Read surf mules reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all surf mules reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Neri is a new voice in young adult lit, breathing life into authentic characters and daring stories. This is book to be reckoned with and an author to follow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    simple to read and fun to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Amazing emotion packed read.

    0  


    Add your opinion on surf mules or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    After having read and enjoyed Chess Rumble, I was looking forward to reading Neri's recent book, Surf Mules. This book was his first endeavor as a YA author. In this book, Neri brings us into the globe of three close friends. Fin dies in an opening surf scene. Z-boy isn't very book smart, but he can come through when you need him and he's as loyal as a puppy. Logan has actually managed to graduate high school and is planning to go to college, but the family's savings have been lost by his father's gambling. Logan is trying to transition to manhood, but dad has not left much of a positive impact on his son. Logan has few resources to draw on to create a decision: few values, no identified path to success and no reason to believe that a half-baked plan might work. Fin's father, Buddy, has been somewhat of a male presence for the boys, but doesn't his name say it all? He and his surfer mates have lived by the surfer code, surfing most of their lives away. Drugs, specifically marijuana, are easily accepted into this life and Logan and Z-boy are soon offered the opportunity to create a lot of carrying marijuana across country. Logan knows the true decision whether to act as mules rests with him. He has a wisdom that Z-boy by does not. For Z-boy its all about a fast buck but for Logan, it could obtain him for college or it could obtain him a felony charge that would ruin almost any career before it begins. Where can you go guidance? When you're a young man really trying to do something various from those around you, how can you search someone you can trust to tutorial you in a method that benefits your own interest? Logan has one of the roughest coming of age tales I've ha d told in quite a while.I haven't been much into surfing since Gidget movies, but I found Neri's surf scenes to be clearly written, exciting and fast paced. I was guided into the surfing globe by a capable dude who didn't lose me with tedious info but who didn't talk down to the majority of readers who don't know surfing. While we think of surfers as macho men who treat their boards with more respect than their women, Neri creates Emmie, a love interest for Logan that he truly respects and they're able to communicate as equals. This is Logan's story with Emmie having a minor role, but she is intelligent, confident and athletic. While Neri's hero seems to accept marijuana as a natural substance that can't hurt us, there is a strong notice about who is involved in the drug trade, who profits from it and who gets ere's much to like about this book, from the humor and the well developed characters to the originality of the story and the complex themes which could lead to deep discussion. Neri is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors and I'm really looking forward to Yummy in early 2010.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Surf Mules is a book about two surfers who need to obtain into college and wind up with the job of smuggling pot across the country. The three main characters are well developed and you obtain to know each one directly and indirectly. the story starts out focusing on surfing but then changes subjects to talk about smuggling and friendship. i would recommend this book, it always has something going, whether its being chased by cops or getting jumped on a highway you wont be bored. If you like modern day adventure books then you probably like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Growing up Logan's two best mates and surfing partners were Fin and Z-Boy. Recenlty Logan's and Fin's friendship has been strained before they can work it out Fin's killed by a wave. Logan and Z-Boy are approached by a young drug dealer named, Broza with a possibility to create some fast money as mules. Z-Boy feels this is his only options and quickly says yes. Logan is unsure, though he eventually says yes, in hopes of relieving some of the financial pressure from his mother. Logan and Z-Boy drive cross country from California to Flordia, in a vehicle lined with pot. I loved how well this story moved. I thought the beginning was great, the author locations readers right in the middle of the action. Logan and Z-Boy are in Texas and have a run in with some Texas surfers. I was quickly intrigued by Texas surfers, a vehicle chase and a bloody nose. Thanks to that quick start, Neri has created Surf Mules hard to place down, even for the most reluctant readers. Logan's plans to go to college after graduation are place on keep thanks to his fathers gambling debt. Logan wants to do this run once, with Z-Boy. Z-Boy believes this is a begin to one day taking over for Broza. I really enjoyed Surf Mules. The characters have a very realistic feel to them. On Logan's and Z-Boy's trip, there is heart behind the well paced action. The author takes the time to develop secondary characters like Broza making it that much more interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I picked this one up expecting it to be so-so, an impression enforced by the prologue that recounts one of Logan and Z-boy's dumber exploits. But SURF MULES quickly becomes an emotional novel that will appeal to boys.Logan's intelligent for a surfer, but it takes more than brains to go to college. And when his former best mate dies on the wave he spent his whole life wanting to ride, Logan is thrown for a loop. So when his other pal Z-boy hooks him up with the local drug dealer for an simple job, he takes it. And of course, things go not good wrong.(Everything I know about drug muling I learned from this book and Maria eres llena de gracia, neither of which create it an beautiful job despite explaining very well why people would do it.)SURF MULES combines comedy, adventure, and poignancy to make a book that is far less silly than it seems on the surface. Reading about Logan's latest summer before college is a amazing method to cap off your own copyFrom In Bed With Books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    When I picked up SURF MULES by Greg Neri, I had problem holding on. Surf Mules starts quick and keeps a pace that is astounding. By the end of the first chapter, there is a drug shakedown, a fist fight, and a death. Before moving on to chapter two, I came up for a gulp of air and said to the writing gods, "Boy, Greg really set the pace high for this one." But the truth is that Neri takes us for the ride of our lives and doesn't allow go until the very latest satisfying MULES takes put during several weeks in the summer of two innocent (yet risk-loving) Hermosa Beach seniors, Logan and Z-Boy. Surfing is in their blood, but one thing leads to another and instead of riding the waves the boys search themselves riding cross country with a load of marijuana packed behind the panels of their Crown Victoria.I know nothing about surfing and even less about transporting drugs, but Neri brings us these worlds with a deftness that makes both feel as comfortable as Logan feels with eat boy to boy interaction, a lot of humor, oodles of action and a small romance will hold readers--teens and adults alike--gripped. So grab a tin of board wax and a Republican Handbook (you'll obtain that reference when you read the novel) and obtain a copy of SURF MULES.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Mules []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Neri makes water splash off the page as he pulls you into the globe of surfing the huge waves. Logan and ZBoy are opposites who together attract trouble, but whether Logan is breaking the rules, chilling with surfer girl Emmie, or confronting his messed up Dad, you'll cheer for him.When Logan and ZBoy take off for Florida, you'll feel Logan's excitement, his frustration with ZBoy and the fear Logan eventually feels when he understands the dark put his life is really headed.Logan's simple to like, but hard to forget. And when the book is over, the realization will hit you to keep on to Surf Mules because it is a book you will wish to read again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf []  2020-8-2 19:43

    Amazing magazine. Can't obtain this for any cheaper so you might as well go through Amazon. Takes about 3 weeeks to obtain your first issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    Zora Neale Hurston is an American master. This book documents her submersion into the voodoo/hoodoo stage in Florida and Fresh Orleans providing unparalleled insight into the lives of post-slavery/pre-civil rights African Americans in the South. The inventiveness of the characters, the tragicomic tales, the vocabulary, the authenticity of Hurston's portrayals, and her high-risk investment in anthropological participant observation, combine to create this book a classic, not to mention a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    First I read their eyes were watching God which I highly recommend. Since eyes was so amazing I got this one while I love somethings about it like the personnalities and the day to day interactions of the characters. I also enjoyed the method Zora makes these characters so familiar that you feel like your in the setting with these guys as the walk and talk and clown amongst each other. This story is a bit hard to follow because she is bouncing from one hero to another and most characters have one paragraph, some one sentence before she moves to another then another. It becomes annoying. I gave it four stars because its worth to be a part of this bouncy zig zaggy novel. But if you really wish to witness a master piece you must read "thier eyes were watching God" by Zora. Guys it is a love story but its not mushy and its place together better than this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    A very interesting book. Ms Hurston came from the not good rural African-American communities in central Florida, moved north and became well educated, studying anthropology with F. Boas, then returned to her native locations with the intention of documenting their language and lifestyle. It's an uncommon situation -- can you be an objective observer and at the same time a member of the community you're studying? On the one hand you certainly lose objectivity; on the other you know your topic in a method a stranger never could. The effect is a book special in its genre, and one I personally recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    Enjoyed this story of folklore from the American South that was collected by the author almost a century e first part of the book starts out with her traveling to Eatonville Florida and meeting some of her mates from her youth and listening to them tell a lot of the stories "lies" that they have passed back and forth throughout the generations. Some of those stories I've certainly evolved over the years. Some of those stories I have heard being told in the white e next half of the book she goes to Louisiana to learn about voodoo. Some of the voodoo rituals were quite odd but interesting to learn about as I knew nothing about Voodoo and I really didn't know that it was that common in America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    I had bought this book thinking it was the BOOK- NOT! I probably should have taken more care in reading the reviews before making my purcahse. If you're looking for an OUTLINE of the actual book, then this is for you. For me it was a waste of time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    This is an awesome part of the historical fabric of the black south. And, being from Cuba, it was so cool to see the similarities between Hoodoo from NOLA and Santeria from Santiago. Just an amazing, provocative book. She was a master of anthropology, history and creative writing. A must-read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    I don't know how this goes unnoticed but I bought this book as a needed reading for a seminar and had me a amazing surprise when I got to the end of part 1. There were 3 critical chapters missing from part 2 of the book. That was a total of about 30 pgs. I still cant explain how this went unnoticed. This rating has nothing to do with the content of the book but rather more so to do with an problem of the missing chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    This audio tape recorded by Ruby Dee of Zora Neale Hurston's Mules and Men absolutely makes the case for audio-books because of Dee's extraordinary performance. I seriously doubt that Hurston could do better herself. It is so amazing that this is the third time I am buying it. The first two copies are owned by my Mom (artist Faith Ringgold) who is bi-coastal and keeps a copy loaded in the tape player ready to play, day or night, on each coast, and the third is for me because now from listening to my Mom's tapes I am as addicted to it as she is. This is becoming real of a lot of her friends. Whether you are doing something else or just listening, it fits in perfectly, and it is full of wisdom and laughs. It is absolutely the best, and I would anything else that Ruby Dee ever had anything to do with because she is the glue that makes it work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    "Mules and Men" is an extremely interesting collection of African American Folklore, collected and assembled by a very notable African American author. It was published during the Amazing Depression in 1935. Thus this fine work is worthy of both reading and study on multiple levels.Zora Neale Hurston rose to prominence in the first half of the twentieth century as an African American author. She is a member of what is referred to as the "Harlem Renaissance". She wrote about African American Folklore. She also wrote short stories and novels. Eventually she slid into obscurity and when she died she ended up in an unmarked is particular work is a collection of folklore and is referred to in Wikipedia as an "autoethnograhical" collection. I found it both fascinating and enjoyable. I feel it involves the necessary preservation of cultural heritage that could easily be lost. There is some criticism of her non fiction work. I feel the forward of this book by noted academic and author Arnold Rampersad needs to be read and is well worthy of contemplation. My private viewpoint is that Zora Neale Hurston is both artist and academic and I have fun this work on both levels.I purchased both the Kindle edition and an audiobook narrated by Ruby Dee. I love the audiobook and feel the narration is outstanding as far as it exists. However I need to mention that at least my copy of the audiobook is abridged. I cannot tell you how disappointed I am about that. Ruby Dee's performance is outstanding and I am dismayed that it is summary I thoroughly enjoyed this fine work. I specifically study African American Literature, but not to the exclusion of any other literature. The reason I mention this is that I consider this fine work a "must read" for a student of African American Literature such as myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men []  2020-1-25 10:18

    An entertaining read once you obtain use to the characters speaking in their vernacular. Took twice as long to read, but would recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    I loved this book and can't wait to read all the ones in this series. I love books about ex-pats that relocate to other countries. That is something I would have loved to do so I now do this by reading some charming and funny books written by these adventurous people. Joe and Vicky move from England to Southern Spain. What follows is a unbelievable few years into the lives of this couple and the quirky characters of this little village. Her stories of the acquisition of the hens and the subsequent of eggs to the villagers had me in stitches. All I can say, is this was an entertaining read for me. A solid 5 star from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    I was desperately looking for a book that would create me drop everything and go and read. I mentioned this to a mate of mine and she told me about Vicky Twead's books about living in Spain. I ordered the first one and have dropped everything to the point of dirty house and piles of laundry (not really but you obtain the idea) just to read her engrossing stories of life as an ex pat.I would give this book five stars for entertainment value but I dislike the method it is formatted (thus minus one star) on my iPad Kindle app. A lot of times entire paragraphs are repeated from one page to the next page and often I search sentences that are completely out of context. I was hoping that in later books the formatting would have improved for the iPad but I am now reading "Two Old Fools on a Camel" and the content is just as garbled. It does not appear to be so garbled on my Kindle but I prefer my iPad at the moment and it is spite the distraction of the formatting, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all three of Vicky Twead's books on living abroad. At the moment, I would recommend reading the stories only on your Kindle as the iPad seems to have an problem with formatting the stories. I am really curious if any other readers are having this issue as I have not had this problem with any other books I read on my iPad and I read a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    "Mules and Men" is an extremely interesting collection of African American Folklore, collected and assembled by a very notable African American author. It was published during the Amazing Depression in 1935. Thus this fine work is worthy of both reading and study on multiple levels.Zora Neale Hurston rose to prominence in the first half of the twentieth century as an African American author. She is a member of what is referred to as the "Harlem Renaissance". She wrote about African American Folklore. She also wrote short stories and novels. Eventually she slid into obscurity and when she died she ended up in an unmarked is particular work is a collection of folklore and is referred to in Wikipedia as an "autoethnograhical" collection. I found it both fascinating and enjoyable. I feel it involves the necessary preservation of cultural heritage that could easily be lost. There is some criticism of her non fiction work. I feel the forward of this book by noted academic and author Arnold Rampersad needs to be read and is well worthy of contemplation. My private viewpoint is that Zora Neale Hurston is both artist and academic and I have fun this work on both levels.I purchased both the Kindle edition and an audiobook narrated by Ruby Dee. I love the audiobook and feel the narration is outstanding as far as it exists. However I need to mention that at least my copy of the audiobook is abridged. I cannot tell you how disappointed I am about that. Ruby Dee's performance is outstanding and I am dismayed that it is summary I thoroughly enjoyed this fine work. I specifically study African American Literature, but not to the exclusion of any other literature. The reason I mention this is that I consider this fine work a "must read" for a student of African American Literature such as myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    This audio tape recorded by Ruby Dee of Zora Neale Hurston's Mules and Men absolutely makes the case for audio-books because of Dee's extraordinary performance. I seriously doubt that Hurston could do better herself. It is so amazing that this is the third time I am buying it. The first two copies are owned by my Mom (artist Faith Ringgold) who is bi-coastal and keeps a copy loaded in the tape player ready to play, day or night, on each coast, and the third is for me because now from listening to my Mom's tapes I am as addicted to it as she is. This is becoming real of a lot of her friends. Whether you are doing something else or just listening, it fits in perfectly, and it is full of wisdom and laughs. It is absolutely the best, and I would anything else that Ruby Dee ever had anything to do with because she is the glue that makes it work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    Vicky Twead writes very vividly about her move with her husband Joe from cold grey rainy Old Blighty to exuberant sunsplashed Andalucia in Spain. Her description of the colourful and often eccentric characters of the village and surrounding community are heart warming and as a reader I became very attached to them - so much so that I experienced a keen pang of grief on reading about the passing away of a few of these people. Not least amongst these were the animals who came into their lives. One of these was a bantam rooster who took Spanish machismo and the Latin temperament to its extreme! I also loved reading about the flamboyant and vibrant fiestas that were celebrated and the much coveted first award for the best pudding as one of the happenings at these fiestas. There are also some mouthwatering Spanish/Andalucian recipes in this book that I am really keen to test out!There are some absolutely sidesplittingly funny moments and dilemmas in which the author and her long suffering hubby search themselves in. This is a book that will stay with you a long time after you have read it. You will laugh out loud at odd times when recalling some of the priceless vignettes described in this gem of a book .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    If you wish an simple read, a fun story, and characters you'd welcome into your life, eccentric though they may be, pick up Chickens, Mules, and Two Old Fools. It's currently a 99-cent steal through Amazon's Kindle. You won't be disappointed. It's available in paperback too.I've been reading lots of travel memoirs lately and this one, Victoria Twead's first of many, caught my attention and held it to the end. Tired of the dreary weather in the UK and her husband nearing retirement, Vicky and Joe set out on their "five year plan" to test life in Spain, a country they've visited a lot of times and already loved. They settle in the little village of "El Hoyo" (name changed to protect their privacy), but will they latest the full five years? And, if they do, what then? Will they stay, as Victoria hopes, or will they return to England, as Joe expects?It's a travel-to-an-exotic-land memoir complete with its own "we found a falling-down house and renovated it," and the requisite colourful cast of characters, both the locals and the imported mates from England. And it's got amazing Spanish recipes linked to each chapter. Not sure how that works in the paperback, but in the eBook version, it works 's a lovely book. With enough laugh-out-loud scenes to hold me engaged to the end. Now I'm ready for Victoria's sequels, one of which got her on the NY Times Bestseller list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    When I write a review of a book, I'm not going to reiterate the story line or talk about grammar. I'm going to talk about emotion. How the story created me feel. I wish the story to create me laugh or cry or obtain angry. Something! This book does it better than most. I think I had a smile on my face most of the time. Then there were the times I just laughed right out loud. It's entertainment at it's best and I can't endorse it enough. You'll grin from ear to ear right from page one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    Enjoyed this story of folklore from the American South that was collected by the author almost a century e first part of the book starts out with her traveling to Eatonville Florida and meeting some of her mates from her youth and listening to them tell a lot of the stories "lies" that they have passed back and forth throughout the generations. Some of those stories I've certainly evolved over the years. Some of those stories I have heard being told in the white e next half of the book she goes to Louisiana to learn about voodoo. Some of the voodoo rituals were quite odd but interesting to learn about as I knew nothing about Voodoo and I really didn't know that it was that common in America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    First I read their eyes were watching God which I highly recommend. Since eyes was so amazing I got this one while I love somethings about it like the personnalities and the day to day interactions of the characters. I also enjoyed the method Zora makes these characters so familiar that you feel like your in the setting with these guys as the walk and talk and clown amongst each other. This story is a bit hard to follow because she is bouncing from one hero to another and most characters have one paragraph, some one sentence before she moves to another then another. It becomes annoying. I gave it four stars because its worth to be a part of this bouncy zig zaggy novel. But if you really wish to witness a master piece you must read "thier eyes were watching God" by Zora. Guys it is a love story but its not mushy and its place together better than this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    If you're looking to experience sunny Spain, and maybe even life in a little village tucked in the Alpujarra Mountains, and without leaving home, then CHICKENS, MULES AND TWO OLD FOOLS is the book for roaching retirement, Vicky and her husband, Joe, one day decide to package up their bags and leave their comfortable Sussex, England home and settle in the village El Hoya, Spain. It is not long before they come to learn village life is full of surprises and quirky mishaps, and with hilarious culture clashes at every turn. When Vicky and Joe unintentionally search themselves chicken farmers, Vicky says:"Oh, Please! Our Spanish neighbours already thought we were insane, sitting on the yellow sofa gazing at our flock, letting them hop onto our laps, talking to them."Whether saved by a mule or sitting at a party table in the middle of the street celebrating a neighbour's birthday (and blocking traffic), CHICKENS ... not only paints a warm, humorous and colorful picture of rural Spain, but also tells of how two zany Brits came to fit right in. Light-hearted and full of sunshine. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    As an adventurous 60 something who has a willing spirit but unable body this book grabbed me by the soles of my feet and took me away!I could see hubby and I doing this in years past and adored the stories of the city folk, how kind and generous they were and the adventures(?) Of remodeling in a foreign land and especially the chicken episodes as I owned some once and they can be quite entertaining!There was no time mentioned at first and I wonder if the globe is the same now; could two retirement age people be accepted as they are without being in danger?Perhaps that is why we never left to ramble...worrying about what may happen.Oh yes, I did not mention the fabulous tapas.......Small meals or bites anytime but something we seem to do naturally as we have aged! Yes I tried some and we loved each one so n't wait to read next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    A very interesting book. Ms Hurston came from the not good rural African-American communities in central Florida, moved north and became well educated, studying anthropology with F. Boas, then returned to her native locations with the intention of documenting their language and lifestyle. It's an uncommon situation -- can you be an objective observer and at the same time a member of the community you're studying? On the one hand you certainly lose objectivity; on the other you know your topic in a method a stranger never could. The effect is a book special in its genre, and one I personally recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    An entertaining read once you obtain use to the characters speaking in their vernacular. Took twice as long to read, but would recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools is a witty memoir about suburban Brits from Southern England who retire to a little mountain village in Andalucía, Southern Spain--and the culture shock that ensues. Not quite in the same league with Peter Mayle's My Year in Provence, but a delightful read. I found myself cackling at 2 AM, trying to squelch a full-blown hee-haw. Vicky Twead is a delightful writer, with an apt eye for detail and the comedic.I enjoyed Vicky's self-deprecating humor; cameos of her husband Joe's often mulish behavior, were hysterical. I found myself listening for the tap-tap paaaart of Old Santos making his rounds. Loved Mother (a bit like Lady Haversham), and the Gin Twins were priceless. Sometimes I even forgot Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools was a memoir, not a novel. The embedded recipes were neat too--loved that they were merely a link away, and didn't interrupt the cky and Joe Twead's unexpected chicken farmer adventures are the hilarious crowning, er, crowing glory of the book. Vicky captures the angst of clueless town folks who suddenly become chicken farmers. Back to the land movement gone awry--replete with a chicken palace. I did wonder if some of those oddly-named birds wound up in the proverbial stewpot. Certainly should've been a fate for Cocky, the kamakazi bantam rooster--as he was always spoiling for a amazing usual complaint about ebooks, is that they're always in need of an editor and proofreader, stands unchallenged. There were several sentences in need of a amazing overhaul, but the occasional poor sentence didn't detract too much from the storyline. Gripe: Vicky, please don't spell lightning correct one time, and then spell it "lightening" the next time. Yes, "lightning" is an old contraction, but "lightening" means something else entirely different--rather, um, placental in nature. Because the book hasn't quite yet created the transition from journal entry to story, I've given it a four-star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    I rarely re-read a book. I am on my third reading of this humorous adventure of an "ordinary" (you soon realize they are far from that) British couple moving their household to southern Spain. It is told with love and kindness and a remarkable ability to laugh at themselves as well as the unusual situations with which they are presented. Before the book is finished I came to love each of the special members of their adopted village and was able to relate the people to people in my past experiences of living in Spain.Even on this third reading I am finding fresh dimension and depth which, to me, is the hallmark of a amazing writer. I just purchased another copy for a mate of mine who has also lived in both the UK and Spain....she and I are likely to exchange antidotes from the book in the months and years to word of warning....This author currently has two more books in the same genre as well as a very informative book on how to write and publish a memoir...the warning....I had to the other three books before I even finished the first. Just set aside some time for laughter, learning and share a part of this extraordinary tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    This is an awesome part of the historical fabric of the black south. And, being from Cuba, it was so cool to see the similarities between Hoodoo from NOLA and Santeria from Santiago. Just an amazing, provocative book. She was a master of anthropology, history and creative writing. A must-read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    Happy to keep adv product, on time and as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    I don't know how this goes unnoticed but I bought this book as a needed reading for a seminar and had me a amazing surprise when I got to the end of part 1. There were 3 critical chapters missing from part 2 of the book. That was a total of about 30 pgs. I still cant explain how this went unnoticed. This rating has nothing to do with the content of the book but rather more so to do with an problem of the missing chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mules and Men (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) []  2020-7-6 18:30

    Zora Neale Hurston is an American master. This book documents her submersion into the voodoo/hoodoo stage in Florida and Fresh Orleans providing unparalleled insight into the lives of post-slavery/pre-civil rights African Americans in the South. The inventiveness of the characters, the tragicomic tales, the vocabulary, the authenticity of Hurston's portrayals, and her high-risk investment in anthropological participant observation, combine to create this book a classic, not to mention a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools []  2020-1-19 21:26

    As soon as I began reading I was drawn in to the story of Victoria and her husband, Joe, who create a plan to move to Spain for 5 years from the UK. The writing is clean, clear and engaging with funny metaphors and similes that had been laughing out loud at times, feeling warm and fuzzy at other times, and not wanting to place the book down at others. We follow their journey through moving and setting up house in Spain and refurbishing and rebuilding, mates visiting, and then building fresh houses on their orchard, all with local stories and charm which created me wish to go to El Hoya, the small village in Spain where they landed. Bravo on a story well told in a funny and heartwarming way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sunset Surf []  2020-1-11 20:16

    This is one of the best of the surf sound CDs I've heard, and I've listened to several. Most of those that I've tried before have sounded a small too "menacing" unless kept low enough to create the waves seem further away. This recording has a much more gentle, relaxing afternoon-at-the-beach sound. One can almost feel the breezes and the warm setting sun. A pleasant method to wind down after a tense day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Highway Surf [App]  2019-2-17 13:47

    It is awesome android game with mini graphics and I m enjoying playing it. Loved the melody and sounds in it. Can u please tell me which melody theme is in the game, I really like it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Highway Surf [App]  2019-2-17 13:47

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    It looks like old pc android game with related name but have better graphics. Controls seems hard. I hope to see Top Hunter by Neo Geo or somehow ported to mobile along with 2 players option... I only played 3 mins but its worth a test if you are into surfing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    some changes needed.... like guide are not so good... guide season is more necessary for any game....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    really not as amazing as it could be. the graphics are poor and the controlls are even worse for a 2019 android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    Its Amazing But the Controls Need Some Work. Theyre Too Sensitive & Could You Add Tilt? I Prefer Those Types Of Controls Over Touch

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    so excited to this r me its good.just add more surf spot and more surfboard or brad domke skimboard

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    I'm trying to search which part is quite amazing enough for me to give this android game a amazing rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    cant give it a amazing review when there is no clear method to score or anything in the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    need come control improvement and graphics but this is nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    It's amazing game, amazing graphics, everything is so great, it enjoys playing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    i hate the control

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Panda Surf [App]  2019-1-21 22:32

    This is preetty much the best android game ever I love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cyber Surf [App]  2019-7-29 21:38

    Almost what I wish from a mobile surf game. Unfortunately I search the controls a bit too frustrating. One thumb control related to a joystick would bump this up for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chilanga Surf [App]  2019-10-24 13:52

    Un estilo fresco, buenas fotos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Graphics []  2020-1-29 17:10

    5 stars says it all, perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KSF Surf [App]  2020-6-24 22:24

    convenient

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Ninjas []  2020-7-27 0:3

    YESSSS, So glad this is now on DVD. I hope they obtain a blu-ray ver eventually. This was one of my favorite films as a kid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Ninjas []  2020-7-27 0:3

    The first time I watched this film I instantly knew it would be one of those that stuck with me. The quality of the filming reminds me of the type of films that I use to see in theaters growing up so it has a large nostalgia factor to it for me. The Story is Sub-par for it but I still enjoyed it thoroughly. I don't have a magic Android game Gear to tell me what others thinks of this film but I know that my Brother and his family enjoyed this throw-back film while watching it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Caribbean Surf []  2020-7-28 21:28

    The tape only ran for 27 minute much to short,.for the I would expect it to be at least onehour

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Caribbean Surf []  2020-7-28 21:28

    Like the latest reviewer, I carefully inspected the cover and it created no mention of music. I was disappointed to hear any at all. It's real that it's fairly unobtrusive, but I was looking forward to water sounds, wind in trees and perhaps the occasional wildlife sounds, not music.I'll hold looking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Athlete [App]  2019-8-10 13:22

    This application has been a amazing workout buddy for me when I'm not surfing. It has actually gotten me to train more often because it is simple use and track what I've done and what I need to do each week. The workouts are effective and well designed. Obtain this application if you wish it improve you fitness in the water!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    I have only playes this android game for a few hours but i love it. It looks amazing and plays well. The controls are simply but don't be fooled, this android game is really hard to master. You might think this is a poor thing, but I think it makes the android game a small more real to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    I like the game, it's beautiful fun and overall a amazing experience. The only issue is the tutorial, I feel as if it doesn't explain much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    half screen is blank and other half screen is playing thr game, restarted, reinstalled everything same problem

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    very poor fps would be amazing if it was better

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    the controls are very poor fix

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    Such a amazing game, reccomend it! Thanks for putting it on android device

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    yolo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Panda Surf [App]  2019-1-21 22:32

    Inlove with the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Highway Surf [App]  2019-2-17 13:47

    goood

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sunset Surf []  2020-1-11 20:16

    Though it is on Cape Cod, the waves sound just like the ones I've encountered on the Atlantic side of FL.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sunset Surf []  2020-1-11 20:16

    This Cd is about 20 years old now and the recording sounds a bit thin, like rustling paper. I love that there aren't a whole bunch of squawking seagulls and that it's an "Atlantic" sounding beach, however. The shop is flooded with huge "Pacific" sounding ones in this genre. The is ok, but all things considered, I like the Cape Cod Soundscapes series here better, and how each one is labeled with the individual beach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chilanga Surf [App]  2019-10-24 13:52

    Very well designed application. Helps with all your IT needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Graphics []  2020-1-29 17:10

    It's the amazing compilation of the SURF/Skate art and quired on your quired on any library.I recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Supertones Surf []  2020-1-16 22:41

    Never really listened to surf melody much but I herd a song by the Sadied that blew me away, so I started picking up cd's of various surf bands, and what better method than getting a complication album with a bunch of the newer bands. I enjoyed the various styles of play and what a better band to mimic than the Surftones

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Ninjas []  2020-7-27 0:3

    First impressions are deceptive. You might think this movie, at best, a diversion suitable for a bored 13-year old on a Saturday afternoon. You are in for a shock. Surf Ninjas is one of the funniest flicks to come out of Hollywood in the past decade. Johnny (Ernie Reyes, Jr.) and Adam (Nicolas Cowan) are two Asian-American surfer dudes growing up with foster dad Mac (John Karlen), literally on the beach in southern California. School is a bore (Director Neal Israel does an amusing cameo as their hopelessly out-of-it principal). All that matters to them is riding the next wave, until a gang of camouflage-clad assassin ninjas shows up to assassinate them. Of course, the ninjas were sent by Colonel Chi (Leslie Nielsen), so although they look like Delta Force, they war more like Keystone Kops. The team of ninjas bumbling around southern California stick out like so a lot of sore thumbs. "Gee, those camouflage uniforms sure give them an uncanny ability to blend chameleon-like into their surroundings," observes Rob Schneider, in an hilarious turn as Iggy, Johnny and Adam's surfing-challenged i overthrew Johnny and Adam's biological father, the king of Patusan, a lot of years earlier, and now seeks to murder the two princes. Upon learning of their destiny from the mysterious, one-eyed Zatch (Ernie Reyes, Sr.), the boys return to Patusan to overthrow Chi and claim their throne. Johnny discovers love and his fighter heritage. Adam learns he is a seer, who can fortell the future (by peering into the screen of his Sega Android game Gear.)Reyes, Jr., is more than just an accomplished martial artist and owner of some of the best upper-body musculature ever captured on film. He also gives a performance full of charm, romance, innocence, youthful exuberance, and a delightful bonus for physical comedy. He does a lot of of the kung fu scenes in a state of bewilderment, as his moves are directed by his fighter ancestors. (This is surely a lot harder than it looks.) Cowan's comic timing is impeccable. (When Zatch informs him that a certain remote jungle village is the home of a amazing holy man, Adam deadpans, "Wow, then I gotta obtain a T-shirt.")Schneider is memorable as Iggy, the comic sidekick, commenting drolly on the proceedings ("The Mee Grob Hilton, serving strange things in shells since 1207.") and insisting, hilariously, that it is acutally he, and not Johnny, who is the deposed prince imbued with supernatural powers. It is refreshing to see a movie where the Asian guy is the romantic lead and the white guy is the sidekick. (This was years before Shanghai Noon, remember.)Tone Loc adds another comic dimension as Lieutenant Spence, an LAPD detective who follows the boys to Patusan. When knocked to the ground and surrounded by Patusani soldiers wielding automatic weapons, the unarmed Loc gamely displays his badge and says, "LAPD! Freeze, punks!!" It gets him nowhere, but give him 10 out of 10 for chutzpah. Reyes, Sr., as Zatch, the one-eyed, deadly serious Patusani royalist, evokes laughter by his stony-faced refusal to be amused by the absurdity of the proceedings. (The Zatch-eye view through a pair of binoculars is one of the film's best visual jokes.)The main players are not only amusing as individuals, but play off versus each other with some hilarious ensemble work, such as the bit where our heroes are captured by and escape from Chi's soldiers, and the unforgettable "Money can't knives" sequence.Unfortunately, the one sour comic note is the miscasting of Nielsen as Colonel Chi. Nielsen does his best Frank Drebben, but he's just too darn lovable to accept as a ruthless Third Globe spite of this one shortcoming, Surf Ninjas maintains a deft comic balance as it rides wave after wave of comic invention. And you will never again hear the Beach Boys' classic "Barbara Ann" in the same way. Okay, so you don't have to tell the whole globe you bought a film called Surf Ninjas. Just obtain it, watch it in private, but create sure no one's close enough to hear you laughing. And when you're finished, lock it away in a strongbox labeled "Guilty Pleasures."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Caribbean Surf []  2020-7-28 21:28

    I love this cd. We had this cd back in the mid 90's, we played it every night to support us drift off to sleep with the sounds of ocean waves, and every now and then, off in the distance, you can hear the steel drums. We listened to the cd so a lot of times we completely wore it out. I purchased this cd to replace that one lost so long ago....and it's still lulling me to sleep....I loaded it into my itunes library and now I can slip into my ipod and slip off into dreamland anytime, anywhere......zzzzzzzzzzzz...........

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Caribbean Surf []  2020-7-28 21:28

    Amidst all the temperate location surf recordings, this one adds a very distant steel drum band, just on the edge of audible, and an occasional jungle bird. Occasional -- it does not sound like someone threw pakalolo seed in the aviary, but realistic, like the jungle next to the apartment I used to live in. I don't use these for sleeping, but for mood and to drown neighborhood noise while I work. This one feels warm and sunny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Highway Surf [App]  2019-2-17 13:47

    Worst graphics, worst controls. I need not say anything else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    I'd love to give this android game at least 4 as it is definitely the most enjoyable surfing android game on mobile(not that there is powerful competition) but lots can be improved. Hero animations are super choppy and general controls should be more flowing to suit the motion of surfing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    this is a 4 cause the controls stick to your brain over time the android game graphics are decent barley experienced any lag but you should create a tournament when like 10 players latest to wipe out but onestly this android games is beautiful amazing I see some major updates to create people obtain this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    the android game isn't as amazing as the iPhone ver but at least android device has a real surf now

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    Amazing Android game 👍 But one thing is controls are worst

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    this android game suck huge time, cannot even control, they should do something about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    nice, hold improve and add more feature on the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    Poor controls..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Surf [App]  2019-4-5 13:27

    poor android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sunset Surf []  2020-1-11 20:16

    Between Cape Cod Morning and Sunset Surf, I don't know which is a more soothing environmental sound experience. Recorded with, at the time, the most sophisticated electronic equipment, it's almost like being at the ocean. These are amazing background sounds to lull one to sleep or wake up gently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Graphics []  2020-1-29 17:10

    Time capsule..both history and contemporary..FUN

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Supertones Surf []  2020-1-16 22:41

    When I bought this album, I wasn't sure what it was going to sound like, since I didn't no any of the bands or songs, I was initally looking for 'old school' surf music, and this album rocks! Its the best of 'old school' surf melody with the evolution of contemporary surf music. Every song on this album is great! If you don't know the band 'The Supertones', and you wish to check out in my opinion their best stuff, this is the album to check out & own. If your into the original instrumental surf sound', this is it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Caribbean Surf []  2020-7-28 21:28

    Seeing as the 1988 cassette tape my wife and I used to fall asleep to, steel drums playing in the distance, was a bit outdated - this search brings back fond memories. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Caribbean Surf []  2020-7-28 21:28

    My wife and I listen to this almost every night as we drift off to sleep. I love the soothing sounds of steel drums faintly in the background, and of course the sound of the surf. It makes me think of being in my hotel room on Paradise Island with the window open, listening to the island sounds as I drift off into blissful sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KSF Surf [App]  2020-6-24 22:24

    thank you for this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Ninjas []  2020-7-27 0:3

    Watched this film when I was younger and wanted to see it again. It's a amazing small 90s style movie, and arrived in a timely manner, in fresh condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Ninjas []  2020-7-27 0:3

    This movie, along with Xanadu is my secret shame. I shouldn't have watched it more than once, but I did. I shouldn't laugh, but I do. This is a stupid, stupid film and I love e best method to describe this film is "Chairman of the Board"(Carrot Top's movie. Yes, I've seen that one too) meets "3 Ninjas".The humor is stupid, but never low-brow (except for Leslie Nielsen's malfunctioning bionic hand scene) and overall the movie is would think that Leslie Nielsen would steal the show, but it's really the interplay between the entire cast that produces the most memorable moments. Although the best lines belong to Rob Schneider's "Iggy".Iggy' monologue about how "Money can't knives" is one of the highlights of the movie and Tone Loc is a funny, if not odd addition to the Ninjas is a fun adventure movie, with plenty of laughs, even if the product placement is a small 's cheap, so go ahead and it already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Ninjas []  2020-7-27 0:3

    I loved this film when I was younger. My brother and I still quote it to each other ("Money can't knives"). I was so excited when I found it on DVD. The quality is amazing for SD DVD (this is not a Blue Ray).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Graphics []  2020-1-29 17:10

    A large Book Full of the Very BEST "Pop-Surrealistic Art" being created today. Be hip, and explore the newest , largest art movement to shake up the ART globe since Dali and Andy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surf Graphics []  2020-1-29 17:10

    Amazing books but yet to test waterproof case

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386