shadow Reviews & Opinions


Submit shadow review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    If you are truly a dog lover as I am, this book gives a lot of insight to their world. It is heartbreaking and unbelievable at the same time. I read it a second time to my husband and he agreed with me. Well worth the bara

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    The book was wonderfully written, full of truths, insights and knowledge about dog behavior. It touched me deeply and I hope a lot of people will read it and decide to adopt an older dog; we just did a month ago! Adopted dogs are always so gratefully for every bit of love they keep from their fresh owner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    TAKE HIM HOME, ANNIE! Please adopt a pet and treat him or her really, really, really well. They have feelings...

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on shadow or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch shadow video reviews and related movies:

    See Juice WRLD - Lucid Dreams (Dir. by @_ColeBennett_) on youtube.

     related image

    See Best of Mighty Shadow Greatest Hits - Old Soca Mix Tribute to Mighty Shadow R.I.P on youtube.

     related image

    See 5 Shadow Fight 2 Weapons in REAL LIFE on youtube.

     related image

    See Triplo Max - Shadow on youtube.

     related image

    See The gaming PC days are NUMBERED! on youtube.

     related image

    See 6 GRANDES FRAUDES EN VIDEOJUEGOS | TOP on youtube.

     related image

    See Austin Mahone - Shadow (Official Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See (UPDATE: READ DESCRIPTION) SHADOW Let's Play: Happy Wheels // Sonic Levels on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    Went back and bought it. Be ready it really touches your Heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This book is such a real story. I volunteered at a shelter for a year, and Shadow's story is like so a lot of other dogs. People dump their dogs all of the time. Too busy, expecting a baby, work too much, etc. It makes me sick!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    Sad but it makes you think too a lot of animals are waiting for their forever home adopt save a life please

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    Love these dog stories....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    A unbelievable and touching story. It will create you cry. Fell in love with shadow. Best book I've read in a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    A sad book. I know the situation is sad. Don’t wish to read books that are essential ly advertising

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow review [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    This has created me cry from the beginning. As I was ready to quit reading some amazing began happening. Looking forward to more is a very amazing description of a dogs feelings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    This was a amazing book for this series! So far I have really enjoyed reading this series and I have read the first two books multiple times. This book didn’t disappoint and I love how it showed little glimpses into the lives of the characters from the first two books. This was an awesome book with action and mystery. I really liked the who -done-it feel and it kept me guessing until the very end. Spectacular book that I couldn’t place down and so I read it the day it came out!My only disappointment is that she hasn’t written the next two books, because I can’t wait to read about Em and Val and Nicolette and Tavi. The wait is going to be torture!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    Another brother finds his intended mate. Danger follows the couple. Not as intense as the first two stories in this series but a lovely romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    As usual I couldn’t wait for the book to come out. Definitely a series I’ll continue to enjoy. Sasha is the excellent foil for Giovanni. Eagerly awaiting the stories for the remaining siblings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    Very graphic sex. Amazing 👍story line. Very engaging characters . Enjoyed the story, kept me up method past my bedtime. Read on one fay

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    Really like this fresh series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    some. what disappointing. I love this fresh series, rst two were great. however, msn Meehan seems to have fallen into the trap so a lot of others have also done. sex in put of plot. her two characters got together and in bed much too soon. I would have liked more interaction before the huge event. however it was amazing to catch up with other mates and look forward to next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    Shadow Keeper by Christine Feehan is the 3rd book in her unbelievable Shadow series. I love this series, as the premise though paranormal, it is various and fantastic. Refresher: Shadow riders have the ability to blend themselves to the shadows wherever they are, making themselves invisible to anyone. They have been in existence for centuries, with all members of their families trained to use those abilities. The family runs a legitimate business; they use their ability to support others in need to solve different issues and dispense justice. They are an extremely strong and close-knit family that is totally loyal to one another, also protecting the people that in live in their ovanni Ferraro, our hero, has an injury to his leg, which keeps him from shadow riding. Instead, he hangs around the family owned nightclub, keeping up his appearance of being a playboy. He finds himself attracted to the fresh waitress, but when she overhears him and his cousins fooling around about betting on who gets a woman to seduce them, Giovanni notices her disdain and becomes belligerent; something is never does. What is it about this girl that has him enthralled?Sasha Provis, our heroine, works two jobs; during the day at the local deli, and at night at the nightclub. She needs cash to take care of her older brother, who is in a rehab after a serious accident. Sasha is filling in for someone; she has to cover the upper tier, which consists of popular and rich men. When three of them go too far, test to rip her top, it is Giovanni who will come to her rescue. He takes her to the local pizza put to unwind, and apologize for his behavior. Giovanni knows that Sasha is the one for him, and he can sense that she can do shadows, though she is not experienced in that.A slow built romance begins, as Giovanni does everything to victory Sasha’s trust, and their romance is sizzling hot. He was a amazing hero, doing everything he can to support her financially with her brother. Sasha was a unbelievable heroine, who loved her brother, though he does not remember her, and she does everything in her power to pay for everything herself, not wanting the Ferraro’s to contribute to the adow Keeper is also a mystery, as to who is trying to break up Giovanni and Sasha, and putting other lives in danger. This will also bring Sasha and Giovanni closer, as well as indoctrinating Sasha to the Ferraro family. This was lots of fun to watch her bond with the ladies, and start to trust all of them.What follows is an exciting adventure, where both Sasha and Giovanni search themselves under attack, with the entire Ferraro family working hard to search the culprit. This was also a very sensual romance, as Feehan had a lot of sex scenes between our couple. The intense pulse pounding story did remain in the forefront, but I did feel that the sex scenes a bit too many.What I love the most about this series is all the unbelievable characters that Feehan has created. I love all of the Ferraros, and those they fall in love with that join the family. They are an amazing family, with awesome abilities that create this so much adow Keeper is a captivating, exciting, suspenseful, action packed story, with a unbelievable couple that steams the pages. This is a unbelievable paranormal series that you should be reading, and very well written by Christine Feehan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    Oooh lawd. Christine Feehan has me over here fantasizing about shadows! Did that one just move? The Shadow series and the uber yummy Ferraro Brothers, will have you looking a small harder the next time you see a shadow move across your field of vision. Shadow Keeper is the third installment of the Shadow series, and I would encourage you to read them in order. While each story has its own arc, it will benefit you to have some of the back story from earlier books. Plus, the whole series has been amazing so you won't regret investing the e character of this installment is Giovanni Ferraro, our playboy Ferraro brother. Or is he? If you have read the previous books, you will know that Giovanni was shot in the leg and has been unable to ride the shadows while he recovers. This means he is spending more than his normal share of time in the nightclubs being the "face" of the Ferraro family, and a distraction for their enforcement activities. When Giovanni finds his "one" - his fated friend - all those alpha male protective instincts come to the fore to bring his woman on board and agree to tie their shadows together for life. Now the Ferraro men tend to railroad their women until they accept the foregone conclusion that they belong together. While some don't like the pushy alpha males... they really engage in this behavior for all the right reasons, and you can't imagine a woman treated better than these heroines. I seriously love Feehan's heroes, they all tend to have the alpha characteristics in common, and I don't think I've met one that I didn't like.Our lucky heroine is Sasha Provis, a somewhat sheltered girl from the farm in Wyoming. Sasha was a very likable heroine. She was sweet and family-oriented, but she also didn't fear sticking up for herself or saying what she wanted. I loved the playful side that surfaced once she accepted Giovanni. In addition, she was a dedicated sister and did all in her power to provide the best care for her disabled brother, Sandlin. And Sandlin, dios mio, he just broke my the relationship between these two moves at a beautiful quick clip, as is the tendency in the fated friends trope. I don't mind that. In fact, I am super satisfied when the fated heroine accepts her fated Ferraro brother and things begin getting good. These alphas are super steamy and skilled, and I loved the play and banter between Sasha and e secondary storyline for Shadow Keeper involves a stalker who puts our heroine in danger. I felt like this was laid out very well and helped to advance the plot so that it wasn't all romance and sexytimes. The Ferraros do danger very well, and it makes them all the more appealing. Our future books in the series are shaping up to be explosive and dramatic, and I can't wait!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book that I received from the publisher, Berkley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    4.5 stars---SHADOW KEEPER is the third instalment in Christine Feehan’s contemporary, adult SHADOW RIDERS erotic, paranormal romance series focusing on a species of humans- The Ferraro Family- that are able to ‘use and ride’ shadows, to move about in secret. This is Giovanni Ferraro, and cocktail waitress Sasha Provis’s story line. SHADOW KEEPER can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any necessary info from the previous story line is revealed where ME BACKGROUND: The Shadow rider male must search his friend –a woman who is capable of riding the shadows-or at the very least with the ability to bear kids with the shadow-riding gene. Within the family, the Ferraro siblings are tasked with finding a mate, fated by DNA, who is capable of continuing the family ld from several third person perspectives including Sasha and Giovanni SHADOW KEEPER follows the building relationship between Giovanni Ferraro, and cocktail waitress Sasha Provis. To the public and the paparazzi Giovanni Ferraro is the family playboy, a role he despises since the shooting that left him unable to ‘ride the shadows’ but a role that keeps the spotlight away from the family business. Meeting Sasha Provis, the newest cocktail waitress at the family owned club, pulled at more than our hero’s heart but at their mutual shadows the began to intertwine. When several MMA warriors turned their attentions to Sasha Provis, Giovanni knew he had to protect the woman with whom he would fall in love. What ensues is the building and fated romance between Sasha and Giovanni, as the Ferraro family come together to protect one of their ha Provis is a feisty, independent heroine who struggles to take care of her elder brother since the vehicle accident that left him a shell of his former self. Alone but well aware of her surroundings Sasha and her shadow will cross paths with her future, a man as risky and strong as he is beautiful. The relationship is intimate, erotic, intense and provocative. There is some light bondage and rope l of Giovanni’s sibling play secondary and supporting roles, as well as a number of cousins, who use the shadows as they work for the family business, meting out justice for those unable to protect themselves. The Ferraro family is a tight-knit, fiercely protective family unwilling to risk the lives of the people they love including those under the protection in the Ferraro ristine Feehan does an wonderful job creating the intricate, and secretive globe of the ‘shadow riders’. The premise is intriguing, edgy and energetic; the characters are inspiring and colorful; the romance is seductive and dramatic. SHADOW KEEPER is an engaging, enjoyable and imaginative look at the paranormal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Keeper (A Shadow Riders Novel) review [Book]  2018-5-30 18:0

    I am a large fan of the Shadow Rider’s series! There is something about the Ferraro family that I just love. Probably that they are misunderstood anti-heroes of sorts. I just love how the family deeply cares about each other and that they use their supernatural powers to bring a vigilante justice to those that have escaped consequences for their crimes. In Shadow Keeper, Giovanni Ferraro finds himself in a position where he needs to be the one in the limelight in order to hold the attention off of his siblings and cousins as they carry on with their vigilante ovanni was previously injured by gunshot and he is no longer able to ride the shadows due to metal placement in his leg that gives stability to the injured locations. Although he is hoping the metal to be a temporary measure there is a certain amount of uncertainty as to whether or not he will fully recover and this has place Giovanni in a poor put mentally. He knows that he is doing a amazing thing for his family and that until he can have the metal removed, this is all he can do but it is not something that sits well with him. It has also caused him to act out of ovanni knows that he is acting like a scoundrel but it doesn’t really matter to him until his rather unchivalrous attitude causes Sasha Provis to be rather disgusted with him. Sasha is a newly hired waitress at the Ferraro club but for some reason Giovanni was drawn to her and he did not wish Sasha thinking ill of him. Despite trying to present her that he is more than what she thinks, she is very wary of him. Sasha does not wish Giovanni in her life because she has enough to worry about with trying to create ends meet but when it becomes clear that she is being stalked by a risky predator she has small choice but to accept the support that Giovanni has to always with this series there is a high level of sensuality, tantalizing romance, and supernatural intrigue. There was an addition of a mystery element to this installment that had a creep factor to it and that was very cool. Also, there was a positive sibling relationship that was very sweet and endearing and I loved that aspect to it. Sorry, I cannot be clearer about that, ha ha, don’t wish to be a spoiler. Shadow Keeper is definitely a story that I will highly recommend to all readers because it has it all – romance, mystery, sensuality and a supernatural twist!This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no method affected my review or rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    nice and awesome war android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    love this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    very amazing android game it works very smoothly and too amazing graphics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    owesom

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    sweet graphics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow fighter 2: Shadow & ninja fighting games review [App]  2019-3-13 13:24

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow of the Vampire review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Did I slay one of your people, Murnau? I can't remember. F.W. Murnau (John Malkovich) is filming Nosferatu (1922), but isn't reclusive star Max Schreck (Willem Dafoe) taking his role of the vampire method too seriously? In some ways it's a curate's egg of a film. It certainly helps if you are a lover of old classic movie and have some knowledge of the source material at the film's core. It's a fabulous concept that the screenplay is based around, that the star of the movie may actually be a true vampire, and the whole production is executed with consummate skill (Dafoe was deservedly Oscar nominated as were make-up artists Ann Buchanan & Amber Sibley). But come the end it fizzles out and proves to not have delivered on its devilishly intriguing premise. Fun, though, and tech credits all round hold one well involved. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Shadow Men review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    It seems not a single person behind-the-scenes on this project strived to create it anything more than passable. That's not to say the movie is poor -- it isn'@#$%!&? not amazing either. It's just... *Meh* There were opportunities in the script for curve balls to be thrown at the audience, but the filmmakers declined. They stuck to the formula, never veered off the path of familiarity, and gave us the plot completely by the numbers. This is the type of film that you can flip on at any time and not really pay attention, never having to worry if you'll miss any key plot points. I'm a fan of Eric Roberts and search him enjoyable in even the worst of movies, so having him in the cast definitely helped. And kudos to the filmmakers for playing off the ridiculously poor alien costumes for realism. They looked awful, but worked in that "so cheesy it's fun" sort of way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow of Chinatown review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Bela Lugosi is one of my favourites of the first scene of horror presences (not including silent cinema), but compared to his contemporaries (Boris Karloff, Vincent Price and Lon Chaney Jr.), he had more than his share of turkeys. The atmospheric, Hungarian-born, quite charismatic actor starred in one of them here, in this 'Charlie Chan'-knockoff serial. I tend to love them, but this is a minor, 70-minute editing of the 15-episode, 281-minute edition. It has decent supporting players, in Joan Barclay and Bruce Bennett, a woman trying to become an exciting news reporter, rather than simply the newspaper's society column editor, and her boss, respectively, who end up, predictably enough, romantically entangled as they test to explore what and who's behind raids threatening competitor merchants in San Francisco's Chinatown from the business interests of Lugosi's employer, the gorgeous Dragon Lady (Luana Walters). Lugosi gives your money's worth as the despicable and ruthless villain. My copy came from my legendary Mill Creek 50-pack 'Nightmare Worlds', and if you have fun serials, Lugosi or 30's detective movies such as the 'Charlie Chan' series, it's a decent poor-boy's ver and worth a watch. I would prefer to see the full version, but that's just me. If you're just marginally interested in them or prefer Lugosi in his more horrific fare, this may prove boring for you, and I would suggest that instead, you stick to his better-known projects with more cash behind them and better directors--they offer you much more meat to sink you *ahem* teeth into.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Shadow Riders review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    The Traven Brothers. The Shadow Riders is directed by Andrew V. McLaglen and adapted to screenplay by Jim Byrnes from the novel written by Louis L'Amour. It stars Tom Selleck, Sam Elliott, Katharine Ross, Dominique Dunne, Ben Johnson and Geoffrey Lewis. Melody is by Jerrold Immel and cinematography by Jack Whitman. A CBS TV production, The Shadow Riders has Selleck (Mac Traven) and Elliott (Dal Traven) as brothers, who even though they fought on various sides in the Civil War, there fondness for each other still exists. With the battle now officially ended, the brothers meet up and head for the family home, here they search their parents telling of how their sisters and Dal's girlfriend Kate (Ross) have been abducted by Renegade Rebels. The men promptly set off in find of their loved ones... It's all very much standard stuff, both in plot telling and production values. Exuding very much a family feel, it's a disappointingly bloodless and sexless picture, with some cliché'd dialogue, not good musical accompaniments to certain scenes (tonally method off) and filler sequences thrown in for amazing measure. That said, it's very much a harmless piece, with the two male leads amazing company to share some time with, while Johnson and Harry Carey Jr. offer up a welcoming presence. Zone scenery is also well photographed, keeping things airy, and ultimately it's a decent enough time waster for Western fans not expecting an under seen gem. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Shadow of the Cat review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Following their relatives’ murder, a group of relatives gathered together at her house to read her will search their servants and other guests more concerned with killing the pet cat who had witnessed the incident and must test to search a method of stopping them from doing so. This one was quite a decent and somewhat enjoyable enough effort. One of the more enjoyable elements here is the fact that this one really goes quite nicely with the traditional style of efforts featuring that old-school movie style. Playing on the archetype of the old-dark-house mysteries with the idea of relatives gathered together to read the will of a recently-deceased relative only to search themselves involved in a greater horror while staying there, that one gives this a amazing ploy for having suspenseful moments due to this type of storyline. From the huge grand layout and Gothic design of the house, there’s plenty to like here while this one plays out the rather fun notion of what’s going on as the film’s main focus here on taking on measures to search the cat and silence it which plays out throughout the film. These are quite fun from trapping it within cages and trapping it to chasing it around the house and other means of disposing of it which makes for a rather striking and somewhat fun efforts, while there’s some rather amazing items to be had here with the later revenge strategies to showcase the cat going around the house with them being paranoid about it to the point of rather comical natures of what’s going on here. That in itself is the largest issue with the film, in that it’s central premise is so ludicrous and laughably played-out here that it really strains itself method too often to the point of the cast themselves pointing out how insane the film’s plot actually is. That’s never a amazing sign, and it’s helped along by the fact that this one really strains the credibility of the action here with the relatives going for the cat in such contrived and increasingly bizarre ways that it feels somewhat silly to have them play out as they do. The latest flaw here is the fact that this one really doesn’t have all that amazing of a pace here which really stumbles with all the time spent on doing some rather than dealing with the cat as the family squabbles over the cash or the group conniving about finding ways to stop the cat which are so stuffy and bland that it doesn’t feature much of any interest during these parts. It’s enough to really create it stumble along during the mid-section when it’s not involved in anything, and these here do keep it down rather significantly. Today’s Rating/PG: Violence and tense themes of animal abuse.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Man in the Shadow review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The Bingham County Bully. Man in the Shadow is directed by Jack Arnold and written by Gene L. Coon. it stars Jeff Chandler, Orson Welles, Colleen Miller, Ben Alexander, John Larch and Barbara Lawrence. Uncredited melody is by Hans J. Salter and Herman Stein, and cinematography by Arthur E. Arling. The cattle city of Spurline is ruled by Virgil Renchler (Welles), one man refuses to bow to his despotic rule - Sheriff Ben Sadler (Chandler). Obreos No Son Permitidos A Traves De Esta Cerca. The above statement means that field hands are not permitted beyond this fence, it's an opening salvo that greets viewers of this atmospheric and relevant CinemaScope picture, and it's something that perfectly sets up the unseemly tone of the story. The story is easy enough, a city is run by an unsavoury business man who thinks he and his cronies are above the law, the townsfolk think he is as well and tow the line, even in view of the overt racism and treatment to those of other ethnicity. When a murder is committed it brings in the upright and loyal to the law Sheriff, who as you might guess will have to stand alone versus tyranny. "Now you're shocked? All you decent people were shocked? For god's sake why? Because my name's Ben Sadler instead of Juan Martine, cuz I'm a tax payer instead of a drifter?" With mood established, both in narrative thrust and monochrome magic, movie is more concerned with political bile, the abuse of power and troubled consciousness than being an action piece. You may well know how this is all going to end, but it's told and performed in such a gripping fashion that it holds court from first frame til last. A number of striking photos would grace a lot of a movie noir, the night shots of the town, a dastardly crime perpetrated in the shadow of a swinging lamp, the ominous lighting of the Renchler Ranch, and then there's the potency of the criminal acts, which are admirably constructed. Both Arnold and Arling proving to have keen eyes for visual impact. Welles doesn't have to stretch himself but makes a telling tag as the huge bad, while Larch does a nice line in snarly henchmen villainy. Sadly where Miller is concerned, as Renchler's daughter it's a token role that any gal could have played, the role seemingly only serving to have her strip to her undies and be annoyed with her dad. Head and shoulders above everyone is Chandler, there are those who call him wooden (amongst over things), not a bit of it. The right role, such as this, showcases his worth, his subtleties, his physicality and a calming grace that makes one lament his too short career and life. Thematically this sort of piece has been done much better elsewhere, but this is laudable items all told and well worth discovering for potential first time viewers. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Man in the Shadow review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The Bingham County Bully. Man in the Shadow is directed by Jack Arnold and written by Gene L. Coon. it stars Jeff Chandler, Orson Welles, Colleen Miller, Ben Alexander, John Larch and Barbara Lawrence. Uncredited melody is by Hans J. Salter and Herman Stein, and cinematography by Arthur E. Arling. The cattle city of Spurline is ruled by Virgil Renchler (Welles), one man refuses to bow to his despotic rule - Sheriff Ben Sadler (Chandler). Obreos No Son Permitidos A Traves De Esta Cerca. The above statement means that field hands are not permitted beyond this fence, it's an opening salvo that greets viewers of this atmospheric and relevant CinemaScope picture, and it's something that perfectly sets up the unseemly tone of the story. The story is easy enough, a city is run by an unsavoury business man who thinks he and his cronies are above the law, the townsfolk think he is as well and tow the line, even in view of the overt racism and treatment to those of other ethnicity. When a murder is committed it brings in the upright and loyal to the law Sheriff, who as you might guess will have to stand alone versus tyranny. "Now you're shocked? All you decent people were shocked? For god's sake why? Because my name's Ben Sadler instead of Juan Martine, cuz I'm a tax payer instead of a drifter?" With mood established, both in narrative thrust and monochrome magic, movie is more concerned with political bile, the abuse of power and troubled consciousness than being an action piece. You may well know how this is all going to end, but it's told and performed in such a gripping fashion that it holds court from first frame till last. A number of striking photos would grace a lot of a movie noir, the night shots of the town, a dastardly crime perpetrated in the shadow of a swinging lamp, the ominous lighting of the Renchler Ranch, and then there's the potency of the criminal acts, which are admirably constructed. Both Arnold and Arling proving to have keen eyes for visual impact. Welles doesn't have to stretch himself but makes a telling tag as the huge bad, while Larch does a nice line in snarly henchmen villainy. Sadly where Miller is concerned, as Renchler's daughter it's a token role that any gal could have played, the role seemingly only serving to have her strip to her undies and be annoyed with her dad. Head and shoulders above everyone is Chandler, there are those who call him wooden (amongst over things), not a bit of it. The right role, such as this, showcases his worth, his subtleties, his physicality and a calming grace that makes one lament his too short career and life. Thematically this sort of piece has been done much better elsewhere, but this is laudable items all told and well worth discovering for potential first time viewers. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street of Shadows review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Pin-Table Murder: Surprise Development. Street of Shadows (AKA: Shadow Man) is directed by Richard Vernon, who also adapts the screenplay from the novel “The Creaking Chair” written by Laurence Meynell. It stars Cesar Romero, Victor Maddern, Kay Kendall, Simone Silva, John Penrose, Bill Travers and Liam Gaffney. Melody is by Eric Spear, with harmonica by Tommy Reilly, and cinematography is by Phil Grindod. A amazing old frame-up thriller with noir styling, Road of Shadows finds Romero as Luigi, the manager of a gaming premises in London’s Soho area. When an old acquaintance of his, Angele Abbe (Silva), is found murdered in his apartment, he’s naturally the chief suspect. Forced to go on the run, Luigi hopes that the police or himself can search the true culprit soon. The story is beautiful conventional stuff, with the mystery element none existent since it can only really be one person who committed the murder. However, the benefits elsewhere create this worth sampling by the movie noir faithful, even if it’s not what you would call essential viewing. The whole picture is filmed in the noir style, Vernon and Grindod not missing any opportunities for a bit of shadow play or psychologically tinted contrast usage. The backdrop is a dour London of dark roads and alleyways, a dank part of the town where sordid characters go about their respective business. These people are either carrying some sort of affliction, aggressive or are emotionally stunted. An abused wife, a sexually frustrated janitor with a foot disability, card sharps, a man with large cauliflower ears, a playboy, ladies of the night, or in the case of Luigi, someone who you really wouldn’t wish to count on. Police Close Pin-Table Saloon! Luigi’s Pin-Table business is delightfully dingy, filled out with slot machines and macabre looking android games such as a laughing sailor or Konki The Clown: Fortune Teller. Breezing around the put are the two gals, Angele and Barbara Gale (Kendall), getting the lads hot under the collar, while the human fortune teller Starry Darrell (Molly Hamley Clifford) is a splendid hero capable of smoothing out Luigi’s edges. Acting is good, with Maddern the stand out performer, and how nice to hear amazing quality Harmonica as part of a musical score. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow on the Wall review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Stupid Cupid? Shadow on the Wall is directed by Pat Jackson and adapted to screenplay by William Ludwig from the story "Death in the Doll's House" written by Lawrence P. Bachmann and Hannah Lees. It stars Ann Sothern, Zachary Scott, Nancy Davis, Giggi Perreau and John McIntire. Melody is by André Previn and cinematography by Ray June. A nifty psychological hot pot this one. Story centers on a young kid called Susan Starrling (Perreau), who after witnessing the murder of her step-mother, succumbs to amnesia. Which is inconvenient for her father since he has been convicted of the murder and sent down to await execution. Can determined psychiatrist Caroline Cranford (Davis) eek the truth out of Susan's troubled memory? Can the true assassin ensure that that isn't the case? It's a private thing of course, but I have always found there to be something off kilter about doll's houses, and here we are greeted to an opening shot of one, superbly accompanied by Previn's ominous music, it's a excellent mood setter as to what is to come. Story lacks any mystery dynamic since we are privy to exactly what has gone on regarding the who, why and what fors, and in truth the outcome of it all is never really in doubt. So for although it's a thriller pic dressed up in movie noir clobber, it doesn't have the verve or devilment to really be classed full bodied as such. But that's by the by, visually and the presence of a kid in peril, with main hero disintegration the key feature, puts it into noir lovers considerations. Since the title features the word shadow it's no shock to search shadows and low lights feature prominently. The lighting effects are very striking, the changes in contrasts perfectly befitting the mood of certain scenes. Such as when dialogue is implying emotional discord, or the silent mindset of our antagonists, while a couple of neat shadow smother shots are assassin narrative boosts. The main building of the piece is not the doll's house, but that of the hospital where Susan is receiving treatment, and at night photographer Ray June perfectly sets it up for peril and dastardly deeds. While we also obtain a bit of wobble screen to signify troubled mental confusion. Cast range from adequate to very good. Honours go to Perreau, who is never once annoying, turning in an involving performance that has us firmly involved in her world, whilst Davis (the future First Lady Reagan) is very understated, where she gets a well written female hero whose not relying on male dominance to expand the part. And with Jackson directing in an unfussy manner it rounds out as a pic worth seeking out. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    This is a very well written story BUT for "ME" it created me cry in the beginning and the end. Very true and honest story of how older dogs don't obtain a fair shake. I won't ruin the story by saying what happens to Shadow and how it turns out. It broke my heart that he was adopted from a shelter just to be returned a lot of years later, just because he got old. I realize this is a story but it is very real to true life. I have 4 dogs of my own, 2 huge dogs and 2 medium size. This is definitely a tear jerker if you love dogs. I had a feeling that it would be when I purchased the book, I didn't realize how much until I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    oh my gosh oh my gosh oh my goshI was crying 3 pages in. eh, who am I trying to fool? I was crying reading the blurb. almost wasn't sure I'd even be able to read this book, but yesterday I was feeling like I could use a amazing cry &, boy, did Shadow give me reason to have one. I read this book in one sitting & cried my whole method through (most of the time while clinging to my boy cat & forcing him to stay with me).I really thought this was an incredibly well-written story; SO simple to imagine a dog or cat thinking & feeling like Shadow. SO hard to imagine how any human could do what Brian did. I have always thought of animals as people (have been vegetarian since the day, when I was 8 years old, that my parents stopped making me eat meat and can't even stand to watch animated animals obtain hurt); it seems like Ms Austin is a woman after my own heart and I am extremely grateful to her for writing this story. If it can support others to recognize that animals have feelings too, and that adoption means family (and, therefore, should be forever, in my opinion), that would be SO wonderful! I will definitely look for more works by this author

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    This is the tale of Shadow, an aging dog who has been abandoned at an animal shelter by his owner. Shadow is the first novel by this fresh author but surely won’t be the last. Aris Austin has a lot of talent and has made a well-written and engaging story. From the first few sentences the reader is connected to Shadow and rooting for him. It’s hard not to be moved by this touching story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    A very heart tugging story. I cried and wanted a satisfied ending so very badly. For anyone who has ever loved a fur baby can relate to the story of Shadow. One wonders how a person can love and care for a dog then give it up because it has gotten old. I have a 16 year old and would never dream of never caring for him until he is called away to Rainbow Bridge. It's a very moving story and so glad part of the purchase goes to support shelter dogs. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    The novella draws attention to unwanted dogs, particularly older dogs, who spend their lives in shelters before being euthanized. The short story focused on Shadow, a dog who lived with a family until deemed too old for their stin develops the personality of Shadow through his relationships at the shelter, his memories of home, and his likes and dislikes of foods and toys. Shadow’s thoughts at times resemble those of a child’s who would reason, rather than only comprehend, however, Shadow’s devastation from being left behind, and his dreams for a fresh home are heartfelt, and his plight, well understood. One cannot support but fall in love with the dark furred, smart and gentle shepard mix. Aris Austin’s cause for animals is more than commendable and the attractive and sensitive, novella, well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    I cried and cried. I loved and miss all my pets who have gone over the golden bridge, the latest one, Fergus, just six months ago. He gave me amazing joy and love for his 14 and 3/4 years. And, yes, I am a healthier person as a vegan! Just a month and some days ago I adopted an 11 year old senior, and he thanked me by providing me honest love and affection. He is so very satisfied it makes me smile once again.I would urge those who have lost their four-legged companion to dedicate that pets memory to saving a rescue animal. It is truly worthwhile and helps heal the heart and empty zone a little.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    Even though the author avoids the maudlin, "Shadow" is the story of an eleven and one half year old dog that had been rescued from a shelter by Brian as a six month old puppy. The novel begins a few days after the Christmas for which Brian and his wife give a fresh puppy to their two young daughters. Brian returns Shadow to the same shelter a lot of years later because the dog is "too old for my family." (Brians gets on to the "Do not permit to adopt" list.) Told from Shadow's perspective, the novel deals with his realization that he has been abandoned, and with his grief, loneliness, emptiness, and sense of betrayal. He decides never to love another human again, but a young employee at the shelter named Annie (who already has the limit of two dogs permitted by her landlady) makes it her mission to bring Shadow back to life with as much attention as she can give him. The novel covers one year, beginning with the drop off date. The novel deals with Shadow's relationship with Annie and his growing hope for a fresh home. The finale is one of the most gut wrenching pieces of writing I have ever read. But Annie, his human, is at Shadow's side, showering him with all the love she can muster. And isn't that what dogs are for? Simply to be loved and to love with all their being in return?I will now go cry over my own eight year old rescue mutt. I will die before I give her away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    We have two rescue dogs at our house. A miniature Shnouser and a pitbull mix. The pitbull was rescued from a dog war ring and had lots of bites and tears all over him. That's how he got his name. It is Boo Boo! He is healthy and satisfied now. These two dogs and our cat love to chase each other and play fight. Shadow and all animals deserve loving forever homes. They are not disposable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    Long after reading this book my heart aches for this unbelievable dog. This story ticked me off at the insensitivity of man, created me feel proud of the compassion & caring of a shelter worker and tore my heart out for sweet, innocent Shadow who only wanted to have his love & loyalty returned the method every dog deserves to be able to count on throughout their much too short lives. Still brings tears to my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-24 18:1

    Fighting back tears. I read this in one sitting, could not place it down. I am more of a cat person but I fell in love with Shadow. How anyone could abandon an animal who loved them all their life is just beyond my comprehension. My heart broke for this not good baby who just wanted love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Nobunaga's Shadow review [App]  2018-5-21 21:0

    best android game ever!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    SHADOW RUN is an action-packed adventure from the very first page. Intrigue and mystery are the name of the game, leaving you on the edge of your seat and flipping pages even more rapidly with with every passing scene. While some plot may have been a tad predictable, it did not detract from how enjoyable the overall story was, and in fact, these instances lull you into a sense of complacency, thinking you know where something's headed, before coming at you with a wallop of a so, this book has essentially everything I love: ragtag group of people forming a found family; zone travel; a cinnamon roll boy and a [email protected]#$%, strong, smart girl falling for each other; snarky banter; slow burn romance; morality battles; a genderfluid babe and his queer lover; inexplicably powerful supernatural abilities; and more!I'm so intrigued by the Shadow and Qole's ability to access the energy's power, and I cannot wait to see how Strickland and Miller will expand on the characters finding answers. Basra and Arjan are my everything, individually and together. Telu is my little kid that I wish only amazing things for, and I'm looking forward to more of grumpy Eton and his endless cache of weapons. And Nev, my prince, I am excited and nervous to see where he'll go from here, after the happenings of the latest few chapters. I wish to know everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    This book is amazing and I can't wait to read the rest of the series! In addition to introducing complex, powerful characters, the story takes us on a mindbending, hair-raising journey through space, filled with challenges to navigate and wars to win. The story raises complex political and economic problems as various kingdoms maneuver for dominance; introduces complicated questions about family and loyalty; and reinvents the age-old philosophical question about the extent to which sacrificing people is ever justifiable in serving the greater good. Oh, and along the way, there is a Cinderella-like ball gown; a romance involving a gender-fluid character; and wars involving specialized soldiers trained in a weapon called a Disruptor Blade. Bring on the next volume!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    I absolutely devoured this book. I've been hungry for characters with more diverse backgrounds and perspectives - just something NEW with my favorite style of zone adventures. Shadow Run totally delivered for me. Qole is one of my favorite fresh characters in a while, I really wanted to spend more time in her head. The method the squad balanced and conflicted with one another, the smart ways the authors made distinct cultures with disparate wealth and reach, and the gender-fluid hero of Basra - I totally loved it. The pace starts off somewhat deliberate, but it's a straight sprint to the end that had me biting my nails. I'm so glad to learn that more books are on the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    It's not a stretch to say this book has it all: innovative science fiction/fantasy, non-stop action with plenty of cliff-hanger/nail biter moments to hold you guessing about the story's ultimate direction/main character's fate and sprinkled with comedic dialog that cuts the tension and keeps the characters e authors made a special universe full of multi-dimensional/ complex characters to care about - the story and setting feels like a whole meal experience -but at the same time die-hard science fiction/Fantasy/Comedy-adventure fans will have fun spotting the influences and references to epic films and books which have gone before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    It started a bit slow for me. But once the story started to take on more hero and the twists and turns started, I became riveted and couldn't place it down. The genre is hard to describe as it's part sci-fi, part mystery, part romance, part.... As the story continues you obtain more involved in the characters. In summary, a amazing read that I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    Favorite Quote:“Shame. That was an exquisite dress.”Let me just say, there is a biiig chunk I just have to tag as spoilers. Hold that in mind before reading.I received an ARC of: Shadow Run via NetGalley in exchange for an honest my humble opinion, this isn’t just “reminiscent” of Firefly, it honestly ripped portions of it with some tweaking. If you’ve seen Serenity, you’ve read the end of this book if I’m being honest. It has them overpowering an troops with drones they cannot control and rip ships to shreds. Just method less creepy than reavers. Then crashing their ship into the citadel, followed by lots of people getting shot/sliced up until some political maneuvering wins them their freedom, but just for now. There needs to be more books you know.Let me present you. With some direct quotes from the book. Let’s begin with my private favorite.“Climbing, spinning, diving, Qole created the Kaitan dance like a kite in the wind.”Ha. Familiar no? This is followed a few pages later by:“The Kaitan scatter a million sparks into the air as it slid across the floor of the decimated hangar.”It even has the iconic River stage after she is standing in the carnage of the Reavers.“Near the battered, hulking shape of the Kaitan, Nev stood over Eton. Eton was on the ground, holding his leg in a puddle of blood. Blood was all around them. Nev was still for the moment, chest and shoulders heaving, swords held out in either hand. His jacket was in tatters, his arms covered in dripping cuts.”And let’s be honest. Eton is just Jayne. Angry, mouthy, dozens of ammo, guns blazing, even down to pouring alcohol on his wounded leg instead of getting medical that’s not to say I didn’t have fun the read. I really honestly did. I love Serenity and Firefly. I just felt allow down that the ending was beautiful much exactly the same as the movie. I don’t mind homages to amazing stories. I just wanted it to come out more on it’s own.I honestly liked Nev and Qole. I honestly felt for Nev by the end. He beautiful much had his whole globe ripped apart and I like how Qole actually recognized that, even through everything she went through herself. Qole was a powerful lead. I want we saw more of some of the side characters like Telu and Basra. Though we got some interesting insights to Basra at the end that I’m curious how that will go from here. I really liked Solara and her attitude. We got so small of her and I found her quite interesting.I can’t say I found the blurb for the sequel all that exciting. This book could probably stand on it’s own and yet I’ll probably read the next one in hopes of more of the side characters to see if they obtain fleshed out. Honestly I’d like to see much more of his sister Solara. Though it just really didn’t catch my interest so it’s more like…if I obtain around to e writing was fluid and simple to read, the descriptions were beautiful decent and I felt the romance was not too quick which was nice. I found myself enjoying the beginning but the more like Serenity it became, I just got a bit disenchanted. Perhaps the sequel will break more into it’s own? It was beautiful fast-paced and overall I did like it, just didn’t wow me or anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    This was an perfect book! Sort of a reverse Han Solo/Princess Leia scenario meets Dune, the characters practically jumped off the page. It took me a few chapters to obtain fully immersed in the globe and terms, but after that I couldn't place it down. New voices, compelling world--very well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    The first of a trilogy I've heard and I'm looking forward to the next one. Perfect characters and plot development that combine to create a fun and engrossing story. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a amazing sci-fi adventure written the method the old masters would've liked.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    NO SPOILERS.I have to admit that Nev's opening chapter almost lost me, but I'm glad I stuck around. This is a, mostly, fast-moving zone opera that present a lot of its influences from the writer's Alaskan-inspired globe to works such as Dune (spice) and even His Dark Materials (dust).Written in alternating chapter from the point of view of the two protagonists, we obtain to know both fairly well. Both co-authors did a fine job in parsing out the story to their respective "mostly" references the slowdown during one stretch in the second half of the book that I felt slowed down pace of the story. Guys, you'll know the section when you read. Female readers might not agree with my assessment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Run review [Book]  2018-5-28 18:0

    3.5 stars, but I'm rounding down. This book was beautiful tropey and not in the method I usually like. I definitely came into this book with middling expectations and overall the book just about reached them. My largest issue with the book was the structure of the story and the treatment of Basra, the single trans hero in the entire e pacing and conflict revolved around miscommunication and lies. Characters were tongue-tied in the method that created things more dramatic (or attempted to). One hero insists his family is amazing and pure; it's obvious they're not because that's how the trope works. Towards the end, there were a bit too a lot of coincidences that got the characters out of a pickle, which other reviewers have commented on. The will they or won't they relationship between Qole and Nev wasn't interesting because there was no method they WOULDN'T obtain together, since this is a YA book and they're heterosexuals and the main characters.I will say I did like Nev; he turned out to be a amazing fighter, which I wasn't expecting, since I imagined him to be a nebbish guy at , Basra... people saying they loved Basra, but I have to say their portrayal was beautiful elementary in the globe of gender identity thought. First of all, Basra is always gendered by others based on what they're wearing, and even someone like Nev, who has never met Basra before, identifies them as a "he" at first glance which is supposedly correct. Gender and appearance aren't always correlated and especially for a genderfluid character. It honestly seemed to me that Basra only switched genders when it was most shocking to the reader and to the other characters. It felt like a weird thing tacked on that didn't inform their hero much... except for the whole "fluidity is treacherous" thing.And really, the only trans hero in the whole book is the one with all the secrets?I guess I should be satisfied there was at least one trans hero here.. but the portrayal could've been more nuanced.Overall this book was just OK. Could've been better, but it also could've been worse. The pace does pick up as the novel goes on, and there's fighting and explosions which I always like.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    Shadow Weaver is a middle-grade fantasy novel that boasts similarity with Robert Beatty's Serafina and the Black Cloak. The huge difference for me is that I loved Serafina and disliked Shadow Weaver. My dislike for this book is rather surprising because my amazing mate who hates all things fantasy actually kinda liked it. You can check out her review of Shadow Weaver , what did I dislike about this book? Well, there's no true plot and none of the characters really stuck with me. In fact, I had to look back at the book to remember the main character's name to write this review. So, let's talk about her. Shall we?Emmeline is a whiny, self-centered kid who thinks only of herself. I obtain it, she's a kid. Still, she never once questioned her shadow's mean tricks or hateful attitude. Like my mate said, this book is about the struggle between amazing and evil that exists in all of us. But even when Emmeline saw her shadow for the evil that it was, it felt like a conclusion reached for selfish reasons. Emmeline has absolutely no sense of right or wrong from my perspective. She is a weak hero with small resolve. She is easily led and isn't someone who I could ever trust. I just don't like her.Emmeline's powers and the happening that led to them is cloaked in secrecy. One can only hope that these missing plotlines are explored in a future installment. However, at this point, I don't care to read is novel is very simplistic—nearly too much so. The dialogue was repetitive which left me bored and frustrated.But, at the end of the day, my dislike for this book falls back solely on forgettable characters who were selfish, whiny and is book was nearly a DNF for me after I wasted four days on it. I kept holding out hope because the cover was just so beautiful. Now I'm a small angry at myself that I allow a amazing cover hold me from putting down a book that I didn't enjoy.A complimentary copy of this book was provided by Netgalley. I was not needed to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. All opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    Shadow Weaver by MarcyKate Connolly is the first book in her fresh Shadow Weaver series. In Shadow Weaver, we meet our young heroine, Emmeline from the start. She is 12 years old, with a magical ability of be able to see and maneuver shadows, including her own. Emmeline is a sweet girl, who enjoys having fun with her gifts. Her parents are unnerved with her refusal to stop using those gifts, which can hurt people. Emmeline never wants to damage anyone, just be able to play. But the secret Emmeline holds is that she talks and plays with her shadow, Dar. It is Dar, who is able to do things and creates issues for Emmeline by doing things that damage people, and everyone thinks its Emmeline. When a visitor comes to her home, she overhears her parents discussing her gift, and the visitor is willing to take her away to support cure her of her magic. Emmeline and Dar run away, especially after the visitor suddenly became ill.With the guards trying to search them, they travel through the forest and slowly Emmeline begins to worry about Dar, and the things she has done. Dar she convinces Emmeline to support her become human again, by performing a ritual, and they can be mates forever. While hiding from the guards they come across a boy (Lucas), who also has a magic ability, but his is light. They quickly become friends, and he will bring her (and her shadow Dar) to his home. In a short time, Emmeline will befriend the family, especially Lucas and learn that they too are hiding from the villain, who was trying to take her away from her home. She feels safe with this family, but it is Dar, who is jealous and wants to do the ritual.What follows is an exciting adventure, where Emmeline will start to see Dar in another light especially when her fresh mates are also place into danger. When Emmeline helps Dar with the ritual, everything changes. Emmeline will have to learn more about her powers to save Lucas and his family from the evil villain who wants to steal all their powers. Besides the villain, Emmeline will also need to search method to stop Dar, whose has become more and more dangerousShadow Weaver was a various type of read, and though considered middle grade, it was a amazing story. I did have fun the book, and if you like fantasy, with young heroes, then you should give this book a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    This book caused quite the discussion the other night between Kristin and I. Of course that same night I might have fallen asleep while we are on the phone. That has caused some serious doubt that I was actually invested in any conversation that night, though to be fair it was long after the ‘Shadow Weaver’ discussion. Let’s be honest (my review is posting before her’s so I don’t have a lot to share from her end…yet), she didn’t like the book. At all. I sorta kinda maybe did. Yes, there were flaws and I’ll share some of them with you. But there’s also some redeeming qualities to the book that I think have enough merit that I’m interested in reading the next book in the series to hopefully search some clarification.Let’s obtain nitty gritty, shall we? I’m really not sure where to start so I’m just going to random all over the put and pray you can create heads or tails of it all in the aftermath. For a middle-grade book the level of detail was random. Some things were explained in too much detail that was unnecessary (the mortar and pestle or even the apple gathering comes to mind) while other things didn’t create a whit of since due to lack of detail (the comet is a large comes to mind). Another thing that is completely lacking in understanding is the environment and setting. I need to remind ya’ll that fantasy is not my favorite genre, I don’t read a lot of it though I don’t not like it. Following? When you make a globe in a fantasy realm there needs to be a setup. An understanding of what that realm/world/what ever ya wanna call it is like. That was really not set up in this book. There were tips at this or that but I never got a feel for what was what here. With a lack of creating the environment there was a lack of creating what the unique gifts/skills/powers/what have ya. I didn’t ever obtain the full picture of these powers and while it was skimmed over why they were being sought after it wasn’t enough. I didn’t have enough info to care even one hoot for the characters, much less l of that being said the symbolism of the book carried it for me. The interplay of light/dark, shadows/light, to some degree even amazing and evil. The knowledge that it’s simple to be snowed under by someone you have grown up with and love and trust. (Yes that story arc was completely transparent and I knew where it was going before I think the author did – but…middle grade.) I wish to see more about how these unique powers play out and how they actually work. I wish to understand this globe and the motivation for the characters to exist and do the things they do. I have hopes that this series is redeemable and I wish to be a part of that. Yes, it didn’t draw me in and create me love it but it did bring something to the table that has potential to become even more.I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by NetGalley. I was not compensated for this review and all thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. I was not needed to write a positive review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    Review first posted at Girl Who Reads. A free copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.Emmeline has the bonus to manipulate shadows, and her best mate Dar is her own shadow. This talent causes others to fear or ridicule her, and her parents jump at the possibility of a cure when it's offered to them. She doesn't wish to lose her best mate or her magic, so Dar strikes a deal with her: support her become flesh and blood, and Emmeline will never have to lose her is is a unbelievable fantasy story for school-age children, particularly the middle grades. Emmeline is a fairly average young girl aside from her bonus of shadow weaving. She wants to play and have friends, and she chafes at being practically held hostage in her parents' e globe building is very gradual and makes it all feel so very real; while the parents themselves and the guards are never really fleshed out, we can infer a lot about them and their motivations as we see them from Emmeline's point of view. We know there's more to the story before she does, which creates a bit more mystery about the situation and characters before the huge reveal in the latest quarter of the 's a bit open-ended at the conclusion of this story so that even though it's self contained, there is still the sense of more to come. There is mention on Amazon and NetGalley that this is a duology or a begin to a series, so I look forward to seeing the next adventures with Emmeline.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I received this ARC from #kidlitexchange to read in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟Shadow Weaver by Marcy Kate Connolly is a unbelievable middle grade read. Emmeline was born with a very unique gift, she can weave shadows into shapes and objects by controlling them. Since her parents and their servants are afraid of her she has had a very long time to work on her magic alone. She befriends and talks to her own shadow, Dar, and they become best friends. After a few tragic happenings Emmeline's parents create arrangements with evil to have Emmeline sent away to be cured. Emmeline becomes scared and her and Dar create a plan to set things right by making Dar a true person but they must run away to stay safe until the night of the blood moon. Quickly after running away Emmeline discovers she isn't sure Dar can be trusted and she meets another small boy, Lucas. Lucas has a magical power too. He can bend light. Together they form a bond and Emmeline knows what it feels like to have a true mate and the price you pay when someone you care for gets damage because she withheld the truth of what she knew.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    Shadow Weavers by MarcyKate Connolly is about a girl name Emmeline and her shadow named Dar. Emmeline was blessed with a magical talent when she was born in a year when a magical comet flew by. When some visiting nobles suggest that they take Emmeline away to obtain cured Emmeline lets her shadow protect her, but that doesn’t go as planned and Emmeline ends up running away to escape being ‘cured’. Emmeline also promises to support her shadow complete a ritual to be created human again which brings up challenges of it’s own. Along the method Emmeline makes mates and learns the real meaning of friendship. This book had an interesting premise, and was amazing except for the fact that the pacing was really slow. This book reminded me of the Shadow and Bones series by Leigh Bardugo except that this one is Middle Grade. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes books about magic and friendship.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    This is my second Marcy Kate Conolly book and I enjoyed this more than the other one. The story is what the premise promised. We have Emmeline who is gifted with shadow weaving. She excels at it. She loves it. She acknowledges it. Only that her parents and the people surrounding her have grown wary about her power as the years went by. Then the day came when her parents couldn’t take it any longer and desired to send her away to obtain cured. So Emmeline ran and took refuge in the woods wherein she met a lovely family whose only son is gifted with magic as well. And so, her adventure begins.I think the beauty of Shadow Weaving lies on the characterization of our main protagonist, Emmeline. . She’s clueless, lacks the primary sense of right and wrong, suffers from “I am the victim” syndrome, and thinks that the globe revolves around her and her sufferings. What’s surprising is that Emmeline is not aware that she’s any of these things. She really thinks that her life is woefully pitiful without realizing that it was she who had alienated everyone around her, including her parents. Though her parents are not exactly good, they, at least, in their own ways, tried to provide amazing guiding hands for Emmeline. But they’re not just equipped (in skills or in experience) on how to handle such a kid like Emmeline so they actually failed despite their efforts to give her a normal life. For Emmeline’s part, she’s really self-centered refusing to even take the time to reflect about why her parents act like that or why the servants shy away from her. Instead, she lets herself be easily led by her shadow, which is, by the method sentient and has no qualms of inflicting hurt to people. But Emmeline thinks that her shadow is beyond reproach.But other than Emmeline’s characterization, Shadow Weaver has nothing more to offer to the table. The lore of the Cerelia Comet and its blessings felt very shallow, I could not bring myself to be interested in it. The main conflict (good vs. evil) was too simplistic and easily resolved that it didn’t create an impact. And most importantly, I was only invested in Emmeline but couldn’t empathize with any of the other characters including Lucas and Dar.I was really glad that Shadow Weaver was a very short book, thus, my patience didn’t run thin. Overall, this is not an inherently poor book but it sure would benefit from a small tweaking here and there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    I admit it took me a small while before I was able to really sit down and read it. It starts out a small slow, but then begins to pick up the pace as Emmeline runs away. The idea is interesting with every 25 years a comet passes over and blessed a certain number of kids with different gifts. It was also interesting that Emmeline manipulates shadows as opposed to a bonus we generally see in fantasy novels like earth magic or fire. Shadow magic is something special and adds an interesting spin on the story.I enjoyed how Emmeline and Lucas' bond begins to grow that they practice their magic together and explore they are more strong when they work together. It is an interesting take on relationship between light and dark. She doesn't know who to trust or how to really allow her guard down after spending most of her life isolated from people. I think this is something young readers can similar to, feeling isolated as if they don't belong, nothing in common with others around them etc. The story does develop somewhat slow but I believe it is leading up to something more in a later novel. It sets a amazing background for any extra e story is geared towards middle school aged children, so the writing is somewhat simplistic, but it makes for an exciting and simple read. Kids of this age would have fun reading those book and I could see them devouring it. I personally was able to read it within the day and found myself, as a 30 year old woman, engrossed in these characters. I wanted more, I wanted to see more magic and hoped to see Doyle's wind magic playing with the light and shadows of Lucas and Emmeline, maybe we will see this later in another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    Shadow Weaver is an original story with lots of feeling. A young girl, Emmeline, has the ability to control shadows. This power is feared by most and cherished by some. Growing up with only her own shadow for a friend, she is lonely yet loyal. Trying to save her shadow and her power, she runs from home, and befriends a family in the woods. Can she trust them? Can they trust her? Anticipation mounts throughout the story to search out what will happen with her shadow. Shadow Weaver is about friendship, honesty, and unique talents. There is plenty of room for another book about Emmeline and the powers of those blessed by the Cerelia Comet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Weaver review [Book]  2018-6-4 18:0

