she took the tennessee river Reviews & Opinions


Submit she took the tennessee river review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    I listen to Fresh Age melody from my cable provider. Each time Jia Peng Fang would be played, I took notice. I enjoyed the sound of what I thought was a violin and the oriental melodies of his e sound that attracted me is produced from an instrument called an Erhu or Chinese violin. The tones captured by the Erhu and the accompanying instruments are gorgeous. The melody is mostly played with 'traditional instruments';less synthesized work and is portrayed in a 'neo-traditional' Chinese style. When synthesized equipment is utilized, like at the beginning of Songhua Wanfeng, it is done tastefully and satisfies my yearn for that Fresh Age sound I am more familiar with. Jia Peng Fang is incredulable with his playing of the Erhu and the melody and arrangements mostly done by Seiichi Kyoda are beautiful.Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    The ambient surrounding each song was carefully thought and transports you somewhere else. Soothing and relaxing sound, a very emotive experience throughout the whole album. The mood also changes form song to song, without being disruptive. Amazing if you like nice arrangements of traditional Japanese music. Even if you are not familiar with it, you will surely have fun it. The incense sticks also smell nice and were a nice addition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    Excellent melody for lifting the heart and soul.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on she took the tennessee river or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch she took the tennessee river video reviews and related movies:

    See Special Consensus - She Took the Tennesse River (Official Music Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See She Took the Tennessee River on youtube.

     related image

    See Special Consensus "She Took the Tennessee River" on youtube.

     related image

    See She Took the Tennessee River on youtube.

     related image

    See Special Consensus- She Took the Tennessee River on youtube.

     related image

    See She Took the Tennessee River - Special Consensus IBMA 2019 Showcase on youtube.

     related image

    See Tennessee River on youtube.

     related image

    See Tennessee River (Live) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    I gave as a Christmas gift, but was all that she said...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    Cant stop listing to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    attractive melodies

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    There are some albums out there that you must obtain if you want to discover the best erhu melody available. River is one of them. Jia Peng Fang is of the same caliber as Missa Johnouchi, Jie-Bing Chen, and Yu Hong-Mei, all fabulous artists. River consists mostly of tracks with a relaxed pace with one exception, a more lively track 6: Yueya Wugeng. Aside from this track, you obtain all smooth laid-back melody that I don't search to ever be boring. Amazing erhu melody when played a certain way, can tug at your heartstrings. It's just the nature of the instrument combined with the skill the artist has with it. If you are looking for the best erhu music, check out River in addition to Rainbow, both by Jia Peng Fang, Asian Blossoms and Street To Oasis, both by Missa Johnouchi, Spirit on Two Strings by Jie-Bing Chen, and String Glamour by Yu Hong-Mei. While some tracks on these albums are more of an acquired taste, most of Johnouchi's and Fang's work is accessible right from the start. I hope you search the sound you are looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    I've heard this sound since I was young. The distinct hero of the sound evokes a certain emotion, it is not sad, nor it is melancholy, it simply tugs at your heart and then allow go. I've always known it as the sound of a bowed string instrument called the "Er-Hu." I didn't know it is called "Niko" in is album is a masterpiece not only in terms of the quality of play by Mr. Fang, but it also has the neat arrangement you expect from amazing Japanese favorite is the song "Mirage of the Fall" in which the sound of the Er Hu starts with a primary pattern, then moves on into the second stanza, then when I thought that I know what's coming, it surprises me with its turn of direction, all of this before the song soars into the sky a high pitched crescendo which then intricately reconnected back to the primary pattern I heard in the beginning. Accompanied with the gothic-style guitar ballad, it creates a harmonious contrast that seems to depict the heavens and the earth. Simply Masterful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    River is a unbelievable musical tone poem of the orient. Although purely instrumental, oriental instruments echo human voices and make a sense of traveling on the river through high, craggy mountains, villages, and tree lined banks. It is relaxing and energizing at the same time. A unbelievable CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River review []  2020-1-23 3:54

    If you have fun pure talent, serenely attractive music, exceptional creativity and perfect productions- then look no further. I have fun Rock, Country, Bluegrass, Fresh Age, Classical, Jazz and Irish to name a few. I have enjoyed very few albums in my lifetime as much as this one. Just incredible...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discover! America's Great River Road: Volume III: St. Louis, Missouri, to Memphis, Tennessee review []  2020-1-23 1:17

    This volume is still worth reading today, nearly 20 years after first publication. The info is to the point and there is plenty of it to enjoy. In a day and age when everyone heads for the internet to search everything under the sun, it is amazing to see a tutorial book as thorough as this one still available.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discover! America's Great River Road: Volume III: St. Louis, Missouri, to Memphis, Tennessee review []  2020-1-23 1:17

    Amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discover! America's Great River Road: Volume III: St. Louis, Missouri, to Memphis, Tennessee review []  2020-1-23 1:17

    Was dissappointed. Long and wordy and not a lot of information on actual travel info Felt Street Trip USA was better and worth the money

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discover! America's Great River Road: Volume III: St. Louis, Missouri, to Memphis, Tennessee review []  2020-1-23 1:17

    While planning for yet another summer of rides on the motorcycle,my wife and I had this book sent as part of our research.We were very disappointed, it has 5 stars. So what is the problem?For one thing it is not well written nor does it seem up to date.We travel a lot, all over the USA and the is like asking about a amazing cafe, first you need to know the people who felt it was great. Do they know amazing food?We know well done books and this is not one. I move it to the waste fill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River Republic: The Fall and Rise of America's Rivers review []  2019-12-24 19:42

    Witty, engaging and hopeful. This well crafted book provides a solid glimpse into the interesting history about how we have mistreated and mismanaged our most precious natural resources- as well as hope for the future through chronicling the grassroots efforts and those working tirelessly to bring our rivers back to healthy freeflowing form. I live in a community where (through much funding and hard work) a long neglected section of the Ogden River is returning to it's natural glory and breathing life and hope for the future back to a long blighted area. As an elected official, I think this book should be needed reading for anyone involved with policy problems facing our waterways.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River Republic: The Fall and Rise of America's Rivers review []  2019-12-24 19:42

    Rivers have defined the growth of America, and have suffered from it with pollution, diversions, overuse, and dams. McCool's book has amazing stories of people who are working to restore our American rivers to function and beauty. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Allow me just obtain the one poor thing out of the way. Spoiler alert for the first two chapters; Brian returns to the wild because goverment survival instructors need him to teach them survival methods. This has to be one of the most absurd plots I've ever heard for a book. The idea that the people who train Green Berets and Marine Force Recon need a teenage to teach them to live off the land is ridiculous. I have a military problem surival book meant for soldiers in case of capture that addresses a lot of of the issues Brian faced in Hatchet. Often it provides better methods than Brian ends up using to deal with problems. Added to that is the fact that, in addition to everything else Brian faced, escaping POWs have opponent soldiers hunting them. Yet in The River, the instructors actually say neither them nor anyone they (meaning the government) know has ever been in a true survival situation. That said, once you obtain passed that, the book is great. It is the reason I spent several hundred dollars on a kayak. And for younger audiences, it can definately spark a life-long interest in the amazing outdoors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Review - The Brain Sagas by Gary PaulsenI have now finished all five of the Brian Sage books - “Hatchet,” “The River,” “Brian’s Winter,” “Brian's Return” and “The Hunt.” and the epilogue “Guts” by Gary Paulsen. “The Hatchet” is one of three Newberry Awards that Gary Paulsen has sically the series is one story. The story of an teenage boy who at age 13 is left alone in the North Woods of Canada due to a pilot’s fatal heart attack and plane wreck. The first book, “The Hatchet” tells of the guts, intelligence, patience and luck of a 13 year old boy with small wilderness experience in learning how to live and survive in a remote wilderness. We obtain a marvelous set of instructions in wilderness lore and living, and a glimpse into an smart mind that issue solves, learns and masters a strange world. At the end of this book Brian retrieves a signal radio from the submerged plane and is “Brian’s Winter” is an alternate ending. Brian is not rescued, but manages to learn more and survive into December. We see more of Brian’s talents and abilities and fresh found skills. Here, Brian stumbles into a family of Cree Native Americans manning a trap line, who take him in. Brian flies out on the next supply place. The Cree family consider him like one of the “old people” for Brian is dressed in skins he has captured and his arrows have stone points he has created himself. Yes, some of the story is very fortuitous for Brian, but that does not distract from the lessons of the wilderness and the lessons of life Brian has to learn to survive.“The River” is a book with Brian returning to the North Woods with a psychologist, Derek, of the military attempting to learn how to teach survival to the military. The man is not schooled in the wilderness at all, and Brian become “the adult” in charge of the adventure. Brian sends the 200 pounds of supplies back with the plane that flew them in, and commences to recreate the globe he knew in the first two books. Half the book is a terrifying trip over 100 miles, 3+ days, down a river, its rapids, lakes and swamps, with Derek unconscious on a wilderness created raft. We obtain a first hand look at the guts important to achieve this. Again, the manage to create a trapper’s cabin and are “Brian’s Return” we see Brian not fitting back into civilization, 15 - 16 year old’s school and society. Brian has adjusted to the Wilderness, and that is the reality he much prefers. Brian takes along a few supplies an d does very “The Hunt” Brian is back in the North Woods learning more woods lore and ways. By now he is nearly a expert. Brian finds an old man, Billy, in his camp one evening. Billy and Brian share a mutual evening of silent communication and while few words are exchanged, Brian gains “medicine.”’ In respect, Billy, leaving camp very early before Brian is awake, leaves a amulet of white tail deer fur and crow’s feathers for Brian. Brian recognizes the significance of this and immediately hangs it around his neck. Shortly thereafter, Brian and a wounded dog search each other. It turns out the dog belonged to the Cree Family Brian had met in “Brian’s Winter.” Unfortunately, a bear had devastated the cabin and family of the Cree family , killing two members of that family. Brian rescues the wife, buries the dead, and deals with the stoic, bureaucratic officials. Once they leave, Brian hunts and in a unbelievable stage - which I will not spoil - kills the bear.“Guts” is stories from Gary Paulsen’s life, rough childhood, adventures in Minnesota, Canada, the American South West, Colorado. These episodes Gary wove into Brian’s Story - a story beautifully and touchingly told. Gary’s knowledge and actual experiences gave him the insight to write the Brian Saga. Not only is the woods lore appropriately, accurately and well handled, but the changes that the North Woods induces in Brian are well followed. The books are at once a deep lesson in both survival and in life. We learn much about wilderness living. But we also are treated to the contrasts of life in the town and in the Wilderness.Due a few violent scenes, this series should not be read by youth under 13 or so. Death is a part of life, and life is an endless living with what is there. It takes “guts”, perseverance, and patience, to achieve what Brian achieved, and that is the true notice of these books. Life takes True Guts,lots of perseverance, and lots of e books read very well. The stories are well told. The reading level is at least 8th grade. And for those with an interest in Nature and the Wilderness, be it North Woods, SW desert or ocean, the lessons apply. I found the reading to be extremely enjoyable, and the lessons deep and well taught without being preachy. A amazing series of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I choose a 5 star because I am a large fan of the Brian's is book gives life to Brian and through hatchet did the same this book place Brian in a situation where he had to care for himself and someone else.... though as amazing as this book is I feel it did not capture the survival situation that they went to do. Yes with the emergency of Derek being in a coma lead to the rafting down a river but they never really reach their destination of the trade post, considering dereks condition this is understandable. Only part that wasn't really realistic was he never stopped for meal with all that work all those hours he would have required to eat to hold up his energy to do so. Like I said however this is still one of my favorite books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Amazing sequel to The Hatchet. Amazing book for a boy who or a girl who doesn't like to read very much. Exciting, boy has to survive in the wilderness by himself building fires, finding out which berries he can eat how to catch the fish how to skin the fish how to cook the fish just an perfect book I would recommend it to any boy or girl probably 9 years old or up but I would definitely suggest that they read the Hatchet first before they read the River

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My 9 year old LOVED Hatchet so we bought him all the books by Gary Paulsen. He says they all seem to follow the same literary "formula" just in various settings - winter, an island, etc but he loves the outdoors and adventure books so he enjoys them, despite their slight predictability.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    THE RIVER by Gary ORY BRIEF:This is the sequel to and should be read after "Hatchet." The River takes put a year later. In Hatchet, 13-year-old Brian survives for 54 days in the Canadian wilderness alone. The next summer the military hires Brian to do it again with one of them taking notes so they can train other people how to survive. Because it will support save lives, Brian agrees to do it. He and Derek fly to a various zone in the Canadian wilderness. While there lightning strikes Derek causing a coma. The radio is also broken. Brian decides to build a raft to take them down the river to obtain support since Derek will die in a few days without ER'S OPINION:I loved Hatchet. This was enjoyable but not as good. I have fun being with Brian as he thinks and acts in the survival environment. This book didn't have as a lot of episodes or scenes with various animals and threats as the first book. In other words - not as a lot of issues to solve and Brian didn't learn or grow as much as he did in the first book. So, not a lot happens here but I still liked e book is shorter than standard novels. The narrator Peter Coyote was excellent.OTHER BOOKS:The author wrote a lot of books, but the Hatchet series consists of:5 stars. Hatchet (read first)5 stars. Brian's Winter (read second or third but I prefer second)3 stars. The River (read second or third)4 stars. Brian's Return3 stars. Brian's HuntDATA:Unabridged audiobook length: 2 hrs and 31 mins. Narrator: Peter Coyote. Swearing language: none. Sexual content: none. Setting: current day mostly the Canadian wilderness. Copyright: probably 1991. Genre: young adult adventure fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Not quite as amazing as Hatchet, as the struggle to survive is contrived to start with. Military experts wish him to go thru a related experience while being observed so they can figure out how he was able to survive. They need to know what about him helped him the first time. What he teaches them could support others who might be in related situations. When things go wrong Brian has fresh issues to solve. He is responsible for another person who has been struck by lightening and is in a coma. There is less focus on how painful and consuming hunger can be. More focus on making critical decisions. How to obtain the injured man back to civilization, building a raft, learning how to navigate on the river. There are periods where Brian is exhausted because he is trying to obtain to the trading post as quick as possible. He falls asleep, dreams and hallucinates for portions of this excursion. Still a amazing story. We will look for the next one in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My 12 year old really likes this series which is amazing because he is not a huge fan of books. Listening to them on tape is great. We loved the first one and the second one is just o.k. Kind of short. Judging by other reviews we agree that the second one is not as amazing as the first, but it had really amazing moments. Definately will check out the next in the series because they are amazing enough to continue on. I wouldn't hesitate to obtain this and recommend finishing the series, especially for a boy who doesn't like to read, it is almost a miricle series. Peter Coyote (forgive the spelling) is a fabulous reader, he gets 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Just A few hours to read. Then at 82% it’s OVER and the other 18% is just previews from his other books. I’ve already place $20 into this series for just a few hours of reading and starting to regret it. Still feel like I need to finish the series. Oh well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The River review []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My students love this book. This along with Hatchet and Brian's Winter are a huge hit with my students. My students struggle with reading, however through having them listen and follow along with the print ver has greatly helped their overall reading ability.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    Rivers are what created the United States what it is and this book explores how rivers and streams have shaped our history and created the expansion of the country e author starts by examining the eastern river systems. Most didn't go very far inland, and while amazing for use as power for grist mills, they were not amazing for transportation. Then the idea of the Erie Canal came to be and it changed the depth of the country and how amazing were transported to e author then looks at what we have done to harness rivers for navigation and to prevent flooding. Levees were built, rivers were straightened and depth increased to let more river traffic. The best example is, of course the Mississippi River, which has become a backbone of American e author also examines the environmental hurt done to our rivers and how we continually created things worse with our rivers until the environmental movement of the seventies. That is when we started to reverse course and started to fix much of the hurt done to our river e book is a fascinating read into an aspect of American history that has received small attention. We would not be the country we are without our river systems, and this book info that well. It is very readable and completely enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    A really perfect book. It covers a vast amount of what might be termed civics/economics/US history from the perspective of America's waterways. Seems to be well researched by someone who has a beautiful deep and broad understanding of the material. Very readable for the general public- no cheap joke-iness but has a lightness to it that makes it easily read, even by septuagenarians like me. Haven't quite finished it yet, but am really glad to have discovered it. In a excellent world, high schools could build an entire semester's study around this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    A amazing non fiction "business" book typically covers just a couple of interesting locations or makes a handful of points; The Source covered a lot of more locations than usual (all water-related), and in a very readable fashion. It's amazing to learn about the history of several "businesses" while also being entertained. One of the best non-fiction books I've read this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    Given the book's title I was expecting more technical information; i.e. how were America's rivers developed/modified for our usage? Rather this is more of the philosophy of how we use our rivers and (especially for western rivers whose flows are rationed out) who has priority of water usage. Still it's well written, researched and interesting. For instance you have multiple entities wanting to use water from the river for irrigation: 1)the furthest upstream tenant, 2)the downstream tenant who has longer occupancy or seniority, and 3)Native Americans. During times of drought and the river can't supply all their needs, who gets theirs first? Certainly a worthwhile read for those interested in America's rivers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    This is a highly readable, interesting acc that mixes geography and history. Too often historians seem to discount or neglect the importance of the physical environment in shaping how people lived and societies developed. This is a refreshing correction. Because it is so accessible, I would recommend it for anyone living on one of America's major waterways who is interested in history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    The Source is fabulous! It’s dense, authoritative, well-researched & r me, it was a slow read - because it is filled with thought-provoking info & insights.Rivers have shaped the primary facts of America - where we live, how we conduct business, how we deal with risks, and how we govern this amazing work, Martin Doyle (author) provides a thorough history of the central role Rivers have played in our local/national development. He informs us how vital (despite being taken for granted & oft-abused) Rivers are to our r anyone wishing to better understand problems of American Environment, Government, and History - this seems a “must read”.Fabulous job, Mister Doyle!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    T he Source is a book chock full of info concerning a lot of topics involving water but also streams. I truly enjoyed reading over the latest few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    Well written and simple to read economic and environmental history of the US rivers. Answers the whys of Buffalo NY, the regulatory state and the future of dams and species.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    I've been interested in water problems for over thirty years and have explored lots of books on the topic. I usually found myself with questions that no one answered. Behind the modest title of this book lurks what you need to create sense of the a lot of problems facing the US about water --floods in the Midwest, Western water battles -- and the historical decisions that have left us where we are. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers review []  2019-12-23 20:24

    I am not sure I share the enthusiasm for this book that others expressed here. The book jumped around too much for my taste. I would have preferred a focus on one of the major rivers like the Mississippi or the Missouri or the Erie Canal. But I realize that was not the book that was promised here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Read the book, don’t watch the show. The present is so method off. If your gonna create a present from a book then do it right. Use the books story not change major items in the e book is amazing. I watched the present first because I didn’t know about the book before. I got the book because the present ended on a cliffhanger and I really hate those. So I got the book to see if Mel and jack obtain together in the end. And I search the book so various from the present and so much better. The story and the characters interactions are connected and just amazing. I am going to go read the second book in the series now. I am hooked now. It took me 2 days to finish the book because I couldn’t place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    I purchased this book and audio latest year but didn't obtain to it until Audible sent me an email offering a free two-month trial of audible escape. I noticed the entire series is available through this subscription and started e series reads like a cable TV program with the main characters of Jack and Mel featured in each book. In subsequent books feature another mate or resident, but the main characters' stories continue to Virgin River, Mel is grieving the loss of her husband, an ER doctor, who was shot when he walked into a convenience shop robbery. She needs to escape LA, her nursing position, and the areas that trigger memories and tears daily. She agrees to a one-year contract as a nurse-midwife to support an aging small-town doctor. Jack Sheridan owns the local bar and grill where the city folks gather. Jack, a retired marine, knows PTSD and grief. He helps Mel while she comes to terms with her past and thinks about the ere are a lot of interesting characters introduced in this book. Jack's military mates create regular visits to Virgin River to fish and hunt. There is a full gambit of city folks and a small suspense with unsavory characters who drop in to disrupt the quiet life of the area.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Fleeing the pain and loss of her life in LA, Melinda (Mel) Monroe is ready for a dramatic change in her life and where she lives it…which is why she responded to the ad for a nurse practitioner in the little country village upstate. She was promised a cabin rent free for a year, and the opportunity to use her midwifery e arrives on a stormy night, and her BMW doesn’t quite create it up the mountain…a grumpy passer-by hauls her out of the mud and leads her to the cabin. Stunned by what she finds there, Mel is just about to turn around and leave. Except there is the storm, her hunger, and the appearance of the “landlady” Hope McCrea, promising the derelict cabin will be cleaned up…and that they can search meal in the e diner turns out to be a tavern run by a couple of intimidating characters: “Preacher” and Jack. And there at the bar sits the grumpy passer-by, who turns out to be the doctor she is there to assist. But the meal offered is divine, and the ambience isn’t ill…she wants to leave, but when she goes to Doc Mullins’s put later, she discovers an abandoned baby there. She can’t leave just River: Book 1 of Virgin River series (A Virgin River Novel) reeled me in with the descriptions of the characters, the settings, the food…and encircled me with all the warmth a put like that can offer. Jack Sheridan, the bar owner, is brought vividly to life in all his hunky sexiness, and it doesn’t take long to imagine what could happen between him and Mel…if she lets ter all, she lost her husband Tag in a dreadful murder…and is still n Mel search what she needs in this off-the-beaten-path place? Will the friendly charms and homey goodness of the people support her heal? And will the darkness that hides in the woods ruin things, or will Jack and his cohorts conquer it?I was eager to search out, so I kept turning pages until the very end, and still wanted more. I enjoyed how the author showed us the challenges of practicing medicine in such a community, while also revealing the special charms of the people, which created the challenges worth the effort. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. 4.5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    This first in Robyn Carr's Virgin River series pulled me in immediately. It's the first novel among her a lot of novels that I tried and I enjoyed ir so much rhR I read it twice and went on to read every book in the series. Along with being an enjoyable romance novel I found that I learned info that applied to daily life such as certain info about military life, childbirth and nursing information, etc. Facts that were woven into the fictional characters lives. At show I believe that I've read all of Carr's novels and hope she continues to write a lot of more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Melinda Monroe flees the huge town to work as a nurse practitioner and midwife in rural Virgin River. It's not at all what she expected and she's ready to leave when a newborn baby is left on her doorstep. Handsome ex-Marine Jack Sheridan runs the bar and local eatery and he also gives her some reasons to stay.I've read some Robyn Carr, though not this series, so when I saw a deal on the book and that it was being created a Netflix series, I grabbed it. It's not a poor book, more of an introduction to people in the series. Jack and Mel are a amazing couple with interesting backstories. It's a fast read, somewhat predictable, but okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    I'd read all of Carr's Thunder Point series and another reviewer suggested I read this series. This is the story of an advanced practice nurse midwife who leaves an urban setting after a loss for a rural opportunity. The nursing and regional writing is very strong. I liked the characters quite a bit although having lead characters with bags of cash often takes me out of the story.While I enjoyed the story I don't think I'll continue on with the series. You really need to have fun pregnancy/childbirth/children a lot to obtain the most out of this series and I just don't. Virtually anyone with a uterus in this book ends up with a "no vacancy" sign.I have to hand it to Carr, there were a couple twists in this book I did not see coming. Well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    "Jack was forty and this was the first time that he had a woman in his life he couldn't imagine giving up."THE STORY: Melinda Monroe, midwife, nurse practitioner and widow, impulsively decides to take a job in the little city of Virgin River. When she arrives, she finds out that the city is not the idyllic spot she was led to believe it was. The doctor doesn't wish her there, her rental house is a dump, there is no cell service, nowhere to store and the only salon is in one of the women's garages. Mel decides to leave the next morning when an infant left on a doorstep, Mel agrees to temporarily stay to care for the infant. Jack Sheridan, ex-Marine and owner of the bar and grill, knows that the city needs Mel. What he finds out is that he needs her, too.OPINION: This is a book where the form of the book complements the location. Virgin River is a little city and things are more essential and things move slowly. This romance is not one where two people meet, fall in love, and obtain married in a week. This story takes put over six months and it feels it. I liked this pace for this story because Mel is still grieving for her dead husband when the book begins. Everything about the relationship between Mel and Jack feels natural and real.WORTH MENTIONING: The characters in this city are a hoot. Makes me look forward to the rest of the DECISION: I liked this. It is one of those books that is in no hurry to conclude the romance. It appropriately takes its time in developing the relationship between Mel and Jack. This allows more complexity and depth to the NNECTED BOOKS: VIRGIN RIVER is the first book of the Virgin River RATING: I give this book 4.25 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Nurse practioner and midwife Melinda is heading to Virgin River for a year. Nine months ago her husband Tag was killed in a botched robbery and she is still reeling. She needs to be somewhere that people don't know her story. But when she gets to Virgin River almost nothing is as it was described especially the cabin. Now she wants nothing more then to leave until she stumbles upon an abandoned baby so she ends up extending her stay in city and both takes care of Chloe, the name she gives the baby, and working for the Doc. When Chloe finds a fresh home she decides to stay a bit longer as there is a pregnant woman not far from birth. Can retired Marine Jack search some method to obtain her to change her mind and stay longer. And while faithful to whomever he's currently sharing a bed, he's never found the woman he wants to be together forever with. With Melinda could that finally have changed? And is she really ready for romance so soon after her husband has died? I had gotten one of the books in the series for cheap after Christmas. While I was able to follow the story without reading any more in the series, I finally took a possibility with this one. I'm glad I did as it was very well written. I'd reccomend this book to anyone looking for a amazing romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    I was intrigued by the story line and found the first few chapters quickly caught my attention. I was excited to see how the story and characters would developed. Unfortunately, the book got muddied by more emphasis on the sexual desires and love making of the main characters, than on the story itself. The ending was somewhat lack luster compared to the author's beginning. I would not be in a hurry to purchase more in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River (A Virgin River Novel Book 1) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    This is a amazing series. Though not my very favorite, I would have given a 4.5 if able. I love mystery thrillers (law enforcement based) and romance (especially historical) but not sleezy sexy harlequin type and rarely silly novels (cozy mystery, chic lit, ya). This series is a long series and I'm only 2 books into it but it's fairly good. It's not "I couldn't place the book down" unbelievable but the characters have some depth to them and lead you to wish to know more about them. No one so far has been so stupid I cheer for the man to meet someone else. If you are looking for a lot of sex, this is not the series for you. If you like super dramatic, soap opera series, where everyone has this large skeleton in the closet, this is not the series for you. Mel (heroine) starts off slow. She's driving in her BMW and the first 2 chapters are nearly exclusively filled with brand names and her BMW. She's from LA. Her husband has died in a shooting. She is leaving a super busy hospital to take a job somewhere else, far far away, in the middle of nowhere. One of the negative reviews mentioned that the reader is an observer as opposed to hearing words from Mel's point of view and that it felt dated. I agree with that. I happened to like that we saw the city as it really was as opposed to some rich doctor's wife from LA saw the town. It created me not hate her and therefore as she grew, she was more likable. I do agree that Mel is not likable at the beginning but as I said, she's from LA. The little city was a bit like going back to the wilderness days. Hunt it for food. Cut wood for heat. One doctor in town, one bar, no stop lights. As a girl from the Appalachians, I appreciated the simplicity. Each book is going into a character's life. You don't obtain all the information up front, which I like. As for the first book in the series, neither Jack or Mel amazes me as a hero but I like them together and I really like the community. Light simple beach read, no huge tear jerker, a bit fluff. This is my first book by Robyn Carr and I'll definitely read several more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River Days: Exploring the Connecticut River from Source to Sea review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    Amazing book about a non-rushed, non stress exploration of this river from its source to Long Island Sound. A must read for anyone planning this trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River Days: Exploring the Connecticut River from Source to Sea review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    All of Michael Tougias' books are unbelievable to read. He writes in a style that makes you feel like you are right along on the trip or rescue depending on the book. I've lived in Fresh England all my life and after reading River Days I now have a few fresh day trips to create to visit some of the websites he described in the book. I highly recommend any of his books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River Days: Exploring the Connecticut River from Source to Sea review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    Its an OK read. Cant really say that I was entralled with it,Basically its about a voyage down the river, yes its an OK read, would not call it earth shatteringly brilliant, more 2.5 out of 5. Think you would have to be keen to buy this book. I have a couple of the authors other books and thought they were much betterI would have to be very hard pressed to recommend it to sometone else. No its not a poor book, just did not really grab me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River Days: Exploring the Connecticut River from Source to Sea review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I first found this book at my local library. After reading it, I decided I should own it. If you have spent any time on the Ct. river, or are planning to, this is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Life, River of Death: The Ganges and India's Future review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    Perfect well researched book on the Ganga river and the importance it plays in millions of lives. I started reading on a latest trip to India and thoroughly enjoyed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Life, River of Death: The Ganges and India's Future review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    Just finished reading Victor Mallet's book on the Ganga and its sad conclusion that our ignorance and indifference will eventually slay ALL our llet describes how the Ganga and its tributaries - whether in Uttarkhand, UP, Nepal, Bihar or West Bengal - being choked to death by diversion, plastic, sewage, effluent and beautiful much every form of abuse one could heap on them. Nothing is more central to the identity and survival of India than our rivers. Thanks, Victor - for a moving work of love and for reminding us again that when the catastrophic end arrives, it will be because we didn't speak up when it counted.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Life, River of Death: The Ganges and India's Future review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This is, at once, an perfect and most depressing book for an ctor Mallet has written the book very well. I would say that his treatment has been exceptional. He dives into side subjects like the treatment of the river, in Hindi movies. He talks of the mythology. This does give the reader a more rounded view of the river, and this is the aspect of the river of life that he is talking also helps to alleviate the depression we feel when we read about the pollution, the callousness of the Indian officials, and the method in which a lot of people deceive themselves with a religious viewThe book is approachable, despite the large amount of research that has been done. It is a book that should be read by a lot of Indians.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Life, River of Death: The Ganges and India's Future review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This is an perfect book and illustrates the immense challenges we face in dealing with the human impact on our natural world. The Ganges is culturally very necessary to Hindus in India, but the book tells how this devotion to the "Ganga" has played a role in making it a virtual begin sewer its entire length. The book info the Ganges' rich cultural history and also info the industries, such as the tanneries and industrial plants at Kanpur, that continue to dump untreated chemicals in the river. Also the book illustrates the issue of improper sanitation and waste water treatment in India. It boggles my mind, reading it, why wealthy foundations and groups cannot combine their resources to build modern sanitation facilities in India. It would benefit the people and support to restore the Ganges and hold filth and waste from flowing into the ocean. This is of course a issue the globe over but this perfect book shines a spotlight on a critically necessary problem for all of us who live on our fragile planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    River of Life, River of Death: The Ganges and India's Future review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely book. The method Victor has narrated the historical aspects of it, blended it with the current state of affairs and the issues faced and then presented possible solution approaches, is really admirable. It is refreshing to obtain such a close perspective from someone who has been in the country only for few years. The book grips me with its accurate narrative of the religious sentiments behind Ganga skilfully blended with the attractive description of its journey from the Himalayas to the Bay of Bengal while making one feel the pain of its abuse over decades. A must read......

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    I can't wait for book 2. I love the details. The package rules. Everyone's story came together. This book had me rolling.😅😅 Maxi and his hairy women. Right scenes were awesome. Low key want shifters were real. Package rules loyalty and respect, alpha's and beta' is a breath of new air. Something other than king pins and baby mama drama. I Iove paranormal fiction. Please obtain us book 2 asap

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    The author creates a fresh globe that contains shifters, guardians/witches: light and dark but leaves too a lot of gaps for the reader to hold up with the jagged pace. Unfortunately this is a series. Sadly is appears that gone are the days when an author dared to tell a story in its entirety. I am so over cliffhangers that are supposed to force a reader to spend more to obtain another installment. I am already disinterested in chasing the ending. I can’t take the whiplash.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    Yo! OMG! This book was a really amazing 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍start to a amazing series. On that note I would like to rate. This book with 5 stars and 11 thumbs up. I would like you to please hurry up. With book 2. I can't wait you got me on the edge of my seat. Please don't leave me like that for to long. Other then that I would really. Like to thank you for feeding my mind. Until next time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    This is my first time reading a book from this author and I really like her work. I love shape shifter books. This book has a amazing love story, a small bit of mystery, and drama. Patience was taken from her family when she was younger. Her aunts raises her. She finds her family and friend and that is when the drama begins. I am ready for part 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    What I like the most is everything. Baby you are definitely gifted to right. However, I would say please, please, don't right a story this amazing without the next one just waiting for me to purchase it. Now having been thrilled completely and totally happy as a reader, I am simply ready for the next novel, please hurry up but do another amazing job. For and old women to read something of yours after having read some of the greats. I would say after over 500 novels and books like android game of Thrones you are in that company to me. I don't give compliments lightly. Someone could turn your stories into movies, I would extremely love that and wouldn't miss the showing. I say five stare plus, three more for amazing concepts. Sorry, I was so excited I forgot to introduce myself. my name is Trudy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    I absolutely loved this book! The description of the supernatural elements was excellent. One of the best fantasy books I've read. It also wasn't so far fetched that it wasn't believable. The characters - whether wolf, guardian or human are very relatable. I would write more - but just read the book. I'm waiting for part 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    I started reading this series in order to read her book Maxwell and I am so glad I did. I am anxious to obtain to the others in this series to REALLY see what Patience/Chaos is REALLY about. I know it's about to be I ON!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    I love reading paranormal romance stories. Patience and Xavier are real friends who found each other years after everyone thought she was dead. Her aunt took her away to protect her. Very amazing book. Hurry up with pt 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    I really enjoyed the adventure, the twists and turns. I can’t wait to read the rest of the story, I’m sure I will not be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It Took a Beast to Tame Her (It Took a Best to Tame Her Book 1) review []  2020-1-3 22:44

    It took his beast to calm her and her beast to calm him. Enjoyable read, like the powerful brother and sisterhood. Look forward to the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    These books have just devolved into baby making women who are so focused on breast feeding that this whole series seems like an advertisement for the health benefits of breast feeding. The first 2 were ok but again with the excessive breeding. I was disappointed in how the author dealt with Rick's situation. They had already been through so much and with a help system like he had I didn't search it reasonable for him to be such a complete a-hole. The short story at the end was very short. The whelping box wasn't accurate and that bothered me. Such a easy thing to obtain right. I started reading this series bc it is going to be a net flix present (or something) but I just don't search these stories to be meaningful at this point. I hope they do a better job with the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This collection was very hard to place down. I love the method each novel includes several story lines, and a story line may span several books. Minor characters in early novels obtain their own story in later only complaint is about the Cameron and Abby story, where Abby ghosts Cam, despite Cam's efforts to search Abby. I was surprised Nikki didn't push Abby at all, as the Nikki and Joe story had Nikki avoiding Joe. Based on Nikki's experience, I expected at least one stage where Nikki tells Abby to talk with Cam.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    I loved the series Virgin River on Netflix, really hate to admit that as an avid reader of several genres of books I had never read anything by Robyn Carr before. Immediately when I finished binge -watching the series, I looked up and ordered the 1st box set. Read them in two days non-stop. Could NOT place them away!!!! Just finished the next box-set and once again I laughed and cried happily through it!!! I'm hooked by these characters and my fresh favorite author. Highly recommended to anyone looking for amazing experiences to head to Virgin River!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    I absolutely am loving this series and the city of virgin river,I can't obtain ese books are hard to place down and now they will be out to screen and am beyond excited to see that!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This series of books spent too much time on sex scenes otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. More amazing characters and a true page turner except for the Christmas novella. In the latest book it was boring and the characters from the other books in the series didn't feature except at the beginning and it just had nothing exciting about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This is a review of bundling of the volume rather than the books themselves. Vol 2 contained Any Day Now of Sullivan’s Crossing instead of Temptation Ridge of Virgin River series. Very disappointing and now costs more cash to buy Temptation Ridge separately

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    I love reading Robyn Carr. I plan on getting next pack of 3 soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Besure to read the Virgin River Collection. Amazing stories with an enjoyable group of characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    I like the people in each story and how they all fit in through the following books. Amazing writing and stories. I feel like I know the characters personally!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 2: A Virgin River Novel review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    I enjoyed this series. Am going through all 5 +

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    Amazing travel narrative, rich in political background, less rich in natural descriptions, no images and one inadequate map in the Kindle version, about a fascinating and increasingly necessary sector of the globe where Russia, China, Korea, and Japan collide. I'd have appreciated hearing a bit more about the landscape and natural features, but the tales of the interactions between the incoming Russians and the Manchurians and Chinese are well-written.I was a small surprised that the author didn't mention the Fridtjof Nansen book about the same region (although he's aware than Nansen was on the Yenisei) "Through Siberia, the Land of the Future". Not even in the bibliography.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    A bit of a false billing from what I had in mind, but still engaging. This included much more Russian history than I was anticipating. I was expecting a more detailed glimpse at the smaller or less-known people's of the Amur. The Tungusic family tree was only touched on while a lot of White Russian stories were expounded upon. In the beginning, Ziegler starts with the Mongols and the book is really engaging and interesting. However, as the book moves along he stays to focus more and more on Russian expansion and three plight of Siberian pioneers. I was hoping for more tribal and ethnic minority history along the Amur and revived almost none of that in the latest two-thirds of the book. It was still engaging and interesting though, and Ziegler narrates well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    I was glad I stuck with reading this book. As I got deeper into the book it opened up a whole fresh part of China and its importance I would have missed reading other books. What a varied history this part if China has had..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    The Amur River is is the 8th or 9th longest river in the world; it borders Mongolia,China, and Russia. This river presents an interesting vantage point to view the historic rise of Gengis Kahn, Russian and Chinese expansion in the far East; all centered around the Amur basin. If you are a history buff, don't miss this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    Well written from beginning to end. Weaving the story of human geography through the course of the river. Lots of info here. My favorite part was about the Sikhote-Alin mountains.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    Black Dragon River explores a fascinating chapter of history which is next to unknown to most of us, and which is far from finished. Russia still occupies land with resources that China needs rather urgently, including space, water and raw materials. Dominic Ziegler was very thorough in his research, but for my taste he included a bit much detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    This is an interesting read if you're wanting to obtain a feel of the far east.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    This book is a product of comprehensive scholarship covering multiple fields of research, yet it is a fascinating read. Having on hand a detailed atlas featuring the geography of the remote region covered- the shared border of far eastern Russia, northern China, and Mongolia- will be very helpful to the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    A amazing read, and I'm glad to have it electronically rather than another printed book taking up shelf space.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Dragon River: A Journey Down the Amur River Between Russia and China review []  2020-1-22 21:55

    This book is a really amazing read about a far distant part of the earth. If you wish to learn more about the Russian East, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AMC River Guide Maine (AMC River Guide Series) review []  2020-1-23 0:23

    This is the ultimate Maine River Guide. It is a amazing successor to the previous AMC River Guides. I always use AMC tutorials for hiking the white mountains and river runs in Fresh England. I'm just glad they're available. Now I need to obtain the Topographical Maps for my next family trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AMC River Guide Maine (AMC River Guide Series) review []  2020-1-23 0:23

    I liked the presentation of the material. The book was simple to use and very readable. My only criticism is the lack of amazing material for northern Maine. There's a lot of amazing waterways up here and I was sorry there wasn't more included in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    There was amazing and poor in this. I read all 4 to the end but I am just going to do a general overview...I was interested enough in the first one that I was hoping to follow up on Jack and Mel. While I search most of the characters interesting, I found a lot of glaring mistakes in legal procedure, medical procedure and so on. As far as the whole getting pregnant while nursing thing that was debunked so long ago as to be completely wonderful that a mid wife would trust that. The 17 and 14 yr old was completely sad and I guess the point was this, is what could happen. Just surprised the author didn't bring downs syndrome into it. As to the previous reviewer calling it sex among kids (or whatever she said) it was well established this girl was portraying herself far beyond her age...sad but it happens. Most people would be surprised at how early teenagers begin having sex. That being said a lot of the dialogue was amazing some of it was beautiful stale. The characters all interact with each other well, all support each other and so on. The issue with these books is the more they go on, the more complacent everything becomes until it devolves into a bunch of gruff marines who have left the service for one reason or another finding their HEA. Add in getting knocked up with said HEA person and you have a bunch of women focused on their kids and breastfeeding. As a matter of fact it strikes me that this is an anthology to having condoms handy, breast feeding and home births. We search out in the subsequent book why home births are not always a amazing idea. I went ahead and downloaded the next bc it is going to be a netflix series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    In my earlier years, we considered not good language a vice. I want I and my teenager mates had the below quote available to defend our language:It has been my experience that folks who have no vices have very few virtues - Abraham LincolnDemakis, Joseph. The Ultimate Book of Quotations (p. 137). Unknown. Kindle e Virgin River Collection consists of the first four books in a bestselling series by Robin Carr. I’ve only read the first volume, but will continue reading the other three. I also am likely to buy the remaining books in this though there is a small dependence on stereotyping in this fish-out-of-water series based on a female widowed-doctor from the huge town moving into a little rural California city in fictitious Virgin River, the writer does work to produce a series of novels that epitomize the drawbacks/and blessings one might experience when moving from Los Angeles to Northern I began reading Vol. 1, I recollected my own move from Southeast LA County to rural Oregon. The characters Carr draws feel and sound authentic and are drawn with a friendly paint brush.BLUSH FACTOR – BEWARE THE ROAD AHEADMy most latest book review was the terrific book, “The Excellent Couple,” by Elin Hilderbrand. There were no serious profanities in that mystery, and I was anticipating something quite related with the “Virgin River Collection.” Boy, was I wrong. You’re not likely to share this with young girls or your church prayer group. Having stated that warning, as a resident in rural Midwestern county, it is not that rare these days to hear even an elderly woman use the f-word. In other words, despite the language, a lot of people will, have, enjoyed this series. Take out the profanities and it’ll be a hit on Hallmark us, with no further rambling I will show a short excerpt from about 12 percent into the first volume.EXCERPT‘…Connie, she realized without much surprise, was more than a patient to her—she was a friend. And when you do this kind of work in this kind of place, your patients are almost always your friends. Must be hard to maintain objectivity. On the other hand, success was that much more gratifying. wasn’t like this in c finished his whiskey and got up. “Nicely done, Melinda. We’ll test to have a dull day tomorrow.”“Thank you, Doc.”After the doctor left, Jack said, “Sounds like maybe the two of you have started to bond or something.”“Or something,” she said, sipping.“How was that trip to Valley Hospital?”“Like Mr. Toad’s wild ride,” she said, making him laugh a little. She pushed her glass toward him and he gave her another splash of Crown.“You wish ice or water with that?” he asked her.“No, this is good. Very good, in fact.”She sipped her drink rather too quickly. She looked up at him, tilted her head to one side, then inclined it toward the glass.“You sure? Because I think maybe that’s enough. Your cheeks are flushed and I can tell, you’re not cold anymore.”“Just a tish.”A tish was what she got—a couple of swallows.“Thanks for taking me fishing,” she said. “Sorry you didn’t obtain in my pants again.”A huge surprised laugh escaped him. She was getting a small tiddly. “That’s okay, Melinda. Whenever you’re ready.”“Aha! I knew it!”“Like it’s been hard to tell.”“You’re so transparent.”She downed the rest of her drink. “I’d better obtain going. I’m completely shot.” She stood up and nearly fell down. She grabbed at the bar to right herself and Jack came around to her side. He place an arm around her waist. She looked up at him with watery eyes and said…’Carr, Robyn. Virgin River Collection Volume 1: Virgin River\Shelter Mountain\Whispering Rock\A Virgin River Christmas (A Virgin River Novel) (Kindle Areas 2418-2435). MIRA Books. Kindle TOM LINEFour stars out of five. I didn’t take any stars away for the stereotyping, because that could be said about most fiction.Did this review respond most of your questions and concerns? I encourage you to leave a comment below to support me provide reviews that work for you. Further, I am writing a book for aspiring reviewers and for product suppliers seeking reviews in an effort to support improve the process and to understand the value of Amazon’s Customer Review gether, you and I can build something great. Will you join me?One request: Be respectful and courteous in your comments and emails to me. I will do likewise with ank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Did not like this one. Story would have been ok, but she had to place blow by blow sex scenes over and over again. I always think this is a method for an author to fill up the pages. Sorry, I just didn't buy the story line.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    I've been aware of the Virgin River series for several years, and bought some VR novels for my TBR pile. The first three novels are amazing. I love how each novel builds on previous novels, and begins building the focus of the next and future books, so that the next novel is seamless with the previous novel.Each book is an emotional journey. Bravo Robyn Carr!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Wow. This set of 4 books was so exciting that I could hardly place my IPad down. I have found a fresh favorite author. She takes you so far in depth into the story that you feel like you know the zone and the people personally. I absolutely loved this series and this author. Can’t wait to read more from her. I just hope they are half as amazing as these 4 books were. You should definitely read the Virgin River collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Four novels starting the Virgin River series. With a deft touch she depicts powerful women facing difficulties finding their strength and overcoming catastrophic events. The men with whom they fall in love are faced with self reliant women and learn to live with the consequences. Well written and compassionate which created me cry and laugh at victories met by each couple. This series makes me wish to move to Virgin River.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Convenient method to obtain these older books for Kindle. I love this series from Robyn Carr and have the later ones on my Kindle but older ones were borrowed from the library paperback section years ago. Have enjoyed renewing my acquaintance with the people from Virgin River. If you like romance with strong, well developed characters and revisiting with previous characters through out the series this is a must read series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    The people seem true with regular issues and just working on getting through and helping each other. I especially like the powerful sense of community that Carr infuses her characters with. And while I love my fantasy stories I have fun the community tales of Carr or Mallory just as much. I certainly hope that offer the rest of the box sets on sale soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Robyn Carr knocks it out of the park with her Virgin River series! Characters that are larger than life, heart wrenching drama and the residents plenty of Virgin River will stay with you long after you finish this phenomenal series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Virgin River Collection Volume 1: An Anthology (A Virgin River Novel) review []  2019-12-27 18:41

    Thoroughly enjoyed this series; romance but also well written stories surrounding it with multiple characters continuing through the series. Have finished Volume 2 and have begun Volume 3 of the series as fresh people arrive in Virgin River.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Canoeing Michigan Rivers: A Comprehensive Guide to 45 Rivers, Revise and Updated review []  2019-12-29 18:44

    It would be nice if it were simple to scout out a river before driving to an access point and paddling it. This book does it for you. The directions to access points and locations to park are very detailed and good. The maps are perfect and very clear. There are written notes on the issues or unique circumstances you will encounter, which are very smart and accurate. I checked the rivers I have paddled and read the remarks, and they are just what you need to know, and they are true. The author really knows what he is writing about, this is not a book thrown together by someone who hasn't actually been on the river. If you wish to know which Michigan rivers are in this book, here is a list:Lower Peninsula:Au SableAu Sable South BranchBetsieBlackBoardmanCassChippewaDowagiacFlatHuronJordanKalamazooLittle ManisteeLittle MuskegonMansiteeMuskegonOcqueocPere MarquettePigeonPinePlatteRifleShiawasseeSturgeonThornappleThunder BayWhiteUpper Peninsula:BlackBruleEscanabaFordFoxIndianManisiqueMichigammeMontrealOntonagon (East Branch, Mainstream, Middle Branch, South Branch)PaintPresque IsleSturgeonTwo HeartedWhitefish

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Canoeing Michigan Rivers: A Comprehensive Guide to 45 Rivers, Revise and Updated review []  2019-12-29 18:44

    Perfect reference book. Descriptions for the rivers that I was familiar with, were very accurate. Nice dozens of rivers to choose from. Lists 26 rivers in the Lower Peninsula and 18 rivers for the Upper Peninsula. (Equals 44?) Use this tutorial along with a amazing Atlas and you should have to issue finding your areas. Has 4 various Appendixes in the back for...Scale of river difficulty, Rapid locations on each river system, Canoe liveries and contact sources for more in-depth info, if needed, such as local Ranger Stations, Local Chamber of Commerce, etc. Well worth the purchase price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Canoeing Michigan Rivers: A Comprehensive Guide to 45 Rivers, Revise and Updated review []  2019-12-29 18:44

    The info about the actual rivers was excellent, but the vehicle parking & river camping info needed for canoe trips was somewhat lacking. Jerry Dennis did respond my emails with amazing info in a very timely manner. Alot of the contact info in the book is wrong or outdated

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter