Read summer of my german soldier reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all summer of my german soldier reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    A amazing film was created of this! Both novel and film treat a relatively small known aspect of Globe Battle II--the German POWs housed in camps in the U.S. and often working in its factories and on its farms when manpower was in short supply.

    0  


    Add your opinion on summer of my german soldier or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    A very emotional story, highly recommended in reading curriculum for kids studying Globe Battle 2 and the Holocaust. My daughter is in 6th grade and read this book among several others similar to Globe Battle 2, and this one and Boy in the Striped Pajamas were the two that seemed to have resonated the most with her. After reading this book, and several others and visiting the Museum of Tolerance, she has gained a much greater understanding of the Globe Battle 2 and the Holocaust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    I read this book AND watched the TV film (starring Kristy McNichol) as a young teen. I loved the story then and when I saw this book an Amazon I had to it on my Kindle. It did not disappoint! Some 30+ Years later and this story still tugs at the heart strings. You won't be able to place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    My son selected this book as an outside Literature book to read for school. I decided to read it, as well. The story covers a period of time during WWII, when German POWs were held within the United States. This story is about one such soldier and a young Jewish girl in a little city in Alabama. Patty Bergen meets the young German POW when some of the prisoners are brought to her father's shop to straw hats. Anton, is various from the rest, and one quickly gets the sense that he does not help Hitler. One day, Patty finds him, outside the prison. He has escaped and is trying to obtain back to a life related to what he knew before Hitler. Patty hides him. Along with this part of the story, is another story, of how Patty is abused by her parents, both mentally and physically. One thing she learns from her German soldier, Anton, is that she is a person of worth. The story is difficult to read, in part, because of how Patty is treated by her parents. The only people, who seem to truly love and care for Patty are Ruth, the Negro housekeeper, Anton the German soldier and her grandparents in Memphis. This book certainly lends a various perspective to that time period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    A excellent story for any age. The characters are so true while the story grips you from the beginning. Perfect and even better, simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    I first read this coming of age story 35 Yeats ago, as a teenager. Patty Bergen is a precocious, 12year old girl, wise beyond her years, smart and curious. Unfortunately her parents don't appreciate her large heart and mind. Set near the end of WWII, Patty's interested when a Nazi POW camp is built in her little Alabama town. She begins to realize the propaganda she's been told may have another side.When she meets escaped POW Anton, the young Jewish girl decided to support him, and learns there are other sides to the battle than what she's tty is a remarkable character, and the preface to this book states that she is not just a fictional character, but the personification of the author Bette is is not a story just for young adults, but for anyone interested in history, and anyone who enjoys coming of age sides Patty and Anton, housekeeper Ruth plays a pivotal role in this real story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    I read this book when I was in the 7 th grade. I must have read it a dozen times. Then one day I was sitting down thinking of books that have created an impact on my life. I tried to describe the book to anyone who would listen, but no one could support me remember the name. Finally, I sat back and thought about it, I said to self, well it was about a small girl and a German boy. Finally it came to me. Summer of My German Soldier. I could not quick enough. For some reason I thought the book was longer and much more intense, but then I was only 11 when I first read it, and everything seems more dramatic when you are young.I am so glad I downloaded and read it again. I have so a lot of highlights in this short novel. I will hold this on my kindle forever and will revisit Patti, Ruth and her horrible parents again in a few years. This is in my opinion a unbelievable book to give to a young person, no matter their gender. And now at 52 it might not be the book I remember as a kid but the notice is still the same. 4 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    The story of Patty and why she doesn't fit in and how badly her family treats her and how her sister is the favored kid (repeat that several times in breathless teenspeak) reaches across the span of time to any alienated late middle schooler. Most will not become as involved with the law as Patty does but they will understand what leads her there and how she feels.about the method people treat her. WWII and German POWs move the action along but it is the other parts of the story that reveal the most about Patty's lessened self-esteem.I first read this 20 years ago and re-read it as part of my granddaughter's summer reading assignment. Clearly, it has stood the try of time as well as opening up a frank discussion about adolescent feelings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    The author writes very well about a very difficult human state:love for a man belonging to opponent nation which has tried to anihilate all Jews by genocide..The text is deeply moving but not pathetic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer of My German Soldier []  2020-1-25 11:16

    I love this book! I read it as a kid and now my son is reading it. I read it as an assignment in 8th grade, he is reading it for fun, he is in 5th grade. Probably best for a kid with at least a comprehension/vocabulary level of 8th grade or higher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    My objective was to obtain a perspective of the battle on the eastern front during WWII and to get a first hand knowledge of what it was like to be a soldier during WWII since a lot of US veterans were reluctant to talk about their experience. As part of the eastern front experience, I wanted to know if there was any disclosure of how the civilian and military Russians were treated by the Germans since the Russians didn't treat the German civilians very well. The book met my objectives. The author does a amazing job of taking the reader through the learning experience of how to stay alive while being a foot soldier on the front lines. I loved the book for it provided me with a much better understanding of how difficult was to be a soldier both physically and mentally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    this book stood out to me for a number of reasons. Firstly, the author is an interesting individual to say the least. He is one of the only former German soldiers who has written a memoir and admits that he was a Nazi and all for it at first, this takes extreme courage, the final section of the book is the best part in my opinion as it acts as a short reflection and discusses his transformation, it is also somewhat emotional. Secondly, the descriptions of combat are as grim as they come, nothing is white-washed, it isn't over dramatized. It is what it is: , there are a few things which troubled me:1.) The author was never in Stalingrad, more on the outskirts and didn't see massive combat in that zone until after the encirclement2.) The author describes human-wave attacks by Red Troops soldiers in 1943-44. Not sure if this is just what it appeared to be from his perspective, but I feel in his efforts to recollect the author fell for the myth of the Red Troops just charging in neat lines being mowed spite these 'issues', I do highly recommend this books for those interested in the Eastern Front. For casual readers, I would keep off a bit. There are a amazing of medals, slang, and ranks mentioned and they are necessary to obtain a feel for the book and know who is who and the significance of what this particular soldier did or how experienced they may be. You need to know all the common combat awards, primary slang, and weapon types.If you know this, what are you waiting for! This book is amazing and I don't wish to spoil it. It is well worth reading and even though I consider myself to be well read on the topic I learned a fare amount.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    One of my favorite books of all time is the Forgotten Soldier, it's the standard I measure other private accounts to and there's been few that have matched it. Have to say this one did it. Blood Red Snow is fabulous! The opening was nice but honestly headed for a weak 4 star rating; I think this was partially because Gunter was either finding himself in writing or had written that section well after the war. What happened during the retreat from Stalingrad though just totally opened Gunter up to us and gave us so much more than so a lot of private acc give; emotion and feeling, fear and joy. As we Gunter both breakdown somewhat and become a stalwart of his unit we see him become so much more. This isn't just a former soldier telling his contributions to a greater fight; instead it becomes more personal, as in you almost feel Gunter is telling you his experiences in person. This is a very amazing acc of a warrior's experience, an absolute must for anyone interested in private accounts from WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    I often wondered about the ordinary soldiers - irrespective of which troops or country they fought for - who toiled anonymously and were sacrificed as pawns in their country's adventures into "aggressive political change". Growing up with books by Sven Hassel and watching battle films like Peckinpah's classic "The Cross of Iron", then delving more into the historical and propaganda footage from the German side, you begin to see detail and obtain a glimpse into the difficulties and hardships that these men endured...but nothing like the memoirs of this awesome man and his comrades which surpasses the suffering and unfolding catastrophe that defies our imagination. A tremendous read that puts the "Russian Experience" into perspective and makes you wonder about how our history books were written, and that if such publications were created available in the past, then perhaps our passion for battle mongering would be greatly diminished. This doesn't glorify war, but the bonds of friendship and comradeship that helped these young men survive the horror.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    The translation uses very British terminology and colloquialisms (chaps, blokes, bloody, etc.) in the 1st person diary reading of this German. This gives it a very distracting British flare, like translating Anne Frank into a the dialect of an American southerner. Also, the Soviet Soviet PPSH-41 submachine guns are repeatedly referred to as Kalashnikovs. As Kalashnikov hadn't designed them and wasn't even a known figure until after 1947, it is clearly not taken from a WWII German's diary. How in the globe did the translator come up with Kalashnikov? I'm left wondering what else was invented in this telling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    This is a amazing private story of two people, their lives, and their imperfect but deep relationship as they come to terms with it. Their lives are not excellent or without stresses. .Abigail and Robert are both recovering from the mishaps of life, Abigail from a failed marriage and pregnant, Robert from experiences in Vietnam. Both are carrying emotional baggage and search soul friends in each other. Both with their various flavors of PSTD with mutual help provided by their relationship. An inspiring private story all of us who have experienced less than storybook lives. Abigail gives us lots of insights and tools that may well apply to any of us. It was particularly meaningful to me as I grew up in the same community as Abigail and knew her as a kid, she was my younger sister's best friend. I recommend it to anyone who's life is not already excellent in every way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    This is the everyday journal of a German soldier on the Eastern Front. It was published shortly after Globe Battle II. I found it very fascinating about what the German soldiers went through and how they reacted to a German soldiers’ life. The life is not embellished and the author simply told what went on during wars and the everyday life. He seems to avoid any political talk and opinions. He sees both sides as human beings recognizing the amazing and poor in all whom he encounters. He enters the battle as a very young soldier and he and his fellow soldiers are quite excited about getting into war to do hurt to the opponent but after their first encounter in the battle location those thoughts disappear and they all become set on just surviving. As they survive each day they are resigned to the fact that this day may be their latest but still they move on under horrendous conditions especially the fierce cold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    This is a superb acc by a German soldier highly decorated who somehow managed to endure and survive brutal front line wars on the Russian front with only 6 mostly minor war wounds. Written in the first person from notes he kept, the book portrays the horrors and deprivations the German soldiers faced as they pushed eastward forward Stalingrad only to somehow avoid encirclement on the slow fighting withdrawal back to the west. I could not place this book down and finished it over a three day weekend. Read it and you will not be disappointed as history comes alive through the eyes of a German massive machine gunner who tells his story of survival and combat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    I started skimming past the innumerable descriptions of every skirmish or attack, but became very familiar with the types of weapons used. That part was interesting. The rest was just tragic. The author is a very sympathetic character, a easy soldier. But I found my feelings very conflicted when I started empathizing with him. The horror of Hitler’s invasion of Russia was carried out by men like these. Later in the book I flinched when he said that they were doing training in Denmark, a country most cruelly Treated by the Germans. So I forced myself to [email protected]#$%!, and I was just saddened by the monumental waste and destruction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    It is fascinating to read a book written from the memories of a German soldier fighting on the front line in the Eastern Campaign and surviving. It is related to "All Quiet on the Western Front" in that so a lot of of his fellow soldiers and school mates don't create it and both present the futility of war. Koschorrek confirms the view that soldiers fighting on a front line are not fighting for King, Fatherland, Tsar or whatever, but to hold themselves and their fellow men alive. All the grandeur and heroics of battle come down to a easy war for survival. This is now well documented but it is interesting to see the German soldier on the outskirts of Stalingrad and the difficulties he faces in both understanding where the front line is, what part he is playing in the war, and why supplies do not reach him in any rational quantity. All armies seem to be the same in the hierarchical structure of their supply lines. It was obvious all through, that he was going to survive, because he wrote the book, but it was still a very amazing insight into the German lines and the mindset of the German soldier. Unfortunately in the Kindle version, the maps, which should be so helpful, are difficult to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front []  2020-5-15 18:0

    A amazing book for those who wish to understand the soldier's perspectiveI just finished reading Blood Red Snow, by Gunter Koschorrek, a surviving German Wehrmacht massive machine gunner, who spent his entire combat career (1942-45) running as the Germans fell back from occupied Soviet Russia, through Romania and back to the homeland. I highly recommend it to those who wish to understand the mindset of soldiers forced to retreat (repeatedly) in the face of overwhelming opponent might. Wounded at least six times, after each recovery he'd return to his (mechanized) cavalry unit and continue the fighting withdrawal. For people who wish to understand the human element of what YouTube historian Lindybeige has provided us, I strongly recommend this book, available from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    I first saw Abigail Calkin inside the entrance of Barnes and Nobel in Cheyenne, Wyoming. She had several people in conversation with her and noticing the title of her book, "The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife", I decided I would test to catch her when she had a lull in her greeting process. I found that was a small hard to do as a huge number of the people entering wanted to talk to her as well as her book. As I was getting ready to leave I still had to wait about 10 mins to speak with her. I greeted her with "You could be my mother!" She looked at me quizzically as I am at least 20 years her senior. I went on to explain that we were a military family with my dad serving 30 years as a United States Air Force pilot and how I could immediately relate to her as a military wife. I purchased the book on line through Amazon for my Kindle. I found the book to be extremely private ,down to earth and revealing. I immediately felt a closeness recognizing a verbalization by the author that my mother tried to shelter me from during our turbulant military lives (and of course it doesn't stop just because the military service ends). I wish to thank the author for her frank, straightforward writing of this book. It was griping and private to me and I know there was no method to really wrap a topic up in a concise pack as there is so much to say, it would be impossible to share it all ...Thank you, Abigail Calkin, for being able to lay yourself begin to this degree to bring the topic to us...Skip Winchester

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    Pick this book out for book club (all military wives) because of its five-star rate, but after reading a lot of us just did not like it. I actually read it twice and downloaded the audiobook ver of it, thinking I miss something. Personally I found it quite boring. Dislike how it jumped around constantly to past and present.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    None of our thousands of young men and women who’ve fought in our more than 70 battles of the past 60 years were home fighting. They were all in other countries, around the world. If they survived, they may have returned to us. Home is where we’ve come to with the effects of battle on our families, our friends, our neighbors, our coworkers.Abigail Calkin’s book, The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife, is not just about her own soldier. It is about my uncle training bombers in the Pacific during WWII, your sister dying in Iraq during Desert Storm, my mates with PTSD from Vietnam, your sons and daughters living with broken lives and bodies returning every day from war.I opened up this book and found words that speak for those who cannot, poems that touch damage and pain, yet leave me hoping, understanding, listening. It is written from the point of view of a wife, a friend, a neighbor, a relative, an ancestor. Short poignant stories grab my heart, are so real, yet are written as dreams, meetings, impressions, perspectives. Their scope is relationships, collateral damage, deployment, recovery, calls to listen, and homecomings.If I were recovering returning from war, I’m not sure I could place anything down like Abigail Calkin has. But I’d wish to. I thank her for voicing what’s often missing in our conversations of healing, in our lives as a nation of human beings at war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    (Full disclosure: I am a longtime mate and colleague of Dr. Abigail Calkin.) I've known for several years that Abigail was involved in supporting vets with PTSD. This past spring, I told her my story: I was in the womb in 1950 when my father died in the Korean conflict. When Abigail said hearing that gave her chills, I knew I had to read her book, and it did not disappoint. With meticulous detail and aching imagery, she unpacks 45 years of marriage living with a Vietnam veteran who was still a child when he went to war. She makes very clear how the tendrils of his experience - what he can and cannot bear looking at in the show or remembering from the past - weave through her life and the lives of everyone they know. Abigail's book helped me realize lots about my own stop-and-start journey through life, and also that although a person may volunteer to become a soldier, all his family and mates (and children, born and unborm) enlist with him/her, not always voluntarily: some are drafted. I highly recommend this thoughtful and moving acc of the marriage of a Quaker and a veteran. It reveals the aftereffects of battle that seldom create the evening news.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    I actually read the whole book in 3 days and loved it. Beautifully written, unbelievable poetry mixed within the text - a very nice touch. Laughter, tears, but most importantly knowing that there is one other person out there who understands the complexity of being married to a soldier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    Soldiers have a lot of various reasons for enlisting, and going to war. Some war for what they view as a noble cause, some prefer the military life, and others are pursuing a college education or unique training. I love that Robert, the solider whose story is told here, was at least partially motivated by a desire to a really amazing garden tractor. That's true life -- and true life for soldiers and their families is nothing like the movies. Like Calkin, I don't know what my soldier (disabled Viet Nam combat vet) went through, and couldn't understand it even if I knew the details, but I am constantly reminded how that experience has shaped the entire rest of his life. In a lot of ways it leaves me on the outside, puzzled and not knowing how to help him. Calkin covers this location and much more, and her observant, beautifully written acc brought me several "ah-ha!" moments of realization. The interweaving of her deep love for her soldier, her curiosity about his experiences, her coping mechanisms during his absence, and her journey through worry, awareness, respect, and acceptance is masterfully depicted -- and surely something that spouses have gone through ever since there have been soldiers and wars. Love the writing and pacing of the story...love how we see the writer and her solider through a lot of lenses, from childhood, background and courtship through multiple deployments and the lives they've built for themselves in Alaska. The book is universal -- something any military spouse can relate to -- yet it's also a very private acc of two strong, very different, very resilient people with a unbelievable love story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    Everything is various when living with a person with PTSD. Life is like a black and white photo, with an occasional red flower thrown in. Abigail Calkin's biography cuts through the gray locations and shows the true picture with sensitivity, poignancy and love. Like in living color, two genuine people expose the grittiness of their lives, and present us that we are not alone in our grief and pain. On this war-torn planet, Calkin reminds us that , no matter what, there is more amazing in life than bad. A tough read, but a very amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    As one with small direct exposure to the military and its personnel, I gained from this memoir a deeper understanding of, and gratitude for, the sacrifices created by members of the armed services -- and their families. But this is no generic or scholarly treatment of the subject. Although Calkin is a psychologist and has extensive knowledge and experience from working with a lot of soldiers and their families, this is a deeply private acc of her own. It is both encouraging and sad: active duty has done permanent hurt that cannot be fully repaired, but she and her husband have overcome a lot of obstacles and learned to live as well as they can given their past. The harsh reality of the endless consequences of battle is tempered with equally enduring humor and love. What I loved most about this book is that it was written by a Quaker -- a member of a faith that opposes battle -- who fell in love with a soldier, whose business is war. The effect is neither a diatribe versus battle and violence, nor a glorification of valor and sacrifice, but an open, nuanced, respectful, grateful, honest, and above all private acc that will resonate with a lot of who are associated with the military, and will engender greater understanding, respect, and gratitude among those who, like me, are not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Soul of My Soldier: Reflections of a Military Wife []  2020-2-2 8:22

    This private memoir is a collection of stories, memories and poems that beautifully express the complications a military life bring to a marriage relationship. I love the honesty of this book. When Abigail writes the latest line in her poem: The Quaker and the Sergeant... "he calmed versus my skin" I was instantly thrown back to my own marriage to a recon marine who used to tell me that when I rolled over and held him in the night, I pulled him out of his terror-filled dreams of running for his life in the jungle. His service was before our marriage and his PTSD and my own inability to understand his rage resulted in our marriage ending. I respect his service to our country and grieved for the high cost in his life and those he loved when he couldn't talk about a lot of of his traumatic experiences because he had sworn he would not. I applaud the attractive relationship that Abigail has portrayed in this book with her beloved Robert and celebrate their decades-long marriage. She reveals her understanding with illustrative prose of the experience of a military spouse and with amazing empathy and compassion shows she has walked the path.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Sade is one of my favorite female vocalists and I have fun her melody on vinyl - in fact the first time my son (a musician who also happens to like Sade) heard me play her Diamond Life album on vinyl he was left speechless. He had only heard the CD and digital versions and was stunned at the large difference in sound/music quality that he heard from vinyl. We also did an A-B comparison of the CD versus vinyl of a lot of of her older albums and in every case he preferred the vinyl ver for the sonic quality.Anyway...I give this album only 4 stars because it was not as quiet a recording as I expected. One of the tracks had more vinyl noise then it should have, but I was too lazy and didn't wish to send it back and, after I bought the album, I was told it was on backorder.I will skip the track by track review - a few other reviews have that covered (check out some of the 5 star review for that). I'll only add that if Sade releases an album I will it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    I like Sade. I have all of her music. I do like this album. I am giving it 4 stars because most of her others had hits on every track. Although every track is good, I don't feel like they are hits like her older stuff. Compared to what kind of melody is out there, for me, Sade something mellow and her sounds are nice. This is not a bash only an honest 4 star review. I like the album and continue to listen to it. I recommend this to anyone that is looking into adding to their Sade collection. Diamond Life and the others would be a better choice if you don't have any melody from her and are looking to begin collection some of her music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    As I wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    The power in this song is palpable. Makes you wish to stand up and sing it at the top of your lungs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    ...the album chart, for sure. As of the date of this review, this album has been on the chart for 3 weeks, at No. 1 the whole time. If Sade required validation of the love of her fans, I think she has it de Adu does one thing, and does it extremely well. I wouldn't have it any other way. When you a Sade album, you know you can expect certain things: minimal but meaningful lyrics; vocals delivered with subtle emotion and dignity; and melody with exotic overtones. This album has just enough contemporary studio production to create it relevant, but Sade's sound remains intact. The title track is the one that could have success as a single, with its powerful beat and echo of early hip-hop. It is not characteristic of the album as a whole. The other tracks are more mellow, and will not disturb those who don't like their adult contemporary melody to be too "busy". My least favorite track is "Babyfather", which leans toward reggae (not my favorite genre), but even that one is saved by its depiction in the lyrics of love at first sight that outlasts the try of time. I would not be at all surprised to search this album receiving a Grammy nomination as Album of the Year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    Unbelievable CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    I think the first time that I ever consciously heard Billie Holiday's voice was while watching the movie "9 and a Half Weeks." From what I remember, Mickey Rourke picks up a record -- that movie was from 1986, after all, and CDs might have just been invented -- spins it slowly in his hands, locations it on the turntable, and asks Kim Basinger while it is playing, "Do you know who this singer is?" Well, it was Ms. Holiday. And it was unbelievable of course. Would you expect anything else from the greatest singer ever? I'll never forget it.And I believe the first time I ever heard Sade was when her song "Smooth Operator" was playing over the Muzak system in a grocery store. I won't forget that, either, even though the "9 and a Half Weeks" context surely was sexier. While it would be hard to argue that Sade is as amazing as Ms. Holiday was, for me, Sade comes in a beautiful close second. And I have the feeling that Sade would probably agree with me; at least on the Billie-Holiday-was-the-greatest-singer-ever part. But Sade is beautiful modest, so she might obtain embarrassed and test to wiggle out of the second-place de opened with "Soldier of Love" when I latest saw her around the 2011 timeframe in San Jose at HP Pavilion. The only other time that I saw her in concert: 2001 in Seattle at the Key Arena. After the Key Arena show, I told my wife, "Well, I don't believe that I will ever see a better concert than that." I was wrong, of course, as she later outdid herself in San Jose. Why, oh why, does she only tour every 10 years? "Well, when you're great, you can do whatever you want," is the obvious answer. But the old expression, "Absence makes the heart grow fonder," surely applies to Sade. In reality, when she tours, it is not a concert. It is an EVENT. And she is too often absent, and your heart will surely grow fonder waiting for her next tour.I've always wondered: what if you could make a time machine, and create it so that the traveler could go back in time, and witness a live Billie Holiday concert? How much could you a ticket for to that one event? If it were place on auction, I'm guessing that you could create millions. Heck, I'd beg, borrow and steal myself to obtain that opportunity. And I'll bet Sade herself might be the highest bidder, because not only does she share some similarities with the late-great singer, she's a fan of Ms. Holiday herself.But I say that you don't have to spend millions to have an experience that's almost as good. Just listen to "Soldier of Love," or better yet, go to one of Sade's concerts. But time may not be on your side; if history is a guide, and if Sade tours again, it won't be until around 2020 at the earliest. And if she does tour, do not miss it. It would be like being really old today, sitting in your rocking chair, and kicking yourself as you had a possibility to see Billie Holiday live long ago but decided latest min not to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    My wife turned me on to her 10+ years ago and its been unbelievable ever since. When we obtain some time to ourselves I'll place on a Sade mix (the longer the better ;-) and obtain the warm oil for back rubs and have a very pleasant romantic evening. Having grown up in the Barry White years, Sade pushes not good Barry aside like so much yesterdays news and reminds us of the sensuality of women; which I for one am eternally grateful! This particular CD is as amazing as anything that shes done in previous years but admittedly the CD tracks did (many) sound quite the same. Thats not a poor thing mind you...as it IS Sade afterall...but if you're looking for something breakthrough or various from her, this isn't it. This is Sade in all her voice and (at times) wanton lustiness...enjoy it with your loved one, you'll be glad you did ;-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    Love this CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    This is a replacement order. Super selections and soulful rendering.,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    I have always felt that Sade was its own genre, and "Soldier of Love" continues this form. The woman is in a mature mode here, telling tales in which her older fans are sure to search resonance. The title track's drum beats are special in their "start/stop" time signature with Ms. Adu's seasoned, sumptuous alto voice answering in the simple, elegant phrasing which is her style. Most of the songs are more laid back, but go down like butter and stand up to repeated plays. There is a bittersweet mystery behind "Morning Bird", as she compares a loss to "The harvest of my dreams...The ghost of my joy." Haunting strings and piano usher in this stark, attractive ballad. A joyful pulse full of the promise of fresh life propels "Babyfather", a slow-dance ode to what a amazing father's love can mean. "Long Hard Road" is another string-filled entry in her hard times songbook, appropriate for the times. She reminds us to listen to the voice inside that says "It's gonna be alright." "Be That Easy" has an almost country ballad feel, a gently swaying cuddle of a song where she recalls the easiness of a fresh love in light of changes. "Bring Me Home" picks up the pace with an even starker picture of a world-weary soldier of life. "In Another Time" finds an older woman consoling a young, heart-borken girl in a soulful ballad with the line: "They don't know what to do with something so good." A sweet, high violin and sax kiss away the tears. "Skin" is more like the steamy,erotic torchiness of Sade's earlier work, even though she's saying goodbye, washing off a love that doesn't feel right. The bass and kick drum are sure to rattle a few sub-woofers. More acoustic guitar begins "The Safest Place" as it does with several of the tracks, yet another ballad with a attractive string section. Our heroine has, at last, found a safe refuge from love's battlefield in the pastoral promise of her own a lesser artists hands, these songs would feel contrived and phony. But the honesty of Sade's lyrics and delivery assure more than just another R&B fantasy. She has LIVED these songs, and the band lives with her as one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Sade always real to her melody roots, I loved it, especially songs like Skin, Soldier OF Love, The Moon and The Sky, all had classic sade groove and touching lyric.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    Soldier of the Cross is an album worth waiting for. Having seen Ricky Skaggs in Winnipeg years ago I didn't think it could obtain any better, but it has. Too poor he waited so a lot of years to place out a pure gospel album. Can't wait for the next one; hopefully it won't be as long a wait as the first. Thanks, this one is well worth the price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    amazing melody to listen too and the words to some of the songs will speak to your heart. If you like blue grass than you will like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    Thumbs Up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Why did I bypass this album again?? Maybe it was because I was so into Ms. Adu's older works that I thought this one may be a bit too various or something. Well, five years later, I'm in LOVE. If you enjoyed Lover's Rock, you'll definitely have fun Soldier of Love because it's so related to that one. You hear stories of love, heartache, and hope in each track. They all are very smooth, sultry, and heartfelt, but if I had to pick my top three, "Soldier of Love", "Long Hard Road", and "Skin" would be my choices. The title track is basically a song of strength and confidence in love. Throughout the song, she's reminding the listener of how she survived the pain and that no matter how badly she hurts, she believes that love will come to her aid again. Her songwriting has always been phenomenal! Her lyrics will captivate you at some point in your life, whether you've been through difficult times or not. I can say personally that Sade has gotten me through a lot of difficult times in my life. When I hear her music, it's like she's singing to me and reminding me that everything's going to be alright. That there is hope and true love out there somewhere.. I hope this won't be her latest album. I'd love to hear more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    The wait is over. Soldier of Love is the first album by Sade after a ten-year hiatus. Don't you dare call this a comeback since her melody never left us. From the first hit "Diamond Life" in 1984 until now, the band's melody has stayed on our radios and turntables. Soldier of Love is fine and mellow poetry, Sade at her lyrial best. In the past a Sade album could be compared to a fine Merlot, a wine to accompany polite dinner conversation. Her style, like her pulled-back hair, was always understated elegance. But this time Sade rocks our globe and takes her time taking us through heartache and redemption with a bit more fire and a small Jamaican rum punch ("Babyfather"). This disc is earthy and dense, pulling us onto the dance floor with the title chop "Soldier of Love". We are privileged to go behind the scenes and spy the secrets of her diary and we can't wait to turn the next page. "The Moon and the Sky" is a passionate lullaby recounting love that might have been. If love is a battlefield then Sade is leading the charge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier of Love []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Sade is back and she is probably the only artist that could release a CD that I would without hearing a single song from it. But I DID hear "Soldier of Love" in December and instantly fell in love with it. It went without saying that I would pre-order her CD as soon as I got the opportunity, and that's just what I is CD is really not as poor as some of the reviewers are labeling it, and I do like it. However, it will be an offering that some other folks will probably have to listen to several times before it grows on them. As others have said, SOLDIER OF LOVE does sound like retreading over the formula used on LOVERS ROCK, which is my least favorite Sade CD because I only liked the first four cuts on it and not much more. But SOLDIER is significantly better than that one. For those people complaining about how the topic matter is "depressing" and "dark" - obtain over it. Unless you just became a fan of Sade's yesterday, then you know amazing and well that she has ALWAYS sang songs like these. Because of the lyrical content of much of her repetoire, she earned the title of a modern day Billie Holiday a long time ago. This is melody that refuses to sugarcoat the fact that as amazing as love can be, it can also bring pain - and it's something that can happen at ANY age. SOLDIER is smooth, relaxing and classy as anything by Sade is - but I have to admit I'm just a little bit disappointed, and I'll explain why later in my e most solid and enjoyable selections, IMO, are the edgy title song and best tune on the CD, "Soldier of Love", the mournful "The Moon and The Sky", the lovely reggae-influenced "Babyfather", the folksy-ness of "Be That Easy", "In Another Time" (two exceptionally amazing tunes which both sound like they are going into Norah Jones and John Mayer territory), "Bring Me Home" and "Skin", where the track echoes the Sade of old that we all fell in love with. The remaining songs are just okay. "The Safest Place" is a pale copy of the band's earlier gem, "Pearls", but it didn't move me as much as "Pearls" did (and still does). "Morning Bird" (musically touches on the "Pearls" vibe again) and "Long Hard Road" are alright, nothing spectacular or groundbreaking about them but they are decent. I also miss the perfect saxophone work of Stu Matthewman - it only shows up sporadically on "In Another Time".I will always love Sade's music. I feel that she is one of the few artists left in the industry that is the true deal, and she's one to always hold you wanting more. Not a lot of singers could completely drop off the radar for a decade and still come back powerful (although I do want a lot of today's so-called entertainers would drop off the radar permanently). However, I feel a small cheated, only getting ten songs after ten years. You'd think that since Sade always seems to take a long hiatus between CD releases, she and the band could have come up with more material and even tighter compositions than what we got here. I will never say that she has lost "it" because she hasn't, but perhaps now she might be at a put musically in her 51 years of life where she doesn't feel it is important to rehash the same formula she had in the '80s and '90s. But yet, she made something here that is merely a better ver of her latest studio CD. If you're a Sade fan like I am, then I definitely recommend it. But if you're just a casual fan you might wish to go with the CD single of "Soldier of Love" instead and hope that we don't have to wait another ten years to obtain more quality material from her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    A unbelievable Ricky Skaggs Christian CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soldier Of The Cross []  2020-1-22 2:31

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Love and Misfortune []  2020-6-10 19:20

    This fun debut YA from author Lindsay Wong presents the reader with protagonist Iris Wang. Iris is a high school senior in Fresh Jersey, has an AmEx on which she's run up an extraordinary debt - especially since she bought two tickets to Paris to surprise her boyfriend for his birthday - and is happiest shopping. But when all hell breaks loose in the form of her boyfriend cheating on her (with her best friend, no less!), her parents learn she's not only not gotten into any colleges, but she has failed her senior year of high school. Their solution? They decide to send Iris to stay with her father's half-brother and his family in China - a family Iris didn't know she even HAD.But when she gets there and discovers how wealthy her uncle is, she's ecstatic and even wonders if Uncle is actually her father. But things don't turn out quite as Iris expected them to, and in a wonderfully plotted storyline, Iris grows and changes from the superficial shopaholic who landed in Beijing to someone with method more depth.Having been to Beijing myself once upon a time, I loved Wong's depiction of Iris's experiences in a country that is her heritage, but that she really knows nothing about. Her hero arc is beautifully written and I was satisfied for Iris when I finished the book and saw her growth. Iris is like a bull in a china in so a lot of ways and that adds to the comedic result of the book. I very much enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Love and Misfortune []  2020-6-10 19:20

    From Lala's Book Reviews(Actual Review is 3.75 Stars) I was really excited when the opportunity presented itself for me to read this book because after I found out that the MC is Chinese-American, I had to read it to expand my library of books with Asian ing Chinese-American, I felt an instant connection to Iris even if I didn’t grow up in a household with Asian parents that practice some of those things that are unique to the Chinese culture, but the expectations of being the best was seen really early in the book. Iris’s parents provides the best things they think will support her succeed in life and obtain into the top colleges in America. But what if that’s not what Iris wants for herself?After reading the first couple of chapters, I was intrigued by Iris because she’s aware of her poor grades that could hold her from graduating high school, shopping addiction, and lack of care for most anyone until she gets a wakeup call when her boyfriend cheats on her, the guidance counselor says that graduation might not be an option, her parents search her in the hospital after a poor house party, and her spending habits finally catch up with , her parents decides to send her to stay with her aunt, uncle, and cousin (who Iris didn’t even know existed) in Beijing, a put that is so foreign with it’s language, stores, and ter arriving, it’s obvious that the people there don’t wish her in the town because she can’t speak any Chinese, and they think she’s defected because she looks like them but can’t do something as ‘simple’ as speak to them. And, to top it off, her cousin Rose hates Iris and wants her to go back to America. Which is fine by Iris (the going back to America part) because nothing about the trip to Beijing is what she had anticipated.But her parents won’t allow her until she present them that she has learned some responsibility and learned some of the Chinese e largest thing that I didn't like about this book was the MCs self-centered attitude. She cares so much about herself that she's constantly spending to create people think that she's something more. Just when you think that she's doing something out of the goodness of her heart, she has a "relapse" and goes back to spending to create herself feel this quick paced book about not being what is expected, Iris must learn to allow go of some of her poor habits and decides where she fit in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    I loved this book. I have the first book,my life in pink and green,and I wanted more! So I went to Amazon,and found the sequel,read it,loved it! The end of the book sounded like there was another pink and green book ...I hope! I love Lisa greenwald,and her books are terrific. I highly recommend this book for pretens that are into makeup,beauty,and summer fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    Granddaughter request, she's 12.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    This book has an awesome plot and so a lot of well thought-out issues that come to a nice end. I feel like I can connect to Lucy and the characters in the book and everything in this book is relatable. It has such a nice connection to the first book which I loved just as much. Now I’m on to the third book which I am so excited to read. I definitely recommend this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    I liked how it's a series it leaves you with a little amount of cliff hanging and gives a lot of true word I disliked how Lucy the main hero was always making up with her mates and fighting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    The book was received in excellent condition. Delivery time was just as expected! All in all it was yet another excellent amazon prime transaction! I ordered this at 11 pm on a Thursday and it came in around 1 pm on Saturday! This book was for my small cousin who is reading the series shes very excited about it! However do NOT read the summary of the book if you have not completely finished the one before it (Spoiler alert).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    Huge hit for 9 yo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    Daughter loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    This is a really amazing book. I just read the first one, and then I went on to this one. Can't wait to and read the 3rd!! Lisa Greenwald is a really amazing author. My favorite out of the two books in the Pink & Green series so far is definitely this one. Buy it and read it now!! You totally won't regret it. I'd say this book is for girls around 11-13 or so. I'm 12 and I absolutely loved it!!!! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    A fun read! Usually sequels aren't as amazing as the originally, but this book went above and beyond. It just place a smile on your face just thinking about reading it! Lisa Greenwald is an amazingly talented author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green series Book 2) []  2020-1-26 22:45

    I remember when i read the first book back in 5th (10-11) grade and i absolutly LOVED it !! So when i saw a while back that there had been a part two published i bought it immediantly . I read the book , and yes it was just as amazing , if not better than the first book. Its just not for someone who is into higher level reading books. I would rate the reading level on this book at 4th grade . But I must say that I really love this author and that the series is fantastic. :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    I have read several books by top historians on FDR. As a teacher of U.S. history for 40 years in high school and Junior College with a major in History at UC Berkeley with a emphasis of Diplomatic History I can say without any qualms that this work is the Best I have ever read. Bechloss's book goes back to 1940. There are two locations which are worth a comment 1. The need to involve the Congress and public (he political part of being President). 2. The story and obviously a mistake of not informing Adm. Kimmel and General Short of the knowledge the government had regarding an attack on Pearl Harbor. I (Richard Diamond) have read several works on the diplomatic aspect of WWII including views from the Japanese side, and this book is one of the best. Combined with Bechloss's book "Presidents at War" (8 Presidents from Madison to LBJ) you appreciate of what is correct in having the President confer with Congress and inform the public, especially regarding the politics of war. I recommend this book for those who are interested in WWII and FDR and Beschloss' book on the 8 Presidents in "Presidents at War).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    "Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom" is the second volume of James MacGregor Burns' magisterial two-volume biography of Franklin D. Roosevelt, the first major scholarly biography of FDR after his death in 1945. (The first volume is "Roosevelt: The Lion and the Fox," which chronicles FDR's early life and political career.)In "Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom," Burns brilliantly encapsulates the wartime presidency of FDR: how he at first met the dual challenge of keeping the United States out of Globe Battle II, while at the same time legally making aid to the beleaguered Allies available; and then, once the U.S. entered the war, how he managed to hold the Allied battle effort moving toward the ultimate goal of win over the Axis powers. Burns portrays FDR as a man divided between his principles and ideals on one hand, and his need to take a pragmatic approach to the battle on the other. FDR is seen squarely placed at the center of worldwide historical happenings of the roughout this outstanding book, which was published in 1970 and won both the 1971 Pulitzer Prize for history and the 1971 National Book Award for History and Biography, Burns' scholarly research is impeccable and interpretations of history are flawless. His prose is elegant, fast-paced, and highly readable. Most highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    Burn's biography of President Roosevelt is a broad historical review of America's role in Globe Battle II, with a unique focus on the American president. Burns has established himself as an academic authority on the Roosevelt presidency, and his biographies on Roosevelt have won the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award. Relying primarily on the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library and other collections and archives, Burns effectively illustrates the myriad of responsibilities facing the President of the United States during the war. Beyond broad tactic goals, Roosevelt was tasked with providing political victories, promoting morale, shaping economic policy during mobilization, controlling inflation and planning for the post-war world. Throughout the war, conflicts erupted between military planners and politicians, management and labor, and all the different Allied leaders. Roosevelt's flexible, informal style frustrated Marshall and Eisenhower, but it ultimately proved to be an asset in addressing the countless issues facing the Commander in roughout his presidency, a disconnect existed between Roosevelt's high-minded rhetoric and his behind-the-scenes use of Realpolitik. Roosevelt's powerful speeches outlined bold, idealistic battle aims, but he suffered from indecision behind the scenes, which delayed the United States' commitment before the attack on Pearl Harbor. Roosevelt's indecision and his vague policy preferences were due to stiff political opposition from isolationist voters at home. The draft-extension bill, for example, survived by only one vote and limited other moves to escalate the battle e attack on Pearl Harbor unified the nation and brought Roosevelt's tactic into focus. Roosevelt unified command between services and nations Joint Chiefs, Atlantic Charter, Declaration of United Nations. He established the Battle Production Board to coordinate economic mobilization and procurement. A handful of agencies were made to coordinate labor mobilization, weapons development, long range strategic planning, and a host of other wartime ill, Roosevelt did not abandon his informal, pragmatic approach to the executive office. At one point, Burns noted Roosevelt's "reliance on talented individuals, not orderly administration" (p. 343). Roosevelt was a hands-on president and he resisted any administrative structures that would reduce his presidential authority. Throughout the crisis of war, Roosevelt was directly involved in all the nuances of battle planning, and he got the best out of people by fostering tournament and disregarding conventions. The book does a amazing job of capturing the close working relationship between Roosevelt and Churchill throughout the war. Drawing on both men's correspondence, Burns shows how the two men resolved their differences and forged a unified military throughout the war.Wars are won on the battlefield, but they require the unification of political support, moral backing, and military capabilities. Roosevelt's leadership promoted the Atlantic Charter and led the Allies to pursue `Unconditional Surrender,' of the Axis powers. Other objectives, such as Jewish security in Europe, domestic civil rights, and relations with Russia, were hampered by the pursuit of total military victory. Roosevelt provided a moral backing for the Allied effort, but he pursued pragmatic, realistic policies to achieve his idealistic osevelt, like all amazing politicians, formed policies that mirrored public opinion. When the nation was divided, Roosevelt's statements and tactics were cautious and non-committal. Once the US was attacked, isolationist sentiment disappeared and Roosevelt assumed a more decisive leadership role. Burns shows how Roosevelt's private leadership may have led to inefficiencies and lost opportunities, but it ultimately guided the United States to a decisive military victory. Burns' conclusions follow logically from the wonderful detail in his analysis, info that come from well-respected sources. Burns' acc of the battle is an accessible, comprehensive, and well organized book that gives a favorable impression of Roosevelt's administration during the trying times of Globe Battle II.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    Imagine if you will - a giant chess board. Only instead of it being square shaped with only two players, it's a hexdecagon (a 16 sided shape). There are about 16 various people all playing versus one and other. As one of the players, your tactic is to somehow not only be the victor of this colossal chess game, but also ensure some of the players other than yourself manage to beat some of your enemies while never getting the upper hand on you. A lot of of your "allies" on this chessboard aren't really your mates - you just need them to support you beat some of the participants that you really don't like. Obtain all that?Essentially, this is what Franklin Roosevelt had to do for the United States of America before, and during, Globe Battle II. All of the geopolitical implications of the major (and minor) players in this android game are enough to create your head spin. Yet FDR proves that he's a master of this chess game. He manages to play his chess pieces perfectly and although he might lose a piece or two during the match, he proves that he is a genius.Let me now say that this is volume 2 of a 2 volume series by James MacGregor Burns. Volume 1 info Roosevelt's life from birth up until 1940. I did not like volume 1. In a word, I thought it was boring. So I wasn't that enthused to pick up this next installment. Let's just say that I was immensely overwhelmed as to how much I enjoyed this one as opposed to the first. I'm thinking the topic matter had a lot to do with it. Reading about the info of the ugliest battle in our world's history is much more interesting than reading 500 pages about The Fresh Deal. In a lot of cases, you almost forget this is a book about Roosevelt, and instead think you're actually reading a book about the war. Yet Burns carefully crafts his telling of history to ensure that everything that happens is event through Roosevelt's ere's a lot of buildup in the early part of the book to December 7th, 1941. The battle actually explodes in Europe more than 2 years prior, and the "good guys" (mainly Winston Churchill - the brand fresh Prime Minister of England) is soliciting support from FDR anyway that he can. FDR's constituents, however, wish no part of a European conflict. Why should we obtain involved of something that's "over there" when we have enough issues "over here"? So Roosevelt has to walk a fine line. Sadly, he and most other smart figures in the government know that America will eventually have to be involved in this ugly conflict. It's just a matter of when. Without going into too much detail, relationships with Japan are not good, and you can actually feel the buildup of tension. Once Pearl Harbor is attacked, no one is really surprised. There's almost a sense of "relief" (dare I use that word) that the waiting is Roosevelt's job is to motivate his countrymen towards a sense of inevitable duty, and as history as shown us, he does a remarkable job. We're not given too a lot of glimpses into the daily cries of sacrifice and patriotism. Instead the author focuses on the masterful global wide chess game. FDR seems to always be thinking of the future, always visualizing the chess board two or three moves in the time to come. He knows what will happen, and his energy therefore is devoted to what his next moves are to be. Once the battle starts, Roosevelt knows that there will be setbacks. Yet once we arrive at about 1943, the consensus amongst the major powers is that the allies will, without a doubt, actually victory the war. It's just a matter of when.A lot of negotiating and bickering goes on between Roosevelt, Churchill and Joseph Stalin. These three men wish very various things, have various priorities, various objectives and seem to be at odds with each other quite a lot. It's a bit interesting seeing FDR's relationship with Stalin, particularly. Nowhere in these pages is the man portrayed as the evil butcher that we know he was. He never comes across as a soft, cuddly teddy bear, but he's always portrayed here as "one of the amazing guys". Perhaps this is because Roosevelt had to treat him with child gloves since our ultimate goal was to destroy Adolf Hitler. In other words, the only reason Russia was our ally in Globe Battle II was because Nazi-ism was a greater evil than e book isn't entirely about the War. There are plenty of problems event within the continent, yet FDR still manages to handle all of it wonderfully. Still, with all of the issues at home, the battle is the main thing on everyone's mind, and just about everything that is done in the U.S. is geared towards winning the conflict and bringing the boys back home as soon as possible. Yet there is still a lot of bickering within the halls of congress about just about anything, so things obviously weren't that much better than they are today.1944 arrives. D-Day is a success and there are talks of "ending the battle by Christmas", yet within all of this drama, it's time for another presidential election. According to Roosevelt, he doesn't really "want" a fourth term, but people are obdurate in their feelings and desires. So he runs again and wins. Oddly, before the election, FDR starts to have serious health issues. He pushes them down as best he can, and makes a large effort to appear presidential, yet those closest to him are worried. A lot of times, you have to wonder if his illness may have hampered some of the ongoing relationships with Churchill and Stalin, yet the author maintains that Roosevelt handles things just fine - he just has to treble his efforts to overcome these issues. I couldn't support wondering that if the internet or cable tv had been around, if FDR would have been re-elected. Yet since most people couldn't "see" him frequently, his illness was more gossip than fact among as the battle starts to wind down in 1945, sadly, so does Roosevelt. He passes away in April, without getting to see final win in Europe a few short weeks later, and win over Japan a few months after. This was really the only minor gripe about the book. The author just "ends" the story when Roosevelt dies. I would have enjoyed a postscript that would give a summary of how and when the battle ended (it was very various in Europe than it was in Asia), as well as an overview of the state of the globe following the end, yet we don't obtain that here. I was actually very surprised. Still, though, this was a amazing read and well deserved of the Pulitzer that it ter I read Doris Kearns Goodwin's book on Lincoln and his advisors ("Team of Rivals"), I created the comment that I felt that God had placed one of the best presidents of the United States directly into the time when we required one the most. After reading this book, I'd like to believe that The Almighty did the United States one more favor eighty years later.A truly amazing man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    Don't be fooled by the title, this isn't a traditional biography of Franklin Roosevelt. And that is a amazing thing, in my opinion. James MacGregor Burns captures more of a portrait of globe affairs, including the actions of FDR, Churchill, Stalin, senior US and British officials, Axis leaders, and globe events.=== The Amazing Items ===* Burns does a very through job of relating happenings and their interaction. For example, does a masterful job of capturing what Stalin's thought might have been as he navigated through the battle and relations with Churchill and Rosevelt. Burns postulates that Stalin may have realized that he could only motivate Soviet armies to war Germany in response to an invasion. Perhaps that explains Stalin's reluctance to accept warnings of a German invasion. The author also examines Stalin's paranoia about the US and GB hoping to bleed Germany and Russia dry fighting versus each other. Limits on early deliveries of battle materials to the Soviet Union certainly increased these fears.* The book spends quite a bit of words examining FDR's leadership style. Burns believes Roosevelt was never a amazing strategist, and never looked much further out than 6 months. While his arguments can seem a bit shallow and poorly developed, he certainly puts forth enough justification for at least considering his opinions.* Burns evidently had perfect access to historical records. He captures and explains some of the thinking about how the US and Britain would pursue the war, how they would help the USSR and China, and how scarce resources would be divided among all the different groups screaming for support. In a lot of ways, these choices set the course for the war, and for the politics of the globe for the next 50 years. Burns captures these decisions and their consequences quite well, and reasonably unbiased.* The book sticks to the high ground. We don't see any of FDR's poor moods, his difficult dealings with others, or his dalliances with female staff. Instead he concentrates on the political, military and civilian leadership challenges.=== The Not So Amazing Items ===* The book is long, and seems longer than it is. Burns writes in a reasonably easy-to-read style, although he is prone to long paragraphs. The issue is that his writing is very detailed and complete, and there is a lot of detail which is not specifically germane to the discussion in the text. It ended up taking me over a week to read this, a very long time for me.* Burns tosses around a lot of amazing thoughts, a lot of which are amazing starting points for an afternoon's contemplation of how the globe could have turned out. Unfortunately he doesn't really help his thoughts with arguments and justifications. Rather, he leaves a lot of loose ends for the reader to work his method through.=== Summary ===* I liked the book, although it was a bit of a tough read. It is very detailed, and perhaps overly so, but still proved a amazing look at how the battle was fought at the very top levels of US and British governments. The examination of Stalin's thoughts and reactions was first rate, although most of this is, of course, speculative.I'd recommend the book for any real fans of WWII, and especially those more interested in the political rather than the military side of thngs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    I am working my method through US political biographers in a valiant attempt to test and understand the US system and this book was another in my journey and it did create a contribution to my enlightenment. I also learned a amazing about, and was surprised by the extent of the US public resistance to involvement in the second globe battle and the high profile public figures like LIndbergh who supported the Nazis and were fans of Hitler. It seems awesome when we loook back on it today. At times the book got bogged down in detail about Bills and political personalities, but overall I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    Being born just at the begin of our entry into the war, my knowledge of Roosevelt and how he led this country from a isolationist preference to place our entire society on a battle footing has always been lacking. This book fills that void and info all of the wonderful tricks that he pulled off to balance different constituencies to make the biggest battle machine ever assembled. The interweaving of politics and battle preparation and the detail included in this book, create that period of time come alive. At times it is difficult to relate history books to actual events, however, in this case it only added the richness of Roosevelt's experience both with our country and also with both Churchill and Stalin. One cannot come away from reading this book without a much better appreciation for what the challenges were he faced, how we succeeded to convert our society to a battle footing and ultimately how he handled the politics between very various leaders who required each other desperately at that time. The balance between the Russian front, the war going on in the Atlantic and in Amazing Britain, and ultimately our invasions of Africa, Italy and France as well as the balance between the Atlantic and Pacific battles is intriguing. I highly recommend this book for anyone seeking to understand more about that time and how it all played out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    Perfect perspectives on the WW II presidency as seen from the White House. Perfect writing considering a) it's by an Ivy League academic and b) it was written about 40 years when even amazing academic writers were beautiful dry. This was readable enough and academic enough to victory the Pulitzer in see a contemporary academic who can turn an even more artful phrase, compare this book to "Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America's Vietnam" by Fredrik Logevall of Cornell, which won the Pulitzer in 2013. The two books are linked in this way: FDR was anti-colonialist and had he lived would have told the French to buzz off and obtain out of Vietnam after WW II, says Logevall. This would have saved the lives of 58,000 Americans and several times that a lot of French soldiers (not to mention a million or so Vietnamese, which is necessary since a lot of people think the Vietnamese are people too)."Roosevelt" author James MacGregor Burns of Williams (now there's a amazing name for an academic) doesn't contradict Logevall directly 40 years in advance but it's clear from Burns that FDR was so caught up in holding together a coalition that could victory WW II, especially the WW II in Europe part, that he backed off when Churchill freaked out at the idea of India going independent, or even when the weak small part of the French troops that didn't raise white flags, got testy when FDR created passing mention of Vietnam maybe ought to decide its own destiny. The book also implies that FDR so wanted to victory WW II that he wasn't as concerned about Stalin being a dictator and murderer who would enslave eastern Europe.If you're curious if WW II FDR was getting it on with the women in his circle other than Eleanor, there's not much in this book to titillate. Burns suggests Roosevelt had companions and that's about azon does a amazing job making perfect history books available, cheap. Even Pulitzer books obtain sold 20-40 years afterward. Thanks, Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    This is a AWESOME book!!! This is the second volume in the author's recounting of Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s life. This book focuses on his battle time Presidency and final years. The well written narrative examines Roosevelt’s wartime leadership and his vision for post-war peace. I was struck by the tightrope that Roosevelt had to walk ....inching toward battle while not alienating a still isolationist public....delicately handling relationships between difficult battle time allies.....dealing with wonderful demands for battle materials......educating the public on the realities of America's new, yet vital, role in globe affairs and working with, (and at times against) Congress. The story of how Roosevelt orchestrated these complex, unsteady multi faceted demands and relationships is fascinating and very informative. The book is comprehensive and detailed, but not overly though the author is clearly a fan of FDR, his flaws, weaknesses and mistakes are not ignored, minimized or sugar coated. As a result, the book is both informative and thought provoking, presenting the reader with context, balance, objectivity and n't allow your preconceived opinion of FDR prevent you from reading the perfect book!!!!!Hailed by William Shirer as “the definitive book on Roosevelt in the battle years,” and by bestselling author Barbara Tuchman as “engrossing, informative, endlessly readable,” The Soldier of Freedom is a moving profile of a leader gifted with rare political talent in an era of extraordinary challenges, sacrifices, heroism, and hardship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1940–1945) []  2019-12-28 18:21

    Roosevelt, the Soldier by James MacGregor Burns is a biography of the President during the years from the third term election in 1940 to his death in e author's research is extensive detailing what was going on not only in Washington but also in London, Berlin, Tokyo, Chungking and Moscow. The detail is amazing but is broken up by anecdotes such as the conversation between Molotov and Ribbentrop in a Berlin air raid shelter during an RAF bombing mission. The strategies, the battles, the politics, all of the battle fronts and the home front are covered in amazing detail. Like most of Roosevelt's biographers, the author tries to come to grips with a easy definition of the man, but such a mufti-faceted person cannot be defined simply. Perhaps we could just say that he brought out the best in the American people by his high expectations of them as illustrated by the impossibly high quotas he set for production of battle materials which the people not only met but exceeded a lot of times over. This is a thorough book, it is a long book, but it is a amazing book. I recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    Written to provide insight to the trials and tribulations of soldiers and little troops of both sides the reader s moved by the sheer destruction and suffering inflicted on both sides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    I was amazed by descriptions of the terrain, weather, and overall conditions in which the two sides contended. Also, I also was surprised by the relatively dated strategies and equipment employed; the German troops relied heavily on horses for transport, and both sides still engaged in horse and rider cavalry battles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    A very well researched book. Not only did the author give the reader a view of the horrors of WW2 from the German soldier’s perspective but also enough of the plans and movements of the German high command.Highly recommend to anyone interested in WW2 history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    Good, but aging (originally published in 1979), intro look at the Eastern Front from the German perspective. For someone wanting to learn about this conflict, this easily read book is probably worth having in their initial collection. As can be seen in the table of contents, it is not a chronological (or comprehensive) acc of the war, but focuses on different subjects of interest such as German views of the Red Army, assault gun operations, combat in winter, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    Book was great! Quick delivery, thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    This is a brilliant app. Thank you, Lori!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Car Manual [App]  2019-12-5 13:48

    Really useful Thanks radex I watch your channel to begin my summer vehicle at first Now just on application and everything going smooth Thanks man

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Car Manual [App]  2019-12-5 13:48

    Need more information on fixing the vehicle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Car Manual [App]  2019-12-5 13:48

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    Simple method to have your colour Palette with you all the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    Very useful! Best of a kind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    Looks like a plain forgettable book about ww2, but this is one of the best WW2 books ive ever read. Has amazing info and actual stories of combat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    I usually listen to books via Audible. Not too a lot of actual books can keep my interest to the end, but this one did. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    Shows how not good battle is on either side of the nseless death in large numbers to satisfy the lusts of the leaders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    The application opens itself without being prompted. Then it displays a gray screen. All i can do is begin the android device menu to scroll through begin apps to close it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    £14.99 just to begin anything of any use! Opened the app. Saw the price. deleted the app....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Car Manual [App]  2019-12-5 13:48

    I've been searching for a amazing my summer vehicle manual and I've finally found it! Amazing application 5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    Disappointed. I am a cool summer palette on the www service but the application won't allow me to just unblock that one, I have to to unblock them all. Pointless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    Unfortunately there are a lot of colours in the application that dont relate to the Summer palette like too dark grey. Bright reds. Warm yellows. Teal blues. Dark blues etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Car Manual [App]  2019-12-5 13:48

    Amazing application for the basics. Would be nice if Radex added the engine and chassis assembly as well as that some primary maintenance hints and common faults and repairs. Other than that, 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    Originally published in 1979, this book was an necessary contribution to the tactical history of the Eastern Front from the German perspective -- though it also gives Soviet accounts to support explain the effects of different weapons and tactics. Germany developed the doctrine of auftragstaktik, i.e., unique, particular, bespoke war plans tailored to each particular engagement, which requires a command-and-control system in which superior officers identify objectives, while subordinate officers and NCOs devise the best method to achieve them, so that this book is all the more interesting because auftragstaktik became the basis for NATO's war doctrine all the method to the show day. The author uses letters, diaries, interviews, German-language histories, and archived and published German documents of different kinds, but without the copious footnotes one would expect from a highly technical reference history. So, it's highly readable. Most of the narrative is the author's own paraphrasing of first-hand accounts, with occasional passages of moderate length being quoted. It's clear that the author understands his subject and intends his description to generalize and transfer to all such instances of that particular kind of combat in that period of the war. Sometimes I found the narrative to be rather plodding, spelling things out painfully explicitly, but also rather generically; at other times the narrative seemed to zone things out too much, so that the several chapters on self-propelled guns (for example) could have been consolidated into a single denser chapter. It's organized by topic, not chronologically, and in short chapters, so if you're interested in, say, anti-Partisan operations, the Waffen SS, self-propelled artillery, Nebelwerfers, anti-tank tactics, or the 1942 Wehrmacht Handbook, for example, you can go directly to the chapters on those topics, rather than using the index to track down all the separate passages spread throughout the book -- although unfortunately the chapter names don't always indicate their content. Of unique note are the chapters on people like SP gun leader Hugo Primozic, tank leader Hyazinth von Strachwitz, and troops like Otto Skorzeny's DORA-II SS commando detachment. The author contrasts the early battle of Operation Barbarossa and Case Blue (1941-2) with the late battle of Operation Bagration and the campaign for Berlin (1944-5), more than he focuses on specific wars like Stalingrad, Kursk, or Korsun, though he talks about encirclement as a distinct subject for both attack and defense. Throughout the book there's commentary about relations with civilians, though frustratingly small about the terror-persecution of Jews, Roma, Communists, LGBTQ, etc., as if the exculpatory claim, that all that items happened far behind the front line and were no concern for the front-line fighter, were unquestionably true. In any case, this book is still essential reading for anyone interested in the tactical history of the Eastern Front, though as always, you must trust your own judgment as to the verisimilitude of the history presented. My largest complaint is that I [email protected]#$%! were longer, with more material, because by the time I finished I felt somewhat cheated by the brevity of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    War on the Eastern Front: The German Soldier in Russia 1941-1945 []  2020-1-26 21:16

    My only complaint is there should have been more private accounts of the war. Apart from that I enjoyed the book and would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    Helps pick color pallet quick and efficiently! Amazing app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Palette [App]  2019-2-4 13:21

    The colors are spot on, thanks amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Summer Car Manual [App]  2019-12-5 13:48

    Nice radex👌

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of German Music []  2020-2-1 23:30

    I bought this for our Papa H's 94th birthday, a German native. This man has just about every German CD you can think of, but my bro-in-law after listening to several various ones told me this would be a amazing one to choose, that it had the BEST mix of marches, polkas and lively songs that would take Papa down memory line.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386