Read scientific method reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all scientific method reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    This book blows me away with how the author has connected the dots and how he shows the scientific way to be part of our daily life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Books on the scientific way often focus more on philosophy than on science. Hugh Gauch takes long walks down the philosophical path and climbs onto the summit of scientific logic and execution. This is the balanced approach you are looking for if you'd like to conduct true research that is efficient, effective, justifiable and elegant. Not only should every graduate student pursuing a science degree consider this essential material, so should undergrads with science majors. Sorry kids, reading the Wikipedia page on scientific way will not deliver what's needed. If you wish to supplement Scientific Way in Practice with extra history and philosophy, consider Barry Gower's "Scientific Method: A Historical and Philosophical Introduction".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    If you're going to conduct research tomorrow and need a "how-to" book, there might be better choices. A more accurate title could be: "A Healthier Philosophy of Science; Making Mincemeat out of Popper, Lakatos, Kuhn and Feyerabend".I really enjoyed the book, although I'm "Math-Impaired" so I can't judge the more technical sections. Aspiring scientists should read it once, I e only serious shortcoming is when he says: "Science rests on faith", p. 152, because of the poor influence of Thomas Reid. A more appropriate epistemological foundation would be "Thonnard, F.-J., Précis de philosophie, Paris, Desclée, 1950" (sorry, out of print, but I wish to translate it and place it on my website, God willing).For more info, Google my name.

    0  


    Add your opinion on scientific method or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Brief []  2020-7-1 18:51

    Hugh Gauch Jr. is a researcher who specializes in agriculture and he has created a unbelievable contribution to science by writing this book. This book follows much of his previous work on the scientific way called Scientific Way in Practice which was the longer ver of this text. "Scientific Way in Brief" is based off of that one beautiful much. The intended audience for this book is scientists and nonscientists who are undergraduates or going for graduate degrees. It is for those who want to obtain a more complete and systematic understanding of the scientific way as it is done by actual scientists in true time in the true world. One special feature of the book is that it relies a lot on the position papers on science from leading scientific organizations like American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), National Academy of Sciences (NAS), National Commission on Excellence in Education (NCEE), National Research Council (NRC), National Science Foundation (NSF) and a few others. It also contains insights from studies on science education and how a few changes in how science classes are taught from elementary schools to universities can create a significant difference in increasing comprehensions and appreciation of science. As the book clearly notes, the scientific way only needs to be mastered once and though most science majors and graduate students never really obtain taught explicitly on the scientific way or other dimensions of science (philosophy of science or the history of science, among a few others) in their scientific training, formal learning about the scientific way can create them better researchers and better teachers and increase comprehension of science and how it interrelates to the humanities and daily experience. One of the best things out of this book is that it makes science very relatable to nonscientists without sacrificing scientific rigor while defending mainstream science at the same are some things the book discusses (this list is not exhaustive):Preface"Satisfactory study of scientific way simply must be coherent and systematic because the components of scientific thinking have multiple aspects that interact deeply. For instance, science's presuppositions have multiple roles, rendering evidence admissible and thereby conclusions attainable, engendering fruitful interactions with the humanities, and largely determining the forum worldviews in which science makes sense. Likewise, deductive logic and inductive logic are each a substantial topic, but in addition, they must interconnect and interact in scientific thinking. Consequently, the general principles of scientific way cannot possibly be learned adequately as bit and pieces gleaned from routine science courses and books. Likewise, extensive empirical evidence from science educators shows what a lot of scientists might search surprising, that research experience is remarkably ineffective for learning the general principles of scientific method. Effective pedagogy for the general principles of scientific way offer but one choice: systematic study." (XV); this book emphasizes both the relations between the sciences with the humanities and defends a distinctly mainstream vision of science and its methodology1 - IntroductionScientific methodology has 2 components: general principles of scientific way and research techniques of a given specialty; the intended audiences of the book are undergraduates to specialists in the sciences and humanities; the scientific way was synthesized between the 1200s AD to 1600s AD by numerous people; all sciences share a related core of principles of scientific way (hypothesis generation and testing, deductive and inductive logic, parsimony, presuppositions, domain and limits); beyond the methodology, practical problems are shared across sciences (relating science to the humanities, implementing science education, ethics); 3 kinds of general principles: principles that are relatively distinctive of science, broader principles of rationality, foundational principles of common sense; assuming that general principles of scientific way exist is controversial; American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) says the scientific way is often misrepresented as a fixed sequence of steps when in reality it is a highly variable and creative process; AAAS views scientific methodology like the thesis of this book - combination of general principles and specialized techniques; major scientific organizations like American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), National Academy of Sciences (NAS), National Commission on Excellence in Education (NCEE), National Research Council (NRC), National Science Foundation (NSF), National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and counterparts of these in a lot of other nations give scientific way a prominent position; AAAS says science is clearly one of the liberal arts; in antiquity liberal arts included some science; "Many of the broad principles of scientific inquiry are not special to science but also pervade rational inquiry more generally, as depicted in Figure 1.2. 'All sciences share certain aspects of understanding - common perspectives that transcend disciplinary boundaries. Indeed, a lot of of these fundamental values and aspects are also the province of the humanities, the fine and practical arts, and the social sciences' (AAAS 1990:xii; also see p. 11)" (7-8); "Because the general principles of science involve a wider globe of ideas, a lot of vital aspects cannot be understood satisfactorily by looking at science in isolation. Rather they can be mastered properly only by seeing science in context, especially in philosophical and historical context." (9); there is an interesting paragraph from AAAS on science being within the liberal arts tradition; "Indeed, concepts that are rich in philosophical content and meaning pervade science, such as rationality, truth, evidence, and cause. And deductive logic, probability theory, and other relevant subjects have been addressed by both scientists and philosophers. Accordingly, an adequate understanding of science, for science and nonscience majors alike, must see science as one of the liberal arts. A humanities-rich vision of science surpasses the humanities-poor vision." (10); currently the humanities are in turmoil and controversy; very few science majors and science professors have ever taken a course on the scientific method, logic, history of science, or philosophy of science so their conceptions are often variable and incomplete; the best answers for the benefits of studying scientific way come, not from scientists or philosophers, but from science educators - 6 benefits: produces better comprehension, greater adaptability, greater interest, more realism, better researchers, and better teachers; author's influences on how he got into looking into the scientific way (he was never taught about it in his scientific training); 7 streams of relevant literature genres to getting a rich understanding of scientific method: scientists themselves, statistics, philosophy of science, history of science, sociology of science, science education, position papers from AAAS, NAS, NSF and other scientific organizations; numerous position papers/publications and education standards from numerous organizations are listed (16); the current situation for teaching scientific way in universities is pervasive neglect; there is currently a discrepancy between the AAAS' humanities-rich vision of science and the humanities-poor current situation in academia and education; 2 major developments in the mid 1800s on conceptions of science: invention of the word "scientist" in 1834 by ogy from "artist" and a fresh meaning of the term "science" to mean physical and experimental, but excluding the metaphysical and theological; the distance gap between science and the humanities reached a peak in the 1920s and 1930s, but it turned around in 1959 with Karl Popper's works; for 22 centuries scientists were "philosopher-scientists" and only the 20th century produced more scientists with less understanding of scientific method2 - Four Bold Claims4 constantly used concepts in science: rationality, truth, objectivity, and realism; rationality regulates belief and tutorials action and is simply amazing reasoning (same as in philosophy); science is only one source of rational way as it deals with physical objects mainly, but other sources of rationality also exist; truth is a property of a statement - that it corresponds to reality (Aristotle's correspondence theory of truth); coherence theory of truth; pragmatic theory of truth; on objectivity and how it allows for people and scientists to have common beliefs irrespective of political, cultural, and religious worldviews; "Any attempt to eliminate physical objects from science's picture of the globe and any attempt to eliminate the human persons from science's picture of the globe must alike lead to absurdity." (28); realism is a philosophical theory that states that human thoughts and the physical globe exist and that human endowments render the physical globe as intelligible and reliably knowable; belief in reality is universal (scientist or non-scientist); antirealism positions are Idealism, Constructivism, Instrumentalism, Skepticism; relativism; ordinary science is thoroughly tied to realism and without it science perishes; "The full force of science's claims results from the joint assertion of all four: rationality, truth, objectivity, and realism. Science claims to have a rational way that provides humans with objective truth about physical reality." (29); science can be seen as either a refinement of common sense or as an unnatural and counterintuitive enterprise relative to common sense; science has continuity in common sense, but it also has instances where it goes beyond common sense and even has bizarre instances where counterintuitive findings actually confirm common sense3 - A Brief History of TruthThis short history focuses on 4 critical focus time periods: Aristotle around 350 BC, Augustine around 400 AD, Medieval scholars around 1200 AD, and philosopher scientists from the past few centuries to the 1960s; inputs for scientific truth emphasized by various schools in the past: Rationalists (logic/reason), Empiricists (evidence/experience); Skeptics (presuppositions-worried version), Mainstream scholars (Presuppositions-confident version), Logical Empiricists (logic + evidence); Gauch's input model is PEL = presuppositions (confident version) + evidence + logic and this view of science is shared by philosopher-scientists like Albertus Magnus, Robert Gosseteste, Isaac Newton; Aristotle's correspondence theory of truth is most compatible with science, he had a deductive scientific way that championed geometry, but also had a cyclical inductive-deductive way since some truth could only be extracted by observations mainly (i.e. astronomy); Aristotle did not push much for tinkering and experimenting with nature to try her limits and instead preferred to study nature as is (undisturbed not artificially forced); Saint Augustine used Aristotle's logic and advocated Aristotle's conceptions of objective truth and in doing so allowed those teachings to continue throughout the medieval period; Augustine countered the antirealism of the skeptics of his time; medieval scholars like Grosseteste, Ockham, Auvergne, Magnus, Aquinas, Bacon, Scotus incorporated 5 amazing fresh ideas to scientific methodology: experimental methods, strong logic, theory choice, science's presuppositions, scientific truth; Grosseteste was the principle figure in this period; Roger Bacon emphasized 3 prerogatives: conclusions reached by induction should be submitted to further experimentation, experimental facts had priority over initial presuppositions, research should be extended to fresh issues with practical value (to benefit humanity); William of Ockham enhanced theory choice by "Ockham's razor" as a principle of parsimony; Albertus Magnus grounded science in common sense and in doing so granted science intellectual independence from worldview presuppositions and theological disputes (Thomas Aquinas followed Magnus on this); the 13th century created the greatest number of advances on the scientific way in any time period and paved the method for modern science; numerous advances and controversies since the 1500s and knowledge and the physical globe discussed; Newton had a related broad view of science as was understood in the middle ages; Hume on mental perceptions of objects; Kant; 20th century logical empiricists excluded presuppositions (metaphysics) and this made heavy problems; Thales of Miletos (625-546 BC) may be the first scientists in the West; water is used as a discussion example4 - Science's Contested RationalityFocuses on attacks on science's rationality - 4 deadly threats: elusive truth, theory-laden data, incommensurable paradigms, and empty consensus; the humanities can be "auditors" of science along with scientists because science is a liberal art; the demarcation problem; Popper's "falsifiability" criterion as elusive truth; Kuhn's "paradigm" concept and science as being "arational"; Feyerabend's view on science as being only a product of consensus of scientist's current beliefs and seeing science as nothing special; responses to all 4 attacks from leading journals "Science" and "Nature"; 7 lines of evidence showing the science has a amazing grip on reality: steadily improving precise predictions, increasing accurate/extensive data, increasing specific and comprehensive theories, interlocking diverse evidences, progressing over time in explaining nature, making reproducible experiments, and science based technologies work; some fields in the humanities did undermine science in the 1960s and caused the "science wars" in the 1990s (starting in 1987); though scientists have often cited Popper and Kuhn, most scientists have superficial understandings of their views - which espouse skepticism and undermine science's traditional claims of rationality, truth, objectivity, and realism; AAAS' position in all of this is a mixed nuance of positives and negatives by adhering to rationality, truth, objectivity, and realism while also acknowledging limits, tentativeness, and how not everything is science is certain5 - Science's PresuppositionsA presupposition is a belief that is needed to reach a conclusion, but is impossible to be proven, however, this does not necessarily mean the belief is shaky or arbitrary; a lot of presuppositions and metaphysical assumptions are taken for granted by scientists routinely, but they are still important to reach any scientific conclusion; "Presuppositions cannot be proved by logic or established by evidence; rather, they can be disclosed by philosophy and accepted on faith." (73); discusses a history of presuppositions in science; AAAS says science presupposes that there are regularities and patterns in nature that are comprehensible through human intellect via systematic study; Gauch's PEL model of scientific way is exemplified and has an inert component of "archive"; presuppositions create arguments meaningful and without them no conclusions can be reached; "Evidence has a dual nature, admissible and relevant. First, evidence is admissible relative to the available presuppositions. Hence, given common sense presuppositions about the existence of the physical globe and the general reliability of sense perceptions, it is admissible...whereas without it...a claim would not be meaningful or admissible. Second, evidence is relevant relative to the stated hypotheses, bearing differentially on their credibilities." (one hypothesis is more believable than other proposed hypotheses) (82); AAAS' view of science corresponds with the PEL model; Figure 5.2 has a diagram of how PEL works in scientific inquiry (84); the enemy of common sense is skepticism; insincere skepticism of "maybe or maybe not" is damaging to science; on reality checks; presuppositions underlying reality checks are ontological, epistemological, and logical presuppositions; mainstream science's primary presuppositions statement; some have argued that science has overthrown some common sense ideas (objects are mostly empty space, time is not constant and depends on the speed of the object relative to the observer), but this is erroneous since these are not presuppositions of science - they are conclusions from science; "Science can overturn common-sense expectations and beliefs, but not common-sense presuppositions." (89); there are a lot of worldviews, but common sense is universal; skepticism and reality checks are incompatible; real skeptics are rare in science circles; Figure 5.3 is a model for justification in science; there are at least 7 functions presuppositions serve in science: essential to reach any scientific conclusion, for full disclosure of arguments, rendering evidence admissible, connecting science with common sense, defending science's rationality, framing sensible questions and eliminating wild hypotheses, demarcating science in a worldviews forum; "And mainstream science follows main stream philosophy in granting reason the double office of regulating belief and action, thereby fostering sincerity and confidence." (94);6 - Science's Powers and LimitsAAAS and NRC say everyone should understand the limits of science; some limitations are that science can never observe or know everything about the physical world, funding is often mission-oriented and not oriented to science's goals and science cannot prove its own presuppositions; AAAS has contradictory views on science and the huge questions involving purpose and meaning; "methodological naturalism" conception, though being only 3 decades old, is a common convention in science; science has impacted worldviews in some cases; in practice methodological naturalism is inconsistently implemented; worldview discussions are minor but constant in the sciences; "Whereas mainstream science can and does have some worldview import, prominent variants of fringe science are problematic, particularly scientism and skepticism. They are opposite errors. At the one extreme, scientism says that only hard, no-nonsense science all of our dependable, solid truth. At the opposite extreme, skepticism says that science produces no final, settled truth. Yet, curiously, these opposite errors help exactly the same verdict on any worldview inquiry appealing to empirical and public evidence. On the one hand, scientism automatically and breezily dismisses any worldview arguments coming from philosophy, theology, or any other discipline in the humanities because such disciplines lack the validity and authority that science alone possesses. On the other hand, after skepticism has already judged all science to be awash in uncertainty and tentativeness, ambitious worldview inquiries are bound to keep this same verdict of impotence." (99-100); some scientists discover worldviews, other exclude worldviews, and others have no interests or opinions on worldviews per se; empirical and public evidence have a prominent role in the humanities; scientism is renounced by mainstream science and is discredited by the appeals to empirical evidence found in the humanities; natural theology is an example of using empirical way to address worldview questions by means of evidence; natural theology uses the PEL model and differs from other fields like revealed theology; avoidance of circular reasoning in worldviews inquiries is important; a lot of times there are agreements on the facts, but on interpretations is where disagreements occur; there is a subtle amount of circular reasoning in worldview inquires sometimes; history is another field which uses evidences and impacts worldviews; "Many persons believe in miracles, either from direct observation or from dependable reports from trusted family and friends, as well as from historical miracle reports in a scripture that is trusted and authoritative within a given religious tradition. And a lot of other persons have encountered nothing whatsoever that seems beyond the ordinary workings of the physical world." (as such, worldview convictions are controversial in science) (105); because convictions are controversial, it is inappropriate for scientific organizations to take a position on which worldview is real or not; 5 boundaries of limits and powers of science: can provide reliable info on the physical world, it cannot explain everything about the physical globe and cannot prove its own presuppositions, it is worldview-independent but can have import on worldviews, scientific organizations cannot help one worldview over another, and considerations for worldview choice should be evidences from science, humanities, and individual experiences; there are private rewards from studying science7 - Deductive LogicDifferences between deductive logic and inductive logic (both are essential to science); deductive arguments are either valid or invalid in an all or nothing basis while inductive arguments admit of degrees of strength; Figure 7.1 (Given model -> Deduction -> Expected data and Actual data -> Induction -> Inferred model; induction works in degrees and is never absolute; deduction is generals to particulars and induction is particulars to generals; discusses some history of deductive and inductive reasoning; some basics on logic and a truth table; arithmetic; common fallacies types: inadmissible evidence, irrelevant evidence, fallacious logic, failure of will; "Presuppositions chop deeper than evidence." (125);8 - ProbabilityProbability is deductive logic dealing with uncertainty; probability errors can be detrimental; probability concepts; 4 requirements on probability theory; Bayes Theorem and Bayesian methodology9 - Inductive Logic and StatisticsHistory of induction; Aristotle's inductive-deductive way was refined by Grosseteste in his "Method of Resolution and Composition"; Grosseteste emphasized falsification to find for real causes and had a "Method of Falsification" and "Method of Verification"; Scotus provided an inductive "Method of Agreement"; Ockham provided a "Method of Difference"; Bayesian inference; Frequentist inference; debates on induction - Hume versus others10 - Parsimony and EfficiencyOckham's razor; history of parsimony; principles and exemplary models of parsimony; parsimony has an epistemic and ontological aspect; simplifying does not always mean that the object or concept is not complex11 - Case StudiesCase studies on the scientific way used in philosophy (philosophy of science), electronic engineering, biochemistry and pharmacology, medicine, sociology, economics, law; the general principles of scientific way are encountered everywhere because they are universal12 - Ethics and Responsibilitieslike chapter title says - it deals with philosophical and professional ethics13 - Science EducationChapter focuses on the 6 benefits from studying general principles of the scientific way (better comprehension, greater adaptability, greater interest, more realism, better researchers, better teachers) and looks at numerous empirical studies and resources and how various teaching tactics affect learning and understanding of science; "Nature of Science" (NOS) is a term used by science educators; 14 typical NOS concepts from 8 nations for K-12 education: is durable and tentative, relies heavily but not entirely on observation/experimental evidence/rational arguments/skepticism, no fixed method to do science, attempts to explain natural phenomenon, laws and theories have various roles, all culture contribute, fresh knowledge must be reported openly, peer review and replicability is important, observations are theory-laden, is creative, is historically evolutionary and revolutionary, is a part of social and cultural traditions, science and technology impact each other, scientific ideas are affected by their social and historical environments; "inquiry instruction" (teaching about reasoning, methods, processes) yields better learning than "expository instruction" (teaching merely facts and concepts); "individual interest" in science is long lasting and "situational interest" is short lived; scientific beliefs are proportional to the level of understanding of science; more understanding of scientific principles yields better researchers; Figure 13.2 lists 10 academic NOS concepts for undergraduate and graduates (much of the NOS concepts here come from Gauch's points in the book)14 - ConclusionsSummary/conclusions; addresses the 4 woes from chapter 4 and lists them in detailBravo! This book deserves a wide audience. For those who are interested in learning more about other dimensions of the scientific way please check out:The Structure of Science: Issues in the Logic of Scientific Explanation (2nd edition)The Beginnings of Western Science: The European Scientific Tradition in Philosophical, Religious, and Institutional Context, Prehistory to A.D. 1450Systems Engineering and ysis (5th Edition) (Prentice Hall International Series in Industrial & Systems Engineering) (very useful for those interested in investigating principles of engineering in creating complex systems, after all science also interacts with technology. Engineering is basically the app of science for devising and configuring novel entities, novel processes, and stretching the limits of natural phenomenon and scientific research. Its no wonder that scientists historically also were engineers to a significant degree and they often had to build their own research equipment.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Should be needed reading for all junior and high school students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    I cannot add anything to the other reviews from a professinal point of view. I am an ordinary citizen trying to create sense of is book cuts through the fog emminently well. The explanations of the Bayesian approach and of parsimony are 's nice to know that we can prove something real (beyond reasonable doubt, at least) instead of having to prove things to be not true. How confusing it is to have to prove a "null hypothesis" not real so that we can have a vague double negative about the truth of our alternative hypotheses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Having lived in the author's home for two years while in Fresh York I am biased towards this niche masterpiece. Although my interests are on opposite sides of the map in relation to this book I had the privilege to witness, first hand, the author's diligence and perseverence in putting the finishing touches on his textual this book Mr. Gauch brings his statistical mastery with him in his endeavor to reconcile science, philosophy and religion in the public arena. In so doing he greatly enables scientists to become better at what they do by examining the foundations of the scientific method. This book is a must read for students of science and scientific specialists alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Brief []  2020-7-1 18:51

    The main value of the book is to bring in what tje author calls "common sense" to avoid pitfals of philosophy of science made by sceptics to science, obseving science from distance. The parsimony discussion was essential, but lacked a bit substance. all in all a boon for reflection...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Just what the teacher requested!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method in Practice []  2020-1-4 20:39

    As stated in its introduction, this book was motivated by the concerns (perhaps fears is a more apt description) of a doctoral student who felt that she would not have an opportunity to learn about the "philosophy of science." Neither in her coursework nor in informal interactions with her though I now believe that this common concern/fear is really more aworry than a reality (and is best addressed by the demarcation problem/boundary work [e.g., science and religion studies as found in Oxford Professor John Hendley Brooke's books/papers]), the inability of a lot of smart professors (especially the younger ones) to adequately address it when asked has marred the experience of students in more than a few major doctoral degree-granting research programs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing:A Practical Training Method []  2020-1-9 18:59

    Perfect book with insights on the profession, covers the basics and also informs the practitioner and the technical users of advanced materials and techniques in scientific glassblowing. The author provides useful data and is generously full of illustrative step-by-step images and while doing so, it provides critical knowledge on safety. Thank you Paul Le Pinnet for providing a more contemporary handbook for learning our art.!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method: A Historical and Philosophical Introduction []  2020-5-11 18:11

    A lot of people do not realize that there has been an ongoing debate concerning:1) What science is (does it require proof of causality)2) What science can claim (is inductive reasoning valid)3) How science should be framed (are hypotheses the best framework for science, or should they be abandoned in favor of inductive models that come from experimental evidence)This book clearly explains how methodology has evolved, and what sort of science was done based on the varying methods in use. It's both a amazing history and a clear demonstration that science is not "set" but is an evolving practice, based on utility, but also sometimes side-tracked by philosophical concerns, such as the desire for "absolute truth", which has made somewhat of a issue over the years for those who winner probability.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method: A Historical and Philosophical Introduction []  2020-5-11 18:11

    The question that has to be asked about latest books on the philosophy of science is: Does this book explain the four "turns" that Karl Popper introduced? These are (1) the conjectural turn, to explain that even our best scientific theories may be false, (2) the objective turn to focus on scientific knowledge in its public or objective form, rather than subjective beliefs, (3) the social turn to be aware that the scientist works in a community and there is a need for conventions or "rules of the game" to maintain standards of criticism and best practice and (4) the rehabilitation of metaphysics, in defiance of the positivists and logical empiricists, in the form of "metaphysical research programs".This book does not score very well on that try however on the positive side the historical approach is very good, introducing concepts in relation to scientific episodes: Galileo on fresh methods for a fresh science, Francis Bacon on experiments, Newton on rules for reasoning, Herschel (the astronomer), Mill and Whewell on the use of hypotheses, Venn and Peirce on probabilities as frequencies, Keynes on probability logic, Reichenbach and Popper on ntrary to the conjectural view of science (small s) this book was written very much in the justificationist or authoritarian mode (the authority of Science with a huge S). And so "to explain the success of the work of scientists we will have to refer to the methods they use; we will refer to the reasoning they use to justify their fresh knowledge." With reference to our confidence in science "we trust scientific theories simply because they are scientific and therefore authoritative or we count claims as scientific and reliable because they are established by scientific methods.' That orientation begs all the questions.An interesting novelty in the book is the introduction of John Maynard Keynes who was a serious student of probability theory (the probability of theories or beliefs, or expectations) before he created his name as an view of the central importance of the issue of induction in modern times this review concentrates on the final chapters about Reichenbach, Popper and Carnap. Gower was even-handed regarding Reichenbach and Popper, pointing out that the former encountered a number of insoluble issues with his project to save inductive logic with a way to assign objective probability values to theories.He then argued that Popper had similarly run into problem with his campaign to dispense with induction altogether. First he suggested that the claim of asymmetry between verification and falsification was not as clear as Popper declared. That objection fails because Popper drew a very clear distinction between the logic of testing and the practical issue of establishing a negative result. He described this as the difference between falsifiability (the capacity for a generalization to be refuted by a single real observation statement) and falsification, the practical matter of testing with all the complications of theory-dependence of evidence, the Duhem issue and so e logic of the situation is quite clear (it was endorsed by W V O Quine) and also by Richard Feynman, as cited by Gower on page 15 of this book. "If it [the computed consequences of a law] disagrees with experiment it is wrong. In that easy statement is the key to science ."The issue of handing the practical side of testing prompted Popper to develop the idea of conventions or rules of the game, not set in concrete but topic to criticism and improvement like scientific theories themselves. For an extended treatment of this aspect of Popperism, see Ian Jarvie's book "The Republic of Science". second line of attack is to suggest that "induction in a broad sense" is involved in justifying Popper's preference for well tested (corroborated) hypotheses over those that fail. However this involves a very various use of induction from the inductive logic that is supposed to assign a numerical degree of confidence to a theory. It is induction in the sense of the metaphysical theory that there are regularities or laws of nature which provide a degree of structure and predictability in the world. Given Popper's conjectural theory of knowledge, preferences are not set in concrete and are liable to revision in the happening of fresh evidence, fresh arguments and fresh theories in the e final chapter on Carnap describes now his lifelong project to develop a system of inductive logic failed and morphed into the very various program to quantify subjective feelings of probability which we now know as Bayesian subjectivism. This can be seen as the latest bastion of subjectivism and inductivism. It remains to be seen how long it will latest before people search that there is a better method with Popperian critical rationalism and objective knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Exploring the Scientific Method: Cases and Questions []  2020-6-22 18:48

    I'm not sure how or why, but the ebook is horribly laid out. There are constant repetitions of the latest syllables of words as separate words, incorrect spacing (like splitting one word into two, or combining two words into one.) It is not quite unreadable, but it is rather frustrating and distracting. And it shows these deficiencies cross-platform. Really makes me regret not getting the hardcopy, and will definitely influence my choices going forward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing:A Practical Training Method []  2020-1-9 18:59

    This is a unbelievable book for both beginners and experts alike who wish to step up their glassblowing skills. While this is written for scientific glassblowing (Mr. Le Pinnet is, after all, a scientific glassblower) anyone working in lamp working skills will benefit from the info instructions he provides.Another individual who will benefit from this book is the researcher who depends up a glassblower for their tools. The reason is that a lot of researchers know their chemistry extremely well but do not know the dynamics of the material with which they work with. By following along in this book they will gain a better understanding of the glass upon which they depend upon so much.With a lot of photographs (some in color), the reader will easily be guided to the best visual description I've seen in a glassblowing manual. In fact, the only thing better than this book would be Mr. Le Pinnet standing by your side guiding you on in your work.I heartily recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Exploring the Scientific Method: Cases and Questions []  2020-6-22 18:48

    Amazing book, timely delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing: A Practical Training Method []  2020-7-15 18:46

    I have to give this two stars because I was looking for scientific glass such as mothership

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing: A Practical Training Method []  2020-7-15 18:46

    This is a unbelievable book for both beginners and experts alike who wish to step up their glassblowing skills. While this is written for scientific glassblowing (Mr. Le Pinnet is, after all, a scientific glassblower) anyone working in lamp working skills will benefit from the info instructions he provides.Another individual who will benefit from this book is the researcher who depends up a glassblower for their tools. The reason is that a lot of researchers know their chemistry extremely well but do not know the dynamics of the material with which they work with. By following along in this book they will gain a better understanding of the glass upon which they depend upon so much.With a lot of photographs (some in color), the reader will easily be guided to the best visual description I've seen in a glassblowing manual. In fact, the only thing better than this book would be Mr. Le Pinnet standing by your side guiding you on in your work.I heartily recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method: A Historical and Philosophical Introduction []  2020-5-11 18:11

    I'd prefer to give 3.5 stars. Barry Gower has provided perfect historical perspective on the history and evolution of the scientific way from the philosopher's perspective. The contributions of Galileo, Bacon and Newton are presented clearly and thoroughly, providing a foundation for later years when science progressed from a wealthy gentleman's past time into a professional and academic institution. I do feel that the discussion incorporating probability theory into scientific way was a bit inconsistent, even though the key principles were presented. The writing style in this section is as much of a issue as is the content - with Gower taking both sides of the argument without clarity of his own beliefs. From this point forward, however, the transition into modern practice (and in some cases, ignoring to engage in) scientific way is brought forth clearly with adequate background included to tutorial the reader through differences of opinion and perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method: A Historical and Philosophical Introduction []  2020-5-11 18:11

    Gower's survey begins with Galileo and ends with Carnap. In between, he covers a number of prominent scientists - the ones you expect, like Bacon and Newton; and a few you don't, like John Maynard Keynes. He has grouped his topics according to the nature of their contribution, which means that this reads as the series of essays that it is. Each essay is separately ere are a few odd omissions, like Descartes (who is nonethless mentioned in passing). But the net effect is that, instead of being presented with the historical panorama, one is confronted with a series of ideas - and how they fit into the overall understanding of contemporaries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing:A Practical Training Method []  2020-1-9 18:59

    Hands on book. Pictures are very very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Exploring the Scientific Method: Cases and Questions []  2020-6-22 18:48

    Best book to discover the development of the scientific method. Goes beyond philosophy and explores the actual practice of science as done by true researchers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing: A Practical Training Method []  2020-7-15 18:46

    Perfect book with insights on the profession, covers the basics and also informs the practitioner and the technical users of advanced materials and techniques in scientific glassblowing. The author provides useful data and is generously full of illustrative step-by-step images and while doing so, it provides critical knowledge on safety. Thank you Paul Le Pinnet for providing a more contemporary handbook for learning our art.!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing:A Practical Training Method []  2020-1-9 18:59

    I have to give this two stars because I was looking for scientific glass such as mothership

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Exploring the Scientific Method: Cases and Questions []  2020-6-22 18:48

    One of the worst books I have ever been forced to read in my entire life. The only reason I read it was because it is needed for one of my science courses. However, it was wordy, confusing, and honestly place me to sleep more times then not. DO NOT READ THIS BOOK IF YOU DO NOT HAVE TOO!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Laboratory Scientific Glassblowing: A Practical Training Method []  2020-7-15 18:46

    Hands on book. Pictures are very very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramblings of an Old Man: about the scientific method []  2020-11-18 18:44

    This book is highly recommended for any with major questions about science. Amazing for debating the Standard Model and all that we think is absolute! So a lot of locations in question! The math is clear and will create you think!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    It was enjoyable and Kari is very honest about herself, but she doesn't talk much about her fellow Mythbuster cast. I would like to have known more about her interactions with Grant, Tori, Jamie and Adam. You can see that she is a nice person as she doesn't wish to say anything poor about anyone, but that kindness of hers kind of makes you feel like a lot of things are purposefully left out of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    This is an simple system to follow. One I believe could be adhered to if you wish optimal health. We are so lucky to be able to buy these books written by these awesome people like Arnold Ehret that studied health in the early 20th century .These books are so relevant for today's health as they were when they were written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    This has awesome potential esp for a young person involved in educational pursuits. I first got involved with this Roth program over 60 years ago and it has literally changed my life. If this is pursued it is almost wonderful what it can do for you. I gave a memory demo a few weeks ago that really had jaws hanging begin - and I'm over 80. Heartily recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    I have found it to be interesting and use in conjunction with newer publications./ I Think it is a very amazing andmodern day copy of the publication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scientific Method: Proves that the Theory of Evolution Is False (Philosophy of Science Book 2) []  2020-8-19 18:52

    The book has some amazing ideas. The author's enthusiasm for his subject is evident. The book could benefit by reducing repetitive ideas to a more concise format and eliminating perjorative comments about those who have a various view. The book does provide links and quotes from other books on the topic that are worth investigating. The appendix is a amazing resource for further reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scientific Method: Proves that the Theory of Evolution Is False (Philosophy of Science Book 2) []  2020-8-19 18:52

    Where is the science?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Principles of Science : a treatise on logic and scientific method []  2020-9-25 18:41

    This comment only refers to the Kindle edition. "Look Inside" shows a lot of errors in the Kindle edition, as typical for an OCR (optical hero recognition) process. Some are tolerable, like translating an "I" into a "1", and the text remains understandable. But other errors are undecipherable and sense-destroying. So, be careful with this Kindle edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking with Statistics and the Scientific Method []  2020-9-29 18:0

    This book presents in clear language how statistics are used and misused. It covers a lot of of the issues encountered today where numbers are manipulated incorrectly to deceive us. This book won several awards for non-fiction science, and it deserves them. It's a short delightful read, and if has my strongest recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scientific Method: An Evolution of Thinking from Darwin to Dewey []  2020-10-9 18:27

    This is a brilliant book on the origin of the “scientific method.” I highly recommend it to science studies and philosophy of science scholars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    This is an upbeat, fun book, full of practical wisdom and amazing advice. In fact, I've given two copies to high school seniors, who I think will search Kari's optimistic view of life and opportunities to be a support as they confront the next scene of their lives. (As she puts it: going from "crash try girl" to "road-tested woman"). I should disclose that Kari was a high school classmate of one of our daughters; in fact, I first found out about the book a few months ago when Kari and other members of their group convened at our house for one of their yearly get-togethers. The fact that these school mates still re-unite 25 years later and still like each other says a lot about their characters. It's fun and gratifying as a parent to observe the different paths they have followed. Kari's is certainly one of the more unusual, and it's really delightful that she has been able to place some of her wit and charm into book form for the benefit of all of us. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    Wow is all I can say have not finished reading all the method thru but I have read is fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    Kari's telling of her journey was very inspiring. It was a delight to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    Down 35 lbs so far. Takes time to obtain used to, be sure to read the book a few times to grasp everything. There's also amazing Fb groups to join where others offer lots of help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    I found this book to be very interesting. It basically advocates a fruitarian diet. Sweet fruits mainly but some vegetables are really fruits botanically speaking so they can be included. Some common veggies that are really fruits would be peppers, cukes, tomatoes, squash, etc... It would be very healthy but would be lacking in some essential fats so you would need to add some healthy fats, perhaps on a salad.What I like about this book in particular is that the author had a medical condition that he healed using this system and he also experimented on himself so that you obtain a first hand narrative of his experiments. He practiced different forms of fasting also and gives amazing tip on fasting and also how to transition into a fruitarian diet.I have attempted to become fruitarian in the past but found it rather restrictive and it got boring after awhile. But if you have the willpower, this might be the diet (way of eating) for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    Eat to live, not live to eat."Arnold Eheret was ahead of his time, literally. We have been crippled as a human race and have forgotten that true meal with digestive enzymes can cure any disease. This has happened partially from corporate influences and the billion dollar medical industry. If the medical industry and corporations hold you sick, the profits are limitless. Meal for thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What is the Scientific Method? Science Book for Kids | Children's Science Books []  2020-3-30 19:4

    Easy and simple for all ages. My 16 year old said he with he would have had this book years ago. My 9 year old is less overwhelmed with the process now! Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    One of the greatest small memory books ever written. Most other books following this one have been not good copycats. I used this course throughout my Journalism BA degree years ago and was able to ACE every class because of the techniques I mastered from the course. Once you have, for example, mastered and internalized the 100 code words, each representing a number and once you have mastered the technique of associating the words with pictures in your mine, you will never, repeat, never forget such a easy item such as a telephone number. A lot of years ago I had to hold a phone number available in my mind at a moments message among all of the phone numbers I had. To this day I know what it is. It is represented by the words jello jet. The prefix for the town is 372. The consonants of these two words each represent a number so reading left to right I know that the the number is 372-6561. I can, to this day, memorize list of words within seconds and remember them at will. AMAZING!Thanks and I look forward to more orders from ils DAvis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking with Statistics and the Scientific Method []  2020-9-29 18:0

    This book clearly describes the use of statistical principles to evaluate misleading claims (ads, news, etc.) in today's heavy exposure to information. It is well-written and uses daily examples to explain the concepts. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    Byron is, as one would hope, a far more interesting person than the glimpses we got over the years in Mythbusters. She is complex, chaotic, and in her own way, glorious. As much about self-help and finding a method as it is a biography, the book is chaotic, honest, and doesn't pull its punches.If you loved MB, and its cast, you'll appreciate the book, the plethora of behind the scenes stories and moments, and Kari's remarkably gung-ho life.I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    Kari has crushed it with this, her first book. It is nothing less than inspiring. Kari talks about how she unwittingly used the scientific way to deal with life’s challenges.Kari is brutally honest about her trials and tribulations. Along the method she gives some amazing advice. I can’t recommend this book enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    Funny, entertaining read that comes across as Kari, but with amazing life lessons. People will search her very relatable to their own experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What is the Scientific Method? Science Book for Kids | Children's Science Books []  2020-3-30 19:4

    Okay types. This book is amazing for fun, however targeted readers are little children only. I was expecting more actually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    The seller Raw Meal Globe is terrific. I got my book right away and it was described as in perfect condition and it is. I had read about dairy causing mucus so this was not fresh to me, however, the info about uric acid, carbonic and gas, and any kinds of can be in your system for years was all fresh to me. I was hoping for a read and then following the diet and health regime but the book highly recommends you look for a doctor of naturopathy to take you safely through the steps for health that your individual body requires. I heard about this book on the internet in an article that a man read on his quest for health. I know it was written method back over 60yrs ago but my grandfather was an old country doctor that believed in natural medicine and the stories my mother told me about his remedies are in fact used today. He didn't believe in prescriptions and . He healed people the old fashion method through meal and he definately believed in fasting. I guess you could say he was before his time or rather I am just catching up to his method of thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    Love it! Trying this holistic eating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    If you ever wanted in-depth info about effective associative memory tricks and techniques then search them e Roth Memory Course takes some study and effort, but once you have learned it and practiced David Roth's methods, you will have a memory that can astound others and yourself.Example:Try to remember SEVEN things, either in sequence or out of sequence. It is beautiful difficult in "normal" lazy-mind mode.Take a few hours to learn and practice Roth Memory Course and you can recall TWENTY or MORE things and their exact numbered put with comparative at is awesome and worthwhile if you value your brain and associated mind as necessary tools to work with, enjoy, survive and possibly escape dementia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scientific Method: Proves that the Theory of Evolution Is False (Philosophy of Science Book 2) []  2020-8-19 18:52

    Scientific method? What a joke.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Principles of Science : a treatise on logic and scientific method []  2020-9-25 18:41

    They were poorly transcribed from the original. Words are missing or garbled, parts of words are missing, irrelevant punctuation is inserted and punctuation is missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking with Statistics and the Scientific Method []  2020-9-29 18:0

    Methods to learn and do the "see thru" work for yourself. Nothing is as it appears. THINK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scientific Method: An Evolution of Thinking from Darwin to Dewey []  2020-10-9 18:27

    Pay particular attention to "An Evolution of Thinking from Darwin to Dewey."If you think that "scientific method" refers to the practice of science by scientists, you are wrong. It refers to what philosophers and later psychologists describe as the process by which humans, including children, and animals decide what they believe is will not search an evidence-based set of conclusions about how scientists work beyond some descriptions of Darwin's practice, as he is a nodal point in the transition from natural philosophers to scientists. Nor will you search much worth teaching the aspiring scientist in an undergraduate STEM course allow alone a graduate research program. You will read about the philosophical and academic struggles that resulted in the work and legacy of Dewey and his colleagues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    Every chapter was captivating and had me wanting to read more. I feel like I really got to know what Kari was like before and during Mythbusters. My favorite part was learning the behind the scenes stories during her time on the show. I was sad when the book was over!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    This book is a god send, lots of valuable info here! I have fasted a lot of times and always obtain awesome benefits. Don't count on the institutions to tell us what we need to cure ourselves, because they simply will not. There is too much cash to be lost if things like grape diets were being recommended to people and people were actually ridding themselves of disease without expensive and expensive medical treatments. I have rid myself of severe scalp psoriasis that I've suffered from for 11 years by doing a 10 day grape diet, which included fasting. It was that simple. All the , corticosteroids, toxic shampoos, and doctors appointments didn't support me, but a easy grape diet and fasting did. So much cash and time was wasted, not to mention harming myself with toxic and shampoos, while the solution was so easy and so natural and so healthy, and doesn't cost anything! This book is simple to read and packed with info in so small pages. God bless all the people working hard to obtain this valuable info out there. This book claims that the diet can cure diseases much more severe than scalp psoriasis, and I have no reason to believe that it wouldn't, because the results I got were awesome and totally unexpected, and scalp psoriasis is not even mentioned in the book. I would highly recommend this book and this diet. I have not followed the diet completely, but fasting alone has dramatically improved my life and health. I'm sure following the diet completely would have even greater benefits!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    Awaken your life with this provocative testimony about easy living and ridding oneself of life-sapping mucus! Prof Ehret describes how to detox safely and lead a clean life that is more physically, mentally and spiritually alive. From air and sun bathing to diet and exercise, this book was written as a teaching tool with lessons on achieving and maintaining a mucusless life (some lessons of which Prof Ehret tells us to memorize!). I had only an inkling about mucus (from dairy) and had no idea so much mucus is in our western diet! Nor had I considered how unnatural it is to combine so a lot of foods into a single meal! I also didn't realize how risky fasting could be. A amazing read for anyone wanting to learn about fasting and living and eating as our bodies are designed (from Genesis: fruits and herbs). I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the info is subjective and dated, but still a amazing foundation for anyone wanting to live without mucus!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    My uncle taught me this technique when I was around 11 years old, and I had no idea what I was getting into (my dad always told me he worked for the Government, so I automatically thought CIA). 20 years later I still remembered the first few words without looking at uncle told me about this course a week ago, and now I am memorizing things left and right. And I’m only on the first chapter! Can’t wait to see how else I can improve my memory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    The original book has long past it's copyright so this book is just a copy of the original. It was published about a hundred years ago. I have 3 copies of the original that I got on the internet for free. This ver is paper and I prefer that. However, the editing is really very poor. In the first lesson (out of seven), it is missing some pictures. In the second lesson it is missing a joke. There are a lot of spelling mistakes. The mistakes distort the lesson and are not just trivial. These mistakes don't appear in the original. As far as the book itself is concerned, I think it is great. I read a few other books on developing your memory. "Ageless Memory" by Harry Lorayne uses the same principles as this book but I search Roth's explanations more complete and for me much clearer. That is not to say that I didn't learn some things from Lorayne. "How to Develop a Brilliant Memory" by Dominic O'Brien also uses some other techniques. Roth and O'Brien's techniques can complement each other. In theory, I think O'Brien's technique for pigeon-holing may be better but it depends on remembering a lot of people , their names , how they look and some characteristic of them as well different locations. To me, that is a problem. I search remembering words easier so Roth's techniques suit me better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    Hmmm... it seemed like a amazing book, but I can't search it to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Principles of Science : a treatise on logic and scientific method []  2020-9-25 18:41

    It was an illegible **photocopy**. It appeared as if someone took a picture of every page of an original "Principles of Science", then faxed those pictures to the printer in order to produce this book.I returned it immediately.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scientific Method: An Evolution of Thinking from Darwin to Dewey []  2020-10-9 18:27

    The first words in this book are: "The scientific way does not exist." Between this and "At its root, the scientific way was cognition." on p. 259, Cowles reminds us that in order to understand how science is done, we also had to understand how we think. He describes how the British, following Bacon and Newton, disdained "hypotheses" in favor of what they thought was easy inductive observation. Then he provocatively shows how Darwin used hypotheses, and turned the natural globe itself into a grand ongoing experiment. Then William James, C. S. Peirce and John Dewey made an embodied scientific way of continuous hypothesis-testing feedback loops that could be called "survival of the fittest thoughts" [my words, not Cowles'], but that we now call pragmatism. Now, the scientific way stands apart as a kind of dull step-by-step to-do-list, (especially when we teach it to kids) but in this clearly written book, Cowles present that it has much richer underpinnings.Full disclosure and shameless plug: I teach History of Psychology and have recently published a textbook on it with Routledge-B.D. Cox (2019). The history and evolution of psychology: A philosophical and biological perspective. [italics don't work here, apparently] I don't know Prof. Cowles personally, and I think this is the first thing I've read by him, but it is both accurate and thought-provoking. In particular, philosophical pragmatists don't always read or comment on the psychological works of the pragmatists, and its essential connections to Darwin, but I applaud him for doing so. His book would be amazing for a course on history of psychology or pragmatism or history and philosophy of science, especially at the graduate level, and I recommend the book highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solving Everyday Problems With The Scientific Method: Thinking Like A Scientist (Second Edition) []  2020-12-4 18:35

    Buena información

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    It's awesome how far ahead of his time, this professor Ehret was. He's discovered decades, almost a century ago what the most awoke scientists have just recently been discovering. This man to me is the Einstein of his world, regardless of the fact that he hasn't received such recognition, well deserved on his part. Read this book in find of a various truth from what you're being constantly fed in a capitalist economically motivated society and you, too, will come to acknowledge his genius and revere him for his accomplishments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mucusless Diet Healing System: Scientific Method of Eating Your Way to Health []  2020-5-27 18:40

    Professor Arnold Ehret's writings, including this necessary book, are for the "most serious" students of healing nutrition! Hold in mind, this was written a long time ago and the writing style bears testimony the the antiquity of the work. The content is necessary and somewhat special in its simplicity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roth Memory Course: A Simple and Scientific Method of Improving the Memory and Increasing Mental Power []  2020-8-7 18:22

    A amazing book. I liked it, but [email protected]#$%! was a small bit longer. I have been looking for books to teach intermediate and advanced memorization skills. Not just to memorize random numbers or trivial information, but to support me and others in my law firm to memorize arguments that can be created without notes. So this book was amazing for that. I also bought a few other books on Amazon about memorization skills and together they have been very helpful. So I can recommend this book strongly. I don't wish to give away the hints and techniques in the book, which might support people decide to purchase the book but it would also be unfair to the author. But I can say that this book, with others available on this site, one can truly improve their ability to recall and discuss things. Very important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solving Everyday Problems With The Scientific Method: Thinking Like A Scientist (Second Edition) []  2020-12-4 18:35

    Perfect book to understand how we can create an approach for each problem, I was very confortable reading this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking with Statistics and the Scientific Method []  2020-9-29 18:0

    Consultants borrow your watch to tell the time then charge you for it they say. That is the phrase/quote that I kept coming back to on this book, as the huge majority of the chapters were purely common e author went back and forth between a few really interesting, Freakanomics like examples and statistic exercises. The former being much more insightful and giving true globe examples that illustrated the points. The latter bogging down in excess and dulling the reading experience overall.If a singular path could have been chosen, and followed, I believe this book would have been better. More cohesive in its tone and direction, and what it wanted to be. As it was, there was a slog to read through and I don't feel that I learned that much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scientific Method: How Science Works, Fails to Work, and Pretends to Work []  2020-10-27 18:14

    This should be mandatory reading for all behavioral and social science students before they graduate. Polymath extraordinaire, Professor J.E.R. Staddon provides an all-encompassing critique of contemporary social science practices (in fewer than 160 pages!), with the sardonic wit and devastating clarity that is to be expected of him. Professor Staddon is easily one of the most necessary bio-behavioral scientists of the show era, and his insights are indispensable for scientists mired in present-day sophistic and post-modern a private example, I was being unknowingly shaped to be a 'cargo-cult' scientist before Staddon's insights saved me from what would have been otherwise a 'cargo-cult' doctorate. Far too a lot of students take the words of ignorant supervisors for granted, and can end up with MScs/PHds about subjects with small scientific merit. This text can save the emerging behavioral scientist from many, a lot of years of redundant research questions while avoiding the trap of tautological theorizing, typically dressed up in post-modern jargon to provide a semblance of intellect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    This is a amazing read with lots of life lessons plus some very interesting insights to MythBusters, the television program that Kari worked on for so a lot of years. After finishing her book, I realized she is an awesome woman in so a lot of respects. With no technical background (she's an artist), she educated herself in science and engineering to hold up with the others on that show, far exceeding what might have been expected of her. She is a amazing role model, especially for young women. In her book, she provides prodigious tip about coping with the trials of life and love and I believe every youngster, especially the young ladies, should keep it as a bonus from their parents, grandparents, or friends. Science teachers should also take note and recommend it to their students. I hope this is just the begin of Kari's literary career. She has some necessary things to say!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Test Girl: An Unlikely Experiment in Using the Scientific Method to Answer Life's Toughest Questions [Book]  2018-7-2 18:0

    I loved this book! Scientific way FTW. Kari articulates concepts well and uses vulnerability as a strength. A must read for girls, no matter what age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NARCISSISTIC MOTHERS: The Scientific Step-By-Step Recovery Method For Healing You And Your Parents From Narcissistic Abuse And Manipulation []  2020-11-30 18:20

    I really love this book. This book is written all about success.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NARCISSISTIC MOTHERS: The Scientific Step-By-Step Recovery Method For Healing You And Your Parents From Narcissistic Abuse And Manipulation []  2020-11-30 18:20

    This has a lot of amazing information. It's simple to read, understand, and follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NARCISSISTIC MOTHERS: The Scientific Step-By-Step Recovery Method For Healing You And Your Parents From Narcissistic Abuse And Manipulation []  2020-11-30 18:20

    This is a very amazing read and have enjoyed following along with this book.I found this book in all regards help. I would recommend this book to anybody.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Meal a Day: A Scientific Method for Quick and Healthy Weight Loss. Step-by-Step Guide for Increased Mental Clarity, More Energy, and Rapid Weight Loss []  2020-1-28 23:50

    Excellent for explaining how to begin Omad. She gives one all the tools you will need to begin and more importantly stay on omad. I really enjoyed reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biblical Geology: The Scientific Method of the Gap Theory: Proving in Fact to be the Biblical Narrative in the Face of its Experienced and Critical Opponents []  2020-4-1 19:6

    Amazing book so far, even though I didn't [email protected]#$%! yet. Amazing book on the real doctrine of Gap (Creation-Ruin-Reconstruction).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-1-13 19:12

    If you wish to use Elliott Waves in practical true trading there is nothing else, period. Prechter's book is a very distant second. I emphasize - FOR PRACTICAL TRADING. Otherwise Prechter's book is perfect and is a real classic.But prepare yourself to read Neely's book many, and I mean MANY times before you begin to feel that you GET IT. 9-10 times at least. And that is with paper and pen. But after you GET IT, you feel like you have wings when you look at the price charts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Meal a Day: A Scientific Method for Quick and Healthy Weight Loss. Step-by-Step Guide for Increased Mental Clarity, More Energy, and Rapid Weight Loss []  2020-9-13 18:17

    As a cancer survivor, reducing inflammation is necessary to me every day! I love the method Rose Heale interprets the relevant data and scientific evidence to develop approachable recipes and useful ideas. This book has definitely changed my perspective on feeding my family!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Meal a Day: A Scientific Method for Quick and Healthy Weight Loss. Step-by-Step Guide for Increased Mental Clarity, More Energy, and Rapid Weight Loss []  2020-9-6 18:15

    I give this book 3 stars because it's very hard to read. While its informative, I do not recommend for learning the value of OMAD. The method its presented here is enough to hold anyone away and that's a shame because for someone struggling with weightloss, OMAD is the respond and I was not impressed with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-9-24 19:35

    This book is for the academic,not for the trader who is looking for a practical workable solution to the Elliot Wave. I am getting the feeling the author wants to boast about his knowledge on elliot wave theory and more so wants to re- invent the concept.I am very, very disappointed in this expensive book. There are hundreds of much better sources out there to support you not only to understand elliot wave , but the app of this theory. the only reason i give this book one star is because there is no option for a zero rating. Create no mistake if you wish to become a reservoir of knowledge on elliot wave and have no interest in applying the theory in trading, then this book might be a amazing choice. Other than that, do not waste a dime on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-9-24 19:35

    This book is incredibly deep and as people said needs to be digested in smaller parts since it includes so much information. If you're an Elliot Wave user and looking for more advanced methods this is the book for you. Looking forward to implementing all of the rules from this book into my trading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-4 18:41

    This book is incredibly deep and as people said needs to be digested in smaller parts since it includes so much information. If you're an Elliot Wave user and looking for more advanced methods this is the book for you. Looking forward to implementing all of the rules from this book into my trading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-4 18:41

    If you wish to use Elliott Waves in practical true trading there is nothing else, period. Prechter's book is a very distant second. I emphasize - FOR PRACTICAL TRADING. Otherwise Prechter's book is perfect and is a real classic.But prepare yourself to read Neely's book many, and I mean MANY times before you begin to feel that you GET IT. 9-10 times at least. And that is with paper and pen. But after you GET IT, you feel like you have wings when you look at the price charts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-5 18:41

    This book is incredibly deep and as people said needs to be digested in smaller parts since it includes so much information. If you're an Elliot Wave user and looking for more advanced methods this is the book for you. Looking forward to implementing all of the rules from this book into my trading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-5 18:41

    This book is for the academic,not for the trader who is looking for a practical workable solution to the Elliot Wave. I am getting the feeling the author wants to boast about his knowledge on elliot wave theory and more so wants to re- invent the concept.I am very, very disappointed in this expensive book. There are hundreds of much better sources out there to support you not only to understand elliot wave , but the app of this theory. the only reason i give this book one star is because there is no option for a zero rating. Create no mistake if you wish to become a reservoir of knowledge on elliot wave and have no interest in applying the theory in trading, then this book might be a amazing choice. Other than that, do not waste a dime on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-10-25 18:39

    it IS, however, a major treatise on the Elliott Wave theory, probably the first and only one like this that has ever been written. It is a very amazing book on a topic that few financial people know - or even care - about, but would or should learn. No, it will not create you a imillion dollars; it WILL support you create better decisions about where a particular stock is going and how soon but it will also take a very long time to digest. This is a book that you read a few pages and then place the book down and spend the next few hours or days digesting what you've read, even going to the charts looking for examples of what you've just read. Robert Prechter wrote a few amazing books on this topic and this book by Neely is an perfect supplement. I think it's fair to say that books dealing with theories associated with the financial globe are very dry and very boring to people who just aren't into the finacial world, and sometimes even more boring to those of us who ARE hooked on the globe of finances, securities, and the stock shop but be that as it may, if you are deeply into the markets, this is a amazing one to have on your shelf along side of Robert Prechter's book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-10-25 18:39

    If you wish to use Elliott Waves in practical true trading there is nothing else, period. Prechter's book is a very distant second. I emphasize - FOR PRACTICAL TRADING. Otherwise Prechter's book is perfect and is a real classic.But prepare yourself to read Neely's book many, and I mean MANY times before you begin to feel that you GET IT. 9-10 times at least. And that is with paper and pen. But after you GET IT, you feel like you have wings when you look at the price charts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-11-5 18:35

    This book is incredibly deep and as people said needs to be digested in smaller parts since it includes so much information. If you're an Elliot Wave user and looking for more advanced methods this is the book for you. Looking forward to implementing all of the rules from this book into my trading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-11-5 18:35

    A superb treatise of practical app of Elliott wave behavior, but one has to do a lot of traveling back and forth for certain rule applications. For example, there is quite a lot of info about various kinds of patterns, but it is scattered across a lot of so if Neely had included true life examples of actual markets it would have been even e chapter on the first set of rules could have been created a small more user l in all, an essential book for every aspiring shop technician and theorist alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-11-15 18:40

    I closed my long trades two weeks ago at a high six-figure profit in both our retirement accounts (tax-free for now) and our family's individual investment ough I retired from trading in 2014 and was no longer a subscriber to NEoWave forecasting service, a more advanced form of Mastering Elliott Wave, Mr. Neely was considerate enough to warn his current and past clients in March that the markets may be entering the most treacherous investment environment we've seen in the past 30 years and that I better protect my retirement assets accordingly.I poured all my money into the markets at the end of March. Using NEoWave (MEW) in April, he confirmed that a fresh strong rally in the S&P had started AND it'll break the then-all time high of February. I poured the rest of available money to different mutual funds. Latest August, the S&P did lurch to fresh all-time highs, as NEoWave forecast.While I internalized the teachings of Mastering Elliott Wave, I must say it's dated, though still highly relevant/required in my trading. If I were a beginner, I would actually buy the e-book, absorb as much as I can, and then, take NEoWave's Advanced Elliott Wave course. That would be a billion times quicker to learn how to forecast (I don't say, "learn to trade," here, because forecasting and trading are two various things). I profit from MEW because I'm an experienced trader.I owe much of my wealth to my first purchase of MEW back in 1991 . There is no better general shop forecasting method. It's brilliant. I think it's more brilliant now than even before I retired, because I don't second guess it as I did in the past. Glenn Neely still rocks!This is the time to learn NEoWave (MEW) because the markets are currently in the most predictable 5-year period of the past 40 years. Glenn Neely hasn't mentioned this yet: What follows in 5 years is also going to be the most predictable stock shop bull shop of our lives---greater than any bull shop we've witnessed or studied can only forecast (with precision) the stock markets for the rest of your life with the e-book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-11-15 18:40

    If you wish to use Elliott Waves in practical true trading there is nothing else, period. Prechter's book is a very distant second. I emphasize - FOR PRACTICAL TRADING. Otherwise Prechter's book is perfect and is a real classic.But prepare yourself to read Neely's book many, and I mean MANY times before you begin to feel that you GET IT. 9-10 times at least. And that is with paper and pen. But after you GET IT, you feel like you have wings when you look at the price charts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-12 18:46

    I would say this book is a amazing Elliott wave teacher. However, obtain ready for long concentration hours. It is a deep topic. I am mostly through the book and have reread most of the chapters more than once.I am glad I got it, as I didn't know enough about Elliott wave theory. I am starting to think I could use the concept ely does a amazing job describing the basics required to understand Elliott Wave Theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-12 18:46

    If you buy this. Be aware that this is not your typical trading book. This book offers an wonderful amount of quality information. If you wish to learn the primary of Elliott wave theory, I would not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-12-12 18:46

    It is the pinacle point of Elliott Wave Theory. The best book where you can learn all the aspects of Elliott Wave Theory. It is worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spectrum Grade 4 Science Workbook—4th Grade State Standards, Introduction to the Scientific Method, Research Activities With Answer Key for Homeschool or Classroom (144 pgs) []  2021-4-3 19:26

    It’s March of 2020 and my children have online only school for COVID-19. I’m so grateful that school is making this effort and continuing, but I also wish to create sure my children continue reading things that I can also see. As a former elementary school teacher, and now a consultant to schools, I wanted to share through reviews what I’m doing as a parent and why in case it’s helpful to others!Books and series are fun, but my kids’ prefer fiction. I bought this for my 4th grade son to practice nonfiction reading and learn 4th grade science concepts this spring.I like that the passages are interesting, even to me. I also like that the questions at the end require my son to read carefully (twice at least) and also think through his own take on things and respond written questions. I think the color pictures support in a workbook. He’s doing two of these a day for spring, and I feel amazing about it.Spectrum books are hard for the grade level. If you have a struggling reader, buy a grade or even two grades down and it will still be a challenge. On grade level may be too frustrating. Buy the actual grade level for children who are on or above grade level, and it will challenge rent hack: Tear out the respond key and hold it to create grading simple for you! Responding to your child’s work every day shows that you respect their effort and recognize their effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spectrum Grade 4 Science Workbook—4th Grade State Standards, Introduction to the Scientific Method, Research Activities With Answer Key for Homeschool or Classroom (144 pgs) []  2021-4-3 19:26

    Been having really amazing luck keeping the children interest with these. I've been working with these for months to teach my grandkids (8 & 10), but my daughter has always been the one to order. I wanted to have them before I finished the other books and ordered myself this time. The products were what I ordered, but they arrived stuck together with a slimy, sticky substance. I don't wish to even guess what it was, and although a clorox wipe removed it, just yuck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spectrum Grade 4 Science Workbook—4th Grade State Standards, Introduction to the Scientific Method, Research Activities With Answer Key for Homeschool or Classroom (144 pgs) []  2021-4-3 19:26

    I ordered this book for my 10 year old when we first went into “quarantine” due to Covid-19. I wanted something that was going to be informational and maybe even slightly challenging for him. This is perfect! I ended up getting the same book in a various grade level for my daughter. I would buy it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mastering Elliott Wave: Presenting: Presenting the Neely Method - The First Scientific Objective Approach to Market Forecasting with the Elliott Wave Theory []  2020-1-13 19:12

    I would say this book is a amazing Elliott wave teacher. However, obtain ready for long concentration hours. It is a deep topic. I am mostly through the book and have reread most of the chapters more than once.I am glad I got it, as I didn't know enough about Elliott wave theory. I am starting to think I could use the concept ely does a amazing job describing the basics required to understand Elliott Wave Theory.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386