Read surviving parental alienation reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all surviving parental alienation reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    FIRST BOOK THAT HELPED ME REALIZE THERE ARE MANY PARENTS LIKE ME, A REALLY GOOD PARENT WHO WAS NO MATCH FOR MY DIAGNOSED PSYCHOPATH EXHUSBAND WHO RIPPED APART MY SENSITIVE SON. COURTS ONLY SUPPORT THE EVIL PARENT, UNKNOWINGLY, BUT JUST AS DANGEROUS. THEN T O LOSE THE BELOVED SON I JUMPED IN FRONT OF AND TOOK THE BEATINGS INSTEAD, IT NEARLY KILLED ME TO BE ABANDONED BY THAT SAME SON. THE BOOK SAID IT AS THE LOGICAL NEXT STEP. AND WHY, AND THE POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS WITHOUT FALSE SUGARCOATING.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    ...To Amy Baker and Paul Fine for writing this much-needed book to give targeted parents validation, insight and hope to their situations. As a targeted parent for the past 3 years (much longer if you count the pre-separation dynamics that preceded the ramp up to full blown alienation), I have longed for the written companionship that focuses on the experiences of others in the same horrific situation. Whether a parent's painful journey is catalyzed by the calculated efforts of the "favored" parent's overt or covert manipulation, or whether it's due to other factors, this book provides long term proof that reunification with an estranged kid is possible through persistence, guidance, patience, and a clear eye on the targeted goal. I have long held out hope that attaining the unwavering faith that there is a future date etched in stone when each kid will return will actually hasten the process... and thanks to the stories these parents have been brave enough to share, my faith is reinforced. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    I looked for such a book a few years ago when the extreme alienation campaign first began -- how would I survive? How could I obtain through each day, when just a trip to the grocery shop would trigger tears? Baker shows how the ex who seduced a naïve friend could quickly and easily lure their own offspring into their designs and explains the psychology behind it with real-life illustrations to demonstrate this horror. This helped me place myself in my child's shoes, & I am sure her other book, Adult Kids of Alienation: Breaking the Ties that Bind, would support me even more. Baker also validates how psychologists and the legal system are often of no support and even empower the alienating parent who gets away with android games and abuse. As a woman, I felt a small frustrated that Baker did not mention how the court system tends to completely disregard and disrespect distraught mothers. The system wants moms quiet and even lawyers advise us not to tell the truth simply because the judge won't like it or believe us. I have found this not only in my own situation, but by a lot of moms whose abusive ex-husbands turned their children and the system versus them. Alienation versus moms even during marriage has been going on for generations, but a lot of women are silenced by shame, shock, stigma, and court orders, or simply ignorance and confusion. Often alienated moms are portrayed as jealous ex wives who wish to cause problem and should be ignored at best. Other than this oversight, this well-researched book not only much required validation and explanation, but guidance for reconciliation once the kid gains some distance from the alienating parent! This book much required info that bring understanding and direction -- this alone is well worth the of the book.I could relate to the stories by both alienated moms and dads. How they could no longer parent without fear of losing their child, how they were treated hatefully by the kid they loved, and how helpless they felt at stopping this horrific form of abuse. The story of the woman whose mates would not intervene was something I could relate to: my own mom and former mother-in-law were also alienated to a huge extent from my daughter's life once her dad obtained possession of her via fraud and an indifferent court system. Therefore, I really required mates to intervene by contacting the counselor or kid protective service, but especially my child. I was in horror that no one would take effective action to support me and my daughter -- neither the system, nor mates -- I guess they just didn't obtain how the alienating parent puts the target parent and kid in a no-win situation. Finally, the book I required years ago is here. I have read it twice and I highly recommend it. I also recommend sharing the memoir by H.G. Beverly, "The Other Side of Charm: Your Memoir" to anyone who does not "get" how alienation happens to teens even when lawyers, psychologists, etc., are involved. Until the public is educated about Parental Alienation, far too a lot of generations will suffer.

    0  


    Add your opinion on surviving parental alienation or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    The latest chapter covers "Strategies for Reconnecting with Adult Alienated Children". That is the respond everyone wants. Although it warns that there is no magical wand, and I repeat no magical wand, did I say no wand .... I can say that, after searching the entire globe over, it is the best tactic I know of. No it did not work (yet), but I have evidence that it really got them thinking. And the book explains what to do to follow up (it can be (usually is?) more of a process than an event). So I am following up.I see the first 99% of the book as an exercise in the authors demonstrating that they know what they are talking about. I am not sure how to explain it, other than to invoke all trite metaphors: "spooky correct", "psychic", "deja vous all over again", "spot on", "story of my life", and "I yield my time to the Senator from Fresh York". It is a massive dose of empathy. Validation till your cup runs lks, as per the book, it is time for us to suck it up and obtain moving. Now we know in what direction to stagger.If you search something better allow me know, but in the meantime, this and use it.And it has items on how to stay strong. I am going to refocus on that too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    This book describes my situation EXACTLY.I have 2 alienated adult daughters. My largest regret in life is not reading this book/ knowing anything about parental alienation before it ienation is nothing but a tragedy.I want the word would obtain out to all young parents. It is so easily preventable if you just know about it. I was able to prevent my son from also getting alienated, simply by telling him when he was young basically "when your mother and I argue, don't take either side, just be a child and stay out of it". -and he did exactly that I am educated, I am trying everything I can to reverse the alienation by routinely sending them letters of love, which they may not be reading. I am not getting the help I feel is important from relatives, and so my daughters may be literally lost for life, in more ways than one. Now that I found out what is going on (too late), divorce is on the horizon sad, it is one of the worst forms of kid abuse, and I didn't realize it until it was method too late. It's too hard for the average parent to know the difference between alienation and typical pre-teen/ teen rebellion. Just spending a lot of time with them does not prevent it, I can vouch for that. It's too hard to ID an alienating spouse unless you are an expert until it's too late.I have lost my 2 loves of my life for at least 15 years now and counting...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    I really can't say that I love it. I went 15 years without any contact with my biological children. I tried to place it behind me, then one day, the daughter appears in my life again, she's no longer under her mother's control, she's now a parent herself. I think becoming a parent may have helped her understand the pain in my life and opened her to the chance of reuniting. I am glad that people are still building on the teachings of Richard A. Gardner M.D. If you think this book is going to wash away all your pain, forget it, if you wish to know that you're not alone in your suffering, consider it gold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    Unfortunately I have firsthand experience with this issue. I couldn't understand why both of the girls I raised with nothing but love their entire lives decided to turn on me after their mother uncerimoniously decided to dump me with no warning after 35 years together. I was heartbroken and devastated as we were the couple people used to point to as the best example they knew of as a satisfied marriage. I never abused my children, never hit them, loved them more than anything. It took me almost a year to recover. When one day my oldest daughter told me I wasn't welcome at her college graduation and my youngest followed suit regarding her High school graduation my heart was broken a second time. A mate who knew my situation told me about PAS. As I researched it I realized that I wasn't alone and my wife was the textbook example of it. This book is a major part of that. Even my therapist had never heard of PAS, and she's been practicing for decades. I now understand. And have hope and can start to see a light at the end of this very dark tunnel. If you're going through this he'll right now, but this book. It will help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    It’s a dreary rainy Saturday here in Dallas. I used to love days like this- it was an excuse to not leave the house- just have fun a day in with movies, something cooking in the crockpot, and snuggling on the couch; a excellent mommy daughter day.... For the past 3 years, days like this are just a sad reminder that the attractive daughter God blessed me with, the daughter who I shared a bond like none other with for 14 years, seemed to have vanished in the blink of an eye...I have experienced, I feel like, every possible emotion- sadness, anger, shock, denial.... This book was delivered to my porch ,earlier today- I have only place it down to write this review...Wow, they obtain it! I will modernize soon...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    Amy J L Baker has focused her career on helping alienated kids by helping their targeted parents. If your kid refuses to see you for frivolous reasons and you have not abused or neglected your child, if your non-co-parenting-co-parent is interrupting visitation & communication with your kid and is waging a campaign of denigration versus you then you may be dealing with an active parental alienation campaign designed to rob your kid of your love and affection. You need to educate yourself in to avoid the common pitfalls and to know how to support your child, and this book is a amazing start. I've read several other of Dr. Baker's books, all of which were worthy of the time and money. I recommend her books to parents, judges, mental-health professionals, lawyers and educators.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Parental Alienation: A Journey of Hope and Healing []  2020-1-17 21:50

    My kid is a young adult and it is difficult to search info for my particular situation. This book is a very amazing start. I am glad to have the letter outline to work with and will be spending time in that sphere. I (of course) was hoping for better news, but a little possibility at reconciliation is still hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation Court Guide: A Fathers' Rights Guide []  2020-2-4 16:24

    I am being asked to review the first 10 pages of this book... not sure why but will be satisfied to review when completed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essentials of Parental Alienation Syndrome: It's Real, It's Here and It Hurts []  2020-1-21 20:47

    Kids can and do become alienated by the behavior of one parent. Most US States have laws to prevent it, requiring both parents to promote the relationship with the other parent. When one parent fails to do so and actively denigrates the other parent, alienation can occur. Whether the term "PAS" is appropriate or not, the behavior and consequences are real. Alienators who are targeting another parent love to test to portray alienating behavior as "unreal" in to bolster their own behavior. Attorneys and courts have seen it and recognized it - reviewers who say otherwise are uninformed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Upon the very first opening, the contents detached from the cover - literally. I would expect that at this the binding would be sturdier! Hopefully the info proves more reliable!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Lots of amazing research and thoughtful opinions. Very amazing reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Valuable information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    The reactions to Parental Alienation has been highly divided, but the scientific data is now abundant. When I first wrote about Parental Alienation (syndrome) in 1998, there was very small empirical research. People often weighted in based on their subjective issues. The nay-sayers' primary argument was that they simply did not believe it no matter how much data. Such people will always be around, but for the objective minds, we now have the definitive scholarly text with over 1000 references. I heard from mothers and fathers and grandparents world-wide about the psychological kid abuse caused by Parental Alienation, but they often did not have psychologists or attorneys who knew enough about it to support them. Now they have this book which is an perfect source for anyone involved in kid custody problems and Parental Alienation. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essentials of Parental Alienation Syndrome: It's Real, It's Here and It Hurts []  2020-1-21 20:47

    There is a lot of controversy about parental alienation syndrome. Robert Evans looks at the syndrome from a lot of perspectives and yet the true focus is on how the kid is affected by parents who are so hateful and punitive towards each other that kids become the war field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Cover is upside and backwards...doesn’t read or begin as a traditional book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    Excelente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essentials of Parental Alienation Syndrome: It's Real, It's Here and It Hurts []  2020-1-21 20:47

    This book provided an perfect overview of Parental Alienation Syndrome. I appreciate the method it clearly states what must be show in to accurately diagnose this syndrome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    More therapists/attorneys/judges need to read this book to understand what really happens during divorce. You can not be so naive as to expect that both sides will take the high street and hold the children out of it. There is a lot of to lose when a separation occurs and some wish a windfall and will do anything including damaging the relationship with the other parent. Parental Alienation is serious and is typical of what a narcissistic parent would do to obtain as much control and kid help as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    This book is well written by some of the best experts in the field. Dr. Bernet in particular is a scientist that actually has quantified the degree of alienation based on his seminal work on splitting (published in 2018). Alienating parents who wants to sever ties between a kid and the other parent generally have personality disorder (narcissistic and/or borderline) - normal parents do not engage in such psychologic kid abuse (Read Craig Childress work on this). Although narcissistic parents has used weaknesses in the legal system to defect this type of kid abuse, it is becoming crystal clear among psychologists in the field who with this on regular basis that protective separation is needed for treatment of this condition - outpatient therapy makes it worse (Templer et al 2017). Another issue with this condition is that it is passed on in the formal of mental health condition to later generations - this cycle of abuse needs to stop. There needs to be zero tolerance for alienation if we are to protect kids - Brazil passed a law in 2010 making PA a criminal offence - yes, a parent can go to jail for alienating a kid from the other parent. A lot of countries are behind on this, including USA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essentials of Parental Alienation Syndrome: It's Real, It's Here and It Hurts []  2020-1-21 20:47

    It is definitely not a book written to give answers regarding what possibly can be done to resolve the problem of Parental Alienation , but rather to give confirmation to those looking for answers as to why a kid has been alienated , and what happened to cause such unwarranted feelings of hatred , and all poor , and negative thoughts , and memories , all unwarranted , and it is at least of amazing comfort , and feels amazing to have everything suspected validated to the exact info that create you feel as if this author has been a witness to everything you have experienced . Knowing exactly what happened is a feeling of relief , that is a feeling of large black cloud of guilt suddenly lifted off your shoulders because everything that created no sense , now does ! Would highly recommend anyone searching for answers to what happened to break all ties to your own kid will be enlightened by reading this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essentials of Parental Alienation Syndrome: It's Real, It's Here and It Hurts []  2020-1-21 20:47

    I think this book should be mandatory for Guardian ad Litems of which I am. It's critical to know how to separate (PA)Parental Alienation from other causes of child/parent alienation's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    This book provide clinical and legal understanding of parental alienation and how to treat and classify the problems for custody decision making.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Alienation: The Handbook for Mental Health and Legal Professionals (Behavioral Science and Law) []  2020-2-7 20:36

    I haven’t had the opportunity to read the book but I had to say how thankful I am to see that PAS is now recognized as abuse. I first read about PAS in 1995 from one of Dr. Richard Gardner’s books. I called his office in Fresh York with excitement that someone, anyone knew what I was going through. He was nice enough to return my phone call & after a brief conversation he confirmed & he warned me. Small did I know to what extreme my ex would go or just how serious this was. It happened so fast. II have not seen or talked to my children since 2003. They’ve been brainwashed into thinking I’m a creature that I left them because I did not love them instead of what really happened which is I had a vehicle wreck which was life threatening, was fighting a rare bone infection where I lost my leg after 23 surgeries. During this time I wasn’t allowed to talk to them. I’ve tried dealing with it through my psychiatrist, prayer, & more prayer. I was disabled due to my depression & PTSD not my leg problem. My rights of a mother where taken from me ...it took my life & the courts allow it happen. I’ve been Suicidal . And it’’s getting worse. It’s too late for me but II’m so thankful to see some support for others so they don’t feel the pain of being violated in their nightmares like I do! Thank you Dr. Gardner for your vision xx

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    This book explains with amazing detail what parents do to alienate kids from the other helps understand what are they doing and why, so you can manage the conflict better, and does have some advise on countermeasures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    This should be given out to everyone at the law office when they are hiring a lawyer. I want I had this from the start. I was given the info of this book from a help group I belong to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    By far one of the best books we've found on how to with our custody situation. My husband has an ex who he was never married to and there have been some beautiful substantial problems with visitation. We found this book to be very helpful and the lawyer we discussed it with found it was unbelievable for helping us organize our information. We've had several mates begin telling people about it as well. We've read a lot of books on the topic and this was by far the best!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    Helpful read for parents who are alienated and need language to war back without being alienating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    Invaluable advice. I was in a custody war with my ex husband for nine years. Had a high priced lawyer and all, but got nowhere with the judge. This book helped me realize what proof the judge required to create an informed custody decision. I now have full custody of my kids and I owe it in part to this book. It finally helped me organize all my info and show it to the judge in a method she could understand. It also helped me realize that even thought I know my case through and through, the judge only knows what both parties show in the method of evidence because they have hundreds of cases. YOU need to show solid evidence and this book can support you do that. Amazing luck and remember, it is about the children lives, not your wants!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    When you’re going through a divorce with a self absorbed narcissistic personality you will search this book useful for not pulling your hair out. Outside of this book just obtain ready for battle as conflict divorce sucks and is very expensive. Best tip is To never obtain married in the first put as it’s just a obligation not about relationships but more about control and government. Just like the obligation to jewelry such as a diamond wedding ring that really means absolutely nothing in the huge picture of relationships. Protect your hard work your investments and your ability to retire one day by not making the mistake of getting married. Never ever give up your war for your children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    I only gave this 3 stars because I was hoping there would be more about preparing for trial, for testifying and dealing with the types of questions attorneys ask during cross examination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    The only winners are the Lawyer's. e losers are the Court?RAPE COURT FOR MEN!IT'S A BUSINESS. 5 BILLION A YEAR.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    Much of this book is about parental alienation in a post divorce a person just getting started, and trying to anticipate problems, this wasn’t as helpful. However I was able to glean some insights from the exercises provided.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The High-Conflict Custody Battle: Protect Yourself and Your Kids from a Toxic Divorce, False Accusations, and Parental Alienation []  2020-1-15 22:32

    Gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Tao Lin's special language, which synthesized his experiences with Terence McKenna, psychedelics, and Kathleen Harrison, wormed its method into my heart, soul, and actual dreams at night. I learned a lot of fresh things that I can't quite place into words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Overall, the book was ok. The author does a amazing job writing about Mckenna; those were the parts of the book that I liked: in particular, chapters 1 & 2. I stopped reading after the section on DMT... that part of the book seemed so painfully irrelevant, so scattered, and the next chapter seemed to be going right along in the same direction... I just had to place it down. Sorry, Tao.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    This book is worth the if you are fascinated by Terence McKenna as the author, a devotee, has an extensive knowledge of him. The first section focuses on Terence and his insights. Otherwise a self indulgent acc of a relapsing pathetic drug addict, impossible for me to finish. If you wish to be inside the muddled self centered mind of a person struggling with addiction you might rate it higher than me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Amazing literature

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Started well ... no rhythm very scattered near the end. Author is a interesting person but he and his writing seems schizophrenic. It’s basically him sharing his random thoughts with us the reader, but there is no conclusion no true insight just a random stream of consciousness. I was hoping for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Enjoyed a lot. Felt amazing about the psychedelic stuff. If you've listened to a lot of Mckenna some parts feel familiar but it's fun to read Tao extrapolating from that and compare with ideas/events from his own life, like he also does with Weston A. Price and Riane Eisler. I like how he doesn't completely subscribe to any one view of the modern world. He seems to simultaneously be able to view a lot of parts of it as bleak and other parts as exciting and even hopeful. I think he took Terence a small too seriously about the 'I don't believe anything' thing. He said that a lot but it still feels, to me at least, like he strongly leaned towards Novelty Theory being true, and was also firmly rooted to the need for an Archaic Revival. He often seemed to me like a 'True Believer,' but one who was savvy enough to know how skeptical people were of both experts and evangelicals and so said things like that he only had 'models' (but I think it's only the top level stuff--things that seemed obvious to him, like that psychedelics would have to become necessary for a positive future outcome for humanity --that I think he firmly held to. A lot his ideas he did probably, it seems, view as expendable) But since I kind of believe that items it didn't really bother e book also encouraged me, through reading about Tao's experience with and gratefulness towards it, to start again to use cannabis with a fresh attitude of viewing it as it's own intentional helper. I like this fresh view and how it's making me feel. I wanted to see some more things about the relationship between psychedelics and spirituality. Terence said various things. Like he sometimes said they were obviously intertwined, maybe earlier in his career i'm guessing, and then other times said items like he wasn't sure they had much to do with each other. I wanted (at some point before reading the book, imagining what the book was going to be about) to hear about Tao's view on the matter, but maybe it wasn't considered to be interesting or relevant or maybe it was not considered at all. The back of the book said items about 'what happens after death?' but that wasn't really talked about except for repeating without not a lot of examination Terence's 'death is a release into the the imagination.' Realizing now that I'd been assuming that a lot of people reading the book would be familiar with Terence's ideas but I overestimated the overlap of people who are interested in him and Tao because of his (Mckenna's) prevalence on Tao's online, (mainly Twitter it seems) presence, and that maybe to a lot of people these are going to be 100% fresh ideas which will, due to their newness, have a huge result on them, which seems exciting (just to have a lot of people discussing, or maybe just thinking about, interesting ideas, even ones that are maybe smirked at by certain various kinds of people).One of my favorite parts of the book was in the epilogue when Tao feels depressed and poignantly assures himself, despite the depressive thing of it seeming permanent, that there would come times that he would feel better. I view 'Trip,' or at least a lot, of it as kind of a culmination of the latest months or maybe years of Tao's online presence, having followed probably all of it. I view the new, before-unseen parts, like his detailed trip reports and a lot of the Kathleen Harrison items as a sort of 'bonus.' I intuit that there are more things I vaguely feel like I can convey about my experience of reading 'Trip,' but am self-conscious about how long this review is for an Amazon comments section, and am so going to stop typing after the next sentence. I greatly appreciate everything Tao Lin writes makes me feel more interested in art and less alone in the world, and I feel massively grateful for him having communicated his Mckenna-influenced worldview and sharing his often-convincing view of and beliefs about both modern and general living.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    While the book lacks the quiet desperation that colors Tao’s earlier work, it’s created up for in an ever-researching, optimistic ‘trip’ towards recovery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Its all trippy here. Amazing reading, amazing insights, amazing information, perfect writing. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    I selected this book to read during 26 hours of travel. Parts were interesting and engaging, but the excitement was not sustainable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Lin is hyper-detailed, seemingly socially awkward, brilliant, acute, exploratory, brave and curious. While at times he seems to go into too much detail about mundane ongoings, I'm thinking that's the point. He describes recordings down to the second, pays acute attention to everyone he interacts with, and locations it humorously and starkly in context. "Trip" is beautiful, created me feel nervous, anxious, excited, sad, giddy and curious- I respect Lin and see quite a bit of myself in him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    Really well written and fills in some gaps about this story. I would recommend this book. I enjoyed his writing style very much, and how the book was laid out.While I recommend the book for the story, there are lots of typos, which I personally search distracting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    I found this book to be very well-written...so well-written that I was disturbed for days after reading it. The descriptions of the author's surroundings and experiences created me feel like I was there with him. I had an almost physical reaction reading about the bodies littering K2, and the horrible method those people died. Although I search it almost fool-hearty to tempt death in such a way, and I fail to see the glory in such endeavors, I applaud the author for writing his story. I especially appreciate the honest method he presented his own involvement in this expedition, the good, the bad, and the ugly, without any self-aggrandizement at all. Not a lot of non-fiction books are hard to place down, but this one truly is exactly that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    This story is sad. I have always been interested in volcanoes and the forces that shape our planet. The people who study volcanoes have a risky job. They are pioneers. I enjoyed this book but it is sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    While writing a children's book (Wild Earth: Volcano!), I interviewed two volcanologists: Stan Williams and John Ewert, a USGS scientist who was at Pinatubo in Pinatubo, in the Philippines, was the second-greatest eruption of the 20th century. After planting equipment on the rumbling volcano, scientists bunkered down at Clark Air Force Base. They were nearly certain the volcano would blow. They also knew, from geologic evidence, that Pinatubo was strong enough to bury the base.Even so, the scientists could not predict the exact moment and size of the explosion. In fact, there were lots of explosions. A huge explosion a few days before the really huge one spewed ash and rock for miles. When the huge blast did happen, the scientists hightailed it out of the base through fallout: a black rain of acidic ash and volcanic rocks. John Ewert told me that, in hindsight, they probably should not have stayed so e point is that those scientists could have been injured or killed at several points in time--by a mini-explosion of rocks as they were setting up equipment, by a collapsed roof at Clark Air Base, by fallout as they zoomed away in their jeeps. They weren't reckless. They were cautious. Yet they still could have died. Studying active volcanoes up close is a very risky o years after Pintatubo, in 1993, six scientists and three tourists did die on Galeras volcano in South America. They were assaulted by a "hiccup" on the volcanic scale--a relatively little explosion in which a volcano clears its throat, spitting up hot rocks the size of TV sets. To tiny, ant-like humans on a large mountain, any explosion, no matter how small, can be e exact time of such explosions isn't 100 percent predictable. Despite rapid advances in technology and knowledge, volcano science is an educated guessing android game full of probabilities and percentages and confusing, conflicting, or incomplete an Williams and his squad were preparing to descend Galeras when the explosion occurred. Had they left a small earlier, they would have been safe. Had they gone up the day before, as originally planned, they would have been safe. Had the volcano exploded before they went up--thus cancelling the expedition--they would have been safe.On the other hand, had the explosion been bigger, more scientists might have died, including Williams' two rescuers, who were elsewhere on the volcano.I honestly don't know if Stan Williams created a mistake in judgment, or if the scientists were just in the wrong put at the wrong time. Clearly, it's an problem that has polarized people, both scientists and nonscientists.What I found in Williams' book Surviving Galeras was a sensitive man humbled by a life-changing experience. He admits to having had a huge ego, a certain swagger that comes with the title "volcanologist." He admits to getting caught up in the media circus after the accident. He admits to an addiction: being "hooked on the thrill of climbing into the crater."Williams does sound defensive in places, pointing an accusatory finger at what he perceives as overly harsh criticisms by fellow scientists. He describes those criticisms, and then explains why he disagrees. It's his book, his opinion.Whichever side people take, the debate is an interesting one that has already improved safety guidelines for volcano researchers. For example, one criticism is that Williams didn't wear protective gear and, as expedition leader, didn't tell anyone else to do so, either. For years, he and colleagues had climbed active volcanoes in Gortex parkas and sturdy boots. Williams remembers being disconcerted and concerned when the tourists showed up in sneakers and light road o scientists, following U.S. safety guidelines, wore helmets and discussed an evacuation plan in case of an eruption. One of the scientists, Andy Adams, also wore a fire-resistant suit. The precautions saved Adams's life. A helmet might have lessened the severity of Williams' head wound. A suit might have reduced his , Williams points out, Adams has helped create evacuation plans and safety gear part of the international guidelines for volcano safety. Williams himself is a convert. He wears a helmet and protective suit on the job. He says that some scientists still choose not to use the safety gear.I found Surviving Galeras to be both very readable and very human. Williams discusses in an begin and straightforward manner his issues with memory (he suffered severe injuries, including brain damage), the points where other eyewitness stories conflict with his own, his human flaws, the a lot of physical and mental difficulties he is still working to overcome, the strain on his marriage, his new-found humility at no longer being able to pursue his career with the same the heart of Surviving Galeras, Williams and co-author Fen Montaigne tell a riveting, true-life tale of a disastrous afternoon on an active volcano. Through their extensive interviews with other Galeras victims and their families, the authors provide insight into the lives, motivations, and exploits of volcanologists. They place human faces on "the three tourists," a university administrator, his teenage son, and his son's friend, who, in effect, died of e authors explain the science of volcanology in a clear and interesting way, including volcanic eruptions of the past and their lasting impact. In fact, it is that deep commitment to educating the public that prompted Stan Williams, a geology professor at Arizona State, to patiently respond my questions and support me simplify tough scientific concepts for young children. (The interviews took put before Surviving Galeras was published.)As a writer and nonscientist, I applaud Williams' willingness to share his time and knowledge freely. I feel both educated and enlightened by this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    I am fascinated by these high mountains and what it takes for people to climb them. With that I contain the unpredictable conditions of the mountains as well as equipment, planning and preparation, drive and commitment, the state of mind that makes one feel capable of climbing them and the obsession to actually attempt it, often more than once, knowing full well the attempts could end in one's death. While I will never understand how anyone dares create these climbs, this book covers a lot of of what is important to even start the process, then describes the a lot of steps to acclimatize oneself and prepare routes, the a lot of emotions felt over weeks of waiting, climbing up then down, then back up, the anticipation, exhilaration, frustration, sadness, fear, camaraderie built traversing and climbing the difficult and changing terrain. Fascinating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    I am not into mountain climbing, I will never be into mountain climbing. This book gave me a lot of reasons to be wary of mountains and even more wary of individuals who risk their life for no true reward other than private e book is a champion in the sense that it describes settings and effectively conveys the danger the climbers undergo. I would have never guessed climbing (highest peaks) to be so risky as it kills at such a high ggest to read the book and not climb the mountain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    Galeras is a Colombian volcano within hiking distance of the Colombian city of Pasto. When it showed increased activity, several scientists were killed in a minor eruption that created headlines, and provoked controversy: mainly about whether or not the scientists' deaths could have been prevented.Williams book is a well written private acc of the disaster and of William's life afterward, including his struggle with his injuries and his guilt over whether he could have better predicted and prevented the r those interested in vulcanology, it would be a amazing introduction on what scientists do to monitor risky volcanos, and the very true risk that a lot of of them take with small publicity to protect hundreds of thousands of lives of those people living within the shadow of these dangers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    In his quest for knowledge that could save thousands of lives, Williams entered where most would fear to tread, the crater of an active volcano. Like others before him, he was caught by whimsical nature of this most amazing phenomenon. It erupted, taking the lives of six of his colleagues; Williams was perched just over the rim of the crater. Williams, to his own amazement, survived, but remains of some of his mates and co-workers were never found. This book is a testament to the few courageous scientists around the globe who climb and investigate these capricious mountains. Williams captivates the reader with the topic of volcanology and descriptions of those who brave the risks to study the goddess Pele's telling his own story of risk, injury and survival, Williams recounts his life and his colleagues' around the world. They come from a lot of lands - Russia, Italy, Columbia and other regions beset by earth's upheavals. Williams, almost an anomaly as a native of Illinois - far from any volcanic activity [except, perhaps, politically], is intensely dedicated to the science. He describes the different volcanic processes and the impact volcanoes have had down the ages. The aim of the studies is to learn how to forecast eruptions. A major success in that endeavour was the saving of thousands of lives when the Philippine mountain Pinatubo erupted in 1991. Galeras, the Columbian volcano that nearly took Williams life, is neighbour to a city of three hundred thousand, Pasto. Attempts to instill evacuation programmes there was met with derision and resentment - it would damage business.Williams' accounts of volcano disasters create enthralling reading. From Pliny the Younger's attempt to rescue his uncle during Pompeii's popular outburst to modern eruptions, the failure of human populations to accommodate the threat are vivid examples of short-sighted views. Williams stresses the obvious threats, lava flows, "pyroclastic" flows of mud, ash and rocks mixed with toxic gases. He also recounts poorly recognized after effects the debris can evoke - chemical poisonings and crop and herd losses. Famine is a regular effect of volcanic activity. Volcanoes are capable of global climate impact, the most popular being the 1815 Tambora explosion resulting in Fresh England's "Year Without A Summer" which devastated crops and herds over wide areas. Williams attributes the wave of Western expansion to the impact of an eruption "a globe away."As a combined private acc and scientific study, there are few faults in this book. One can only hope someone derives a synonym for "pyroclastic flows" someday. Williams feelings about the happening and the subsequent lives of the survivors are told with intense feeling. One can only sympathise with his distress at losing mates and co-workers and how the families bore up under the stress. His historical accounts cover both fact and mythology. Strangely, although Williams describes a lot of of the gods associated with vulcanism, he omits the only American deity - Pele. As capricious as the Hawaiian goddess is, Williams reminds us that the island volcanoes don't threaten explosive eruptions. While that might some mild comfort to that State, Mammoth Mountain in California remains an unheralded threat to thousands in the Golden State.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    This is a inspirational yet harrowing tale about adventure, climbing, friendship, loss and rehabilitation. Wilco, the author describes his 3 tries up the mighty K2, after nearly killing him in 95, nearly killing his buddy the next time in 06 and than when he finally conquers the mountain during the 2008 disaster season. My eyes were glued to every page, I couldn't place it down? More than any other book Wilco describes the horror that comes with loosing your toes to frostbite, his wife Heleen noting that the rotting flesh on his toes smelled like dead kangaroos she smelled in Australia. Book is also about friendship you have the huge Irish guy Ger, who tragically looses his life trying to save stranded climbers, Cas his best buddy who saves Wilcos life in ninety five and cares for him by poping Wilcos blisters on his feet from frostbite and taking care of him like a nurse. You feel like these guys are modern day Viking explorers and this book talks not just about K2 but goes into Cas and Wilco climbing the Eiger and doing Polar exploration.I would think this book is a must for anyone dreaming of climbing K2, I would also think a non climber would also like this story about triumph and loss. The triumph of trying 3 times to achieve this lifelong goal of climbing K2 and almost twice dying for it and loss over the loss of his toes and the loss of his amazing buddy Ger. Then you have the character of the story loyal Pemba Gyalje Sherpa who as if he was built of stone but not flesh and bone rescues Wilco and the Italian climber Marco in a super human effort in the death zone.****BTW really I suggest getting the digital ver over paper form of this book since the author puts a lot of video links in the book to describe certain parts of book he is talking about. I think my only gripe is that the actual pictures that are included in the book are very low quality, and in this digital age I don't know why they included such low pixel pic, for in book a Wilco talks about his high definition camera, so why did publisher contain pix that look like they were photocopies you obtain on an 1980s printer off a book you got in the libraryWhile the video links are awesome and really support you see visually what your are reading about, it would really support if they could give us some better higher format renderings if those same pictures I can tell the pictures are amazing but the publisher chose to contain crap definition I would think for the sake of dollars or gilders lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    I know that Mr. Van Rooijen is a world-class mountaineer, and his story is compelling, but I think he might have done well to work with someone who is a better writer, as I think some of what he was trying to say got "lost in translation" (or perhaps it was the translation into English that's the problem). Anyone who makes it onto (and down from) K-2 is remarkable, in my view, so I really don't wish to nitpick here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    I would always like to be near craters, drunk with fire, gas, my face burned by the heat. It's not that I flirt with my death, but at this point I don't care about it, because there is the pleasure of approaching the beast and not knowing what is going to catch you. -Katia Krafft, volcanologist The main body of the pyroclastic flow hugged the Mizunashi, but a glowing ash cloud--reaching 840 degrees F--engulfed Maurice, Katia, Harry and the nearby journalists and drivers. The Kraffts, Glicken, and a lot of of the journalists were killed in seconds, their lungs scorched and robbed of air by plugs of ash and mucous, their bodies flash-burned by the heat. -Stanley Williams and Fen Montaigne, Surviving GalerasIt's simple enough to see why this book set off a bidding battle among publishers anxious to print what seems sure to be a bestseller. Stanley Williams is a volcanologist who in 1993 was nearly killed in an eruption on the slopes of the active volcano Galeras in Colombia, an happening which did slay several of his fellow geologists and a few local sightseers. As Williams lay on the ground, one leg nearly severed and his skull fractured after being pelted by flying rubble, two female colleagues led the effort to rescue him. In addition to telling the story of his near death and rehabilitation, a fairly thorough look at the natural history of volcanoes, the history of volcanology, and the state of the science. Williams also warns of the potentially devastating impact that a major eruption might have, particularly because population pressures have moved huge numbers of people into ever closer proximity to active volcanoes. It's a blend of rousing adventure and famous science that has become familiar in such books as The Excellent Storm, Longitude, Into Thin Air, Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea, The Latest River, and a lot of other latest rviving Galeras is at least as amazing as most of these rivals, in fact, the volcanology is interesting enough to create it worthwhile reading even without the obligatory "tragedy." I'm of the opinion that by now these self inflicted tragedies have worn themselves fairly thin. Stanley Williams estimates that there about 300 serious volcanologists in the globe and in the past twenty one years (1979 to 2000) twenty three have been killed by volcanic activity. I've nothing like the background important to criticize the methods used by Williams and others, but of this I am certain, you could obtain most of the measurements that they are getting by walking around these craters if you used passive instrumentation or some kind of remote controlled devices. This is after all the approach used on the Moon and Mars and elsewhere. From what I gather, all they are really doing up there is measuring seismic activity, gravitational and magnetic forces, and the chemical composition of gas releases. It simply doesn't seem imperative that a geologist be squatting there with a vapor hood capturing fumes when a remote control vehicle (obviously you'd have to do some reengineering on it; I'm aware that you couldn't just use one you picked up in the toy section at K-Mart) could do the job equally well and much more stead, the powerful suggestion given off by this book is that it is a matter of machismo and lifestyle for volcanologists to do their work on site. Thus, Williams says : There are geologists, and then there are volcanologists. Only a few hundred scientists work on active volcanoes worldwide, and we share a powerful esprit de corps. Within this community there are those who study dead volcanoes and those who climb on living volcanoes. My colleagues who've never set foot on an active volcano have created amazing contributions, but the best work, I believe, comes from those of us who walk into the crater.Well, I suppose that could be true, but I bet there are perfectly competent geologists, who never leave the lab, who could just look at the measurements that are gathered from these websites and produce equally useful theories about what's going on. The true point of being a volcanologist seems to be entangled as much with the amazing field trips and the bravado of the work as with the underlying science. And that's fine, but it does take some of the edge off of the tragedy to realize that in a genuine sense it need not have happened, absent the scientists find for is is a book to be enjoyed much more for the quite fascinating science and scientific history it includes than for the by now routine adventure tale, which is sure to be its major point on the book promotion circuit. As these stories pile on top of each other, and on top of us not good readers, I search myself losing patience with the folks who take these risks. Stanley Williams has a really interesting story to tell--and with the support of coauthor Fen Montaigne he tells it very well--but it's the story of volcanoes themselves, much more than it is the story of how he nearly got himself killed on the side of ADE : B-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Braces []  2020-1-25 0:41

    Not good outdated information. Boring recipes and the book was not properly formatted for kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Titan [App]  2020-5-2 13:46

    Seems amazing so far

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    Though I haven't finished the book, so far it is full of expectation and pending excitement. I look forward to finishing it because volcanoes have always fascinated me. The fact that it is a real story makes it all the more compelling and tragic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    In 1993 geologists & volcanologists convened in the Colombian city of Pasto, high in the Northern Andes near Galeras which has a long history of eruptions with a surprisingly low body count. About 5 miles from the crater these scientists were making friends, exchanging research & waiting for their trek up to a live one.I wasn't particularly keen to immerse myself into these volcano-jumpers' lives. Hey, the globe is risky enough without actually putting myself into the maw of a seething pustule on the cheek of the Earth about to burst! Right?When Stanley Williams is writing about the history of each volcano & its affect on surrounding landscape; weather & populations; other volcanologists & their stories, he forgets how much he lost on Galeras & up a fully-fleshed absorbing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    Surviving Galeras provides a fascinating and valuable read. The book blends solid, clearly explained science with insightful and honest descriptions of the happenings before, during, and after the catastrophic eruption of Galeras volcano in Columbia. As a field geologist who occasionally works in dangerous environments (but not volcanoes), I found Williams' description of the personalities who do this sort of work and the method they reached decisions to be familiar and, more importantly, entirely rational and reasonable. Williams and Montaigne let the reader to really understand how this type of field scientist works.Anyone who has been in the midst of an happening where people died or were seriously injured knows that memories don't obtain recorded accurately. Williams acknowledges the issue and presents the memories of others as well as his own. Some of Williams's critics have placed an unnecessary blackmark on both their profession and their agencies by airing "dirty laundry". Public rantings have ranged from legitimate (but overly inflammatory) debate over the value of seismic vs. gas flux data to asinine declarations that mandating hard hats would have minimized this tragedy. Fortunately, Williams and Montaigne have stayed with the high street in their book and avoided the temptation of pandering to journalist in find of creating conflict. In this book, Williams shows amazing respect for all his colleagues, even his critics, and one senses the effort to provide balance to the story. I have only been in the field with one person (Patty Mothes) in the book and she is portrayed exactly as the person I know. Williams does not minimize the due to his colleagues, whether for their scientific endeavors or their heroism on the fateful day. He shows remarkable class in honoring his graduate students (a trait all too rare in American academia), praising his fallen colleagues and his rescuers, and presenting the conflicting views of his d science requires a dozens of approaches and, far too often, practitioners of the various styles see themselves as competitors for grant and acclaim. Divergent geologist who view themselves as colleagues serve the profession far better. Valuable info comes from the lab and the computer. But, despite our progress in these "safe" venues of science, field observations still provide critical data. Obtaining that data on active volcanoes requires a personality that accepts, even enjoys, risk. Williams calls these folks, "My kind of geologist." But, some of Williams critics seem to think that this personality trait is better applied to bungee jumping, driving quick cars, and chain-smoking cigarettes instead of striving to better understand a public hazard. Their logic evades me. We need the out-on-the-edge field scientists, and Surviving Galeras helps present us why without denigrating the other approaches to studying volcanoes. We need the lab-oriented geochemist and computer-oriented geophysicists, also. But, the nature of public opinion is that field scientists create sexier topics for the journalist, which seems to annoy some non-field folks. Unfortunately, it appears that the one thing more beautiful to some journalists than a cutting-edge, field scientists is private Surviving Galeras. It's a amazing read....entertaining, informative, and void of the emotional smears that tag other accounts of this dramatic event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    While I've never done much serious climbing myself, I've been enthralled with this pursuit for years and have read a lot of books on the adventures of many. Recently in Men's Journal Magazine, I saw a review of "Buried in the Sky" and knew I had to contain it in my summer reading. Along the way, I noticed this book by climber Wilco, who plays a prominent role in the ill-fated 2008 season that "Buried in the Sky" delves was free, and I parked it on my Kindle...assuming that it probably was a hastily thrown together diary or sketch of one climbers account. I have a lot of books on my Kindle that I've never around to reading for that very me time after I had completed "Buried in the Sky" I stumbled across "Surving K2" on my Kindle and decided I'd skim through it and just jump to the amazing parts. From the first few pages, it did not take long for me to realize that this book is well-written and meticulously detailed acc of the author's multiple attempts on K2. Because it gets into the head of a climber who has almost died more than once on K2...it's a more visceral and gets into the heart of the struggle that climbers face in trying to reconcile facing death every time they climb and the cost to their families. Isn't this a stupid, selfish and not mention expensive thing to do? When you read this book you'll wonder whether these guys really have all their marbles. And yet...you as the spectator and there rooting on because your yourself want you had the guts to do the same....Mallory said, "because it's there." And when you read Wilco's book, you probably won't be able to boil it down to anything more than that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    I enjoyed this book. Of course it's about climbing K2, though the second highest mountain considered one of the hardest to climb if not the hardest. An interesting statistic is that one in four attempts to summit results in death. Of 18 people who summoned this time 8 of them died. I'm not a climber but I search the topic interesting. This book does a amazing job of giving the sense of just what it's like on the mountain when in the camps, becoming acclimated and the actual climb. The book actually covers three attempts and can be a small confusing at times but that's a statement not a criticism. There were quit a few editorial errors. Not a huge but annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    While I'm familiar with this happening and fascinated by the whole story (and greatly saddened by how tragically it turned out), I couldn't obtain past the first page due to the not good writing. I realize that Wilco is a climber and not a writer, but he should have used a ghost or as-told-to writer to do his story justice. The writing simply does not convey any emotion, excitement, enthusiasm or otherwise. I gave it 2 stars because I do know the tragic story and realize it must have been difficult to transfer from memory to paper/computer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving K2 []  2020-1-11 19:2

    While I usually have fun books an climbs on huge mountains, this one didn't have that same feeling of adventure and danger that I usually feel when I read this type of book. It can't be the climb as it was filled with treacherous moments, but the narrative just didn't capture my imagination. It was an okay read, but not terribly as gripping as a subject like this normally can be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    A mate loaned me this book, as he had shared a long hospital experience in Phoenix with Stanley Williams; both of them had grievous head wounds.I write as a geologist, though not a volcanologist. The relevant geologic facts about our planet are beautifully interpreted for the layperson, who is introduced to the little cadre of scientists who work with active volcanoes. I've known two volcanologists with the USGS, both of whom have suffered severe burns in the course of their work; it's a tremendously risky field working alongside a superheated, unknowably complex, hidden, overpressured, shuddering, wildly branching plumbing system.Dr. Williams ego AND his suffering over the loss of so a lot of are both fully on display. Anyone who has experienced severe trauma, especially to the head, knows that their memory is horribly impaired, along with judgment. In my experience people who deliberately put themselves in terribly risky locations MUST have a powerful ego [I've known a lot of carrier pilots; they're often a cocky lot!] with self-confidence in spades. They are adrenaline junkies.I don't second-guess the author; there are probably less than half-a-dozen people in the globe who have the educational background and experience to look BACK at the data pre-eruption and evaluate if the author should have stayed home that day.I do think this is an enormously interesting book, impossible to place down, and a terrific introduction to those few who try, at amazing risk, to save our lives if we live close to one of these fire-breathing monsters. I close with a quote from the philosopher, Will Durant: "Civilization exists by geologic consent, topic to revocation at any moment."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Galeras []  2020-1-22 20:53

    This book, along with Victoria Bruce's acc of the disaster at Galeras are a must read for anyone interested in Earth science or psychology. Williams appears to be a rogue volcanologist with a cavalier attitude about the dangers of working inside an active volcano. The easy fact is that Williams apparently did have some warning that Galeras was not 'sleeping' the day he led the conference into the crater and he did not insist on safety precautions. As leader of the expedition, Williams could easily have demanded that everyone wear safety gear or they would not be allowed inside. Apparently, Williams thinks anyone who is interested in safety is somewhat of a wimp. While hard hats, gas masks and flame retardent suits would not have saved everyone, no doubt a few of the nine might have also lived. The post-disaster story is almost as intriguing as the happenings leading to the disaster Williams appears as a glory seeker 'cashing in' on his compatriots ill-fortune. That is perhaps over-emphasized in Bruce's account. Williams himself suffered a serious head injury that apparently left him with some behavioral issues and difficulty in living a normal life. Nevertheless, he was created aware of how he was portraying the incident and has done small to correct those errors of fact publicly. I highly reccomend you read both accounts. Williams ego comes through strongly in both accounts of the story and yet this book paints a somewhat various picture of the post-tragedy fallout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Home: A Novel []  2020-1-25 16:12

    I liked this 2nd book in the series. The actual story is very interesting and keeps you wanting to know “What’s next!”But...... there were a LOT of typos in this book. Much more than book 1. For the higher than average price, I expected a LOT better editing. Seemed like the author may have changed some hero names during editing as well.[Semi spoiler below…]Author kept bouncing back and forth between which daughter was shot, Taylor or Lee Ann. For the entire chapter, the name kept swapping back and forth. Also seems as if the neighbors name changed from Don to Howard at some point. A lot of times “don” was used in put of Howard’s ere were a few more inconsistencies that didn’t add up and a lot of e hero building wasn’t as powerful as in book 1. So far, this (inexplainable) “instant trust” and friendship between Mr “paranoid and shoot first” aka, Morgan and his fresh pal Jeff really bothered me. It was not in hero with the Morgan we’ve been reading me characters that were rather prominent in the beginning of this book, just seemed to disappear. It felt as though the author got bored with them and decided to just ignore them. The side result is that it made some rather annoying dead ankfully the actual story line was interesting enough that I didn’t just give latest shake of my suspension of disbelief was Morgan and neighbors giving up their home (proposed in the book). It really doesn’t create sense. Perhaps if the reasons were better outlined, it would not be so unbelievable. As it is, it seems foolish to go more primitive. Maybe book 3 will have these reasons more apparent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Home: A Novel []  2020-1-25 16:12

    I really enjoyed this second book in the series even more than the first one! I encourage everyone to read this series and consider stocking your shelves and keeping emergency supplies at hand! Even if you don’t believe in SHTF scenarios hurricanes, earthquakes, tornados, floods, volcanoes, tsunamis, nuclear power plant failures, power outages, and yes... even battles occur. If you’re old enough to read this, 9/10 of those have happened in your lifetime. This series is one of the most realistic portrayals of the various groups of people and how they react in emergencies. Those who step up and take responsibility for themselves, their families, and communities, those who bury their heads, those who wait for others to tell them what to do, those who wait for others to provide for them, those who betray their mates and neighbors — and yes, even those who just close down or give n you survive an emergency or will you just roll over and die without your cell phone? Will your brain even allow you consider emergency scenarios, or are you already burying your head in the sand?Which group are you?How will you react?Think about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackout: Still Surviving []  2020-1-21 20:42

    I'm a huge fan of Craven and he didn't disappoint with this one. Some PA books run on a related theme and plot. Not this one. It has several twists on the genre that I truly enjoyed. A protagonist that isn't your typical amazing guy, having skirted the law growing up, and a light's out situation that didn't effect in every single electronic component failing, all wrapped up in whopping amazing tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Secrets: Still Surviving []  2020-1-10 19:4

    Excellent ending to an awesome series. One of the things I hate when ending a series is feeling like not all my questions were answered and the story has been half left untold. I definitely didn’t feel like that finishing this one. I still mourned the end of a amazing story but I had the satisfaction of knowing what happened. The author is known for his cliff hangers and in the latest book has several so you can’t place the book down. Excellent ending to the series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Secrets: Still Surviving []  2020-1-10 19:4

    The end of a unbelievable series. I loved Wes and the family on the farm. All the wars they fought were were important and the end was fantastic. Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Surviving Start Fighting []  2020-6-6 18:25

    Strong inspiring story of a young women's journey from victim to being an inspirational communicator and leader with heavy influence. Well-written, personal, amazing lessons. Will inspire and instruct and above all give hope. Wow! Fabulous book. Fabulous story. Thanks Jazz for sharing your journey

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Bars: Surviving Prison []  2020-7-2 20:18

    A lot of incarcerated people who have "done time" know much of the info in this book; however, there are several useful subjects to consider. This book may be most appropriate for the first term inmate. The authors wrote another book, "Beyond Bars: Rejoinging Society After Prison" that in depth parole planning resources. Still, this is a valuable tool for those who work with the incarcerated population since it includes info that one must know in working with this special population.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Bars: Surviving Prison []  2020-7-2 20:18

    Perfect book. Definitely was a page Turner

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    I am extremely lucky to have read Parental Guidance early and allow me say this, YOU NEED THIS BOOK IN YOUR LIFE! Parental Guidance is Avery Flynn at her best.Fair warning, this book will cause full on belly laughs, hot flashes, feels, possible giggle snorting (okay, that’s all me I couldn’t support it) more hot flashes (serious it’s hot) and a whole fresh appreciation of finding your own dates.I can’t wait to dive back into Caleb and Zara’s story again. I LOVED THIS BOOK and want I could give it more than 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Secrets: Still Surviving []  2020-1-10 19:4

    Among those of us who follow the author Boyd Craven III we have a rallying cry at the end of every novel in a series, “Dammit Boyd!” In this one, though, the cry is a small softer, mingled with tears. “Dammit, Boyd,” I softly uttered while reading the latest words. From the first book in the “Still Surviving” series to this, the latest book, I became completely submerged in Westley’s world. I thought it fairly easy and straight forward, well as straight as the master wordsmith, Craven, can create a story. But in this latest book you search that there hidden signs all through the other four books that you never saw coming. If you have fun a amazing read, cliffhangers (Dammit Boyd!), and just amazing old fashioned story telling, you’ve GOT to read Craven’s “Still Surviving” series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Secrets: Still Surviving []  2020-1-10 19:4

    This is the very best one yet! Boyd draws you in, and keeps you there. Perfect story, edge-of-your-chair action. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Secrets: Still Surviving []  2020-1-10 19:4

    Thank you Boyd. You have out done your self with this series. Amazing method to wrap up this ride. Now we wait for your next adventure. Sorry about your grand father. I’m sure he had some stories to tell.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dark Secrets: Still Surviving []  2020-1-10 19:4

    Twists and turns! Is anything really the method it seems? I tried to create this latest book of Wes's saga last, because I just didn't wish it to end. But it's also amazing to be able to place the period at the end of a amazing sentence. I loved this series, these people and their story will be revisited again, both in my imagination and in print. Thank you Boyd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving the City []  2020-1-11 19:27

    Just in time for Women’s History month comes this offering from Portage & Main Press centering a group that we rarely see represented anywhere in most media: Indigenous people and especially Indigenous girls and women. Familiar with Portage & Main Press when I picked up and read A Girl Called Echo, Vol. 1 (Pemmican Wars) penned by Métis writer Katherena Vermette, I figured that I’d once again be able to read another graphic novel centering these women handled by a female creative squad and this time both members with an Indigenous background. This graphic novel features two best friends, Miikwan and Dez, and chronicles their struggles not only being young but Indigenous young women navigating a globe that historically hasn’t been kind to those who look like them. Miikwan is Anishinaabe, and Dez is Inninew. Their friendship is strong, something akin to sisters, and they search themselves tested like never is is writer Spillett’s debut graphic novel, and I couldn’t be happier to have a narrative written about Indigenous girls from an Indigenous woman who writes that she is most heart-tied to contributing to community-led work that centers on land and water defense, and the protection of Indigenous women and girls. As an educator, poet, and emerging scholar who draws her strength from both her Nehiyaw and Trinidadian bloodlines, I’m furthermore happier to see an educator writing a book about Brown girls aimed at tween and teen novan’s artwork is somewhere between dreamy and definitive: a few of my rereads of this title was to just focus on the art and be mesmerized. There’s never a lack of Brown folks in the panels, and Donovan’s coloring enriched the pages and created some moments stand out more: moments of joy and moments of fear, equally. The largest takeaway was the artistic decision to portray the spirits of the women still here in some form watching over and protecting the young Indigenous women present. A more recently deceased female family member of one of the girls sits at her bedside as she mourns–that same family member stands behind her as she admires a sculpture made as a memorial for the missing and murdered women in e women, and the ancestors, are on the pages in the book in faint forms colourful with the palest of blues. Some have NO DAPL t-shirts, and others have less modern forms of dress like the ones in full skirts that look to be more from perhaps the later 1800’s to early 1900’s era. The other forms show are the grey, creepy, eyeless monsters that tend to appear and mostly cling to non-Native men who approach the girls and women in this comic. They present up in most locations the female spirits are, and my best guess is that they are spirits of past efforts of colonization and fear that refuse to be banished from this plane. It is a visually compelling and moving depiction by the artist to include, and I immediately had an idea of what both spirits and what they were supposed to rviving the Town is one book in The Debwe Series, and it is a book that I can’t recommend enough; first for representation reasons, and secondly for centering Indigenous girls and women in a narrative that doesn’t succumb to the trauma People of Color are so used to seeing in the media. While this book focuses on Native girls and women in Canada and British Columbia, it is necessary to note that Native women are some 2.5 times more likely to be raped or sexually assaulted than any other ethnic group, and that is an international crisis of violence that affects Indigenous girls and women everywhere.What I love most about Surviving the Town is that it feels like a love letter from Indigenous women to Indigenous girls, letting them know that they are seen and that they are loved. Surviving the Town is a promise that the war is still ongoing, never ceasing to mourn those gone and to prevent more from going missing is heartfelt and true. While reading it, I kept seeing women come to the rescue of other women, the standout examples: the woman coming to the aid of teenage girl runaway getting her to safety and the older woman standing in as a grandmother, a spiritual leader, and later an activist. The cornerstones of a lot of communities are women, and women are the protectors of other women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving a Stalker []  2020-1-27 20:49

    It helped me to understand reasons for stalking (no where else but in this book) and how to be careful in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackout: Still Surviving []  2020-1-21 20:42

    Moonshine and prepping - who knew what a amazing combination this can be. His books are fun, informative and always exciting. And how I wish some of grandma's tart lemonade w ‘extra’ goodness. Wes and his very intelligent puppy Raider are perfect ‘heroes’, both showing exceptional common sense with the ability to listen and learn. From the first page to the last, I was wrapped up in down-home life in rural Arkansas. Already anxious for the next. Well done Boyd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackout: Still Surviving []  2020-1-21 20:42

    Amazing Book! I’m a sucker for Apocalypse books with dogs in them. Loved this author and really loved the Opus books so I took a possibility on this one. I was so into the story when it stopped I hadn’t looked up in a long while. That’s the tag of a amazing writer....when you fall into the story and don’t realize that you’re not living it.....these are characters in a book and not your buddies trying to survive....and you along with them. Sooooo, when’s the next book? Please hurry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Home: A Novel []  2020-1-25 16:12

    I'm not here to recap the book, you can search that elsewhere. I'm here to tell you why you should invest your spare time reading this series. If you've read my review of book one you can skip ahead because I don't really have anything fresh to say, just wish the author to have some honest reviews in return for his hard work putting pen to paper.I read a lot of post-apocalypse fiction. Most writers suck at it. Their scenarios are rather far fetched, their characters are cookie cutter preppers I could never relate to if we were face to face, and the decisions their characters create are so stupid as to place them in deeper jeopardy making their professed prepper status highly questionable and making me hope Darwin got it right so I'll never have to with them.A.A.'s characters are well developed, thinking people, even the poor guys. They behave in ways that are real to their back story. Yes, they create mistakes and sometimes those mistakes have unpleasant of today, there are maybe 10 or more books in the series. They enter my library as soon as they are released and that's unusual for me because my experience is that when an author pens a series beyond a certain number of books, they seem to reach a point where they're either phoning it in to continue milking the money cow, or they obtain so tired of the characters and storyline that they start to hate what they perceive as a rut. Neither pitfall traps this e story arc is such that the plot could run on for another 10 books or more provided the author continues to hold happenings believable. The characters are not one-note survivalists. They continue to mature and evolve as happenings e author isn't afraid to slay off a key hero or two and fresh characters are fleshed out just as well as the ones that survive through spite of the seriousness of the subject, the author isn't afraid of some comic relief and there are genuine belly laughs spread throughout the far, I've only been mildly disappointed with one book in the series and I believe that's because Weatherman bowed to fan pressure and turned a book out before he should have. If you pick up this series, you'll know which one I'm referring to and I'm sure he does too. When a writer is as social media connected to their fan base as he is, and that base is screaming for the next book, that's hard to ignore but simple to forgive.I hope one day to write this well and have my fans clamoring for the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Home: A Novel []  2020-1-25 16:12

    An perfect follow-on book to Going Home. Amazing story-telling and writing. Not great, but beautiful amazing (He's no Grisham). My largest compliment is the author weaves his own survival skills into the story, so if you are into prepping the book can serve as a learning tool while providing entertainment. My largest complaint is the author narrates the first person hero a small to "Steven Seagal". I obtain that the hero in the book is supposed to be a hero, but sometimes goes a small overboard with the self-gratification.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving Home: A Novel []  2020-1-25 16:12

    Book one grabbed my attention, but this book sucked me down the rabbit hole. I seriously can't wait until book 3 hits! If you test to plan ahead for your future or your families in this uncertain time, this is a story that is so believable, you will be drawn in and it will leave you begging for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Surviving Start Fighting []  2020-6-6 18:25

    I read this book in an afternoon - just could not place it down. It's very raw and almost had me in tears at some points, but gives one such hope that to not only overcome past hurts and mental anguish but to live a amazing life where you can create a true difference in the world. Stay powerful Jazz and hold going hard!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Bars: Surviving Prison []  2020-7-2 20:18

    Ever since a mate of mine was incarcerated for murdering his girlfriend latest year, I've been curious to what prison life is really like....despite all of the rumors. This book most certainly lays it out in very easy language about the info of prison life. Obviously there is a difference in all prisons across the nation, the book at the very least gives you primary info about it. One of the authors was incarcerated for a number of years in prison so wrote from his experience. It's a amazing book for the first time prisoner and if you can obtain it to him/her in prison, it would support solve a lot of problems they could obtain into and avoid while there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Bars: Surviving Prison []  2020-7-2 20:18

    Very honest information. If you have a loved one who us incarcerated this is a very helpful read. The info included in this book is not written on the BOP www services or manuals. If you are going to read this book due to necessity you will obtain true information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    I love Avery Flynn books. They're cute, sexy, funny and have just enough awww moments. This one was not my favorite though. Every time Zara had a thought about her dad it included how he was always going after the next get-rich-quick scheme when she was a kid, but he meant well. Every time. By the fourth chapter if I had to read one more time about him being the most lovable deadbeat, I was going to throw the book out the window. There were also some story building that I thought would have more of an impact in the plot that didn't. We are given insight into Caleb's reading issue and anxiety. It's mentioned frequently to the point that the reader thinks maybe Zara is going to support him through it or refer him to dyslexia specialist or something but...nothing. I also missed having Caleb actually read Zara's Bramble bio. She kind of mentions her blunt wording in passing but then it's skipped over. It would have been funny to read Caleb's reaction. Overall, it was okay. I probably wouldn't read it twice though as I have with her other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    Five dates, nothing more. A means to an end...for both of them. That’s all it was supposed to be. You know what they say about best laid plans...What do you do when you are in the middle of a PR nightmare? You join a dating app, allow your mom choose the woman for you to date and then movie your reactions for the globe to see, hoping that this plan improves the public’s perception of eb required to fix the mess he got wrapped up in, but never expected Zara to support fix more than just his image. Zara was just doing the deed for her dad and to obtain her best mate off her back. She didn’t expect to catch is story was fun, sweet and sexy! Caleb was a amazing guy just not sure how to create Zara wish more from him than just five dates, because that was never going to be enough. Zara just had to decide if taking a leap of faith, was worth the risk.I have fun all these hockey players. The author creates unbelievable characters that you wish to know more about. Anchovy was a favorite. I cannot wait for the next hockey guy to obtain his girl!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    What an adorable story. Sometimes when life is a small on the crazy and emotional side, I love to just dig into something fun and light. This totally fit that bill. It was cute, funny and just a small bit zany. The characters are simple to like with both amazing and poor qualities to them that created them all the more human and you could see how well they fit together.I loved the premise to this. Caleb, got caught in the middle of some hockey guys talking smack about women that their friendly uber driver was kind enough to video and it went viral. Now it’s been decided that he needs some amazing press to distract from the poor name he is getting. The solution allow your mom decide on who you are dating using a fresh dating ’s dad is a dreamer and has a fresh scheme/opportunity to obtain him on the right track and create some serious money. All he needs is a SAG card and with his daughters support he can obtain one really easy. With some blackmail support from Zara’s best mate they also convince her that being all work and no play isn’t the best for her. The solution is to join this fresh dating app, she might be able to have some fun and support out her dad all at the same time. Who knew that her being so honest in the profile was going to throw her and Caleb together?Caleb and Zara are amazing together from data one when they are fake fighting over mash potatoes. I loved this idea of them fake dating so they can both just obtain through this for their own reasons. But it is clear to see from almost the beginning the chemistry they have e Bramble dating application is also a fun idea. You parents obtain to pick your date, you have to go on 5 dates and then discuss them with your parent afterward. Bramble sets up the date and some of them are amazing activities with other Bramble couples instead of the same old dinner and a present situation. I enjoyed Caleb and Zara’s journey to obtain to know each other.I’ve loved the Hartigan’s series and this was the first book in a spin off from those. It was fun to see some characters from the other series but obtain a fresh cast along the rental Guidance was short sweet and excellent on a day you just need something that you know is going to turn out well in the end. Also, there is the funniest dog in this that added so much to the story and I could have read this book just for Anchovies antics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    This is my first book by Avery Flynn, but I have some of her other books already on my radar. This one is semi-attached to her book Tomboy, which I also have and can't wait to read. If you love hockey romances like me and you like a amazing fake dating book, I recommend this one for sure!The plot of Caleb being in the doghouse with his PR squad kind of angry me laugh...because this basically happened to the Ottawa Senators latest year. No, for real, they were caught on video in an Uber talking trash on their coaching squad and it was a large thing. I have to think Flynn heard about this and got inspired. In this book, it's slightly various because the younger rookies begin talking about all the "puck bunnies" they are scoring. Yeah, this is not a amazing look, but one thing that bothered me about this was how it seemed like all the blame landed on Caleb for not speaking up about it. It's not like he was the captain, and he wasn't saying all these not good thing. There were other people in the vehicle with him and they didn't say anything, but it really didn't create sense for all the blame to fall on him. If anything, it should have fallen on the guys saying the horrible was an interesting hero to read about, and I've never read about a hero who is a miniatures artist before. I didn't really know this was a large thing. I did love her heavy amazing dane named Anchovy. LOL! He's like the best hero in this book, for real, and I love that him and Caleb bond. What a amazing boy! Zara has had some problems growing up, especially having had to be the grown up to her dad. So I really understand why she wants to be in complete control of her life and doesn't wish a man to tie her down. It was a small frustrating that she held Caleb to the side, because it was so obvious they really liked each other.I'm not sure exactly how this application works, but I do love a romance book bringing in dating apps into the plot. I also loved that Caleb's mom got to pick the woman he went out with. Actually, his mom was a freaking boss. I would love a story about her to be ese two definitely obtain up to some sexy times together, even though they so said they weren't! Because of course they were going to break all the rules about this agreement they have. I was totally on board with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    Brace yourselves for some gushing because Avery Flynn delivered all the smexy, fuzzy feel-good that I was hoping for. Smart, sexy, and thoroughly entertaining with a bevy of colourful side characters, Zara and Caleb’s story proved to be a thrilling ride. The backdrop for their story was comfortable, especially if you’ve read Flynn’s Hartigans series.I adored Zara and Caleb was the excellent mix between alpha/jock and sweet and thoughtful. There were only a handful of moments where miscommunications happened and when it did, it was wrapped up quickly thanks to all the rational, lovely side characters.On a more serious note, Flynn addresses some necessary points about the toxic nature of boys will be boys, locker room talk, and how staying quiet during degrading conversations is complicity. Over the past three years, these have been hot button subjects and I was glad to see them represented in a method that added to the story without making the book too heavy.Overall, this is definitely a five-star read for me and will be reread several times in the future. It isn’t often that I tear up at the end of a book, especially if I have been laughing the entire time. If you loved Josh and Hazel’s Tutorial to Not Dating by Christina Lauren and haven’t tried Flynn’s work before then you should give Zara and Caleb a try!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    The premise of this story seemed contrived and overly complicated (why would two independent adults willingly let their parents to publicly meddle in their love lives?), but the characters are relatable and relatively well developed. Caleb has always struggled with dyslexia and was teased in school, which has left him with a fear of ridicule that keeps him from speaking out even when he ought to. Zara was raised by a flaky father who chased after get-rich-quick-schemes but failed to the rent, so she has problem letting go of control and trusting other people. Together, he learns to step up and she learns to step back. The writing is competent, the pacing is good, but on the whole there’s not much about this book that stands out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    This is a fresh to me author and I had high hopes that this would be a really amazing read. Sadly, for me, it was just alright. I can't quite pinpoint what it was about the story that just didn't do it for me, but it felt like it was lacking, or maybe the drama was forced. I liked both characters, I liked their chemistry together, but I didn't quite see how they fell in love as quickly as they did is funny, spunky, honest, but has walls setup. Caleb is sweet, witty, and all around a amazing guy. He's not the typical manwhoring jerk athlete like we typically see in l in all, this was a light read that was good, but not great. Perhaps the others in the series are better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    This book shows why Amazing Danes are awesome, in case you could forget. He just adds to the humor.And this is a laugh out loud book. There are things in this book you will read out loud to others, because they are just that funny, especially about the Amazing Dane! And I completely relate to Zara, except I’m nowhere near as amazing at climbing walls as she is. I love her strength and even when she screws up (which she completely does), she does it with a raw honesty that I love. If it sounds like I’m talking about a true person, that’s how she feels to me.And after raving about Zara, I feel I should give some time to Caleb. He has his issues, but he has an wonderful heart. I love how he isn’t portrayed as a jerk, just a person who’s created some idiotic choices, but owns them and accepts the consequences/ter this, I might even allow my mom choose my next date. Maybe...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parental Guidance []  2020-1-29 10:24

    Author Avery Flynn is one of my 3 go to RomCom authors and this book has me laughing so hard I can not lie I was ready to change my.... What would you do if you were a die hard hockey player with a PR problems and your mommy was picking your dates? What if the dates where being picked by a half crazy dad, well one who is always coming up with some kind of gimmick or obtain rich fast thing for his family? But thing time it's all for his SAGA card. Yep he wants to be an actor. So his daughter Zara is going along for the ride. Well, and a possibility to meet one of the upmost collectors of miniatures. Caleb & Zara are a unbelievable mix of hard and soft, funny and zing. I love that she seems to fit his roughness with her and while she is little she is mighty. This book is so full of laughter, puns and yes romance abounds because it is an Avery Flynn book after all. And we have our ICE Knights front and center as they are straightening out their small PR mess. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386