secrets of the vine for teens Reviews & Opinions


Submit secrets of the vine for teens review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    Reading Osho is reading poetry. It is a sheer joy. The method he interrelates and marries opposite forces in this dualistic universe is a work of art. At once a genius in the learned scholarly realm of info and a mystic of the deepest existential mysteries, Osho himself is a marriage of dualities which makes him so appealing to people of all ages and backgrounds. His work will continue to arouse and inspire people for centuries. So long as there is an interest in knowing, whether in the higher intellectual pursuits of the outside world, or the inner workings of the soul, Osho has a method of capturing one's attention and fascination. What he does from there is the work of a real Master. What he gives you with one hand, he takes away with the other. By and by listening to Osho, he leaves you utterly naked, standing on nothing but your own innermost emptiness - the real function of a buddha. 5 stars for Osho!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    This book was recommended by my taiji teacher, who doesn't recommend very a lot of books (4 in 10 years). I've been a student of taoism, zen, yoga, and meditation for over 20 years, and this is an perfect synthesis of the wisdom of these paths. I want I had found it decades ago, if I could have understood it, I might not have taken so long to value the teachings as I do today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    I am not a HUGE reader of Osho by any means, but I search that about once a year I am grabbed by some of his works/teachings and quickly search myself enjoying the wisdom and true life obtain a chapter of his teachings, and then a chapter of questions asked by his students and answered by Him, off and on throughout the whole book. I particularly enjoyed the question and respond chapters, because he answers such a wide dozens of questions, from students asking about clarifications, or opinions from osho of what happens to us when we die. To a student outright saying that what he is teaching is all Bull&^%!. Which osho handles in his typical no nonsense candor.Osho has a huge following and the fact that he does not ascribe to one religious tradition, but yet draws from them all even the abrahamic, and spins wisdom from such a vast point of view, I search his point of views and teachings to be constantly a breath of new is being said though, there are some things which Osho states within most his works, which you may search offensive, and at times he does contradict himself. Which he openly admits throughout this work, and the ones of his which I have read. But this side of things is saved by the times he really hits the nail on the om those I have talked to about osho, it seems that a lot of either love him or hate him. I have heard a lot of say that they could not follow his style of writing, and it is a bit, strange, but this is also because all of his books are verbal lessons which have been place into writing. So the text reads like someone speaking to you directly, which is how these lessons were originally given. Though I have always found that after reading the first 20 or 30 pages this disorientation with the writing goes away and you obtain used to it!If you are just starting out with Osho, I would suggest you begin with a shorter bit of work from him, because this book is dense both in page count and in topic. But not so dense, that if you are feeling brave you won't understand what he is talking about. But I would suggest being familiar with at least one of his other, shorter works first; you will obtain a lot more out of this unbelievable book!The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars, was that it was a bit long, I know some of you are going, "Come on this is Osho we are talking about here, the man gave thousands of hours of lectures and Q&A's" and I agree, and I don't know how you would pair this down, quite honestly, I don't think it should be, but it got to be a bit of a labor in the latest 100 pages or so to finish.Overall a unbelievable book and amazing widsom from a one of a kind, and marvelous far as my recommendation of starting with his "smaller" works, you will search on Amazon, that a lot of of his books have (OSHO Classics, or OSHO Life essentials) after the initial title, any of these books which may peak your interest would be a amazing put to first familiarize yourself with his teachings!Great book! I highly recommend it!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on secrets of the vine for teens or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch secrets of the vine for teens video reviews and related movies:

    See Kids Tell Their Parents A Long-Held Secret on youtube.

     related image

    See Top 10 Vine Stars: Where Are They Now? on youtube.

     related image

    See The Vine and the Branches | John 15:1-15 on youtube.

     related image

    See Why Kids Have it Better than Teens on Christmas (w/ Meredith Foster) | Brent Rivera on youtube.

     related image

    See Maddie and Mackenzie Ziegler Share the Sweetest Sister Moment You've Ever Seen | Teen Vogue on youtube.

     related image

    See Christmas as a Little Kid VS Now | Brent Rivera on youtube.

     related image

    See 5 SIGNS A BOY WANTS YOU TO KISS HIM (w/ MyLifeAsEva) | Brent Rivera on youtube.

     related image

    See The Truth About Being A Girl on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    For me, OSHO is truly the master of masters. I read dozens and dozens of spiritual books. Ramana. Nisargadatta. Papaji. The Gita. Adyashanti. Mooji. Ram @#$%. Anthony De Mello. GangaJi. And a lot of more. I love all of them.But nobody tops OSHO. I have Over 200 of his books and transcripts of his talks. Yes. 200. I’ve probably read about 20 or 30 of them. And they’ve beautiful much all blown my mind. His range, depth and volume of work are, as far as I’ve seen, of the meditations in The Book of Secrets gave me a globe shattering experience. I keep that book near and dear to my heart.But this book. The golden flower. That’s the one that got me Off my a** to write my first review on any of his books. It’s blowing my mind over and over. It’s that e book is huge, but I search it perfectly balanced and immensely enjoyable to ere are some locations where you have to work a bit. Other locations feel like he’s talking about very modern, familiar situations as if the book came out latest year. And in those locations the prose is simple breezy but the magical lessons dance off the page like lighting bolts to your brain. All in all it’s as fun to read as it is mind shattering. You almost feel like you’re right there in the room with though I basically enjoyed it from the jump, it really started humming after a couple hundred pages.I’m only on page 282 (out of 688), but this book is so amazing I was compelled by the universe to stop and write this e book covers so a lot of subjects as OHSO answers questions from his sanyasins with breathtaking brilliance. Alternating between a chapter of Q&A and then a chapter of his truly masterful interpretation of the ancient text of the Tao, the Secret of the Golden Flower, he builds from esoteric principles to practical magic you can perform in your everyday life.Hopefully this review reaches another seeking soul or two and helps them search this book to be the next right step on their journey. For me, it’s already deepened my understanding to unimaginable depths and helped me continue to allow my flower bloom.While the Physical size of the book is a bit unwieldy when trying to ride the bike at the gym, I don’t wish this ride to end.Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    OSHO is a phenomenal teacher, he shares the ancient wisdom with experiences and true life examples which to me is the most essential component of any type of teaching. If you are a amazing teacher you should be able to explain complex concepts in easy layman terms and this book accomplishes that. 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    I am enjoying the book so far. It is rear in the current era to hear such an authentic voice and read the true thing. He had his unique ways to look at things. I read the Chinese Secret of the Golden Flower and I knew it was a meditation tutorial book. Oho had extended the idea and expanded it. I like his ideas. The only thing I am a small frustrated is that this book is too long and I felt it would take forever to finish reading it. All in all, it is a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    Greatest

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    He is the best, motivating and inspiring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    Sheds light on "The Secret of the Golden Flower."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of the Golden Flower review []  2020-1-6 18:43

    Amazing resource book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    We ordered this for my 12 year old - but as I thumbed through it, I realized that some of the subjects covering pornography and other sexual matters that he is not ready for. I will hold it for when he is older, but I'm not ready to expose him to all-things-teen just yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    After reading several reviews, I was hesitant to obtain this, but as it is along what I have been looking for as bonus for my teen nephews, I decided to obtain it, look throughout the book myself first and if I didn't like it I would seek another book. However, I am glad I did purchase this one and will not be seeking a various book at this plaints I see are the text not being black versus the white/offwhite pages. However, the text is a gold sepia color and can easily be seen on the pages with appropriate lighting. This text colour has been used a lot of times in older cookbooks and some other older books..if you have seen a photograph done in sepia/white colors the text is just a smidge more golden, but not at all difficult,to see and/or read. Especially with appropriate and/or sufficient lighting for ones reading e other most common complaint I found was that the devotion days aren't numbered. While this is true, the pages are numbered at the bottom. Regardless of being numbered or not the easy fix to that is to use a bookmark, maybe one of the magnetic ones that flags that specific page you left off nce this book is a gift, I have read through some of the devotions and believe this will be perfect for my older teen nephews ages 14 and 16 (especially given the climate of worldliness they are exposed to in school, home, social circles, and internet.)This is an perfect purchase and since I purchased one to create sure it was the right fit for both boys, I will be making another purchase of this book for my other nephew.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    so helpful for teens ...they hear how to break through their pain and doubts by others who have lived through what they are feeling and experiencing. Buy one for any teen who is hiding their pain or experiencing bulling and wondering how to trusy God and create changes and have hope!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    I am a mom in her 40's, so this book is not written for me. But when I wish to read it with my children I really struggle with the very light print. My eyesight is not great, I will admit. This is a unbelievable devotional and I highly recommend it for tweens and teens. But I think they should have used a darker print. There is no reason for it to be so difficult to read. I am thinking even the target audience might struggle to read it if they were not in a well-light room or had vision issues. Don't allow this stop you from buying it, just be prepared!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    We are really enjoying this devotional together (my 13 year old son and I). My only comment is that this book is printed in yellow, which makes it very difficult to read. I search myself stumbling because I can not see the print clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    We just received these today. I ordered two copies so my teen sons could go through them together and write in their copies if they wanted. The print is the color of the edge of the cover, which may create it harder for some people to so, the pages are not dated. There is a page with the name of each month that I assume is for the first day of that month but otherwise, if you miss a day you have to manually go through counting from that page (which isn't marked in a table of contents, either) and obtain to the day's date. I really want they'd included the date on each page as that would create it easier to hold track but the subjects seem relevant and diverse.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    This is a very cool bonus for a young man in your life. Excellent for Confirmation or Graduation. This really appealed to my 14 year old son and gave him something that he could relate to for a religious celebration

