Read solar eclipse timer reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all solar eclipse timer reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Made 2017 Totality Easy! Used this for the 2017 Total Eclipse in Wyoming, looked for shadow bands, 360 sunset. Warnings for putting glasses back on too. Get this app for April 8, 2024! -Umbraphile

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Used this App in 2017. It talked me through the total eclipse and everyone around was listening for the instructions it gave. Worked flawlessly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    A great app! Must have for anyone watching a total solar eclipse. Contains useful reminders for what to do (i.e. observe for shadow bands, remove camera filters, observe for planets and stars, observe the horizon, etc) and more importantly, when to do it. Time in totality is rare and precious and there's a lot to do in a very short period of time, and these reminders will make sure you don't forget to do something you should do! During the 2017 eclipse, I didn't have this app, and I literally forgot to observe for planets and stars (even though I did capture them in my photos) and I also forgot to observe the horizon. I also didn't look for shadow bands. During the 2019 eclipse, I had this app, and I remembered to do everything because of the reminders given in the app. For $1.99 per eclipse, it's well worth it! It also means you don't spend valuable totality time looking at your watch to find out when the various events will occur.

    0  


    Add your opinion on solar eclipse timer or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I used this app during the 2017 total solar eclipse and it worked great. I kept details and notes about the eclipse in the app for reference. Unfortunately there was a bug in the v2.0 update which deleted my saved data. However, the developer quickly fixed the bug after I reported it, and later implemented a way to save data for past eclipses so I could get back to the data screen and restore most of the information. 5/5 stars for a great app and fantastic customer support.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Completely awesome experience using this app back in 2017. The countdowns and reminders during the eclipse really made us pay more attention to the details. Will use again and tell others about this app. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Worked great so we could listen and look around more and not keep glancing at the phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I was in an area that had very limited cell coverage ( meaning NO cell coverage) and my phone wasn't catching any GPS. However Solar Eclipse Timer came through like a champ after my phone coughed up my location. I called out times and announcements to all the people nearby. Be sure to also get the companion app for GPS conversion. This will be my app for the 2024 April eclipse. And thanks to Smarter Everyday for the video that led me to this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Best app

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Thank you so much for this! I watched the huge solar eclipse a while back and this app made it so much more memorable!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    An indispensable companion for any total eclipse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I really love this .great app

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app is wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Worked perfectly in Chile 2019 just like its predecessor did in Idaho in 2017. Worth the $2 price, made the already amazing experience of seeing an eclipse even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Absolutely fantastic. This app made ALL the difference in knowing exactly when/how long we would experience totality. The timing was absurdly spot on. Absolutely perfect. Also told us when to check for shadow bands, which we would have otherwise missed under the assumption that they were supposed to have been visible at an earlier time. Love this app. Don't know what I would have done without it. 💖

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I'd give it 1,000 stars if I could. I really wanted to thank you for making this amazing product! We happened to get stuck in an area with no cell service. The app told us everything we needed to know instantly. No need for guessing where we needed to be. All actuate down to the very second. We ended up avoiding nearly all traffic while still getting a great show. Priceless moment. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app did exactly what it advertised. My hat is off to the developer. I stumbled across this app while researching information on the eclipse, and it was interesting to discover that this app originally was designed and ran on a old PDA! On the day of the eclipse, the call outs were spot on...I did not need to adjust the app timer at all. All the times listed with the various pictures of the phases allowed me to capture photos of the progression. Again, this app delivered everything it promised....and more, because it became part of the total experience!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    No, this app isn't as slick as a lot of modern apps are, but it made our eclipse experience SO much better than it would have been without it. It literally talked us through each segment of the eclipse. It was great to have the audible cues so we could focus on observing the various eclipse events instead of looking at an app or other reference material. Thanks so much for making this available to the public!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I thought this app was amazing. We used the times to really experience the event. I used this app with another app called "Sun Locator Lite" I mainly used the other app to get an AR view of the sun's path so I could set up my camera. If you could incorporate something like that into your app you will have an amazing eclipse app. One last thing I need to say TOTALITY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Wonderfully useful for an amateur astronomy buff. I downloaded the companion app as well if I needed Long/Lat conversion. I'd like to see that feature incorporated into next version of main program. The audible cues were accurate down to the second. My kids got ridiculously excited when an alarm chimed with new suggestion. We looked for Shadow Bands. Saw none. We did see the crescent shaped shadows on our shelter from dappled sunlight shining through a tree. I don't recall hearing a cue about that. I might've missed it. If it doesn't exist in the current build, maybe add it? Totally worth the $2. Looking forward to 2024 edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Perfect for the Eclipse today! The voice notifications were great, fantastic safety reminders, and everyone around me could hear it too. I hope it is still around in 2024 when the next eclipse rolls through the US. The only improvement I would suggest is maybe being able to click on the contact point for more info (such as it being the "diamond ring"). I never saw much in the Eclipse data page either... but I didn't spend much time there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Thank you for a very well made app. It made our eclipse experience so much better. Lots of people gathered around us and one of the memories of the eclipse was that of a little girl jumping excitedly when your app counted down from one minute. The little one thanked me after totality for letting her know when the total eclipse started. I pass on her thanks to you. 😀 Will be looking out for the 2024 version!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    [email protected] said this is the app to have, so this is the app I bought. update: 8/22/17: This app made the Eclipse so enjoyable. I found the perfect spot on top of a hill, surrounded by light-colored gravel inside the totality. We experienced everything! Totality, Shadow Bands, etc; as the app talked to us, it was all happening right on queue. This app is the single best thing I've purchased. Ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Performed perfectly for us near Columbia, SC. Prompts helped to keep me focused and ready for the next step. Even though I had practiced on both full moons and sun several times, I fumbled the transition from partial to total and missed catching Baily's beads. But I was able to recover a few seconds later and got just about everything I wanted to. Thanks to Foxwood for the most practical app I have on my Android phone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Genius! Talks (yes, really talks) you through the entire eclipse based on your local coordinates. Suggests times to take equally spaced photos. Tells you when to wear and remove glasses and when to look for shadow bands (snakes). Oh - and let's you do practice runs so you're fully prepared. Thanks to YouTube channel "Smarter Every Day" for recommending this app. Worth every penny. Addendum: We used the app today, (8/21/17) and really enjoyed it. The audible cues and countdown were helpful and actually exciting. Can't wait to use it again in 2024.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Just finished the 2017 eclipse on Aug. 21st using this app. Overall, this app was a pleasant experience, but there are a few things that prevented it from being a no brainer. First, the good things: The app was very helpful in keeping track of where you are in the totality band and how long totality would last. The talking cues where very helpful and kept one on track in the experience. However, the app really could do with a UI make over and possibly a more streamlined experience would help the app. Usability was fine, but there was definitely a lot of buttons to press! Another questionable aspect was the price. In its current state I am not sure if it is worth the two dollars. If you already know where and when the eclipse will be, than this app does not have alot to offer. Overall if you are traveling and need the info, I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    If you're NOT in the path of totality, skip this one. I was hoping to still be able to get first & last contact times as well as the peak partial eclipse time, but no luck. The app at least tells me first and last contact times, but I have to enter them into the timer manually. The peak time field is locked so I can't enter the most important time into the timer and it won't calculate it based on the other manually entered values. This app is a great idea, and I appreciate the amount of work that went into making it work, but maybe consider the hundreds of thousands of people who won't quite be in the ideal locations before the 2024 update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Great, worked for the eclipse. Told us when to look around for phenomenon. I did notice it was a little late to say when the shadow bands showed up and when temperature dropped, but it was very useful. Thank you so much for helping me have the best experience with the solar eclipse!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Thank you, this tool gave me an amazing experience. Hope to use it during the 2024 eclipse as well. App it built well. Sad people didn't take the time to calculate their contact times to make the app work for them. The app does all the work for you, you just have to actually do the preparation part of it. Expecting one click to make it work, it wasn't built to work in just one specific spot. Sorry you got to tell it where you are first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Amazing! I can see why people travel the world chasing Total eclipses! Being able to observe the many phenomena (awesome shadow bands, Bailey's beads and diamond rings... didn't know about crescent shadows from the app... my only suggestion) around the total eclipse, as well as GORGEOUS totality, because of THIS app was incredible. Thank you for making it possible for me and my family! (And thank you to Smarter Every Day who made us aware of your app and inspired us to watch the eclipse!) Can't wait for 2024. Absolutely worth getting to the path of totality...can't believe we lived in it for this one - I might not have made a big deal out of it and thought 99% of totality was close enough... Nope. This app makes the experience calm and easy and beautiful!! Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    8/22 EDIT-...THANK YOU for this app. It helped my family be able to relax and enjoy the amazing eclipse. It.was.spectacular. -----(original review)I've been wandering around town looking for spots of total eclipse viewing.. pretty cool. And helpful! I homeschool, so we've used it a couple times in lessons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Such a fantastic app! This is one of the only apps I have ever paid for and it was well worth it. GPS coordinates synched up perfectly and the timing was spot on! It was nice to be able to run the practice the day before so I could get the timing right on switching out the lens on my camera. I also really enjoyed the on screen showing of a prior eclipse to know what I was looking out for. The developer obviously really cares about this app and has fantastic information. My only wish is that more of the events were called out, rather than just saying to open the app. I was very appreciative of the reminder to take off/put on eye protection. 2 minutes when by way too fast, I surely wouldn't have been prepared without it. Anyone planning to view a total eclipse would benefit greatly from this app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I finally decided to buy this app after 2 days of arguing with myself over it. It probably would have been an awesome tool, had it not started pouring down rain 6 minutes before 1st contact and every minute after. :( it is more thought out than my plan to purchase and use it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This was such a useful app. We had intended to go to Nebraska to see the eclipse but at the last minute chose to head to Wyoming. This app let me know when I was in the path of totality and we had the perfect eclipse experience in Lusk, WY as a result. Hats off to the developer for a fantastic app. I hope you continue to update it for future eclipses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    5000 stars. Made sure we kept our eyes safe without looking away a second early. Reminded us to look around at the other things, like temperature. Excellent! Thank you for this design and thank you to forgotten person who interviewed you and alerted me of its existence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This was one of the most useful tools on eclipse day! Accurate as all get out, and the simple alert calls were great for the crowd around me to stay informed as well. Fingers crossed you'll push out updates for future eclipses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I so wanted to give this app 5 stars, but I can't. It was great for checking to make sure we were in the path of totality and checking the times. Despite the fact that the audio would sometimes double up, I was ok with that. But it all fell apart at the most important time. Countdown to full totality, great! But then that was it, no further sound, no warning for when to put our glasses back on, during those precious 2 min of totality I'm looking at my phone trying to figure out why the app wasn't telling us what to do anymore, which defeated the entire purpose. Not to mention we didn't put our glasses back on quite in time. Disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was perfect and in the medium sized crowd I was in we would hear the echo of this app from random phones around! I started recording video near totality with my phone but still got notifications on my smartwatch. I hate to uninstall, but it's not like I'll need it for a long time. This app helped prepare for experiencing and photographing the eclipse like no other. Could you make a lunar eclipse app too?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Fantastic app! Thank you for sharing your experience with solar eclipses and for creating this app. I was in a large parking lot, and I could hear your count down timer from other users! It really helped our group, so I know it must have helped others. Thank you again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I am currently standing in the path of totality and using GPS to get my current location (which gets the correct latitude and longitude). This darn app says the duration of totality is 0. I want my money back. Edit: I found the hidden button that makes things work. -1 start for the bad UI

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    We had so much fun using this app! Like everyone else, we found the audio cues to be amazing, but the partial phase image times kept us from getting bored in the hour and a half leading up to totality. We were constantly counting down for our group photographer based on that schedule provided. None of us will ever be able to remember this eclipse without thinking "glasses off!" or "glasses on." I wish every app were this functional and flawless and only regret I'll be unlikely to have an opportunity to use it again. Thank you so much for making experience so special!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    It worked fine during a trial run the day before eclipse. On eclipse day there was no audio. Author now says you can't use your cellphone to take pictures during the 3 hours of the eclipse, that will disable the audio. If I had known that I wouldn't have wasted so much of eclipse day fiddling with this program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Its display shows many many digits of precision in long/lat, which in the absence of other input on the subject suggests that the location is that precise. In fact, my phone's GPS turned out to be sufficiently imprecise to make the app worthless -- times would change by minutes without me moving. A warning about that and/or uncertainty estimates in the location readout would be advisable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    PERFECT! Watched the 8/21/17 eclipse today right in the center of the path of totallity in Turner, OR. 2:01 totality! I thought the voice prompts would be dumb, but it just goes to show what I know. They were AWESOME! We were all so excited to see the total eclipse with our eyes that we weren't able to really fidget with our phones. The voice prompts calling out "glasses on" and "glasses off" were a great reminder to us while our jaws were hanging open.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was great for the eclipse. Glad I saw it on SED. The countdowns and loud horns really punctuated totality nicely and the prompts helped us remember to look for things. The only problem I see with the app is the lack of volume control. I manually went into my settings to make sure the media volume was maxed, but unplugging the speaker lowered the volume again. Isn't there's a setting devs can use to make the rocker control the media volume the entire time the app is open? At least having that behavior as an option would be great in case you need to quickly turn it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    It was a wonderful app and it helped us decide on a place for viewing. All we had to do was keep driving into the totality path until the app said we had about 2 minutes of totality. It was. The timer was very accurate too. The margin of error was just a couple of seconds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Didnt work at all. I had it open during the eclypse with the sound on and nothing. The directions didn't really relate to the interface. No countdown timers showed up. And whats with the adjust buttons for the contacts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I was in the path of totality and this Eclipse timer was amazing. It was right on with the times of when everything would happen and it helped us know what was happening and when to take our glasses off and put them back on. Thank you so much to the developers for making an awesome app to make the eclipse viewing even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I was hoping this app would work even though I'm not in the path of totality. you'd think it would because most of us are not and could not travel there but I still want to be a part of the viewing. I'm at the 90-99% area. It should tell us what we could expect to see and when etc etc. Lame, don't get it if you're not exactly on the path

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Worth more than the price! I bought this after recommendation from Destin at Smarter Every Day on YouTube. The most notable thing was the shift to C3. At the exact moment the countdown got to Zero, the totality ended. So precise, I was speechless. Great job to all involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Working great so far. Make sure to load gps location and read instructions if not working as expected Best money I have ever spent on an app. Worked perfectly. Awesome! Thank you so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I loved this app, it enabled me to enjoy the eclipse to the fullest. Thank you very much! Question: will the app be updated for other eclipses like the 2020 Chile/Argentina eclipse and the 2024 US eclipse? I hope to use it for those as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app made photographing the eclipse easy and seamless. I got to set it and forget it, and the voice alerts told me when to put my filter back on, preventing damage to my photography equipment and helping me alert the people I was with to phenomena that was happening. I can't wait to use this app the next time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    While it was a Good idea, I was disappointed I checked and double checked all the settings and the voice would not work. We had to keep looking at the app and missed some crucial moments at the beginning _ Bailey beads and shadow snakes. Wish I had tried something else. Big waste of money for us. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    If you're going to be in totality, this is what you want. You will have the times for various phases of the eclipse, and audible cues to keep you on track in the mesmerizing time that it will be. If you're debating if it's worth spending $1.99 on this, ask yourself - if I miss the shadow bands, or mistime something, or lose out on dark vision because I looked at a bright screen to check the time, would I spend $2 to get that experience back? This app is made with focus, attention to detail, and the desire to help you fully experience this event. You. Want. This. App. Update post-eclipse: This app worked just as expected during the actual eclipse (even had people camping nearby using the same app and ours were perfectly in sync!), calling out the phases with the right amount of warning and helping us actually see shadow bands!!! Thank you so so much for the time and effort and the exceptionally high quality app. Question though, will this be updated for the 2024 eclipse?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was perfect for viewing the 2017 Eclipse. It audibly told us what to expect and when based on our gps location. We had a huge group and they could hear it on my phone and we joked that it 'was the voice if God".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    The total solar eclipse was the most awe inspiring event I have ever witnessed! We watched from our backyard in South Carolina and were super blessed to have clear, blue skies. The app worked perfectly and the eclipse times were dead on. This was the first eclipse we have ever seen. Even though I had done my research, once totality hit, all of that info went right out the window because we were too excited to think about anything else. Having the app tell us what to watch out for and remind us of the times was extremely helpful. Thanks, y'all, for developing this amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Used it in Fairmont, NE for the total eclipse today. Really liked how it wasn't dependant on cell service. I was taking video during the event and it talked me thru the stages. Very well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I never made it to totally but it did help out for my fairly substantial eclipse view. Would but again. (Used free Google money... answer surveys thru Google Rewards app and they give you a few cents per survey, but it adds up most are about 3 to 5 questions takes a few seconds!). SORRY FOR OFFTOPIC! BOTH APPS 5 STARS!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Can't wait to use this app. I'll be taking care of my 2 year old son at the time, so anything to help keep track of events is going to be well worth it, and the audio cues sold me on this for that reason. (Smarter Every Day brought me here. Thanks Destin!!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Disappointed. I feel like this app might work if you are in a city or closer to a cell tower, but it was pretty much a waste of money for me and my group. The time were quite off - close to a minute, which makes a big difference during an eclipse. It froze several times and showed a plain black screen. The interface is clunky. Also, the talking cues just plain didn't work for some reason. More trouble than it was worth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Perfectly on time. Put this full blast through my car during the eclipse at St. Clair in Missouri and a lot of people crowded around for the countdown timers and thanked me for having it. Pretty awesome app. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Hook the app up to my Bluetooth so everyone around me could hear the contact times and every single one was spot-on in Lexington South Carolina at the parking at walmart. Hope I live to see the next eclipse and I hope this app works for that one as well great job on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I'd like to thank the developers of this app for enhancing my family's Eclipse viewing experience. I do however have a couple of suggestions. For one thing, it was too conservative on the timing to put your glasses back on after totality. We could have viewed the total eclipse for about another five seconds, which is a pretty big deal. And I suggest losing the horn sound at the end of the countdown. How about just "totality in 3-2-1" and then silence. Totality is dramatic enough it doesn't need a horn sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Extremely disappointing. Unless you are in the path of totality, all it will do is calculate first contact time and THEN you have to manually enter it yourself into the timer. Feel ripped off!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I am 3.2 miles south of Carnesville, GA, most definitely in the path of totality and the eclipse is now partial and this thing says that I'm not in the path. Total ripoff. I had to keep watching and guesstimate for myself when the eclipse started because this thing says I'm outside the path --- wouldn't give me the start time. All of us in this area who downloaded this app deserve a refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Nice app. Was spot on with the GPS and timing. Voice did not work for me at all, but it was pretty easy to tell end of totality since I had my phone with me the whole time. The voice may not have worked because I had my eclipse music playing via bluetooth. That may have interfered with the app's voice feature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    We are between third and fourth contact, the app worked great! We abandoned our watch due to SC heat. (We did not observe a significant ambient temperature change. LOL) My only complaint is that we could have used a voice reminder for pictures. I did not realize that we needed to write those out, and fiddling with equipment, etc., we would not have wanted to keep stopping to check a list. Otherwise, it worked great!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I think I would have missed the eclipse without this app. I took photos of each phase, which also would have been impossible without the app. It made my experience watching the eclipse totally unforgettable. Easily worth the small price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I ran the demo, it worked great. I granted all the permissions to the app turned my ringer volume and media volume all the way up and still received no notifications. The most I got out of it was a timer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    **Update This app performed flawlessly for me. I could not believe how accurate it was. The verbal alerts were great. Thank you once again! This is going to be awesome for the big event. The tutorials are very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    None of the voice alerts that were supposed to play actually played. Other than that, the app worked as expected and the times were accurate. I would recommend having the option to have text pop ups show on the screen in addition to the voice alerts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Like others said, unless ur night in the path of totality it didn't work. I was close enough to see shadow bands but not close enough for this app to work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Amazing app so worth the money as it made our Eclipse viewing so much better. The audible cues were spot on and it was cool not having to keep the app open all the time.. It just spoke to us when we needed to observe the temperature, shadow bands, totality, use safety glasses, everything. I am well pleased and hopefully this developer has an app available for the next Eclipse also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was so great for the eclipse! The UI of the app isn't great and I found setup rather confusing. However, the talking notifications really helped. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    For the 2017 solar eclipse, I was in the path of totality. While several events were happy around town, I opted to sit on my back porch. This app was perfect as it led me thru all phases with countdowns and observations. Wonderful experience made even better with this app. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    The app worked well, but thankfully I planned ahead. I didn't have GPS or data signal where I watched, but I was able to manually type in the coordinates and all the times were perfectly accurate. However, it never spoke to me. I checked the settings and audio was on, but no sound during the eclipse. There is sound if you run the demo. Which reminds me of another quirk. If you practice with the demo, it erases your saved coordinates and times. Even if you save the eclipse through the app, there's no way to get that information back without typing in the coordinates again. Thankfully I caught this while I did have signal and prepared.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    The instructions did not state this app only works if used within the path of totality. This is a crucial piece of information and must be provided if a consumer is going to make an educated purchase. This is one of many similar posts. Many people have been ripped off. Quite an injustice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    App failed to announce when the sun was to reappear and I saw the sun with naked eye for split second. All announcements worked perfect before and after this, but the C3 announcement was the one you really don't want to fail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    If you followed the instructions, this app works WONDERFULLY. I was filming in a large group and this app sounded off exactly as I needed it to. The countdown to put glasses back on as totality ended was so precise, other people exclaimed. This DEFINITELY made the viewing experience safer. Follow the instructions!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    The app was less helpful than helpful. I was able to find a great location with it, but the app did not count down to totality, so we ended up missing the best part. It did count down to C1 and C3, but it didn't count down to C2. What a downer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    AMAZING APP!!! I will be traveling to the path of totality and I am so excited to use this app. It is obviously very well made, and I highly recommend it for the upcoming eclipse. It will prove to be an invaluable too as it takes the guess work out of the timing. I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    What a great app. I got here from (smarter every day). I like the app, but I couldn't get it to switch to local time. C1 and c4 are in UTC. I'm in eastern time UTC-4. Please help. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Awesome app! Talks you through and tells you when things are about to happen without having to look at your phone or even have the screen on. Hopefully I'll get to use it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    UPDATE: Used it again in Argentina. Worked great! Hooked my phone up to a loudspeaker for everyone in the park to hear. It worked flawlessly and helped us experience the wonder of the eclipse. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    It didn't work for me. Wouldn't set the times and kept saying to reload. Tried to manually enter times and didn't work. Wasted my money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was amazing. It made all the difference in my eclipse viewing! I wish I could give more than 5 stars. To everyone complaining about the app being "garbage" because you were not in totality. It says in like 10 different places that it's not that useful except in totality. I don't know what you were expecting. I [email protected]#$%! had a Google maps integration to help me find totality. Was kind of a pain to make sure I was in the totality band, but once O was this app worked great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Totality Amazing! This app made watching the eclipse so enjoyable. Vocal cues to all of the eclipse events were perfectly synched... to the second! Thank you for making this app. I'm an eclipse junkie now😀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Great app. I fiddled with it the day before because I didn't want to be messing with it on the 21st. It did exactly what it was supposed to do, tell me when to look for eclipse phases and other cool things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I was in the path of totality and the app never spoke! Very disappointing! Waste of money. A refund would be nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Made a memorable and fantastic eclipse even better. By taking over the timing responsibility, we could sit back and enjoy the show. Because we didn't know where we'd end up, even the night before, having the app detect and calculate the times was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Loved this during the eclipse! Others around me didnt have it but could hear the voice instructions so they also benefited. Incredible app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Thank you so much for putting in the time and effort to make this such a great app! It was instrumental in helping me call out different phases of the eclipse to all of my extended family that came over to view the U.S. Solar eclipse on 2017/08/21. I plan on using it again in 2024! FYI - I heard about you on Smarter Every Day's YouTube channel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Thank you so much for making this app. I was so disappointed when I found out I was going to miss totality and my trip from FL to see the eclipse. But this app worked perfectly. Found out about this app from the Smarter Everyday YouTube channel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was the best $1.99 I ever spent. Worked perfectly on eclipse day, and the verbal prompting reminded me and the people around me to watch for shadow bands, the 360 sunrise and other eclipse events. All of which we saw thanks to this app! Great job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Didn't work. Waste of money. Will try for refund. Wonder if it's fake app, exploiting the popularity of the event. Did not provide any information, perhaps the server was overwhelmed, but essentially useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Just used this app for a total eclipse in Ten Mile TN. Timing is spot on and well worth the $1.99 price! Walks you step by step through the different stages of the eclipse and even tells you things to look for around the area you are in. If you are lucky enough to be in the path like I was spend the money and buy this app! It is well worth the price and I highly recommend this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    I plan on being in the path of totality and this app looks like it will help me to enjoy the sky instead of staring at my watch during the event. I am very excited about this product, and the price is very reasonable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    Thank you for taking the time to create this app. It was very helpful during the solar eclipse 2017. I found out about your app from Smarter Every Day. <3

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This is the app for the eclipse. Find the video on you tube, smarter every day channel to see what it's about. Basically, get to the totality zone, and run the app. It will use the GPS in your phone or tablet to get your exact location. Then it will calculate the exact times for events that you will want to see. Then, it will give you voice prompts, so you don't have to watch the phone, but instead can enjoy the eclipse. Totally worth paying for. EDIT - I'm adding this for after the 2017 eclipse. The timer worked perfectly. Before the eclipse I set demo times and learned what to expect from it. On the day of the eclipse I set it up with my GPS location, and put my phone back on my belt. I had blue tooth ear buds connected to the phone and was able to hear all of the prompts but never had to look at my phone. I also recorded video of the concrete walkway and the horizon during totality, and continued to hear prompts in my headset while recording video. I used the voice prompts and repeated count down times to my group. The timings were perfect. We all put our glasses on and the sun popped out right on schedule. Thank you for working so hard to make the app work perfectly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solar Eclipse Timer [App]  6/11/2021 13:26

    This app was great! It talked us through the different stages of the eclipse today. We saw the shadow bands before and after totality. It was incredible! - LaVergne TN

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386