Read superman jump reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all superman jump reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    I like this game, hope increase the difficulty

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    answer function is very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    Application doesn't even work

    0  


    Add your opinion on superman jump or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    Not easy, not complicated, just lots of fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    Too simple and simple, the cuts from one photo to another is horrible and is just a ripoff of other android games like stickman hook. Instead of playing this android game go obtain stickman hook and obtain a android game which is broken a bit, but is also fun and does what is expected unlike this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    I love this android game so much. I downloaded the android game before the other stickman skins existed; and when they did come, I instantly got all of them, because I was so far in the levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    this android game feel so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    I've been playing this android game for awhile and it was exciting to see it randomly modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    modernize more levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    very amazing android game ,play smoothly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    Whenever i test to skip the replay (wich there's no reason for) makes it play sooooooooo a lot of times!!! i hate it. never playing this again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    Android games awesome, ignore the haters!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    so cool android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    Skin system is cool and play smoothing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    so cool player

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    evey time i finish a level theres a ad and then it replays over and over and i have to reset the application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Jump [App]  2019-2-2 13:53

    this is a copy of another android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    The Man of Steel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    Ringtone is method too short for any dollar amount. It's apps like this that create my decision easier and easier to not any app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    Is it a bird is it a plan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman III [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    **Great sequel!** A funny, exciting Superman film that contains the greatest stage in the franchise - the junkyard war between Evil Supes and his nerdy counterpart, Clark Kent. Richard Pryor is hilarious as the hapless Gus Gorman - the computer programming genius with a heart. Robert Vaughn makes for a amazing villain and the unique effects are top notch. So much more entertaining than the tedious bile that would come in later years - Superman Returns and the Henry Cavill rubbish. I remember sitting in the packed theater in 1983 and the whole audience thoroughly enjoying this - laughing and cheering in all the right places. And for those who claim the movie is too silly - do they not remember Ned Beatty as the cretin Otis in Superman and Superman II - surely the stupidest hero to grace the series. - Charles Dance

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman II [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    **He was called Non because that is the amount of brains he had.** Great sequel that expands on the introductory scenes in Superman (1978) where we met General Zod, Ursa and the heavy moron, Non - although I wouldn't call him a moron to his face. (Perhaps if I had a ladder) But anyway, these three criminals are inadvertently released from the Phantom Location by Superman and they naturally head toward Earth seeking revenge on the son of their jailer. Hackman receives top billing this time now that Brando collected his cheque and was at the bank cashing it. A very entertaining and funny sequel thanks to Richard Lester's expert hand at comedy. - Potential Kermode

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    Easiest ringtone I've ever downloaded. Sounds amazing too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    Thr isnt enough ringtones for a dollar and 70 cents

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    Amazing sound quality. Worth the

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Ringtone [App]  2019-11-5 13:44

    Life is just small better when my phone rings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    Though a god story, that kept me interested in reading part 2, I found Lois and Clark better. But it is a amazing revival both of the TRUE Superman (the fresh one was too glom for me) and the spirit of hope that was a benchmark of DC years ago. I hope this fresh storyline keeps real to its beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    Peter Tomasi knocks it out of the ball park with this fresh Superman run. He manages to write a wonderful Superman that is both an inspiring character and caring dad. Tomasi manages to make excellent chemistry between Clark and his family. Superman's son, Jonathan Kent, is an perfect addition to the Super Family. You have fun seeing Jon grow and develop his powers. Lois as the Wife of Superman is also amazing and the two also belonged together. Overall, making Superman a dad and giving him a wife and child is the excellent progression of the character. The villain of the arc is the Eradicator who manages to be a terrifying threat to the family. The whole book is full of intense action, inspirational moments, and cameos from beloved characters. It also has some amazing artwork by amazing artists like Gleason and only downside is that this Superman's origin may be confusing for some. But if you can obtain past that, you will search a truly Super Superman and Super Dad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    I will say Superman (vol 4) Son of Superman is one the best Superman Story-Arcs in the latest several years and it is Amazing for both Newcomers and longtime Readers and Fans, I Liked it, Check it out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    Great! REBIRTH is by far my second favourite series for Superman after All-Star Superman. Amazing story, art is amazing as always and Jonathan Kent is what makes this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    I like the idea of a son being in the plot. Being a parent myself I was curious to see how they dealt with a kid for a superhero and I enjoyed it more than what I thought. Superman fans its a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    Peter J. Tomasi is hands down one of the best writers out there and my favorite, if you wish a well written Superman story read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    Superman: Lois and Clark has been my favorite Superman comic in a long time. Establishing the pre-Flashpoint Superman and Lois was a amazing choice, and here, they've become the forefront versions for the series, following the spoiler that is the Fresh 52 Superman's fate. So more of the two, and their child, Jonathan, was e book is somewhat a step back from that one; although not awful, by any means, following such a amazing title shines a bigger light on the flaws of this one. Lois gets a small less focus this time around, and her moment-of-awesome given to create up for it here leaves a small bit of fridge horror due to the item-in-question that she uses. The focus itself shifts to Superman and his fresh Superboy's relationship, but kind of errs too far on the side of Superboy. As a large fan of the Connor Kent version, it can almost come across too much as shilling the fresh kid, to the level of Superman's own title feeling a small taken-over. And frankly, I've seen the "young person struggles with developing powers" enough times that it feels fairly redundant the method it was done llowing that, my issue is the problem the book has establishing the tone and themes it wants. Be warned, some spoilers ahead. Early on, Jonathan attempts to save the family cat from a hawk with his heat vision, but accidentally kills the cat too. It's rather explicitly shown, and feels incredibly jarring with the rest of the book, especially when the whole family is shown smiling and burying the cat as a sort-of "learning moment." It's far too giddy after being a small too graphic for what it was going for. Another example; the Eradicator shows up and claims to be a friend, with a war from Superman due to an understandable lack of trust. The Eradicator winds up proving himself as an ally, and Superman hesitantly allows it. He then almost immediately goes and does something to be a threat again, and it's right back to fighting. This takes up the main "conflict" of the book, but since he had nothing to do in the early chapters, it all feels rushed so that the comic can have a main villain. This is not to mention the method the book uses the Eradicator to instantly shove in more mystical-esque elements, like lingering Kryptonian souls, into a book that previously showed nothing of the sort about to happen. Mystical can work very well in comics, even Superman comics, when done well, but it never quite feels justified by the is still a step in the right direction, though. Unlike much of the Fresh 52 version, it does, at least, feel like "the true Superman" again. If you wish something more in the vein of what we used to get, and the gripes I've detailed here don't seem to be a dealbreaker to you, give this one a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    The focus on family and legacy provides a powerful foundation to an perfect begin in Superman rebirth. The return of "classic" superman is a breath of new air to those who remember it. The artwork is astounding and every one sheet and double page panel is worthy of hanging on a gallery wall. This is my Superman!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    Oh, boy. To understand Superman’s first volume under the Rebirth movement, you need to understand that the Superman in this book is the Superman we knew in the 80s, 90s, and early-2000s. This is the Superman who married Lois Lane, the Superman who fought versus Doomsday and died, the Superman who returned from the dead.Why is this confusing, you ask? Well, this Superman is now living in an alternate reality, one that arrived around 2010. DC calls it The Fresh 52 universe. In this softly rebooted universe, everything and everyone got a facelift, modernized, updated. The Superman in this fresh universe wore a suit more like armor than tights, had a romance with Wonder Woman, and wasn’t much of a talker. He died in battle, though, and so the pre-New 52 Superman, who had been hiding out on this alternate Earth with his wife Lois and their son Jon, decides to don the red and blue again because, yeah, Earth needs a tman and Wonder Woman don’t know this fresh Superman. No one does. They don’t know if they can trust him. They honestly don’t know what to think of him. This is a really interesting dynamic because this classic ver of Superman was the beacon of hope in his old universe—he was the gold standard. To suddenly be an alien twice over adds an interesting dimension to the character, one that the creators were sure to touch upon. I can only hope they continue to use it to drive stories.But the true heart and soul of this book is the arrival of Superman as a family man. Let’s face it—our classic Superman has always been a dad. He may not previously have actually had a child, but he basically epitomized the traits we hope for in every amazing father—brave, selfless, compassionate, assertive, reliable, strong, and even a small Superman acts like a dad for amazing reason—he is one! Their son, Jon, is just beginning to develop powers, and watching Superman tutorial his son through these changes is charming in and of n, who I believe is around ten or so, is an incredibly likable character. He’s not too naïve, not too sassy, not too polished, but not too rough, either. They’ve hit a nice tone with him, one that I hope they can continue.I do believe Lois is getting a bit lost in the mix in this first volume, though. In my opinion, her inclusion in the action feels a bit forced, and, honestly, there’s a moment at the end of this book where I really questioned Superman’s judgment in allowing a very human Lois to be anywhere near the cataclysmic war taking much as the creators have hit the right note with Jon, they are missing the tag just a bit with Lois. They’ve all been hiding out on this fresh Earth in to protect Jon, and so Lois must be content as an anonymous novelist, doing house chores, and sort of playing the role of house wife. It never felt quite real to the character, but neither did the huge action stage in which she participates. Granted, like Superman himself, getting Lois just right can be tricky. I trust Tomasi and Gleason will eventually search the right chord for , yes, much of Son of Superman worked very well. Seeing Superman as a father is something I very much enjoy, especially because I am a father myself. It’s fun to be able to relate to him even now as a forty year old man. Seeing Superman through Jon’s eyes breathes new life into the hero, and watching Jon struggle to become a character in his own right is going to prove fertile ground for future stories.But speaking of story, Son of Superman faltered with its main conflict. The Eradicator is back, but I think this is the Fresh 52 ver of the character—I was never clear on that, to be honest. Anyway, as an ancient piece of Kryptonian technology, he’s taken it upon himself to destroy Jonathan Kent, whom he views to be an impure blight versus Kryptonian genes due to his human heritage. Plus, as it happens, he’s got a bunch of Kryptonian souls living inside of ankly, I found the whole Eradicator plot a bit of a stretch, even by comic book standards. There are tons of directions they could have taken in this first volume, why they chose yet another hero with an “S” on his chest and very convoluted motive is something of a mystery. And the tons of Kryptonian souls trapped inside of the Eradicator really took me out of the story. It seemed like such a significant happening just to kind of throw in there as an aside … it felt forced and unnatural to the general cadence of the book. In fact, everything with the Eradicator felt a small clunky to me.Furthermore, along those same lines, the art in Son of Superman is flat-out superb. Patrick Gleason draws a heroic Superman, a charismatic Jonathan, and a self-reliant Lois. But his style tends to be a small cartoony—a bit exaggerated. There are a few installments in the book, however, where both Jorge Jimenez and Dough Mahnke fill in on the pencils. Both are superb—I’ve been a Mahnke fan for a long while now. But, their style tends to be a small darker, a small more realistic, a small more chiseled. Like the storyline itself, the shift in art could be abrupt and jarring. All of the art is wonderful, don’t obtain me wrong, but the flow is disruptive from installment to installment due to contrasting n of Superman is not perfect, but it’s a bold, uplifting direction for Superman and I commend the creators for embarking upon such risk. Taking one of your flagship characters and making him both a husband and a dad is unconventional to be sure, but I have no doubt this creative squad in particular will provide captivating stories to come. I think we’re all ready for Superman Dad … I know I am.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) Vol. 1: Son of Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:1

    This is the classic Superman everyone knows and loves, but with an interesting fresh twist. Lois Lane and Clark Kent are parents. If you've never read Superman, this is a amazing put to start. If you like reading Superman or have every liked reading Superman, this is also a amazing put to continue. Its new and familiar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    A very amazing "What if?" collection of one ver of Superman's final days. Amazing artwork, well-crafted writing, and a amazing packaged homage to the Man of Steel at his best - even in the face of one final conquer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    A amazing read. Best Superman book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    This is interesting as a survey of early Superman stories. It should really be called SM in the 30s & 40s. Facinating to see how much has been re-invented since the early stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    This truly is the excellent blend of what makes superman cool in the comic-book globe and what we all know and love about superman post- the 1970s film franchise. If you're used to Grant Morrison, you know that he doesn't shy away from incorperating throw-back characters and multi-angular themes into his stories, and this book is no exception. A lot of people dislike this style for one reason or another, but with this story, it really works and draws you e story is about how Lex Luthor tricks superman into his death by over-exposing him to the sun's radiation, leading to a slow, drawn-out death as superman's cells oversaturate and "explode" one by one. The exposure to the intense UV light also changed his physiology: superman finds that after the accident, his strength has increased a lot of times over, he's smarter, and more creative. Thus, the framework is set for Kal-El to live like there's no tomorrow and to create sure he makes a difference before he passes away; whether it's to finally tell Lois Lane how he feels about her, or making sure the people of Kandor search a safe home. Each chapter is another story in itself, telling of a "feat" or "achievement", likened to the labors that Hercules went through in greek mythology. All the while, setting the framework to the final showdown with Lex rrison makes a story that will feel true in the hands of a long-time reader, a casual fan, or even somebody who wants an introduction to the man of steel in comics. There really is something for everybody and I doubt you'll be disappointed. Just don't expect an poor plot like the Man of Steel film that came out this past summer. All Star Superman really is what the world's favorite superhero is all about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Grant Morrison really gave an wonderful Superman story arc here. Probably my favorite Superman trade paperback.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) #36 [Book]  2017-12-7 18:1

    No more Mr. Nice Guy.Lex Luthor is done paying homage to long last, the rivalry between Superman and his long-standing super foe is reignited. This action-packed problem sets the scene for an exciting fresh direction in the love-hate relationship between Lex Luthor and Superman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    A 'Superb' Book,allows you to read the 'Old' Comics,without having to a 'Fortune' for each Comic !!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    If you are a fan of Superman, this is a must have in my opinion. This is the begin of Superman and you can see how his powers have evolved. You will see the first story with Lex Luthor and he had a full head of hair.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-) #34 [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    Lois Lane follows in the footsteps of actress Sanaa Latham, whose hero befriended the opponent of her opponent in Alien vs. s. Superman is up to the cinematic challenge as she joins Granny's Female Furies to war off attacking creatures on e rest of the Superman family is facing danger, too. However, this problem is Supermom's turn to shine as she wins the respect of the fierce female fighters of Apokolips.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Had a lot of cool small tie bits like how superman enters his fortress of solitude. Cool perspectives like that. He's supposedly dying and Louis is telling his story of his latest days. Amazing stuff. Grant Morrison does a amazing job and D.C. did amazing not letting him go off the rails like he likes to do a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    I'm trying to obtain into Superman and this was recommended as a amazing book for newcomers. I think it is as Grant Morrison is a really interesting writer who is either hit or miss. There's plenty of stories here so both definitely occur, but perhaps the misses are because of my unfamiliarity with the e art is mostly amazing and occasionally breathtaking, and I love the bold colors. As a newcomer to Superman, this book interested me and I am looking forward to reading more. Give it a shot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    This is just one of those comics that fully encompasses who the Man of Steel really is, and not a lot of can pull that off. It doesn't matter if you're not a fan of Superman but I can almost guarantee you'll have fun this story. A lot of complain that Superman isn't as relatable as some of the other heroes(Batman) but that's not what he was made to be. Superman is an ideal we should strive for. He is the ultimate ver of us, of a potential we as a race have yet to achieve. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2018-) #1 [Book]  2018-7-13 18:0

    Despite the contrived separation between Superman and his family, the plot device helps writer Brian Bendis and artist Ivan Reis tell a amazing story of a lonely Man of Steel desperate to search them. This first problem of the Superman reboot is well worth its price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    With 18 stories - starting with the classic Action Comics No. 1 - and a dozens of other unbelievable materials, the collection is a unbelievable look into the beginning of an iconic figure in American pop e book chronicles "The Man of Steel" from the late 1930s into the next decade, with highlights being the introduction of an ongoing series of villains and how this hero of truth and justice was used during Globe Battle II. The reproduction of cover art and the reprinting of newspaper comic strips are perfect is book is an perfect read for anyone interested in comics, pop culture and/or a legendary figure that set the scene for the creation of any number of super-heroes, villains and their story lines.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    From Superman's very first appearance in Action Comics #1, this book takes you on a tour through the development of the legend that he came to be. On the method you obtain to see Superman championing the small guy by fighting off greedy capitalists, crazed angry scientists and Nazi saboteurs. You also see how Clark Kent avoided the draft. (You, see there was this eye exam....). The super villains are all there too: Toyman, Luthor, the Ultra Humanite, Mxyztplk, Susie Tompkins. (Susie Tompkins?!) Superman visits his home planet Krypton, runs into Kryptonite for the first time, fends off the advances of Lois Lane and meets the original Supergirl. The book also sports an enticing introduction that puts the Legend of Superman in its social context.(By the way, this book has nothing to do with the "Hardcover Edition" listed on Amazon's webpage. That's a completely various collection of stories entirely.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2018-) #18 []  2020-1-21 23:4

    This problem is so ill thought out. Spoilers****** The next problem of this title should have him standing over the dead bodies of Lois Lane, Jimmy Olsen, the Everyday Planet. The city of Smallville should be a crater as well as the destruction of Kansas. Causing a global meal shortage. All Because of his short sided reactionary nature. Bendis, has utterly destroyed everything I loved about superman. From the past and present. I am done with it! Superman is now my least favorite hero. Secret ID to understand how we do things to live among us. To be able to breathe in a universe where the forces he wars versus wish to destroy everything he stands for. He can't even walk down the road with his son now when he returns from the future. Please allow there be another crisis that wipes this globe away that has been created!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    There's a lot of thought place into these stories, various facets of Superman over the latest 75 years. It's 12 problems that are telling the ultimate Superman story from what makes Superman "Superman". Each chapter is a story harkening back to the different ages of Superman tales without feeling overtly gimmicky. Art changes styles depending on the mood of the story, I suppose, with some being more appealing than others. It's a lovely crash course on what has created Superman such a unique comic book character, you don't have to be that familiar with him to search this collection accessible as it doesn't have a lot of baggage and lays adequate foundation for what is there without feeling bogged at said, the story gets halfway through and lost a step, it gets to this Bizarro globe as the underworld thing that takes 2 problems and disconnects from the special cleverness and personality that is the main character, he becomes just "guy in problem solving things to obtain home"-man and it's not compelling. Afterwards, it feels like the rest of the story is hurried from chapter to chapter, and while it's ultimately a fairly satisfying conclusion, it never gets that step back all the way. In fact, the DC Animated film based on All-Star Superman ends up working better on several levels than the comic, but the film does forgo a very emotionally-important story as well.I would definitely recommend this to a lot of comic book fans, especially light fans who have some pop culture familiarity with Superman but aren't major fans and don't wish to commit to an ongoing title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sunshine Superman (Single Version) []  2020-2-2 5:35

    Amazing song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    This volume includes 192 pages of Golden Age awesomeness. To start with, we obtain the first two Superman Stories from action comics in the 1930s. In them. Superman saved an innocent woman from execution, stopped a wife beating, and saves Lois from a psycho kidnapper. And that was just in the first ten pages. Next up is preventing a war.We obtain a peak at Superman, both as a rough and tumble no nonsense Superhero whose rough interrogation methods would create Jack Bauer winces to the still strong, but also wiser and gentler role model we knew in the 1940s and ong the way, we obtain to see Superman's first tangle with the Ultra-Humanite, Lex Luthor, and the Toyman, as well as an early encounter with Mr. Mxtztplk. All these characters are vastly various from their modern counterpart with Mxtztplk being more mischievous than truly a danger to the Man of Steel. We also obtain to see the first appearance of Krytonite in the comic books (after it'd been all over the radio series for two years). In the comics, it appeared as a gem on a phony swami's Superman progressed, his writers gained humility. When Jerry Siegel began writing Superman at age 24, all battle was the cause of manipulators, and Superman could end and avoid was in a single issue. When confronted with a true life conflict, Siegel imagined a year before Pearl Harbor that Superman could end the battle in Europe in two pages by dragging Hitler before the League of Nations. Experience brought humility. However, when America entered the war, the writers knew they couldn't just have Superman end it. Thus Superman focused more on helping others with compassion and intelligence rather than using brute force all the time. (Though he could still use that when called for.)Throughout the book, Superman cared about the concerns of ordinary Americans, from taking on warmongers and spies to giving what for to a crooked patent attorney, Superman was focused on helping out people in need. This book includes stories of that genuine American a patriot, I loved the battle story, "America's Secret Weapon," and the final story, "Christmas 'Round the World" was beautifully moving.While DC has taken to releasing its Archive Collections (Hardback) and Chronicles (Paperback) chronicling the adventures of the Man of Steel, this book is more of a best of compilation from the 1930s and 40s. Its excellent for someone who wants a small Superman as he was meant to be in their library or who wants to see some of the more interesting stories of the era. In addition, the current Chronicles Collection is only up to 1942, so a lot of of the stories in hear from 1944 and after won't be in Trade paperback for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    This is a unbelievable glimpse into the history of Superman and DC comics. See the first appearances of a lot of classic characters and the evolution of Superman from a bare-knuckled brawler fighting for workers and the not good to an upstanding pillar of the establishment. Plus it has Superman hauling Hitler and Stalin in front of the League of only complaint was it prints the stories out of order, hopping from 1939 to 1949 and back again rather than going in strict chronologicial order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    There are so a lot of positive reviews, so I am going to simply emphasize how certainly satisfying this unbelievable collection e stories are not quite chronologically laid out, so be patient if you obtain confused or need to flip back--the overall narrative will eventually create sense and seemingly unexplained threads will be explained!After reading this (or before, it doesn't really matter), do check out DC One Million. You will appreciate the interwoven story arcs/threads Grant Morrison weaves between that series and All ly, this has a lot of re-reading value, so do check it out or it! Oh, I almost forgot to mention: the artwork is amazing, and you will know what I mean if you are a Quitely fan. If not, you may very well become a Quitely fan after reading this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Star Superman [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    What I Liked: Amazing characterization of Superman. The reader's full attention and imagination are part of the reading experience. Art, text, and the reasoning of the reader, are each used to tell the story. Second and third readings are gratifying as I pick up on elements missed during the first. Ending is cogent and spiritually comforting. Action and violence are show but gore is rare and non-gratuitous. The setting is influenced more than most Superman stories by science fiction, which is my preferred setting for the character. Frank Quitely's art makes use of subtle and minimalist touches to communicate to the reader. Splash art near the end where Superman is working inside of the sun is wonderfully me FYI: This is a final maturity of Superman as mythical character turned Christ like sun god. Lois Lane and Lex Luthor demonstrate archetypes of individuals experiencing divinity. This, combined with a science fiction setting, reminds me of Heinlein's "Stranger in a Strange Land". There is allusion to silver age, without setup or explanation, such as Jimmy Olsen dressed in drag. All Star Superman is part of the "All Star" series of DC Comics, where characters are presented outside of standard continuity.What I didn't like: Lois Lane's conversation with the Unknown Superman of 4500AD is jarring for me, interrupting the reading experience. As I search with other works by Grant Morrison, some additional spoon feeding for the reader would in locations be beneficial. There are twelve deeds to be performed by Superman, but this seems less than fully fleshed out, developed mmary: All Star Superman is an edifying demonstration of Superman's real character.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman in the Forties []  2020-1-25 16:10

    For the casual fan interested in reading some of the Man of Steel's earliest adventures, this book serves perfectly as a "greatest hits" of the forties. For the serious Superman historian, this book includes a lot of stories that have not been reprinted elsewhere--or have been reprinted, but are spread across a lot of various cluded are stories from Action Comics #1, 2, 14, 23, 64, 93 and 107; Superman #1, 23, 40, 53, 58 and 61; World's Finest #37; Superboy #5; A rare piece called "How Superman Would Victory the War" from Look Magazine, and an even rarer piece Jerry Siegel wrote for the Fort Meade Post. As with most of DC's "Best of" series, the material is a bit of a mixed bag; Bill Finger's "Origin of Superman" and "Superman Returns to Krypton" are two of the best Superman stories ever written, and are hugely necessary milestones in his canon. Meanwhile, "Superman Meets the Ultra-Humanite" is virtually unreadable, and the Toyman proves he has always been lame. On the whole, the stories are great; we are treated to our (and Superman's) first look at Krypton, WWII propaganda, the first appearance of Supergirl (sort of), and the ultimate super-villain team-up of Mr. Mxyzptlk and Suzie (Lois's niece). Along the method we watch Superman's transformation from the streetwise, maniacal socialist of the 1930s to the paternal, sci-fi weirdness-magnet of the 1950s.DC's Archives Editions have ceased publication with volumes containing up to Superman 35 and Action 85. Presumably, the Omnibus series is intended to replace the Archives Editions, but that means that most of these stories won't be reprinted for more than a decade, if ever. No matter how serious a collector you are, this volume belongs in your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Superman: Lois and Clark has been my favorite Superman comic in a long time. Establishing the pre-Flashpoint Superman and Lois was a amazing choice, and here, they've become the forefront versions for the series, following the spoiler that is the Fresh 52 Superman's fate. So more of the two, and their child, Jonathan, was e book is somewhat a step back from that one; although not awful, by any means, following such a amazing title shines a bigger light on the flaws of this one. Lois gets a small less focus this time around, and her moment-of-awesome given to create up for it here leaves a small bit of fridge horror due to the item-in-question that she uses. The focus itself shifts to Superman and his fresh Superboy's relationship, but kind of errs too far on the side of Superboy. As a large fan of the Connor Kent version, it can almost come across too much as shilling the fresh kid, to the level of Superman's own title feeling a small taken-over. And frankly, I've seen the "young person struggles with developing powers" enough times that it feels fairly redundant the method it was done llowing that, my issue is the problem the book has establishing the tone and themes it wants. Be warned, some spoilers ahead. Early on, Jonathan attempts to save the family cat from a hawk with his heat vision, but accidentally kills the cat too. It's rather explicitly shown, and feels incredibly jarring with the rest of the book, especially when the whole family is shown smiling and burying the cat as a sort-of "learning moment." It's far too giddy after being a small too graphic for what it was going for. Another example; the Eradicator shows up and claims to be a friend, with a war from Superman due to an understandable lack of trust. The Eradicator winds up proving himself as an ally, and Superman hesitantly allows it. He then almost immediately goes and does something to be a threat again, and it's right back to fighting. This takes up the main "conflict" of the book, but since he had nothing to do in the early chapters, it all feels rushed so that the comic can have a main villain. This is not to mention the method the book uses the Eradicator to instantly shove in more mystical-esque elements, like lingering Kryptonian souls, into a book that previously showed nothing of the sort about to happen. Mystical can work very well in comics, even Superman comics, when done well, but it never quite feels justified by the is still a step in the right direction, though. Unlike much of the Fresh 52 version, it does, at least, feel like "the true Superman" again. If you wish something more in the vein of what we used to get, and the gripes I've detailed here don't seem to be a dealbreaker to you, give this one a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Peter Tomasi knocks it out of the ball park with this fresh Superman run. He manages to write a wonderful Superman that is both an inspiring character and caring dad. Tomasi manages to make excellent chemistry between Clark and his family. Superman's son, Jonathan Kent, is an perfect addition to the Super Family. You have fun seeing Jon grow and develop his powers. Lois as the Wife of Superman is also amazing and the two also belonged together. Overall, making Superman a dad and giving him a wife and child is the excellent progression of the character. The villain of the arc is the Eradicator who manages to be a terrifying threat to the family. The whole book is full of intense action, inspirational moments, and cameos from beloved characters. It also has some amazing artwork by amazing artists like Gleason and only downside is that this Superman's origin may be confusing for some. But if you can obtain past that, you will search a truly Super Superman and Super Dad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    It's beautiful good, I like seeing Superman as a father and husband, the art is fantastic. My only true complaint is that the method DC comics tend to be written, I always feel like I missed out on 10 years of backstory. This volume starts off with Superman mourning the loss of someone who doesn't really tie into the overall story and whose mention actually serves to confuse and convolute the narrative a little( something comic books do method to often.) It's a decent read but I want comic book writers would work harder at not over complicating their stories. I want instead of dealing with Superman's reaction to the death of a hero he barely knew that the writer of this volume spent a small time explaining when did Superman have a son.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    The story was good, it had a amazing begin then got bored after few problems and the ending was amazing so overall it is a amazing story but not great, I didn't like the art it had some amazing panels in some problems but overall didn't have fun the art that much "it is not my cup of tea"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    While the story certainly isn't a poor one, it seems to have ended the most interesting storyline in comics in a lot of a year. with yet another DC retcon. I began reading SUPERMAN again when the pre-New 52 Man of Tomorrow turned out to have been in the New52 universe for ten years, and when his younger counterpart died, he went public. The reactions of everyone involved were thoroughly engaging. That appears now to have been ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    This was a fascinating take on the Superman saga. I was born in 1950 and lived through the Red scare years as a child (who read comics religiously). The whole framework of the story brought back memories of those times. And the take on the familiar characters in a totally various context was very interesting. It didn't take me years to figure out the 24 words! The artwork is superb, and the story keeps you engaged as it unfolds. If you are a fan of those original DC magazines, you will really have fun this re-imagining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    Written like someone who has never been in or lived in little city and knows small to nothing of the Superman Mythos. The other books in this series are worth reading, this one is not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    It’s a good, fast and fun read. An interesting take on Clark’s coming of age. Could be easily finished in a weekend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Superman to Man (1917) []  2020-5-2 18:12

    This book was so amazing that I wrote the sequel to it called: From Man to Superman: Dr. John Henrik Clarke vs. Herman Cain by Maurice Miles Martinez. My book is an introduction to African history, cites more than 200 sources and is also in the setting of a novel. J.A. Rogers’ book From Superman to Man is one of the best books written on race. Rogers utilizes an informal discussion between a very knowledgeable African American porter and a racist senator to discover a number of academic arguments about race. This book should be needed reading in every school. My book, From Man to Superman: Dr. John Henrik Clarke vs. Herman Cain discusses historical and modern racism such as the Fresh Jim Crow, but also focuses upon the precolonial accomplishments of Africans in the fields of science, medicine, mathematics, literature, philosophy and architecture/construction. If you enjoyed the film Black Panther, you will love Rogers’ book and From Man to Superman: Dr. John Henrik Clarke vs. Herman Cain by Maurice Miles Martinez.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Superman to Man (1917) []  2020-5-2 18:12

    I could not place this book down! I recommebd it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump Jump [App]  2019-7-15 13:24

    thrash

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Superman is back! The Fresh 52 Superman was an interesting take on the character, but I have missed the "real" (if such a word can be applied here!) Superman, and now he is back. The addition of Jonathan White, the fresh Superboy, is a amazing choice for DC - it allows us to see an aspect of the hero that has, up until now, only been hinted at: Superman as a father. Having a son developing his own powers, wanting to follow in his father's footsteps and be a hero, but, at the same time, being alternately super and also vulnerable, means that Superman will have to grow and develop alongside his son. I also have fun the interplay between Superman and the Fresh 52 heroes, especially Batman and Wonder Woman - the "trinity" of the DC Universe now has one member that the others distrust. DC has tried for years to create Superman "relevant" with mixed success, but transporting the Superman and Lois Lane we all knew and loved from the "original" timeline, complete with 10 year old son, to the darker, more paranoid Fresh 52 timeline, has succeeded. With luck, we will be able to have fun these adventures for some time to come!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Except for the huge dramatic moments and some of the alternate universes, I just search the Supers' power set a small difficult to swallow. They're just so vast and underutilized that it's a small cloying. This comic volume largely sidesteps this by providing alternate sources of drama and opponents on that same level. Mainly the former, but the latter was certainly key to keeping this volume entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    I enjoyed a lot of this even if I found both artwork and story uneven. Plays necessary role in other DC rebirth plots so I'd certainly recommend it. I found the often clever referencing of DC history a small jarring in the context of what should have been an emotionally charged story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Through the first months of DC Rebirth, there's been a huge question as to who is Clark Kent and then there's the huge Universe bending mystery of what Doctor Manhattan and any other huge bads behind the Fresh 52 is book answers the Clark Kent question. It crosses over both Superman (Issues 18 and 19) and Action Comics (973-976) and brings Superman and Superboy face to face with an old opponent and teases even more the final truth behind Rebirth. The Kent family is central to this story, particularly Jon. In the middle of the arc, his parents face losing him forever, but it's in the finale that he really shines through in a conclusion that is just epic. Easily Jurgens' best work in Rebirth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Collects Superman: Red Son problems #1-3There is so much more to this story than this brief synopsis, but here's something to whet your appetite: What if Superman's ship had originally landed in Russian instead of America? What if he had grown up under a Communist regime? Would he still grow up to be a hero, or would he become something else?After years of having this book hyped up to me, you would think that it wouldn't be able to live up the hype, but it more than first I was thinking that it wasn't as amazing as everyone was saying it was, but once I got into the book a small more, I fell in love with it a lot of alternate reality stories, it puts familiar people in unusual roles, but this book has some deeper things to say about philosophy and politics. The globe isn't black and white, and Tag Millar does a amazing job of writing a gray globe with realistic stakes and unlikely heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    Wow, that's all I have to say. The thought of a Soviet Superman is WAY more interesting than I previously thought as this story shows what would happen if Superman was raised as a communist as opposed to being raised American. I don't wish to spoil too much, but the ending simply makes the story a classic. When you think of any future Lex Luthor vs. Superman stories, you will INSTANTLY think that no matter what it is, it will not compare to the ending of this story. Even if you think Superman is a boring character, this is a must-read. Period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    I really did wish to like this, but I couldn't obtain through chapter 3. The identity politics and other political propaganda is so thick that, whether I agree or not, this story was rendered impossible to tman: Nightwalker had a fair share of politics, but it wasn't so overwhelming. If this is the direction this series is going to take, I'm going to skip the other titles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    As an almost life long Superman fan I found that the author created at least one twist I didn't like. He created Lana Lang a school newspaper editor/reporter when I don't believe she has ever been in any other incarnation of the story. I'm also sorry but Lana was his childhood sweetheart not the fresh creation, Gloria Alvarez.While the story of immigration and equal rights maybe timely, I believe it was already done in an episode of Smallville, the terrific TV series about Clark Kent before he became the world's greatest hero. I just didn't think the book was that exciting. As with any Superman story I was curious to see what the author, Matt De La Pena did with the legend and I feel his take on it to be not worth the purchase. Maybe somebody from DC can take up the challenge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    Quick shipping and amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    This is a amazing book well written amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Superman to Man (1917) []  2020-5-2 18:12

    This book is about a porter on a train who engages in a deep conversation with a man who is racist. The porter is a globe traveler, well educated, and keeps notes from each book he has read. The traveler is a senator from a southern state. The senator is obnoxious and thinks of himself as an expert on the topic of black people. The porter however is very kind, polite, and educates him on the different subjects dealing with the plight and success of black people. He quotes different authors and makes sure he consults his notes for authenticity. This was such a very unbelievable book and it shows as human beings we are all God's children. How the environment we live in can contribute to situations one may search himself and the cruelty we often afflict on one another all because of the color of ones skin. If you never read another book please I implore you to read this amazing book by an author of such gifted writing skills. I highly recommend the reading of this book! You won't be sorry...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Superman to Man (1917) []  2020-5-2 18:12

    Unbelievable read for anyone with an begin mind to learn a broader perspective of U.S. American history. Thin book, but I spent a lot of time researching some of the references.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    This will be up there with the likes of All Star Superman and Red Son for decades to come. One of the greatest Superman stories I have ever read. No more to say. If you love Superman, read this. If you read this and don't have fun it, you don't actually love Superman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    This book checks all the boxes of not just a amazing Elseworlds story, but just a amazing graphic novel. Period. You obtain a very interesting idea with Superman's vessel landing in the middle of the Soviet Union and him growing up to become Stalin's right hand man at the heart of the Cold War, but said idea is executed and laid out for the reader in such an engaging and nuanced method (in both the writing and the art) that I wasn't able to place this book down! There's never a dull moment here, the story never drags and the art is perfect and so fitting for the concept and theme of the book (it's quite dark and grim, and yet every page is full of life and so captivating).The story unfolds throughout decades and decades, yet the pacing never ever feels slow, and you can feel the stakes getting higher and higher with every turning page. The book is very "cinematic", both in the storytelling and the art itself, with the method everything is arranged in each panel and page. I can totally see Warner Brothers making this into an animated movie and I cannot understand why they haven't obtain very interesting hero development here (especially from the main characters), you obtain a few subtle nods and throwbacks to other iconic moments in DC's history in some of the book's pages that literally created me go "Oh that's great!" or "That's clever!", you obtain amazing cameos and supporting appearances from other DC characters, but they don't feel forced or tacked on, they actually add something interesting to the plot. You just obtain so much amazing items all around here, I just can't recommend this book enough.I took my time before reading this book, not only because I'm a small wary of Elseworlds stories after reading a few that really didn't hit the tag for me (e.g. Superman: Speeding Bullets), but also because, at face value, I expected the writing to be preachy or overly political (looking at you, post-1990 Frank Miller!). Well, I'm satisfied to say that I was completely wrong and this is one of the best graphic novels I've ever read and one of my fresh favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    As long as I have been reading comics, I feel like I have a certain drive towards the items I like that comes off as beautiful clear. As a person who wants more experience with the Man of Steel (Batman is my favorite, along with Spider-Man), I can say I came away thoroughly satisfied. The basics of a amazing Superman tale are covered and I know that might sound contradictory based on my previous statement, but I can back it up as someone who, when reading the origin story, needs to see something perfect. Red Son hits that on all five stars, considering the fact I'm bored of hearing about origin stories (Especially because Batman is my favorite.)Red Son re-envisions the beloved Man of Steel as someone who takes the idea of landing in the Soviet Union to its logical conclusion. Its ability to highlight subjective tides that are pertinently important in an era clothed with jingoistic nationalism (We live in America, people) that seems to prevade the needs of the people. As a willing candidate, the story steps up to the plate and assumes the role of making Superman a believable villain. In aspect, this is one of the greatest stories of the Man of Steel and a worth making. As a side note, I've been sticking to 'the classics', graphic novels that obviously take stories that are timeless within the comic book genre. If I may, this is not even canon and it's a classic. Check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Dawnbreaker: DC Icons Series []  2020-1-22 22:59

    meh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Superman to Man (1917) []  2020-5-2 18:12

    I happened upon this book accidentally and I will forever be grateful to Kindle for suggesting it. I am a person who has lived all over this country from top to bottom,easy to west and am fairly educated. I possess a BS, M. ed. and a JD. I cannot remember reading a more articulate and insightful evaluation of race in America in such a concise manner. If you overlay the arguments and premises of the author to today's atmosphere in the contentious and rabid divisions of the greatest democracy in the world, it should satisfy your need to be afraid of the stagnation and decline of the empire. I agree with the review that suggested this book be mandatory reading in every school. If we truly wish to continue as the greatest democracy of our era is it not time to truly honor and respect the greatest document ever written...The Declaration of independence...Our country has never embraced the real meaning of those words by continuing the most heinous crime versus humanity. The continuation of racial hatred and persecution in the name of justice. The globe is watching and for you religious types, the creator is too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From Superman to Man (1917) []  2020-5-2 18:12

    This book is very strong and it has a amazing story to share .you learn how racist behavior is so unnecessary but just being human is enough

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Oh, boy. To understand Superman’s first volume under the Rebirth movement, you need to understand that the Superman in this book is the Superman we knew in the 80s, 90s, and early-2000s. This is the Superman who married Lois Lane, the Superman who fought versus Doomsday and died, the Superman who returned from the dead.Why is this confusing, you ask? Well, this Superman is now living in an alternate reality, one that arrived around 2010. DC calls it The Fresh 52 universe. In this softly rebooted universe, everything and everyone got a facelift, modernized, updated. The Superman in this fresh universe wore a suit more like armor than tights, had a romance with Wonder Woman, and wasn’t much of a talker. He died in battle, though, and so the pre-New 52 Superman, who had been hiding out on this alternate Earth with his wife Lois and their son Jon, decides to don the red and blue again because, yeah, Earth needs a tman and Wonder Woman don’t know this fresh Superman. No one does. They don’t know if they can trust him. They honestly don’t know what to think of him. This is a really interesting dynamic because this classic ver of Superman was the beacon of hope in his old universe—he was the gold standard. To suddenly be an alien twice over adds an interesting dimension to the character, one that the creators were sure to touch upon. I can only hope they continue to use it to drive stories.But the true heart and soul of this book is the arrival of Superman as a family man. Let’s face it—our classic Superman has always been a dad. He may not previously have actually had a child, but he basically epitomized the traits we hope for in every amazing father—brave, selfless, compassionate, assertive, reliable, strong, and even a small Superman acts like a dad for amazing reason—he is one! Their son, Jon, is just beginning to develop powers, and watching Superman tutorial his son through these changes is charming in and of n, who I believe is around ten or so, is an incredibly likable character. He’s not too naïve, not too sassy, not too polished, but not too rough, either. They’ve hit a nice tone with him, one that I hope they can continue.I do believe Lois is getting a bit lost in the mix in this first volume, though. In my opinion, her inclusion in the action feels a bit forced, and, honestly, there’s a moment at the end of this book where I really questioned Superman’s judgment in allowing a very human Lois to be anywhere near the cataclysmic war taking much as the creators have hit the right note with Jon, they are missing the tag just a bit with Lois. They’ve all been hiding out on this fresh Earth in to protect Jon, and so Lois must be content as an anonymous novelist, doing house chores, and sort of playing the role of house wife. It never felt quite real to the character, but neither did the huge action stage in which she participates. Granted, like Superman himself, getting Lois just right can be tricky. I trust Tomasi and Gleason will eventually search the right chord for , yes, much of Son of Superman worked very well. Seeing Superman as a father is something I very much enjoy, especially because I am a father myself. It’s fun to be able to relate to him even now as a forty year old man. Seeing Superman through Jon’s eyes breathes new life into the hero, and watching Jon struggle to become a character in his own right is going to prove fertile ground for future stories.But speaking of story, Son of Superman faltered with its main conflict. The Eradicator is back, but I think this is the Fresh 52 ver of the character—I was never clear on that, to be honest. Anyway, as an ancient piece of Kryptonian technology, he’s taken it upon himself to destroy Jonathan Kent, whom he views to be an impure blight versus Kryptonian genes due to his human heritage. Plus, as it happens, he’s got a bunch of Kryptonian souls living inside of ankly, I found the whole Eradicator plot a bit of a stretch, even by comic book standards. There are tons of directions they could have taken in this first volume, why they chose yet another hero with an “S” on his chest and very convoluted motive is something of a mystery. And the tons of Kryptonian souls trapped inside of the Eradicator really took me out of the story. It seemed like such a significant happening just to kind of throw in there as an aside … it felt forced and unnatural to the general cadence of the book. In fact, everything with the Eradicator felt a small clunky to me.Furthermore, along those same lines, the art in Son of Superman is flat-out superb. Patrick Gleason draws a heroic Superman, a charismatic Jonathan, and a self-reliant Lois. But his style tends to be a small cartoony—a bit exaggerated. There are a few installments in the book, however, where both Jorge Jimenez and Dough Mahnke fill in on the pencils. Both are superb—I’ve been a Mahnke fan for a long while now. But, their style tends to be a small darker, a small more realistic, a small more chiseled. Like the storyline itself, the shift in art could be abrupt and jarring. All of the art is wonderful, don’t obtain me wrong, but the flow is disruptive from installment to installment due to contrasting n of Superman is not perfect, but it’s a bold, uplifting direction for Superman and I commend the creators for embarking upon such risk. Taking one of your flagship characters and making him both a husband and a dad is unconventional to be sure, but I have no doubt this creative squad in particular will provide captivating stories to come. I think we’re all ready for Superman Dad … I know I am.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    I really enjoyed this begin to the Superman Rebirth. The core of Rebirth is back to the roots and the core of Superman is strength and responsibility. What better method to demonstrate that than through a somewhat older, more mature Huge Blue, one with responsibilities. Superman is a family man: sure, he wants to save the world, but he wants to do right by his wife and son too. The emphasis on fatherhood was, I thought, quite special. The art in this edition was great: vivid, but also hearkening back to an earlier age of comic books with Superman's square jawed heroism really emphasized. One star off for a meh poor guy, but that really didn't detract from the enjoyment I got from this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    I'll begin by saying this: I'm not a huge fan of Superman. I thought he was difficult to relate to and was generally a stale character. This book however helped change my opinion on Huge Blue as it shows more aspects of his hero that are simple to identify and relate with. He is a family man in a globe that is related and various than his own. Batman and Wonder Woman don't particularly trust him yet so Supes must regain their trust. Superman's son, Jon, is also a nice addition to the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Brought a smile to my face to see Huge Blue as his old self. The story is nice. Others have brought up a few critiques on that. I will concentrate on why, if you loved Superman before the fresh 52 you will love this. This is the Superman ( more or less) we remember. Back when we waited forever for him to marry Lois. Back when he always did the right thing, no matter the cost. Someone who was "super" because he was an example to all the heroes, not just some guy with super powers. Yes. I am a small sappy, but honestly THIS is the Superman most of us loved. Perhaps a fresh generation will as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman (2016-2018) Vol. 1: Son of Superman []  2019-12-26 18:0

    2 starsSuperman, Lois and Jon (their son and soon to be the fresh Superboy) are now living in a various universe where that Superman recently died (I know, a bit confusing and a poor story-telling trick). Lots and lots of father-son moments for people that eat that items up, and even a few mad "stay the hell away from my family" bits from Lois as ite themes. Not good plot. Stale dialogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    This doesn't disappoint! What a crossover!Story: Jurgens and Tomasi have both been writing tour de forces on their respective Superman books, so it should come as no surprise that this book is epic! I don't really wish to talk about plot lines like I do most of the time, but I'd like to mention some things I liked about the book and some things I would have liked instead with minimal spoilers. The mystery of who the totally human Clark Kent finally comes to an end here and I know you'll be blown away as to who "Clark" really is. I greatly enjoyed the confrontation between Superman and "Clark" where the identity of the entity is revealed. It takes Superman through some of his greatest rogues before the huge reveal. Superman and Lois then continue on their quest to obtain their son, Jon, back from "Clark", and while they go on their otherworldly adventure, we also obtain to hear how "Clark" came to be. When you realize the full backstory, it all makes sense, and it also involves the most mysterious figure in Superman lore right now. In the end, we obtain some epic showdowns, deja vu with Fresh 52, and a large tribute to Superman Red/Blue. I know that storyline from the 90s wasn't well received, but trust me, this isn't what you might think. It's only a somewhat vague reference, but longtime readers will instantly recognize it, and appreciate how it's used here. We once again obtain to see the amazing family dynamic of the "Smiths" and Jon plays a HUGE and crucial role in fixing the situation. I don't even wish to mention what the finale means, but the implications are GARGANTUAN!!! If anything, by the time this story is done, it goes to present that DC listens to their fans (unlike some other publishers) and they absolutely delivered on their promise to re-inject love into the DC Universe. Real love conquers all here! We also obtain a little revelation about that mysterious figure, and it sets up nicely for the mega confrontation between optimism vs. pessimism, hope vs. despair. I'd just like to mention that I would have liked Superman and Lois running their gauntlet to be a small more drawn out instead of the method it was depicted. I mean, the method it was depicted was somewhat appropriate for the circumstances, but I would have liked to see it differently. I also didn't obtain what some of the things event at the beginning of the book were, like Lana Lang (Superwoman) dying, some secret agents trying to track Superman's Himalayas Fortress down. But, all that seems to be gotten out of the method beautiful early. I would have liked the final design of Superman's costume to reincorporate the red underwear, but I don't know if DC is ever going to bring that back. Anyway, this book is definitely worthy of five stars!Art: A amazing job all around by all! Clay Mann's covers really stand out, as well as the interiors of Patrick Gleason and Doug Mahnke. I'm so glad it was Mahnke who did the latest issue. His very detailed style is exactly what I wanted in this book. One thing I have to create unique note of is the amazing coloring in this book. It's WOWEE good!! All the colors pop out so much. Some books are so horribly colored, you'd think you weren't even reading a comic book. But, this book is so vibrant and attractive to look at. This is exactly what a Superman book ought to look like. I always love Gary Frank's variant covers as well. I can't wait for Doomsday Clock!Overall: Nearly perfect, this is one epic Superman story that has large implications in the DC Universe. There's some wild cameos from Steel, Lex Luthor, Cyborg Superman, Mongul, Parasite, and different others! This story goes to present that DC will not abandon the Fresh 52, and I'm so grateful for that. They're also showing the heavy importance of pre Flashpoint as well. What we obtain is the best compromise or middle ground that will bind all old school readers and newer audiences alike. We all victory with this one! Superman's back baby!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    OK, didn’t see that coming. I mean, we all knew something was coming. Dead Superman, fresh Superman, a gaggle of Loises, a nonsuper Clark. So yeah, something had to happen to create sense of it all. And this … sort of does, even if it isn’t what I is volume starts with “Mild Mannered,” a two-part story. Blanque is messing up the furniture in Fresh Superman’s Second Fortress, even as Steel turns up with the dying Lana Lang ver of Superwoman. Meanwhile, Fresh Lois is being wooed by non-Super Clark, even as she has her own Clark, a/k/a Fresh Superman, at home, although non-Super Clark thinks he’s wooing Old Lois and doesn’t know that Fresh Lois has replaced Old Lois who was also a Superwoman before she that’s simple, right? Well, it gets if there aren’t enough Super-Creatures in the reborn universe, Hank Henshaw (who used to be Cyborg Superman) is trying to search Superman’s Second Fortress, although he might not know about the first one. Some nasty items happens at Fortress II, giving Fresh Superman yet another en we move on to “Superman Reborn,” a multi-part story that starts with Fresh Superboy being kidnapped, perhaps by … Clark Kent? Well, he has become “downright creepy” (quoting Fresh Superman, although Fresh Lois clearly agrees). And here we finally learn the respond to the mystery of the Fresh Clark. I’m not going to spoil it, but I’ll just say … didn’t see that coming. And just the other day I was thinking about an old Superman hero and whether the writers would search a method to work him into the rebirth. Well gosh, they did. Given the method the past is being wrenched into the show in all the DC titles, it kinda makes sense, and it’s creative, so kudos to the writers for giving the story an unexpected twist.On the other hand, it doesn’t entirely create sense. There are some gaps, some lack of explanation, in the rescue of Jon the Fresh Superboy, and the story loses a star for that reason. But at least the story of the Fresh Superman and the Old Clark and the confusion of Loises has been more or less resolved in a method that’s fairly e art in “Mild Mannered” is quite good. The art in “Superman Reborn” is inconsistent. Much of it is amazing but several pages are just dreadful. Apparently they were up versus deadlines and the artists allow their children doodle some of the panels. Or they hired some artists from whatever part of the globe has never actually seen Superman, if such a put exists. So poor art in spots also contributed to the loss of a star, but the volume is essential reading if you wish to understand what’s going on in the reborn Superman line of DC comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman Reborn (Action Comics (2016-)) [Book]  2017-11-22 18:1

    Rebirth seems to be the bane of a lot of DC fans to the point I’m almost scared when I got to read and review one. I’ve had a mostly positive reaction to the series but I’m fairly fresh to the comic globe so I haven’t built up that ride or die loyalty to only certain authors ere is a amazing of emotion wound through these stories as if the authors are trying to provide a more intimate look at the characters rather than cater to the Michael Bay theory of plot lines with a huge blowout. It still feels like you need some sense of the previous Superman lines in to really understand all the context so I wouldn’t say a newbie should just jump into this because if you don’t know the past histories then these stories may not have the same impact. Considering how relatively little this graphic novel is compared to the content it includes it shows the talent of the writers that you finish out the latest page feeling happy instead of overwhelmed. The writing is incredibly large-scale with huge ideas that somehow feels easily paced rather than rushed or full of holes.I liked how they resolved Clark’s story particularly as it was on my list as probable outcomes; finally got the ‘Fake News’ dealt with always a bonus. There was something innately classic, almost attractive in a retro way, in how the story concludes; like it was trying to honor the journey that the characters and readers had undergone to obtain to this point. Lois has been given the powerful voice she deserves. Jon was even given a decent story arc so he felt like he belonged in the story and wasn’t just there for filler. You’re going to love the Huge Poor in this arc as it’s not someone who appears often in Supe’s constant war of amazing versus evil but when he shows you can bet it’s going to be a magically roaring amazing time!I liked the artwork I just want there had been some consistency from one story to another. You had stories with more of the prototypical linear panels, min details, dark colors, more ‘adult’ like then others were less defined, larger shapes, brighter colors, panels almost seemed cubism inspired, kind of childlike. But in that defense the art work did seem to fit the story that was being told at that time; I just [email protected]#$%! felt more cohesive and less like they allow a bunch of people take turns trying to create their mark.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    "Red Son" supposedly influenced the makers of the "Batman v Superman" film - but please, don't keep that versus this book. This is actually one of the smartest mainstream, self-contained, Elseworlds-style comics of the past couple of decades. If this were a product of the 1980s, it might just be ranked just underneath Frank Miller's "Dark Knight."The twist is simple. In this alternate reality, Superman was raised in the Soviet Union rather than in Smallviille, Kansas. This Superman is just as steeped in Soviet-style Communism as our Superman is thoroughly indoctrinated in "Truth, Justice, and The American Way." But to what degree are the qualities that create Superman such a unique character special to his cultural upbringing?To say more is to spoil the plot. What I will say is that the artwork is first rate, and looks like a cross between propaganda posters and the now-discontinued "Superman Adventures" animated series. As always with Tag Millar's writing, characterization is to-the-point and dialogue is crisp. There's virtually no bloat or padding in a very clean, crisp 's well worth your time, and "Red Son" holds up to repeated readings. Even if you are place off by DC's needless latest reboots of their series, you will search much to have fun within the pages of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    I just read this "what if" story, and it's the best graphic novel I've read in a long time. Suppose Superman's ship had landed on a farm in the Soviet Union instead of a farm in Kansas. How would his life have been different? Were Superman's values of "truth, justice, and the American way" caused by nature or nurture? No matter which you believe, the ending will surprise you, and will likely blow you away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Superman: Red Son (New Edition) [Book]  2017-11-23 18:2

    I don't normally comics, but the premise for this was so cool I beautiful much had to. Primary story is Superman crash lands a few hours later and ends up growing up in Stalinist Russia (interesting side note, "Stalin" actually translates to "Man of Steel" - how weird is that?), Lex Luthor is the amazing guy, all kinds of reversals, and a really cool ending. Would strongly recommend, particularly if you don't normally comics.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386