Read system programming vol ii reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all system programming vol ii reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Win32 System Programming []  2020-11-18 19:53

    This books fills a gap and is a amazing concise intro to a lot of Win32 topics. Even if you've already been through Richter's _Advanced Windows_ there are a lot of nuggets here that create it a amazing companion volume. The author, John Hart, is very responsive to 's the table of contents:Chapter 1Windows NT and Windows 95Chapter 2 Getting Started with Win32Chapter 3 Using the Win32 File System and Hero I/OChapter 4 Direct File Access and File AttributesChapter 5 Structured Exception HandlingChapter 6 Memory Management and Memory-Mapped FilesChapter 7 SecurityChapter 8 Process ManagementChapter 9 Interprocess CommunicationChapter 10 Threads and SchedulingChapter 11 Win32 SynchronizationChapter 12 Dynamic Link Libraries, In-Process Servers, and the ISAPIChapter 13 Asynchronous Input/OutputChapter 14 Other Topics: Fibers, the Registry, and BeyondAppendix A Using the Sample ProgramsAppendix B Win32, UNIX, and C Library ComparisonsAppendix C Performance Results

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Win32 System Programming []  2020-11-18 19:53

    I required an intro to win32 which (a) concentrated on everything but the GUI, for server-side apps (b) wasn't just a part printout of MSDN, Microsoft's not-hugely-elegant-but-at-least-complete doentation on Everything (c) created use of pure win32 calls, not MFC, VB, or equivalent is book did the job, going through file access, process and memory management, security, IPC, and threads. It uses a guide style, giving you enough to obtain you understanding the primary concepts before diving into MSDN, with scattered code examples and accompanying e style is very readable, and my only significant criticism is that it does not introduce enough topics, tailing off with rather a weak discussion of DLLs and ISAPI. Since the book is aimed particularly at Unix systems programmers, with its implementation of Unix commands and drawing of parallels, the reader will probably feel comfortable enough with win32 by the end anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Win32 System Programming []  2020-11-18 19:53

    Mr Hart has produced a detailed and authoritative acc of the Win32 subsystem interface. Rather than a lot of texts which simply list the Win32 API, Hart adds considerable value by introducing essential "how-to" design considerations which will simplify the life of any Windows NT/95 32 System Programming tackles a lot of difficult topics, such as synchronization issues, fibers, file handling, asynch I/O and error processing. These are presented in a method that is understandable to both newcomers and more experienced developers. As well as introducing these individual concepts, the reader feels as though the author understands the 'big picture'- there are common links of discussion throughout the text.I would suggest that all Windows developers would benefit from an understanding of the material this work contains. Experienced readers will appreciate the sound foundations of Operating System and in particular Concurrency theory on which this text is based, whereas beginners will search an essential core reference to help further forrays into the globe of Win32 t all aspects of Win32 are covered, in particular coverage of the GUI is ommitted- however the book is not sold on this basis. I believe that developers armed with the info in Win32 System Programming will have a considerable advantage in approaching a lot of necessary topics in the future. For example, there is a very revealing insight into the techniques used in Hart's app server designs and the threading model used in short- it includes info that every developer must know if they are to successfully develop reliable and performant applications for the Windows 32 platform. This text may also be relevant to students of Operating Systems. I for one will eagerly await a second edition!

    0  


    Add your opinion on system programming vol ii or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Win32 System Programming []  2020-11-18 19:53

    This is an perfect book. It provides enough info to give the reader a sound understanding of the Win32 System Services; but, it doesn't overburden him with minutiae that can be acquired from MSDN later -- if needed. The author's frequent comparisons of the Win32 System Services with those of UNIX are very effective in enabling the UNIX developer to bridge the conceptual gulf to Windows.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Win32 System Programming []  2020-11-18 19:53

    A book that does not test to be a "jack of all trades" but sets out to give an experienced UNIX (system) programmer a amazing grounding in Win32 with enough detail to write useful code. I was very happy to search this book after searching through the morass of GUI/OOP/"Hello world" publications that had small or no true content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    The Patterns Size Conversion Charts page uses incorrect spelling. It says, "Use these conversion charts in helping to size your images to fit the pattern your" (instead of you're) "using." I haven't gotten too far into the book yet, but this needs corrected by the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    I have created almost a dozen pages using the ideas from this book. It is well orgainzied and the layouts simple to copy. I went ahead and ordered her first book of Page Patterns after seeing this one. The layouts work well for digital and traditional scrapbooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    Wow, he did it again. I have over the years handed out his first volume of hymns to my closest of mates and now I obtain another to share. Thanks Alan, I think we were raised on the same southern hymns...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    If you liked Precious Memories I, you'll also like Vol II. Alan's unbelievable voice and style (reverent) are sure to please both God and man. The use of acoustic guitar, auto harp, piano and organ are equally superb. These old hymns simplicity are unparalleled for their lyrics and ability to create you both glad and sad at the same time-- glad that they draw you closer to God and sad that you remember loved ones who are in heaven and awaiting your arrival. As our country goes from moral abyss to moral abyss, some things never change-- God's love for us, man's sinful nature, and Alan Jackson's remarkable ability to tug at our heart strings. Obtain as a lot of CD's as you can afford and share Precious Memories with your loved ones and friends. They will thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    The CD has most of my favourites in it such as Entrance of the Stars, Raks Bedaya and Habibi Ali. Worth buying to keep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    I am belly dancer and have been for almost two years. I recently bought this cd and it is really good. I feel like there is a lot of variety, though I still have to say, I like number one a small better. It's still good. I have to point out, at the Utah Belly Dance Festival, I heard a number of these songs a gazillion songs. Remember, if you are doing a performance, and wish something really unique, these songs are commonly used. Some more so than others, I admit, but still.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    I bought this CD after hearing the song "Joe DiMaggio's Done It Again" on the radio. I was pleasantly surprised to search that is not the only hopping song on this album. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II is patchier but no less enjoyable than its predecessor. Tweedy's claim that the album is "less folky" is fairly accurate, as most of the album's highpoints are more rooted in Rock 'N Roll than folk, such as "Airline To heaven" with its tantalizing drum rhythms and chorus, the rollicking and downright fun "Feed of Man" with its joyous guitar licks, or "Blood of the Lamb," an eerie mix of thumping drums and bells that would not sound out of put on Bob Dylan's latest "Time Out of Mind."These sounds do not appear on vol. I, Tweedy is correct, and the effect is stunningly good. The diversity of this album is even more startling than on Mermaid Avenue I. Not only does every song sound various from previous tracks, each song belongs to a various genre. Beyond the album's Rock tunes are some delightfully dirty blues tracks like "All You Fascists" and "Meanest man," which would fit perfectly on the next Tom Waits record. Bragg even touches on some jazzy drum shuffling and vocals on the very slick "Stetson Kennedy."However, Wilco & Billy Bragg do not entirely ignore the folk roots that pervaded vol. I; "I was Born" is straight from the vein of vol. I's "Ingrid Bergman," and most will recognize "Eisler on the Go" lurking beneath the surface of the gorgeous acoustic ballad, "Black Wind Blowing."Yes, this album does stretch the listener's attention span a bit more, the melody is indeed more challenging, but delicately so. It is difficult to imagine that this talented group could deliver an album of as much meat as vol. I, but they have, proving that the union of Wilco and Billy Bragg just might be one of the most outstanding musical projects in modern rock history. But let's not forget that these Mermaid Avenue albums are only created possible by the brilliant songwriting legacy of one named Woody Guthrie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    I liked Vol I better--this one seems to be less back up instruments--some just piano--and I enjoyed the instrumentation of the first album. This one is still very amazing though and various hymns that I so have fun hearing again. And Alan's voice is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    I bought volume one of this collection and soon had to buy all three. Instead of paging through books and magazines to test to search a layout that will fit the number of pictures I wish to scrap, I can just turn to the page with the right number of images and choose among multiple options. And of course I can use the layouts as a starting point for turning and customizing the layouts.If I could buy more of these books, I would. The Becky Fleck Page Maps books were my favorite before I found Page Patterns, but now I seldom even glance at those. These are a must for any serious regular scrapbooker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    Glad I purchased all three books. Nice starter ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    I enjoyed this disc as much a volume 1...I know some disagree, but I liked it very much. A small various from Volume 1, but very nice in its own way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    Love this CD!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    Wow, what a amazing selection of songs! Each song is a pleasure to listen and to dance to. I have a unbelievable time dancing to this CD for my dance shows and my students love it as is is the best bellydance compilation I've heard in years, and it's also better than the first Bellydance Superstars. Highly recommended to avid listeners of awesome Middle-Eastern beats and dancers who can't obtain enough of shake shake shake!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Los Panchos, Vol. II []  2020-12-30 21:32

    The "Sony Latin" sound is exceptional in this unforgetablemusic which contains not only boleros but the best from southamerican countries like Peru, Brazil, and others. This is oneof the best recordings I have from The Panchos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    Amazing price of work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    Im writing this because i beleive one song REMEBER THE MOUNTAIN BED is one,if not the most meaningful,sublime, peices of poetry,prose,songwiting i have ever heard..this song has sat with me since i first heard it..actually i only have to think of it and im moved...the depth of understanding of the human condition,love, lose,the earth,the elements, love,humanity,the insights into the purpose of lifeand mandkind, etc etc is so utterly compeling and mind e greatest love song ever written .i obtain obssessed about this song, i search myself disolving into another place, void of all thats around me.....how did woody guthrie search himself of such composure,empathy and understanding to reach inside of himself and outside of himself to write one of the most excellent peices of art...and then there is WILCO and JEFF TWEEDY...honoring these words so beautifully..jeff tweedys vocals and the bands sympathetic arrangment create this one of music,c highest benchmarks..as amazing as anything..by anyone..at anytime..ever recordedoh the other WILCO items here is also fantastic..i havent really sat thru the billy bragg..but i will....buy this for REMEMBER THE MOUNTAIN BED alone..wow id love to know what you think

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    I prefer the songs on Volume 1, but I play this one, too. I am not a country western enthusiast, but I love these albums. I love the old hymns and the harmonies and accompaniments and vocals are also good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    I'm a large Alan Jackson fan. Saw him in concert at Cheyenne Frontier Days and the San Antonio Stock Present and Rodeo. The man has recorded so a lot of GREAT songs and I own just about every album, but more than that I love that he is a man of Christian faith. I love that he is begin to sharing his faith and producing CDs like this. I used Alan's Precious Memories from this album for a picture slide present for my dad's memorial service and it turned out just beautiful. Alan has that old country sound and deep rich voice that just resonates with my soul. If you liked his first CD of hymns you will like this one too. If you like Alan and amazing old fashioned hymns, you'll love this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    This is a amazing cd, but not as amazing as the first. The first and fifth are the best and most usable for performance songs in my opinion. Still worth buying. I love all the BSS cd's!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    This was not as amazing as Vol. 1 The songs were too long & while "authentic", weren't very danceable. Some of the beats are irritating, and there's hardly any plain acoustic songs. Skip this one and stick to Bellydance Superstars #1, which is far more danceable and not as melancholy as this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    This is a amazing book! I was having a poor case of layout block and I came to Amazon looking for a amazing book! I bought two. This one and also Scrapbook Page Maps (see review-not impressed). This one is exactly what I was looking for. It is just the sketches. No beautiful pictures and fancy faddish type layouts, but some awesome sketches that can work in a dozens of ways and it doesn't become outdated. It is also organized by how a lot of pictures you wish on a page so that is great! There are only two down sides to this book for me and one is that it should have been spiral bound. Then there is the Pattern conversion chart which is amazing because you can specialize any of the pages for any size, but it recommends you copy this off onto a transparecy to use with the sketches. Why not for a small additional cash place the conversion chart in the book as a tranparency! This two things are not enough to hold me from buying the first volume! Love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    Daughter is a scrapbooked & this was on her Christmas list!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    Amazing ideas to obtain your project moving!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Los Panchos, Vol. II []  2020-12-30 21:32

    Came Crashed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    Timely delivery. An perfect addition to Memaid Avenue Vol. I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    I liked all the Wilco songs, but Billy Bragg wasn't all that great. The former still makes it a worthwhile purchase. Interestingly, a lot of Intellectually Necessary Melody Critics feel that Wilco doesn't do the songs right - that they don't sound like Woody Guthrie songs - whereas Bragg is real to the material. Whatever. Jeff Tweedy sings amazing on this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    I was born and bred on rock and roll, but lately I've been more interested in jazz, globe melody and classical. I'm not really enthusiastic about folk music, but I listen to it from time to time. When I pulled this album from the bin at the library, it was because I had heard some Billy Bragg before and thought it was interesting. I knew nothing of Jeff Tweedy and Wilco. This disk blew me away- ecclectic, original, various yet familiar, I think every track is a winner, even though I like some better than others. Certainly if you are sick of listening to the same old stuff, this is a amazing mixture of rock, blues, bluegrass, folk, and musical styles that should just be filed under "other." I enjoyed this sequqal much more than the first "Mermaid Avenue" disk- but judging from the other reviews this is an problem of private taste. Then again, isn't melody like that to start with? I appreciate Woody Guthrie a whole lot more now, and I think it's tremendous what modern independant musicians have done with material from a previous generation. Definately check this disk out- I think it belongs in any serious melody lover's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    Have been listening to Precious Memories by Alan Jackson for years and should have just replaced the first one because i play it constantly. This one stinks. Doesn't even sound like Alan Jackson. the songs are poorly done and the whole disc is TRASH!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    If you enjoyed Alan Jackson's Precious Memories Volume I you are going to have fun Alan Jackson's Precious Memories Volume II. Alan's Mom cried (happy tears) when she received this second album as a present. While Alan knows how to deliver country swing, he also knows how to handle classic hymns with all the reverence and notice they contain. Alan's self-written ver of "Where Were You" (not in this particular album) created reference to precious bonuses from God "and the greatest is love" proving he knew when, where, and how to apply what, even without his Mom twisting his arm. If you consider these songs classic you will search Alan Jackson gives them the TLC and respect they deserve. Kudo's Alan, your Mom has reason to be proud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    I owned this book before but I couldn't search it, so I knew I required to reorder it! If you like to Scrapbook, but have problem getting started, this is the book for you. Often I obtain ideas just thumbing through the designs, I rarely use the page patterns verbatim, but you certainly could. If you run into a mental block & just can't figure out what to do with your photos, this book will obtain you started, and the amazing thing is that you could give this book to 10 various people & you would obtain 10 various pages, it's all in how you interpret the is reasonably priced & you obtain the book when you are told you will, if not before. Enjoy, & satisfied Scrapping!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    I bought all 3 of these books and they are all various and full of unbelievable sketches. I will be using this for a long time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!! The second volume shows a lot of maturity by the songs selected. I am very happy with all of them, there is fun songs and more performance songs for stage. I really recommend Bellydance Superstars 2 for all styles to perform to and amazing to listen to. Method to go Bellydance Superstars 2, can't wait to see your performance in Los Angeles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    Am satisfied to keep it in a very short period of time.I love the songs after watching the film Inside Llewyn Davis on my CX flight from London to HK .I cant wait to obtain the album. However, I cant search it from Hong Kong HMV. Really satisfied can search it from amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Page Patterns Vol II []  2020-1-20 1:21

    I absolutely love this series of books. I have this one and the first one. I have been using them for scrapbooking my summer vacation latest year, and I have to admit, they are some of my best pages I've done. I love the variety, and the method it helps you map out pages no matter how a lot of pictures you have. I will say though, contrary to other reviews you might read, there are a lot of layouts in this book that are exactly the same as ones in the previous book. The only difference is maybe the paper design, which you can change anyway. But the layouts are exactly the same. Either way, I'll hold both books and I love both. Haven't decided if I'll obtain the third, but I probably will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    I bought this CD for my mother for Christmas at her request. Upon purchase of the CD, I also got a free digital download. Finally, a few days ago, I decided to give it a listen. I've listened to this album at least twice a day every day since. Alan Jackson does a attractive job with the old hymnal classics that I grew up with in Church. Each song is performed with a beautifully clear easy quality, and without the fanfare and enhancements that tends to obtain caught up in current music. This provides a easy authenticity to these hymns. Simply beautiful. I don't know what else to say.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    Recently my Mom saw this on a TV ad and wanted it. It took her back in time to those songs she heard in church with her Mom. So, I jumped on here and decided to have it sent to her as a surprise! Needless to say, the day it arrived, she called me in tears! She was overjoyed! It is a timeless treasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Precious Memories: Vol. II []  2020-1-18 23:55

    I love Alan Jackson and have the first volume of Precious Memories. I hate to say it, but I didn't care for this CD at all. Only song I liked was the first one, Awesome Grace. Didn't care for the others. Sorry, Alan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bellydance Superstars Vol. II []  2020-11-26 0:27

    I listened to this CD just a few times before it grew on me, and it did so quickly. My first impression was that it is completely various than the compilation of Volume 1, so if you own the first CD, hold an begin mind and allow go of your expectations. Where Volume 1 includes mostly bellydance and middle eastern classics, Volume 2 is created up of more modern, pop and techno tracks, such as "Entrance Of The Stars," a song that was composed specifically for the Superstars and Desert Roses. This one has several shorter tracks suitable for solo performances and I like that! I found the excellent song for my sword dance in this compilation! I think that it's necessary for a dancer to be willing to test a dozens of melody and dance styles, and this is a amazing addition to your learn more about the history of bellydance and the Bellydance Superstars' role in educating the public about this art form, check out the "American Bellydancer" DVD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mermaid Avenue Vol. II []  2021-2-9 19:57

    okay

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Con Amor Eterno, Vol. II []  2020-2-2 21:40

    Para los que disfrutan la música de Pandora este disco con temas de Juan Gabriel les encantará con algunos toques de música mexicana y baladas es un disco con un equilibrio perfecto. No debe faltar en tu colección al igual que los demás discos inéditos de Pandora. 100% recomendable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    This book is probably a very amazing book if I could read the micro-print. The font is so little that it would take a magnifying glass to read this book. Spring the additional cash and obtain a amazing print of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    This cd set, this being the first of 2, is considered by a lot of the high point of Toot's capabilities. Amazing CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    Gatton fans are not as numerous as other guitar heroes' fan bases may be, but I'm one of Danny's largest fans, having played guitar myself that comparatively was nursery school level up next to him. Indeed, most of his most ardent admirers were and are other guitarists, and because of that, we know more about his style and sound than a casual listener. That doesn't matter, though because anybody who loves guitar for pleasure, old style rock and roll, blues, jazz, bluegrass and even classical would love Danny Gatton. Like the amazing Chet Atkins before him, what created Gatton so special was his complete understanding of so a lot of influences and when mixed together in his inimitable style, he was a walking playing encyclopedia of the best American melody ever written. Atkins too could do it all, and he did a amazing album of Beatle songs and worked with Tag Knopfler. Gatton was in my view the one player who was on a level with Chet Atkins. The second half of his live club gig at the now closed Cellar Door in Washington, D.C. is as vital as the first volume. In fact, if you don't have either but are considering it, I recommend getting both at the same time, although they are fine by themselves. No, they are EXTRAORDINARY. I know I may draw some ire from other Gatton fans, but his studio album "Redneck Jazz", for all its brilliance, was very weak sound wise. On the live CD's, his lineup featuring the steel player legend Buddy Emmons sounds much better, and the fact they play so well in a crowded bar is testimony to how amazing they were, right before Danny switched from his Les Paul to what would be his most popular sound, a Telecaster with custom pickups. This set didn't include any originals, but that is no issue as anything Danny played was magic. My favorite cuts contain "Homage to Charlie Christian", and the live versions of "Canadian Sunset" and set closer "Ode to Billy Joe". On "Canadian Sunset", which is not too far removed from the studio version, we obtain our best look at the interplay between Danny and Buddy, and the song just grooves mightily with Emmons' steel guitar providing unbelievable atmosphere when he isn't playing solos. "Ode To Billy Joe" was a funk favorite of Gatton's, and like "Canadian Sunset", the sound is much better than the "Redneck Jazz" studio album. Nothing by Danny Gatton was inferior - his command of the guitar and untouchable style simply prevented any lackadaisical or sloppy playing. That he tragically committed suicide was a large blow to everybody who knew and loved his music. There is a beautiful amazing amount of melody out there to have fun and explore, but I lament the fact that we will never obtain to see him or hear fresh melody from him ever again. In musical terms, his passing was a disaster. But he's alive and well on his albums, and we'll be able to have fun his brilliance forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    I'd probably give this a 3.5 if that were an option, but I'll round up. I like a lot about both volumes (this review can be applied to Vol. I). This is not the burning guitar of a recording like 88 Elmira St. - there are very few guitar tricks, and that's one of the things I like about it. Danny and Buddy Emmons are both master musicians, fluent in a lot of styles of music, and for most of these two CDs, they dedicate themselves to playing jazz. It's not jazz-lite, or smooth jazz - listen to them play Clifford Brown's "Joy Spring" and Horace Silver's "Song For My Father". Who else but Danny would throw a quote from the "Rock Around the Clock" guitar solo into a stone bop classic like "Joy Spring?" You don't hear a whole lot in the method of traditional jazz vocabulary, and that's what makes this so interesting and refreshing - it's jazz viewed through a prism of country, blues, and rock. I'm sure some jazz purists would hate it, but that's what I love about it. Jazz has always been an inclusive genre, and with these two volumes, a fresh wrinkle has been added to the fabric of jazz. There's a feeling of honest melody being made, and risks being taken, and in the end, that's what jazz is all about. We need more Redneck Jazz!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    FANTASTIC TRANSACTION AND CD!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    If you don't know about Danny Gatton, you need to! But if you don't you prolly wouldn't be reading this review so I feel like I'm preachin' to the choir here! Dig it! This CD is OUT OF FREAKING CONTROL!!! A "MUST OWN" for ANY Gatton fan or appreciator of fine guitar so featuring Buddy Emmons!!! 'Nuff Said!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    Received the book in very amazing condition. Have not read all of it but was a bit disappointed in the content. Most of the info was rather generic. I know some of the medicinal plants have qualities that are not listed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    Hey, it's Toots. I understand ONE of his hundreds and hundreds of records is less than perfect....but only because nobody remember to tell Toots about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    THIS PROJECT IS A GOOD CD "MUSIC-WISE", BUT I SEE A HUGE FLAW THAT NO ONE HAS EVER ASIL PROJECT No. 1 WAS FORMED WITH SEVERAL FAMOUS BRAZILIAN JAZZ SONGWRITERS, AND TOOTS HAPPENED TO INVITE THEM AGAIN FOR PROJECT No.2 LEAVING OUT MANY OTHER FANTASTIC BRAZILIAN JAZZ SONGWRITERS LIKE: TANIA MARIA / JOAO DONATO / MANFREDO FEST / MARCOS VALLE / AZYMUTH / ROBERTO MENESCAL / RIQUE PANTOJA / JOYCE / MARCOS ARIEL / MARCOS SILVA ETC. ETC. THEREFORE, I DON'T THINK THIS PROJECT DESERVES THE 5 D MUSIC, BAD SELECTION OF PARTICIPANTS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    There are no other works that can compare to this book, "Isis Unveiled", EVERYONE should take the time to read this and "The Secret Doctrine"...I had recently found out that these were Einstein's favorite books; they're what caused him to question everything, and to realize that anything is possible. Geometry is the truth behind a lot of of the questions in the universe...a must read for those who want to be enlightened. susan/FL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    Madame Blavatsky is never an 'easy read' but this one is especially difficult as it is based on her rebuttals to prominent critics of the late 19th century. None of the names are familiar to me and the problems are no longer relevant. What is clear from her writings is that Blavatsky had an in-depth knowledge of those who sought to 'debunk' the Theosophical movement; the book displays her wide range of I am only 1/3rd of the method through the book, I am hoping it gets more involved with her teachings and less concerned with her critics. The subjects of 'mesmerism', 'somnambulism', 'esoteric magic' and the nature of the universe have either advanced to a fresh level of understanding or have disappeared from contemporary e emphasis on responding to the critics keeps the book mired in the problems of the 1800's but it does display the style of writing and the wide array of subjects that M. Blavatsky covered in her teachings. Perhaps it moves to a higher level in the remainder of the book. I will struggle with it until completed but it has not become a everyday reading material; I must be in the mood for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    Finally after about 6 months of reading I just finished this very well place together masterpiece. My tip is just to read and pick out the highlights for yourself, the rest will take care of itself, Thank You

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    Amazing Music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    It's a classic by method of herb books go. The info is old. It's more about the historical understanding of herbs and illnesses, rather than the current understanding of herbs and illnesses. So, for that part alone, it's worth every penny. I like to know the historical background of a plant's relationship with humans. I have both volumes. I think it's an necessary thing to have access to. Although, these are completely viewable on Margaret Grieve's website. I just prefer the hard copy that I can touch and hold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    Perfect source of detailed info on herbs and their uses for hundreds of years!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    This has been the best Herbal written in the past 125 years. Ayone interested in plants and the uses plants have MUST these two books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    Glorious music. Every single track is good. A lot of tracks are exceptional but the whole CD is tailored to fit the Bossa Nova style. Not a single track is misplaced. A MUST own if you like this genre. I own 2 copies of this amazing CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    Love this album! Thielemans is sheer genius, a musicians musician, as always.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Con Amor Eterno, Vol. II []  2020-2-2 21:40

    Some of Juan Gabriel's best compositions sung by a premier group with amazing performances but the quality control not quite up to snuff. Some songs have not good control of recording volume although you can tell that the performances by Pandora was great. As an example, if you turn volume to 5 to hear one song, you'd have to turn up to 8 to hear another. There were also songs where the volume was very soft in the beginning, and by the end, it was blaring. Pandora is a really amazing singing group, and their performances deserve better production quality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    As amazing as volume 1 these live cds are really out of this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    While it's hard to go wrong with anything by Gatton, or Emmons for that matter, and there is a lot of amazing playing here, much of it appears to assembled from whatever was left over after gleaning out the best tracks for the first edition. Also, unlike volume I, a lot of of the mixes on the second volume sound amateurish. Still there are a couple of notable exceptions: "Ode To Billy Joe" & "Canadian Sunset" are really fun. These two "five star" tracks were originally released as gift tracks on the first CD release of the much earlier recording, "Redneck Jazz," and were mixed and mastered with Gatton himself in the ong most Gatton aficionados the following Recordings are generally considered to be his best. The first two are Danny burning in front of a live audience, and the latest two are his best studio recordings:1. Redneck Jazz Explosion Vol. I- (or Redneck Jazz Explosion - the originl orange cover release, same thing)2. Humbler: Live - This is Danny playing some of the best Rockabilly guitar ever with singer Robert Gordon.3. Relentless - With Joey De Francesco4.88 Elmira St.. - His best commercial studio album, check out "In My Room" - awesome!Also notable are "Unfinished Business" and "American Music." Both of these showcase Gatton in a dozens of musical settings and styles. His ver of "Harlem Nocturne" on "American Music" is one of the best guitar tracks of all time; method better than his later remake on "Crusin' Duces."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    Prompt delivery and amazing condition! The Theosophical University Press edition of Isis Unveiled is a unbelievable print. The price is almost unfathomable as the knowledge contained in this book/set is worth more than every textbook, and every education that can be bought on the planet. Madame Blavatsky is right over the target and closer to the truth than anyone and any literature I have ever read regarding the history of our species and the metaphysical structure of this experience we so endearingly call reality. The profundity of the info elicits a deep reverence for life, Gaia, the One infinite creator source and everything in between. This book is life altering and your awareness of it i believe is because it has deemed you worthy of the knowledge it possesses. Allow he who has ears hear, and he who has eyes see. 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    Helena Petrovan Blavatsky presents a view of esoteric practices and their connection to mythology in every culture throught the ages second to none. She display a level of understanding that could only come from from her deep connection to herself and God, Buddha or whom or what ever diety you keep most sacred. She presents a well thought out synopis of multiple philosophers and relates it all back to the original acient wisdom. The wheel may turn a lot of times but the things contained within the wheel remain the same just waiting to be discovered or rediscovered depending on your point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    This is a well-researched and readable book. Mrs. Grieve gives historical context to the uses of most of the herbs and the book does have handsome illustrations, though these are all black and white - not a book for wild crafting or cultivation but b with info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    I just bought A Modern Herbal (Volumes 1 & 2), and they are exactly what I thought I was ese are must have books that belong in a lifetime collection for anyone even slightly interested in herbal medicine.Excellent reference manuals for beginning as well as master is book gets 5 stars = Keeper. A story (or information) that stays with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    The book is not quite what I was looking for. The info in it is more technical and not as practical than what I wanted. It does have a lot of info you don't search in books on the same subject. For someone looking for more scientific info than what they search in other herbal books, this could be what they are looking for. My mate enjoyed the content so it became an early birthday present. It worked out OK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    Volume 2 of "A Modern Herbal" is every bit as amazing as volume 1. It is an herbal writtten in another age by a woman who knew her topic very well. She continues with her list of herbs and explains the uses each herb had in her day, much of which is still valid in our modern day and age. She throws in interesting tid bits from her times about different rules and laws regarding certain plants, which ones were allowed and which ones were not. While today we have much scientific backing and knowledge for the uses we have for herbs, it is awesome how much of her info is accurate in the light of todays scientific findings. I recommend both Volume 1 and Volume 2 to anyone who has a serious interest in herbalism and herbal remedies. I also found it interesting reading. -- Valerie Lull, Author, Ten Healthy Teas

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symbols of Freemasonry Vol. II [App]  2019-12-16 21:32

    It really doesn't matter...I personally like it.. it serves my purpose well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Con Amor Eterno, Vol. II []  2020-2-2 21:40

    Amazing songs, amazing singing, what more could you ask for? An perfect follow-up album to Volume 1 of Amor Eterno.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    This is some of the finest recorded pedal steel playing out there, funkier at times than a pot of collard greens. Ode to Billy Joe is especially magic. So obtain this one, and to complete the concert, obtain volume one. They are both awesome recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    I'm almost finished with volume 1 (Science) and so far it has been an enlightening experience. HP Blavatsky has given amazing insights into some of the mysteries of the universe. A word of advice, take your time when reading this. I recommend 1 chpt a day..... See attached a picture a paragraph I highlighted from Vol 1. This book is worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    Do not buy this book for Kindle. It is not formatted correctly. Sentences are chop off making the text unreadable. This edition should be removed from Amazon. I am searching for another copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    Nothing about this cd is unlikeable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    Talk about Toots Thielmans is talk of a melody legend. Perfect performer of the harmonica and talented guitarist (whisteling and touching at the same time at the latest theme ... cool!!! ), gives us his musical experience in the unbelievable globe of brazilian melody along with an perfect musical luminaries as Eliane Elias, Gilberto Gil, Ivan Lins, Milton Nascimento, Caetano Veloso, Luis Bonfa, Oscar Castro-Neves , Dory Caymi, Djavan, i.e. the best of the current Brazilian music. Have fun this attractive cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    I had Mrs. Grieve's Modern Herbal several years ago, and lost it in a move, so I was thrilled to search the two volumes of the paperback issue. It is an essential reference for the serious herbalist, with historic info as well as taxonomic. It is not an herbal recipe book; one has to have a amazing idea of what herbs do. It is Anglocentric, but contains descriptions and background for herbs all over the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Con Amor Eterno, Vol. II []  2020-2-2 21:40

    As this happens to be one of my favorite groups I was having a not good time finding this selection locally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    The text is crazy small. I can’t not speak to the content as I have yet to read. However, I am astounded by the size of text. I’m in my 30s with perfect vision, and I feel I would need a magnifying glass. My picture contains a normal size print for context. The quarter and dime are on the pages of isis unveiled.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Isis Unveiled: Vol. I & II []  2020-5-3 18:11

    Not 2 volumes but vol. 1 only! The description said 2 vol set 1 & 2, but that is not what I received. My image shows the vol 1 I received only. It has no index but it is unabridged. Vol 1 is science. Disappointed: don't buy it if you wish 2 volumes but I do recommend only Theosophy publication as it has images drawings etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    I've had this for years, but purchased it as a gift. I LOVE IT (even better than Brazil Project I).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brasil Project Vol. II []  2020-6-8 18:38

    All the songs are excellent for a relax moment after a long day at work. Travessia is my favorite one and it is like a promise of a deep journey into some green eyes of a loved one. This album is various from Brasil Project Vol 1. This one is deeper and really smooth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    This Disc, along with Vol.1, finally makes available (thru legitimate source) the entire fresh years eve Cellar Door DC is and "Unfinished Business" are desert island quality must-haves, IMHO

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Redneck Jazz Explosion, Vol. II []  2020-7-26 22:44

    This is a amazing record and should be owned by anyone that is a Danny Gatton e fact that Buddy Emmons is on it also is a bonus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Modern Herbal, Vol. II []  2021-2-16 20:57

    This book should have been sold as a set with volume 1. There is a lot of info and I is a fun book to read. It is Pre- FDA regulations so there are plants that are not in the fresh books. Got to do the research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    Thanks it was just as expected! !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    This is a fast-paced book on system admin and the Unix/Mac/Linux environment. It emphasizes the historical and technical importance of C without being a comprehensive or even introductory tutorial to the language. Rather the focus is on the essence of system programming: what can be done and how to figure out to do Cal State college is utilizing it for a course (designated for the IT major or as an elective within other disciplines) on this very subject. I'm taking it as an upper-division math major with a powerful interest in social justice and the use of open-source systems in education--and loving it. This text, in particular, is probably my strongest of the are the highlights: Equally challenging/accessible to professionals, upper- and under-classmen: This is not a point-by-point, 1,000 page, do-it-all-for-you, extremely elementary, 1-cent-word introduction. Yet all it assumes is a mature audience and the ability to think--as well as search other sources of information--for oneself. Theoretical, but with plenty of concrete examples: It doesn't shortchange the student from under-the-hood methodologies, or by neglecting to exemplify them practically. Concise: It doesn't reteach you everything you've ever learned, e.g. arithmetic, loops, how to tie your shoes; or devote half of its page weight to historical biographies. Unusual topic matter: System administration is critical to computing professions, but goes unmentioned in a lot of introductory computer science all, I give this book a full-five stars because it sets out to do something valuable, does it, and does so stylistically well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    I've just received the book, and so far the composition seems very useful, and helpful. I also received it in a timely manner, in sufficient packaging. But there is a major flaw due to the publisher, the whole book seems to have been published at an angle, even the front and back cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    Amazing book, but small bit expensive!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    This is not the best selection for this topic. It is part introductory C, with a lot of exercises basically cribbed from Kernighan & Ritchie's The C Programming Language and then dumbed down to the point of triviality, part primary terminal usage, and it is extremely light on info about systems programming or Unix. For less than the price of this book, you could easily have K&R C and a vastly superior Linux or Unix systems programming book, such as Stevens' Advanced Programming in the Unix Environment, or Kerrisk's The Linux Programming Interface. I have a hard time understanding exactly who the target audience is here, because it barely qualifies as being an introductory text in any of the subjects that it covers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    This is not the book to purchase if you're interested in not falling asleep while reading. You are much better-off reading K&R's The C Programming Language. Most of the contents of that book cover the subjects in this book far more effectively. The only strength that this book has, and hence the 2 stars instead of 1, is that it offers an introduction to memory mappings and data structures. But what amazing is the book if it bores you to death? And what if that book costs you $100??? You can download K&R for free online...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    The product was a amazing price and it shipped quick and on time. The condition of the book was much better than I thought it would be. Amazing seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Programming with C and Unix []  2020-11-18 19:51

    Just no.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386