Read starry river of the sky reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all starry river of the sky reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    This story catches your attention early especially given the courage of the woman. Fanny, who was one of the main characters. Her pursuit of art & to escape her spouse, gives rise to a perilous journey across country & then to Europe with her kids in tow. In contrast, the frail Robert Louis Stevenson's hero was more ambiguous from the beginning & throughout the story his predilections & illnesses seemed mysteriously vague. About halfway through the story it began to feel a bit like Groundhog Day. The scenarios were repetitious albeit in various areas & various times. The underlying theme of love & devotion through sickness & health was clear. However, the method it unfolded over & over lacked imagination. This was a marked contrast to the first half of the book. Worth reading especially if don't obtain bored easily.

    0  


    Add your opinion on starry river of the sky or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    I loved getting to know these people. Stepping into their lives. But truly this book could use some serious editing. It became so bogged down with day to day mundane info that took the story and our main characters no where. Loved the story, just a small bit less of it please!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    This story chronicles the life of Robert Louis Stevenson and upon courtship and marriage, his wife, Fanny Van de Grift Osbourne. This was an ambitious endeavor since RLS was almost bigger than life, even though his life was short. He was an author, poet, and travel writer and lived a somewhat tumultuous existence dealing with his constant illnesses (beginning from childhood), as well as his wife's emotional and erratic behavior, likely which we would define today as mental health issues. Fanny loved him deeply and nursed him from the brink of death on a lot of occasions. I gave this book 4, rather than a 5 star rating, since I read the author's other bio of Frank Lloyd Wright, entitled "Loving Frank", and I liked it better. RLS was complicated, but a joyful figure just satisfied to be alive and I would have been more interested in him as a person, rather than so much of Fanny. She was, however, a driving figure in his life and therefore, perhaps it was difficult to separate the two for this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    After reading Nancy Horan's "Loving Frank", I couldn't wait to obtain my hands on "Under the Wide and Starry Sky". In her second novel, Ms. Horan had me hooked from the first e private story of Fanny - as a wife, a mother, and a woman - is riveting. Although the narrative takes locations in the mid to late 1800"s, females today will connect with Fanny's tragedies and triumphs - grieving in her losses and finding strength in her courage. Readers will relate to Fanny as she sacrifices for her husband, Robert Luis Stephenson, and as she searches for her own rightful position and well-deserved e poignant love story between Fanny and "RLS' is timeless. Because of my profession as a therapist, I was drawn in by the dynamics of their powerful personalities and how each of them both complimented yet complicated the other's life. On a private level, I was moved by their love for each other and how they wove the best parts of themselves together sustaining them through wonderful suffering as well as through extraordiany stly, Ms. Horan delivers a poetic masterpiece. In the telling of this historical narrative, her style of writing blends in with the characters' personas and mirrors their artistic qualities. As Ms. Horan weaves in lines from poems, or excepts from writings, or diary notations, the reader flows through the pages, enjoying the continuity and coherence and wanting more.I highly recommend "Under the Wide and Stary Sky".Holli Kenley, M.A., LMFTBreaking Through Betrayal: and Recovering the Peace Within (New Horizons in Therapy Series)Mountain Air: Relapsing and Finding the Method Back... One Breath at a Time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    I learned a lot about RLS -- his life and his wife, and about the literary stage and infighting therein. But I did not search the book compelling. I really only read to the end because it was a book group book. I did search it very enlightening to learn of RLS' concern about how western culture was spoiling longtime native cultures. Meticulously researched but I'd say, stick with Loving Frank.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    Recommended to me by a dear mate with amazing taste in books (and everything else for that matter!), I was delighted when I began reading Under The Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan to explore it was a fictional acc of the life of Robert Louis Stevenson and his older and beloved wife, Fanny ven de Grift Osbourne.I didn't know anything about Fanny so discovering more about this magnificent woman, her life, strength, creativity, loyalty and endurance, was wonderful. We first meet Fanny when, with three young children, she sets off from San Francisco to study art in Belgium only to search the school she intended to enroll in doesn’t accept women. Taking this in her stride, Fanny sets off to Paris, determined to pursue her dream and escape the trap her life with her unfaithful husband, Sam, has become. Once there, her life changes in ways she could never have foreseen, but it’s indicative of the era (and the mindset of different folk) that women – and especially ones like Fanny who are intelligent and independent - often exchange one form of imprisonment for another.Horan does a unbelievable job of presenting the reader with a fully rounded hero whom you winner as much for her flaws as her warmth and formidable directness. A woman ahead of the times in a lot of ways, Fanny does not suffer fools, especially after her early life is mostly defined by one. Experiencing amazing tragedy and loss, Fanny tries not to allow these circumstances define her or the lives of her children, though these are a constant sad presence which tag her indelibly and create her artistic soul ache. A fish out of water as an American in France, England, Scotland and later the South Pacific, Fanny is both a survivor and someone who seeks to improve her situation in whatever method she can. Unable to tolerate injustice, this is one characteristic she shares with her husband, Robert Louis Stevenson.RLS was also a revelation. Horan draws this ebullient, sick, witty, smart and oft-times difficult man with sensitivity and realism. As a child, I was introduced to the work of RLS with the attractive Child's Garden of Verses, which I in turn read to my own kids. I adored this book and it provided succor and delight through some dark times as did, when I was a small older, Kidnapped! and Treasure Island (Long John Silver both terrified and exhilarated me!). As a mature age Uni student, I came to appreciate Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde so, in a sense, Stevenson’s works have been literary paving stones upon which I stepped at various parts of my life. Discovering, even in fiction, the man behind the words was lovely. Popular, generous, offended by and active versus injustice, he used his bonus with words to entertain, thrill and inform. Surrounded by amazing friends, including members of the literary elite such as Henry James, it wasn't until RLS's fame grew that he also encountered syncophants and the pressure that can come with professional ged by illness his entire life, he and Fanny (who was as much a nurse as critic and wife) would move areas to manage his sickness. This took them to fascinating locations and had them enjoying (or not) awesome encounters: from the Swiss Alps to the South Seas all of which are covered in this lovely book.I had no idea RLS was so peripatetic and this was particularly don't have to be a fan of RLS or his work to adore this book. It is a amazing story, a love story that deserves to stand with better known and heralded ones, as well as a fabulous recounting of a life well-lived and well-loved. Terrific.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    It started out a story about a woman originally from Indiana, who married and moved to California. She had kids and moved them to Europe to study painting, running from her cheating husband. And the story takes off from there. She meets and eventually marries, Robert Louis Stevenson. I love the book. A unbelievable story to filly your summer reading needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    If this hadn't been a book club choice I wouldn't have bothered finishing it. I don't recall such self absorbed and egotistical characters in latest reading. A lot of seemed to assume they should be taken care of by someone else. Even though it's a novel it created me think less of Stevenson. The author is careless in her background research. She has an emigrant train leaving Chicago in the morning traveling west in 1879. The train is supposed to arrive in Council Bluffs, Iowa that evening. That would have been impossible. She seems to think Council Bluffs is on the Mississippi River as the next morning it is traveling through Iowa pastures. Since Council Bluffs is on the Missouri River when you leave going west you are in Nebraska. If easy items like this is off one wonders how much of the rest of the book is just created up hokum. Some of Fanny's farming efforts sounded strange too. This book required some serious editing. Instead of spending time under the wide and starry sky Stevenson spent much time under a blanket.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    What a unbelievable experience it was to read “Under the Wide and Starry Sky” by Nancy Horan. It may seem a bit trite for a librarian to say “this is one of the best books I have ever read”; however, Under the Wide and Starry Sky captivated me from the beginning. I enjoyed Nancy Horan’s book “Loving Frank”, which tells the story behind Frank Lloyd Wright. It was well done and informative as well as entertaining. This fresh book exceeded my expectations. It is the story of Fanny, the woman behind Robert Louis ny is an awesome woman with an inner strength that is amazing. The pictures that Horan paints with words are rich, colourful and fully defined. They pull you into the globe of the Fanny, Louis and their mates and family whether they are at sea or on land and when the weather is stifling hot or bitterly cold. Through success, failure, illness, health and just life events, there is nothing boring in the telling of their story. Reading this book has inspired me to reread some of Stevenson’s early works as well, notably “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”, “A Child’s Garden of Verses” and “The Master of Ballantrae” which is included in the latter part of the book.I finished this book with a bit of sadness as I wanted to continue reading about Fanny and Louis. I give the book a full 5 stars and strongly recommend it to men, women, book clubs and young adults. It is a powerfully executed story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-20 18:0

    I recommended this book to my book club. All but one person liked the book a lot. That person just didn't like the fact that Fanny had an affair with R.L. Stevenson while she was still married, then went back to her husband and broke up with him a second time.I like the format of the book. There were not flash backs, which I dislike. The plot was chronological, and the book held my interest though out. It was simple to read, follow and remember. The author did a amazing job of making the sights, situations and charaters feel real. She used just the right amount of detail to support the reader picture the scenes and activities. I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    One finds here just the urbane, even casual sophistication that one would expect from a masterful essayist. Sachs learned much from Darwin, Claude Bernard, William James and other 19th century thinkers that anticipates critical concerns of our own contemporary neurobiology. And he shares it with an enviable ease and always new curiosity. Whether he is addressing the neurological work of the early Freud, the relation of imitation to creativity, or the altered regulatory physiology in Tourette's syndrome, his passion for knowledge is flat-out contagious. I particularly appreciated how he high-lighted the neglect of past wisdom in an age when the lure of current idols (i.e. pharmaceutical magic bullets and the more pedestrian forms of cognitive neuroscience) are seductive for many. Finally, the autobiographical note on his situation during the latest months of his life in "A General Feeling of Disorder" shows why anecdote can be so valuable. Create no mistake about it; his body may no longer be with us, but his passion is as alive as ever in us as we read and learn from him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    I've read philosophical books on consciousness and was excited by their premises. Sacks' River of Consciousness is rewarding reading because it explores what neuroscientific research is discovering about the remarkable diversity of brain functions and how, as I understand it, this diversity creates consciousness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    I absolutely love Dr. Sacks, so this is in no method objective. Nevertheless, I can say straight out the things he says about the physical brain, with all it's neuro-biology, added to the somewhat nebulous (but not) ideas over time about thought and mind -- were so fascinating I didn't wish to turn off this audio book. Another huge winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    This essay collection gathers together essays on miscellaneous subjects by the late Oliver Sacks. Anyone who has read other books by the neurologist would not be surprised by the range of writings here. There are illuminating chapters on Darwin’s late-age investigations on insectivorous and climbing plants, Freud’s pre-psychoanalysis career in demystifying some of the primary anatomical and neural characteristics of the brain (much of this solid accomplishment has been lost in the drive to debunk psychoanalysis), the neurological characteristics of thinking speed (in which he speculates whether the brains of lightning-fast thinkers like Robert Oppenheimer and Robin Williams are wired differently), especially in Parkinsonian patients, and William James’s thoughts on different “forms” of consciousness that can potentially be accessed by drugs or surgery. I especially liked the final chapter on contingency in scientific discovery in which Sacks discovers anecdotal accounts of necessary neurological disorders from the 19th century which were forgotten and rediscovered in the 20th. Sacks always emphasized the importance of storytelling and anecdotal evidence, and this attitude is especially valuable in our age of statistics and large-scale data collection. The essay collection here is not as eloquent as some of his other books, but his honesty and intense curiosity for disparate subjects comes across as usual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    An awesome book by an awesome mind. I was so impressed by Sack’s grasp on scientific history. He was able to website works from the 17th century as well as state of the art scientific discovery. Paraphrasing: humans tend to forget experiences that don’t work in story (or theory). It may be one reason religion has such a keep on humans, because it gives story to experiences. Observations (made so eloquently in the late 1800s are largely forgotten by mankind; unless there was a theory that included the observations. Darwin, created such a splash because he provided a theory behind the observations - evolution. Science strives to validate the story through observation and through verification through extrapolation or interpolation. So that when all the “points” (or trials) “fit” the theory it is deemed true. Sack’s description of the history scientific progress being a kin to a mountain climber’s ascent of a mountain was also valuable. He didn’t see, Newton’s work, for example, being replaced by Einstein’s work on relativity; but rather Newton’s work was a picture at a given elevation - excellent in it’s description of the landscape; but one that at a higher elevation, as the ascent progressed, the landscape would look different. He saw historians as looking at the climb after the “trial and error” attempts at climbing the mountain, looking at the “royal climb” devoid for the most part of the and error - and countless false attempts and rouge routes. I’m struck by two things: modern day man’s relative lack of curiosity and our inattentiveness to the natural world. Instead we seem fixated on technology and the superficial. This doesn’t seem to bode well as the natural globe gives insights to adaptations created over billions of years. There is SO much to be learned in the evolution that has proceeded.And this just scratches the surface of the insights to be gained into consciousness there is in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bend of the River [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Biscuits, apples and the troubled past. The second of five genre defining Westerns that director Anthony Mann created with James Stewart, Bend Of The River is the first one to be created in color. The slick screenplay is written by Borden Chase from William Gulick's novel "Bend Of The Snake," with help for Stewart coming from Arthur Kennedy, Julie Adams, Rock Hudson & Jay C. Flippen. Stewart plays tutorial Glyn McLyntock who in 1847 is leading a wagon- train of homesteaders from troubled Missouri to the Oregon Territory. What the group are hoping for is a fresh start, a paradise, with McLyntock himself hoping for a fresh identity to escape his own troubled past. But after rescuing Emerson Cole (Kennedy) from a lynching, it's an act that has far reaching consequences for McLyntock and the trail once they obtain to Portland. In typical Anthony Mann style, McLyntock is a man tested to the maximum as he seeks to throw off his shackles and search a fresh redemption within a peaceful community. Cloaked in what would be become Mann's trademark stunning vistas (cinematography courtesy of Irving Glassberg), Bend Of The River is often thought of as the lighter tale from the Stewart/Mann partnership; most likely because it has more action and no small amount of comedy in there. But although it's a easy story in essence, it is given a hardboiled and psychological edge by the makers. An edge that asks searching questions of its "hero" in waiting. Can "McLyntock" indeed escape his past? And as a "hero" is it OK to use violence when he is wronged? Potent items that is acted with tremendous gravitas by Stewart. Very recommended picture, but in truth all five of them are really. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    OWS’s mind is wonderfully prepared for this, his final romp through the quirky histories of Evolution, Science, and Medicine. He adroitly connects the dots even where we didn’t by searching through ancient texts to search early truths that were either forgotten or rejected (some for a thousand years) because they were discovered before the common consciousness was ready them (he searched for three years before he came upon the writings of a physician working with amputees during the Civil Battle that described the phenomena of phantom limbs). Read this and watch the streams of consciousness become the River!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    Well written and very objective. His underlying analysis by reference to the evolution of the principles not only gives an historical perspective but demonstrates the relevance of investigative approaches pioneered in past centuries to current problems and developments

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    This was a really slow read for me. I struggled to obtain through it. It had a few bits and pieces of interesting information, but for the most part I found it to be a very unengaging read. I would not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    Two weeks before his death from cancer, Oliver Sacks outlined the contents of The River of Consciousness for the squad that would oversee its publication. If you knew you were dying, what would you wish to leave behind? It was this question as much as my appreciation of his other works that drew me to this their obituary of Sacks, the Fresh York Times said that he wrote about “the Brain’s Quirks”, and The River of Consciousness fits that description well. It is a collection of ten articles, some of which first appeared in The Fresh York Review of Books, on topics like the mental perception of time and speed, the mental lives of plants and worms, the fallibility of memory, and a mental feeling of disorder. The latest article, “Scotoma: Forgetting and Neglect in Science”, explores instances of significant scientific discoveries that were underappreciated or entirely ignored in their time. The first article, “Darwin and the Meaning of Flowers”, is somewhat various in topic but is quintessential Sacks: “I rejoice in the knowledge of my biological uniqueness and my biological antiquity and my biological kinship with all other forms of life….I trace back this sense of biological meaning to Darwin’s epiphany on the meaning of flowers, and to my own intimations of this in a London garden, nearly a lifetime ago”. That quote sums up well the style of the articles, which mixes science, case history, and Sacks’ special autobiographical memories of a life wondering why and pursuing knowledge, and is often philosophical in tone.I have read several of Sacks’ books and consider them to be aimed at a fairly smart and well-educated general audience. A lot of of these articles seem more academic in tone. If you read a hard-copy edition of the book you might wish to hold your phone handy to Google terms Sacks did not bother to define, like “paraphasia” or “proprioception” or to look up a picture of a Necker cube, since I doubt a reader would appreciate Sacks’ discussion of the phenomenon fully if they were not already familiar with it. I found myself struggling to understand assertions like “Charcot was convinced …that although no anatomical lesions could be demonstrated in patients with hysterical paralyses, there must nonetheless be a ‘physiological lesion’… located in the same part of the brain where, in an established neurological paralysis, an anatomical lesion…would be found.” Unless you have a truly impressive breadth of knowledge and vocabulary, prepare to be occasionally e River of Consciousness, in sum, is a fitting representation of Oliver Sacks: a brilliant mind rejoicing in life and eager to share his joy with the rest of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    What a amazing synthesizer he was, and what a loss that he is gone. I'm a psychoanalyst and truly enjoyed this integration of all the work we do in our offices. Amazing read for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Room Escape Game : Starry Sky [App]  2019-6-19 13:46

    very nice! flowed very well with medium to hard puzzles

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    In her beautifully written book, Marjory Stoneman Douglas presents a history of the Everglades that is as interesting and thought provoking today as the day it was published over 60 years ago The daughter of the founder of The Miami Herald, Marjory Stoneman Douglas was inspired by her father's interest in the Everglades and she became an necessary early advocate for protecting the Everglades. This book played an necessary role in focusing attention on the importance of the Everglades. But, forgetting all that, the artistry of her prose describing the Everglades is reason enough to and read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    Better than expected product and service. Fast, inexpensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    Lust this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    So i bought this book after the Parkland school shootings. I wanted to know about the woman this school was named after it. I'm very glad that I did she is an awesome independent woman who cared about the environment and can be a mentor for all those concerned with our Earths sustainability. Very satisfied to have the opportunity to learn about her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    If you live in Florida because it's warm, then this book may not be for you. But if you live in Florida and experience what it offers, or wish to learn what Florida is about, then this should be a amazing read for you. The author takes you back before there were people and walks you through the development of both the land and it's people. She not only mentions people and locations like; Osceola, Tamiami Trail, Dade, Government Cut, Flager, Collins, and Hammock, but she brings to life who or what they are. She has also interlaced mini stories of people and occurances that are mostly unknown, but very interesting to read about. Even if you have lived in Florida your whole life, you'll be saying, "Wow, I didn't know that".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    This is a amazing choice for massage therapists looking for something a small different, though I recommend it for anyone. I've been listening to it for 3 years now, and not sick of it yet. Excellent for Lomi Lomi massage or just spacing out for an hour.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    Hands down one of my favorite instrumental dub albums from the mid 1970s. The cd I have has a ton of bunus material and mastered with clarity with that thumping bottom end. What I like about this release.....just about everything from Pablo's melodica's melodies to the tight bass and drums and....wait the use of an ARP string ensemble! This is grooving down-tempo reggae drenched in roots juice like a comfort food for the ears. I love some of the early Lee Perry and U-Roy dub but AP's sound is much more composed and refined and less jarring that some other early period Jamaican dub can be. East of the Nile is a high benchmark for the genre known as roots dub!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    Even though I have spent a lot of years exploring the Everglades and Huge Cypress I found this book very interesting. It provides solid info about the history of the region. Unfortunately the people who have had control of the water in south Florida in latest years have not been doing a very amazing job of protecting the Everglades area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    A timeless classic that is necessary today as when written in 1947....SAVE THE EVERGLADES !!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    I first got this album on vinyl back in high school during the early 80s. I was so entraced by it, I got my parents to me a melodica! I still have my melodica and I still have the vinyl record and both are in amazing shape, but I got the CD for the convenience and clearity. I was thrilled with the tracks and the sound quality.I had the privelage of seeing Augustus Pablo perform at NYC's Beacon Theater on Broadway. A tiny, thin man with awesome power to captivate! He wasn't showy or flashy and all he wore was a easy shirt and jeans, but man, it was a strong show!For those with varied eclectic taste, I think this album is to Augustus Pablo what I feel Canyon Trilogy is to Carlos Nakkai (Native American flute music). Its a defining album. In each case, the melody is hypnotic and hauntingly beautiful. Even people who aren't true reggae fans can appreciate this album. Its not "too mellow" at all. Its just right!If you love roots reggae, this album is a MUST have in your collection. This is the sound that created me fall in love with roots reggae when I was a child and why I still love it now. Its not the sound of rap style reggae you hear today. Its totally classic reggae.I only want Augustus Pablo were still with us to create more attractive music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    Sit back and have fun the mystical ride through Pablo's music. Roll a couple spliffs for maximum appreciation. One love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    We know her name from a terror event. This book written by Marjory Stoneman Douglas understandably confirms her a heroine in early days of ecological preservation. You will understand why a FL school carries her name and how she loved the fascinated evironment of the Everglades. I lived there 40 years and am aghast at the hurt event in these times. You will realize what a conservation prophet she was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    Classic book on Florida's Everglades. Well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    Perfect album. The wife even likes it! A+++! !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    awesime

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    Establishing a career in the overcrowded shop of 'Dub' melody is never going to be an simple task....unless your name is "King Tubby", "Lee 'Scratch' Perry" or "Mad Professor", standing out from the multitude of artists that have produced different Dub tracks or Remixes, or reinterpretations, is harder than we probably imagine. And the fact that Dub melody is largely considered to be the preserve of either the 'Dreadlocked' or 'Permanently Stoned', limits its crossover appeal. Yet Augustus Pablo was either wise enough, or indeed forward thinking enough, to realise that merely creating a Dub album that didn't differentiate itself from any other Dub album, was going to be a pointless exercise....so Augustus tapped into a shop that was largely untouched. The 'Melodic' spectrum of Dub music, by completely sidestepping the bass massive sounds, and reverb-ladened echo effects that largely dominate Dub music, he was able to bring something uniquely his to the table. And with even more of an angle, he used the 'Yazoo' (considered to be a Children's harmonic instrument) and more importantly & significantly....the 'Melodica' (a harmonica with a keyboard), which would create up his organ-orientated form of Dub music, with superb use of Piano, Synthesizer, producing a sound far more relaxed and Delicate edge, than Dub melody is usually given ose hoping for the deep thumping bass, that makes up a lot of Dub music, will be either shocked or surprised to hear that, this is a million miles away from those sorts of Dub tracks, instead what Augustus does is create simple, melody-driven tracks that focus on the earthy, reflective and organic use of his Yazoo & melodica. Whether Its haunting Oriental-esque melody, or easy vocal lines that for all intents and purposes sound like a medative lullaby's, or indeed minor keys and prominent melodica lines , coupled with Pablo alternating rudimentary but spooky solos on melodica and organ over a jagged riddim, it's arguably all so beautifully implemented and produced, that its feels less like Dub and more mellow instrumental roots reggae. Its interesting to hear how Augustus takes that simplest of rhythms and builds tunes, arrangements around this central rhythm / idea, and the vibes are of the most relaxed kind, as the melody never really gets past a slow-paced grooves, that languish over harmonious stoned gustus has created several absolutely essential albums in this career, and his simplified, stripped down, plaintive form of melodic-Dub truly deserved a wider-audience, as his melody has the special ability to express moods. But it, something contemplative or organic, it was a sound that was able to express moods in the method that different forms of 'Jazz' melody is able to. His melodica is largely the key to his sound, and the easy instrument's unusual sound is hard to mistake for anything else, colouring and texturing the easy rhythms, in a oddly delicate way, yet the vaguely Middle Eastern sound of his melodica is immediately recognisable, and therefore makes his warm and compelling melody that much more accessible. This is considered to be amongst his best albums (along with " King Tubbys Meets Rockers Uptown"), as the most impressive body of his work, and having thoroughly enjoyed this album, I whole-heartily recommend it to anyone thinking of picking up Augustus' work, as it is in turns: Mellow, downtempo, laid-back and beautifully rendered, yet also spiritual & possessing a dark and mystical ambience. Critics will point to the fact that the different tracks on his albums, aren't radically various from each other, and have a tendency to blend into each other. That is partially true, as it's very simple for his sound to wash over the listener, and before you realise it...your halfway through the album. But such criticisms should not dissuade potential buyers, as this is some of the most organically expressive instrumental Dub music, I've had the pleasure of listening to, and it's one of those rare breed of albums, in which you don't necessarily have to be in a certain mood to listen to, and you feel in a better mood for having listened to it.......Essential

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    The book is an perfect history of Flirida in colonial days up to the present, but the author has misnamed it. It is not specifically about the Ever-glades, its content, its seasonal changes. She is much more a historian than a naturalist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Everglades: River of Grass []  2020-1-16 12:30

    For some reason, missed out on this book over the years... so got a copy here to add to my "Florida" collection. At a time when the politicians were wrangling every dollar they could out of "big sugar" - Douglas explained the special importance of the Everglades, and why it was so necessary to honor that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    This is one of his best and most popular productions of his signature melodica based reggae/dub/instrumental compositions.He was one of the seminal amazing artists of Reggae.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East of the River Nile []  2020-7-20 19:38

    This is a really amazing album. I think every song on here is quality and enjoyable to listen too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    My wife passed away about two years ago. Her best mate was ask to speak at the funeral. As she was pondering what to say the voice of my deceased wife whispered to her”The picture is so much bigger than we ever imagined “ I feel like I understand that picture just a small better now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    It's a very very interesting theory and it well could be real but it still a theory but it's an interesting thing to read particularly if you were LDS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    Although some astronomers evidently not satisfied with the author's ideas on creation, the truth is they do not even agree with themselves on a lot of things.I really liked his ideas and they were presented in a very logical manner. It was actually quite simple reading considering the fact it is an astronomical discussion, and I agree that much of what he says is quite possible. Is it going to affect my testimony if proven wrong? No! But it does seem logical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    While In high school I had the question "What does it all mean?" I pictured the universe when asking this question. After graduating high school I found the Mormon Church, received a testimony and my question began to be answered. I study the mysteries of God in the scriptures, I took astronomy in college, and I hold up with the pictures of the Hubble telescope. This book does a unbelievable job of bringing the scriptures, the quotes from past prophets, and modern day astronomy together in a method that exceeded all my expectations in finding the answers to my life long question...What does it all mean?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    I think this is a revised ver from the one I read a few years ago. It is laid out much better, getting to the points required to build it's result, but it felt like it missed the excitement of the original that led to the same result. I like them both but the first one better. On the other hand, I may be misremembering the first reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    This book was a beautiful amazing read. I think that he has a very amazing hypothesis of how he thinks the galaxy is set up. It definitely makes you think. However I feel he didn't really create it very scientific, it was more he just interpreted some scriptures and wrote down his interpretations of them. The scientific evidence he did have was very out of date. That being said he had an interesting idea, and since the lord hasn't revealed the method it works we can't that its not true. Worth reading once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    An exemplary story merging religion with science. It really makes you think of what's out in zone further than we can see. It's awesome to think of how a lot of worlds are out there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    The author declares correctly that he presents no doctrine of his church. As a clear-thinking and faithful Latter-day Saint however, he provides his readers with a plausible explanation of the role and purpose of human kind on earth and in the cosmos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    Well, what can I say about a book that uses very dated science, should have been a 2 page blog post on some speculative fantasy LDS theology www service where potentially sarcastic theories are written as real, is repetitive and basically a silly theory to think that one can grasp the vastness of God and his put in all existence, by limited him to our puny Galaxy. I was very surprised anyone would even publish this book, but looking at the cover it was self published! That alone is a beautiful amazing sign about the quality of the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kolob Theorem, a Mormon’s View of God’s Starry Universe []  2020-7-3 18:54

    Simple to understand, simple to search references along the way, logical coordination with scientific knowledge and LDS scripture. Recommend to any one who doubts Heavenly Father's hand in the scientific realm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorful theme Red bubble starry sky art [App]  2019-5-2 13:20

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorful starry sky planet theme brigth star [App]  2019-2-3 13:20

    very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorful theme Red bubble starry sky art [App]  2019-5-2 13:20

    ok who are we still going for a walk or drive my truck and gs and I'm not going to be able to obtain it in the mail tomorrow morning to see if ok and what is the cost o ii for I io ok and you are the one that I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Colorful starry sky planet theme brigth star [App]  2019-2-3 13:20

    Gp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacred River: The Ganges of India []  2020-2-1 5:36

    I bought the e book kindle ver of this and would not recommend. This is a picture book with beautifully done art work that isn't formated will for the e reader

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mark Twain & The River of Timeless Temptation []  2020-2-12 19:6

    Fun read. I love historical fiction. This book plays with the idea that Samuel Clemens' may have struck a with the devil for his success, fame, remarkable life and timeless is inventive, quirky (in the best ways), compact book takes the reader on an Amazon-like river journey based on a small known part of Clemens' actual life, including his first international trip. It takes put on Nicaragua's intriguing, but also small known, Río San Juan. The river essentially becomes a main hero offering up story layered upon story. Traveling through time, Tag Twain crosses paths with an awesome array of historically significant characters who play a role in what may have been a soul sucking an unusual, off-beat style Kerr interweaves Twain's/Clemens' true words with the fictional Sammy's. While he identifies the source of each usage, it may confuse some readers. The ending leaves us hanging a bit, but hopefully that means the writer will continue to play with and further develop his curious idea. Given Tag Twain's globetrotting, there's plenty more actual history and imaginative storytelling to be done. Where to next for Tag Twain and his mysterious traveling companion, Mr. Brown?!?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:32

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas has a lyrical style that transport you to the time and put of which she writes. Having also read Everglades: River of Grass, it makes you fall in love with the locations she describes so beautifully. She was a very unique author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    I enjoyed reading about this feisty woman’s life and accomplishments. We benefit from her foresight and hard work. Amazing life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    The history of Florida, through her life and eyes, was a amazing trip. What a woman!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    I knew the Sheriff had a love story waiting to happen and I am so glad it was Cody. BTW, if I am ever lucky enough to have them over for dinner I’ll create sure dessert is served first. “I have rules for myself, and you break beautiful much every one of them.” I love how protective Eli is without being overbearing and aside from Cody’s tattoos—gah—I adore his independence and feistiness. They both care so much about each other and River Gorge has never been safer. The ending was beyond awesome and I am so looking forward to visiting again to see what else is new. Perhaps the newspaper will have more surprises to share. Another delightful addition to this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    Oh my goodness. Cody & Eli are so adorable. So far I have loved all the men from River George but these two are my favorite so far. Jacki done an awesome job and I love how the city proved they changed when Eli & Tristan won the election. That small city was definitely ready for a fresh mayor. I absolutely love these guys and I cant wait for more. ❤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    Nice book, that helped create us less sorry we couldn't visit every home on the river.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    It took me 2 1/2 hours to pioneer through this riveting read. I read the full-length book a few years ago and this shortened ver for young students was a amazing refresher and I learned much more than I did the first time. In reading this book you will be glad you weren't on this perilous journey with former President Theodore Roosevelt and his entourage. Every kind of danger imaginable is encountered on this seven week journey down The River of Doubt not knowing how long the river was or now navigable it was. In addition to having a traitor in their midst dangers galore lurk in the jungle when survival became all but I mentioned this book was written for students but I, as an adult, was mesmerized by it as well. I would say that an individual who is reading at a amazing 5th grade level would be able to have fun the book. As a parent you may wish to take turns reading portions with you kid one chapter at a time. I can't imagine they being uninterested in this book. I am going to an extra five copies to give away as bonuses as the situation arises. Do yourself a favor and the book. Your kid will thank you for it and he may even develop an interest in reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    Former President Teddy Roosevelt was invited down to Brazil to give a series of lectures. While down there, he was invited to join an expedition to discover and map what was believed to be a fresh branch of the Amazon, the River of Doubt. Never one to say no to a amazing adventure, Teddy and his son Kermit joined the expedition led by renowned Brazilian explorer Cândido Mariano da Silva Rondon. Instead of finding a nice simple river, though, the expedition encountered numerous difficulties and all of them were in danger of not making it out of the deep jungles of Brazil is expedition is referenced a few times in THE LOST CITY OF Z so my interest in it was first piqued when I read that book. It did not disappoint as an exciting real life exploration/adventure/survival story. It's well-written and outlines a crazy adventure! It is just plain miraculous Teddy Roosevelt lived as long as he did. He must have been part cat or something with all his near death experiences. (The book does give some background on his life but basically just 2 chapters before jumping into the Rondon/Roosevelt expedition.) Hand this to teens or adults who like exciting and adventurous stories or survival stories, they should eat it up and go away hunting for more information on Amazon exploration or Teddy tes on content: No language issues. No content. Not everyone makes it out alive and one death is a murder by shotgun that's somewhat described. Other injuries or discomforts are also a bit described and hunting for meal and science is mentioned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    Death on the River of Doubt follows the journey of Cândido Rondon and Theodore Roosevelt as they travel along the previously uncharted River of Doubt, discussing the trials and tribulations they face along the way, from hostile natives to disease and betrayal. The book moved through the expedition with chapters about necessary day(s), using the writings of the participants and the newspapers of the time to describe what happened in a method that is understandable to kids, while also factually correct and related to how more adult nonfiction books are written. This provided a pleasant surprise as usually juvenile nonfiction is generally sparse on sources and simplifies too much, but I did not feel this method at all throughout the book. Seiple balances the research portion and the kids’s portion very well, making it not seem like a researched topic, but more of a story (though without the poor presumptions of creative nonfiction). She provided a amazing amount of context, so people could go into this book not knowing too much about Roosevelt, Rondon, or the Amazon. The only thing I wanted more of was what they specifically discovered or how it has been helpful, but I think the interest in brevity is necessary here than comprehensiveness, as it will create children wish to search more. Teddy Roosevelt is such a monumental figure in US history, and this book can support children learn about him even more. Adults could use this riveting book by Nathan P, 16, Delaware Valley Mensa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Inspiring and illuminating autobiography of [email protected]#$% woman!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mark Twain & The River of Timeless Temptation []  2020-2-12 19:6

    This is really kind of an awesome novel. So much going on here...stories about Tag Twain, devils, globe history, time travel. Lots of amazing humor and items to think about. I look forward to reading more by this author in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    I love this series, and Cody and Eli are one of my favourite couples now! Eli has a lot of love to give and he just meshed with Cody so incredibly well. And I loved just how sure Eli is of Cody and how sweet and protective his instincts are. I had read the earlier ver of this novella but I'm glad it was expanded because we got answers to a lot of questions, especially who vandalised the shop. And the ending now has an actual solid resolution. Eli and Cody are super sweet and I can't wait to visit River Gorge again for more HEAs!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    Sit back in your favorite chair, obtain a nice glass of ice tea or a cup of coffee, maybe a litle snack, snuggle under a nice quilt and have fun the tour of these grand old homes. This book is filled with amazing pictures, both inside and out, plus dozens of info on the history of each plantation home. After looking at it, you'll feel like you were just there in person, and be a lot more knowledgeable about each plantation. I love going to historical locations, and even live in Virginia and have seen some of these homes in person, but it's always fun to pull out a amazing book and "tour" locations again. This book is super - you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    This book is page after page of gorgeous color images of plantation houses. There's plenty of information, too, but this is a book that I just like to sit and view the beautiful pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    attractive book! I enjoyed reading about the houses that we will be visiting soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    My first grader absolutely loved this book. He was so engrossed he read it every spare moment he had. The bits I read with him were exciting and well written. Highly recommend!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    Amazing story. So a lot of facts about Roosevelt that I never knew

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    When I moved to Florida in 1973 I almost immediately fell in love with the pine forests, the bayheads, the shallow lakes, the hardwood hammocks and the swamps. By then much hurt had been done to the state and more was contemplated. The drainage canals around Miami, the cross Florida Barge Canal and other, often quite unfeasible schemes, had either been done, started and then scrapped, or were in the works. It seems like the temptation to "improve" Florida from the late 1800s on was so powerful it was almost impossible to stop. A number of people had warned about the fragility of the Everglades and other Florida ecosystems, but few listened. However one talented writer with a remarkable background was able to support along the effort to protect the Everglades. Almost simultaneously with the establishment of Everglades National Park, Marjory Stoneman Douglas published her "Everglades: River of Grass'" now the standard work on the subject. In it she demonstrated that the Everglades was not a worthless swamp, but a vibrant ecological community with a long history. Her book's first printing was sold out within 2 months! Other wars were raging by the time I reached Florida- the Florida Barge Canal, of course, but also efforts to protect the Huge Cypress and Fakahatchee Strand. Among the people involved were Archie Carr and his wife Marjorie Carr (the latter is included in a image in the current book).Marjory Stoneman Douglas, in her autobiography based on tape recordings by John Rothchild, subtitled "Voice of the River," was an institution in the Sunshine State and her book informs her a lot of admirers of the struggles and triumphs she had in a life that spanned a whole century. It is a fascinating tale and full of associations with the most prominent names in Florida and in literature, newspaper publishing and politics. I recommend it highly to anyone, but especially those who are interested in the Florida that used to is brings up another point, and a very sad one. I got to see some of what was left of Florida's natural environment, including Everglades National Park and the Ocala Scrub while I was in Florida (some in the company of Archie Carr). It was a ghost of what once was! Even though the citizens of Florida voted in monies to up thousands of acres of sensitive areas, there were a lot of tragic losses. The state's wilderness has deteriorated further since I left it in 1978. I have no want now to return and see the result, but what is left in Huge Cypress, the Everglades, the Ocala Scrub, and a lot of others, is there because of people like Marjory Stoneman Douglas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Quick shipping, amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mark Twain & The River of Timeless Temptation []  2020-2-12 19:6

    Time traveling down the river with Tag Twain? Well, it isn’t the Mississippi, but the Rio San Juan and Lake Nicaragua, and the future-great-author isn’t alone on this voyage. He has a traveling companion who goes by the name of “Mr. Brown”, who, for his own nefarious reasons, gives Twain a lesson in true history. Who knew that so a lot of popular people, from various periods of time, would present up on this little and oft-forgotten part of the world? After reading Jon Kerr’s “Mark Twain and the River of Timeless Temptation”, you’ll may never look at history in quite the same method again. Kerr blends his deep understanding of this region with a wonderfully clever and humorous writing style that moves this book along like a tropical breeze down the Rio San Juan. But it ain’t all fun and games. Watch out for those sharks, some human, some not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    I LOVE this series! I am SOOOO glad Ms James wrote more books about the men in River eriff Eli Barrett meets sext mechanic Cody Iverson and they agree to just one night together. However they both know that one time would never be enough. With Eli up for re-election, Cody isn’t so sure making their ‘relationship’ public in such a little city is such a amazing idea. Eli tries to reassure Cody that he won’t hide who he is and that if he doesn’t obtain re-elected, Cody is well worth it.**originally released as a freebie on Prolific Works but has been expanded to TWICE as long and the additions are sooo worth the reread*******POV... multi first personStandalone or series... series but CAN be read as a standaloneHangover... slightRecommend... YESreread... YES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    Really loved this story. It was sweet but in a true way? If that makes sense? Eli and Cody were such a amazing couple. I just adored eli. He was firm with Cody when he was drunk and didn't keep his behavior versus him or even really tease him too much about it. Even though he originally wanted just one night on the DL he quickly flipped that and even basically came out for/with him in spite of potentially losing his job. Cody just really required to be loved and accepted for who he was and it created me so satisfied that he found a put that he was. This whole series has been unbelievable and I can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    The author done a truly stunning job of taking this book and expanding it, there are more info but the story line remains e main characters are just awesome and I loved getting to see them in a longer book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    It's what I needed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Babylon 5: The River of Souls []  2020-7-18 19:49

    The River of Souls, Chris Franke's final B5 soundtrack, mixes everything from keyboards and orchestra to vocal chant and exotic instruments. The end effect is a score which sounds more like it came from a major motion picture, rather than a cable TV movie. Franke has borrowed very small from his earlier B5 scores for The River of Souls, and the samples he has re-used are often very subtle and blend in well with the newer material. The River of Souls bears a passing resemblance to some of Franke's fifth season B5 work, but otherwise it's completely various in style and overall feel. In the shorter cues, like "Scissorhands" and "Rage Unleashed", Franke seems more interested in making noise than actual music, but the longer cues such as "The Lost Souls of Ralga", "'You Created a Mistake.'", and "Soul Hunter's Sacrifice" present Franke at his musical best, and are what create this CD worth buying. It's hard to tell whether The River of Souls reaches the wonderful emotional impact of Endgame or In The Beginning since it approaches the listener from a completely various musical perspective, but I do have to rank it as one of Franke's better works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    Purchased book for grandson. I read River of Doubt and I loved it. Bin sure my grandson will have fun thus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    Amazing take on Theodore Roosevelt and his adventures after he left the Presidency. As an adult I picked this book up at the library for myself because it looked interesting. It was quite riveting. The book flowed well, and the pictures interspersed throughout the text were informative and relevant. The story truly brings home what it was like for adventurers during this time period and how close Theodore Roosevelt actually came to e book gives some background on Roosevelt as he was growing up until he gets to the White House. He then went to South America for a visit but was offered the possibility of an adventure, that of mapping a river that led into the Amazon that had not been drawn on any maps previously. The hardships are clearly stated but not in a graphic method that would be disturbing to an older child. I do agree with the 7th grade and up age level. Certainly the reading level is lower than that but the content might be upsetting for sensitive is is an informative book, and reading it created me wish to pick up other books by Samantha Seiple. This is well worth your time for adults and older children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wartoon Moon Starry Sky Pentagram Origami Stars Paper and Luminous Starry Sky Paper Set, 1880 Sheets []  2019-12-17 19:34

    Very disappointed in these papers. I was only able to use about half of the styles, the other half were chop incorrectly, making them too large, or misprinted, where the photos were split in half. A majority of these poorly created papers also had marketing print on them, making the deigns look even more not good quality than they already were. Please look elsewhere if you're looking for decent lucky star paper!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wartoon Moon Starry Sky Pentagram Origami Stars Paper and Luminous Starry Sky Paper Set, 1880 Sheets []  2019-12-17 19:34

    Very nice steps od paper for quilling

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:32

    This book is the 'quicker picker upper inspirational nudge' for all ages. The author, Marjory Stoneman Douglas, is a celebrity: a vast wilderness, called "10,000 Islands", in the Gulf of Mexico; buildings all over Florida; press coverage of epic proportions have been dedicated to this one little woman. At the age of 79 she discovered that her real mission was to save the Florida Everglades. In 1947 she had written the best-selling book, The River of Grass about the Florida Everglades & in the decades that followed, she felt the incursion upon the wild Florida locations by agriculture, canal-building, streets and development were dealing a death knell to the region & she was going to do something about that. This book is her own story and her journey of transforming herself into one of America's premier environmentalists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sheriff's Choice: The Men of River Gorge []  2020-6-25 18:41

    I really am so glad with this longer ver of this story. I love getting more of Cody and Eli. These two are so cute together. Jacki James just makes a story that I obtain pulled right in. I can't wait for more in this series. There are so a lot of more characters that I can't wait for their story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    I bought this book before departing on a trip along the James River for the purpose of visiting the old plantations. My original ancestors settled in this part of Virginia and I wanted to visit family locations. I loved the colourful images and rich descriptions. Though the Department of the Interior, Parks Service lists a lot of more old homes than were shown in this book, it highlighted the most famous ones. After reading this book, I picked out half a dozen I wanted to place in my travel itinerary. I visited Shirley and Berkeley and found them to be even more attractive than the presentations in the books. At both locations, the tour tutorials and bonus hostesses displayed the expected warm, Southern hospitality that these old homes were symbols of. Most are still privately owned and operated and are gems of our heritage. The book was an perfect representation of what one would see on a visit. I would recommend it to those who love to travel and visit historical websites and also to students of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plantation Homes of the James River []  2020-7-7 19:51

    This is a attractive book depicting the attractive homes on the James River. It's even better to use as a tutorial when seeing them in person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Death on the River of Doubt []  2020-7-24 18:58

    Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wartoon Moon Starry Sky Pentagram Origami Stars Paper and Luminous Starry Sky Paper Set, 1880 Sheets []  2019-12-17 19:34

    Got the “hearts/i love you pack”. Nice thickness to paper for beginners to use. Exceptional vibrant print and pattern. Dislike (2 star rating) is that the count of luminous star strips IS NOT the stated 500 qty, it’s only about 210 qty in 1 bag. The second minor problem is that the printed “I love you” is not what you get, obtain a various heart pattern. Being short 290qty luminous heart, the is a amazing one for $12.99. If there was 500 luminous stars, it will be a bargain. Returned and got replacement, same short on luminous stars count. Decided to keep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Perfect book. river of Grass is also excellent. Enjoyed the history but found it very sad that once again humans are destroying what nature had perfected by covering it it's pavement and homes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marjory Stoneman Douglas: Voice of the River []  2020-2-7 19:33

    The book has a wealth of info to help in understanding the history of Florida, especially south Florida and the challenges for the Everglades in the 1900s. It has a folksy note that feels as if she’s having a casual conversation with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mark Twain & The River of Timeless Temptation []  2020-2-12 19:6

    I really liked this book. Mr Kerr 's knowledge and clear affection for Twain are place expertly to the service of his story; and his choice of a wry, sarcastic voice for his narrator is a wise one. As another reviewer points out, this book fairly cries out for a sequel. I sure hope Mr Kerr obliges.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mark Twain & The River of Timeless Temptation []  2020-2-12 19:6

    Jon Kerr is a truly talented writer. You will love this book!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386