Read son of the south reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all son of the south reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    I loved this book. I had to read it for one of my college classes and wasn't too excited first, but it ended up being one of my favorite memoirs I've ever read. It's very well written and had no problem keeping my attention throughout. I would definitely recommend this to read, as it will really begin your eyes to the true life of someone growing up under Mao.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    Unbelievable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    I enjoyed Son of the Revolution a lot. I had to read it for my Modern Chinese History class and I loved it!

    0  


    Add your opinion on son of the south or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    Man I really dont know what to say this book was amazing I felt so connected to both TJ and Elijah this story spoke volumes to me because I'm a mixture of both characters I sometimes walk around like I'm ok when I'm really in pain man this book is just the introduction on the a lot of storylines that's to come it opens up your eyes on so a lot of things that's staring us right in the face

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    I just wish to say that you continue the door to do a lot of social issues. Now you are exploring youth and what they may go through. I love how you tell the story of these two young men, and their struggles. I can't wait for the next book what a set up for what should be something amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    This is a unbelievable book about China's Cultural Revolution, and a must-read for anyone interested in learning more about China.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    This book was fascinating and I could hardly place it down. It certainly provided a broad picture of growing up in China during the cultural revolution and all that entailed. I am not a scholar but the book showed me how not good Communism really is. There is no individualism and the government even monitors your thinking if they can. I can't imagine living in a situation where I would have to watch every word I spoke and everything I did just in case someone turned me in. So sad to see how hard people like the farmers worked and yet they didn't have enough to eat as most everything had to go elsewhere. They were monitored for every small thing. This young man is truly heroic as he has survived. The pain he and his family experienced under this horrible system is unimagineable. Mr. Heng was endowed and is endowed with awesome character, especially given the fact that the people over him tried to tear it down on a everyday basis. I can't imagine having the strength of hero to survive in this climate. The Chinese are such hard workers. Turn them loose and they work hard and create a living. In this system they weren't allowed to work for themselves at all. Thankfully, this has changed. Let's hope the government eventually becomes more democratic along with the economic freedom that has been gained. Bless Mr. Heng and his wife Judith Shapiro. I look forward to another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    Whenever I read a Jaxon Grant book, I am reminded of why I call him the Godfather of Black, , Urban Fiction and after reading his latest, ‘Tears of the Son’, I am reminded of that reason. ‘Tears of the Son’ is the first book that branched out from the ‘Life of a College Bandsman’ Series. As usual, the Godfather delivers a comprehensive and spectacular book that focus on best mates TJ Shaw and Elijah McDaniel. Set in America’s hottest urban mecca, Atlanta Georgia, TJ and Elijah are thrust into a wide range of adult situations while trying to navigate life as teenagers. Both TJ and Elijah are amazing boys making poor decisions that gives the book a sense of ruthlessness, irony, tactic and uneasiness. Because of those elements, Jaxon Grant has written a book that gives the reader a lot of “edge of your seat moments” throughout the pages. Although this book contains dark moments of controversial realness, Jaxon, balances the tone of the book with affectionate imagery of TJ and Elijah’s friendship. TJ is driven, handsome, y, popular, bold, powerful and a real alpha-male, yet he is vulnerable to Elijah. TJ is operating in the realm of being Elijah’s protector. While TJ is balancing his role as a father, son, and student – he is determined to be the shoulder of strength for Elijah to lean on during his emotional rollercoaster but he feels helpless because “his best friend’ has shut him out. While TJ is fighting for Elijah’s survival, Elijah remains unapologetic for his emotional outbursts and standoffish behavior towards TJ. Elijah knows that his friendship with TJ is indispensable but he cannot obtain out of his own mind the feeling of being inadequate compared to TJ. Elijah continues to mind read and he thinks that he is missing things that TJ and others have such as security, feeling loved, autonomy and accolades. All of those things causes him to act out in ways that comes back to haunt him. As the book nears its end, a misunderstanding and certain act causes Elijah to do the unthinkable. At the same time, TJ is rocked to the core with revelations about another mate Seven and a text notice that sends him reeling. In real Jaxon Grant style, the ending to this book is combustible! As a result, ‘Tears of the Son 2: Risky Games’ will be the anticipated book of the fall. Although this book has 228 pages, it packed a strong punch with a fast-paced, dynamic, energetic and bold story. This book contained relevant messages that speaks to the readers about being black in America in true time. Jaxon Grant novels always takes me out of my comfort location by enlightening and reminding me of controversial and thought provoking realness while at the same time, providing a classy, entertaining and refreshing escapism. I am looking forward to book number 2 to see what transpires with our favorite sons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    I couldn't stop reading. I loved it. The method you create it so realistic it's like I could visualize what was event as I was reading it. It has me wanting to slap TJ & Eli at times lol but that's what I love about your stories contain current happenings and subjects that aren't really discussed in the African American community. My favorite parts are whenever past characters are mentioned or interacting with TJ/Eli. It's awesome how much TJ and Eli are alike it's like they wish to be powerful for each other and don't wish to present their vulnerable side to each other. Those latest two chapters......OMG, what a method to leave the readers wanting more. I overlooked the little spelling mistakes because that didn't take away from the story. Is there a method I can preorder the next book?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    This was so damn amazing I need book 2 like ASAP!!! My bro Jaxon grant does it again it's MUST READ! Download & purchase IMMEDIATELY 👑👑👑

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    Unlike most authors, Jaxon Grant, grabs your attention and holds onto it. Content of the book is connectable! He shares light on true life and give clear understanding to it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    This was an perfect book that showed the effects of the 'Cultural Revolution' from the perspective of individuals. The book does not cover the movements in an overall view but keeps with the viewpoint of the individual. I think it would support to have a primary understanding of Chinese history during this era, to fully appreciate what is going on in this more detailed and finer viewpoint. Liang learns of the contradictions in this "sot" society. He does not demonize the Chinese people but shows how they struggled in creating a fresh society. There are a lot of strong photos of his private relationships. The main theme I picked up on was how misguided policies fostered a corrupt culture that was exploited on the ground level, often by people who thought that they were doing what was best for their country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    While I spent years to study European Nazisms and Communisism, I had never been exposed to the Chinese Cultural Revolution. Liang Heng's acc left me speechless, in tears and amazed. Beautifully written - crude and thruthful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    Bought this book for a class and really enjoyed it. Well written and gives the reader a amazing insight into the author's experiences in China.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    First and foremost this is just what the doctor ordered. I prayed that you write about these two young men. Thanks for reading your reviews. The book was short. A lot shorter than some of your other works. But just as powerful. I can't wait until the next master piece is ready. Cliffhanger for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    I am large Jaxon Grant fan and this book is good. I am glad you did a spin off from the children becoming to teenagers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Son of Kong [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    Albino Baby Kong. The Son of Kong is directed by Ernest B. Schoedsack and written by Ruth Rose. It stars Robert Armstrong, Helen Mack, Frank Reicher, John Marston, Victor Wong and Edward Brady. Melody is by Max Steiner and cinematography by Edward Linden. The makers wisely realised that to test and emulate King Kong would be folly, especially as this sequel was hurried out within the same year. Instead a more fun approach was taken, and as a effect it’s not half poor entertainment as it happens. After the devastation caused to Fresh York by King Kong, lawsuits are abound for Carl Denham (Armstrong). So when he gets the possibility to go out on the ocean again with Captain Englehorn (Reicher), he grabs the chance. There’s no plans to go near Skull Island again, but a sequence of happenings will see them pitch up there, to be met by a myriad of monsters and The Son of Kong. Little Kong is actually friendly, well to the humans he is because he is grateful to their support when he was stuck in quicksand. However, to other beasts of the island he is not so forgiving. For the first 33 mins it’s all about setting up the action carnage later in the play, characters are introduced, their reasons for being out at sea and etc. Then we obtain to the island and off we go. Kong scraps with dinosaurs, a bear, lizards and mother nature! The castaways are in the mix as well of course, and naturally they are thrust into a perilous life and death situation. And that’s it, barely 70 mins have passed by and it’s nigh on impossible not to be smiling come the close. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    WOOOOW is the first thing that comes to mind. I have waited for this book for a while and boy it did not r people who have not read any of his other boys this is a amazing stand alone book butttttt for his real fans this is one hell of an addiction to the collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tears of the Son []  2020-1-3 23:6

    Wow just wow! I need for Jaxon to come on with part 2. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen I was wrong. This is definitely a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Revolution []  2020-1-30 21:24

    This is the first such book written in English and allow people know what happened during the Cultural revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    Like most of the other reviewers, I LOVED this book, and found it completely fascinating. However unlike a lot of reviewers, I believe that the book is well laid out with an organization that in retrospect makes complete sense. It didn't take me more than a few pages to be captured by Connell's skills in presenting the e book's organization (IMO) has five main sections:1) Using the inquest of the war as background, the major people on both sides are introduced. However GAC himself is mostly talked around, this section focuses on who saw him during the battle, and where he was found...2) An extensive background and history of relations and interactions between the tribes, settlers, the government, and the military is presented. Significant incidents are examined in detail. There's a fair amount of tribal culture presented.3) The career of GAC is presented in general historical order - lots of 3rd party quotes, and anecdotal detail4) GAC and the 7th's journey into Montana and Small Bighorn is presented in detail. The battle, told originally via the inquest, is retold as it unfolds.5) The clock jumps forward, and the major people involved are revisited years sically you obtain Small Bighorn twice, first with no context, later with a lot of it. Yes this is an oversimplification, and yes there are a lot of sidetracks and illustrative vignettes along the way. Perhaps this is unconventional, but I totally agree with the blurb on the book - "brilliantly constructed". Above this, Evan Connell's skill with words, his ability to search unbelievable quotes and work them into just the right put and to place the "story" into history makes this a very enjoyable and educational read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    "Son of the Morning Star" was an Arikara name for Gen. George Armstrong Custer. Custer is the central figure of this book. The War of the Small Huge Horn is the central event. But the sweep of the book is much broader than Custer and his "Last Stand". This wonderful, idiosyncratic history is really about the late 19th-Century tragedy of the American West. It may be the best book I have ever read of the Caucasian conquest of the West and the sweeping aside and plowing under of the Native Americans. I will go further: this is one of the best books of American history that I have ever read. And this was my second rst published in 1984, SON OF THE MORNING STAR is not conventional history, nor would it serve as a amazing reference for looking up info of the War of the Small Huge Horn (or anything else, for that matter). It is meandering and discursive. It begins with an acc of Major Reno's sortie, envelopment, retreat, and two-day siege; then segues to "profiles" of Crazy Horse, Custer, and Sitting Bull, before returning to an acc of the Seventh Cavalry leaving Fort Lincoln on May 17, 1876 through its annihilation on June 25; and then concluding with the aftermath and recriminations. Along the way, all sorts of loosely similar topics are discussed, including different previous slaughters (some by the U.S. Troops - e.g., Sand Creek massacre and Custer's own obliteration of Black Kettle's village on the [email protected]#$%a - and some by the Indians - e.g., the Fetterman Massacre), the decimation of the buffalo, Indian names and other matters of Indian lore and ethnography, and the incredibly stultifying life of a U.S. Troops soldier posted to the High Plains after the Civil War. What holds it all together is the fact that it is so superbly written, in a rather understated and limpid of the strengths of the book is its presentation or re-creation of the now strangely alien mind-set of post-Civil Battle Americans. An example (from a journal of one of the officers killed at Small Huge Horn): "Man is the noblest work of God. In this wild region man will ultimately be seen in the full enjoyment of real pleasure, in the possession of happiness obtained by honest labor. For the hives of industry will take the put of dirty wigwams. Civilization will ere long reign supreme and throw heathen barbarianism into oblivion." With but a small kneading and a pinch of self-interest, this philosophical attitude is transformed into unabashed racism, as expressed in a Chicago newspaper: "There is gold in the hills and rivers of the region, and the white man desires to take possession of it. What, to the roaming Yankee, are the links that bind the red man, to the home of his fathers. He is but an episode in the advance of the Caucasian. He must decrease that the fresh comers may grow in wealth."Unsurprisingly, such attitudes informed and influenced official policy. In Custer's own "My Life on the Plains", he quoted a telegram from General Sherman to President Grant, sent shortly after the Fetterman Massacre: "We must act with vindictive earnestness versus the Sioux, even to their extermination, men, women, and children. Nothing less will reach the root of the case." Connell then editorializes: "If one word of this extraordinary telegram is altered it reads like a notice from Eichmann to Hitler."Nonetheless, Connell is even-handed. SON OF THE MORNING STAR is not an exercise in the politically correct or a eulogy for the noble yet sensitive and kind, ecologically-minded Native American. The book contains much on Indian practices that is uncomfortably inconsistent with a now-popular Fresh Age construct of the Indian, including their maiming and mutilation of the dead (giving the word "overkill" a most gruesome connotation) and numerous contemporaneous accounts of extravagantly wasteful killing of buffalo, stripping or de-barking of trees, and firing of the prairie [email protected]#$%!&.So what was the cause of what in famous conception remains to this day one of the worst losses ever suffered by the U.S. military? There, of course, was no single cause, but more so than with a lot of popular happenings of history, the "Great Man" explanation is operative. With Small Huge Horn, the "great" man is the ambitious, brave, romantic, foolhardy, and mercurial George Armstrong Custer. President Grant -- who as a general was oft-criticized for having insufficient regard for human life but who, even so, had long had a low opinion of Custer - told a reporter: "I regard Custer's massacre as a sacrifice of troops, brought on by Custer himself, that was wholly unnecessary."Next question: Was the tragedy of the American West - the sweeping of Native Americans from the Plains - wholly unnecessary? A much various question, to be sure, and one which I am not bold enough to test answering. But for anyone inclined to ponder that question, SON OF THE MORNING STAR provides much grist. It is a superb book, a classic of American history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    A man's redemption and a minor Christian sect, murder and a cross-country chase or two...except for some stilted prose a satisfying read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    It should go without saying that works of fiction are the products of dreams. Someone has a mentaland/or emotional photo of an outcome and from that photo a work of some type is created. Rarely isthat work presented as the dream itself, and rarer still is the dreamer the sole protagonist. Yet, JavierSalazar Calle has done exactly that in Ndura, the Son of the Forest. I have to admit that reading a work proclaimed by the author from the beginning to be a dream derived from the time just before sleep is a strange feeling and one that having read the work still will not leave me. The difference between this work and most works of fiction is that this is told as a first person narrative of a private experience that constantly struggles between normal anxiety, objective observation and outright , what if you were a passenger in an aircraft targeted by a ground-to-air missile flying over theequatorial jungle of central Africa near the border of the Congo, Uganda and the Sudan? What if rebels killed or enslaved any surviving passengers; what if you saw your two best mates killed one in the crash, one by the rebels, while you managed to escape into the jungle? Thus, the scene is set for the author’s imagination and extensive research into central Africa forest flora and fauna, the Pigmy people and his idea of what his reactions would be if he were actually experiencing being marooned for a number of days in a central African forest. The rest is the tale of the trek itself, starvation, fatigue, ants, mosquitoes, snakes and mind wandered away from the story as I read; after all, this was a dream, the story wasn’thappening. I use my imagination to immerse myself into the action and to identify with the characters in the stories I read. Therefore, the action should count for something. When you’re told from the beginning that the story is only a dream, I’m sorry, I can’t obtain into it. Nevertheless, aside from a few, but apparent editing errors, the story was well written and effectively conveyed the anxiety, panic, and other emotions he was striving to achieve in the reader. Because of the emotions his descriptions evoked and because he included a glossary of Swahili and Pigmy words used in the story,I felt four-stars were appropriate. Clabe Polk

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    A lot of thanks to the author for the digital copy of this most interesting real crime. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my e author, Benjamin Risha, was raised in a cult to someday take a put in leadership. But Benjamin began to see what was really going on ... and he wanted no part of it.If he tried to escape and was caught, it would mean almost a certain death. He was determined ....Managing to obtain out of the cult leaders' control, he set out on a journey ... to search his birth parents ... to search the truth about who he really was ... to search a fresh is was an extremely emotional journey for this young man, fraught with unknown dangers. Would the cult leave him be? Will he search his birth parents? Will he search himself?Well-written, emotional, the author puts it all out is is a story of survival ....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    This story took me to locations I can never imagine event anywhere, allow alone the US. A heroic story of survival with implications for the USA reaching into the Middle East, Christianity, and beyond. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes page turners!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. I am well acquainted with the story of Thomas, the twin of Jesus, and of the early Gnostic tradition in the first century Christian Church. The author held very close to these traditions. I would recommend this novel, for that is what it is, a work of fiction, to anyone who wants to fantasize about an early legend within the Christian Church.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    It began as one storyline, then two. One storyline reached it”s completion but the other did not. What happened to company chases Nisha & Marcus? No end of chase scene, no epilogue. eresting story, amazing action, poor ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    I assumed "the illustrated edition" meant a wealth of photos, maybe even one to a page. Not one single photograph. The regular ver of this book has more what does it have? Three fold-out versions of some old paintings of the type once hung behind the bar in different beer joints in North America. Of course, as I'm sure you realize, these paintings don't have one thing to do with the historical war of the Small Bighorn but are just some artists imaginings from back East based on not one thing of historical , this is a king size rip off. What a disappointment. Don't waste your hard-earned rubles on this, just buy the regular version. I want I had.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    Not happy just telling us about the Latest Stand, the author fleshes out every small detail he could dredge up about every participant, including a lot of speculative info that has never been confirmed but adds a lot to one's understanding of the time, the place, and the event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    This is a beautifully written book which evocatively brings to life the struggle to survive in the African forest. The plant life, animals and the forest itself are brought vividly to life with the author's careful, sensitive descriptions. It is very simple to imagine yourself walking each step in the narrator's shoes. For anyone who likes to imagine themself on an epic, challenging adventure, this is the book for you. The book is a translation from it's original Spanish and sometimes the choice of language seems a small odd, but it is still very readable and enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dethrone the Son of God []  2020-9-2 19:5

    Paul Ledney, the basic composer on this CD, spent some years in INCANTATION and REVENANT trying to create the ideal of melody to him: stripping of all meaning, pure nihilism and primal id expressed through sonic violence.On this CD, he came close. In the vein of early BLASPHEMY or BEHERIT, this is primitive chromatic riffing with unusual, almost hasty song structures, using his odd way of picking three-note "modal stripes" and repeating them at various positions in the chromatic rrounding this are the cavernous vocals of Ledney himself, which like a whisper created into a roar surge around the music, carrying it like a rhythm instrument of deviant unding very much like the results of a weekend of apostate demons camping in the countryside and, in the midst of their blasphemy, picking up guitars to create unholy music, "Dethrone the Son of God" exemplifies the feral and nihilistic spirit of black metal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    A gut-wrenching story written by an author that has first hand experience living in a cult. A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    Among the top ten history books I have ever read. This book somehow is not anchored in geograpy, nor sequential time, nor by person, not even thematically and yet it is the most comprehensible book on the American West that i have ever read...absorbing to the point of obsession.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    Exceptional. Din't do a lot of review, but this book is unique & derserves mention. Son of The Morning Star delves deep into the personalities of a lot of individuals who took part in this saga. Observations of the participants taken from journals, diaries, and/or letters and other doents were extensively researched by the author. Connell skips around a bit, with a somewhat tangential writing style, but he makes you feel what it was like to be an off reservation Indian, or an Indian scout or a trooper lead by such men as Custer, Reno, Benteen and other cadre. There are superb biographical sketches of key fighters and chiefs like Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull, Gall. Lonesome Charlie Reynolds, Bloody Knife, White Man Runs Him, Curley and others of the a lot of scouts who enlisted with the 7th Cav, you feel you obtain to know them. One of them was observed quickly embracing his horse telling it, "I love You" when he thought he was about to be killed only to survive due to a freak change in the focus and direction of the nearby a lot of opponent warriors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    I enjoyed this but had to stop to research for myself a small bit about Thomas the Twin. Then I continued to finish, with full enjoyment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    Adventure time with Javier Salazar Calle!! This novel takes you deep in the forest, makes you almost touch the leaves, the trees, smell the aromas and when you finally place down the book you run to raid your mply put, I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    The Son of Seven Mothers is a fascinating insight into a globe that we only read about or here on TV. This book was an eye-opening journey from the perspective of a truly innocent young man who was born and caught up in the madness of a cult. Benjamin Risha has a cautionary real and horrific tale and a story of survival, and the lengths people go to control others when you live with religious e book is professionally written but told with a sadness as Benjamin tells the story of being abandoned by his parents abused mentally, beaten physically, starved, and created to go hungry as punishment, bullied by elders created to work long hours as a kid and much more at the hands of the cult’s leadership. I found the book incredibly sad but engaging and hopefully Benjamin and others like him finally search their family’s and engage in a normal satisfied and contented life and place the past to rest. I Highly recommended this book as Benjamin Risha has a sad but an impactful story to tell. I received an advance review copy for free from Wildblue press, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    I’m very interested in this topic. I’m aware that Tony alamo children’s choir performed on neil Young movie “journey through the past” and the Choir is also on the soundtrack. I look forward to reading this book and have been waiting for it for ank you for writing this book! Cheers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    If you like a story with a lot of excitement, anticipation and mystery, this is the book to read. The physical descriptions of the locations visited by the protagonists and how the terrain was woven into the story were so well written, I felt like I was there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    I love stories that are related to the premise of The DaVinci Code, and this book was definitely a pleasant surprise. Loosely based on the legend of Thomas the Twin, it has a much more realistic and charming take on this type of genre. Definitely give it a try!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    This book is highly recommended without reservation, (pun intended) to those who are interested in Lt. Colonel George Armstrong Custer's role in the battles versus the Native American Indians in 1876. I had read this book a lot of years ago, and loaned it out, whereupon it grew legs and didn't return; after getting this copy and getting into the story again, I can easily see why. The author is a master raconteur, totally immersed in his subject, and brings this event, and the players on both sides vividly to life. The background about where Custer lived in Fresh Rumley, Ohio, his career as a teacher before his appointment to West Point Military Academy, and his subsequent success in the American Civil War, which saw him promoted to General Officer rank, is as well done here as the seminal happening of his life, that of the Huge Horn Campaign. Reverting to a lower permanent rank after the Battle ended, Custer seems to have been consumed with regaining his lost prestige and perhaps pay, by deeds of valor, or some might say imprudence, in an effort to rise above his humble beginnings. He had "married up" in the social scale of things, and probably never forgot that fact; his efforts were amply repaid by his wife "Libby", who outliving her husband by more than 50-years, spent the remainder of her life in burnishing her husbands photo and supreme sacrifice. The side stories of his subordinates Reno and Benteen add a flavor of the issues that existed with not good communications in the command decision making process, almost like the issues that caused the destruction of the British Light Brigade of Calvary in the Crimean Battle twenty years earlier (see "The Reason Why"). Son of the Morning Star is the type of book that teaches you something fresh on each fresh reading. Regardless of your position on the U. S. government vs. the Native Americans, this is an exciting look at the 1870's in the wild West, the people and happenings that shaped our country, and our national photo and identity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    An perfect read. If you are at all interest in this period of are nation's history, this will give you as detailed an acc of Custer and his life leading to his "problems" on the Small Bighorn. You will also be privy to the lives of those died with him, survived in spite of him, and those who faced him and survived that sad incident. It beings into full focus the issues inherent in settling the west; our nation's inability to live up to treaties with the Indians and the ignorance of those, mostly our military, sent to deal with 's a well written tragedy.Another related book about the period is The Heart of Everything That Is; a biography of Chief Red Cloud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    Javier Salazar Calle weaves an intricate tale of adventure filled with realistic description right in the heart of Africa. Ndura is a narrative of survival that shows how nature itself can become the most challenging conflict. I love books that begin with a map and include useful appendices at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    Amazing book! Very entertaining and readable with a realistic setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    An awesome portrayal of life in a cult through the eyes of a kid as he grows in a man. The author is brutally honest expressing his thoughts and feelings about some of the very tough moments in his life. It was so sad in locations but without dwelling on those things Benjamin keeps the story moving along. The lies, the abuse and the emotional pain that he endured are unbelievable. But there is also some amazing times. He clearly came through it with a strength of hero that a lot of do not have. I would recommend this book. It really is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    It's a book for the light of heart. It shows the lengths people go to to control others. It saddens me to see the pain this young man. My hope is he'll heal and live a productive well deserved life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    1965, Benjamin’s parents: Beth Risha (Jewish, mother) & Ed Risha (Lebanese, father) were married as arranged by was a sign of peace between the 2 1975, Benjamin “Benji” Risha was h & Craig left with her 2 children, but left Benji 1969, Alma/Dyer, Crawford County, AK. The Ridge (Georgia Ridge Rd.). Tony Alamo ([20 September 1934 – 2 May 2017] aka Bernie LaZar Hoffman, Tag Hoffman, Marcus Abad, husband/ adopted father) & Susan Alamo (née Edith Opal Horn, Edith Lipowitz, [25 April 1925 – 8 April 1982] wife/adopted mother) founded the cult apocalyptic ministry later titled Tony Alamo’s Christian 1974, Susan Alamo (wife/ adopted mother) was paired up with Tony Alamo (husband/ adopted father) in arranged marriage by him.He sent Benjamin’s mother to work in the rose fields in Bakersfield, Kern County, CA. She worked long hours coming home with bloody san finally gave in & married e Tony Alamo’s Christian Foundation church now has about 50 lta Fern & Fayette Peeve arrived & donated their 1979, the cancer had started to take its toll on Susan. Chemotherapy was started but to no avail. In 1982 she died at age of ings with Tony went to hell.His dark side emerged, he became a criminal, was abusive, & had his closest followers administered ildren worked long hours, meal was taken away & punishment was unbearable.Uncle Harry Sand & Anna-Sue Sand were told to administer swats to: Louden Sarrgis, Ragner Flashmigen, Dorry 30, Joyce 20, Lonny 10, Jaxon 40, Terry 40, Sharon 30, Leah 10, Layla 40, Allen 30, Tina 30, Josiah 29, Gary 10, Leon 40, Cassandra 20, José 40, Erin 40, Jeanie 30, Jessica 40, Rita 30, Thalia 30, Benji 10, Karen 85, & Miranda pa Tony set fresh rules for the boys/girls.• Boys/girls would always be separated• They could not go to school/church together• They could not talk/walk to each other• There could be no interaction between boy/girls at all for any reason unless there was an adult present• There must always be a watcher following boys/girls• No eye contact between the opposite genders• No smiling at each other• No crying around each other• No note writing to each other…• Anyone who defied these rules would be severely punishedBenjamin’s latest day of school was 6/njamin (17) ran away in 1992 & was able to track down his biological parents.He claims he wasn’t aware of the abuse Tony was committing on the young girls.When Tony wasn’t preaching, he created elaborate decorated jackets for celebrities (Julio Iglesias; Michael Jackson; Bruce Springsteen; others).Richard Church (aka Jim Walh) was wanted for murdering Raymond Ritter, Ruth Ann Ritter, & brutally beating his GF & (10, son).9, 2008, The FBI raided the Tony Alamo Christian Ministries cult compound after reports of kid abuse. Tony was arrested/charged with multiple crimes involving kid abuse & transporting minors across state lines for those ny (Bernie LaZar Hoffman) died behind the US Penitentiary bars in Butner, NC in 2017 at age of 82.I do not keep any type of compensation for reading & reviewing free books from publishers & authors. Therefore, I am under no obligation to write a positive review, only an honest one.Warning: This book includes descriptive accounts of extremely graphic adult content, (violence, murder, or expletive language &/or uncensored ly explicit material (bigamy, virgin, incest, pedophile, rape, minor/adult verbal, psychological, emotional, physical & abuse) which is only suitable for mature readers. It may be offensive or have potential adverse psychological effects on the reader. If you are especially sensitive to this type of material, it is strongly advised not to read any further.An amazing book cover, amazing font & writing style. A very professionally written cult memoir story book. It was quite simple for me to read/follow from start/finish & never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a large description list of special characters, settings, facts etc. to hold track of. This could also create another amazing cult memoir movie, a classroom PP presentation, or better yet a paid-per-view mini-TV series or even a doentary (Today; People Magazine; Associated Press). It was just OK for me so I will only rate it at 4/5 ank you for the free author; Wild Blue Press; BookFunnel; PDF bookTony Parsons MSW (Washburn)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    If you like action films about ancient artifacts, this is the book for you. It would create a amazing film and has an uplift of the spirit at the end. I hope he writes more of these.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    Very interesting read. Not anything I would take seriously, but highly entertaining and typical of the extent to which radical religionists will go to defend their faith throughout history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    Following the life of St Thomas all the method to China is an intriguing concept. Full of adventure snd believable twists and turns this book keeps you coming back for more. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardians of the Second Son []  2020-1-27 22:38

    This was a lovely book. A small slow at times and certainly not wildly exciting, but the reader still wants to see what is in shop for Nisha and Marcus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    I'll hold this short due to other reviews. I've read other works by Philbrick and Donovan about the war in Montana in 1876. I've also read different works, and spent hours watching videos online. This book by one Connell being the third I've read in regards to the aforementioned. This is my favorite of the 3, and found it fantastic. However, if you're fresh to this subject, I recommend not reading this first! It bounces back and forth between history, and I found it both enlightening and refreshing. Amazing job composing this masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Son of the Morning Star []  2020-1-17 22:59

    For anyone interested in the West and the battle between the US and the plains tribes, this is a amazing read. The book gives amazing insight into the backgrounds and motivations of the principal protagonists: the Custer clan, other officers and men of the 7th cavalry, other American military and Native Americans who participated in the War of the Small Huge Horn and other engagements of this war. The book is well researched and provides a view of the battle from the perspectives of both the whites and Native Americans who engaged in this struggle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    Ndura Son of the ForestI could feel, smell, and hear the forest setting in this awesome story. This is the type of book that is hard to place down. Javier Salazar Calle does an wonderful job of enticing the reader to read more without stopping until the story is finished. Because this is a translated ver of the story, a few errors of English syntax caught my attention. These were so few that the thrill of the story was never compromised. Every chapter is filled with adventures and enigmas of how to sustain life in a put that has enormous challenges. I was fascinated by how the main hero learns to survive in the forest by carefully observing and experimenting. His perseverance was admirable. The definitions that were included at the bottom of the pages created reading this book educational as well as entertaining. I highly recommend this book. This reader gives Ndura Son of the Forestfive stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ndura. Son of the forest. []  2020-7-14 19:8

    The book is marvellous! It does you to obtain into the history as if you were in full jungle. The one who has not dreamed ever of a related situation? The author exhibits with a clarity and an overflowing imagination as surviving it. I recommend the reading 100 %.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    A fascinating insight into a globe that we only really know from headlines and over dramatized TV specials, this book was an eye opening journey from the perspective of a real innocent caught up in the madness of cults. Both a cautionary tale and a story of survival, the story is well told and engaging. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE SON OF SEVEN MOTHERS []  2021-4-7 0:20

    Highly recommended read! Benjamin Risha has an impactful story to tell.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taste of the South [App]  2019-2-17 13:12

    Not good support. Clunky navigation. Unable to obtain current problem through subscription or individual purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    Love it 🥰......wore out the latest cd.....nice to have it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    A brilliant story as always. You write nothing but the best. I know you say this is a stand-alone but the method you write always leaves us wanting more of your characters. I would say Not good Vanna but I really feel for Jace. Amazing job!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    Les Claypool's writing painted a vivid picture and drew me in. The characters were fantastic, with there own personalities. The graphic and violence, though well written, wasn't something I'd normally reason for buying the book is that I also grew up in El Sobrante, but obviously at a more peaceful time. I probably graduated from high school about the time Les was born. I was disturbed by his negative description of the city that holds so a lot of amazing memories for a fellow writer, I would love to correspond with Les about how he was able to included some actual locations and use true names from actual situations and not run in to trouble, legally. I would also like to see a sequel, although the end did leave the reader with a lot to ponder, and pondering isn't such a poor thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    I am so satisfied that we have this spinoff series from The surviving Trace Series. Book one in this series was amazing. We finally have the twin brothers story and it was everything I thought it would be and everything I never imagined. This story had it all, but most importantly it had two very stubborn characters that drove me insane. Be prepared to yell to yell at something or someone, it will bring out the emotions in you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    Or any where really. This melody is classic Mexican music. The guitarist, Anthony Arizaga, sets a unbelievable mood. The songs melodic and pleasant. The CD comes with lyrics in case you have a few too a lot of tequilas and feel the mood to sing. "Sabor A Mi" was one of my favorites. The stacato entrance sets the mood for dancing. Not too a lot of tequilas needed for that. Amazing CD for a summers eve. Can't wait for a summers eve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    Living here in Fresh Mexico, this just fits right in. It is amazing ! A mate first heard it playing in a local Mexican meal restaurant and bought it there. I heard it later that day and I was sold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    I'm not the type that would say everything someone does is amazing just because I like their music, but this is really good! I expected it would be ok, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well-written it was. the story on its own would've been fine, but it was also really cool to hear a small more detail about some of the locations and stories in so a lot of primus songs. I don't understand the criticism in some of these reviews... maybe les doesn't write exactly the same method as their favorite writer? I don't know, maybe they just like to complain. in any case, no complaints here!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    I thought I had the book figured out but there's a definite twist! I hope he decides to write more books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    I am so so so thrilled that Calia Read has given us more in this globe she has created. I was so enamored with The Surviving Time Series I literally cried at the end because I did not wish to say goodbye to the unbelievable ston's book blew my expectations completely out of the water. It had me feeling all the emotions and I could not obtain enough.I love Serene so very much and it was amazing to see her, Etienne, and their small family but Rainey is another beautifully written powerful woman. She is a very close second to Serene as my favorite heroine.And what is coming to be real Calia Read fashion, that epilogue has me needing more right freaking now!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    Hard for a book to Grab me within the first few is one, from the start.Well done.I highly recommend you put this book as your next read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taste of the South [App]  2019-2-17 13:12

    It is amazing for people who in fresh england to cook southern meal

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    This may be our first book by B.M. Hardin, but it certainly won't be our last. I choose Secrets of the South for my Allure Book Club's February selection. We've been a book club coming up on 10 years now, and trust me, we know a amazing book when we read one. We're putting you on blast and putting your secret out here. Ms. Hardin you stole the present with this one lady. We even hope there's a sequel to this book in the near future and we don't particularly like sequels. Congratulations! You now have huge fans in the NOLA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    I’m almost speechless after reading this. BM came with a various style of writing than I’m used to from her & I loved it. I literally felt like I experienced the South, just from reading this book. So much was going on that had me eager to [email protected]#$%!. Definitely enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    BM Hardin just gets better each time! She has quickly become one of my favorite authors! She is an expert at weaving a quick paced, page turner!The story of Savannah & her family is full of twists, turns, and shocking secrets that hold you flipping to the next paragraph, the next page, the next chapter with abated breath and heart pounding excitement!I enjoyed this book from the opening line to the closing one! I look forward to the next entertaining read from Hardin!!!I recommend this book to fans of BM Hardin because they will not be disappointed with this fresh work, and for fans of quick paced, suspense novels!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    This book! So a lot of secrets! There were a few times that I found myself 😢 crying because of what Harvey did to Livy and Savannah! And at what happened to Savannah's mother. I feel what happened between Savannah and Jace at the end, she should have forgiven him. And what she did with that forever bonus at the end, she should have just given it back to him. So much went on in this book, but enough where you can hold up. This is definitely a book that I recommend to others to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    There was only one thing I figured out in this book, everything else had me going!! Chiiiiillle! Chiiille Chiiile!! This thang had wondering what was next! The author did an perfect job of keeping my attention, while I tried to figure out the next twist. Very amazing read. I plan to read more of this authors work!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    Kudos to the author! This book took me by surprise and it was really good. The book had a lot of twists and turns and there was drama after drama. I appreciated how she scattered cliffhangers throughout chapters and left me in suspense at the end of each chapter. Congrats on a job well done !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    Works great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    My wife stepped into a shop in San Diego and was mesmerized. Bought the CD and we brought it along on our 7 year anniversary day trip to? "South of the Border" We spent the day in Rosarito Beach and Puerto Nuevo and listen to the CD the entire time. This is Anthony's sweet spot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    I have a lot of respect for Les Claypool as a musician, so I figured I had to give his writing endeavor a shot. If you're familiar with the lyrical themes of his music, you won't be surprised to search related subjects covered within "South of the Pumphouse" (particularly fishing and damn blue collar tweakers).The story itself is bogged down by a lot of description within the first half, and doesn't really obtain going until about 3/4's of the method through the 180 page read. Simply put...not a whole lot happens. Readers should also be warned that the book is beautiful graphic all around, so if that sort of thing turns you off you may want to look elsewhere. Nowhere near an unpleasant book, but far too middling for someone whom I respect so highly to have delivered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    I wanted to like this book more than I did. The best part is reading about the local towns and landmarks. The story itself is beautiful entertaining, but also somewhat predictable... and quite short.I recommend it only to Primus freaks and Bay Zone sturgeon fisherman who wish to supplement their bathroom reading material with something slightly more substantial than Western Outdoor News.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    I almost place this down because of the language. I wanted to place a bar of soap in Donny's mouth, but I knew something was going to happen and I had no idea where he was going with his three main characters and I had to know! The author draws you right in, and from there on he has quite a few surprises that really create the book worth reading. I liked the method he wrote the story and would read more of his work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    Calia Read has done it again. 5+ stars. She’s has written a book with so much life. While reading “King of the South” I was taken into a time of history and innocence which she writes passionately about. The book has everything I love about reading romance. I couldn’t obtain enough of Livingston and Rainey’s story. There’s so much intense emotion between them that you are cheering all through out the book for them. It’s a long slow journey with intense wit, sadness, joy, romance and courage. Then Calia’s writes characters from “ The Surviving Trace” series to support along with all the fun and emotional support. I highly recommend you read those three books before you read this one. It’s part of this series and trust me you’ll love Livingston and Rainey’s in those books, also. My review does not do justice on how well written and how much this book means to me. I’ll leave it at this final thought, this entire series needs to be on Masterpiece Theater. I’ve have voiced this a lot of times. It’s just that good. “King of the South” is so worthy! Bravo Calia!“T’es La mienne. Mon beau sauvage.” Livingston Lacroix

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    I enjoyed the story line as well as all the characters in the story and I thought the author developed them well. There were references to a previous backstory with other characters which I presume are from a various book and the book ends with another hero starting another story. I may go check this out to see if I would like to read about these other stories as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    I have loved this series more with every fresh addition. Calia opened a fresh globe with Surviving Trace. She brings you into this southern globe with characters you fall in love with. I am so excited and can not wait for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    My husband & I bought this CD by Anthony Arizaga while we were in San Diego about 2 years ago. Brought it back to Hawaii and it's still a hit with the entire family today. We are having a family reunion and every one is asking specfically for that CD. We played it for our daughter wedding on Cinco De Mayo. Songs selected for this CD is fantistic and simple listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    This book is a bomb. So a lot of secrets, unexpected turns and the truth was all unexpected. This author will hold you in the edge of your seat. This book is a must read. That ending was a dropped jaw moment. Once you are done you will continue thinking about what you just read. Amazing job B M Hardin!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    Les Claypool can do anything with a bass guitar. For those who don't know, Les fronted his awesome band, Primus, all through the 90s and beyond. And I'll admit I'm a huge fan of his music, but I also read loads of horror and bizarre fiction, and I can tell you Les Claypool can really write. The worst thing you could do, would be to write this book off as one that got published only because a globe popular bass player penned it. This isn't as bizarre as the lyrics Les writes for his side projects and Primus. It's not a bunch of abstract sentences strung together that don't create sense, either. Les doesn't keep back with his characters; , , and violence are a part of this book, but people need to understand that when a writer starts a story, the characters take on a life of their own. So, it would be very wrong to say Les just sat down and wrote a bunch of garbage that he planned beforehand. This book would appeal not only to fans of the melody Les creates, but to anyone into strange fiction that makes for a really amazing read. There's no shortage of humor in this tale either; anyone who knows Primus, knows Les has a weird sense of humor. I opened this book expecting to read about 30 pages and then move on to some other books I was reading at the same time, and the next thing I knew it was hours later and I was more than half method through the book. Les definitely mastered his flow of words and found his own distinctive writing voice. I really hope this isn't the latest strange tale that he decides to publish. I'd like to see him become as known for his writing as he is for reinventing the bass guitar. If you like the kind of fiction that stirs your mind deep into the night and roams around your mind long after, then create sure you read South of The Pumphouse before it goes out of print and you have to spend a lot of $$$ trying to get a used copy. Huge time kudos to Les for creating this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    “A man with charm is a very risky thing.”King of the South is a standalone story, and book one in the Belgrave though, it is truly no secret that I have loved Livingston Lacroix from the moment he was introduced in The Surviving Trace, book one of The Surviving Time series.I knew he was a unique character, and I just wanted more and more of him. His charm swept me off my feet, and his love and loyalty to his family melted my heart. And the dirty talk in French? Oui s'il vous plaît!But this is not the Livingston Lacroix we have previously known. Love and loss come in a lot of forms, and Livingston has experienced more than his fair share of both.Enter Rainey Pleasonton. The less refined, younger sister of Livingston’s best mate Miles. But now Rainey is all grown up, and I couldn’t love her hero any more than I do. She is courageous, outspoken, honest and loyal. These two re-enter each others lives in the most unexpected of ways, and sparks (and maybe some arrows 😉) ia weaves a love story that is unlike any other. The twists and turns are inspired, infusing humor into a story of two haunted and broken souls needing each other more than either ever thought possible.And if you are missing the rest of the residents of Belgrave? Fear not. There is plenty of Étienne and Serene to go around, and some unbelievable fresh characters introduced as is review would be incomplete if I didn’t talk about the writing. Calia’s writing is nothing less than perfection. Her writing style immerses the reader into the story. At times I could actually feel myself in the ballroom at Belgrave, in the Pleasonton’s sitting room, or in Étienne’s office listening to his conversations with Livingston. Calia’s words create me wish to live in Charleston in the 1910s, and if that’s wrong I don’t wish to be right.I thank my lucky stars every day that Calia Read patiently listened to my begging for more Livingston and rambling about my love for ston Lacroix had a story to tell, and what a story it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    The King of the South had arrived! The story was written during the period that I loved so much. Historical Romance with the Southern twang and French influence really hit the ston Lacroix had seen too a lot of things from the beauty of womens, carefree lifestyle and the darkside of war. Him and Rainey Pleasonton were so amazing for each other. The story was heartfelt..funny in a way.. full with personalities. I had so much joy watching their relationship grow. Too amazing to allow it go. Calia, you had represented powerful womens like Serene and Rainey. They had all the magic to tame the Lacroix's men ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Border []  2020-1-16 23:53

    Actually heard this on a San Antonio client's keep music. No one could identify it or me. After months of searching I found it on is one the most attractive Spanish Guitar recordings I've heard. "What a Difference a Day Makes" was what first caught my attention...Now I just play the CD over and over because it is all so beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    This story really messed with my psyche! I really was pulling for Jayce. I felt that they present have had their HEA ! I hated the end of this book. Maybe hstd is a sttkng word but I'm a hopeless romantic. Why did Nathaniel obtain a second chance?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets of the South []  2020-2-4 9:50

    This is a amazing book. I read it in 12 hours. All the secrets that everyone is keeping is so shocking. Granny knew everything but couldn't hold her family in line

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    This book seems like it's searching for an identity. It's a long slog through the first half. Characters and locations are event all over, backstory is presented that seems more like a story in and of itself than contributing to the actual progression of the e second half of the book, while much more enjoyable comes off as being beautiful incomplete. Right as the book hits its stride you're into the huge finish and then it's over faster than expected, considering the slow pace at the start.While some of the stories told by the characters are somewhat entertaining (they really feel like they're stories Les couldn't fit into a song), it gets old and redundant. Often I felt myself thinking, "and another story..." If this novel had taken a slightly various direction it could easily have been a book of fishing/boonies stories that winds up on the back of a porcelain throne. No insult to Les (huge fan, I own all your albums) but the latter would probably have been better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    or a les claypool fan.look, even if the guy wasn't the most brilliant rock bass player of all time this book would be a amazing read. if you know the man and his music, then this book is probably what its like to sit in the guy's living room and have him tell you a story.i figured this was going to be another rocker's vanity publishing but actually the story is solid and would probably sell if les claypool was just a pet groomer living bakersfield.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South of the Pumphouse []  2020-9-23 20:42

    I have to admit I bought this book because of the author. Les Claypool has always been an interesting person to me.Had Claypool not written this I probably would not have bought it. It got beautiful graphic in a few spots. If you have a weak stomach don't go here. But I have to say I did like Les' writing style. He is a amazing storyteller. I'd read more books from him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    5 OH NO IT IS OVER STARS!! I never wanted this book to end!!! I absolutely LOVE LIVINGSTON!!! Livingston and Rainey's story touched my heart and was written PERFECTLY. I felt like I was watching a film play out, with all the detail this author gives us readers. You search yourself being transported back in time and talking like the characters. You must read this book, so download now and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of the South []  2020-10-22 18:21

    I absolutely loved this story! It was beautifully written and the characters were fantastic! I laughed. I cried. I laughed some more. I truly did not wish it to end. Raina and Livingston's story will be stuck in my heart forever. Cannot wait to read more from this author. She has quickly become one of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    I loved this book on multiple levels. It is filled with attractive pictures from South Africa. This magical and mystical land is amazing. I haven't ever visited, but checked out this book because I wanted to know more and after previewing the book I could see it would be excellent to learn more. It covers the history of South Africa and the problems they have faced. It also shows you things you aren't going to wish to miss when traveling around the country. I can't wait to travel there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    Valuable information

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386