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    very nice.i bought this for my 15 yr old.. i like that the lessons are version relatable for him and not over his head. they are true problems and true solutions

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    The beige print is not as poor as some reviewers say. These are amazing devotionals for the targeted age group, whose eyes are still young enough to read the yellowish text. Not goofy or patronizing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Guys for Teen Guys review []  2020-1-16 11:11

    My son really like this devotional. I really hope he enjoys reading it since it is by Teen Guys for Teen Guys... It looks like something that will be simple for him to understand but also relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    I bought this book as a confirmation bonus for a 13 year old girl and when I looked in the book and read some of the devotions, I did not feel that some of the subjects were appropriate for young teens (i.e. sex, drugs, alcohol, homosexuality, etc.). Don't misunderstand me - I believe these subjects should be DISCUSSED with young teens, but I do not think it is appropriate to hand them a book with a 2 - 3 paragraph devotion on these topics, without any follow-up discussion. I ended up not giving her this book and, instead, gave her a Bible for teen girls!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    This is the one! Pick this one! I read all of the reviews from several teen girl devos and I did some google searching to search excerpts/sample pages. This devo addresses difficult subjects that we may not think are appropriate for young teenagers, but unless your kids are home-schooled, do not watch TV, and never have unsupervised social interaction (even at church), then your kids are already dealing with these problems and they need this book to support them learn and live the only perspective that matters on any issue, God's! My niece saw me (when I dropped my daughter off at school this AM) and with this book in her hand and her finger inside it marking her spot, she yelled out to me, "THANK YOU for my devotional, Aunt Jessi!!!"Also, because it is written by teens, I think the readers feel like it is even more relatable to their own lives. The scriptures - the Bread of Life, and the stories within these pages, are just what the teenage girls in in our lives need to support them draw close to Him and have a joyful life even in the midst of the storms of adolescence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    I like this book a lot. Being a teenager it really does give some comfort to some of the issues we face. I do want the day to day things were a bit longer since they're only one short page. But I create it longer by reading the page the reading the chapter the bible verse they use comes from.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    This book is even better than I had anticipated it would be. The stories are deeply relatable for my 11-year-old daughter. She keeps it at her bedside and won’t go to sleep without reading it. She says that the info has provided useful insight regarding her maturing thoughts and feelings. She especially appreciates that it is written by her age group so that she can connect with it on a more private level. This is a fabulous book of comfort and guidance for every teenager or preteen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    Bought this for my 12-year-old niece who was recently baptized. It's a attractive book with relevant subjects for teen girls and what they face each day out in the world. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    I bought this for my 12 year old granddaughter and gave it as a Christmas gift. When she opened it, I pointed out that it was "for teens, written by teens", so she started browsing through it. Very shortly thereafter, she came over and hugged me, almost crying, saying that she had just read a devotion and it was so great! She got MUCH more expensive stuff that she asked for, but THIS is the one she seemed to care about the most!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    This everyday devotional book was in my 17 yr old daughter birthday want list. In this day & age is not a main priority for the teens to desire a everyday devotion with scripture to read, so if they have an interest I am going to buy it. She loves the book & reads it along with her Bible everyday. The teens needs all the support & encourgement they can obtain now days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    We have the girls and guys ver for our 10 kids! Love it and our teenagers completely relate to the everyday devotionals. Our children do this every morning before they come down for breakfast. Well written and such an encouragement that they are written by other like minded teens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    Super quick service. 16-year-old daughter uses this for her devotionals and truly enjoys. We are enjoying watching her as she transforms through what can be some very difficult years. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen to Teen: 365 Daily Devotions by Teen Girls for Teen Girls review []  2020-1-22 1:5

    This was purchased for my 14 year old daughter who asked for a devotional book of her own. It doesn't have dates in it like most devotionals I've owned, but there are 365 devotionals in it. Each devotion has scripture that goes along with an explanation, story, life experience, etc relating to that scripture written by other teen girls from all over the country of different ages. I love that the writings are by other Christian teen girls. The devotions are very simple for my daughter to understand because it's like hearing her peers explaining what they think about that scripture. This is necessary (in my opinion) for young Christians or young people seeking a relationship with Christ. I'm purchasing this item again today because my older daughter (17 yrs old) really likes it and requested one. Now my girls can do their everyday devotionals together! I highly recommend this to anyone who has a young lady in their life who wants to have a closer relationship with Christ or who you wish to encourage to have that relationship. I would say this is for a wide dozens of ages of girls - depending on their understanding/knowledge of Scripture OR if they have someone they can ask questions if they don't understand. My daughter has had no issue understanding this devotional at all. We do look up the scripture in her Bible each day and read it there as well. That is the main time she has questions or may need a deeper explanation which I am more than satisfied to do and share that time together. In my opinion I would say the book could be for a girl who is 11 or 12 years old and up. She may need some explanation of Scripture, but the devotions written are so simple to understand. My daughters think the book is also very "pretty". It is hardcover, but it's a soft hardcover. Not like cardboard. I couldn't be happier with my purchase & highly recommend this to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    This is the same notice and teaching as the original, adult book of, "The Secret," ...only spoken in a mildly more youthful manner. I found out that it was amazing for ME, a middle-aged man, to have a slightly various approach or teaching on this notice on the Law of Attraction to fill out the notice for me, presented in the first book! I took advantage of listening to it, for myself, before I sent it on to it's intended recipient, my 13 year old nephew! Everything feels amazing and natural about these teachings!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    I think it could and would support any troubled teen if you just obtain them to listen to it. In my case that didn't work. Got it for my mates daughter who is 14 and out-of-controll. But I don't believe she ever listen to the CDs. It is exactly like the Secret CDs for grown-ups except it uses the right language and examples for a teenagers life. Want I would have had that advise myself when I was that young. You can bring the water to the horse but you can not force it to take a bath... Amazing Luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    Amazing positive book for my 13 year old boy. When reading he would come down each night and practice philosophies and approaches he learned in the book. Highly recommend for girl or boy 10-13.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    I know the original book well an this one is the best for teens. I loved it myself before I gave it to my grand children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    I sent this to my nephew and bet him he wouldn't read it and do what it said. He took the bet and as turned his life around. It's still a work in progress but his life is getting better and better each day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    Terrific book. Bought it for my 10 going on 11 year old grandchild and I'm reading it 1st. I like very much how it is written and place together. Would recommend to other pre-teenies as well as young teens especially in middle school. Gives amazing insight and information on making decisions and finding focus in like, even adults! Love it. My grandchild will be visiting soon and I will be making it a point for us to read it together and have mini discussions on what is being read. I'm very happy with this book also becuz it is very spiritual centered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    This is uplifting to young teens experiencing a fresh chapter in life. I bought it for my step daughter who is entering high school in August and dealing with some life changing issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    Im a Guidance Counselor. I love the notice behind The Secret. I bought this book for a couple of my selected Middle School Students to read. It seems like an simple method for a younger student to obtain the notice about The Secret since the original book, The Secret, is written more for adults. It is a fast read for my better students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    This is a amazing ver of the secret for teens! Bought one for my daughter and gave another away to a mates kid!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret to Teen Power review []  2020-1-16 11:50

    Bought as a bonus for a struggling teenager, it's making a positive difference in their lifeKeeping the focus on the GOOD things in life, positive influenceVery motivating

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    This was an unbelievable memoir written by a transgender male student growing up in Oklahoma. For as young as the author is, he wrote incredibly eloquently and maturely on subjects of gender identity and sexuality. I appreciated how very clear he was throughout the book that not all transgender individuals pursue all or any of the same or related medical interventions as he or she is transitioning. His narrative is one of having always known that he identified as a boy/man. The author was permitted to start testosterone and have top surgery as a teenager and largely had full help of his family and a lot of friends. I believe the most interesting angle was his relationship with a transgender female, and how their relationship changed over time, partly due to her pursuit of gender reassignment surgery (bottom surgery) during their relationship. Of course, at times, the book got bogged down by normal teenage drama- as it should, since trans teens also expereince thes same interpersonal struggles that a cis kid experiences. As a point of reference, I am a cis female living in the Kansas and Missouri zone and am very familiar with a lot of of the areas referenced in this book. This book was very informative, even for myself, who works on legal problems impacting trans children. I shared this book with colleagues, as I believe everyone can learn something from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    I often refer to knowledge and resources as something my students might wish to add to their toolkit. This book is a poignant look at the raw, awkward, heart wrenching, and attractive parts of growing up. This teen memoir had cringe worthy parts that easily catapulted me back to my teenaged years! Those who journey with Arin will see he struggled just like most teens do with crushes, doing things because of obligation, making friends, losing friends, all while discovering himself. The only difference is Arin is transgender. Through this book Arin welcomes the reader into the unknown locations of transitioning from female to male. This book came highly recommended to me. I can’t believe it has taken so long to land in my hands! As a teacher, I required this look at those locations to fully understand how I might help my students and to be more understanding of those who don’t share my acceptance, love, and help for attractive people like Arin. I am so thankful he had the courage to share this story! I am also so glad that I have this attractive memoir to add to my aresonal of books in my toolkit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    I was a bit sad when I saw the truth between Arin and Katie in this book. *spoiler alert* I never thought Katie would be that kind of person, I've known about the 2 from method back when they first appeared on television and she just seemed like the nicest woman the globe had to offer. Don't judge a book by its cover. I really wish to read Katies book now wondering what her side of the story is.. Anyways end of spoiler, this perfectly protrays life as a teenage boy trapped in a girls body. There's some true emotional moments for sure so be prepared for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    What a unbelievable book about an awesome journey. Arin holds very small back and tells his story the method it is. He is an awesome young writer that you search yourself almost standing right beside as he goes through his life. It is an inspiring and educational ride through something that most of us have no idea or concept of what it could possibly be like and when you are finished you have a definite understanding and perspective that you had not had previously. I recommend this for everyone. Love. In the end guys, that is all that should matter. Just Love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    It was interesting reading about this. I wanted to know what it was like to be transgender from someone with actual experience, and I think the book broadened my perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    I work with young teens and this book was a recommendation of one of myStudents. Certainly opened my eyes to the struggles of transgender teens and the obstacles they face as they embark on their journeys to search their locations in this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    Gave as a gift. She enjoyed it very much. Amazing for a young child in transition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    As a psychiatric nurse practitioner I treat a lot of transgender teens. This helped me a better understanding of how they might be feeling. It was hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    This book has to be one of the most raw and private books I've read right beside Tweak by Nic Scheff. I couldn't recommend this book more highly. This book helped me figure out a lot of things about myself. It's a amazing read for those that are figuring out they're trans or for anyone who is trying to understand why your mate or family member is progressing through a transgender body. There were times where I laughed, cried, or even smiled. Obtain yourself a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen review []  2020-1-5 18:38

    There is humor and deeply compassionate writing here. I learned so much and realized how much I have yet to learn about the transgender experience. I am grateful to the author for this authentic sharing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Retire Before College: The Secrets and Methods of Teen Entrepreneurs review []  2020-1-19 21:8

    Just finished the first chapter and I am fired up!! Nathan breaks wealth creation down into easy terms and principals while offering specific stategies that create sense and you know they work! Just what he shares in the first chapter is enough to dramatically improve most people's bottom line. He quickly and efficiently introduces and teaches key tactics - no fluff. I especially appreciate how he somehow makes it seem like he's talking directly to me, and that he really cares about my success. He even shares a easy method to create 3 grand right away! I have peeked ahead and I can see this really is a solid and thorough tutorial that is as inspirational as it is informative. I'm ordering each of my sons a copy when I'm done writing this review, which is now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Retire Before College: The Secrets and Methods of Teen Entrepreneurs review []  2020-1-19 21:8

    This book is amazing! I want I were a young person to begin over again with this kind of guidance! Thank you , Nathan, I am sure you will change the lives of a lot of young people in this world!Anna H.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Retire Before College: The Secrets and Methods of Teen Entrepreneurs review []  2020-1-19 21:8

    This book, written by Nathan Sykes, is strong and is very various than the classic "guru" sales-y books that exist. He dives right in with the first couple of pages, there is no time wasted. I included my first takeaway from the book included in my review header. Nathan points out how necessary it is to both work for your cash and then in turn create that same cash work for you. This book has so much value that is provided to the reader and is a real must read for anyone that is a teen/young-adult and has the entrepreneur mindset!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Retire Before College: The Secrets and Methods of Teen Entrepreneurs review []  2020-1-19 21:8

    I have learned a lot from Nathan! His books and knowledge are inexpressable. Amazing book, love the layout and how you broke it down Nathan!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Retire Before College: The Secrets and Methods of Teen Entrepreneurs review []  2020-1-19 21:8

    Since there are no reviews, I'll obtain things rolling I guess. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    This was a blessing to read. This is a historical literature short story collection, showcasing LGBTQIAP+ characters. And all of the authors that contributed to this collection are LGBTQIAP+ and that is something that I don’t even have words for. I am forever thankful that Saundra Mitchell curated this, that Harlequin published this, and that children and teens everywhere are going to be able to pick this up and know that they are never alone and that they have never been alone, throughout ese stories also are set all over the world, even though the majority of them do take put in The United States. I do personally want that we had a small more variety, but the stories themselves are super necessary and I feel very privileged that I was able to read them. My only other minor complaint is that I also want that there was a pansexual character. I obtain no titles were used in a lot of of these stories, but I still want there were bigger tips and/or possibilities that would have personally created my pan heart private favorite was The Inferno & the Butterfly by Shaun David Hutchinson. It was so beautifully written, the messages were expertly woven in, and the characters are two that I won’t forget anytime soon. Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore and Every Shade of Red by Elliot Wake were super close to also being my favorite. And both of these stories are ones I will carry in my heart forever. And I truly believe, without a doubt, that these three short stories are worth the entire price of this anthology alone!I'm going to break down each short story with my thoughts, opinions, and individual star rating!➽ Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore - ★★★★★“I wanted them to know that I was my abuela’s granddaughter, that carried the blood of poison girls.”1870 Mexico - I want every anthology that I will ever read for the rest of my life started with a story by Anna-Marie McLemore. The beauty, the power, the magic in her words. It is something I can’t search words for, but it makes me feel everything. Absolutely everything. This story centers around an ownvoices Latinx main character, who is trying to obtain her trans lover out of jail. This story discusses trans problems and does it so well, and even though I am cis, I was still blown away at what this author was able to accomplish with this masterpiece of a short story. And the w/w romance in this is so awe-inspiring and just so heartwarming. I loved it. And I loved this so very much. There is also so much attractive magical realism in this, that deals with poison, and it has me super hyped to read more about it in Blanca y Roja this fall!➽ The Sweet Trade by Natalie C. Parker - ★★★“Clara Elizabeth Byrd had been married twice by the age of sixteen and she had decided she had no taste for it.”1717 USA, Virginia - I enjoyed this one, I just didn’t love this one. Clara is a runaway bride, who is sailing away for a getaway, when she comes across another girl that is running from the same future that neither one of them envision for themselves. Obviously a really cute w/w relationship blooms, and both girls have hopes and dreams of ruling the seas together as pirate queens disguised as kings. And this makes me excited to read this author’s LGBTQIAP+ pirate story, Seafire, this summer!➽ And They Don’t Kiss At the End by Nilah Magruder - ★★★★“I like what I like and I don’t like what I don’t. I have nothing to apologize for.”1976 USA, Maryland - This was so smartly made for this anthology. From the title, to Pride & Prejudice, to skating, to the music, to the awesome rep; this was nothing but a joy to read. This was a bonus sent from above. This story features an ownvoices black main character, who is trying to figure out her sexual orientation, but she knows she’s on the ace spectrum. Hell, it’s hard enough for aro and ace children to figure out their sexual ID even in 2018, and in the 70s there isn’t even a name for it. But this was the sweetest story, that even created me shed a few tears. Also, there was the Filipino boy in this who was a confirmed cinnamon roll. But, please, I wish a full-length story of Dee!➽ Burnt Umber by Mackenzi Lee - ★★★★“I am the boy most accomplished at not becoming distracted by the first naked woman we draw. Which is something, I suppose.”1638 Netherlands, Amsterdam - Okay, this one was actually super funny. I was having a dang giggle while reading this one. And I felt like the main hero talked a lot like I would in his situation, and, Lord, support me, I loved it. This one stars a boy in a prestigious painting class and, from the quote above, you can probably tell what they’re painting next. There is minor bullying in this, and an necessary discussion on how risky coming out was back then (and still can be). But the story really gets started when the main characters crush is the next topic they are about to draw.➽ The Dresser & The Chambermaid by Robin Talley - ★★★“Susanna was accustomed to creeping about the palace in the @#$%!&[email protected]#$%!ngland, London, Kensington Palace - This wasn’t my favorite story in the anthology, but I loved the setting so much. At this point, I think Robin Talley is the queen of atmosphere, and she proves it again in this short story. This is about two girls who are both servants to a very demanding young princess. One has lived her entire life in the castle, and the other is brand fresh and needs the assistance of the other to know how the princess likes her hair. This is a cute w/w romance, and I’d love to read more. Also, this was super sex positive, and I always appreciate that!➽ Fresh Year by Malinda Lo - ★★★★“Tommy Andrews, the male impersonator, brings something various in nightclub entertainment…”1955 USA, California, San Francisco- This is a story about a (ownvoices) Chinese-American girl discovering who she is, and what her sexuality is, growing up in Chinatown. It also happens to be the Chinese Fresh Year, and someone catches her eye when they walk into her friend’s restaurant. And I need this full story now! Ahhh, especially with that ending! But this was a amazing read, even though it was romance free, and it discussed so a lot of necessary subjects about immigration, and deportation, and how badly we treat immigrants, even in 2018. It also was a very feminist and empowering short story, and I loved the author’s note at the end of this one. I desperately need to read more by Malinda Lo.➽ Molly’s Lips by Dahlia Adler - ★★“She’ll never love me like she loves a man she’ll never meet.”1994 USA, Washington, Seattle - This had everything that I should have loved. I love everything 90s, especially grunge music, and the entire aesthetic just seemed like something I’d enjoy, as morbid as that probably sounds. This is a story about two girls grieving the death of Kurt Cobain, in the put where grunge melody was born. And I loved the writing style, I just thought the story left a lot to be desired. I love me a amazing w/w best mates to lovers story, and I love the notice that melody truly has healing powers, but this one was just a bit boring for me. Which kind of breaks my heart, because I do really love Nirvana.➽ The Coven by Kate Scelsa - ★★“It was Gertrude Stein who first introduced us to the coven.”1920s France, Paris - This is about a girl grieving the loss of her brother and dealing with the depression that no doctor is able to diagnose. She then finds a coven with her girlfriend, that helps young girls like her. And I guess the w/w romance was cute, but this one just read so very boring for me personally.➽ Every Shade of Red by Elliot Wake - ★★★★★“If I must lie to the globe to be real to my heart, then I’ll lie. I’ll cheat, I’ll steal and I’ll do it with a smile. Love is the only higher power I respond to, and my love is no less for being chaste.”1300s England | - I thought this was going to be good, but it ended up being perfect. This is an amazing Robin Hood retelling. And Robin in this story is a trans boy, who is in love with our main protagonist, who ran away from a father that didn’t accept him. And this m/m romance had me swooning. Also, our main protagonist is hearing impaired and seeing him sign on page was something so magical to me. And the ending? I still feel absolutely gutted. But the heart of this story is about love; the love we have for others, but also the love that we must search in accepting ourselves for who we are. This was so brilliantly done and was honestly perfection in every way, and I loved it more than any combination of words I can come up with.➽ Willows by Scott Tracey - ★★“That is the secret to survival. Teach fear to those who taught you to be afraid.”1732 USA, Massachusetts | - This just didn’t work for me in the slightest. Maybe it was me and my reading comprehension, but this felt so incohesive to me and was super hard to follow. But it had witches in it? And being scared because of the method witches were dealt with back in the 1700s Massachusetts. But it was sort of like an exploration of a person that has been various people in various lives, while exploring gender, too. And in the end, they are in a relationship with a guy, and they run away together. But this just was so not for me in any way.➽ The Girl with the Blue Lantern by Tess Sharpe - ★★★★★“And I am yours […] always.”1839 USA, Northern California | - This was everything I wanted. This was whimsical, this was lyrical, and this was perfect. I would buy and read anything, and everything set in this world, and in those woods. Also, this is one of the few stories in the anthology that felt like a full story. This was beyond words good, and I had full body goosebumps at the very end of the story. This story centers around a young girl, with an abusive father, that lives in a city that fears going into the woods. Well, one day, after her dog escapes into said woods, the girl ventures in to search him and meets a girl who is not human (and there is no confirmation, but I wish to yell at you all “FAE GIRL!”) And I was so invested in this tale. And I was so into the friendship, turned into something more between these very various girls, who both bond over feeling alone. This is easily one of my favorites in this entire collection.➽ The Secret Life of a Teenage Boy by Alex Sanchez - ★★★★“…Ready to tell Mom and Dad the thing they already know.”1969 USA, Virginia | - This is about a boy who loves his family dearly but doesn’t know how to allow them know that he is not straight. Him and his sister are really close, which I love, because my brother has always and will always be my best friend. And one day, a vehicle breaks down outside their home, and our main hero spends time with the young driver, while waiting for someone to repair the vehicle. Okay, I really liked this one, because even though this was set twenty years before I was born, I still remember a lot of the homophobia that went on in this story. And just seeing this boy finally seeing someone that is satisfied and confident with their sexuality, and wanting to run away and be that too? That evoked some emotion from me. And this just felt like such accurate representation of all the thoughts you have when you’re young and discovering your sexuality (at least for me, personally) and I really enjoyed this one.➽ Walking After Midnight by Kody Keplinger - ★★★“I’m never gonna see the globe or do anything people will remember.”1952 USA, Fresh York | - This one was super adorable, I just didn’t fall in love with it the same method I did some of the other stories in this collection. This is about an actress, that is starting to feel past her prime, and she misses her train connection in a little town. A girl who is closing up a nearby diner see’s the girl and offers her somewhere to stay. This is a cute story about knowing your worth, and knowing what you wish from life, and not letting anyone tell you differently. Also, I believe the main hero could possibly be on the ace spectrum, so that’s amazing too! But I want we could have seen both of these characters a year from when they first met.➽ The End of the Globe As We Know It by Sara Farizan - ★★★★★“...to think that on the eve of the apocalypse, I’m wasting my latest hours watching Carson Daly in Times Square awkwardly burgeoning pop star Mandy Moore the most banal of questions.”1999 USA, Massachusetts, Boston | - You all, this one created me feel so… old… but so seen. Holy moly, so seen. Okay, I was a lot younger than the main protagonist in 1999, but I remember it. I was still in elementary school, but everyone was freaking out and I remember my parents being freaked out about the banks and them stocking up on bottled water and things like that! Also, me and my mates thought we were the absolute coolest, and we would always rush home after school to watch TRL, because we had to know if Blink 182 would actually beat Britney or Christina to number 1 that day. Also, this story mentions Aaliyah, who me and my best mate were obsessed with. Like, so obsessed with that she created it her daughter’s middle name when she was born a few years ago. And I also remember Matthew Shepard and what happened to him, and it being one of the first tragedies I actually remember happening. And it shook me, even as a small kid, to my very core. This is about a girl who is a senior in high school, and she is home on Fresh Year’s Eve with her parents. Well, until her best mate who she hasn’t spoken to recently comes over. And a cute w/w romance brews. TL;DR – I’m giving this five stars because 1.) I loved it with my whole heart, but 2.) this was my very early adolescence, and around the time I started to realize that I wasn’t straight, so this story just really spoke to me.➽ Three Witches by Tessa Gratton - ★★★★★“The ease with which s attractive girl can seduce Violante has been the core of her troubles all her life.”1519 Spain, Burgos, Castile | - Tessa Gratton is such a talented writer, and when I read her writing it feels truly like I’m reading art. This story is a bit of a darker one, because it’s about a girl in conversion therapy that is being administered by the Catholic church. And we obtain to see a relationship with our main character, Violante, and one of the nuns. This was powerful, this was haunting, and it truly is something I won’t be able to obtain out of my head. And I will always choose love, and I hope you all do too.➽ The Inferno & the Butterfly by Shaun David Hutchinson - ★★★★★“And it was in that moment that I understood what it meant to be loved.”1839 London | - The latest sentence of this story. God, I’m still weeping. This was such a masterpiece. I loved this with the sum of my entire being. This was the first thing I’ve ever read by Shaun David Hutchinson, and I promise it won’t be the last. This is a short story about two rivaling magician assistances, both learning to live with the pain from their pasts. Their paths cross, and they begin to see that life doesn’t have to be all pain, and that everyone is worthy of love. I wish more. No, I need more. I feel so in love with this world, this magic, and these two boys who completely captivated me and stole my heart. This was my favorite in the entire collection. This story alone makes the entire collection worth the purchase.➽ Healing Rosa by Tehlor Kay Mejia - ★★★★★“Rose was a summer girl, and I was a winter girl, but that fall we created magic.”1933 USA, Fresh Mexico | - This one was very powerful! This is an ownvoices latinx short story about a girl, whose grandmother was believed to be a bruja, and another girl who she can’t support but present her feelings for, regardless of what the girl’s father thinks, and regardless of what the demon inside her feels. And the magical realism in this was a blessing to my eyes and my soul. Beautiful, so beautiful. And this just was so unapologetically LGBTQIAP+ and it just raised me up, and created me feel so happy, and reminded me to never feel shame. God, I just loved this one so much. And these two girls were my favorite couple in the entire anthology.Overall, I loved this. And representation always matters, but it especially matters to children that feel alone and feel like what they are feeling, or who they are, is wrong. LGBTQIAP+ isn’t a trend, or a theme, and it sure and the hell isn’t anything new. And no matter how much history books wish to pretend we didn’t exist back then, they will always be wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Anthologies can often be uneven, but I was very happy with the overall quality of the stories in this collection. There were some definite standouts (Malinda Lo, Mackenzi Lee, Elliot Wake, Tess Sharpe, Shaun David Hutchinson), but all of the stories were compelling and brought to life the different time periods in which they were set.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    3.5 stars! Read this during pride month and enjoyed it.**•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚˚*•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚*-**•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚˚*•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚*-**•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚˚*•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚*Roja (Anna-Marie Mclemore): ★★★★☆A red riding hood retelling??? Sign me the heck up. I loved the premise of this story so e Sweet Trade (Natalie C. Parker): ★★★★★LESBIAN PIRATES!!!!!! GOOD CONTENT!!!!!And They Don’t Kiss in the End (Nilah Magruder): ★★★☆☆Asexual rep!!!! This was such a nice story with some cute interactions.Burnt Umber (Mackenzi Lee): ★★★★☆This story created me soft. We love gay artist e Dresser & The Chambermaid (Robin Talley): ★★★★☆I'm really enjoying all these amazing lesbian stories. The media really does lesbians dirty with rep in films so this book is really Year (Malinda Lo): ★★★☆☆Gay awakenings but create it lly's Lips (Dahlia Adler): ★★★☆☆Nirvana and lesbians.... e Coven (Kate Scelsa): ★★★☆☆WILD.Every Shade of Red (Elliot Wake): ★★★★☆Trans Robin Hood!!!!!!!!! WHAT A CONCEPT I LOVE IT.Willows (Scott Tracey): ★★★☆☆I enjoyed the Salem trials-esque feel this story e Girl with the Blue Lantern (Tess Sharpe): ★★★★☆This reminded me of the fables my mom used to tell me before bed, except more e Secret Life of a Teenage Boy (Alex Sanchez): ★★★★☆Should be called the not so secret life of a teenage boy cuz his whole family knew he wanted to run off with that boy.Walking After Midnight (Kody Keplinger): ★★★☆☆These people need to stop inviting strangers into their houses. Like this is cute for the story but I'm worried that poor things are gonna happen to some of e End of the Globe as We Know It (Sara Farizan): ★★★☆☆Ex-friends turned lovers. I dig ree Witches (Tessa Gratton): ★★★☆☆Just eh, it wasn't a really appealing story to e Inferno and the Butterfly (Shaun David Hutchinson): ★★★★☆Magicians, espionage & gay shenanigans. An perfect story.Healing Rosa (Tehlor Kay Mejia): ★★★☆☆Good content!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I only knew a few of the authors included in this anthology, but I'm SO glad I bought this book and got to explore the range of wonderful voices, stories, and identities. Each story was unbelievable and different. I've recommended this to multiple young readers, and each has found a unbelievable connection to a lot of of the stories within. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    From the very beginning to the end, I loved this book. I fell in love with each hero and story and I admired the poetic lovingness capture by all of these wonderful authors. Alone in my bedroom during this month of July I was transported to King George's castle, a band of lost boys, the turn of the twentieth century, China City in the 1950's, Seances, 1930's Fresh Mexico, and a lot of more awesome scenes. I learned several things about History, about Human nature, about love. Identity. Cruelty. The pleasure of having one's lips versus yours. I thank God and the pen and the minds of these wondrous people who combined their imaginations and experiences together to produce such a delightful Anthropology. Thank you so Much. I required this dearly. ALL OF YOU MUST READ THIS!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Haven’t finished yet but I’m about half method through and I love every single story they are diverse in sexual representation and have such awesome stories and I can’t wait to [email protected]#$%!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Most of the stories left me wanting more!! Even the ones that did not create me hungry for more content were still perfect in a various method and left me feeling satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I loved this book! I read it after a mate recommended it, and I finished it in a day and a half. It was refreshing to read stories that contained queer individuals in various times and locations and worlds. Some were based on true people and events, and some were purely fantasy. No matter what type of fiction you read, there will be a story for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I'm glad I picked up this anthology! There's a amazing mix of stories in here, all featuring lgbtq+ teens, which was so refreshing to read even though it says that right in the title. I really appreciated how diverse the stories were not just with sexuality, but also with disability and race. I'd definitely recommend picking this up if you're in the mood for creative, diverse YA stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    i am currently always looking for awesome LGBTQ+ books and was so pleasantly surprised with how unbelievable for this book was. so a lot of small short stories that all gave a small something. a really unique book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    This was a blessing to read. This is a historical literature short story collection, showcasing LGBTQIAP+ characters. And all of the authors that contributed to this collection are LGBTQIAP+ and that is something that I don’t even have words for. I am forever thankful that Saundra Mitchell curated this, that Harlequin published this, and that children and teens everywhere are going to be able to pick this up and know that they are never alone and that they have never been alone, throughout ese stories also are set all over the world, even though the majority of them do take put in The United States. I do personally want that we had a small more variety, but the stories themselves are super necessary and I feel very privileged that I was able to read them. My only other minor complaint is that I also want that there was a pansexual character. I obtain no titles were used in a lot of of these stories, but I still want there were bigger tips and/or possibilities that would have personally created my pan heart private favorite was The Inferno & the Butterfly by Shaun David Hutchinson. It was so beautifully written, the messages were expertly woven in, and the characters are two that I won’t forget anytime soon. Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore and Every Shade of Red by Elliot Wake were super close to also being my favorite. And both of these stories are ones I will carry in my heart forever. And I truly believe, without a doubt, that these three short stories are worth the entire price of this anthology alone!I'm going to break down each short story with my thoughts, opinions, and individual star rating!➽ Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore - ★★★★★“I wanted them to know that I was my abuela’s granddaughter, that carried the blood of poison girls.”1870 Mexico - I want every anthology that I will ever read for the rest of my life started with a story by Anna-Marie McLemore. The beauty, the power, the magic in her words. It is something I can’t search words for, but it makes me feel everything. Absolutely everything. This story centers around an ownvoices Latinx main character, who is trying to obtain her trans lover out of jail. This story discusses trans problems and does it so well, and even though I am cis, I was still blown away at what this author was able to accomplish with this masterpiece of a short story. And the w/w romance in this is so awe-inspiring and just so heartwarming. I loved it. And I loved this so very much. There is also so much attractive magical realism in this, that deals with poison, and it has me super hyped to read more about it in Blanca y Roja this fall!➽ The Sweet Trade by Natalie C. Parker - ★★★“Clara Elizabeth Byrd had been married twice by the age of sixteen and she had decided she had no taste for it.”1717 USA, Virginia - I enjoyed this one, I just didn’t love this one. Clara is a runaway bride, who is sailing away for a getaway, when she comes across another girl that is running from the same future that neither one of them envision for themselves. Obviously a really cute w/w relationship blooms, and both girls have hopes and dreams of ruling the seas together as pirate queens disguised as kings. And this makes me excited to read this author’s LGBTQIAP+ pirate story, Seafire, this summer!➽ And They Don’t Kiss At the End by Nilah Magruder - ★★★★“I like what I like and I don’t like what I don’t. I have nothing to apologize for.”1976 USA, Maryland - This was so smartly made for this anthology. From the title, to Pride & Prejudice, to skating, to the music, to the awesome rep; this was nothing but a joy to read. This was a bonus sent from above. This story features an ownvoices black main character, who is trying to figure out her sexual orientation, but she knows she’s on the ace spectrum. Hell, it’s hard enough for aro and ace children to figure out their sexual ID even in 2018, and in the 70s there isn’t even a name for it. But this was the sweetest story, that even created me shed a few tears. Also, there was the Filipino boy in this who was a confirmed cinnamon roll. But, please, I wish a full-length story of Dee!➽ Burnt Umber by Mackenzi Lee - ★★★★“I am the boy most accomplished at not becoming distracted by the first naked woman we draw. Which is something, I suppose.”1638 Netherlands, Amsterdam - Okay, this one was actually super funny. I was having a dang giggle while reading this one. And I felt like the main hero talked a lot like I would in his situation, and, Lord, support me, I loved it. This one stars a boy in a prestigious painting class and, from the quote above, you can probably tell what they’re painting next. There is minor bullying in this, and an necessary discussion on how risky coming out was back then (and still can be). But the story really gets started when the main characters crush is the next topic they are about to draw.➽ The Dresser & The Chambermaid by Robin Talley - ★★★“Susanna was accustomed to creeping about the palace in the @#$%!&[email protected]#$%!ngland, London, Kensington Palace - This wasn’t my favorite story in the anthology, but I loved the setting so much. At this point, I think Robin Talley is the queen of atmosphere, and she proves it again in this short story. This is about two girls who are both servants to a very demanding young princess. One has lived her entire life in the castle, and the other is brand fresh and needs the assistance of the other to know how the princess likes her hair. This is a cute w/w romance, and I’d love to read more. Also, this was super sex positive, and I always appreciate that!➽ Fresh Year by Malinda Lo - ★★★★“Tommy Andrews, the male impersonator, brings something various in nightclub entertainment…”1955 USA, California, San Francisco- This is a story about a (ownvoices) Chinese-American girl discovering who she is, and what her sexuality is, growing up in Chinatown. It also happens to be the Chinese Fresh Year, and someone catches her eye when they walk into her friend’s restaurant. And I need this full story now! Ahhh, especially with that ending! But this was a amazing read, even though it was romance free, and it discussed so a lot of necessary subjects about immigration, and deportation, and how badly we treat immigrants, even in 2018. It also was a very feminist and empowering short story, and I loved the author’s note at the end of this one. I desperately need to read more by Malinda Lo.➽ Molly’s Lips by Dahlia Adler - ★★“She’ll never love me like she loves a man she’ll never meet.”1994 USA, Washington, Seattle - This had everything that I should have loved. I love everything 90s, especially grunge music, and the entire aesthetic just seemed like something I’d enjoy, as morbid as that probably sounds. This is a story about two girls grieving the death of Kurt Cobain, in the put where grunge melody was born. And I loved the writing style, I just thought the story left a lot to be desired. I love me a amazing w/w best mates to lovers story, and I love the notice that melody truly has healing powers, but this one was just a bit boring for me. Which kind of breaks my heart, because I do really love Nirvana.➽ The Coven by Kate Scelsa - ★★“It was Gertrude Stein who first introduced us to the coven.”1920s France, Paris - This is about a girl grieving the loss of her brother and dealing with the depression that no doctor is able to diagnose. She then finds a coven with her girlfriend, that helps young girls like her. And I guess the w/w romance was cute, but this one just read so very boring for me personally.➽ Every Shade of Red by Elliot Wake - ★★★★★“If I must lie to the globe to be real to my heart, then I’ll lie. I’ll cheat, I’ll steal and I’ll do it with a smile. Love is the only higher power I respond to, and my love is no less for being chaste.”1300s England | - I thought this was going to be good, but it ended up being perfect. This is an amazing Robin Hood retelling. And Robin in this story is a trans boy, who is in love with our main protagonist, who ran away from a father that didn’t accept him. And this m/m romance had me swooning. Also, our main protagonist is hearing impaired and seeing him sign on page was something so magical to me. And the ending? I still feel absolutely gutted. But the heart of this story is about love; the love we have for others, but also the love that we must search in accepting ourselves for who we are. This was so brilliantly done and was honestly perfection in every way, and I loved it more than any combination of words I can come up with.➽ Willows by Scott Tracey - ★★“That is the secret to survival. Teach fear to those who taught you to be afraid.”1732 USA, Massachusetts | - This just didn’t work for me in the slightest. Maybe it was me and my reading comprehension, but this felt so incohesive to me and was super hard to follow. But it had witches in it? And being scared because of the method witches were dealt with back in the 1700s Massachusetts. But it was sort of like an exploration of a person that has been various people in various lives, while exploring gender, too. And in the end, they are in a relationship with a guy, and they run away together. But this just was so not for me in any way.➽ The Girl with the Blue Lantern by Tess Sharpe - ★★★★★“And I am yours […] always.”1839 USA, Northern California | - This was everything I wanted. This was whimsical, this was lyrical, and this was perfect. I would buy and read anything, and everything set in this world, and in those woods. Also, this is one of the few stories in the anthology that felt like a full story. This was beyond words good, and I had full body goosebumps at the very end of the story. This story centers around a young girl, with an abusive father, that lives in a city that fears going into the woods. Well, one day, after her dog escapes into said woods, the girl ventures in to search him and meets a girl who is not human (and there is no confirmation, but I wish to yell at you all “FAE GIRL!”) And I was so invested in this tale. And I was so into the friendship, turned into something more between these very various girls, who both bond over feeling alone. This is easily one of my favorites in this entire collection.➽ The Secret Life of a Teenage Boy by Alex Sanchez - ★★★★“…Ready to tell Mom and Dad the thing they already know.”1969 USA, Virginia | - This is about a boy who loves his family dearly but doesn’t know how to allow them know that he is not straight. Him and his sister are really close, which I love, because my brother has always and will always be my best friend. And one day, a vehicle breaks down outside their home, and our main hero spends time with the young driver, while waiting for someone to repair the vehicle. Okay, I really liked this one, because even though this was set twenty years before I was born, I still remember a lot of the homophobia that went on in this story. And just seeing this boy finally seeing someone that is satisfied and confident with their sexuality, and wanting to run away and be that too? That evoked some emotion from me. And this just felt like such accurate representation of all the thoughts you have when you’re young and discovering your sexuality (at least for me, personally) and I really enjoyed this one.➽ Walking After Midnight by Kody Keplinger - ★★★“I’m never gonna see the globe or do anything people will remember.”1952 USA, Fresh York | - This one was super adorable, I just didn’t fall in love with it the same method I did some of the other stories in this collection. This is about an actress, that is starting to feel past her prime, and she misses her train connection in a little town. A girl who is closing up a nearby diner see’s the girl and offers her somewhere to stay. This is a cute story about knowing your worth, and knowing what you wish from life, and not letting anyone tell you differently. Also, I believe the main hero could possibly be on the ace spectrum, so that’s amazing too! But I want we could have seen both of these characters a year from when they first met.➽ The End of the Globe As We Know It by Sara Farizan - ★★★★★“...to think that on the eve of the apocalypse, I’m wasting my latest hours watching Carson Daly in Times Square awkwardly burgeoning pop star Mandy Moore the most banal of questions.”1999 USA, Massachusetts, Boston | - You all, this one created me feel so… old… but so seen. Holy moly, so seen. Okay, I was a lot younger than the main protagonist in 1999, but I remember it. I was still in elementary school, but everyone was freaking out and I remember my parents being freaked out about the banks and them stocking up on bottled water and things like that! Also, me and my mates thought we were the absolute coolest, and we would always rush home after school to watch TRL, because we had to know if Blink 182 would actually beat Britney or Christina to number 1 that day. Also, this story mentions Aaliyah, who me and my best mate were obsessed with. Like, so obsessed with that she created it her daughter’s middle name when she was born a few years ago. And I also remember Matthew Shepard and what happened to him, and it being one of the first tragedies I actually remember happening. And it shook me, even as a small kid, to my very core. This is about a girl who is a senior in high school, and she is home on Fresh Year’s Eve with her parents. Well, until her best mate who she hasn’t spoken to recently comes over. And a cute w/w romance brews. TL;DR – I’m giving this five stars because 1.) I loved it with my whole heart, but 2.) this was my very early adolescence, and around the time I started to realize that I wasn’t straight, so this story just really spoke to me.➽ Three Witches by Tessa Gratton - ★★★★★“The ease with which s attractive girl can seduce Violante has been the core of her troubles all her life.”1519 Spain, Burgos, Castile | - Tessa Gratton is such a talented writer, and when I read her writing it feels truly like I’m reading art. This story is a bit of a darker one, because it’s about a girl in conversion therapy that is being administered by the Catholic church. And we obtain to see a relationship with our main character, Violante, and one of the nuns. This was powerful, this was haunting, and it truly is something I won’t be able to obtain out of my head. And I will always choose love, and I hope you all do too.➽ The Inferno & the Butterfly by Shaun David Hutchinson - ★★★★★“And it was in that moment that I understood what it meant to be loved.”1839 London | - The latest sentence of this story. God, I’m still weeping. This was such a masterpiece. I loved this with the sum of my entire being. This was the first thing I’ve ever read by Shaun David Hutchinson, and I promise it won’t be the last. This is a short story about two rivaling magician assistances, both learning to live with the pain from their pasts. Their paths cross, and they begin to see that life doesn’t have to be all pain, and that everyone is worthy of love. I wish more. No, I need more. I feel so in love with this world, this magic, and these two boys who completely captivated me and stole my heart. This was my favorite in the entire collection. This story alone makes the entire collection worth the purchase.➽ Healing Rosa by Tehlor Kay Mejia - ★★★★★“Rose was a summer girl, and I was a winter girl, but that fall we created magic.”1933 USA, Fresh Mexico | - This one was very powerful! This is an ownvoices latinx short story about a girl, whose grandmother was believed to be a bruja, and another girl who she can’t support but present her feelings for, regardless of what the girl’s father thinks, and regardless of what the demon inside her feels. And the magical realism in this was a blessing to my eyes and my soul. Beautiful, so beautiful. And this just was so unapologetically LGBTQIAP+ and it just raised me up, and created me feel so happy, and reminded me to never feel shame. God, I just loved this one so much. And these two girls were my favorite couple in the entire anthology.Overall, I loved this. And representation always matters, but it especially matters to children that feel alone and feel like what they are feeling, or who they are, is wrong. LGBTQIAP+ isn’t a trend, or a theme, and it sure and the hell isn’t anything new. And no matter how much history books wish to pretend we didn’t exist back then, they will always be wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    Anthologies can often be uneven, but I was very happy with the overall quality of the stories in this collection. There were some definite standouts (Malinda Lo, Mackenzi Lee, Elliot Wake, Tess Sharpe, Shaun David Hutchinson), but all of the stories were compelling and brought to life the different time periods in which they were set.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    3.5 stars! Read this during pride month and enjoyed it.**•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚˚*•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚*-**•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚˚*•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚*-**•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚˚*•̩̩͙✩•̩̩͙*˚*Roja (Anna-Marie Mclemore): ★★★★☆A red riding hood retelling??? Sign me the heck up. I loved the premise of this story so e Sweet Trade (Natalie C. Parker): ★★★★★LESBIAN PIRATES!!!!!! GOOD CONTENT!!!!!And They Don’t Kiss in the End (Nilah Magruder): ★★★☆☆Asexual rep!!!! This was such a nice story with some cute interactions.Burnt Umber (Mackenzi Lee): ★★★★☆This story created me soft. We love gay artist e Dresser & The Chambermaid (Robin Talley): ★★★★☆I'm really enjoying all these amazing lesbian stories. The media really does lesbians dirty with rep in films so this book is really Year (Malinda Lo): ★★★☆☆Gay awakenings but create it lly's Lips (Dahlia Adler): ★★★☆☆Nirvana and lesbians.... e Coven (Kate Scelsa): ★★★☆☆WILD.Every Shade of Red (Elliot Wake): ★★★★☆Trans Robin Hood!!!!!!!!! WHAT A CONCEPT I LOVE IT.Willows (Scott Tracey): ★★★☆☆I enjoyed the Salem trials-esque feel this story e Girl with the Blue Lantern (Tess Sharpe): ★★★★☆This reminded me of the fables my mom used to tell me before bed, except more e Secret Life of a Teenage Boy (Alex Sanchez): ★★★★☆Should be called the not so secret life of a teenage boy cuz his whole family knew he wanted to run off with that boy.Walking After Midnight (Kody Keplinger): ★★★☆☆These people need to stop inviting strangers into their houses. Like this is cute for the story but I'm worried that poor things are gonna happen to some of e End of the Globe as We Know It (Sara Farizan): ★★★☆☆Ex-friends turned lovers. I dig ree Witches (Tessa Gratton): ★★★☆☆Just eh, it wasn't a really appealing story to e Inferno and the Butterfly (Shaun David Hutchinson): ★★★★☆Magicians, espionage & gay shenanigans. An perfect story.Healing Rosa (Tehlor Kay Mejia): ★★★☆☆Good content!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    I only knew a few of the authors included in this anthology, but I'm SO glad I bought this book and got to explore the range of wonderful voices, stories, and identities. Each story was unbelievable and different. I've recommended this to multiple young readers, and each has found a unbelievable connection to a lot of of the stories within. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    From the very beginning to the end, I loved this book. I fell in love with each hero and story and I admired the poetic lovingness capture by all of these wonderful authors. Alone in my bedroom during this month of July I was transported to King George's castle, a band of lost boys, the turn of the twentieth century, China City in the 1950's, Seances, 1930's Fresh Mexico, and a lot of more awesome scenes. I learned several things about History, about Human nature, about love. Identity. Cruelty. The pleasure of having one's lips versus yours. I thank God and the pen and the minds of these wondrous people who combined their imaginations and experiences together to produce such a delightful Anthropology. Thank you so Much. I required this dearly. ALL OF YOU MUST READ THIS!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    Haven’t finished yet but I’m about half method through and I love every single story they are diverse in sexual representation and have such awesome stories and I can’t wait to [email protected]#$%!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    Most of the stories left me wanting more!! Even the ones that did not create me hungry for more content were still perfect in a various method and left me feeling satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    I loved this book! I read it after a mate recommended it, and I finished it in a day and a half. It was refreshing to read stories that contained queer individuals in various times and locations and worlds. Some were based on true people and events, and some were purely fantasy. No matter what type of fiction you read, there will be a story for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    I'm glad I picked up this anthology! There's a amazing mix of stories in here, all featuring lgbtq+ teens, which was so refreshing to read even though it says that right in the title. I really appreciated how diverse the stories were not just with sexuality, but also with disability and race. I'd definitely recommend picking this up if you're in the mood for creative, diverse YA stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens throughout the Ages review []  2020-1-16 1:56

    i am currently always looking for awesome LGBTQ+ books and was so pleasantly surprised with how unbelievable for this book was. so a lot of small short stories that all gave a small something. a really unique book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Perfect counseling resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Amazing for parents who need to know how their teen wants to be loved! Parents need to love teens based on teens desired love language and not based on how the parent wants to love their teen!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    This is a well written book with some amazing points. Some of the things are kinda cheesy, but the point behind it is good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    GREAT book. Highly recommend to everyone. I've been telling all my mates about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    I was expecting this book to be one that I could read with my teenagers however, it is written from the perspective of the parent. Although it is various from what I was thinking it would be this book is great! It gives amazing insight to what teenagers experience in our globe today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    I think learning the love language of all necessary people in our life is paramount. This book does a amazing job explaining explaining why. Some of the sample dialogue is laughable in its stiltedness but you obtain the idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Brought this book for a mate who has teens and a pre-teen and figure that they could benefit from it. The like the gift. They had read the original one. Amazing method to understand kids on a deeper private level.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Five stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    Best book EVER

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively review [Book]  2017-10-19 18:2

    this book helped me realize how i may sincerely love my kids, but as they obtain older, they need to feel loved by me. I must learn their basic love language and speak it regularly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Complete the Vine (Vine Quiz) review [App]  2019-1-22 21:27

    I like to play it complete the vine , it's really mind relaxing and funny , recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Complete the Vine (Vine Quiz) review [App]  2019-1-22 21:27

    All of my favorite vines are in this app. Very fun to play

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Complete the Vine (Vine Quiz) review [App]  2019-1-22 21:27

    haha cool and extraordinary application hold working on it:)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Teen Chat : Chat with teens review [App]  2019-3-5 21:17

    this is not working😡

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Kate Fagan is an perfect writer who interrupts an outstanding read with boring, benign and utterly useless private anecdotes about her own athletic "career", which is intended to draw a parallel (I believe) between her and the topic and instead comes off as the writer screaming "GOOGLE ME!(!), I was a college athlete!". Speaking of Google. Google the original ESPN the Magazine article. Every salient detail you need to know and feel about this story is there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Absolutely heartbreaking story, but the reason why I am going into the field I am. I was drawn to Maddy's story when it first happened because I similar to it so much & it broke my heart that she wasn't able to search her method out too. I think it's so necessary for stories like these to be out there because people often think "it can't happen to me" because they're amazing parents, have money, live in amazing areas, children seem successful, etc., but the reality is that mental illness doesn't discriminate. Maddy's parents seemed to do everything they could & yet it still happened to them. Maddy was CERTAINLY successful, but it still happened to her. My heart broke for her dad when he took her back to school & stayed behind just to create sure she seemed ok, planned to bring her back for regular therapy appointments (Maddy had told them she was struggling with suicidal thoughts), & yet even with him doing everything he thought he could, he still got that heartbreaking phone call. The story was well written, showing several sides to it, & for her parents to be willing to share their heartache in such detail will definitely have an ere was much more of Kate's input in the story than I thought there would be...I went into it thinking she was just the investigative reporter, but she shared a lot of her own story in there which I didn't relate to at all. I found myself skipping past her sections just to obtain to the rest of Maddy's story. Maybe some people would be more interested in Kate's story, but it just wasn't for me. I'd still highly recommend the book though - it really sheds light on a very necessary problem in a very personal, relatable way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    I am a sixty year old woman with four kids and three grandchildren. I’m not sure what created me buy this book. I’m not usually a non-fiction reader. I think the subject of suicide leaves everyone feeling so empty and the thought of this type of loss is our society’s standards, Mandy had it all; a loving family, a large group of mates to offer support, a God given talent to run, and yet, it wasn’t enough. Her not good family. They did everything “right.” That’s what is so scary.I believe that anyone that reads this will search Maddys story so compelling and truly something they can relate to. Some of her feelings brought back related feelings I had when I attended my dream college and left after one year. Suicide never crossed my mind but I can tell you I was troubled and my self esteem was low. I finished school in four years ( my absolute promise to myself)but personally I created some poor choices during this do we talk to our children and grand kids so they will never create the same choice Maddy did? After reading the book, I’m not certain I know the respond to that. I do know that I will talk to them just like maddys parents did and hope and pray that they will never feel so desperate.I would definitely recommend this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    I want I could say that this book was awesome but it was just ok. Despite it being a very interesting subject to me, I found myself starting to skim through it. I think the method it was written, it would have created a amazing magazine article but as a whole book it just didn't quite hold my interest. A few chapters in and I was ready to move on. I did really like the book cover and the title and applaud the author for covering a amazing topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    No book is perfect. When you take the topic fo suicide even less so. The author does a unbelievable job of taking the life of a young woman and trying to explain why she lost the war to depression. She used her experiences as a mentally healthy individual in comparison to test and present not everyone processes and handles situations the same way. In the end the book does not respond the question of why. The truth is the only one who could ever know why was someone who has created attempts in the past I can honestly say this book really hits on a lot of truths. The truths are grey but they are truths.I cried so much and this book took me a long time to finish. The farther I got the longer it took. That is a amazing thing. Suicide is a harsh subject. There is no simple method to discuss it, at least their shouldn't be. You dont have to be an athlete or have gone to college to have experienced feelings related to maddy'at said while I doubt the family reads any book reviews and test to avoid reminders I just wish to say my heart goes out and thank you for sharing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    My daughter suggested I read Madison Halloran's story as written by Kate,Fagan so I would understand what she could not express clearly. I felt I was reading my daughter's story without the tragic ending. Reading the story gives me insight into my daughter's struggles and I am so grateful for this book. Being able to understand and talk to my daughter openly and candidly about this problem and suicide might support to create a e correlation with social media and the statistics about anxiety disorder among our young adults and especially student athletes are mind blowing and disturbing. I'm left with so a lot of fears about young children who are approaching these years. I hope they read the book and that educators are aware of the dangers ahead when they message the ank you Kate Fagan for sharing this story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    I first heard about Maddy's story in Fagan's article in ESPN Magazine a few years ago. I was mesmerized by the writing and the story. When I heard Fagan expanded the article into a book, I knew I had to read it. I was not is is a tragic story written in a attractive and respectful way. Fagan weaves together pieces of Maddy's life, shows us glimpses that I think we can all empathize with and understand. It truly puts the reader in Maddy's shoes and explores depression and mental health in the most true method I have ever encountered. As a former college athlete and sister to a former college athlete who struggled with depression, I saw parts of both myself and my sister within these pages. I saw former coaches, parents, friends, family in this e fact is that a lot of people,society at large, and especially the sports world, are dismissive of mental health issues. This book seeks to tear that down by putting readers directly in the path of empathy and understanding. I literally could not place this book down and read it late into the night. It is wonderfully written, respectful and poignant. A must read for any former athlete, parent of an athlete or anyone, really, seeking to better understand depression and mental health.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Bought this book to learn more about Maddy’s story am done what drove her to take her own e author spent more time talking abut her life and her story than Maddy’sKate used Maddy’s story in order to tell her own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Reading Kate Fagan’s book WHAT MADE MADDY RUN: THE SECRET STRUGGLES AND TRAGIC DEATH OF AN ALL-AMERICAN TEEN was one of the most difficult, heart-wrenching books that I have read. It was also a very necessary book. Fagan has taken a terribly tragic story about a life lost, by suicide, and brought it out in the open, with the support of Maddy’s family, to present that even someone who seems to have everything in her favor, someone who is well-loved by her peers, is a star athlete, star student, has a loving family, attending an Ivy League college, fulfilling her dreams, can be unhappy and crying out for help. This is who Maddy was. But she didn’t know how to express what was going on on the inside. She was struggling. She didn’t understand what she was feeling or how to create it go away. All the while, she projected the image, via social media, at every turn, that her life was perfect.A attractive girl, she posted pictures, with her family, mates at her sporting events, showing a satisfied life. A life that she appreciated and was enjoying to the fullest. Maddy’s parents adored her, were supportive in every way, four siblings who felt the same. Best girlfriends from high school and then a best mate at college as well as teammates on track, where she was recruited to compete at University of ddy’s family gave Fagan access to Maddy’s computer and files to learn as much as possible about her past and latest correspondence with mates from home, at school, to test to place the pieces of this not good puzzle together. Fagan has not only shown how a life can so easily slip away. She specifically outlines the pressure that teens are under today with such a powerful emphasis on social media, not only as their mode of communication but to portray how unbelievable their lives are and that everything is perfect. When it is not.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What Made Maddy Run: The Secret Struggles and Tragic Death of an All-American Teen review []  2020-1-7 19:2

    This book did a really amazing job of telling Maddy's story as thoroughly as possible while also taking a broader look at college suicide as well. The author delves into Maddy's journey from high school to college and paints a revealing picture of a young woman trying to downplay her downward spiral into anxiety and depression; it explains how so a lot of signs were missed without attempting to lay blame or provide reasons. The author did a amazing job of putting together the pieces of Maddy's life that were kept separate before by circumstance and by Maddy herself. At the same time, the author takes step back and looks at this suicide in the context of the college experience and illustrates how the increasing focus on performance creates a pressure cooker environment for a lot of young people thrust into the college/sports arena.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens: The Secrets About Money - That You Don't Learn in School! review []  2020-1-14 19:21

    Wisdom from Rich Dad for Teens is an excerpt only. It is a hardback, on the e full text paperback ver is on the right. A lot of of these reviews indicate there is confusion between the products.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    the first years disney baby minnie soft potty seat reviews pregmate 40 ovulation and 10 pregnancy test strips predictor kit reviews ppogoo nursing cover for breastfeeding super soft cotton multi use for baby car seat covers canopy shopping cart cover scarf light blanket stroller cover reviews nenesupply compatible pump parts for medela pump in style breastpump 24mm breastshield valve membrane tubing not original medela pump parts replace medela pumpinstyle parts replace medela accessories reviews lunch bags for women insulated fashionable lunch box large adult lunch bag for work reviews packit freezable lunch bag with zip closure reviews boppy bare naked nursing pillow and positioner reviews munchkin warm glow wipe warmer reviews touch up express paint for 1991 toyota 4runner 138 dark gray metallic gallon basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for lincoln mkz uh tuxedo black metallic pint basecoat paint for car auto truck reviews touch up express paint for 2008 ford f150 gg forest green metallic pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 1999 bmw m3 354 titan silver metallic pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 2013 infiniti g37 kh3 black obsidian pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for jeep cherokee ay97fm9 black cherry metallic gallon basecoat paintfor car truck or auto reviews touch up express paint for 2008 toyota matrix 8p4 indigo ink pearl pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 2013 honda civic b561p dyno blue pearl pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 2003 mazda protege 22v sunlight silver metallic pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 2004 honda crv yr535m mojave mist metallic pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 2010 dodge ram truck ps2 bright silver metallic pint basecoat paint reviews touch up express paint for 2005 mazda miata 18j grace green mica pint basecoat paint reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter