storms never last Reviews & Opinions


Submit storms never last review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm review []  2019-12-26 19:23

    My heart is racing in my chest, I can't see straight, and I still have the , it's not the flu. It's this wonderful rendition of Storm. Hits you right between the eyes and doesn't allow up until you're a quivering mess of it loud, play it often! J&H

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm review []  2019-12-26 19:23

    I want Amazon had more of her melody available for download. She takes classic melody and makes it new. This was a piece that she wrote, and it I'm sure it will be a classic 100 years from now. I've been trying to obtain an autographed image of her for years now, so if you read this Vanessa, please stop ignoring my fan mail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm review []  2019-12-26 19:23

    I only buy what I like to start

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on storms never last or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch storms never last video reviews and related movies:

    See Storms Never Last on youtube.

     related image

    See Storms Never Last (with Lyrics) - Miranda Lambert on youtube.

     related image

    See STORMS NEVER LAST...Dr Hook on youtube.

     related image

    See Storms Never Last (Never Say Die: The Final Concert Film, Nashville, Jan. '00) on youtube.

     related image

    See Storms Never Last on youtube.

     related image

    See Storms Never Last on youtube.

     related image

    See Storms Never Last on youtube.

     related image

    See Storms Never Last on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm review []  2019-12-26 19:23

    Take your blood pressure medication before listing to this. I found this to be an inspired rendition of Vivaldi's composition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    Just received this today and I already like them very much. I got the huge size but I thought they'd a small bigger in person. They are really very nicely created an feel very high quality. So far I used them to chop thick pieces of paper and some cardboard , and it chop through that material with no issue whatsoever. I'm left handed and are still very comfortable to hold. Like I said in my headline, they are expensive, but you obtain what you pay for. Hopefully I should have them for a long time. Very happy with my purchase and would buy them again.;

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    Just order second pair. Use to chop lettuce and no more brown lettuce from metal knife. Saves money. Fits in hand

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    Cool looking, innovative and sharp

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    What materials these scissors are amazing for: cardboard, plastic, reinforced fabric, felt, and more says the ey don't have a metal blade. It's the white ceramic material. Features to like about these scissors:* amazing for opening Amazon boxes - you won't slice what is inside*comfortable inner rubber on handle - the orange part - so feels amazing on your hand* amazing at cutting a dozens of materials as mentioned above* light weight to keep - not massive in your hand* fit easily in drawer - don't take up too much room* up to 11X longer lasting than steel* safer than metal blades - won't slice your fingers* really comfortable to pick up, use and lay down* never rusts - my other scissors have rusted* non-magnetic - when I'm sewing, sometimes pins stick to my scissors* amazing size ~ 200 mm for scissors and 60 mm for bladeThese scissors invite you to pick them up. You wish to use them. I would think they would be safer for kids to use, although you would still wish to te that there are some materials which they are not recommended for. I'll use them primarily for paper, cardboard and plastic wrap. These work amazing for those materials.I'm impressed with these scissors, and will hold them in my kitchen "catch-all" drawer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    I had seen ceramic knives but didn't wish to waste my cash in case they were junk..Wow, love these scissors! I'm using in the kitchen most of the time. I have used on cardboard boxes and they work on them just like a pair of metal scissors. In the kitchen (I'm sure part of this is mental) these scissors are bright & simple to create sure are clean. I honestly use to chop up meat, (within reason), stem + chop veggies, trim my parchment paper, all the normal stuff. These blades are sharp; I don't know if they can be re-sharpened at some point or not I'm impressed to know that they are that BPA free too. I don't even pretend to know much about this ceramic stuff, but, I use these a lot & they are comfortable in my hand. I haven't poked myself with the hints and I just have them lying loose in a drawer. At first I was super careful, thinking "ceramic" if I drop them they may shatter! Not so! These are keepers!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    Most of us appreciate innovation and zone age materials that can replace traditional ones. Ceramic blades used for kitchen knives or incorporated in scissors seemed intriguing so I was apprehensively curious to test and compare them hands on. These Slice scissors have a high tech, exotic feel in your hands right out of the box. They look extremely clean and feel lighter weight compared with their metal siblings. The grip holes are generously wide so that all four fingers easily fit comfortably enabling you to apply pressure with your full finger strength. The orange colourful material circling the grip feels rubberized and comfortable but also seems non-slip in case your hands are wet or moist. The blade end is comparatively short at only about 3 inches. The pivot point keeps the ceramic blades very close and precise feeling. I sharpen my metal kitchen scissors regularly so would never consider running my finger along the length of those any more than I would my Chef's knife. But you can do that with these without risk of slicing begin your skin, is there is a greater measure of safety. They chop extremely well and I tried a dozens of materials, from paper to cardboard boxes. According to the marketing information, they are supposed to stay sharp 11 times longer than metal scissors, due to their hardness. When it says ceramic, that's not to be confused with common ceramic used, say, in pots or decorative sculpture. This is zirconium oxide which is very fine and hard. I use it mainly to begin and later chop up shipping boxes and packaging and for that purpose they've been ideal. Much safer than my razor sharp metal scissors or running a knife over the packaging seams which can inadvertently score whats inside if you're not paying e advantages of these over metal as I can see so far, is first of all their light weight, which is amazing especially if your hand strength is waning as in an older person or perhaps a woman's hand, or if you routinely chop things all day. Second benefit is the safety factor and the reduced chance of slicing a finger inadvertently. Third is that they obviously will not rust as scissors might if exposed to water. And finally, they purportedly stay sharper 11 times as long as metal so they should be in top form for a very long time. The marketing material says they can even be used in industrial settings which seems to indicate they are indeed very long e downsides which is why i gave them just four stars is first, the price. These cost considerably more than metal scissors. In fact, up to double what related quality high carbon steel scissors typically cost. Though if you use scissors regularly for a hobby or work the additional initial cost might be offset by the cost of resharpening their metal counterparts especially over time. Second, and perhaps most concerning is that while ceramic is very hard which allows it to hold its edge so long, that also makes ceramic brittle. So dropping it on a concrete floor or dropping something on it accidentally might cause a break or a chip. Third is that a lot of steel scissors can be easily disassembled and sharpened in a quality knife sharpener or on sharpening stones yourself. These will most likely require a professional sharpener to handle the chore though that probably won't be important for a very long time, unless you use them very frequently.I like these scissors a lot and will see over time how they keep up, though I feel confident they should latest a lot of years unless I do something accidentally to them. I don't use them for sewing, but believe for a tailor or seamstress or even a hobbiest, the light weight if used perpetually might create the extra cost well worth it as a trade off for fatigue. The smaller blade length also makes them very simple to control and maneuver. It's mostly vanity, but I also love the clean high tech look these offer to your work area.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    We moved recently and these scissors were awesome must have to aid us in cutting tape, opening boxes, and for whatever else we required to cut!We used these a lot and they are still sharp and usable retaining quality and looks!These scissors are amazing to keep onto. The inner handle part features a non-slip grip and it works well. I've never had my hand slip while cutting and trimming items. We have two left-handers in my family and we found the scissors to work well for right and left-handers which I can't say for a lot of of the scissors we have in the e blades are ceramic so they are a lot safer to have in a house with three kids. There's been no accidentally snips, clips, or other injuries when using these. The blades though not steel or metal work just as amazing if not ese are beautiful lightweight so if cutting things for a long period of time my hand doesn't tire thing I really like about these is that they are so multipurpose. I can use these for crafting, school needs, kitchen meal prep, and for DIY project. Note that these are BPA and Lead-Free also being meal grade safe!I feel these are worth the price. They after a lot of users have become my favorite pair of scissors to have owned in my lifetime of 33 years! I have also the Slice 00100 Ceramic Blade Safety Cutter by this company too and have used it for a lot of years now so it's no surprise I adore these scissors too! Highest of recommendations!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    Really amazing pair of scissors. They chop through all sorts of paper, plastic, fabric, foil and other materials without snagging or catching. You also don't feel like you are struggling to create it through materials as you sometimes do with metal scissors - having to squeeze harder or wiggle the scissors to obtain a amazing 'bite' when whatever you are cutting is thick like corrugated cardboard or a clamshell package. I like how easily these glide through most any material. The grips are comfortable and the scissors are rather lightweight. They don't feel like they should be such massive duty workhorses. We've been using these for several months now, and they are still as sharp as the day they arrived. The blades have zero nicks or burrs even after less than gentle use by the hubby and cutting wire in his workshop and after being dropped or knocked off tables/countertops multiple times. We now war over whose scissors these are - mine for household and craft use or his for his workshop. They are expensive compared to metal scissors, but these have performed better than metal versions that cost the same or more. No worries about rusting, especially if you end up using these in the kitchen and have to wash them frequently.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    All I have to say is wow! I have never owned such scissors before. They will seriously not chop your fingers or skin. It cuts through paper and cartoon boxes so well; and practically everything I required to chop in my house. The handle is very comfortable. The chop is exceptionally premium and very smooth begin and finitely would recommend these scissors; not only for safety reasons but also for the quality of cut.I hope this info was helpful to you. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slice 10545 Large Ceramic Scissors, Safer Choice Rounded Tip, Never Rusts, BPA & Lead Free, Food Grade, Lasts 11x Longer than Steel review []  2019-12-14 18:11

    I tend to be accident prone when it comes to scissors for some reason. We usually buy really sharp scissors and I have quite a few scars on my hands from using them. The safety feature of these scissors is great. If anyone could manage to chop themselves with it, it'd be me. I haven't chop myself a single time using these, even though they are sharp enough to begin boxes without a single problem. They feel very well created when using them. Definitely not afraid they'll break when I'm cutting begin cardboard boxes. They are also lighter than the other scissors I'm used to cutting with. I like I can obtain enough of my fingers in them to place the needed pressure on them and they really don't slip at all. Comfortable to use and very effective. Highly recommend these if you use scissors to begin boxes and obtain toys and other things out of boxes and tend to obtain yourself chop up while doing so (or even if you just wish a quality pair of primary scissors in your home).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Never So Few review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    This was Steve McQueen's breakout role and I can see why. He does not have that much screen time, but he makes the most of every stage he is in. The jungle parts are okay, but they could have lost the whole Frankie and Gina romance thing and no would miss it. There was just no chemistry there. Actually the Burmese girl was more his type, except for the whole spy thing. Then there is Peter Lawford. Kind of disappointing. He seemed to be just collecting a paycheck. The rest is okay. It was worth 2 hours to see McQueen's first staring role, but I would not pay to see it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Never So Few review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Nothing in this battle makes sense. Why you expect it to create sense now? An allied guerrilla unit led by Capt. Tom Reynolds (Frank Sinatra) deals with the Japanese troops and warlord controlled Chinese units out in the Burma jungle. "In the hills of North Burma, gateway to the vast prize of Asia, less than a thousand Kachin warriors, fighting under American and British leadership of the O.S.S., held back 40,000 Japanese in the critical, early years of Globe Battle II. It has been said NEVER have free men everywhere owed so much to SO FEW". Killer Warrants and The Unprecedented War. Directed by John Sturges and featuring Steve McQueen, Charles Bronson, Peter Lawford, Brian Donlevy, Gina Lollobrigida, Richard Johnson and Paul Henreid. Never So Few it's fair to say has a iffy reputation, originally conceived as a rat package battle film, it has some amazing strengths and some annoying weaknesses. The story itself is great, a part of the battle that deserves to have been portrayed on the huge screen, but why the makers didn't exorcise the whole romantic thread remains not just a mystery, but nearly a movie killer. As lovely as Miss Lollobrigida is, her whole hero arc, and the relationship with Sinatra's stoic Reynolds, is surplus to requirements. It serves absolutely no purpose to defining other characters or for narrative invention. This strand of the story carries the movie to over two hours in length, without this strand it's a movie of 90 mins focusing on the brave souls who fought in the Burmese conflict. Which is what it should have been. When dealing with the conflicts, both outer and inner, the movie does excite. The wily Sturges knows his method around an action stage and all the efforts here are gripping. Cast are fine and dandy, with McQueen dominating his scenes, Johnson the class act on show, while Sinatra, once he gets rid of the fake beard, shows his knack for tortured emotion to the point you just can't support but root for him even when he's being pig-headed (not a stretch for old blue eyes of course). Tech credits are mixed, the studio sets are easily spotted, but conversely so are the true and pleasing zone sequences filmed in Ceylon. The Panavision photography (William H. Daniels) is beautiful, a Metrocolor treat, but Hugo Friedhofer unusually turns in a lifeless musical score. All told it's not hard to see why it's a movie that divides opinions, it's very episodic and that romance drags it something terrible. But still powerful merits exist and it at least gets the core of the true story out in the public domain. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I sometimes feel that books maintaining a four star rating are often skipped by Amazon shoppers, as if four stars were the fresh three stars. I can't in all conscience give this book five stars, because I think that should be saved for real masterworks of history, and this isn't one. What it is is a very interesting, if a trifle dry, acc of what I guess is best described as the middle years of the Roman Empire--after the founding but before the ough it's simple to draw parallels to modern day shenanigans, to his credit author Mike Duncan for the most part lets the historical narrative speak for itself without opining much. He has a knack for inserting entertaining and insightful quotations at just the right moments. He manages to create things like the passing of an ancient law on land distribution genuinely suspenseful. And the time period itself hasn't been done to death (in fact he says that's why he picked it to write about). What I appreciated most, though, is that we aren't treated to graphic accounts of people being hacked to death in battles, a current literary trend. Duncan writes more about the workings of the Roman government and the people and circumstances that shaped laws and traditions that still resonate in consequence right down to our day. This book would be perfectly appropriate for a teen, or even preteen (it will have to be a intelligent preteen. Which of course your own is, naturally. Dumb people don't research books on Ancient Rome!).Flaws? Not many. It is as mentioned a small dry, which to me is not really a downside. If I'm reading right before bed I don't wish anything too electrifying because then I can't sleep. More of a issue (and what keeps this from being five stars) is that the figures in this book have long Latin names that sometimes sound alike and Duncan doesn't always do the best job differentiating them from one another. I also would have appreciated a graph in the beginning outlining the differences between the quaestors, praetors, consuls, etc. in both the scope and power of the different jobs. He does go over it, but you basically have to memorize the order and job info to understand the subsequent goings-on. A easy-to-refer-to chart would have been nice.Other than that, not a poor job at all and a fun read, for the right mind. A powerful fours stars and rating overall:GRADE: B+

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    After finishing the History of Rome podcast two years ago I have been craving more info in a medium as well crafted as Michael Duncan's perspective. This books fits into a niche time-period for a lot of who yearn for more info about the late republic, if you've enjoyed Duncan's previous works (History of Rome and Revolutions podcasts) you will be duly delighted by this work.Unfortunately despite the amazing content, there exist several quality control issues with the English rendition. Some words (such as ethnically and technically) have an "Ú" rather than the expected "hn" interjected into the spelling of the word. I've attached a few images to clarify the issue. Hopefully this problem will be corrected with future releases, so others won't dismiss the content based on the lack of QA. I would love to give this book five stars based on the content, but seeing 4 errors within ~50 pages puts a damper on an otherwise gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Few first-time writers of narrative history can claim to have endured a more rigorous boot camp than Mike Duncan. Duncan made the near-legendary podcast, “The History of Rome.” In some 150 episodes, he took his listeners through the history of the Eternal City, from its origins in murky myth through to the fall of the Western Empire. (He’s since followed that triumph with the still more ambitious, “Revolutions,” an ongoing narration of modern interlocking revolutionary movements, from the English Civil Battle forward). The same tools that kept millions of listeners riveted to his audio work likewise serve to create “The Storm Before the Storm” such a ose familiar with Roman history will search no surprises here, just an perfect narration of happenings already well-tread. All the usual characters (The Gracchi, Marius, Sulla, Cinna, etc.) are just where you’d expect to search them, their strengths, weaknesses, and idiosyncrasies on full display. Where Duncan succeeds is in the weave of the narrative, all delivered with his excellent, dry humor and eye for detail. That said, those unfamiliar with the history will likewise search the story highly accessible, which is a feat. Duncan seamlessly incorporates the important background information, without letting it bog down his narrative. All and all, an impressive success.I only have one caveat. Duncan wisely avoids the seductive pitfall of trying to link the ancient history to modern events. These parallels are plain enough to see. A history should aim for a quality of timelessness rather than being bound to a particular moment. While that is all well and good, Duncan doesn’t create enough of an effort to fully offer a thesis of his own about the why of the Republic’s slide into chaos. Of course, the a lot of causes (increased income inequality, swelling urban poverty, failure of unwritten political norms) vein the narrative. However, I found myself wishing Duncan offered a more definitive analysis of these trends. Which factors were cause and which effect? Does he feel any were more or less decisive? Duncan remains fairly silent on such questions. Of course, this is a NARRATIVE history, but even the best of that genre (think Gibbon), don’t shy away from such authorial analysis. Indeed, it is just that argument which makes those works great. Historians don’t merely exist to tell their readers of the past; they are meant to elucidate it as well. Thucydides famously wrote, “Most people, in fact, will not take the problem in finding out the truth, but are much more inclined to accept the first story they hear.” This work could’ve used a dose more of “truth,” even if just an introduction and conclusion. But as storytelling, it succeeds admirably.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Ignoring the ubiquitous and distracting misprint, I largely enjoyed the work. Duncan's narrative style is engaging and provides the reader with much of the historical facts and context without dryly intoning it. In particular, the recounting of the Gracchi, and Sulla's tomfoolery were definite high times the narrative gets lost in the recounting of the political actors. As we follow careers from the legions to consul, only to have the individual die and the globe move on, without adding much to the greater far the weakest points of the book come towards the end as Duncan's narrative becomes increasingly fragmented and clearly rushed with the end itself coming rather abruptly and with small synthesis.I am not entirely sure what the author intended for me to take away from the read. While some would praise a historical work of nonfiction for not overanalyzing or moralizing-at times I was left feeling as though segments of the book had been surgically removed. While we are given fact and context, small is given in the ways of original analysis or e history itself is highly relevant and the dilemma posed by the devolving mos maiorum leaves the reader with much to chew l in all I think the greatest thing I can praise this book for is reigniting my curiosity and encouraging me to dive further into Roman and classical history, a topic that a lot of authors are unable to bring to life and one which Duncan has a clear passion for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    The late Roman Republic is one of the most studied and most familiar periods of history. Even the average American - famously ignorant of history - could probably tell you what happened to Julius Caesar or the name of Cleopatra's lover (thanks in no little part to Shakespeare's plays). But there's surprisingly small attention paid to the period before Caesar, the happenings that set the scene for the fall of the Republic. Mike Duncan, host of the perfect History of Rome Podcast, takes a stab, writing the first book focused exclusively on the period 130-80 BC I have seen. It's a intelligent move, not just for a first-time author trying to create a name for himself, but also because it will introduce readers to an necessary part of Rome's Duncan argues in the introduction, the 50 years between 130-80 BC helped set the scene for the collapse of the Republic. Domestically, the polarization between conservatives (optimates) and populists (populares) prevented the Republic from undertaking important reforms. The Gracchi brothers, two senators who attempted to push redistributive land reform, were ultimately murdered for their efforts. Duncan then chronicles the rising tensions on the Italian peninsula as Italians became increasingly forceful in their demands for citizenship. The Senate eventually caved and granted Italians citizenship (but tried to dilute their voting rights through gerrymandering). Meanwhile, Rome faced a dozens of threats on its periphery from tribes and former client states, including in Numidia and Gaul. Roman diplomacy and military force finally quelled these threats after years of fighting. However, Rome was then wracked by civil battle as two of its top generals, Gaius Marius and Lucius Cornelius Sulla, fought for the right to lead Rome's armies east versus King Mithridates of Pontus. The Senate had appointed Sulla, but the popularly elected Tribune maneuvered to obtain Marius - darling of the populares - appointed instead. Sulla marched his troops on Rome, declared himself dictator, and, after years of civil war, attempted to reform Roman law to enshrine the position of the optimates.Just as in his podcast, Duncan's writing is clear, accessible, and even sometimes funny. This is a complicated period of Roman history, but Duncan provides enough background for readers to follow along. It might have been helpful to have included a dramatis personae listing all of the major players, but Duncan does enough to distinguish the different Latin names from each e problems Rome dealt with during this period - class conflict, populism, gerrymandering, inequality, polarization, breaking political norms - should be familiar to Americans in the 2010s. Duncan himself notes the commonalities in the introduction to this book, but I actually thought that comparison would have been more effective in an epilogue, after the reader had gained a better understanding of the Roman history. This type of historical comparison could have been really interesting, but as is it just seems more like a method to catch the reader's attention than a sustained analysis. Likewise, Duncan does provide an effective summary of how the issues of 130-80 BC ultimately led to the collapse of the Republic, but he never quite provides a definitive analysis of why Rome took such a turn for the worse during this period. He mentions a few possible reasons, such as the failure of land reform, but I would have liked a more succinct finitely recommended for readers interested in Roman history.[Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Rome's history was always eventful, but as to the fabric of the Republic and its institutions, it hummed along on cruise control for a few centuries, then things got interesting, and then it all went smash. This book is the history of the "interesting" years that set the scene for the final destruction of the Republic and rise of the Empire. It starts with the revolutionary Gracchi brothers, proceeds to Gaius Marius, and ends with the dictatorship of is book is not written by a tenured historian but by a podcaster who specializes in Roman history. Mike Duncan is one of a lot of serious amateurs who produce a very creditable job. He is in the company of the History of the English Language podcast, or the Bell Beaker blogger, folks who might as well have a PhD in the field in that they have done about as much work as a pro, and devoted as much thought. It doesn't look like a mashup of his podcasts, but a retelling based on that research. Perhaps it makes his prose a bit more narrative and less dry than an academic, but he does discuss the motivations and larger picture in addition to telling a smashing story.Duncan clearly leans heavily on the basic sources. Most of the facts of the history are sourced to different Roman authors, although he lets the reader know when said author is just propagandizing. (Interestingly, this book covers the same period as the famous Masters of Rome series of historical novels by Colleen McCullough. There are a lot of little scenes that I assumed McCullough invented. I see a lot of of them in this history, but with citations to the original authors.) The book also has a decent l in all, this book is a satisfying prequel to any of the a lot of fine histories of Caesar, the civil wars, and the rise of Augustus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Mike Duncan presents an overshadowed but nonetheless critical time period of Roman history. His book captures the period just preceding the era filled with the more popular names, eg Pompey the Amazing and of Julius Caesar. This period though is filled with its own colourful cast of characters, including seven time consul Gaius Marius, Sulla, Cinna, and Jugurtha. It is also complete with power struggles, assassinations, and civil wars. The themes will also sound familiar...pandering to the masses, entrenched bureaucrats and foreigners tarnishing the of the chief values of the book is Duncan's demonstration of the importance of political principles. He shows the pivotal happenings of the Grachhi brothers and how once the act of violence was accepted, it was only a matter of time until more sinister individuals seized on this principle and escalated the use of violence to achieve their goals. Everyone always wants to know how ancient Rome compares to modern America and this is the idea that is still just as relevant now as it was then, and will still end in the inevitable catastrophic results. When reason and debate are out as means of discourse, there is nothing left but brute force and if unchallenged, it is only a matter of time until the most ruthless gangs seize e book is highly entertaining and a definite for any ancient history fan.p.s. I assume readers are familiar with his podcast, The History of Rome, but if you are not, definitely go download and listen to it. It's unparalleled.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I found this a vivid recounting of a period with which I have long been familiar. I gained some fresh insight into a few key players, like Aemilianus and the Metelli and Cinna and Crassus Orator. I have been enjoying listening to the audiobook over the latest few days.But I was absolutely shocked at the end, when Duncan offered no attempt at a synthesis of the period as a whole. I agree that this material is incredibly topical, but how are we to generalize to the show when Duncan does not even attempt to draw any general principles? Perhaps the most frustrating moment in the book is when Duncan says that Sulla misdiagnosed the issue with the Republic...and then does not provide his own diagnosis, other than a tip at the excessive power of the senate. That in itself is an interesting thought that I do not follow and would love to hear more about.He has offered more perspective than this in the course of his unbelievable podcasts, which I recommend highly. And in this book he offers holistic perspectives on several major characters. And I will buy his next book in both hardcover and audio...but with the hopes that he will be more ambitious next time and offer more commentary.Another reviewer commented that the book reads episodically, and that was my experience with the audiobook. No single chapter felt incomplete, just the book as a whole. I have bumped up my original score to reflect my experience of the separate pieces of the book, taken apart from the w, could everyone go to Colleen McCullough's First Man in Rome and click the button about wanting to read it in kindle? I really wish to reread that series now, but I just cannot lug those things around anymore!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    This is a amazing book because:1. It is informative and has a fair amount of details, but not an overwhelming amount.2. At times, the writing has some wit and isn't 5 stars because:1. The aforementioned wit and humor is not that often. The book generally is beautiful dry. I felt the writing was lacking, and I was reading a college term paper. That probably comes across as a bit harsher than my intent.2. It is hard to hold track of all the various positions and their roles. As another reviewer mentioned, a diagram or chart in the front of the book serving as a reference tutorial would have been helpful.3. The maps were not very useful either. There were countless locations the author mentioned that were not on the map, while with maybe 1-2 exceptions, the locations that WERE marked on the map of Italy did not come up at all in the writing. It was a bit frustrating.Overall, a solid read that educated me quite a bit on the late Roman Republic, but it was far from flawless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Storm Before the Storm: The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic review [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    "The final win over Carthage in the Punic Battles led to rising economic inequality, dislocation of traditional ways of life, increasing political polarization, the breakdown of unspoken rules of political conduct, the privatization of the military, rampant corruption, endemic social and ethnic prejudice, wars over citizenship and voting rights, ongoing military quagmires, the introduction of violence as a political tool, and a set of elites so obsessed with their own privileges that they refused to reform the system in time to save it."Duncan makes no references to our current administration but the parallels are obvious… at least to me. Seven years ago the wealth of 388 billionaires equaled the wealth of the poorest half of humanity. Now it only takes five billionaires. Large companies like Snap, Fb and Alphabet are virtual dictatorships.Duncan’s Storm Before the Storm studies that critical generation before the rise of Caesar. It has much to teach us. I was immediately reminded of Ben Franklin’s admonition regarding what form of government the Constitutional Convention came up with: “A republic, if you can hold it,” he said. Both Franklin and Duncan remind us that democracies are fragile. If we continue to move corporate governance to a democratic-free location the consequences are predictable. Dictatorship, or something close, will rough actions such as refusing to muster for military service, electing tribunes who guarded versus patrician abuse, and by setting up sanctuaries, plebeians gained a true voice in governing Rome and checked the power of the Senate, which was largely organized around client-patron networks. Unfortunately, by the end of the Punic Wars, consuls, tribunes and even Assemblies no longer checked the authority of the strong aristocratic Senate but, instead, extended its powers.Duncan weaves a complex but interesting tale of republican soil breeding tyrants. Our current President boasted he could “shoot somebody and not lose voters.” Sulla read his report on the Mithridatic Battle to the Roman Senate while soldiers slaughtered 6,000 prisoners within earshot. Thankfully, we haven’t reached that scene but the underlying notice seems similar; opponents will be treated he rose to power, Sulla flaunted traditional rules of loyalty and etiquette to victory fame. His followers paid more attention to what could be done, rather than what should be done. He thought he was restoring the Senate to its former glory but senatorial domination had been a latest development. Making Rome amazing again should not have meant restoring an oligarchy. Sulla failed to learn from nomic inequality, polarization and ruthless ambition led to the end of peaceful power transitions in Rome and to the end of the Republic. As Franklin implied, we need to do more than hope it doesn’t happen here. We need to work to hold our nce corporations wield such influence, especially after what could be termed the storm before the storm for America in the form of Citizens United, maintaining some semblance of democracy within corporate governance is equally important.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    One of the best apps on Google Play. This application is actually more interested in giving you useful and accurate info than showing you ads. The weather forecast is sparse, but this app's purpose is giving you current conditions and hazardous alerts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    This has been my GO TO RADAR AND STORM APP. LATELY THE RADAR HAS BEEN ABOUT 10 TO 15 MINUTES BEHIND! THAT'S A PROBLEM AND I'VE LOWERED MY RATING. It provides ADEQUATE everyday forecast data by clicking on the zone stats that come up at launch. It doesn't provide a long and wordy forecast, which is fine by me. Look at the App's graphical data! I use the National Weather Service Apps for the wordy forecasts. (NWS RADAR IS NOT AS NICE.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    modernize 4/30/2019 the latest modernize screwed up your app. radar no longer works lightning indicator doesn't work etc. trying to follow poor weather in Missouri and the application is now mostly useless Love the past and future radar and you can really zoom in the map

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Your weather changes from raining at 6am one min and in the next min it literally changes to 9pm or no rain at all. Not very reliable! As far as the app, it is great, it just needs to be more accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    love that you can control time on Radar map. So you can actually slow it down to see what is going on. Other websites have it going so can't tell what's going on!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    We live in Florida, the weather changes constantly. The reports we keep are spot on and support us tremendously!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Glitchy, needs some refining. Amazing application though. Optimize it for Android device Tablets, and it will work better I am sure. :-) No worries.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Love the up to the min weather modernize esp on stormy days. allows me to create a decision on whether to take my dog for his walks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Amazing experience and true time updates, with accurate and fast radar. 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Amazing app, I can see the storms coming & it gives alerts! I can also see how long they will last!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Awesome amount of realtime info: Presentation is very clear, perfect graphics and tabular/empirical data.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Very handy, and faster information than it's parent app, I use it often to see about rain and storms.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    I'm a contractor and rely on this immensely very accurate

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    amazing app, trust it on weather patterns a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    looks and functions well, nothing we don't need.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    This is is excellent and sends me prompt alerts. Amazing support for storm chasing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Quick and accurate. I love the future radar projections. Usually dead on!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    This is a amazing app. Its very accurate and dependable. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    it can't even search my zone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    amazing on phone, no amazing on computer

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    a easy radar with weather alerts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Very accurate and simple to navigate!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Always accurate and up-to-date reliable information!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Accurate, i love this application !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    works just fine, has not bee. wrong yet

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    amazing terrific attractive 😍 I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    amazing but hard to search zoom.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Amazing application to hold you alert 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    amazing weather application very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    This is amazing and the allow you what to except

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Amazing weather app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    nice to have min by min radar!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Simple to use, amazing alerts. .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    love it shows all angles

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    it works...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    very helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    Unbelievable App!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    okay

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    yup

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm: Hurricane & Storm Tracker, Weather Maps review [App]  2019-5-6 21:33

    accurate and detailed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    5 Delicious Stars for this HOT and throughly entertaining series starter! This is a debut reverse harem romance for Elle Middaugh. And oh my, did she deliver!! The princes are are incredibly intriguing with each of their strengths coming out to play. It's difficult to choose your favorite amongst them, but I'm sure you'll have a delightful time trying to decide! Lexi is our main character. What starts out like it may just be the best thing to happen to change the circumstances of her as well as her mother and bestie, soon takes a dark turn. The Storm King is the supreme ruler and he does exactly as he pleases. The princes must obey him and court Lexi. She is thrown into a globe that she has no idea how to navigate. With tutors and plenty of rules she's trying to catch up. But... the princes hold leaving her hot and bothered and Lexi decides to tease them back. Her pet sloth Speedy comes along for the journey and he is honestly my favorite character! Ms. Middaugh wrote a hilarious tale with a dark twist and surprises that you won't see coming!! Bravo to her introduction into the globe of RH!! You're going to wish to devour this in one sitting!! You will not be disappointed!! 💗💗💗

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    I fell in love instantly with this book! After all, how could I not love a book about someone that has a pet sloth that keeps trying to commit sloth suicide? Growing up as a peasant cursed to mine jewels, the latest thing she expected on the day she went looking for her missing sloth Speedy was an almost dead man at the base of the tree. Next thing she knows the kings guards and the king himself appear over her. Within moments of this man's death he whispered "kill the king" and odd lights moved from his chest to her. WTH is going on?.to create things worse, the king now thinks she's got powers and orders her to marry one of his four royal sons! All heck breaks loose once she, her mother and BFF create their method to the palace to meet said princes. So much intrigue, political craziness, magic and hormones. Deceit around every corner, an exceedingly cruel king pulling the strings off everyone...and one whopper of a cliffhanger! I can't wait to read the follow up!!! At the center of this tale is I've kind, intelligent and fierce young lady willing to risk everything for those she loves. Be warned, it's highly addictive 😊😊😊.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    This book was awesome! It was incredibly entertaining and the characters and plot were refreshing! It has everything you could wish in a book - humor, sexy times, lots and lots of sexy men, a tyrant who needs [email protected]#$% kicked, a badass best friend, and a sloth! I cannot wait for the next book in the series, the twists were so good! Cliffhanger ending, medium/fast burn, GAH Elle it was delicious! ONE CLICK FOR LIFE!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    This book was EVERYTHING!! I cannot believe this is the author’s first reverse harem novel. I’ve read several and this story was captivating! The FMC is witty, funny, sassy, and extremely likable. The men are lovable and sexy times steamy. I was beyond thrilled to see the next book in the series was already out. I need ALL of Elle’s books NOW!!! She has a fresh raving fan!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    It was a solid begin to the ere are jealousies between the brothers, which is nice to see.I have fun Rob the most, not sure sure about the others. I feel like I need more hero for the heroine, she seems beautiful one dimensional - so far. Not very captivating. She's not a warrior and she's not an intellect, either. She just kindof goes with the flow.I'll stick with the series for now because I am invested enough to see where the cliffhanger goes from here...😈

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    While there were some things in this story that were no surprise during the "reveal," Taken By Storm was an amazing read with amazing characters and fast-paced action. The romance is fast-burn--not my preference--but I enjoyed the harem enough to go with the flow. Nice powerful finish leaves the reader eager for more. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    Ok seriously this was an awesome book!!! I stayed up late to read it...I LOVE all the guys and I adore the MC....So f#[email protected]&+ perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    I overall really liked this book. I already pre ordered the second book. I gave it a three just because the predictability of it. Also sometimes the characters actions seemed forced not a natural response to situations but overall a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    Fan-freaking-tastic! Bought and finished in 3ish hours! Couldn’t place it down.. it’s well written, steamy, funny, and just plain amazing! I’ve been in a book slump for awhile and this just awakened my mind! I can’t wait for the next one

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Taken by Storm (Storms of Blackwood Book 1) review []  2020-1-16 0:39

    Elle Middaugh is one of my favorite authors. Her newest series starts with this book, and she definitely went above and beyond. She held nothing back. It's packed with action, suspense, hot guys, an amazing MC, a globe you can picture, danger you can feel, and even a cuddly sloth sidekick. I love the dynamics of the characters. Our MC, a not good girl named Alexis, who fate chooses to grant with powers from the Gods, powers no woman has wielded in generations; a girl who steps up and tries to be herself, quirky, snarky, and sexy, while dealing with evil around her. The princes, all seemingly one way, who turn out to be something totally various and unexpected; caring, sexy, and victims. I loved this book through and through, and cannot wait to read the next book in the series! Thank you Elle for another unbelievable globe to obtain lost in. That ending has definitely left my mind whirling with possibilities.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To The Storm review []  2020-1-16 6:52

    Story of a patriotic, hard-idealist... born and raised to worship The Party no matter what.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To The Storm review []  2020-1-16 6:52

    More than I expected to ever know about the Cultural Revolution in grim detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To The Storm review []  2020-1-16 6:52

    its very interesting book. if you wish to study modern history of Chinese, this is the book you must read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To The Storm review []  2020-1-16 6:52

    The book was first published in 1985 and I had owned a used copy for at least 15 years but never read beyond a few pages. About a week ago I went to check who the author was on the internet and then dusted the book out and read through to the end. In the book is one of the most trustworthy acc of what the political and social life was like in the Mao era, from the founding of the PRC to the post-Mao "Democracy Wall" Movement. The author, a teacher and now a Professor at Peking University had lived through all the political campaigns of the era. She didn't just write catering to the interests of Western readers, like quite a few did. Yet the honest acc proves more convincing therefore more damning to the ludicrous and absurd combination of radicalist experiments and power struggles. A popular passage from the Chinese writer Wang Meng quoted at the beginning of the book sets the tone for the whole book:I have walked through these twenty-one years one step at a time, and I am convinced that not a single step was taken in vain. My only want is that we firmly remember this lesson paid for in blood, tear, hardship, and unimaginable suffering so that the actual situation can recover its real features and be recorded in the annals of history.If you are interested in the era, the book is valuable. There probably isn't a Chinese translation of the book and I can guess why. I salute to this powerful and courageous woman, now around 75 years old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To The Storm review []  2020-1-16 6:52

    At first, Yue Daiyun and her husband were both relatively successful academics, professors at Beida University in Beijing. Yue's father-in-law was a well-respected and wealthy authority on Buddhism, an honored acquaintance of Mao Zedong himself, who had read his books. They were third-generation academics, more middle-class than Communist, yet devoted Party cause of Yue's history and worldview, her autobiography definitely feels intellectual and academic. There is a very helpful Chronology section, a timeline so that the happenings of Yue's life can be seen in the context of Chinese history. Her acc attempts to create sense out of both the happenings of her life and of the revolution. She was very aware of current happenings and what the future might have brought. She kept up with the news and public opinion. Yue's story combines the acc of a guardedly emotional and psychological private life with a very historical feel, as if she was recounting everything necessary that had happened. It is a shocked and forced coping with the kind of revolution she never could have predicted, that eventually created opponents even of devoted vanguard revolutionaries such as herself.Yue saw Jiang Qing (Mao's wife) as somewhat petty, since Jiang "furiously" publicly attacked a member of her own family with only spurious justification:"Hearing her talk on and on about such family members, I wondered how I could ever admire Jiang Qing as a revolutionary leader when she seemed so concerned with private vendettas (p. 164)."Like a lot of traditional Chinese, Yue considered family very important, and didn't partake in such vendettas even when her sister-in-law provided ample opportunity is is not a coming-of-age story. Yue came of age before Mao's revolution and the Cultural Revolution that followed, so she was initially surprised by the depths of disloyalty her comrades sank to in order to protect themselves. She did not consider such supposedly revolutionary backstabbing as socially expected like later generations would. Yet Yue kept a strangely unshakable faith in the allegedly revolutionary process of ruining individuals for the sake of the revolution, even when it was her who was denounced and punished. She never even questioned such rampant political scapegoating at all until long after she became a victim herself. Yue saw the effects of chaotic revolution gone violently wild, where even those who risked their lives working versus the Guomindang were later condemned as opponents of the ina was mostly a country of peasants. Mao was born and raised a peasant. So the purging and oppressive manipulation of the little and elite academic class was an ongoing struggle throughout her life. At one point she is condemned for Rightist tendencies. Later her husband, politically almost identical to Yue, is condemned for being too Leftist. Go figure. They survive decades of anti-academic purges and will-breaking programs designed to create them into impoverished peasants. The method that they survive throughout all the upheavals is inspiring, at times upsetting, but provides a detailed and cogent criticism of Maoism, although Yue remains a Marxist intellectual until the  Out of the Night: The Memoir of Richard Julius Herman Krebs alias Jan Valtin (NABAT), this is an honest revolutionary's diary of self-deception and survival. Highly recommended to anyone interested in revolutionary politics, who wants to avoid the mistakes of the past.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To The Storm review []  2020-1-16 6:52

    I just read this book and I cannot start to describe the author, Yue Daiyuan's experiences and anguish during both the Anti-Rightist movement and Cultural Revolution in China. Her story is compelling and also reveals how indoctrinated and committed the young people during the early PRC period were to Communism and Mao Zedong. The book is one long record of the sad and horrendous happenings that were committed in the name of Revolution. If you're interested in modern Chinese history, this book is a must read since it provides so much first person acc of what took put during the senseless period of the 1960's known as the Cultural Revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    There's one stage of action (the only action scene) in this book where the protagonist's mentor gets killed by something reminiscent of the flying devices in "Dune" (1965), or the film "Phantasm" (1979).The protagonist cries while women keep him, cries while men hold, night after night, GOOD GRIEF! There are no heterosexual love affairs in this story, only homosexual relationships. The main protagonist weeps and weeps and weeps after his mentor is killed and a lot of pages later he cannot speak without choking up and the reader is supposed to believe their relationship wasn't homosexual. Really?The protagonist and his mentor were on a long journey with an interesting tutorial character, but nothing happens on the journey and the interesting hero disappears from the story when the trip ends. A story about the interesting tutorial hero would've been a better story because nothing much happens in this book. The huge cataclysm and a possible heterosexual relationship between the weepy protagonist and a female engineering student must be in the next book. I'll never know because this is probably the latest book I'll ever read by this r much better fantasy stories I recommend Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" series, Brandon Sanderson's "Stormlight Archive" series or the latest three books of the Robert Jordon "Wheel of Time" series written by Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss's "Kingkiller Chronicle" series, or "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    I got the Kindle edition because I couldn't search the print ver at a reasonable price. OMG. As is too often the case with older SF, the publisher decided to simply scan from hard copy and no editing of the OCR was done. As a result, this is a garbled mess with lots of typos, erroneous word choices, repeated phrases, etc. As far as I can tell as a first-time reader, there isn't any text missing, but that's just a guess. The illustrations don't scan worth a hoot....totally rry, Lackey, but you should be watching the store a small more closely. Allowing your publisher to profiteer like this is unconscionable.If you wish to read the original Valdemar series, test the 3-in-1 print editions or bite the bullet and buy used hard copies of the others. The convenience and cost of the e-edition isn't worth it, and you're just rewarding poor e story itself is great...the first of a trilogy (of course) that deals with the repercussions of the long-ago Mage Battles that nearly destroyed the world. The logic is a small skewed (sorry...geek here) in that it has taken 2 millennia for the magic "shock waves" of the Cataclysm to travel around the globe and reach back to Valdemar and neighbors. Surely this would be progressive and someone SOMEWHERE on the globe would have been affected before it all just reappears and dumps locally. There is a tantalizing glimpse into the Eastern Empire, but that storyline just gets in the method of the Valdemaran story. It would be nice to see a fuller story dedicated solely to the Eastern Empire up to and after the time of these books. The characters are well fleshed out and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Fans of Mercedes Lackey's previous Valdemar novels will search plenty to love here, and fresh readers will search themselves caught up in a complex, believable world. The young Karsite Sun-priest, Karal, is a thoroughly sympathetic and human hero as he interacts with what to him is an alien culture in Valdemar, and his growing friendship with the equally foreign young mage An'desha is both believable and critical to the book's climax. Likewise, the Imperial Grand Duke Tremane is no cardboard villain; he is shown to be a product of his culture and yet something more, laying the foundation for the positive development of his hero in the series' later books. Lackey did make one huge plot hole here; based on the history Karal's memories reveal, he should not have had nearly the shocks about Heralds that he experiences in the first half of the book, given that he already knew that one of them had been created a Sun-priest. Nonetheless, the story carries the reader along in such gripping fashion that this issue is easily overlooked. The total pack is an enjoyable and worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    This is a continuation of one of my favorite storylines in the Valdemar story universe by Mercedes Lackey. Exploring likable characters from the formerly mysterious country of Karse, and building on some of the prehistory we've read about in other stories, this story is a very enjoyable continuation of the story of Valdamar. Readers will have fun the presence of characters who were the centers of previous stories, like Elspeth, Kerowyn, Darkwind, Firesong and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Another amazing book in the Valdemar series. This book got a small slow in the middle with a littleBit of too much angst. But the story picked up by the end. Obviously, you must read the next two books for a resolution, this one had only a temporary solution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Just reread the Queens Arrows and the Mage Winds series before starting the Mage Storms. It's been a lot of years since I read the series but I absolutely enjoyed them (and this one) just as much as I did in my teens/early 20's when they first came out. I would recommend them to anyone who loves fantasy. And Lackey was one of the first to write a series of successful series that incorporated gay/lesbian characters in a manner which was not a dark/evil/wrong thing. Indeed, Lackeys Herald-Mage trilogy's maIn hero is gay. These are amazing stories and I would recommend them to anyone:).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Very well done, another Mercedes Lackey masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Was as described and came in a timely fashion

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    I love the entire Valdemare series. This is the first of the MAGE STORM series which continues the tying together of the VOWS & Honors series and the MAGE WARS E ENTIRE SERIES IS AMAZING!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Warning (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Read this when it first came out. Loved it then. Love it now. She has a method of pulling my emotions, my interest and my love of fantasy wonderfully. Always a amazing read. Thank you Miss Dee. 😺

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    I love this series, so I hate to give this such a poor rating, but this is a reflection of the quality of the mp3 recording. The reader is ok, even though he mispronounces some words, in a method that could be rectified by simply looking them up in a dictionary - for example, "duchy," even though referring to the property of a duke, is NOT pronounced "ducky" (like a rubber ducky), it is "dutch-y." While somewhat annoying, however, the main issue is not the mispronunciation. Very unfortunately, the recording ends about 6 or 7 pages from the end of the book (at least, according to my very old paperback copy of the book) - it is VERY clearly NOT the end of the story!!! I originally thought I had received a defective disc, so called and asked for a replacement. The customer service representative I spoke with was helpful, and got the replacement out to me within two business days. Imagine my disappointment and displeasure upon discovering that the replacement has the exact same defect! 👎I can only assume that the master recording from which they create the copies is defective.I hope it is not that they were so careless while doing the recording that they just did not finish, but based on comments I have seen in how poor the kindle versions of some books are, who knows, especially if they used a poor kindle ver for the reader instead of the actual book. Very, very disappointed - I will be returning all three audio books in this series, as it is basically all one story, and the mp3 totally screws up the ending. Very poorly done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Mercedes Lackey's Mage Storms series is one of my favorites, and this book brings it to a satisfying conclusion with both a solid plot and continued development of characters who have become old mates in the previous books. The inclusion of Baron Melles as a major figure is a particularly interesting twist, bringing Imperial culture to life through the eyes of a complex yet understandable villain, and his unwitting role in preventing worldwide disaster adds another layer to the conclusion. The only true complaint I have is with the e-book formatting, which frankly is rather sloppy. As I am familiar with the hard copy edition, I don't have any problem following the story regardless, but someone without that background might search it more difficult as italics and sometimes punctuation aren't always where they should be to give the author's intended meaning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    I''ve been reading Mercedes Lackey's books for years, amd generally she is an outstanding author, but occasionally when it comes to a series, she gets into a formulaic rut, particularly on her Velgarath world/Valdemar novels. This particular series felt like it was a bit rushed in spots and drawn out in others, and that there was more that Misty could have covered in this particular series. It seems she tries her best to hold the majority of her books in the

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Edit: I noticed that the 3 storm novels were marked as "new" in my library and took a look. The horrific and prolific spelling errors have been corrected for the most part. The gryphonic "accented" text in particular is now rendered as in the original hard copy versions. Hooray for proof reading!I own all the novels in paper form and have been re-purchasing for my kindle library. All of winds and storm are painful to read. The OCR is bad, and clearly there was no proofreading done afterwards. Nearly every page has a spelling error or three that your brain will auto-correct for the most part (aberration becomes abenation, for example) but in some locations it is nearly untranslatable. This is particularly frequent in passages with gryphon speech. Lackey had added in additional letters to evoke the gryphonic accent in the original text; the OCR program has conniptions trying to convert it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    This book (like all of Lackey's) starts grindingly ever, once you obtain past the initial, standard 50-70 pages of plot-exposition, it's beautiful interesting. This author exhibits an awesome talent for uncovering & thinking through the smallest info of a civilization; how it survives a war or mage-storm, how the crops are handled, the benefits of certain kinds of trade, how an troops settles down in a city for a long, hard winter. Her views on this are frankly awesome (and a related approach was seen in her "Take a Thief"); but it is handled in such detail that it stops the action dead, and takes up far too much of the story. (She's thought every detail through so far, that I think the U.S. government ought to place her on-staff, to support address disaster relief after happenings like Katrina!)The drawback to this book, like a lot of of her others, is that the characters TALK TOO MUCH. And too often, the reader is robbed of WITNESSING action scenes (like the Iftel Gryphons' attack on the rebel township), in favor of having everybody and his brother TALK ENDLESSLY about it afterwards. (Beginning this section of the story, I had a bet with myself that she'd do that --and she did. Very frustrating.) The reader spends far too much time, in this book, cooped up in Urtho's tower-tunnels, claustrophobically listening to the characters TALK to each ar Author: A picture (so to speak) is worth a thousand WORDS. Allow the readers witness necessary events, and create up their own minds. I do not need you (in the guise of favored protagonists) EXPLAINING every blessed thing to me, so I will agree with YOUR "take" on everything. There is always the feeling that this writer's afraid that the reader somehow won't GET IT.Oh -- and, as always, there ought to be a Glossary of Terms or something, included in every one of these books. (What the heck is a chirra? Did I miss the single line, in some early chapter, that may have defined this?) See the books of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series; while I am not especially enamored, they at least have pages of term-definitions in every book. The reader, coming across an unfamiliar italicized vampire-specific word, can just flip forward or back, and proceed onward with a clear understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    Although I've read this book before, I've recently reread through the series. Getting to know someone admirable from the car's side of the Border, and learning some interesting facts about the spiritual characters in this globe are gifts that create this one of my favorite of Mercedes Lackey Valdemar Globe Series... and as usual, the story, characters, and Globe description present Lackey at the top of her form. Both humorous and serious by turns it's an enjoyable ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    I've read the series several times and have finally decided to write a review. These books are highly entertaining, not quite "classic literature" level but much better than some of the more sophomoric fantasy novels available. The characters are a small chop and paste without much to set them apart, and remain relatively the same throughout the books. The plot is easily predicted but still it is a unbelievable of the few things about Ms. Lackey's writing that does rather annoy me is her treatment of her homosexual characters. The men are all slender, either boyish or androgynous, long-haired and apparently feminine. Even Vanyel and Tylendel/Stefan were described this way, and we now have Firesong and Silverfox et al. It would be nice to have a gay male hero whose only hair was the items on his chest and NOT that being flipped over his shoulder.On a side note: The Kindle and iBook versions of most of her books (I've read a lot of of her items electronically) are absolutely horrible. Words that have an R and N (like "corner") come out as an M (read: "comer") and some words - like "mercs" which comes out as "meres" - are beyond messed up. In this particular novel, the 3rd in the series, I've hit some paragraphs that were all but unreadable due to odd symbols, misspellings, capitalization either missing or in the wrong put (like the middle of a word) and it becomes a not good distraction. I've not had this much problem with any other author. I know she can't be blamed but someone should fix it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Storm Breaking (Valdemar: Mage Storms Book 3) review []  2020-1-8 18:46

    I love Storm Warning (5 stars) but feel allow down by Storm Rising (3.5 stars) and Storm Breaking (3.5 stars). Main reason being I like my story to concentrate on just one or the maximum 3 characters, which is the case in Storm Warning. Lackey's shift to other characters in the Empire who have their own long long stories to tell in the latest 2 books just place me off. Maybe she is trying to build a sense of anticipation and climax but I search myself frustrated and just want to skip the pages detailing the Empire characters. I want she has just continued to concentrate on Karal (a lovely character), An'desha and Firesong. However I must compliment her on the latest part of Storm Breaking which features three of my favorite persons in the Latest Herald Mage Series. This series could have been better but it is still an enjoyable read.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter