Read story of a real man reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all story of a real man reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Everyone who has a horse - or any animal - should read this book. "Breaking" a horse can break it in so a lot of ways and is incredibly cruel. Trying to dominate animals and bend germ to our will may work short term but at a large cost This book shows there is s better method - instead of asserting power over it is about power with, working with, earning the love and respect (not fear) if another being A amazing tactic with people too

    0  


    Add your opinion on story of a real man or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    I would recommend this book to anyone even if they are not a horse enthusiast. The book tells of courage, determination, humanity and triumphs! It is entertaining and a true page turner, while being educational at the same time. This book teaches not only a training way but that kindness will obtain you farther than bullying something or someone to your will. It teaches how necessary it is to effectively communicate with anyone, animal or human. It teaches you to never give up. I think the schools, students and teachers in America should especially read this book. Also, it would benefit companies to instill this type of thought when dealing with employee's! Getting anyone to wish to work with you to accomplishing your goals is going to be more beneficial than forcing them to work for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    As a lifelong horse lover I have always been fascinated by how horses affect people. People as groups, like the military, and people as individuals like myself and others that love horses. So much of the time horses are badly treated and i hate to see that: there is no reason for it. Monty Roberts book reveals a beginning of just how close people can be to their horses and how much horses normally really test to do what their owner wants. It's the stupid people that is most often the is is unique as a life story and learning more about horses. I'm glad to have read it and want I could have met Monty Roberts. Horses would want to give him a word of thanks, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    If I am still thinking about a book days and sometimes weeks after I have read it then I consider it a amazing book. 'The Man Who ListensTo Horses' is such a book. The writing was amazing and it didn't distract me from the content which I found fascinating. The human animals relationship with its non-human members is a concept long overdue for exploration and this book is a giant step in that direction. Monty Roberts is a truly exceptional man and a gentle-man in the truest sense of the word. I so hope this book becomes the most chosen textbook on how to 'join-up' with a horse. Montys powers of observation and his ability to draw conclusions from them at such a young age had to be innate. It is a cinch this trait was not acquired from his father. It is a tremendous irony that so much of what he learned was from his father and a prime example of rising above and learning from negativity. Not an simple thing to do! After reading this book I was tempted to a lot of copies to give to all the people I knew would love it as much as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Perfect book, I read it to obtain more knowledge about horses. I have finally got a horse and don't know anything about them, other than they are attractive creatures. My small girl, a Paso Fino had been abused and passed from one neighbor to the next. She has finally gained my trust thru the hints Mr. Roberts has written about. I recommend this book to both experienced and novice horse lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Monty Roberts is an author who makes the reader feel that he is show during the very touching story of Monty's life from early childhood through his adulthood. In the midst of this fascinating autobiography, the reader is introduced to the psychology of the horse and the beauty of its disposition. He also shows the kindness with which humans should regard any animal, and through his life experiences, proves that humans have been very ignorant in their methods of attempting to train animals that can be so easily trained with kind, gentle techniques. It is no wonder that he has been featured on the TV programs such as "20/20", and "60 Minutes") in the past and was contracted by Queen Elizabeth II to teach her trainers his way of "Join-up" in training the royal horses at Buckingham Palace, London, UK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    I read this book a lot of years ago and it changed my professional skillsets permanently. I started using his methods on my guinea pig and transformed THAT relationship in unbelievable ways. It even worked in my private relationships. Now I am reading his Horse Sense for People and I bought this copy for a mate who loves horses and is deepening her skill sets in Human Resources. It's a amazing look at body language, eye contact and behavior patterns. I have never forgotten his story about the jealous deer attacking his wife's vehicle. It deepened my perceptions of how we relate and why. It also created me less insecure around horses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    I search the negative review of Monty's book interesting. Since I train dogs, I can somewhat relate to the need for positive training methods. There are always going to be those out there that dispute that it works for MOST, but not for all. Every animal is an individual with feelings and personality of his/her own and baggage that comes along with lack of training, abuse and/or neglect.I thought one of the most necessary lines of all in the book was that this was the "51st fluke in a row". In other words, the doubters of the crowd thought it was just a fluke that Monty was able to 'start' and ride green horses within approximately 25 minutes. Someone that is full of 'it', cannot become as successful a horse trainer as Monty is without some actual knowledge of what he's doing. I thought this was a very inspirational book that gives a look into the innovative humane treatment and training of horses. This book is well worth the time it takes to read and I, for one, do not doubt the truth of his story. Pictures are worth a thousand words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    We saw Monty Roberts support four horses obtain over their fears in about 2 hours. Local veterinarians recommended the horses - one wouldn't enter a stall, one had never worn a saddle, and so on. By the end of the 2 hours, all four horses were doing exactly what they were brought in to learn. The book talks about Monty Roberts' philosophy as well as how to ask a horse to do what you want. Amazing insight for all animal behavior, not just horses. Humans too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Who Listens to Horses: The Story of a Real-Life Horse Whisperer []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Mr. Roberts has lead an interesting life. His life story is well told and his approach to working with horses is sublime. I read this book several years after my own horse had past away, but I instantly recognized everything that Roberts teaches from my own experience of having had a long relationship with my horse. Whether you have or had a horse in your life or have had a difficult childhood because of parental alcoholism - this book will touch your heart and teach you how to have a better relationship with your horse and your past. I highly recommend reading this book~! My deepest thanks to Monty Roberts for sharing this/his story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    This is the 3rd book in the series which cover's Dave's teenage and adult life up until he has his 2 real loves - his wife and son! The not good horrifying abuse he went through is unlike anything you've ever known and you'll wonder how anyone could be so cruel to their own son! However, as you read through all 3 books, you'll see how inspiring it is that he grew up to be the man he is today. This is a page-turner you won't wish to place down! The 3 books in the series are: A Kid Called It, The Lost Boy and A Man Named Dave. I strongly suggest and highly recommend you all 3 books because when you begin reading the first one, you won't place it down until you obtain to the very end of his life story, which is in the 3 book that he finally seems settled with his loving wife and a son he loves more than life itself....it shows how he went from absolutely nothing to being an award winning writer and public speaker who has helped dozens of people! I recently purchased his brother's book, "A Brother's Journey", by Richard Pelzer and will be starting it soon... When Dave was removed from the home at age 12, unfortunately his brother Richard took his put at the hands of an extremely abusive mother. If it's anything like Dave's first 3 books, I won't be able to place it down until I'm finished! Yes, this is why I strongly suggest you obtain all 3 of Dave's books (and even the 4th, his brother's book) because each one I read, I did it in a small over one day! Unfortunately, I didn't have all three books... I had the first one... when I finished it, I went nuts waiting for the next 2 to arrive LOL. So don't be like me - have all 3, possibly 4, ready to read because you'll be very surprised how quick you'll go through each book - and YES it's that interesting you won't stop reading until completely done - with ALL of the books! ;-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    I just finished this book about 20 mins ago. During the past two weeks I read all 3 books in this series. My heart broke during the first book as I read a trageic story that no kid should ever have to experience. During the second book I cheered Pelzer on as he was slowly recovering and sometimes even enjoying life. I almost didn't read the 3rd book in the series, because I was confident that Pelzer's life turned out well. However, I just couldn't stop myself from wanting to know how it all is latest book was my favorite. It's a unbelievable ending to a horrible childhood. Pelzer has an wonderful story and I feel that by reading it, I have become a better (more enlightened) person. His passion to support others is truly inspiring and I hope that it spreads throughout the world. Pelzer's life story is something that I will never forget. Even though I don't personally know him, I feel honored to have read his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    I am glad to have read this and not his previous book - even the brief descriptions of his mother in this book were horrific. But glad to see his life created complete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    A Man Named Dave was the third installment in the Dave Pelzer trilogy. This book chronicled his life from ages 18 and up. It was just as compelling as the first two books, and, once again, I could not place this book down! There is something so strong and gripping about Dave's writing. I found myself rooting for his happiness and success throughout the entire book, and cried at the emotional husband and I were driving to a specialist's office two hours away from our home, and we were supposed to be having quality time together, as my mom was home with our baby and we had all morning to talk uninterrupted. However, I was a poor wife and read A Man Named Dave for nearly an hour instead of talking to my sweet husband! I didn't wish to do it, and hated myself for it, but I was close to the end of the book and just had to know what happened to Dave! My husband asked, "Is this the latest book in this series? I am so tired of you not talking to me while you hold reading these books!" I told him that it was, but then, at the end of the book, I saw that Dave has written two motivational books (which I immediately bought) so my husband is going to have to place up with me having my nose in a Dave Pelzer book for a small longer!Dave's main focus in this novel was trying to search answers as to why his mother abused him the method she did. Despite the fact that he was rescued from her household at age 12, and eventually found love from a foster family, he still seeks his mother's love and acceptance. He has several emotionally draining and painful encounters with his mother in this book, and while he never fully gains the closure he so desires, he does come to a put of acceptance and forgiveness. The fact that Dave can forgive his mother shows what a powerful and inherently amazing person he is.Dave has not had an simple life, and in fact, it is hard to believe all of the hard times he has endured. I'm not saying I don't believe him, it's just sad that someone could have so a lot of hardships. But, he finds happiness in the end, and I loved that. He is a testament to the strength of the human spirit and a amazing example of what faith in God can do for a person.I give this book, and the series as a whole, the highest of recommendations. I loved it, and will definitely be reading Dave's other books. I wish his secret--I wish to be motivated to live as positively as he does!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    This book provides the reader with a culminating feeling of both growth and rest within Dave. I read his trilogy, and I am enthralled with its honesty and its emotional candor. Read the trilogy to be a positive difference in the lives of others as well as to strive to be a better person for yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming a Man: The Story of a Transition []  2020-1-30 21:28

    Conversational, poetic, heavy, funny, self-aware and full of special conversations that spun me off into avenues of thought I'm still traveling 's a memoir that follows its own rules, logic, and structure and I loved every page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    The book, A MAN NAMED DAVE, is the latest book in a trilogy. This book cannot be reviewed unless some history about Dave is given. The trilogy starts with A BOY CALLED IT. Dave is a young kid who is severely abused by his mother. She starved him, burned him and forced him to do chores in an unrealistic time limit. If he did not complete the chores as she demanded, he was not allowed to eat. Hunger forced him to eat any left overs thrown in the garbage. He stole other children's school lunches, meal from the grocery stores and anywhere else he could obtain food. He is forced to sleep in the cold, damp basement separated from the rest of the family. She refused to call Dave anything beyond 'It'. The atrocites that his mother committed were almost endless as she descended into mental illness and alcohol abuse. His father, who had alcohol problems of his own, loved Dave but was ineffectual in shielding the young kid from the brutal e second book,THE LOST BOY,is the acc of Dave's rescue. Fortunately he is placed with a family who is kind and understanding. Dave is a deeply wounded individual. Those emotional scars are evident in a lot of locations of his life. Even into adulthood Dave has a deep need for his mother's approval and ly THE MAN CALLED DAVE relates to Dave's continued growth into manhood. This book as well THE LOST BOY reflected often the abuse that he sustained as a child. While his relationship with women was flawed, he similar well with his son. He discovered that after he was rescued his other brothers became the target of his mother's malicious behavior. He also found that his mother was subjected to abusive treatment as she grew up. The common thread through out each book was Dave's need to be accepted by his mother which never came.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    [A great, engrossing, and real story of a man you may have been introduced to in the NY times best-seller "A Kid Called It" - Dave's harrowing experiences being abused, starved and beaten by a cruel, mentally ill mother during early childhood till age 12. A fitting end to his trilogy of auto-biographical memoirs.]Wonderful story of the experiences of the now adult Dave Pelzer (still lovingly naive and sweetly begin and eager to please) and how he went from being a used vehicle salesman to a military man to a husband, father and bestselling author (with not a little amount of rocks strewn along the path.)Rocky first relationship, finding his real love and being cheated by people supposed to be looking out for him, all the while pushing himself to the limits and not letting himself wallow in any self ought it was a amazing self-help inspirational book (though not advertised as such) and I was extremely touched by his will and determination throughout.Highly recommended for those who have fun reading others memoirs or wish an inspirational, engrossing read about one man's journey to love, meaning, and the will to empower others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    After reading the previous 2 books, A Man Named Dave gives us more to his awesome story of how he became who he is today. Dave once again stole my heart, created me cry, laugh, and even cuss him for allowing so a lot of to walk all over him! In the end however, he makes me see the light. He makes me see why he went about dealing with people as an adult the method he did. However, I totally agree with Marsha- I would have kicked a [email protected]#$%!&! Amazing Read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    Dave's self-deprecating story of how his horrific childhood created him the awesome man he is today, is uplifting to all. And a testament to the fact that choices do, indeed shape our lives, or at the very least, direct them. Dave's ability to continually assess his circumstances and create various choices to re-direct his own path is proof that people can change their own lives by identifying negative patterns and making various decisions to change the outcome. Private growth is not something that only the young are capable of! Kudos to you, Dave, for being brave enough to tell your story and wise enough to examine your own behavior to determine whether or not poor things were event to you as a effect of others' not good choices or your own. This is a difficult distinction for those of us who spend the first decade or so of their lives experiencing terror at the hands of others. We tend to always see ourselves as victims, and it is difficult to distinguish at what point we actually become the masters of our own fate and can take the reins of our own destiny, to be better parents, better spouses, better people, who just plain feel, "BETTER"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness []  2020-1-19 23:22

    It took me weeks to read A Man Named Dave as compared to the one or two day reads of his previous works. The story is not as riveting as his childhood accounts, but I do feel it is neccessary reading for those of us who read the earlier two titles. In this book we witness the ongoing nature of the hurt Dave suffered at the hands of his abusive mother and passive father. When a child's trust is broken by those he depends upon, all future relationships in his life are affected. I think it was merciful that Dave's parents died early enough in his life that he could place his past to rest and go on with living. Relationships that are so complex and conflicted as were his with his parents are usually not resolvable until the death of the parties. Dave's "internal locus" is my favorite lesson in the book. His resistance to the role of victim and his continuous decisions to accept responsibility for his life and overcome his issues inspire me. Having raised an adopted son of my own who came to us at age eight having been abused and neglected in every conceivable way, Dave's story gives me hope that someday my son may overcome his tragic distrust and dysfunction in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    You can thank that jerk, Max Dodson-Kerry, for the apocalypse. At the Virologic Research Center nestled 150 feet below the surface somewhere in rural Maryland, he's the idiot scientist who pooh-poohed safety protocols. His carelessness brought about what became known as the Chesapeake Flu, of which reported cases originated at the Maryland or Delaware beaches. Not that you required to know that, sorry. Max Dodson-Kerry was soon never heard from again.End of Summer is the ho-hum title of S.M. Anderson's absorbing doomsday series, "Seasons of Man." This one is a viral apocalypse as the Chesapeake Flu would end up killing 97% of the global population. The author spends the opening chapters chronicling the method the globe ends, but finally settles the "camera" firmly on our main ybe some plot e hombre's name is Jason Larsen, former Troops Ranger who nowadays works as a government contractor for the DoD. At their home in Fairfax County, Virginia, he'd just buried his wife, Samantha, who was due for her three-month prenatal check but succumbed to the poor flu bug going around. Before passing, Samantha had created Jason promise that he'd test to wake up each morning. She must've suspected Jason was this close to ending himself.I dunno if S.M. Anderson had published other yarns, but I aim to research that because I need to read more of this man's work. S.M. Anderson knows how to spin a yarn to hold you on the edge of the seat and miss out on things like family time and going to the ould the apocalypse go down, you should be so lucky as to have a serious prepper living four houses down. It's what ends up giving Jason his edge when he... wait, let's place a pin on of the characters we follow is a shrewd 15-year-old named Prudencio Guerra - but call him "Pro." Months after society collapsed, Pro's knack for survival has kept him still kicking around. He's the sort of savvy guy who's figured some things out. He even ends up schooling those older and more seasoned than him. For example, he imparts a fast lesson on how to tell at a glance if a house may have guns inside, pointing out the relevance of an NRA bumper sticker on a vehicle in the driveway. He reasons, "I think some guys with trucks just have the stickers. But if their wives have the sticker, they really have guns."It's a cardinal rule when writing a post-apocalyptic survival story that it must, at some point, present man's basest qualities. Not everyone's gonna do the right thing. The baddies come in the shape of a vicious gang that's taken over the local mall and the nearby Ritz Hotel and is ruled by a paranoid warlord who used to be a lawman. It's a gang that numbers in the hundreds except most of that are prisoners that they force to do all the hard labor. Months into the apocalypse, the gang rules their roost, their little corner of northern Virginia. Mostly. Even vicious gangs can have a bogeyman.Who is it that's going around taking them out one by one? Whoever it is, it's driving the already paranoid bossman batty.I had never heard of S.M. Anderson before this book. But I've heard of him now, and, as I'd mentioned before, I aim to hunt down his other novels. I am so stoked for this series. The author captivates you with the hero building and with the dynamite action beats. I got so invested in Jason, Pro, Rachel, Elsa, Sleepy, and Michelle, and even in that eager one-year-old black lab Loki. As [email protected]#$% as Jason is, I think my favorites were Pro and Rachel. I recommend the hell out of this book. It's part prepper novel, part white-knuckle thriller, and all-parts unbelievable hero study. I will say the proofreading wasn't foolproof. Elsa was described twice as an eleven-year-old and once as a twelve-year-old. We obtain sentences like "He taken the child around the neighborhood a couple of times..." and "Pro was seated next her in a swivel office chair..." But the story's so good, it reduces the typos to no botheration at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    An ebola variant gets lose and kills over 90% of the worlds population in a few weeks. Jason Larson is an ex troops ranger and though still grieving the loss of his wife and unborn baby. It falls to Jason to rally whoever else he can to hold what is left of humanity from plunging into a full blown dark age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    The hits come quick and furious in this one. The story feels like a combination of all the post-apocalypse books that I've read: ex-soldier - check, poor people doing poor things WROL - check, and yet, it never comes across as formulaic. Glad I stumbled across it and looking forward to the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    Amazing story line, amazing supporting and believable characters. I enjoyed the Method the author takes the reader through the development of each character, and then builds the story around them. Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    Very Interesting. Really amazing storyline. CjW�acters are well developed. Looking forward to the n��t book. Can hardly wait for the various groups to meet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    One fine read. Spoiler is one starts with Dr. Janine Folkman and fellow Dr. Seth Maygood. They aren't medical Doctors. They are virologists working with others. Dodson Kerry is from Berkeley. He's a guy neither Janine or Seth like at all. He's the guy that will release the disease that wipes out 90% of the worlds population. He doesn't do it knowingly. He steps on something in the lab, walks out and that what starts the e President of the US is dying and he knows it. Colonel Skirjanek is at McMurdo with a joint Aussie, British group. So far they are virus free. The temperatures where they are will save them.Jason Larson is and ex Troops Ranger who now works as a contractor. His wife Samantha, known as Sam, is three months pregnant with their first child. Watching the news and the Presidents address they both know only the immune will survive. Jason survives, Sam and the unborn kid do not. Before she dies she makes Jason promise that if he doesn't obtain sick, he will do his best to stay alive.Once Sam is dead and he buries her and his unborn kid he then calls the family to search out that most of them are already dead and those he talks to are dying. Because his wife was a very successful doctor his house was in an expensive part of town. McMansions were all over. One of his neighbors Howard Dagman was a prepper. He like Jason was ex military. Jason heads for his house. On the method he hears gun shots. Jason knows anyone alive will turn into a looter or worse. Vehicles have been left all over the road. All out of gas. Jason wonders where these folks thought they would go to outrun a virus. Jason also finds a woman who has been shot. She tells him Tyson's people did it. They are a gang and are located at the FEMA center at the Ritz hotel. Amazing information for Jason but once the woman passes he heads for Dagmar's house.Jason's Ranger training kicks in huge time. He goes the back method and takes a long hard look before he approaches the house. Tyson's people might be around and Jason doesn't really wish to run into them right now. There is no power and Dagman's house is dark. Loki Dagman's black lab approaches and Jason quickly renews his friendship with the dog. He heads in to see bags of dogfood ripped begin so Loki has food. Jason follows Loki out back to see a grave. Howards grave. There is also an begin grave next to it. On returning to the house he finds Debbie dead in her bed. She left a note with the combination to getting into the locked rooms. Dagmans garage has two BMW's, a coupe, an SUV and Howard restored 1970's Land Cruiser. The has everything one could need. Two huge rows of solar panels are on the roof so he will have power. He then checks out the basement. He uses the numbers Debbie left. Opens the door, turns on the light to search a veritable armory. Every gun Jason could photo was in that armory. A generator was there also but would only kick in if the solar electricity was lower that 30%. Jason will be staying right here. This house is a veritable gold mine of food, water, guns and has watched his family die. His Dad went to work and Pro knows he won't be coming back. He's eaten everything in the house he can search and knows he will need to go to neighbors houses for food. Finding meal won't be a problem, but staying out of sight might be. Pro is fourteen years old and knows everyone is dead. Pro will survive all right. He's smart, savvy and quick as hell when he needs to be. The Tyson bunch do search him but he's saved by a guy dressed in black. A guy with NVG's and guns. A guy named begins one damned fine is one has Jason, Pro, Loki, Sheriff Bauman who thinks he runs the gang, Sleepy his second who is one intelligent guy, a guy who wants to obtain he and his girlfriend Michelle out of the Ritz, the Tyson' gang who bring people in, most are slaves, some become guards, a Pro who is captured and escapes, he learns much about the gang, he also know Sleepy and his girlfriend can be trusted, a Sleepy who works out a long range mission to end the gang, a Jason a man the gang called Ninja, who provides the muscle, weapons and know how, Rachel and Elsa a woman and young girl Jason saved and Jason Larson, Sleepy and Pro doing their best to save the amazing guys, slay the poor guys and test to survive and stay ve Stars and then some. Waiting for number two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    The premise of a major die off of the human reface due to a Black Death or Spanish Flu like virus is more likely than the current other alternatives, in my humble opinion. The author draws on a canvas empty of most of the show population to represent realistic reactions of those left behind. The author takes true globe experience of Third Globe warlords to present what could happen to parts of the remnants of society. Well done, Mr. Anderson! Now, write faster, faster!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    The story line and characters were great! I've read ~50 post apocalyptic novels and this is one of my favorites! The characters were very human and believable, plus you end up caring for or hating these people. Can't wait for the second book! I just hope the second book is ACTUALLY proof read before it is published!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Can't wait for Book 2. One of the best post apocalyptic novels that I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    End of Summer: A post viral-apocalypse story: Book One of the Seasons of Man []  2020-1-8 18:52

    Was not familiar with this author but love post apocalyptic fiction and very glad I read this book. Amazing book and hope to see more in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    This book gives you hope when you have completely given up. Brings the brightest light into the darkest of places. This book inspired me to hold the high standards that I already have and encouraged me to be better than the amazing woman I already am. It's so extremely understanding to exactly what we as women go through and exactly what we need in a man. I praise the author that wrote this book because you are going to begin up so a lot of men eyes as to how to love and treat women. Thank you for writing this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    The book gave amazing tip but to me the book seemed to tell me things that I already knew. I liked how he elegantly spoke in the book but I want his book would have been deeper. The book will be a confidence builder and it will be just like talking to a male mate who speaks words of positivity and encouragement inside of you but to me I would have really appreciated the book more if the writer went into depth with some of the problems that women face with men that really needs to be addressed. You will not be sorry you bought the book. If you are looking for a positive to the point read for hope and encouragement this is your book. But if you are wounded and looking for tip and scenarios then this is not your book. I probably would not this book again but I would recommend this book to women who have done very light dating that just need to be assured to stay on the right track and do not accept less than a man's best in the method that he treats her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    A MASTERPIECE BY A UNIQUE ARTIST. IT IS SO TRAGIC THAT HE DESTROYED HIMSELF THE WAY HE DID.IF YOU CAN LISTEN TO HIS WORK AND TUNE OUT HIS HORRIFIC EVENTS LATER IN LIFE, THEN THAT IS THEBEST WAY TO SAVOR THIS MUSIC. HIS WORK SOUNDS JUST AS REFRESHING EACH TIME I HEAR IT TO THE POINTWHERE I HAVE TO FORCE MYSELF TO REALIZE THAT HE IS NOT ONLY ARTIST WHO RECORDED WORK OF SUPERIORQUALITY. I AM NOT REALLY A FAN OF POPULAR SONGWRITERS BECAUSE THEIR WORK GRADUALLY WEARS OFF OVER TIMEIN MY OPINION. THIS IS NOT TRUE OF GIL SCOTT-HERON. HE REALLY IS THE SINGER THAT I HAVE LISTENED FOR THE MOST PART BECAUSE HIS WORDS HAVE STOOD THE TEST OF TIME.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    Scott-Hero is sorely missed -- this is a amazing intro for those who are not familiar with his music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    I'm a guy and would never describe a book as "heartwarming". Well, guess what? I really had a hard time putting it down! It's a really amazing book and has lots of lessons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    I got this book on a friend's recommendation, although she had not yet read it. I was intrigued because I live fairly close to where the cat was found and where the action in the book begins (and ends), and because I love cats. I would have loved to have known this cat; he seemed really intelligent, loving and fun. He was also incredibly patient with his keepers, neither of whom I found to be particularly likable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    Mohammed Ashraf studied biology, became a butcher, a tailor, and an electrician's apprentice; now he is a homeless day laborer in the heart of old Delhi. How did he end up this way?Once you pick up this book you will not be able to place it dia’s vast working class — mistrys, beldars, karigars, mazdoor, rickshaw-pullers, plumbers — are largly rendered invisible. They are everywhere you see, and yet, nowhere meet these people, live their lives, laugh and cry with e author's narrative is held together by his attempts to interview Ashraf. Over a period of time, he forms a bond with Ashraf and his labourer mates — the crazy Lalloo, the muscular Rehaan, the dying Satish, Kaka the tea seller, and a lot of others. He smokes with them, drinks with them, gets stoned with them, and becomes more involved in the lives of his topics than a journalist might be expected to, something that is impossible to avoid when professional interest develops into a human also obtain to meet Sharmaji, a raiding officer for the Department of Social Welfare. Sharmaji’s job is to catch beggars and have them tried and punished at the Beggars Court in north Delhi. And he is under a lot of work pressure because his department has to create Delhi “beggar in time for the Commonwealth Android games in 2010.”Ashraf's latest words to Sethi the journalist who is trying to obtain the timeline of his life:“That’s it, Aman bhai. Now you know everything about me — sab kuch. Like a government form: name, date of birth, mother’s name, put of residence, everything. Our faces are pasted in your notebook, our voices are locked in your recorder — me, Lalloo, Rehaan, Kaka, JP Pagal, everyone. Now you know everything. What will we talk about if we ever meet again?”About 93% of India’s working population belongs to the unorganised sector, and people like Ashraf would figure close to the bottom of this 93%. Indeed, the labourer class exists in the consciousness of the country’s elite more as statistic and topic of policy debates, than as living people with names and even lives. The achievement of Sethi’s book is to extract a person from that statistic and paint his life in all its tragic, funny, and moving humanness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    I was blown away by the words of Gil Scott-Heron on Small Talk at 125th and Lenox and PIECES OF A MAN is no different.Taking his soul stirring words and composing them versus a fusion of jazz and funk music, Scott-Heron takes his poems and turns them into songs that will create you groove and move and think. And they still package that strong punch of his messages on life.And although he might not have been the best male vocalist of his time, Gil Scott-Heron has a voice that is sincere and pleasant enough, and his passion pushes past any limits his vocal range might exhibit. But he sounds amazing to me."The Revolution..." gets a slight make-over with the added instrumentation but it's still basically a rap song and still me other standouts are "Home Is Where The Hatred Is," an uptempo jam about how, for some people, home is not where the heart is. And two uptempo ballads "Save The Children" and "I Think I'll Call It Morning," which is about finding the happiness in life despite your surroundings.A powerful album throughout, though. There's only a little fold out with a paragraph from Scott-Heron from 1971 (album release date) and a two b&w photos. There's another "remastered" edition that I just saw here on Amazon Pieces of a Man, but I'm not sure if that one is any various than this version. Had I known there was a newer release, I might have purchased it because PIECES OF A MAN is definitely a keeper!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    I’m not an avid reader but when I do and I can’t place it down then it’s a amazing book for me. I have ADHD if I’m not intrigued I move on. I totally relate to some of the quotes. I believe both men and women should read this to be able to look at themselves and create adjustments in how they treat someone. It’s not a man bashing book at all. It’s truth which is hard for some to admit. I feel better about what I should expect from a man. Because I’m worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    I had the pleasure of reading this book. My husband and I hit a rock-bottom low and somehow this book was something I stumbled upon. This book literally created me cry. It said things I was longing to hear…if they were real or not, it gave me the validation I so desperately required to hear. It also place our relationship into perspective. There were things that were not applicable to our marriage but there were things that were. I was so thankful that there was a section just for him to read…and then a section for us to read. I read the whole book before I gave it to him and in tears asked him to either read the whole book or just the part for him (when he was ready). This is a man who doesn’t read books…and he READ THE WHOLE THING. And we quietly sat down and talked. We pointed out what in the book applied to us and what we mutually agreed did not. While this is not the respond to our prayers it brought us together to acknowledge where we need to begin and brought the communication back into our lives. This will support bring us closer to where we need to be…but this book truly helped us…and on a deeper level it helped me. Women young and old need to read this. It will support your soul on so a lot of levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    In Bara Tooti Chook, the ideal job has kamai, pay, and azadi, the ability to walk off anytime. Ashraf, our basic informant, Lalloo and Rehaan work as what translates as casual labor. In the morning the potential foremen line up and recruit the workers for the day. There are levels of pay, responsibility, and skill. Ashraf likes to obtain enough to as much alcohol as he wants, food, and tea. He also wants enough time to have fun them. Ashraf is a slippery man to interview. He is an older guy and has a long history in any number of jobs and cities, but he is impervious to the need for a timeline. Our narrator, the author, spends his time with these men, but finds that their preferred alcohol, created in India, makes him feel is is the globe of old Delhi. It is a globe the authorities are determined to place an end to. The year of this interview, 2009, over 800,000 people had been displaced by the leveling of slums. Vagrancy is illegal, but one can prove your profession by the calluses and discolorations of certain professions. Everyone comes to Delhi with a plan to obtain rich. One woman who runs a semi-legal bar has done so. The rest are reliant upon the eventual ownership of a motorcycle and two phones; a goat; or a pair of pigs. Dreams drift through the drinking sessions in the evenings.I was hesitant on the first page, piqued by the second page, and enthralled by the third page. Despite the constant issue of a coherent life story, these characters acquire true dimensions. Sethi becomes an extra hero as he struggles with the role of interviewer. And the Chook, or employment shop becomes yet another hero of its own. This is a various side of the story, short of a lot of of the ennobling stories that often accompany a story of a slum in India. Yet the stories are noble in their own right. Give it a try. It is a various world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    This is a very touching and moving story about a homeless man, and the stray kittin thhe has reluctantly fallen in love with. Subject, and cat grow inseperable through their journy in the Pacific Northwest, and Califoria. Very moving, and touching, you will cheer for both of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    Wonderful. Uplifting without being sentimental. Not just another navel gazing exercise masquerading as a street trip. This book has heart. And grit. And wit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    This book got me through a couple of dark days. The story sucks you in.I've lived in Portland for decades, and I'm impressed that this writer from London is so amazing at describing Portland, Oregon, its streets, trees, houses, its general vibe, its characters both human and animal. Forget "Portlandia." This is the true deal. A homeless guy, depressed, drinking, takes in a lost, needy cat, and they panhandle, hitchhike, and camp out together, covering thousands of miles. It's a love story really. Meanwhile, the cat's original owner is missing her terribly and wondering if she's still alive somewhere, consulting psychics, having nightmares, worried sick. This all really happened, these are true is is a heartfelt, heart-wrenching, soulful book, and the humor and wry observations are part of the soulfulness.(No wonder Pogues songwriter Shane McGowan wrote a blurb for the back jacket.) It's also a amazing story, down-to-earth, well-paced, drawn with bold strokes, and with clear-eyed respect for the people and animals involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    This was a sometimes funny, sometimes sad and definitely educational book. I love cats so that caught my attention to this book. Given the other main hero , Michael , was homeless it gave me a view into what life is like for the homeless and their everyday struggles. How a little kitten found by Michael changed his life so that he took on the responsibility of feeding and protecting her despite his a lot of challenges. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    Better than "A Road Cat Named Bob." This is my fresh favorite book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    What an eye opening experience to see the life of the homeless of Delhi through the eyes of a young Indian writer. He befriended them and told us each of their stories and dreams and how they came to be on the streets. An necessary read for anyone that cares about people ad the human condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    This is a well research book about migrant laborers in India. The reporter does a amazing job of piecing the stories together, and telling with humor and compassion and without extraneous judgement. The book lacks the pure poetry of Behind the Attractive Forevers by Katherine Book. But at the same time I think the author just gets the context better, and I think this is important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    I have long admired Sethi's writing in The Hindu - well written, informed, pieces that create the subtleties and complexities of situations comprehensible. A journalist who one remembers because of his writing and what it conveys and not because he uses it to just grab attention or promote himself. This book, in longer form, has all those attributes. Wonderfully observed and compassionate writing about an India tourists don't see or recoil from. The comparison has been created with Orwell and while the writing style is very various the subject, humanity and clarity of writing lend validity to the comparison. Very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    Amari seems to have the ability to read a woman's spirit, essence and, if it's not too ironic, soul. It is a lovely read and gives you the ability to interact while going through the chapters. I found myself nodding my head in agreement and amazement that this man, whom I've never even met, knows what I feel inside so is book is a process. One of which I am not going through so the title is a bit misleading. It takes one through the outlining who you are and what you want, then through the difficult stages of deciding whether to stay or go, how to move past an unhealthy relationship and the aftermath of being single. It is moving and inspiring and if you are in these parts of a relationship, a welcoming mate to support you through such ere is a section that men should read also. It gives helpful in website into a woman's thoughts and what women wish and need from a relationship. This part of the book is directed to men.What I liked about this book is Amari's unbelievable sense of insite into how a woman feels and the support and inspiration to go on to be who you are and have what you wish in a relationship. I could have saved myself a lot of heartache if this book were available when I was making the decision to stay or go in a relationship I was not meant to be in. There is wonderful strength in this man's is is the first book I have looked into and read by Amari Soul. I do hope he either has or will have a book for those of us who are in a healthy relationship and addresses making a satisfied marriage even more enriching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    I actually stumbled across this book the other day when I was searching for ideas on how to improve myself to be a better and healthier women and what better method to obtain pointers is to read a book through a positive man's eyes and mind. I recommend this to be read and shared amongst couples or yourselves. I know everyone has an opinion about life, but I truly can say I was enlightened from the male and female spectrum, so somethings you can use from this read or pass it along. Thank you Mr. Amari for a unbelievable read. I couldn't out this book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    I've been waiting for years for someone to clean up this masterpiece and I ordered this, my third ver on CD, with fingers crossed but with every expectation of being disappointed. I'm satisfied to report that while in spots Gil's vocals still sound a small "echoey", this is probably as amazing as we're ever going to hear this Desert Isle recording on CD. Bernard Purdie's drums, Ron Carter's bass, Hubert Law's reed work, Brian Jackson's piano playing and Burt Jones' guitar are all balanced out well in the mix now and there's more "presence" to the sound in general. There's also 3 tracks included which are attributed to "Black & Blues" or "Gil's Boys" featuring a singer with a amazing voice by the name of Victor Brown that are anything but throwaway tracks. They don't necessarily fit in with the overall texture of Pieces Of A Man but think maybe early Battle with a harder lyrical edge but a small less polished. I can't imagine anyone who loves this recording as much as I do being disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    The Revolution Will Not Be Televised was a lightning bolt into the famous culture of 1970. I'm showing my age, but crotch grabbing, ho' beatin', pistola wielding gansta's need to listen to, and not just "sample", this guy. A window into the black experience through the poetry, muscianship, and amazing songwriting of Mr. Heron. What's happened to musicianship, jazz, and melody? The song "Pieces of a Man" is just beautiful, and sounds like it was written yesterday. This melody is fresh, and Heron's critical appraisal of white and black culture is dead-on. To quote Todd Rundgren about the state of Soul, R&B, and Hip Hop music:There's something missing in the sound,That so used to may rock, it may roll, but tell meWhatever happened to your soul?It's just a murky, jerky motivates but it don't moveAnd all the pimps and funky divasCrank out their empty testifyingThey mixed it all in a bowl but then theyForgot to add a pinch of soulTell me, whatever happened to soul, brother?Tell me, what did they do with the soul, soul brother?Tell me, where did they go with the soul, brother?Can't search a small a bit of soulCause it's so hip to be a hoAnd all the brothers act like crooksAnd all the children in the suburbs write the radio hooksAnd if you wish to be a starJust grab your crotch and squeeze it hardAnd create your mom and daddy proudAs you dry hump for the crowdIt may be tired and old, but then it'sYour only substitute for soulGil Scott-Heron created amazing melody in a lost era. Too bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    Wow!! Love this book!!! It opened my eyes to a lot of things I already knew was there but this really broke some things down to me. That I could just no longer ignore! This is a must have book! No joke! I ended a relationship of back and forth of 10 years that was going NO WHERE!! If I could give this book 1000 rating I would. Also I would recommend the book "Man leads, woman follows" This book and that one go hand in hand! all the info you need!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    I absolutely loved reading this book. Started it latest week and just finished it this morning. Excellent pair with a glass of wine before bed or a cup of coffee to begin your day. Very insightful and gives accurate explanations of women and wants versus needs. The Man to Man chapter was nice to read even as a woman. He gets straight to the point and it’s beautifully written. I would recommend this for anyone who’s looking for deeper insight on love and what it takes to strengthen a relationship. Only shared a few pages with my fiancé and now he’s gong to read it now that I’m done. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    I have read countless books on relationships and most only give a laundry list of a 1000 and one things the woman needs to do to build her relationship. I have grown very weary of those books and all but refused to read them. This book is different. It articulates the needs of a woman which is very refreshing and comforting. Finally a book that speaks to the hearts of women rather than providing a laundry list of stuff for us to change. The poetry was a very nice in this book. I absolutely loved it. Kudos to Mr. Amari Soul if I could only shake his hand...For the men, if you wish to improve your current relationship, prepare for future long-term relationship, or easy better understand women, this is a must-read. This book does not bash men. It provides insight to the mind, needs, and desires of the woman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    This album is a terrific introduction to GSH's items and in my opinion his best album overall, edging out "Winter in America" and "South Africa to South Carolina," and the Flying Dutchman classic "The Revolution Will Not be Televised."No, you will not hear Gil's poetry set to a spare percussion background, a la "Whitey on the Moon," "Brother," and "No Knock." That is a drawback, and be sure go to the Flying Dutchman record for that. But what you will obtain is attractive writing backed by a powerful band. And Gil's voice was in amazing form on this album; this is unfortunately no longer ere isn't a weak tune, but several stand out: the poignant "Home is Where the Hatred Is"; the uplifting "I Think I'll Call It Morning"; the spellbinding "The Prisoner"; and of course the classic "Revolution Will Not be Televised," which could teach any number of lame present-day rappers how it once was it, place it on, and then lean back and have fun hearing one of the most compelling voices ever to come out of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    I liked this CD a lot. I bought it to replace one that got lost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    this is the ONLY book EVER that I would read again. Absolutely LOVED it. I laughed and cried at the right times. Want the ending was different, but I understand. A MUST for all cat and animal lovers. This book will NEVER leave my side. Attractive attractive story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    I found this fascinating, since I read it while traveling in India. The author, a journalist, uncovers the life a once successful man who is homeless when he meets him. One can easily imagine that the man’s life isn’t so unusual in a country where survival can be precarious, especially for those without a family help system. Moving and absorbing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    Read it in one go:i wanted to know what happened next. An exceptional read, smiling and crying. A unbelievable taste of the roads of India and of generosity friendship and love found there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    I very much enjoyed this book. Not as much as Katherine Boo's Behind the Attractive Forever but it is really a gripping read (I read it in two sittings) and provides much meal for thought. Aman Sethi will mature as an observer and writer and I will look forward to his next work that is, hopefully, about Chattisgarh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    This album is a masterpiece. There is not a song worth skipping on the album. Sharp, social commentaries, and excellently crafted melody and tones to compliment both the spoken word style poetry and the sweet, soulful sound of GSH’s sits you comfortably in uncomfortable experiences to illustrate various perspectives and develop empathy for the trials and tribulations of the common man. It is also masterfully arranged to balance the sad and impactful songs, with ones that will create you smile and cherish those that came before and those you care for e quality of the record is also very good. Reminds me of originals from the 70s, with its massive weight and thickness. The gatefold cover is also well made, with amazing pictures to give faces to the voice and instruments on the of the best albums/records I own, period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pieces of a Man []  2020-1-22 2:8

    For those who love Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On" and Stevie Wonders "Innervisions," this Gil Scott-Heron masterpiece is a must. Shiny, attractive album jacket with a nice gatefold. Vinyl has a nice, deep, warm sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reflections Of A Man []  2020-1-16 0:49

    For any woman who tries to search answers as to why her relationship has/have caused so much pain- this is a frank and to the point depiction of what we really need to sustain/obtain happiness in relationships. I have found that I have always blamed myself when it comes to relationships have failed/ended. We honestly need to value our real worth and remember that we are not always to blame. There are circumstances outlined in this book that we can all benefit from. I love it and do not feel it is a "male bashing" book by any means. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    The writer has done a unbelievable job. He has persevered over a long time in befriending the 'no bodies' as far as India is concerned. The main characters are true indeed and speak volumes about the poverty of the 'man in street' in the true sense of the word. Thanks to the writer who brought the reader face to face about the reality of the 'mazdoor' about whom we know so small or care.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Free Man: A True Story of Life and Death in Delhi []  2020-1-21 21:2

    The book provides us with a glimpse into the lives of Indian laborers, but is sometimes difficult to follow. This is especially real in the beginning. Some sections are moving, but others are just confusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    This book reports a highly unusual story of a cat rescued by a homeless man and carried with him as he travels through Western states for nearly a year. The author has gone to amazing lengths to tell the tale from the perspective of the humans involved, and there is hero development in the tracing of their stories. A amazing attachment develops between the cat and her human, and he is severely challenged emotionally to return the cat to her original owner when he discovers that she is microchipped. The qualities of the owner are shown with less sympathy, and it is hard to feel glad for the cat at first when she returns home. But she finally turns back into a typical housecat and couch potato, so she seems to belong there at last.What I hoped to obtain from the book was the story from the cat's point of view. We catch glimpses of her playing at the edge of the surf, sleeping in a tree for the night to escape predators in a national park, snuggling inside her man's sleeping bag to stay safe and warm on a lot of nights. But this does not suffice to obtain into the mind of this cat, and I continued to wonder if the cat were actually enjoying living on the lam like this. Much of the book was actually boring, as I waited for some insight into the feelings of the cat, aside from her clinging to the immediate safety she felt being with her trusted person. Overall I found the book saddening. Was this whole episode in her life worthwhile in her experience? I would not read the book again, and I write this as a warning to readers who expect more about a cat and less about the life struggles of the people living a hard life like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strays: The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America []  2020-1-16 2:45

    This is a attractive story of hope and love and how animals change our lives. It's a deeply touching story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    What a possibility of a lifetime that this author met this amazing American character at a time when he would tell his extraordinary life story. Don't allow the reader of the preface in the audio book bog you down, because he is a not good reader, but the reader of the book is stately! The first part is Black Elk's vision is hard to follow, but it becomes clearer as he tells his life story. Black Elk is a master storyteller who reveals the inner thoughts and perspectives on the American Indian life. I have studied American Indians all my life, including college courses at MSU and this is by far one of the best accounts of Indian life I have ever read. Black Elk has unbelievable insight into life, the value of our relationship with others, man's relationship with the world, etc. His philosophy echoes the greatest philosophers of all time back to Aristotle. His religion recognizes the reality and truth of a spiritual globe that is more true than ours. Black Elk is a remarkable and wise person. I am thankful his wisdom and stories were not lost by the whites who considered the American Indian substandard humans and place all his people on a reservation to die of starvation in misery and humiliation. Everybody needs to read or listen to Black Elk's words to understand what a amazing people were destroyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killer Family Man : The True Story of Chris Watts: A collection of True Crime Stories []  2020-1-19 23:28

    This book was very informative and well-written. I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Black Elk Speaks is a book I will not soon forget. The first person accounts of life on the prairies and mountains of the upper plains of America created me feel as if I was there. Having read his story, I can honestly say that had I lived there with Black Elk, with my show day mind, the US Troops would have had yet another to contend with. The sheer horror and completely inhumane and immoral manner with which the US Government carried out its mission to eradicate the Natives from the land and take it for the sole use of White "Christians" is a despicable sore on the face of American History.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killer Family Man : The True Story of Chris Watts: A collection of True Crime Stories []  2020-1-19 23:28

    If I could give this book 0 stars I would. It's full of lies and Mis-information!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killer Family Man : The True Story of Chris Watts: A collection of True Crime Stories []  2020-1-19 23:28

    The main thing I didn't like was the fact that he murdered his whole family after reporting them missing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Amazing book detailing success and failure, vision and dream for a leader of Oglala Sioux. Amazing reading if you have a spiritual path of early peoples living.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Black Elk endured the collapse of culture that we are experiencing. Read what his lessons were

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killer Family Man : The True Story of Chris Watts: A collection of True Crime Stories []  2020-1-19 23:28

    Nothing to it. very disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Killer Family Man : The True Story of Chris Watts: A collection of True Crime Stories []  2020-1-19 23:28

    If you wish to read about Chris Watts read Nick van der Leek's books about him. The chapter on him here is barely a brief overview. All the other chapters are repeats of others in this not good series of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Hear it directly from the author who lived it and wrote it, Black Elk. The United States has a very not good history in terms of its relationships with Indian tribes and its willingness to honor agreements. It was a period of amazing greed for land and a saga of eliminating Indian tribes. Black Foot relates how the white settlers invaded the Lakota's land and literally stole it right out from under them. The white man killed off the buffalo herds for mainly sport, and deprived the Lakota's from their basic life line in terms of food, skins, etc. He speaks of how the White Man killed off his culture making the Indians more and more dependent upon what the White Man was willing to give the Indians. He speaks of the Indian win at Small Huge Horn, better known as Custer's Latest Stand, and then the unpardonable American slaughter of Lakota men, women and kids at Wounded e United State's cruel and inhumane treatment of the American Indians is best told in this book. Read it and do all you can in your power to never let a travesty of this description befall any other people on earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    This is an authentic recollection, taken down in 1930 by a professor/anthropologist, of a Sioux medicine man and warrior's life, an Indian who was show at both the conquer of General Custer (1876) and the massacre of Sioux women and kids at Wounded Knee in 1890. The speaker,Black Elk, tells with amazing poignancy his early visions as a youth that propelled him to be a healer; of the betrayal of his Sioux people by the whites when gold was discovered in the Black Hills of Dakota territory; of the "rubbing out of Long Hair" ( the conquer of Custer), of Black Elk's travels in Europe as a performer in Buffalo Bill Cody's Wild West Show; and finally of his return to the frontier to witness and war versus US soldiers at Wounded Knee. He also recounts the assassinations of Crazy Horse and Sitting Bull by the Reservation is is a book that should be on the reading list of every US high school's American History class. It is a rare insight into the broken treaties and the final betrayal, incarceration and placing on reservations of the proud, independent Sioux nation. It is the end of the frontier and the end of a method of life. Sadly, it is also a curtain raiser to the same kind of atrocities, small known, that US forces committed versus Filipinos in the first years of the 1900's; and it leads to My Lai in Vietnam, and Abu Gharib in Iraq. It is another reminder that battle and colonization is hell, and that commanders cannot be counted on to restrain their men, and that the casualties of conquest are more often civilians than e true sadness of this book, however, is Black Elk's measured but ultimately tragic telling of the death of the Sioux method of life in the final decades of the 1800's, of the breaking of their spirit, and the perishing of their magical, nomadic culture at the hands of "Western progress."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Amazing Book! It's a very spiritual, fascinating, yet sad story because we continue to repeat our mistakes. Black Elk led an awesome life and you feel like you are there, living the stories as he tells them. Our history only teaches one side of the story. If you would like to know a small about the other side, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    A rare if not special telling of the life story, beliefs and experiences, of a Shaman Visionary,Black Elk, and the tribal history of the Oglala Nation, its struggles to survive the arrival of Europeans inNorth America. Black Elk tells the story in his own words after a lifetime of keeping hisstory secret, finally ,in his eighties he decides the time is right for the globe to hear it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Black Elk was born and lived when Natives were free, not on reservations. That is why his words were captured and printed back in the 1930s when he was an old man, his reembrances of liberty. I still do not know if he was naturally eloquent or if the translator is responsible for this tome. The two of them together created a fine squad -- putting an era into words I can understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Elk Speaks: Being the Life Story of a Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux []  2020-2-1 1:18

    Most people recognize Black Elk's name if not his legend. From the time he was a little kid he had the ability to hear and follow Tankashilah. Elder's of the Lakota people saw it in him and knew he would follow the path. As a kid he was raised knowing all the ways, traditions and cultures of the Lakota. He also experienced that life being torn apart: every battle, every torture, every mutilation. All that was Sacred; gone. The People; ter traveling with Buffalo Bill, in Europe, he returned and worked to heal the Lakota. To repair the Sacred Hoop, heal The Tree of Life, these were his goals. He never felt that he suceeded. In the end, Black Elk dictated this book with the support of relatives who translated, the author, and members of his family. It was Black Elk's latest and perhaps greatest bonus to the extented family, All The People: The Red, The Yellow, The Black, The White.If you wish to understand the traditions this is a starting point. A must have. It's well written, clear and profound. And, if you've read it well, don't be suprised if it should prove life changing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    This is a compelling story that was well told. The writing was a bit stilted in a few places, but that is hard to avoid when telling someone else's life story. The depictions of Mike May's struggle with the decision to test the surgery are well done as are the bits after the surgery as he figures out the fresh globe he's been thrust into. A worthy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    I could not place this book down. It was intriguing to learn of how vision works. Also the adventures and the spirit of this man and his family are amazing. I was with him all through the book. Also I was with his mother and his wife. This family is something I can't quite describe. Almost super beings.A book certainly well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    Changed the method I see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rookie: The Incredible True Story of a Man Who Never Gave Up on His Dream []  2020-1-10 19:11

    Enjoyed this book on Jimmy Morris.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rookie: The Incredible True Story of a Man Who Never Gave Up on His Dream []  2020-1-10 19:11

    I bought this book for my 11 year old grandson and he just loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas []  2020-4-1 20:16

    "Last man off "was a superbly written book and a amazing sequel to the book I just finished, "In the heart of the sea" which is the tragedy of the whale ship Essex" in the 1800s . both are stories of survival but "Last man" with the cruel Artic sea. The other similarities are how both of these tragedies could have been avoided if they just stopped fishing or whaleing during a force5 bert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas []  2020-4-1 20:16

    Well written story of survival after a shipwreck. The author does a amazing job of being as objective as possible on the causes of the sinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    Amazing book, very interesting and we live in the zone he was from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See [Book]  2017-10-21 18:0

    One of the most fascinating stories I've read in a long time, especially as a puppy raiser for Leader Dogs for the Blind (another raiser recommended the book). A whole 'nuther method of seeing things--pun intended. Couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas []  2020-4-1 20:16

    Enjoyed the horrifying perspective of a novice scientific observer thrown into a nightmare aboard a fishing vessel in the Southern Ocean. A very cool recollection by the author. While it would be simple to cast blame and end grudges, the author is very measured and even in his account. As a physician, I am suprised that any of the men in the author's lifeboat survived hypothermia. He describes partial immersion in seawater at 1 C for 3 or 4 hours. It is a miracle really that any survived. And what are the odds of a rescue boat finding not one but two rafts without beacons? 1 in a million?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas []  2020-4-1 20:16

    I really enjoyed this book but would have appreciated a bit more info about life on board before disaster struck. It really created me think about how simple it can be to obtain into true problem when seeking adventure (and employment) at a young age. I've been to South Africa several times so I could really appreciate the interactions between the different members of the crew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rookie: The Incredible True Story of a Man Who Never Gave Up on His Dream []  2020-1-10 19:11

    If you've seen the film and enjoyed it and are looking for more of that, you'll be disappointed, but if you wanting more facts/ information, you will search it in the book.I really enjoyed the film for inspirational reasons -- I love these kinds of stories... if the story is really what happened. In this case Hollywood did its thing and gave it a significant revision -- the true story is not as inspirational. And it is not an underdog is often the case in stories like this, there are other realities that create it not such a cool story after this case, Jimmy Morris is/ was a very self-centered, very athletically talented guy who left his wife and children over and over to pursue his "dreams" and desires... he place his family into hardship over and over so he could hold his "dream" or whatever it was alive. This included playing a 130 android games a year on a softball squad while, in his own words, struggling with the notion that his wife was the bread champion of the ter watching the movie, I thought the Jimmy Morris story was really cool. After reading the book, not so much. Actually, not at all. It's just another story of someone so self-absorbed they happily step on others (in this case his wife and kids) to obtain what they e book is well written by the ghost, and I give full to Jimmy Morris for being candid, but I sure didn't like him much after reading the I said at the beginning, if you're looking for more of the movie's amazing inspiration, you will not search it here, but if you're looking for more info and info about this story, it is a decent r choice.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386