Read security planning and disaster recovery reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all security planning and disaster recovery reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Recovery: Principles and Practices []  2020-9-24 21:6

    I accidentally ordered the wrong book for one of my college classes so I had to return this book, but I still gave it 5 stars because it arrived quickly and it unbelievable condition. That's really all someone can ask for in a textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Recovery: Principles and Practices []  2020-9-24 21:6

    Required this textbook for a class, book is very uninformative and seems to be written by an 8th grader. Was not impressed with the material it covered and what was covered was said in very generic terms. I do not understand why it is so expensive. I rented it from Amazon and found that was the cheapest price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Recovery: Principles and Practices []  2020-9-24 21:6

    It could use some updating...for once I'll agree that a textbook needs a fresh version.

    0  


    Add your opinion on security planning and disaster recovery or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Recovery: Principles and Practices []  2020-9-24 21:6

    First, I worked for the major disaster recovery company and wrote their planning software along with a few others, so I do have an extensive background and know the material.Of course this was years ago.But the VA sent me to college and this was a needed course so I had to use this cond, the back of the book says this provides a complete course in developing and implementing a disaster recovery plan. Which is not true. Will you understand the concepts? yes the book does a amazing job at that. Will you be able to sit in a meeting and understand and contribute to your own companies disaster recovery planning? yep, and you will be in a position to actually be on the planning team.But you will not be able to write one from this, well not an effective ey do a very amazing job of underscoring the different aspects of the planning process. Their coverage of risk assessment is actually really good. ( the planning process is actually fairly standard, and the company I worked for originated alot of it. though there were competitiors who did have their own material. ).They miss the tag a small with the recovery solutions and recovery tactics ( not sure they really even address it well in the book at all. ). The problem is that they seem to be vague on one page, and then very specific on the next. And they could have actually left the discussion at a high level and kept it ere is a beautiful amazing www service with online material, the links they have to external resources is a small sketchy at is is only 4 stars because the authors fail at one of the statements on the back flap, and that is teaching how to write a plan. If that were the case they would have provided a CD with a plan and discussion in the book on its actual e other issue, which is minor, is that none of the authors are certified or list their status as certified by the major certification body for Disaster recovery planning. (DRI ).Overall they do a amazing job of providing more than a superficial treatment of disaster recovery. And you will be a positive contributor if you were in a meeting with coworkers on disaster recovery. It is better than what you will search surfing the web. Is there better out there? yeah if you went through certification.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Recovery: Principles and Practices []  2020-9-24 21:6

    Very helpful in my class and it is one of my textbooks that I kept. I'm using it in my workplace to develop a disaster recovery plan that we need but have never had.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Recovery: Principles and Practices []  2020-9-24 21:6

    I was obliged to obtain this for a class. It was better than I expected. I'd hold it as a reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natural Hazard Mitigation: Recasting Disaster Policy And Planning []  2020-12-25 22:1

    Decent text...no true news here, Its your typical textbook, and not a keeper for the permanent professional library. Worse of all, for the price, the pages are coming loose from the binding...and that's after a month?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natural Hazard Mitigation: Recasting Disaster Policy And Planning []  2020-12-25 22:1

    Amazing product and amazing service! Book is expensive but sold at cost and that's greatly appreciated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natural Hazard Mitigation: Recasting Disaster Policy And Planning []  2020-12-25 22:1

    Look forward to using for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    This series place out by this company is by far one of the highest quality books I've read. The info is shown in a method that conducive for learning and does stretch itself out. I've gotten to the point that if entire paragraphs and pages are meaningless expenses of words meant to spread out on paragraph's worth of info in a long stream of ramblings, I place the book down and look for something else. I use this as a student for a class, but I search myself reading ahead of the class and looking into other books in this series. Hope they hold the high quality writing and instruction for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Filled the need for this semester. Will be selling it back after the semester is over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    The begin ended questions in the back of the chapters are beautiful much useless. They play the word change android game where they change the key word so you can't find for easier and as a effect I had wonderful difficulty finding the answers to the questions. Also as per amazons statement text to speech is available on all books that the publisher enables it on. This is a feature that helps me greatly to learn. I also can't use it because of the publishers greed and laziness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    It provided some valuable insite to incident response and contengiency planning which I would be willing to bet a vast majority of organizations are unprepared and do not have one in place. This could serve as a tutorial on how organizations can be better prepared for disaster, weather natural or man made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Why is there an entire chapter on computer forensics? This book should entirely consist of how to write policy for actions to carry out in the happening of a disaster. If an incident involves something that will require forensic intervention, it's usually handed off to the ere are a couple of things that irked me about the method that Whitman described the incident response planning process. Whitman says that prevention comes before everything else when writing your incident response plan. I have to disagree and say that the first thing you wish to search in your incident response plan is the reaction scene which tells you what to do when fecal matter [email protected]#$%!&ing the proverbial turbine. Then comes containment, then comes the process of correcting and preventing anything from event again. After that is your plan maintenance, but that is a d book. Thankfully, I have a amazing instructor who just so happens to be using it. So, most of it is supplementary. I'd still pick it up and read it. You're bound to learn something useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Seems well written, was beautiful beaten up when i got it. Rentals from amazon have saved me a ton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    I am taking a graduate course at UMBC in Cybersecurity and this is the first book that I would recommend as a amazing overall explanation of the field of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery. In a lot of cyber scenarios today, recognition and reaction to an incident is one of the most key aspects in ensuring business continuity. This book covers a lot of of those aspects and will certainly be a text I hold with me through much of my career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Showed up quickly.... Now I hope I can pass the class.... The book lead beautiful beat up...I hope I don't obtain accused of doing it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    Had to obtain this book for ry in depth on IR and DR objectives. Followed my teachers syllabus to letter as well. As far as entertainment value about negative 5 stars but for education it is spot on. I rented the book from Amazon which was a plus as well cause I saved cash and hassle trying to return it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Incident Response and Disaster Recovery []  2020-1-8 19:44

    It was just for school. So not biggie there. It did its purpose for me to pass my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    This is a very informative book. There is so much to know about school safety that I didn't realize. Every member of the community should read a book like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    I have found the book to be quite insightful and it has broaden my approach to viewing school safety measures beyond making sure the entrance doorway is locked.TAD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Very informative text in the hands of any Security practitioner

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Ken Trump once again helps to hold our schools safe by providing us with his book. Ken knows what he writes about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    This is a very comprehensive book and a amazing tutorial to help any school going through a safety/security audit. All stakeholders should read it to understand both the internally generated and externally generated risks for violent behavior/ actions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    greeat

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Just what my instructor wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    I have opened a number of schools and would recommend this text for anyone opening a fresh school or operating school without an emergency plan (do not wait until it is too late)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Used it in some safety meetings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Proactive School Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Perfect resource!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    Amazing price, interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    This third edition includes "new and updated facts, yses, and theory material." The author notes that some changes in the text are more radical than originally anticipated. Therefore, even if you have or are using an earlier edition, now is a amazing time to pick up this updated also warrants noting that old cases have been excised and more modern, pertinent material included. So, again, if you are currently operating from an older text, this fresh one may prove quite an effort to be student-friendly, this text bolds vocabulary words. At the end of the text, there is a glossary which carefully defines each bolded word. This is an outstanding resource for both mid-terms and final reover, "Tell Me More" boxes are an perfect and efficient method to break-up the text. While introductory texts often offer "fluff" in these locations (like "character portraits"), these boxes (in this textbook) are truly informative. Likewise, there are a dozens of images and figures that genuinely contribute to the is is a phenomenal text for a more advanced class. Professors seeking a fresh text (or updated version) should consider this particular one. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    Very advanced and comprehendable read on emergency management policy. This includes invaluable info and honestly has influenced my direction as an emergency manager.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    This is the authoritative text on the state of disaster policy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    This book looks at emergency management, with a powerful emphasis on intergovernmental relations and politics, looking at public policy, public management, and presidential leadership. Primarily focused on offering guidance, the a lot of case histories are also of interest to those interested in politics and political history. Sylves is a researcher and has updated this to contain some very fresh relevant research. This offers a amazing introduction to emergency management and progresses to more advanced topics. Indeed, it draws on Sylves’ graduate courses for some cording to the publisher this 3rd edition offers the following fresh material: fresh case studies that humanized latest disasters (up to and including some in 2018) which present how US disaster and emergency management has changed; fresh sideboxes offering detailed doentary evidence, such as Trump’s dispute with the mayor of San Juan, Puerto Rico; information on the 3 fresh planning frameworks (Prevention, Protection, and Mitigation) added to the Dept. of Homeland Security mission and the huge changes resulting; and a revision of chapter 7 regarding the roles of governors and the president/Pentagon in directing military forces in US disasters.A worthwhile read, IMHO, but that’s JustMe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    Class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    "Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security" by Richard T. Sylves is comprehensive, wide-ranging and up to date. It was surprisingly readable even if it is probably best utilized in a work or classroom setting. It is well organized and well written. It covers beautiful much everything in disaster policy and politics and then some. I found it a small overwhelming at times but still insightful and empathetic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    This book is needed for my online MPA class. It reads well. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    Easily the best book on Disaster Policy I have come across thus far. Not only is it extremely thorough in its coverage of the subject but it delves into the political aspects of the topic in a very frank and honest way, citing a number of real-life examples. Those examples also present this work to be quite up to date, covering incidents during the current Presidential e author gives a fair and seemingly unbiased look at the political end of the topic and covers an incredibly broad array of issues. Most books on this topic barely scratch the surface, but this one goes much more in-depth in a dozens of e research and statistics included all seem to be spot-on and fairly current, so much as historical data can be. I found the chapter on the history of U.S. disaster policy to be quite fascinating. Probably an entire book could be dedicated to that topic alone, but the author did a amazing job of summarizing e book also spends quite a bit of time discussing emergency management for Canada and how it affects the United States. I'm not quite sure if the author included these chapters to support educate Canadians on their own disaster management policies or if it was meant purely as a reference for Americans on how our countries cooperate in regards to disasters and national security. It was interesting is is definitely a must read if you are attempting to learn more about disaster policy in the United States, especially as it relates to politics and political science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disaster Policy and Politics: Emergency Management and Homeland Security []  2020-1-15 22:49

    I bought this book new... and I received it today, the back cover was damaged and the side of the book was dirty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Chuck had special qualifications and experience to support the Japanese people deal with 3/11. His book explains a lot of of the decisions that were created under extreme crisis. I enjoyed the read, even though it was technical, learning about management under pressure that can be used in a lot of fields of ll McClintock, , former CEO & Owner of Med-Dispense

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    This book is more about the author blowing his own horn. I was hoping for a technical ysis of the disaster. And disaster it was. If you're looking for the same, don't buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Casto's perspective and background results in an perfect book that not only tells about this disaster, it contains the lessons that should be learned. This is truly a captivating study of crisis management. Found this a most interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    I fully enjoyed reading this book. Although I understood the enormous technical challenges then and now, Mr. Casto writes of the human suffering exclusive of the station blackout event. I very much enjoyed the extreme crisis leadership aspects detailed in the book. Prior to Fukushima there were two core-damaging happenings in about 12500 reactor years of operation. Then there were 3 in one week. Mr. Casto was in the middle of the chaos doing what his years of experience trained him to do. The NRC and the US industry were fortunate to have him thus engaged. In conclusion my favorite chapters were Small Texas and the Huge Takeaway. A book that is very well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Chuck Casto's well-written book gave me an understanding of aspects of the Fukushima disaster that I'd not gotten from reading other accounts. Some accounts detailed what worked, and didn't work, from a technical aspect. Some accounts chronicled the political aspects of this disaster. But Casto's book explains how science and political science were intertwined - sometimes to the amazing and sometimes not. The amazing added significantly to my understanding of what happened and why.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Very nice detailed, factual and realistic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    I have a professional relationship with Chuck. We worked together in the US Nuclear industry, and I hired him to teach the Supervisors at Peach Bottom Atomic Power Station about the Fukushima Event. His Seminar was IMPACTFUL, to say the least. I also visited Fukushima Daini in 1984 time frame so I can relate to the zone and culture. I have finished reading this book and LOVED it! I think Chuck did an perfect job of capturing the Leadership Challenges that the Japanese people faced trying to mitigate the disaster. And that is exactly what Chuck described in the summary on the cover flaps. I cannot imagine how they were able to communicate and know plant status without power. AWESOME Job Chuck! And God Bless the people of Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Fascinating first-hand insight into the minds and actions of leaders who faced the Fukushima crisis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    The book info the successes and failures that were attributable to leadership, communications, societial differences, during unimaginable hardships. It describes the heroic efforts that were created by the operators at both of the Fukushima nuclear power plants. The challenges that Japan faced was compared to the simotaneous occurance of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and fires, with the flooding of hurricane Katrina, concurrent with the Three Mile Island Nuclear accident. The writer Dr. Charles Casto uses the first person in the narration because he was in charge of the U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commissions emergency assistance contingent sent to Japan immediately after the event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Station Blackout: Inside the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster and Recovery []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Chuck did a amazing job of not only describing the Fukushima accident in a clear, concise method but provided an interesting, behind the scenes view of the political interactions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving San Francisco: Relief and Recovery After the 1906 Disaster []  2020-4-3 19:11

    Beautifully organized, deeply researched, well written. I love the small asides. The story about Clara Barton and Edward Devine, for example, strikes just the right note, giving depth to development of the actors without feeling like the overall narrative is being derailed. Davies's handling of class, gender, and race are spot on perfect: reforming ladies and working-class women, Chinese survivors and merchant-leaders are all there, speaking for themselves, behaving as the historical actors they were. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MYST Disaster Recovery [App]  2020-5-18 21:36

    Very useful app! Simple to report damgaes and status of report now in your pocket.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    Andrew Baze does a amazing job of helping YOU descide what type of communications gear and what PLAN you need to contact and stay in touch with loved ones during disaster. From a mile away to across the country he describes why and HOW to select the best OPTIONS to stay in touch. Cell phones are often OK...but tell me you NEVER had a call dropped ,or loss of signal. Plus cell service can only handle a FEW calls for an zone and will not latest long if storms or power outage is part of it...when is it NOT part of an emergency.. Thing is ,you really NEED A PLAN and a written plan that your loved ones can follow so they also KNOW HOW you will contact them when normal options fail. GET THE BOOK,even if you know it all...YOU HAVEN'T created a solid plan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    Private Emergency Communications is an entry level book for someone that is not already familiar with emergency communications in general. If you are not already familiar with ham radio it's a amazing starter book. Honestly, I was a small disappointed with the broad coverage being an amateur radio operator and being familiar with beautiful much all the info in the book. On the other hand there is useful info covering all the primary radio services that are useful in a disaster including amateur radio, CB, VHF/UHF, GMRS/FRS, and satellite phones. Nothing really ground breaking and for $14.95 I felt the book was more in the $9.99 category being beautiful thin and light on info. So if you are a beginner definitely checkout this book and others by Andrew Baze. If you are already a veteran of amateur radio then there is small to gain here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    I own this book and recommend it as a starter for anyone developing an emergency action plan. Picked this and several other similar books up to place in a bonus basket I gave away in May.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    Already having a ham license I thought this would be a very boring read. After a mate suggested reading it I ordered it and read it. Amazing tool for looking at what you might wish for communicating with family and mates during an emergency. Not all types of phones will work during all emergencies. There is some amazing tip on how to choose what works for hn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    Valuable info for everyone. Plain and simple, what would you do if all of the cell phone and land line communications went down. Trying to contact family members would be near impossible if you do not plan ahead. This book covers a dozens of ways for you to communicate with others during an emergency. Family Radio Service (FRS), GMRS, Amateur Radio (Ham Radio), etc. This book will support steer you in the right direction. I use this book as a reference tutorial when teaching CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) Classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    The templates and coverage of different methods of radio communications, and thinking about a better approach when something happens is the theme of this book. Andrew provides an perfect pep talk about becoming a ham radio operator and makes this toipc approachable to those who may be reluctant at first to consider establishing private emergency communications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    I have been out of the communication field for over 20 years and this book brings you up to speed on what is currently being used. I am personally convinced that a light weight mobile man packable HAM system is the respond for short and long distance communications using low power radios and efficient antennas chop to the frequency you will need for the distance. So obtain your HAM license if you are serious on having real comms or as you read the book look realistically what you will be needing but remember you will be competing with others to communicate on the easy radio systems unless you are using a frequency hopper radio and communication security will be none s a amazing book to begin with and give direction on where to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    Amazing book ,condition excellent, really amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    I got this book via the Kindle application on my Droid. It was a amazing read. It's a amazing introduction to radio and communication systems for preparedness. The book even introduced me to a "new" type of radio that I'm really eager to own. I encourage those trying to plan for emmergency communications to obtain this book and read it a couple of times. It's a quick read, easy to understand, and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Emergency Communications: Staying in Touch Post-Disaster: Technology, Gear and Planning []  2019-12-23 20:33

    Written by the author of "The Street Home" and "The Day After", this is a non-fiction book discussing different modes of communications, and how to create the most of their use in an emergency. Discussion aren't limited to just amateur radio, though that is included. Satellite phones and CB are also covered. For anyone with a serious interest in emergency communications and survival, this book should be considered indispensable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Crisis to Recovery: Strategic Planning for Response, Resilience, and Recovery []  2020-1-21 20:58

    George W. Doherty continues his work of educating recovery workers so they can support themselves and those directly affected by crises in "From Crisis to Recovery: Strategic Planning for Response, Resilience, and Recovery." This book is a type of follow up to his earlier work, "Crisis Intervention Training for Disaster Workers: An Introduction." While Doherty covers some related ground in this book, overall, the book is better organized and more reader-friendly, breaking down everything to be considered during a crisis to provide an effective response and recovery from the e first chapter, "What is Stress?" is valuable to everyone, whether the person has been in a disaster, helped at a disaster, or just lived a normal life. While this chapter does not relate to disasters specifically, it is relevant to understand what is the natural level of stress people can handle and what are primary and effective methods of coping with stress, including effective breathing exercises. The a lot of positive side effects of stress are also included because they propel us forward. As Doherty points out later in the book, humans prefer a certain level of risk, rather than stagnation, and if risk is not present, they will make a level of risk comfortable to them. I found all this info helpful in understanding my own stress and anxieties, and I feel better prepared for traumatic situations as a effect of reading this book. I can see how this understanding of people's responses to stress is invaluable for understanding how they cope with disasters.Anyone who will work with people during a crisis will search this book invaluable, especially squad leaders who must prepare for all the different aspects of a crisis. As Doherty points out several times, it is necessary to understand that "No one who sees a disaster is untouched by it." Whether a person loses a home or loved one in the disaster, is part of relief and recovery efforts, or is simply part of the media reporting on the story, all these people have undergone a traumatic experience and need to know how to handle it. Doherty's explanations of understanding how various people cope with trauma, based on age and cultural background, create it clear one way does not fit everyone, one form of grief processing does not heal everyone grieving, and people have to consider the human and individual elements in the recovery roughout, the book offers practical steps for helping in a crisis. One perfect example was if a crisis worker is told about an elderly person having a difficult time dealing with the crisis, the worker can prioritize what otherwise would be overwhelming by focusing on immediate rather than secondary needs, immediate needs including medication, eyeglasses, and shelter; once immediate needs are determined, the easiest can be tackled first. I thought this suggestion was a practical and stress-relieving method to support the person suffering from the crisis. In addition, Doherty discusses helping kids cope with the situation, as well as how disaster workers can explain their absence from home to their own kids without traumatizing them with worry. In short, Doherty covers every possible scenario imaginable. I doubt there is anything he did not consider in writing this book. Much of the book seems like common sense, but the material is invaluable as a reminder of what needs to be done, which otherwise workers may not mentally be able to formulate for themselves in the midst of a herty uses considerable research and references to true disasters ranging from September 11th to hurricanes, tsunamis, and earthquakes to illustrate his points. While at times the book is a bit repetitive, and may also seem a small overwhelming to read from cover to cover, after one thorough read, I think it would serve as a fast and effective reference tutorial that crisis workers will return to again and yond the book's main text, the appendices provide an enormous list of resources--they actually create up over a quarter of the book. Web sites, books, and phone numbers of emergency organizations are included as well as outlines of what is required for planning consideration, structural organization, and guidelines for setting up processes. Examples of individual "After Action" reports and actual disaster plans are Doherty is the founder of the Rocky Mountain Region Disaster Mental Health Institute and its current president/CEO. He also serves as Clinical Coordinator of the Snow Range Critical Incident Stress Management Team. He has been involved in disaster relief since 1995 as a Disaster Mental Health Spet who has helped people through disasters from train wrecks to hurricanes and flash floods. I admire his expertise, his courage in performing what has to be a traumatic job, and his willingness to share his knowledge to aid workers in helping others and themselves in the most effective ways possible so people can be resilient and recover from the unforeseen disasters they experience. -- Tyler R. Tichelaar, Ph.D., author of the award-winning Narrow Lives

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    This book is a must have for any person that is a First Responder, CERT, RACES, ARES or just to know about what to do in an Emergency. This has all the Fema information. Unbelievable Bool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    Got this book for one of my college classes in Security Administration and found it to be very informative and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Intelligence Planning for Security Professionals: How to Use the Intelligence Process to Protect and Grow []  2020-2-6 23:15

    A amazing intro to protective intel. Other books go in-depth on the subjects covered here but, this is a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    I purchased this book for a class, but it is so well written and organized that I am going to place it on my professional bookshelf. If you are involved with Emergency Response Planning in any way, then you will love having this manual with in reach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    I am using this book as a text book for a college emergency management class. It is an simple read simple to use and has a lot of amazing info in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    Amazing book. Very very well written and is definitely useful for certain classes. Awesome pictures and very simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    I liked this book a lot. I would recommend it to anyone who is in the line of emergency response or the planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    For school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Intelligence Planning for Security Professionals: How to Use the Intelligence Process to Protect and Grow []  2020-2-6 23:15

    I quite honestly want I had this book nearly ten years ago. Physical Security has truly moved into the intelligence realm and for most of us who were there when it all started, it was a messy and very unorganized beginning. Greg Schneider's book is exactly what every Physical Security Control Room needs. I think in most cases the training that Control Room Operators keep in this domain is lacking this bedrock knowledge and even for Security Managers they too are falling into poor habits that will ultimately lead to operational failures. Intelligence Planning for Security Specialists will set your program on the right path to develop its own mature Intelligence program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    This book is a amazing resource for learning about emergency management, disaster & response planning. Speaking primarily from a firefigher's perspective of emergency response, the book covers multiple topics. A definate must read for managers and emergency responders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Response Planning for Corporate and Municipal Managers (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) []  2020-1-23 2:7

    I have to have this book for my class SEC320 going for my major in Security Management. So I suppose this book is extremely helpful with that part. It has plenty of info in it, so I suppose I would recommend this to people, I would imagine they would need it for their class, and it is beautiful cheap here at Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    I purchased the book because it was updated with the recent changes to SS from the 2015 budget reconciliation act. I thought that it did a amazing job concisely explaining how SS works and how various situations can affect the how and when one would apply for SS. It included a amazing explanation of the GPO and Windfall elimination provisions that affect government workers with a government pension who through other employment also paid into the SS Insurance Fund. Even though the explanations were concise there were ample references to other doents including IRS publications (many with hyperlinks) if one desired to obtain more detailed information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    This very amazing book covers most of the subjects that the typical person (or family) needs to consider while making the major decision of when to claim Social Security retirement e book is organized into bite-sized pieces that lets you easily focus on your specific situation (Single, working spouse, spouses with unequal earnings histories, non-working spouse, etc.). It explains the rational behind the decision making for the 'when to file' is book has helped me tweak my tactic for when to claim and has created me much more confident about my decision. Well worth the price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    This is the best and most straightforward introduction to Social Security and also contains a lot of necessary details.Everyone should have this book in order to properly plan for retirement. Don't judge the other books by their weight; this one will likely be the only one you'll ever need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Let's be honest. Social Security can be complicated. Forget all of the political aspects of the program, but if you've been putting cash into the system, it affects you. The issue is that once you're eligible to begin receiving benefits, it isn't as easy as filling out a form and collecting checks. There are so a lot of various rules, income limitations, age requirements, cut-offs, that it can drive a person , should you begin collecting as soon as you're eligible, or should you wait a few years until you can keep your full benefit? How much cash can you create in retirement before it starts affecting your Social Security? Are your benefits taxed? What if you have a spouse, how will their benefits impact you? What happens if I already have a pension? And have you heard people talk about WEP? These are all common concerns that will affect all of us, and if you just tried to obtain the info from the Social Security www service itself, you'd end up more confused than when you at's why I think this book should be in the hands of anyone who is serious about their finances. Even if retirement is still years away, you will still be facing a lot of of these decisions even if the specific numbers change over time. The author does a amazing job of breaking down this complicated program into its necessary components so you can search out what's necessary to you and obtain the info you need. There's no silver bullet or magic number when it comes to Social Security, so this book will tutorial you and inform you so that you can create the best decision for you instead of relying on some generic tip you search online or hear on 's short, it's an simple read, and it's to the point without making things any more complicated than it needs to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    I bought this upon the recommendation of a mate as I am approaching retirement. This book is JUST what I required to winnow through the complexities of SS decision making. Simple to read and cuts through all of the government (typical!) jargon and obfuscation--a must for anyone trying to figure out SS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    This short book explains the Social Security retirement program very clearly. After reading it, I understand the basics of the program and what I need to do to obtain signed up and create the most of my ever, much of the tip is centered around the idea of spending down my own savings first in order to delay getting Social Security, so that the monthly benefit will be more. I'm not comfortable with that idea, because, as we all know, the Social Security program is facing a tough future with major cutbacks. What if I spend down my savings, and then benefits are chop drastically just before I'm ready to begin collecting them? Will I end up having to go back to work although advanced in years? I didn't feel that the author addressed this possibility, which I think is very real. I'm going to obtain my financial advisor's opinion on this before making any plans to do it this way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Another perfect job by Mike Piper in explaining a complex topic in an simple to read, logical presentation of the necessary facts. Whenever I read any of Mike's work, I search myself starting to ask a question, only to have Mike's next words provide the clear answer. A lot of writers seem to show info from an academic point of view, whereas Mike seems to think through his presentation from the reader's point of view. I highly recommend this book for anyone trying to create informed decisions about the a lot of options for starting, and maximizing, social security benefits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    Amazing book! In some cases social security can be complicated. But if your situation is not complicated this book will probably respond your questions and provide you with sufficient knowledge to create an optimal decision. If your case happens to be a complicated one for whatever reason - multiple marriages, disability questions, non-covered pensions, etc., this book MIGHT provide you with enough information to figure it out and create a decision on your own. But even if your situation is too complex for that - at a minimum - the book will provide you with a heads up on the problems and a amazing sense of the options that your should consider; this background will be helpful in discussions with your advisor or the SSA staff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    An simple read, step-by-step, with amazing chapter summaries. Simplifies any complex problems and offers relevant examples. Recommend it to anyone considering retirement, but remain aware that the book speaks to Social Security as it is defined in 2017. Read it now for planning purposes, but expect to see an updated ver when you are ready to create the move.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Security Made Simple: Social Security Retirement Benefits and Related Planning Topics Explained in 100 Pages or Less [Book]  2018-6-27 18:0

    This is a very helpful book, and well worth the relatively modest investment of both time to read it and price. I had looked all over the put for answers to a few easy social security questions, including with a financial advisor, at the SS government website, and in general googling, and hadn't found them. I found them in this e book is well-written, well-organized, very readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disaster Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Plan to Ensure Business Continuity and Protect Vital Operations, Facilities, and Assets []  2020-12-12 19:45

    Excelente estructura

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disaster Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Plan to Ensure Business Continuity and Protect Vital Operations, Facilities, and Assets []  2020-12-12 19:45

    Nice book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disaster Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Plan to Ensure Business Continuity and Protect Vital Operations, Facilities, and Assets []  2020-12-12 19:45

    Amazing resource to have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disaster Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Plan to Ensure Business Continuity and Protect Vital Operations, Facilities, and Assets []  2020-12-12 19:45

    This is really amazing book for a really dry subject (unless you like BCDR). The info is very simple to grasp and the example situations create true globe use achievable. Just on the books content I would have rated it 5 stars, but the book frequently references the online material that one can no longer obtain because the publisher was "bought-out". I am trying to reach out to Harper Collins, but no luck so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disaster Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Plan to Ensure Business Continuity and Protect Vital Operations, Facilities, and Assets []  2020-12-12 19:45

    Very well structured, logically presented, and thorough in its treatment of the topic. A amazing text that I would highly recommend to others in the field interested in this topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disaster Recovery Handbook: A Step-by-Step Plan to Ensure Business Continuity and Protect Vital Operations, Facilities, and Assets []  2020-12-12 19:45

    I bought this book for the forms and templates that are so often referred to within this book, but is useless if you don't the companion url. Harper Collins doesn't have this info. Can't contact the authors, so I"m going to see if I can return this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    School book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    This book was a needed textbook for a course, however if you are looking for a book to support you with planning and scheduling I would recommend another. This book is written in a circular and sometimes unclear way. Explanations for difficult EV or PERT calculations are not simple to follow and sometimes critical formulaic info is buried in paragraph text while other non-critical formulas are called out clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Extremely overpriced for the content within this text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    and pharmacy uiua [ vjet]  2020-10-16 3:45
    [email protected]

    - canadian pharmacy [url= in united states of america pharmacy[/url] canadian pharmacy com india pharmacy canadian pharcharmy [url= pharmacy - [/url] us pharmacy london pharmacy canada [url= pharmacies without prescription[/url] canadian online pharmacy for legitimate online pharmacies india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    The largest problem so far with this book is that they preach to not use arrowheads on the vectors for network diagramming because it's inferred that the input should always be to the left of an activity node and out to its right. While that should always be the case, they really should've added arrowheads for clarity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Construction Planning and Scheduling met my ll

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Textbook required for college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Its a well written text although repetitive. The price was the lowest I could find, delivery was right on time, and the book was brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Well written, simple to follow, and simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Very relevant. Suited for project management specialists and undergrad/grad students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Construction Planning and Scheduling []  2020-1-15 19:18

    very primary info and I didn't see any value of this book

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386