Read sigmund freud reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all sigmund freud reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Beautiful fresh to psychology, and I was afraid Freud would be very literary and technical, but I was pleasantly surprised. He is a very good, fluid writer and keeps it in-depth, but easy enough to grasp. The "Dreams" section is by far my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Amazing bonus - love the classy look of it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Exactly as expected

    0  


    Add your opinion on sigmund freud or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Purchased to read along with my college grandson who has it also for his honors class. Interesting and insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    It is what it says it is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    The book itself was interesting and everything I hoped. My only issue, while yes it was a fresh book, the cover was torn. Not the look I wish in my library but the book content is still interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Brilliant book ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    vg

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud []  2020-2-4 2:30

    Awesome book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: Three Essays on the Theory of ity []  2020-8-21 19:25

    One of the things I found most enjoyable about this was that it was a short read. We all have a lot going on and sometimes it's hard to dedicate a lot of time for one particular task. This was insightful and informative on a very interesting subject that sometimes is considered taboo. It was a amazing opportunity to get extra info and perspective on something and still allowing me to go about the everyday tasks of life without much disruption. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: Three Essays on the Theory of ity []  2020-8-21 19:25

    This article really place Freud's theories on ity in a language I can understand. Freud can be a bit inaccessible with his abstract terminology to explain his theories. The author did a amazing job at summarizing Freud and also critiquing his theories which a lot of feminists have had to do in order for psychoysis to be regarded w having any use for mental health improvement. I really appreciated how the author concludes that Freud connects everything to and distinguishes there are other avenues for pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: The Giants of Science Series, Book 3 []  2020-1-29 9:4

    Well-written for the youth audience. Includes all of the major highlights of Freud's career, also enough info about his private life to hold it interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: The Giants of Science Series, Book 3 []  2020-1-29 9:4

    Very interesting biography. Freud may have been wrong about a lot of things but he got us all thinking. the issue with psychiatry today is the over dependence on .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: The Giants of Science Series, Book 3 []  2020-1-29 9:4

    I am a Christian homeschooler of two young teens. I wanted to introduce Freud because he has been so necessary historically, but I am not interested in sorting through all his writings (or those about him) to weed out inappropriate content. When I happened on the book by Kathleen Krull I was very hopeful. I received my copy of Sigmund Freud this morning and finished it by the end of the day - it was that compelling. Krull does a standup job of presenting Freud as a human, both genious and flawed, without showing any perceptible slant. The book follows Freud from childhood through his fascinating life until death. Along the method the author ties in key historical happenings (such as Globe Battles I and II)people (Jung, Adler, Einstein, etc)and movements (anti-semitism, feminism) so that the reader can easily connect the historical dots. She treats the inflammatory subjects with delicate honesty and doesn't dwell long in any one area. I would say the book is a excellent fit for middle school through adult, a amazing springboard for discussions and creating critical thinkers. I highly recommend parents read first if you don't already know about Freud. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: The Giants of Science Series, Book 3 []  2020-1-29 9:4

    This is a amazing brief look into Sigmund Freud's private and professional life. It gives you an understanding of what kind of man he was ( all flaws included) and the major base block of psychology he place up with his theories for future doctors and scientists; especially psychoysis - the mother of today's therapy. He created some beautiful wacky de-tours in his scientific journey, and they are also shown here, described with subtle humor.Overall very good, well-rounded acc om which it is simple to build further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sigmund Freud: The Giants of Science Series, Book 3 []  2020-1-29 9:4

    Loved the history and explanation of how he became interested in mental health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    This is the first medical history book I have read and I (seriously) had difficulty putting it down. The story is fascinating about the cocaine addictions of both Freud and Halsted, the addictive properties being unknown at the time. Cocaine was regarded as a "miracle" discovery from S. America, reducing the need for sleep and hunger (as attested by the Incas working for the Spanish conquerors). By an awesome irony, cocaine was seen as an antidote for the all-too-prevalent morphine addictions in late 19th century N. America and W. Europe! I was amazed at the primitive state of medicine at the time, particularly the lack of surgical hygiene in the OR. Along the way, I learned a lot about medicine in general, medical history, addiction and cocaine in particular from this fascinating and very well-written book by the physician-author. The "miracle" is how both Freud and Halsted created the contributions they did in spite of their cocaine addictions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    While the author references literature on the subject, he omits discussion of the happening that helped to power opiate use and addiction to levels likely unimagined least one of Dr. Halsted's habits was aided and abetted by field medicine as practiced during the American Civil War: Laudanum and related opiate tails had an established history in the US, but it was wartime mass production and use that dramatically increased supply, access, and the Federal Army, opiates in powdered form were literally served out by the handful, mostly to treat dysentery and similar complaints, these being the most common diseases afflicting both officers and enlisted men. This is quite apart from very generous distribution (in heroic doses) to convalescing wounded, most of whom went on to e number of returning veterans, on both sides, if extrapolated into today's population, would exceed five million. When they got home, most would search a pharmacy, grocer, or peddler with all kinds of goodies for sale to satisfy the tastes (needs) they'd acquired while in the service. There is evidence that they acquainted their wives, families, and mates with the pleasures of blissful oblivion. And even in towns and villages where the Temperance Movement held sway, the morals police couldn't complain, because this was medicine, after is is not to maintain that all veterans became opiate-dependent, and we'll never have the data to establish how a lot of did. But based on the experience of more latest wars, it's reasonable to conjecture that the number was not insignificant. They provided an enthusiastic (desperate) fresh clientele for the emerging pharma can be argued that the Civil Battle was a watershed happening in the history of opiate addiction. And while in a narrow sense it doesn't relate to Dr. Halsted's bio and career, it's fair to consider it an necessary element in the context. Just one or two paragraphs acknowledging the role of battle veterans in the development of an opiate shop would have sufficed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    "An Anatomy of Addiction" by Howard Markel examines two popular doctors, Sigmund Freud and William Halsted and their addiction to cocaine. Freud, who invented psychoysis, the find for self-truth, became convinced that cocaine was a miracle with no side effects. Halsted, considered to be the father of modern surgery was probably the first cocaine addict to come to the attention of medical specialists in the United States. Peruvian Indians on the eastern slopes of the Andes have been chewing coca leaves for centuries. Their Inca ancestors used it in a lot of religious rituals and initiation rites. Chewing coca leaves was found to have the remarkable ability to suppress hunger, increase tolerance, and stretch the bounds of human endurance, but is no more harmful than several cups of coffee. It wasn't until around 1860 that the devil was unleashed by a German scientist who converted the leaves into the highly purified coca alkaloid. If there is such a thing as an addictive personality, Freud certainly had it. He became so enamored with cocaine and fascinated with its effects on the mind that he considered it a treatment for morphine addiction and depression among a lot of other ailments. Halsted was interested in the 's anesthetic qualities and how it could aid him in surgery, so began experimenting on himself by injecting the into his arm. Both men consumed amazing quantities of the and eventually encountered serious issues because they had done so. At the time, the late 1800's, addiction as a bona fide medical diagnosis was not in the medical vocabulary. Freud struggled with this demon for twelve years and Halsted, it is speculated, struggled with cocaine as well as morphine addiction until his death in 1922. "An Anatomy of Addiction" is a fascinating read. It is a study in the diabolical power of addiction and the role cocaine played in the budding careers of two world-changing geniuses. Engrossing and interesting from the first page to the last.David Allan ReevesAuthor of "Running Away From Me"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    While the author references literature on the subject, he omits discussion of the happening that helped to power opiate use and addiction to levels likely unimagined least one of Dr. Halsted's habits was aided and abetted by field medicine as practiced during the American Civil War: Laudanum and related opiate tails had an established history in the US, but it was wartime mass production and use that dramatically increased supply, access, and the Federal Army, opiates in powdered form were literally served out by the handful, mostly to treat dysentery and similar complaints, these being the most common diseases afflicting both officers and enlisted men. This is quite apart from very generous distribution (in heroic doses) to convalescing wounded, most of whom went on to e number of returning veterans, on both sides, if extrapolated into today's population, would exceed five million. When they got home, most would search a pharmacy, grocer, or peddler with all kinds of goodies for sale to satisfy the tastes (needs) they'd acquired while in the service. There is evidence that they acquainted their wives, families, and mates with the pleasures of blissful oblivion. And even in towns and villages where the Temperance Movement held sway, the morals police couldn't complain, because this was medicine, after is is not to maintain that all veterans became opiate-dependent, and we'll never have the data to establish how a lot of did. But based on the experience of more latest wars, it's reasonable to conjecture that the number was not insignificant. They provided an enthusiastic (desperate) fresh clientele for the emerging pharma can be argued that the Civil Battle was a watershed happening in the history of opiate addiction. And while in a narrow sense it doesn't relate to Dr. Halsted's bio and career, it's fair to consider it an necessary element in the context. Just one or two paragraphs acknowledging the role of battle veterans in the development of an opiate shop would have sufficed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    I attended medical school 50 year's ago. We were taught an eclectic sort of approach to psychiatry. People focus too much psychoytic theory in the evaluation of Freud's work. They fail to realize the he was a neurologist and he firmly believed that all mental illness ultimately had a physiological basis. In this little book, published in 1928, he proposes that because of the increased understanding of the physiological nature of mind and increased level of education of society the predominant religions of the West will decline. The consolation promised by religion according to Freud is an illusion used as means of social control by those in political power. From the behaviorist standpoint the promise of eternal bliss the ultimate "carrot" or reward. Although Freud was forced to leave Germany because he was Jewish, in fact he was more atheistic than any of the Nazi's or Communists. Is the show decline in religious practice, especially in Europe, evidence that the Future of An Illusion is actually in process?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Freud, in his time and place, holds science as the replacement for religion. And he is typical for a person of his time to keep an enlightenment optimism. What he has not predicted is the ennui that develops from a detached, technological existence. This is a amazing read to understand the thoughts and arguments of early psychology in relations to religion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    Amazing book, [email protected]#$%! was better quality paper back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    Very detailed acc of how both physicians dealt with their struggles with cocaine. While I was aware of Dr. Halsted's use from prior reading, including how that use sprung from his medical experimentation on the 's utility as an anesthetic, I did not know the full story regarding his relapses while at Johns Hopkins, nor his earlier career issues in Fresh York. In a related vein, I found that the info regarding Dr. Freud's experience with the provided a more complete picture of both his efforts to use cocaine therapeutically with his patients and the reality of his addiction to the . The author conveys the true impact this substance had on the private and professional lives of these doctors. While their substance abuse does not diminish their respective contributions to Medicine, it provides a cautionary tale about a person's illusory sense of control when you keep a tiger by the tail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    In finishing this book, which was hard to place down, sent me searching for other books by this author. It is one of the best presentations that I have read, complete with perfect notes, and close to 100 pertinent illustraions, The scholarship of this Medical Historian is extraordinary.While the focus is on two contemporay physcians, both trapped by the addictive powers of cocaine, Markel info enlightens us as to the ways of the era of modern medicine. Freud and Halsted (the premier surgeon-in-chief of the John Hopkins Hospital) belief that the super potentially capable of curing anything. It would bring them fame and fortune as a pharmaceutical. Sadly there private trials brought them a debilitating curse. The study info the pathological dispersion of addiction in a manner that is very easily understood by a layman. Through-out the book is written to be understood, and the story line will captivate you. To readers,as myself, the author Markel may be addictive!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    Very detailed acc of how both physicians dealt with their struggles with cocaine. While I was aware of Dr. Halsted's use from prior reading, including how that use sprung from his medical experimentation on the 's utility as an anesthetic, I did not know the full story regarding his relapses while at Johns Hopkins, nor his earlier career issues in Fresh York. In a related vein, I found that the info regarding Dr. Freud's experience with the provided a more complete picture of both his efforts to use cocaine therapeutically with his patients and the reality of his addiction to the . The author conveys the true impact this substance had on the private and professional lives of these doctors. While their substance abuse does not diminish their respective contributions to Medicine, it provides a cautionary tale about a person's illusory sense of control when you keep a tiger by the tail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    It's awesome how these flawed men created such a profound impact on the history of the world. This book illuminates so much I could have never known about either man from reading my textbooks. They epitomize greatness through their endurance of not good adversity, and their ability to overcome insurmountable odds. This is one of the few books about addiction that travels the life course, shows how they used it to change history, and how addiction ultimately consumed them. Wonderful read, and it taught me some fresh words I plan to use later (so someone else can go grab a dictionary or google it)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    I wasn't going to review this book, but there are too a lot of reviews that seem to miss what exactly The Future of an Illusion is about. To hold this short in the spirit of the book, the work is an attempt by Freud to present that religion is an illusion that has been outgrown by humanity over time. He concludes with the hope that civilization could place more stock in secular education, so that we may grow intellectually and reduce the errors in our eud's style of writing is a bit hostile at times, but mostly well-meant and simple to read. I spent a amazing portion of the book noting how Freud seems to relish the notion of bringing up and the need for fatherly love in seemingly unrelated topics. He takes a few logical leaps throughout the essay, but overall, he mostly proves his point, and if you wish a quick, narrow view of how the father of psycho-ysis viewed religion, you should check this book out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Freud compares a child's fear and dependence on his parents with a love/fear relationship with a God when he grows up and still finds uncertainty in the world. Freud manages to avoid discussing all the evil that religion has done through history with the exception of the popular Monkey Trial where a teacher was arrested for teaching evolution. Freud seems to suggest that as science becomes more powerful, that we will become God. But if Freud were alive today, he might see a suggestion of the demonic in mental illnesses such as Multiple Personality, the Psychopath and even in Compulsive Hoarding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    vg

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    A amazing book on the earlier advancements in the field which has solidified its self in the study till this day

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    This is an excellent, well-written book that tells the story of the cocaine addictions of Sigmund Freud and William Halsted. The author is both a medical doctor and professor of the History of Medicine, and his expertise in both fields clearly shows through in this delightful and informative book. The book provides mini-biographies of both men as well as a history of cocaine. The book is indeed an anatomy of the addiction of these two men, both to cocaine and to morphine, which they took to mitigate the effects of the cocaine. The book info the impact these had on their lives, and also discusses the topic of addiction in general, which I though gave necessary insights into this subject. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in a amazing biography, the history of medicine, or in a well-written non-fiction book.What is in the book (spoiler alert) -While Freud appears to have eventually overcome his addiction, whereas Halsted appears to never have been completely able to do so and needed everyday morphine injections to eliminate his cravings for cocaine. There is evidence that he periodically went on cocaine binges, requiring a lifetime of morphine addiction. Contrary to what is sometimes reported, cocaine did not improve either man’s abilities - much to the contrary, the brief sense of euphoria and improved concentration that they believed the gave them was more than outweighed by the crash and depression that followed high the gave them. Furthermore, the sense of improved concentration and insight that they initially believed the gave them proved also to be eud eventually gave up the after it almost led to the death of a patient, which could have ended, or at least stifled, his medical career. Halsted had to check himself into a mental hospital to rid himself of his cocaine addition, but he relapsed and had to do this several times, eventually settling on periodic cocaine binges and a lifetime of morphine addition. Halsted’s addiction shortchanged his patients, the students he was training and the medical profession in general and is an object lesson in the danger of addiction of any kind. It is unclear how much of Freud’s ideas were cocaine fueled, as much of his work was done after he stopped taking the , but it is clear that it was of no true benefit to his e only positive feature of cocaine was its use as a topical anesthetic, which revolutionized dentistry and eye surgery. Freud mentioned the use of cocaine as a local anesthetic in his treatise on cocaine, Uber Coca, but it was a colleague, Carl Koller who pioneered its use as an anesthetic for eye surgery, thereby gaining the acclaim that Freud regretted missing out on because he was focusing on the psychoactive aspects of the . Freud considered cocaine to be a wonder , only to become personally acquainted with the ultimately destructive and risky aspects of its use. Cocaine as an anesthetic has largely been replaced by synthetic such as Novocain and Lidocaine, which preserve the anesthetic qualities of cocaine, without its addictive and psychoactive affects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    I selected this book as research material for a paper on cocaine. The book arrived ahead of schedule, in excellent ard Markel presents a clean, unbiased history of two doctors, and their respective life-long affairs with the White Lady. Info was presented in a forthright, engaging manner, and the book was completed in a few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    I selected this book as research material for a paper on cocaine. The book arrived ahead of schedule, in excellent ard Markel presents a clean, unbiased history of two doctors, and their respective life-long affairs with the White Lady. Info was presented in a forthright, engaging manner, and the book was completed in a few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Here is what Freud argues: Religion is an illusion based in childish notions. It offers a comfort versus the brutal supremacy of nature. In the past it may have provided some benefit, and for some it may prove benefit still, but Freud is absolutely convinced that it is neurosis that does more hurt than good. As we are destined to outgrow childhood, so to the enlightened and reasonable mind must be destined to outgrow the childish comforts of religion. Better to give a secular education a try, and create confident in the rational basis of cultural law and civilization. End of argument. Freud has probably summarized some essential modern criticisms of religion, and tapped on a few valid nerves. But that religion is as detrimental as he suggests, or that belief in morality and reason as thin as supposed may be unwarranted assumptions. Whether one believes or not, I think these criticism are still necessary to confront and to evaluate for oneself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Throughout this book Freud responds to would-be criticism to his views and claims which i thought were all apt arguments versus the points Freud was trying to make. This was definitely one book that i was sad to see end. I felt that a lot more could have been said and that it was chop a bit short. While the ending quote, stated by another reviewer, seems to draw the most necessary pieces of this book together and ends it well, it was still disappointingly short. Hold in mind, Freud's opinions and conclusion that are illustrated throughout this book, and all his others are all products of his a lot of years as the father of e subject of this book seems to be very touchy, something you can't talk about with people, Freud basically states that you're not going to convince people otherwise when they strongly believe in something, as people often do religion. As an Atheist myself, i was more compelled to believe and be encouraged by these arguments and views on e approach Freud took towards this is not merely the result of religion on the single person, but on a civilization. Why religion comes about, and why it seems to be required by that civilization. This is a larger form of religious result than i had previously read about, which just created this book even more interesting to e most interesting point that was made, in my opinion, is Freud's argument for law over commandment or rule. As an Atheist, i always considered the most necessary role of a religion on a society (I'll use Christianity as my example) was to employ powerful unchangeable, yet easy and morally correct rules, or commandments. These made no 'wiggle' room for any believer, it was either do not kill, or go to hell and suffer eternal damnation. This added a long term incentive with, to the believer, powerful consequences. However, in the view of Sigmund Freud, it is actually better to have this as a law, rather than a commandment, because "the civilization will focus on bettering the law rather than abolishing it." I'm strongly inclined to change my view on this subject after reading this book. When given and unchangeable rule, such as a commandment, people will naturally appose it, and seek its destruction. While this is not always true, the basis for this argument makes sense. When you were young, and your parents created an irrefutable law that you are not to eat chocolate at seven in the evening, all you could think about is wanting to eat that chocolate, even though you knew it would hold you awake all night. If this was NOT an irrefutable law, but was just a rule that is somewhat changeable, something that has a middle ground, people will naturally seek to better this rule, rather than obtain rid of it completely. I'm certain there are arguments versus this train of thought, as there is always an opposing force. This book has introduced several opinions that differ even my own. Most of which is search extremely fascinating as they are yet another method of looking at things.Overall, this is a very well written book. As all Freud's book, it takes a bit of thought while reading it, and it's not recommended for light reading. Though if you're a believer of any religion with a relatively begin mind, read this book, think about it, then move per my golden principle when it comes to any religion that worships or believes in a god or gods. A deity is merely a concept, though it is a unique kind if concept, it's one that cannot be proven, not can it be labeled impossible. It is something we'll never know the truth about, and i proudly recognize that fact.If anyone actually took the time to read this review, I thank you for your time and patience, and have fun the book!5/5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    Purchased by mistake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    If you are trying to create sense of your own psych then you are looking at the right book. In this book Freud yzes the relationship between Ego and Id. Very informative and very useful. Must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    Freud is not difficult and he is very important to anyone who intends to be conscious of herself. Even a bit conscious!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    This is an excellent, well-written book that tells the story of the cocaine addictions of Sigmund Freud and William Halsted. The author is both a medical doctor and professor of the History of Medicine, and his expertise in both fields clearly shows through in this delightful and informative book. The book provides mini-biographies of both men as well as a history of cocaine. The book is indeed an anatomy of the addiction of these two men, both to cocaine and to morphine, which they took to mitigate the effects of the cocaine. The book info the impact these had on their lives, and also discusses the topic of addiction in general, which I though gave necessary insights into this subject. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in a amazing biography, the history of medicine, or in a well-written non-fiction book.What is in the book (spoiler alert) -While Freud appears to have eventually overcome his addiction, whereas Halsted appears to never have been completely able to do so and needed everyday morphine injections to eliminate his cravings for cocaine. There is evidence that he periodically went on cocaine binges, requiring a lifetime of morphine addiction. Contrary to what is sometimes reported, cocaine did not improve either man’s abilities - much to the contrary, the brief sense of euphoria and improved concentration that they believed the gave them was more than outweighed by the crash and depression that followed high the gave them. Furthermore, the sense of improved concentration and insight that they initially believed the gave them proved also to be eud eventually gave up the after it almost led to the death of a patient, which could have ended, or at least stifled, his medical career. Halsted had to check himself into a mental hospital to rid himself of his cocaine addition, but he relapsed and had to do this several times, eventually settling on periodic cocaine binges and a lifetime of morphine addition. Halsted’s addiction shortchanged his patients, the students he was training and the medical profession in general and is an object lesson in the danger of addiction of any kind. It is unclear how much of Freud’s ideas were cocaine fueled, as much of his work was done after he stopped taking the , but it is clear that it was of no true benefit to his e only positive feature of cocaine was its use as a topical anesthetic, which revolutionized dentistry and eye surgery. Freud mentioned the use of cocaine as a local anesthetic in his treatise on cocaine, Uber Coca, but it was a colleague, Carl Koller who pioneered its use as an anesthetic for eye surgery, thereby gaining the acclaim that Freud regretted missing out on because he was focusing on the psychoactive aspects of the . Freud considered cocaine to be a wonder , only to become personally acquainted with the ultimately destructive and risky aspects of its use. Cocaine as an anesthetic has largely been replaced by synthetic such as Novocain and Lidocaine, which preserve the anesthetic qualities of cocaine, without its addictive and psychoactive affects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    This is the first medical history book I have read and I (seriously) had difficulty putting it down. The story is fascinating about the cocaine addictions of both Freud and Halsted, the addictive properties being unknown at the time. Cocaine was regarded as a "miracle" discovery from S. America, reducing the need for sleep and hunger (as attested by the Incas working for the Spanish conquerors). By an awesome irony, cocaine was seen as an antidote for the all-too-prevalent morphine addictions in late 19th century N. America and W. Europe! I was amazed at the primitive state of medicine at the time, particularly the lack of surgical hygiene in the OR. Along the way, I learned a lot about medicine in general, medical history, addiction and cocaine in particular from this fascinating and very well-written book by the physician-author. The "miracle" is how both Freud and Halsted created the contributions they did in spite of their cocaine addictions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    I found this book by accident. I have just completed a semester of teaching an online college course where I encountered a special student. The student had fallen behind on his work and wrote me an email explaining his not good performance was due to the fact he had been taking , however, he had recently quit. He scored a 98 percent on his final while the best student in the class scored a 92 percent. I had a feeling this individual was borderline genius. I googled something to the effect: “relationship of to genius”. A MD’s blog came up talking about this topic and he referenced this books. So I ordered it.Everyone knows something about Sigmund Freud, MD and perhaps a lot of know about William Halsted, MD. I think I only knew vaguely that Freud had taken . This is an interesting and fast read. The author does an perfect presentation of historical research to crawl into the minds of medical icons Sigmund Freud and William Halsted to figure out how they got hooked, and to dissect cause and effect. Did the aid and abet genius or did genius lead to the , or is all just happenstance? Beats me, but it is interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    I found this book by accident. I have just completed a semester of teaching an online college course where I encountered a special student. The student had fallen behind on his work and wrote me an email explaining his not good performance was due to the fact he had been taking , however, he had recently quit. He scored a 98 percent on his final while the best student in the class scored a 92 percent. I had a feeling this individual was borderline genius. I googled something to the effect: “relationship of to genius”. A MD’s blog came up talking about this topic and he referenced this books. So I ordered it.Everyone knows something about Sigmund Freud, MD and perhaps a lot of know about William Halsted, MD. I think I only knew vaguely that Freud had taken . This is an interesting and fast read. The author does an perfect presentation of historical research to crawl into the minds of medical icons Sigmund Freud and William Halsted to figure out how they got hooked, and to dissect cause and effect. Did the aid and abet genius or did genius lead to the , or is all just happenstance? Beats me, but it is interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Bottom Line First: Sigmund Freud’s The Future of an Illusion is a monograph that proposes a psychological origin of all religion and while expressing his preference that religion, at least in Europe should fade away. Freud admits that the alternative may be small other than an earth bound doctrine. Ultimately he is not certain that this change can happen only that he would prefer it. This is a relatively simple read. Freud rarely employs academic language or sophisticated logic. The effect is progression of ideas driven by logic and built around a nearly Socratic dialogue between himself and a doubting other self. Unlike Socrates, Freud does not hobble the doubting speaker by limiting doubt to weak defensive arguments. The effect is a re balanced discussion of a subject that could have been hyperbolic or designed to humiliate religious believers. The Future of an Illusion is recommended. Freud treats his reader with respect. He is advocating an end to religion but not in such a method as to deny the honorable role of religion or to question the intellect of the e Future of an Illusion is one of several extended essays by Freud outside of his medical and psychological studies. It is not his only work to address the role and root causes for religious belief. He embraces the social utility of religion as a major factor above nation and therefore above question in its authority over certain socially important values.Of we accept a purely logic driven basis for religion and play down any human need for magic or additional logical stories and authorities, It is possible to project a time when people stop needing or desiring religion. However I think Freud steps too quickly from the individual, psychologically driven purpose for religion into it as role in smoothing social conformity. Freud concludes that religion is seized upon by an immature person to give a more identifiably human identity to the indifferent blank stare and harsh hand of nature and fate. The more god are like humans the more likely the human can seek exception to the random violence of far so good. But as much as the religious like to evoke their ‘fear’ of god just as a lot of extoled the majesty and beauty of a magic that lights the life of the believer.Ultimately in a choice between logic and magic. It seems unrealistic to believe that the one will ever remove the other as operating force among humans. Freud recognizes that a lot of become religious before they are old enough to question it. He does not seem to grasp that humans are varied and that a individual preference for logic over religion implies that there will always be others with a preference for religion over logic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    If you’re at all interested and what makes a human tech I would suggest reading any of Freud’s books. This one in particular will give you an idea of how we has a population of people can be so confused about what is going on around us. Friday is actually simple to read even though he was talking to his peers I search that probably anybody could read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    Could not [email protected]#$%!. Incredibly boring

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    More people should read OG Freud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    Freud was an effing genius, I have no comments really, gobsmacked, in amazement. How is it possible for one person to realise so much? It was a privilege to have read the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle Cocaine []  2020-2-6 21:59

    This book was well written and well researched. It's especially accurate in its use of terminology and explanation ofcocaine addiction such that a layperson can understand the science behind this insidious addiction. Also the involvementof the marketing and manufacturing of this as a "wonder" gives amazing insight into the power of pharmaceutical companies we still have today. It is surprising that the legal business end of proliferation has not really changed in over 100 is even more surprising that Freud and Halsted were contemporaries but never met, and both had cocaine addictions thatwere handled in various ways. It is real they lived on various continents but Halsted did visit Freud's homeland of could wonder what they might have said to each other had they e quality of the copy I received was perfect and indistiguishable from brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Publication date: 1927"... If you want to expel religion from our European civilization you can only do it through another system of doctrines, and from the outset this would take over all the psychological characteristics of religion, the same sanctity, rigidity and intolerance, the same prohibition of thought in self-defence."(This is not Freud speaking, but his "imagined antagonist." Still, I admire the equanimity with which Freud states objections to his thesis. This too, is more than we obtain from other militant atheists:)... There is another point in which I wholeheartedly agree with you. It is, to be sure, a senseless proceeding to test and do away with religion by force and at one blow—more especially as it is a hopeless one. The believer will not allow his faith be taken from him, neither by arguments nor by prohibitions. And even if it did succeed with some, it would be a cruel thing to do. A man who has for decades taken a sleeping draught is naturally unable to sleep if he is deprived of it. That the result of the consolations of religion may be compared to that of a narcotic is prettily illustrated by what is event in America. There they are now trying—plainly under the influence of petticoat government—to deprive men of all stimulants, intoxicants and luxuries, and to satiate them with piety by method of compensation. This is another experiment about the effect of which we need not be curious.I admire the brevity, and dare I say, the grandeur of this book, written by Freud when he was seventy. His theory of society is positively Hobbesian:"... Insecurity of life, an equal danger for all, now unites men into one society, which forbids the individual to slay and reserves to itself the right to slay in the name of society the man who violates this prohibition. This, then, is justice and punishment."Worth reading, and re-reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future of an Illusion (The Standard Edition) (Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-6-10 20:31

    The central claim of THE FUTURE OF AN ILLUSION is no longer shocking. It may be in vigorous dispute, but it is not eud argues here that religion, particularly of the patriarchal sort, stems from a neurotic or childlike need for security and protection, in contrast to the known facts of its origins. If our primitive ancestors were ignorant of so a lot of fundamental facts about the world, we can hardly expect them to have solved the supreme riddles of the universe. Throw in our need to believe what pleases and comforts us, and religion thing fresh here.But the book contains an eye-opener that is likely to escape our notice. A lifetime admirer of Freudian thought, I have carried with me the stereotype of Freud as a revolutionary, a mate of the oppressed. Here was a man who sided with the victims of society's oppression, forcing the individual to hide his natural instincts, even from himself. As the Clara Barton of the soul, Freud lifted those oppressions to create the sufferer t the first place, his view of his patients was uncharitable in the extreme: "every individual is virtually an opponent of culture, which is nevertheless ostensibly an object of universal human concern." (Kindle Areas 83-84). His response to this presumption is equally crass: "every culture must be built up on coercion and instinctual renunciation;" (Kindle Areas 98-99). So we see where the sympathies of the healer actually lie, not with nature but with culture; not with the oppressed, but with the oppressor. If Freud relieved the "instinctual renunciations," he must have done so only with amazing is duly noted, however, that he need not have structured this antagonism (individual vs. culture) into his globe view in the first ain, contrary to his revolutionary image, Freud sided with the ruling class versus the working class. Insisting on the necessity of "compulsory labor," (Kindle Areas 108-109) he doesn't much care who compels whom: "It is just as impossible to do without government of the masses by a minority as it is to dispense with coercion in the work of civilization, for the masses are lazy and unintelligent." (I gather that the masses would be composed of sluggards like me.)The fresh millennium seems to be heralding an age of disillusionment. Religion is perishing. The Dalai Lama and Mother Teresa are fair game. Freud's credentials as a scientist were rescinded latest century. I'm not surprised to search myself impugning his motives as by Jeremiah Cox, author of REDESIGNING GOD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    "An Anatomy of Addiction" by Howard Markel examines two popular doctors, Sigmund Freud and William Halsted and their addiction to cocaine. Freud, who invented psychoysis, the find for self-truth, became convinced that cocaine was a miracle with no side effects. Halsted, considered to be the father of modern surgery was probably the first cocaine addict to come to the attention of medical specialists in the United States. Peruvian Indians on the eastern slopes of the Andes have been chewing coca leaves for centuries. Their Inca ancestors used it in a lot of religious rituals and initiation rites. Chewing coca leaves was found to have the remarkable ability to suppress hunger, increase tolerance, and stretch the bounds of human endurance, but is no more harmful than several cups of coffee. It wasn't until around 1860 that the devil was unleashed by a German scientist who converted the leaves into the highly purified coca alkaloid. If there is such a thing as an addictive personality, Freud certainly had it. He became so enamored with cocaine and fascinated with its effects on the mind that he considered it a treatment for morphine addiction and depression among a lot of other ailments. Halsted was interested in the 's anesthetic qualities and how it could aid him in surgery, so began experimenting on himself by injecting the into his arm. Both men consumed amazing quantities of the and eventually encountered serious issues because they had done so. At the time, the late 1800's, addiction as a bona fide medical diagnosis was not in the medical vocabulary. Freud struggled with this demon for twelve years and Halsted, it is speculated, struggled with cocaine as well as morphine addiction until his death in 1922. "An Anatomy of Addiction" is a fascinating read. It is a study in the diabolical power of addiction and the role cocaine played in the budding careers of two world-changing geniuses. Engrossing and interesting from the first page to the last.David Allan ReevesAuthor of "Running Away From Me"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    In finishing this book, which was hard to place down, sent me searching for other books by this author. It is one of the best presentations that I have read, complete with perfect notes, and close to 100 pertinent illustraions, The scholarship of this Medical Historian is extraordinary.While the focus is on two contemporay physcians, both trapped by the addictive powers of cocaine, Markel info enlightens us as to the ways of the era of modern medicine. Freud and Halsted (the premier surgeon-in-chief of the John Hopkins Hospital) belief that the super potentially capable of curing anything. It would bring them fame and fortune as a pharmaceutical. Sadly there private trials brought them a debilitating curse. The study info the pathological dispersion of addiction in a manner that is very easily understood by a layman. Through-out the book is written to be understood, and the story line will captivate you. To readers,as myself, the author Markel may be addictive!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    This book was well written and well researched. It's especially accurate in its use of terminology and explanation ofcocaine addiction such that a layperson can understand the science behind this insidious addiction. Also the involvementof the marketing and manufacturing of this as a "wonder" gives amazing insight into the power of pharmaceutical companies we still have today. It is surprising that the legal business end of proliferation has not really changed in over 100 is even more surprising that Freud and Halsted were contemporaries but never met, and both had cocaine addictions thatwere handled in various ways. It is real they lived on various continents but Halsted did visit Freud's homeland of could wonder what they might have said to each other had they e quality of the copy I received was perfect and indistiguishable from brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Anatomy of Addiction: Sigmund Freud, William Halsted, and the Miracle , Cocaine []  2020-2-1 17:28

    It's awesome how these flawed men created such a profound impact on the history of the world. This book illuminates so much I could have never known about either man from reading my textbooks. They epitomize greatness through their endurance of not good adversity, and their ability to overcome insurmountable odds. This is one of the few books about addiction that travels the life course, shows how they used it to change history, and how addiction ultimately consumed them. Wonderful read, and it taught me some fresh words I plan to use later (so someone else can go grab a dictionary or google it)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ego and the Id (The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud) []  2020-12-5 20:38

    His thoughts and philosophies regarding the ego

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    As a lot of people have noted, the history and story of these two men's lives is neatly and elegantly unpacked. Dr. Armand does a amazing job organizing the views of these men into categories that can be easily followed. I would recommend this book strictly on this ever, for those who are looking for an academic and objective view on these questions do not pick this book up. There were a lot of times when I winced at the blatant mockery of Freud, and how the not good life he lived reflected the not good life of those who follow in his footsteps. I knew something was up a few chapters into this book and I almost place it down, but I cannot support but continue because I love hearing about their lives. Their ideas may be old, faulty, and partly mythic, but I have fun learning from the greats. (Christians love it, Athiest don't believe it, Academics are trying not to pull their fingernails out, and for the rest - they realize that it is all attractive and that the spirit of the universe is a bit crazy(just like us)). Please comment and allow me know what you think...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    Dr. Nicholi has obviously been teaching the particulars of these two for a long while. For me, they represent the ying and yang of my life: Freud was my fascination as a young grad student deciding what I really believed. His nihilism was always a small unsettling, but being unsettled is often the norm in the college years. But in adult life, I have found the humility, humor, genius insight, peace, joy and truth in the writing and philosophy of C.S. Lewis to be without peer. In the book Nicholi offers the reader two options; I'm not sure there are more, unlike an articulate lady posited in another e reality is a life founded in materialism can be enjoyed by some; they identify a god to worship and spend their lives doing so dependably and with amazing passion. The material they worship is not the items they collect or the regimen they follow; the material of worship to the materialist is the photo seen reflected in the mirror. The underlying void of true spiritual fulfillment is combatted on the internal, totally private level, mostly not begin for outside observation. There is small difference between the apparently Karma-comforted non-theistic Buddhist and the totally self-absorbed millionaire sports fisherman with his multi-million dollar fishing boat, $5,000 tankfuls of fuel, the boat bunny he brings to the remote fishing island while the wife thinks he's with the boys, the drunken stupor he finds himself awaking from without planning it. Both ends of the Freud spectrum are fighting desperately to search peace on their own terms. While the more sober and introspective Buddhist may place on the better present from a mental health perspective, both are running on a treadmill that will eventually throw them off into oblivion. This book underscored my belief that those not on the Lewis end of the spectrum are clearly trapped in the Freud end; it is only the private hero traits of the individual where the overt, observable behavior is different. Inside it is always some kind of chase; the chase of self-love that never brings satisfaction.Lewis' philosophy is at the other end of the spectrum. Lewis' worldview is typified by peace, rest, security and tranquility. Outside appearances will almost always reveal an interior decor of serenity and confidence. This state of private assuarance is a effect of a chase surrendered. The work of a heart hardening versus a higher power is given up to face whatever dire melody must be faced, only to explore the surrender is actaully release from prison, slavery and the chase. The joy of liberation is such a profound paradox from the anticipated chains of legalism expected by the regenerated chaser that it's impossible to articulate adequately. But Lewis can obtain close to it and Nicholi exposits it clearly and with is book is a brilliant reminder of the choices life offers and the two fascinating personalities of the 20th century who personified the options... there are only so many, maybe only these two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    In this book Dr. Armand has come as close to presenting both the Christian and materialist worldview without prejudice as is possible to ough a Christian, Dr. Armand presents the more strong arguments of Freud's atheism without condescension and like Lewis himself does not dismiss all of Freud because of a worldview conflict.I highly recommend this work! When I say it will try your worldview I mean that if your atheism or Christianity is defensible you will search here a fair presentation of the opposite view that will broaden your knowledge of human behavior while not disturbing your quiescence. But if you are not prepared to defend your view, you may search yourself changed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    I had to read this book for a culture and theater masters class. Highly recommended. I also recommend the play that was based off of this book Freud‘s latest session. You embark into the life of Freud his history his perspective and also into CS Lewis who is half his age and you are able to draw parallels and distinct differences between the two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    Harvard professor, Dr. Armand Nicholi has written about the various and contrasting worldviews of C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud, which is or was the topic of a class he taught at Harvard for decades and also had "stand in line" sign ups for the limited available places. A PBS Series of the same name, was also produced and is available on-line. For those who want to consider Christian theism vis a vis a secular life perspective, these two giants, one a prolific English professor at Oxford and Cambridge and the other an original and controversial Austrian psychiatrist and academic, this book is will worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    Dr. Armand N. Nicholi, Jr., succinctly exposes the ambivalent worldviews--heart, mind, and soul--of C.S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud. Each characterize the opposing spectrum of beliefs which cascade humanity's existence--unbelief, as represented by the materialist worldview, and belief, as represented by the spiritual. Dr. Nicholi brings awareness to the development of humanity and the choice of will to follow determined paths of existence and belief. He accomplishes this task by carefully examining Lewis and Freud as model spokesmen of their much as the book is a detailed examination of their individual beliefs, Dr. Nicholi alerts the reader to how each man developed into their highly oppositional paradigms though sharing profound similarities of wounded living and development throughout their lives. The doctor entertains the prospects of dialogue if Lewis and Freud would have meet and compared/contrasted the significant existential themes of living--God, Love, , Death, etc. This is probably one of the most profound books I have had the opportunity to read and reflect upon throughout my college and seminary journey. Each man experienced the themes which all humanity encounters to some degree of depth throughout life. We are born, experience life, and die. We all have the same destiny in this regard, but it is the perplexing vision of how each human responds to these experiences--often times in opposition--while sharing significant similarities. This was the case with Lewis and Freud, and so it is with the rest of us. I am often stupefied at my put in this globe (thanks Michael W. Smith...it was significant in my life back in the 80s). Regardless of my wounded past, I here stand before the throne with confidence enduring this broken existence by a hope which is transcendent and holy, not temporal and finite. I envision that I could have as easily ended up on the otherside of the tracks, but for whatever reason, I did not (though I envision this reason was divinely orchestrated). This unraveling of Lewis and Freud's life impressed a greater desire to delve into the depths of our made existence through the eyes of the divine while continuing to experience life as a wounded and fallen creature--yet grace filled--moving towards our glorified destiny. The desire to experience life with expectant hope is more satisfying than a life lived through anxiety and fear. My heart celebrates with the longings of Lewis but is pained in the gloom of Freud. As much as we must take a side, it may be that we too often live in both of their realities. This book definitively tore my mind away from the abstract of Lewis' depth of theology and Freud's breadth of philosophy and theory. Regardless of occupation, pastor or counselor, both Lewis and Freud have created a lasting impression upon the globe and we would be wise to cautiously approach and appreciate the profundity of their work. This book is a success and would be a amazing put to start existential exploration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    I am very delighted with this book. I have read all of C.S. Lewis's apologetic works and so I am very familiar with the sources that are referenced in the book concerning his viewpoint. I was less familiar with Freud but after reading this work, I certainly have a clearer understanding of his primary psychological theories. What I appreciate most about the book is how the author interjects the thoughts and feelings expressed by those who were his students at Harvard concerning the viewpoints expressed by each of these men and whether or not these theories held real in the students own life experiences. A fascinating book. One which I would reccommend to anyone especially those who express confusion concerning lifes most necessary question.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    Our generation has had it drummed into them that if you wish to be smart, enlightened and accepted by academia, you have to be an atheist. As a result, a lot of in our globe obediently follow the crowd and like lemmings, worship at the altar of atheism. No one can prove that God does or does not exist. Both theories are accepted by faith. This Harvard professor compares the life and work of a thoughtful, articulate, educated Christian and a thoughtful, articulate, educated atheist and leaves the decision to you. Very compelling. Very convicting. Atheists, read it if you dare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    I was amazed at the clarity of the similarities and differences between the two thinkers. Though at times Freud's views tended to be somewhat foggy. In my opinion Freud's lifelong tragic unhappiness created him rigid and unyielding thereby closing his mind. Lewis's surrender and ultimate acceptance opened his mind to infinite possibilities. After his transition he became a prototype of what a real believer looks and acts like. Mankind would do well to take lessons from him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Question of God: C. S. Lewis and Sigmund Freud Debate God, Love, , and the Meaning of Life []  2020-1-18 20:43

    This book relates to my own private journey of trying to respond life's toughest questions: Why am I here? What is my purpose? Nicholi does a amazing job summarizing Lewis' and Freud's lives in such a short book. I was really impressed with Lewis' life, especially his conversion. I think his life as an atheist is quite reflective of others. Life can be harsh, and can quickly cause you to give up faith in God at it's most painful moments. When Lewis place his emotions aside, and looked at the evidence neutrally, God was able to work through Lewis, ultimately leading to his conversion. After his conversion Lewis' life blossomed, and relieved him of this depression, pessimism, and negative outlook on life. He evolved into a more extroverted individual, and developed a lot of amazing friendships, which were the highlight of his eud, on the other hand, as well all know, was very adamant about his atheism. Nicholi definitely shows that Freud had some doubts if his atheism was the correct worldview, due to its inadequacies of answering certain questions about life. After reading about Freud's life, a lot of his beliefs about God were fueled off emotion, not reason. He seemed to live a difficult life, through his relationship with his father, anti-Semitism, and the passing away of his daughter/grandson. The thing that stood out to me the most about Freud was his life. If you never looked into his life, you may have thought his behaviors were related to Kinsey's. Nothing could be farther from the truth; he was actually very conservative, even more than Lewis is is a book I will definitely read again, I could not have been more happy purchasing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    The book itself was interesting and everything I hoped. My only issue, while yes it was a fresh book, the cover was torn. Not the look I wish in my library but the book content is still interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Awesome book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Purchased to read along with my college grandson who has it also for his honors class. Interesting and insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Beautiful fresh to psychology, and I was afraid Freud would be very literary and technical, but I was pleasantly surprised. He is a very good, fluid writer and keeps it in-depth, but easy enough to grasp. The "Dreams" section is by far my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    vg

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Amazing bonus - love the classy look of it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    It is what it says it is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Brilliant book ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Basic Writings of Sigmund Freud (Psychopathology of Everyday Life, the Interpretation of Dreams, and Three Contributions To the Theory of ) []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Exactly as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    Well, this is a nice and large book and also a corner stone for everyone who know the master's work but; an editor's decision has created some damages to the whole work. the decision of using the double spread pages, instead of fold-in pages of course was cheaper but, it can be seen in a lot of of this pages, several (and in some cases severe)diferences of colors and lines from one to another page. The hugeness of the book also create dificult to follow the painting as a whole. In my opinion, this detail makes the book plates, hard to read and it seem to me that it's the first objet to be appreciate in an art book. On the other hand,the inclusion of a lot of etchings and several unfinished works, revealing some info of the painting process of the master; give to this book something authoritative and almost complete about Freud's work, with lucid interviews and fragments of conversations between the authors and the painter that give insights into the creative and private life and cirtances on the master's creative process. Amazing book in my opinion, but...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    The most impressive thing on Freud's art is definitely the amazing technique he developed. I like, that this book shows you his first works (by the time he had 16-18 years old) where you obtain to see his improvement over time. The slipcase is nice. There are few close ups with some info and brushwork is book and the Odd Nerdrum's one for me are the best buys I've created on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    This is a attractive and authoritative book. Update: Allow me amend this a bit...this book is largely a catalog, there's not a whole lot of text. Which is amazing - the pictures are huge and well reproduced. It would be nice if the media and dimensions of each picture were printed on the same page as the picture, rather than in an appendix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    This is a very nice reprint in a slipcase version. Its artwork chronicles up throgh 2006. I have the old Random House slip case book from 1996 with an intro by Bernard. The reproductions up through '96 are almost all the same. The Random House versions photos are about 20 percent bigger. This fresh book has three nice interviews with Freud. This ver has about 75 paintings beyond the 1996 version. Not enough for me to hold the book, but If you are looking for the best catalog of his work, this is it. Obtain it now, it will go out of print and a book shark will be satisfied to sell it to you at 5 times its current price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    The book opens with an essay by William Feaver; private and enlightening it makes fascinating reading; the writer has clearly known the artist for some time. Feaver conveys a clear picture of the artist, his background and training, and his approach to his work. Also included are four conversations between Fever and Lucian Freud: November 1992 (appeared The Observer December 1992), April 1998 (The Observer May 1998), November 2001 (on John Constable) and February 2007. The book concludes with a List of Illustrations, fairly brief Chronology and a is book is illustrated throughout in full-colour including the black and white drawings but not the etchings, which alone are reproduced in black and white half-tone. There are 362 illustrations in the Plates section with a lot of more pictures accompanying the is huge format book comes in a very substantial slip-case. The outstanding feature of the book however is the reproduction of the paintings; mostly full-page in size, with a lot of bleed photos and several double-page spreads. The work is arranged chronologically with the earliest dating from 1939 up to 2006; almost entirely portraits, figures or groups, there is the occasional still life and a few scenes. An impressive and attractive book superbly illustrated, it is to be highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    He's a master a painting the human form- capturing the skin tone and shading of the light and emotion and expressions of the face and body language. Mesmerizing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    I have a lot of books on Lucian Freud's art but this is by far the best. He is my favorite artist so I tend to buy all I can search but this book is excetional. There are so a lot of pieces I have not seen in other books. It's a large massive book that comes in a attractive box cover. I was so surprised to see the quality of the book, especially for the money. Very amazing value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    A amazing look at a amazing painter. Perfect reproductions are plentiful and the color is accurate and rich.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    Among the a lot of publications available on the British master, this one is undoubtedly the best. Written by a spet of Freud's art, it is almost a catalogue raisonné and follows a chronological pattern that starts with the early paintings from the 1940's and ends with the recent works from 2007. Especially interesting are the different interviews of the artist that give invaluable insight on his working methods and how he views his own art. All the illustrations are in full color and enable the reader to distinguish the thick and brutal brushstrokes of the painter and his ability to extract the beauty in the ugliness of the human being.A tour de force of an artbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud []  2020-2-1 0:28

    Perfect book that is well place together with a multitude of unbelievable images.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    I really wanted to like this book but sadly the reproductions of Freud's works lack sharpness and the colors are dull and lifeless. I expected clearer reproductions especially in this age of digital photography -- unfortunately, that did not happen in this book. It appears they used old images of Freud's works from the archives. There are clearer, high-resolution photos of Freud's works that are available online that are infinitely better than a lot of of the works featured here. The book's dust jacket perhaps has the clearest photo of the artist's work, then goes downhill from there as soon as you begin the book. And even with the book's generous size (12" x 9.5") the publisher somehow still managed to print a lot of of Freud's works smaller than important (refer to the images I posted) with too much white space. And where there are full-page reproductions, the page right next to it is often BLANK (again, refer to images I posted) -- I counted at least a dozen blank pages in the middle of the book -- so it's not really a 256-page book on Lucian Freud you are getting. And to top it off, one has to hold turning to the end of the book (list of plates) just to obtain primary information about each of the works (e.g., artwork dimensions, medium, etc.) -- further inconveniencing the reader. Why not just provide this primary information about the artwork right beneath it, especially since there is already so much white zone provided for in the layout? Avoid this book if you can. Yale University Press gets a D.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    This volume beautifully reproduces a lot of of Freud's necessary portraits and the essays are intelligently written. The progression of Freud's work is clearly apparent and anyone interested in the late Mr. Freud will definitely appreciate this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    As usual a book published by Yale with high quality reproductions and insightful essays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freud for Beginners []  2021-1-10 21:8

    Amazing book for anyone wanting a easy breakdown of a very complex man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    The title of the book perfectly reflects the essence of the arts by Lucian Freud, the ardent portraitist of the Life - people, being it just a human head or a complete portrait of a naturally appearing naked human, as well as animals, or even plants. And the book never disappointed -from two introductions by John Richardson and by Sarah Howgate, to meeting and talking to Lucian as still alive artist while accompanying Michael Auping, to all reproductions of paintings, drawings and etchings, including the simultaneously tragic and admiring latest unfinished masterpiece, to perfect collections of the photographs, including ‘Working at Night’ by David Dawson bringing a reader unnoticed to the amazing artist’s studio.I knew that I had to point some flaws in the book, but I was so enchanted with reading that didn’t message any points for criticism, sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    Contemplative and dazzling. One can stare at any one of these portraits and forget time passing. Freud captures not only the likeness of his model, but also essence and personality. Bold splashy strokes and flamboyant color to make perfection...pure genius.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freud for Beginners []  2021-1-10 21:8

    A nice, short overview of Freud for beginners and those who search Freud's theories and life of interest..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    Theresa MacKnightI hold larger art books in my studio as inspiration and sometimes just colour reference. This book is one of my fresh favourites now that I have started doing more e colour reproductions are of high quality, which is so necessary for my needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    Simply beautiful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    Perfect book for reference to the work done by the artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freud for Beginners []  2021-1-10 21:8

    I got this book for my daughter, who had developed an interest in Freud from a high school psychology class. In her words, it's "really good!" With engaging illustrations, it covers all the primary Freudian concepts and the development of Freud's thought in a clear and comprehensive way, and also includes helpful suggestions for further reading. Don't allow the "comic book" style place you off -- this volume is a serious introduction Freud's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freud for Beginners []  2021-1-10 21:8

    This is an accessible, fun book. It is sure to please novices and experts alike. Excellent for individuals that don't know Freud from a hole in the wall or those that have studied his work immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucian Freud Portraits []  2020-7-2 19:0

    If you like portraiture and the study of the human body, this book will meet your expectations. Images are large, clear with attractive coloration and detail. View it, read it and you will appreciate the talent of Mr. Freud. This book you will hold forever.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386