slow violence and the environmentalism of the poor Reviews & Opinions


Submit slow violence and the environmentalism of the poor review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    Almost all of the recipes in this book begin with "in a little skillet...." or "in a little saucepan..." My crockpot is for throwing items in and leaving. We both have very busy lives and just wish to come home to a yummy dinner without a bunch of work and dishes. The recipes do sound delicious, but even the "One-Pot Meals" section of the book has a lot of recipes requiring a skillet. That's a two pot meal. This book is mainly just going to be for weekend cooking, I guess. Also, there isn't a single picture in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    As a single person, I really appreciate cookbooks that feature recipes intended to produce 1 or 2 servings. I've amassed a decent collection of them but had none for my slow cooker. So I was intrigued when this showed up as a "recommendation" on Amazon based on my purchase rst things first: READ THE INTRODUCTION. Even if you're no stranger to slow cookery, you'll search valuable info here, especially the fact that the recipes are designed for 1.5- to 2-quart slow cookers. This tidbit of information is NOT included with the recipes themselves, so if you're used to jumping right into the recipes and making a couple of dishes, you might miss this rather critical instruction. Introductory sections contain information on temperature variability (old versus newer models of slow cookers), buying and repackaging/freezing meats, and specific techniques for cooking meats, veggies, poultry, fish -- techniques that will allow you use your imagination to make your own slow-cooker meals that taste usual practice when I review a cookbook is to prepare 3 recipes. I used this slow cooker for the first two (Crock-Pot 2 Qt Slow Cooker - Red) and this one for the third recipe (Autumn Leaves Fall Crock Pot Slow Cooker, Round 2.5 Quart):1. Beef Stroganoff -- one of my favorite dishes anyway and this slow cooker ver works very nicely. Cubed beef sirloin tip, onion, mushrooms, and seasonings with red wine and beef broth are slow-cooked to tender perfection; then sour cream is added with a small flour to thicken the sauce. This has a lot of flavor -- the combination of herbs and mustard give it a lot of depth. I actually got 3 servings of this from the recipe -- served o er cooked noodles. There's no prep cooking on the stovetop -- everything goes into the slow cooker "raw" so it's super simple. This is definitely a keeper.2. Lasagne Chicken Rollups -- For this one, you pre-cook lasagne noodles (4), then combine ricotta cheese, cream cheese, diced cooked chicken, and seasonings, roll the mixture into the noodles, and cook with pasta sauce in the slow cooker. I sometimes create my own pasta sauces, but for this one, I used a roasted garlic/tomato jarred sauce. This cooks for 3-4 hrs on low; then is topped with mozzarella cheese and baked just until the cheese melts. Amazing flavor, simple to place together, not a huge "wow" factor, but certainly worth doing again.3. Peach Crumble -- I don't often create desserts in my slow cooker, so I wanted to test one and see how it worked out. I'm a large peach fan, so this one caught my eye immediately. I used my slightly larger slow cooker for this one (see reference above). I had to modify the recipe a bit because I used frozen sliced peaches. When using new peaches, everything goes into the slow cooker at the beginning (fruit + topping) and it all cooks together. Since I was using frozen peaches, I place all the fruit filling ingredients in first, allow it cook for an hour or so to thaw the peaches, then added the topping, and cooked per instructions. YES! This is definitely a keeper. I often create peach crisp in the oven, but doing it in the slow cooker is so much easier, and the flavor is there it is -- three recipes, three amazing results. There are several other recipes that I have in my planner to create in the not-too-distant future. I'm liking this a e main downside is that there are no images in the book other than the cover. I'm OK with that -- I'm not as much of a visual cook -- but others may search that's a deal , overall -- I really do like this book. Solid 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    “Slow Cooking for Two” by Mendocino Press is the best cookbook Iʻve read yet on slow cooking. Since my husband and I are busy `empty nesters′, Iʻve used my slow cooker for the usual beef stew or chili recipes. Completely unoriginal. And I still cook too much meal for two people. This book is very thorough with ingredients tailored for a couple. Amazing hints included like how to create a foil sling to slow-cook meatloaf, & flouring meat before cooking so your gravy will be ready when the meat is. I got some terrific ideas Iʻd never thought of trying in a slow cooker. This weekend Iʻm going to test the Caramel French Toast so we can wake up to a hot breakfast! And Garlic Shrimp is definitely on my to-cook list true soon! The only thing that would have improved this book is pictures of the finished dishes. I got this book for free, but itʻs well worth the $5.99 price and would create a thoughtful bonus for a unique couple.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on slow violence and the environmentalism of the poor or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch slow violence and the environmentalism of the poor video reviews and related movies:

    See Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor on youtube.

     related image

    See Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor on youtube.

     related image

    See Rob Nixon: Gov’t Inaction on Climate Change Is “Slow Violence” That Hits World’s Poor the Hardest on youtube.

     related image

    See Environmental Humanities Book Chat: Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor on youtube.

     related image

    See Rob Nixon "Slow Violence" Robert L. Hess Memorial Lecture / Scholar in Residence ep 6 on youtube.

     related image

    See Environmental Humanities Book Chat: Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor on youtube.

     related image

    See Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor on youtube.

     related image

    See "Environmentalism of the Poor vs. Environmentalism of the Rich" by Sunita Narain on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    Some amazing and tasty recipes in this slow cooker cookbook! Tried a few fresh dishes already and gotten amazing reviews . Love anything that's simple and tasty .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    Works very well if you're not used to using a crock pot for less people, use a small more spice than what they say :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    This is an perfect book for someone who is just learning to use a slow cooker, or who is transitioning from a larger (6-quart) to a smaller 3-quart model. The recipes and techniques are well-written and vividly explained, and shows well the dozens of things one can do with the little cooker. That said, if you are experienced with the smaller cooker, there are few recipes and techniques in here that will be really fresh to you. However, this is a amazing addition to the collection of anyone who uses the smaller flow cooker, and I would not hesitate to give a copy along with a little cooker as a bonus to a newlywed or college student.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    I'm loving this book! Easy straight forward recipes. I've only cooked dinners in my crockpot so this begin fresh doors for me...breakfast, snacks, desserts and so much more. There is some recipes that call for prep and pre cook but not a problem. This is a excellent bonus for the newlyweds, dating, or singles- beautiful much anyone can use this book. First part of the book gives you the basics and a tutorial (which was very helpful) then there is Egg Recipes (which I didn't even know I can cook in crock-pot), Sauces, Soups-Stews, Veggie Sides, Fish, Poultry, Meat, One Pot Meals, and Desserts. Peach Crumble is something I wish to test soon. I did keep this book for free for my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    Have you ever noticed how hard it is to cook something tasty and creative for only one or two people? An troops - easy. Crowds have been tamed with merely a tureen of hot soup. Slow Cooking for Two by Mendocino Press solves the dilemma of how to cook little amounts in 101 mouthwatering ways using a slow me of the recipes do partially use other methods for bringing a food together; for example, cooking the crust of a chicken pot pie in the oven. Seafood, chicken filling for sandwiches, and even a variation on pumpkin pie can be created in a slow cooker in quantities just right for two. Or, for one; just stick the other serving in the freezer for another day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    There are some amazing recipes in the book, but my largest complaint is that you cannot print the recipe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Cooking for Two: A Slow Cooker Cookbook with 101 Slow Cooker Recipes Designed for Two People review [Book]  2017-11-18 18:1

    SLOW COOKING FOR TWO? THAT’S A LOT OF FUN FOR YOU… The book is phenomenal! Structured in an simple to read and understand format, this book has a lot of detailed info to offer. It is a slow cooker cookbook including 101 delicious slow cooker recipes designed for two people. This cooking technique works magically and it has multiple benefits. A slow cooker saves you time, work, money, and could improve your health. The recipes are made for a 1-1/2 to 2-quart slow cooker and ask for small preparation and long cooking times (4-8 hours). The book provides helpful hints for cooking healthy and delicious meals for two, also useful info about this cooking technique and how to buy a slow cooker that works best for your necessities, as well as directions for cooking these mouth-watering recipes to obtain the most flavor, texture, and taste of the foods. The tips, rules, and guidelines about cooking and shopping, meal safety and storage – that’s all you need on your experimental journey to success and, perhaps, to romance as well. The slow cooker can be used to cook a huge dozens of sauces (Barbecue Sauce), dips ( Pizza Dip), appetizers (Stuffed Mushrooms), soups (French Onion and Cabbage Soup, Chicken Soup),vegetarian sides (Barley Risotto), fish and seafood (Tuna Noodle Casserole), poultry and meat (Chicken Pot Pie, Coq au Vin, Pork Chops with Red Cabbage, Beef Bourguignon, Beef Stroganoff), and even one-pot meals (Barley-Wild Rice Chicken Salad, Rich Lasagna, Tamale Pie) and unique desserts ( Chocolate Cheesecake, Pumpkin Pie). The two appendixes at the end of the book about substitutes and equivalents and about various types, sizes, and brands of slow cookers are of true help, azing book! Have fun cooking together and have fun savoring these terrific foods cooked in a slow cooker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I look forward to cooking up some of the recipes in this book. I will in future look more for vegetarian crock pot recipes though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    This has some amazing recipes I haven't even created all of them. I am so very happy. What an awesome cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    It has a lot of amazing recipes. I got it because I wish to cook more in the crockpot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Love love this cookbook.i cook in a crockpot all the time and its nice to obtain some fresh recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I've created a couple of recipes using this cookbook. They turned out fantasic. This cookbook is very creative. It's not the same boring recipes you see over and over. So if you wish something simple to follow, creative and delicious then I'd recommend getting this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Beautiful amazing recipe book with some creative recipe​s that I never woukd have thought of. No need to know how to cook. If you have a crockpot just buy the ingredients that are listed toss it all in and in a few short hours dinner is served.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I received this book and we instantly started to flip though and tag recipes that we wish to make! It's well written and full color with simple to follow steps. The recipes are for foods that the average person would really wish to make. I highly suggest this tool!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I bought a crockpot with the intention of making simple dinners but I draw blanks when it comes to recipes! Then I was gifted this book! It has so a lot of delicious recipes and almost all of the recipes in this book are are so simple to prepare! I've looked up crockpot recipe books before but I always back down from buying them because I worry the recipes won't be simple or reasonable but I love this one! It is my fresh go to When I have a huge day ahead and won't have too much time to worry about dinner. I've tweaked a few recipes to match my households taste but overall 5 stars for the base setup ! I love the attractive images of the finished dinner, they look so delicious ! I have actually created 4 dinners from the recipes in the book this past week alone because I have been excited to test fresh ideas. My family has been enjoying the various dozens of dinners I have been making. It broke us free from our regular rut dinner schedule! Plus, a crock pot eliminates the use of 2or 3 pans since you just place all the ingredients in!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I really like this book. My most favorite things about this book are the larger size print first and the unbelievable full color pictures second. The larger print in this book is such a positive point because I always set my recipe book/card on the counter and are forever running back and forth to read the little print, the huge print means I can see it clearly from a distance. The book has lots of amazing recipes that I cannot wait to try, and even if I personally cannot use each and every one of them as they are written, they at least give full instructions and hints so that method I can modify each to my specific family e book is not tailored to any one specific style of cooking, so it is not a completely vegetarian or gluten free type of book. It is more of an all around collection of experience and knowledge, and I can appreciate that. I like an eclectic mix of foods, so why not have books to compliment that. There are about 30 recipes in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delicious Crockpot Recipes: A Full Color Crockpot Cookbook for your Slow Cooker (Crockpot;Crockpot Recipes;Slow Cooker;Slow Cooker Recipes;Crockpot Cookbook;Slow ... Cookbook;Crock Pot;Crock Pot Recipes;Cro 1) review [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    This book is both attractive and functional. I am always looking for cookbooks that have 1) doable recipes and 2) pictures of what it is supposed to look like. This book does both, and encapsulates daily life with a touch of class, making the dishes formal if you should so wish. After having the book for only one week, I have tried a few of the recipes and found them to be outstanding. I obtain everything ready the night before, putting it all into a ziplock bag. In the morning I place it in the crockpot, set it to what it calls for, and off I go. In the evening it is unbelievable to come home to a food that is already cooked and waiting. So a lot of cookbooks are complicated in their ingredients and preparation. Everybody with a busy lifestyle should have this cookbook by Katie Banks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Environmental Toxicology: The Effects of Environmentally Hazardous Substances on Human Health: Environmentally Hazardous Substances and Human Health review []  2020-1-21 19:42

    Quick shipping, exactly as described!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    I’m a slow cooker fan, but I’m looking healthier alternatives to our current meal plans. This lays out a challenge for you to eat better with better ingredients and without sugar or sugar substitutes. I’m looking cleaner eating to see if it will decrease my migraines eating less processed foods. I think most of these recipes sound delicious, the ones I’m not certain of are getting tried as well, it’s time to be adventurous with our food.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    This book is a amazing tutorial for any people who intend to learn more about how to enhance energy and losing weight. It is a ​good way to be healthier and cheaper and anyone would obtain to appreciate more for useful recipes. This book has helpful description what we need for whole 30-day challenge. The author did a amazing job with the meal recipes for all people!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    I am always looking for simple ways to cook healthier for me and my family. Amazing intro and a lot of cool and various recipes. I like they they have recipes form lots of various cultures and things i would not have thought to try. I want there were images though. Call me a sucker but i love to see a image of the food, it gets my appetite going. Otherwise for less than $1.00 I can not complain.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    This book gave me inspiration for cooking delicious recipes,and also that the slow cooker recipes can be delicious too. I appreciate the method book is written well and consize, easy and clear instructions with healthy ingredients a lot of dozens of recipes with various combinations of ingredients. I already cooked some recipes and it was appetizing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    Best E-book Ever!! I cook 80% of the time in my crockpots!! I'm the Worst Cook but somehow this 30 Day Whole Meal Slow Cooker E-Book with recipes and my Crockpot create AMAZING meals lol! The recipes are simplified and simple to follow which is Amazing for my Family. I even like that I don't need 50 stuff to create a food if you know what I mean😄 Satisfied Cooking!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    I and my aunt cook together in our spare time and on family gatherings, we usually like to cook slow cooker recipes it's more healthier and delicious, and also because our family like slow cooker rrecipes, these recipes are beautiful delicious and book is well written and concise, ingredients are healthy and various variations in recipes makes this book awesome and our favourite.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    This is a one unbelievable recipe book. I bought this book for my sister who is increasingly into healthy eating as of lately with a weight-loss mission on her mind. And she told me she has been excited with the book and the time-saving, easy and healthy recipes it covers! I definitely would give my vote for this one. An A+++ book it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    Such an awesome book. A lot of necessary info gathered in this book. I have learned from this book: An explanation of the challengeThe benefits of using a slow cookerThe rules of the challengeA tutorial to the meal you can eatA selection of delicious recipes to tryAnd much more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    I am working mom. Always busy, stressed, and unsure about how to adjust my diet. I found this book valuable and fit for me. Not only are the recipes, quick and easy to prepare, but also they're specifically designed to help your body. They are grain-free and built around real, whole foods. Can't wait to test the Corned beef brisket

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Delicious, Simple, and Quick Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For Everyone (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:1

    I like cooking in slow cooker so much and when I saw a book about 30 day whole meal slow cooker challenge I decided to test it. I am only at the first part of this challenge, but I'm already satisfied that I started it. In this book you will search delicious and simple recipes that will support to create your challenge very pleasant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    For all of you snowflakes, wuzzies, pc cowards, crybabies, justice fighter idiots and all of the rest. You may not wish to read this without a "trigger warning" or whatever you call it. This book would never be allowed on any college campus because it's not pc and doesn't coincide with the profs opinions. No profs, all people aren't exactly the same. Not everybody has the exact same mindset. Not everybody is a wonderful, lovely, harmless person who can't dare to hear a word that they don't agree with. How about the person who just would like to slay you for the fun of it? Ever thought of that? There are millions on the street. That's right. Not thousands, millions. Varg cuts through the bs most martial arts and firearm instructor training instructors teach. That's the notion that if I just have my gun "I'll be OK." Or, if I obtain this black belt, I can take on any of these thugs on the road and create fast work of them. Ha. You'd better rethink. They'll hand you something and it won't be your elbow. I relate to the crappy neighborhood he grew up in. Mine was full of thugs, dirtbags, outlaw motorcycle gangs, felons, drug traffickers, murderers, robbers and even some serial assassins thrown in for amazing measure. You'd better have more than a AMEX card when you left home. That's all I've known since I was old enough to walk. I grew up in one of the biggest cities in the US. I was shipped into the hood as a white child in the late 60's. It was a unbelievable experience (sarcasm for gosh sakes). Every day was a potential for life and death fighting with multiple opponents. I was kicked out of every school I went to. Why? Because I was attacked by armed thugs and defended myself and destroyed their posteriors so the school staff said it was my fault. Hmmm. I thought there was something illegal about threatening to slay somebody with a weapon if they didn't give you their money. I digress. I can say I have a amazing clue as to what the hell he's talking about. Been around much of it. As a former cop in one of the largest cities of America, I went on to be federal agent for a major federal LE agency and conducted extensive covert operations in the US and was involved in a lot of cases involving OC, firearms trafficking, narcotics trafficking, murder for hire, murders, bombings, serial bombings, arsons, hostage situations, etc. I've also done extensive work with POTUS/VPOTUS protection info with the USSS as part of my assignments. I do know what the hell I'm talking about. I create no apologies. I had 50,000 to 60,000 hours on the roads as a cop and agent. Not parking my butt behind a desk. That doesn't count all of the years growing up. Varg is on the money. I couldn't care less if you agree or not. If you take a bs ccw class and think you're ready to defend yourself on the road you're insane and that's nicest thing I can say. Obtain a WHOLE bunch of advanced training after that class. Thinking you're ready for a major, lowlight war to the death with multiple enemies is insanity. Either obtain better or have lots of health and life insurance paid in advance. Yes, I've been in multiple shoot outs and sniper attacks. Not fun. Result. I'm still here running my mouth. That should tell you something. I still train with the best firearms instructors in the country and am currently finding a fresh KM school. I completed SWAT squad school three years ago at Ft. McClelland, AL after being retired for several years. I'm in my 60's now. Hold training. Never stop. Mindset is the FIRST step in survival. If you actually learn what he's trying to tell you, you'll be light years ahead of 99% of other civilians. I don't tell most people these things because they think you're insane. They think "Oh, that guys just so negative" or "Oh, he's just making that items up. How ridiculous. That a lot of people who would slay me? No way. The GOVT would protect me and not allow that happen". Buy the danged book. Once you actually understand the message, your on your method to the transformation that MUST occur before you can ever be really safe and really learn what "mindset" is. I dare Amazon to publish this without editing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    This book is top shelf. I was very surprised how much I like what this man has to say. I am a recently retired cop trying to obtain my head around concealed carry without a badge. This may be the best book I've read on the principles of violence. Think of Col. Grossman or de Becker 's works then distill and filter the bs and add a Carolina reaper for flavor. Thank you for passing on your hard won wisdom . I would recommend this book to anyone with a ccw, in fact it should be needed reading in the police academy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    I wanted to like this as much as so a lot of other reviewers have. And about halfway through, I was sure I would. In this document, we hear a amazing deal about the author's life, how much is fiction and how much is fact, I have no simple method of knowing. If it's all fact, he certainly had an uncanny knack for finding himself in shady situations. He also has a amazing skill of blaming others for his misfortunes and denigrating society's "Average Joe" (ironically, the same individuals who exalt him). None of which are admirable traits. Then, we obtain some legal insight from this convicted criminal, which will most likely hold you out of prison. It will probably also obtain you killed if faced with immediate mortal danger, but at least you won't be in jail. Then, we obtain a slew of what can be described as extremely lengthy and often repetitious definitions, with incredibly small insight. I assume this absence of editing was done to artificially add to the page count in order to create individuals like me think they were getting higher quality, more in-depth content. The best part of the book, and something that everyone should do, is the part centered around developing a private mission--and adhering to it, even in dire situations. Ultimately, if you're a bit sassy, a small nutty, own weapons, and haven't quite learned how to behave like an adult in civilized society, do us all a favor and pick this one up. Otherwise, save your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    This is not a typical "self-defense" or "martial arts book. It is much more, because it teaches the mental aspect of true fighting. No amount of work in the dojo or gym can develop the mental attitude needed to prevail in true globe violent confrontations. Read this book, practice to develop the skills, and you will see what you must do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    This book is wisdom. Every paragraph is full of useful and practical knowledge that you can place to use right now in the true world. The book is the most well written book I have read and clearly demonstrates that the author KNOWS what he is talking is book should be mandatory reading for anyone who carries or plans to carry any weapon or to anyone who has any skills or ability to hurt anyone else in self defense or is is inside knowledge about violence. The author clearly understands the violent criminal mindset so well and he writes in a method that anyone reading the book will have a very well informed understanding into that mindset. I have read a lot of books in this category and nothing comes close to even a quarter of the knowledge contained in this book.I can't recommend the book enough. You wont regret reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    I figured this book was another like a lot of before it that preached self-defense, applications of and how to prepare for those ugly situations. But this book was so much more. I can definitely relate to some of the contents, the rest of it was a true eye opener into the mind of a wolf. I should have bought the hard copy in the beginning, now I have to buy it to have it to read again in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    Life is a funny but blessed opportunity to search out what and defend what you care about. Wolves, predators, sheep, and sheepdogs. Every responsible self-defender should read this book, among others. Studying for your life is not a poor choice, combined with practice. Raised by dogs, I mean this in the most loving way, I grew up into a wolf. Not a predator but a hunter. Through self-reflection and study, to contain this book, among a lot of others, I have found peace of mind. I strongly recommend that you read this work. I agreed with 99% of what the author says. The latest chapters were like he was writing about my private experiences, philosophies, and desires to think, train, and live.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    If you conceal carry to defend the life of yourself and loved ones this is a must read. This book really opens your eyes to what violence truly is and what you will be facing if that day ever comes (which hopefully you will not have to face that). The book gives amazing insight into criminal violence but is described in a method that is simple to understand. VOM covers things that most people or instructors don't tell you such as dealing with the judicial system and the aftermath you face from an extreme violence encounter . This book makes you realize how much of a war is mental and how much is actually physical. I have a fresh outlook on training, a amazing instructor, and how to go about my everyday life. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    Total waste of paper and ink. Your own base-level of common sense is a better tutorial for how to avoid violent encounters. Could barely [email protected]#$%!. Kept thinking "At some point he is going to tie all these random musings together," but sadly and predictably no. Every thought was an afterthought.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Violence of Mind: Training and Preparation for Extreme Violence review []  2020-1-16 18:49

    This book Violence of Mind came highly recommended by mates of mine who's opinion I trust. Varg Freeborn has walked the walk. He's not just spouting what other people have written but he is the true deal. He grew up fighting to save his life. That is the kind of teacher I need and believe. He covers all subjects important to someone who is interested in training to war for self preservation. He begins by helping me define my mission statement for my own life. He then proceeds to explain in terms that are simple to understand, what sort of training I/we should participate in and what to look for in a trainer/school. I won't go into any more detail than that. I will testify that even into the first 30 pages of reading his book, I applied some of his tip that probably saved me a lot of years of grief, prison time and cash down the drain. He goes into the topic of risk assessment and situational awareness which everyone needs to master, whether they live in a huge town or a rural environment. I will read it again periodically to refresh my memory. I would strongly advise you to obtain a copy and study it like your life depended on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow Down review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    Really have fun the music. Recommend this album for people from all walks of life . Looking forward to the groups next album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    These 30 days recipes are enough for a month, I obtain this book to create some delicious meal and smoothies recipes for weight loss because I wish to obtain a healthy lifestyle also wish to give my love one as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    Can't wait to test some of the recipes in here. I have been wanting to cook fresh recipes from cookbooks. I'm getting bored of the normal I cook all the time. seems like there is a lot of dozens in this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    This book has a bunch of mouthwatering recipes which I think is a amazing feature of this book since it has a huge dozens of recipes such as these

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    I like cooking in the slow Cooker I just wanted to begin cooking something different. When I seen the slow cooker book I had to look into it. First thing I like to take it simple I like fast and simple things when I cook. This book is healthy recipes that are excellent for the slow cooker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    The book is created of a number of recipes to support you create the best and necessary choice on how to go about meal preparation, ingredients and Hints on using your slow cooker among others. The meal book comes as a guide reference for me to obtain better in the meal preparation skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    Fast and simple whole meal slow cooker recipes are the best. You can have delicious recipes that can create your everyday meal more exciting and new. I agree that this book really helps the family to grow and have fun the meal they wish to eat. I found this book very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    I am giving this five stars even though the title of it being all slow cooker recipes is wrong because the few recipes we have tried have been great.We've really been trying to chop processed meal out of our diet and so far these have been s amazing help.

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    I use my slow cooker all the time, but I always felt like I was making the same things.. I'm so satisfied to have this book! I've been using it almost every day for dinner and am working my method through the recipes. Simple to follow and all are delicious so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    I love that the recipes are for healthier meals. This cookbook has lots of recipes and is simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    30 Day Whole Food Slow Cooker Challenge: Quick and Easy Whole Food Slow Cooker Recipes For The Everyday Home - Delicious, Triple-Tested, Family-Approved Whole Food Recipes (Slow Cooker Cookbook) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:2

    There's a wide range of recipes in this and I'm excited to test quite a few of them!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    WOW This book has a ton of recipes! Hundreds! From appetizers to drinks. Vegetable dishes to main course. And of course desserts. It has a amazing section on vegetarian dishes. How to modify almost anything to vegetarian...soups stews chili This is a amazing find! I am very impressed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    I want I'd known this cookbook has NO pictures,. That's one of the best parts of a cookbook, looking at mouthwatering images and getting excited about making the dishes. I was getting ready to return it for a various book, but discovered I would be charged almost half the price of the book for return shipping!! I'm better off keeping it, donating it to the local library and buying another one elsewhere. But either method I can't obtain excited about a single recipe in this book. If pictures aren't necessary to you, it might be worth buying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    This book was bought as a bonus for a mate that had created some interesting things in her crock pot. Needless to say she required support and this book was just the thing. She is now cooking up a storm and making unbelievable meals with less time, less mess and is able to serve dinner on time without being exhausted

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    Around my house, I am known as "The Crock Pot King." Yes, it's a name I gave myself and no, I can't obtain anyone to call me that but it doesn't matter because I'm secure in my crock pot superiority. When I saw this book, I HAD to buy it. 1001 Crock Pot recipes for only 99 cents? How can you pass up such a amazing value. Not only did Emma Katie compile the yummiest recipes that she could find, she also contains vital info at the beginning of the book like reasons to use a crock pot and how to pick the excellent slow cooker for you. I have created dinner using a recipe in this book every night since I purchased it and they have all been excellent. Tomorrow night I am making the Candied Kielbasa. Everyone has enjoyed the meals even if they won't acknowledge my culinary royalty. If you are looking for a amazing collection of slow cooker recipes that are simple to follow and don't require a lot of attention, then this is the excellent choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    I've given this book a cursory exam, and I can't search anything it lacks for my needs and wants. Kudos to the author(s) for taking the time and effort they spent gathering and making this available to those of us stumbling around trying to search recipes for the crock pot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    I am enjoying my crockpot recipe cookbook. I have been going through the recipes and see quite a few that I am going to test out in the next few months. Winter is upon us and coming in fast. I love hot, liquid comfort meal such as stews, soups, and legumes! I am one of those that like to toss in my ingredients late at night just before going to bed, usually around 1-2am., set my crock to low and go to bed! My one pot food is ready by noon! I turn it off and it is still warm by the time we obtain ready to eat by 4pm...that is if everyone stops picking the lid up to ''see'' what's for dinner...lol What i like about this particular book is that it includes a lot of very simple recipes that do not require using a kajillion or more ingredients where over half of them have you shopping at a specialty shop to purchase. Nothing wrong with that if that is what you like...but I sometimes, I like it a bit more on the 'simpler' side. Most of the ingredients are probably already in your pantry. There are so man things that you can ''cook up'' in your crock pot! Other than main meals of meats, meats with veggies, soups, casseroles stews etc....you can also do desserts!!! You can create puddings, cakes, brownies...and to top it off...make you something to drink! Tea, wine, latte, apple cider! I think I will be needing another crockpot!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    A small backstory, if you will…I own 2 slow cookers, one little and round 2 quart size, and another large, holds up to 6 quarts…They were both gifts, I didn’t buy them. My small Continental Platinum has been amazing for appetizers and ideal for fondues and dips, which are covered in section one. The bigger one, amazing for entrees and such.Did you know you can create a variation of Chex Party Mix in one of these things? Well I didn’t-until I saw the classic recipe with my own eyes. Some of the dishes are healthy and zesty spins on timeless classics and some more exotic (for some base ingredients, the dictionary function on my application served me well.)You can actually create bread in one of these! Whodathunk it? See the “Classic Bread” recipe. I don’t know that I will attempt that one; I failed at a homemade root beer session one time, thankfully no one was harmed. And that’s not all: cake gets a slow cooker makeover in the dessert section, as well as some favorite hot beverages, too.I hope you like shallots (they resemble miniature onions) they are in just about every dip, stew, and soup recipe; well beautiful much called for in all but the dessert and drink categories. Apparently those small teeny things have true zing (They are a small pricier than onions, per se.)Now there is no time like the show to allow our laziness work for us; when we own a Crock Pot. What‘s not to like? Affordable, and versatile. Plus, the aroma from your kitchen while progress is being created will take you back to a simpler age!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    I’m so sorry I spent cash on this book. Never seen a cookbook like this. Recipes are in order of the page number rather than in alphabetical order by the name. So if you are looking for a recipe for collard greens you have to look for the veggie section (starting on page 101) and look at all the recipes (possibly thru page 190, which is the end of the veggie section) until and if you search the recipe you’re looking for. Would be so much easier to go to veggie section then look under the ‘C’s’ (collard) or even the ‘G’s’ (greens).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    I never write reviews but I thought I required to mention a couple of things about the kindle edition of this book. The recipes in this collection may or may not be any good. I'll probably never know. There is small organization in place, browsing a recipe list is a hidden function and there is no logical organization of the recipes within a section. I't is just a rambling mess of recipes. They are divided into "chapters" but the table of contents is accessible only by searching or paging from the cover The arbitrary designation of something as an appetizer was my first clue to the lack of thoughtful organization. Recipes are not sequentially organized, Not all chicken recipes are together in the appropriate section. Reading a cookbook shouldn't be HARD, it should be fun. Also, there are no pictures in the kindle version. I could have chosen this as a Kindle Unlimited selection but decided to purchase instead. That may have been a mistake. I'll do a follow-up if I test some of the recipes and allow you know if they are tasty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Crock Pot: 1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time (Crockpot, Crockpot Recipes, Crock Pot Cookbook, Crock Pot Recipes, Crock Pot, Slow Cooker, Slow Cooker Recipes, Slow Cooker Cookbook, Cookbooks) review []  2019-12-23 21:4

    We just got a fresh crock pot at the holidays latest year and it didn't long for us to exhaust the recipes that came in the included cookbook. We love a dozens in our diet and it's always nice to throw a bunch of ingredients into the cooker in the morning and come home to the delicious smells at the end of the day. Emma Katie's fresh "1001 Best Crock Pot Recipes of All Time" has literally given us a lifetime of recipes and we are loving the dozens here. All very simple to follow and so varied, we have been using the crock pot almost every day now. We've created about four various varieties of chicken wings, several soups, Creole chicken, and even a couple of desserts. Love the clickable table of contents at the beginning that makes navigation so simple. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    Seems ok but I need to experiment with it first

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    TERRIBLE WORST APP IN THE WORLD 😈😈😈😈

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    It doesn't work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    It so amazing you should obtain it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    Its wat im looking for..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    its simple and fun :D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    This is what I looking for

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    Best

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    The beeeessssttt

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion Video Editor - Slow & Fast with music review [App]  2018-4-16 21:10

    Eeee

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slow motion video maker - slow motion camera review [App]  2018-11-18 21:9

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    Over a lot of years of reading non-fiction, two books stand out in my mind. One was entitled The Age of Reagan and the other was a biography of the Beatles. Most of what I read in non-fiction books is quickly forgotten as I move on to another book. But these two books stuck because the authors embedded the story within a larger context, and thus, I was able to connect fresh info to what I already knew. The Reagan book simply set the scene for Ronald Reagan by explaining American politics after WWII. While there was small Reagan biography, the reader could see just how he appeared on the scene. We know about Reagan, but we know small of what was event around him. In the Beatles book the musical landscape in Europe and America was discussed and the emergence of the Beatles fit in perfectly. We expected to see Reagan and the Beatles because we could see the ristopher Wells has done the same thing in his book Vehicle Country. In teaching my course the Automobile and American Culture I have read numerous books about vehicle makers, vehicle companies, and vehicle culture. I have also read books about the development of our street system, which not page turners by any stretch of the imagination. While I have learned about Henry Ford, James Ward, and Albert Sloan, each book is too narrow in focus to look at the huge picture. So, I quickly forget the info and then the point altogether. Vehicle Country does it differently. Christoper Wells synthesizes vehicles and culture in a method that is both interesting and thought-provoking. Instead of starting the book with a look at the first car, he begins with people and dirt roads. By explaining the actions of people in the country and the huge cities, he sets the scene for how the automobile showed up and why vehicles like the Ford Model T were huge hits. I search myself reading a passage of this book and saying, "No kidding. I did not know that." I never saw the connection between the 1901 Mercedes and the Model T for example.I initially overlooked this book because I thought it would be another assault on our automobile and how they are so poor for the environment, blah, blah, blah. But what Christopher Wells has done is introduce the automobile, nuts and all, to the reader in the context of early 20th century America. It is a fascinating book and will be highlighted and dog-eared for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    In Vehicle Country, Christopher Wells attempts to respond a seemingly easy question about modern American life: Why is it so difficult to go anywhere without the use of an automobile? Over the course of 300 pages, Wells convincingly argues that our auto-dependence is less about vehicles themselves and more about roads, spatial arrangements, and land erest in automobiles began in the late nineteenth century with the advent of safer, reliable technology. The true watershed event, however, came with the release of the Ford Model T in 1909. As demand increased, then, supply developed around efficient production of vehicles. By the end of Globe Battle I, vehicles were everywhere, but in a lot of ways, drivers had nowhere to go. Cars, Wells would correctly argue, were not the only thing consumers demanded. Drivers require unobstructed, smooth rights-of-way. They also need somewhere to park. Perhaps most importantly, they need social and legal arrangements that clearly delineate auto zone from pedestrian zone (i.e., human space)—as well as quick from slow, stop from go, that method from this way, etc. At a number of levels, American society in the 1920s and 30s brought those arrangements into being. From stoplights to one-way roads to gasoline filling stations, Vehicle Country began to take shape during the first decades of the twentieth century. The author’s emphasis here—as throughout the book—is on the incremental development of the built environment to accommodate the proliferation of privately owned e importance of Vehicle Country (the book) is twofold. First, it dissipates blame for the retrospective ills of a car-dependent landscape. Rather than wallowing in streetcar conspiracy theories or condemnations of aggressive motorists, the book provides a balanced, comprehensive narrative of automobiles as a pervasive historical force. Second, the book spells out the self-perpetuating cycle that has made (and continues to create) vehicle dependency. Unlike most consumer products, automobiles demand vast networks of public infrastructure for use on a mass scale. In Vehicle Country, Christopher Wells demonstrates that historically, Americans have been more than willing to promote that type of development, with the result that we are only now beginning to recognize its consequences.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    In 2012, there were ~ 8.6 million lane-miles of streets in the United States. Roads, parking facilities, driveways and sidewalks now imperviously cover > 43,000 sq mi, an zone greater than Ohio. To learn more about how this happened, who some of the key players were, and why it may be a less stable effect than you might think, you should purchase this book.While attending a lecture by James Longhurst, author of Bike Battles, at our local library, one of the librarians attending recommended that I have a look at Vehicle Country. Am I glad she did. This is a much-needed and appreciated book. It was wonderfully readable and, like all perspective-changing works, needed pauses to think about the implications of this remarkable history. The author’s love of the topic and curiosity about where his research on the book led him are both wide-ranging and as delightful as they are informative. Prior to reading Vehicle Country, I had small idea of the extent to which streets constrain our experience of topography and of our social/cultural/natural/political/economic/technologic and environmental world.Dr. Wells is an environmental historian and provides info about our “received” mobility environment that helps one better understand the daily globe and provides historical context for it. This is info that should appear in our schools to support our younger citizens understand the globe we live in and the forces at play in maintaining a mobility policy equilibrium of sorts. Structures that seem “inevitable”, from the gutting of mass transit in our cities, the decline of business in town centers and walkable, neighborhood-supporting businesses in abutting neighborhoods are the effect of largely unplanned, crisis-mode adaptations to rapidly growing motor car ownership/use as the basic mobility mode. “Visionary” urban planners with small sense of downstream effects on liveability took the motor car as the determinative element in nearly all future urban design. Opportunistic motor vehicle-driven suburban “design” with traffic-flow driven zoning ordinances followed in the post WW2 period. Planners. Developers in collaboration with planners and town councils now take these approaches as written in stone, although they were originally manifestations of cheap fuel-cheap land opportunism with small more planning than how to optimize profits and meet minimum zoning e cultural, political and economic drivers how we got to Vehicle Country are splendidly described in this wide-ranging work. The history of street funding mechanisms and how fractious and resistant our countrymen were about street development and maintenance in the late 19th and early 20th century is fascinating. The role of the railroads in undermining rural street development is another aspect to street development I had not previously appreciated. I had previously thought (and lore in the League of American Bicyclists maintains) that 19th century bicyclists were major drivers for Amazing Roads, prior to the large-scale appearance of motor cars on the scene. While bicyclists were a part of the story, more significant forces were in e author provides very amazing secondary and ample basic sources in his bibliography. I’ve read some of the secondary sources and appreciate that they are by the best in their fields. I will continue to cherry-pick this perfect bibliography for some time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    Vehicle Country is a remarkably thorough book about embracement of vehicles in the USA starting in the late 1800s. The historical perspective weaves different elements of rural and urban developments that enlighten and reveal how our street system evolved with significant environmental impacts at different times. The description of the Ford factory in Detroit is particularly strong and contrasts with the light hearted pictures routinely observed of folks with their Model T. It is full of facts and scholarly documentation so would not be a fast read for most folks. However, this is the kind of book I enjoy. I came away with a much better appreciation and knowledge of how we got our vehicle country.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    book for college amazing to buy from

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    A well-crafted history of perhaps the most influential technology of the 20th Century. Wells' work helps us to see just how profoundly our globe has been shaped by the automobile.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Car Country: An Environmental History (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Books) review []  2020-1-8 18:30

    I avoided reading this book at first, having somehow gotten the idea it was an homage to the automobile, but I was very wrong. This is an unusual book, a highly readable and often entertaining book on a technical subject, the kind that sometimes can bore readers to death in ten pages. This book is not just about one technology, but how several merged to make our current vehicle culture--good streets and highways, fuels and filling stations, traffic control, parking, manufacturing and distribution. If any of these subjects interest you, this is an perfect choice to read.Take town streets. Once they were public areas, horses and carts and tram vehicles (30,000 miles electrified by 1905) and pedestrians and peddlers and begin zone for families living in crowded little spaces. Gradually roads cam to be understood to be for cars, and that evolved with a need for control, hence eventually traffic lights, crosswalks, parking meters, and more.Take highways. Now taken for granted, once they really did not exist. Before 1900 a huge portion of Americans lived in rural areas, and streets were for transporting things locally, not much for connecting communities with the nation. Recreational bicyclists led the method and recreational vehicle use added more push for more and better roads. Communities had to be convinced of the need for the expense, and more and more vehicles created the argument--more and better and cheaper cars, that is Henry Ford and his model T. As highways developed localities became less isolated and schools consolidated, churches became larger (and consolidated), shopping and markets more concentrated in local nodes, an almost complete reorganization of rural life. Who should pay for the systems was a huge debate (and a complex one).Take fuel. Before vehicles became common kerosene was the mainstay of petroleum companies (calling them energy companies doesn't fit at the start). Vehicles made a demand for gasoline which made needs for distribution systems, ergo the gas station (and convenience store) emerged.. Vehicles required tires, mechanics to fix issues and more. A vast increase in care tires meant a vast increase in the need for rubber, and so on.Take travel. With vast increases in vehicle ownership(2.3 million by 1915, 8.1 million in 1920) and the emergence of more leisure time (the 8 hour day, weekends off, better pay--Henry Ford's $5 a day, etc) meant a vast increase in desire for travel, so the tourist trade (already huge and well-established by the railroads) increased, with destinations made (such as national parks marketed intentionally for vehicle tourists. Then naturally came campgrounds, motels, roadside attractions and not so long after strip malls and shopping malls. With a huge chunk of workers getting vacation, people required locations to vacate and ways to obtain there by car. And so it went, a vast complex co-evolving, for better or r me the most interesting chapters were on fuels, on the development of road and highway infrastructure, one on "motor age geography" that is difficult to describe briefly (think a paradigm shift of how local communities viewed their relationship with the larger America). The book ends with a consideration of the rise of suburbs right after Globe Battle 2, which contains some perfect explanation of how government policies such as FHA and the GI Bill acted to normalize suburbs and literally, the vehicle nation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Soil Physics: Fundamentals, Applications, and Environmental Considerations review []  2020-1-15 23:45

    This book is fantastic! Everything is extremely clear and all formulas are discussed in length. Very happy to be using this book for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Soil Physics: Fundamentals, Applications, and Environmental Considerations review []  2020-1-15 23:45

    When we received homework on this class, the textbook did not help. There weren't examples of exercises. This textbook was only theoretical.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Soil Physics: Fundamentals, Applications, and Environmental Considerations review []  2020-1-15 23:45

    a amazing book for reference and detailed study . clear concepts and i believe a must buy for studying transport through soils

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Its the best cause you can actually do slow mo videos

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Oka

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    It helps me with audios!!🙏🙏👌👌💗💗💗💗you have to obtain it its amazing for android💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    The camera is just something else I can't explain it SUCKS! DONT DOWNLOAD IT LET ME TELL YOU THAT

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    It's stupid as hell DONT obtain it! YOU'LL REGRET IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    I hate this it suck really poor don't download it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    THIS IS THE W O R S T APP EVER

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    This is amazing for people that wish slow mo vids but have an Android device phone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    HATE IT DONT download

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    It sucks do not download

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Dont obtain it is terrible😈😈👿

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Awesome application love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    DON'T DOWNLOAD THIS IT SUCKS!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Idk

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    slow motion cam - slow & fast motion video editor review [App]  2017-11-22 13:10

    Best application everrrrrrrr

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter