528 pages, this is a huge book and I did love it, but it could probably have been whittled down a e only other thing I'll say is THAT ENDING blew me away and took this book from four stars to five in a page! I am going to be throwing one long fit between now and when book two is finally published because I cannot wait to see what happens next. I'll admit, this book was a small various than I expected, but Leigh Bardugo knows how to write a amazing story and I can't wait to read the next chapter!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    For someone who just left a relationship because it was toxic this book was HORRIBLE for me. It almost had me calling my ex and apologizing. It was sending me in a spiral of emotions. It was only talking about people who got broken up with not the other method around. I feel like this book was to specific for people to relate. For this book to be about SCARS that means it’s suppose to be more simple like you can breathe when you read it. It just brought them out and honestly there was NO strength to it. Just someone’s private opinions. It lacked hope. Maybe search a various title?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    Bianca writes from such a depth that it is hard to imagine, unless you've lived and felt it. Not all of her poetry rights real in one sitting, nor should it. Take it a bit at a time. Read it again. Write notes. Let the emotion of her words to wash over you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    I read an excerpt on the book because of the interesting title. Her writing is special and honest. The book is formatted in pieces of uplifting poetic reaffirmation that we, the readers, are important. That in our copy and struggles we are seen. In this book she speaks to each of us on our own level, our own path of healing, and gives a gentle but strong lift with her words. I search myself wanting to take pieces from the book and read them aloud to my friends. I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    I found an article on another www service that led me to this book. It is filled with helpful ways to move past the damage of a relationship. The author spoke to my heart and kept my attention until the end. I rarely read books in one setting. I could identify with her continuous saying of, '...those who love deeply.' She helped me see myself and come to the realization that it was their inability to love me and not something wrong with me. Although it is written from a secular perspective, it has valuable info for people of faith. I would recommend it to anyone suffering from lack of self-esteem. Learning to love and care for yourself should be established before entering a relationship.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    I found this small book through mates on FB. I absolutely love this book. The authenticity of write is like sitting next to someone as they bare their soul. I would recommend this book to everyone that has a desire to heal, to remind yourself of your strength and give you voice to what you have known but suppressed all this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    An awe inspiring read, the transparency and authenticity. A testament of truth and doing the work to go through and obtain through the pain. The wounds eventually heal but the scars a reminder of where they came from. Thank you for sharing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    Opens your eyes, heart, mind and soul to healing your past and your future. Highly recommend it if you need support moving on from a troubled past.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    Remember this, repeat it every single day: You cannot love someone into loving you if they do r your information

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    I really like the book! I don't usually read a book coz it just create me sleepy but when I saw this book nd begin reading it, it gave me so much feels. Every words, every paragraphs i felt it. Im gonna remember everything i read. 💖 thank you for inspiring me with your book, bianca 😊😊😊. I would definitely needed it to my friends! Actually I did already lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Strength In Our Scars review []  2020-1-17 22:14

    Lots of amazing poetry about healing and being the best ver of yourself. Amazing poems on loving yourself as well as the right people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    Reviewed on behalf of 3 Degrees of Fiction Book BlogRebecca Trogner brings the best of two worlds in Secrets in Our Scars. One min I'm busting out laughing from one of the a lot of funny lines and the next the temperature has risen from how steamy the stage has gotten. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the more I got into it, the more intrigued I became to obtain the answers everyone is seeking.I really loved the various dynamics of these characters. Daisy Aldridge was left on a doorstep and raised by two sisters and husband, all three of them of various race from Daisy. Always loved and provided for but still wanted to know her biological parents, which became a complete mystery in itself. Daisy's best friend, Vincent, is ridiculously rich but not obnoxious about it. He's also completely out and I love that not one person had a harsh thing to say about that. The little city of Middleburg has seen it all and still is very accepting of its add in Roy Blackwood, very secretive but extremely well known in the community. Richer than the entire planet, which still amazes me his job brings in that much money, and always surrounded by his "people". He quickly takes a liking to Daisy, despite being older, and goes full out to create his intentions clear. I do give credit to Daisy for not falling at Roy's feet like every other female. She stands by her independence and always makes it known she doesn't need to be bought. Their relationship is a sweet one, though it did move quick at times, but you could tell they were created for each munication, though, was not the name of the android game with Daisy and Roy. More often than not you would think Daisy was much younger than 21 when something didn't go her way. Instead of talking it out there was only stubbornness, doing something specifically to @#$% Roy off. He also didn't support matters with his demanding ways without any explanation whatsoever. But on the bright side their arguments were over in a blink of an eye so that offset the ridiculousness of the situation in the first place. Despite this being a standalone I am really hoping for something more. There are a lot of things left unsaid and I'm too curious to not wish a continuation, especially for Proctor who definitely grew on me. A well written story, even when dealing with some massive topics, Secrets in Our Scars was a amazing read and entertaining til the very end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    I am generally not one to choose a book or judge it for that matter, by the cover. But, I love this cover! I have to say it is what grabbed me along with the title. Once I read the blurb I was hooked! This is the first opportunity that I have had to read a book by this author and I will definitely be looking to read more of her work in the future. Tronger knows how to grab you and hold your attention, especially during the second half of this book. For those of you that read this review or that follow my reviews, I will say that this book includes triggers. Self-harm, assault, and abandonment are found within this story. Secrets In Our Scars is well written and engaging.Daisy Aldridge's life has not been an simple one. Abandoned at birth, she was raised by two black sisters. She never had the possibility to know her parents and now she wants to search out who they are and where she comes from. The fact that she gets bonuses at the same time every year drives her to search out more about her birth parents. With a shattered past Daisy does not trust easily, she tries to hide the pain from others, but her body wears the scars of her past and present. When she finds herself in yet another horrible situation, she can't support but wish to know more about Roy, the man who saves her. His past is just as broken and battered as hers, but she feels a connection to y Blackwood just happens to be in the right put at the right time. Saving Daisy and pulling her out of harms method may just be what saves him in the end. Roy is a man who likes control and when he meets Daisy he feels an overwhelming need to protect her. Their relationship is a tough one in my opinion. They both have trust problems and slowly they learn to trust in one another. Roy finds Daisy a challenge that he will not back down from. He wants to present her that no matter how scarred, bent or broken she is he can be the one to save e first half of the book is comprised of Roy and Daisy's possibility meeting and how they obtain to know one another and fall in love. The second half of the book is full of suspense and twists and turns. I was thrown for a loop a few times. The author does a amazing job of building the story and dropping clues as the storyline progresses. I didn't once say to myself, "I know what is going to happen next." Overall, Secrets In Our Scars is a amazing read. I felt that there were little bits and pieces that didn't fall into the storyline as well as they could, but that didn't factor into my rating. I look forward to reading more of this author's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    This is one emotional story, if not because of the romance then because of the characters’ backstories. They both have issues, one is more affected by them than the other, and they both wish to move forward. However, only one is willing to place the past behind completely.Ok, just a small bit of what we have here: Roy meets Daisy “thanks” to an unfortunate event. He is the one that saves her and with that, they have a spark. From here on his intentions are clear and strong. However, her fears are stronger. Daisy’s trauma is deeper than they both could have imagined and Roy has to war not only his demons, but also hers. Is a war versus the past one that can be won?Roy and Daisy have such strong backstories. I was captivated by how well the author has captured their emotions and their fears. It is a story that touches you from the first pages. At first, we see the couple grow closer and closer and then the story focuses more on Daisy and her intentions to reconnect with her parents. I loved it so so much!While our characters have their own flaws, I loved how they balanced each other throughout the chapters. Where she is insecure, he is her powerful arm. I must admit that here and there I felt the actions or the dialogue a small bit forced, it does small to affect my judgment .Again, I feel the need to state the obvious: this is a book that will affect you on a lot of levels. There are a lot of triggers here for abuse, but there is also a amazing help system in Roy. Loved it, recommend it! 4 out of 5 stars 🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    Rebecca Trogner's Secrets in Our Scars was unexpectedly good. And not because of the romance. To be honest, the romance felt off and kind of stalker creepy, but the romance was really just a car to address ptsd, anxiety, cutting, and sexual assault. So there is a very true trigger warning e massive subjects are what makes this book so good, though. The first person narration makes for a very shallow representation of Roy, but makes Daisy a very well - developed character. Her struggles with mental illness are at the forefront of every interaction she has. They are shown as the source of her damsel-in-distress portrayal as well as the catalyst for her growth. There is also some light bdsm thrown in, but this is also tied in a very realistic method to her ptsd. The representation of the whole scenario is done well, e twist was very unexpected, and its contribution to the ending was profound. The book was well - written, but even at the end, I still didn't care about Roy. I wish lots more Proctor, though. I love a amazing tortured hero... and Proctor's story is one I definitely wish to read (the author has personally assured me this is happening!). Overall, I'd give this book 4.5 stars. I just don't care about the character and am kind of squicked out by him, but Trogner's careful and meticulous handling of Daisy saves the book from being average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    I'm not often surprised by romance novels. After reading so many, the tropes and cliches tend to bleed together and while it's fun and comforting, it's also predictable. There is nothing predictable about Rebecca Trogner's Secrets In Our Scars.Daisy Aldridge steps through the wrong door and a close call drags up trauma she thought long buried. She's rescued by a man who seems larger than life. His muscles certainly support boost the illusion. Daisy is instantly tongue-tied with her rescuer and shocked to search him absolutely smitten with her. From the beginning, this novel drew me in with its witticisms (which only a Southerner can truly appreciate), it's fully fleshed out characters and clever pacing. Trogner weaves subtle mystery throughout Daisy's encounters with Roy, while making their romance crets In Our Scars plays out like a real Southern Gothic but holds its cards close. You'll need to read between the lines and prepare to devour this book until the mysteries around Daisy's life are revealed. The notice of love no matter the internal scars we carry was heart-rending. Beautifuly done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    Daisy has led a beautiful sheltered life; she never knew her birth parents as she was left on the doorstep of local business and was raised by two black sisters. They looked like an interesting family since Daisy was as white could be. Secrets in Our Scars runs through a few various storylines and in locations it did feel a bit too much going on, but you did obtain the gist of the stories. We have Daisy and Roy's romance storyline after she met him on a film set and he saved her from being raped. We have Daisy's find for her biological parents and the receiving of the bonuses every year. Daisy also has a cutting problem, and that is where the title came from the "Secrets in our scars." We also learn a tragedy happened a few years back and a boy named Charlie died, Daisy hears Charlie's voice in her heads, and it's not a very nice voice as well. In a way, I found some of this story especially the mystery surrounding Daisy's birth and her parents very much related to a plot from Virginia Andrews with her Flowers in the Attic Series. I have to admit at first I had a thought her biological father might have been someone else but still in the same family , but I didn't see the major weird twist coming when Daisy's family history is revealed. Secrets in Our Scars is a slow paced book to read and in locations you may obtain confused by the different plot lines and tangents but other than that is a amazing psychological Fresh Adult read and I do love the cover of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    When at first you begin reading you think it’s quite a cute romance. Daisy is rescued from drunken actor by a handsome mammoth of a man who somehow makes you her feel like a normal woman for first at’s how Roy Blackwood met Daisy Aldridge met for the first time. Daisy has no self-confidence, and is very nervous around men. Daisy has no idea why Roy wants to date not be fooled as things heat up, all the secrets begin to pop up, when Daisy can’t take much more Roy is with her every step of the is is a love story with plenty of action in and out of bed. This book blew me away, it was so various from what I was expecting. So give it a go and be surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    A solid 3 1/2 stars. This is the first book I’ve read from this author. With a bit more polish, this book could have been a solid 4–4 1-2 e storyline was intriguing enough to hold me reading, but it lagged at e hero building is fairly good. Though Roy’s hero fell a bit short.Overall a amazing read & would definitely read another book from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    This book takes on a current problem facing a lot of such as cutting and other emotional problems as you are reading you hoping they overcome it all to search the love and passion they have deep in their is written so well you feel the emotional journey of each character. Be prepared once you begin you can not stop until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets In Our Scars review []  2020-1-22 21:40

    This was a amazing story. I am an avid reader and usually don't read anything new. I wait for others to rate before reading. I took a possibility on this book and found out to be quite the gem. I would recommend this book. There is romance with a hot dominant, but very loving make. And a slightly broken girl. There are some twist and turns you won't see coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    When I was a young lad and listened to these attractive voices on the Lawrence Welk Show, I never really truly appreciated the quality of what I heard. Now as an elder, and as a choral fan, I must tell you that you will rarely hear anything more attractive than the voices of these sisters in harmony. Some of the solo work is a small less perfect, but when they sing as a group, I challenge anyone to search a better, sweeter, more seamless vocal sound. Their best work is in the older ballads featured prominently in this collection. This is exquisite music.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Recently bought this CD and have enjoyed it tremendously. Any song by The Lennon Sisters is a amazing song--they create them their own--and the selections on this CD are very amazing ones. As usual, they do a amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Attractive recordings, I can almost imaging my mom listening to them with me. Amazing nostalgia.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Excellent harmony

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    The Lennon Sisters should be in the hall of fame with this CD. These are classic songs and they have classic voices with a style that is patent to themselves. You will have fun this stroll down memory lane.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Highly recommend this CD to those who love amazing harmony and amazing songs. Youwill not be disappointed in any way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    ecellent cd worth it to have it in one's coolection original recordins and vry amazing sound....................just excellent....................it is very nice cd

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Among Our Souvenirs review []  2020-1-23 3:23

    WHEN I WAS GROWING UP IN THE 50'S AND 60'S THERE WAS NOT AS MUCH PEER PRESSURE AS NOW, BUT YOU JUST COULD NOT TELL CERTAIN PEOPLE WHAT YOU DID LIKE. MAKE SENSE? WELL FOR INSTANCE, IT WAS CONSIDERED RATHER GEEKY TO ADMIT YOU WATCHED LAWRENCE WELK.BUT WHAT IF YOU WANTED TO SEE THE LENNON SISTERS? AFTER ALL, THEY WERE ALL BEAUTIFUL AND COULD HARMONIZE EY WERE LIKE THE FORBIDDEN SIRENS! THEY DID A GREAT RENDITION OF "SAD MOVIES MAKE ME CRY" BUT YET CROSS-OVER COUNTRY SINGER SUE THOMPSON'S VERSION MANAGED TO GET ALL THE AIR-PLAY, NO DOUBT BECAUSE SHE WASN'T PART OF LAWRENCE WELK! THEY WERE ABLE TO HARMONIZE SONGS LIKE "YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A BABY TO CRY" BUT THE RADIO STATIONS WOULN'T PLAY THEM. HOW SILLY AND PREJUDICIAL.ANYHOW I AM SOOO GLAD THAT THEY HAVE THIS C.D.OUT AND THAT NOW I DON'T GIVE A HOOT CUZ I'M GONNA PLAY IT ANYWAYS.WELL FOLKS JUDGE FOR ME, THESE GALS HAD GREAT VOICES AND THIS IS A VERY GOOD FACT THEY'VE NEVER SOUNDED BETTER!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars Set In Stone review []  2020-1-22 19:22

    I think this is Shenaia Lucas' best collection since For The Broken. Her voice is more clear than ever and she is willing to say everything she needs to say. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scars Set In Stone review []  2020-1-22 19:22

    I would recommend this book to all that has low self-esteem, so they can create a change of their mindset.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raspberry Colored Scars review []  2020-1-23 0:14

    Such a beautifully written story that handles trauma and healing in a method that makes you feel connected to the author. Whether you are dealing with a difficult situation in your own life or are helping others navigate one in theirs, this story will support you to understand that you are never alone. Truly an wonderful and touching read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raspberry Colored Scars review []  2020-1-23 0:14

    Beautifully and carefully crafted! I loved this book -- an necessary and touching read on trauma, love, recovery. Strong for any survivors and timely and important piece of prose in #Metoo era. Foster is a talented author with a bright future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raspberry Colored Scars review []  2020-1-23 0:14

    Elisabeth Foster has managed to do something very important. She's walked us through her pain and taken us on a journey to healing that comes from sharing her voice and confronting her pain. There's a generosity of spirit and rare vulnerability that permeates her accessible prose. I teach creative writing workshops for female victims of violence, and other marginalized voices that are too often silenced. I'll use this book as a teaching tool and give it as a bonus to any young woman. What a attractive and heartfelt read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde review []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Alcest is basically a one man band, with drummer Winterhalter on drums. Niege is the star of this show, though, and has mesmerized rock fans with four fabulous albums of beauty, the first three the more metallic, shades of black metal, and latest year's superb "Shelter" ditching the screaming and black metal influences altogether for one of the year's greatest albums. "Souvenirs" is the first Alcest album, and while it has grinding guitars, the music quotient is higher, and Niege sings throughout, his silky voice an instrument unto itself. He is also a master of melody, creating passages of timeless beauty and richness that guarantee that none of his albums need go stale. My wife and I even like the fact he sings in French, as the most melodious of languages fits the melody perfectly. Indeed, one doesn't even care what the lyrics are, enjoying instead a voice as an instrument. "Souvenirs" is brilliant, and shows all the magic Niege would record in the future. I hate the term "shoegaze", and for that matter hate the over labeling all bands and artists have to endure. This is simply introspective, soulful music, massive enough for metal fans but simultaneously attractive for others who wouldn't ordinarily like the heavier sections. I can't wait for the follow up to "Shelter", and I'm glad CD's are in binary code because if Alcest was on vinyl, I'd wear them out in short order. For those who are sick of melody that doesn't touch the listener any more, or sick of the blandness that permeates so much pop melody out there, Alcest is a unbelievable respite. I can't recommend "Souvenirs" or any Alcest CD highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde review []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Released in 2007, Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde (Memories of Another World) place (the one piece and originally black metal band) Alcest on the map in the metal community. Only six songs and about 41 minutes, Alcest perfected what was done on their 2005 EP, Le Secret. Achingly beautiful melodies and vocals glitter the whole entire album from begin to finish. Main band member, Neige, sings like a light gust of wind over the gorgeous guitar melodies. Every once in a while he'll present his teeth when the riffs obtain blackened. But overall, things stay fairly calm throughout. Fans who have listened to his albums from 2010 and 2012 but haven't heard this should definitely check it out since it is one of the, if not the, definitive album for this style of metal. All of the songs are standouts, especially the closing song Tir Non Og, which features quiet percussion, acoustic guitar and dreamy vocals with piano drifting in and out while towards the end a string section fades into the s- Excellent from begin to finish. Amazing ideas never overstay their welcome or obtain boring. Perfectly balanced between shoegaze and amazing ns- None.Overall- One of the best metal (related) albums from 2007, if not the best (along with the releases by Pig Destroyer, Deathspell Omega, Dillinger Escape Plan, Caina and High on Fire).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde review []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Attractive edition (I have the 10th. Anniversary vinyl version).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde review []  2020-1-18 0:37

    The record sleeve of this reissue is amazing. The record sound is amazing. The record though is warped. The needle on my turntable is comparable to a skateboard at a skate park.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Souvenirs d'un autre monde review []  2020-1-18 0:37

    Muy buena presentación

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter