Read some true blue australian christmas traditions reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all some true blue australian christmas traditions reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    Hartford True Lane Application [auto discount program for Hartford AARP Insurance]  2020-5-24 20:8

    The discount is supposed to offer a maximum of 25% discount after using the application for 6 months. I have called Hartford and have spoken to Real Lane reps several times and indicated that the program indicates happenings that are completely untrue and certainly is not indicative of my driving skills. They acknowledge the program is not accurate and supposedly is evaluated at the end of the 6 months. After the 6 months my projected discount is 12%. When I called to voice my disappointment I spoke to a manager from Hartford who said he can't do anything about the programs results. I in turn told him the program is completely false and should not be used as a valid indication of ones driving skills. I am a conservative driver who never drives 95 MPH which the program has me recorded at and I brake when important to avoid collision. I have not had a speeding ticket in the latest 20 years. If you use Real Lane DO NOT EXPECT THE DISCOUNT TO BE ANY WHERE NEAR THE 25%. It won't happen!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Coast Savings Consultant [Business Opportunity]  2021-1-26 14:9

    Pay $22,900 to become their salesman? This is a total con job. Run, read the contract. If you are not allowed to disclose your experience they are hiding something. Seems too amazing to be true, it is. The owner has been sued in other states.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    I thought the book was very informative and interesting. I enjoyed learning where all of the Christmas traditions came from or how they changed over the years. The book would create an perfect gift.

    0  


    Add your opinion on some true blue australian christmas traditions or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    A unbelievable book to place me in touch with my roots (Norwegian) at Christmas. Created a unbelievable and thoughtful bonus to a mate with Danish roots. Some recipes (like the meatballs) come in 3’s or 4’s to cover Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland. A lot of cultural background to go along with wonder recipes to give someone an understanding of a warm culture and meal or to give someone nostalgic memories or Christmas’ past. Perfect recipes, attractive photography. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    This book arrived within a few days and is in like-new condition. The old time Christmas stories are so interesting. A lot of descriptions and words used bring me back to a simpler time. There are even a few pictures and instructions for making meal and toys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    gifted during Religion in Appalachia class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    Amazing looking book bought as a gift. Haven’t read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Czech Cookbook Christmas Baking Traditions Stories [Book]  2017-11-28 18:2

    It is so difficult to search authentic Czech recipes in English, using ingredients that can be found here in the States. My husband, who grew up in Lom u Mostu ,had been craving Czech Christmas cookies and bread. These recipes absolutely hit the spot! Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    Every year I test to add one fresh holiday cookbook to my collection. This year's #1 pick was Scandikitchen Christmas, chock-full of recipes for traditional Scandinavian recipes for the holiday season and since Scandikitchen and cafe is located in London, one or two spectacular Scandi-British fusion I sit here munching on superb (and EASY!) Swedish Meatballs, allow me tell you about a couple of my favorites:I love a amazing sweet roll (especially for breakfast) but all too often they just seem to take most of a day to produce. Not Scandikitchen's Mincemeat Buns! If you've a stand mixer that will handle bread dough and a warm kitchen, then these can be out of your oven in under an hour and a half. I used a jar of a homemade apple/pear/ginger mincemeat I place up earlier in the year, but the jarred mincemeat from the grocery will do just fine. Everyone in the family adored these and they disappeared in a heartbeat! 5 HUGE stars!Scandikitchen Christmas is full of amazing recipes for breads, cookies and different other traditional Scandinavian dishes. And since Scandinavians each have their own preferred regional variations of things, sometimes you even obtain recipes in triplicate, among them three various herring salads and three various meatballs. Other times, just one recipe will do and the recipe for Red Cabbage that you'll search on page 74 is THE best I've come across. In fact, I have been looking for this recipe for 50 years or so trying to duplicate the unbelievable sweet-sour red cabbage we ate so often in Germany. This is luscious hot and every bit as amazing cold later as a salad. Serve it up Scandinavian style with meatballs, mashed potatoes and brown gravy or go German with schnitzel and fried potatoes or German potato salad. The recipe calls for blackcurrant cordial which is unobtainable here, so at the suggestion of my UK daughter who does lots of Scandinavian cooking for her Danish significant other, I used unsweetened grape juice and red currant jelly. Yum! This is a amazing candidate for the crockpot - it needs to cook for about 3 hours - and is best done the day before you wish to serve it, making it a unbelievable buffet of the things I most appreciated about Scandikitchen Christmas is that while it is full of unique treats, they are nearly all very accessible even on a relatively modest holiday budget. Scandinavian or not, you're bound to search something here to add to your own holiday traditions.Highly Recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    I grew up a Swedish-American family and I’m always looking for ways to incorporate fresh ‘traditions’ into our holiday celebrations. This book is lovely and most of the ingredients are available locally or at our fresh IKEA store. I can’t wait to test my hand at some fresh recipes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    Locq anything on Christmas, especially baking n cooking. This fits the bill of great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    This book is soooo amazing and it was also sad. I enjoyed it very much to how some of the parents created so a lot of of their children's Christmas presents and how the kids decorated their own small trees and place them in their bedroom with foil and whatever they could search around the house. It is very interesting to see how the kids loved to obtain the wood carved toys their father would create for them and the mothers would create dolls for the girls. The kids now-a-days don't know how amazing they have it. Some of the kids did not obtain anything for Christmas because the parents could not afford it....that is the sad part. I feel like they appreciated things more then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    I only created it a few pages in before realizing that this book is blatantly anti-Catholic. No thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    Very informative book about Christmas traditions. We liked to read it in the evenings leading to Christmas. We definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    I learned a lot about all the various stuff of traditions surrounding Christmas.I highly recommend to all those who love Christmas time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Czech Cookbook Christmas Baking Traditions Stories [Book]  2017-11-28 18:2

    I have a lot of Czech receipes from my mother and grandmother but Kristýna has done all the work of translating my childhood receipes into American measurements and using ingredients available here in the United States. Cannot wait to begin baking and surprise my maminka.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    Well written book. The stories are full of info but it doesn’t take but about 7-10 mins to read each one. Our family has throughly enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    Very informative. Would recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    A unbelievable go-to book for anyone of Scandinavian decent and/or anyone who is missing a amazing holiday cookbook on their shelf

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    I shared this with mates to encourage them to write down their Christmas memories to be shared with their families, especially their kids and grandchildren. The best thing about the Foxfire series is that it transfers memories and knowledge from one generation to others.I recognized some of the Christmas traditions from my youth, and others from hearing my parents talk about them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    I liked the book but found the stories to be repetitive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Czech Cookbook Christmas Baking Traditions Stories [Book]  2017-11-28 18:2

    Purchased the book today and already baking Linzer cookies just like my Baba used to make!! Recipe was spot on. I also really enjoyed the links to the videos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    What a attractive book with some amazing recipes. I have all of Bronte Aurell’s books but this one is my favorite. My dad is a Dane and I love making him sweets. The Julekage recipe is amazing! I I created a few changes to the recipe by adding a bit more candied orange peel and raisins, and topped it with a easy glaze and toasted almonds. I converted the new yeast to dry and it’s equal to about a Tablespoon of dry. I bake the bread until the internal temp is 200 degrees and it comes out perfect. If I’m in a hurry I will add my raisins to the orange juice and microwave them for about a min and a half or so to soften them super quick, rather than waiting 2-3 hours for them to naturally soften in the oj. This is my favorite Scandinavian sweet bread and is so worth the effort. I think my dad would agree! Tak Bronte!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    Love this book! Not only is it a fabulous cookbook but the explanations the author gives for each ver of the dishes. I enjoyed reading it as much as trying out the recipes! I can’t wait to order all the scandikitchen books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    So satisfied with this cookbook. Will be using it a lot. Some true childhood memories in this cookbook. Thank you for the quick service and amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    Ace Collins has written many, a lot of books (e.g.,  Stories Behind the Best-Loved Songs of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) , More Stories Behind the Best-Loved Songs of Christmas , 25 Days, 26 Ways to Create This Your Best Christmas Ever , etc.).He writes in the Introduction to this 2003 book, "Before we brood and protest too much over the ruin of what we think Christmas must have been like in generations long past, we might actually feel encouraged about the season we celebrate today when we consider what Christmas was REALLY like in the days of old."Here are some quotations from the book:"By the fourth century, the Roman Empire finally began to convert to Christianity. When this happened, Easter became one of the most celebrated holidays in the realm. Yet as a lot of in the empire came to worship Jesus, the old traditions and holidays continued." (Pg. 13)"In early sixteenth century Germany, Martin Luther embraced carols, thereby winning over a lot of German Christians to the songs. Luther sang them with his kids and encouraged his growing following to come together and sing them as a congregation." (Pg. 49)"In an effort to bring some of the magic of the evergreen tree into their lives, Vikings would cut down a fir and put it in their homes. Having a tree in the house was said to bring the bonus of strength to live through the worst stretches of winter." (Pg. 70-71)"In Luke 2:16, it is clear that the shepherds traveled to the manger to see Jesus. Yet the Magi did not arrive in time to visit Jesus in his birthplace, nor, evidently, did they meet the shepherds." (Pg. 139)"Most people today believe that the twelve days of Christmas begin on December 12th or 13th and run through Christmas Eve or Christmas day. But in fact, the first day of Christmas is December 25th and the final day is January 5th." (Pg. 179)"The Greek for Christ's name is Xristos (pronounced Christos). While it is well known that a fish was often used as a symbol to denote churches and Christian gathering locations during the ancient days of the church, a lot of Greeks also used the letter X .. as their symbol of faith... Therefore, the use of the letter X for Christ is one of the oldest traditions of the Christian faith." (Pg. 184)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    Very interesting reading and sharing how our Christmas traditions came about. I enjoyed sharing the stories with my granddaughter

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    TODAY ISMY BIRTHDAY,ANDIAM74 I HAVE NOT SEEN THESE RECIPES SINCEIWASALITTLEGIRLINKY THANK YOU SOMUCH VL.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    Unbelievable reprint of an obscure find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    So entertaining to read the stories of past Christmas's. I want everyone could read these. Definitely shows how much Christmas bonus giving and celebrating Christmas has changed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Foxfire Christmas: Appalachian Memories and Traditions []  2020-11-22 18:21

    This was a bonus for someone living in the Appalachian Mts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    Truly a unbelievable book on the history and traditions of Yule/Christmas. Of the handful of books I've read on Christmas, this one is my private favorite. The chapters are short and simple to digest. The writing is superb. The info is tremendous. The insights are deep. From my other reading, I search all the major points of this book to be spot on. If you're looking for a resource support you add depth and context to your Christmas celebrations, look no more. I'd recommend this book to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas []  2020-12-1 21:34

    I ordered this for my Kindle and love it. It has a lot of info that I never knew about our Christmas traditions. It's a very interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    What a delightful book full of the Scandanavian traditional holiday recipes in simple to follow English. The images will create you hungry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ScandiKitchen Christmas: Recipes and traditions from Scandinavia []  2020-10-25 19:26

    Quick delivery. This book is full of interesting information. It’s even nicer than expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Czech Cookbook Christmas Baking Traditions Stories [Book]  2017-11-28 18:2

    I need all of my recipes together. This will do that for me. I like this for the holiday cooking. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditions []  2020-1-11 20:16

    Unbelievable collection of traditional Celtic melody that features hammered dulcimer and harp. So relaxing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditions []  2020-1-11 20:16

    I own a hammered dulcimer and am definitely a base beginner! But I love the music. Maggie Sansone does a attractive job with this CD. A must have for your collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditions []  2020-1-11 20:16

    I've always liked hammered dulcimer melody and this has a nice variety. Mostly lively songs to hold your mind happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Traditions []  2020-1-11 20:16

    This album is a unbelievable mix of melody that varies from the almost somber to the whimsical. I would highly recommend it to any lover of Celtic music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    This was a nice fast read about a young man bucking the trend, discovering himself and his method in life . Fun read of ways of another country, another method of life. Informative, not preachy, amazing example of the adventurous nature of youth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    your book is amazing I read it in 2 days maybe a small less, couldn't place it down it kind of reminds me of my own life at that age

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    Interesting book on Australian cowboys and cattle ranching in the Outback....highly recommend this book..looking forward to his next book ...hope he writes another

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    Amazing stories, interesting, still don't know what a swag is. Enjoyed reading how folks live and talk in Australia. Was fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Australian Yarns and Other True Stories []  2020-1-18 20:29

    A amazing collection of Australian yarns. A book for dipping into rather than reading in one hit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    This is definitely a various view of life on the range . Unfortunately we never hear the true story of how the American cowboy actually lived , suffered , and played . We only see the film versions . Cowboys today may not sleep on the ground for weeks on end but they still have a lot of hard dirty work with low pay . Cattle still have to be tended to and rounded up for shipment to shop . I recommend this book because it is real life and not a glorified ver of life on the range .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    I liked this short but very entertaining book. Casper did a amazing job. Loved all the "nicknames" and reasons why they were given. My husband [we are both 93 years of age] is reading it now. We have spent our life on the land and understand all the dramas of floods and fire. Having to "make do when anything brakes down miles from home. Seems he is now enjoying his life as a married man. Well done Casper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    An interesting slice of life that few people would even have inkling of. Hard to believe this young man was......so young. I thought America still had a frontier west - no, Australia is much more frontier. Very interesting story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    An alternative to school. Best method out for some not destined for doctors, lawyer or zone crafts. Interesting reading written plain and simple.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Australian Yarns and Other True Stories []  2020-1-18 20:29

    like what I have read as I have spent 22years living in Australia and love to follow up with Aussie stories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    This was a amazing read, a can't place it down story, issue was it was too short. This autobiography jumped straight into it, and kept up the pace relentlessly stage after scene, I loved it. The characterizations were well developed, almost seeming to be unreal, but real to the outback and northern Australia. The scenes were well described and I like that they were realistically described, not fanciful or a stretch of the truth, particularly the mysterious lights, another element to the book. I can appreciate that the book was about the learning of the dirt classroom and you need a hook to obtain the reader but essentially it didn't need it, this was more a coming of age story and a attractive one at that, set in a put and time not a lot of will obtain to experience. This book beautifully captured that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirt Classroom: An inspiring true adventure through the Australian Outback []  2020-7-6 19:0

    Read this book if you wish to lose yourself for just a small while in a true life adventure story and you don't mind sore cheeks form laughing out-loud.If you have teenage children who aren't quite sure what to do with their lives or don't quite fit the mold (or if you're one of them) do yourself a favour and expand your thinking on the kind of adventure that's still possible in the globe we live in is is the kind of story you read later in life and wonder to yourself "why didn't I do more fun items when I was younger."I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    What can I say; This was a story around Christmas that took me on an emotional rollercoaster ride. First, Hannah was going to be all alone at Christmas, missing a trip with her parents, because her boss required her to take over managing the grocery store, due to a death in his family. Then her latest customer of the evening ends up inviting her to spend Christmas Eve with her family, and going to Christmas Eve services and then dinner and their son was to join them. Hannah didn't wish to intrude, but Laura and Frank created her feel so at home and welcomed. Their home was so beautiful, yet so welcoming and comfortable, she even felt like she was part of the family. Then, their son comes home. Jason comes bounding in through the front door calling to his Mom & Dad to come meet someone. Oh geesh, is Hannah going to be a third wheel with him bring a girlfriend home....well maybe if what ever attacked her would stop slobbering all over her face as she squirmed to obtain a breath. As the laughter settles when the small pup is picked up, Hannah trying to dry her face, all to stop breathing again as it registered who the son was. Before her stood an small older ver of the young man that use to be on the posters she plastered on her bedroom walls, as a edless to say, another hill on the rollercoaster.I obtain pulled into the story from the beginning and enjoying every step and butterflies in the stomach, all to be thrown into tears and sobs, and then heartache from heartbreak, back to happiness and happily ever after. I ended the story feeling happily exhausted, with puffy eyes. I couldn't place the book down, except when I had to wipe the tears so I could continue to read.If an author can place me through the whole book of emotions; That's a Amazing Read! Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    This read like fanfic to me - not a “real” novel. Others have loved it, and I don’t blame them, it isn’t terrible. However, I like a book where I can fall in love alongside the characters, but they are in love almost instantly, and I felt like 80% of the book was spent NOT with the main characters. So, I was quite bored and ended up just skimming the latest half. It was beautiful trite, with nothing unexpected. I won’t be reading any more from this was absolutely clean, with just a few kisses. I honestly would expect adults to have a bit more interest in kissing, but as this was a mom writing for her daughter I got the feeling she wouldn’t wish to give her daughter ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    This is not my first Diane Moody book and it certainly will not be my last! If you are tired of purchasing books and being turned off by the graphic scenes, this is the author for you. Her books are so interesting without all the smut added. Blue Christmas is about a young college student working in a grocery shop on Christmas Eve. Laura, the mother of one of the members of a popular chart topper rock band! Laura realizes that the young lady checking her out, does not have anyone to spend Christmas with. Laura, immediately invites Hanna to her home, which turns out to be a masterpiece! , Unexpectedly, Laura's son comes home for Christmas along with the rest of his band . They all end up spending their Christmas together! Believe me, that is just the beginning of the story. There are all kinds of things that happen, but I am not going to spoil it for you! If you haven't read the book, you will just lhave to curl up for the pure pleasure of reading a good, quick paced book!! Hope that you have fun !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    This is the first book I have read by Diane Moody. This book really sucked me in with its special storyline. Who hasn’t wondered what it would be like to meet their favorite celebrity and what he might be like in true life? I liked the element of perception verses reality. I liked the relatable characters, others’ perceptions of them, and the varied personalities portrayed through their own actions. At the beginning of part two, I was annoyed with both main characters’ actions. The story has varying points of view, and I would have liked hearing Jason’s thoughts towards Hannah more in the latest half of the book. I expected a satisfied ending, but I had moments of doubt about Jason despite what was previously discovered about his character. This book was hard to place down, and I very much enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    Have you ever heard of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events? Things begin out fine, but then obtain worse and worse. Well, this story is a bit like that with happenings that start very well, but then there are surprise twists and turns that seem to obtain worse and worse. But the best part about this book is that it is the Christian ver and so much more upbeat, with a terrific ending. You will not be disappointed.Hannah was alone this Christmas. Her family was off enjoying a Colorado ski trip where she should be, but since she was assistant manager at the local grocery store, and the manager had just had a family emergency, she was next in line to supervise. On this Christmas Eve, she was feeling a bit sorry for herself when a kind, motherly customer she saw in the shop regularly invited to attend Christmas Eve services with her. She wouldn't take no for an respond either. That was the beginning of an wonderful journey for Hannah.Jason McKenzie is a star. His rock band, Out of the Blue, was a teen favorite. But living on the street was exhausting and from time to time he'd come home for a respite. He showed up on Christmas Eve and was immediately enchanted with of the things I like most about this story, besides the fact that it's a Christmas story, is the humor infused in the tale. There's a laugh around every corner. It's amazing clean humor and makes this story just cond, this story means more when you read the history behind the writing of this tale. I love reading where authors obtain their ideas. This one has a wee bit of truth and a bunch of fun fabrication. And this is one of those books that doesn't lose its appeal when you read it the second time or third time. That's my kind of book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    I got this book about 4 years ago but never got around to reading it till a few days ago. YES FEW DAYS AGO. HA. AND I am not one that leaves reviews on books....when I should. :) BUT I tell ya....Diane....this book was such a amazing read. Not a lot of books can hold up late into the night. Reading from my kindle....as I "flip" pages after pages....I laughed....cried....and just didn't know what will happen NEXT. Goodness. I used to support out working at Christian concerts when I was in college. AND all the musicians I have gotten to know have been quite an experience. AND some of them became amazing mates too. When you do obtain a possibility to even SIT DOWN and have amazing conversations.....they are just as REAL like us that goes through the everyday life. Each band members in the book showed that "BEHIND THE SCENES" of life. HANNAH was just as true of who she is inside out. When Laura....oh Laura.....I tell ya....God works in mysterious ways.....when she invited Hannah for the Candlelight Service and dinner....I had no idea where this was going. WOW. AGAIN....this is a amazing book. AND I warn you......if you're not a night owl.....be prepared....lol....you may be reading into the night. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    I was going to give this book 4 stars until I got to about 60% in. And then...WHAT??? Once again, a romance novel in which ADULTS think and behave like TEENAGERS. I'm really tired of that unrealistic kind of drama, for the sake of the author needing drama.And the ending? All wrong. A romance should give both female and male protagonists equal play, but the guy just kind of drops into a black hole for a while. I wanted to know what he was thinking and feeling while he was dealing with the misunderstanding. How he was going to pull through this crisis. And there should have been bonafide GOOD reasons for his silence to the woman to whom he had declared his love, but there didn't seem to be any except for that the author suddenly created him begin thinking and acting like a teenager.Which, like I said, was ly, it didn't give me the "warm-fuzzies" as I expect holiday-themed books to do, but that's a private preference and I don't fault the author for that. Just and FYI for any potential reader who shares my preference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    This started out really well, but somewhere along 50% tag of the story, certain story plots just seemed to be missing. For example: Jason and Hannah were becoming closer and closer everyday. They leaned on each other, they spent time with his family, friends, and bandmates. And even through all of the excitement over Jackson getting shot, Hannah and Jason still seemed to be about as close as a couple be, in a fresh found love. Then in walks Jason's old flame and suddenly..... it's as if Hannah no longer exists? He just falls into the arms of this old flame and never even tries to explain a thing to either His old flame, or Hannah. It's like everyone she'd been involved with for weeks, doesn't even look her way, or even thought to check to see how she was? What!??? And then suddenly Jason went missing, and only showing up at the very end of the story to profess his love again?!!! And she took him back without any explaination at all? What happened to the old flame? And by the way; it would have been nice for the readers to have seen the the whole exchange between Jennifer and Jason, when he finally set things straight. These large missing gaps took away from the story for me, huge time..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    Unfortunately this book was not what I had hoped for or expected. This was not an adult romance but teenage fan fiction and should have been labeled in the Young Adult category. I might have persisted reading but the 27 year old male lead tested my patience with his teenage talk and behavior. I found myself racing to obtain through all the silly dialogue, then decided life is too short to waste your time reading something you aren't enjoying and folded at Chapter 10. I would reccomend this book for a teenager only.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Christmas []  2020-1-16 11:40

    Blue Christmas reads a bit like a fan's fantasy, and the author's notes explained it did originally begin as fanfic for a boyband. The polish and expansion into a full romance novel was well done, and serves as inspiration on how not to look like an amateur.Hannah was called in to support run the shop when her boss was called away on a family emergency on Christmas Eve. Her parents were out of town, and with no one around, she accepted the kind older woman's invitation to her Christmas dinner. She had no idea this woman is the mother of Jason McKenzie, lead singer of "Out of the Blue", the hottest boy band and Jason was Hannah's childhood idol. Meeting Jason in person was a dream come true, and Jason turned out to be so unpretentious, Hannah was smitten. And Jason returned the sentiment. When tragedy struck the band, and one of the band members were admitted to the hospital in grave condition, papparazzi stalked the corridors, looking for ANY bit of news. Hannah now fully realized the pressure when the eyes of the globe were upon the band... and that contains her...And that pressure challenges her beliefs in faith and love. Are Jason and Hannah too various to stand a possibility at loving each other?It is quite charming, and the meet-cute was done properly, as it's "just plausible enough" and yet fantastical. The complications provided some amazing tension and ratcheted up the pressure on their relationship, but you know there's an HEA at the end of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    I’m so annoyed. Decided to purchase this book even thou it @#$%!10 because I really liked the other 3 I read from this author which were only $7. Im only on chapter 14 but I’m thinking about giving up on it because I cannot stand that silly main character. If I thought one of the other people in the book would come along and shove her intelligent ass off that stupid motorcycle and send her tough skinny girl ass back to jail I would continue reading. Oh well, you victory you lose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    I have read all of David's books - some three and four times and love them! But while writing is still very good, I did not like ANY of the people. They did not seem true or reasonable. More King and Maxwell. No more Mace,she is unreal. Actually nasty. With K /M we search their feelings, not so with mace. At least not true ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    Could not place it down! Baldacci does it again. Quick paced, full of suspense and loved the characters!! Mace is definitely a force to recon with and I love her style! Especially liked the humanitarian touch with the billionaire wanting to support the less anxiously awaiting another Memory Man book!! Read Baldacci years ago and was hooked.....had not read anything by him until the memory man series and now I am a frequent flyer!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    Some how I missed this book in my quest to read every Baldacci book in the order they were written. I am very glad I discovered it. Lots of suspenseful action and Baldacci does a amazing job of creating and describing his characters so you can visualize each one. Amazing book! Worth every page turned!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    Amazing story with compelling fresh female leading characters . I hope to see more Baldachi novels w the Perry sisters. The author is compiling quite a stable of leading men & women who will populate his novels for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    I enjoyed reading this book. The hero development was amazing and. The ntrigue kept me very much involved. I did not understand all the financial intrigue, but got the necessary part. I have always enjoyed a Baldacci book and will buy another. A amazing read. Mickey

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    David Baldacci is a amazing profilic writer- truly have fun his TV shows. This will not disappoint. A amazing female involved mystery. Powerful female characters with family ties. Has amazing twists & turns. I gave it 4 stars,as it left me wanting small more at the close. I am a large James Patterson fan -as well as Mary Higgins Clark. A lot of more of course- just can't give everyone 5-stars but have fun most of my reads. Love my Kindle. Never had the possibility (before Kindle) to immediately obtain books as soon as they came out!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    Not Baldaccci's best. I liked this the least of any of his books. And I've read them all. He's my favorite author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    Two sisters both police, well at one time were, and a lawyer too, obtain involve in a murder, and it obtain going from there, as I said at times it's a small boring then pick up true quick so you wish to hold going, though the ending was a small connie but if you a David Baldacci fan you will have fun it, give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Blue []  2020-1-22 0:58

    I like the characters that the author creates. They are true and flawed like the rest of us. I cared hat happened to them in the twists and turns of the wonderfully masterful plot. In other words, I couldn't place the book down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    If you love Christmas and respect our traditions regarding the holiday, DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. The authortakes amazing pleasure in debunking everything about the holiday is a frequently snide and sarcastic e book borders on being vulgar. If I could award no stars, I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    Typical Tag Forsyth well written, humorous, and informative book. Enjoyed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    Lots of yummy sounding recipes. I was frustrated that I could not use the flag page to create the traditional ornament for my tree though... Definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    Well written book. The stories are full of info but it doesn’t take but about 7-10 mins to read each one. Our family has throughly enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    I ordered this for my Kindle and love it. It has a lot of info that I never knew about our Christmas traditions. It's a very interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    The number of Christmas miscellanies is frankly abominable. I fear that we own most of them. This small volume, however, is actually worth the read. It is light, and sweet, and poignant, and well recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    Amazing resource for a lot of Norwegian recipes and customs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    I only created it a few pages in before realizing that this book is blatantly anti-Catholic. No thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    I learned a lot about all the various stuff of traditions surrounding Christmas.I highly recommend to all those who love Christmas time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    Far from a “cornucopia”, the author reminds the reader on almost every page, “Hey, here I am! The author! And I’m going to create some more sarcastic observations!”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    easy book helping us scandihoovians become more aware of our ethnic heritage and traditions - some taste true good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    I love the book. It reminds me of my childhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    Ace Collins has written many, a lot of books (e.g.,  Stories Behind the Best-Loved Songs of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) , More Stories Behind the Best-Loved Songs of Christmas , 25 Days, 26 Ways to Create This Your Best Christmas Ever , etc.).He writes in the Introduction to this 2003 book, "Before we brood and protest too much over the ruin of what we think Christmas must have been like in generations long past, we might actually feel encouraged about the season we celebrate today when we consider what Christmas was REALLY like in the days of old."Here are some quotations from the book:"By the fourth century, the Roman Empire finally began to convert to Christianity. When this happened, Easter became one of the most celebrated holidays in the realm. Yet as a lot of in the empire came to worship Jesus, the old traditions and holidays continued." (Pg. 13)"In early sixteenth century Germany, Martin Luther embraced carols, thereby winning over a lot of German Christians to the songs. Luther sang them with his kids and encouraged his growing following to come together and sing them as a congregation." (Pg. 49)"In an effort to bring some of the magic of the evergreen tree into their lives, Vikings would cut down a fir and put it in their homes. Having a tree in the house was said to bring the bonus of strength to live through the worst stretches of winter." (Pg. 70-71)"In Luke 2:16, it is clear that the shepherds traveled to the manger to see Jesus. Yet the Magi did not arrive in time to visit Jesus in his birthplace, nor, evidently, did they meet the shepherds." (Pg. 139)"Most people today believe that the twelve days of Christmas begin on December 12th or 13th and run through Christmas Eve or Christmas day. But in fact, the first day of Christmas is December 25th and the final day is January 5th." (Pg. 179)"The Greek for Christ's name is Xristos (pronounced Christos). While it is well known that a fish was often used as a symbol to denote churches and Christian gathering locations during the ancient days of the church, a lot of Greeks also used the letter X .. as their symbol of faith... Therefore, the use of the letter X for Christ is one of the oldest traditions of the Christian faith." (Pg. 184)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    I thought the book was very informative and interesting. I enjoyed learning where all of the Christmas traditions came from or how they changed over the years. The book would create an perfect gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    Very informative. Would recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    Delightfully funny in the original Forsythian way. The text follows much the same pattern as the Etymologicon, which, if you are unfamiliar, is Tag Forsyth's hilarious dive into the origins, meanings and connections between different words in the English language. A Christmas Cornucopia applies the same theory to the Christmas holiday traditions of western culture. As in the previous books, each chapter segues neatly with the conclusion of one overview leading to the introduction of the e book isn't long, about 150 pages of actual content divided into seven chapters. You can likely read it in an afternoon. But what it lacks in length it it more than makes up through the author's acute sense of the absurd coupled with a humorous and cheerful acceptance of the vagaries--and often complete insanity--of human behavior and favorite of the 7 chapters was the one on Christmas trees. Although Forsyth doesn't draw the explicit parallel, his exploration of Mystery Plays (and their accompanying trees) gave me deep pleasure at the idea that the garlands we use on our trees are the bastardized representations of that old charmer Satan, in the guise of a snake, climbing the Tree of Amazing and Evil in the Garden of Eden. Which brings me to a final point: if you know much about traditional Christianity, this book is twice as interesting and funny. If you're looking to bolster your pagan beliefs, this is not the book for you. The author does cover the portions of tradition that have some pagan roots-- for example, he does an perfect job of untangling whether or not Christmas is just a third-class refurbishment of the Roman Saturnalia--but in the end the history is decidedly Christian and so, as Forsyth illustrates, are the origins of the holiday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    I loved this book. There's hardly a page where I didn't learn something, so much so that by the end I was annoyed I couldn't recall everything I'd just thought I'd learned. An perfect show for any curmudgeon in your family or for yourself to while away a few hours contemplating the very weird nature of Christmas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    Another book by Tag Fosyth I have read with a amazing pleasure. That one you should read to be in excellent and a small bit ironic mood for Christmas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    Author Arnhild Knight has written an extensive Norwegian cookbook, Heritage of Home Traditions and Recipes of A Norwegian Christmas, that info the Norwegian Christmas preparations, facts and recipes. Her writing is lively and fact-filled. You will learn how Norwegians prepare to celebrate Christmas including how there is a Small Christmas, Christmas Eve, First Day of Christmas, The Second Day of Christmas followed by Romjul (After Christmas).According to Knight, preparations for Christmas begin in the fall when preserved and pickled foods are prepared. Later the house is thoroughly cleaned and more Christmas preparations will search some of the following recipes in her book:Norwegian Sweet and Sour CabbageRollsRolled MeatSour Cream Pickled HerringPotato SausageLamb and Cabbage StewPepper CookiesSandbakkelsDry Waffle CookiesRosenes LefseHighly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heritage of Home: Traditions and Recipes of a Norwegian Christmas []  2020-11-8 19:1

    So a lot of ways to have fun this book! Recipes are amazing - simple to understand. Old traditions....new traditions....our traditions......ancient traditions....today's traditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    Truly a unbelievable book on the history and traditions of Yule/Christmas. Of the handful of books I've read on Christmas, this one is my private favorite. The chapters are short and simple to digest. The writing is superb. The info is tremendous. The insights are deep. From my other reading, I search all the major points of this book to be spot on. If you're looking for a resource support you add depth and context to your Christmas celebrations, look no more. I'd recommend this book to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories Behind the Great Traditions of Christmas (Stories Behind Books) []  2020-12-14 18:0

    Very informative book about Christmas traditions. We liked to read it in the evenings leading to Christmas. We definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    I sat down and read this book all at once. It is an absolute riot, while also imparting light facts along the way. A delight this Christmas season, highly recommend careful with the third-party buyers, though; my book was badly beaten up, despite being in “Good” condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    Tag Forsyth's clever humour belies the amount of intensive research that has gone into this fascinating acc of Christmas traditions and ts that tag this holiday of holidays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Christmas Cornucopia: The Hidden Stories Behind Our Yuletide Traditions []  2019-12-30 18:42

    Just finished this absolutely charming book, which has a drôle writing style that keeps it fun instead of 's a fast read; it's based on real, honest-to-goodness research (which my fellow history geeks will appreciate); and I recommend it enthusiastically.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386