Read spencer reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all spencer reviews below or publish your opinion.

84 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer [App]  2019-11-9 13:54

    Amazing game, was going to this on Switch but for a android game I'm not gonna play when completed, 59p for the mobile ver will do me instead. Loving the android game so far, simple controls, plenty of levels to unlock, thanks for the amazing android game developers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer [App]  2019-11-9 13:54

    très content de trouver ce jeu sur Android. je l'ai sur Switch, c'est perfect !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer [App]  2019-11-9 13:54

    Solid controls, level design presents a fair challenge... Enjoyed the "house" theme, spencers physics and "double jump" ability adds to the experience nicely... 1 Question though - I'm unable to search the latest main jewel in level 49 (It says there are 101 in total) Is it there and I'm not finding it? Otherwise, amazing game!

    0  


    Add your opinion on spencer or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    60's were amazing bands amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    Amazing collection of songs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    Fair for classic spencer Davis and amazing sound

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    Thanks to Steve Winwood's career, there are a lot of compilations focused on his stint with Spencer Davis back in the mid-60s. Most of these comps are issued on budget line labels, with minimal liner notes and varying song choices outside of "Gimmie Some Loving" and "I'm A Man".This is a reissue of the very first "Best Of" that came out right after the Winwood brothers ditched the group (and supposedly better things, definitely up for debate IMHO). So for that very reason, and the cool album cover shot, I rate this ahead of most of what is out there. For the casual fan, you obtain what you need, and the remaining song choices are intelligently picked for the most part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    One of the premier groups of the Sixties and Seventies. This is a remake of the originalrecord. I would have liked to have the original record. However, I slipped it into my collectionof vintage records and forgot about. When I obtain a craving for the Spencer Davis Group I willpull the record, play it and be transported back to the time of the greatest generation and the greatest musicever, even if it's just for a moment. Anyway, amazing transaction, love the record, can't complain. Peace!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    What's not to like about this dynamic group!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    Amazing CD! Brought back lots of memories! Felt like I was in 10th grade again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    amazing album to begin your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    It is a amazing mix of music. Created me remember times past...good stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Spencer Davis []  2020-2-1 23:15

    Amazing album even if I only play the first couple of songs(which are my alltime favorites) all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bud Spencer & Terence Hill - Slaps And Beans [App]  2019-11-1 14:1

    boo bo bo boooo, bo bo boooo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bud Spencer & Terence Hill - Slaps And Beans [App]  2019-11-1 14:1

    Fantastic!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    A very spooky read. A shame that it isn't longer. It's not a ''novel'' persay, but rather the retelling of a angry scientist. First half is the story part, the second half is creepy illustrations and descriptions of the different half-human abominations the Resurrectionist believed to have existed.If you are into horror and cryptozoology, I'd definitely recommend this. If you are looking a more conventional horror novel, then this might not be up your alley. You may however be pleasantly surprised!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    I know some folks have had glowing things to say about this book, but I have to say I just wasn't as impressed as I'd hope I'd be.While the artwork at the back of the book is certainly impressive, the framing device in the first half to book is unconvincing, and the writing is average at is may be because I'm a large fan of Victorian-era literature in general, and consume a lot of it. But overall I just couldn't bring myself to believe the story that was being told - the writing simply wasn't compelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    If you're reading this you probably already know how it smells. Uniquely amazing. Hard to describe. Without a doubt better than your green tree air here's the pro tip. I use to proudly display this up on my dash board and as a lot of tricks as I tried such as wrapping the cartridge in saran wrap and cutting vent holes in it to create it latest longer, my best efforts proved futile as it created it latest for maybe 2 weeks. I read some where that you should not have it on your dash where the sun can dry it out AND IT same tricks aside I decided to use the small double sided stickies it included in the box and stick it where the sun don't shine (underneath the glove box area). Now every time the vents blow It's a thing of beauty and it's been a solid two months and it's just starting to weaken.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    This was a very sweet story with a grand dose of humor. I love this author for her ability to write fun story line, amazing characters, sweet moments all wrapped up in a realistic package. This story was exactly that. The characters have their issues, they have their own demons and troubles but the method they connect to each other and work through things really makes this story one to read. It is a YA so there is no graphic romance and everything that does happens between the characters is e method the author wove together the humor and the sweetness really stood out to me. It created the harder heartfelt moments still shine but didn't create the story dark or weighed down. I really enjoyed this story and highly recommend it to others. I received an ARC and I am leaving an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    You killed your set on Slay Tony man, amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    The story of a madman, the life and works of Dr. Spencer Black. E.B. Hudspeth has brilliantly laid out the fictional life of Dr. Spencer Black and made such an interesting and complex character. I have to say this is the most special book I have ever read (to date). This was written so wonderfully and in such a method that Dr. Spencer Black seemed so real. The story is so dark, mysterious, strange and intriguing and completely captivated me. There were points in the story that were so odd and strange, but worked well explaining the insanity seen in Dr. Black. I highly enjoyed the matter in which the book was laid out especially with the addition of "lost works" throughout the biography that brought to life the main character, Dr. Spencer Black. The illustrations were absolutely attractive as well and a amazing addition to work alongside the story and life of Dr. Spencer Black.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    Amazing illustrations, interesting take on the abnormal. Going to be a amazing coffee table book for conversation starter and Halloween parties

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    *Updated*These smell awesome yet unlike anything I’ve ever smelled before. The closest thing I can liken it to is Juicy Fruit mixed with lemon with a slight mintiness to it. Very pungent straight out of the package. I’ll modernize this once I’ve determined the approximate longevity of the scent.UPDATE:So these seem to latest reasonably long until you hit a very warm weather, which seems to slay them quickly. I had the first one in my vehicle for a few weeks and it stayed beautiful consistently pungent but then after a few 85°+ days it tapered off. Same scenario with the second one. But honestly they smell so amazing I’ll just more. I always obtain compliments when people obtain in my vehicle now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    Just like how I remember the early 2000's. Ahhhhh!!!! Still STRONG at first... Only they don't latest as long as I r those complaining it smells like a urinal cake. Sadly, you are correct in a 's because squash smells so darn amazing that it seems a few yrs ago some had the bright idea of ruining this amazing scent by turning this into industrial restroom freshener. Not sure if it's actual urinal cakes, but the restrooms in our office buildings are all squash scented. So this scent will only appeal to the old school folks or those whom dont already have scent connected with litteral urine and feces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    A very short and hot story. I love older men with younger men. Delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    This is the third in a series of truly enjoyable romance books, even for nonfans of the genre, like me. I search most of the genre vapid. This writer however creates realistic characters that live in a globe with true issues and shows us that sometimes the journey becomes easier when shared.Spencer left his hometown three years ago on the night that should have been his high school graduation celebration. He had just gone through a trauma and simply fled with hardly a word to anyone. In all this time he has been in contact with only one person, his younger brother, Damian, and then only by his brother needs him. Damian is going through a crisis of his own. Rather than respond the message, Spencer hops a plane, leaving his current waystation in Australia and heads straight for home. He doesn’t know what to expect as a welcome considering he hasn’t spoken to his parents in three years. Sorry for disappearing doesn’t seem like enough. Spencer isn’t expecting a warm welcome. But a literal slap in the face on the doorstep isn’t what he expected either.Hadley is a attractive high school senior. She seems to have it all, a rich family, amazing looks, alright grades and an amazing best friend. She uses her looks and biting wit to hold others from getting too close. This year since her best friend, Charlotte is in a relationship, Hadley has more mates than she ever has. Jesse, Charlotte’s boyfriend, his best friend, Roman and Roman’s girlfriend, Jesse’s sister Cassie, have all become close ill there is no one unique in her life. Even her family life isn’t what everyone assumes. Her mother may live with Hadley and her grandfather, when she isn’t on one of her frequent vacations, but she has very small to do with her daughter.A senior prank throws Spencer and Hadley together. And when Hadley is caught, she is forced to work her spring break on Spencer’s family ranch bringing her together every day with the most infuriating and beautiful man Hadley has ever n two people, broken in various ways support each other to heal? Maybe even search a small happiness?Kindle Unlimited edition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    Spencer and the Younger Girl by Michelle MacQueen is a contemporary young adult romance told in third person, dual POV. It's the third book in the Gulf Town High series and can be read as a standalone.Hadley will soon graduate high school and wants to leave her tag by pulling off an epic senior prank involving goats. When things go amiss, she's suspended and tasked with working at the Lee ranch with her mate Damien's grumpy, hot, older ter three years away with no contact with his parents, Spencer returns home to support his younger brother. He doesn't belong there anymore and won't be staying long. The latest thing he needs is a relationship. So why can't he stop thinking about Hadley?I enjoyed Hadley and Spencer's story. As characters, they were both likeably flawed, and I was invested in finding out how everything would turn out. The story explored themes of grief, forgiveness, and family. Full of humor and emotion, it's a touching tale about second chances, belonging, and finding love.*** I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC. ***

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    This was a unbelievable third installment in The Gulf Town High series. Spencer is an older boy who returns home after a few years and search himself working on his family's ranch with Hadley, a rich girl who usually spends her time on the beach with friends. There is so much more to both of their stories but I don't wish to spoil anything. I loved Hadley in the earlier books and she was even more fun to read about in this one. Can't wait for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    What intrigued me about this book was the concept: a collection of "lost work" by a doctor who kept detailed records and anatomical analysis of imaginary creatures.— BIOGRAPHY —The first part of the book is a biography of the fictional Dr. Spencer Black. It reads like a real-life acc of his life and his fascination with the anatomy of bodies, dissection, and attempting to recreate imaginary creatures. The tone of the book is a small creepy, and reading it at night with one light on is almost equivalent to reading a scary story at night.— CODEX —In the second part, it's a collection of sketches of mythical/imaginary/fictional creatures. There is a drawing of what they look like "normally", and then there is a sketch of its bone structure, which goes into a depth of detail related to Gray's Anatomy. Less detailed, but enough.— SUMMARY —I enjoyed this book. I think the author could've made more detailed and realistic sketches and expanded the mythology of the doctor even more. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    Before purchasing, I expected this book to essentially be a mock ver of a regular anatomy book. I was pleasantly surprised to explore it actually held a story as well. The story follows the life of Dr. S Black, who I found both simple to love, and simple to fear. The struggle this hero faces, alongside of the wonderful illustrations, makes it very simple for the reader to search themselves lost in the globe made by the author. I highly recommend this to anyone with a taste for the more macabre side of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    Perfect work of art even though the story telling is lacking a small bit. For the visuals alone the book is worth every penny. A combination of grotesque beauty and mythology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    I feel like this story is about my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    I like the older-younger type of relationship so [email protected]#$%!s the spot for me. Solid writing too, and straight to the point haha. Want it was longer though...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    Expensive for a vehicle air freshener? 100%. I. DON'T. CARE. No one has ever gotten into my vehicle and NOT said "WTF is that? It smells INCREDIBLE." If you wish that reaction every time someone sits down, these. If you can't bring yourself to smell more than $5/unit for a freshener, then go something that no one will message or compliment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    These are authentic CSX3 refills. The squash smell is classic and I've been using it for over 15 years now in different cars. This is a 3 package and they stay new until you begin them. Once opened, they latest 2-3 weeks depending on how much you begin the vent but they continue to smell a small bit long after they wear eat product, no other vehicle air freshener even comes close in my opinion, and I've tried a lot of them. I haven't even tried other Air Spencer scents, I just go for squash all the time and never look back. Also, in case someone reading this doesn't know, the smell isn't the vegetable [email protected]#$%!&'s lemon and lime squashed together, so it's kind of a new citrus smell but it's really special and I never obtain sick of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    What a sweet read! Spencer and the Younger Girl by Michelle MacQueen is the third book in her series Gulf Town High, and my favorite of the series so far. I know what you’re thinking. Didn’t I say that latest book? Well, yes I did 😀 But y’all it’s so good. Each book in this series tops the last! In this installment of the standalone series, we meet Spencer Lee, Damien’s older and estranged brother. Spencer comes home because his brother needs him. What he doesn’t expect is Hadley Gibson.Hadley was introduced in the series during Jesse and the Ice Princess as Charlotte’s best friend. I adore Hadley! She is sassy and unapologetic about who she is. She knows she’s attractive and that her looks attract people. However her outgoing personality tends to push people away. That is all except her closest friends. She would do anything for them, and you have to love her for that. As their senior year is coming to a close, Hadley feels more and more invisible at school. She wants to leave a tag and decides to do that with an epic senior prank: goats in the school. The only thing is she has to convince the underclassman Damien Lee to allow her borrow his goats. As you can guess, Hadley’s prank goes awry and she winds up caught. Her grandfather makes a with the Lees that while Hadley is suspended from school, she’ll work on their ranch. Now she’s stuck spending Spring Break working with the handsome, if not a small bit of a jerk, elder brother.Spencer Lee stole my heart from the first page. This is a broken man who was forced to grow up too soon. I identified with him on more levels than I’m willing to admit. He left home the day of graduation and never looked back. Heartbreak drove him away, and now family is bringing him home. His baby brother needs him, and it isn’t until his mother shocked by the sight of him opens the door that Spencer realizes how much he needs them. His time away didn’t heal the begin wound he left with. If anything, it allowed it to fester. Now he is home with the family he left and it’s time to confront his demons.Overall, I loved Spencer and the Younger Girl. The chemistry is sweet with a tip of steam. Hadley and Spencer are both lost souls looking for their put in the world. Their banter and Hadley’s confidence are refreshing in a YA novel. If you have fun YA contemporary, I highly recommend this sweet, mostly clean, romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    Another amazing one in this series. I beautiful much love everything Michelle writes and this one didn’t disappoint. I wasn’t expecting this story to have such a painful ting this story, I wasn’t sure who Spencer was and then realized why.Spencer is Damiens older brother but you haven’t heard about him before because he hopped on a plane three years ago and just now came back. Spencer is a amazing guy though. I liked him as a character; he’s a amazing brother, loves horses, and just wants to know where he belongs. Should have been a small more honest with people and trusted that they would have his back but eventually he learns that.I really like Hadley as a character. She’s an amazing person and best friend. This was just an emotional story throughout between Spencer’s past and Jacks issue later on. I also felt poor for Hadley because of her mom. What a crappy thing to do! I’m so glad she had other people in her life though besides her mom. I loved that this is a HEA like the rest of them and it’s amazing to see how the other couples are doing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    Another awesome and entertaining read! While at times the story can break your heart a bit, the characters are so simple to fall in love with. This story was as sweet and funny as I hoped and I really recommend this series of interconnecting standalones.Spencer and the Younger Girl is the third book in the Gulf Town High series.I voluntarily received and reviewed an advanced copy of this Rating: 5 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    This book is about a fictional doctor who believes human deformity stems from some lost memory in the dna or genetics of mythological creatures. Most is in the form or letters or private notes with some story background. As the doctor descends into his "research and work" you can sense and "see" him descend into madness. His medical experiments are dark and somewhat startling and some not predictable at all. Its almost like brilliant surgeon turned Frankenstein in his experiments. Its sad, grotesque, and opens a fresh door into genetic exploration at a fictional level. The artwork in the form of plates is phenomenal and works very well for this book and its storyline. It falls into the realm of macabre without being overly so. I would recommend this book if you like the strange, forbidden, and a solid short storyline.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    When the scent starts to fade, pry off the vent cover, you'll see a small gel cassette, take it out and use a knife or box cutter to carefully chop it in half on its Z axis (The method that creates the most fresh surface space). then place them back together backwards, so that the newly made surface locations are on the outside. Then place them back in the case, and snap the vent cover back can easily obtain another week out of it,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    known about these since high school in the 90's + days....every damn racer(Asian ricer) had these they were super famous and the best part they smell damn amazing and was damn powerful in the scent department...tried a lot of fresheners in the fresh vehicle and they all sucked (only tried like 3) then i remember about these some and the old school memories begin flooding back in..... T_TNote: the scent in these are SUPER strong...probably not the best choice for those who have sensitive nose/smell/allergies maybe....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    🤙🏽🤙🏽🤙🏽

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    I received an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review.I loved this story. We got to catch up with some of the characters from the first 2 books, and got to meet some fresh characters in this is necessary and with this series, we have seen some good, poor and ugly sides when it comes to family. This book brought a fresh look at one family (Spencer's) while giving us a closer look into another (Hadley).The senior prank was epic!!!Ms. MacQueen did a amazing job tackling a difficult subject and showing how it really affects both parties involved.I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    "Philadelphia, the late 1870's. A town of gas lamps, cobblestone streets, and horse-drawn carriages-and home to the controversial surgeon Dr. Spencer Black. The son of a grave robber, young Dr. Black studies at Philadelphia's esteemed Academy of Medicine, where he develops an unconventional hypothesis: What if the world's most celebrated mythological beasts were in fact the evolutionary ancestors of humankind?" -From the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black [Book]  2018-7-8 18:0

    Most people will wish to pick this book up purely for the art. The illustrations are are simply beautiful, and convey a sense of realism. But the story, which fulls fully a third of the book, is an enjoyable corollary to the art. It explores the fictional biography of the title character, Dr. Spencer Black, an ostracized scientist with traces of Victor Frankenstein and Dr. Moreau. This will create an perfect addition to any bookshelf or coffee table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    Since smell is very subjective, My review has to do with the fresh look. I have bought hundreds of these air fresheners throughout the years, so I am very familiar with the smell, packaging, etc.. The picture shown has the old packaging. What I received was the fresh packaging which is still the same size, but has a various picture on it. They still come with the small sticky pads and smell exactly the same, so it does appear it was only a packaging update. Created in Japan is stamped on the box as well as the plastic wrap the air freshener is in, so I have no doubt it is not a knock off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    I absolutely love this smell I always obtain compliments it does not latest long but I have heard that if you leave it in the pack and just spoke a few holes in the pack it will latest longer I will need to test that with the next one because I have already used up all three I want they created the same scent and something that lasted longer overall very happy and I will again and it is cheaper online than it is at the Honda store

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CS-X3 Squash C10 Air Spencer Refill - Pack of 3 []  2020-1-11 19:53

    I'm definitely on the fence with this product. During the first couple weeks, the scent is gentle and refreshing in the car. But, after a couple weeks, I noticed a significant drop in the scent. You can control the amount of scent released to prolong the life of the cartridge but, even so, the drop off is very noticeable even at low setting to preserve the product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    Watching Slay Tony as we speak, gentleman had a amazing set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sucking Mr. Spencer.: Seduced By My Best Friend's Dad []  2020-1-29 5:38

    Amazing set on slay tony man. This book is dope too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    I had a hard time getting into this one. It was just too much inside Spencer's head. And for all the angst, I was expecting some kind of monumental tragedy, plus the pain of a dysfunctional family, plus his girl done him wrong, etcBut it's a easy tragedy (one that I've suffered thru), an imperfect but loving family, and a fairly natural end to the long time relationship. His disappearance really created no sense psychologically, and his parents treatment of him when he came back created even less sense based on their characterization.I couldn't relate to Hadley much, either, though she created a small more sense to me at e final conflict felt so contrived - why wouldn't Spencer simply tell Hadley instead of letting her think he was dumping her?His grand gesture was totally improbable but e story is otherwise decently told and simple to follow. Just wasn't feeling it.*Clean romance level: passionate kisses, nothing graphic***Parental caveat: Yet another secondary hero comes out in a YA story. (Small wonder teens think there are 5 times more people than there actually are) There's nothing more graphic than them getting caught kissing. The parents response is loving (& that's good) but totally PC secular, of course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spencer and the Younger Girl (Gulf City High Book 3) []  2020-5-18 18:36

    *I received an early copy from the author. This does not affect my review. This review is voluntary.*I was excited for this one, though one thing...That title still makes me cringe! Lol, I knew that the 'age-gap' between the two wasn't really a lot, just the timing mostly as they were in school together for a while, but had I not known, it would have created picking this on up more of a struggle. As it was, I couldn't wait to see their story, and it is another unbelievable addition to this series! We met Hayley a small in the the begin of the series, but I loved meeting Spencer and learning more about Hayley as well. I knew this one would be full of feels, but was surprises how quickly I started feeling for the characters. There's definitely a lot of tears in this one, not fresh for the series, but seeing their past, as well as how their futures intersected once again was fun, and I really enjoyed how their story plays out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    The late Mr. Manchester and his corroborator Mr. Reid have written an exquisitely orthogonal volume: ‘The Latest Lion’ encompasses an American perspective on the most British of leaders, a riveting read stretching well past 1000 pages, and not least a treasure trove of new scholarship to contribute on perhaps the most necessary 20th century statesman, not to mention Globe Battle II (which comprises nearly all of the work). Simply put, if you think you know everything about the battle – much less Mr. Churchill – I implore you to dive in; this is a doorstop, to be sure, but also probably the best non-fiction one I’ve ever e interweaving of battle history with Churchill’s life – to be sure, from 1940 to 1945 they were impossible to separate – illuminates and magnifies both stories and ends up as perhaps the best testament to the topic imaginable: since he was so intimately involved in every aspect of the war we see perspectives huge and little – not to mention all their exhilarating and terrifying consequences. To match this intimacy Churchill’s obvious wartime strengths – boldness, fortitude, even stubbornness – keep full emphasis by the authors while their astounding scholarship matches these traits to (usually) admirable outcomes. Having access to just about anything Churchill ever wrote – not to mention “over 50 exclusive interviews with his friends, family and colleagues in the early ’80s” – Mssrs Manchester and Reid bring plenty of fresh material to the fore, not all of it complimentary (e.g., Churchill’s family relations, Stalin’s notorious scheming, FDR’s measuring battle aims to political advantage). The crispness of these fresh insights only stands out more starkly versus such a familiar backdrop. And even with obvious knowledge of the outcome, I found myself so immersed in the narrative that I truly wondered how in the dark early days of the battle (e.g., fall of France, the Blitz) Churchill would rally his holdout nation versus the seemingly invincible might of the Nazis.But rally he certainly does – and for a man in his mid-sixties at the war’s outbreak, Mr. Churchill’s uncanny energy and foresight are almost continually in evidence; obvious examples contain his (largely ignored) warnings about Stalin’s ambitions in Eastern Europe (climaxed in his “Iron Curtain” speech, in Westminster, Missouri of all places), but lesser known ones (e.g., wholeheartedly pushing an *offensive* tactic in the eastern Mediterranean while Dunkirk was still in the headlines) arise at tantalizing intervals. Even the authors seem to betray some surprise at what they found, though in the context of the overall narrative it all makes excellent e only demerit I could search other commenters have probably covered: the advantages listed above obscure the easy fact that this is more battle history than biography; no doubt a few wanting more dirt on Mr. Churchill (not to mention his eccentric clan) and info on his postwar years will be disappointed. But no matter: this is the final word on a amazing leader, with the scope and detail to match his outsized accomplishments. Anyone with even a passing interest in the war, Churchill, British/European history, or even individual wars and military strategies I expect will come away uniquely satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    As did a lot of others, I waited for this book for a lot of years and had given up on its ever being written before a mate alerted me to its e Latest Lion, Volume III is a amazing bit of history writing. It has re-elevated Churchill, for me, as probably the greatest person of the 20th Century. He had fallen into a bit of “disrepute” with me because of a couple of other books (The Unnecessary War, Patrick Buchanan; and Freedom Betrayed, Herbert Hoover) that I read about 10 years ago. This book has filled in some gaps and place some greater context around the happenings from 1938 to 1945. The people who come out behind for me are FDR (way behind) and Eisenhower who seem to have authored some not good decisions in the execution of foreign policy and the osevelt appears to have been a complete dunderhead with regard to his understanding of foreign policy needs relative to Russia and Eastern Europe after the war. I believe now that Roosevelt (and to a more limited extent, Eisenhower) were the single-greatest contributors to the suffering of the peoples of Eastern Europe and Germany after the battle and during the Cold War, until the advent of Ronald Reagan’s national defense policies in the 1980s which brought the Soviet Union to a crushing halt. Churchill appears to have been the greatest thinker and the person who most clearly recognized Russia and Communism for the threat to globe that they subsequently proved to be. Churchill was truly prescient with regard to Russia and Communism. Roosevelt was hindered by a failing mind, by a stunning lack of vision, and by too a lot of socialists, communists, and “fellow travelers” in his administration, foremost perhaps being his wife, Eleanor doubt in my mind, a amazing book. From a historical sense, the best of the trilogy and one of the best summaries recounting happenings and policy-making that led to Allied win (in spite of faulty strategic and foreign policy thinking in the US) in WWII. Churchill had tendencies that seemed perhaps to represent an undisciplined mind but which I believe represented a genuine "tabula rasa" when it came to examining the a lot of possibilities for most quickly ending the disaster of WWII.Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    William Manchester's monumental three volume biography of Winston Churchill, The Latest Lion, began with the 1984 publication of the first volume, Visions of Glory, 1874–1932 and continued with second in 1989, Alone, 1932–1940. I devoured these books when they came out, and eagerly awaited the concluding volume which would cover Churchill's Globe Battle II years and subsequent career and life. This was to be a wait of more than two decades. By 1988, William Manchester had concluded his research for the show volume, subtitled Defender of the Realm, 1940–1965 and began to write a draft of the work. Failing health caused him to set the project aside after about a hundred pages covering happenings up to the begin of the War of Britain. In 2003, Manchester, no longer able to write, invited Paul Reid to audition to complete the work by writing a chapter on the London Blitz. The effect being satisfactory to Manchester, his agent, and the publisher, Reid began work in earnest on the final volume, with the intent that Manchester would edit the manuscript as it was produced. Alas, Manchester died in 2004, and Reid was forced to interpret Manchester's research notes, intended for his own use and not to tutorial another author, without the assistance of the person who compiled them. This needed much extra research and collecting original source documents which Manchester had examined. The effect of this is that this book took almost another decade of work by Reid before its publication. It has been a protracted wait, especially for those who admired the first two volumes, but ultimately worth it. This is a thoroughly satisfying conclusion to what will likely remain the definitive biography of Churchill for the foreseeable future.When Winston Churchill became prime minister in the dark days of May 1940, he was already sixty-five years old: retirement age for most of his generation, and faced a Nazi Germany which was consolidating its keep on Western Europe with only Britain to oppose its hegemony. Had Churchill retired from public life in 1940, he would still be remembered as one of the most consequential British public figures of the twentieth century; what he did in the years to come elevated him to the stature of one of the preeminent statesmen of modern times. These happenings are chronicled in this book, dominated by Globe Battle II, which occupies three quarters of the text. In fact, although the focus is on Churchill, the book serves also as a reasonably comprehensive history of the battle in the theatres in which British forces were engaged, and of the complex relations among the is often forgotten at this remove that at the time Churchill came to power he was viewed by many, including those of his own party and military commanders, as a risky and erratic figure given to enthusiasm for harebrained schemes and with a propensity for disaster (for example, his resignation in disgrace after the Gallipoli catastrophe in Globe Battle I). Although admired for his steadfastness and ability to rally the nation to the daunting tasks before it, Churchill's erratic nature continued to exasperate his subordinates, as is extensively documented here from their own contemporary ill's complex relationships with the other leaders of the Grand Alliance: Roosevelt and Stalin, are explored in depth. Although Churchill had amazing admiration for Roosevelt and desperately required the assistance the U.S. could provide to prosecute the war, Roosevelt comes across as a lightweight, ill-informed and not particularly engaged in military affairs and blind to the geopolitical consequences of the Red Army's occupying eastern and central Europe at war's end. (This was not just Churchill's view, but widely shared among senior British political and military circles.) While despising Bolshevism, Churchill developed a grudging respect for Stalin, considering his grasp of tactic to be perfect and, while infuriating to with, reliable in keeping his commitments to the other the battle drew to a close, Churchill was one of the first to warn of the amazing tragedy about to befall those countries behind what he dubbed the “iron curtain” and the peril Soviet power posed to the West. By July 1950, the Soviets fielded 175 divisions, of which 25 were armoured, versus a Western force of 12 divisions (2 armoured). Given the correlation of forces, only Soviet postwar exhaustion and unwillingness to roll the dice given the threat of U.S. nuclear retaliation kept the Red Troops from marching west to the ter the war, in opposition once again as the disastrous Attlee Labour government set Britain on an irreversible trajectory of decline, he thundered versus the dying of the light and retreat from Empire not, as in the 1930s, a back-bencher, but rather leader of the opposition. In 1951 he led the Tories to win and became prime minister once again, for the first time with the mandate of winning a general election as party leader. He remained prime minister until 1955 when he resigned in favour of Anthony Eden. His second tenure as P.M. was frustrating, with small he could to do to reverse Britain's economic decline and shrinkage on the globe stage. In 1953 he suffered a serious stroke, which was covered up from all but his inner circle. While he largely recovered, approaching his eightieth birthday, he acknowledged the inevitable and gave up the leadership and prime minister ill remained a member of Parliament for Woodford until 1964. In January 1965 he suffered another severe stroke and died at age 90 on the 24th of that 's been a long time coming, but this book is a grand conclusion of the work Manchester envisioned. It is a sprawling acc of a amazing sprawling life engaged with amazing historical happenings over most of a century: from the latest cavalry charge of the British Troops to the hydrogen bomb. Churchill was an extraordinarily complicated and in a lot of ways conflicted person, and this grand canvas provides the scope to discover his hero and its origins in depth. Manchester and Reid have made a masterpiece. It is daunting to contemplate a three volume work totalling three thousand pages, but if you are interested in the subject, it is a uniquely rewarding read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    I wanted to use this to remove some threads on a sweater. It was very cheaply created and had a lip on the curved edge so could not obtain under the thread....let alone not sure how you would remove sutures...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Exactly what I wanted for suture removal in animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    I have been nervously awaiting this book for years. My first encounter with Manchester came when volume one first came out. I was a child, and I went to visit my grandmother (who was in London during the Blitz); she held the book up to present me what she was reading. "The man." she said. "The great, amazing man."Years later, I read the first two volumes almost in one sitting - couldn't place them down - and have reread huge parts of them over the years (every time I looked some piece up I'd search myself sitting down for an hour or two because I couldn't stop). I remember when Finest Hour reported that the trilogy would never be finished: it was like a punch in the stomach.I had my doubts about the ability of another author to write worthily of Manchester, and I was afraid this volume wouldn't measure up. No need to worry: this is every bit as much a page-turner as the latest two volumes. It's not QUITE Manchester - I thought I could feel a bit of a difference in style, somehow - and yet it IS extremely good, much better than I had the first two volumes, we start with a preamble ("The Lion Hunted") in which we are (re-)acquainted with the book's subject. There is a certain amount of repetition of material from the two earlier preambles, but much amazing fresh material as well. I've read thousands of pages on Churchill, but even I found some amazing fresh anecdotes and quotations here. After that we're hurled right into the middle of the most dramatic days of Globe Battle Two. The unexpected, catastrophic defeats; the incompetence and perfidy of the people in charge of France - it doesn't take much from a writer to create this an exciting story, and yet I don't think it has ever been told better than this. Really, just what I had hoped for from Manchester himself. If the later parts of the book don't quite hold the same level of excitement, neither do the happenings they only complaint is the ending: really, the book just stops. Read the end of volume II: I would have expected Manchester himself to end with a climactic summary, perhaps returning to his major insight from the start: the central significance of Churchill in history is that he was a product of the late nineteenth century who was able to bring the virtues of the era of his formative years to life again at a time when they were needed, and when the British people were not yet too far from them. Actually, I do have one other complaint, and it's with the publisher: the dust jacket doesn't match the first edition dust jackets of the first two volumes. Doesn't look as amazing on the shelf as I would have l in all, this is a worthy final volume. Manchester himself would be proud, and there can be no doubt that this trilogy would be Churchill's favourite biography. Highly recommended, to fans of the first two volumes and newcomers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    I am not a quick reader but having just finished the final volume, I looked back and found I'd read all three in 16 months. I am usually reading four books at a time, so I found that surprisingly quick. I couldn't stop reading them. I love history and the info of history. These books are rich in details. They show to the reader a magnificent and deeply flawed human being. There is no pretense. And whether you like him or agree with him or not, there is no arguing with his result on the globe we live in. I believe history should be written from history...letters, diaries and other contemporary sources. Mr. Manchester,it was obvious , loved history too. I wept at the end of Volume 2. Then I was disappointed in volume 3, assuming Mr. Reid, who had picked up the mantle, was not a lover of history. I found the battle years dry. I believe now that battle just reads differently than life because as we came past V-E and V-J day, I was jumping and clapping and weeping some ar Mr. Churchill! I found myself wanting to hug him and then smack him and then kiss him and then hit him with a stick.I might just begin Volume one again right now. I miss him already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Dental is the key word here. Hints are blunted and steel is thicker than surgical suture scissors. The hint will not fit under little skin sutures. Suitable for larger sutures. To remove my little "plastic surgery" sutures before they were grown over I ended up using cutucle nippers on one side of the knot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Amazing small pair of scissors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    William Manchester's monumental three volume biography of Winston Churchill, The Latest Lion, began with the 1984 publication of the first volume, Visions of Glory, 1874–1932 and continued with second in 1989, Alone, 1932–1940. I devoured these books when they came out, and eagerly awaited the concluding volume which would cover Churchill's Globe Battle II years and subsequent career and life. This was to be a wait of more than two decades. By 1988, William Manchester had concluded his research for the show volume, subtitled Defender of the Realm, 1940–1965 and began to write a draft of the work. Failing health caused him to set the project aside after about a hundred pages covering happenings up to the begin of the War of Britain. In 2003, Manchester, no longer able to write, invited Paul Reid to audition to complete the work by writing a chapter on the London Blitz. The effect being satisfactory to Manchester, his agent, and the publisher, Reid began work in earnest on the final volume, with the intent that Manchester would edit the manuscript as it was produced. Alas, Manchester died in 2004, and Reid was forced to interpret Manchester's research notes, intended for his own use and not to tutorial another author, without the assistance of the person who compiled them. This needed much extra research and collecting original source documents which Manchester had examined. The effect of this is that this book took almost another decade of work by Reid before its publication. It has been a protracted wait, especially for those who admired the first two volumes, but ultimately worth it. This is a thoroughly satisfying conclusion to what will likely remain the definitive biography of Churchill for the foreseeable future.When Winston Churchill became prime minister in the dark days of May 1940, he was already sixty-five years old: retirement age for most of his generation, and faced a Nazi Germany which was consolidating its keep on Western Europe with only Britain to oppose its hegemony. Had Churchill retired from public life in 1940, he would still be remembered as one of the most consequential British public figures of the twentieth century; what he did in the years to come elevated him to the stature of one of the preeminent statesmen of modern times. These happenings are chronicled in this book, dominated by Globe Battle II, which occupies three quarters of the text. In fact, although the focus is on Churchill, the book serves also as a reasonably comprehensive history of the battle in the theatres in which British forces were engaged, and of the complex relations among the is often forgotten at this remove that at the time Churchill came to power he was viewed by many, including those of his own party and military commanders, as a risky and erratic figure given to enthusiasm for harebrained schemes and with a propensity for disaster (for example, his resignation in disgrace after the Gallipoli catastrophe in Globe Battle I). Although admired for his steadfastness and ability to rally the nation to the daunting tasks before it, Churchill's erratic nature continued to exasperate his subordinates, as is extensively documented here from their own contemporary ill's complex relationships with the other leaders of the Grand Alliance: Roosevelt and Stalin, are explored in depth. Although Churchill had amazing admiration for Roosevelt and desperately required the assistance the U.S. could provide to prosecute the war, Roosevelt comes across as a lightweight, ill-informed and not particularly engaged in military affairs and blind to the geopolitical consequences of the Red Army's occupying eastern and central Europe at war's end. (This was not just Churchill's view, but widely shared among senior British political and military circles.) While despising Bolshevism, Churchill developed a grudging respect for Stalin, considering his grasp of tactic to be perfect and, while infuriating to with, reliable in keeping his commitments to the other the battle drew to a close, Churchill was one of the first to warn of the amazing tragedy about to befall those countries behind what he dubbed the “iron curtain” and the peril Soviet power posed to the West. By July 1950, the Soviets fielded 175 divisions, of which 25 were armoured, versus a Western force of 12 divisions (2 armoured). Given the correlation of forces, only Soviet postwar exhaustion and unwillingness to roll the dice given the threat of U.S. nuclear retaliation kept the Red Troops from marching west to the ter the war, in opposition once again as the disastrous Attlee Labour government set Britain on an irreversible trajectory of decline, he thundered versus the dying of the light and retreat from Empire not, as in the 1930s, a back-bencher, but rather leader of the opposition. In 1951 he led the Tories to win and became prime minister once again, for the first time with the mandate of winning a general election as party leader. He remained prime minister until 1955 when he resigned in favour of Anthony Eden. His second tenure as P.M. was frustrating, with small he could to do to reverse Britain's economic decline and shrinkage on the globe stage. In 1953 he suffered a serious stroke, which was covered up from all but his inner circle. While he largely recovered, approaching his eightieth birthday, he acknowledged the inevitable and gave up the leadership and prime minister ill remained a member of Parliament for Woodford until 1964. In January 1965 he suffered another severe stroke and died at age 90 on the 24th of that 's been a long time coming, but this book is a grand conclusion of the work Manchester envisioned. It is a sprawling acc of a amazing sprawling life engaged with amazing historical happenings over most of a century: from the latest cavalry charge of the British Troops to the hydrogen bomb. Churchill was an extraordinarily complicated and in a lot of ways conflicted person, and this grand canvas provides the scope to discover his hero and its origins in depth. Manchester and Reid have made a masterpiece. It is daunting to contemplate a three volume work totalling three thousand pages, but if you are interested in the subject, it is a uniquely rewarding read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Does not function properly at all- does not begin nor cut. Scissors need to chop scissor are not scissors if they don't begin and chop - what's the purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    I first began this journey through the life of Churchill as seen through the imagination of William Manchester in 1982, when the first volume of this series came out. I didn't know most of the people that I know now, my house had not been built, it was a Christmas show from a relative who is no longer alive. These are the sorts of thoughts that fill ones head when finishing the latest volume in this series, 1200 pages that cover the latest 25 years of Churchill's life.I will say that I am still think that Roy Jenkins' biography is still the best, most concise and includes the most insight (Jenkins was not only in Parliament, but in Parliament when Churchill was also a member). He understands the central institution that defined Churchill. My second favorite is Churchill's own "My Early Life," a book I read in middle school which affected my globe view forever and e three books that are part of this series definitely have merit. I wholeheartedly believe that this third book, 1200 pages and all is worth a read. It was unfortunately not completed by its original author, the amazing William Manchester, author of so a lot of perfect histories in the past. I think some of the immediate and intimate info that filled Manchester's earlier works is lacking in this one, and one should be prepared to refight all of Globe Battle II in making the method for VE Day. Ultimately these faults are not decisive in affecting the overall quality of the at said, this book is a marvelous achievement. Churchill is on display, warts and all, his gifts, his weaknesses and his stirring eloquence. There is Churchill the masterful strategic thinker at odds with Churchill the less capable probably will be more than a small daunting to undertake the journey I did 34 years ago, but I think at the end of it all the trip is worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    As did a lot of others, I waited for this book for a lot of years and had given up on its ever being written before a mate alerted me to its e Latest Lion, Volume III is a amazing bit of history writing. It has re-elevated Churchill, for me, as probably the greatest person of the 20th Century. He had fallen into a bit of “disrepute” with me because of a couple of other books (The Unnecessary War, Patrick Buchanan; and Freedom Betrayed, Herbert Hoover) that I read about 10 years ago. This book has filled in some gaps and place some greater context around the happenings from 1938 to 1945. The people who come out behind for me are FDR (way behind) and Eisenhower who seem to have authored some not good decisions in the execution of foreign policy and the osevelt appears to have been a complete dunderhead with regard to his understanding of foreign policy needs relative to Russia and Eastern Europe after the war. I believe now that Roosevelt (and to a more limited extent, Eisenhower) were the single-greatest contributors to the suffering of the peoples of Eastern Europe and Germany after the battle and during the Cold War, until the advent of Ronald Reagan’s national defense policies in the 1980s which brought the Soviet Union to a crushing halt. Churchill appears to have been the greatest thinker and the person who most clearly recognized Russia and Communism for the threat to globe that they subsequently proved to be. Churchill was truly prescient with regard to Russia and Communism. Roosevelt was hindered by a failing mind, by a stunning lack of vision, and by too a lot of socialists, communists, and “fellow travelers” in his administration, foremost perhaps being his wife, Eleanor doubt in my mind, a amazing book. From a historical sense, the best of the trilogy and one of the best summaries recounting happenings and policy-making that led to Allied win (in spite of faulty strategic and foreign policy thinking in the US) in WWII. Churchill had tendencies that seemed perhaps to represent an undisciplined mind but which I believe represented a genuine "tabula rasa" when it came to examining the a lot of possibilities for most quickly ending the disaster of WWII.Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    This is an perfect finale to the three book series. I have read an poor lot about Winston Churchill by now. He was by no means a excellent person and this book does not represent him as such. But when it is all said and done,,,, Charles DeGaulle, (who had a complicated relationship with alot of the leaders of the Allies), had the band play Fr'ere Victoire when Churchill came to Paris.... And said it was "Only Justice" that it was pa Victory....Father of the Win beautiful much summed it up. He stood up to Hitler when England was all alone and a lot of in England were trying to figure out how they might arrange a truce. The darkest days of the initial German Invasion... he was in France as the Prime Minister.... He undertook grueling airplane trips to meet with Roosevelt in North Africa and Canada.... he went to Moscow via Africa.... he was not a young man at the time... I was impressed by a lot of things about Churchill, his leadership. His willingness to place his own bacon in the fire without hesitation.... he was a amazing man and I don't think he is appreciated for how amazing he was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    By noted author and historian, William Manchester, and finished, upon his death, by Paul Reid, this is the third book in the Churchill trilogy and covers the period beginning with Globe Battle II and finishes with Churchill’s death in 1965. It’s an exhaustive work, filling 1200 pages in the paperback version, with more detail about the battle than you can possibly digest, much less it is a book about the man, however, Churchill is described and analyzed in the context of each event. But how much can anyone say about one man, even one as complex and bigger than life as Winston Churchill? As a result, the hero analysis, as such, does tend to become redundant over so a lot of events. We obtain it: He was a cantankerous man with boundless energy who loved his country, his drink, and his cigars, and who, at times, displayed real love and wit and who always spoke with a flourish that few politicians before or since could duplicate. He was, in a few words, a truly brilliant eccentric brimming with emotion of every stripe who had wonderful vision and unwavering garding the war, a mate who had fought in the jungles of Vietnam in the mid-60s once told me that no author or director had ever captured the one defining attribute of every battlefield – chaos. The same is apparently real in the map rooms, offices, and bunkers where battle is strategized and planned. The reader gets the sense that we didn’t so much war the battle as we stumbled through it. I mean no disrespect in that observation. Such is the nature of the beast. But it is quite amazing, distressing, perhaps, how the battle could have come out so differently at a thousand points along the way.And that, I suppose, is the one undeniable reason to avoid battle at all costs. You never really know how it’s going to turn out. Hitler had to be stopped. Churchill, Roosevelt, and Stalin, the latter once having once been Hitler’s ally, all understood that. Violence was unavoidable. The exception, however, never fully negates the rule.And perhaps it was unavoidable, given the authors’ desire to draw sharp edges around the focus of their efforts (i.e. Churchill) that Roosevelt is defined in far less favorable shades than he is in Doris Kearns Goodwin’s outstanding book, “No Ordinary Time,” a biography of the Roosevelts. In the end, however, I didn’t feel they quite created their case regarding Roosevelt, nor, perhaps, did they wish to, given that this was a book about Churchill, so I’m sticking with DKG’s more flattering the end, Churchill, largely through soaring rhetoric, brave example, and inexhaustible energy, kept his “small island”, as he refered to it, in the war. It was Russia, however, which the largest price, having lost up to 30 million soldiers and civilians in the end, and the US industrial machine that actually created winning possible. American factories, and the ingenious lend-lease program, outfitted the US, British, and Russian armies almost single-handedly, all while fighting wars of survival in both Europe and the e book is well written, but unless you are a history buff, you are bound to search it a bit long in length and on detail. In the end I was glad I read it but whenever I read a book about battle I am left with the same question: Why are we still fighting them? They are savage affairs that bring out the worst in everyone. People on all sides end up doing things they would never condone in peacetime (the amazing guys included). There are no true winners and none of the characters emerges truly heroic or morally pristine. (Such honesty is a to the authors, to be sure.)Nonetheless, Churchill came along at a time when his country and the globe truly required him. He is an unparalleled historic figure who left nothing on the field of play. He was truly an extraordinary figure I am not sure could ever be e globe would be a very various put if he hadn’t been a part of it all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    The late Mr. Manchester and his corroborator Mr. Reid have written an exquisitely orthogonal volume: ‘The Latest Lion’ encompasses an American perspective on the most British of leaders, a riveting read stretching well past 1000 pages, and not least a treasure trove of new scholarship to contribute on perhaps the most necessary 20th century statesman, not to mention Globe Battle II (which comprises nearly all of the work). Simply put, if you think you know everything about the battle – much less Mr. Churchill – I implore you to dive in; this is a doorstop, to be sure, but also probably the best non-fiction one I’ve ever e interweaving of battle history with Churchill’s life – to be sure, from 1940 to 1945 they were impossible to separate – illuminates and magnifies both stories and ends up as perhaps the best testament to the topic imaginable: since he was so intimately involved in every aspect of the war we see perspectives huge and little – not to mention all their exhilarating and terrifying consequences. To match this intimacy Churchill’s obvious wartime strengths – boldness, fortitude, even stubbornness – keep full emphasis by the authors while their astounding scholarship matches these traits to (usually) admirable outcomes. Having access to just about anything Churchill ever wrote – not to mention “over 50 exclusive interviews with his friends, family and colleagues in the early ’80s” – Mssrs Manchester and Reid bring plenty of fresh material to the fore, not all of it complimentary (e.g., Churchill’s family relations, Stalin’s notorious scheming, FDR’s measuring battle aims to political advantage). The crispness of these fresh insights only stands out more starkly versus such a familiar backdrop. And even with obvious knowledge of the outcome, I found myself so immersed in the narrative that I truly wondered how in the dark early days of the battle (e.g., fall of France, the Blitz) Churchill would rally his holdout nation versus the seemingly invincible might of the Nazis.But rally he certainly does – and for a man in his mid-sixties at the war’s outbreak, Mr. Churchill’s uncanny energy and foresight are almost continually in evidence; obvious examples contain his (largely ignored) warnings about Stalin’s ambitions in Eastern Europe (climaxed in his “Iron Curtain” speech, in Westminster, Missouri of all places), but lesser known ones (e.g., wholeheartedly pushing an *offensive* tactic in the eastern Mediterranean while Dunkirk was still in the headlines) arise at tantalizing intervals. Even the authors seem to betray some surprise at what they found, though in the context of the overall narrative it all makes excellent e only demerit I could search other commenters have probably covered: the advantages listed above obscure the easy fact that this is more battle history than biography; no doubt a few wanting more dirt on Mr. Churchill (not to mention his eccentric clan) and info on his postwar years will be disappointed. But no matter: this is the final word on a amazing leader, with the scope and detail to match his outsized accomplishments. Anyone with even a passing interest in the war, Churchill, British/European history, or even individual wars and military strategies I expect will come away uniquely satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    It's a monumental undertaking covering The Battle and the advent of the Cold Battle from Churchill's and the British perspective. A lot of important, often startling revelations that we never hear about in histories written from the American perspective--like the prickly relationship of Churchill and Roosevelt; their attitudes about Stalin, de Gaulle and Chiang Kai-shek; and their disagreements over tactic and resources. Some of us know Roosevelt for what he was--one thing that emerges in this history is what scoundrels the Allied leaders were...but Churchill was a scoundrel for Amazing Britain, de Gaulle was a scoundrel for France. Roosevelt was a scoundrel for Roosevelt. Stalin was a monster, recognized as such by Churchill who nonetheless trusted and supported him to victory The War; FDR never acknowledged the creature side of Stalin, whom he admired to the day he dropped dead in Hot Springs.We Americans who read any history at all generally believe that FDR did the Lend-Lease program out of the goodness of his heart and to hold Britain alive until the US could enter the war. It wasn't quite like that, and I feel ashamed over the price--prices--Roosevelt exacted from England for whatever we sent them in those terrible, dark days. In our histories we also don't obtain a true sense of the horrors Germany rained upon Britain, or the suffering and courage of the Brits during the bombing.Tidbits about the personal lives of the Churchill family and the foibles of the amazing man himself--sometimes reading like a gossip column--add perspective and richly colourful embroidery to this large work. Seeing Churchill as a human in no method diminishes this giant among men.Anybody with a serious interest in WWII history or military studies ought to read this. It was so interesting that now I'm going to have to obtain the first two books of the trilogy. My mental photo of Churchill is limited to the rotund figure with the cigar and the bowler hat. I wish to meet Churchill the dashing young fighter and polo st necessary is the lesson we ought to be taking today about the consequences of appeasement, of limited objectives and of expediencies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    I was a small concerned because Paul Reid who I knew nothing about had to pick up the series after the death of William Manchester but I see small difference in the research or writing style! If anything it might be slightly better! I am currently on page 389 of about 1000 pages and enjoying it as much if not more than the previous two volumes! Churchill is one of the greatest leaders, not only in the 20th Century but also in Western Civilization! While not perfect, Churchill saved Amazing Britain and Western Civilization from the evil of the Nazi Regime just as Ronald Reagan finished off the evil Soviet Empire in the 1980s! Amazing book and amazing series! A must read! Fulfillment and delivery was perfect by Amazon as always!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Scissors chop thread. We are thrilled. Would again next time I have stitches to remove by myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    To huge for what I wanted. But looked good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Dull

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    I have been nervously awaiting this book for years. My first encounter with Manchester came when volume one first came out. I was a child, and I went to visit my grandmother (who was in London during the Blitz); she held the book up to present me what she was reading. "The man." she said. "The great, amazing man."Years later, I read the first two volumes almost in one sitting - couldn't place them down - and have reread huge parts of them over the years (every time I looked some piece up I'd search myself sitting down for an hour or two because I couldn't stop). I remember when Finest Hour reported that the trilogy would never be finished: it was like a punch in the stomach.I had my doubts about the ability of another author to write worthily of Manchester, and I was afraid this volume wouldn't measure up. No need to worry: this is every bit as much a page-turner as the latest two volumes. It's not QUITE Manchester - I thought I could feel a bit of a difference in style, somehow - and yet it IS extremely good, much better than I had the first two volumes, we start with a preamble ("The Lion Hunted") in which we are (re-)acquainted with the book's subject. There is a certain amount of repetition of material from the two earlier preambles, but much amazing fresh material as well. I've read thousands of pages on Churchill, but even I found some amazing fresh anecdotes and quotations here. After that we're hurled right into the middle of the most dramatic days of Globe Battle Two. The unexpected, catastrophic defeats; the incompetence and perfidy of the people in charge of France - it doesn't take much from a writer to create this an exciting story, and yet I don't think it has ever been told better than this. Really, just what I had hoped for from Manchester himself. If the later parts of the book don't quite hold the same level of excitement, neither do the happenings they only complaint is the ending: really, the book just stops. Read the end of volume II: I would have expected Manchester himself to end with a climactic summary, perhaps returning to his major insight from the start: the central significance of Churchill in history is that he was a product of the late nineteenth century who was able to bring the virtues of the era of his formative years to life again at a time when they were needed, and when the British people were not yet too far from them. Actually, I do have one other complaint, and it's with the publisher: the dust jacket doesn't match the first edition dust jackets of the first two volumes. Doesn't look as amazing on the shelf as I would have l in all, this is a worthy final volume. Manchester himself would be proud, and there can be no doubt that this trilogy would be Churchill's favourite biography. Highly recommended, to fans of the first two volumes and newcomers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    I haven't read the prior volumes in the Churchill biography, as I was primarily interested in reading about the difficulties faced by Winston as he took over for Neville Chamberlain, and helped pull Amazing Britain through some of her darkest hours. We all know how the story ends, but it's still captivating reading and an wonderful story. This book does a tremendous job of bringing the reader back to 1940-41, when Britons realistically feared a German invasion across the Channel, and the country relied upon Lend-Lease assistance from FDR and the U.S. to war off the Axis powers virtually single-handedly, before the U.S. entered the ill's bravado, the courage and defiance of his speeches as he mocked Hitler and ridiculed the war-like "Huns," still resonates 70 years later. The book info the a lot of meetings among Allied leaders, Churchill's constant desire to set up meetings with Roosevelt, Stalin and later Truman, etc. Globe Battle II really saw the end of the British imperial empire, and by the end of the battle Manchester and Reid do a amazing job portraying the sense of frustration as Churchill saw FDR begin to largely ignore him, turn a blind eye to Russian expansion and ruthlessness in Poland and throughout Eastern Europe, and treat Amazing Britain as a second rate power. The complicated relationship with De Gaulle is also explored in amazing detail (FDR hated De Gaulle and refused to acknowledge the legitimacy of his exiled government, while Churchill was more tolerant as he recognized that a powerful France was important to join with England in curbing Soviet expansion in Post-War Europe).Perhaps the greatest info in the book involved Churchill's a lot of bizarre habits and customs, which are noted with glee. He drank Pol Roget champagne and excessive amounts of whiskey everyday (Churchill thought Americans were crazy for not drinking their whiskey with dinner, and couldn't understand Americans' obsession with always adding ice to their scotch). He loved walking outside in begin defiance of the nighttime bombers during the Blitz, and would frequently walk around his house (or the White House when visiting FDR) with no clothes on after his bath. He mocked Montgomery when Monty bragged about his fitness due to abstention from alcohol, and had complicated relationships with several of his ill had some projects that he always pestered Allied leaders about, including his pet projects in North Africa, his desire to begin a second front in the South of France even before FDR and Eisenhower thought the Allies were ready, etc. He was very concerned about the U.S. concentrating too heavily on defeating Japan before Germany was crushed, and strongly advocated a "Germany first" policy of win in l in all, I thought The Latest Lion was a fascinating glimpse at one of the leading figures of the 20th Century. I have new-found respect for Churchill the man, and appreciation for the a lot of hurdles he faced. Five stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    I am not a quick reader but having just finished the final volume, I looked back and found I'd read all three in 16 months. I am usually reading four books at a time, so I found that surprisingly quick. I couldn't stop reading them. I love history and the info of history. These books are rich in details. They show to the reader a magnificent and deeply flawed human being. There is no pretense. And whether you like him or agree with him or not, there is no arguing with his result on the globe we live in. I believe history should be written from history...letters, diaries and other contemporary sources. Mr. Manchester,it was obvious , loved history too. I wept at the end of Volume 2. Then I was disappointed in volume 3, assuming Mr. Reid, who had picked up the mantle, was not a lover of history. I found the battle years dry. I believe now that battle just reads differently than life because as we came past V-E and V-J day, I was jumping and clapping and weeping some ar Mr. Churchill! I found myself wanting to hug him and then smack him and then kiss him and then hit him with a stick.I might just begin Volume one again right now. I miss him already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    This is an perfect finale to the three book series. I have read an poor lot about Winston Churchill by now. He was by no means a excellent person and this book does not represent him as such. But when it is all said and done,,,, Charles DeGaulle, (who had a complicated relationship with alot of the leaders of the Allies), had the band play Fr'ere Victoire when Churchill came to Paris.... And said it was "Only Justice" that it was pa Victory....Father of the Win beautiful much summed it up. He stood up to Hitler when England was all alone and a lot of in England were trying to figure out how they might arrange a truce. The darkest days of the initial German Invasion... he was in France as the Prime Minister.... He undertook grueling airplane trips to meet with Roosevelt in North Africa and Canada.... he went to Moscow via Africa.... he was not a young man at the time... I was impressed by a lot of things about Churchill, his leadership. His willingness to place his own bacon in the fire without hesitation.... he was a amazing man and I don't think he is appreciated for how amazing he was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-1-30 21:15

    I haven't read the prior volumes in the Churchill biography, as I was primarily interested in reading about the difficulties faced by Winston as he took over for Neville Chamberlain, and helped pull Amazing Britain through some of her darkest hours. We all know how the story ends, but it's still captivating reading and an wonderful story. This book does a tremendous job of bringing the reader back to 1940-41, when Britons realistically feared a German invasion across the Channel, and the country relied upon Lend-Lease assistance from FDR and the U.S. to war off the Axis powers virtually single-handedly, before the U.S. entered the ill's bravado, the courage and defiance of his speeches as he mocked Hitler and ridiculed the war-like "Huns," still resonates 70 years later. The book info the a lot of meetings among Allied leaders, Churchill's constant desire to set up meetings with Roosevelt, Stalin and later Truman, etc. Globe Battle II really saw the end of the British imperial empire, and by the end of the battle Manchester and Reid do a amazing job portraying the sense of frustration as Churchill saw FDR begin to largely ignore him, turn a blind eye to Russian expansion and ruthlessness in Poland and throughout Eastern Europe, and treat Amazing Britain as a second rate power. The complicated relationship with De Gaulle is also explored in amazing detail (FDR hated De Gaulle and refused to acknowledge the legitimacy of his exiled government, while Churchill was more tolerant as he recognized that a powerful France was important to join with England in curbing Soviet expansion in Post-War Europe).Perhaps the greatest info in the book involved Churchill's a lot of bizarre habits and customs, which are noted with glee. He drank Pol Roget champagne and excessive amounts of whiskey everyday (Churchill thought Americans were crazy for not drinking their whiskey with dinner, and couldn't understand Americans' obsession with always adding ice to their scotch). He loved walking outside in begin defiance of the nighttime bombers during the Blitz, and would frequently walk around his house (or the White House when visiting FDR) with no clothes on after his bath. He mocked Montgomery when Monty bragged about his fitness due to abstention from alcohol, and had complicated relationships with several of his ill had some projects that he always pestered Allied leaders about, including his pet projects in North Africa, his desire to begin a second front in the South of France even before FDR and Eisenhower thought the Allies were ready, etc. He was very concerned about the U.S. concentrating too heavily on defeating Japan before Germany was crushed, and strongly advocated a "Germany first" policy of win in l in all, I thought The Latest Lion was a fascinating glimpse at one of the leading figures of the 20th Century. I have new-found respect for Churchill the man, and appreciation for the a lot of hurdles he faced. Five stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    I bought these to remove stitches on my dog. They worked great. Not massive duty by any means, but amazing for occasional use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SurgicalOnline Spencer Suture Scissors 3.50" Dental Scissors Stitch Stainless Steel Hook Dental Veterinary Instruments []  2020-1-31 15:7

    Works great...good and sturdy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    I first began this journey through the life of Churchill as seen through the imagination of William Manchester in 1982, when the first volume of this series came out. I didn't know most of the people that I know now, my house had not been built, it was a Christmas show from a relative who is no longer alive. These are the sorts of thoughts that fill ones head when finishing the latest volume in this series, 1200 pages that cover the latest 25 years of Churchill's life.I will say that I am still think that Roy Jenkins' biography is still the best, most concise and includes the most insight (Jenkins was not only in Parliament, but in Parliament when Churchill was also a member). He understands the central institution that defined Churchill. My second favorite is Churchill's own "My Early Life," a book I read in middle school which affected my globe view forever and e three books that are part of this series definitely have merit. I wholeheartedly believe that this third book, 1200 pages and all is worth a read. It was unfortunately not completed by its original author, the amazing William Manchester, author of so a lot of perfect histories in the past. I think some of the immediate and intimate info that filled Manchester's earlier works is lacking in this one, and one should be prepared to refight all of Globe Battle II in making the method for VE Day. Ultimately these faults are not decisive in affecting the overall quality of the at said, this book is a marvelous achievement. Churchill is on display, warts and all, his gifts, his weaknesses and his stirring eloquence. There is Churchill the masterful strategic thinker at odds with Churchill the less capable probably will be more than a small daunting to undertake the journey I did 34 years ago, but I think at the end of it all the trip is worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Lion: Winston Spencer Churchill, Volume 3: Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965 []  2020-5-15 19:8

    I bought this book because I truly wanted to test and understand the intellect of one of the most gifted yet misunderstood minds in our worlds history ! The globe especially Britain , could use you now Mr. Churchill ... but what you tried to teach them they still haven’t learned !! Where oh where can we search another such as you ..??? Not to be, There was and will forever be only one Winston Churchill ... there was such patriotism such strength of will in just one man , it is awesome to witness and read how such a man could carry a whole nation on his shoulders . He carried the globe .. infused a nation to such heights, it’s people will never see such a man again .. he was everything they required and everything they feared !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Northern Forest Canoe Trail #9 - Flagstaff Lake Region: Maine: Rangeley Lake to Spencer Stream (Northern Forest Canoe Trail Maps) []  2020-1-17 23:55

    Maps ! Not GPS or cell phone apps is what you need in your hand on a canoe trip. These are amazing maps for back country travel. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Works of Edmund Spencer: The Faerie Queene, Prothalamion, Foure Hymnes, Amoretti and Epithalamion and More (12 Books With Active Table of Contents) []  2020-1-27 21:47

    Simply beautiful. The words flow like a river in the summer

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386