Read snow like ashes reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all snow like ashes reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch is the first in a young adult fantasy series centering around Meira, a young refugee left orphaned when her country was overrun and conquered by a neighbouring power. It focusses on her struggle to locate the missing magical Conduit of Winter and to her imprisoned countrymen.What I likedThe world. I really enjoyed the globe that Raasch has built for her story. There are eight kingdoms; four Season realms, each dominated by a single season (our protagonist is from Winter) and four Rhythm, whose climate cycles through each season. Each kingdom was wonderfully described and I loved their seasonal themes. The tensions between the kingdoms were interesting and well described and I appreciated the political machinations that were going on behind the e magic system. The magic system of the Conduits was fascinating, and I look forward to reading more about the chasm of magic and the Decay in future books. I always appreciate it when limitations are written into the magic system - often, they are as interesting as the magic itself. In this case I enjoyed the fact that certain artifacts are limited by gender and can only be used in certain ways. I loved reading how the different wielders of the Conduits worked within those limitations to either serve their own ends or support their people.What I didn’t likeAll the tropes. Too often I felt that Raasch was ticking boxes to see how a lot of YA and fantasy tropes she could fit into this book and more, that they are not subverted. Young orphan discovers she has a secret past and destiny filled future. Check. Missing magical artifact hidden right at the heart of the antagonist’s power. Check. Young king struggling to meet the needs and expectations of his people. Check. Honestly, there are simply too a lot of to name, and a lot of I can’t name for spoiler reasons. Now, I’m aware that there are very few fresh stories in the world. but I would have liked to see some kind of twist on these old e foreshadowing. This came across as being rather heavily emphasised, which, along with the use of the tropes, created the story for me at least very, very e love triangle. This seems an obligatory part of every YA book these days and Snow Like Ashes is no exception. It wasn’t badly done, it just didn’t grab my attention at spite the predictability, the worldbuilding carried me through Snow Like Ashes and I gave it three and a half stars out of five. I probably wouldn’t be interested enough to for the sequel, Ice Like Fire, but as it was available from my local library I will check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    I’m going to place this right out there: I figured out the twist 2% into the book, but I didn’t care. I wanted to see how it played out, and I loved reading every e kingdom of Winter fell 16 years ago. Meira is one of the very few survivors of Winter. Winter’s demise cost Meira her family, and she now travels with a little group of others who survived and eluded capture, unable to return to their home. A lot of of Winter’s people perished in the war, and the rest are enslaved by the king who destroyed their kingdom. The small band of renegades with whom Meira travels believe that there is hope that their kingdom may be restored: they must search the two halves of their late queen’s magic conduit and place the restored locket in the hands of the royal heir, then their people from the work camps where they are held as e heir is a boy about Meira’s age: Mather. The two have grown close over the years, but have been constantly reminded of how inappropriate any romantic relationship would be, since one is royalty and the other is inconsequential. Nevertheless, Meira and Mather come to rely on one another for companionship and stability in their tumultuous world.Another boy becomes necessary to Meira: Theron, heir of a Rhythm kingdom. I won’t give away how they come to know each other, but I will say that they are surprised to search that they have more in common than they would have expected. I wouldn’t use the term “love triangle”, because even though Meira has some interest in both boys, neither relationship ever becomes the focus of the plot. This isn’t a romance, by any means. The tension that these relationships add to the plot adds another dimension to the adventure, rather than of my favorite features of the book is an “I will always be me” theme. Several characters do some significant self-discovery, as is typical in most YA, but the twist in this book is that while they are learning, they have a constant awareness of what is really important: the hero traits that they choose to demonstrate, and why. The notice to readers about trusting one’s instincts and persevering through adversity is ds are going to love the adventure, the magic, and the rebellion of this small group of survivors. The dialogue is witty and believable, and the characters are realistic and likeable. The book will appeal to both boys and girls, since the protagonist is female, but she’s surrounded by males waging battle on one another. Snow Like Ashes will have fun a diverse readership; libraries need to additional copies, and parents will wish to add this to their holiday shopping list. As for me, I’ll be on the prowl for a tour happening so I can add a signed copy to my book shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Title: Snow Like AshesAuthor: Sara RaaschPublication Date: October 2014Genre : FanastyMy Rating: 5 StarsMy Review:After finishing the latest page of this book, I was left with one coherent thought : What is wrong with me?Why did I ask myself that? Because, I just don't know why it took me this freaking long to pick up this book. I'm serious here people. I'm baffled. I have no idea why I haven't devoured this book sooner, but, now that I have, consider me is story... My god, this story! I'm left speechless trying to sing its praises. I just don't know how to quite place into words just how awesome this book 's phenomenal. Epic. The reason that the fanasty genre exists. Mind blowingly at is how I would describe this book. Not even for a second will you search yourself trudging through this book trying to obtain past a certain part. Instead, you will search yourself captivated with each chapter, paragraph, sentence, is is the absolute best example of the fanasty genre and the author is, by far, a stunning example to her ab this book, clear your schedule, and keep onto your seats as you drive into this richly woven tale of magic, adventure, love and above all, fighting for something greater than yourself.

    0  


    Add your opinion on snow like ashes or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This book is just not good. Based on the premise, I really should have liked it. But- no. I Really didn'e plot twist I saw coming a mile away. The love interests just didn't do anything for me. Especially Mather.And the heroine- she was a fighter- I should have loved her- but some things were method too simple for her, some things were method too hard- its like in certain scenes she was this excellent warrior and the next- she was a mess. Neither created sense.And I did not like Sir. At ere were some locations where I felt as if this was like a really long and drawn out cartoon or graphic novel. Yes, this played out as a long graphic novel of caricatures in my head- and not in a amazing way.I just could not connect with the characters or the story.I guess I have just read too may related books that were much much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This was a decent YA fantasy, nothing groundbreaking but entertaining. I think it was a tad wordy but well written overall. There is not all that much romance in this book but for the small bit there is involves a love triangle. In this book, I found the triangle annoying even though I did like all the characters involved, I just didn't feel like we required to go there.We do not end on a cliffhanger! I'm still unsure if I'm going to read the next books, I'm not excited enough to it for $10 so if I do continue I'd probably need to obtain a library copy. I do think a lot of teens will like this book if they are into fantasy, adults also if you are not expecting this to be more than what it is, a nice fantasy with the usual tropes we've seen before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    I'm reviewing the whole SNOW LIKE ASHES trilogy because you're not going to stop at book one and all of them are out so let's not play around, okay?WHAT IT'S ABOUT:(Book 1, SNOW LIKE ASHES)16yo Miera is one of 8 survivors of her Winterian kingdom who escaped when it was overthrown, its people enslaved. She lives on the run as a refugee, training to be a soldier and fighting her love for the future king (16yo Mather) who has been raised as her constant companion. When she learns the zone of a locket that could support obtain their people their power back, she leaps at the possibility to prove she's more valuable than she's been created to feel, and discovers in the process that her role in their globe of magical rules and slippery politics is bigger than she ever imagined.(Book 2, ICE LIKE FIRE)In her fresh role, Miera decides to hold certain info close to her chest in the hopes that it will be best for her people. Mather struggles with the decisions he created in book one, and what his next move should be. A third party has deep faith in their lofty goals, and wants Miera to support create them happen. Their story lines weave and pull in a method that exposes deceptions that none could expect.(Book 3, FROST LIKE NIGHT)All the proverbial you-know-what hits the fan. You will not breathe for about 350 of the 480 pages.WHAT I THOUGHT:It is rare that a series has equally powerful books throughout, but this is one is a star. The first book hooked me, the second committed me, and the third lit me on fire. I WAS NOT OKAY FOR A LOT OF BOOK THREE. [breathes into paper bag]I'm a fan of solid storytelling with realistic hero development (for the better and worse), vibrant visuals, and emotional tethers. [email protected]#$%! all those notes, plus had amazing love stories, from romantic to familial to metimes I search fantasy books with the word "politics" in the descriptions to be too complex, have method too a lot of characters or areas to hold track of, but this is so, so well done. Everything felt concise and purposeful. The author did not keep back, did not take the simple street when it came to following through on her characters' decisions or whether they survived the battles. Keeping a reader who has read quite a bit within a certain genre on their toes isn't an simple task, but she did it in spades. My toes. Are. Exhausted.If you're a fan of books like THRONE OF GLASS, DEFY, EMBER IN THE ASHES, SHADOW AND BONE, and the like, then grab this, immediately.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch is a fantasy story set in a lande where magic is wielded by the ruling class. There are eight kingdoms, four for the seasons and four others who look down on seasonal societies. The book takes put after the kingdom of Winter has fallen. Only a few refugees of the kingdom survive and they are on the run, trying to search a method to retake their land and reclaim their home. Meira, a survivor, is one of these refugees. She and her fellow companions travel with Mather, the heir to the Winterian throne. It is up to them to restore Mather to his rightful role and Meira wants to create sure that she has a huge part to play.I enjoyed this story quite a lot. Meira is a powerful female lead who has a amazing personality. She wants desperately to create something of her life and play a role in restoring Winter to its rightful put as a kingdom. She was only a baby when Winter was destroyed and therefore has none of her own memories of her old home. Meira doesn’t feel like she fits in anywhere and strives to do her best for her people. She is fierce and fiesty. She doesn’t war hand to hand very well but she’s a master at ranged weapons, especially the chakram. She jumps into new, risky situations without that much thought for her own safety and she doesn’t always obtain things right. Despite her mistakes and her young age, she’s able to create a difference and have a growing part in the globe around e rest of the cast of characters in this book are touch and go. Mather and Sir, the general who rescued the kids during the fall of Winter, are well developed characters. Mather grew up with Meira and is one of the love interests. Sir is a powerful leader who doesn’t allow anyone forget that their doing what’s best for the greater good, not just for themselves. The other characters aren’t as well developed though. There are a lot of smaller characters throughout the story that play significant roles but that are rather forgettable. I obtain all of the secondary characters confused and forget about them whenever they aren’t mentioned for awhile. I would have liked more development in that e storyline and the globe building was my favorite part of this book. Though the writing is a bit slow, especially in the middle of the book, the globe is fascinating. I loved learning about the different kingdoms and the magic that only their rulers can wield. I found the differences between kingdoms to be interesting and I liked the backstory of Winter and how it fell. Winter’s society reminded me a lot of the Nords in the android game Skyrim for some reason, most likely because they lived in very cold climates and were beautiful tough. I look forward to learning more about them and their history in the next e action in Snow Like Ashes is exciting and fast-paced. There are a lot of duels, battles, and war scenes, all of which are written in a very fast way. There is not overwrought exposition and you jump right into the action. The story begins with the refugees living on the street while trying to search a locket which used to keep Winter’s magic power. After that the story gets progressively more complex and interesting. By the latest couple of chapters I was really invested in where the story was e only downsides I really had was the slow-paced middle of the book and the love triangle. Halfway through the book I felt that the story slowed down and spent far too much time on Meira’s interest in the two male leads. I’m not a fan of love triangles at the best of times and, while I did like both potential love interests, I could have done with less of that angst and more story progression. Once this hurdle was overcome, however, the book sped on to some awesome scenes and plot twists.Overall, this is a really amazing book. The globe is promising and I look forward to reading more in the series. If you like fantasy stories that focus on the growth of a teenage protagonist, check this one out!Visit my blog for more reviews!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Meira is one of only 8 Winterians left who are free. The rest have been enslaved to Angar, the King of Spring. For years they have been hunting for the two halves of the locket, which will hopefully restore their magic and support them rescue their people and rebuild is book has been sitting on my shelf (along with the other 2 books in the trilogy) for about a year now. I read this as a buddy read with someone in one of my Goodreads groups and want I had picked it up sooner. I really enjoyed the story and it moved beautiful quickly. I love the idea of “seasons” for kingdoms where the atmosphere of the kingdom goes along with the name. The characters were written very well but I could have used more in the globe building area.When it comes to the history of how the overall magic system came to be, it was a bit overwhelming and complicated to follow. Info about the history of the kingdoms and their conduits were just thrown at us in one spot in the book. I had to re-read it and still had a hard time placing everything and just had to move on. However, it doesn’t take away from the overall enjoyment of the story and I don’t’ feel that you really need to understand it as in depth as it was ira isn’t your typical 16 year old. She doesn’t wish to be a “Lady” but a soldier who wars for her kingdom. She spent her whole life training and is finally allowed to fight. When she is captured, she is reunited with the enslaved Winterians but they see her as a beacon of hope. Someone who was sent to rescue them.I really liked Mather’s character. He was willing to support Meira when others just wanted to push her aside. He is her best mate but she wants more. I was totally shipping them until Theron came into the picture. He is amazing looking and likeable right from the start. Meira feels a connection with him and I really hope they end up as a thing!I will definitely be picking up the next book in the series because I am curious to see how things end up with Meira and the kingdom of Winter now that the plot twist was thrown in the mix!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    For those looking at the Chakram on the front cover, this is not about Xena Fighter Princess, nor is it like Xena. This is a very various story. I wrote a review on Goodreads, but I'm keeping it short and easy Dislikes:Lack of Special Names (the capital of Winter is Januari)Info Dumps (nearly every chapter)Predictable Plot (due to the information dumps)Lack of Side Hero Development (side characters are mentioned before disappearing and only appear long enough later to provide two or three lines of dialogue and then disappear again)Love Triangle (Not every YA novel needs one authors, seriously)Sir (I will say this, he created Meira feel beautiful worthless as she mentions several times in the book. When he finally compliments her, my heart broke a small for Meira because she held on so strongly to his words. It just came method too late in the book for me to really like Sir as a hero at all.)My Likes:Main Character: While a small whiney, not overly so and she makes up for it with her occasional funny moments, her use of a Chakram, and her ability to actually war instead of standing behind eron (What he does for Meira towards the end of the book just created me smile.)The actual thought into the book (I can tell this book was planned out very well, though the information dumps could be a small overkill sometimes, at least the author knew her world. Sometimes I feel like authors just throw in a cookie cutter world, but the author seems to know her worlds well even if it confused me in a few places.)So while this book wasn't perfect, it was still beautiful good. I just want that the information dumps would have been condensed down another 50-100 pages less because I honestly think it could have and it would have moved the plot better without spoiling so much to create it predictable. While it's no Xena Fighter Princess, Meira doesn't create a half poor heroine.Will I be picking up the next novel? Probably not, it's just not my cup of tea, but I'm not stopping others, it could obtain better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Like Ashes []  2020-1-14 19:23

    "We are Winter."I've been waiting to obtain a keep of a copy of Snow Like Ashes for a while now. It took a small over a year but I finally created that happen. As such, I think it's the excellent book to review as a kick-off for is book is exactly what I crave in a YA fantasy novel. I've had it on my to-read list since before it was released. The synopsis alone was enough to catch my attention among the other fabulous young adult novels of the time. And what fantasy lover could resist this cover? You don't see chakrams very often as a weapon of choice, giving it that stand-out vibe. Sure, the cover shouldn't matter to the story but if I'm being perfectly honest, an intriguing cover is more likely to catch my attention in the shop than a bland one. I think we all judge a book by it's cover (quite literally) to an extent.Within the beautiful picture, however, is an equally intriguing world: Primoria, the land of the four Season kindgoms, and the four Rhythm kingdoms. With country names like Winter, Spring, Summer, and Autumn (and capital cities oddly related to months), I expected a level of cheesiness. Instead, Raasch brough her A-game and provided a globe steeped in history that we've only gotten a taste for in this first novel. There's magic afoot but not in the traditional sense of witches and wizards. I thought that giving it to only eight people was an interesting method to add the element to the story without making it a hero in its own right, as magic can become.With amazing worldbuilding, I also have to hand it to Raasch on her writing. The pace moved a bit slow for my tastes but it soon didn't matter as I was swept away by the story and suddenly the slowness created all the more ira, a young orphan and member of the remaining refugees from Winter, had a level of feistiness I've come to love from YA heroines. She stood up for what she believed in, but also knew when to back down and do what was best for the situation (and not necessarily for her). That additional hero trait endeared her to me throughout the whole novel. Her gang of fellow refugees helped set the scene of this fantasy by being as diverse as people generally are, something not always found in YA books, I've noticed. "Sir" acts as the leader, training and protecting what small remains of his former home. He always felt like the rock in their group, the glue holding everyone together and I think that's how Meira imagined him too. And then there's Mather, king-to-be and just about ready for his responsibilities as Meira is to be called a lady. His confusion read as, well, human and gave him that additional level of real-ness that I felt Meira had too.What I wasn't a fan of, however, was the insta-love. Okay, maybe not truly instant as it'd been brewing for years, but her Mather right from the get-go (only a few pages in and she's already commenting about him) was a bit too much. I like a amazing romance in my stories, don't obtain me wrong, but I also wish time to crave two characters getting together before they do. That build typically entwines me into the story even more, as a reader, but this pushed me away 'd think that she'd leave it at that, maybe allow the two have their thing. But nope. Enter the dreaded love triangle.I was so disappointed by this. For all the amazing aspects of this book, this dropped it from 5 to 4 stars for me. I would've been okay if she and Theron had become mates because that's perfectly reasonable considering the situation they're placed in by the powers-that-be. And Meira's actions led me to believe that was the direction their relationship was heading, especially compared to how she acted around Mather. Up until the latest fourth of the book, one heated encounter, and poof, Theron's in the android game and even a small ahead of his competition. Where I obtain hung up on the whole matter is that I never got the impression that they were going to be a "thing" based on their interactions with each other. We obtain the Meira/Mather from the beginning but this goes from (almost forced) friendship into something much spite this element of YA that plagues the genre, I truly enjoyed Snow Like Ashes and look forward to reading the sequel (fingers crossed that the library gets it soon). Raasch provides an enchanting fantasy swirling with magic and war, with a tip of romance. I'm glad I finally got the possibility to read it, and that it was the book to pull me from my most latest reading slump as an added bonus!Favorite Quotes"Don't you wish more than this?" I breathe, finally looking up at him. [...] "Every day of my life.""Even the strongest blizzard starts with a single snowflake."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    What a fabulous book! It was hard to place down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    I am overwhelmed after reading this book! I never had been aware of the imprisonment of the thousands of people from the Baltic countries by Stalin! I am still shaken to the core at the atrocities that were committed during those years! I read both this book and Salt to the Sea back to back! The author is to be commended for the research she did for both books! Thank you, Ruta for bringing this to light....a time in history overshadowed by the [email protected]#$%!ler and the concentration camps! What horrors Hitler and Stalin were capable of is still hard to understand and accept! May history never repeat this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    Sell book under one title, i have already read this book under a various title. Not fair to readers. Choose one title and only one and it as that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    Amazing book. Simple read. I really enjoyed it, until the end. I had to go back TWICE to create sure I didn't miss something. It just drops off. Very strange the author took all that time to write such an engrossing story and just has it end so strangely. I don't think I would read anything from this author again if that's how she leaves her readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    Perfect read. Characters very well developed and we got an insight into Lithuania, not a country usually explored during WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    The book shows how evil prevails through out the world. It’s hard to believe human beings can be so evil to starve other human beings. I’m so glad I live in the USA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    I read this book in two days. It's fantastic, amazing. A very well told, heartwarming story. Sad, yet a page out of history that needs to be remembered and told over and over. And this story, though fiction, does indeed depict true events, feelings, and emotions--the trials and tribulations that method too a lot of went through during the years of Globe Battle II and following. You may need a tissue or two as you read this touching story, but it needs to be read. Loved it, a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    Love this book. The story is awesome and so well written. If you read this book you must read Salt to the Sea by the same author. They go together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    1941, 15-year-old Lina Vilkas’ father never arrived home and now someone is banging at their door. Lina, her 10-year-old brother Jonas and their mother Elena are ordered to package only necessities from their home in Lithuania by Soviet officers and charged as e Soviets packed them into cargo trains with other families. Here is where our journey with the Vilkas’ and other Lithuanians really begins. They didn’t know it but they were headed to work camps in Siberia.I love historical fiction especially when it is steeped in history and recounts actual events. Sepetys did extensive research, and it shows in this well-written, poignant tale. At the end we learn she interviewed survivors. One survivor similar much of what happened to Lina. While I am always shocked at the cruelty and horrors of this time period, I am often left in awe at not only the strength of those who faced these inhuman conditions but at the compassion they show. More than once their story moved me to tears as I listened. We also bore witness to humanities selfish side when its survival is on the line. It will give the reader pause and demand reflection as we ponder how we would petys didn’t shy away from the horrific happenings that occurred nor did she share happenings just to shock. Her characters were wonderfully flawed, and she showed both their strength and weaknesses. Even the opponent had shades of gray from some who helped to others who seemed to have fun their cruelty.Emily Klien narrated and did a unbelievable job. She added another layer of depth and emotion to the tale. From her accents to tone she brought Lena’s courage and her mother’s strength to life. I felt she did the dialect justice and each key hero had their own distinct voice. I will seek more audios narrated by her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) []  2020-1-18 19:34

    Amazing book, amazing and prompt delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Amazing paper. Amazing size. Place a nice silver frame on it and it looks spectacular on my living room.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Attractive and meaning poster!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Unbelievable picture, which create you relaxed and wonder about the world, and the meaning of life.I can really recommend it to everybody with love.Anders Biörck

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    I only want to have seen the exhibit in person. I love Ashes and Snow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    this poster is not on the same nice paper as the others i have from the actual exhibition, like i thought it would be. thin and looking, with a little dent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Torn and had huge creases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    I'm not exactly sure what it is about this photograph, but it speaks to me. I had the poster professionally matted and framed for my office and have received a lot of compliments!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    I first saw this poster on the Ashes and Snow www service (a attractive website, by the way) and noticed that the of the poster and shipping was lower at than just the poster at Ashes and Snow. My mate was very satisfied to obtain this as a birthday bonus as she had seen it 8 months back at the school her daughter attended and was a bit mesmerized by it. Thanks, Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes and Snow Mexico Boy Reading to Elephant Poster (Ashes and Snow Posters) []  2020-1-31 5:13

    Excellent picture for grandson's nursery. Appeals to kids and to the love of a amazing book. Spotted picture in doctor's office and had to have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    Thirteen-year-old Gabriella Schramm lives a comfortable and satisfied life with her middle class family in Berlin, Germany in 1932. Her father is a scientist who studies and teaches physics at the university. Because of his work, Albert Einstein is a mate of the family. Gaby enjoys reading books, going on after school outings to the zoo and the films with her best friend, Rosa, and spending summers at her family's vacation home by the lake. Her largest worry up until now has been the teacher who confiscates the books he catches Gaby reading during class. But all that is about to change, as Adolf Hitler grows in popularity and rst, Hitler's personal army, in their brown uniforms, begins to fill the roads of Berlin. Then the persecution of Jews and communists begins. Intellectuals and scientists like Gaby's father are a target, too, for teaching un-German ideas and for not supporting the Nazis. Gaby is increasingly worried that her older sister Ulla's boyfriend may be a Nazi. And even the books Gaby enjoys escaping into in these troubled times are becoming a target. As her entire globe changes and seems to crumble around her, Gaby must come to terms with all that she has hes is a fascinating and often troubling look at life in Germany during Hitler's rise to power. Gaby was a very likeable heroine. I especially enjoyed that she loved reading and that books were her escape into another world, which reminded me of myself at her age. If you have fun historical fiction and are interested in this time period then I highly recommend you read this book, and I also think it would create amazing supplemental reading for preteens and young teens learning about this era of history in school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    I really liked this book. At the end of every chapter it still had me into it. At times I was so focused on reading the chapters flew by.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    I have fun historical fiction, but it almost seems unfair to classify this book: it rises above genre. It's a coming-of-age story, & it's a human story. Post-WWI Germany is just its tumultuous setting, although "just" is hardly an appropriate adjective. When we define something as a "setting," there seems to be the implication that it's distinctly less relevant than plot or characterization. But of course, none of us can really separate the setting of our lives from the plot, & it is often as much our setting as anything that gives us character, makes us who we are. Lasky writes as if she understands this hes is as fun to read as mind-candy & perhaps it is that that makes its beauty all the more stunning. Several times, I had to stop reading--just to breathe. It's not a breathless adventure novel; it's just that its...authenticity...takes you that much by surprise. In retrospect, I don't think I've ever read a truer book, on either side of the library.If you've ever read anything else by Kathryn Lasky, assume nothing about this novel. I read The Night Journey to the children the week before I read Ashes. Thirty years have passed between the publication of the two books, & it shows. Lasky's skill has developed so incredibly in those intervening years that she is almost unrecognizable from one book to another. Ashes reads as if it were a story she'd been wanting to tell her whole life & finally, she's pulled together the words & the images, & the effect is a masterpiece, a life's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    This book is amazing I've reread it so a lot of times I love it my favorite types of books are historical fiction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    What an wonderful novel. Reading about the Holocaust and the time period of Globe Battle II and historical fiction really interests me so this book was excellent and fit all three categories.Even though Gaby and her family are fictional characters they fit true enough that I could imagine a various kid in Germany during this time period to go through the same conflicting thoughts and emotions. Gaby wishes to have a satisfied and excellent life with her family, but with Hitler rising to power this is soon becoming impossible. At just 13, she quickly understands that things are changing in the globe that are history in the making and she tries to soak in as much info as r example, when the adults in her life discuss affairs in which they believe are too young for her to hear, she eavesdrops on them and then builds conclusions on her own. Gaby is an incredibly intelligent hero and I love how she is able to still think for herself in this time of brainwashing and corruption. Her family is not Jewish, but they still hate the Nazis who infiltrate their city and impose rules and laws upon people which they feel are wrong and unjust.I've actually never read a book set during the time of Hitler's rise to power from the perspective of a non-Jewish girl. It was a very interesting perspective. You can clearly tell the author took a lot of time researching the time period, the happenings that took place, and the general history during this time.I also liked how the author implemented a lot of necessary happenings that lead to Hitler's rise as chancellor, such as the Hitler Youth (which I have a private connection to, since my own grandfather escaped Germany to avoid being place into the Hitler Youth) and the banning of Jews from establishments, the political side of Hitler's rise, and book burning'e book ended with some book burning's and it created me think about the symbolic book burning's that still occur today. A lot of people agree that this is a dark time in history for literature, but if you think about it, this still happens today! I mean, we have a whole week in the year dedicated to banned books. Isn't that the same thing? It's really disgusting how items like this still happens.And within the novel Gaby feels deeply affected by these burning's because she often turned to the fictional worlds to avoid the harsh realities of her globe falling apart around her. There is one particular quote in the book I thoroughly enjoyed; Gaby is at a book burning fire in Opernplatz, and her sister's (Ulla) boyfriend (Karl) has just "rescued" a book that Gaby's father had written. Gaby becomes mad because Karl had to do this in secret and only did it to be seen as a amazing person in Ulla's eyes, when in reality Karl has burned countless other books, making him a hypocrite. Gaby yells at Karl and Ulla exclaims that Gaby should hold quiet so no one else hears her proclamations and Gaby retorts with: "I'll say whatever I want. I'm not a book. You can't burn me!" (pg 304)Truly, a unbelievable act of defiance. And such a unbelievable quote. Definitely going down as one of my favorites ever. Makes you want that more people would stick up for themselves like this.[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    GREAT DEAL & NO COPLAINTS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    Gabrielle Schramm lives in the kind of family that encourages intellectual curiosity and exploration. Her father is a scientist who works with Albert Einstein and loves to probe the mysteries of the universe. As for Gaby, she loves to read --- often more than one book at a time --- so much that she sometimes gets in problem for reading novels or poetry when she should be studying. But Gaby has small clue at the begin of her story just how contentious reading --- and books --- will become over the next several months of her 's 1932, and Gaby is starting to realize that things are changing in Berlin. She doesn't understand everything that's going on, but she knows that Hitler's Brown Shirts (the personal troops forces known as the Sturmabteilung, or SA) often take over film theaters and clubs, that comments belittling the work of Einstein and other "Jewish physicists" are becoming more popular, and that she herself, with her pale blond braids, has been receiving more comments about her appealing (i.e., Aryan) looks.When Gaby's older sister becomes romantically involved with a young Nazi sympathizer, and when Einstein starts talking about emigrating to America, Gabrielle begins to understand the extent of the changes the rising Nazi party will have on her life. But when the Nazis begin burning books --- some of the very books Gabrielle treasures --- the true horror of the nascent Nazi regime finally sinks in. Can the Schramms continue to discover their intellectual pursuits in this fresh society?In ASHES, Kathryn Lasky thoughtfully interweaves Gabrielle's growing understanding of the adult globe --- especially surrounding problems of sexuality --- with her increasing awareness of other adult concerns: politics, betrayal, divided loyalties and threats to freedom. Gaby is a sophisticated but believable narrator who uses a "Diary of Shame" to chronicle the happenings she witnesses that compromise her own sense of morality. She writes, "I feel as though I am seeing things I shouldn't see. I feel that somehow I have stumbled into the wrong place, the wrong world. I am a peeper, a voyeur...."As she observes the rapidly changing globe around her, she gains a fresh sense of the moral intricacies of her society, even as she uses her father's (and Einstein's) insights to maintain perspective: "How much simpler the rest of the universe felt compared to this little part here on Earth. I picked up my binoculars and turned them toward the night sky that was puddled with light, adrift with shoals of stars. What were we, I thought, but a speck in an insignificant galaxy, among countless galaxies with millions perhaps billions of stars."ASHES, which contains real-life historical figures (and several others inspired by history) among its cast of characters and opens each chapter with an excerpt from one of Gaby's beloved books, is a moving exploration of some beautiful profound questions. The narrator's own enthusiasm for learning undoubtedly will inspire readers to discover history, literature, the universe and their relationship to their own worlds and experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    This was a very detailed book, I liked it. I felt like I was with was a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes []  2020-1-11 19:20

    I am a huge fan of this author, so I picked this up all ready to be excited about the story and to benefit from Ms. Lasky's amazing talent. Unfortunately, this novel never really grabbed me. I am not this book's target audience, which I would guess to be middle schoolers. The writing to me felt rather flat. I can't fault the author on her history, however I think it's the story that suffered here. It takes put during such a turbulent time, and Gabrielle is 13 years old - also a turbulent time. Those two things together should have produced wonderful drama and emotion, however they weren't conveyed here. The plot felt very contrived and the pacing very strange. This girl lives next door to Albert Einstein, gets to wear a scarf belonging to Josephine Baker and ends up at the theatre with Goebbels??I feel that this would still have worked well as an upper elementary introduction to this time period had not the story of Gabrielle's sister Ulla been included. Ulla falls in love with a Nazi and gets pregnant. There's much discussion between Gabrielle and her mate Rosa about "doing it" and even a visit to a cabaret to witness political humour, nude backdrops, and daring costumes.I think the only time the book succeeds are the chapters describing Hitler's election. Here is the raw emotion, the confusion and fear that seemed to be missing earlier. This occurs two thirds of the method in however and I found myself really having a hard time sticking with this book up to that point. I can't imagine this being a famous choice with teens. This story is told so much better in the book The Boy Who Dared. This one is just OK for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    The Outlander series is a commitment and a journey into history with some fantasy and detailed living in very hard times. Book #6 of 8 was a long book (approx 1400 pages). I read on my Kindle and have the mobile application so I can read wherever I am. Book 6 is set in the beginning forming of America. While very exciting read there are some not so exciting parts about how people settled from other countries and the blending of religions and beliefs. Food, medical attention, and shelter and also in discussed in detail which may be boring to some readers, but I search it very helpful in understanding why history evolved as it did back in the 1700's. I loved this book and have started book #7. The author and her squad have done extensive research to hold this fictional story on track with the documented history happenings as they happened. A lot of respect to Diana Gabaldon and her squad for writing these unbelievable books. Enjoy!! PEACE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Disjointed read and method to descriptive of things that are so repetitive it makes it ridiculous reading. I love , Dickens, Irving- kings of going overboard with descriptions but this was just an atrocity. I want she'd use and editor for at least these kinds of things.While I love the characters and have grown attached and the historical accuracy and admire the research therein- the only amazing novels of the series were Outlander and The Drums of o bad. I was so hoping this to be a better read.E

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Well, I think this will be my latest Outlander book. I started reading them when the first one had just come out and loved it. The next few were also good. Gabaldon is quite a amazing writer and has a method with words that I really have fun but this book and the one before it aren't novels, they are a group of vignettes so sewn together with such a thin thread that I don't plan to waste my time on any more of them. I love a amazing long book that I can really obtain into but 1500 pages of short stories is not what I had in mind. Plus, its starting to feel like I'm reading the Perils of Pauline, just one trauma after another. The book could easily been chop by more than half and had movement to it, instead, I got so tired of reading it that I began speed reading and skimming the latest several hundred pages. This isn't like me at all, I love to read and have loved these books but I've had enough. If I really wish to know what happens to the Frasers then I'll watch the TV series but frankly, I don't care anymore. This in itself is a shame because Gabaldon is such a talented writer, she is extremely readable and her attention to detail and historical research is so impressive although she needs to do a small more ornithological research (you don't search mockingbirds and balsam firs at the same altitude). But that is a minor complaint. I have read other reviews and have seen that other people have the same issues I have with these latest books. Take note, Diana!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Diana Gabaldon, author and Davina Porter, narrator have held me in her "Outlander" series story from book one. I have been transported into her world. I'm now on amazing 7 of 8 and I am grieving the end. I admit to watching the Outlander series on STARZ TV before beginning the novel. I RECOMMEND listening to the Audible Audio books rather than reading them yourself. Davina Porter, Narrator, brings the story to life. I have been listening to audio books and have been a member of Audible since the1990s and I have never heard a narrator as amazing as Davina Porter. My plan is to register to all of the books AGAIN to catch anything I may have missed!!Although there is unbelievable romance in this series, the romance is not the basic theme. As the series progresses, the characters mature. At first, Claire got on my nerves as she did not know how to control her mouth which always got her in trouble. She definitely matures out of this as we all should after our 20s. I am definitely going to look for extra Diana Gabaldon books and plan to follow Davina Porter individually as her narrations will, I suspect, bring any book to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Why is the audible ver of this book not available on Kindle? It is THE ONLY book in the series that doesn't have the option to it audibly as well.(Of course, I will change the rating to 5-Stars once this is corrected and audible is available for it.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Diana Gabaldon's story-telling is a vast adventure into a historical experience of the world. Her characters are by now like family members I care about deeply. My husband and I are reading these books out loud, so we savor the narrative as if it is unfolding in our own life. Then, watching the series on Amazon/Starz is the icing on the cake; the actors chosen to portray Claire and Jamie are heart-breakingly excellent for the roles. We are reading our method through all 8 books in this series, and loving it. I must say, she does have a not good ability to describe gory info and gets over the top in descriptions of crimes at times for my taste, but ultimately she is describing a historical period of swash-buckling violence. So, maybe the detailed descriptions point out the reality of the violence - from the victim's view, for what that is worth. She also writes about from the woman's perspective as well, which is really awesome and unusual for most writers I have read. These characters are flawed - and it becomes frustrating - but then one has to remember that we all are. I search myself annoyed with the narrative only to return to it and develop insight, move on, and become reengaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Oh, what a delicious delight! This is the sixth book in the "Outlander" series by Diana Gabaldon and we search our favorite time traveler, Claire Fraser, living with Jamie on Fraser Ridge in North Carolina in 1772 through 1776 with the American Revolution hovering in the background--and sometimes the foreground. I think this is the best of the bunch since "Outlander," the first and by far the best in the series. And while you will learn a bit of American history, the book is primarily an 18th century soap opera. And what fun it is! We have kidnappings, murder, revenge, the scandal of unwed pregnancies, wayward young men, fires, hangings, more kidnappings, more fires...you name e incredibly addictive soap opera plot aside, this book--as are the others in the series--is really about love, honor and duty. Love for family, love for country, the honor of the clan, the duty to serve others. Reading between the lines, it's tip on how we should live.A word of warning: You must start with "Outlander" and work your method through the series in the proper order. Taking this on is quite a reading and time commitment. The books are all long. Very long. "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" checks in at more than 1,400 pages. But they are SO GOOD! This is the ultimate in escapist reading. And when you realize how amazing it is and [email protected]#$%! would never end...well, it's so long it almost doesn't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    I love Diana. What more is there to say. Been reading and rereading her books since the 90’s I have her books in book form, audible and kindle There is actually a story behind this book, will a private story. The book came out when I had evacuated Houston for hurricane Rita. We had gone up to the northwest corner of Arkansas about an hour outside of Small Rock. My cousin’s husband worked as a DJ in Searcy. So when he went to work that day, I had given him the to go by the local bookstore and pick up the book for me. It was the day it was being released. When he got to the bookstore they have not even place the books on the shelves yet. They had to go digging through boxes to search it. He brought the book home and couldn’t imagine someone reading a book that was that thick.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Why is the audible ver of this book not available on Kindle? It is THE ONLY book in the series that doesn't have the option to it audibly as well.(Of course, I will change the rating to 5-Stars once this is corrected and audible is available for it.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Diana Gabaldon's story-telling is a vast adventure into a historical experience of the world. Her characters are by now like family members I care about deeply. My husband and I are reading these books out loud, so we savor the narrative as if it is unfolding in our own life. Then, watching the series on Amazon/Starz is the icing on the cake; the actors chosen to portray Claire and Jamie are heart-breakingly excellent for the roles. We are reading our method through all 8 books in this series, and loving it. I must say, she does have a not good ability to describe gory info and gets over the top in descriptions of crimes at times for my taste, but ultimately she is describing a historical period of swash-buckling violence. So, maybe the detailed descriptions point out the reality of the violence - from the victim's view, for what that is worth. She also writes about from the woman's perspective as well, which is really awesome and unusual for most writers I have read. These characters are flawed - and it becomes frustrating - but then one has to remember that we all are. I search myself annoyed with the narrative only to return to it and develop insight, move on, and become reengaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Oh, what a delicious delight! This is the sixth book in the "Outlander" series by Diana Gabaldon and we search our favorite time traveler, Claire Fraser, living with Jamie on Fraser Ridge in North Carolina in 1772 through 1776 with the American Revolution hovering in the background--and sometimes the foreground. I think this is the best of the bunch since "Outlander," the first and by far the best in the series. And while you will learn a bit of American history, the book is primarily an 18th century soap opera. And what fun it is! We have kidnappings, murder, revenge, the scandal of unwed pregnancies, wayward young men, fires, hangings, more kidnappings, more fires...you name e incredibly addictive soap opera plot aside, this book--as are the others in the series--is really about love, honor and duty. Love for family, love for country, the honor of the clan, the duty to serve others. Reading between the lines, it's tip on how we should live.A word of warning: You must start with "Outlander" and work your method through the series in the proper order. Taking this on is quite a reading and time commitment. The books are all long. Very long. "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" checks in at more than 1,400 pages. But they are SO GOOD! This is the ultimate in escapist reading. And when you realize how amazing it is and [email protected]#$%! would never end...well, it's so long it almost doesn't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    I love Diana. What more is there to say. Been reading and rereading her books since the 90’s I have her books in book form, audible and kindle There is actually a story behind this book, will a private story. The book came out when I had evacuated Houston for hurricane Rita. We had gone up to the northwest corner of Arkansas about an hour outside of Small Rock. My cousin’s husband worked as a DJ in Searcy. So when he went to work that day, I had given him the to go by the local bookstore and pick up the book for me. It was the day it was being released. When he got to the bookstore they have not even place the books on the shelves yet. They had to go digging through boxes to search it. He brought the book home and couldn’t imagine someone reading a book that was that thick.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    I have read all of the previous books in this series and loved them, but had to place this one down for good. To be quite frank, there's a lot of really explicit rape in this book, and it's unnecessary and uncomfortable. The plot is not advanced at all. As always, Gabaldon's writing is pleasant to read, but the content is what was lacking for me. I'm about halfway through and have stuck it on my bookshelf. Part of me wants to know what happens to Claire and Jamie, Bri and Roger, but if I had to read about one more hero getting sexually assaulted I was going to be physically ill. Gabaldon should also realize that, with the astronomically high rates of assault, a book including rape stage after rape stage wouldn't go over well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    These are generally amazing books, even amazing in part. Well written, unbelievable basic characters and compelling secondary characters, decent dialogue, captivating historical references and creative use of the always conflicting conundrum that surrounds a decent time travel ploy. What does obtain more than wearisome is the insane overuse of the lady porn. I obtain that this is a thing for some people but if your goal is the constant bodice ripping there are kajillions of poorly authored books of low quality that fit the bill. Since these are amazing premises for literature and (other than the plethora of porn) otherwise well written it would be a decent twist if these fairly laughable interplays that remind you of the novel versions of an evening watching late night Cinemax were just fazed out altogether and allow the writing stand on its own two feet instead of always being bent over a desk with it’s skirt over it’s head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    I have read all of the previous books in this series and loved them, but had to place this one down for good. To be quite frank, there's a lot of really explicit rape in this book, and it's unnecessary and uncomfortable. The plot is not advanced at all. As always, Gabaldon's writing is pleasant to read, but the content is what was lacking for me. I'm about halfway through and have stuck it on my bookshelf. Part of me wants to know what happens to Claire and Jamie, Bri and Roger, but if I had to read about one more hero getting sexually assaulted I was going to be physically ill. Gabaldon should also realize that, with the astronomically high rates of assault, a book including rape stage after rape stage wouldn't go over well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    These are generally amazing books, even amazing in part. Well written, unbelievable basic characters and compelling secondary characters, decent dialogue, captivating historical references and creative use of the always conflicting conundrum that surrounds a decent time travel ploy. What does obtain more than wearisome is the insane overuse of the lady porn. I obtain that this is a thing for some people but if your goal is the constant bodice ripping there are kajillions of poorly authored books of low quality that fit the bill. Since these are amazing premises for literature and (other than the plethora of porn) otherwise well written it would be a decent twist if these fairly laughable interplays that remind you of the novel versions of an evening watching late night Cinemax were just fazed out altogether and allow the writing stand on its own two feet instead of always being bent over a desk with it’s skirt over it’s head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    The Outlander series is a commitment and a journey into history with some fantasy and detailed living in very hard times. Book #6 of 8 was a long book (approx 1400 pages). I read on my Kindle and have the mobile application so I can read wherever I am. Book 6 is set in the beginning forming of America. While very exciting read there are some not so exciting parts about how people settled from other countries and the blending of religions and beliefs. Food, medical attention, and shelter and also in discussed in detail which may be boring to some readers, but I search it very helpful in understanding why history evolved as it did back in the 1700's. I loved this book and have started book #7. The author and her squad have done extensive research to hold this fictional story on track with the documented history happenings as they happened. A lot of respect to Diana Gabaldon and her squad for writing these unbelievable books. Enjoy!! PEACE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes: Outlander, Book 6 []  2019-12-31 18:46

    Disjointed read and method to descriptive of things that are so repetitive it makes it ridiculous reading. I love , Dickens, Irving- kings of going overboard with descriptions but this was just an atrocity. I want she'd use and editor for at least these kinds of things.While I love the characters and have grown attached and the historical accuracy and admire the research therein- the only amazing novels of the series were Outlander and The Drums of o bad. I was so hoping this to be a better read.E

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Well, I think this will be my latest Outlander book. I started reading them when the first one had just come out and loved it. The next few were also good. Gabaldon is quite a amazing writer and has a method with words that I really have fun but this book and the one before it aren't novels, they are a group of vignettes so sewn together with such a thin thread that I don't plan to waste my time on any more of them. I love a amazing long book that I can really obtain into but 1500 pages of short stories is not what I had in mind. Plus, its starting to feel like I'm reading the Perils of Pauline, just one trauma after another. The book could easily been chop by more than half and had movement to it, instead, I got so tired of reading it that I began speed reading and skimming the latest several hundred pages. This isn't like me at all, I love to read and have loved these books but I've had enough. If I really wish to know what happens to the Frasers then I'll watch the TV series but frankly, I don't care anymore. This in itself is a shame because Gabaldon is such a talented writer, she is extremely readable and her attention to detail and historical research is so impressive although she needs to do a small more ornithological research (you don't search mockingbirds and balsam firs at the same altitude). But that is a minor complaint. I have read other reviews and have seen that other people have the same issues I have with these latest books. Take note, Diana!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, Book 6) []  2020-1-22 20:41

    Diana Gabaldon, author and Davina Porter, narrator have held me in her "Outlander" series story from book one. I have been transported into her world. I'm now on amazing 7 of 8 and I am grieving the end. I admit to watching the Outlander series on STARZ TV before beginning the novel. I RECOMMEND listening to the Audible Audio books rather than reading them yourself. Davina Porter, Narrator, brings the story to life. I have been listening to audio books and have been a member of Audible since the1990s and I have never heard a narrator as amazing as Davina Porter. My plan is to register to all of the books AGAIN to catch anything I may have missed!!Although there is unbelievable romance in this series, the romance is not the basic theme. As the series progresses, the characters mature. At first, Claire got on my nerves as she did not know how to control her mouth which always got her in trouble. She definitely matures out of this as we all should after our 20s. I am definitely going to look for extra Diana Gabaldon books and plan to follow Davina Porter individually as her narrations will, I suspect, bring any book to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    Love this fresh series so much! Magic, friendship, such a fun family that everyone can relate to. Love it! Can't wait to dive into the second book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    My daughter is so excited to have a chapter book about a princess who looks like her. She also loves that it has a lot of science in it. Can’t wait to read the other books in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    Lindsay Harrel's writing is just attractive and her setting is a picturesque, snowy city in Cornwall, England with a wedding of a best friend. What a excellent method to obtain into the holiday though this story touches on the realities of Alzheimer's, it's truly about love - God's, family, friends, and a very unexpected relationship. Can Joy, a woman's counselor who takes care of everyone but herself, learn to take a leap of faith? Who does a counselor talk to when she needs comfort? Maybe if she stops "doing" and just " listens " hard enough, the answers will be found. And this author's characters are ones that I'd like as friends. They not only love each other, but they "hear" and "feel" each other. Ms. Harrel truly knows how to write the emotion into every scene. One of the most memorable for me is Joy's visit with her mom near the end of the book. It's one to be truly cherished! I love this novella and heartily recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    'I don't think I wish what God seems to have planned for my life.'This was my first book by Lindsay Harrel and I enjoyed it very much. I need to go back and read the book before it, though, because I felt as if I missed something. But I think it stands well as a stand alone. Like a Winter Snow is a precious small story of a woman who thinks she has to be there for folks but doesn't take the time for herself, not realizing that God has planned a amazing life for her also! It was truly a unbelievable small novella and I'm so glad I read it. I recommend this very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    Like a Winter Snow is a charming Christmas novella that ventures back to Port Willis and some of the characters in Lindsay Harrel’s novel, The Secrets of Paper and Ink. It was such fun to return and visit again. With a setting in Cornwall at Christmas and some fantastic, endearing characters, it was simple for me to settle in for this delightful, simple read. Joy and Oliver were unbelievable main characters, and I enjoyed seeing them emes of faith, friendship, and forgiveness of self are deftly woven into the novella. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and my only complaint is that I [email protected]#$%! were longer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    My daughter 7 loves the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    Adventure book for young readers. It's exciting. My daughter, who is usually bored by books her reading level, loved this. She read it for an hour and a half straight. She wanted the next book as soon as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    Have you ever felt you required to be all and do all for those you love, to be the one to create sure everything is right? It’s a very huge task and sometimes we aren’t to be that person. We forget to trust God, that He actually can handle things without at’s what Joy and Oliver both learn in this charming is story by author Lindsay Harrel is a sweet story of tender love and a attractive lesson of how God really does wish to take our burdens, and that He has a plan for our t in the quaint Cornish village of Port Willis, this tale comes alive with festiveness, charm and sweet romance. As well as an enchanting Christmas story of love.I truly loved reading this book because it had unbelievable relationships between Joy and her mate Sophie, as well as the newfound friendship with a gentleman named, Oliver. It was full of tender moments where Joy learned she didn’t need to have everything under control.I also loved the fact the author made these two main characters a bit older than the normal young couples you read about in books.I really enjoyed this book and liked how it got me in the holiday spirit. I highly recommend you pick this book up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    I don't usually read Christmas stories before Thanksgiving but the exceptions I've created so far this year have been on point. Like a Winter Snow is a charming novella, full of enough realism to hold it from going Hallmark status (no offense to that status, just not my preferred style). I loved the snowy scenes, the friendships, and getting to know Joy, who was such a delightful side hero in The Secrets of Paper and Ink. Joy's experience is a relatable one, and I can see her endearing herself to a lot of readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    Loved it, amazing gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    My daughter picked out this book at her school book fair a few weeks ago and it's been such a pleasure to read this together at night! The story is a excellent blend of fantasy (to hold my 5-year-old entertained and engaged) and relatable themes. There are plenty of amazing takeaways for young girls in here from friendship to insecurity to family struggles without the reader being clobbered over the head with the "lesson" so from that perspective, it's a amazing book to complement a lot of the discussions parents are already having with younger children through a medium they're excited about. The diversity of the characters is also a large bonus!We're excited to read the other books in the series and I'm so glad to see two fresh books slated for release next year, hold them coming!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    Super cute book, my small girl loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    Lindsay Harrel's recent offering, a cozy Christmas novella, is everything my Christmas dreams are created of--a romance and wedding in Cornwall, England! Seeing Sophia and Ginny again was a treat, and I loved getting to know Joy Beckman better. She required a story, and Lindsay did a beautiful bang-up e Christmas setting is spot on, although I kind of want I'd seen a small more in terms of special English Christmas customs, decorations, and so on. The chemistry between Joy and Oliver also pops and sizzles at a amazing clip. Usually, I don't like romances where the characters obtain serious after only a few days or weeks, but it works here because Joy and Oliver also respect and trust each other. They aren't "old," so to speak, but they have a refreshing level of maturity that makes their romance a pleasure to watch.Speaking of refreshing levels of things, I loved Joy's hero here. It turns on some age-old, but important questions like, "Where does a counselor go when she needs a counselor? When the person who helps and comforts everyone needs comfort, where do they search it?" Her struggle to break of her own expectations, search love, and do right by an aging parent were absolutely heartbreaking at times (my family is dealing with senior care right now, so it hit kind of close). The final stage between Joy and her mom was probably my favorite out of the entire ly, I enjoyed the small scenes that create a romance, and the secondary characters and arcs. For instance, I love that Oliver is not a "typical" romance hero, but a professor type with a mischief-making dog. I enjoyed both couples doing easy items like bonding over pizza, and Oliver and Joy driving to London together--only to obtain stuck thanks to a well-placed snowstorm. Overall Lindsay, bravo--can't wait for your next full novel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    This is my third Lindsay Harrel story and won’t be my last. I was hooked by the time I finished her short story “After the Tide,” which was for subscribing to her newsletter. Next I read “The Secrets of Paper and Ink,” where I met Joy and some of the other characters from “Like a Winter Snow.”Harrel has a method of transitioning between U.S. and U.K. locales and characters that keeps me returning to her stories; her writing has created me fall in love with every one of say I’m satisfied I discovered Lindsay Harrel in 2019 is an understatement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    Such a amazing story! As I read this I was in the hospital waiting room waiting on a parents surgery...fully identifying with the what-it's of the future. I also appreciated the story being about characters with a fuller backstory due to their age. Of course, an English snowstorm with the characters cuddled up before a fire was also super-romantical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    Lindsay Harrel brings to life the story of Joy Beckman, the best mate of Sophia from Harrel’s The Secrets of Paper and Ink. Here, Joy gets her own story told. This story is about giving up a life and career to support take care of a parent with Alzheimer’s and the pains and joys that come with that. It’s about a best friend’s wedding and about falling in love when you least expect it. This story is sweet and charming and one that readers will thoroughly enjoy!Series: Port WillisGenre: holiday, Christmas, ChristianPublisher: IndiePublication date: October 29, 2019Number of pages: 148An ARC copy of this book was provided for review by the author, as well as an ecopy of this book pre-ordered for review. A review was not needed and all views and opinions expressed are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Like a Winter Snow: A Heartwarming Christmas Romance []  2020-1-27 22:59

    This was my first Lindsay Harrel book and I really enjoyed it. Like a Winter Snow is a moving yet sweet contemporary novella with slightly older heroine and character (which is awesome). I could easily identify with Joy's 'Martha-like' personality. I wish to read the authors book The Secrets of Paper and Ink since it obviously shares characters with Like a Winter Snow. I bought a copy and wasn't needed to write a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1) []  2020-2-12 21:45

    Cute

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    The only thing I regret is not knowing about this book when Frank MacCourt was still alive! Like whyyyy!!! This is literally MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME! The story is heart breaking but the method it's told is HILARIOUS!!! I couldn't place the book down! I would read on the train everyday, literally laughing out loud and I'm sure people would wonder what the hell is wrong with me. I wouldn't "give a fiddler's fart!" Hahaha. His sense of humor is over the top. I laughed so poor when trying to picture what he was saying, which happened in every passage I read. I've never read a story this sad, yet very funny. Reading this book brought me so close to McCourt even though I never met him. I could relate in so a lot of anecdotes he told even though I grew up in a totally various country. I just want he was still alive so that I could meet him, and hug him, and tell him how much I love him. I would love to meet his bothers Malachy and Alphie. I saw that there is a museum in Ireland that depicts the story in the book. I will definitely go to Ireland and visit it. IT'S WELL WORTH THE TRAVEL. He definitely inspired me and created me change my writing style. This book is written in such a attractive method with such a free, strong voice. THANK YOU, FRANK MAcCOURT WHEREVER YOU ARE NOW, WHICH I'M SURE IS HEAVEN, FOR MAKING MY DAYS, MY SUBWAY RIDES, AND MY NIGHTS! THANK YOU FOR MAKING ME HAPPY WHILE READING YOU. I appreciate you and I love you! May your attractive soul rest in peace!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    THIS WAS A STRANGE BOOK AND NOTHING LIKE WHAT i WAS EXPECTING FROM REVIEWS AND THE INTRODUCTION. I FOUND MOST OF IT TO BE VERY DEPRESSING. THIS WAS A TRUE DESCRIPTION OF AN ALCOHOLIC FAMILIES LIFE TO THE EXTREME. MY HEART BROKE FOR THOSE POOR BABIES WHO LITERALLY STARVED TO DEATH WHILE DAD MERRILY BOUGHT DRINKS FOR HIMSELF AND HIS FRIENDS INSTEAD OF FOOD. I'M SURPRISED ANY OF THEM SURVIVED.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    UNabridged, if you can search one. There was never a finer use of audio to enhance the experience of a book. The book itself is indisputably a masterwork; enough has been written about that. I just wish to emphasize that for this book in particular -- an epic autobiography told almost entirely in the first person present-tense -- Frank McCourt's own voice is indispensable. Reading the words on the page cannot convey the difference between the southern and northern Ireland accents that he renders intuitively, adding a deep layer of characterization and color. His rendition of other people's voices -- neighbors, teachers, relatives, classmates -- enhances our understanding of those relationships. And most importantly, his *inflection* of each line of his own thoughts and dialogue conveys his actual experience of a situation in a method the written words could not: resignation where a reader might mistakenly infer desperation, the real intensity of the shame and guilt that pervaded so much of his childhood -- and yes, occasional wonderment, pride, even joy.Angela's Ashes is my single favorite book, which I own on CD and listen to every year (when it starts to rain in northern California -- fans will know why). For anyone who wants one unforgettable experience: LISTEN.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    I don’t think anyone would describe Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes, his acc of growing up not good and starving in Ireland, as funny. Nevertheless, the a lot of tragedies in his story are leavened by glimpses of humor. Near the beginning of his memoir, McCourt sets the stage in the following way:Out in the Atlantic Ocean amazing sheets of rain gathered to drift slowly up the River Shannon and settle forever in Limerick. The rain dampened the town from the Feast of Circumcision to Fresh Year’s Eve. It made a cacophony of hacking coughs, bronchial rattles, asthmatic wheezes, consumptive croaks. It turned noses into fountains, lungs into bacterial sponges…The rain drove us into the church–our refuge, our strength, our only dry place. At Mass, Benediction, novenas, we huddled in amazing damp clumps, dozing through priest drone, while steam rose again from our clothes to mingle with the sweetness of incense, flower and merick gained a reputation for piety, but we knew it was only the rain. (1-2)We learn that it rains in LimerickLimerick, but Limerick is not just wet, it stays wet for eternity. The amazing sheets of rain drift slowly up the River Shannon and settle forever in Limerick (emphasis added). We learned that the rain dampened the town from the Feast of Circumcision to Fresh Year’s Eve. Not only does the detail of the ‘Feast of Circumcision’ sound humorous, but that sentence actually means that it stayed wet from January 1 to December 31. In the next sentence, McCourt takes things up a notch by providing us with a marvelous list of alliteration and onomatopoeia. Again, the info are compelling. We don’t just have a cacophony of coughs, which sounds clichéd, but a cacophony of hacking coughs. Just when you think this can’t possibly obtain any worse, McCourt tops that sentence with the next one: “It turned noses into fountains, lungs into bacterial sponges.” After a few more sentences (omitted for brevity), we learn that the rain drove everyone into church, it was “our refuge, our strength, our only dry place.” In this sentence, McCourt gives us a list which acts like a garden path sentence. It implies that it’s talking about one thing (the piety of the people of Limerick), when it’s actually talking about something else (their want to obtain out of the rain). The next sentence gives us a marvelous photo of all those people crowded into church in “great damp clumps, dozing through priest drone,” and this sets us up for the punch line at the end, that Limerick gained a reputation for piety, but “we knew it was only the rain.”And so the story begins with some humor, to ease the method for the tragedies that follow. I highly recommend this memoir. Five Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    The author's flawless technique for blending the miseries of abject poverty with gritty humor is a roaring success. The dichotomy between the hugely loving and caring father and the alcohol-controlled Mr. Hyde is mind-boggling. For those afraid of facing up to this, allow me tell you that his father is not violent in a physical method (but in a method that is just as cruel), and a lot of times I wished I had the authors' father as my own. The good/bad hero of the father is vertheless, I found something hilarious on nearly every page; a striking achievement for this kind of work. You would not likely obtain through such a book without a generous helping of humor. There were only a couple of instances where I felt the author stretched the truth. On the whole, I believe it was 99% of what he said it r people who feel their own childhood was not all it could have cracked up to be, I heartily recommend this book. It might create you feel lucky, and may relieve some of your agony over your own upbringing. Not a lot of people growing up in the western globe in the latest 70 years have likely had such a miserable childhood as the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    McCourt's story was very well e setting was Ireland and he brought the flavorof the Emerald Isle along with all its greenery to a bigger than life status!So much of the book was depressing yet he intermingled comedic parts throughout to hold it balanced and exciting!The reader was shown the perils of poverty and all its brutal effects on a family: the father, mother, kids and most cases it brought out the worst of people but some characters showed strength and resilience beyond imagination!The ending provided no resolutions and left you with a grave feeling of despair and uncertainty!It was a sad tale of woe which makes one wonder if any of us could ever endure what Frank and his family did and live to actually write about it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    Loved the story. Loved McCourt's writing style. Too poor some folks from Limerick called him a liar and said he created up the material. Just because they did not have the same experience, does not create his tale less true. I think it all boils down to jealousy that his book was such a success, and perhaps embarrassment that Limerick had such a poverty problem. Truth is, lots of locations around the globe have poverty issues, and always will. I didn't think anything negative about Limerick when I read the book. The main thought I had was how alcohol addiction and abuse are so devastating to families.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    Not sure why this author won a Nobel or whatever it is he won, maybe because of the complexity of the writing. It is depressing, filled with minutia about the ill treatment of a boy and his poor, dysfunctional family. OMG! Don't this book if you wish to have an enjoyable read and have some fun. Buy and read it if you like to read sad, complicated story writing. I'm surprised Oprah Winfrey didn't have it on her book club list 'cause she likes dark, complicated, sad stories like this one. LOL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    I did not like anything. A real story - why would anyone wish to write about this. Unpleasant - yes, a shame, yes but does everyone wish to be bored bored bored my such vile behaviour. A drunken Irishman who was constantly abusing his kids and getting his wife pregnant. Could not keep a job and when he did manage to keep one for a week or two spent all the on drinking. And so it went on and on and on. I was hoping for something to change but no so I gave up. Depressing and such a shame that people have to go through such a dreadful life and definitely not something to be proud about and write about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angela's Ashes []  2020-2-1 1:16

    As a person of Irish descent, I decided it was high time I read Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt and to be honest, from the first chapter to the latest I was ready to throw the book versus the wall. In fact, after the end of each chapter, I would throw the book and scream. Not because it was a horribly written book, but because it brought out emotions about my Irish descent that I didn't know I though sometimes comically written, McCourt's childhood memories in Limerick, Ireland, primarily portrayed appalling living conditions, irresponsible parents, and ignorance beyond my opinion, most of this ignorance was from the ridiculously undying devotion to the Catholic Church. Even though, the church repeatedly slammed the door into the faces of poor, they still believed.I was very depressed when I finished the book and if I'd had one want in my life, it would have been to change my Irish latest name. But, then I asked myself, so, why did I hold reading? I was hoping for a satisfied ending, which it was...sort of. But, for other reasons, McCourt, he did write a compelling book or I wouldn't have picked it up off the floor night after night. Every stereotypical Irish joke is supported (i.e., drunken fathers, constantly pregnant mothers, etc.), which were hopefully attributed to the times.But I also learned about the pride of the Irish during some of the worst treatment and struggles that one country can endure. If nothing else, I've gained knowledge of the strength of the Irish. And meaning of those war songs I hear at the Irish pubs. ☺My recommendation: it's a fascinating read, but if your ancestors were Irish immigrants, prepare yourself for an emotional roller coaster ride. It's maddenly worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes Ashes - A Short Story []  2020-7-14 18:57

    This was a short story that brought the truth about the Nazi atrocities to life again. How a lot of stories are there like this one? I* pray that the globe may never again see a time such as this! Thought provoking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes Ashes - A Short Story []  2020-7-14 18:57

    I so miss short stories. Once upon a time magazines used to publish them, sometimes as a series. Those were the days :). When I was a tween, my Mom worked at the post office and brought home all sorts of magazines that were considered "non-deliverable", and I'd spend hours reading every short fiction story I could find. Well, it's nice to search one again. This story took about 10-15 mins to read and trust me, it's worth the single dollar you won't ere are people who like to criticize "Holocaust Fiction". They say it diminishes and minimizes the atrocious happenings there really are no words for. But when it's done well, as it is in Ashes Ashes, I say this type of fiction does just the opposite. It illuminates the topic brilliantly. It gives the reader the human element to the happenings that you simply do not obtain from history books, statistics and 'facts'.Like I said, this story is extremely well done. It's an emotional roller coaster but considering the short length of the story, even the most sensitive of readers can handle it, as well they should. Because despite the intensity and darkness of the topic matter, it's an enjoyable read. I was really amazed at how quickly and easily I fell in love with the main characters. I highly recommend reading this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes Ashes - A Short Story []  2020-7-14 18:57

    The author captures the complexities and contradictions of morality and social consciousness in this captivating short story. Very well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes Ashes - A Short Story []  2020-7-14 18:57

    A amazing story about how commited Nazi's whi because of circustance used threr position to gain an necessary jog. Even in the little village she fled to. One has the idea they were not completely fanatical Nazi's and tried to preactice a small humanity. The mother displayed wonderful courage allowing a Nazi official into her bed and a play thing for her child. I'm glad once the truth became know people helped her flee the area. A point that not all Nazo officials ( especially in the smaller villages) we not slay jew Nazi's that only went along with the regime to better their own perspective lives. Being a Nazi and practicing the worst of the Nazi Ideology were 2 seperate things in the smaller villages. Death and denunciation were the Nazi's main tool to hold to all the villages and towns. Yes her Nazi protector adhered to the philosophy but I have a feeling he shied away from the the most brutal acts of the regime. I hope hew Nazi lover the after the battle and INGA found love with a amazing German.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes Ashes - A Short Story []  2020-7-14 18:57

    Amazing story but I wish MORE! Have No idea what happened to them. It held my attention. Even though it was a short I don't like dangling!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ashes Ashes - A Short Story []  2020-7-14 18:57

    I started this book not sure if I would like it as it was during the time of Hitler. I was pleasantly surprised at how this book kept my interest and created me wish to know more. This book is about a german woman who loved a jewish man and how she survived and protected her son. Very well done, I didn't wish the book to end it left me wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SNOW [App]  2019-8-24 13:8

    I love the app... but I hate the fresh update. Recently I have been trying to edit a couple of pictures but some times all the filter obtain mix together and begin doing some creepy things with my pictures. Like black circles for eyes and other creepy items I can't even explain. Please go back to the old version. It was better before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SNOW [App]  2019-8-24 13:8

    I've been using SNOW for almost two years now. I liked a few fresh updates, BUT I don't like how you can edit and you can't see all the stickers or effects that you downloaded! Please bring that option back. Oh, and one more thing; it'd be nice to have no limits in duration of videos because I'd love to use SNOW for my vlogs. But even though there are a few things that I don't like now, SNOW is still the best camera app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SNOW [App]  2019-8-24 13:8

    it's a amazing application to say at least, when I first installed it it didn't present me any filter and i had to uninstall it and install it again for it to do it, further than that it's a amazing application with a large dozens of filters and that's something i was searching for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SNOW [App]  2019-8-24 13:8

    latest modernize photoshops pictures with large eyes. not just small bigger, large like alien! doesn't look cute anymore. looks gross! you should turn that off and just have option to create it bigger! my eyes look method too huge it's disgusting! I can't use this application anymore!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SNOW [App]  2019-8-24 13:8

    don't like the fresh updated editing layout & i need to redownload stickers too. it's also troublesome to scroll left right to search my downloaded stickers, i prefer the old layout. I'd rather use the old ver editing layout. the only thing i like about the fresh modernize are the stickers for cats, i have fun using it in my cats. Everything else is fine, inly the editing layout is a BIG NO for me. So if you could bring back the old layout please. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SNOW [App]  2019-8-24 13:8

    it was an absolutely simple to use app. There's a lot of categories...specially those too a lot of stickers you can use and filter effects. even on applying makeup on your face is very nice. Its like youre really using an pro type Camera. you can do all things! So fancy. Anyway, theres no any for downloading the stickers you want, you just have to it then it will be used as long as you have Wireless connection or Data Signal. Thanks for this wondefull app!!!😊

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386