    *voluntarily and honestly reviewed the ARC I received from NetGalley*I regret not reading this sooner. It's everything I personally love, and I finished it within hours. Emmeline was a young hero whose innocence created it refreshing to experience the fantasy globe she lived in. Her naivety but genuine need to trust in the only person who was there for her created this book a rather heartbreaking read that I enjoyed. It was fast but well-paced, consistent and sweet. The only problem I had was the frustration I was forced to deal with when she created naive choices that seemed otherwise obvious, but considering that the ending worked out so well, I have no complaints. It's a definitely recommend, as I will be following the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Play review [App]  2018-9-22 13:0

    굴잼

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Total money grab. Nothing works in android game except microtransactions in a paid game. Developers please off yourselves from this shovelware trash

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Ok can you tell me why the characters don't move their body joints

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Please fix the broken animation soon or give me my cash back

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Decent idea poorly executed only 1 attack works and would do better with more background like a storyline

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    It's horrible don't even bother

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    The body joints doesnt move!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Move there just points

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Not good do not play

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Why won't the joints move please fix

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    I hate this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Pls fix it other wise give my cash back

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    So bed android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Beautiful garbage

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    can't war

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    "You can't be war a Super SSJ, at best stick can become Super Warrior warriors." Where did you learn non English anyway?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Only thing that works is the ki charge and the ki blast and it isnt that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    I would like a refund of my cash that I paid for this android game because it doesnt work. Thank you and regards

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Let's see first won't punch and 2nd it sucks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Why did android game don't have animation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Characters doesn't even move their joints.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    رسومات تفاعلية و جميلة

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Where is the other half of the body

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Couldnt do anything

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    What. The. Heck. This isn't even a game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    Greatly sucks ☹️👎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stick Shadow review [App]  2018-11-5 13:0

    lOVE IT

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Shadows Slumber review [App]  2018-11-21 13:0

    Amazing special android game play for lovers of logic puzzles. Shine the light in one spot and it seems like no escape, but move around a column and the shadow reveals a door, bridge, or other means to an exit. I tested the early access and couldn't wait until the full release. Amazing job indie developers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Shadows Slumber review [App]  2018-11-21 13:0

    Best puzzle android game on the Google Play Store!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Shadows Slumber review [App]  2018-11-21 13:0

    A attractive and clever puzzle android game that's the excellent blend of challenging and fun. Best Android device android game of 2018 hands down

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Man review [App]  2019-2-17 13:26

    this android game is absolute trash dont obtain it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shadow Man review [App]  2019-2-17 13:26

    amazing time pass.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter