Read star trek enterprise season 1 trading card base set reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all star trek enterprise season 1 trading card base set reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    I’m sure by now you have seen the groups of people taking any bit of time and put they can to trash the show. They will say the present is too dark, too violent, too non-canon, too futuristic, and not Star Trek enough. I’m here to tell you that Trekkies, like much of other fandoms too resistance and afraid of change, likes to have selective and often times rose tinted ey wish Star Trek to stick to the tired old formula of episodic exploration where the ending of every episode resets everyone to zero like some typical police procedural such as NCIS or Law and Order. They balked at a present that dared to break from tradition and tell a long android game of serialized stories in the method that a lot of streaming shows are formatted nowadays because people’s viewing habits of changed since the days when a Star Trek present was consistently on the is present is not too dark nor too violent. What has happened here is a present that has finally not turned away from consequences. That going out into zone is dangerous, that life out in the unknown exploring can be dangerous. It no longer is coddling you to reality because darkness and death are parts of life but they are also things we can overcome and bring hope to war against. This present doesn’t shy away from pain, grief, and trauma, not should it. If Star Trek was always meant to be something for us to keep ourselves up to, then staying powerful through adversity is an necessary lesson Discovery e present is not too futuristic. People will harp on this in a lot of reviews. They do not wish to accept that time has changed, that the outdated sets can be redesigned to fit in a specific moment in time. They say the tech is too advanced yet if Discovery is a top of the line science vessel that’s suppose to be the cutting edge of science, why is it shocking if it’s designed differently. Starfleet can’t even hold its own uniforms straight in any of the older series anyways and we are suppose to believe that techs can’t be also constantly evolving and changing between ship to ship? I mean, how a lot of various classes of federation starships are we up to now?And as similar to that, you will hear of this present not being canon, of not following canon. People will harp on this greatly, perhaps more than anything else, they’ve held canon to be so sacred as untouchable thing, even though canon has consistently been retconned and changed and modified from present to present and Discovery only is the next one in line. The present doesn’t break canon, in fact, everything people will claim makes it non canon are things that one can easily explain away. Certain people simply don’t wish to because they don’t like to change their minds and wish something to nitpick. Mostly to feel superior and to validate themselves in their own Trek canon knowledge like it’s a Trek Discovery IS a Star Trek show, just because it takes storytelling differently from the old format and dares to break from tradition that it is being punished by a selective amnesiac fandom. A fandom that has forgotten its own history or better yet is trying to rewrite it. A fandom that has forgotten years spent yelling about TNG not being Trek, about DS9 not being Trek, about VOY not being Trek, and practically tossing ENT under the bus like some unwanted red headed step kid to never speak about again. Well, I didn’t forget those days. I didn’t forget the days when Star Trek could have amazing story and poor story, I’m not the one wearing rose tinted glasses like some and keep up older Trek shows as some paragon on greatness. Every series had its amazing heights and every series had its is present has amazing performances, a amazing long game, and a various method of looking through the universe that expands the globe we already known. Certain people wish Trek to always tred the same old roads, they blast Discovery for boldly going beyond the boxes certain sects of fandom have set. Fans don’t wish to change, they wish complicity. They will say this present is not Star Trek because it has no hope, yet the characters stand powerful to hope even through all the trauma and adversity. If nothing else, that is Star Trek at its core.I will not tell you if you will like it or not - as with all Trek shows, it has its amazing moments and not so amazing moments, but I would hope that any viewer will take the possibility the watch the present and decide for themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    Whats the matter CBS, you can't search room on your regular network that you have to make ALL ACCESS and then have the gall and audacity to CHARGE people to watch it?? We as consumers already pay too damn much for cable services that are ripping us off on a everyday basis. You don't have the GUTS to place your Star Trek program on regular TV and instead [email protected]#$%! off to your ALL ACCESS. I guess you don't really wish to entertain your viewers on your regular channel and so you push these programs that might do some amazing on your regular channel off into oblivion and then charge us to watch. I'll buy the DVD when it comes out this method I don't have to pay YOU at CBS more money. AS for Star Trek Discovery I'll tell you this Gene Roddenberry has been rolling over in his grave and screaming, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO MY MISSION AND PHILOSOPHY OF WHAT STAR TREK REALLY MEANS!!! Yes you're creating these series just to create more cash off of a very successful TV Series and "some" movies. Have the guts to present it on your regular channel and allow the viewers decide but don't force us to pay through the nose for another ALL ACCESS service. You have some shows on your regular cable channel that should be tossed and create method for intellectual programs be they science fiction or drama!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    Weak emasculated men and non-believable female roles.

    0  


    Add your opinion on star trek enterprise season 1 trading card base set or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    Violence, f words.... this not star trek. Worst purchase yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    Seriously, no method to buy this? We have to add another streaming service?!? This sets a risky precedent, and it’s sad that most people are just fine with that. I was so excited to hear about another Star Trek, and then I read it’s only on CBS All Access, ffs... I caught a few episodes recently and even though I would buy S1 were it available, I will not subscribe to another streaming service. It’s such a blatant attempt to use the popularity of ST for a money grab, and people fell for dly it’s a decent show, what I saw of it, and if not for the need to pay for a streaming service I’d likely be a loyal viewer, but alas greed seems to have gotten the upper hand...Update: I found out yesterday yet another fresh Star Trek series is coming to CBS All Access, it’s going to be about the later years of Captain Picard, as much as I wish to watch it, I won’t help CBS’s greed, such a pity......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    Like other reviewers, I really did not wish to watch this present when it came out. Between the fact it was only available on its own streaming service and that it seemed very non-trek, it just did not seem worth my time. Yet I knew at some point I was obligated as a fan to watch this, I was just in no hurry.Time passed, season 1 was long done, I had read nothing about what happened in the show, and then one day I got a free 2 month trial of cbs all access. I decided it was time to rip the band aid off and watch it (surely 2 months would be long enough to slog through this poor show). Then I began e present just kinda drops you into the story with no true introduction. At first I was a bit confused, didn't quite obtain the characters, and couldn't follow what everyone was talking about. Saw some weird looking "klingons" I didn't like, and had even more problem following the long subtitled speeches. Yep as I expected, aside from the being pleasantly surprised by the title music/sequence, I was not enjoying this. I created it through the 2 part first episode over the course of 2 nights, and even though I was feeling much less confused at that point, I still wasn't getting en everything changed after watching the second episode when Discovery was introduced. I found myself method more engaged and interested in the plot. I wanted to hold watching so I watched another episode. Yes this was better. The next night I continued, and I watched 3 more episodes, only stopping because I required to obtain some sleep before work. The next night I binged the rest of the first half of the season. Wait what? I liked this show? How did that happen?!I finally ended up binging the crap outta this present until the end, and by the end I wanted to begin over and see if I could better appreciate the first episode. And you know what? I did! I ended up watching the whole present again in the span of 3 days. And liked it even more the second time around.Anyways, moral of the story: hold watching and give this present a chance! Yes, it is a bit various and takes some getting used to, but this is a Star Trek series after all, and it's a really amazing one at that!Can't wait to own it on blu ray when it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    This isn't Star Trek. It's a Starfleet uniform filled with garbage. Star Trek is a present about a squad of people, who are a team, a family. This squad goes on adventures and finds themselves in moral quandaries, they are forced to ask philosophical questions to resolve the issues before is present is about a bunch of people who constantly break rank, betray each other, and don't really ask questions, they just create questionable choices without reflection. Yes, they fall into some conundrums, but there's limited acknowledgment of them.Embarrassingly, a lot of of the show's elements were obviously lifted from an indie point and click adventure android game from 2014. There is a lawsuit. Look up "star trek discovery plagiarism"The present is also frustrating in that it needlessly retcons the TOS-era. The technology is greatly advanced compared to what appears in TOS set 10 years later. It makes no sense that they hold making prequel content but wish to add fresh tech. The Klingons also look more alien than they do in 90s-era Trek, which makes no sense as it's set before the less alien-looking TOS Klingons. I suppose you could just say something about artistic license but... it just seems stupid. If you're going to be wildly inconsistent, why call it Star Trek?I watched this season from beginning to end. I'll admit I was excited here and there. There were times I thought it might end up being good. After all, most first seasons of Star Trek series are rough. But this is different. This isn't 'rough,' it's a disgrace to Star Trek. It's bad. It's lazy. It's often stupid. Star Trek is supposed to be cerebral.Without spoiling anything, even if you found a method to have fun the climax of the season arc, the finale is lazy nonsense with an Aaron Sorkin-esque speech thrown in to tell us there actually was a moral of the arc, followed by a dash of fan service.Just watch any other Star Trek series instead. Even Voyager and Enterprise are better than this. I recommend the 1080p remastered TNG, as well as the unfortunately not remastered DS9.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    This is TWD meets Star Trek. No, it’s not because “Sasha” from TWD is the lead, either. It’s 1 ongoing story / soap opera, which goes versus everything every other Star Trek has ever been. Something new? Cool! I’m all for that. But the delivery left a lot to be desired. Hammy, always serious overacting. A universe that’s almost unrecognizable. Plot holes galore. Inconsistent hero behavior or motivations. Yes, I watched the whole season hoping something would change. Hard pass. I never thought I’d say this, but if you wish a truer Star Trek experience watch The Orville. Seriously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    We loved the first season. Characters, story, acting... all beautiful good.What I hate is the distribution chosen for this show. Caught a few episodes on Netflix while out of the country. Excited to sit down and watch the rest, realized that we couldn't, unless we signed up for CBS streaming... Are you *bleepin* kidding me?!?!Hell, I'd buy the season if it was available. But no method I'm encouraging CBS to begin yet another pay service that is going to pile onto my monthly bills, and have me searching around for the present I want. Just ridiculous.I'll search other ways to view it, and buy the season whenever it's available. I'm all for supporting this show. Just not this BS that CBS is pulling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 []  2020-12-16 22:12

    You would think that given no production deadline, the present runners would have time to respect amazing writing and obtain their scripts in amazing order.I don't wish to give away anything, but in EVERY episode, at least one hero (usually more) does something completely stupid, either to force drama where it wasn't motivated or to motivate a bunch of unique effects that are not in service to the story. The so-called story is in service to the unique ere are major issues in the writing. The entire season is building toward a focal point, but when the moment comes, the ending is telescoped. It happens in about three minutes. It’s the very definition of anti-climactic. I would use this season in movie school as an example of how *not* to break fifteen , they hit the restart button. And it's completely unbelievable. I've talked to a lot of Star Trek fans, and a lot of other people, and not a single person thought the ending was satisfying. Or believable.I could go on and on about how poor the writing was. Here's the clincher: A mate of mine worked on the show. He said the actors were always asking, "Why is my hero doing this?"When that happens, your present is in trouble, because it means the writing is implausible. My friend, who has worked in TV for decades, said it happened more on this present than any other present he's ever worked e production designs, the costumes, the unique effects, the music--it was all fabulous. There's no doubt the present is a spectacle. That makes it all the more tragic that amazing writing wasn’t respected as much as other production d writing is where it all begins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    This is just an exciting book to keep in your hand! Anyone who has ever bought a package of bubblegum cards in their childhood will share the excitement of paging through this complete collection of the Topps series 1 Star Trek cards, reproduced in this volume both front and back. The book also comes with four gift cards, done in the style of the originals but with pictures never included in the original set (Sulu gets featured on one card, and appears an another - thus somewhat making up for Topps' omission of him from the series 1 set). As others have mentioned, the dust jacket has that old fashioned "wax-pack" feel of the old bubblegum card backs. The front and back of the book itself is decorated with images of those tough, brittle sticks of Bazooka gum that used to be included with the short, this book is a lot of fun to look at, and the cover is so nice you'll wish to prominently display it on your shelf. The extra reflections from collectors and Topps designers are a welcome bonus!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    Enjoyed seeing the cards as they first appeared.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    Amazing looking hardback that takes a card by card look at the 1976 Topps Star Trek card set. After a brief introduction that covers the trading card history of The Original Series the reader is treated to the back and front of each card with some corresponding text. As a gift 4 brand fresh true cards are included to round out the original set. The book is presented to look like a package of cards and some true care went into that presentation. If you're a Trek fan or a Topps fan this will be a book that you want, and at under the $13 that Amazon is currently selling it for it's a steal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    Like the latest book on the history of the infamous Mars Attacks! Cards, this one about what might as well be called the lost star trek cards, is a piece of history and well worth checking out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    The book brought back some amazing memories. A lot of of the cards I hadn't seen sine I was a child. An added gift that I didn't realize, inside the back cover is a little package of cards in a plastic pouch. The only minus was the not good packaging. Mine arrived in just a padded envelope with 2 puncture holes that went all the method through the front cover which is hardcover and quite thick. I hope the replacement comes in more protective packaging.I received the book today and requested a replacement. Shipping both ways is free. The replacement is already being prepared to be shipped out to arrive in 2 days, so Amazon does obtain gift points for that.9/26 replacement received. Packaging was the same type of padded envelope before but the book avoided being skewered this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    It was amazing coming across this small book. It reminds me I'm still missing a card. Who knew that the man who helped designed these cards? Gary Gerani, was also the author of Unbelievable Television. A book I constantly carried around with me in my high school days. Some amazing small history here. I didn't know about the Kaiser Broadcasting connection between Star Trek and its second life in reruns, or how Mr. Gerani used the titles from other science fiction films and tv for card titles. There's an art to designing bubblegum cards. That was something I didn't realize until it was pointed out to me e fresh enclosed gift cards are too simple to lose. I'm afraid to begin them up.But still. It was fun reading about these small cards. For a moment, I thought I smelled bubble gum.JThreeWilliston ND

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    I purchased this book as part of a birthday show for my dad, who is an avid sci-fi fan. Based on the image & description, it seemed like it would be a book he'd enjoy. Sure enough, he did. I'm glad I purchased this for him. I'm not super into sci-fi myself, but I could see how sci-fi fans, particularly Star Trek fans, would have fun this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    Abrams-Comics Art has a series of these high quality, but budget priced collections of popular Topps cards series including this one based on the rare 1976 Star Trek card set, the 1962 Mars Attacks card set, and the 1970's Wacky Packages & 1980's Garbage Pail Children sticker cards. Each book presents the series of cards, enlarged on excelled paper stock in full color with commentary from those involved in their original creation.Each of the books include 4 gift trading cards, exclusive to these editions, and given the continued popularity of the trading card series that inspired these books, those cards could become somewhat valuable themselves in future years (so take care of them!) making this bargain priced volume a very low risk investment.I hope for more of these from Abrams and Topps. My vote is for a set of books in this format based on the original 1977 Star Battles card series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

     This is a unbelievable small coffee table-sized book that is shaped just like a package of original Topps Series 1 Star Trek trading cards. The dust jacket even perfectly duplicates the same vintage "Wax-Pack" wrapper look and feel! A complete set of these original cards can fetch hundreds of dollars on the collectors shop now. Inside you will search page after page of photographs that have reprinted each individual trading card from the original 1976 Topps Star Trek Series 1 set. The photos have been blown-up from their original size so the picture quality is a small fuzzy but still has something of a nostalgic look and charm. All 88 cards and 22 stickers which came only one per package are presented along with insightful anecdotes and trivia from the people who created them about their creation and why a particular photo was chosen or why something in a card's text is off. The cardbacks have also been reprinted as well on the opposite page which contain a synopses about the episodes or description about the image. Hopefully this is just the first in a continuing series of Star Trek Topps non-sports trading card reference tomes very related to their other unbelievable collections such as Mars Attacks and Garbage Pail KidsWhether you are nostalgic to obtain your hands on your old childhood vintage trading cards again, or you're a Star Trek fan who wasn't around to have experienced these first-hand, this is the excellent method to see these attractive vintage cards collected in this amazing 216 page hardcover book. It even contains a set of 4 all-new trading cards stuck to the back of the book with the same slick printing on thick cardstock, two of which correct an oversight of the absence of Lieutenant Sulu on any of the original cards or stickers. And what package of bubblegum cards would be complete without the bubblegum? Of course, they couldn't contain an actual stick of bubblegum so they at least included a picture of it on the cover inside the waxy dust-jacket wrapper, including a broken piece on the back cover (as they often came broken up into little pieces in the wrapper)! For those of us who can remember, the gum was a disgusting rectangular stick of pink bubblegum sprinkled with white powdered sugar which was always hard as a rock when you would bite into it and would crumble apart in your mouth and deteriorate before you could chew it!Ahhhhhh... the Amazing 'Ol Days!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: The Original Topps Trading Card Series []  2020-2-1 15:30

    Really cool to see pics of all the original Star Trek trading cards. The book has nice facts about each stage on the cards as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    I really enjoyed this one and I'm not sure if it was partly because I got to know Pike in the second season of Star Trek Discovery so it created getting into the story so much easier. While the happenings of this story happen during Season 1 you could read it between seasons or afterward. Heck, it's probably enjoyable even if you haven't watched it yet but it might have some slight spoilers if you do. I enjoyed the author's style and where he took the story. I feel that he got the character's voices right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    John Jackson Miller had the unenviable (at first) task of chronicling the voyages of the Enterprise during his absence in Star Trek Discovery's first uck in a remote nebula where travel is difficult, the Enterprise and its squad search themselves in the middle of a devastating battle that has been going on for centuries, and all kind of separations and encounters prevent them from returning to the galaxy at huge to participate in the Klingon war.While the novel starts slow, building up the premises of all the parties, it picks up quickly and goes wild until the climax and the reason of why Spock is in a catatonic state that gets him committed to the mental e novel finishes right before the begin of the second season of commended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    It was a struggle to stay engaged with this story at first. I felt bogged down until the relationship between our heroes in Starfleet and the protagonist (well, one of them) changed. The resolution to the conflict was unexpected and most welcome. This novel ends where the Spock we meet in Season Two of Discovery begins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    This is a terrific novel detailing what Captain Pike, Spock, and the Enterprise were doing during the happenings of the first season of Star Trek: Discovery. It offers amazing insight into Pike's character, as well as more info on Spock, Number One and other characters. Hopefully CBS will see the popularity of these characters and will greenlight a series based on the adventures of Pike on the Enterprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    I’ve been a Star Trek fan since watching the reruns in the 70’s, reading my fair share of Star Trek novels back then as well, and now today, thoroughly enjoying Star Trek: Discovery. This book was a welcome and very satisfying read for an old school Trekkie like me!This past season of Discovery featured two characters from the original Star Trek show, Mr. Spock and his captain before Kirk, Christopher Pike. It’s briefly mentioned in the present that they and the rest of the squad of their starship Enterprise, were far away from the common region of zone regularly covered by Starfleet during the happenings of latest season. This book reveals what they endured during that year.Enjoying The Enterprise Battle is really a consequence of having enjoyed this past season of the fresh Trek show, which involved a lot of Pike and Spock, charmingly performed by Anson Mount and Ethan Peck, and that this book’s story feels like a natural extension of that storyline. Being a long-time Star Trek fan didn’t damage either. While only being in a single original Star Trek episode, Captain Pike was kidnapped by Spock (in the episode “The Menagerie”) out of affection and loyalty towards his former commander, and the opportunity to gain some insight about their working relationship helps to firm up the logic behind why Spock would ultimately commit such a daring act.I found The Enterprise Battle to be a a well crafted, page-turner of a story, featuring fresh aliens with a special societal structure and backstory that locations the squad and vessel of Pike’s Enterprise in a refreshingly novel, dire cirtance. Anyone who enjoys science fantasy could have fun this book, even if they’d never seen or read any Star Trek before. But they wouldn’t appreciate the hero relationships as much, particularly those characters with names like “Pike”, “Spock”, “Number One”, “Colt”, and “Boyce” – names that have a legacy only Trek fans are familiar with.If you’re one of those like me who’s fully caught up on Star Trek: Discovery, you’re all prepared to have fun this book. Actually, I implore you to read this book! It’s so much fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    THE ENTERPRISE WAR is a prequel to the second season of STAR TREK: DISCOVERY. What was the Starship Enterprise up to during the Klingon Battle during the first season? What happened between the happenings of "The Cage" and "Brother."John Jackson Miller does an impressive job of both creating an intriguing adventure as well explaining the discrepancies between "Desperate Hours" by David Mack and the second season. While it's handled subtlety, it's implied that the acrimonious relationship between Michael Burnham and Spock is the effect of the latter's emotional breakdown. I really liked that. The rest of the story deals with a pair of alien races locked in a life-or-death struggle that the Enterprise has unwittingly wandered into it.I really appreciate the use of the Star Trek Pilot's cast with Una ("Number One"), Colt, Pike, and Spock plus a number of original characters. JJM does an perfect job with them and while they feel a bit dated, that's deliberate. The ending was a bit too pat for me but I feel it was still in the Star Trek theme.8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    The Enterprise Battle is a classic Star Trek novel that reads just like a novel of the Original Series (with the differences being references to Discovery characters). I very much enjoyed the multi-species aspect of the novel's "villains", a sort of anti-Federation, and yet not so well organized, with only tenuous loyalties, if any at all. Captain Pike, Number One, and Doctor Boyce all shine in this novel, as do minor Enterprise characters. That being said, the one hero that seems a bit....empty....is Spock. Obviously, this is meant to set the scene for his condition at the begin of season 2 of Discovery, but I still thought it created the novel drag a little. The characterization of Baladon and the other Lurians (Morn's species, of Deep Zone Nine) gave us a glimpse of what Lurian society is like, which was interesting. Overall, I would highly recommend The Enterprise War.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    A amazing prequel to Season 2 of "Star Trek: Discovery", the author is an obvious fan of Trek. He fills in quite a bit about Pike, Number One, and Spock's characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    As an old hand at Star Trek novels from method back in the Bantam days, it takes a lot to impress me. I read the Kindle sample and was hooked. Miller's narrative style is engrossing and simple to read. His familiarity with Trek lore is effortless and extensive. So often when trying out a fresh ST novel, I stumble over clunky writing or an even clunkier lack of familiarity with Trek. Neither of those were a issue here. While the ending was evident from a mile away, it reflected a comfortable expectation of how I'd wish a ST novel to end rather than lack of creativity on the author's part. On the contrary, Miller managed to surprise me AND meet my old hand expectations at the same time. Highly recommend, whether you're a fresh Discovery fan or an old Classic Trek fan like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War []  2020-1-10 19:2

    This book was beautiful good. The writing was decent and I like the characters. I haven't finished the first season of Discovery so I kinda obtain the feeling I'm missing something.Anyway, if you're a fan of Star Trek I think you'll like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    I’m sure by now you have seen the groups of people taking any bit of time and put they can to trash the show. They will say the present is too dark, too violent, too non-canon, too futuristic, and not Star Trek enough. I’m here to tell you that Trekkies, like much of other fandoms too resistance and afraid of change, likes to have selective and often times rose tinted ey wish Star Trek to stick to the tired old formula of episodic exploration where the ending of every episode resets everyone to zero like some typical police procedural such as NCIS or Law and Order. They balked at a present that dared to break from tradition and tell a long android game of serialized stories in the method that a lot of streaming shows are formatted nowadays because people’s viewing habits of changed since the days when a Star Trek present was consistently on the is present is not too dark nor too violent. What has happened here is a present that has finally not turned away from consequences. That going out into zone is dangerous, that life out in the unknown exploring can be dangerous. It no longer is coddling you to reality because darkness and death are parts of life but they are also things we can overcome and bring hope to war against. This present doesn’t shy away from pain, grief, and trauma, not should it. If Star Trek was always meant to be something for us to keep ourselves up to, then staying powerful through adversity is an necessary lesson Discovery e present is not too futuristic. People will harp on this in a lot of reviews. They do not wish to accept that time has changed, that the outdated sets can be redesigned to fit in a specific moment in time. They say the tech is too advanced yet if Discovery is a top of the line science vessel that’s suppose to be the cutting edge of science, why is it shocking if it’s designed differently. Starfleet can’t even hold its own uniforms straight in any of the older series anyways and we are suppose to believe that techs can’t be also constantly evolving and changing between ship to ship? I mean, how a lot of various classes of federation starships are we up to now?And as similar to that, you will hear of this present not being canon, of not following canon. People will harp on this greatly, perhaps more than anything else, they’ve held canon to be so sacred as untouchable thing, even though canon has consistently been retconned and changed and modified from present to present and Discovery only is the next one in line. The present doesn’t break canon, in fact, everything people will claim makes it non canon are things that one can easily explain away. Certain people simply don’t wish to because they don’t like to change their minds and wish something to nitpick. Mostly to feel superior and to validate themselves in their own Trek canon knowledge like it’s a Trek Discovery IS a Star Trek show, just because it takes storytelling differently from the old format and dares to break from tradition that it is being punished by a selective amnesiac fandom. A fandom that has forgotten its own history or better yet is trying to rewrite it. A fandom that has forgotten years spent yelling about TNG not being Trek, about DS9 not being Trek, about VOY not being Trek, and practically tossing ENT under the bus like some unwanted red headed step kid to never speak about again. Well, I didn’t forget those days. I didn’t forget the days when Star Trek could have amazing story and poor story, I’m not the one wearing rose tinted glasses like some and keep up older Trek shows as some paragon on greatness. Every series had its amazing heights and every series had its is present has amazing performances, a amazing long game, and a various method of looking through the universe that expands the globe we already known. Certain people wish Trek to always tred the same old roads, they blast Discovery for boldly going beyond the boxes certain sects of fandom have set. Fans don’t wish to change, they wish complicity. They will say this present is not Star Trek because it has no hope, yet the characters stand powerful to hope even through all the trauma and adversity. If nothing else, that is Star Trek at its core.I will not tell you if you will like it or not - as with all Trek shows, it has its amazing moments and not so amazing moments, but I would hope that any viewer will take the possibility the watch the present and decide for themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    Whats the matter CBS, you can't search room on your regular network that you have to make ALL ACCESS and then have the gall and audacity to CHARGE people to watch it?? We as consumers already pay too damn much for cable services that are ripping us off on a everyday basis. You don't have the GUTS to place your Star Trek program on regular TV and instead [email protected]#$%! off to your ALL ACCESS. I guess you don't really wish to entertain your viewers on your regular channel and so you push these programs that might do some amazing on your regular channel off into oblivion and then charge us to watch. I'll buy the DVD when it comes out this method I don't have to pay YOU at CBS more money. AS for Star Trek Discovery I'll tell you this Gene Roddenberry has been rolling over in his grave and screaming, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO MY MISSION AND PHILOSOPHY OF WHAT STAR TREK REALLY MEANS!!! Yes you're creating these series just to create more cash off of a very successful TV Series and "some" movies. Have the guts to present it on your regular channel and allow the viewers decide but don't force us to pay through the nose for another ALL ACCESS service. You have some shows on your regular cable channel that should be tossed and create method for intellectual programs be they science fiction or drama!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    Like other reviewers, I really did not wish to watch this present when it came out. Between the fact it was only available on its own streaming service and that it seemed very non-trek, it just did not seem worth my time. Yet I knew at some point I was obligated as a fan to watch this, I was just in no hurry.Time passed, season 1 was long done, I had read nothing about what happened in the show, and then one day I got a free 2 month trial of cbs all access. I decided it was time to rip the band aid off and watch it (surely 2 months would be long enough to slog through this poor show). Then I began e present just kinda drops you into the story with no true introduction. At first I was a bit confused, didn't quite obtain the characters, and couldn't follow what everyone was talking about. Saw some weird looking "klingons" I didn't like, and had even more problem following the long subtitled speeches. Yep as I expected, aside from the being pleasantly surprised by the title music/sequence, I was not enjoying this. I created it through the 2 part first episode over the course of 2 nights, and even though I was feeling much less confused at that point, I still wasn't getting en everything changed after watching the second episode when Discovery was introduced. I found myself method more engaged and interested in the plot. I wanted to hold watching so I watched another episode. Yes this was better. The next night I continued, and I watched 3 more episodes, only stopping because I required to obtain some sleep before work. The next night I binged the rest of the first half of the season. Wait what? I liked this show? How did that happen?!I finally ended up binging the crap outta this present until the end, and by the end I wanted to begin over and see if I could better appreciate the first episode. And you know what? I did! I ended up watching the whole present again in the span of 3 days. And liked it even more the second time around.Anyways, moral of the story: hold watching and give this present a chance! Yes, it is a bit various and takes some getting used to, but this is a Star Trek series after all, and it's a really amazing one at that!Can't wait to own it on blu ray when it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    Violence, f words.... this not star trek. Worst purchase yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    This is TWD meets Star Trek. No, it’s not because “Sasha” from TWD is the lead, either. It’s 1 ongoing story / soap opera, which goes versus everything every other Star Trek has ever been. Something new? Cool! I’m all for that. But the delivery left a lot to be desired. Hammy, always serious overacting. A universe that’s almost unrecognizable. Plot holes galore. Inconsistent hero behavior or motivations. Yes, I watched the whole season hoping something would change. Hard pass. I never thought I’d say this, but if you wish a truer Star Trek experience watch The Orville. Seriously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    We loved the first season. Characters, story, acting... all beautiful good.What I hate is the distribution chosen for this show. Caught a few episodes on Netflix while out of the country. Excited to sit down and watch the rest, realized that we couldn't, unless we signed up for CBS streaming... Are you *bleepin* kidding me?!?!Hell, I'd buy the season if it was available. But no method I'm encouraging CBS to begin yet another pay service that is going to pile onto my monthly bills, and have me searching around for the present I want. Just ridiculous.I'll search other ways to view it, and buy the season whenever it's available. I'm all for supporting this show. Just not this BS that CBS is pulling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    This isn't Star Trek. It's a Starfleet uniform filled with garbage. Star Trek is a present about a squad of people, who are a team, a family. This squad goes on adventures and finds themselves in moral quandaries, they are forced to ask philosophical questions to resolve the issues before is present is about a bunch of people who constantly break rank, betray each other, and don't really ask questions, they just create questionable choices without reflection. Yes, they fall into some conundrums, but there's limited acknowledgment of them.Embarrassingly, a lot of of the show's elements were obviously lifted from an indie point and click adventure android game from 2014. There is a lawsuit. Look up "star trek discovery plagiarism"The present is also frustrating in that it needlessly retcons the TOS-era. The technology is greatly advanced compared to what appears in TOS set 10 years later. It makes no sense that they hold making prequel content but wish to add fresh tech. The Klingons also look more alien than they do in 90s-era Trek, which makes no sense as it's set before the less alien-looking TOS Klingons. I suppose you could just say something about artistic license but... it just seems stupid. If you're going to be wildly inconsistent, why call it Star Trek?I watched this season from beginning to end. I'll admit I was excited here and there. There were times I thought it might end up being good. After all, most first seasons of Star Trek series are rough. But this is different. This isn't 'rough,' it's a disgrace to Star Trek. It's bad. It's lazy. It's often stupid. Star Trek is supposed to be cerebral.Without spoiling anything, even if you found a method to have fun the climax of the season arc, the finale is lazy nonsense with an Aaron Sorkin-esque speech thrown in to tell us there actually was a moral of the arc, followed by a dash of fan service.Just watch any other Star Trek series instead. Even Voyager and Enterprise are better than this. I recommend the 1080p remastered TNG, as well as the unfortunately not remastered DS9.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    Seriously, no method to buy this? We have to add another streaming service?!? This sets a risky precedent, and it’s sad that most people are just fine with that. I was so excited to hear about another Star Trek, and then I read it’s only on CBS All Access, ffs... I caught a few episodes recently and even though I would buy S1 were it available, I will not subscribe to another streaming service. It’s such a blatant attempt to use the popularity of ST for a money grab, and people fell for dly it’s a decent show, what I saw of it, and if not for the need to pay for a streaming service I’d likely be a loyal viewer, but alas greed seems to have gotten the upper hand...Update: I found out yesterday yet another fresh Star Trek series is coming to CBS All Access, it’s going to be about the later years of Captain Picard, as much as I wish to watch it, I won’t help CBS’s greed, such a pity......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    You would think that given no production deadline, the present runners would have time to respect amazing writing and obtain their scripts in amazing order.I don't wish to give away anything, but in EVERY episode, at least one hero (usually more) does something completely stupid, either to force drama where it wasn't motivated or to motivate a bunch of unique effects that are not in service to the story. The so-called story is in service to the unique ere are major issues in the writing. The entire season is building toward a focal point, but when the moment comes, the ending is telescoped. It happens in about three minutes. It’s the very definition of anti-climactic. I would use this season in movie school as an example of how *not* to break fifteen , they hit the restart button. And it's completely unbelievable. I've talked to a lot of Star Trek fans, and a lot of other people, and not a single person thought the ending was satisfying. Or believable.I could go on and on about how poor the writing was. Here's the clincher: A mate of mine worked on the show. He said the actors were always asking, "Why is my hero doing this?"When that happens, your present is in trouble, because it means the writing is implausible. My friend, who has worked in TV for decades, said it happened more on this present than any other present he's ever worked e production designs, the costumes, the unique effects, the music--it was all fabulous. There's no doubt the present is a spectacle. That makes it all the more tragic that amazing writing wasn’t respected as much as other production d writing is where it all begins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery - Season One []  2020-10-19 19:57

    Weak emasculated men and non-believable female roles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    "Equinox" stands as one of the most exciting, action-packed, and riveting episodes in ST:VOY's 7 year run. To see it created into a novelization created me hesitate a bit, since a lot of of the other novelizations don't translate well; this one, however, is a faithful representation of the episode which is worth a e novel tells the entire story as portrayed in the episode and expands upon a few details, including Janeway's almost maniacal approach to getting Captain Ranson and the Equinox. All in all, this novelization is amazing if you saw the episode, and amazing if you did not. If you haven't seen it, then this book will create you wish to watch it. If you have, this book will add a small more to what you saw on the screen.Overall, novelizations of broadcast episodes rarely capture what is seen on the screen; this one, however, comes beautiful close.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    Loved it! Even better than the epiode as you obtain more insight in why certain actions were taken.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    ... you're prepared to see a side of Janeway you've never seen before! The present didn't come close to capturing her obsession with hunting Ransom, her absolute determination to see justice served--even at the expense of her first officer's respect and trust.I enjoyed the episode's portrayal of Janeway as maybe a small less than right (usually the present makes her adherence to Starfleet regulations look like "the only correct method to live in the Delta Quadrant," no matter what the cirtance), but in the novel, Janeway actually appears wrong. The added scenes between her and Chakotay are excellent, but the real jewel of the novel is Janeway's fallibility. This storyline is shaded in mostly grays, with very small in black and white. It's almost natural to sympathize with Ransom and his crew, while in the episode they seemed entirely heartless. The hero development in this book is ue, if you see the episode after reading the novelization, you'll be looking for more scenes, but it's the same with CARETAKER. The additional scenes flow so smoothly that I've seen the episode more than once and I sometimes found myself thinking, "Was this in the episode or not?"Diane Carey has done a commendable job adding depth and "gray" to a fascinating episode.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    Once again, Diane Carey makes a hash of an exceptionally amazing episode in her novelization by attempting to prove herself a "wordsmith"; she can't be bothered to use words in the method that they're intended to be used in the language; that's too "boring". Instead, she presses words into use in ways that they were never intended to be used, and makes up some of her own, sort of like Humpty Dumpty in "Alice In Wonderland", who insists that he is the master of his words, and they mean just what he intends, no more, no less. So we have her using the word "sing" when what she means is "niggling" ("Sing guilt"). We have phases like "a sob choked her back" when what she means is "she choked a sob back". We hear ""We don't know", he garbled." We hear "He...hardened with pain", when what she means is "He tensed with pain." Then there are the just plain errors, such as "something he hadn't trained for nor ever betted upon" instead of "bet on". All of these examples came within the first 46 pages. It doesn't obtain any better; we have some sloppy error or ludicrous use of language about every five pages. Which is a shame, because the story is actually a amazing one, even if the ending is a bit too convenient. If Diane Carey had been willing to create telling the story the basic goal, rather than showing off how distractingly she can torment the language, it would have been an perfect book. Only read this if you are completely unconcerned with the quality of the writing and simply wish an exciting story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    Equinox is an perfect novelization of the series season ending and season openers, Equinox Parts I & II. Diane Carey once again, shows why she is one of the basic authors that John Ordover and Pocket Books goes to for these e premise: The starship USS Voyager is cruising along on its merry method back to the Alpha Quadrant when they receive, to their amazing surprise, a Federation distress call. This, in and of itself, plays out a large portion of the emotional intrigue for the squad of Voyager. When Captain Janeway and squad arrive on the scene, they search the USS Equinox, a Nova class science vessel under attack. What the starship is being attacked by is not immediately clear though. They rush in and extend their shields around the smaller vessel and start to create their introductions. As one would expect, there is a lot of excitement between the two little crews, considering that both thought they were the only Federation personnel in the quadrant. What Captain Janeway and the squad of Voyager are soon to search out though is the Captain Ransom and his squad have had a lot rougher go of trying to obtain home than they have. I don't want to spoil this for those that haven't read it or by possibility not stage the two part episode.Diane Carey's work on this novelization does deserve a lot of additional credit though. In a lot of ways, this novel, in my opinion, is more intriguing and exciting than the two aired episodes. She perfectly captured the inner struggles that the basic characters, Captain Janeway, Captain Ransom and Commander Chakotay are going through. She truly captures Captain Janeways almost crazed, desire to stop Captain Ransom. This, by itself, almost costs her the relationship between her and her first officer. I've read a lot of the Star Trek novelizations and some, unlike this one, are mostly regurgitations of what was seen on the screen. There's no flair or added scenes to them. That is not the case with this wonderfully well written book. I would definitely recommend this one to any Star Trek fan or somebody just getting started with reading Star Trek.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    I always have fun the novelization of any present or film and Equinox is no different. I like the idea that we got to see more conflict between Janeway and Chakotay. Also the confict between Janeway and Ranson was also really good. My only regret is that never got to see the survivors of the Equinox again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    You might be able to search this for a better price elsewhere. However, I don’t regret buying this and look forward to reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    The Equinox Voyager episode is a bit problematic because there are problems about Janeway's actions that are not completely explained or understood (her use of "torture" to test to obtain info from an Equinox crewman is a bit upsetting to many). This book does a amazing job of delving more deeply into the betrayal that Voyager suffers from the hands of a Starfleet ship and crew--which can only be called treason and attempted murder. Getting a better understanding of this betrayal and the deep pain Janeway feels for having trusted Ransom and (in the process) having place Voyager in danger helped me be a bit more forgiving for her over-the-top reaction. I am not a fan of all episode rewrites, but this is one of the best I've read. If you like Voyager or if you are upset by Janeway's treatment of Noah Lessing in the episode, this book is a amazing study of the plot's main conflict. I highly recommend it and have read it multiple times!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equinox: Star Trek Voyager Season Six (Star Trek: Voyager) []  2020-9-19 18:48

    Equinox is very well-written and stays real to the characters found in Star Trek: Voyager. It delves into some of the emotional and moral problems surrounding this episode. However, if you are expecting fresh subplots or a "what happens next" for the episode, you will be disappointed. It sticks to the script beautiful closely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: Aftermath #1 []  2020-1-21 23:10

    Amazing story. I got lost in the tech language, but it filled in the gap between the absence of the Enterprise in the battle with the Klingons and Pike assuming command of Discovery very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: Aftermath #1 []  2020-1-21 23:10

    Five stars!!! Was eagerly awaiting this release and read it in one sitting. Amazing piece to add to the "Discovery' collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: Aftermath #1 []  2020-1-21 23:10

    Amazing begin for Aftermath with the missing Discovery disappearance!!!!! Hold up the fine work for picking up the eat read too!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Discovery: Aftermath #1 []  2020-1-21 23:10

    Read this in five minute so short not worth the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trek - Star Trek Wallpaper [App]  2019-4-26 13:37

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trek - Star Trek Wallpaper [App]  2019-4-26 13:37

    its amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    If your a Trekkie this is just another method to have fun the Star Trek universe. Amazing art, amazing storyline, and all around fun to read their re imagined story's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    The backstory to the fresh Star Trek: Picard series is the Picard of old. Caring, dutiful and a crusader for all life. Picard has set out to save a race of people that are chop off by tradition and the decades old mistrust of the Federation. I can't wait for the next chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    Amazing begin to jump off the series. Star Trek moral dilemmas and arguments of for the greater autiful art work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    Ok. Not great, not bad. Definitely feels like the first book in a fresh series, as a lot of characters are introduced, but there isn't much time for much hero development. There is a lot of conflict going on with different Romulan and Reman factions and the focus of this books is Starfleet, namely Captain Riker and the squad of the Titan trying to setup peace talks. The problem is that this is beautiful much the central conflict/drama of the book and it all ends very anti-climatically and there's practically no development of the Romulan/Reman faction conflicts, allow alone any resolution to the conflict.On the plus side, Titan's squad is a beautiful varied bunch and I see lots of potentially fascinating stories and hero development for its mostly alien crew. I thought it was interesting that various locations of the ship are arranged/structured to accommodate the alien, some being non-humanoid crew. Also, the known characters from the series are written beautiful well, I disagree with other reviewers that said Riker seems to lack confidence, sure he had few moments where he questioned how he should proceed, but I think that would be expected of anyone during literally their first mission, in command of their first ship.Overall if you're a fan of Star Trek and are interested in what happens to Riker and Troi after Nemesis, this book is worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    This series is well written and as with Star Trek, a amazing balance of seriousness and humor. The author nailed the people we're familiar with....to the point that as I read, I could hear the charectors voices in my head. I used to have this series in paperback. My collection was lost, and I'd only gotten to book three. I now have the first three books on kindle and am excited to begin book 2. Join the squad of the Titan for some amazing adventures. This series and the IKS GORKON series are my favorites right now. I'm still waiting on the 5th book in the GORKON series. I gave this book 5 stars, with a cast of Riker, Troi, Ogawa, Tuvok, Spock, Akaar, Donatra, Tomalok and a handful of fresh officers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trek - Star Trek Wallpaper [App]  2019-4-26 13:37

    alright

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Clever adaptations of episodes WHERE NO MAN HAS GONE BEFORE and GALILEO SEVEN. Smartly written dialogue and the best art I've seen in a long time! This one is a keeper. The only poor thing I can say is I want the page count was longer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    though not needed reading, this comic is fun to read just to fill in some of the blanks between the first and second movie. Though some of the comics follow original series storylines, its interesting to see the slight difference with the fresh casting and alternate , not gonna lie. Though I love the original Star Trek casting, I also love the fresh alternate universe casting; so seeing them in comic book form is fun and exciting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    Boring prelude to the anticipated series. Much too short for price. Storyline not exciting. Art good. Mirror universe story somewhat interesting but brief.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    TAKING WING (STAR Trek Titan book 1)Will Riker has finally accepted the role of captaincy within Starfleet. One minor gripe is that we don't obtain to read about a final and potentially moving farewell between Pickard and Riker. That could have added so much to the beginning of the story but I soon got over this disappointment. This series is all about Riker and as the saying goes, "All amazing things..." The attractive fresh USS Titan is launched and all squad members aboard are eager to boldly go where no-one has gone before. But there is one little (?) issue and with Admiral Ackaar along for the ride, he is not letting any secrets out. His presence alone locations even more pressure on our brand fresh captain, but its fortunate for both our Will and the reader that the lovely Deanna Troi is on board as ship's chief counsellor as well as chief diplomatic officer. Internal strife on Romulus needs to be sorted out to avoid a civil battle that could lead to millions of deaths as well as armaments falling into the wrong hands right across the galaxy. In one of the most exciting finishes to a book I have ever read, the glory that is Star trek shines through like a sun going further comments from me apart from the fact this book is a truly amazing read and of course comes highly ing on RED KING!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    This was the first Star Trek novel I've read, and I went into it with beautiful high expectations give that a number of people have strongly recommended this series. I had been anxious to explore what happens in the globe of Star Trek following the frustrating movie that was Nemesis. Though the novels are not considered canon, in lieu of a fresh series set after the TNG movies, this really is the next best thing.Long-time TNG fans will appreciate the respect and attention to detail given to Riker and Troi, as well as other returning faces. They are faithfully represented and read on the page as you know them on screen, but have also matured as characters. The fresh crewmembers are extremely diverse by design but very distinct and identifiable. I didn't expect to have fun the time spent away from the main characters nearly as much as I tion in the story reads quick and entertaining, but the novel isn't all flash and no substance. Some parts are genuinely moving. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.If I had one complaint its that a disproportionate amount of the story plays out in characters' inner-monologues. There is nothing inherently wrong with that, but it interrupts scenes of dialogue quite often with a paragraph of italicized musings. Satisfied to say that in the second book, Red King, which I'm reading now this seems to be much less frequent. I'm sure it was necessitated by introducing such a huge number of fresh summary, this series is definitely worth being folded into Star Trek's illustrious canon. It would create a amazing miniseries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trek - Star Trek Wallpaper [App]  2019-4-26 13:37

    Really like the fresh tools to crop the photos to size amazing to see fresh Trek photos aswell

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trek - Star Trek Wallpaper [App]  2019-4-26 13:37

    sucks cant adjust the picture to fit sceen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I'm a fresh Star Trek fan. After i watched the two JJ Abrams films i went back and watched all of the original series episodes on netflix.I enjoyed the films enough that i liked the idea of keeping the characters going with a comic is volume is supposed to tell stories from the original series but with a fresh spin that uses the fresh versions of the characters. The main issue with the book is that the stories told here are almost exactly the same with very little differences.BUT if you have only seen the two fresh Star Trek films and haven't seen the original episodes then this is perfect. I would lower it to three stars if i was talking to a long time star trek fan.just an aside, IDW handles the retelling later in the series much better than they do here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    I'd neither purchased nor read a comic prior to this one. So, I'm certainly no expert. The intro of a fresh hero is refreshing, but a bit more of her back story would be nice. It's clear that comics are inherently less complex than I prefer, but the plot holds intrigue. I truly [email protected]#$%! had been longer. It seemed extremely short.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    Starts well with familiar faces and interesting plot. Nice to be back in the Prime timeline, love the fresh uniforms. Can't wait to read the rest!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    I read this comic in preparation for the fresh Star Trek Picard series on CBS. Amazing beginning, looking forward to more -

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    I'm probably being to harsh with my review, but I simply found this book to be rather e story picks up in the aftermath of the film Star Trek Nemesis. In that film the inhabitants of the planet Remus rebelled and toppled the Romulan government, only to have their leader Shinzon die in war versus the Enterprise. Titan begins with Captain William Riker being sent in to support clean up the political mess that got left the first part in a series this book spends a huge amount of time establishing the fresh ship and crew. There are lots of fresh characters to become acquainted with aboard this fresh ship. The plot itself is simple to follow, but feels ways to long and tedious. The story in general is one long drawn out board room meeting followed by an all to brief round of excitement at the is book had the unenviable task of establishing a starting status quo for a fresh series, but it just felt to long and drawn out for its own good. I personally feel the Romulan items should have been used as a short familiar starting point to branch out into something new. The plot just didn't have enough meat on it to sustain an entire books plot. By the time the story finally picked up steam and got interesting it was over with a dangling to be dly the promise of more to come can't override the fact that the plot of this book felt like padding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    Michael Martin does an perfect job crafting a brand fresh set of Star Trek characters while including enough of the more familiar faces. The premise of Titan, which is the begin of a pure exploration vessel crewed by the most diverse group ever assembled by Starfleet, is an effective springboard to some fascinating hero interactions. The author's descriptions of wholly alien beings working side-by-side with more standard bipedal species were entire stories unto themselves, without even considering the overriding plot that drives "Taking Wing." If you have grown weary of the more traditional Trek literature, I believe you will search "Taking Wing" to be a breath of new air.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    The Romulans never learn, do they? Tore through this in mere minutes!!! Cannot wait until the next two problems are released!!! Absolutely five *****!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    Amazing read, artwork is on point. Amazing lead up to the fresh series. Can't wait till January. Woot woot .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    After reading a few Star Trek books, I can say that this one is the first receiving 5 stars from me. It is beautiful and the fact that we obtain meet so a lot of known characters from the TV series it is a huge plus (especially Spock and Tuvok). It is nice to finally see Will Riker in command of his own ship and see how much he learnt from his old captain. Finally getting to know what Deanna is thinking is a nice addition. Also, amazing begin with the old foes, the Romulans, very amazing amazing to "see" other familiar things. Would definitely recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    I just couldn't obtain into this book. I tried, I really did. I love Riker, as he was my favorite TNG hero from the show. I didn't care about the secondary characters in the book and I felt like the author basically tried to search the weirdest assortment of characters to jam into one book to be "different". Sorry just being honest here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    This strictly pertains to the order and advertising of this book. I bought it because I believed it to be a paper back novel. I've read a lot of novels before and there was nothing indicating was a graphic novel, aka comic book. Very disappointed. Wanted to begin a fresh series based on the reboot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    My Grandson loved it! It is amazing to see him read/

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I want I'd discovered the existence of IDW's comic series continuing the adventures of the Enterprise squad introduced in the 2009 re-boot -- it would've created the long wait for this year's sequel Into Darkness slightly more palatable. *wink* This first volume includes two stories, both based on episodes from the Classic Trek series -- "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and "The Galileo Seven." While my knowledge of all things Classic Trek is minuscule when compared to my love for the J.J. Abrams-helmed reboot, I love the idea of revisiting old tales and giving them a new spin with the fresh faces of the franchise. Therefore this post will be limited to my impressions of the stories as is, as I'm not yet in a position to compare this volume to the stories in their original, scripted tv e first story, "Where No Man Has Gone Before," is an perfect showcase for a still-green Captain Kirk to adjust to his fresh position and responsibilities on the Enterprise. There is some tension between his old, fun-loving Academy mates and his fresh squad mates, and Kirk's attempts to reconcile his well-known party-boy persona with his fresh responsibilities feels very much in keeping with Chris Pine's portrayal of the younger, brash Starfleet officer. The story ends on a unbelievable note for fans of the Kirk-Spock friendship, as the ever-logical Vulcan responds to Kirk's difficult decision with an unexpected overture of friendship -- I loved that! The second story, "The Galileo Seven," features a more assured Kirk and instead focuses on this more human incarnation of Spock and his struggle to relate to and command respect from his wholly human subordinates. Anytime Spock is tested, pushed outside his comfort location I'm going to love it, and this story delivers, including the Vulcan reaching a welcome accord with one wryly cynical doctor. :) It's nicely-done tale showcasing Spock's leadership skills and Kirk's loyalty to his crew.Featuring gorgeous, detailed artwork, this volume not only fulfills my need to see more of the Fresh Trek squad between their movie appearances, but leaves me more eager than ever to continue my exploration of the Classic Trek tv show.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I bought this for my Kindle Fire, despite the "negative" reviews. I knew full well it was a comic because I'm familiar with IDW and its latest publications of Star Trek based on the 2009 reboot movie. However, that info should definitely be added to the product description as it could be misleading to people who don't know that IDW is a comic book rsonally, I found these to be enjoyable, even though I've watched the original episodes a lot of times. As others have said, this book collects problems 1-4 of the comic series, which are "reboots" of the episodes "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and "The Galileo Seven." (great episodes) Some have claimed these are "the same" as the original episodes, they're not. There are numerous differences, more so with "The Galileo Seven" than WNMHGB. There are definitely things that happen in that story that didn't happen in the original episode. The same can be said in WNMHGB, but it's more "familiar territory" than "The Galileo Seven."The stories are enjoyable, the artwork is nice. All in all, it was an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    I was disappointed by this glorified comic book series. The artwork is ok, but I was hoping for better stories in this entire series. I have all 5 volumes and none of them are really enlightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek (2011-2016) Vol. 1 [Book]  2017-10-14 18:3

    Though I was sceptical about this re-imagined series, I have not been disappointed with the writing and action. The stories play out in the scope of the original series, with some 21st Century is volume kept me interested in the story. The artwork is well done, especially in their portrayal of the actors in the films.I felt this was an engaging volume and I am satisfied with this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    As an intro to ST:Picard it is hard to judge as the series isn’t out yet, but this did feel like the first “canonical” appearance of Picard since Nemesis. I have fun the novels and Star Trek Online buy something about knowing this story is directly similar to the fresh series created it more true in a sense.I like that the Romulans obtain to be evil simply by being various from the Federation. I wonder if the moral dilemma makes sense though, we have seen the Federation perfectly willing to let sentient species to die because of the Prime Directive. I am excited for the next problems to see how it plays out, and not having Picard on the Enterprise wasn’t anywhere near as jarring for me as I thought it would be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek: Picard—Countdown #1 (of 3) [Book]  2019-12-3 18:0

    If you are gonna watch Picard .... this is a must read. I started to see the huge picture ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    I've been a Star Trek fan since I was a child in the 80's and I'm a beautiful die-hard trekkie, but this story didn't do it for me. I was excited to continue the story of some of my favorites from TNG and see how Captain Riker and squad boldly went, but it quickly shuffled in a lot of non-Trek style sci-fi that just didn't have that Trek flavor.I was also pulled out of the story constantly because of the continuous use of hard-to-pronounce alien words in italics for no other reason to remind you that the hero was a various species. It created some of the dialog clunky and was unnecessary in a lot of aracterization of Riker was spot-on, though, and gave me visions of his forehead-first strides down the corridor and the twinkle in his eye as he has a small fun with his fresh crew. I stuck it out until the end, I figure I'll need to know these characters when I read subsequent stories in the series and I did wish to give it a chance, even if his Chief Medical Officer is literally a dinosaur. *groan*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Taking Wing (Star Trek: Titan Book 1) []  2020-8-3 18:45

    Throughout the STNG series, the main characters developed their roles to the extent that more than one story and more than one take on the current situation had evolved. As the series progressed, it was more than a story of one man and his quest for exploration and discovery. Cmdr. William T. Riker had to explore for himself the kind of officer he was going to be; be it a shadow of the infamous Capt. Picard, or use the fresh Riker-style which I call it, and was hoping very much to see. The title of this book by Michael Martin could not have been named more appropriately. Taking put shortly after the Dominion War, Starfleet Command had to rebuild not only fresh ships but also fresh crews. Michael Martin went above and beyond any other Star Trek author with the squad of the U.S.S. Titan and could not have picked a better Captain in Will Riker. To quote a phrase from Guinan in the STNG episode of "The Best of Both Worlds", "...if Picard wrote the book on this ship, then it is time to throw that book away." It took some time and "seasoning" but the now Capt. Riker not only is the commander of the most eclectic squad in Starfleet history, but his hero is definitely "Taking Wing".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    A excellent choice for a stocking stuffer for that Trekkie in your life, or for some quality inspirational bathroom reading material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    This book is dumb. I think my 12 year old could have written a better book. Maybe I'm not getting it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I gave this to my boss latest Christmas. He fired me latest week! Should I ask him to give it back?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I have a family member who is a large Star Trek fan, specifically Captain James T. Kirk, and she absolutely loves this book. It's full of images and Captain Kirk's comments and witticisms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Got this for my hubby, thought it would be a more interactive read, mostly just quotes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Gave to my hubby. It is short an kind of comic bookish but he got a large laugh from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Fans and non-fans stop by my desk all the time to flip to a random quote in this book, it's become a bit of a fun tradition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My dad loved it. Would have given 5 stars but the cover came with a scratch in it. Not too noticeable but since it was a bonus I was not that satisfied about it. However, the content was fun and the pics in it are great, bringing back the old episodes we used to watch together when I was a kid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I loved the images tied in with the words of wisdom. I really enjoyed the tongue in cheek ones. Worth the time to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Would Captain Kirk Do?: Intergalactic Wisdom from the Captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (Star Trek) []  2019-12-21 18:45

    It's a fun small book, but could be a bit more concise. It gets a small repetitive towards the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Trek []  2020-1-11 20:49

    If you like Star Trek this is your book.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386