Read searching for lambs reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all searching for lambs reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lambs. [App]  2019-3-19 13:24

    My church Home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Kind of a cool story. Particularly enjoyed the Afterword, “Josh and Fred Waitzkin talk about Searching for Bobby Fischer and beyond”. It gives depth and outcomes to a story about true e overriding premise of the book is that chess, for all that’s claimed for it, is still a game--not life itself. The trick is fitting chess into your life without letting it take you over. The book is full of illustrations of people who couldn’t quite avoid turning the android game into an obsession. The protagonist of the book, Josh Waitzkin, avoided this sh doesn’t quite come off as the cute and innocent child portrayed in the movie. He is ambitious. He wants to win. In other words, he’s a normal person, not a saint. Well, not quite a normal person if normal means being mediocre. The kid’s a prodigy, but a prodigy with the ambition of doing items normal children do. The art of parenting presented in the book is how to enable the child to do normal prodigy items and normal child stuff. A balancing act. Don’t think they quite pulled it off, but then who does? They came beautiful close.A really amazing chapter on the true Bobby Fisher, BTW.Overall, reading the book is time well spent for anyone interested in the film or interested in Bobby Fischer or interested in chess or interested in ice used: Kindle Paper White. No problems with display or navigation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    If you've seen the movie, the book is even better. More detailed in it's descriptions, plus you obtain to take a trip to Russia with Josh and his father. This book humanizes chess in a method I've never seen before.I play chess, so perhaps I found the book more meaningful. But even if you don't play, this book will create you wish to give it a shot.

    0  


    Add your opinion on searching for lambs or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biophysics: Searching for Principles []  2020-3-29 19:12

    If you are not versed in Physics you will not obtain through this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    Loved this book. The writer creates a bright, lively preteen with determination and wit. Charlie is also a talented violinist and a amazing friend. The characters speak to a human need for connection and understanding loss, for compassion and bravery. The story is moving and exciting as well as full of interesting characters who are relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Interesting reading for parents of smart kids. Might prevent you from pushing your child too hard. Create sure you read the afterward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    Charlie, a 7th grader during the 2010-2011 school year has a school project involving ancestry. Her assignment is to learn about her family history. Charlie's amazing aunt, for whom she is named was a Holocaust survivor. The atrocities and traumas of the Holocaust have been too painful for a lot of people to talk about, but Charlie is determined. She was told her amazing aunt died during the Holocaust, but she doesn't quite that. Charlie who not only shares a name but a bonus for the violin with her amazing aunt feels a bond with this relative she never even e two Charlottes stories merge in a fashion as the story is told from the perspective of the amazing aunt and the amazing niece who is searching for her. The time frames are vastly different, yes, but that is an effective method of underscoring the happenings of the times each Charlotte has lived e book is brilliantly written and one that I highly recommend. It is also an perfect book discussion choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    Searching for is one packs a punch for such a short fast it is an simple read in terms of most of the language in the book however not an simple read in terms of hit both my daughter and myself in a amazing ry touching and you can't support but feel for the characters in this ch charm and fabric that is woven between the family members and their history.Honestly can begin up the door to some conversations about historical happenings that as time goes on I fear more and more people lose sight of.I think it is written with such beauty and insight that it is not one you will forget anytime soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biophysics: Searching for Principles []  2020-3-29 19:12

    The aim of the author, Dr. William Bialek of Princeton University, is that of searching for the principles of a theoretical physics of biological systems (in short, theoretical biophysics). Accordingly, this can be done by employing (mainly) the concepts of statistical mechanics together with a amazing knowledge of biology, its complex structures, and relevant experiments. The find takes the form of a tour whereby in a lot of locations the author speaks directly to the reader (for example, page 265: "To appreciate this approach you need to know...."). After an introductory chapter (Ch.1), the tour takes off at Chapter 2 with the biophysics of photon counting processes of human vision. Early physiology experiments carried out in the 1940s are discussed in amazing detail as well as the 3D structure of the eyes (including those of insects) and rod and cone cells down to the molecular-level workings of the protein rhodopsin and its cofactor (retinal).Next, after a short interlude-summary (Ch. 3), three candidate principles of theoretical biophysics are laid down: the importance of noise in the functioning of biological devices such as the cells of the retina (Ch. 4), the fact that fine tuning of parameters is not necessary for biological systems (Ch. 5), and the fundamental role of info transfer (Ch. 6). Of the three principles, I must admit that the most challenging and difficult to understand for me is the second, no fine tuning. In principle, biological systems know nothing about parameters, only we know about them when building a mathematical model of a biological phenomena. Hence, it could be that the fine-tuning principle arises from the models themselves but, perhaps, there might be a deeper principle connected to the physical constraints imposed by the biological superstructures (think about the eye) that characterize living organisms. Both scientists as well as the young minds of brilliant students will have to think very deeply about the three principles and contribute their own idea to the field. These candidate principles, therefore, represent a amazing stimuli for further apter 7 (Outlook) is followed by an Appendix where further subjects (Poisson processes, diffraction and biological structures, maximum entropy, etc.) are discussed in detail. The book is interspersed with 200 problems, a lot of of which require the writing of little computer codes (Matlab is suggested by the author although any high-level language will do), distributed as follows:Ch. 1: 0 problemsCh. 2: 39Ch. 3: 0Ch. 4: 47Ch. 5: 36Ch. 6: 47Ch. 7: 0App. : 31It is obvious that an in-depth, serious study of this 600+ pages tome and solution of its 200 issues will require a lot of effort and time but it is worth spending such time both to the would be theoretical biophysicist and to professional scientists (biophysicists or not) with an inclination toward quantitative biology. From this original book one can truly appreciate the approach adopted by a professional physicist toward solving complex biological problems. The book ends with an annotated bibliography where necessary references about theory and experiments are listed. A complementary book with a traditional exposition of Biophysics is that of Dr. Roland Glaser (now in its 2-nd edition).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biophysics: Searching for Principles []  2020-3-29 19:12

    The content of this book merits six stars. The author wrote for students of physics and did not hide the mathematics or the physics, which is the usual lamentable practice in books on biophysics.But Princeton University Press turned a fine manuscript into a nearly useless hardcover. PUP used outer margins that are more than two inches wide and inner margins that are scarcely wider than half an inch. The text therefore is crammed into the gutter. Readers must follow each line of text as it curves and dives into the spine of the create matters worse, the book weighs 4.4 pounds. This heft may be fine for sumo wrestlers, but it makes reading the book ople should avoid the hardcover edition and instead an e-book edition from The Kindle edition is even worse than the PUP hardcover: the equations are photo files which don't scale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    Who hasn't done a family genealogy project in school? And who hasn't hoped that it would reveal a strong story, one that opens up whole worlds? That's what happens in Searching for Lottie. Read this beautifully told tale, and then pursue your own adventure....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biophysics: Searching for Principles []  2020-3-29 19:12

    This book lives up to both the reviews of others and the stated aims of the author. The goal is to arrive at and use concepts, not merely to describe biological systems. One must have a physical science background to really appreciate the content of this book. It's not a book for biologists, unless they wish to really work at learning how a physical scientist or specialist in biophysics might approach the subject. The book assumes a familiarity witch concepts from locations such as statistical mechanics, thermodynamics, relevant math and info theory. One does not have to be an expert in this background material to profit from this text. However, general familiarity with background subjects is useful. The book has appendices, which support a bit for those with less than a deep knowledge of background topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Better than the movieEspecially if you are interested in chess history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    I would recommend this title for anyone who truly enjoys the android game of chess, a short history of american and russian chess told from a fathers point of view. Very amazing reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    Searching For Lottie is an intimate write. Charlie, an energetic, creative middle schooler goes on a quest via an ancestry school project. She lands on her amazing aunt's story. No one talks much about Lottie because the trauma of the Holocaust renders survivors mostly silent; they press with optimism toward the future like her Nana Rose. Charlie needs to know. She is fearless in her own way. I was riveted and I teared up more than once. This is a tough topic told compellingly through a kid generations removed. Perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    Charlie (short for Charlotte) was named after her great-aunt, who went by the nickname Lottie. Lottie went missing when studying in Hungary, away from her family, and was believed to have perished during the Holocaust. For a school project, Charlie decides to do a report on Lottie, but she knows very small about her. They have a few things in common, including curly hair, playing violin, and their specific taste in music. But can Charlie solve the necessary question of what happened to her? This sets the scene for a mystery that Charlie is determined to solve.I really enjoyed reading this book, and that's saying a lot coming from me. It seems like in a lot of fiction nowadays the tone is negative and discouraging; the main characters can be hard to connect with. It has ruined a lot of modern books for me, so I prefer vintage fiction. So I genuinely appreciated the fact that this book has a various arlie is likable, and treats her elders with respect. She likes her melody teacher. She even hopes to have a better relationship with her older brother. I especially liked how she treats seniors, including a man with Alzheimer's. Not with fear, but with t everything that happens in the book is positive, and she's not always excellent (like texting during class or not always being completely honest). But, for the most part, Charlie is a hero you can like and root for.A little portion of the book is told from Lottie's perspective, and I didn't think that was really important for the book. It left me wanting to read the entire book from Lottie's perspective, and also gave away more than Charlie could probably ever know.Anyway, I genuinely enjoyed the book, and seeing a book where adults are appreciated and treated with respect, and family is honored and loved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Bought along with book to give to my 12-year old, chess playing grandson

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Amazing read. I saw the film first, so I was familiar with the story. The difference between book and film in some parts was a bit of a stretch, but I enjoyed both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    I highly recommend this historical fiction which is a compelling, riveting, terrific read. I could not place it down until I had read it completely (and had a few tears).The preteen reader will be won over by the main character, Charlie. Susan Ross clearly understands the globe of young people and skillfully creates, in the main protagonist, a delightfully relatable girl who is smart, musically talented, enthusiastic, and irrepressible. The story of Charlie’s everyday life is filled with excitement, surprises, worries, close friendships, the experience of a young crush, very realistic family and intergenerational interactions, and the determined pursuit of a mystery that will draw the young reader in. The author skillfully and subtly introduces the young reader to the globe of classical music, the shared passion of Charlie and of her great-aunt whose story she seeks to uncover, with specific musical references that provide terrific learning opportunities. Into this contemporary story is interwoven info of life in WWll Europe and of the difficult history of the Holocaust, as Charlie seeks answers to her family history as part of a 7th grade history project. History is explored in an intimate and accessible way. Adult readers will also search this to be a riveting read and will wish to engage in discussions with the young readers in their lives about the material elicited by this is is an necessary read. The story of the Holocaust taught in the classroom may be experienced as history that seems unreal to young learners. It may seem that history from so a lot of years ago does not continue to have impact today. Charlie’s determined and empassioned find in 2010 for the story of her relatives living in Europe in the 1940’s helps young readers understand that this history, and all history, involves true people and continues to have impact still her unbelievable storytelling, based on her own family history, Susan Ross invites all of us, young and old, to learn more about and to keep onto our family histories…. to share them, preserve them, and hold the memories alive. The stories and the connections provided enrich all of our lives. .This book is a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    I had read Ms. Ross’ first novel, Kiki and Jacques, and loved it very much. I even had all my 6th Grade students read it. So, I was wondering if the author was going to have another hit novel that roused my interest. I was not disappointed! From the very first page I was hooked on the rich characters, the imaginative setting and the engrossing story line similar to the Holocaust. All the while through, it reads like a first-rate mystery. As a Middle School Language Arts teacher, I’m looking for certain elements beyond just a terrific story. I’m picky about what books I create available to my students. I highly recommend this unique one. It is an exquisite YA novel that is a champion in every respect! When we are losing more and more first-hand sources that remind us of, and give testimony to, the horrors of the Holocaust, a book like Searching for Lottie comes along and reminds us to stay the course, continue the find and remember, remember, remember… There are still meaningful stories to tell, and this is a darned amazing one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    I am grateful to have read an ARC copy of this story after winning a Twitter by the arlie, a 7th grade violinist, has a school project - to research someone in her family. She decides to to look for info about her namesake, her grandmother's sister who, everyone believes, perished years ago during Globe Battle Two at the hands of the Nazis. Not only do Charlie and her amazing aunt Lottie share a name (Charlotte), but they also shared a love of classical melody and the violin. Charlie is determined to search out as much as she can about her amazing aunt, but the more she learns, the more confusing the trails becomes. Told mostly in show time (2010) with a few flashbacks to Lottie's time, this middle grade mystery is a page turner that will have readers longing to know Lottie's real is will definitely be a amazing add to my middle grade classroom library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Lottie []  2020-1-30 21:46

    This historical fiction story combines mystery, talent and research while assisting Charlie, a middle school age student, to search out more about her long lost Aunt Lottie who disappeared during the Holocaust.. The research takes Charlie to visit her grandmother in Florida who helps her to piece together Lottie’s fate. The challenges in this book should relate to middle school readers: first crushes, school research assignments, mates moving away and violin practices. This book is loosely based on the author’s family history. The author adds extra pages to explain the actual research that was done for this book. Must Read Literature: K thru YA awards this book its highest rating, Excellent/Book of Note, recommending it for middle school libraries. Barb Kamen, Reviewer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Shipped from South Korea - took awhile - plays fine - has English option

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Very well written and tremendously enlightening about the strange worls of chess

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Bobby Fischer []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Loved the film and loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    I like finding what I am looking for. understand what to find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    First of all, I have meditated for 27 years, and so this comes on the heels of a lifetime of intensive study of all research, theory, and 1000's of hours of m Harris presents some research, but avoids the vast realm of research and meditation masters out there. If you think this is meditation, reduce your opinion by about 99% and you will be s, we could all become super mindful individuals (of every thing we consume, buy, hate, like, want, don't want, etc.... see how it is being misused yet?), but in a globe with collapsing institutions and collapsing ecosystems, we need more than spiritual swill to with the madness of the modern human is book is extremely basic, can be summed up in about 10% of its volume, and I recommend you stop, read, be mindful of its information, AND KEEP GOING. THE EARTH NEEDS YOU... NOW.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    The author’s discussions of the science of consciousness provide some interesting examples that challenge our idea of the self. Like the research, this section of the book pokes holes in common misconceptions, but stops short of explaining consciousness. The focus of book is obtain readers to consider the pursuit of self transcendence as an alternative to dogmatic religion. However, the authors description of the strategies of achieving this enlightened state, his own spiritual path and state itself, leaves much to the imagination. It felt more like reading someone describing a dream. It was clear the journey and experience were meaningful to the author, but the recounting failed to stir the same emotional resonance in this reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    I normally am not a person having much interest in things of a spiritual nature, but I decided to read this book on the recommendation of a friend. Actually, as I learned, spirituality does not have to have anything to do with religion. You can have a “spiritual experience” without any religious overtones. In fact, the word spirit comes from a Latin word which is a translation of a Greek word that means “breath.” It was around the thirteenth century that the term became entangled with beliefs about immaterial souls, the supernatural, and ghosts. We note that Christians, Muslims, Hindus and others can experience something spiritual in regards to their religions. The author indicates that because their beliefs are incompatible with one another, the spiritual component must emanate from a deeper cording to the author, this book is “an introduction to the brain, a manual of contemplative instruction, and a philosophical unraveling of what most people consider to be the center of their inner lives: the feeling of self we call “I.” There is a deeper principle at work – that the feeling of “I” or “self” is an illusion. The author uses his private experience to support readers see the nature of their own minds in a fresh light. We are shown that a rational approach to spirituality seems to be what’s missing from secularism and the lives of most people. The author has spent considerable time seeking experiences of the kind that gave rise to the world’s religions. For example, he notes that he spent two years on a silent retreat in increments of one week to two months practicing various types of meditation for up to eighteen hours per day. That’s determination!We are introduced to a concept called mindfulness. Facilitating this state may involve a technique called vipassana (meaning insight), or consolation of the Satipatthana Sutta (an empirical tutorial to freeing the mind from suffering). No worry, we are provided with some instructions from the author on how to meditate properly. In life, we grasp at transitory pleasures, we worry about the future – life is stressful. The “spiritual life” promoted by the author is a solution to bringing this stress to an end. He starts by investigating the nature of consciousness and shows us that by transforming its contents through deliberate training we can achieve the basis of spiritual life.We our next introduced to a more detailed discussion of “self.” He tries to convince us that this sense of self is just an illusion and that spirituality consists of realizing this moment to moment. He supports this notion by showing that nothing a Christian, Muslim, or Hindu can experience constitutes evidence in help of their belief whether it be ecstasy, bliss, inner-light, or whatever. It is because their beliefs are logically incompatible with one another. In the book, we see that the illusion of the self can be investigated and dispelled. Harris shows how he reached his conclusion through much meditative practice with different “gurus,” and Dzogchen masters. More help for his views comes from a discussion of near-death experiences and drug e author concludes: “Until we can talk about spirituality in rational terms – acknowledging the validity of self-transcendence – our globe will remain shattered by dogmatism. This book has been my attempt to start such a conversation.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    His judgment of others tainted my ability to truly see his ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    I really have fun all of the Lory hidden obect games. I appreciate your releasing fresh android games so frequently and install them as soon as they are available. I have my husband and son playing your android games now. The graphics are colourful and well done. Thanks again for the frequent fresh games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    This is a amazing game, I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    amazing graphics, please more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    Harris does create some interesting insights, especially regarding multiple consciousnesses in a single brain. But ultimately his notice comes down to: We don't know what consciousness is, enlightment may or may not exist, but you should check out would support a lot if Harris would provide even a working definition of consciousness until a scientific one can be determined. At different points he seems to suggest it is:- A function of the brain that is separate from thoughts and feelings (the definition that Buddha gave) which may arise from brain activity- A meta-consciousness of one's thoughts and feelings, such as "I am aware of feeling sad now")- An illusion that can be understood by certain perceptions of the world, related to an optical also doesn't support that Harris can't resist taking a few turns into bashing religion and woo-woo thinking along the way. I understand the temptation but it doesn't support the reader to fully understand Harris's core points.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    I have read 20 pages so far. Founding nothing important. The author tries to create one point by giving like 1000 statements. Very boring book so far. The author frequently interchanges secularism and sprituality. Writes 10 pages to drive one some parts it looks like Psycology PhD thesis where some complex scientific terms are used which I had to google.I think Sam Harris wants to present off that he is very amazing in English vocabulary by using complex works to communicate which is really simple.I bought this book upon recommendation. I am returing it. Waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    i can't go as quick as the youger people but the android game is

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    it is fun and very addicting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    What a amazing book. I was born and grew up in Theravada Buddhist family. Even as a teenager I saw the value in the 4 Noble truths. But I couldn't quite come to grips with the idea of Reincarnation & the Law of Karma. That sounded like a " Celestial Accounting System that worked on Auto Pilot". To me that seems as nonsensical as the "Old Man in the Sky" offered by Abrahamic pecially when as a young Buddhist one of the first things I remember learning is Buddha's admonishment to "Never believe in Dogma. But to sift all teachings(including his) through your own experiential filter. Then if it it still seems valid to test it on". When you just take that teaching into heart and test on the concepts Karma & Reincarnation; it makes the 8 fold noble path a moot point.But Sam Harris brings a fresh perspective. Damn You Sam Harris! your arguments takes away my excuses for staying away from the meditation is a beautiful dense topic matter. With a chapter on Consciousness and another one on Self. While some of it was fresh and interesting, other ideas might take 2nd or 3rd reading to obtain through my thick skull.I think every Buddhist should read and consider what is laid out here. I highly recommend to anyone who has a intellectual curiosity about spirituality. Yet from my experience I know that only few of the most ardently spiritual would dare to tackle it. Between Sam Harris and Stephen Batchelor's writing they extend the Buddhas admonishment for experiential learning by applying 21st century rationality to the inquiry. These two writers and their writing gives a amazing intellectual foundation to wade into spirituality with healthy dose of 21st century agnosticism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    Being written by a scientist I was afraid the text would be very dry with lots of unnecessarily difficult wording. So I read the first page before I bought it. The first page was very engaging with a down to earth writing style. That page however, was not representative of the rest of the book. The writing as I feared was very dry. Also this man is an atheist who is just starting to realize there is something more out there. I applaud his awakening. If you are like me and created that revelation a long time ago, the book really holds no further insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    not interesting enough

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for a Shipwreck – Find Hidden Artifacts [App]  2019-4-7 13:19

    Perfect game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    Here's one of the a lot of examples that Sam Harris uses throughout this book regarding consciousness: Suppose you're going to Mars via a teleport machine. A lot of of your mates have already done this safely and are already on Mars. But what the creator of this teleport machine doesn't tell you is your whole being down to every latest atom is copied and reconstructed on Mars. The "copy" has all your memories, your appearance, etc, and is essentially you. Then your body on Earth is vaporized painlessly in a split second. To ensure safety, the reconstruction must be finished before vaporization. This poses a few interesting points about consciousness. Because reconstruction must be finished first, does that mean there are two conscious people that are considered you? If you can be reconstructed by a machine, what does this say about consciousness? Is conscious defined by physical continuity or physiological continuity, as with the teleport machine? If you knew how this teleport machine actually worked, would you still do it?All these questions and more are posed to the reader, than Sam Harris explains his views on it via science and logic. I found his arguments sound and in my opinion hard to argue against. Sam Harris is a neurosurgeon and a non-religious spiritual teacher, so he has plenty of experiences to respond these deep questions.I cannot recommend this book enough. I also suggest listening to his podcast "Waking Up".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waking Up: Searching for Spirituality Without Religion []  2020-4-28 18:11

    This review could be summed up in a single sentence "Read Robert Wright, 'Why Buddhism is True: The Science and Philosophy of Meditation and Enlightenment' instead."I came to Waking Up a small bit sceptically, having been place off by Sam Harris a lot of times before. But I'd heard amazing things about Waking Up, and was really interested in hearing what he had to say in terms of a positive vision. I was even willing to give him a pass on the obligatory nasty, self-congratulatory religion bashing I've come to expect from him (to be clear, I'm also an atheist, and I share much of Harris' general globe view). So, I was determined not to allow the first chapter of anti-Muslim and anti-Christian boilerplate grumbling affect my review. I was also determined not to allow the crass cultural oversimplification "Easterns can't do science but are amazing at psychology; Westerns can't do psychology but did all the true science" affect my rating. And if you like that sort of thing, it's there. was the meat of the book that held my interest. And Harris is a amazing writer, and sailed along just fine for a while. I liked the chapters on meditation. They were a bit long on anecdote, but fun and informative. If two or three of those chapters were taken on their own, I'd have given the book a 5 star review. But then, at the point where he laid all the groundwork on mindfulness, and no-self, and the emotional benefits of meditation, he just kind of , I obtain that meditation can support you feel happier, or blissful, or 'one' with the universe. I obtain that there is no real 'self', and we can experience that enlightenment first hand. But Harris never gets into the practical or philosophical consequences of these experiences, or enlarges on the "what next". It was frustrating, because he led up to this feeling that our spiritual practice of mindfulness and concentration, and even no self should have some bigger implications, than a small bit of self-indulgent woo. Especially after he describes Buddhism as a practical user's manual for the stead he digresses into a few chapters on mind altering drugs (fun, vaguely interesting stuff) and the difficulty of weeding out predators and kooks from true gurus. Then he bashes Christians and Muslims a bit more, and that's I'm mostly through Wright's "Why Buddhism is True", and it's already covered all the ground Harris covers, in much greater depth, and to much better effect. Not only does Wright focus on the experiential aspects of meditation, but he spends a lot of time exploring the deeper and broader implications of Buddhist practice and belief. And along the way, Wright explores a few classic sutras of the Buddha, and shows how they might be interpreted as a systematic and rigorous program of is is what I wanted from Harris. Something that explains the issues and contradictions of our Western understanding of the mind and spirituality; that discusses beliefs and practices which can illuminate these problems; and that explores the problems in a method that promises private growth and intellectual progress. Harris got about half method there, and meanwhile got bogged down in his own narrow conceits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Perfect bonnet for hardwood floors. I mopped using Murphy's oil soap. Waited for the floor to dry and then used this bonnet to buff. You can clearly see the difference it created in the end for washing it, some reviewers gave it a poor rating in what I can only assume is because they didn’t properly [email protected]#$%!. Throw it into your washer, select the delicate/hand wash cycle (cold water only) and remove once done. Put it back on the drive disk pad and let it to *air dry only*! Using this way you will retain its quality and shape after multiple uses and washings. I’ve included images of mine that has been heavily used and ditionally, I have not experienced the bonnet r a $10 investment, my floors couldn’t look better. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Amazing quality and nice shine. Whatever you do, please do not place these in the dryer. They will shrink and become unusable. If you need to wash them, do so with cold water, and on a gentle cycle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Bought this to buff hardwood floors. Much better alternative to hand cleaning. Amazing quality.Update: I finally got to use it on my hardwood floors. I think this lamb bonnet does a amazing job if you have dirty / neglected floors. We hold our floors clean and I did not see any difference after using the bonnet on the Oreck 550 buffer. If your hardwood floors are looking amazing dont expect any change in appearance. But I am satisfied with this bonnet and Oreck since this makes floor maintenance easier and Oreck takes bonnets, pads and brushes.Will be back after I try the carpet bonnet or a pad/brush.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Need to stock up if you wish to wax floors often. Washing wax doesn’t really return to fresh as you can imagine. Not products fault. Just the nature of wax and water. So obtain a few to create sure buffing doesn’t streak.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Used to buff carnuba/beeswax/orange oil into my tung oil finished cherry floor. True depth of finish to the wood now. Applied in a bedroom so will have to wait and see how it holds up in the traffic locations there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lambs Wool 4 oz. []  2019-12-18 19:4

    Liked how it is and how much there was in the pack had to wrap it around my toes because I had a corn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lambs Wool 4 oz. []  2019-12-18 19:4

    Really nice product when you need it. Priced right and with a quantity that will latest you for awhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Works great, but i must admit, after a few washes, it starts to leave fibers on your floor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    Boy ....I cleaned my hardwood floors in the early evening and I thought that this bonnet wasn't doing anything after having cleaned my kitchen and dining room with a 3m white pad followed by the Oreck carpet pad using ZEP Hardwood and Laminate Floor cleaner with each. I decided that I would discontinue using this buffer past the dining room thinking that I was doing additional work for nothing. When I woke up in the morning and looked at my floors with the light of day coming through my French door I could not believe the difference in the sheen on the buffed floor as compared to where I decided to stop using it. It was a clearly visible difference with the buffed portion of the floor shining beautifully and looking better than it did when new. The rest looked much, much duller ...I ordered a second one immediately !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    I used this pad to apply stain to fresh wood floors. Compared to ragged on stain it is more consistent but the color is a small less rich. Because I had a lot of floor to do, I chose to use the bonnet on the second coat of stain. You pour a little amount of stain directly onto the center of the bonnet and begin buffing with slow, deliberate circular motions. The only key to applying stain this method is making transitions well. Because the buffer speed is higher than hand-ragging, the edges are quite pronounced. I usually smooth my edges when the bonnet is running out of stain or hand-rag the transitions. Overall it saved a lot of time compared to hand-ragging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    This bonnet works great! It took me far too long to this. Our hard wood floors are dull and this was recommended to bring back a shine. I am very happy with this. My Oreck Orbiter and the attachments I use for our hard floors and carpet are the best I have created for our home. I had spent years cleaning our floors by hand. The orbiter is fast, simple to use, and works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oreck Commercial 437054 Lambs Wool Bonnet Orbiter Pad, For ORB550MC Orbiter Floor Machine []  2020-1-19 22:56

    The wool pad is awesome if you have porcelain floors. This pad is amazing as far as the wool part, BUT the string that is used to tie the pad broke after the 2nd wash. I have an older wool pad that has been washed 15-20 times and the string is still good, it is not the same pad as this one,not sure who created that one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lambs Wool 4 oz. []  2019-12-18 19:4

    Lambs wool speaks for itself. Better than cotton balls. It never bunches up and you don't know its there. I use it for padding between two toes. Huge and next one which is hammer toe. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lambs Wool 4 oz. []  2019-12-18 19:4

    The most economical method to lambs wool. Used for foot issues of toes need additional padding and separation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upstream: Searching for Wild Salmon, from River to Table [Book]  2017-11-28 18:2

    This book was an excellent, enlightening read. I took it with me on a field research trip because I like to read natural history books while traveling, and I assumed I wouldn't have much time for reading or energy left at the end of the day so I wanted to bring something light. This book was so absorbing that despite 12-16 hour workdays followed by group dinners and almost no downtime, I managed to steal reading time by shoehorning it into my mornings, and finished it on the trip home. As well as being engrossing and superbly written, it info the plight of the salmon -- and the people who depend on them -- in gorgeous, heartwrenching prose that highlights the madness of an economic system that destroys abundant meal to gain access to money, which is supposed to represent the very natural resources we eradicate. We are mired in this sunken-cost fallacy so deeply that we are willing to sacrifice our own health, well-being, and the natural resources on which all economic resources are based in the pursuit of upholding an ideal of controlling nature that should have gone out of style with fashions of the Roosevelt era. This book is superb and I highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in wild fish, the environment, or natural resource management.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    very amazing android game 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    I love this! I have always loved word scrambles. The letters are not to small. I tried one that the letters were so little that when you tried to cover over them with your finger it would go over the next rows no matter what direction you went in. It was frustrating not relaxing at all. The print is clear and simple on the eyes. This is great! Did I mention that I love this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    I love this game! Even though I'm still in the guide I'm obsessed all ready but you should give an option if you wish a guide or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    I love the android game it create you think it can create you intelligent to search word quick and to guess the hidden word it can support your mind it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    its an awesome android game and amazing to increase your vocabulary...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine []  2019-12-20 18:31

    You never know what you are going to search at amazon when you look up one of your major interests. I was looking for a book on stars and this appeared. Since I've read other Alan Lightman books I was intrigued. I always have fun the poetic method he writes and his deep philosophical and scientific considerations in this book are a bonus. I love science and reading about the universe and Lightman makes it fascinating as he is up to date on scientific research. His predictions for the future also created me think seriously about what is in shop for humans in a short time relatively speaking.Upon beginning this book you are transported to a cave of damp earth and stone in France. Alan Lightman soon connects his experience with thoughts about the material world. It only gets better when he then describes what I would call a mystical experience. Alone with his thoughts, laying in a boat he gazes up at the stars which fill the vast expanse. Soon he is talking about relativism and dreamy philosophical musings. If you know Lightman's writing you will recognize his signature poetic descriptions. This is sheer beauty to me as he has such a command of the English language and on top of it, sees things like a philosophical scientist.Why is there something rather than nothing?What caused the universe to come into being?Are their other universes?What is dark energy?What is consciousness?Alan Lightman is right to question how consciousness could be the effect of electrical and chemical flows between neurons. I want he has spent more time describing how the mind works as opposed to just the brain as I have read the mind can function apart from the body in a near-death experience. In some ways he questions materialist viewpoints. As he says: "The Now is not enough." "We wish to be part of the Infinite." Who can not relate? As he says 74% of Americans believe in life after death. Still however Lightman is not convinced. He sees himself mostly as a biological machine. He even goes so far as to say there is no "I" although his self-image is quite me of this book is deeply scientific and there is a long discussion about the Law of Conservation of Energy. I feel Lightman makes science a fun and creative topic for the casual reader. You don't have to be a scientist to have fun this book although your imagination (eye of the soul) will function at a higher level if you've seen COSMOS or amazing attention in science class. Knowing what an atom looks like helps greatly in some of the is book while serious in locations is also brilliantly poetic and at times lol humorous. Then there are some startling admissions like when Lightman says: "I want I believed." Maybe he will one day as he is so close to finding a spiritual reality. His love of nature could easily be a gateway into the favorite line was: "The tart scent of raspberries blends with the salty sea air." How I longed for the beach while I was reading this book. I've never been to Maine, but it seems me, this book is a find for ultimate meaning. Yes life is short but maybe eternity in heaven will create up for it. I think Lightman would have fun reading The Case for God by Lee Strobel or Knowing God by Packer. They would be excellent books to encourage more of his intellectual introspection.I enjoyed this book completely and think you will love it. Lightman asks some of the most necessary questions about reality that have been asked by religious people and scientists alike. But I have to say that not everything needs to be tested. Some things should just BE. Now and then sometimes what is, simply is and we know it in our heart. We've never required to prove love exists.~The Rebecca ReviewP.S. If you have fun philosophy and science blended together you may also have fun a book by Kat Lehmann called Stumbling Towards Happiness. It is poetic, philosophical and has science all blended together. A amazing achievement for any author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine []  2019-12-20 18:31

    My favorite read of 2018! Definitely going to discover more of Alan lightman’s other works. Philosophy meets science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Atmosphere of Hope: Searching for Solutions to the Climate Crisis []  2020-4-16 18:40

    Tim Flannery is a rarity – a amazing scientist who’s also a amazing journalist. In this book he not only documents how solar and wind power are already transforming our energy future. He also envisions a “third way” toward climate ird method technologies take carbon out of the atmosphere, not in grandiose geo-engineering schemes like shooting sulphur particles into the stratosphere, but by taking advantage of more ordinary biological and chemical pathways. For example, coastal seaweed farms could capture enormous amounts of CO2 which could then be used for food, fuel, or a host of other things. Seaweed farming has a long history in Japan and is spreading. Carbon negative cement and plastics are already under development. Biochar is being sequestered in the earth. Olivine or serpentinite sand on beaches captures awesome amounts of st third method technologies are quite fresh or need much R & D to scale up. But Flannery is convinced that some of these will create a huge difference. Then the task of stopping severe climate change will not fall entirely on doing away with fossil fuels. The key challenge is that so far renewables only give us electricity, while fossil fuels are not easily replaced in massive industry and some kinds of transport. Biofuels like ethanol and palm oil will be insufficient in both quality and addition to biofuels, another path toward sustainable liquid fuel is in the works. The chemistry is being developed to use electricity to directly convert water and atmospheric CO2 into hydrocarbons like oil. Then when the oil is used as a fuel, yielding atmospheric CO2, the chemistry can be repeated, forming a sustainable carbon cycle. The chemical engineering required to create this economical and scalable is just getting going. Yet it does hope to those of us seeking a global political economy that is both sustainable and egalitarian while meeting the primary needs of all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authentic Portraits: Searching for Soul, Significance, and Depth []  2020-1-16 6:26

    I didn’t expect this book to really have the impact on me it did, but I should have expected something so significant and deep from Chris Orwig. He digs deep into what it mean to create authentic portraits by looking for the light. But it’s not just the natural light he has us seek (though that a amazing part of the equation) but also the light within people, that contains me - the photographer. If you’re looking for a simple, follow-these-steps-for-good-photos type of book, then Authentic Portraits may not be for you. But before you move on, keep on. This book is for anyone who wants to make deep and meaningful portraits of others. Chris gives us a pathway to that through insight, advice, direction, and inspiration. He points out how to use natural light to its fullest advantage while bringing out the inner light of the person we’re photographing. It’s not necessarily simple because it also takes some vulnerability, openness, and honesty on our (the photographer’s) part as well. But if you follow his advice, you’ll soon search yourself making connections with people that will in turn bring about far better and stronger photos. The lessons in the book not only apply to how we can connect with people for Authentic Portraits, but also how to create better connections with people in general. It’s a unbelievable book, and one I highly recommend for anyone looking to go beyond and deeper than the typical portrait. If you can, read this and possibly watch Chris’ CreativeLive course on portraiture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authentic Portraits: Searching for Soul, Significance, and Depth []  2020-1-16 6:26

    Not your average "how to" photography book. I read this cover to cover savoring every word. This book will place you on the path to creating more meaningful portraits and you just might search yourself creating a more meaningful life along the way. I will refer to this book often. I hope to leave a meaningful legacy for my family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Einstein and the Rabbi: Searching for the Soul []  2020-1-19 22:28

    Rabbi Naomi Levy is such a gentle fighter who leads the reader to realms of honest confrontation of life and death issues. Be prepared to be touched and transformed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eagle Dreams: Searching for Legends in Wild Mongolia []  2020-1-25 17:42

    I purchased this book to educate myself and to support me obtain excited for an upcoming trip to western Mongolia/ Kazakh eagle land. This book was the only title in english I could search on the subject and the book had amazing reviews here so the choice to it was easy. While I mostly enjoyed the book I would have appreciated more unbiased info about eagles and the Kazakhs if Bodio had any more to share. With a very few notable exceptions (super-intelligent, emotional mammals with a predilection towards kindness for humans) I have absolutely no problems with people hunting for meal or sport as long as the hunted animal belongs to a stable, abundant population and no unnecessary cruelty is involved. That being said, I did not have fun Bodio's constant Cliven Bundy/Nevada Tea-Party/Fox News flavored political commentary that ran throughout the book. From denigrating liberals, environmentalists, wildlife conservationists and even fisherman who practice catch and release I just didn't see the point including so a lot of of his very American and private political prejudices in what I thought should have been a fairly non-political book about Mongolian Kazakhs and their remarkable eagles. At one point in the book Bodio berates a fellow American traveller for having the not good taste and judgement to bonus the Mongolians - "oversized T-shirts emblazoned with different NFL logos, looking like the ones gang bangers wore back home." NFL logo equals "gang-banger"? I saw lots of Mongolians wearing American sports jerseys, I seriously doubt gifting one is any kind of cultural faux pas but rather a reflection of Bodio's distaste of fashion he equates with American black culture. This is just one example out of many, but remarks like this didn't add anything to the book while making me feel icky and lowering my opinion of Bodio as a person. Perhaps I misunderstand him, but the result was the same regardless.Having visited the western Mongolian Kazakhs Bodio writes about I found them every bit as warm, generous, gracious and as good-humored as he describes them. I found their imbalanced diet consisting solely of meat and dairy pitiable and contrary to Bodio's depiction, very hard on their health. Nobody living the traditional Kazakh nomad lifestyle that we met in Western Mongolia seemed to live much past sixty. All of the eagle hunters that were in their forties and fifties when Bodio's book was published in 2003 were already dead of natural causes according to the locals who knew and recognized them from the images in the book. My twenty-four year old tutorial confessed a poor case of hemorrhoids and the 34 year old son of our host family inside Altai Tavan Bogd was being treated for cancer. He was one of the a lot of cancer stories we heard while in western Mongolia. While I am not even close to being a doctor I have read enough and know enough about primary nutrition to have no doubts concerning the root cause of the Kazakh's health ailments: A diet consisting solely of meat and dairy devoid of any source of fiber or vegetables. The Mongolian Kazakh's freedom, close family troops and their ancient yet intact cultural traditions were enviable, their diet while perhaps a product of necessity as well as culture was another matter altogether and undeserving of being romanticized by anyone in the 21st century. I found the Kazakh's meal situation in the remote western corner of the country sad and depressing, but I suppose an endless meat and cheese buffet beats the hell out of going hungry in a very cold, hard land. Definitely visit the western Mongolian Kazakhs if you ever obtain the chance, they are incredible, but bring some Metamucil and dehydrated vegan chili. Your gut will thank you. Bodio's tip concerning vodka and other practical subjects is solid however. Bring a amazing bit with you and use it to wash down the horse meat and rock hard bland cheese, it was the only thing that helped my stomach cope with the Kazakh meals. The Kazakh hunting eagles are just as majestic and awe-inspiring as Bodio writes. Nothing you read can prepare you for your first encounter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eagle Dreams: Searching for Legends in Wild Mongolia []  2020-1-25 17:42

    Captive in every way. This book will create you wish to meet the people and the birds in their Arena but not be disappointed if you can't, because it doesn't create you feel you missed something. It's not your private experience but that, it seems, of a amazing mate who honestly and generously tells you his story with entertaining clarity and frankness. Almost as amazing as being there yourself. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rogue: Searching for the Real Sarah Palin []  2020-1-22 22:26

    I didn't like her before I read it and I like her even less after reading the book. The difference is now I know why, for sure. What a phony individual, who is so self centered I don't know how she would ever do our society any good. Joe McGinnis is a amazing writer and I have read a lot of of his books, He investigates his topic and talks to a lot of people before he even sets pen to paper. Sara Palin is poor news, all she is looking for is the public spotlight and the attention. Read it and see for yourself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rogue: Searching for the Real Sarah Palin []  2020-1-22 22:26

    Joe McGinniss wrote this book so it would be published in time for a potential Palin 2012 candidacy, which thankfully never happened. Still, it's worth reading to obtain a amazing understanding on the Dominionist sects and how they shaped Palin's beliefs and are a major influence in Ted Cruz's current campaign. You're not going to search a lot in here that you haven't read already but there are plenty of solid on-the-record interviews that prove Palin's "mean girl," know-nothing reputation is well-earned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hollywood Insanity: Searching For Meaning Where None Exists []  2020-2-6 19:41

    Roman Lillie is a 30 year old lady finding her method in the world. Roman quit her job as a Anchor Women. It's wasn't filling the void she had so she ventured off into various jobs. Until she decided she really wanted to work in TV production. In Hollywood. She sold everything and excepted a job in the Mailroom at this huge product company in Hollywood. She worked her method up to an be a Assistant to a Director in the field she wanted to be in. Well she learned that working in this position was quite interesting and sometimes very hectic. She had some interesting dates while in Hollywood. She learned a lot about the behind the scenes of what goes on in tv and films andvthey type of individuals running the show. This book is a page Turner. I enjoyed that she wasn't afraid to take possibility at moving across the country to satisfy her dreams.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hollywood Insanity: Searching For Meaning Where None Exists []  2020-2-6 19:41

    First of all, I could have edited this book better, absolutely horrible! Secondly, are you seriously that self centered? Please do yourselfa favor and scroll right past this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hollywood Insanity: Searching For Meaning Where None Exists []  2020-2-6 19:41

    Perfect insight into what happens behind the scenes in Hollywood. A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hollywood Insanity: Searching For Meaning Where None Exists []  2020-2-6 19:41

    Reading Hollywood Insanity is like catching up with an old mate who has a ton of crazy and hilarious stories to tell after a stint in Tinseltown. You really feel like you're there with her, from her optimistic first day at Kafka-esque "Factory" until the bitter end, when she comes to the titular realization that there is no meaning to be found in that bizarre globe of agents referred to only as numbers and the eager assistants they abuse on the daily. Though she names no names, she certainly spares no info about the machine that is Hollywood. This book is recommended for anyone who's ever been curious about what really goes on behind the scenes in La La Land. It's also an earnest and heart-breakingly funny look at the find for love and spiritual fulfillment in a globe that so often feels devoid of both. Such a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Sitala Mata: Eradicating Smallpox in India []  2020-2-6 22:58

    This unbelievable book reads like a novel! I finished it in 2 sittings. Really loved the method the author described her development as a medical researcher in an unknown country. A lot of of the cultural conflicts came out naturally as did her descriptions of Africa, at the time she was there. The book was especially meaningful to me as a former writer and trainer of the impact of culture on healthcare. A must read for anyone interested in Africa or in healthcare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Sitala Mata: Eradicating Smallpox in India []  2020-2-6 22:58

    A factual, well told memoir of 18 months in India during the WHO smallpox eradication program in the mid 1970s. Humorous private anecdotes create for interesting reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Sitala Mata: Eradicating Smallpox in India []  2020-2-6 22:58

    Wish your kids immunized? Read this. Cornelia Davis tells of her time as a fresh doctor fighting smallpox in India. Her writing is clear, and friendly, sometimes poetic. The mix of dialogue and narration makes the purely private and public policy dimensions of her story hold interest high. Very amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upstream: Searching for Wild Salmon, from River to Table [Book]  2017-11-28 18:2

    This is the sort of book I love. It is well written, well researched and simply filled with information, most of which I did not know and much of which I thought I knew but didn’t.Having lived in the N.W. a number of years and in the past having been an avid fisherman, salmon have always, for me, have always been held in a mystical awe. Being primarily a trout fisherman I can understand their allure and to be quite frank I have fun eating salmon but not trout. Being one of those catch and release people (I have been for years no matter the species) I was more than interested in this addition to the salmon themselves, I was interested in their current plight. Folks, we are about to loose a wonder of nature and our lives are going to be duller and less exciting without them even if we have never fished them or explored their environment. The plight of the salmon runs directly with that of a lot of of our wild fish. Living here in the Missouri Ozarks I have been involved with trout for well over half a century. I can tell you for fact that the water quality and water quantity has gone to hell in a hand basket and it is becoming more and more difficult to search a clear cold trout ere are a lot of reasons for the wretched mess we are in now ranging from ignorant government decisions as to damns, water tables going down due to human sprawl and not good planning by cities, states and counties and of course the ever greedy developers. What holds real for the decline in our waterways inhabited and used by salmon, also apply to most of our waterways in our e author examines these and other issues while at the same time giving us a unbelievable history of this magnificent fish and the impact it has had and the impact is it having at this time in our don’t take me wrong. This book is not an endless environmental rant. No, it is a book that simply tells it like it is. I must say though that I am a firm believer that as we destroy the wild life we share the globe with, we are at the same time destroying ourselves and it is just a matter of time that humans go the method of the salmon and thousands of other species of wild life we have destroyed over the past several hundred years...folks, it is just a matter of rry for the rant – I am touchy about such things.Anyway, this is a unbelievable work and holds interest for folks who fish and do not fish and for folks who eat fish and those that do not.I highly recommend this one. If nothing else it will do wonders for your trivia game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    wonderfully challeging

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    It starts out simple and gradually gets more difficult. Words are crossed out as you use them. Amazing Word Search!* I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    I love that it's so easy and bright. It's a calm, relaxing break to just mess around with your mind. It's just an amazing, small, peaceful brain teaser.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    So Much Fun!!! Fun method to slay some time and hold your brain sharp!! I totally have fun this challenge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    Very addicting. Amazing method to improve your vocabulary!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    have the categories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Word Search 2019: Word searching game for free [App]  2019-5-20 13:56

    Loving it so far

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authentic Portraits: Searching for Soul, Significance, and Depth []  2020-1-16 6:26

    I couldn't add anything more than the previous reviewer, Gloria Nagler, did, at least in terms of describing what's in this book. But I can add what it has meant to me right out of the chute (or should I say "shoot"?). I learned of the release of this book from another photographer whom I admire greatly, David duChemin. And I knew of Chris Orwig by reputation, though I had not delved into his work deeply. I'm primarily a performing arts photographer, and in that context, I have a lot of opportunities to make photographs of young artists, primarily at the high school level. A lot of of these are actors' headshots, as well as performance-based portraits. But one the annual shoots that I look forward to the most is a series of individual, studio-based portraits of a high-level acting class at a local high school. These young actors are incredibly talented, and deserve the best photograph that I can deliver. And technically (I think) my results to date on their behalf are credible. So it was with amazing interest that I discovered that the Kindle edition of "Authentic Portraits" is already out, while the hardcover edition is still months away. I immediately purchased it, downloaded it, and in less than 24 hours read it from beginning to end.I'm always up for extra tips, tricks, tools, and techniques, but the themes and messages of this book took me in a totally various direction. I had already made a conceptual theme for this series of portraits, a set of constraints within which to focus my creativity in terms of posing and expression with these actors. But my intended approach focused on the "actors", and (to my surprise) not the "persons". As I read the book, I began to take notes on how I could draw out the person, and not just the actor. As I began this note-taking process, I found myself anticipating the very points Chris Orwig makes, in some cases, almost word for word. I could not place the book is my shoot. I'm excited to see how various our results will be from the original approach I had been working toward. It's the same concept, the same set of physical constraints I created, the same lighting approach. But I trust the results will be deeper, more real, more authentic, and thereby more human, more revelatory, and to the topics and the viewers, somehow better. I wish them to invoke the spirit of the poet Billy Collins, as quoted by Chris Orwig, "The beauty of a poem can be measured by the degree of silence that comes after the latest line." That's my goal now, and I have Chris Orwig to thank for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authentic Portraits: Searching for Soul, Significance, and Depth []  2020-1-16 6:26

    I am slowly devouring this book and it is AMAZING! Chris Orwig has a special approach that brings out the truth in people portraits. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authentic Portraits: Searching for Soul, Significance, and Depth []  2020-1-16 6:26

    I have been following Chris’s work for a lot of years and have purchased a lot of of his books, and to real Chris Orwig form, this book doesn’t disappoint. I am not even a portrait photographer, my focus is true estate and architecture, but I know that Chris’s insight in photography and life will inspire me to test harder in work and home life. Chris’s wisdom and down-to-earth approach on life and photography, create this and any of his books a definite buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Unique: A Traveller's Guide to Extraordinary Experiences []  2020-1-18 0:6

    The author has a plethora of travel stories to share with the reader, but I’m not sure this should be read cover to cover like I did. It is more a guide, a coffee table book and the book blurb describes it well as “bite-sized narratives and on-the-ground travel advice.” The images inside are exceptional as well, and add to the sense of place. The narratives do have amazing descriptions of the diverse locations this book takes you, but the stories didn’t move me, didn’t have a beginning, middle, and end to truly let me to sit back and be carried along into armchair rhaps that is not the point of the book however, and it is full of practical tip for planning related trips to those that O’Hare has done. While I would have liked a lot more engaging storytelling, Searching for Special is amazing for flipping through and learning about some fresh locations to travel and travel experiences to perhaps test out yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine []  2019-12-20 18:31

    While interesting as a light science book of some facts and more unproven ideas, very disappointing as the author attempts to 'be nice' to those who might believe in something other than the religion of science. The book could be summed up as the Author stating that he is simply an individual who is an evolutionary scientist, an atheist, but 'wishes' he could believe something else that he 'knows is there' but won't acknowledge in reality. What is interesting is how much atheist scientists like the Author have such powerful desires to write about God whom they don't believe in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine []  2019-12-20 18:31

    Small here is likely to surprise any reasonably serious reader of famous science, but Lightman's delightful musings about meaning and wonder in our nearly impenetrable universe somehow capture what makes life worth living. Or, short of that, they leave one feeling these few hours were time well spent.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386