Read talking backwards reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all talking backwards reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    This book was recommended by a mate who has also gone through the poor ordeal of rape. I thought it might support me understand her pains further. This book really challenges you to think and recall your own interactions of the past and show and sometimes I had to place the book down as some of the stories really create you mad at the perpetrators and cry out for the victims. It really highlights the various aspects of rape and it's impact to people's lives. No matter who you are I would highly suggest reading this as this may even create you review your own opinion of rape victims and rapists themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    This is a book that should be read by anyone with a warm, vulnerable body and a mind begin to reading about others with related bodies and minds. It is an extraordinarily generous and loving book - really, considering the title, unexpectedly so. I feel augmented and filled with light. Regardless of all the pain, what remains is the light.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    It can be exceedingly difficult to write about rape in a method that makes people wish to hold reading. Sohaila Abdulali has poured her considerable compassion, wisdom, and wit into writing a book that does exactly this. Every chapter elicits powerful feelings, sometimes even laughter, and introduces a fresh and complex idea about a subject that is too often over-simplified and reduced to stereotypes and platitudes. This book should be needed reading..for all.

    0  


    Add your opinion on talking backwards or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    One of the most necessary books I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Item arrived on time and as presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape is a must read. It’s a no-holds-barred, direct light on rape, on survivors, on rapists, and on our society in general. And it’s brilliantly written. Sohaila Abdulali writes a story that reads like a conversation, peppered with facts and real life stories, as well as references to her own private experiences. For me it was such a refreshing read, because Sohaila Abdulali talks about rape and sexual assault in the method it should be talked about: without holding at said, there are locations in the book that may be triggering to some, and there is no method most people will be able to read this in one go. With the status (collapse) of this country right now and all of the mayhem flying around on the news, the nomination and subsequent confirmation of a perpetrator of sexual assault to the Supreme Court, even after the survivor testified and subsequently vilified, as well as just trying to obtain through life in general, I had to read this book in little doses. I’m glad I did because I feel like I got a lot more out of it than if I had sped through ere are certain locations that stood out to me so much while reading that I jotted down some notes, but in general each chapter includes very necessary information, even the interludes. (Interlude on a moment of terror specifically hit me hard). Here are my notes:Sohaila Abdulali does such a unbelievable job of giving the survivor a platform, and not just from a standpoint of they have a voice too, but by showing how widespread victim blaming is, how we look at everything in black and white, and how each time we mention choice we base that choice on our own perceptions without ever putting ourselves in the put of the victims. This is something that always irks me terribly, when I hear the “but she could have...”, the “but why didn’t she walk away...” etc etc. The onus needs to be on the perpetrator, NOT the victim. We need to stop scrutinizing the victim and begin scrutinizing the perpetrator. Sohaila Abdulali is so right about this. So right. I know personally that until we do this I won’t be able to speak either, because what stops so a lot of women from speaking, even years later, is the fact that they know they will be judged, even by those who don’t think they are ere are so a lot of locations that I similar to, and also locations that were very revealing. It was only recently that I equated the fear I feel on the dentist chair to another fear I felt as a child, and Sohaila Abdulali explains the correlation so well. It’s the same feeling I have had with doctors and why I avoid male doctors, especially after some experiences in pregnancy and childbirth that left me feeling even more violated than I felt haila Abdulali was born in India and survived a brutal rape as a young woman. She went on to work as a rape counselor and public speaker, amongst other things, and also spent a lot of her academic life studying and writing about rape and rape culture. When the #MeToo movement moved to the forefront in 2017, an old magazine article she had written 30 years before where she talks about her rape resurfaced. Sohaila Abdulali then went on to write this book even though she wondered whether it was a safe thing for her to do seeing as she mainly has been able to move on in her life. I am personally so satisfied that she did write this book as it has been very, very helpful to me, and in general I think it should be assigned literature for all to read.If we don’t talk about rape we will never see a ank you Sohaila Abdulali!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Thank you to NetGalley, The Fresh Press and Sohaila Abdulali for an ARC ebook copy to review. As always an honest review from me.What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape is a book we need to be talking about more. When the author started talking about rape in India, few people were discussing the topic. Now more people are, especially with the #MeToo Movement. But culturally there’s still more to be done. This book helps explain a lot of of these concepts. Most people know and believe that rape is bad. It gets ambiguous for some people when it comes to the actual definition of rape, consent and micro agressions, rape culture and its contributions to actual assaults, sexual harassment and more. It’s shocking to me, but not completely surprising, that a lot of people don’t understand these nuances.I like that the author educates the reader about the nuances of rape culture. It doesn’t come across as preachy, but more like “here’s some info that you might not know. Allow me share it with you.” I think most people could learn something , if not a lot of extremely necessary e only negative aspect of the book is that it could be a trigger for some people. So read with caution and please take care of yourself.Overall, another extremely relevant book to continue on with the discussion of the #MeToo conversation. Give it a read, and let’s begin talking!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Content warning: Naturally a book with ‘rape’ in its title is going to come with a content warning from me. This book is confronting so I would caution you to be aware of the potentially triggering nature of the content, but it was one of the best I’ve ever read on the e author considers the difficulty of categorising this book and I agree; it’s a blend of private experience, other peoples’ experiences and insights. What kept popping into my head as I was reading was that it’s a conversation. I loved Sohaila’s down to earth tone and how she makes this multifaceted and too often silenced experience approachable. Her writing is considered and empathetic. She doesn’t shy away from the gravity of the trauma associated with rape, yet at the same time I came away feeling hopeful and validated.“Discussions about rape are so often irrational, and sometimes outright bizarre. It’s the only crime to which people answer by wanting to lock up the victims. It’s the only crime that is so poor that victims are supposed to be destroyed beyond repair by it, but simultaneously not so poor that the men who do it should be treated like other criminals.”Although titled ‘What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape’ this book is also about what we don’t talk about when we talk about rape, like how “it’s the weirdest things that can obtain you. Like dentophobia.”When I was two thirds of the method through this book I’d already recommended it to a counsellor who works for my state’s rape crisis hotline and would recommend it to anyone who has experienced sexual assault, knows someone who has experienced sexual assault, works with people who have experienced sexual assault or wish to read an intelligent, thoughtful book about this truly global issue. While there are stories of people from America in this book there are also those from all of those other locations that aren’t America, like India, Australia, Africa, Europe and the Middle East. There’s also a unbelievable cross section of peoples’ experiences, from the poorest and most marginalised to well known cases and e whole notion of ‘institutional consent’, which holds to acc both men and women, was surprisingly fresh to me; “you know you can obtain away with it because the whole system is set up to support you obtain away with it.”My favourite lightbulb moment during my first read of this book (I expect it will be the first of a lot of reads) came when I encountered an acronym that has validated my experience so much. Jennifer Freyd, writing about betrayal trauma theory in the nineties, “proposed that abusers frequently answer to accusations with “DARVO” - Deny, Attack, and Reverse Victim and Offender.”There were a few sections that seemed a bit disjointed to me and info of some stories were repeated in a couple of chapters, although the repetition did serve to remind me which person’s experience I was reading about. Absent from this book was any mention of women who rape; while uncommon, it does happen, and I would be interested to hear what this author has to say about is book is sociological, political, private and contradictory. Now, contradictory may sound like a criticism but it’s not and as Sohaila expresses, rape and the method we talk about it is contradictory, so to highlight these contradictions is vital to an honest discussion. I loved/hated the “Lose-Lose Rape Conundrum”; it is so infuriatingly accurate:“If you talk about it, you’re a helpless victim angling for sympathy. If you’re not a helpless victim, then it wasn’t such a huge deal, so why are you talking about it? If you’re surviving and living your life, why are you ruining some not good man’s life? Either it’s a huge deal, so you’re ruined, or it’s not a huge deal and you should be quiet.”Thank you so much to NetGalley and The Fresh Press for the opportunity to read this book. My current activism level is set to: Need to do something positive immediately!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Thank you NetGalley and The Fresh Press for this ARC."So what is this book? It's about shining a light on what we talk about, but also on what we don't talk about."This is a fabulous description of the content. The author sits you down and talks to you like an older sister. Sharing stories, facts and opinions while allowing you to form your own. She questions everything and makes you feel safe and welcome to do the same."Discussions about rape tend to be irrational, and sometimes outright bizarre."No one likes talking about rape. It's a horrible occurrence and uncomfortable for everyone. Does that mean we shouldn't talk about it? Of course not. I search the things we are most uncomfortable talking about are usually the most necessary things to discuss for that very reason. No one talks about it."Words are the opponent of impunity."Opening a dialogue on any subject we are uncomfortable with can only cause it to become easier to discuss the next time. I search starting a conversation about rape is always weird and awkward and sometimes scary when you hear other peoples opinions. It's necessary to create it part of the discussion. It is necessary to create people feel comfortable coming forward and talking about experiences, emotions and knowing that they are safe to do so."If we can expose our kids to talk of genocide, racism, bikini waxing and the inevitable melting of the planet, why should we leave out sexual abuse?"I really enjoyed her begin and honest approach. She doesn't claim to be an expect or that there is a right or wrong method to deal with or discuss sexual abuse. She just opens the door on the conversation and gives you info to be show in that conversation."No matter what the respond is, we certainly won't search it if we don't talk to each ere was some repetition with the stories, but not enough that it ruins the experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape []  2020-1-22 22:29

    With the advent of electronic communication, it is far easier for us today than it ever has been before to search and converse with others who are like-minded or who have related experiences/backgrounds/cultures. This has been a unbelievable development, allowing collaborations and real-time info updates, and so much more. And, although it is difficult to consider this a "positive," per se, our ability to share info around the globe at the speed of sound has enabled us to see the darkest parts of humanity.We should not cheer to realize that women and girls throughout the globe are being systematically raped. We cannot consider it a boon to society that rape is deliberately used as a tool to terrify, subjugate, threaten, and control vulnerable people. However, we, as a global people, must not be willing to back away from this info and plead ignorance. We know what's going on. Now, we need to do something - a lot of somethings - about it.Rape is something that we must never become comfortable with or let to become set apart from us, as a larger group. I love this book because it does not shy away from the subject of rape. This is a genuine, brutally honest discussion about one of humanity's worst weapons. This book gives us names and faces, facts and histories. True info to broaden our understanding and let further honest conversations to thing this book is not, is comprehensive. Don't look to it as a complete subject contained within two covers. This is just a start. A method to become familiar with terminology, some primary facts, and then it is up to the reader to hold progressing from much needs to be done to address the rape crisis in this world. What to do for survivors, how to prevent attacks, how to punish violators. How to educate about the reality of this situation. How to stop victim-blaming. How to prevent the creation of fresh survivors and ke no mistake. Rape is absolutely a weapon. Rape has been used as a weapon since time immemorial, and is still used today because it continues to do exactly what the violators wish it to do. Rape still causes catastrophic damage. Rape is still terrifying enough to create people willing to bend to another's will, if only to avoid it event to themselves or others.I don't personally believe, at this point, that we will be able to take the power out of rape. What we can and MUST do, however, is search a method to create the cost unthinkable to offenders, and to empower victims and would-be victims. And we must, must search a method to answer on a global scale, as this is genuinely a global problem.I cannot recommend this book highly enough. I sincerely think it should be needed curriculum in every high school, secondary school, and college throughout the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I’ve never read a Murakami novel before so I had no idea what to expect from his running memoir. I’d seen it on the bookshelf of a number of runners so as I started training for my first marathon a few weeks ago, I picked up the book as well.I loved most of it. I found his philosophy with both running and writing to be related to mine. There are a lot of things that someone who’s not an endurance athlete can’t understand so maybe this book speaks to a narrow audience. But I’m glad to be a member of that audience. I found myself nodding along. I’d read a free sample on my Kindle, then found a used paperback to buy so I could underline passages and create notes in the margin. I loved this book so much I penciled it that I’ve seen this glimpse into his mind I wish to test his novels, too.I would not say this is “equal parts training log, travelogue, and reminiscence,” as the book description does. It contains all those things, but not in equal parts. It’s a series of essays that he wrote, mostly during his training for the 2005 Fresh York Town Marathon, but the memories take him to other races and other periods of his life, and on a whirlwind tour of his stomping grounds across Hawaii, Boston, Greece, and Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I have this theory that goes like this: sometimes we search books, and sometimes books search us.Oftentimes I'll pick up a book, read a few lines, and quickly close the covers. I'll instinctively know that no matter how much I wish to read it that that book's notice was meant for a later time. And sure enough, years later, I'll spot the book on the corner of my shelf and be moved to pick it up, only to search exactly what I required to hear. It's funny how life, and reading, works that way.Other times I'll search a book in the most random method - through a footnote or a random citation in an obscure periodical, for instance - and that book's notice will be exactly what I required to hear at that moment in my life. That was certainly the case with Japanese novelist Karuki Murakami's unbelievable small book, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.While training for the Fresh York Town Marathon Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami decided to write about it as well. What materialized was a special memoir that discusses his twin passions of writing and running, and the interesting method they nurture and inform each other.I've been struggling as of late staying focused on the hard work of writing, so when I opened the book and read the following lines I knew that a notice that I required to hear had found me:"One runner told of a mantra his older brother, also a runner, had taught him which he's pondered ever since he began running. Here it is: Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional. Say you're running and you begin to think, Man this hurts, I can't take it anymore. The damage part is an unavoidable reality, but whether or not you can stand any more is up to the runner himself. This beautiful much sums up the most necessary aspect of marathon running."If you feel called to creative work, and are struggling with finding the discipline important to make a body of work, you'll search this playful, oftentimes philosophical memoir meal for your soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I really liked this book. It didn't blow me out of the water with inspiration like I kind of expected, but that's ok. It's a memoir, not a manifesto. As a runner and writer myself, it was nice to see how the two mesh together for the author. I am anxious to read one of his novels now after getting a glimpse of his writing ide from the joy of gaining insight from his decades of experience, I found the author to be respectable, humble, and generally just a likable guy. Id' love to have coffee with him pick his brain some more. I found his humility and honesty refreshing and rare in a field where I am accustomed to sensationalized, horn-tooting tales of superatletes. I liked that he opened up about limits that come with aging, (though he's still faster than I may ever be) and how the love of running can wax and wann over time. Humility is an aspect often left out when people talk about running, but I search that at times I leave for a run expecting to feel a amazing sense of accomplishment, and return humbled instead, and those runs are every bit as important. I am grateful that he touched on those feelings. Running is such a metaphor for life, it only makes sense that a writer may be an avid runner. I often write in my head while I run, and I enjoyed this acc of someone who has been doing both for decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    Because I love Haruki Murakami’s novels, and because in the latest year I became very interested in running (which increased my interest in the books about running) I was very satisfied to finally be able to read what a lot of people consider a cult running book – Murakami’s “What I talk about when I talk about rakami has been a runner for years (his results are on ). I have actually seen him running along Charles river in Cambridge, as his stay there overlapped with mine. In his very private acc of the running experience, he describes how he began running seriously. I really love how he writes about his successes and failures, his feelings while running training runs and races, and his evolving attitude to cause Murakami is a writer, his book is various that other runners’ accounts or tip on running. He simply writes better. He is able to create the reader feel his pain, elation, frustration, tiredness and pride associated with the training process and participation in races. I loved his first marathon choice – he ran the original route in reverse, from Athens to Marathon, alone, and wrote an article about his experience. Also, his acc of an ultramarathon in Japan (100 km race) is breathtaking, and his notes on the transition into triathlons are very metimes he sounds a small too proud of himself – like when he comments on the female Harvard students passing him during his training runs in Cambridge – but this just makes the descriptions of his thoughts more believable and. He seems to be completely genuine, no matter what he writes, and this is also why I liked even his opinions on particular brands of running gear – they did not sound like a product placement at all, just a frank opinion on what he personally thinks is best for him. Particularly interesting are the thoughts on the impact of running on the rest of the author’s endeavors as a writer, pub owner and lecturer. Strikingly, he writes very small on his marriage and I would like to hear more on how he and his wife incorporate his running into their everyday life as a couple, but I understand it might be a personal matter.I will return to this book for sure, I understand why it is a cult book among runners, and I want Mr. Murakami a lot of more years of satisfying running and triathlons!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    "All I can see is the ground three yards ahead, nothing beyond. My whole globe consistes of the ground three yards ahead. No need to think beyond that....this was my little reason for living."Haruki Murakami, best know for his `stream of consciousness' and brutally honest writing style, goes introspective on the weird random thoughts he has when he runs. In a memoir (of sorts) he draws from his life as a hugely successful novelist, seasoned bar owner, and, on most frigid Fresh England afternoons, long distance runner, to bring us his views of the world, writing and running.I read this book for Murakami's thoughts on writing first and foremost. I've known of his quirky writing style for some time, and thought I might obtain a small insight into that groovy brain of his. Small did I suspect this book would be so spiritual. As it turns out, the writing `advice' or `tips' are beautiful scarce: Haruki describes it mostly as painful, grinding manual labor. In fact, for a guy that runs as much as he does, it turns out he almost never gets any fresh ideas for novels while running. I found this somewhat disappointing. Of all the time he spends running, and he doesn't obtain any inspiration at all? But then I realized, that his job is writing and selling books, why would he wish to think about work, in what is meant to be an escape from the boring as it sounds, Murakami seems to obtain all his amazing ideas from....pushing himself to hold writing, in much the same method he pushes himself to run. It looks glamourous and "fun" from afar, but it really is work. If you wish to be good, there is no secret, you just have to work. I've heard of writers that force themselves to write in volume, either 10 pages a day, or a notepad per week, whatever-they force themselves to obtain it all out on the page, and then the true fun comes later: editing (sometimes tossing 80-90% of their original draft).The beauty of Murakami's writing is that he's able to revisit a past moment, and relive it so vividly, that he can recapture the stream of consciousness, the wild ramblings of his inner mind, that seems the most impossible thing to recall, the hardest thing to fake. He's either brilliant at making this up, or has an awesome memory. Either way, we obtain to mark along (not just in this, but his other novels as well).When it comes to running, Murakami goes the distance. Sprinting for 40 metres is wild, electric and explosive, whereas long distance running is something else entirely: it's almost pointless in its repetitiveness and slow plodding pace; it can be dull, it can be lonely, it can be brutally painful and intimidating-what can we possibly learn from running? In a lot of ways, Murakami reflects in Spiritual, almost ascetic tones on the breakthroughs he's had while running marathons: it's only when he's been pushed to the physical breaking point, that his perceptions of pain and thirst, and ego, and struggle, truly shattered into a million pieces, like when he describes his 62-mile ultra marathon run. The latest 30 minutes, he recounts, as a blissful breezy union with nature, where the plants and the birds, and all the clouds seemed to cheer him on, and he passed about 30 other runners. He seemed to break free from his own body, for just a brief period, but as they say, a mind once learned, will never see the globe the same method again.And all those races, what's it all for? Ego? Fame? Publicity? Not at all. Running is one of the few sports where, you're racing versus yourself, so you can't lie. You have to be brutally honest, because no one else cares. There is no publicity and the awards are few and far between. You can walk. You can quit. No one will ever push you to run (and most will even talk you out of it, because you're ultrafit lifestyle is incredibly annoying). But you don't run because it's easy, you do it, because you wish to push yourself, and be as powerful at 52 as you were at 25. Murakami, again, in brutal honesty, recounts with some regret that he may never be as powerful as agile as he once was. It's nature. It's 's not just a race, it's a struggle with mortality. Ultimately, the rewards come as glimpses of some amazing awakening-glimpses that we don't obtain if we walk the latest 2 miles of the marathon. The amazing war versus our tired racked bodies (and what they may or may not be capable of) can only be won out there, on the lonely road, at the crack of dawn, with our bleary eyes focused on the next 3 yards, and nothing re Reviews like this on 21tiger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    Just a beautifully written book. I don't do marathons (or triathlons) but I agree with and believe in so much of what this guy is talking about. He treats running as both an activity and as a metaphor-as a put to literally execute his commitment to improvement and hard work in the form of a small bit further or a small bit faster. Because if you can do it there, when no one is watching and it doesn't count, than you can sure do it for the rest of your is is actually something Tim Ferriss has been talking about, which is that you need some sort of physically activity in your life so that it function as a steady drip of excellence: your company may be having financial troubles but you just beat your mile time or maxed our your deadlift. This book is kind of a diary of one man (a enormously successful novelist) who has done and is doing that. It's got amazing examples of how to talk to your body-rather, how to kick it around-and how to motivate yourself and appreciate solitude. Again, it's very short but very poetic and worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I almost could have written this book... if I were as talented a writer as Mr Murakami, of course. As a runner, I similar to this book very much, often finding myself nodding or chuckling to myself because I totally understand what the author is talking about as he talks (writes) about running and his experience in participating in the sport over a lot of years. I admit I was unsure that I would like this book based on some of the reviews, but so a lot of fellow runners had recommended it that I finally picked it up, and I am so glad I did. It was a relatively fast read, too. At a few points I even found myself tearing up because I've had some related experiences as the author. I won't spoil the book by listing them here, but if you are a relatively competitive age-group runner/triathlete, you will likely search much in common with Mr Murakami's experiences and thoughts as described in this book. I wouldn't say that it gave me any more or less motivation to run, but it did support remind me of why I love running, and why so a lot of other people do, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    As a long-time fan of his fiction (A Wild Sheep Chase came out when I was in college and blew me away!), I found this oh-so private book to be an absolute delight. I even started running again- not far, not fast, but in a method that, as Murakami puts it, "suits" me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    I'm not a runner, far from it, but my elderly father is. Dad took up running when he was in his 50s and, until he was diagnosed with colon cancer in 2004, he ran 19 marathons.Anyway, I thought it'd be interesting to read this book by a Japanese novelist who is also a marathoner and a triathlete. I was hoping he could give some amazing insights into why people is short memoir had some interesting moments about how marathoners/triathletes train and what they think about when they run. I love reading insights into how authors operate but felt that there was too much on how he writes and not enough on how he runs. For a running book, it could've spent more time talking about 's a amazing book, certainly, but it could've been better. I liked the author's writing style, though, and at some point, may give one of his novels a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running []  2020-2-6 22:32

    The writer's style is so loose that it reads like an idea of a first draft. Not the meticulously edited volume he claims. I also found small to help his assertion that it is philosophical. At best, it is the story of an aging runner coming to grips with his dwindling capacity to perform. Thankfully, he realizes the joy is in the running and not necessarily in a fresh private record.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    An perfect book this is ! It covers all the salient features similar to little talk and its importance for living well with a developed and also extraordinary personality. This book specifies few practical steps to be implemented to obtain rid of all the obstacles like little talk issues that can keep you back. A well planned guideline to obtain your anxiety and fear under control has been mentioned to support you with making a amazing first impression as well as following up with the relationships you'd like to continue. You can go on with this to be aware of the merits of little talk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    After reading this book I felt more confident of going out there are making some sort of conversation with people I normally don't associate with in a regular basis. And I can vouch that from private experience, the instructions in this book are a tremendous boost to this book the various strategies to use in various situations are given, but personally I think at the end of it you can implement these strategies anywhere you want. Most importantly and the part that captured my interest was the chapter on reading body language and facial expressions. I now actually practice in front of the mirror to learn to cover up my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    A pack of amazing hints and tactics for developing your communication skills has been offered in this book. Each chapter of this book discusses on a particular subject and shares a clear suggestions and steps to be taken for improving your communication skill. The author also gave importance to the development of active listening skills and mentioned various ways to do it. On the whole, the contents inside this book must enable you to shine your personality. I would like to recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    Some people are such introverts that they refuse to even go for a counselor's help. I can understand a majority of that feeling. Its not all about just being able to go out and talk, but its also about knowing that the listener does actually listen to and likes to talk to you. In this book, I realized that there are numerous practices one can employ to obtain themselves out of their shell all on their own, sorta like a DIY anti-introvert guide. Particularly I was immensely interested by the facts in chapter 2 on the Non-Verbal actions that say a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    A book that you can actually use practically. The instructions and tip are all logical and simple to follow. The author follows a gradual course of study, dealing with the difference circumstances where shy people obtain stuck. And each circumstance, he asks self assessment type questions, such as "Would they agree with what I say?", "Is this the right thing to say?"... so there, people do come across those questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    This book gives quite sensible and easily practicable measures to take to become a social person. Additionally, I see this as a amazing feature in this book - it does not only give the theory of the concept or solely the practical, but it deals with both of them together, like why and how this certain practical will improve your skills. The book begins with making a amazing first impression and my first impression of this book came from that chapter - perfect guidance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    It's necessary for us to know and aware how to communicate well to others. So that we can build a amazing relationships , for our better humanity. This is necessary aspects in our life to have mates and to attend some events. That will support us to grow, I learned a lot and I realized that my skills is not enough to achieve it. So that I really need to apply all the skills and techniques to complete it. And I know it would be simple to achieve what I want. Thanks for sharing this it is a huge support for me to improve much my self.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    I finally found the right tutorial how to apply excellent my conversation to others. The most common weakness from that is my fear and of course insecurities. That gives me lot of questions and how to handle it, it's very necessary to know the right skills. To build a powerful communication we must know how to apply well . Amazing conversations will lead us to become more happier and comfortable , in our daily life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    A learned a lot of things that I really need to improve more my self. We need to control ourselves when we communicate to others. Be grateful and nice to them, and expressed ourselves in an enthusiastic but not in a judge mental manner. Now I fell more confident and aware to build lasting ,fulfilling relationship to others. I know that it will work and I will be success in what I wish in my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable []  2019-12-18 20:49

    Fulfilling relationship is the method how we communicate well. And the attitude we have both of them have a huge role to our everyday life. This build us to do things together more frequent . That we build a powerful and amazing friendship, that is the skills and techniques that I need. To become simple and fast I will apply it asap. Thanks for this unbelievable and helpful tutorial that really needs of anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    Totally fraud Application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    Useless App, 100% pay2win. You can't even notice a woman, need to have a subscription.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    怎么不能换中文

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    The best application ever used i met my soulmate here and wenare in love thanks a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    Very nice application u can meet nice people here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    worst application khoi bhi please download naa kareb

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    After opening itself i uninstalled this.worst ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    Horrible

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talk Talk - Random Chatting [App]  2020-4-2 21:40

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TalkRating: Talk Back to Talk Radio [App]  2019-8-13 21:19

    registered, no email sent, checked all in boxes, waited 15 minutes, nothing. tried to re-register but states user name is taken. no method to request registration email to be resent. can't use app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I’ve never read a Murakami novel before so I had no idea what to expect from his running memoir. I’d seen it on the bookshelf of a number of runners so as I started training for my first marathon a few weeks ago, I picked up the book as well.I loved most of it. I found his philosophy with both running and writing to be related to mine. There are a lot of things that someone who’s not an endurance athlete can’t understand so maybe this book speaks to a narrow audience. But I’m glad to be a member of that audience. I found myself nodding along. I’d read a free sample on my Kindle, then found a used paperback to buy so I could underline passages and create notes in the margin. I loved this book so much I penciled it that I’ve seen this glimpse into his mind I wish to test his novels, too.I would not say this is “equal parts training log, travelogue, and reminiscence,” as the book description does. It contains all those things, but not in equal parts. It’s a series of essays that he wrote, mostly during his training for the 2005 Fresh York Town Marathon, but the memories take him to other races and other periods of his life, and on a whirlwind tour of his stomping grounds across Hawaii, Boston, Greece, and Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I have this theory that goes like this: sometimes we search books, and sometimes books search us.Oftentimes I'll pick up a book, read a few lines, and quickly close the covers. I'll instinctively know that no matter how much I wish to read it that that book's notice was meant for a later time. And sure enough, years later, I'll spot the book on the corner of my shelf and be moved to pick it up, only to search exactly what I required to hear. It's funny how life, and reading, works that way.Other times I'll search a book in the most random method - through a footnote or a random citation in an obscure periodical, for instance - and that book's notice will be exactly what I required to hear at that moment in my life. That was certainly the case with Japanese novelist Karuki Murakami's unbelievable small book, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.While training for the Fresh York Town Marathon Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami decided to write about it as well. What materialized was a special memoir that discusses his twin passions of writing and running, and the interesting method they nurture and inform each other.I've been struggling as of late staying focused on the hard work of writing, so when I opened the book and read the following lines I knew that a notice that I required to hear had found me:"One runner told of a mantra his older brother, also a runner, had taught him which he's pondered ever since he began running. Here it is: Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional. Say you're running and you begin to think, Man this hurts, I can't take it anymore. The damage part is an unavoidable reality, but whether or not you can stand any more is up to the runner himself. This beautiful much sums up the most necessary aspect of marathon running."If you feel called to creative work, and are struggling with finding the discipline important to make a body of work, you'll search this playful, oftentimes philosophical memoir meal for your soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I really liked this book. It didn't blow me out of the water with inspiration like I kind of expected, but that's ok. It's a memoir, not a manifesto. As a runner and writer myself, it was nice to see how the two mesh together for the author. I am anxious to read one of his novels now after getting a glimpse of his writing ide from the joy of gaining insight from his decades of experience, I found the author to be respectable, humble, and generally just a likable guy. Id' love to have coffee with him pick his brain some more. I found his humility and honesty refreshing and rare in a field where I am accustomed to sensationalized, horn-tooting tales of superatletes. I liked that he opened up about limits that come with aging, (though he's still faster than I may ever be) and how the love of running can wax and wann over time. Humility is an aspect often left out when people talk about running, but I search that at times I leave for a run expecting to feel a amazing sense of accomplishment, and return humbled instead, and those runs are every bit as important. I am grateful that he touched on those feelings. Running is such a metaphor for life, it only makes sense that a writer may be an avid runner. I often write in my head while I run, and I enjoyed this acc of someone who has been doing both for decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Because I love Haruki Murakami’s novels, and because in the latest year I became very interested in running (which increased my interest in the books about running) I was very satisfied to finally be able to read what a lot of people consider a cult running book – Murakami’s “What I talk about when I talk about rakami has been a runner for years (his results are on ). I have actually seen him running along Charles river in Cambridge, as his stay there overlapped with mine. In his very private acc of the running experience, he describes how he began running seriously. I really love how he writes about his successes and failures, his feelings while running training runs and races, and his evolving attitude to cause Murakami is a writer, his book is various that other runners’ accounts or tip on running. He simply writes better. He is able to create the reader feel his pain, elation, frustration, tiredness and pride associated with the training process and participation in races. I loved his first marathon choice – he ran the original route in reverse, from Athens to Marathon, alone, and wrote an article about his experience. Also, his acc of an ultramarathon in Japan (100 km race) is breathtaking, and his notes on the transition into triathlons are very metimes he sounds a small too proud of himself – like when he comments on the female Harvard students passing him during his training runs in Cambridge – but this just makes the descriptions of his thoughts more believable and. He seems to be completely genuine, no matter what he writes, and this is also why I liked even his opinions on particular brands of running gear – they did not sound like a product placement at all, just a frank opinion on what he personally thinks is best for him. Particularly interesting are the thoughts on the impact of running on the rest of the author’s endeavors as a writer, pub owner and lecturer. Strikingly, he writes very small on his marriage and I would like to hear more on how he and his wife incorporate his running into their everyday life as a couple, but I understand it might be a personal matter.I will return to this book for sure, I understand why it is a cult book among runners, and I want Mr. Murakami a lot of more years of satisfying running and triathlons!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    "All I can see is the ground three yards ahead, nothing beyond. My whole globe consistes of the ground three yards ahead. No need to think beyond that....this was my little reason for living."Haruki Murakami, best know for his `stream of consciousness' and brutally honest writing style, goes introspective on the weird random thoughts he has when he runs. In a memoir (of sorts) he draws from his life as a hugely successful novelist, seasoned bar owner, and, on most frigid Fresh England afternoons, long distance runner, to bring us his views of the world, writing and running.I read this book for Murakami's thoughts on writing first and foremost. I've known of his quirky writing style for some time, and thought I might obtain a small insight into that groovy brain of his. Small did I suspect this book would be so spiritual. As it turns out, the writing `advice' or `tips' are beautiful scarce: Haruki describes it mostly as painful, grinding manual labor. In fact, for a guy that runs as much as he does, it turns out he almost never gets any fresh ideas for novels while running. I found this somewhat disappointing. Of all the time he spends running, and he doesn't obtain any inspiration at all? But then I realized, that his job is writing and selling books, why would he wish to think about work, in what is meant to be an escape from the boring as it sounds, Murakami seems to obtain all his amazing ideas from....pushing himself to hold writing, in much the same method he pushes himself to run. It looks glamourous and "fun" from afar, but it really is work. If you wish to be good, there is no secret, you just have to work. I've heard of writers that force themselves to write in volume, either 10 pages a day, or a notepad per week, whatever-they force themselves to obtain it all out on the page, and then the true fun comes later: editing (sometimes tossing 80-90% of their original draft).The beauty of Murakami's writing is that he's able to revisit a past moment, and relive it so vividly, that he can recapture the stream of consciousness, the wild ramblings of his inner mind, that seems the most impossible thing to recall, the hardest thing to fake. He's either brilliant at making this up, or has an awesome memory. Either way, we obtain to mark along (not just in this, but his other novels as well).When it comes to running, Murakami goes the distance. Sprinting for 40 metres is wild, electric and explosive, whereas long distance running is something else entirely: it's almost pointless in its repetitiveness and slow plodding pace; it can be dull, it can be lonely, it can be brutally painful and intimidating-what can we possibly learn from running? In a lot of ways, Murakami reflects in Spiritual, almost ascetic tones on the breakthroughs he's had while running marathons: it's only when he's been pushed to the physical breaking point, that his perceptions of pain and thirst, and ego, and struggle, truly shattered into a million pieces, like when he describes his 62-mile ultra marathon run. The latest 30 minutes, he recounts, as a blissful breezy union with nature, where the plants and the birds, and all the clouds seemed to cheer him on, and he passed about 30 other runners. He seemed to break free from his own body, for just a brief period, but as they say, a mind once learned, will never see the globe the same method again.And all those races, what's it all for? Ego? Fame? Publicity? Not at all. Running is one of the few sports where, you're racing versus yourself, so you can't lie. You have to be brutally honest, because no one else cares. There is no publicity and the awards are few and far between. You can walk. You can quit. No one will ever push you to run (and most will even talk you out of it, because you're ultrafit lifestyle is incredibly annoying). But you don't run because it's easy, you do it, because you wish to push yourself, and be as powerful at 52 as you were at 25. Murakami, again, in brutal honesty, recounts with some regret that he may never be as powerful as agile as he once was. It's nature. It's 's not just a race, it's a struggle with mortality. Ultimately, the rewards come as glimpses of some amazing awakening-glimpses that we don't obtain if we walk the latest 2 miles of the marathon. The amazing war versus our tired racked bodies (and what they may or may not be capable of) can only be won out there, on the lonely road, at the crack of dawn, with our bleary eyes focused on the next 3 yards, and nothing re Reviews like this on 21tiger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Just a beautifully written book. I don't do marathons (or triathlons) but I agree with and believe in so much of what this guy is talking about. He treats running as both an activity and as a metaphor-as a put to literally execute his commitment to improvement and hard work in the form of a small bit further or a small bit faster. Because if you can do it there, when no one is watching and it doesn't count, than you can sure do it for the rest of your is is actually something Tim Ferriss has been talking about, which is that you need some sort of physically activity in your life so that it function as a steady drip of excellence: your company may be having financial troubles but you just beat your mile time or maxed our your deadlift. This book is kind of a diary of one man (a enormously successful novelist) who has done and is doing that. It's got amazing examples of how to talk to your body-rather, how to kick it around-and how to motivate yourself and appreciate solitude. Again, it's very short but very poetic and worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I almost could have written this book... if I were as talented a writer as Mr Murakami, of course. As a runner, I similar to this book very much, often finding myself nodding or chuckling to myself because I totally understand what the author is talking about as he talks (writes) about running and his experience in participating in the sport over a lot of years. I admit I was unsure that I would like this book based on some of the reviews, but so a lot of fellow runners had recommended it that I finally picked it up, and I am so glad I did. It was a relatively fast read, too. At a few points I even found myself tearing up because I've had some related experiences as the author. I won't spoil the book by listing them here, but if you are a relatively competitive age-group runner/triathlete, you will likely search much in common with Mr Murakami's experiences and thoughts as described in this book. I wouldn't say that it gave me any more or less motivation to run, but it did support remind me of why I love running, and why so a lot of other people do, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    As a long-time fan of his fiction (A Wild Sheep Chase came out when I was in college and blew me away!), I found this oh-so private book to be an absolute delight. I even started running again- not far, not fast, but in a method that, as Murakami puts it, "suits" me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I'm not a runner, far from it, but my elderly father is. Dad took up running when he was in his 50s and, until he was diagnosed with colon cancer in 2004, he ran 19 marathons.Anyway, I thought it'd be interesting to read this book by a Japanese novelist who is also a marathoner and a triathlete. I was hoping he could give some amazing insights into why people is short memoir had some interesting moments about how marathoners/triathletes train and what they think about when they run. I love reading insights into how authors operate but felt that there was too much on how he writes and not enough on how he runs. For a running book, it could've spent more time talking about 's a amazing book, certainly, but it could've been better. I liked the author's writing style, though, and at some point, may give one of his novels a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) []  2020-1-8 19:5

    The writer's style is so loose that it reads like an idea of a first draft. Not the meticulously edited volume he claims. I also found small to help his assertion that it is philosophical. At best, it is the story of an aging runner coming to grips with his dwindling capacity to perform. Thankfully, he realizes the joy is in the running and not necessarily in a fresh private record.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    This is an necessary book because it provides a much required restart of how the United States thinks of health. Rather than quality of life at all life phases (and particularly older years), health is industrialized and conflated with individuals’ disease states and medical treatment comes at a critical time when health policy leaders are affording increased attention to social determinants of health such as safe and clean neighborhoods, access to education and meaningful and remunerative work to improve population health and reduce demand for medical care. This is particularly relevant for preventative chronic conditions for which no cure exists -- often where medical science has reached a cost/benefit is book comes as a lot of are living in tents in unsanitary conditions on town roads and vacant lots, increasing the risk of infectious disease spread, reinforcing Galea's premise that individual health adversely affects overall population health. And the inverse where favorable social determinants of health support reinforce individual health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    Powerful, clearly identifies the social influencers of health

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    Arrived early and as described - Thanks!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    Not the best read. Took far longer to work my method through this book than I expected. Would not recommend. Was a slow crawl the entire time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    This is a really must-read book about the real problems that create up what it means to be "healthy". To me, it felt like a collection of brief meditations/essays on various subjects and why each of these subjects *should* matter to us as humans, not just as only problem with this book is this: the people who will read it are likely very aware of every problem pointed out in this book because a lot of it is common sense for any compassionate person and Social Justice e unfortunate truth is that those who are unaware of the problems facing our health as a people (which DOES trickle down to individual health) are not likely to read a book like this. So while I appreciate this book, I still believe that authors and scientists in this field need to create this info more universally appealing and geared towards those who normally *don't* choose to engage in these issues. Most of us believe that there's just a primary "common sense" of human compassion that exists in each of us that would compel us to seek this sort of info and look at it from an unbiased perspective, but that's simply not the case- not at this point in history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    What one gets out of reading this is likely to be heavily dependent on (a) what one knows antcedently, and (b) whether one is looming for enlightenment or ratification.I was looking for, or at least hoping for, enlightenment. But because there was really very small in the book that I did not know before reading it, I did not obtain much from reading it. People who are health researchers of just about any stripe should give this a miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    It's fitting that the illustration on the front of "Well" is a tree, showing the roots below the ground. Because author Sandro Galea, a distinguished physician and educator, wrote this book to discover just that: why we in the United States, with our sophisticated health care system, are far from the healthiest country in the world. Obviously, our "throw a pill at it" system of health care doesn't always work so at's not to say that medications and other treatments aren't important. But Galea takes a holistic approach to health, exploring how our childhood environment, from pollution to not good diet to family violence, affects our health in later life. And he also explores how the not good choices of parents affect their children.While poverty is a major factor in a lifetime of sickness -- and that's nothing fresh -- other factors come into play in today's United States. There's the misuse of power by corporations and politicians, resulting in decisions created about health care that impact millions. There are social relationships, which can be both amazing and bad, but the absence of any relationships may be the worst of all. There are love, hate and compassion, and how they affect our dealings with others. Cultural norms play their part in teenage pregnancy, smoking, obesity and other health ea believes we need to focus more on health rather than health care. Getting at the root causes of sickness, he says, require that realize how much we are the product of where we came from and where we are is is a beautifully written book that packs a lot of info and interpretation into its 200 or so pages. It's thought-provoking. I recommend it to anyone who is concerned about what is going on in health care today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    Sandro Galea has an interesting life history. He was born in Malta and moved with his family to Canada when he was a teenager where they lived with an aunt and then moved to public housing. He went to high school for a year and a bit, then to a commuter college and on to Toronto University and medical school . When he was almost 30 years old he moved to the United States to study public health at Harvard and Columbia, and now at almost 50 he has become the dean of public health at Boston University.Quite the resume. But rather than rely on his expertise in medicine and epidemiology to suggest how to improve health Sandro Galea turns political to preach social justice. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but I was expecting something different. The stories that he tells and in some cases creates as illustrations seem contrived and his thinking simplistic. I found small thought-provoking or even thoughtful in the book.I do agree with Sandro Galea's point that healthcare does not have all that much to do with health. Doctors can't do much to support unless one is sick and by then their options are limited to things that in most cases won't effect in very amazing health. Much better to promote and protect amazing health rather than treat sickness and disease.But how to do that? Sandro Galea's suggested solutions seem vague and impractical. For example, he says that climate change is probably the largest threat to health we face (really? climate change?), and to solve that we need to throw out the Republicans and elect Democrats to replace them. Not to mention reparations for slavery, reducing income inequality, universal healthcare, public housing, lots more parks, getting rid of "food deserts" (lack of grocery stores) and "food swamps" (too a lot of quick meal stores), mass transit, free college, and the full slate of liberal programs.I don't mean to condemn such thinking -- those kinds of things would be nice to have. But our society is very complex and solving social issues like improving health is more about execution than ideas. Sandro Galea just discusses ideas in the abstract and says nothing about putting them into place. That makes his book more preachy than thought-provoking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    I suffer from a relatively rare disorder, and I saw countless doctors over nearly 3 years before finally getting a diagnosis. After that, I have been bounced from med to med, specialist to specialist, without any true progress other than symptom management. I ordered this book because I've become increasingly aware of the factors that play a role in how I feel from day-to-day, like stress and diet (even barometric pressure), that doctors don't even talk about. I was expecting a book that explored treating "the whole person", integrative medicine, etc. While those problems are explored, this is more of a treatise on the system than on individual wellness. While I don't disagree with the author, I didn't search much here that I haven't already experienced firsthand or witnessed in my work as a mentor to others with chronic, lifelong is is a amazing book in that, from my perspective, the author is on point in most assertions, but it wasn't quite what I expected. If you're fresh to chronic illness or a caretaker to someone who is and you have to deal with the healthcare system beyond general health concerns, this may offer insight that will support you be prepared for what you'll likely have to deal with. If you're a social worker or policy maker, this may support as well, but for those of us who've been "in the trenches," it's really nothing e book is well-written and well-researched, IMO. It also created me quite mad at points, which I count as a plus because it elicited an appropriate reaction (looking at you here, drug companies).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Well: What We Need to Talk About When We Talk About Health []  2020-1-29 2:24

    What this book tells us is that while we are so busy focusing on healthcare we are forgetting about our health and having a quality health filled life. He explains how as we are focusing on the system our private health levels are falling and we just don't see what is happening.We should focus more on raising healthy kids who grow to be healthful adults and in our country that is a serious issue. Children are raised on quick foods & snack cakes and grow into unhealthy and obese adults that don't know the meaning of how to live a healthy lifestyle. Our choices are harming our children is what it boils down to and we are in a national crisis because of these behaviors.I strongly agree with what this book tells us and he has researched his facts and presented them well. It's an informative read that isn't dry or overly educational. 4 stars.*If this review helped you create an informed choice about this product in any method I would appreciate it if you take a moment of your time and allow me know by hitting the Helpful button and letting me know. I appreciate that you took the time to read my review, Thank you!*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Its a amazing game😁 kids will like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I enjoyed very much a nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Very nice android game You have so a lot of cats to run

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    LOL it's SO cool🐱!MEOW!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Good😈

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I LOVE it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Really fun and cute and through out the android game it does obtain faster but still fun I really recommend this android game 😺😸😹😻

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I like how you place boxs lol XD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Nice but kids android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I said it all I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I love it so so so so so so much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Very enjoyable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Boring!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    BORING

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    EXELENT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Love the cats so much they are adorable best android game ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    This is fun. 😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    This is a awsome android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Thanks for a unbelievable android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I love animals

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Super android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Very interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Donky

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Darun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Gud

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Gg

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Fardeen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Ahhaha

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Poor

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Talking Cat Run - Talking Kitty Kitten [App]  2019-3-23 13:50

    Nice

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386