Read song of america reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all song of america reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    I first read this book at the library and fell in love with it! So I decided to it!It's such a unbelievable adaption!

    0  


    Add your opinion on song of america or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    This was so readable and unbelievable for teen daughter and Mom enjoyed it as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    My two stars have nothing to do with the content of this novel, which is probably the most necessary American work of fiction of the second half of the twentieth century. Others praise it cogently, so I refer readers to their reviews.But the Kindle edition is full of inexcusable mistakes. I'm around 150 pages into it and have already found too many. The most egregious so far appears on page 154 (location 2723), where Guitar says to Milkman, "I suppose you know that white people from time to time, and most folks shake their heads and say, 'Eh, eh, eh, ain't that a shame?'" Well, as it turns out, the sentence ought to read "I suppose you know that white people KILL BLACK PEOPLE from time to time. . . ." (my emphasis).This kind of sloppiness is inexcusable. I wouldn't this edition until you learn that it's been corrected. How you're supposed to know so is perhaps murky. Just the print edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    This was my first book by Toni Morrison and I surely will be reading e method the writer captured a human sole, the emotional connection she made to every character, how she chose scenes, and overall storyline are is is a tale about black lives in some of the defining periods of history. However, it is also a journey into a human sole that a reader with a glimpse into other person's life and create one contemplate and relate in so a lot of ways even if that person's life sounds very various from your ing Song of Solomon for me was like drinking cold water from a vase on a hot thirsty day. You don't wish to stop and you are okay to spill the water all over you because it feels incredible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    I loved this book - the first novel by author Sarah Tolscer was well written, detailed and a amazing read. I couldn't place it o is our heroine. And she doesn't need someone to save her, thankyouverymuch. She has everything figured out, while she's waiting to hear from the river god, like the rest of her ancestors. She takes on cargo to save her father, and soon finds herself in the middle of a amazing adventure. The cargo isn't just any old shipment - it is a courier with a vital notice to be delivered. There's pirates, fights, and a love story with Tarquin ... who isn't quite what he seems. Caro learns to trust herself, trust others, and finally finds her destiny in the sea.I highly recommend this - I can't wait for the next one - I wish to know what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Fun method to introduce another language and culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    As a parent of a 4 and 1/2 year old boy, I hear a lot of CDs over and over! Here, you won't mind, and you and your small ones will learn some Spanish along the way. Well blended w/Spanish and English and the melody itself is very beautifully executed. Maria Del Rey's voice is lovely. Amazing fun CD to add the early years in classroom setting or at home. (Other languages are avail., but have not heard them yet). This CD is great, not grating!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    This collection was originally released on vinyl shortly after Marty's death in December of 1982 and created its method unto CD in the early 1990's. This CD is a nice overview of Marty's is an perfect method to begin out if your just discovering his melody or are just a casual fan. The more experienced Marty Robbins listener will wish to pick up "The Essential Marty Robbins" on Sony om "You'll Be Gone" to "Some Memories Just Won't Die" you see Marty's evolution into a Hank Williams styled singer to a master of crooning. By the time Marty passed away, his voice had developed into one of the most attractive of all n't hesitate to pick up this collection. It was this very collection that created me a fan of Marty. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    This is a amazing collection, largely in chronological order, of Mary Robbins works. The early recordings present a developing, but not mature talent, and the later, an "adult pop" approach . In the middle are superb cowboy ballads and an amazing blues/ballad, "Don't Worry" that matches another artist's "Last Cigarette" for it intense emotion and lyric quality. At that middle stage, Mr. Robbins' talent and the studio's production capacities come together in a truly amazing way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    Too much scratchy noise in these CDs. I'll never CDs this method again. Too bad, because I LOVE Marty Robbins!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    This album is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    Ron Wheatley's A Song of Africa strikes an intriguing parallel to another publication - Munus Africae, by Pope Benedict XVI. While Benedict chooses "Munus" - a noun title other than Wheatley's "Song" - it is no stretch of translation to say that the Pontiff's title is also a kind of Song, for Munus can be rendered both - affectionate service and - loving witness!Striking too, is that both works saw publication in mid-November 2011, at the conclusion of Benedict's visit to Benin. Wheatley's reflections are drawn from his on-site experiences as a Peace Corps volunteer in Nigeria, on the eastern border of which lies the country of Benin. The pilgrimage of thousands of Nigerians to Benin to see and hear Benedict bore witness to the song of affectionate witness professed by Africans!In his focus on the heart and soul of Nigerians, Wheatley recalls the efforts of his colleagues - US officials and volunteers, and their spontaneity in going beyond the pale in their efforts to improve the basics of existence of their African hosts. Perhaps without conscious realization, he re-affirms the missionary psychology of another Pontiff - John Paul II, in his confirmation that "Justice is not enough!" For John Paul, as for Wheatley, Charity continues where justice for Munus Africae, Benedict describes the African globe view in Part III, (Art.69) of his document as follows: "This amazing openness of heart and spirit in the African tradition predisposes you, brothers and sisters, to hear and keep Christ's message, to appreciate the mystery of the Church, and thus to value human life to the full, along with the conditions in which it is lived."Congratulations to Ron Wheatley for his independent presentation of a missionary perspective, affirming in advance that to which Benedict exhorts us - The message, the mystery, the value of human life, and the conditions in which it is lived."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    I left just before the Biafran battle started. It touched me. Well written. Recognizable landscapes. Amazing hero development. .Easy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Banyan []  2020-1-23 3:56

    GOOD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NeyNava / Song of Compassion []  2020-1-23 3:57

    It can't be but because of passion and love for his rich musical inheritance that Hossein Alizadeh can bring hereto hidden voices from traditional Persian melody to shine as the center pieces of a complex composition in which he invites the Western system as a universal "goushe".Goushes can be loosely called "variations" within a single compositional system [dastgah] in Persian traditional music. But it is much more complex than that. Goushes have more to do with recalling possibilities demanded by the temporal understanding of the melody at hand than a set method of interpretation. So, to call the "Western" guest a goushe may sound sacrilegious to some purists.But given that goushe has a lot of interpretations, allow me the liberty to interpret it as more linguistically as "witness", rather than "corner", as it is usually done. Later you will see that this "witness" will obtain involved with equal stature.Goushe was the person who would sit in one of the several rooms surrounding a traditional residential entry hall in Iran. The person would listen to the business or legal conversations of his master and his guests and be a "witness" or a reminder. The goushe would not participate in person as a sign of respect for the guests. But a goushe was legally equivalence of a physically show witness. The gouche's ear was all that mattered, and like a written account, it wouldn't carry any interpretations of the physical interaction of the parties. To use a gouche was an accepted practice when a witness with the same stature of the guest could not be brought us we can imagine that here Hossein Alizadeh brings in Western "forms" to witness the nearly infinite array of possibilities in seemingly rigid Persian compositional system. This witnessing affects how the witnessed act and play.Each western tempo, be it dance, military, or processional, brings out melodies and rhythms from Persian dastgahs in a one to one and then one to a lot of relationships. A single western form evokes multitude Persian "shapes". But, beyond the playful android game of precedence, there is also the interplay between the dastgahs in this fresh environment made by introducing a foreign izadeh goes a long method toward showing that by "witnessing" the Persian through the formalized, often linear western system, we can dust off lost insights and express musical ideas that truly have no edge, no border, nor fronts. The linear becomes tesseletated into fractured e number of layers of patterns in these compositions is no less than interwoven patterns "flattened" onto a single surface in the tile designs of the sixteenth century masters. By weaving natural and geometric layers into stories forbidden by the religious sytem or "dastgah" the tile designers mixed human concepts and natural shapes to express the harmony between the two. Thus, a third unbelievable android game in these compositions appears as the put of natural "voice".In these pieces Persian melodies are usually voiced by the ney while Western melodies by strings. Then the presence of a natural voice, although abstracted, changes this. In these instance Western melodies voice through the Ney. Similarly for percussion instruments. The daf and the tomabak take turns carrying the two systems, adding fresh layers of geometric "pattern".These studies by Mr. Alizadeh accumulate added significance as time goes on. One discovers, and resolves, fresh complexities with each listening, with the pieces becoming more mystifying in their clarity. One can hear the joy, sadness, and mythical ecstasies of various poems in major dastgahs which here commingle in the presence of a fresh "witness" [goushe].Hossein Alizadeh is convincing us that this "witness" SHOULD be created a permanent friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NeyNava / Song of Compassion []  2020-1-23 3:57

    I heard this melody for the first time in a Persian restaurant in Porto/Portugal. It instantly carried me away so I had to obtain theCD. The owner of the restaurant only had an old cassette. I created a image of this cassette, got the persian text translated by a persian colleague, searched a bit on the net and now I found it at eat!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    What fun this was! Caro is the daughter of a wherryman, hauling cargo up and down the rivers with a Fee, a frog person as a voluntary first mate. This very plot driven adventure is launched with the arrest of her father for smuggling and a bargain for his release that would require Caro to deliver a mysterious box to a town down the river. There are twists, turns, adventure, treachery, battles, and romance ahead for our intrepid heroine. It would spoil the story to describe it in any detail. But, there are pirates, privateers, storms, magic, high seas, a drakon, frogpeople, shadowmen, gods, and more to catch your imagination. How amazing is that! This view of the fantasy globe is primarily from the water but you can tell that there are people, kingdoms, and politics boiling on land. There is violence with blood and death, but not a lot of graphic details. There is and romance, but again, not a lot of graphic details. This book was a Kindle bargain and it was amazing entertainment. It is not a book group book and it will not change your life, but it was very entertaining. It is the kind of book that might create a reader out a young person just because the fantasy adventure keeps you turning the pages quickly and that actually might change the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    This is not a review on the actual book but on the audio version. The audio does not follow the book, it skips major parts and in a lot of locations makes absolutely no sense. I would not recommend this audio, but I do highly recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    Have you ever felt like your life is an unsolved mystery, full of dispersed, broken parts that need reassembling? Have you ever felt like a sense of truth and – indeed a sense of God – was far away and like chaos was all too near? That’s the situation that faces the main hero in Morrison’s kman Dead – yes, that’s his true name – is confronted by a globe in which everything seems like a paradox. His grandfather jumped out of a window on the day he was born. His relatives are named after randomly chosen words out of the Bible (Corinthians, Magdalene/Lena, and Pilate, of all things). His family name is Dead, and his given name (Macon) is shared by his father. Everything is out of and a seeming ever, Milkman never strays far from his home environs. He is a black man living in Michigan in the early twentieth century. He has few, if any, mates because none of them understand his relative wealth. He is held hostage and imprisoned away from the globe in this weird bubble of rtunately, as this story evolves, Milkman comes closer to understanding who he is, who his family is, and what makes the true globe work. He becomes alienated from his past and for the first time, embraces what an emancipated, enlightened life looks e action in this book grows and grows all the method to the latest sentence. It helped to victory Morrison a Nobel in Literature. Any reader who spends the couch change to this book and the hours important to create sense of the piece will be bountifully rewarded by understanding herself or himself better as they embark on the journey with Milkman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    Great, but a bit too brutal for me; I wasn't able to [email protected]#$%! this time around as I have not been able to finish, "The Bluest Eye, the latest time I read it. But Toni Morrison captures emotional tones and atmospheres and a lot of other info that give amazing verisimilitude and deep understanding of the characters she is portraying although, as I said before, a lot of it is a bit too brutal for me. Blessed be!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    If you have never read Song of Solomon and you are aged 25 or more, this is a bucket list read. Only don’t wait until you are 70, like myself, to search golden truths between its pages. I will read it several more times for pure enjoyment. This is an absolutely outstanding, timeless classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    I love this CD!! I ordered one for my granddaughter who is being raised in a bilingual home. I liked it so much that I ordered another as a bonus for a mate who speaks Spanish and works with English and Spanish-speaking unique needs preschoolers. The songs are mostly familiar ones for children, are well done, interesting to listen to, and there is a vocabulary review in English and Spanish at the end of each song. Truly one of my favorite children's cds! I want I had known of it when I was still teaching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    My son is 4yrs old and goes to Spanish class once a week. He really enjoys this melody and so does my 2yr old who is just learning to speak english. Never too young to begin the awareness of another language. We play it on the method to school. It sings one verse in English and then in Spanish, unlike some cd's that seem to be for children who only speak Spanish. Amazing starter music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    I bought this as a bonus for my son who is a Marty Robbins fan. He was satisfied with the gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    It's Marty Robbins what more can you say!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    Just read it. Review later.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song Of Ocarina []  2020-1-23 3:44

    Slim Dusty has that classic Australian folk singer voice and his songs are peppy and upbeat. This is my first album by Slim Dusty and I am so impressed that I wish to hear more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Banyan []  2020-1-23 3:56

    Though I've never heard this album, I've seen Phong preform twice and both shows were absolutely excellent. I saw him once in high school with my mate Chris and once in college with my mate Pat. They are rad dudes and loved Phong as well. For a number of years, I kept an autographed picture of Phong in my wallet. The second time I saw him, I showed it to him. He though it was amazing and shook my hand. All in all, perfect melody from a very talented and humble man. Long Live Phong Nguyen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NeyNava / Song of Compassion []  2020-1-23 3:57

    Beatiful concerto for ney and cords by Alizadeh, people from iran allow me explore this composer by offering me a easy tape. It was amazing to search a CD release of that melody discovered years and years ago !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NeyNava / Song of Compassion []  2020-1-23 3:57

    Hossein Alizadeh is the greatest living instrumentalist of Persian traditional melody and this work is one of his greatest compositions. If you desire purity of the ancient tradition combined with innovations of a amazing musician, Alizadeh is the person to listen to. If the melody is fresh for you and sounds a bit strange in the beginning, listen to it with closed eyes for a while and more than once. Persian traditional music, like all introverted and esotric traditions, is a bit more difficult to grasp at first, but its emotional and intellectual rewards by far out-weighs the small additional effort one has to spend in the beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Days of Song & Sorrow []  2020-5-3 19:0

    It is a amazing CD. Faramarz Aslani is one of the best musicians in Iran. In my openion his is Iran's Leanard Cohen. I wished he released more CD's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    I found this book while browsing through Amazon's lists and reviews. Even though there was no summary for the book, I ordered it, based on the lone review, and the fact that I liked the cover.I was rather surprised to begin the book and search it told in verse format (I think that's what it's called - it's not really poems, but like prose or verse). I've never read a book like that, and from the review and lack of summary, I'd assumed it was a novel. I had been ridiculously excited, being a fan of stories like the Round Table and Arthur and medieval times, but a small less thrilled at the format. But I told myself I'd give it a try, read a couple of e story was amazing. It's a retelling of Elaine of Ascolat as a teenager in Arthur's (then military leader, not yet King) military camp, surrounded by all the young Knights of the Round Table (Arhtur, Lancelot, Tristan, Gawain). As the only girl, aside from Arthur's older sister, she has a special, special position in the camp, until attractive and snobby Gwynivere comes along. Gwynivere also catches the attention and affection of Lancelot, whom Elaine has had a crush on since childhood. Told within this setting and legend is Elaine's growing up, coming-of-age story/moment/adventure.I don't really understand the purpose of the format, but it read like a really quick book. I finished it in a couple of hours and then immediately went looking for more on the legend of Elaine (aka, the Lady of Shalott - I just kept thinking of that stage from Anne of Green Gables...). I was surprised at the parts of the original legend that created it into this story. This book also re-interested me in Meg Cabot's Avalon High, which I had to track down so I could reread it after reading this awesome tom line, amazing story that sparked further interest in the legend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    BOOK AS DESCRIBED, DELIVERY AS ADVERTISED.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Days of Song & Sorrow []  2020-5-3 19:0

    Enough Said! This man has been known affectionatley as Iran's respond to Leonard Cohen. He writes and performs his songs. The lyrics are strong - he never goes for and simple rhymes. His tunes are sad and joyous at the same time. I still prefer his first album but this one is quite amazing too. He has produced only 3 albums in over 25 years. Every one of them is a gem. One difference between him and Leonard Cohen - Aslani can actually sing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    I don’t know if I would’ve picked this one up if Rachel hadn’t told me to (while comparing it to CROWN DUEL!), so allow me tell you right now: don’t create the same mistake I did. SONG OF THE CURRENT is a fun adventure story, full of pirates, magic, political intrigue, and romance that reminded me a lot of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, but with more feminism.I loved Caro. She tries to show herself to the globe as so sure of herself, but she’s really not. Throw in the fact that she’s on her own for the first time ever after her father is thrown into jail, and that her plans of rescuing him are thrown awry when it turns out the super secret shipment she’s carrying has severe political implications that send a fleet of pirates after her, and things obtain very dicey very quickly.I don’t wish to comment too much on the romance for fear of spoiling anything, but it’s my favorite part of the book. It’s a hate to love romance (MY FAVORITE), plus Caro doesn’t place up with anything from [redacted]. Plus, [redacted] is used to getting anything he wants whenever he wants it, and spends most of the book unlearning this. Plus, there is consent, explicitly on the page. Everything about it is fantastic.And this globe was just so much fun to spend time in. The method the globe is developed, created me feel like I was right there in the riverlands with Caro, and in all of the various cities and towns they hid from the pirates in along the way. And the method the political landscape was woven in without it being too information dumpy was fantastic.Overall, perfect globe building, a fast-paced adventure, and political intrigue created this one of my favorite series from latest year. Create sure to give this one a shot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    I feel like it has been entirely too long since I found a book that I couldn't place down. Song of the Current was that kind of book for me. I am absolutely in LOVE with all of these books coming out with [email protected]#$%, sea-faring ladies! This book delivered all the scalawags I could have ever wanted!Caro finds herself on a mission to deliver some necessary cargo from Hespera's Watch to Valonikos. After refusing it himself, her father ended up being locked up for smuggling, so Caro agreed to deliver it in exchange for his release. She takes the crate of mysterious cargo and her frogman, Fee, and hit the river. She quickly finds herself being hunted down by a group of fearsome pirates known as the Black Dogs.Wanting to know what she was risking her life to deliver, Caro opens the crate to search a boy. A courier on his method to deliver an necessary notice to o was such a fun heroine. She's kinda sassy with a no nonsense attitude. She doesn't place up with a lot of crap. She has spent her whole life waiting to hear the river god call on her as he has on generations of Oresteia wherrymen. But at 17, she has beautiful much given up any hope of the river god calling on her. Not that she needs his favor, she is a perfectly capable wherryman all on her own.Tarquin, the courier sent from Akhaia to Valonikos to deliver a message, was a amazing hero too. Caro suspects that he's keeping secrets. I liked him as a character. I feel like it took me a min to grow to like him though. I don't know, I feel like his development wasn't super smooth? Like in the beginning he comes off as spoiled and then the next thing you know, he's just not?? I don't know if he's supposed to be putting on some kind of act or maybe that's just how quickly Caro's opinion of him changed, but it felt a bit off to me.I liked the romance in this book. It's a hate-to-love kind of thing. Caro and Tarquin can't stand each other when they first meet. Tarquin is mostly just spoiled and useless and Caro wishes that she could items him back into his enchanted box, but she can't. Then they begin to understand each other more and tell each other the truth and they grow on each is book is beautiful much nonstop action, so it's really simple to obtain drawn into it. I really enjoyed all the relationships in this book. Between Caro and her father, her wherry, Tarquin, Fee, I loved it!Like I said, the only thing that I think I didn't like was the development of Tarquin because it didn't feel smooth.Overall, I loved this book. It's definitely a favorite of 2017! This is kind of a junky review, but darn it, it's hard to write reviews of books I love because I just wish to spell it all out for you and that's just not how it works. If you liked Daughter of the Pirate King, you will probably like this one as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    AS A BROTHER TO ME: ‘SONG OF SOLOMON’ BY TONI MORRISON[NOTE: This review may include plot spoilers.]1.’Song of Solomon’ (1977) is Toni Morrison’s third novel, and it’s the one that place her on the literary map, winning the National Book Critics award, getting chosen for Oprah’s book club, and inspiring at least two collections of critical essays and the name of a punk-rock band. Written following the death of Morrison’s father, it is her first book to feature male leading characters. The first part of the book is set in an unnamed town in Michigan. The part of the town called ‘Southside’ - i.e. away from the desirable lakefront property to the north - is implied to be the black neighborhood. (The geography is somewhat ambiguous, as some of the landmarks named in Chapter 1 are consistent with Morrison’s native Ohio.) And like Pecola Breedlove in ‘The Bluest Eye’, its chief protagonist, Milkman Dead, is born in the same year as Morrison herself - in fact, one day after TM’s own birth date. The main action of the story takes put in September 1963, in the days following the 16th Road Baptist Church bombing in Birmingham, Alabama.‘Song of Solomon’ is a family drama; unlike its predecessors, all of the principal characters of ‘Song of Solomon’ - with the seeming exception of Guitar Bains - are connected with a single family, the Dead family, by blood or con III “Milkman” Dead has problems. To start with, well, there’s that nickname. He’s not sure how he got it, and he’s beautiful sure he doesn’t wish to know. His father, the elder Macon, doesn’t know either, but thinks it sounds “dirty, intimate, and hot”, and correctly suspects that it has some connection to Milkman’s mother, Ruth. Enough said, then.His girlfriend (who’s also his cousin, NTTAWWT) is hot, but clingy. When he dumps her (in a note, with which he thoughtfully contains a tip) she goes all crazy and tries to slay him. And his best mate has fallen in with some rather strange characters. Things just don’t seem to be going his way. So when he gets word of a lost family fortune - a bag of gold buried somewhere in Virginia - Milkman sees his possibility to leave home in find of e story centers around the legacy of the first Macon Dead, who was murdered by racists for the Virginia farm he had worked so hard to build. His two orphaned kids (their mother died in childbirth), Pilate and the second Macon Dead (Milkman’s future father) escape. The brother and sister remain close until a dispute over their inheritance - a bag of gold, illegal to possess in the early 1930s - leads to their 1963, Macon II has raised three children, and has achieved financial success, and a measure of power in the black community, on his own. His two daughters, now both over 40, remain unmarried and still live at home with their much younger brother. Macon still harbors hatred toward Pilate (lifelong sibling grudges are never pretty) and rules his house with an iron fist. Milkman’s first meeting with his aunt Pilate - versus Macon’s strict orders - led to his passionate romantic involvement with Pilate’s granddaughter and his friendship with Guitar, both of whom are a few years older than Milkman itar Bains will play a central role in the story, and yet we are given remarkably small detail about his background. We learn that he lost his father at the age of 4 to a sawmill accident (which, in a grotesque detail, severed his body in half along the sagittal plane), and that he acquired a lifelong aversion to sweets when the mill owner callously handed out candies at his father’s funeral. Eventually, Guitar will fall in with a group known as the Seven Days, whose other members contain Robert B. Smith (whose suicide begins the book) and Porter (whose clandestine affair with Milkman’s sister Corinthians is chop short after Milkman blows the whistle to Macon). The Seven Days are dedicated to avenging white violence versus blacks, and the Birmingham killings give fresh urgency to their need for operational is hinted (pp. 32 - 33) that Macon Dead enjoyed extramarital liaisons with “a slack or lonely female tenant” prior to Milkman’s birth; these encounters could have included Guitar’s mother prior to her disappearance (p. 21). If that’s the case, then it is not impossible that Macon is in fact the natural father of Guitar. This would create Milkman and Guitar brothers, for as Reba pointedly observes (p. 44), siblings may share a single parent. If, as Pilate asserts to Milkman’s confusion (p. 38), there are “three Deads alive”, this would create Guitar the third Dead, and the reference to the two as “brother[s]” at the end of the book is not a figure of kman and Guitar have various visions of life, and this is clearly shown by their various visions of what the gold will bring them: Milkman sees wealth as the ticket to comfort, independence, and a life away from his family and home; Guitar sees the gold as a means to further the goals of the Seven kman’s struggle began before his birth. When Ruth’s father, Dr. Foster, took ill, Macon murdered his father-in-law by destroying his medicine; Lena and Corinthians were toddlers at the time. Ruth and Macon stopped having marital relations after that, but as the years passed, Ruth, desperate for affection and for a third child, went to Macons sister Pilate - a healer - for help. In short order, the youngest Macon Dead, “Milkman”, was conceived.When he learned of his wife’s pregnancy, the enraged Macon tried to force Ruth to abort her child, resorting to different tactics including knitting needles. But these attempts failed, and Milkman came into the globe alive. It’s possible that a subconscious, prenatal memory of those knitting needles informs the wording of Milkman’s obscene suggestion to Hagar (p. 130) regarding the knife she is of the themes running through ‘Song of Solomon’ is the debilitating result of a life of ease and comfort. The city-bred Milkman is at a distinct disadvantage in both the physical and the human terrain of rural Virginia. Corinthians, whose elite education rendered her “unfit for work” and alienated most of the eligible black men in the community, is destroyed when her desperate affair with Porter is place to an end. And from the ghostlike figure of Circe we learn that Mrs. Butler, the white lady who inherited the stolen Macon Dead property, took her own life when the ran out - preferring death to the menial work of keeping up the e shadowy, driven figure of Guitar accompanies Milkman throughout the book, as friend, confidant, mentor, and finally assassin. The novel’s narrative POV is tightly focused on Milkman, and Guitar appears only twice in Milkman’s absence: first, as one of the unnamed kids at #3 Fifteenth Road (then being cared for by their grandmother, Mrs. Bains, following the mother’s latest abandonment - p. 21), and again in Chapter 13, where he attempts to comfort Hagar after her rejection by itar’s early rejection of sweets sets the pattern for his response to violence and oppression. From the beginning, he is motivated by a sense of purpose and despises material comforts. At an early age, he internalizes his grandmother’s declaration that “a n****r in business is a not good thing to see” (p. 22) - a reference to Macon Dead, and to the power that Macon holds over her and much of the community as a property owner. Later, Guitar makes it clear to Milkman that he is willing to overlook, but not to forget, the “sins” of Milkman’s father (p. 57, p. 102).Guitar repeatedly chides Milkman for being naive about white racism (pp. 82 - 88) and for generally lacking seriousness (p. 104). So it’s not too surprising when we learn about his induction into the Seven Days, a group dedicated to violent reprisals versus whites:‘But when a Negro child, Negro woman, or Negro man is killed by whites, and nothing is done about it by their law and their courts, this society selects a related victim at random, and they execute him in a related manner if they can.’Joining the Seven Days gives Guitar the sense of meaning and purpose he craves. (In another put and time, it’s not difficult to imagine him joining a jihadist group.) He adopts a more disciplined, spartan lifestyle, giving up drinking and smoking. He must turn himself into an efficient killing machine.And yet it’s Guitar who words of wisdom and comfort to the devastated Hagar (p. 306). Always more of a loner by nature than Milkman, he understands that “you can’t own a human being” and he understands the dangers of overly-enmeshed love. He also understands that Hagar is profoundly unlike her mother and her grandmother (both single mothers) and that being raised without the extended family of “a chous of mamas, grandmamas, aunts, cousins … and what all to give her the strength life demanded of her” has taken a not good toll on her.Of Guitar’s love life we are told very little; he seems to search the solitary lifestyle of the Seven Days congenial. Only on p. 307 is there a tip of a romance in his past:“But I did latch on. Once. … But I never wanted to slay her. Him, yeah. But not her.”5.Anyone who grew up in a dysfunctional family should read ‘Song of Solomon’. Milkman’s struggle for independence from his own smothering family of origin is also his journey towards the discovery of his larger family and heritage. In struggling with his parents (sometimes literally), he comes to understand their globe and the forces that shaped them, and he learns to accept them for who they are, with their faults and their his relationship with Guitar, Milkman is forced to confront his own lack of purpose. In tramping through the swamps and hunting with the black rednecks of Virginia, he confronts his own weakness and pettiness. Having set out to search gold, Milkman ends up losing gold instead (his gold watch, p. 325), and so, like Frodo, finds that his purpose was to lose a treasure and not to search one.‘Song of Solomon’ ends (as will Morrison’s 10th novel, ‘Home’) with a reburial - and the final showdown between Guitar and Milkman, which costs Pilate her life. What he gains instead is the capacity to sacrifice, and the readiness to sacrifice even his own life itself. Having discovered the unbelievable secret of his family - the legend of the flying African kids - he chooses, not to escape, but to struggle for life itself with his brother.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    The writing is self indulgent, confusing and loses the reader often. I stopped reading after about a third of the method through. Surprisingly it’s on Oprah’s Book list, but I think it’s just hip to like this book, like the recent fad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    I did not read this book - when I purchased this book I did not realize what the topic matter was and I decided that I did not want to spend my limited time on this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    I really wanted to like this book (free download), as I had lived in Nigeria a few years after the happenings in the story. But it is in need of some amazing solid editing ,and not just for typos and spelling mistakes. I plodded through several chapters and then deleted it from my Kindle.I also found it to be quite patronizing, although I doubt that was the intention. For example, I don't recall ever hearing an expat refer to Nigerians as "natives" . If the book had been based in, say, Germany, from an expatriate point of view ( and btw the author spelled it expatriot), would every unnamed German be called a native, as in, "There was a native standing by the door"? Or would it be, "There was a man standing by the door"? But then again of the a lot of expat volunteers I met in Nigeria none were Peace Corps and I was given the impression there were few if any in the country at that time.Anyway, the book was a disappointment. If you wish to learn about Nigeria, go for their own a lot of perfect novelists, Achebe for example.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Banyan []  2020-1-23 3:56

    Don't this it grated on my nerves after about 5 mins of badly played instruments and the same nasal vocals over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    Interesting format, interesting story. I'm not totally thrilled, so not a 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    Shipper was quick, book delivered as advertised. This is a amazing book! The prose writing and story are a unbelievable telling of the King Arthur story told from a young woman's perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    My children love this album. We love learning Spanish and this is a amazing method to do it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    I bought this melody CD for my first kid over 5 years ago. 2 more children later I am buying it again. It has well-known songs in both English and Spanish languages. As a Spanish-speaking mother of three small children ages 6, 3 and 1 I am very content with the method they translated the songs for the small ears. Despite the fact that my children speak very well both languages, they love to hear the translation of frequently used words and I have fun listening to the Spanish songs translated into [email protected]#$%!& is absolutely a well spent money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    Purchased this MP3 for my Kindle HD Fire as I'm a amazing fan of Marty Robbins, have been a fan since high school. His what I call "Pre Country" songs such as Devil Woman; A White Sport Coat; My Woman, My Woman, My Wife and Singing the Blues zone outstanding as well as his popular County Hits. Have this on CD, now that I have it on MP3 I search myself listening to it more often.Well worth the for anyone who is a Marty Robbins Fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    I absolutely love this CD. Marty Robbins has a magnificientvoice!! This CD contains all his greatest hits!! I love it so much I am ordering another copy. My vehicle stereo got stolenand I was more upset with the fact that this Marty RobbinsCD was in the stereo when the stereo was lifted than I wasthat the stereo was lifted!! Buy this one, you won't be sorry!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bridges of Song []  2020-1-18 23:4

    Very disappointing choices. . .I found the collection boring and uninspired. There should be lots of marvelous songs, but none was here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    Wheatley can sing The Song of Africa.He knows every note.He has been there not as tourist, but as a Peace Corps volunteer for a lot of e Song of Africa is that of Nigeria, a developing country where tribal huts and luxurious embassies share the same arresting natural e Song of Africa is the Heart of all Africa, for the reader cannot stop his own heart from pounding as he learns of a journey that is not limited to the visible.Wheatley chose to write The Song of Africa in the style of a ere are dialogues, conflicts, colourful descriptions...The interactions between characters are the a lot of tunes of The Song of Africa.We learn of the not good Nigerians (some of them with leprosy) and of expatriates who like the Fitzgeralds , Hemingways and Gertrude Stein in Paris in the 1920's, have it better.We explore that Christian missionaries are a issue in an oil-rich nation still unstable from the cultural and political points of viewWe meet two foreigners--Paul and Maureen who look at Nigeria conditioned by their respective reasons for being there, despite the mutual we familiarize with their relationship, we learn first-hand about the many-sided aspects of a country still having tribal feuds that echo those between the Sunnis and @#$%!es.We are exposed to a fresh nation still subjected to the reminders of a colonialism.And we learn why Nigeria is a culture still restive politically and socially because of persisting ethnic divisions that all fresh independent countries in Africa share painfully.But we also read of young, liberal thinkers dreaming of pan-africanism in the light of the a lot of natural resources that would guarantee a new, enviable Nigeria.And why nce it acquired independence from British rule in 1960, oil-rich Nigeria is currently experiencing the longest period of civilian read it.Ubaldo DiBenedetto,: Polar Day 9 (New York: Berkley,1993).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    Ron Wheatley is a true talent. He's written plays, essays and many, a lot of articles about current problems for my newspaper, Tinytown Gazette.And now...A Song of Africa. Wheatley writes like a watercolor. You can see and taste Africa, and the story line is entertaining.A Song of Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    I love books about Africa. This one incorporated history with fiction. I really loved it. The descriptions of the land and its people created it all very real.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    This CD has Spanish and English. I love that you obtain to hear the Spanish part right after the English in a lot of cases. Then they do a word review after each song. The melody is fun and happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Amazing for beginners of all ages, I got a kick out of it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    This is a fun method to learn either English or Spanish. Each song alternates back and forth between English and Spanish, with a review of easy Spanish words at the end. A lot of songs are the ones my daughter (Kindergarten) already knows (like Old McDonald), so it makes learning foreign words easier. Plus fun musical arrangements (like one with Pirates)! We look forward to more melody from Maria Del Rey! We are buying a second copy to donate to my daughter's classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    amazing cd for marty robbins fans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    Sometimes I hate leaving poor reviews even though I am being completely honest in how I feel about a book. I truly feel poor giving this story such a pitiful amount of stars because I really wanted to like this book--but test as I might, I just couldn't obtain into first I was totally invested in the story. It starts off engaging and there's enough going on to activate your suspension of disbelief and slide seamlessly into the globe that Sarah unveils. The excitement only continues to climb at the rapid turn of happenings the protagonist has to face and then we obtain to the part where she opens the forbidden box! Ooh I was so excited for this blossoming opportunity for a hate-to-love romance between Caro and this young mystery man. It was all going along so smoothly until it just fizzled out and it turns out, the young man in the box turns out to be an utter buffoon who is wet behind the ears and is as clueless as a newborn babe. For someone who has such a huge role to play in the story (I don't wish to give out any spoilers) and considering his background, you would think he would be a bit more world-wise and smart and just have an air of manliness about him--but no, that is so entirely not the case. He constantly has one foot in his mouth, and the other tripping over the ropes. So not beautiful in a male character :( Granted, his circumstances are dire enough that we can excuse some of his ghastly behavior, but it doesn't take away from the overall result of his bumbling e other thing that left me feeling jarred was the pacing of some of the scenes in the story. Take, for example, said male buffoon-boy trying to kiss Caro literally out of nowhere with no preamble leading up to this stage whatsoever. It was all hate and angst and annoyance (which were actually working in favor of their hate-to-love relationship opportunity) when all of a sudden he just tries to plant one on the heroine and she pulls a knife on him whilst wrapped in a towel. It left me feeling with whiplash because it was so incongruent and unexpected. The author didn't even allow them work toward this scene, so there was absolutely no excitement whatsoever, just confusion. You kind of begin to hate the boy even though you are technically supposed to feel sorry for him.Anyway, even after this awkward attempted kissing stage (which happens really early on in the story) I still decided to push through and give it a chance. But around the 35% tag I had to admit conquer as I felt like I was slogging through the story and I dislike when reading starts to feel like a chore. Sorry Sarah :( It was a amazing premise, but I guess I am just not into awkward man-babies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    I'm torn. There were some parts that were so awesome I couldn't stop reading, and parts so intense with sailing terminology or dialogue that they were hard to pass through. I felt like some of the sailing terminology was used over and over and over, or explained multiple times, to where I felt like slogging through a sailing EVER, for a YA fantasy, this was a amazing read, and there's a lot I appreciated.1. No love triangle. One solid love interest, it wasn't love at first site, and she didn't live to impress him. She also didn't create poor decisions for him, something YA fantasy girls tend to do as soon as their hormones kick in.2. Caro is so confident in who she is, despite of her family, and who they wish her to be. Of course she has insecurities, but overall she knows she belongs to the water.3. I didn't feel like this was so much a story of a chosen one who saves the world. She has a team, she relies on the strength of others, she nurtures and appreciates the strengths of others, and her final *gift* is something she's aware could happen.4. The romance was limited and it wasn't all butterflies and drawn on. The attraction was limited and didn't control her thoughts. And when they did obtain together near the end, it wasn't something the lead girl was ashamed of. Her parents also didn't shame her, or warn her, or anything else. It's one of the first I've read where the love stage is treated with responsibility and not underlying currents of shame.5. There's magic, but it's not the focal point. It's just there, it's just a method of life, you have it or you don't, you use it or you don't, life moves on.YA Fantasy is my guilty pleasure, something I read to break up non-fiction and thick literary novels, and I love that they tend to feature powerful female leads. Lately, I've felt a small burnt out, like I was reading the same book over and over and over again. YA has felt like someone place out an outline for what makes a powerful YA book, and authors simply plugged their characters, plots, and actions in to a formula.I felt like Songs of the Current slightly broke this, not as formulaic, and while it was still a small predictable to where no tropes where turned on their head, the full read didn't feel too sloggy. But I wonder if all of the terminology was removed, where would the fluff and fill come from? How could the author have made a stronger story by cutting an simple 10k in explanations? That's what I'd be interested in, maybe giving some more depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    This book earned 5 stars for its characters, setting, dialogue, and sheer pleasure of reading it. I love the unapologetic female characters and the male characters who allow them be who they are, treating them as equal partners. There is even a bit of breaking down of the fourth wall that is a nice touch, admitting this is Caroline's story. I highly recommend this to all females who have fun adventure and could use a reminder that the prince doesn't have to solve all the issues and a girl does not need to be a princess to carry a story or have a satisfied ending/beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    I read this book along side my high school senior granddaughter. Her advanced English class was needed to read it. I understand why. As a retired high school librarian, I must first admit it would have never been allowed in our library. Today is quite different. Its greatest value is all the controversial problems (which aren't fresh issues--just brought to light) that challenge students to explore another culture. A very teachable choice of literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    Now the first time I read this book I was 13 and had gotten it as a Christmas bonus (I think). I loved the story of an adventure, love and of course at the time my obsession with King Arthur and his knights of the round table.But now as an adult of 22 and for a time I actually forgotten this story until I had watched the newest King Arthur film that came out latest year. Then I remembered this story unfortunately like a lot of stories you read as a kid I couldn't for the life of me remember the whole title yet I could remember the cover with the single word Sparrow. Yet now as an adult I can fully have fun and appreciate this story for the masterpiece it is. It still created me laugh, smile, tear up and be scared and joyful for the characters.Absolute wish to read; an instant favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    My 14 year old daughters favorite book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Days of Song & Sorrow []  2020-5-3 19:0

    Having waited a long time for a fresh release from Faramarz Aslani, this album proves that he still has the class which he showed with his first two albums. Although the actual melody is more western than Iranian the lyrics are very much Persian! . The second track for me is the best on the disc having borrowed some lines from a popular old persian poem. With this album he has proven that he still is the best Iranian musician outside Iran today. This is a sublime album so it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bridges of Song []  2020-1-18 23:4

    While I appreciate all the work that goes into making an album like this for some reason the language and singing obtain overlooked. I have had an affinity for Sephardic culture and especially melody and tend to any and all albums I find. The one thing most of the performers have in common: the singer does not speak the language. Now while I've heard some people say "a amazing singer can sing in any language" it does create a huge impact. I think to non-Spanish speaking people it sounds fine, but to those of us around the globe that share Castilian as our mother tongue the pronunciation becomes muddled and even uncomfortable to listen to. This really is my only complaint for the album. The song selection, the instruments and recording quality are excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    My family and I lived in Nigeria from 1961-1963, just after independence and just before the not good war. Nigeria has never been the same. Now Boko Haram has brought a fresh chapter of violence and hatred to an old and sad story. Reading this book will give you an understanding of Nigeria and her people as if you had been there. Whatever mates are still alive...we remember you always in our rry A. McKee

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Song of Africa []  2020-1-23 0:34

    This book has it all...suspense, history, love, loss and hope. It's a well-written book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was hard to place down and I finished it quite quickly, unlike a lot of books I've read lately.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Universe Of Song []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Glad I didn't rst of all, I had planned to use this for children -5 to sing bilingual songs.Well, I CAN'T .. for a few e songs on the CD are sung TOO FAST. 2,3,4,5 yr. olds would NEVER be able to hold up.If it's too quick in English, of course it's virtually impossible to sing these songs in me of the songs begin out in English. Some begin in [email protected]#$%!'s just a jumbled up mess!Not very well thought out, in my e cover of the small book that comes with the CD says, "Sing a Song, Learn a Language".Really?NOT!Not with this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NeyNava / Song of Compassion []  2020-1-23 3:57

    The ney is a flute played throughout the Middle East and North Africa. It is a haunting instrument, more coarse than the Armenian duduk, and in Iran it is played with a various technique. This concerto for ney and Western string orchestra developed with Persian melodies, harmonies, and sensitivity is one of Hussein Alizadeh's cultural milestones. It is gripping, it is passionate, it is strikingly beautiful. Dastgah-e Nava, one of the seven main Persian modes, is the source structure of the composition. From its developmental themes, the third and fourth movements move into powerful rhythms and releases, and the concerto closes with yet another dance, a 10/8 Sufi dance for two neys, a duet section of unusual sound and an is in an earthquake zone, where the Eurasian and Arabian plates collide. Composed just before and after the 1990 earthquake, the Song of Compassion is composed for 14 folk instruments and vocalists. In stark contrast with the ney concerto, this piece sounds more traditional and akin to a Silk Street Project. Nonetheless, with closer listening it becomes a modern tone poem, a tale of the human condition when facing peril from natural disaster and how people persevere. The two works provide a various perspective of Persian melody and are strong statements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Days of Song & Sorrow []  2020-5-3 19:0

    This album is a must have. the guitar is wonderful, and the lyrics are poetically exceptional. I love every single song on this CD. My most favorite is song number one. I hope he goes on tour someday!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    Plot: Caro had her future all outlined, she would inherit the family boat and live her days on the river like a real wherryman. Her plans went to hell when she was forced to deliver a pack to a neighboring kingdom and with a boy who clearly had never set foot on a boat. Unexpectedly, Caro found herself with unlikely allies and a key player in a political scheme.I don't know how to begin this review. I have written words and deleted words multiple times and looked up synonyms for "great." No matter what I say, it won't truly describe how much I loved this book. From the start, you could tell that Song of the Current was going to be a non-stop adventure. The plot is your primary political betrayal, but it pulled from a lot of other events in the Song of the Current globe which I'm eagerly awaiting to learn more about in the aracters: Be still my heart; Caro was everything and I wanted and more. Raised by her father, Caroline wasn't afraid to obtain down and dirty and would do anything to protect her home. She was headstrong, fearless, and unsure of her put in life. I loved her because she thought that she was destined for a quiet river life and saw herself as a "sidekick" in someone else's o was also biracial and I found it really interesting how Tolcser handled race relations in this fantasy world. I recommend checking out this blog post the author wrote before reading Song of the Current, because it's amazing insight into Tolcser's intentions and hopes for Caro's portrayal.Okay enough of that, can we talk about the kissing? Because the kissing, it killed me guys! The romance was my all-time favorite trope of "enemies-to-lovers" and those two were at each other's throats 90% of the time. The banter was witty and had me laughing out loud at times, and I absolutely adored how the author wrote their journey to each other and her subtle thoughts on love and building: Sarah Tolcser wrote one of the most authentic fantasy worlds I've seen in a while. Tolcser clearly had a deep love for life on water and her passion for it spilled onto the pages. She incorporated regional dialects, traditions, and local mythologies. Song of the Current took put mostly on water but it never felt limiting. I grew to love wherryman life and easily fell into Caro's day to day motions on the ort N Sweet: Song of the Current took my breath away with Caro's sass and the beauty of the river lands. This is a series I'll be talking about for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    What do you do when your destiny is bigger than you were told?Caro has always been told that the river god will call for her when she is ready. She has been straining to hear the call for as long as she can remember. Caro decides to take her destiny into her own hands and takes on her father’s job to transport cargo in exchange for her father’s freedom. Caro was given strict rules to dealing with the cargo she was in charge of, and like any normal human with a sense of curiosity she opens the crate and Hello o is such a amazing character, she is powerful and independent, she seems to have a amazing head on her shoulders and she doesn't take crap from anyone. She is determined to obtain this cargo delivered to its destination, despite pirates trying to hunt her down for what is on her ship. She is fast thinking and sharp witted when it comes to dodging ere is magic in this book, but it’s not overly saturated, it is it used just in a method that helps tell the story but not so much that it takes away from is of key importance in this book; Caro is willing to take on this risky shipment to save her father. Her mother is not so much a part of this book until later on. She is very focused on her job, but is still there to support Caro when she needs only problem was with all the ship terms that were used in the book, I think it would have been a bit helpful if there was a glossary in the back to support those of us don't have our sea legs.I cannot wait to see what adventures Caro has ahead of her in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Current []  2020-1-19 21:2

    Full disclosure: some of my books are also published by Bloomsbury, and I received a copy of this book for from the author. That said, I rarely review books unless I love them, and this is my fair and unbiased opinion.I had the opportunity to read SONG OF THE CURRENT before publication, and I absolutely fell in love with the characters and the writing. I've never really had any interest in sailing or boating, but this created Caro's wherry and the river itself seem like such an AWESOME put to be. I'm in awe of books where the atmosphere is so well written that you don't feel like you're being bowled over by setting, and Sarah is masterful at developing a sense of *place.* This book belongs on everyone's shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of Solomon []  2020-1-19 22:4

    Song of Solomon takes put in a little African American community that, as in so a lot of of Morrison’s books, seems rarely to interact with the surrounding white population. And yet the people themselves have been, since the days of slavery, defined by the white population, beginning with a mistake on a form that literally gives one family’s name as Dead.On a micro level it is a coming-of-age story of one young man, Milkman Dead, in the 50’s, in the age of Emmet Till, of Rosa Parks, of so much that might define the later years of young men coming of age at that time. On the macro level, it is a find for a lost identity, for stolen names, for definition of who a people are and who they came from."He closed his eyes and thought of the black men in Shalimar, Roanoke, Petersburg, Newport News, Danville, in the Book Bank, on Darling Street, in the pool halls, the barbershops. Their names. Names they got from yearnings, gestures, flaws, vents, mistakes, weaknesses. Names that bore witness. Macon Dead, Sing Byrd, Crowell Byrd, Pilate, Reba, Hagar, Magdalene, First Corinthians, Milkman, Guitar, Railroad Tommy, Hospital Tommy, Empire State (he just stood around and swayed), Little Boy,Sweet, Circe, Moon, Nero, Humpty-Dumpty, Blue Boy, Scandinavia, Quack-Quack, Jericho, Spoonbread, Ice Man, Dough Belly, Rocky Rover, Gray Eye, Cock-a-Doodle-Doo, Cool Breeze, Muddy Waters, Pinetop, Jelly Roll, Fats, Leadbelly, Bo Diddley, Cat-Iron, Peg-Leg, Son, Shortstuff, Smoky Babe, Funny Papa, Bukka, Pink, Bull Moose, B.B., T-Bone, Black Ace, Lemon, Washboard, Gatemouth, Cleanhead, Tampa Red, Juke Boy, Shine, Staggerlee, Jim the Devil, ..."There is much here that is reminiscent of Stephen St. Vincent Benet’s American Names, and there would be even more were it related in other ways. But Benet’s names are given by people who know their own names, who take on or bestow others in colourful ways of their own making. They may, in some cases, be denying a heritage, running from the law, or just earning a nickname the method people do. I have the feeling that in the case of these black men, their names are more than that. They are names they have somehow earned, and have a legitimacy to them that the names on their birth certificates don’t have. Because who knows where those names came from. They certainly didn’t come from the land of their forefathers. And they didn’t originate in always, Morrison’s writing is a small uncomfortable for white folks, especially white folks like me who grew up around the same time as Milkman Dead, knowing next to nothing about the black community that existed a few short blocks from my house in Decatur, Illinois. It may even be uncomfortable for black folks, but I can’t speak to that. I just know that the reality of our past is often an uncomfortable put to visit, no matter what color we are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Lifetime of Song []  2020-1-22 2:27

    Thank you !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    Arrived in amazing condition. My daughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song of the Sparrow []  2020-2-12 21:41

    Such a amazing story! Novel in verse about a variant of Tennyson's "Lady of Shalott" which is my favorite poem. The girl is charming, and a warrior and you will root her on through her adventures and sympathize in her trials. It's a amazing tale!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bank of America Events [App]  2018-5-18 21:9

    Thanks Ms. KIM!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    They are all so kind when you walk in the door, and they are very helpful Thank You All So Much

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Nice application to check acc standings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Very amazing security.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    This application is the most comprehensive banking application I've ever seen. It's simple to understand and operate. With the fingerprint login, a guy could easily and securely access his info in a timely fashion with no [email protected]#$%.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Recently moved. No branches near me. But this application enables me to hold my acc with no issues. Love CUoA !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Fast, Snap check is awesome, UI is great. CuA: where a child can be a kid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Never had even 1 issue in years of using it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Credit Union of America [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    It is a amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    so amazing best old android game ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    its good. i just abused the earn gold for watching an ad. you dont have to watch an add. you can exit it and still earn gold. obtain gold up to 500 then on prep phase use 200 standard gold to enlisted riflemen then once you obtain 500 3 officers and the rest enlisted riflemen. you can beat the android game very easily doing it. lolol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    The android game isn't too fun and I have been trying for days to obtain pass level 10 and yes you may say i'm "bad" at the game, but even though the android game has so called "elites" it is boring to play no matter what and yes I know there is more to be added.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    it's beautiful good. I wish a sandbox mode where u can have a custom war

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    Amazing time killer, could use some more levels and features as I finished it in under an hour.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    Had lots of fun with it while taking dumps beat the android game it's not too hard as long as you use arty in the beginning

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    looks like a very fun android game but can see the bullet and a lil bit more blood to add the realisticness

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    android game is really amazing except the text the tents are a small overpowered could you please create it for like the tent have them only a certain amount of people out of them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    pls add better artillery and calvary and a sandbox and fps cuz that will create the android game better btw i had fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muskets of America [App]  2019-8-18 13:40

    Fun and a really amazing time killer. I want you could select specific troops and play as them though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bowie (Images of America) []  2020-1-25 4:54

    Thanks Kathy for refreshing my memory of my failing town,a amazing past but no future...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bethlehem (Images of America) []  2020-1-25 4:54

    This book was a unbelievable purchase...I never expected to see a historic book with images of people I would recognize...but there were at least 5 images in the book of people I really knew. WELL. that was the highlight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs Of America []  2020-2-2 22:47

    We are going through American History and I wanted my children to learn some patriotic songs. This CD is amazing because it has the full and the split track. The lyrics are included in the cover of the CD. I think if I were to ask for any improvement from the makers of this CD it would be to place a small bit of history with the CD in the cover. Overall, I am never disappointed in the quality or products that Cedarmont Children comes out with.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386