Read shadows of kurgansk reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all shadows of kurgansk reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    ok this android game is scary as hell its like a true life android game if this happened to our globe ide slay myself!.. coolest android game n u add and multiplayer mode because it will be much better if i can see a true person.if there was an multiplayer mode it would be very fun,when u add a multiplayer mode add a party so that i can invite them where i live,add fresh resources too,thats my opinion plz add a multiplayer mode 😍😍😍😍 hold up the amazing work😉😉

    0  


    Add your opinion on shadows of kurgansk or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    amazing android game once you understand it all, just take your time to think its the same logic as true life people.... waiting for the next update, dont listen to the people who dont like it they are just lazy, i found the best put to build my base and opponents cant reach it i can even throw items at them to slay them easily, the best weapon is the anvil's axe for me now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    a bug prohibits you from continuing the story within the first 30 minutes of play time on one of the two maps available. dev has abandoned android game and has no intentions of fixing. luckily, the pc ver of android game does not include this bug.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    So far it's better than I expected. Exactly what I was looking for in a survival game: scavenging, crafting, hunting, fighting for your life. The premise is very interesting, a nice take on dead zones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    This android game really disappointed me.I was really exited to play this damn horrific game,but after playing it,I couldn't search the fun and exitement I earlier first it's full of opponents around me,finding stuff is very tough,no put to hide at night,time runs like train and killing targets are almost impossible.I just hate this android game along with the stupid developers😡👎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    This is a cruel, and harsh android game but it somewhat beautiful, for example the story, the soundscape, and it's cell shaded look, and it's practically borderlands mixed with S.T.A.L.K.E.R., and overall it's a amazing android game l recommend this to people who likes hardcore survival android game and the post apocalypse, and I give this 5 out of 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    This is a amazing game. I obtain sucked into it. Amazing android game play, decent graphics, simple controls. This is going to be a fresh favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    goodd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I really love this game. It's rare to search this kind of android game in play store. It's offline, begin world, first person point of view, survival, rpg like, lots of quest, lots of crafting to do, it has 2 various maps which gives you 2 various saved game, and most of all it is very compatible on some average devices. Oh and you don't actually have to for anything to progress in game. I mean you could items to have a greater possibility of survival but you can craft your things and that's really the point of the your death doesn't mean the end of the game. You RESPAWN. Cool eh. Now if you wish to play with high graphics you can, and if your phone can't you can always choose the lowest graphics which runs very smooth. I encountered zero bugs or glitches as of now. Thanks devs for making this game. I'll hundred percent recommend this on everyone. Thumbs up. Your android game doesn't even need an update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I like the premise of the android game and would probably for it except for 2 things: you die method too easily, and the cost of the in android game resources isn't enough to create it worth spending as much as you'd need to to balance that out. If you're REALLY patient you can probably work through all of that, otherwise be prepared to rage quit a few times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Hey devs i like your android game so much but can i request one thing? Can you guys add some multiplayer feature because that would be amazing so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    amazing game,but pls add a third person view so we can see the whole zone not just in whats front of you and pls add a hud like gta so you can see where are you walking nor zombie are roaming and pls create it a night-friendly gameplay,remove the black jumpscare cuz it freaks me out on what i have done to see that thing.But anyway it still a amazing android game to play

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    The best survival android game I have seen in my life It has very amazing grafix and it's fun to play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I love begin globe survival games. This has the stereotypical apocalyptic scenario which is done well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Unbelievable offline android game i ever played ..thank u for creating this...it's a best and the best android game ...please creat more android games like this my help will always for this kind of android games thank u.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    You better place some walls on the android game so that the players will be safer at night and we players. Will injoy. Making some cool stuff.. Because if you live it like that. It sucks... With out wall and attractive houses... Its so boring. I hope you read these... One.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    still getting used to controls, but so far so good...storyline is exciting and keeps me captivated. it's like a first person survival game...could use a bit more instructions in the beginning..can take a minute to figure out how to do certain things...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I love the controls, and the graphics, but the physics could be a small better, and I would have fun a jump button as well too 😄 This is a amazing game, and it kind of reminds me of Dead Island with a twist of Minecraft survival! 🔥

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Attractive begin globe game! Scary enemies! The anomalies are tough! The enemy/player damages are perfectly balanced and overall it's a amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    The android game got very boring for me well its a phone android game obtain a pc instead of a 1000 dollar phone if you wish amazing survival android games like 7 days to die or the mist

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I loved it but if the creator created this multiplayer I would have all my mates playing this can you please create this multiplayer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    the android game is amazing but after the android game tasks not understand and android game looks boring..... after 10-15 task the android game not understand that how to the cross that level otherwise the android game is amazing hold it up...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I think it is a amazing android game but cuold u please add one more story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    This has to be the best first person survival android game on mobile the animation are amazing the sound of the mining while having chips coming off the tree's is realistic and the comic art style from the intro and the optimistic and nerdy hero narrates the story well I'm a begin globe survival game. And it runs so smooth as well! I hope we see more survival android games by these developers of various genres like attic survival and so on because they do it and always place there facts in there android game like that need did in the tutorial! If your tired of generic survival android games play this android game instead it's worth investing into!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    personaly i didnt like FoW, too narrow for me. and that soung plus picture bumping out aka should scare someone, not scarry at all and there should be an option to turn it off. no critical bugs. some creature spawns out of nowhere right on players hideout were bit annoying, and in the second story that unbeatable statue thing, didnt like being unable to destroy it. but all in all awesome game, thinking about repeating both stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    It's fun got a addictive side too it and it picked up on lucky patcher beautiful quick sadly this might be one of those android games I might invest a few dollar for fun developer have to eat too (: thanks for making this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Does not work. Just a grey screen when starts. I can see the icons and text pop-up, but that's it. This is on a Google Pixel C tablet. Does not matter what the graphic settings are either. It just doesn't work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Fun android game add more fun side quests and if u got the book I don't like to obtain same thing oh and more campaign missions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Ive played warthunder alot like a religion so the developer of the android game cought my attention but the android game is vary cool and fun its similer to stalker witch i like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Thanks. Amazing game! One of the best post apocalypse survival android games I've played. Still in progress, but it's a amazing one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Another android game that wants permission to do things it has no business doing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Is to aggresive for the player, need to watch a lot of ads. to survive. Creatures spawns everywhere (even inside the stones, near to you) and are very strong, need to touch you only few times and you are dead. There is no put to be safe and to collect resources because of that. Cloths are for nothing, after one war with a creature you need fresh ones. Meal is difficult to keep, even in the fridge is disappearing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    First off being confined to one little zone makes it impossible to obtain supplies. Hunger and morale goes down method to quick .You don't have a fighting possibility with the zombies . The controls suck you can't see what is around you until you are dead . The android game has alot of potential to be a amazing android game . It needs alot of improvement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Love everything about this game, creepy atmosphere, savage enemys that come from no where , loads to craft, amazing story. Hold the maps and video test coming guys amazing work. Best survival android game on android device .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    what you must do in the android game next is very unclear having a director of some sort like an arrow or small light path would be nice. also you should have a better idea of what you are looking for by a put to stay or something like that and I hope that we can obtain together for a discussion about the whole thing opening the door for me to come in and sign the contract and be proud member of the family. I am working on a project that sounds amazing if we could obtain together and talk about what i got.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    No matter how much u achive, an electrical hurt is always ready to take u down...... what kinda android game is this..... i just don't wish to give a single star for this but u can't do that

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    The title shows up but after that the screen just goes black. I have wated over 5 ours but the android game just won't begin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    It's really cool even tho I just started playing latest night and it's kinda complicated but still love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Kinda various but no true story line besides crashing and survival I mean right now that's what it seems

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    It's a amazing android game but it makes me wish to cry all of the jump scares are getting to me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Amazing graphics, but very slow, I don't feel the experience is worth the 'cost'

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Cliché story, nauseating camera movement and boring button-smash war mechanic. But amazing graphics and smooth animations!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    "Realm of Shadows" (2000) is Midnight Syndicate's second dose of "haunting orchestrations and sinister sound effects (creating) a dark, gothic soundscape." Having purchased all of their CDs (twice - for work and private use) and using their melody (with their permission, of course) as soundtracks for our local Halloween haunted attractions, I can honestly say that I will always be anticipating their next with "Born of the Night" (see my review), the production quality of this CD was outstanding. The melody is stirring and the sound effects are realistic. The raven calls in track #9 "Ravens Hollow," the synthesized strings in track #12 "Spectral Mist," and the creaking timbers in track #20 "Harbored Souls" are particularly noteworthy. I actually prefer Syndicate's limited use of vocal effects, which normally come off as "cheesy" attempts to sound creepy. And once again, the bell tones in track #13 "Soliloquy" and track #21 "Eclipse" should have been digitally sampled instead of using tubular ere are 21 selections totaling a small more than 52 mins of music. Most of the tracks would have benefited from lengthening and building upon the base melody and effects- they left me wanting more. The best tracks on this CD are #9 "Raven's Hollow," #10 "Beyond the Gates," #15 "Serpent's Lair," #19 "Witching Hour," and #20 "Harbored Souls."As with their previous CD, this melody begs to be played on a high-quality sound system, preferably one with some kick-butt subwoofers and enough power to handle this CD's wide dynamic range. Otherwise, listen with care on less-capable systems before you crank up the volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Creepy exciting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    I loved this book so much! I was over the moon excited when I found out Evelyn Skye was releasing a fresh novel! If I waited longer to read this, I may have just exploded! This book was fantastic! The characters were so much fun and I loved them so much! I love the Gemina falling in love when they’re really not supposed to! (Forbidden love is one of my favorite tropes)! The plot was so much fun, it kept me going through parts of it. It was super intriguing and I could not place it down and I had school! It was so sad to not be able to read because it was just so FREAKING GOOD! The globe was awesome! I loved how everything was planned out and the politics that went along with the world. I just had such a fun time with this book and in the end, it was so worth the wait! I am so excited for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    I really liked this fresh story! I loved Evelyn Skye’s other books and I was excited to read something new. The characters are really relatable. I found myself needing to know what happened next each time I had to place the book down! A wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    Wanted the recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    This CD has a magical quiality. If I had to select a Phil Coulter favorite album, this one would definitely be in the running. Very glad that I happened across his music. I love his all piano CDs as well as the orchestral ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    Well, holy cow. I don't even know where to start...This book. This series. These characters. THIS AUTHOR.We are in full on queen mode in Queen of Shadows, obviously. Hence the title. Calaena shows up some, for the sake of appearances, but she has completely accepted her heritage and now goes by Aelin. She's still the intense, no nonsense, scary-as-heck chick we've all grown to know and love, but there's dozens more to her hero that we only got a glimpse of in Heir of Fire. She's ready to go and taking names. Like literally taking names as she crosses the ocean back to Adarlan. Her cockiness and downright meanness in the first two books really rubbed me the wrong method at times. You can't support but to be drawn to her character, but the things she said and did were.. disturbing, to say the least. And she still has that fire, but there is so much more depth to her now that she has accepted who she truly is and, in the process, is opening her heart again to the people she loves instead of shutting them out and running off of pure rage. Her complexity makes her one of the best female protagonists I've ever read.We begin out back in Rifthold, and at this point everything is up in the air. We know why she's there and who she's after, but how she's going to go about doing this is anyone's guess. I will say this, A LOT gets resolved in this book. Granted, there are plenty of other monumental surprises that step into take their place, but I was surprised by how a lot of plot lines got tied up. I was expecting two for sure, but the third one threw me for a complete loop. If anyone says they predicted that to happen, they are a liar. And my goodness, these latest two books are going to be downright scary. I was on pins and needles the entire time. You thought show Erilea was bad.. it's about to obtain wayyyy worse.And as for the book being 650 pages.. Why are people upset about this?! I say, the more the better!Now onto the other characters, because there are quite a few POVs in this book...I've always been partial to Dorian, so being in his POV was absolute torture. The ending of HoF about sent me over the edge and I didn't even wish to think about what what was going to happen in this book. I was a nervous wreck. And then PAGE ONE happens. Like, literally as soon as I begin the book, there it is. Chapter One. Beautiful sure my heart dropped into my stomach. And then every time we were back in his POV after that. I did not handle it well. I hate Valg demons.And while I've never particularly liked Chaol's hero (I know I'm in the minority here), he sort of takes on a whole fresh persona in QoS. Maybe it's the fact of what all he's given up and how he sees the globe changing that makes him into the person he's become. He's always seemed to me like a guy who is scared of change, and has an wonderful ability to pick and choose which parts of people to accept. And I'm not just talking about Aelin, but also the king and Dorian. He sees only what he wants to see, and if he doesn't understand it or like it, he just shuts it out completely. He doesn't like magic. He's scared of it. He's also very scared of what will happen if people with magic have reign again. We've known this since Crown of Midnight so I'm not sure why his continuing dislike of it surprises anyone. Chao is not going to be the same person he's been for the first three books. His life has completely change, so while his hero is infuriating to me at times, he's still a vital part of this story and I don't dislike him. His character, by the end of this book, grows leaps and bounds and I was glad to see it for Rowan. Ah, Rowan. I still don't know how Sarah Maas did it. She gave us Dorian and Chaol in the first two books and everyone was on their respective team. Then in one book, ONE BOOK, she created me toss all my loyalties aside fall in love with Rowan's character. How anyone can not like him is beyond me. He's like the male ver of Aelin, and the interaction between those two are some of the best dialogue of the book and they just work very well together. With his hero showing up in Rifthold, you see him having to adjust to life without magic. And as the bond between them grows, you see different, softer sides of the Fae warrior. I love him.We didn't obtain too much from Aedion in this book apart from the first few chapters as he awaits his execution. His reunion with Aelin was everything I thought it would be.. I ain't ashamed to say I may have teared up a bit. They are the only bit of family each other has left and they totally had their moment. It was on's POV scares me. (Besides Abraxos, because who doesn't love Abraxos?) She is dark and wicked and infuriatingly loyal to that wretched grandmother of hers. I know she's redeemable, but for a amazing chunk of the book I was hoping Asterin would just overthrow her and become the fresh heir.. assuming that's how it works. Which it probably doesn't. BUT Manon has some feels going on that she's not even aware of and I think in this next book she will most definitely have to create a choice of which side she is on. It very well could've happened in this book, but we have no resolution where this is concerned. And that stage with Aelin.. on the edge of your seat items right there. I'm not sure how I feel about some illusions of her character, but I'm not completely versus her playing an even bigger role in the latest two books.I'm not even going to spend time on Arobynn because I hate him. But some of the other characters, I loved. Calaena has been surrounded by a troupe of men for far too long and it's about time the women came out to play and they did not disappoint! Lysandra, wow. Love her. So much more to her hero than meets the eye, and her and Aelin's relationship was refreshing. Nesryn, even though we don't obtain anything from her perspective is also a beautiful poor chick and helping Chaol with the rebels. It's safe to say, unless you're in denial, you will know why she's there from the obtain go. And lastly, Elide, Lady Marion's daughter, is brought into the picture and hanging with the witches, no less. Very much excited about what role she will be playing in the future. She's got some surprises in store, I r the most part, the book felt like long build-ups. Part one was a build-up and it was resolved. Part two also felt like a build-up, and it wasn't as cleanly resolved as the first. I still have some lingering questions about that. Prepare yourselves for part two. Huge time android game changer coming your lI can say, is that if you truly love this series, and I mean disregard the romances and all that, and are in love with the story, this book will not me spoilers ahead...I'm going to rant just for a sec. I hold seeing some low to mid reviews on this book and they all have one thing in common: Chaol Westfall. I know people shipped Calaena and Chaol really hard, but being this distraught over the downfall of their romantic relationship does a disservice to this series. And I can say that because I am completely Squad Dorian and have had to place up with Chaol from day on. Not to mention Sorscha from HoF. Was not a fan of that small surprise. Never once have I given these books poor reviews simply because things weren't event the method I wanted them to. If the romance aspect is your largest concern, go read romance novels. The growth and maturity of the characters is wonderful, and I'm glad that Maas is not scared to slay off characters we love or sever relationships if it means progressing the story to where it needs to go. I'm completely okay with the direction Aelin and Rowan are headed because they work. Even if in my heart of hearts I had this little hope of King Dorian and Queen Aelin falling love... yada yada yada... Rowan is the dude and I'm okay with that. So if all you're going to do is obtain on here and rant about, "I wish the old Calaena back," "Maas completely ruined Chaol's character," "These books are too long," Guess what? Go read another series! Or some watered down YA novel where everything works out just as it should in the ese books are gold. Sarah Maas is a genius. And you can't convince me otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    I was trying to prolong finishing this book so that it would still be beautiful new in my mind when the 5th book comes out. Be prepared for major spoilers...Dorian and Manon! I totally ship it. Like if it was the Titanic and I went back in time knowing it was going to sink I'd still obtain on the ship. I am satisfied that Dorian will be back in the next book. I really like his character. Manon had grown on me exponentially. I didn't like reading her parts in HoF. I thought they were super boring but I am glad now that there is some back story so I can understand her more. I also ship Aelin and Manon.I am glad that Chaol is back to being the guy that I liked in the first two books. I hated him in the beginning of this one. Although I never wanted him and Celaena together as a couple, I really like how their relationship has come full circle. Speaking of Chaol, Nesryn is excellent for him. She is like Celaena with none of the poor aspects that were brought into the relationship her and Chaol started.Elide. I hope she can create it on her journey which I know we will see more of her. Hopefully she figures out fast who Celaena Sardothein is and finds her queen. Kaltain, I am glad that her suffering is over and she took out a third of a mountain in the wan and Aedion are to of the manliest men who never were just men. It's nice to see them as brothers and not alpha males fighting over top spot. The brother aspect is so much more sandra is a [email protected]#$%. She is taking names and getting revenge where revenge is due. Her and Aelin's relationship has developed into team goals. I really love these two around each other and I think Lysandra is unbelievable to Evangeline. Also Aedion and Lysandra is another ship I would go down terid's story is heartbreaking. Being a mother myself this is the story that hit me the hardest and it was only about a page long. I hope the Blackbeak Matron burns. I hope the Manon and Asterid burn her roughout the book I honestly had no idea where Lorcan came from. I didn't remember him from HoF so his part of the story always confused the heck out of me.I am sad and satisfied to have finished this. I was cherishing it because I love the globe and characters so much. I am sad about the latest book coming out this year but I can't wait to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Note, I will be petty: when place together the books should have an photo that is complete. This book is not the spine art I was hoping for and will turret over the other books in her previous series.If you were getting this in hopes of completing the spine art- this is NOT the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Wow this book really place me through the ings this book taught me about myself:1. I will obtain so emotional over all these characters but especially the TMI squad even being mentioned.2. I care more about Malec than I ever thought possible. (Truly, I cannot believe how much I loved them and enjoyed their scenes. I feel like I have a newfound appreciation for them and I can't wait for the spin off series)3. I can be a stone cold witch (with a b) but nothing makes me like male characters.I'm really satisfied that I waited until QOAAD was released to pick this one up because there's no method I would've survived waiting a year after that at ending honestly destroyed me. I knew it, I knew what to expect and I thought that it would somehow take the pain away but I was so wrong. I'm still trying to come to terms with it and understanding why the author chose to do this as well as what the implications of this ending means for these characters. I'm so nervous to read the third book because it's clear that Cassie has no issue destroying character's lives even as she gives them a bit of e reason for a 4 star rating rather than 5 is that there were times where I found myself a tad bit bored, though that mostly had to do with not really enjoying the other POV's except Julian and Emma. Kit, Mark, and Cristina all took me a very long time to begin to like (in terms of POV). Mostly I found myself dreading it and counting the pages to the next Julian or Emma POV. I like all the hero but I will admit that I'm not a fan of some of the character's sub-plots and since Cristina and Mark's pov's mostly center around their messy romance with Kieran I lost interest. As for Kit, I found him to be a small annoying but by the end of the book he grew on me and I don't think I'll mind his POV in the next book as much. I just want Cristina's hero was about more than her romance with two men, I wanted more for her so it makes me a small sad that we didn't really obtain that.Overall the writing is superb and this was another awesome addition to the shadow hunter world. I can't wait to read book 3 even though I know it will probably slay me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    If you haven’t yet, you need to read “Of fires and Stars”, you will then fall in love with it. After you fall in love with it be satisfied and know there is a second book “Of ice and Shadows”. I promise you will not be disappointed. You willlove the characters and the epic globe that Audrey builds in each story. Check it out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I absolutely loved this book. Awesome to see Denna and Mare’s relationship grow and develop. Above all else though it’s amazing to finally have a book with queer characters that aren’t demonized or sexualized and actually have their own hero development and story arcs that have nothing to do with their sexuality. It’s refreshing to see fleshed out characters that aren’t defined by who they love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mask of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This was ALMOST too violent for me, but I persevered. (It isn't as violent as say, EMBER IN THE ASHES.) I'm glad I stuck with it, because I fell deeply in love with Sal and their adventures and the lovely, gentle romance. While I was rooting for Sal the whole time, I was also super invested in the side characters. Especially one that I won't name here for the sake of spoilers who captured my heart and then ripped my heart to shreds. I found myself craving more stories about side characters the method I felt about the marauders when I read Harry Potter.I loved how Sal's gender fluidity wasn't the focus, it was just part of the story. As a queer woman, I have fun seeing this without it being like an after school unique lesson or tragic because of the main character's is is a beautiful fast read with really interesting globe building. (I wish all the beautiful clothes.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prince of Shadows []  2020-1-16 1:42

    I was skeptical at first, because I could not see how you could improve on this literary classic. Also I've enjoyed the Morganville series and have fun her quirky spin on the super natural,but hated to see it applied to this as, she pulled something incredibly various out of her hat for this story and I was blown away! I rarely write reviews, but this work of amazing imagination and skilled story telling deserves acknowledgement! I highly recommend to teens, adults, lovers of classic literature, and those who just like a amazing story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    This was an interesting book about light and shadows, but it's more or less a commentary on the differences between cultures and a desire to maintain a cultural identity and values in the modern age. I use the term "modern" loosely, because while the book was written several decades ago (the publication date is listed as 1977, but the essay appears to have originated much earlier), the primary principles of aesthetics still apply today. We're still grappling with influences in architecture, technology, and design that have the potential to change the manner and pace through which we approach life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Europe (Shadowrun) []  2020-1-22 23:55

    This book is beautiful amazing for those of you who have a thirst for the the locations in Shadowrun besides Seattle and Denver. This book info most of Europe with the exception of the Balkans and western Russia which i suspect will be covered in Shadows of Asia. Shadows of Europe gives all the information required to do runs and evan campaignes in Europe. Ranging from cities like London Paris to evan Rome and Munich. This is a must for the runners tired of Seattle and Denver

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Skinful of Shadows []  2020-1-19 21:5

    There are several very prominent, and quite wonderful, characteristics which run through all of Frances Hardinge's work: a rich and masterly use of language, a highly original and idiosyncratic imagination, a tendency to darkness and a dry, wicked sense of humour. Indeed her self-projected author image, with long dark hair and an ever-present black hat, seems to echo her writing very well; not quite a witch, but with an almost eccentric air of rather dark mystery and intelligent, thoughtful A Skinful of Shadows Frances Hardinge's highly individual imagination and her ability to conjure strange darkness are at their strongest. Set versus the background of the English Civil War, the story of the book centres on a young girl who has inherited the 'talent' of hosting departed spirits within her own body. In consequence of this, her malevolent relatives want to use her as a vessel for their accumulated shop of ancestral 'ghosts'.Frances Hardinge is one of the most richly enjoyable YA writers around. She is fully on song here. This makes A Skinful of Shadows one of the most richly enjoyable books of the year. It pulses with all the distinctive qualities of her writing, but housed in a totally fresh skin, a compellingly original and imaginative story. It is a skinful of dark but wondrous e my full review posted at

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Self []  2020-1-26 23:47

    *********************Completely Spoiler Free Section:*********************First things first Do you need to have read the original Mistborn series to read this book? - Technically no you don’t BUT…there are a lot of more references to what happened in The Final Empire and while I would say that you could totally read Alloy of Law without reading Mistborn 1-3 I believe wholeheartedly that the enjoyment of this book in particular would be decreased if you hadn’t read them. I actually had just finished a re-read of the first three of the series and was really glad, because I picked out so a lot of little info added e thing that I really love about Brandon Sanderson (BS) novels is that I have no problem picturing myself in the story. He tells the story in a method that I’m shown the buildings and the surroundings, I’m given insight into the culture, religion and magic system and it is done in such a method that it is in the story and almost never feels like an information dump. This is awesome especially if you look at the size and complexity of the globe he is adows of Self like Alloy of Law is sort of a mash up of Mistborn Globe + Steampunk + Industrial Revolution + Wild Wild West. It has a lot more humor in it than The Final Empire and it feels generally lighter. The banter and humor of Wax, Wayne and Marasi is unbelievable and sets the tone of the entire story. Honestly the Bromance between Wax and Wayne is my favorite in fantasy slightly beating out Tyrion and Brom they are hilarious on page together and actually Wayne is hilarious and stage stealer all on his own too. But don’t allow that fool you there are still a few gut punching moments that really knocked me in the feelings.Favorite Hero in this book – WayneLooking through my quotes he has the most highlights. He says deep insightful things one min and then is ridiculous the next. But I smile every time he is on page, there are Wayne quotes below in the semi-spoilery review but we also obtain to see into a deeper side of Wayne and I loved the depth it gave his character.Favorite Fresh Hero – MeLaanAlthough it can be argued she is an old character….but semantics. She added some insight into the days just after The Final Empire ended and what became of her people. Also I really loved the method she played with the team, I hope she is a player in the next book as st Improved Hero -SterisDon’t obtain me wrong I’m still completely on the Wax/Marasi ship and it might take a Chasmfiend or Koloss Warlord to sink that but Steris really grew on me this book. I have always liked her and her stiff overthinking overplanning ways, hey I can relate, but she really shined in this. She isn’t like a lot of female characters in fantasy and I like the non-emotional relationship that she and Wax have and how she with him. She has no illusions about who or what he is and just plans around it. Honestly her latest stage in this H no words really. Because I loved her in that moment and I could even see how she and Wax might become really amazing mates or perhaps more BUT I’m sailing on the amazing ship MaraWax or Waxasi and there isn’t a Chasmfiend in sight yet so…..sorry e fresh danger is a serial assassin that seems to be trying to destabilize the town and throw it into a chaos related to the happenings that led up to the latest huge shift of power in latest history *cough* Mistborn *cough*. Wax, Marasi, Wayne and others are searching trying to figure out who is next on the hit list and prevent the town from undergoing another revolution. The perpetrator of the happenings is messing with Wax specifically trying to throw him off and he will need to outthink someone trickier and smarter than himself or another revolution will happen.****************Semi-Spoiler Review Section READ AT YOUR OWN RISK **************************Where to begin??? I’m still processing my feelings about this book because that ending left me ….well you will know when you obtain there. Everyone just give Wax a virtual hug he needs e Humor is one of the things that I’ve really enjoyed about series of Mistborn books. There are so a lot of funny instances and dialogue that I laughed so a lot of times throughout the story.***“I heard voices in my head once too, you know.”“You did?”“Sure. Gave me a fright. I banged my head versus the wall until I went unconscious. Never heard them again! Ha. Showed ’em good, I did. If rats move in, best thing to do is to burn the nest and send ’em packing.”“And the nest … was your head.”“Yup.”Steris stopped on a page in her notebook, then turned it around. There, in her neat handwriting, was a detailed agenda for their evening at the party. The third entry read, 8:17. Method into the building likely blocked by traffic. Lord Waxillium carries us up to the top floor by Allomancy, which is completely inappropriate and at the same time breathtaking.He raised an eyebrow, checking his pocket watch, which he carried in his gunbelt—not his vest—to be easily dropped with his other metals. “It’s 8:13. You’re slipping.”Regular folk, they called something after what it was. You’d say, “What’s that, Kell?” And they’d say, “That? That there’s the crapper.” And you’d reply, “What do you do with it?” And they’d say, “Well, Wayne, that’s where you place your crap.”It created sense. But rich folk, they had a various word for the crapper. They’d call it a “commode” or a “washroom.” That way, when someone asked for the crapper, they knew it was a person they required to oppress.****The Characters are three dimensional. Wax has a complicated past with his history in the roughs and trying to be both a Lord to his house and a Lawman. It’s a difficult put to be and maybe he is being pulled in too a lot of directions one day he will have to decide who he is… An Allowmancer or Terrisman/Lord or Lawman/Pawn or Sword no wonder he is a small surly.****“What’s wrong with you lately?” Marasi demanded. “You complain about the motorcar, about me being here, about your tea being too hot in the morning. One would almost think you’d created some horrible life decision that you regret deep down. Wonder what it could be.”Wax kept his eyes forward. In the mirror, he saw Wayne lean back in and raise his eyebrows. “She might have a point, mate.”“You’re not helping.”“Wasn’t intending to,” Wayne said. “Fortunately, I know which horrible life decision she’s talkin’ about. You really should have bought that hat we looked at latest week. It was lucky. I’ve got a fifth sense for these things.”***Wayne while usually the fun loving sort has a demon in his past that he is still trying in his own method to atone for. I liked seeing what he puts himself through in an effort to create some sort of recompense for his greatest sin. Wayne has a peculiar method of looking at the globe and some of it create awesome sense while other parts of it are ridiculous. But that just makes him all the more lovable.****“I coulda delivered that, you know.…”“You, she would shoot,” Wax said.“Only ’cuz she likes me,” Wayne said, smiling. He’d have welcomed an excuse to go see Ranette. This night was getting darker and darker, it seemed.“Wayne…” Wax said. “You know she doesn’t actually like you.”“You always say that, but you’re just not seein’ the truth, Wax.”“She tries to slay you.”“To hold me alive,” Wayne said. “She knows I live a risky life. So, keepin’ me on my toes is the best method to create sure I stick around…”***I’m almost hoping that he wins her heart one of these rasi didn’t obtain a lot of development. She is now working with the constables and Wax has tried his hardest to place some distance between them after the initial attraction that was sparked in Alloy of Law. She seems to be over her semi-hero worship of his time in the roughs though and has become more secure in herself overall. Her alomancy even came in handy a time or two in this story and I was glad to see how it could be useful in certain situations. She is extremely competent and I believe that she and Wax are a amazing squad hence my being on the MaraWax ship. My only disappointment is that those sparks from book 1 are totally missing here as Wax is committed to the arranged marriage with Steris and Marasi is trying to have a professional relationship with him since he is supposed to marry her half-sister. I missed the sparks. : (The Tie In’s To the Original Mistborn SeriesBEWARE: lots of small spoilers in this sectionI’m going to *squee* a small here because there are still Kandra!!! I wasn’t sure what happened after the happenings of The Final Empire and I was beautiful sure I caught one or two in Alloy of Law but now there is conformation that the Kandra are still around…*happy dance*MeLaan coming onto the stage was unbelievable and I loved learning how the Kandra now live within society instead of hidden away. She was such a amazing addition to the story and the team. I liked how she is so various from the Kandra that we met in The Final Empire…***MeLaan finished her beer, then dramatically held up her hand. The palm split, forming lips, which then allow out a belch.“Cheating,” Wayne said.“Just using what Father gave me,” MeLaan said. “Don’t tell me you wouldn’t belch out of other body parts if you could.”“Well,” Wayne said, “now that you mention it, I can create a true interestin’ sound wif—”***AND we obtain to see TenSoon. Can I just say that I was so excited that he was still around even if he isn’t glad that his name is known.***“I’ve read about you,” Wax said.“Thrilling,” the kandra growled. “I’m so satisfied Sazed included me in his small book so that drunk people can curse by my name.”“They … do that?”“Yes.” The wolfhound growled quietly in the back of his throat. “There are … stuffed toys too.”“Oh yeah,” Wax said. “Soonie cubs. I’ve seen those around.”***But the remembrances of Vin mostly and Elend sometimes choked me up a bit. This was my favorite quote in the entire book and it is about Vin herself. I thought it was completely fitting of who she was.***“When she fought, she was the blade. When she loved, she was the kiss.***There is also a small section where Wax thinks he sees her outline in the mist…dare I hope that she is still somehow around???****The Historica, a section of the Words of Founding, said she had melded with the mists. She had taken them upon herself, becoming their guardian as they became her essence. As the Survivor watched over all who struggled, Vin watched over those in the night. Sometimes he felt he could see her form in their patterns: slight of frame, short hair splayed out as she moved, mistcloak fluttering behind her. It was a fancy, wasn’t it?***Please don’t just be fancy…I would love it is Vin somehow will play a part in this. Because [who better to support kill a god than dare I say it another god…who might be Vinesk *Hoping*Conversations with Sazed/Harmony. I’m really excited about this. It seems that he might be pushing and pulling a bit in this globe as Harmony. Damn his job is hard, MeLaan explains it so well toward the end of the story when Marasi is so upset for Wax…Hell I was upset for Wax. But I’m hoping to obtain both sides of the story because it seems like [Harmony might have played a really huge part in Lessie’s death and how could you not have a crisis of faith after the end of so in the broad Sheets I caught a glimpse of the Shardpool and Hoid showed up to drive the carriage those were some cool NDERSON ENDINGS KILL ME - Seriously I know that I need a quiet put to finish out the latest 20% of any of his books because there is no method that I can think of anything else until it is over. That holds real here as well and while it didn’t gut punch me as hard as some of his other books *cries again about the ending of The Final Empire* it still hit me beautiful hard and squeezed all my emotions. At the end I wasn’t sure what I felt except sorry for Wax.***Harmony does the best He can—the best possible, by the very definition. Yes, He damage Wax. He damage him badly. But He place the pain where He knew it could be borne.”***GAH…..this is one of those times that I’m so sad the next book isn’t already out because I just wish to know all the things so badly.Overall - Sanderson is a master storyteller and that still holds real here. My one and only complaint is that there wasn’t a lot to do with The Set his Uncle or the Women that went missing in Alloy of Law, but I assume that he will obtain to all of that eventually. We all know that I’m not super objective when it comes to Sanderson or Ilona Andrews so let’s just say if he writes it I’ll read it…multiple times usually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Self []  2020-1-26 23:47

    Shadows of Self is the second in Sanderson’s Wax and Wayne series (or the fifth Mistborn, however you like to look at it) and is set in the same globe as the Mistborn trilogy only several hundred years later at a point in which the society is on the cusp of becoming industrialised. It has a deliberate steampunk feel to it. Sanderson is known as a master of worldbuilding, plot, pacing and magic systems and that is certainly borne out in Shadows of Self. The plot is imaginative, the pacing perfect and the magic system/worldbuilding outstanding as always. However, the more (recent) books of his I read, the more I realise I’m not very fond of his writing style. For me, personally, the informal style does not match the setting. It could be this is a deliberate choice by the writer - I know from his work on The Wheel of Time and The Stormlight Archive that he can use a more formal style when important - in which case I have to disagree with his choice for these latest ternatively, it could be that he’s under pressure to crank out too a lot of books - he’s a massively prolific writer - and perhaps each book is not receiving the full care and attention to detail it cause of this, I gave Shadows of Self three stars out of five.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    For dark, somber, powerful, gothic music, Nox Arcana is tough to beat. Place this disk to playing on some dark (and maybe) stormy night and sit yourself down to a amazing gothic ghost story. Enough to give you nightmares perhaps. Amazing mood melody for the spooky and creepy. Best not be in the castle alone, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    This one of my favorite Nox Arcana CDs (nothing can top Transylvania, but this comes close). I'm no melody expert. All I can tell you is that it's amazing mood melody when I'm writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    So unfortunately for me this book ends with the promise of the next book. It's not really a cliffhanger but the story is still not finished. I should have read some reviews and waited for all the books in the series to come out before reading. But it didn't have any bearing on my review. I actually liked this book. As I was reading I thought to myself how things were progressing nicely. But slowly. I got to the latest chapter and things had no method of wrapping up. This was definitely not a love story per se. There are no hearts and flowers. There is no gore. There is nothing distasteful. It is a good, clean yet very dark read. It was extremely dark and I loved it. I literally can't wait until the next story comes out. I will probably have to read this again to refresh my memory.I really liked Hades. He is unforgiving. He is cruel. He is very dark and mysterious. Persephone is very naive and untouched. Her hate for Hades is disguised as love. I think she fell in love with him but she's hiding behind the hate. It is too soon to tell if I like them together. They've only been together once. And their story is just only downfall was that Hades created Decker (Persephone's "friend") watch as he pleasured her. I felt like it was not needed. Decker liked Persephone but I dont think the feelings were mutual. And just to allow you know there is no cheating. I can see the significance of an audience, I just don't think Decker required to be front and center.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    This story is one of the best I read this year. It has everything your looking for in a book. I loved the mythology intertwined in the book. I was perfection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    Amelia Wilde is a fresh to me author, but I've been on a Hades and Persephone kick lately so I decided to give this book a try. I was definitely not disappointed! This is one the best Hades and Persephone retellings I've read so far. Ms. Wilde place an interesting twist on this well known and myth. Hades is so deliciously alpha and quite the dirty talker. Is he the villain in this story? It's unclear. But he rules his "underworld" with the iron fist. Persephone's hero is a lot more straightforward. She is sheltered and naive, a light to Hades's darkness, but not without a naughty side of her own. I'm very intrigued to search out more about Demeter and Zeus. What are their motivations? Demeter and her connection to Hades and Zeus seems especially interesting. The book is both a slow burn and scorching hot from the start. You'll have to read to search out how that's possible, but Ms. Wilde made so much chemistry and sizzle that I was worried for my kindle overheating. The book ends on a large cliffhanger, but book two is available for pre-order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Shadows []  2020-7-13 19:33

    Amazing reading throughout this book of skillfully told history including the explorers' feats of survival in the wilderness in horrible weather and seemingly impassable terrain. If you like history, this book will only add to your pleasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Shadows []  2020-7-13 19:33

    Very interesting but much too much detail for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors []  2020-3-30 19:4

    Even after all the awesome fiction books I've ever read, this book by far surpasses any of the other amazing ones I have ever read. This book literally describes the history of our existence, of all life on earth, from the beginning of our solar system. The amazing difference between this book and some other science book is that Sagan uses his awesome writing skills to create it as though you're reading a story, a attractive remarkable story that leads all the method up to you! I pace myself at around one chapter a day just so I can take in all the amazing fresh facts and perspectives of life and to also manage other reading I'm doing, but by far, this book literally makes me excited just when I touch it. When you think Sagan can't obtain any better, boom! I recommend this book to ANYONE who wants to know the awesome story of us, mankind, or even more, the whole spectrum of life. Sagan might not dive in as much as a college biology student may like, but he does adequately cover numerous processes and interactions between organisms from altruism, sex, and more! Whereas a biology book may describe HOW a certain process works, Sagan goes back to the origins and explains WHY it happened to work like that in the first place. This book is a fascinating ride to the beginnings of our ancestors and I recommend it to anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors []  2020-3-30 19:4

    A fabulous read! Helps to understand why groups behave as they do and in this season of political insanity helps one to understand why politicians like Trump are able to sway people as they do. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Street of Shadows [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Pin-Table Murder: Surprise Development. Street of Shadows (AKA: Shadow Man) is directed by Richard Vernon, who also adapts the screenplay from the novel “The Creaking Chair” written by Laurence Meynell. It stars Cesar Romero, Victor Maddern, Kay Kendall, Simone Silva, John Penrose, Bill Travers and Liam Gaffney. Melody is by Eric Spear, with harmonica by Tommy Reilly, and cinematography is by Phil Grindod. A amazing old frame-up thriller with noir styling, Road of Shadows finds Romero as Luigi, the manager of a gaming premises in London’s Soho area. When an old acquaintance of his, Angele Abbe (Silva), is found murdered in his apartment, he’s naturally the chief suspect. Forced to go on the run, Luigi hopes that the police or himself can search the true culprit soon. The story is beautiful conventional stuff, with the mystery element none existent since it can only really be one person who committed the murder. However, the benefits elsewhere create this worth sampling by the movie noir faithful, even if it’s not what you would call essential viewing. The whole picture is filmed in the noir style, Vernon and Grindod not missing any opportunities for a bit of shadow play or psychologically tinted contrast usage. The backdrop is a dour London of dark roads and alleyways, a dank part of the town where sordid characters go about their respective business. These people are either carrying some sort of affliction, aggressive or are emotionally stunted. An abused wife, a sexually frustrated janitor with a foot disability, card sharps, a man with large cauliflower ears, a playboy, ladies of the night, or in the case of Luigi, someone who you really wouldn’t wish to count on. Police Close Pin-Table Saloon! Luigi’s Pin-Table business is delightfully dingy, filled out with slot machines and macabre looking android games such as a laughing sailor or Konki The Clown: Fortune Teller. Breezing around the put are the two gals, Angele and Barbara Gale (Kendall), getting the lads hot under the collar, while the human fortune teller Starry Darrell (Molly Hamley Clifford) is a splendid hero capable of smoothing out Luigi’s edges. Acting is good, with Maddern the stand out performer, and how nice to hear amazing quality Harmonica as part of a musical score. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    My ReviewThe main characters Sora and Daemon are training to be taigas of the island of Kichona. Taigas are the soldiers and police of the island but more like ninjas with magic. When they are visiting a forest that Daemon's sees as home they stumble across an opponent that threatens Kichona and all they keep you ever read a book and think you like it but then begin to think about it and realize you had more issues with it then you thought. Circle of Shadows is that book for me. I really loved the friendships in this book between the 4 main characters especially the bond between Sora and Daemon. They were my favorite parts of the book. That and the author's description of the island and it's people. You really fall in love with the island.But my issues are four fold. The opponents and there magic is not explained very well. I need more of an explanation because the whole time I was thinking who gave it to you, why can only this person give it, why has no one ever come to take the island with this magic before, ect… The magic of the Taigas was sad and one of the most childish magic systems I have ever read. Eyes like a Hawk, Eyes like a Hawk is NOT a spell. Neither is I am a Spider over and over again. The love triangle the author added at the end. It is a pointless one and I hate it when authors just add it for no reason and out of the blue I might add. Latest but not least I need a lot more info on the Gemina bond like why do they have it, do they all have one, and few other questions and every time I was like finally an explanation nope no ying all this I did have fun the characters and parts of the story. Will I read it again no. Did I have fun reading it yes. Will I read the sequel no but I will look up how it ends.Rating: 3 starsHeat Rating: Embers(some kisses)Keeper or Ditch it: Ditch it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    A must read for ya and adults! Do yourself a favor and dive into this magical, entertaining world!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:27

    I picked up this book looking for something light, having just ploughed through "Pilgrim's Progress". But in fact, no. This book was massive for a various reason altogether. It follows a teenager as he grows up in a personal high school in the newly independent Zimbabwe. Son of a British diplomat, his father sees Robert Mugabe as a amazing and magnanimous leader. The Zimbabwe born mates in school have various is book is a tense novel, set in frightening times. There are plenty of racist attitudes on display by characters in the book, but in fact it is about much more than racism. This is a book about power and politics but more especially about hatred and strife in all walks of life, and where it is is definitely a book to create you think. I found it in the young adult section, but it is just as much a book for old adults too. Too massive for younger kids though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    Since Celtic Thunder's first year, I investigated Phil Coulter's music.I had always heard of him and of songs that other performers did of hismusic, but never looked into his melody itself. Now I am large fan. I'vepurchased a number of his albums and each one makes me wish to find formore. Lake of Shadows is beautiful, haunting yet soothing. You can feelthe memories he has of the area, his joy of his youth spent in this place,the heart break over the loss of his brother and sister in a put thatgave him much happiness. He is drawn to the Lake still, maybe knowing thatthey are still close to him there. It's a Attractive Album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    Attractive melody with assistance given to the meaning in the notes which one can read before or after the first e spiritual connection appealed to me and I think would appeal to a lot of others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    This book some interesting insight into some of Japan's cultural history through the perspective of one who values it. The original author highly values some aspects of Japanese tradition and portrays some particular practices. Personally, I started to gloss over some pages when the author said he wasn't trying to whine because times are changing, and then spent the rest of the book whining anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    In Praise of Shadows is a wonderful, inspiring read. I ordered this for my husband after my son had it as needed reading in college and loaned his copy to me. I thought I would give it a test even though Japanese design was not something I had ever been interested in. It was so enlightening. The writer instantly engages you. I could not place it down and of course finished in one evening as it is a beautiful quick read. I read it again when my husbands copy came and loved it just as much the second time around. It pulls you into those locations and you feel as if you have visited the shadows he so elegantly describes. Even if this topic is one you never thought of reading please please give it a try. It is musical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Having heard some of their melody at Six Flags Fright Fest this was an amazing buy!Five out of Five without question.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prince of Shadows []  2020-1-16 1:42

    I thought about 5 stars for this one, because it had all the elements of a book that usually really works for me. It was well written, it had interesting, multi-layered characters, it had a compelling plot that was a various take on an old classic, I love Shakespeare, etc. But I ended up on 4 stars. I think that it got a bit repetitive what with all the tragic pining and all. Nevertheless, I recommend it. It's a retelling of Romeo and Juliet told from Benvolio, Romeo's cousin's point-of-view. It fleshed out some of the well known characters from the play such as Mercutio as well as defined its own story. I felt myself wishing there was a bit more of Romeo and Juliet and the lines from that beloved play. As it is, I think we're only afforded a glimpse of Juliet. Really the story centers around Mercutio and Benvolio, and Romeo and Juliet's tale is but a sub-plot. I also thought it brave to hold the necessary religious and cultural contexts; I thought for sure that Rosaline would be created out to have modern-day sensibilities which might have been satisfying but is ultimately false and therefore annoying to me. Women of this era were oppressed. They were cloistered away for their own "protection" but really were often abused and neglected at the hands of their relatives. They were often forced into ignorance by withheld education, and were often used as pawns to gain wealth or prestige. I'm not a fan of revisionist history. Bound to repeat it and all , to sum up--Likes: Benvolio is a likable character. The thief/Prince of Shadows aspect of his hero was interesting and entertaining. I liked Mercutio and thought the whole idea of his homosexuality and the cultural response to it as an explanation for his going off the deep end interesting. I liked Rosaline and was pulling for her and Benvolio to have a satisfied ending after all the tragedy.Didn't work as well for me: I was hoping for more of Romeo and Juliet, as well as the Shakespearian language that makes the play it's based on so attractive and powerful. At times it was almost melodramatic, though I realize it is a ill a amazing book and recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prince of Shadows []  2020-1-16 1:42

    (¯`'•.¸(¯`'•I love ALL of Rachel Caine's writings. They keep my interest throughout, from beginning to end.R•''¯)¸.•''¯)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parade of Shadows []  2020-1-16 2:4

    It's 1907, and sixteen-year-old Julia Hamilton lives an uneventful life in London, though she dreams of seeing distant locations and having exciting adventures. Her mother died of an illness when Julia was very young and her father is often traveling in his work for the British Foreign Office. When she learns her father is to take a trip to the Middle East, she begs to come along, and to her delight, her father agrees.On the journey, Julia befriends Graham Geddes, a handsome young student from Oxford whom she learns is to be part of their tour group. Graham shows her the sights of the exotic town of Beirut - and also awakens her to the political unrest in the region. Graham is sympathetic to the Young Turks, who want to reform the Ottoman Empire, a position Julia's father strongly disagrees with. Julia is attracted to Graham but feels torn between him and her father. Their fellow travelers, and even their tour guide, seem to have hidden motives as rade of Shadows was another perfect historical novel with a special setting by Gloria Whelan. Julia was a unbelievable hero - she starts out as a sheltered young girl, but during her journey she matures and becomes more aware of the globe around her. In light of the current situation in the Middle East, it seemed particularly relevant to read about the political unrest that existed there a hundred years ago. I'd highly recommend this book to young adult readers who enjoyed the author's previous novels or who have fun historical fiction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parade of Shadows []  2020-1-16 2:4

    The story is a mix of a travel book, romance story and who-done-it. It is well written and entertaining without going into clichés.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    It has a very special graphical style related to the "The Trail". The UI is simplistic which on mobile is a very amazing thing. It loads quickly and no lag on my device. I saw no hero customization,but i only booted it up to look it over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Fun android game especially for on sale. Just needs gamepad help and a few laggy glitches fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Shadows Journal [App]  2020-2-2 13:57

    Amazing app. The best BoS I've found

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors []  2020-3-30 19:4

    Greatly enjoyed reading. Carl Sagan is my favorite teacher, explains the science of DNA in simple to understand language. His explanation of evolution of life over 2 Billions years from bacteria and one celled protozoa to mammals and beyond is most interesting. And evolution is always on the march, does not stop with our species. One can wonder, in one hundred million years, what will our species evolve to, what will we look like?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    I liked the story and the style in wich it is written. I purchased the book after reading a book ( Justice ) by this author. That book was so amazing that I purchased this one without reading the reviews. I should have, because then I would have known the book ends on a cliffhanger, I e author should have mentioned in the description that it is part of a series. Now it was a bit of a allow down

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    I almost have no words that can adequately express my feelings upon this book's conclusion!! I am a mess! I'm overjoyed at magic being freed and that so a lot of beloved characters are right where they deserve to be. I've fallen so deeply in love with characters that started out as terrifyingly evil. I'm beyond excited to take the next journey with each of these characters. They are my mates and I'm anxiously awaiting what will happen next. My favorites hold changing! There is just so much hope that its now a living presence. It's attractive to see hope dwelling in their hearts and eyes. There are so a lot of scenes and words to be spoken that this captivating saga won't allow me go. And I really am not ready to set this globe to the side yet. My mind is boggled just trying to think of the immense plotting that Ms. Maas had to have done!!! There are just so a lot of startling revelations and neatly placed info that this truly is a masterpiece!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    what a cliffhanger Lord of shadows was. Once again I felt I was thrown into the globe of Shadowhunters, Fairies and Warlocks. From Begin to Finish I couldn't place it Lady Midnight, it was full of adventure, love, Family, friendship and a lot of heartache and sacrifice. Aw the feels so a lot of feels with this book. Whether it was with Julian and Emma or Mark, Kieran and Christina, along with Ty Livvy and Kit.I felt like this story we learned more and more about the Blackthorns and Malcom Fade, and what really happened between he and Annabelle Blackthorn. I felt that Cassie Clare really touched more upon what is means to be Parabati and the sacrifices that comes with that.With Lord of shadows Kit aka Christopher Herondale really starts to embrace being a shadowhunter and getting to know who his family is and who is ancestors were.I love how intertwined The Dark Artifces, the Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments are. The end of the book broke my heart. So much craziness ensues and the ending oh the ending. I can't wait to read the Final Book. I can't believe we have to wait a year!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I very nearly didn't continue this series. If you've read my review of Lady Midnight, I explain why, but I can tell you I am soooo glad I didn't give up. This series has a very huge cast of characters, and Lady Midnight set up their personalities and story lines up of the things I adore about Cassandra Clare's writing is how hero and relationship driven her stories are. That is what truly sucked me into Lord of Shadows, and I couldn't obtain e has said in multiple locations that Julian Blackthorn is the fresh star of the Shadowhunter world. Until Lord of Shadows, I was not all that impressed with him. He is growing on me, and I am anxious to see how his hero arc progresses after the end of this e hero that absolutely hooked me, is Kit Herondale. His outsider view point of the Shadowhunter globe is brilliant. He says all the things you think in regards to their separation from the 'mundane' globe and the misunderstandings it causes. He's kind of like the guy in a TV present that looks at the camera and asks, "Are they for real?" And it is HILARIOUS! I adore e hero that stole my heart, broke it, and I hope gets to place it back together, was Kieran. I was very skeptical of him and his relationship with Tag and Christina in the first book. It created me a small squirmy. I'm still riding the fence on what I hope happens, but for all that Kieran has gone through with Mark, his Father, and his brothers I am pulling for him to obtain a satisfied ending. I believe he is a amazing guy and I really hope I'm not wrong. (And I wish his color changing hair!!) I absolutely loved his interaction with Max, Magnus and Alec's son. I think that stage was the moment he completely stole my e adorable romance in this book hands down goes to Gwynn and Dianna. Their awkward sweetness was the excellent counterpoint to all the high stakes tension going on in the e Black Volume, The Seelie Queen, The Un-Seelie King, Annabelle, The Clave, and The Cohort, and the mysterious illnesses weave their influences and troubles into these relationships flawlessly to remind me why I love Cassandra Clare's stories so very e wait begins for book 3...The Queen of Air and Darkness5 stars. Not necessarily a clean read, so I would recommend this series to ages 17+.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My Thoughts:Lord of Shadows is the second book in The Dark Artifices Trilogy, and picks up right where Lady Midnight left off. Full of Action and suspense, you will search yourself willing to sacrifice sleep in to finish this book! Emma has learned about "The Parabatai Curse," and is determined to sacrifice her happiness in to prevent it from becoming a reality. I was not in agreement with her way of trying to prevent the curse, and found myself frustrated with how she decided to handle her predicament, even if I understood her reasoning. There is a lot of angst in this book, as there is no doubt that Emma and Jules are soul mates, and long for nothing more than to be together. The push and pull between them is palpable, and pulled at my heart strings.We also learn more about secondary characters, Christina Rosales, her ex-boyfriend "Perfect Diego," Mark, Kieran (a prince of the Unseelie Court and Mark's ex-boyfriend,) Kit (an orphan whom is staying with The Blackthorne's and has mysterious parentage,) as well as a lot of more minor characters. Romance is sprinkled throughout the story, and I was excited to see how everything would eventually play out with all of the of my favorite parts of book two was the adventure that took put when Emma, Jules, Mark, Christina, and Kieran travel to the land of Faerie. I loved the magic, raw beauty, temptations, and setting that Cassandra Clare created. I felt like I was in the Land of Faerie as well, and all of the colors and visuals were so vivid and bright.Danger is weaved throughout the story from multiple enemies. Emma, Julian, Christina, Mark, Kieran, and the rest of the Blackthorne's are dealing with political upheaval, prejudice, and malicious scheming from the Cohort, an extremist group within The Clave, as well as The Seelie and Unseelie Courts in the land of Faerie, and a strong opponent that has come about through dark magic. I loved every moment of The Lord of Shadows!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    The expansion of the globe and its magic system was my favorite part. The chapters with descriptions of the Denna learning to use her powers was a particular highlight. The romance was fine but felt a small contrived (had to remind myself they were teens and first romance). Definitely a worthy sequel and hoping for a third book now that everyone has matured past teenager with a richer globe set up to explore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I eagerly awaited this sequel, pre-ordering it well in advance of the publication date. While I found the early part of the book a bit slow, it wasn't long before everything heated up. There was powerful emotional tension between Denna and Mare that was complicated by a number of things, Denna's unpredictable magic, their mission that seemed to obtain more complicated by the day, and her decision to leave abruptly to see if training with the queen would let her to have better control and understanding of her powers. The strain of that latest one could easily have fractured their relationship. Then, there are some fresh players who are quite interesting. My favorite is Fadeyka (who might well deserve a book of her own in the future), but Alek and some of the other mages in training grew on me as well. The story sustains an perfect level of intrigue and tension, particularly toward the end of the book. It's a satisfying read that was well worth the wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mask of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This was the first book I’ve ever read with a gender fluid hero and I thought Linsey Miller did a amazing job of capturing Sal’s identity as they were so much more than just what gender they identified with. I felt the author handled this aspect of Sal’s hero with some e story will obtain under your skin with its action packed plot line that engages the senses making you wish more. Miller made a realistic globe rich and vibrant in detail that included countries, cultures, politics, and a whole background of historical plot lines. It also has a layer of darkness that will grip you making you unable to place it down as you’re pulled deeper into the story. Thankfully there are moments of humor sprinkled about so you can obtain an emotional e author’s characters that surround Sal become the kind that you can really dig into and would wish as ler not only has the ability to entertain but for all those who wish to write themselves someday take not of her style because you can learn a thing or two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mask of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Bookworm Speaks!Mask of Shadowsby Linsey Miller****Acquired: Series: Mask of Shadows (Book 1)Hardcover: 352 pagesPublisher: Sourcebooks Fire (August 29, 2017)Language: EnglishSubject: Fantasy****The Story: Sallot Leon is a thief, and a amazing one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and obtain closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home.When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen's private assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the possibility to infiltrate the court and obtain revenge.But the audition is a war to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they begin to dream of a fresh life and a various future, but one that Sal can have only if they e Review: Let’s obtain right to the detail that was most likely the main aspect that attracted a lot of readers to this novel, Bookworm included: The gender fluid e author does not create it clear what Sal’s biological actually is. Sallot’s gender pronouns seem to be largely dependent on the dozens of clothing they are wearing. It is implied that Sal is, if not a ‘girl’, can be described as feminine. In their interactions with Elise, however, there is a lot of masculinity to be had here. It was probably for the best that this book was written from the first person point of view. Referring to the hero as ‘they’ throughout the entirety of the text would have gotten rather confusing very quickly. It is even a small confusing while writing this review. This is probably the very first book that Bookworm has read with a protagonist that can be described as transgender. Not the first with a protagonist mind you, but first with a transgender protagonist and definitely the first in a speculative fiction setting. It is treated as though it was no huge deal, which is amazing step forward for this brand of representation. In to achieve equality, one needs to treat gender rebels as ‘normal’ rather than the is never created entirely clear what the setting of this novel actually is. It takes put in a kingdom that has only recently come into existence after a brutal war. The setting does not appear to be especially distinctive. A medieval globe of swords, horse drawn carriages, and castles. This has been done countless times over but much like Sallot Leon, the author manages to add some fluidity to it. Bookworm got the impression that this book took put is a setting more like medieval France or ItalyThis is what sets the scene for Sal’s motivation for joining the contest. For one thing, Sal was willing to be thrown into the wolves den on her own volition. This sets it apart from other tomes such as Divergent or Red Rising, where the main hero joins the contest because he or she is forced to do so or it is simply expected by the of the current governance. Here, Sal discovers the contest by accident.Without giving to much away, Sal comes from a land called Nacea which was devastated in a battle due to the machinations of the nobles of the kingdom. Were Sal to become the Left Hand of the queen, they would be able to take their vengeance. Revenge plots are nothing new, especially in this genre of fiction, but Sal’s story is unique in that it actually feels more concrete than others. Sal has a goal in mind and actually takes concrete, rational steps, towards uncovering clues and means of enacting their revenge. It never leaves them, whereas in other stories, revenge is pushed to the e most glaring flaw with this book is its initial setup. One cannot deny that this book is yet another entry in a long line of books involving a teenage protagonist who competes in another ‘Battle Royale, Hunger Games” war to the death. That fact alone may cause a potential reader to return the book to the shelf. Upon reading the story, the author thankfully took the initiative and added their own special twist to the common YA format. The contest Sal and the other competitors is actually structured in a distinctive fashion. It is implied that the Left Hand Auditions have been done before, but only when a current member dies. Also, the structure of the whole contest is a lot more casual. Killing is each other is expected but there is small grandiosity in their deaths. Makes sense, considering that they are potential assassins. The whole affair feels rather informal, which definitely sets it netheless, writers and authors would be wise to break away from such a formula in the future. Hopefully, the second volume will stand on its own. The ending has already created Bookworm eager for the ly, there is the romance. This book graciously avoids the insufferable love triangle and/or the fellow competitor trope. Elise is a proper lady that has special tastes and the budding love between her and Sal feels rather heartfelt. Definitely still in the puppy love scene as it were for most of the volume but that slowly begins to melt away near the end of the story. The reader becomes genuinely invested in the characters and for Bookworm, they were some of their favorite scenes in the whole Verdict: Mask of Shadows is a special tale of blood, love, honor, and vengeance. Bookworm hopes this book will stand apart from other novels for a long time to come.Rating: Four Opals out of

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mask of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    "Mask of Shadows" is an intriguing YA fantasy about Sal, a gender fluid thief who wants revenge on Erlend for the destruction of Nacea carried out by Shadows (which destroy people horrifically). Sal may be the only surviving Nacean. While robbing some royalty, Sal finds a flier which advertises auditions for Opal, one of Our Queen's Left Hand members who recently died. Although Sal does not have an invitation, Sal decides to test to bring an appropriate invitation by killing the man who makes kids rob for him (and cuts off their fingers if they hold anything from him).Sal is soon Twenty-three and in the horrific tournament to become Opal with 22 other killers. The tournament is fierce and more complex than expected. Not to mention Sal's ultimate interest in getting back at the Erlend nobles who left the people of Nacea to die by the Shadows and the burgeoning friendships and love interest Sal has picked up along the way.Overall, it's a really intense and intricate plot- one that becomes hard to follow if you look away for too long. The beginning and ending are very intense, and in the middle, it becomes a small less so as they work on hero building/romance. I wasn't really sure how much I bought the romance, and I felt like there was so much else going on that it really detracted from Sal's missions of becoming Opal and bringing justice to the Erlend nobles. It felt a bit like a plot point/a small forced. However, it did give a reprieve from the fear/thriller aspects of the tournament to the death that each contestant was facing 24 hours a day. This is an intense book with some dark themes of murder and death.I think it was a promising begin to the series and did read all the method to the end. I think the beginning and the hero of Sal were really powerful and then felt like it faded a bit by the end- however, I am very curious to see where this will go in the future! Regarding the gender fluidity, I felt like this was not the definition of who Sal is and was treated appropriately! It was a nice change of pace from the typical, and Sal was a unbelievable hero (motivated by a need for justice but not just death and patient/caring in Sal's own way)! Now I will just have (hopefully not too long) to wait until the next book in this interesting series...Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386