Read secrets of synthesis reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all secrets of synthesis reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    I'll confess that the title of my review here is drawn from a published review, but in my defense it's a review that I wrote. As I've done with other scholarly books that I've reviewed, I'll chop and paste the entire text here. Before that here's the full citation:Neeraja Sankaran (2014). The British Journal for the History of Science, 47, pp 372-374 doi:10.1017/S0007087414000235Full review:Any academic book that makes allusions to Harry Potter (the books, not the movies) that go beyond paying lip-service to the pop culture of the day gets my vote. By this token Lawrence Principe’s The Secrets of Alchemy is an undisputed top contender because it makes meaningful and context-appropriate references to J.K. Rowling’s famous series not just once or twice, but on three separate occasions. Principe begins, in the introduction, by recalling the coveted philosopher’s stone that alchemists of yore believed could turn lead into gold and by deploring its corruption into ‘the meaningless “Sorcerer’s Stone”’ in the title of the American edition of the firstHarry Potter book (p. 1). (How I cheered when I read that!) The books were invoked again in a fascinating discussion of the basilisk, that ‘hideously deadly reptile able to slay with a single glance’ (p. 54), which created its appearance several times in the series, and yet again (p. 227) in connection with an eighteenth-century legend about the philosopher’s stone’s ability to confer longevity on one Nicholas Flamel, whose story was reprised in the first Potter ones and reptiles with magical powers are not the only curious objects nor Harry Potter the only famous or literary source that Principe alludes to in this long-awaited history of one of the most mysterious of all archaic sciences. Indeed, The Secrets of Alchemy is a treasure trove of fascinating tidbits of info about the sometimes unexpected guises and locations in whichthe topic appears to us today. For instance, did you know that the famous culinary technique we Stones and reptiles with magical powers are not the only curious objects nor Harry Potter the only famous or literary source that Principe alludes to in this long-awaited history of one of the most mysterious of all archaic sciences. Indeed, The Secrets of Alchemy is a treasure troveof fascinating tidbits of info about the sometimes unexpected guises and locations in which the topic appears to us today. For instance, did you know that the famous culinary technique we know of today as the bain-marie (in French) or bagno maria (in Italian) is the possible legacy of an ancient alchemist named Maria Judaea or Mary the Jew (pp. 15–16)? We do not have this info because of any modern attempt to restore the put of women in the history of science (although admittedly that needs doing, and this book may be a amazing starting point for such a project for readers so inclined). Rather, we know about Maria Judaea because of the frequent citations of her inventions of apparatus and techniques by Zosimos of Panopolis, a Graeco-Egyptian from around AD 300, whom Principe identifies as the earliest alchemist about whom we have any ‘reliable historical details’ and fragments of whose writings have survived to this day (pp. 14–16). Medieval misogyny is revealed as rampant in the Paracelsian tract On the Nature ofThings, in which the creation of the horrific basilisk – as a product of putrefaction of menstrual blood (and thus purely female-derived) – is described in contrast to the creation, from similarly treated semen, of a homunculus, which was believed to be ‘endowed with unique powers and bonuses not shared by ordinary human beings, because its purity is unpolluted by the admixture of female elements’ (p. 132). The homunculus, incidentally, is an necessary hero in the second part of Faust by Goethe, another author whose dabblings in alchemy are mentioned by Principe. Yet another alchemical hand-me-down is our word ‘gas’, coined in the seventeenth century by Joan Baptista Van Helmont from ‘chaos’ to define the ‘noncondensable substance more subtle than any vapor’ left over from the destruction of any solid or liquid substance by fire (p. 134). know of today as the bain-marie (in French) or bagno maria (in Italian) is the possible legacy of an ancient alchemist named Maria Judaea or Mary the Jew (pp. 15–16)? We do not have this info because of any modern attempt to restore the put of women in the history of science (although admittedly that needs doing, and this book may be a amazing starting point for such a project for readers so inclined). Rather, we know about Maria Judaea because of the frequent citations of her inventions of apparatus and techniques by Zosimos of Panopolis, a Graeco-Egyptian from around AD 300, whom Principe identifies as the earliest alchemist about whom we have any ‘reliable historical details’ and fragments of whose writings have survived to this day (pp. 14–16). Medieval misogyny is revealed as rampant in the Paracelsian tract On the Nature of Things, in which the creation of the horrific basilisk – as a product of putrefaction of menstrual blood (and thus purely female-derived) – is described in contrast to the creation, from similarly treated semen, of a homunculus, which was believed to be ‘endowed with unique powers and bonuses not shared by ordinary human beings, because its purity is unpolluted by the admixture of female elements’ (p. 132). The homunculus, incidentally, is an necessary hero in the second part of Faust by Goethe, another author whose dabblings in alchemy are mentioned by Principe. Yet another alchemical hand-me-down is our word ‘gas’, coined in the seventeenth century by Joan Baptista Van Helmont from ‘chaos’ to define the ‘noncondensable substance more subtle than any vapor’ left over from the destruction of any solid or liquid substance by fire (p. 134).I could go on ad infinitum with other such references but will leave the interested readers to explore these gems for themselves and turn to the value of this book other than in providing arcana with which to entertain and impress others. Scholars of the history of alchemy and of medieval and early modern science have already offered their commentaries – very positive ones – in their reviews of The Secrets of Alchemy, mentioning the myriad ways in which this book adds to the scholarship of their field. (See, for example, Jenny Rampling in Science (2012) 491, p. 38; and Anna Marie Roos in Studies in History and Philosophy of Biological and Biomedical Sciences (2013) 44, pp. 787–789). But Principe aimed his book at ‘the nonspecialist, the general reader and the student’ (p. 3), and as a reader in this latter category, I prefer to comment on what we stand to obtain from this book. First, the accessible language and detailed info about ‘foundational figures who can act as reckoning points within the long alchemical tradition’ (p. 4) create this an ideal book to use as the spine or core around which to build an introductory course in the history of alchemy or chemistry (or chymistry, to borrow the author’s terminology). Principe’s main motivation in writing this book was to ‘make some of the enormous wealth of latest discoveries about alchemy accessible to a wider audience’ (p. 3) and he has succeeded most admirably in this regard. Secrets of Alchemy is the type of book I want had been published about a decade and a half ago, when I was in find of a PhD dissertation topic. It is a goldmine of ideas and sources for scholarship in a field that is rife with opportunity, and I must admit I am envious of those of you student readers who have such a unbelievable Marauder’s Map (another Harry Potter reference) to support you navigate your method through those early days of graduate school.

    0  


    Add your opinion on secrets of synthesis or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    For someone interesting the history of science, the beginnings of chemistry or is just curious about achemy, this should be their reading list. The author, a chemist and historian of science, writes a clear introduction to historical alchemy. The "secrets" mentioned in the title refer to what alchemy really was, clearing away much of the pseudo-historical nonsense about the topic that has come down to us in modern times. There is very small technical chemistry here, but the author has demonstrated a few of alchemy's techniques in his lab and presents photographs of the results. And no, nobody's going to transmute lead into gold anytime soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    First, I'm a chemist by training and have always had a deep interest in the history of science. There was never a clean line between Alchemy and Chemistry; more a blend in time. This book explores what the alchemist were looking for and how they often found it (not just Pb > Au, but improvements in metallurgy, manufacturing, and medicine; the things that science still use to create by changing inexpensive starting material into valuable products) . It explores the globe view at the time and how this effected the science (yes, alchemist, the amazing ones, were scientist) and how they observed nature and proposed models for how the globe worked. Very well written and very enjoyable. I particularly enjoyed how the author went to the laboratory (an often overlooked endever in other "alchemy" books) and reproduced some of the early experiments and they worked; and then went on to explain why they worked and how the actual chemistry accounted for the observed results!!! My only regret was that there were not more examples of these experiments, but even the few that are presented are worth the of the book. If you have fun the history of science this would be a amazing addition to your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    Its matches the description. Simple to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    This book brought me joy and lots of pleasure and insight. After a few pages I remembered why I decided to become a chemist (or ‘chymyst’?) about sixty years ago. I appreciate the reverence for our ancestor chymysts and the respect to them by the author. This book sheds fresh light on a profession that has for long times be considered as only fraudulous, magical, in find only of an impossible ‘Stone’. As a student in Amsterdam one of my textbooks on the History of Science was a text by Dijksterhuis (‘De mechanisering van het wereldbeeld’: The mechanization of our globe view) and I remember the negative tone in which alchemy was condly I highly respect the author for the ease in using foreign and even dead languages; I am sure that a lot more of old texts after being deciphered and translated will bring more info about this field of science but this will demand not only knowledge of chemistry but also ability in reading these difficult irdly, it was amazing fun to see the author’s efforts to understand, translate and apply the old recipes and seeing the outcome of his own experiments. I could almost feel his thrill after seeing suddenly the ‘new and unexpected’ in his my view this unbelievable book is a must for all show day chemistry students and definitely a amazing bonus to the community of chemists worldwide!Dr. Rommert van den Bos, den Haag, Netherlands

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    Here is a solid, readable acc of what alchemy truly is. The author takes a historical approach, and to my surprise, dispelled a lot of myths that most of us still take for granted concerning this a amazing mystery novel, the author recreates some of the experiments only lately discovered, and to his and our astonishment discovers chemical phenomena he did not expect. This is a must read for those interested in the history of science. It also gives the alchemists their due as early serious investigators of the word around them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    Back in the '80s I was dabbling in alchemy, trying to decipher the allegoric drawings in Balise Valentin's 12 keys and other alchemy books like Fulcanelli's. I came to the conclusion that it was the same story repeated over and over: cold versus warm, male versus female, dead versus reborn. Later, as I was collecting ancient science books, I obtained a "book of secrets" from the 1500's from the alchemist Pedemontani; aka JJ Wecker. My joke was that the gold making wasn't working out, so these scientists had to create a living by publishing - very successfully - do-it-yourself books. The Secrets of Alchemy place these two disparate worlds together, and it all create sense! The author obviously loves his subject, respects it and has the depth of understanding I will likely never have. His re-creations of experiments was my favorite part of the book. Once stripped of the modern thinking (my copper sulfate was 99.9% pure, I never thought that I should play with impurities), and replaced in the context of the time (the inter-connectivity of all things), alchemy becomes a solid and reasonable pursuit of practical knowledge. The emphasis is on "practical", which now explains these "books of secrets". A amazing read, an even better read the second time around if you prepare your mind to think like a 1500's scientist. I do hope there will be a sequel, more keys, more historical context, more religious interferences, more insights in the every day lives of these undervalued scientists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    This book has everyone one needs to uncover the TRUE alchemical history from ancient times through modern era. The author has done more than the base level of research and is extremely knowledgeable beyond the confines of simply the chemistry or the history. Oftentimes, authors of alchemy texts tend to focus only on one or the other or only on the mystical aspects. Dr. Principe bridges across all disciplines to provide a synthetic work that is going to become the final authority on the subject. Excellently written with just enough commentary to hold the casual reader entertained and enough meat to satisfy scientific or historical rigorous readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    I love the authors style and depth of knowledge on alchemy, and how serious he takes the alchemists. But i was frustrated repeatedly when he referred to the writings without quoting them directly. For this reason i consider this book incomplete until you also have Stanton Linden's The Alchemy Reader also pin your e kindel ver complete with figures and the color plates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Secrets of Alchemy (Synthesis) []  2020-5-6 18:26

    This book is exactly what I was hoping for: a casually readable but serious investigation of the history of alchemy, explanation of their arcane language, chemical foundations, and especially a telescope onto the mind of proto-scientific mankind. The book is very well written and easily readable, but so delightfully informative. The author’s own experiments with centuries-old alchemical recipes was the icing on the cake—to understand the old methods with 21st century science and cinch a complete understanding of what they claimed to be doing vs. what was actually occurring. This is one of the most satisfying books I’ve read on any subject in years. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis of Essential Drugs []  2020-1-25 2:58

    If you bought a $300-ish book titled "Synthesis of Essential Drugs", you'd expect to begin it and search a book detailing the synthesis of essential drugs. This is not what you obtain with this book. The contents of this book are indeed useful, but if you're looking for info on drug synthesis, this is not it.What it provides: A comprehensive list of WHO essential drugs, a amazing summary of each "group", the group's metabolic actions, and a amazing description of the molecular and pharmaceutical differences between them. It also info a single list of precursor substances for each drug, along with (unbalanced and incomplete) chemical equations similar to that precursor chain.What it does not provide: Methods, catalysts, agents, equipment, environment, and dangers of synthesis. So (virtually) no mention of catalysts, no mention of temperature of reaction, no mention of vessels, yields, correctness-checking, etc. THESE are the basic data associated with the synthesis of a drug, and they are essentially nowhere to be found in this rhaps a title would be "A sketch of a precursor chain for each one of WHO's essential drugs, with detailed notes on their metabolic actions"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    The title beautiful well explains the topic of Genentech. Hughes does not spare scientific detail, but she writes about it deftly, blending the science into the narrative. Readers with even the most primary understanding of genetics will hardly message that they have gotten a short lesson on recombinant technology along with a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    The story of Genentech is beautiful astounding. I have followed this company for a number of years. This company warranted the book, duly named. It was somewhat sensationalized, but simple to read and understand, even for someone with no ties or connection to the industry. I literally read it on a flight from la to san francisco including the time spent in the airport before takeoff. It was a amazing flight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    Vivid acc of Genentech's founding and the early travails of the biotech ings that would not immediately spring to mind today, like the deep suspicion or outright hostility of academic scientists to scientists who had an interest in business, or the paranoia surrounding the early days of genetic engineering, even in the scientific mewhat uncritical acceptance of a "testosterone-charged atmosphere" as a key component of their success. Anybody who's worked with accomplished women scientists knows drive and ambition do not depend on one hormone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    A well-paced and thoughtful history that successfully balances the personalities, drama, economics and science of the topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    It is a very well written, interesting to read and learn as was creating one of the leading biotech companies book. From here begins another story. I recommend to read and use in teaching and research

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    My reading of Genentech follows my reading Science lessons abotu Amgen and this is a review I published elsewhere (my blog) os apologies for any inconsistency...I have to admit I had never heard of the Bancroft Library’s www service ( for the Program in Bioscience and Biotechnology Studies, “which centerpiece is a continually expanding oral history collection on bioscience and biotechnology [with ] in-depth, fully searchable interviews with primary biological scientists from numerous disciplines; with scientists, executives, attorneys, and others from the biotechnology industry.”The invention of fresh research and business practices over a very short periodSwanson was captivated: “This idea [of genetic engineering] is absolutely fantastic; it is revolutionary; it will change the world; it’s the most necessary thing I have ever heard.” [… But Swanson was nearly alone.] “Cetus was not alone in its hesitation regarding the industrial app of recombinant DNA technology. Pharmaceutical and chemical corporations, conservative institutions at heart, also had reservations.” [Page 32] “Whatever practical applications I could see for recombinant DNA… were five to ten years away, and, therefore, there was no rush to obtain started, from a scientific point of view.” [Page 32] “I always maintain” Boyer reminisced, “that the best attribute we had was our naïveté… I think if we had known about all the issues we were going to encounter, we would have thought twice about starting… Naïveté was the additional added ingredient in biotechnology.” [Page 36]The book shows the importance of scientific collaborations. Not just Boyer at UCSF but for example with a hospital in Los Angeles. A license was signed with Town of Hope Hospital with a 2% royalty on on products based on the licensed technology. “[…] negotiated an agreement between Genentech and Town of Hope that gave Genentech exclusive ownership of any and all patents based on the work and the medical center a 2 percent royalty on of products arising from the research.” [Page 57]Even if in 2000, Town of Hope had received $285M in royalties, it was not satisfied with the outcome. After a lot of trials, the California Supreme Court in 2008 awarded another $300M to Town of Hope. So the book shows that these collaborations gave also much legal litigation. [Page 58]In a few years, Genentech could synthesize somatostatin, insulin, human growth hormone and interferon. It is fascinating to read how intense, uncertain, stressful these years were for Swanson, Perkins, Boyer and the little group of Genentech employees and academic partners (Goeddel, Kleid, Heyneker, Seeburg, Riggs, Itakura, Crea), in part because of the emerging tournament from other start-ups (Biogen, Chiron) and academic labs (Harvard, UCSF).“On August 25, 1978 – four days after Goeddel’s insulin chain-joining feat – the two parties signed a multimillion-dollar, twenty-year research and development agreement. For an upfront licensing fee of $500,000, Lilly got what it wanted: exclusive worldwide rights to manufacture and shop human insulin using Genentech’s technology. Genentech was to keep 6 percent royalties and Town of Hope 2 percent royalties on product sales.” [Page 94] They managed to negotiate a contractual condition limiting Lilly’s use of Genentech’s engineered bacteria to the manufacture of recombinant insulin alone. The technology would remain Genentech’s property, or so they expected. As it turned out, the contract, and that clause in particular, became a basis for a prolonged litigation. In 1990, the courts awarded Genentech over $150 million in a decision determining that Lilly had violated the 1978 contract by using a component of Genentech’s insulin technology in making its own human growth hormone product. [Page 95] Perkins believed that the 8 percent royalty rate was unusually high, at a time when royalties on pharmaceutical products were along the lines of 3 or 4 percent. “It was kind of exorbitant royalty, but we agreed anyway – Lilly was anxious to be first (with human insulin)” […]The huge company – little company template that Genentech and Lilly promulgated in molecular biology would become a prominent organizational form in a coming biotechnology industry. [Page 97]The invention of a fresh cultureYoung as Swanson was, he kept everyone focused on product-oriented research. He continued to have scant tolerance for spending time, effort, and on research not tied directly to producing marketable products. “We were interested in making something usable that you could turn into a drug, inject in humans, take to clinical trials.” A few year before his premature death, Swanson remarked, “I think one of the things I did best in those days was to hold us very focused on making a product.“ His goal-directed management style differed markedly from that of Genentech’s close competitors. [Page 129]But at the same time Boyer would guarantee a high quality research level by encouraging employees to write the best possible scientific articles. This guaranteed the reputation of Genentech in the academic world.A culture was taking shape at Genentech that had no exact counterpart in industry or academia. The high-tech firms in Silicon Valley and along Route 128 in Massachusetts shared its emphasis on innovation, fast-moving research, and intellectual property creation and protection. But the electronics and computer industries, and every other industrial sector for that matter, lacked the close, significant, and sustained ties with university research that Genentech drew upon from the begin and that continue to define the biotechnology industry of today. Virtually every element in the company’s research endeavor – from its scientists to its intellectual and technological foundations – had originated in decade upon decade of accumulated basic-science knowledge generated in academic labs. […] At Boyer’s insistence, the scientists were encouraged to publish and engage in the wide community of science. [Page 131]But academic values had to accommodate corporate realities: at Swanson’s insistence, research was to lead to powerful patents, marketable products, and profit. Genentech’s culture was in short a hybrid of academic values brought in line with commercial objectives and practices. [Page 132]Swanson was the supportive but insistent slave driver, urging on employees beyond their perceived limits: “Bob wanted everything. He would say, If you don’t have more things on your plate than you can accomplish, then you’re not trying hard enough. He wanted you to have a huge enough list that you couldn’t possibly obtain everything done, and yet he wanted you to try.” […] Fledging start-ups pitted versus pharmaceutical giants could compete mainly by being more innovative, aggressive, and fleet of foot. Early Genentech had those attributes in spades. Swanson expected – demanded – a lot of everyone. His attitude was as Roberto Crea recalled: “Go obtain it; be there first; we have to beat everybody else… We were small, undercapitalized, and relatively unknown to the world. We had to perform better than anybody else to gain legitimacy in the fresh industry. Once we did, we wanted to maintain leadership.” […] As Perkins said “Bob would never be accused of lacking a sense of urgency. “ […] Even Ullrich, despite European discomfort with raucous American behavior, admitted to being seduced by Genentech’s unswervingly committed, can-do culture. [Page 133]New exit strategiesInitially Kleiner thought Genentech would be acquired by a major pharma company. It was just a question of when. He approached Johnson and Johnson and “floated the idea of a of $80 million. The fell flat. Fred Middleton [Genentech’s VP of finance], show at the negotiations, speculated that J&J didn’t have “a clue about what to do with this [recombinant DNA] technology – certainly didn’t know what it was worth. They couldn’t fit it in a Band-Aid mold”. J&J executives were unsure how to value Genentech, there being no standard for comparison or history of earnings.” [Page 140]Perkins and Swanson created one more attempt to Genentech. Late in 1979, Perkins, Swanson, Kiley and Middleton boarded a plane for Indianapolis to meet with Eli Lilly’s CEO and others in top management. Perkins suggested a of $100 million. Middleton’s view is that Lilly was hamstrung by a conservative “not invented here” mentality, an opinion supported by the drug firm’s reputation for relying primarily on internal research and only reluctantly on outside contracts. The company’s technology was too novel, too experimental, too unconventional for a conservative pharmaceutical industry to adopt whole-heartedly. [Page 141]When Genentech successfully developed interferon, a fresh opportunity happened. Interferon had been discovered in 1957 and thought to prevent virus infection. In November 1978, Swanson signed a confidential letter of intent with Hoffmann – La Roche and a formal agreement in January 1980. They were also lucky: “Heyneker and a colleague attended a scientific meeting in which the speaker – to everyone’s astonishment given the field’s intense competitiveness – projected a slide of a partial sequence of fibroblast interferon. They telephoned the info to Goeddel, who instantly relay the sequence to Crea. […] Crea started to construct the needed probes. […] Goeddel constructed a “library” of thousands upon thousands of bacterial cells, seeking ones with interferon gene. Using the partial sequence Pestka retrieved, Goeddel cloned full-length DNA sequences for both fibroblast and leukocyte interferon. […] In June 1980, after filing patent protection, Genentech announced the production in collaboration with Roche.” [Page 145] Genentech could consider going public and after another war between Perkins and Swanson, Genentech decided to do so. Perkins had seen that the year 1980 was excellent for financing biotech companies through a public offering but Swanson saw the challenges this would mean for a young company with nearly no revenue or role modelsThe 1980-81 period would see the creation of a fleet of entrepreneurial biology-based companies – Amgen, Chiron, Calgene, Molecular Genetics, Integrated Genetics, and firms of a lesser note – all inspired by Genentech’s example of a fresh organizational model for biological and pharmaceutical research. Before the IPO window closed in 1983, eleven biotech companies in addition to Genentech and Cetus, had gone public*. […] But not only institutions were transformed. Genentech’s IPO transformed Herb Boyer, the small-town guy of blue-collar origins, into molecular biology’s first industrial multimillionaire. For admiring scientists laboring at meager academic salaries in relative obscurity, he became a conspicuous inspiration for their own research might be reoriented and their reputation enhanced. If unassuming Herb – just a guy from Pittsburgh, as a colleague observed – could found a successful company with all the rewards and renown that entailed, why couldn’t they? [Page 161]*: According to one source, the companies staging IPO were Genetic Systems, Ribi Immunochem, Genome Therapeutics, Centocor, Bio-Technology General, California Biotechnology, Immunex, Amgen, Biogen, Chiron, and Immunomedics. (Robbins-Roth, From Alchemy To Ipo: The Business Of Biotechnology)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    Very well written. Amazing intro to the biotech globe if fresh and/or curious how everything got started.Fairly simple and light read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    Well written history about the daunting origins of Genentech and the biotech industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genentech: The Beginnings of Biotech (Synthesis) []  2020-5-3 18:52

    The book covers the beginnings of Genentech and serves as a useful case study for the biotech industry - a amazing resource for all the biotech startups today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis []  2020-2-4 12:45

    The handbook is a well-presented tutorial to conduct a meta-analysis, from the very early stages of preparation to the statistical analyses and presentation of results. Each chapter gives a clear explaination of the topic as well as a lot of references to further reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis []  2020-2-4 12:45

    This book was recommended by an esteemed colleague, Bill Yeaton, for my work in applying meta-analytic technique to comparative effectiveness. The book is created up of chapters by individual experts who write clearly and concisely in a real Handbook format. Very practical; not theoretical. An essential tool for data synthesis experts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis []  2020-2-4 12:45

    All great! Received on time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis Mobile [App]  2018-5-18 21:6

    There is no feed Why is the I phone application so much better. Come on guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis English [App]  2019-1-21 21:15

    Nice app. But I have a query. At show this application is installed in my samsung Tab which is getting old and I think I have to change it soon. In that case, how to install it in the fresh mobile?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis Mobile [App]  2018-5-18 21:6

    No feed for Android... It's 2015, there is no excuse. Not good feature support.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis English [App]  2019-1-21 21:15

    The Synthesis on my Mobile! I had been looking forward to RadarOpus releasing an application for Android device and I was happy to see the first ver finally appear this year (2015). The is reasonable, and it's able to do more than I had expected, although we cannot combine rubrics, or do other fancy stuff... yet! I was able to send my repertorization to my desktop and upload it on my RadarOpus, and there I can do what I want. But the simplicity works for me. It's simple to use, simple to add or erase rubrics, browse through pages (though only one rubric at a time if they're large...). But the fast access to the Synthesis, while on the go is what I really wanted and what I've got! Thank you! Now, I'm just wondering if this ver works with Android device 5.0 OS? I'm delaying upgrading until I keep confirmation from you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis English [App]  2019-1-21 21:15

    It confirms email of the rubric and remedies list sent, but they never arrive. Not in junk email. Tried reinstalling app. Also sent you an email about a missing rubric.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis Mobile [App]  2018-5-18 21:6

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis Mobile [App]  2018-5-18 21:6

    Works amazing It's a bit short on features so far, but everything implemented has been top notch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis English [App]  2019-1-21 21:15

    Essential for any homeopath Works very well. Allows searching of the repertory and easy (sum of symptoms and degrees) analysis. This can be sent to your email as a .PDF with the remedies for each rubric. Very handy. Supports full case analysis. Worth the price. Sadly will only run on one device per licence though (so you couldn't have this on your phone and smartphone at the same time it seems). Well done to the team, add more repretorising functions and synonym suggestions and you have the best application ever made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis Mobile [App]  2018-5-18 21:6

    Finally a Droid ver related to iPhone's Thank you very much for this much required update, now the application feels and act like the web ver and like the one on iPhone's. Thank you for listening to our request too, it shows you guys care and that are looking for ways to improve. Im satisfied with the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Synthesis English [App]  2019-1-21 21:15

    Current:pls give case saving function in your app. Old:I reinstalled after a factory reset, all my bookmarks were gone, I have my application and data on sdcard. It's a primary thing in any application that it either reuses earlier data or asks to import data. For e. g. whatsapp. Even Hompath FireFly keeps all the data safe on cloud and its only 1500 rupees with dozens of features. even shifa saves the cases and data. Why u have the issue in giving feature of case saving. I've large and I obtain repertory with primary functions only and no regular feature updates. Really very disappointed with this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    It was better for me to a online copy of text book rather than to the hard copy . I need this book for DNP program . I travel a lot and need access to my books this is a excellent solution . This book is perfect as it will support me with understand how to do my final project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    This book has absolutely no page numbers in it and, while this would normally not be an issue, I have to reference the citations in APA for a class that I'm taking. Why is it that kindle books do not have page numbers for the corresponding physical copy?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    It is a bit of a "dry read" but it is loaded with amazing info. Required for a research class, go figure (pun intended), and it wound up being very useful. I want there were a few more examples though...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    I feel like this book is unorganized and all over the put with material. Also, the authors do not clearly define certain terms which would support students fresh to research class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    Nothing can beat the prime delivery service Amazon renders. I am a huge fan of Amazon Prime

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    The reading is quite dry, but it is a text on nursing research. It was needed for a graduate nursing course and meets my expectations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    I rented used came without any missing pages. Looked reasonably used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    Unlike the latest Kindle textbook I ordered, this one does not let me to see which page I am reading (which page it corresponds to in the physical book).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    I didn't like the course in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research - E-Book: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence []  2020-1-11 20:6

    Shipping was quick and exactly what I required for this course

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Very interesting method to evaluate school-wide and student-based data. Reader will need a grasp of primary statistical analysis. Hattie presents material very well and will challenge the reader to do deeper thought about data.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    The most meaningful collection of meta- analysis in education. Provides a clear indication of the most (and least) necessary factors in education. A must read book for all K-12 educators and administrators.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chemistry of Plant Natural Products: Stereochemistry, Conformation, Synthesis, Biology, and Medicine []  2020-1-22 20:51

    I received a volume 1 edition.Which means I only have the first 624 pages. And no second volume has ever been published. But a complete 1180 pg book on the topic is what I ordered, and is advertised...Half anticipating to be told that they are out of complete volumes, upon returning this. Updated review:I returned the volume 1 they sent me... and I recieved a volume 2 today.I searched for a volume 2 before, and none existed.... So I looked further into it, and it is supposed to be a compendium of information. Not separated into two separate volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    There is an enormous amount of published educational research available, and it seems to help just about everyone's point of view. Hattie has done a lot of work gathering and summarising data to produce this book, which attempts to compare a huge number of various ideas on an even footing. Aggregating research about education and turning it into actionable knowledge is really challenging, and the kind of project Hattie has undertaken is something very important. However, a number of problems hold it from being particularly ere appears to have been no consideration of data quality or causality while putting the research together. Data quality is clearly an problem - the average result size in all the interventions identified by Hattie is 0.4. It is highly implausible that trying anything at all will effect in an expected improvement of 0.4 standard deviations when state & national average results barely change at all, and when they do they go down as often as they go up. Not attempting to with this leaves a reader to their own devices to guess what may or may not be relied usality is also very important. Students' expectations of their own grades are highly predictive, and this is accorded one of the biggest "effect sizes" in the work. However, this is of small importance to teachers, because it is not the case that students' expectations are a major cause of their success or lack thereof - it's mostly the case that students, being smart people with access to a lot of info about their ability, motivation and the challenges of the curriculum, are able to create accurate predictions of their success in it. While this may be nice to know, and there may be a little causal component to student expectations, making no distinction between causal effects and things that just happen to be associated with success again leaves the reader to guess as to which things might actually be amazing ideas to ly, Hattie's written summaries are poor. There are few explanations of what went on in the studies that create up the data summarised and fewer connections from these studies to Hattie's grand theories of educations. Under the heading of "feedback", coming with one of the biggest result sizes identified, Hattie explains that he spend a long time misunderstanding feedback until he realised feedback from students to teachers was important. Why is he confused about the difference between teacher->student and student->teacher feedback? Why are they collected under the same heading? Most importantly, how does this support me work out how to incorporate more effective feedback into my classes... should I be spending most of my time on surveys?Overall, it is a amazing concept, but I didn't actually obtain much from reading it. I think the Education Endowment Foundation's Teaching and Learning Toolkit is a much better execution of the same idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Amazing content, but entire CHAPTER 8 is missing from the book. It jumps from p.126 to p. 159. Ironically, this was the chapter I was most interested in reading. Hope it's the only book like that and not the whole batch. Buyer beware!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    This is a super metaresearch book on almost any educational topic. It shows the metrics for almost any subject and what we currently know in research. As an Ed.D. student, this is a amazing primer for almost any subject in research. It a amazing jump-off point of showing seminal researchers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Let's take the guessing android game out of what's working; challenge what we are doing; and recognize that some tactics just work for us because of our commitment to the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    A book whose time has is is a detailed contribution to the educators library, on the necessary theme- what affects educational outcomes for our students. Given the size and detail, it is best suited to the educated professional, but is also accessible enough for the educated reader - though having small opportunity to affect any change may prove e book is broken down into sections looking at the various influences on outcomes such as the influence from home, school reforms, principal, and teacher and teaching practices etc. Within these sections all the influences are assessed using a statistical comparison called 'effect size'. This aims to be a common scale on which to measure effectiveness- a nice speedometer type graphic is used to indicate the rating for each ink sending a kid to an 'elite' kid will turn them into a rhodes scholar?Think keeping a kid down a grade if they are not progressing is a amazing idea?Think the lauded 'direct instruction' technique is chalk, talk and worksheets?Read on and see what the current evidence indicates- and it is not always what we wish to teably most influences are positive- but the aim of the work is to search out what has a significant influence so that efforts can be created on practices that are more effective. In contrast to one of the other reviewers - there are some questions that are not answered in this book - namely which interventions work best with which types of students? It is amazing to know what 'on average' is more effective, but this is qualified by the fact that each intervention varies in effectiveness in various studies. This variance should be a source of further study so that we can know which tactic to use and when it is most appropriate to use e other problem that is not acknowledged by some reviewers here is that the measure of success in this type of study is purely academic - did they learn more content or skills than at the beginning and in contrast to a control group. What it also does not tell us about are the other outcomes that are necessary too - were the students more engaged in their learning, did they become better learners, did they learn other (real world) skills that are useful, and did they learn to obtain along and work together better? These are all necessary outcomes that young people arguably need to learn to survive in a quick changing, modern e other qualifier I would need to add is that some areas- such as the effective use of technology are largely dependent on the skill of teachers to design instructional practices that are complimentary and sophisticated enough to be effective. Currently teacher capacity in this zone is still emerging and so the results here I would have to conclude are tentative, or at least begin for review. The more latest works of Robert Marzano have shown far more promise in this area- particularly for interactive white with all strategies, procedures or practices - no two practitioners, classrooms or school communities are alike and the research evidence presented by the late Graham Nuthall in "The Hidden Lives of Learners' indicated that a amazing educator continually modifies and adapts 'what works' at the chalkface every day. This would then be a qualifying consideration when analyzing the book. Hattie himself lists others including; the cost of the intervention, and from memory I think the complexity of implementation is also discussed. So don't use the work as a recipe book for state intervention in schools!Overall an extremely informative book - sorts the wheat from the chaff, but must be read critically and in concert with other books from authors such as Marzano and Nuthall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    This book is packed with statistical analysis of different practices in the education system. It was eye opening to see that some of the practices we are using have a negative or moderate impact on students -based on the e only reason I gave the book four stars is due to the fact my book came with two chapter 7s and no chapter 8. I’ve missed the return date so if you’re not planning to read it right away you might flip through to create sure you have all of the chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Visible Learning: A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analyses Relating to Achievement []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Brand fresh book. Fast shipment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chemistry of Plant Natural Products: Stereochemistry, Conformation, Synthesis, Biology, and Medicine []  2020-1-22 20:51

    Perfect book. Thank you very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    First off this android game is great. Unlike a lot of other android games in this genre hat claim to be free, this one actually is with the ability to watch ads to unblock the more premium content. I finished the first story in about 2 days and can’t wait for more to be released. There are a few problems though. The rating should definitely be T as there is more suggestive content than a 4+ should be hearing. Also, can high schoolers drink? At the party my hero was offered a cocktail and there was nothing about that. Altogether this is a amazing android game and I can’t wait until the next story comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    Sooooo u guys are telling me there is only 1 book?but actually really good!I love all the characters and I bet the 2nd book (MAYBE)there would be u and the person that u like with ur en the third book will be when ur children r in high is book comes from amazing of the awesomeness! ❤️❤️❤️!By he method I think it’s a small bit inappropriate for those who have 567!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    I LOVE interactive stories but I don’t have to choose the premium choices. Being able to obtain the premium options and you play chapters by watching adds is excellent for people who don’t have additional lying around. Yes the English isn’t excellent but you can figure it out and play it over and over and use all the various options and still have the same amazing outcome! I love it!! For developer - I just wanted to say I LOVE this android game and really hope y’all can come out with more books! The option to watch ads makes it where even people without additional can play and have fun all the options. Thank you so much and again I really hope y’all will release more stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    I downloaded this due to my love for story android games with choices that affect the game. I am glad to say I’m satisfied playing this. To the point I’ve played it 3 times just to see all the romance options haha. Only problem I have is now that I’ve finished will there be more? Will this be a single story app? Hope it’s either a lot of various stories or a continuation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    They are not very telling of this awesome story! While you have to options to and use diamonds for premium content, it also gives you the option to watch an ad instead! Your choices don’t go unremembered and definitely affects the android games outcome. Definitely better than chapters, Choices, or Chapters apps. I can’t wait for the next one to come out! I’ve already preordered it (it was too, just like this one)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    I’m beautiful sure this android game is clickbait, but it’s actually a really amazing game. I like the various options of hair, your appearance, your clothes, and the choices. But I don’t like it costs like 30 Gems just to create the story a small different. But I do really like that instead of using up Gems, you can watch an ad, which is totally worth the at least 30 seconds or less ad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    I absolutely loved this game, and I can’t believe it’s over. I just got so invested into the story. I definitely recommend this android game for anyone who enjoys episode, choices or chapters but have just read all the amazing stories already. Please bring more content into this game! I’m going to die waiting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    I don’t dislike ANYTHING about the game, but I just want that there would be more stories.... the first story with Moonlake was the best story that I have ever read. And I’ve read a lot. Please create more stories, I wanna hold reading! Overall, this is, no lie, the best android game I have ever played in my life, and is really addicting! ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets: Game of Choices [App]  2019-6-4 13:48

    This has got to be one of the best choice android game apps I have seen. The art and graphics for it are nice, the stories are fun and intriguing, the dozens is enough that you can easily ruin your life with. The story series are slim compared to some related apps, but each one has different hero routes you can do and each hero has unique additional stories. To obtain the 'better' options it takes hearts, which you can't obtain easily for free, but you obtain tickets every two hours. With that, the options don't seem to be 'bad' options that will give you a poor end either, which is SUPER nice. I hate that apps like chapterss create you choose the worser option if you don't wish to place that much into reading a visual novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    This book includes the exact info I have looking for, for months I've been wanting to have a copy of the book " The Secret " and finally I got it in this app. Just started reading and and my life is already filled with enough positive energy. Huge thank you to the developer...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    Amazing collection of famous books in one App. review edit Now application is getting crash every time I tries to begin any book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    Will give a better review when Im done checking all the features... For now though it look amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    best application ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    It's amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    Have fun reading! The most I like, it is rich dad's lessons

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of rich people [App]  2019-8-3 13:32

    Very interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the Book [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    Cute book, had the audible version. Perfect reading, entertaining would highly recommend for 7-13 year olds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the Book [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    This book was amazing!I love history so this book was excellent for me. For anyone who loves history,this is the book for you!I would consider this book to be very helpful about studying history.I'm definitely reading more Erin Fry books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the Book [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    it's a amazing thrilling bookthe main characters are also very interesting as well.hey should create a film of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    7 Secrets of Persuasion [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    This is one of the best books I've read in terms of understanding how the mind functions and its app to marketing. I listened to it on Audiobooks first and then ordered it to highlight certain parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    7 Secrets of Persuasion [Book]  2018-2-22 18:0

    Captivating info that can be utilized by anyone for any reason! Can't wait to place into action.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets Of Edward Leedskalnin []  2019-12-24 19:50

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets Of Edward Leedskalnin []  2019-12-24 19:50

    Very interesting theories. But falls short of doing any experiments himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of ch'i kung []  2020-1-8 19:2

    I have read this book 2 times and I think it's absolutely great. As a former martial arts student, I learned so much and learned even more the 2nd time I read it. Tony knows what he's talking about and his passion is clear through out. I recommend this book to anyone because I believe you will search it hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of ch'i kung []  2020-1-8 19:2

    I liked this book ALOT. Okay? In fact, I'm going to read it over and over again, as it seems to be filled with truly eye opening stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of ch'i kung []  2020-1-8 19:2

    This book drew me in the min I started reading it. Although I'm a Martial Arts novice, I found the book was very well laid out and simple to read, which created a fresh and slightly difficult topic, much easier for me to navigate. Tony Salvitti's passion drips from every page. You can tell the Author is speaking of what he knows. Well done Tony. Amazing job. Hold up the amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Secrets []  2020-1-22 2:17

    I had this long ago but it got destroyed by a nosy baby(mine) and didn't think I'd ever be able to search it again, BUT here I am reviewing it years later. I had forgotten just how unbelievable Loreena's voice was and how she manages to incorporate true stories of true cultures and peoples into her music. Saw her once on television and she really takes alot of time and genuine effort studying and researching before she just pops another song out there hoping that everybody who's on her band wagon will continue to buy. Her melody IS NOT like alot of so called stars today, she is quite a special individual with such an awesome voice, my husband even likes alot of the melody on this and was thrilled I found it here. The Murmmers Dance is soothing and enchanting, while Marco Polo is slightly seductive sounding. Enough so that I have been using it to belly dance. I can't say that I have any complaints of her melody and it's not all just one boring style either, it is a small bit of this and that and enough to obtain you hooked. If you've never heard melody varity in an artist you will with this cd and you'll be glad you did. You might even become a Loreena McKennitt junkie. I didn't know she had so a lot of albums til I found this here on Amazon(great work guys!) you opened my eyes. I got this quick and in mint condition and I search that I so much here cause I haven't had a poor experience and the vendors are great. Thanks to you all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Secrets []  2020-1-22 2:17

    Loreena McKinnitt has emerged with another unbelievable addition to her canon of music. I am quickly becoming engrossed w/her cultured and tasteful musical of the nice features of her CDs are the footnotes that detail the "behind the scenes" framework of her inspirations. McKinnitt utilizes, among other things, the different personages, intimate experiences, extensive travel around the world as well as her considerable erudition as the impetus for her craft. Unlike most musicians (or pseudo-musicians, as the case may be) there is truly a profound story behind each & every one of her Kinnitt introduces a fusion of diverse musical and styles into her art. One may hear elements of the chorale, Gregorian Chant and folk songs (among other things) within her music. All contribute to enrich her special sound. In "Dante's Prayer" one may even hear thematic (textual, not musical) overtones of Mozart's "Requiem."As with her other albums, I would highly recommend this CD to anyone looking for something non-mainstream and of elevated musical quality. It works well for both those who can already pick up on her allusions, as well as those who have the desire to. So go out and pick up this compact disk and allow yourself in on a too-well-kept secret....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stravaganza: City of Secrets []  2020-1-20 19:26

    I love this whole series!!!! I want they would create a film out of them! (movies...like Harry Potter series)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Ayurvedic Massage []  2020-2-1 23:55

    thank you! Very pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of Screen Acting []  2020-1-17 21:10

    The best book for screen acting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    A brilliant story as always. You write nothing but the best. I know you say this is a stand-alone but the method you write always leaves us wanting more of your characters. I would say Not good Vanna but I really feel for Jace. Amazing job!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cave of Secrets []  2020-1-22 21:38

    These used books, costing next to nothing, are the PERFECT bonus for any incarcerated person you might know .... They will be devoured by an ever-so-grateful recipient, as it carries them outside the walls and into a globe of imagination and fun. Next time you're in touch with that person, ask him/her what kinds of books they'd have fun reading, then spend a coupla bucks - it will create a globe of difference for them, and you'll feel amazing too. Don't allow these books just sit on a shelf somewhere, when they can do so much good. Most jails and prisons will not accept books from you, only from legitimate booksellers direct, so please consider doing something like this, whenever you can afford to spend around 5 bucks total!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cave of Secrets []  2020-1-22 21:38

    My only complaint is that ended abruptly. Otherwise, I enjoyed being faced with the moral dilemmas I similar to and learned from. Always well written by Llyewellan and felt completely immersed in time period and culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Wowiiie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    This fresh ver is terrible, looks really ugly because of colours, that white-gray is too depressive! , please give us back the previous version!!! It was wonderful perfect!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Nice SMS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Ngikutin Line

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Love trees and grass and apples and frogs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Why are you guys always behind cartoons...develop korean girls themes..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Secrets [App]  2020-2-5 13:38

    Forest of secret

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386