Read strange weather: four short novels reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all strange weather: four short novels reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Joe Hill does it again! Each of these stories are very well written, the latest one being my favorite. I don't wish to go into detail about the stories, you should create up your own mind about them, but the latest is reminiscent of Stephen King at his best. If you have never read anything from Joe Hill, begin with this book. You can't go wrong!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    2 A's, a B+, and a C+. That's a amazing job. A couple of these stories played around in my head. Hold writing, please. This form serves the writer and reader well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Joe Hill is sure footed and at his best with these four novellas. These characters stay with you, and the things they experience and how they relate to the horrors that plague our modern globe will work on your subconscious for some time afterward. Highly recommended.

    0  


    Add your opinion on strange weather: four short novels or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    I hate writing reviews because really, you don’t know me so why do you care about my opinion? Read it for yourself and form your own opinion.But in the unlikely happening you’re on the fence about this book & a rating percentage will sway you, the original stories are worth your and time. Even if you don’t agree with Hill’s “politics” you can still have fun his imagination and voice. I loved this book even more than Heart-Shaped Box, 20th Century Ghosts, & The Fireman. Can’t wait to read everything else Hill has written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    An imaginative selection of heart stopping stories that will hold you awake well after you close the cover. Each story various in its terror and intrigue, written in real Joe Hill style . I loved every story and wish more! A must read for all fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Entertaining group of stories-- for me "Aloft" and "Loaded" were the best of the 4 - - Loaded was especially suspenseful and timely. Snapshot and Rain did not have enough depth for me. Joe Hill's writing is as superb as ever so it was with eager anticipation that I downloaded this group of short stories. Amazing reading at lunch time - something quick, entertaining and not too substantial. Would recommend to Joe Hill fans but be warned that Snapshot and Rain are so-so (in my opinion).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    I am only two thirds of the method through this, currently. I had to take a break and a long breath because Joe Hill’s writing is captivating and very real. Not for the faint of heart

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Joe Hill, a.k.a. Stephen King’s doppelgänger son, has followed in his father’s footsteps as a seriously amazing writer, with a sincerely twisted so like his dad, short stories are some of Hill’s best work. Three of the four are clear allegory tales, with supernatural elements standing in for modern day traumas and/or current events. Aloft, the story of a skydiver on a cloud, was the most fantastical and, for me, the hardest to enjoy, though I did like the ending.Loaded, which I thought was the bleakest and best of the bunch, eschews the paranormal for a very violent, but all-too-credible look at humanity’s darkest underbelly. Not something to read right before you go to general, Hill is even darker than his famously horror-centric father, which is really saying something. Where King is grim, Hill is pitch black and he tends to speed past brooding malevolence to straight out human evil in a method that almost, but not quite, is too much for me to take. After reading Hill’s work I often have to shake off the bleakness, so his books requires a certain resilience of mood; not something I’d dig into when feeling depressed, for sure. Still, he can definitely write — the entire King family is freakishly intelligent, enviably articulate and awesomely prolific —and Hill's work is entertaining, as well as dark.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    After finishing the four short stories and reading the author's note, stating that these stories were supposed to be quick and jarring, I believe they did just that. They're all amazing short stories. Some leaving you right on the edge of your seat. With that being said its not like any of his other work in my opinion and I've read all of his other independent novels and comics. It was a amazing read through and through and any Joe Hill fan of real fan of suspense and horror will have fun the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Strange Weather: Four Short Novels [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    These novellas are different, but slightly related in ways. I loved reading all of them. Amazing book! There were a couple of odd things that could have been mistakes, but I'm never sure about those...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wolves of Crookshollow Collection: Four werewolf paranormal romance novels [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    Unfortunately, I have only read two of the four books included in this collection. But I have greatly enjoyed reading them!! After reading "Inking the Wolf", I have decided that I need to read the other two stories. I wish to know about all of the characters that create up the Crookshollow world."Digging the Wolf": This is not the first book that I have read by Steffanie Holmes, and it won't be the last. I have found all of her characters to be believable, and full of life. I also love Crookshollow. It's such a neat place. I definitely obtain lost in its roads and forests while I'm reading. Sometimes, it's hard to come back to the true world. In this book, Anna is trying to create her method up the academic ladder as an anthropology student. While on a dig, she meets Luke, her mate. Enough said. No, really...he doesn't wish his secrets to obtain out but he doesn't wish to hamper his mate. What a dilemma."Inking the Wolf": Well, I wasn't as sure about this book as some of the others I have read. I think everyone should be able to freely express their own preferences but I really do prefer to read about hetero relationships. However, this book didn't go too far into location that I was leery of. I was able to finish the story, and I enjoyed doing so. Bianca and Robbie have had horrible childhoods from their perspectives. Robbie didn't feel as though he was given enough amazing attention (ie: reading and writing) and Bianca felt like she was given too much--and that nothing she did was amazing enough. Once they realized that they balanced each other out, the relationship became something good. I was very surprised by how the danger befell Bianca. I truly thought that it would come on another front. All of the characters are so interwoven into each other's stories, it created me wish to learn about all the other wolves who create up the Lowell pack.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wolves of Crookshollow Collection: Four werewolf paranormal romance novels [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    I love paranormal book and Amazon has a amazing selection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    When I ordered this, I did not know what to expect but fast romances wrapped into neat small packages of dark hunters and were hunters-pure ndora and her panther, pirates.dream hunters. If you like Sherilyn Kenyon, you will have fun this. some of the offerings seemed incomplete like Nick's story, and some seemed like deleted exerts from other novel's like Seth's tale. I wished Fury's tale was longer, since his early life mirrored Vane's in misery and confusion which would explain how rapidly he became devoted to Vane and Fang. In her novels, Ms Kenyon's characters often endure abuse, betrayal then search love and redemption, the characters are fleshed out more, some viewers may feel less connected with the condensed version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    It was unbelievable reading all of these small side stories that we've been given in other anthologies over the years in one book. Of course, being an avid Sherrilyn Kenyon fan, I'm not going to complain about having repeats from other anthologies I've purchased. I love how her characters seem to be perfectly suited to one another and various enough that I don't feel like I'm repeated the same story over and over again. When I wish something fairly light hearted, but with serious undertones, in the paranormal romance genre, I always come to Kenyon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    Overall, not bad. The edges of the pages are not clean chop to match each other. I know I have seen this before in bookstores, but as I am already a small hard on books when carrying them around, I don’t care for the look or functionality of it. I also was not prepared for it to be quite as thick as it is. I thought about returning it and buying from a thrift book website to obtain each book individually (for a few dollars cheaper), but am too impatient to begin reading so I won’t be returning it. I know the dimensions are listed but i didn’t even think about it. Because it’s a compilation, it is a small massive if you are looking for something to carry around with you. The content is 5-star, but the presentation is lacking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    He wrote about true people in true life situations. His characters present us the human condition without pretense or hyperbole. To me, Steinbeck is the Literary ver of Rembrandt,the seventeenth-century Dutch painter, one of history's greatest painters, who's work, with its powerful light and deep shadow, create his paintings intense. Rembrandt's topics were mostly common folk as were Steinbeck's characters, who were often easy yet intense. Intense enough to keep our interest from begin to finish. Examples: George and Lennie - Of Mice and Men and Jody the ranch boy in The Red Pony. The list goes on, but you should check them out for ing Steinbeck, one gets a fascinating look into lives of people we never would have met, yet we feel we know them,and are there as they live through their story, often ending in sadness or tragedy we feel as though it happened to us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    I absolutely love the romantic story telling of writers from Steinbeck's time, be it Faulkner, or Hemmingway. The book has a amazing cover and appearance, and I really enjoyed all of his stories. I'll rank the stories from my least to most, personal, favorite: The Pearl, The Moon is Down, Tortilla Flat, Of Mice and Men, The Red Pony, and Cannery Row. I rated the stories in based on my own emotional reactions for various scenes in each of the short novels. Cannery Row ends pm a mystic note, which the reader should explore and feel for themselves... The Red Pony is a heart wrenching story about a boy's love turned mournful, a promise with a tragic twist, mountains beyond and man with a home lost, and the passing of old glories. Of Mice and Men is, in my understanding, a hero observation of the definition of masculinity and people's senses of pride and promised property. Tortilla Flat is also another elaboration on property, more so tying in the bonds between people and a community in the absence of family, and the obligations of people to one another. The Moon is Down seems to me to be one of Steinbeck's more thematically deviating novels: much of the topic matter seems to be, at the surface, about battle and the unconquerable nature of community and nation. The Pearl, I liked the least, not saying it was bad, but it was not on the same level as the others. The Pearl was definitely, compared to the other five, the darkest and most brooding; themes about the failure of capitalism and the viciousness and greediness of people in the fortune of others are aggregate, the collection is AWESOME!!!!!! I had a blast reading them, and Steinbeck really makes you work to extract meaning from his novels. His writing has a pastel quality in all of his descriptions; whether it be an diving town, Monterey, a surrendering village, a farm in the countryside, in my mind's eye his settings are stylized like pieces by Monet. I'm currently working on Grapes of Wrath, and have East of Eden and The Winter of Discontent in my lined up in my queue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    I’ve read five out of the six of the short novels contained in this edition. At first I wondered about the slightly smaller format and noticed some of the raters’ comments questioning the binding. But for me it has held up very well and shows small wear. But it has also been used solely in my home and has had no abuse. Still, I consider it to be a amazing value of some outstanding literature. Some of Steinbeck’s most unbelievable works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    This was brilliant, with each story so various yet equally enchanting. I had difficulty putting it down. Her imagination and descriptions are really so amazing that before I even begin any of her books, I am assured of a magical experience, in an exciting, unpredictable world. She builds tension in even her short stories with a masterly touch. All these stories were magical and the book was unputdownable!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    I absolutely love Sherrilyn Kenyon, she is my favorite author. She is a unbelievable story teller; from the Dark Hunters to the League. I have read every book she has written and look forward to all her future books. She makes her characters true as if you've known them all your life. She holds your interest from the very first word. This book didn't disappoint. Looking forward to the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    This book is her older anthology stories place together in 1 amazing packageHouse of the Rising Son - is the story of Aricles & Bathymaas (you can search more about them in Styxx's book)Phantom Lover - V'Aidan's story that was first in "Midnight Pleasures"Winter Born - Dante & Pandora (Were-Panthers) that was first in "Stroke of Midnight"A Dark-Hunter Christmas - Gallagher (Dark-Hunter) originally posted onlineUntil Death Do We Part - originally published in "Love At First Bite" anthologyA Hard Day's Night Searcher - originally published in "My Huge Fat Supernatural Wedding" anthologyShadow of the Moon - (Fury the wolf) originally published in "Dead After Dark"Fear The Darkness - originally a digital for her fans. It is a small piece of Nick after his mother diedWhere Angels Fear to Tread - originally published in the "Blood Lite" anthologyLove Bytes - originally published in "Naughty or Nice"Santa Wears Spurs - originally publised in "All I Wish for Christmas" anthology. Written as Kinley MacGregorRedemption - A stage from the guardian

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    Usually when reading a book of short stories, you search one or more that you really don't care to read. Not so with this collection of stories. I really enjoyed all of the stories. Sherrilyn Kenyon does a masterful job integrating stories from this book into other series she has ongoing.I can happily recommend this book to all readers of paranormal, romance and just plain amazing short stories. KUDOS Ms. Kenyon on stories well told.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    I haven't read a lot of Steinbeck since college, although I may have reread "Of mice and men" in the 70' of the first 'Adult' books I read was "Travels with Charlie", and disgusted my Conservative Dad, by telling him that Steinbeck was right up there with Tag Twain in my book. (Steinbeck being so liberal that he was a Commie in Dad's book).Cannery Row is probably second only to The Grapes of Wrath among my favorites of Steinbeck's work. Having lived a lot of years in Northern California, and getting married in Pacific Grove, the whole geography of that area, and the flavors Steinbeck gives it, are clear and unique to me. I highly recommend any of the Amazing Author's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    Can I give it 10 stars? What a fun treat this was to read. The characters are so unbelievable from all of her previous books. I've always loved, Nick, Asheron, Fury, the Peltiers, etc. Amazing short tales with interesting outcomes. Suspense, romance, twists and turns, totally amazing !! The Dark-Hunter stories are terrific. It is an amazing series of paranormal suspense, danger, gods, demons, humans, and everything in between. Love these !Included short stories: From the Globe of the Dark-Hunters, etc. :Phantom Lover (V'Aiden)Winter Born (Dante)A Dark-Hunter Christmas (Gallagher)Until Death We Do Part (Velkan)A Hard Day's Night Searcher (Rafael)Shadow of the Moon (Fury)Where Angels Fear to Tread (Zeke)Fear the Darkness , newHouse of the Rising Son, newAlso these : Love Bytes - (which was awesome)Santa Wears Spursand a of Lydia and Seth's Guardian wedding...These srories are wonderful. Sherrilyn Kenyon is a superb writer. ENJOY !!!!!!!==================================================================================

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    I did not like the straight romance short stories in this collection, but I liked the ones that continued with the Dark-Hunter story line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    I loved this collection of short novels, some of which I have not read since I was in high school and/or college. My favorites, then and now, are Tortilla Fat, of Mice and Men and Cannery Row. It was really interesting reading them again, now, as a grown woman. My perspective was so various as a young girl that I realized how much more I enjoyed the books now. After finishing this collection, I immediately bought Sweet Thursday, the sequel to Cannery Row, for my kindle. Sometimes I just can't obtain enough of a gifted author and Steinbeck certainly fits that description.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    Steinbeck is great. He does not tell you how to feel or how the hero felt. He tells you what they said and did. He believes the reader is intelligent. Tortilla flat with scoundrels who just don't know better. Don't trust them. They should not trust each other. But what can you do when they are your friend. Of Mice and Men is about a creature kid man. Read it yourself and agree or not. My favorite is The Pearl. We all like and attractive objects. What happens when your want comes true?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    With over 1650 reviews already (July 2014), it's hard to know where to being, or if saying anything will be of any consequence. But it seems the beginning of this appreciation has been given to me: most of the reviews seem to be from students or teachers who read one of the six novellas her, and reviewed that one. I have read them all.When I was in high school, I always got booted into advanced English classes, so while everyone else was reading of Mice and Men or The Pearl, I was reading something contemporary and "advanced." So I ended up missing out reading Steinbeck almost entirely (with the exception of Travels with Charlie, which was hot in my sophomore year and considered "cutting edge.") But over time I came to be familiar with most of these tales. There are movies of all of them but The Pearl, of Mice and Men is frequently presented theatrically on the scene (and there's a fresh opera based on it), and I've know the Copland melody for The Red Pony since I became a classical melody fan in my I discovered that Penguin place these small gems together in a single volume and resolved to read it cover to cover this summer, in my early 60s. It has been an adventure, discovering how Steinbeck's style became more economical, more compressed over the critical years from 1933 (The Red Pony, when he was 31) until 1947 (The Pearl, when he was 45). He's attracted to powerful stories about ordinary people and, from the very beginning, applies an academic craftsman's took kit to problems such as narrative arc and pacing. It's common to shrug him off as an American socialist, campaigning on behalf of the not good during the years of the Amazing Depression and Globe Battle II, but he is (1) not alone among American artists in that regard, and (2) so much more than e huge surprise, by the way, is The Moon Is Down, an unexpected parable set in Europe early in Globe Battle II. I read a plea for sanity into the book, a plea for distance and objectivity in the face of the imperatives inherent in unrelenting evil bent on the end, and with an eye on all the reviews focused on one or another of the early novellas, my plea is that any potential reader sit down with the book, begin it to the first page, and don't stop reading until the last. It's an awesome experience, one of those "Aha!" moments on why he was popular in the '40s and '50s and why he will be an enduring name in American literature in the future (pacem The Grapes of Wrath and East of Eden).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    I haven't read Steinbeck before. Choose short stories. First story about worthless drunks stealing for food, second about a small boy loving a horse that dies and then gets another at birth after having to hit the mother with a hammer to slay her and chop out the cplt and third about a mentally ill man, fighting men, crushing a hand and well, I quit. I kept looking for something I liked. He likes the "N" word also. Depressing. He is amazing describing animals and trees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Short Novels of John Steinbeck: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) []  2020-1-17 22:19

    Back in junior high reading was never as much fun as it is now. It takes the fun out of reading when you're told to read ... and then turn in a book report. I was constantly looking for books without too a lot of pages that lent themselves to those "uh-oh! I have a book report due tomorrow and I haven't read a book!" moments. Consequently, John Steinbeck's short novels like The Pearl and The Red Pony seemed ready created for the book report procrastinator.Eventually (translation: after I reached a point where I would no longer had to write book reports) I learned to appreciate Steinbeck's longer works like East of Eden and Grapes of Wrath. Both those books are on a short list of my favorite novels. But after stumbling across this collection while searching for Tortilla Flats I figured I'd re-read some of the books that served me so well as last-minute book -reading The Pearl, Of Mice and Men and The Red Pony was a revelation. There were depths of meaning and nuance there I completely missed when I was parsing out the protagonists, antagonists, themes, central conflicts, etc. for book reports. There is a sparse beauty to Steinbeck's short works. He is among a mere handful of writers that can paint entire scenes with only the sparsest brush-strokes of words. Even the works I had not previously read - The Moon is Down and Tortilla Flats - held wonders just waiting to be discovered. Somehow it never connected with me that Steinbeck was re-telling the tales of King Arthur through his characters in Tortilla Flats.I came away from the experience convinced that I should re-read Steinbeck at least every decade to see what fresh revelations jump out at me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    Bathymaas & Aricles story was my favorite. What a loves story these two characters share. Also, reading Bathymass & Aricles story helps with back story for me of the stories had nothing to do with paranormal romance. I was surprised but not disappointed. I love a amazing geek e book created me happy, cry & curious. Why? Curious because some of her short stories had such potential for a full novel. I hope these characters obtain their own book. Happy, because some characters have a satisfied ending. Cry, this is Sherrilyn Kenyon(queen of torture) does she create a book that you don’t shed a tear while reading.I would recommend these short stories for anyone that enjoys Sherrilyn ve Roses for Dark bites

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection (Dark-Hunter Novels) []  2020-1-30 20:8

    All the stories that actually pertained to the Dark Hunter globe we’re awesome. Not sure why the other’s were included in a compalation of tidbits for an already established series. They weren’t bad. They just didn’t belong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    I taught Chemical Thermodynamics, and recommended this book to my students. The primary ideas of thermodynamics and statistical mechanics are so very various from most other locations of physics, such as mechanics, relativity, or quantum mechanics that people fail to appreciate the beauty, power, and importance of this subject.When we study a subject, we must understand the primary principles of the subject. This idea is stressed in Teaching and Helping Students Think and Do Better: Things to Support Students Think and To Do Better in School and In Life and Rational Thinking, Government Policies, Science, and Living. Rational thinking starts with clearly stated principles, continues with logical deductions, and then examines empirical evidence to possibly modify the principles. Atkin's book discusses the strange principles of e book is thin, but thought provoking and worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    Allow me quote Sir Arthur Stanley Eddington here:"The law that entropy always increase..(lots about it in Atkins book)..-the second law of thermodynamics - HOLDS, I think, the supreme position among the Laws of Nature. If someone points out to you that your pet theory of the universe is in disagreement with Maxwell's equations - then so much the worse for Maxwell's equations. If it is found to be contradicted by observers - well, these experimentalists do bungle things sometimes. But if your theory is found to be versus the second law of thermodynamics, I can give you no hope; there is nothing for it but to collapse in deepest humiliation".Professor Atkins delivers short but kaleidoscopic and effective lecture just about above mentioned conviction. Lecture will be useful for a lot of - students as well as for readers who left school long time ago (this is me) but like to obtain into famous cosmology/physics books with clear understanding of the most necessary subject in science - is worth to mention briefly here, that the original formulation of the second law is not the ultimate truth. This book teaches only about classical thermodynamics, where actually systems are in equilibrium (nothing changes). Professor Atkins admits it in Conclusion at the end. But there is also non-equilibrium, linear thermodynamics that applies to things moving towards equilibrium (dissipative processes like thermodiffusion) and the fourth thermodynamics law (called "reciprocal relations") as a corollary of it. John Gribbin sheds some light on it in his fascinating and highly recommended popular-science fresh book : "Deep Simplicity - Bringing Order to Chaos and Complexity".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    Thermodynamics is by no means an simple topic to understand, with all its abstractness and subtleties. The proper textbooks out there on the topic all leave a lot to be desired in terms of making the topic simple to understand. Atkins attempts to remedy these issues with this little book, and I think he succeeds to some extent. Without using a lot of math and graphs, Atkins introduces the four laws of classical thermodynamics, from both a "normal" (continuum?) perspective and a molecular perspective. The text is organized very logically. The examples given certainly illustrate the point, but aren't expressed in the context of daily occurrences enough such that a non-scientific reader could easily follow along. The tone of writing is very pleasant and not at all dry, so that while not a gripping read, you certainly won't dread turning the pages.I do think that this book lacks a well-defined audience; some points are practically spoon-fed to you, while others assume you've taken a university-level course on thermo before. Those of us that use thermodynamics (physics, engineering, chemistry, etc., and all of the sub-disciplines within) each approach the topic matter a small differently, so I appreciate that a truly general approach to thermodynamics is not a trivial undertaking. However, I think that the text would be better if more focused for either those with or those without some university experience. Regardless of the minor short-comings, I heartily recommend this book as a refresher on the laws of thermodynamics, or as a companion to a course on thermodynamics, regardless of your discipline.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    I will recommend this book to anyone interested in the four laws of our universe and the physical laws that affect our every day lives here on earth. I have read about the subject of this book by other authors but this author has created the topic readable and interesting. My favorite law is the LAW of entropy which we can't escape from. I hold imagining that most if not all the secrets of the cosmos can be explained by the four laws. This book is amazing reading for students and science buffs like me - maybe even scientists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    and Atkins delivers on every level. He explains everything clearly and succinctly. Believe me, if you carefully read every word he has written you will walk away with a deep understanding of what temperature, enthalpy, entropy and absolute zero actually mean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    Amazing book that explains the laws of thermodynamics with a historical context. Some parts are not simple to understand and, depending on the background of the reader, may require that the reader look up similar material to gain a clear understanding. Overall, however, I found the book very insightful and helpful towards understanding thermodynamics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    i read this book cover to cover about once a year, it's worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    I am a physical chemist, and thought I knew all about the laws of thermodynamics. But this volume actually gave me fresh insights into how everything in the globe hangs together. Moreover, I gave it to a intelligent but non-scientist friend, and he was able to understand the principles of this very profound science. Also, his daughter, after discussing it with me, devised a heat transfer experiment for her school's science fair and got first prize.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Laws That Drive the Universe (Very Short Introductions) []  2020-1-15 23:54

    I don't usually like non-fiction books, but this one does a amazing job of breaking down the essentials of thermodynamics. It's certainly not a textbook, but it is a nice supplemental text. Thermodynamics isn't the most reader friendly subject in the world, so the fact that the author can hold it interesting is a bably not a book I'd ever pick up just for the heck of it, but if you've got to read it, don't worry, it's not that bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    This series of the four Whittaker brothers was a non stop joy. In the first book (Graham) Laney stands up for herself. I used this series as a reward as I didn't wish to stop reading 📚until i was completely done all four books. I loved it and I really like this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    Another fiction series that contains the previous characters as the series moves along. Liz Isaacson has done it again with her cowboy billionaire box set. I loved reading this series and look forward to more using these characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    There are four complete books in this set. Read as the each of the four brothersfind love with all the misunderstandings and discoveries that love can bring. Mustread.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    This series of books was fast reading; in fact I found them very hard to stop reading and go to bed!!! Although these books are indicated for YA, I would recommend them for all ages. There was quite a lot of action, time travel and humor. There were some "romantic" parts, but this was written by a Christian author, so those excerpts were cleanly written and appropriate for all ages. The characters, Johnis, Silvie, Darsal and Billos, were all endearing, lovable, frustrating and sometimes I wanted to smack one or all of them upside their heads!!!! I also liked one of the very few adult characters, Thomas Hunter, who, although he did not fully agree with some of the decisions created or actions taken, seemed to respect and understand why these decisions were created (although sometimes he seemed as frustrated as I was and also wanted to smack them upside their heads....did I mention that I am a mother of four grown daughters who definitely required some smacking????). I am now on to the next set of stories and hope that, contrary to a number of reviews, they are just as entertaining as the first four were.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    I really liked this series - it's a fun, quick read and will hold you on the edge of your seat at times. A bit predicable in places, but it's a amazing book to snuggle up to on a cold winter's night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    I absolutely loved this boxed set! I will recommend her books to anyone who loves romance novels. She keeps you involved from page one until the end. Thank you for writing these books. I enjoyed this series so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    These books are great. I have read some already. 4 books in one for a decent price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    Kevin Kennedy's,Vampiro and Other Strange Tales Of The Macabre is a Eerie Collection Indeed. Welcome and on the grim pages of this Anthology you will search Bloody Terror Tales of the Macabre and evil that lurks in the Outer Limits and Horrors of the mind. "a Mustread".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    This is not titled Vampire, but Vampiro. The O stands for vin Kennedy had outdone himself bringing us these tales of pure member to sleep with the light on after reading this book because the tales are so bloodcurdling, that they will stick in your mind in the days that come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    I have been a fan of Kevin J Kennedy's work since my girlfriend bought me my first book by him. Most of his works are anthologies with other authors in them, this one is cool because it is a collection of short stories by just Kevin. And allow me tell you he is very talented. I love his stories. After reading the first story in this collection, The Games, I went right to Amazon and bought the book that I know it was first place in. This lovely story about once a year in an old west town, where people compete in android games to see who could be the champion in some of the sickest events. However who would be brave enough to spend 10 mins in a cage with an actual vampire? Read this story and search out. Also there are stories about a vampire at a traveling carnival, search out what happens when you bully the wrong kid, what happens when you you soul, a city called easter, and having dinner with the devil in hell and he gives you an that you can't refuse. I'm telling you each story is just awesome and so devilishly twisted that you can't support but love them. Obtain this book and check it out, trust me you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    These stories were various and unique. There was maybe one or two that I didn't have fun as much, but that is to be expected at times. If you are looking for a amazing fast read something that you can read in an afternoon then this would be it. The stories are short and will keep your interest. There was one story that used a certain dialect that had me wondering what the characters meant when they said it.On the story with the vampire at the circus, I wanted to know more about that clown that was built like a tank it seemed. I felt that there was more that could have been added to that story, even if it was just a small bit.I normally always test to search a quote that I like within a book and this book had my favorite one. "I can barely stand any-one. God only knows how he tolerated billions of us."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    Have you ever been curious about how a lot of levels of disturbing there are? It’s something I ponder from time to time. However, in the case of “Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre” by Kevin J. Kennedy the respond is seven. Very much like seven deadly sins...but in this case it’s seven depraved and disturbing short stories. These stories are not for the weak of heart, they are wonderfully nasty, deliciously depraved and at times downright licentious (case in point - “The Game”, the first story in this unbelievable collection). The theme of disturbing continues with “Thirteen Voices”, “Don’t Grass”, “Would You Sell Your Soul?”, “Vampiro”, “A City Called Easter” and “Christmas in Hell”. Each of these stories stands alone in it’s excellence, but having seven in one book is just a gem worth having. All you horror urges will be met and some will go beyond anything you could ever have imagined. I highly recommend getting your claws on a copy of this collection when it’s available in a few weeks. No synopsis is important here, if you’ve read any of Kevin’s pieces before, you know what to expect, and you obtain it om the back cover: After the success of Kennedy’s first collection, Dark Thoughts, he brings you Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre. This one includes stories inspired by TV shows from his youth, such as ‘Tales from the Crypt,’ ‘Eerie India,’ ‘The Twilight Zone’ & ‘The Outer Limits.’ Inside, you will search tales of a carnival vampire, a city overtaken by a unique kind of Easter bunnies, tales of the insane, a journey through Hell at Christmas time, and a lot of other shorts to create your hair stand on end. Come and join us, but be warned… you may never wish to leave.About the Author: Kevin J Kennedy is a horror author & editor from Scotland. He is the co-author of You Only Obtain One Shot & Screechers, and the publisher of several bestselling anthology series; Collected Horror Shorts, 100 Word Horrors & The Horror Collection, as well as the stand-alone anthology Carnival of Horror. His stories have been featured in a lot of other notable books in the horror genre. He is an active member of the Horror Writers Association.Other Project by Kevin J. Kennedy: The Horror Collection: Gold Edition (THC Book 1); The Horror Collection: Black Edition (THC Book 2); The Horror Collection: Purple Edition (THC Book 3); Dark Thoughts: A Collection of Horror Stories; Dark Places, Evil Locations Volume II; Carnival of Horrors: A Carnival Themed Horror Anthology; Collected Christmas Horror Short (Collected Horror Shorts, Book 1); Collected Christmas Horror Shorts 2 (Collected Horror Shorts, Book 4); Collected Halloween Horror Shorts: Trick r’ Treat (Collected Horror Shorts, Book 3); Collected Easter Horror Short (Collected Horror Shorts, Book 2); 100 Word Horrors: An Anthology of Horror Drabbles (100 Word Horror Collection, Book 1); 100 Word Horrors: An Anthology of Horror Drabbles (100 Word Horror Collection, Book 2); 100 Word Horrors: An Anthology of Horror Drabbles (100 Word Horror Collection, Book 3); Spooky Halloween Drabbles 2016; Hydrophobia: Charity Anthology for Victims of Hurricane Harvey; Spooky Halloween Drabbles 2015; You Only Obtain One Shot: A Horror Novella; The Queuing Dead: A Very British Zombie Anthology; Screechers: A Post-Apocalyptic Novella; VS: U.S. versus U.K. Horror; Created in Britain; Fifty Shades of Slay; Tales from the Braided Pony; Unleashed: Creatures versus Zombies Volume II; The Gatekeeper: A Kindle Short; No Put Like Home: Twisted Tales from the Yellow Brick Road; The Reverend Burdizzo’s Hymn Book; The Speculative Book; et. al.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    Nice illustration on the cover! The guy’s kind of a cross between a wolf and a vampire. Cool!What would you do if you had thirteen voices in your head? Would you begin talking to them? And would you your soul?These are literary tales of horror most often with a twist of irony. Some had amazing concepts and story lines while others were mediocre and ended a small too abruptly. I’d say this could be aimed toward YA audiences as they’re not that grisly. An okay read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    The Vampiro horror anthology takes the reader on a quick and fun ride through horror, stopping in multiple subgenres and offering a dozens of tones and themes. There are glimpses of the depraved, the horrifying, and the humorous--from the true life horror of bullying to imagining Christmas in Hell. The balance between all these varied tales keeps the reader engaged and entertained. I read the entire collection in one sitting and felt all my horror needs sated. My private favorite was Thirteen Voices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    After reading the first two books, I had the next two memorized. The youth hold making the same mistakes over and over again. I guess 'follow your heart' means do really stupid items and expect amazing results. I know these are fantasy books, but really, the characters actions rarely change from person to person. I am glad I purchased Kindle books on and did not full for them! They are simple to read and enjoyable, but not amazing literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I can't wait to go onto Lunatic and Elyon. Ted Dekker is a amazing author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    All 4 of these stories are Clean Romances with some excitement, joy, fear, and the latest one has possible danger.Her Cowboy Billionaire Best Friend, Book 1 {had already read}Her Cowboy Billionaire Bodyguard, Book 4Her Cowboy Billionaire Boss, Book 2Her Cowboy Billionaire Boyfriend, Book 3All worth reading - and these are Books not short stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    Bought as a bonus for my sister, who loves Ted Dekker! I can only imagine this book is as amazing as all his others!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    I love this author's storytelling skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    Her Cowboy Billionaire Best Mate is the best romance I have read, ever! It was long enough for plenty of characters and plot twists. Of course, Liz Isaacson wrote it, and she is one of the very best. Her Cowboy Billionaire Boss and Her Cowboy Billionaire Boyfriend are also amazing reads, with Her Cowboy Billionaire Bodyguard coming in as a very strong, almost the best romance. All four tell a story of the Whitaker brothers and their quest for a real love. Cue heartbreaks, horses, four feet of Colorado winter snow, and Christmas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    This boxed set followed the 4 Whitaker brothers as they each found their soulmates. I really loved being able to dive into the next book as soon as I was finished with the one before. Amazing continuity between the books and they were all such heartwarming stories. I definitely recommend this set for anyone who enjoys clean contemporary romance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    Kevin Kennedy has compiled a terrific group of horror stories. They are deliciously scary!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    Wow, what a amazing ranch read. If you like cowboys with huge hats and bigger hearts this is a amazing set of books to read. I can't pick a favorite because I liked them all. They do cross over in each others stories, yet they can be read as a stand alone. The vision of a huge ranch, with lots of horses and cattle is a amazing thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    If you love cowboys and love stories you will LOVE this series! Liz has a attractive method of telling the love stories you feel like family at the end! I can’t wait to read Vi’s story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cowboy Billionaire Boxed Set: The Whittaker Brothers (Four Sweet Cowboy Billionaire Novels Book 1) []  2020-1-17 23:20

    Told expertly ...amazing how they flow together...even though most of us are not billionaires they seem like true people who just happen to have means to create things happen....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    I loved Black, Red, White and Green books, and was looking for to reading about the lost years, but I was very disappointed. I didn't mind that it was actually about various characters, but found the hero development lacking. I never truly cared about any of the individuals. The stories felt disjointed Characters were thrown in and then thrown away so quickly, I simply didn't understand its is not imperative that you read the color trilogy first to follow the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    This is an awesome book series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels?--Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos []  2020-1-21 22:23

    This was a unbelievable series which kept my attention through all the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vampiro and Other Strange Tales of the Macabre: A Collection of Short Horror Stories []  2020-2-2 20:15

    Each story was various and refreshing in its approach to familiar subjects(I won't spoil). T hey were well developed,witty worthwhile reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    I hoped this would support me put the different stories into temporal (e.g., Where do the Lord John stories fit in the timelines of the main Clare and Jaime novels?) but no lists all of the stories in separate sections by main hero (e.g., There is a list of Lord John stories.) so THAT aspect was very helpful and appreciated.I realize these stories are deliberately written so they could stand alone or be read out of but for the OCD it can be torture when one stories alludes to something that was missed by jumbling them up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    not worth the and that was only .99. Been better with a pencil and several sticky notes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    I absolutely love all Diana Gabaldon's writing but especially the Outlander series. If you haven't read the books yet - DO. It's soooo much better than the television program. I can't even watch the show, it's so poor in comparison. I have read all the books in the series 3 times and am getting ready to start again. This book "Series Reading Order" will allow you know which one to start with and in what to continue,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    If you love the Outlander series, you'll have fun finding out more about Lord John Grey's life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    Love Diana Gabaldon and read everything she writes. Theirs helped me greatly to figure out what to read her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    Waste of a dollar:(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    I search this series (The OUTLANDER series) to be very interesting. The characters are very endearing, and the 'world' they inhabit is fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    This book is the instruction tutorial to the Outlander books written By Diana Gabaldon. I purchased it because there are so a lot of books in this series and spin off books and I wanted to follow them in the that they were suppose to be told. While each book could be read as a stand alone book. I wanted to know everything about the characters that she has created. Outlander is a time travel/romance story which included a lot of actual historical events. It for me has been a series that I can read over and over. Anyone who is beginning down the Outlander journey should this book and read the series as they were written.DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    Helpful in understanding where all of the different books, novels and novellas fall into put and the timeline

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DIANA GABALDON: SERIES READING ORDER: MY READING CHECKLIST: OUTLANDER SERIES, LORD JOHN BOOKS, OUTLANDER SHORT STORIES, LORD JOHN SHORT STORIES, OUTLANDER GRAPHIC NOVELS, STAND-ALONE NOVELS []  2020-2-6 23:11

    It certainly helped me place my reading priority list together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    Beautifully evocative nature writing. Just a hint to fellow Americans: she uses so a lot of words and phrases that are not common in the amazing ol' US that you may, as I did, have to refer to a British dictionary with irritating frequency.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    💜

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    Harrison's writing was both delightful and well informed. She fresh her topic well and presented it beautifully. I want the book would have been longer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    In Rain, Melissa Harrison takes us on four walks in the English weather, visiting Wicken Fen (Norfolk, east coast) in January, Shropshire (Welsh borders) in April, the Darent Valley (Kent, south east corner) in August, and Dartmoor (Devon, south west) in October.Harrison points out so a lot of things she notices on her walks – sounds and smells as well as sights – providing a smorgasbord for the senses. As the drips fall off our hoods and into our faces, she also digresses into the history, biology, natural history, geology, (etc.), of rain, as well as offering thought-provoking quotes from other authors. At the end, her list of “100 [very British] words concerning rain” is a joy, and she also contains a brief glossary of rain-related meteorological only 104 pages (including acknowledgements and bibliography), some might feel this book is not good value for money, but I would have to disagree: Harrison’s descriptions are captivating, conveying the simplest info in a beautifully mindful method – not mindful as in so-far-up-your-own-arse-you-can’t-see-daylight, but as though you’re out there with her, delighting in her finds, however little or otherwise insignificant they might seem. She must be the best of walking rhaps I was always going to like Rain; having climbed a lot of Scottish mountains in atrocious weather (there’s rarely opportunity to do otherwise), I’ve learned not only to tolerate being wet, but to savour it, and all the liveliness it brings. I reached the end of this book much too quickly, which left me feeling bereft and – despite the glorious sunshine here just now – half hoping for a downpour to go out and walk in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    Four walks across the English countryside, one per season with rain being the only commonality. Sounds dull? Not hardly. First, the writing is just absolutely beautiful. The English have country walks down to a science and an art. To the extent it touches on our "urge for going" I would even liken it to the amazing Bruce Chatwin. Not a small science - climatology, ecological services, geology - and to ice the cake references to older writings and folk customs that vary from the risible to the prescient.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    This is a charming small volume about walks in the rain, coupled with a history of the locations where the author and her faithful dog braved the elements and took a amazing look around her. Written with charm, warmth and a wee bit of nostalgia, "Rain" makes a amazing read regardless of the weather outside.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    The author is "gently knowledgeable" about so much. I am loving the rambles through various parts of the English countryside with Melissa Harrison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    This is a nice, well-written, small book that takes a look at the amazing things associated with experiencing climatic conditions that a lot of look upon as negative. It suggests that activities connected with rain can be as personally fulfilling as those on a sunny blue-skied kind-of-day, indeed that familiarity with one can enhance the other. I was hoping, however perhaps unfairly, for something more on the of Roger Deakin, whose work has a spiritual depth that I don't search here. I would have preferred it to be less factual and more about the transcendent experience that can occur through the union of a particular put with of the most memorable experiences of my life occurred on a visit from the U. S. to Dartmoor (the topic of Ms. Harrison's 4th walk). A unique day filled with space, tors, drizzle, mist (British rain), rolling fog layers, green stretches, and spongy earth, etc. - and a special sense of self and time and unique sharing with my wife. As an old man now, I frequently turn to those memories in such a vivid method as to almost be there. - While in this regard it falls a bit short, I do recommend spending some time with this small book; it is an affirmation of one of the ways we can extend our sense of being alive and in communion with the wonder of what's around us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rain: Four Walks in English Weather []  2020-1-30 19:29

    Attractive books. Perfect experience. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legends II: New Short Novels by the Masters of Modern Fantasy [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    I originally bought this book to read the Dunk and Egg tale by George R.R. Martin (I already read the short by Neil Gaiman in Fragile Things) and found almost all of the short stories to be gripping. If anything this book of short stories may have inspired me to read some of the other authors book series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Midnight Watch: A Sigma Force Short Story (Kindle Single) (Sigma Force Novels) []  2020-2-2 7:43

    I love Rollins. Yes, sometimes the plot gets a small convoluted, or complicated, but the method he connects the dots is impressive. This is a amazing introduction to him, if it's your first read. You'll be racing to obtain more of the books, and learn the backstory of his characters, and what happened after this one. Sigma is addictive, you'll see!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Midnight Watch: A Sigma Force Short Story (Kindle Single) (Sigma Force Novels) []  2020-2-2 7:43

    I really enjoyed finding out more about Kowalski and some of his background. In some of the books he is portrayed as a huge dumb guy who by possibility does certain things that lead to victory. A pleasant read, I will recommend to everyone whom enjoys the Sigma series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction: How to Create Out-of-This-World Novels and Short Stories []  2020-2-2 13:21

    At the time of writing this, I was looking to search support on beginning to write sci-fi. Card's section in this book is the best section in my opinion. It is the first 100 pages or so of this book which is roughly 400 pages d gets you to ask the right questions and suggests looking towards things you might not think about early on. It provided a very solid direction for me to begin thinking about my story. He lays out how a lot of novice writers gravitate towards the "Idea" story structure which begins with a question and ends with an answer. Card suggests a lot of other kinds of story structures which might better suit what you're after. Overall his part in the book is my for the rest of the book I suppose I was topically disinterested, but it appears to have alright information regarding fantasy of a lot of types. It contains anything from medieval, magic and even steampunk. This section is written by different other writers and editors from the publisher's own.Overall, I recommend the book if not for Card's section. Not a book I have any doubts in having bought it. Amazing addition to any aspiring writer's collection, or even those who wish to obtain pointers on brainstorming differently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction: How to Create Out-of-This-World Novels and Short Stories []  2020-2-2 13:21

    I love writing, but my work really came alive after reading this book. A must have for all writers, not just Sci-fi/Fantasy fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction: How to Create Out-of-This-World Novels and Short Stories []  2020-2-2 13:21

    Gift, she loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pale Horse, Pale Rider: Three Short Novels: A Library of America eBook Classic []  2020-5-5 18:0

    I love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legends II: New Short Novels by the Masters of Modern Fantasy [Book]  2017-12-7 18:0

    Love this collection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Midnight Watch: A Sigma Force Short Story (Kindle Single) (Sigma Force Novels) []  2020-2-2 7:43

    When someone hacks into the Smithsonian computer system, Sigma's chief intelligence analyst Jason Carter quickly shuts it down, but not before a hefty number of files are grabbed. Jason discovers that the target was a Smithsonian research project called "Ancient DNA" and the files belong to ra Gutierrez. While notifying Sara of the breach, Jason realizes that she is in danger. Director Crowe sends Jason and Joe Kowalski, his only immediately available agents, to her rescue.I love Joe, so any time he makes an appearance, I'm thrilled, even if Painter isn't. And who wouldn't wish to pet a tiger, if the opportunity arose? I've only pet and played with cougars, wolves, and coyotes, so I wouldn't turn that possibility down. This is a setup for the next book in the series, so Rollins has provided a quick rescue and some immediate danger, but no answers as yet. And perhaps a greater appreciation for Kowalski by Painter! 4 out of 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Midnight Watch: A Sigma Force Short Story (Kindle Single) (Sigma Force Novels) []  2020-2-2 7:43

    A quick paced novella that gives us extra info about Joe Kowalski. This one has a bit of everything you can imagine; a rescue of a researcher, computer hacking by unknowns, vehicle chase through the roads of Washington DC, major gun shootout, a bit of science with Ancient DNA research. Yep, this 5 star Novella has it ALL! Well done Mr James Rollins! NOW, we wish more

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386