streets of laredo Reviews & Opinions


Submit streets of laredo review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Streets of Laredo review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Boys From Company D - Frontier Battalion. Streets of Laredo is directed by Leslie Fenton and adapted to screenplay by Charles Marquis Warren from a Louis Stevens and Elizabeth Hill story. It stars William Holden, Macdonald Carey, William Bendix and Mona Freeman. Melody is by Victor Young and cinematography by Ray Rennahan. For fans of traditional Westerns this is as solid as a Brick Adobe Structure. A remake of The Texas Rangers (1936) of sorts, plot finds Holden, Bendix and Carey as three poor boys who obtain divided by circumstance, love and conscious. Two of them wind up in the Texas Rangers - the famed frontier law enforcement battalion - the other stays on the wrong side of the law. All streets lead to the day of reckoning... The production is the usual mixed bag of superlative zone photography (Simi Valley/Gallup) and crude back projection so often seen in the 40s and 50s Oater releases, with Rennahan's Technicolor photography a treat for the eyes. Performances are assured because the three principal guy actors are given characterisations that suits them - Holden tough emotional anti-hero - Bendix a lovable and dopey toughie - Carey sly poor boy. Freeman is lovely but it's a dressage character, while Alfonso Bedoya is on hand for some stereotypical bandido villainy. At 90 mins in length it feels a bit padded out until the two guys actually join the Rangers, so some patience is needed during the first half. However, there is plenty of Western film action within the story, some turns in plotting to grab the heart strings and a pleasing array of costumes and musical accompaniments to hold the senses perky. All told, it's just a thoroughly enjoyable Oater regardless of if you have happened to have seen the original version. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a live view. To me a live view is whenever you can go there and it's live right there at that moment so these are just the same as going few weeks ago nothing's moved nothing's changed so this is not a live view

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on streets of laredo or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch streets of laredo video reviews and related movies:

    See Marty Robbins - The Streets Of Laredo on youtube.

     related image

    See The Streets of Laredo on youtube.

     related image

    See Johnny Cash- The Streets of Laredo. on youtube.

     related image

    See MARTY ROBBINS-STREETS OF LAREDO. on youtube.

     related image

    See The Streets of Laredo on youtube.

     related image

    See Streets Of Laredo on youtube.

     related image

    See Streets of Laredo on youtube.

     related image

    See Calles de Laredo Streets of Laredo 1995 Parte 1 de 3 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This application is so bad. Full of ads really don't waste your time on this junk

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Tried to search my house and was told road view not available, had to download Android device Auto

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a live view the picture is over a year and a half old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Won't even work won't even work won't even work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Wont present true time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    It's horrible

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Fake

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Just downloaded, already saying live map is not available and some words are not even spelled right...not sure how I feel about it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    The application told I was over 680 miles when I was only about 5 miles from a destination. Not accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    My zone seems accurate. This is beautiful simple to use for me. All you have to do is turn the zone settings on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Bait and switch... it isn't a live map...it is a platform for downloading other nav apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Confusing. Couldnt view what i was looking for

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Shocking.....just adware.....do not download

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Confusing... all adds

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Wrong addresses...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Not a live app!!! Photos are old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    I wouldn't bother...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Baf

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Completely useless. Searched Paris, France just to try it out....took me someplace, not sure where!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Same as another application with a related name. How do you change to miles - no settings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is useless it's not live

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not live and just of google maps lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    It was live maps in 2008 when google drove by.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    needs more settings

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Useless

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Too a lot of ads. Deleted!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Ots ok..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    1 star is more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Worst application ever I looked at my address and it didn't have my fresh car it had my old 1 from 7 years ago do not download this application worst ever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a LIVE road view. It's 224am and you guys are showing me a pic of the road during daylight.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    One challenge with most cultivation stories is that the timescales break credulity. While the main hero sits in a cave for hundreds or thousands of years, nothing happens in the globe around him, leaving the same pseudo-medieval cultures in reet Cultivation blends the cultivation action in the modern globe in a method that is wholly satisfying. There's still a divide between the haves and the have-nots, but the haves are more likely to take advantage of their cultivation to gain wealth and temporal power than to go out and slaughter thousands. Our protagonist is definitely a have-not, and his struggles to create something more of himself rely upon hard work and perseverance more than "cheats" and heaven-defying luck. Buy this book and read it; you won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    This was originally available over at Royal Road, where the chapter release was often the highlight of my week. It's an perfect story, a twist on genres grown a small too familiar of late. The one complaint people had over there was how long the rather bleak beginning/middle dragged on. When you can read the chapters at your own pace, not dragged out over weeks, that feels much less problematic and for those who fear the author is simply torturing our not good main hero MINOR SPOILER.................................She's not, there is a relatively satisfied ending, which for once feels actually earned rather than merely given by authorial fiat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    I have read several books with the cultivation theme/system. Unfortunately, even the ones I've liked never held my interest enough for me to wish to read the rest of the series. Road Cultivation was the exception. It had a solid plot and the MC (Richard) had a reason to wish to better his life. One issue after another fell into his lap and he had only one solution, work hard. He was not an OP character. His family debts and his sisters medical condition was a constant strain on his finance's, growth or health and it didn't support that he kept getting mixed up with strong people. His situation was not ideal but he came out better for it and his selfless approach to helping his sister was very heartwarming.I don't know if this was a stand alone novel but its my sincerest want that it has a sequel. This is one cultivation novel that I would actually like to continue and see what life has in shop for Richard and Melissa and if he ever develops a deeper relationship with a certain character. If you read this review I hope that you purchase this book and give it a amazing Sarah Lin,I must admit I haven't read any of your previous work though after this story I am going to and hold an eye on anything you release. This was an perfect story and I think you should be proud of it. Thank you for transporting us to a globe though fantastical has true situations that happen all the time. I've met people like Richard so I might be a bit biased to this particular kind of story. Still, hold up the amazing so the cultivation system you used while not traditional or very common was well formulated and I actually prefer it over most others. It was to me a mix between standard litrpg leveling and cultivation just without the level ups and automated skills to choose from. He actually had to search techniques to learn in order to develop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    This book takes the Cultivation/Xianxia genre (Martial Arts Magic for those not familiar with it) and adds several twists. The most obvious is that it set in a modern globe built around this magi system. This is much more interesting to me then grafting a magic system onto a Medieval setting and assuming the magic changes nothing. In this world, Anime style suerpowers are commonplace among the rich. The other method this books differs from most in the genre is the character has common sense. Most books in this genre feature video-gamey heroes who take stupid risks and somehow survive a million life-or death wars without a scratch. In this book the violence is more limited, but has more weight. The character takes it seriously, tries to avoid it, and in this setting a major injury could have life destroying times the book had scenes that read like they would have created more sense in Anime then a written medium. On the whole special and beautiful good. Also, it was clear the book was an allegory for the subprime crisis. In a couple locations the analogy was a bit massive handed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    This was a fun book and well-written. I give it five stars with the cavetas that this is for people that have fun litrpg/cultivation stories as it stands out versus most other books in the genre. If it had been written in another genre, I would have removed one star for using well-known e author does a amazing work with establishing sympathy for the main character, has perfect globe building, has an interesting class perspective. The main hero is a bit bland and seem to be kind of disconnected in his interacting with others. Not having anything but surface level connections to others than his sister and even that is mostly light banter, even when their lives have been at is what would have removed a star in other genres. But compared to other books, this one stands out for the interesting globe building.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    I'm a fan of both cultivation and LITRPG stories, but a lot of of them are repetitive and/or derivative. Road Cultivation is neither of those; it takes a unbelievable approach to cultivation in a globe with a somewhat cyberpunk, near-future styling. The characters are well-realized and the chi/magic system for cultivation is well-conceived and original. The author even provided a forward in which she explains that the reader can learn about the magic system as the story unfolds or can obtain a primer by jumping to the appendix for a more consolidated and concise explanation. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    The globe of Road Cultivation is this amazingly modern blend of magical kung-fu life, skyscrapers, and smartphones. In a put and time when everyone has some level of cultivation, there are fast-lanes on the highway for folks to just ninja-run to work. I freaking love it.If the setting wasn't cool enough, the main hero - Rick - is. He's such a hard-working, clever, and lovable guy who is trying his best despite the never-ending rain of issues that fall on his head. I was rooting for him from page one and I just wish Rick to have an simple day. Just one. He deserves it so stly, I loved the lucrima (mystical power) system. It was complicated but seldom overwhelming and very inventive. I really liked the gamified parts of it as the numbers gave me a tangible sense of Rick's progression and also of how mega-ultra-doomed he gets at is was one of the finest wuxia's I've read in latest years. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    It is perhaps not my favorite novel, but it is in the running(I have read thousands, literally). The characters are fully developed, three dimensional, with there own motivations. The author has made an empathetic MC, who's motivations while not completely selfless; are neither so egocentric as to seem juvenile (which are the usual industry standards).The magic system though is what makes this novel stand out, it is an art, and a series of arts, it is an economic system, it is a philosophy, it is as pervasive as money, violence, familial love and physical attraction and means even more in the setting; this provides the author a means to create meaningful social/economic commentary in the most entertaining fashion I have seen in years/decades. It is an impoverished perspective; that is not socialist ideological propaganda. It was really just e setting is a crazy form of next door to reality, a globe that could almost be, in a story that would create a better film than rocky 1, harry potter, or the hobbit. Mass transit or magic transit? Is it a liquor bottle or a magic elixir; are they talking about credit card debits or demonic contracts, and is there really a difference?Only downside was the violence was primarily constrained to matches for money, which is a down tag for me, As I prefer fighting for principle, this promises to begin up in book two.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    [review includes possible spoilers but tried to minimize]I enjoyed this book a fair bit. It was well written enough and the story kept me engaged. I left it hoping there will be sequels or in the least more books in this universe.What I liked:- 'Magic' system was beautiful cool with a fair amount of dozens and interesting aspects.- Interesting dystopian setting / culture- concepts had a fair amount of depth- Gift aprils fools chapter was beautiful fun, thanks for including that!Constructive Criticism:- I felt the 'magic' system wasn't extremely well defined and explained in the 1st 1/2 of the book. Especially at the begin of the book it almost seemed like I had missed a prequel of some sort (maybe i did idk) where it was already explained. Even after finishing it I still have some definite questions about some of the primary mechanics work.- Culture / globe mechanics were also not as well explained as i would have liked.- Competition felt a bit rushed relative to how much of the book was originally angled at it. was still good, just felt like it flew by a bit

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    I finish maybe 25% of the books I start reading here, and after getting annoyed at a couple of points soon after the free preview, I thought I'd soon drop this book as well. I was mistaken. Despite the annoyances I read it until the very end. There was clearly enough amazing to offset the e globe has a cyberpunkish feel to it, just lacks some of the grime and grit of proper cyberpunk. The story sorta classifies as Wuxia and has some LitRPG elements for convenience, but on the part of the main character's private life it's also a rather generic YA slice-of-life kinda story. Luckily the slice-of-life aspect only makes up a quarter or so of the story. It wasn't so poor I couldn't stomach it either.I didn't like the characters much. Too a lot of of them are just typical, unoriginal, vanilla YA chars. The friendly relationships were loving, sweet and full of friendly teasing and I felt like I'd read it all too a lot of times already. The main antagonists are nothing but spoiled me of the businesslike alliances and neutral relationships were clearly better. Even if those characters were still thin in personality, they possessed a fascinating craftiness. Dealing with them, MC had to face some calculative, self-interested e strength progression was decent enough I guess. The combat was described well enough and I was quite caught in the suspense of some of the fights.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This book was hard to read. Not because it was poorly written. Indeed, Rana Foroohar writes well, making complex concepts fairly simple to understand, with quotes and stories that illustrate points without being too contrived. No complicated charts, graphs or equations either. Rather, the book was hard to read because it paints such a bleak picture of our economy and of our future. The American economy is sick, and the name Rana Foroohar gives the illness is “financialization”, an “apt but wonky name” for the rise of “takers” and the fall of “makers”.Who are makers and takers? Makers make true economic growth. Takers enrich themselves rather than society at e issue is not just amazing vs evil. Our economy needs finance to grow. But when there are too a lot of takers and not enough makers, the fertilization finance gives the economy turns into more of a blight. The harvest is less bountiful, created worse by the takers taking an ever larger share from the shrinking e numbers defining this illness are staggering, and Rana Foroohar gives plenty of those. For example, only about 15% of financial flows now go into projects in the “real” economy that effect in growth. The rest goes into trades between financial institutions that are bets, not investments. As Warren Buffett told her: “You’ve now got a body of people who’ve decided they’d rather go to the casino than the restaurant [of capitalism].”Though the presentation of them is fresh, the ideas in the book are not new. Other authors have diagnosed the same illness of financialization in both the United States and the United Kingdom (over there it’s “financialisation”), including:Other People's Money: Masters of the Universe or Servants of the People?, by John Kay (The title comes from a 1914 book by Louis Brandeis before he joined the Supreme Court. This is the British subtitle. In the United States, the subtitle is "The True Business of Finance". Not nearly as pithy.)The Amazing Deformation: The Corruption of Capitalism in America, by David StockmanBetween Debt and the Devil: Money, Credit, and Fixing Global Finance, by Adair TurnerOnce the diagnosis is made, the issue becomes the familiar one from the fable of belling the cat. If financialization is the illness, what is the cure? And how can we create the patient drink it down? There opinion differs, often greatly. One can observe the symptoms of the illness, and the effects are there for all to see. Much harder to come up with is a convincing cure. Effects often have elusive causes, particularly in a complex adaptive system like the American economy.When it comes to cure, I’m not sure Rana Foroohar has a amazing answer. She writes well, and has done her research. But though she has 23 years of experience as a journalist, she is just a journalist. And mostly a columnist and commentator who appears a lot on tv and radio—this is her first book. Unlike the writers cited above, Rana Foroohar has no experience as an academic or a practicing politician. Her name is Iranian, but she grew up in the United States. Her academic degree is a B.A. in English literature, and she is not an expert on the economy and finance. Not that that’s necessarily a poor thing. Her reporting for this book is in depth over decades, she understands economics (though her view is high level and a small unconventional), and she has read a lot and interviewed a lot of people. But reporting tends to be superficial, to grab attention and then leave the hard work to others. It tends more toward the polemic than the expository. It is better for diagnosis than for cure.Rana Foroohar wrote a cover article for TIME magazine (where she works) that summarizes this book, calling the article “Saving Capitalism”. (Reading that article may give you a amazing idea of whether you wish to read this lengthy book. The best quotes and concepts from the book are in that article.) And saving capitalism is exactly what Rana Foroohar proposes to do. In this book, she maps out five key policy locations where we can place finance back in service to business and society, turning the masters of the universe back into servants of the people. But her prescriptions for a cure seem untested and e flipping of our economy from makers to takers is a serious, complicated problem, with no simple answers. Pundits and politicians push policy prescriptions on us as though they are easy and proven, but none are. So I do not blame Rana Foroohar for not having a certain cure to offer for the financialization illness. But that lack of a cure, unfortunately, is the weakness of her work. Even so, Makers and Takers is a book worth reading. The more discussion of these issues, the better. A lot of seem not even to recognize our economy is sick, allow alone seek a cure. Even with the supposed cures following the 2008 crash, the patient seems just as sick. Perhaps readable books like this read more widely will begin to remedy ough not as dramatic, Makers and Takers unsettled me, and created me think, just as much as the movie The Huge Short. There seems more gloom than hope in books like this. More dirge than anthem. A touch of the jeremiad and not a whiff of the Panglossian. Still, I hope that dark view motivates us to search a cure. I hope our economic future will be brighter than the past. For our children’s sake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    In 1946, over a decade before he became the architect of the Vietnam War, Robert McNamara was hired to rehaul the Ford Motor Company. It was in desperate need of help. The iconic corporation was hemorrhaging about $9 million a month. McNamara, an accountant by training who rose to prominence by applying statistical methods to warfare planning, immediately transformed the culture. Decisions were no longer created from the eye of a designer, or the experience of the line-worker. He immediately developed complex financial metrics to measure a product’s viability. Every penny spent in manufacturing, marketing, design, and engineering had to be justified and rationalized through this analysis. It shifted power from engineers to MBAs. Within three years he doubled the company’s profits. In Makers and Takers, Rana Foroohar argues that this was the end of American global automobile leadership. As crazy as it sounds, the question needs to be asked: Did modern finance destroy innovation?Makers and TakersThe book’s central argument is that finance should be a utility. Unlike an electric company, which allocates energy to businesses and people to power the economy, banks allocate capital. Theoretically, in an efficient financial system all an entrepreneur needs to do is have a amazing idea and a solid business plan. The bank evaluates the plan, loans the money, and makes a profit on the interest. It’s an easy, boring business. If things work out the entrepreneur becomes wealthy, people are employed, and the community receives long term investment. Foroohar presents the case that McNamara spearheaded a revolution that moved finance from a supporter of the economy to the center piece. It no longer allocates capital and gets out of the way; today finance manages nearly all aspects of business. It no longer helps create society; it takes from may be asking yourself, “Didn’t McNamara’s approach double profits in a few years? Didn’t he he bring a company back from the dead?” I think Foroohar’s respond would be: not really. Of course, every firm needs some level of financial structure to succeed, and he should be applauded for his contribution. But during the post-WW2 era, Ford’s growth was driven primarily by societal trends not anything one person did. The U.S. government invested $25 billion to make a 41,000 mile interstate highway system that reduced the time it took to cross the country from about two months to five days. Incomes rose by 2.5 percent a year creating the middle class. In plain English, McNamara’s arrival coincided with both a heavy increase in the demand for vehicles and a budding infrastructure to drive them on. He was born on third base, and everyone thought he hit a om a product perspective, Ford was in such amazing shape that it took about a decade for McNamara’s impact to be felt. According David Halberstam’s The Reckoning, a 1986 opus on the decline of the American automobile industry, under his system, managers “contrived not to improve but in the most subtle method to weaken each vehicle model, year by year.” This meant “a cheaper metal here, a quicker drying paint there.” Foroohar reports that the system tried to eliminate spare tires in the vehicles, because managers didn’t know anyone who ever had to change a tire (Executives often had company cars—replaced every six months). Eventually the little cutbacks led to large profits at the expense of quality. During his tenure, Ford debuted two of the most universally loathed vehicles in the history of the industry: The Pinto and the Edsel. “Accountants were replacing tradesmen,” Foroohar writes. “Making cash was slowly but surely replacing the goal of making amazing products.”The hidden poison: Modern finance destroyed innovationThe most damaging legacy of McNamara may have been his impact on labor relations. Labor became a commodified input. It was now something to be managed and squeezed; just a cost of doing business. Never mind that one of the major drivers of innovation is the collaboration of the factory floor and the engineering team. There’s a reason why Bell Labs designed their buildings to house both engineering and manufacturing—a tactic Tesla uses today. While Japanese and German firms were becoming more productive and agile by engraining labor into the strategic decisions of the company—America was building walls and eroding key competencies by outsourcing nclusionForoohar’s book isn’t perfect–it goes on a bit long and only offers a few solutions—but it’s a well-meaning and well researched book on the modern economy. Not the economy that we hear about on the nightly news or in sound bytes, but the actual structure and incentives driving modern business. She makes a amazing case that yes, modern the modern financial system has destroyed America’s ability to innovate. The entire system rewards short term gain, over long term investment. The amazing thing, she notes is that none of this is permanent. “We can remake [the economy] as we see fit to better serve our shared prosperity and economic growth.”This originally appeared on [...]Check it out for more reviews and analysis

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This is the 200-somethingth review, so chop to the chase: this is a amazing survey of the impact of the financialization on the US economy. Its main strength is that it highlights a lot of facets of the problem. It’s not a fun book to read; it’s crammed with info and doesn’t necessarily create them all hang together clearly. But if you stick with it you’ll obtain a amazing — and unsettling — e author (RF) defines financialization as “the trend by which Wall Road and its method of thinking,” which she terms “short-term [and] risky,” have come to “permeate not just the financial industry but all of American business” (@5). She covers numerous aspects of this problem, including: how firms like Apple spend more on buying back their own shares than on R&D, how investment banks like Goldman Sachs hoard physical commodities like aluminum and drive up prices, how personal equity firms now control most of the US rental housing shop (that one was fresh to me), how fund managers are helping themselves to Americans’ retirement savings, as well as how financialization has distorted MBA education, the tax code and Washington regulators. I admit I didn’t pay much attention to her proposed solutions: I lack the faith of most American business journalists that huge corporate capitalism can provide solutions. But RF’s diagnosis is valuable because it’s so wide-ranging.While some reviewers found the book simple to read, I found it more average in that regard: passionate, quite serious, with some arresting anecdotes, but otherwise fact-filled and at times very jumpy in its timeline. It doesn’t go into depth on a lot of subjects of interest: e.g., it’s not the go-to book to understand the derivatives involved in the 2008 financial meltdown (read some chapters of Janet Tavakoli, instead). There are a few celebrity-journalist touches, such as an awkward passage describing how corporate raider Carl Icahn entertained RF with his voice impressions (@121), but these don’t become overwhelming. Immediately before picking up this book I’d read “And the Weak Suffer What They Must?” by the former finance minister of Greece, Yannis Varoufakis. That book covers a various subject (the evolution of the global financial system, and especially the Euro) but shares some features of this book, such as a choppy timeline and name-dropping private anecdotes. Nonetheless, Varoufakis is a clearer and more thorough expositor of complicated economic ideas, while inserting a amazing deal of charm and humor. He is a professor who obviously cares about teaching, while RF is a very busy journalist: that contrast may give you some idea of what to expect from this book.A consequence is that the book omits a few easy explanations that might support readers to fit more pieces of the puzzle together. One is that transactions on the stock shop generally don’t bring any cash to the company whose shares are being traded — the cash just trades hands between buyers and sellers. Despite what textbooks tell you about the necessary social role of the stock market, less than 1% of the annual value of all exchange-based equity trading around the globe goes to companies as fresh capital to expand their businesses; the rest is gambling. So when RF mentions that "activist investors" don't deserve large dividends from tech companies because they had no role in helping to make the companies' innovative technology or making their products (@124), the same is real of just about any not good zhlub who bought shares on the market: your cash didn't support the company accomplish anything. It also might support readers to know that that the value of financial transactions, including on the stock, bond, derivatives and forex markets, is officially excluded from the definition of GDP, which represents the “real” economy of goods and services. The global annual value of trades on stock exchanges alone is bigger than global GDP, and when you consider the value of all trades in all sorts of financial assets, you obtain a lot of multiples of global GDP. That, in a nutshell, is why rich people see financial markets as a much better put to create cash than the true economy in which most of us work, earn cash and me minor issues: RF omits to mention the role of stock analysts in driving both share prices and executive behavior, and to define such terms as “asset values” and “Chinese walls” (and "eating-club": it's a Princeton thing, apparently). Some of her history, especially in Chapter 3, seemed to me a bit off in a few details, too. Surely systems analysis originated not in finance (@75) but in engineering and military operations research: see S. Optner, ed., “Systems Analysis” (Penguin 1973). RF seems to suggest that managers in the 1950s were focused on stock price (@81); but as I recall from listening to grown-ups as a kid in the early 1960s, investors cared most about dividends (and “clipping coupons” if they were bondholders), i.e., about a steady stream of income accruing from holding onto assets, not from making cash by trading. Also, by equating the emphasis on the bottom line and accounting that prevailed in that era with “financialization” (@79), RF seems to be using the word in a various sense from her definition at the beginning of the book. Finally, I found at least one significant mistake: RF says that the 1919 Michigan Supreme Court case of Dodge v. Ford “enshrined in law” the notion that “companies ha[ve] a legal obligation to maximize profits for investors, and that their interests trumped those of anyone else” (@70-71). When it comes to the day-to-day operations of a company (as distinguished from sale of the company in certain M&A transactions), this is simply not real in any US state or major country of the world, with the possible exception of Michigan. Plenty of businesspeople do believe there is such a legal duty, which often leads to corporations acting like jerks; so it doesn’t support for this book to encourage that false sum, this isn't a book to read for its style, nor, aside from a few anecdotes, for its details. But for its huge picture of how finance has invaded and destabilized so a lot of locations of our lives, it's worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    This is one of the better books available on what's wrong with our economy and the causes of the slow e author spends a lot of time writing about Wall Road and "financialization" of businesses. Robert McNamara and the "Whiz Kids" changed the auto industry and not in a amazing way. That was only one of a lot of examples of what I would call accounting and numbers becoming a focus over engineering and quality. Carly Fiorina is e does an perfect job of following history and how along with financial deregulation, there has been a shift in priorities taught in business schools. Greed is good, tax inversions are ok, and the concept of "financial engineering." Corporate buybacks and short term profit over long term stability.On the financialization of business she covers Jack Welch (a pioneer in outsourcing American jobs) and GE's crossing over into financial services.Another very necessary topic is the slow recovery from the Amazing Recession. A lot of wealth is being kept in a "closed feedback loop" at the top.I wasn't aware of how much huge banks were buying up distressed housing. That highlights the emphasis on the housing recovery in general - cover the banks that gambled rather than the ere are plenty of rogues in the gallery- Goldman Sachs and their aluminum hoarding scandal. Pfizer and their quest to dodge corporate taxes in the id all the gloom the author does offer some more than reasonable solutions to the a lot of is is a 5 star book and then some!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    I liked it. It's well and engagingly written, and doesn't require a PhD in economics (or whatever) to understand. I've always been personally quite conservative, but socially quite liberal, so a lot of what is written in this book rings real with roohar covers a lot of ground, most of which un-brain dead, open-minded, curious people have probably heard at one time or another on the air, online, or in print (e.g., her Time Magazine articles). But she employs good, real-world examples and info (that you don't obtain in typical media sound bites). They expanded my understanding of the issues, but got a small redundant. My experience is that a lot of this type of books chop, hash and mince the points over and over and over again, which is too bad.With less of redundancy, Foroohar could have more examples in greater depth (and still filled out the pages into a true book length). Or she could have provided more detail about her prescription for the future. I think the latest chapter on the future is really us only 3-stars. I still recommend that everybody read it, because it does include amazing information, is simple to read and engaging. But just don't obtain too excited, because the content just isn't there to fulfill the title's promise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    The book provides a lot of chilling examples of how financial institutions are increasingly controlling major shares of the economy. One of the most obvious is the derivatives business. Globally, the value of all outstanding derivatives contracts (including credit default swaps, interest rate derivatives, foreign exchange rate derivatives, commodities-linked derivatives, and so on) was $ 630 trillion at the beginning of 2015, while the gross shop value of those contracts was $ 21 trillion. Back in 2008, their notional value was $ 67 trillion, while the shop value of all the outstanding bonds issued by US companies underlying that shop was only $ 15 trillion. This shows that in the past 7 years the assets on which this gambling is based has grown by 35% (from 15 trillion to 21 trillion) while purely speculative activity has grown by a factor of nearly 10 (from 67 trillion to 630 trillion), which is nearly 1000%. The only thing the author doesn't address is how long we can expect the rest of the globe to permit the US banks to profit from, and risk the security of, the globe economy in this manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    An incredibly thought provoking book about how finance has taken over business. The general theme is that the financiers of the globe have taken over business in the sense that people do not run businesses for product development, R&D etc. but rather they run businesses that are driven by financial engineering. Case in point: Apple. Apple has transformed itself from a company that ignored wall road and just focused on wonderful R&D and development of innovative products to a company whose stock is driven by financial engineering. They borrow cash to pay dividends!As if to prove this point, I was watching CNBC interview a person about what GE will do with the "windfall" now that they are not under the capital rules of "too huge to fail". The "smart" person being interviewed said they could do one of three things: 1) Buy back stock 2) pay dividends 3) buy a company. This is exactly the craziness that Rana discussed. None of those three things add value - in fact, they generally extract value to the privileged investor. What about investing in developing fresh products? That was not even is a fascinating book and really should be read by all. It is the financial take over that is consuming business which is a key reason we have a stagnant economy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    I just completed “Makers and Takers” by Rana Foroohar, a noted business columnist with Time and a CNN economic analyst who has 20+ years of experience writing about the economy and business. She describes the issue of Financialization of the US economy, which is the short term focus of business. She describes how American business companies like GE and Apple have used financial measures to manipulate their stock value rather than long term investment in products. She describes how Wall Street, investment banks, personal equity, hedge funds and others hurt our economy with all of their manipulation and risk. I was surprised to learn how investment banks like Goldman Sachs have such a significant role in commodities and how they often drive commodity prices higher due to their manipulation of this is a amazing book overall which identifies a lot of issues with our current economy and how our economy has evolved into its current state over the latest 30 to 40 years. She has a brief chapter on how to change things. She has some amazing ideas but does not discuss HOW these would be accomplished. I would like to have seen something more actionable to improve our economy. She discusses a lot of things throughout the book in a somewhat shotgun fashion. I think a huge improvement to the book would be an expanded section discussing tactical and strategic actions that could improve our economy that contains ideas scattered through the book as well as some of the huge ideas at the end. Realistically, the financialization issue will persist until we see a change in our political system that reduces the impact of lobbying. We had a near meltdown of our economy in 2008 and have not adequately corrected the issues which caused that (which the author agrees with), so I do not see how we can fix this until other changes are so, she seems to have a liberal perspective and therefore sees a lot of issues from that perspective. In spite of that, I believe she is spot on in most of her commentary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    TIMES magazine did not exaggerate one bit by giving Rana's work front cover latest year. If you really wish to know what is wrong with the America Economy, look no farther! I am a Robotic Automation Architect who finally had to leave my Fortune 100 Managed Health Care company of 27 years because they simply would not and could not innovate! Bottom Line, they didn't have the leadership to do so and most certainly did not have the will. Chief reason for such a condition? Ultimate because of the financialization of American businesses. When your Fortune 500 CEOs are compensated 82% in Stock, they are aligned with the financial industry and incentivized to treat their companies as speculative financial instruments, instead of Engines of the Economy. Of course, Capital Hill is in on all of this, since they have progressively dismantled the rules and regulation that have allowed the Financial Industry shifted from funding business growth into skimming lucrative profits from businesses. Definitely the Tail Wagging the Dog! Rana goes into all the historical detail in depth, which may be the Book,s only fault. All the tedious detail!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Makers and Takers: How Wall Street Destroyed Main Street review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    The research and analysis in this book should begin your eyes to the deep class divide in the U.S., and other parts of the world. The finalization and privatization of everything that really matters does not lead a better society. A little percentage of the population is hoarding wealth and taking more and more of the economic pie. Deregulation of the finance sector makes this type of private wealth accumulation possible. It also means that we increasingly rely on a debt-based, fiat economy, that makes cash off of money, and trades and exploits things and labor for profit and greed. This type of economic system means things will obtain a lot worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    hd live road views....amaizing locations like white house...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    does Canada not exist?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    Patel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    It feels amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map: Global Street Panorama, Satellite review [App]  2019-3-19 13:19

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Explorer - Live Street View - Panorama 360 review [App]  2019-4-27 13:34

    amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS road navigation system is the greatest app in play store. It has very awesome features in this application. I really like this application. It has very amazing app

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    I think GPS road navigation is best application. I like this application. It support me for finding various places. It is very simple in use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS navigation is a amazing one. Gips navigation helps us a lot, With this application we can easily solve difficult tasks. So, i like attractive app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation application is best application for use. It gives a closest look where we can search anything very closely which we wish to. Its very usefull application in sight of me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Very very amazing application. GPS Road Navigation is very helpful and useful app for me and for others also. Offline map service is best. For finding any locations this is the best💕💖

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation is an awesome app. This app is very useful to me. Very Amazing functions. I like this is application is working 100%.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation is best app to search loaction. Simple to go anywhere. Simple to search routes. Simple to obtain actual location. It is very useful app for everyone with a lot of options ♥️♥️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    This is superb app. Very nice app. You can go anywhere with the support of this navigation. Very simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Nevigation is best application for search any Route, You can easly find neaby places, It has also a nice feature of offile map. So nice application simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Very nice app, you can go anywhere with the support of this navigation .. Very simple to use, I m sure everyone likes this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation: Live Road View Transit Superb application and very simple use and 360 view is awesome you can easliy reach your zone after using this I like it $

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation is very nice and awesome app. The use of this application is very simple. Best app. Test it atleast one time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Very very amazing application. It is very simple in use.I like this application so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    I like this GPS road navigation this is very amazing and intresting helps me very much I like it and it is very amazing application .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Nice application. Amazing to see location. Attractive colors buildings pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation awesome and unbelievable application, i like it very much, and i would like to share with my mates

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    #GPS Road Navigation performs brilliantly and navigate as possible as maximum zoom available, its amazing app#

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    I like this gps road navigation very much and this application is very amazing and amazing it is more best and i commonly use this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    It is very interesting app. It is very simple to install. It is very simple to work. I like it very much. Please download this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road navigation is an awesome is app is very useful to ry amazing function.i like this is application is working 100

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Gps road navigation is the best application Android device is also multiple functional application for user.i love it very much.😛

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    It's is very amazing app and it's navigation is very amazing it's use is very simple to use i like it very much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation: App is best for search locations it's awesome and simple 🌎❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Gps road navigation :live road view compass is very useful application i like this application online working and amazing graphics...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Gps road navigation live road view is very nice useful and helpfull for me very simple to use awesom application nice road view i like this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Very very amazing r finding any put this is the best..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    People power meets the begin street in this awesome navigation s really amazing for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Gps road navigation is very nice and very amazing application very amezing and very hellpfull application amazing working😍😍😘😘

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    This apps is super apps very interseted application it application is very fresh info

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Gps road navigation system is down to search out the put of desire to search so search out your destinations with this application and have fun fresh

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    Very very amazing application. GPS Road Navigation is very helpful and useful app for me and for others also. Offline map service is best. For finding any locations this is the best💕💖

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    It's nice and helpful app. It's simple to use and install and will create your drive simple by calculating your time and distance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GPS Street Navigation: Live Street View Compass review [App]  2019-12-9 13:33

    GPS Road Navigation is an awesome app. This application is very useful to me. I like this app. It is simple to use. This app is working 100%.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter