Read special relativity applied to arbitrary motion reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all special relativity applied to arbitrary motion reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    what google did to me [york county civil case search]  2020-8-24 19:43
    [email protected]

    san diego county superior court case find obtain more here to search out more henderson justice court case find king county court case find mo case net litigant find the this article

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Omaha online can u lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to lasix lasix online in india

    0  


    Add your opinion on special relativity applied to arbitrary motion or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 2

    Useful review?

    need pin to play rsweeps []  2020-5-22 6:38

    Lost my pin for RSweeps

    5  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to lasix in Portland lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada lasix in Omaha where to lasix in Austria where to lasix in Detroit where to lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    need pin to play rsweeps []  2020-11-2 3:24

    None

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to lasix in France lasix online india lasix per pill where to lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can lasix buying lasix in canada how to lasix in Norway best for lasix in Long Beach where to lasix in Washington how can i lasix best method to search lasix in Czech Republic where is better to lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    3  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    go to this web-site [california superior court case search]  2020-8-21 2:59
    [email protected]

    see this website like it state of virginia case find henderson justice court case find hop over to here superior court of fulton county case find for beginners have a peek at this web-site

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    canadian pharmacies shipping to usa vhft [canadian pmjw]  2020-10-8 22:50
    [email protected]

    canadian pharcharmy's cialis-canadian pharmacy online pharmacy united states of america best canadian pharmacies shipping to united states of america viagra pharmacy canada online pharmacies list of canada online pharmacies canadian pharmacy cialis canada pharmacy online best canadian online pharmacy reviews pharmacy rite aid pharmacies cialis in canadian pharmacies

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    navigate to this site [Visit Website]  2020-8-27 11:0
    [email protected]

    pop over to this website missouri case net name find check this out like it more info washtenaw county court case find navigate to this www service hop over to this web-site

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    solutions to erectile dysfunction [erectile pills canada]  2020-10-25 17:55
    [email protected]

    cheapest erectile dysfunction erectile dysfunction youth erectile dysfunction zhcbej tdxlqh compare erectile dysfunction medicines egzazn cheapest erectile dysfunction drugs erectile supplements plmxkb gyzgyz erectile icd 10 qzixxi

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to lasix in Tucson online best method to search lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to lasix in Austria best for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to lasix in Los Angeles where to lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to lasix in Greece online best for lasix in United Kingdom best for lasix in Austin best for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis best for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to lasix in Detroit where to lasix online canadian lasix online lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cast web video: chromecast, cast web browser to tv []  2020-10-24 9:0
    [email protected]

    Need to connect to tv

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    I don't like to post reviews of products here, but this book is so amazing that it deserves the effort. Despite the fact there are so a lot of amazing books about General Relativity (Schutz, Hartle, d'Inverno, MTW, etc), these books just "summarize" in the first chapters the primary ideas of Unique Relativity (SR) with no "depth", because it's assumed the reader already knows the subject. However, finding a amazing book about SR is such a hard task (I'm sorry, but I don't like A.P. French, MIT course). In his book, J.H. Smith explains the key ideas of the theory in a clear and elegant way, using more a "physical intuition" point of view (more in the Einstein spirit) instead of a massive mathematical and more "obscure" way, for example like the Jackson's Classical Electrodynamics. The author gives clear and very pedagogical examples for the reader to master the Lorentz transformations. The discussion of the "twin paradox" for exmaple, is one of the best I have found. I specially liked the chapter 12 about the four-momentum, including the applications of relativistic collisions. For self study (my case) this is one of the best books that I've found so far. I highly recommend it for undergraduate and even graduate students in Physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    This is a fine book on Unique Relativity. All one needs is a grasp of algebra to follow the text. There are quite a few exercises at the end of each chapter. I specially like the fact that the author discusses the non-relativistic approach to a concept followed by the relativistic view. The chapters on Momentum and Energy and Particles of Zero Mass are plain nce no calculus to speak of is used some of the "derivations" are quite awkard. But that is a minor cavil. If you are still in school and algebra is new on your mind, this book will be a breeze. If your algebra is rusty, journey on, albeit slowly. The reward at the end of the street is worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    This book is the first one that explains the unique relativity very thoroughly. It is not like any others that talk and talk and doesn't give you any substance. There is no relativity without math, and this book uses easy math, mainly algebra, no calculus. The math is very simple to follow. It is the first time I understand unique relativity and really feel it. Now I can explain it to others using math and create them understand it. Of course there is more advanced approach for university level, but this ver is all what I need. I hope I can search a book James Smith for the general relativity to complete Einstein cycle. This book deserves 5 stars minimum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    I recently purchased a lot of beginner books on Unique Relativity to review it. I remember when I was a freshman at Rice, Unique Relativity was used in the sophomore physics class on electro-magnetism. I thought the other students had all studied it as freshmen so I spent an anxious few weeks learning it from all the elementary introductions in Fondren Library. I think that this book by Smith is probably the one that got me through. It is a very straightforward, step-by-step, calculations-oriented approach to primary Unique Relativity without calculus. Anyone who works through this book will have a complete grounding in both the ideas and calculations of non-calculus Unique Relativity--ready for anything!The book is very clear and thorough. The first chapter is the relevant ideas of Newtonian kinematics. Then there are separate chapters on the light experiment leading to Einstein's hypothesis about the speed of light, a chapter on time dilation, a chapter on length, a chapter on velocity and acceleration, the twin paradox, the Lorentz transformation, proper or four velocity, momentum and energy, particles of zero mass, center of mass, four vectors, and finally electro-magnetism. Most chapters are ten to twenty pages, so, as you can see, it is really a very thorough step-by-step introduction. I like the fact that he makes clear the distinction between first principles, or if you will "facts", and arbitrary ere is a common misperception that Unique Relativity cannot say anything about accelerating frames of reference, that acceleration is the realm of General Relativity. (I say it is common because I know an article in which the author quotes from a number of writings by educated people where there are false statements based on this misperception.) In fact, Unique Relativity works in flat space, whether or not there is acceleration. However, when things are accelerating, you have to use calculus. That's why Newton place the two together in his kinematics, and it's still real in Unique Relativity. My only criticism of this book is that the author never mentions calculus. Even if he doesn't wish to use it, he could still place in a footnote explaining this easy truth. In fact, in his short passage on acceleration, he uses finite approximations to avoid calculus. He almost reinvents differential calculus to do the calculation. There is nothing wrong with learning the primary ideas of Unique Relativity first with only algebra; after all, Einstein used to say that anyone with high school algebra could understand the theory. But anyone who studied Newtonian kinematics has already heard of calculus. You can define speed with just algebra, but in to define acceleration, you need calculus. Why are so a lot of introductions to Unique Relativity allergic to mentioning this word?NB This review was written for a two years ago of a used copy of the 1967 printing from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special & General Relativity : A Beginner's Introduction to Basic & Advanced Concepts []  2020-5-5 18:18

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    Puts the physics first. One of the better undergrad-level treatments. Suitable level for a intelligent high school senior to a bright college sophomore. Not mathematically sophisticated. Treatment of Lorentz covariance of Maxwell's equations rather sparse, but OK as an intro. Like all Dover paperbacks, the value for the is unsurpassed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    I used this textbook in my first undergraduate relativity course, and it is still one of the best introductions to the topic that I have ever read.While the book is aimed at second or third semester physics students, the math is confined to straightforward algebra. Although this makes the formalism a small less "neat" than in other treatments, it makes the topic much more understandable, especially for readers with less experience in higher e writing style is simple to read, and there are a lot of amazing explanations and worked-out examples. The "Twin Paradox", for example, is not only solved in its entirety, but cross-checked using three various approaches, all of which use unique relativity alone. The exercises in each chapter are well chosen, and prompt the reader to understand the significance of the answers.I consider this to be one of the best undergraduate introductory textbooks in relativity, and also recommend it to anyone with at least a high-school algebra background who wishes to learn more about this fascinating subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    Judging from the title one might expect this to be a relatively simple book to understand - it is not. It is introductory for a college level undergraduate physics course, and the author often chooses a relative complex approach, vs the more straightforward ones found in other introductory books. For instance, instead of restricting the discussion to only one spatial dimension, X, much of the text utilizes two dimensions, X and Y, greatly complicating the text. The twin paradox is discussed in terms of a ver of unique relativity that approximates acceleration, rather than evoking General Relativity as is done in most books, which I found to be interesting, but hard to follow. I got the impression that this approach was done more to illustrate the novel thinking of the author, rather than providing a clearer discussion. The book employs complex four-vector mathematics. For instance, there is a section on “The Lorentz Transformation as a Rotation in Four Dimensions”, which I consider to be much more than introductory in nature, and much of the latest quarter of the book includes related very complex material. For instance, the book also has a section on electric and magnetic fields that goes far beyond what is covered in any of the other introductory relativity texts that I have read. Surprisingly, the book does not cover world-lines, light cones or other space-time ideas, which I found to be a significant deficiency. There are exercise issues for each chapter, but solutions are provided for only a few of them, and where they are they are given as just final answers instead of being worked out in e above comments not withstanding, I found things to like in the book, particularly the discussion of waves and how wave behavior makes the idea of the consistency of the speed of light expected and not as novel an idea as I had always considered it to be. Nonetheless, I recommend this book only as an adjunct to other more easily understood approaches and for a college level audience. This is especially real for a course that employs the level of complexity and mathematics used in this book. As a point of reference, I am a retired Materials Scientist, who has read a amazing a lot of books on Unique Relativity. I consider Mermin’s, “It’s about Time”, Taylor and Wheeler’s Spacetime Physics and especially Morin’s Unique Relativity For the Enthusiastic Beginner”, to be much more readable introductory texts. They develop concepts in a more comprehensive manner and employ a much less complicated mathematical approach. Morin’s book is especially amazing and I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    If You wish to have the worked out solutions to all the exercises in this book, obtain the french translation of this book at

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    This book is very amazing indeed. Things are very well explained. Some suble comcepts are explained in detais to avoid misconception

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Special Relativity (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-6 18:50

    best introductory book on unique relativityyou will need some math, though

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    With the latest revival of Advanced Calculus texts floating around looking for departments wanting to give those courses a retry (realizing Calculus III may not have been the bargain originally hoped for), Second-Year Calculus (SYC) may be the offering that math departments are looking t up almost as a text readable on its own, a quality not always there with the offerings in the Readings in Mathematics series, SYC has humor, wit, and clarity drawn from the same talent behind the more controversial series on Riemann and Lebesgue Integration. In this earlier volume, Bressoud brings a no less radical approach to advanced calculus with the contexts I have seen during my career as a student in mid-tier universities, SYC could easily join Spivak's masterpiece as a, well ... second-year Calculus text. There is small overlap between the two, and SYC picks up, traditionally, where Spivak's Calculus leaves off: multidimensional theory. And unlike other possible choices one has for following up on Spivak (Several True Variables, Multivariate Calculus and Geometry), the linear algebra - if required to be learned - is taught within the text, while the book manages to escape the watered-down Jordan notion of Lebesgue measure that is reappearing in some newer texts as "paving." There are also plenty of illustrations - lacked by some books at this level (Rudin, and, though not totally devoid, the tougher, author-recommended H.M. Edwards) - and inclusions of necessary connections with physics, something gravely missing from curriculum and which should be encouraged if time allows, perhaps in collaboration with "those labcoated gals and guys down the hall."A forgotten text that is a well-written polymath of a book, SYC covers potentially difficult introductory material well and is, most importantly, fun. It deserves a re-write and a renaissance, since it fits so well after Spivak in a proof-light honors calculus setup and even with a teacher's or four-year liberal art program's Analysis sequence, in the light-proof settings allowed by a Lay or Ross for the first semester. Also perfect for self-study for people like me, who missed differential forms and even an introduction to the beauty of differential forms altogether, even in graduate school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    The author appears to be terminally addicted toreams of calculation without much in the method ofmotivation. Take the section on celestial mechanics(please), which is one of the worst I have ever seen.He has page after page of relentless calculationswhich would leave the uninitiated reader utterlylost in this dense mess. Much more to the pointwould be an appropriate diagram to illustrate thishighly visual subject. Sadly, the author remainsstuck in his LH way of exposition and seems notto grasp when to bring in geometry to aid and abetthe raft of algebraic manipulations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    Why did I this book? Well, I have a master's degree in math, though I have't seen multivariable calculus much at all in years. I also got into math so I could understand general relativity, but the math was method more fun than the lower level physics courses, so I stuck with math. Now that I'm done with my studies, I figured I can spend some time to create some progress toward my original physics background is virtually non-existent, and my geometry skills are very rusty (most of us who've been brought up in the public school systems over the past 30+ years seem to lack in formal geometry anyway.) So this book was the excellent start! Bressoud starts off with deriving some of Kepler's and Newton's laws with primary geometry and conic sections. Without wasting too much time, he jumps right into a more economical and modern approach using calculus. He quickly makes his method through the basics of multivariable calculus and differential forms, and exposes the reader to the core ideas behind celestial mechanics, E&M and concludes with relativity.I am still reading through this book, and haven't quite created it to the E&M/SR portions, but I've enjoyed what I've read so far! While this is sort of a textbook with theorems, proofs and exercises, Bressoud wrote with a prose that most mathematicians seem to lack (Herstein was another amazing writer!) Ultimately, I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to see physics done in a clean, mathematical way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    Ok, for all those of you out there who always wanted to learn the math that you need to know to be able to do some really fun physics, THIS IS IT! Most introductions to "higher mathematics" tend to be rather impractical and largely useless and uninteresting subjects (to the physical scientist) such as set theory or abelian group theory, but this book really delivers. The emphasis is on working out issues . . . there is some theory, but this is really meant for engineers and physicists rather than for mathematicians who are interested in theory alone. You need a very solid grounding in first year calculus before you even think of beginning this course. But once you obtain going, the subjects that are introduced include: multiple integrals, vectors, differential forms (including tensors), and continues in this fashion until the latest chapters on electromagnetics, celestial mechanics and unique relativity. Now, this is not an simple book, but unlike a lot of math texts that I have seen, it is by no means impossible to learn all own your own. Thus, if something that really interest you in the classroom is not covered, then this book would create a amazing supplement. It is superb for self-study and includes most of what you need to know to start studying true physics and more advanced paractical mathematics. I can't thank Dr. Bressoud enough for writing this much-needed book! I only want that I could give in ten stars instead of only five!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    I regard this as a mediocre and second-rate textbook that lacks the important depth, breadth, and formality expected of a calculus text. The table of content certainly lists all the essential headlines of introductory vector calculus. But, virtually every single subject seems to exist only in the most minimal form and amount. Things are just "dumb-ed down" and presented in as few words - and as simplistically - as possible.Having said that, there may be circumstances where some people actually search the book useful specifically because of its watered-down and simple-minded most without exception, in-text examples are trivial cases of plug-n-chug for the immediately preceding equation/discussion. I read more than 75% of the book and I saw very few amazing examples that are thoughtful and illustrate interesting or unique cases, or bring out subtleties. Most (but not all) of the end-of-section exercises that I sampled are equally uninspiring and unimaginative, "busy-work" type of problems.I got interested in this book because it claimed to develop the topic in close connection with issues from Mechanics. Well, while this material has some value, it is again so thin that it's hardly special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    Preface: " I hope that this book will reveal to you some of the intimate interplay between mathematics and our understanding of the physical universe." In my opinion, this text accomplishes that goal. While the text is entitled 'second-year' calculus, I dare say much here is accessible (near the end of) a 'first-year' course. Here is a text which:(1) Incorporates a bit of history: Newton and gravity (pages 14-16) or Lagrange and change of variables (page 213).(2) Incorporates a bit of theory: proof of invertibility (pages 238-242) and differentiability of the Inverse function, and Stoke's theorem (pages 314-316).(3) Bressoud introduces differential forms in an elementary manner (fourth chapter, then summary, pages 104-105)(4) Bressoud lucidly expounds upon determinants in unbelievable fashion (pages 146-156),(5) Bressoud applies these methods to the physical universe: celestial mechanics, electrodynamics, unique relativity.(6) Exercises for the reader include: the Innovative (page 17, #3,4,5, page 109, #13,14,15, page 160 , #13 & 14, page 210 #27, page 218, #10,11,12), computational or routine (page 160, #8, page 231, #9,10,11) finally those with a greater purpose in mind (page 325,# 11 a-f). Every exercises can be solved without needing to read outside of this material. Answers to some of the exercises are provided. Clues for others are ree pedagogic highlights: Lagrange multipliers (pages 266-276), Potential Theory, harmonic functions, Poisson (pages 326-331) and Maxwell's equations rewritten in terms of differential forms (pages 333-349).Words from the author:(1) "Differential One-Forms are mappings from directed line segments to the true numbers; Two-Forms are mappings from oriented triangles to true numbers." (page 89).(2) "I have tried to emphasize that the determinant is the signed hypervolume of the parallelepiped....our rules for the multiplication of differential forms carry geometric meaning in any number of dimensions." (page 158).(3) "Although partial derivatives will play an necessary role, their existence means less than differentiability." (page 184).Bressoud takes us on a journey from the geometry of Newton and Kepler, to vectors and multivariable calculus, then to the land of differential forms. There are precious few textbooks at this elementary a level which not only inspire, but honestly teach and prepare the student for advanced material (the exercises are exemplary in this regard).As a prelude to more advanced tools, this textbook is a gem of ertwining (as it does) history, theory, computation, applications, one is hard-pressed to search a more elementary alternative.Highly Recommended to all students and instructors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    I do not know another book that presents Differential Forms and their usage in the framework of Calculus better than this one. (I've looked at several.) A lot of the other books show this material at a high level that loses the reader in ten pages or less. Professor Bressoud's book, by contrast, is a model of the clarity that I would love to see more Math Book writers adopt. The topic is potentially confusing because the notation of first-year calculus -- dx, dy, dz -- is here used in a way, and with a revised meaning, that you may not have seen before. Bressoud takes the time to EXPLAIN Forms to the reader carefully, and in sufficient detail, to be understood. He even explicitly warns the reader about situations in which the fresh notation may cause confusion, given the fresh usage. ( in multiple versus iterated integrals, for example ). It's clear enough to be used for self-study. Strongly recommended. After you finish the book, you will be in a position to tackle a more extended treatment, such as H. Edward's Advanced Calculus: A Differential Forms Approach. But do begin with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Second Year Calculus: From Celestial Mechanics to Special Relativity (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics) []  2020-8-21 18:52

    I agree with the review of "gsibbery" (Baton Rouge, LA)Chapters:1 F=ma2 Vector Algebra3 Celestial Mechanics4 Differential Forms5 Line Integrals, Multiple Integrals6 Linear Transformations7 Differential Calculus8 Integration by Pullback9 Techniques of Differential Calculus10 The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus11 E=mc^2Plus a amazing collection of problems!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    Einstein figured out that the geometrical properties of zone are determined by matter. For example, our heavy Sun even bends light from distant stars. This means that mechanics defined by Galileo and Newton required a profound upgrade; Euclidean geometry cannot represent reality (space + time from various reference-bodies). Einstein makes this point with striking experiments. Inviting you to see some quick trains in a train station, throwing some lighting nearby you to present that simultaneity is relative (you cannot represent it with just three dimensions) and even place you standing among two pans just to illustrate his reasoning tools. As a result, he will convince you that we need a fresh model. So he goes about building a four-dimensional model using Gaussian coordinates that can represent the fabric of spacetime for any reference-body at its own relative time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unsolved Problems in Special and General Relativity []  2020-1-13 19:11

    Over the past century or so, no one seems to have checked Einstein's math (can't hardly blame them). Hua Di does so, and finds two outright mistakes - the second one seems deliberate. Einstein claimed that his Relativity equations yields the proper correction to the perihelion of Mercury problem, and this was therefore the proof of his theory; He knew the numerical respond to the problem, 43 arcsecs, Hua Di shows that correcting the integral equation (Einstein's first mistake) would have yielded 71 arcsecs. Not knowing that, Einstein could have deliberately ignored the second error - an approximation - which would give another 40 arcsec offset, totaling a wrong answer, 110 arcsecs, by using relativity. (It was a few years later that the whole issue (of Mercury's perihelion advance) was solved using non-relativistic calculations, once it was recognized that the Sun was an oblate spheriod, not a sphere.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    This book is a ripoff, don't it! The "publisher", Methuem & Co. Ltd., downloaded some public domain copy of Einstein's early works and printed it as is, without any corrections or editing. It's an simple method to create but of small value to the reader. In the "book" the equations that appear in the text were typed in, without subscripts and super scripts. Some of highlighted equations were also typed in with a typewriter. The image on the front cover is distorted and uncorrected. There are typing mistakes, spelling mistakes, and editing mistakes throughout the document. Instead of a table of contents there is a listing of the different sections of Einstein's writings. There are no chapter numbers or page numbers! And of course no index. In reading this document it appears that this is a collection of Einstein's early notes and essays that were never sent to a publisher. Save your and search a properly published copy of Einstein's works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    After reading Walter Isaacson's brilliant biography, "Einstein" and finally coming away with an understanding of Einstein's theories, I felt I could create the leap and actually attempt to read something written by the most popular genius of the twentieth century whose theories would transform science and the world.I chose Einstein's, "Relativity: The Unique and General Theory." The book was written by Einstein so that the average person, who was not a physicist or mathematician, but was interested in his "theory of relativity" could easily understand it in layman's terms. Well, except for the portions of the book that used mundane objects such as a train, an embankment, Times Square or a clock to describe the most popular theory of all time, the rest of the book (a amazing 60 percent) was incomprehensible to me. It could have just as well been written in Latin.I strongly recommend that unless you have a scientific background, you should not begin off by reading this book if you are at all interested in understanding the mind and theories of this, undeniable, genius. I recommend the Isaacson's book I mentioned above as a amazing starting t to be deter, I will nevertheless continue my interest in physics and when I have the time and patience I will begin reading books about Galileo and Newton's theories, so much seems to have originated from their work. They are constantly mentioned throughout by Einstein.I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    A amazing book to begin with if you wish to learn about Einstein's Unique Relativity. The book uses math that is approachable to anyone with a amazing foundation in Algebra and Trigonometry. The topic is explained by using thought experiments and then supported by the mathematics. The derivations of the equations for subjects such as Time Dilation, Length Contraction, the Lorentz Contraction etc. are throughly explained and shown in the text. The issue sets enforce the info contained in the sections and are presented as completed examples so that the student can see how the issue was approached and worked out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) []  2020-8-5 18:40

    that does not shirk physics motivation. Prof. Woodhouse's goal is to provide a mathematically rigorous understanding of the key conceptual structures underlying unique relativity (but eschewing tensors). To this end, he avoids becoming bogged down in detailed discussions of measuring rods and clocks, light signals, tedious calculations using Lorentz transformations, or long-winded analyses of different so-called paradoxes that are standard fare in some other textbooks (indeed, "paradox" is discussed only once in the book: on p.114 where he dispenses with the so-called Twin Paradox in one short paragraph at the end of section 6.5 [Constant Acceleration]). After an introductory chapter [Relativity in Classical Mechanics] to set the stage, he launches, in chapter 2 [Maxwell's Equations] and chapter 3 [The Propagation of Light] into a wonderfully clear, extended exposition of Maxwell's equations and their implications. These two chapters -- excluding the optional final chapter, about 30 pages out of roughly 150 pages -- create the heaviest demands on the reader (at least they did on this reader).His treatment of Maxwell's equations in chapter 2 is superb. He starts from The Principle of Relativity (p. 21) and three assumptions specific to electromagnetism (pp. 23-24, accessible via Find Inside) and shows, in a step by step fashion with adequate commentary, how to derive Maxwell's Equations, all in a mathematically rigorous but reader friendly style (no difficult steps in the reasoning are omitted). In chapter 3, he draws out key consequences of Maxwell's theory, discussing in detail the all necessary source-free equations and the prediction of source-free electromagnetic waves. My background in electromagnetism was quite weak, and so I found these two chapters particularly enlightening. If you work your method through those two meaty chapters, the rest should, for the most part, be smooth y in chapter 4 [Einstein's Unique Theory of Relativity] does he obtain into operational definitions of distance and time, the relativity of simultaneity, length contraction, time dilation and using Bondi's k-factor, two-dimensional Lorentz transformations. This discussion is quite short (about 15 pages). Then in chapter 5 [Lorentz Transformations in Four Dimensions], he gets into the heart of the mathematics of Lorentz transformations, making use of matrix theory and matrix-theoretic proofs of some key propositions, covering the main 4-vectors, inner product (invariant line element), causal structure of Minkowski spacetime, invariant operators, and more. Chapter 5 is only about 20 pages excluding an optional section but nonetheless is admirably clear. Chapters 6 [Relative Motion], 7 [Relativistic Collisions] and 8 [Relativistic Electrodynamics] discover standard topics, all written with his characteristic flair for clear, mathematically precise yet enjoyable explanations. There are a lot of definitions and theorems in this book but he is careful to provide physical motivation and caveats to support avoid misunderstanding, and to focus on the main take away r those with the needed background in mathematics and physics, his book is an ideal means for achieving a respectably deep understanding of unique relativity and for positioning oneself to understand more advanced topics, including general relativity (for which, I recommend his equally lucid and concise  General Relativity (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series)  as the next logical step).So what are those prerequisites? On the physics side, the main requirement is a sound understanding of standard electromagnetism as taught to undergraduate physics majors (e.g. as treated in  Fundamentals of Physics ). On the mathematics side, one needs to be comfortable with the basics of linear algebra/matrix theory, vector calculus (e.g. div, curl, grad, divergence theorem aka Gauss's theorem) and not be thrown by rather abstract proofs.I have a lot of books on unique relativity and in my view, Prof. Woodhouse's is, hands down, one of the very best, mathematically oriented introductions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory [Illustrated] []  2020-8-18 18:59

    I concur with the previous reviewer. This book has ".gif" scattered throughout the book where photos of equations should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    Caveat: I’ve noticed that Amazon book reviews seem not to be tied to a specific edition of a book; rather, the same reviews will often appear for every edition of a particular title. My complaints about this book apply only to the specific edition I got from Amazon, not to Einstein’s text in general. The edition I have lacks any publication info apart from the fact that it was printed in San Bernardino, CA, on 15 July 2014. Other than that, there is nothing anywhere in the book that identifies the publisher. The ISBN is 9781619491502, and a fast Google find reveals that the publisher is “Empire Books,” though the publisher’s name appears nowhere on or in the book itself (and frankly, I don’t blame them for not wanting to take for this mess). Nonetheless, it is the edition with a drawing of Einstein’s face on the cover, with the title above the drawing and the subtitle and author’s name below it.Einstein’s monograph on the theory of relativity is simply brilliant, of course, and I wouldn’t presume to critique his work. But “Empire Books,” or whatever fly-by-night publisher was responsible for this particular edition of the book, was inexcusably negligent. The edition that I got from Amazon is simply riddled with typographical and formatting errors, which in some locations are so poor that they create it difficult to follow the text. I know nothing about who is behind “Empire Books,” but I strongly suspect that some clever young entrepreneur with access to a printing press thought that an simple method to create a fast buck would be to print and fresh editions of books that were in the public domain. I have no issue with this business model in principle — I might even consider doing it myself if I owned a printing press. My complaint is with the not good quality control. If you’re going to go into the publishing business, in my opinion, you have an obligation to your customers to create sure that the books you print are properly formatted and have been proofread at least well enough to catch glaring mistakes. You can’t just a text file from Project Gutenberg or some related website and print it out as is, never even bothering to check it for errors. I certainly wouldn’t recommend this edition of Einstein’s perfect book to anyone. Search one from a more reliable publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    Einstein figured out that the geometrical properties of zone are determined by matter. For example, our heavy Sun even bends light from distant stars. This means that mechanics defined by Galileo and Newton required a profound upgrade; Euclidean geometry cannot represent reality (space + time from various reference-bodies). Einstein makes this point with striking experiments. Inviting you to see some quick trains in a train station, throwing some lighting nearby you to present that simultaneity is relative (you cannot represent it with just three dimensions) and even place you standing among two pans just to illustrate his reasoning tools. As a result, he will convince you that we need a fresh model. So he goes about building a four-dimensional model using Gaussian coordinates that can represent the fabric of spacetime for any reference-body at its own relative time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    After reading Walter Isaacson's brilliant biography, "Einstein" and finally coming away with an understanding of Einstein's theories, I felt I could create the leap and actually attempt to read something written by the most popular genius of the twentieth century whose theories would transform science and the world.I chose Einstein's, "Relativity: The Unique and General Theory." The book was written by Einstein so that the average person, who was not a physicist or mathematician, but was interested in his "theory of relativity" could easily understand it in layman's terms. Well, except for the portions of the book that used mundane objects such as a train, an embankment, Times Square or a clock to describe the most popular theory of all time, the rest of the book (a amazing 60 percent) was incomprehensible to me. It could have just as well been written in Latin.I strongly recommend that unless you have a scientific background, you should not begin off by reading this book if you are at all interested in understanding the mind and theories of this, undeniable, genius. I recommend the Isaacson's book I mentioned above as a amazing starting t to be deter, I will nevertheless continue my interest in physics and when I have the time and patience I will begin reading books about Galileo and Newton's theories, so much seems to have originated from their work. They are constantly mentioned throughout by Einstein.I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    I'm using this for self-study and so far, while the exercises are challenging, it provides a amazing of insight into SR that I didn't obtain in High particular, I like that the author provides explanations versus common pitfalls in understanding. The explanation that magnetism results from SR of the electric field was mindblowing and that was just in the first section! Would definitely recommend this to someone looking to understand SR, or would like to stretch their minds to understand how first-principles thinking of a strange postulate (speed of light is constant in all reference frames) can provide completely un-intuitive results that, despite "common sense", have been verified by experiment over and r self-study, I would suggest reading through the explanations once and then struggling with the issues as soon as you can, going back to the explanations as reference. And of course, only read the solutions until you have struggled hard with the issue (preferably only when you are 99% sure you are right!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    Well written, simple read. Covers the topic well with lots of issues to try understanding. Recommended as a refresher text or advanced beginner. I liked the pace and the depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    ... is a fundamental, general law of social physics in every frame of reference. In this case, ISBN 9781542472371 is a softcover reprint of an HTML web-page with (what appears to be) no editing or formatting whatsoever! There are multiple misspellings. Pathetic! The giant margins average about an inch and a half on top, bottom, and right and the little text is printed in what appears to be eight-point font! What a lame joke!After torturing myself with ISBN 9781542472371, I have decided to set it on fire with a red laser. Until then, I have ordered the Hanoch Gutfreund ver (ISBN 9780691166339) in hardcover. I have much higher hopes for the Gutfreund is my sincere hope that this review spares you the pain, suffering, and disappointment of seeing a genius like Einstein denigrated in a softcover reprint and seeing your own time wasted on the same!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    Well-written presentation by the author and translator in bite-sized chunks of information, developing the theories in logical steps. Some understanding of algebra is required to follow the arguments, but concepts sequentially build on each other. Supporting appendices support explain material essential to the book for those needing extra background. Some language is dated and uses formats and expressions no longer in use, but can be understood through careful reading. Some terms might require a dictionary for those not having prior physics experience, but this is not a major limitation. Given how broadly these theories are now used, this short book is a worthwhile time investment for any serious adult or high school student. It would be a amazing book to read and discuss with others for its meaning and implications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    I was a physics major 30 years ago and went into an unrelated field. Back then I concentrated on Biophysics. My only exposure to Unique Relativity was a 1 hour lecture which taught me essentially nothing. This is my first true exposure to SR. I am self studying in the hopes of understanding particle physics one day. This text is very aptly named. It is for the enthusiastic beginner. If you are not enthusiastic about learning SR, then read an easier book. You are going to burn out of this one. As Prof. Morin says, SR is counterintuitive. He does an perfect job of explaining SR in detail and has an perfect writing style, but you don't learn physics by reading. You have to really think about it over and over again before it starts to sink in. I had to read each chapter 3 times before I could move on to the next. I still don't feel I have a amazing grasp. SR is just one of those subjects that you have to read about a lot of times over a lot of years before it really starts to create sense. This is an perfect put to start. I will read Tsamparlis one day, but before I do that I will reread this one. The explanations in this book are excellent, but the true strength of this book are the worked out problems. It is nice to see his solution once you have struggled with the issue for some time. No other book has this a lot of worked out short, if you plan to study advanced physics, you will have to master this material at this level before you move on to advanced work. For some it may be better suited as a second read on SR than a first, but if you plan to move on to more advanced material, this is probably the best preparation for it as far as SR goes.A final note: Prof Morin starts the book with a plea to the book as it will inevitably present up on the internet for one day. The amazing professor place a lot of work into this book. It is only $20. The paper quality and print quality are excellent. Please the book or kindle version. Give the amazing professor his due.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    Relativity 101, by The Master. Very readable, in fact a beautiful quick read. And there's magic in reading Einstein's own words. But you probably won't obtain much out of it unless you've got a primary understanding of classic (i.e. Newtonian) physics, e.g. action/reaction, inertia of rest/motion, gravity, etc., and high-school level math (fairly easy algebra, incl square roots but not quadratic equations). But that's not asking a lot. With that you'll obtain through Unique Relativity OK. (Although weeks later you may search yourself thinking, "Now run it by me again how the Speed of Light relates to billiard balls, and how in heck Mr. Einstein figured that out? Guess I need to reread it.") General Relatively is a trickier kettle of fish, which took A.E. an extra decade to come up with. YMMV, w/r/to understanding that (having read Hawking's "Time" helps). I highly recommend this book, in any case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) []  2020-8-5 18:40

    This book requires only a working knowledge of linear algebra and multivariate calculus, and a primary understanding of classical mechanics and e author begins by providing a easy but general mathematical exposition of relative motion in classical mechanics. The next two chapters review Maxwell's equations and what they imply for the propagation of light. Having set the scene in this way, the axioms of Einstein's theory are introduced and their implications worked out mathematically, leading the reader to a clear understanding of Minkowski four-dimensional zone time and the Lorentz transformation. The exposition is accompanied by a number of classic brainteasers in unique e weak spot (and hence only four stars) is the treatment of the mass-energy equivalence, which does not contain a rigorous derivation of Einstein's popular formula E=mc^2, even though such a derivation is no more demanding mathematically or conceptually than the other problems discussed in the sum, this book should appeal to any mathematically literate non-physicist who wants more than just a superficial introduction of Einstein's unique relativity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) []  2020-8-5 18:40

    This book covers amazing subjects in Relativity, but it is really difficult to understand the notations used and hence the contexts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) []  2020-8-5 18:40

    Amazing book to learn the operational way to construct SR.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory [Illustrated] []  2020-8-18 18:59

    I was amazed at how accessible Einstein's theories are to the layman. He is an perfect writer. However, there are some serious typographical errors in the Kindle ver which create this much more difficult to read. The diagrams are especially difficult to use. However, overall I do recommend it. It is worth stumbling through the confusing parts to read the rest of the thesis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    You would think, for the sake of credibility alone, that a publisher would familiarize themselves with the work they are publishing. First, a synopsis on the back of the volume states that Einstein was awarded the Nobel Prize for his work on relativity; he was, however, awarded the for his work on the photoelectric effect, NOT relativity. Second, the description of the book's content on Amazon follows Einstein's preface where he states "...are interested in the theory, but are not conversant with the mathematical apparatus of theoretical physics." They neglected to contain the following "...presumes a standard education to that of a university matriculation examination." I had two semesters of college calculus and, believe me, I would otherwise have been at a serious disadvantage in any effort to grasp even a cursory understanding the book's content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    I starred this as a 5, because it is in the master's own words (somewhat damaged by a translator, if you read it in English). If you're a student of relativity, this is something to have on your ever, be warned! You need to be able to read the occasional mathematical formula, and you are likely to search that it is a "page at a time" read ... I went back a amazing a lot of times before I understood it all. It is, nevertheless, mmary - tough, but valuable if you're serious. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    This book is a ripoff, don't it! The "publisher", Methuem & Co. Ltd., downloaded some public domain copy of Einstein's early works and printed it as is, without any corrections or editing. It's an simple method to create but of small value to the reader. In the "book" the equations that appear in the text were typed in, without subscripts and super scripts. Some of highlighted equations were also typed in with a typewriter. The image on the front cover is distorted and uncorrected. There are typing mistakes, spelling mistakes, and editing mistakes throughout the document. Instead of a table of contents there is a listing of the different sections of Einstein's writings. There are no chapter numbers or page numbers! And of course no index. In reading this document it appears that this is a collection of Einstein's early notes and essays that were never sent to a publisher. Save your and search a properly published copy of Einstein's works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    Caveat: I’ve noticed that Amazon book reviews seem not to be tied to a specific edition of a book; rather, the same reviews will often appear for every edition of a particular title. My complaints about this book apply only to the specific edition I got from Amazon, not to Einstein’s text in general. The edition I have lacks any publication info apart from the fact that it was printed in San Bernardino, CA, on 15 July 2014. Other than that, there is nothing anywhere in the book that identifies the publisher. The ISBN is 9781619491502, and a fast Google find reveals that the publisher is “Empire Books,” though the publisher’s name appears nowhere on or in the book itself (and frankly, I don’t blame them for not wanting to take for this mess). Nonetheless, it is the edition with a drawing of Einstein’s face on the cover, with the title above the drawing and the subtitle and author’s name below it.Einstein’s monograph on the theory of relativity is simply brilliant, of course, and I wouldn’t presume to critique his work. But “Empire Books,” or whatever fly-by-night publisher was responsible for this particular edition of the book, was inexcusably negligent. The edition that I got from Amazon is simply riddled with typographical and formatting errors, which in some locations are so poor that they create it difficult to follow the text. I know nothing about who is behind “Empire Books,” but I strongly suspect that some clever young entrepreneur with access to a printing press thought that an simple method to create a fast buck would be to print and fresh editions of books that were in the public domain. I have no issue with this business model in principle — I might even consider doing it myself if I owned a printing press. My complaint is with the not good quality control. If you’re going to go into the publishing business, in my opinion, you have an obligation to your customers to create sure that the books you print are properly formatted and have been proofread at least well enough to catch glaring mistakes. You can’t just a text file from Project Gutenberg or some related website and print it out as is, never even bothering to check it for errors. I certainly wouldn’t recommend this edition of Einstein’s perfect book to anyone. Search one from a more reliable publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    ... is a fundamental, general law of social physics in every frame of reference. In this case, ISBN 9781542472371 is a softcover reprint of an HTML web-page with (what appears to be) no editing or formatting whatsoever! There are multiple misspellings. Pathetic! The giant margins average about an inch and a half on top, bottom, and right and the little text is printed in what appears to be eight-point font! What a lame joke!After torturing myself with ISBN 9781542472371, I have decided to set it on fire with a red laser. Until then, I have ordered the Hanoch Gutfreund ver (ISBN 9780691166339) in hardcover. I have much higher hopes for the Gutfreund is my sincere hope that this review spares you the pain, suffering, and disappointment of seeing a genius like Einstein denigrated in a softcover reprint and seeing your own time wasted on the same!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    I starred this as a 5, because it is in the master's own words (somewhat damaged by a translator, if you read it in English). If you're a student of relativity, this is something to have on your ever, be warned! You need to be able to read the occasional mathematical formula, and you are likely to search that it is a "page at a time" read ... I went back a amazing a lot of times before I understood it all. It is, nevertheless, mmary - tough, but valuable if you're serious. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    It takes some dedication to work thru this book but it is well worth it. I felt the explanations were very clear and understandable. You should have a solid mathematics background. i would suggest calculus and at least some linear analysis to obtain the maximum from the book. The strength of the book is the worked out examples and the issues which have solutions provided but please create the effort to work them out yourself. It is worth the effort. For the record my background is math with some physics (a minor) plus graduate work in discrete math and computer science. I am studying relativity because I want to really understand the field. This book is worth the price. I have a paper back copy and a on my iPad Pro.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    A very digestible primer for those interested in unique relativity. The material is presented in a fashion that would be accessible to a gifted HS student or the average physics undergrad. Lots of worked examples and issue sets complement the text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory [Illustrated] []  2020-8-18 18:59

    I can't say I understand the theory but the book is very successful in it's purpose to "bring someone a few satisfied hours of suggestive thought".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity (Springer Undergraduate Mathematics Series) []  2020-8-5 18:40

    This is a splendid and very carefully prepared book. It gives very clear and concise explanations of the physical content of the unique theory of relativity, and it puts those explanations together directly with the simplest correct mathematical descriptions. It makes the topic as easy as possible---but not simpler. The explanation is clear, and the issues are particularly well chosen and insightful. It is a method to establish a real and complete understanding of the topic as quickly as is reasonably possible. In my opinion, it is the best available introduction and the only book that is really "best choice" for a first course in the topic or as the basic text for t everyone has the same taste. Some people would like to study the topic with as much mathematics being forgiven as possible. Those people will wish T. M. Helliwell's book "Special Relativity" instead. Most books that test to avoid almost all the mathematics end up avoiding almost everything interesting and sometimes give the wrong impression, at least in some details. Helliwell is distinguished among the "math lite" approaches.An alternative textbook introduction is A.P. French "Special Relativity," intended for M.I.T. freshmen. Taylor and Wheeler "Spacetime Physics," roughly a more "Caltech like" or "Princeton like" approach. Wolfgang Rindler "Introduction to Unique Relativity." Both French and Taylor/Wheeler are a small bit simpler, yet thorough introductions, and it is likely that most students would wish one or the other as a supplementary text, especially if the goal is pure self-study. Taylor/Wheeler is more colorfully phrased. Rindler's book is almost encyclopedically complete, although I search some sections of his writing to be less clear than they really should be---considering that he is a globe class scholar writing for one of the world's top technical publishing houses. Because his treatment is so complete, I think most people will wish his book as their long-term reference on the subject. In my own opinion, these are all the "good" books on the subject. If you are a college junior or further along, Woodhouse seems the logical put to begin. College freshmen will probably wish to begin with French or Taylor/Wheeler instead. High school and below will probably create a better begin with Helliwell.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    This book published by Ancient Wisdom Publications (December 17, 2010), has not been proof-read by anyone with knowledge of mathematics. It is riddled with errors and typos in equations throughout the entire book such that it is useless for anyone who wishes to understand the subject. I was able to correct a lot of of the math errors through my own derivations, but there are a lot of more likely errors for which the context does not provide sufficient info to create corrections, so this book should not be purchased by anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and the General Theory []  2019-12-20 18:31

    Relativity 101, by The Master. Very readable, in fact a beautiful quick read. And there's magic in reading Einstein's own words. But you probably won't obtain much out of it unless you've got a primary understanding of classic (i.e. Newtonian) physics, e.g. action/reaction, inertia of rest/motion, gravity, etc., and high-school level math (fairly easy algebra, incl square roots but not quadratic equations). But that's not asking a lot. With that you'll obtain through Unique Relativity OK. (Although weeks later you may search yourself thinking, "Now run it by me again how the Speed of Light relates to billiard balls, and how in heck Mr. Einstein figured that out? Guess I need to reread it.") General Relatively is a trickier kettle of fish, which took A.E. an extra decade to come up with. YMMV, w/r/to understanding that (having read Hawking's "Time" helps). I highly recommend this book, in any case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    WOw, I just finished looking at this book -- it's awesome! I'm currently taking modern physics and we're getting hammered with unique relativity. Our course textbook is just ok, not enough worked-out problems. For additional problems, our instructor suggested we Schaum's outline for Modern Physics -- lots of problems, but it's either too primary or too high level, no in-between.Earlier this week I started using this Unique Relativity book by this Harvard professor and it's awesome!! It has A LOT of worked out problems. In fact the explanations are so clear that it has now replaced my textbook for the course. Two of my mates started using it yesterday before our Pset was due and they love it. For fun I just read a bit from the 4-vector chapter at the end and I think I understand :) This book is awesome. Thank you, you're a life saver!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    The subtitle of this book – “For enthusiastic beginners”, may create this book seem like it is a beginning or introductory text, and while some of it is indeed for beginners it is much more. The book covers aspects of Unique Relativity, such as Rapidity (a mathematical function used to solve some advanced problems) and four-vectors (another mathematical approach that is used for complex problems), which are not covered in primary texts. It is not the type of book that one reads casually, but is rather one that requires a considerable amount of time and effort – effort to absorb the material and even more effort to solve the numerous issues contained in the book, as the book is focused on issue solving with numerous solved examples and solved problems, plus exercises that are meant as homework issues for a course on Unique Relativity, the solutions of which are therefore not provided. The book contains remarks – commentaries by the author that might be added by him if you were taking a class in person. The book has wide 2.5 inch outside margins for figures that also let ample room for margin notes. I highly recommend this book for beginners (but for ones enthusiastic enough to tackle the issues contained in the book) and also for the more advanced student that wants a book that focuses on issue solving, covering the material discussed below.What is in the book –1) Chapter 1 - Kinematics, Part 1. This chapter covers the basics of Relativity – the Loss of Simultaneity, Time Dilation, Length Contraction and Velocity addition. This chapter, which comprises about a quarter of the book, is the most physical in the treatment of Relativity. It also discusses a bit of the historical development of the topic of Relativity. It is an perfect primer for the beginner.2) Chapter 2 - Kinematics Part 2 – This is a much more advanced approach to the topics covered in Chapter 1. It derives and uses the Lorentz Transformations and Minkowski Diagrams. It is a much more advanced and difficult treatment than that of Chapter 1 and would appeal to more advanced students.3) Chapter 3 - Dynamics – This chapter covers Energy and Momentum and the interaction between particles. While some of this is also covered primary texts, the approach here and the numerous solved issues should be of interest to advanced beginners and for those seeking insights into issue solving.4) Chapter 4 - 4-Vectors. This is a highly mathematical chapter, suitable for the most advanced beginners and beyond.5) Chapter 5 – General Relativity. This is a very short introduction to the topic of General Relativity, focusing on the Equivalence Principle. It gives a feeling of what General Relativity is all about, without going into any of the complex mathematics that is needed for a more in depth treatment. As such is it very amazing for the e book also includes 8 appendices, covering such subjects as extra derivations of some equations covered in the text, issue solving tactics and the Taylor series. Like the rest of the book, these appendices are focused on the student and are meant to improve his or hers issue solving capabilities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    Well written and presented. Some parts massive going. Want I were smarter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Special Relativity: For the Enthusiastic Beginner []  2020-7-17 19:16

    Title ".....Enthusiastic Beginner" very misleading misleading. First chapter reviews differential and integral calculus in anticipation requirement for understanding text. Obviously, need for this advanced math requirement is inconsistent with expectation that this is a beginners book. REMOVE IT FROM YOUR INVENTORY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    This book published by Ancient Wisdom Publications (December 17, 2010), has not been proof-read by anyone with knowledge of mathematics. It is riddled with errors and typos in equations throughout the entire book such that it is useless for anyone who wishes to understand the subject. I was able to correct a lot of of the math errors through my own derivations, but there are a lot of more likely errors for which the context does not provide sufficient info to create corrections, so this book should not be purchased by anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    You would think, for the sake of credibility alone, that a publisher would familiarize themselves with the work they are publishing. First, a synopsis on the back of the volume states that Einstein was awarded the Nobel Prize for his work on relativity; he was, however, awarded the for his work on the photoelectric effect, NOT relativity. Second, the description of the book's content on Amazon follows Einstein's preface where he states "...are interested in the theory, but are not conversant with the mathematical apparatus of theoretical physics." They neglected to contain the following "...presumes a standard education to that of a university matriculation examination." I had two semesters of college calculus and, believe me, I would otherwise have been at a serious disadvantage in any effort to grasp even a cursory understanding the book's content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory []  2020-4-1 19:15

    Well-written presentation by the author and translator in bite-sized chunks of information, developing the theories in logical steps. Some understanding of algebra is required to follow the arguments, but concepts sequentially build on each other. Supporting appendices support explain material essential to the book for those needing extra background. Some language is dated and uses formats and expressions no longer in use, but can be understood through careful reading. Some terms might require a dictionary for those not having prior physics experience, but this is not a major limitation. Given how broadly these theories are now used, this short book is a worthwhile time investment for any serious adult or high school student. It would be a amazing book to read and discuss with others for its meaning and implications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity: The Special and General Theory [Illustrated] []  2020-8-18 18:59

    The formatting of this book for Kindle is not good. I recommend another version. The lines break in random locations and other related problems detect from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Newton to Einstein: The Trail of Light: An Excursion to the Wave-Particle Duality and the Special Theory of Relativity []  2020-1-21 21:48

    Fun book if you can hold with it and most everyone should. Not technical or mathemetically challenging! Enjoyed the stories and asides... my son says I'm just like the author. Obtain to the point. This is a story book (not surprising given the title) although it's being used as a text book for a summer course with no other notes for guidance. Sometimes the questions at the end of the chapters are very easy but some are difficult to respond because the answers aren't sitting out in the begin waiting for you to snap them up. You gotta be thinking. Want there were answers in the back. Would have been fun companion reading in th day when I was taking this [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    This is exactly what I required for my college class. I am renting it and it looks brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    I received the book and the back cover was torn off and the front cover looked as it haseen sliced with a razor knife. The pages were ok but the book was definitely NOT in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    School books are so expensive, and amazon e-books are great. This book is just like the actual book. Tip: if you have online classes and you are supposed to read and be quizzed over certain things, you can find it in the find bar of the kindle app, easier than flipping through your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    Amazing book with understanding Psychology within the classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geology Applied to Engineering []  2020-11-26 18:25

    Summary from John Rockaway's review: "...it provides the student with an perfect background not only in applying geology to engineering design and construction but also provides the student with the background important for understanding the geologic conditions that have contributed to this application. Both undergraduate students and graduate students will search the book an perfect text. It is simple to read and well-illustrated, there is an perfect selection of example problems..." --Sheila Kluck, PE, PG, familiar with the expertise of Abdul Shakoor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    Saved a lot of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    These were both in not good condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    Helpful book for my college course!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    I found this amazing for my masters course

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychology Applied to Teaching []  2020-1-7 18:39

    Well written and a amazing reference book. If not it should be in hard cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sight, Sound, Motion: Applied Media Aesthetics []  2020-1-28 20:42

    So, it looks like all the content is inside the book, but it was published upside down. Literally, you'll like a crazy person reading this in the library. It's a rental, should be OK and it seems like a solid enough text book. But again, these books are a fortune and really method too expensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sight, Sound, Motion: Applied Media Aesthetics []  2020-1-28 20:42

    Item arrives on time and as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sight, Sound, Motion: Applied Media Aesthetics []  2020-1-28 20:42

    College book. While Amazons rate was better the book is still overpriced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    You would think, for the sake of credibility alone, that a publisher would familiarize themselves with the work they are publishing. First, a synopsis on the back of the volume states that Einstein was awarded the Nobel Prize for his work on relativity; he was, however, awarded the for his work on the photoelectric effect, NOT relativity. Second, the description of the book's content on Amazon follows Einstein's preface where he states "...are interested in the theory, but are not conversant with the mathematical apparatus of theoretical physics." They neglected to contain the following "...presumes a standard education to that of a university matriculation examination." I had two semesters of college calculus and, believe me, I would otherwise have been at a serious disadvantage in any effort to grasp even a cursory understanding the book's content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    After reading Walter Isaacson's brilliant biography, "Einstein" and finally coming away with an understanding of Einstein's theories, I felt I could create the leap and actually attempt to read something written by the most popular genius of the twentieth century whose theories would transform science and the world.I chose Einstein's, "Relativity: The Unique and General Theory." The book was written by Einstein so that the average person, who was not a physicist or mathematician, but was interested in his "theory of relativity" could easily understand it in layman's terms. Well, except for the portions of the book that used mundane objects such as a train, an embankment, Times Square or a clock to describe the most popular theory of all time, the rest of the book (a amazing 60 percent) was incomprehensible to me. It could have just as well been written in Latin.I strongly recommend that unless you have a scientific background, you should not begin off by reading this book if you are at all interested in understanding the mind and theories of this, undeniable, genius. I recommend the Isaacson's book I mentioned above as a amazing starting t to be deter, I will nevertheless continue my interest in physics and when I have the time and patience I will begin reading books about Galileo and Newton's theories, so much seems to have originated from their work. They are constantly mentioned throughout by Einstein.I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    ... is a fundamental, general law of social physics in every frame of reference. In this case, ISBN 9781542472371 is a softcover reprint of an HTML web-page with (what appears to be) no editing or formatting whatsoever! There are multiple misspellings. Pathetic! The giant margins average about an inch and a half on top, bottom, and right and the little text is printed in what appears to be eight-point font! What a lame joke!After torturing myself with ISBN 9781542472371, I have decided to set it on fire with a red laser. Until then, I have ordered the Hanoch Gutfreund ver (ISBN 9780691166339) in hardcover. I have much higher hopes for the Gutfreund is my sincere hope that this review spares you the pain, suffering, and disappointment of seeing a genius like Einstein denigrated in a softcover reprint and seeing your own time wasted on the same!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    Caveat: I’ve noticed that Amazon book reviews seem not to be tied to a specific edition of a book; rather, the same reviews will often appear for every edition of a particular title. My complaints about this book apply only to the specific edition I got from Amazon, not to Einstein’s text in general. The edition I have lacks any publication info apart from the fact that it was printed in San Bernardino, CA, on 15 July 2014. Other than that, there is nothing anywhere in the book that identifies the publisher. The ISBN is 9781619491502, and a fast Google find reveals that the publisher is “Empire Books,” though the publisher’s name appears nowhere on or in the book itself (and frankly, I don’t blame them for not wanting to take for this mess). Nonetheless, it is the edition with a drawing of Einstein’s face on the cover, with the title above the drawing and the subtitle and author’s name below it.Einstein’s monograph on the theory of relativity is simply brilliant, of course, and I wouldn’t presume to critique his work. But “Empire Books,” or whatever fly-by-night publisher was responsible for this particular edition of the book, was inexcusably negligent. The edition that I got from Amazon is simply riddled with typographical and formatting errors, which in some locations are so poor that they create it difficult to follow the text. I know nothing about who is behind “Empire Books,” but I strongly suspect that some clever young entrepreneur with access to a printing press thought that an simple method to create a fast buck would be to print and fresh editions of books that were in the public domain. I have no issue with this business model in principle — I might even consider doing it myself if I owned a printing press. My complaint is with the not good quality control. If you’re going to go into the publishing business, in my opinion, you have an obligation to your customers to create sure that the books you print are properly formatted and have been proofread at least well enough to catch glaring mistakes. You can’t just a text file from Project Gutenberg or some related website and print it out as is, never even bothering to check it for errors. I certainly wouldn’t recommend this edition of Einstein’s perfect book to anyone. Search one from a more reliable publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    This book published by Ancient Wisdom Publications (December 17, 2010), has not been proof-read by anyone with knowledge of mathematics. It is riddled with errors and typos in equations throughout the entire book such that it is useless for anyone who wishes to understand the subject. I was able to correct a lot of of the math errors through my own derivations, but there are a lot of more likely errors for which the context does not provide sufficient info to create corrections, so this book should not be purchased by anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    Relativity 101, by The Master. Very readable, in fact a beautiful quick read. And there's magic in reading Einstein's own words. But you probably won't obtain much out of it unless you've got a primary understanding of classic (i.e. Newtonian) physics, e.g. action/reaction, inertia of rest/motion, gravity, etc., and high-school level math (fairly easy algebra, incl square roots but not quadratic equations). But that's not asking a lot. With that you'll obtain through Unique Relativity OK. (Although weeks later you may search yourself thinking, "Now run it by me again how the Speed of Light relates to billiard balls, and how in heck Mr. Einstein figured that out? Guess I need to reread it.") General Relatively is a trickier kettle of fish, which took A.E. an extra decade to come up with. YMMV, w/r/to understanding that (having read Hawking's "Time" helps). I highly recommend this book, in any case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relativity []  2020-2-6 22:20

    Well-written presentation by the author and translator in bite-sized chunks of information, developing the theories in logical steps. Some understanding of algebra is required to follow the arguments, but concepts sequentially build on each other. Supporting appendices support explain material essential to the book for those needing extra background. Some language is dated and uses formats and expressions no longer in use, but can be understood through careful reading. Some terms might require a dictionary for those not having prior physics experience, but this is not a major limitation. Given how broadly these theories are now used, this short book is a worthwhile time investment for any serious adult or high school student. It would be a amazing book to read and discuss with others for its meaning and implications.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386